View Full Version : Childcare/preschools in Maitland area
Mmm Dessert
12-01-2010, 18:19
We're about to move from the Upper Hunter to Maitland (Ashtonfield) in the next couple of months.
Just wondering if anyone can recommend me any good daycare centres or preschools? I've got a three year old who I'd love to send to preschool and a 20 month old who will be going to daycare.
(Oh, and if there are any that you would absolutely steer clear of then I'd love to know about them too.)
Actually, while I'm at it - are there any indoor swim schools in the area too?
luvmyboys
12-01-2010, 18:46
Shamrock Hill at Ashtonfield is a community based LDC which is also attached to a family centre which could be useful if you are new to the area but I think it may be difficult to get a place esp for bubs. I haven't used them personally but I tend to try and find not for profit centres. There are also a few kindy patch centres around and I've heard mixed responses to them.
For Preschools there is East Maitland Preschool which is also community based and they have two centres, one in Brunswick St and one in George St I have heard all good things about them and know the director of one who is lovely. There is also a Steiner school with a preschool and I think Hunter Valley Grammar also has one if you were interested in either of those avenues.
It's a great area to live in, Greenhills is close by, Newcastle and beaches about 20 minutes away and Port Stephens about 40 mins away. There are pools at Maitland and East Maitland as well as the indoor Justin Norris Swim School and there is also a smaller centre at East Maitland run out of someones home called Little Swim Stars. We are checking both of them out at the moment not sure which one we will choose yet.
Mmm Dessert
12-01-2010, 19:31
Thanks for that! You've given me heaps to go on - I'll have to get the phone book out and make some calls tomorrow.
lizzymcfizzy
08-02-2010, 16:24
awesome info there luvmyboys :)
We have been on the waiting list at shamrock hill for 2 years :) they have higher ratios of carers to kids and a great rep.
We went FDC but have just started at kindy patch at tenambit and are very happy there. The one at East Maitland (Emma's) has a great rep too.
If they were open 52 weeks a year I would have gone with Chemlsford Drive day care or the Council run one in Metford, I think it was just called Metford Child Care.
oh there is a new brilliant one in Maitland if you go through maitland to get to work - www.hunterearlylearning.com.au
I've also heard good things about the preschools mentioned, waiting lists apply though.
swimming there is also hit n dip who have an indoor heated pool and round the year classes. We did them when DD was littler, now we are doing them through the council at the local pool, just started this week.
alot of my friends go to little swim stars, she fills up quick.
When I investigated justin norris you had to bring a sick certificate from your doctor if you couldn't make it and wanted to use the lesson another time :rolleyes:
hit n dip were really flexible.
HTH!