View Full Version : Adelaide - IVF to Baby bumps and babies
LulusMum
06-07-2010, 13:43
Waiting - great idea. Dh is on holidays till end of next week, so the start of the week beginning 19th july would be great. I am busy on wednesdays, but all good other days. Maybe put up some suggestions and also who will be coming, then i will Pm my address - i look forward to making lots of coffee with my spiffy new machine - im in love:bee: For those who arent on Fb i went to buy a clothes dryer yesterday and Dh and i went nuts and bought a coffee machine, milk frother and hairdryer(for me) as well as the clothes dryer - funnily enough, the coffee machine has had a workout, the dryer on the other hand is still in the box in the shed:rolleyes:
I look forward to all the bubs coming here and messing up my play room:yelclap: i love a good mess
Sorry for being so quite..
Well lil miss still has not made her grand entrance into this world yet, I am 4 days overdue. I am being induced on Friday..... I say ROLL ON FRIDAY!!!!!
I said to my OB so much for going early.... I am over the raging back aches, Painful peroid like pain, Over the top braxton hicks contractions.. The sooner she is here the better I will be.
On a good note lil miss will be here but the end of Saturday, SO now I am getting nervous about the whole labour part....... Why do people wait till you have a huge fat belly and tell you all the horror stories of there labour and birth or a friend of a froends labour!!!!!!
I have decided my ears are SHUT!!!!! I dont want to hear no more!!!
Hi to everyone, So SO so sorry for no personals.
Hope all is well with everyone
take care
Rez xx
Very quickly. Morph scan went mostly ok. Showed baby is a week behind in size......is that normal? did anyone else have that? they said it can be common with IVF pregnancies. Hope that wasn't just some line to make us feel better.
Also, we have to go back on Monday for them to re-check the heart!! Naturally i'm freaking out. They did keep saying tho that the baby was moving alot and not in a good position so some of the pics were a bit hard to get. But, she said mainly for us to go back so they can re-check the heart! why did i know something was going to go wrong? now i have reason to worry! am hoping it was just wrong angle today. :confused:. So will go back on Monday at 12.30 and then will see the ob at 4pm on Monday for all the results and measurements and etc of the scan/s. She kept saying 'so far so good' throughout the scan but it doesn't make me feel any better about going back purely for the heart. Dont worry, i'll try to stay calm but i can't promise i wont worry. ;)
Also, on top of this today, my grandmother died this morning. :crying:. We were all at the hospital on saturday cos she wasn't expected to make it through saturday. She passed at 2am this morning. mum and dad waited til after our scan to tell us. Just makes for a sad day. :(. Funeral Friday.
Rezza....goodluck with friday! Man i so wish i was in your position and ready to give birth! I just can't wait to have baby in our arms! goodluck!! I've been stalking your FB page everyday to see if there was any news!
LM....great work with the purchases! nice job!
Waiting...glad to hear DH surgery went well! hope all is sorted now.
:wave: to everyone else! hope you're all having a much better day than i am! :rolleyes:
LulusMum
06-07-2010, 16:20
Rezza - people suck sometimes dont they - i will just say i had the best induced birth ever - over in 5 hours, no pain relief needed and even though i did tear and need stitches after they were pain free - it was everything i had wanted for a birth. He was on the boob within minutes of birth, i was up and showered within 1 hour - it was awesome. I just wanted to let you know that sometimes birth, while extremely painful and messy - is also positive and beautiful and sooooooooo worth it. I have never felt so proud or strong as i did after having Max - i literally cannot wait to do it again:D - so i will have my fingers crossed for a trouble free positive birth for you and bub -however she may enter the world:fingerscrossed:
Lisa - im so sorry about your grandmother, i hope you get through friday OK. My pop died when i was 16 weeks with max so i know how it feels. At our morph scan we were ahead with size but all was well. There is a huge range of sizes for bubbas- do you know anyone of your exact age and sex that is the same size as you? Also at our morph scan we had to go back because Max hadnt done a wee during the scan which can indicate kidney/bladder issues - we went back 4 days later and we saw him do a huge wee - all was fine. Im sure everything will be Ok - but i bet you will have no fingernails left by the time that scan comes around. I will keep everything crossed that everything is fine and they just couldnt get the shot right.
moongazer
06-07-2010, 16:58
Rezza - I had a great birth. Honestly - i think people forget what they're doing, because the horror stories come out, but I say take them with a pinch of salt. I was induced, and used an epi, but had a wonderful time, and would do it over again in a heart beat - in fact a few minutes after the birth I said that was great, i could do it again!! :laughing: call me crazy.
Don't go in with any expectations, and an open mind, but I would say this for ANy birth, not just induced!! roll on Friday, and here's hoping the nugget will make it's way into the world beforehand!!
Lisa - :hugs: to you for your GM. So sad for you. i'm sure she is watching down and so proud of you, and happy for you.
I was ahead in some things, and behind in others. I had to go again to check the heart as well - S wasn't in the correct position, so they had trouble seeing. The comment would have been so off the cuff, and not meant to cause any concern. if there was anything to be concerned with, the doctor would have brought it up with you after the US. :hugs: again
I at least hope you enjoyed seeing your bundle.:D
Lisa :hugs: I am so sorry about your grandma and my thoughts are with you and your family at this time.
I would not worry to much about being a little slow in growth as each baby grows at their own rate and their is such a large scope for that as for the heart i would also not worry to much about that either as you said the bubba was moving alot which can make it hard to see what they need to see it took 4 scans at my 12 week scan to get everything they needed cause jellybean was active .
you really need to try not to stress now as it will make you feel worse and not be good for bubba so try and take it easy and rest up as i have heard many people say this is the start of the rest of your bubbas life you will never stop worrying.
liv xox
hopefulthisyr
06-07-2010, 17:01
Good Luck Rezza!! Im like the rest of the girls - so wish I was about to give birth, this waiting sux, and its a bit stressful in the early days...
Hi Lisa - what do they check at the morph scan, what are they looking for? Its the 20 week scan I assume. Sorry, im so not in the know and dont have my first Ob appointment for another 3.5 weeks!!
waitinghoping
06-07-2010, 17:28
Lisa - Im so sorry to hear about your Grandma. I hope you and your family are doing ok. I second everything everyone has said about size - Alexis varied at each scan, sometimes ahead, sometimes behind. They were concerned about her potentially having heart issues, we had to go for an ECG when I was around 22weeks Gest, so dont worry too much at this stage, bubs may have been just laying in the wrong position.
Rezza - Good luck for Friday!!! I ended up having a c-section after A got stuck but it was still a wonderful experience. Enjoy, cant wait to hear your news!!!
AFM - I think we finally have a tooth!!!!!!!! Just had a check in As mouth and hit a little sharp bit at the front! She wont let me look though.
Lisa, :hugs: so sorry to hear about your Grandma. She will be your guardian angel. I hope you're ok getting through the funeral with everything else that's on your mind also. It will be hard not to stress, but like you said, bubs was just in the wrong position so it is probably quite common for people to have to come back. I hope you don't stress too much, all will be fine. Let me know if you want to catch up for coffee or lunch, but only if you're up to it :kiss:
Rezza, have been waiting for your annoouncement, all the best for this week, either way she will be here by Saturday night, woo hoo! I can't believe what people tell you, it is so insensitive, surely they can see you're close to giving birth, and could hold off for a while.....:confused:
Hopeful, Congrats! Glad to see you in here!
:wave: to everyone else.
AFM, had extra scan today, as I've been having on/off cramps, mostly at night, also found out I had a UTI (no symptoms). I am on anti-biotics, and Ob said today it was mild, and got to see bubs moving about again so that was very nice!
LulusMum
07-07-2010, 12:36
Kiwi - i knew it was only a matter of time before we bumped in to each other at the shops - bummer you had the kids and i had DH or we could have stopped for a coffee. We didnt go on our holiday as planned as max has a cough - been going on for weeks now so he is back on anti's to clear it up. With clearing up the house with a garage sale and trying to get Maxi better it all just became too stressful - we were lucky enough to be able to postpone with no penalty till october though, which is when we go away every year for our anniversary - Max will be walking by then too so it should be a little more fun then traipsing around with the ergo or pram:yes: Also - last time Dh was on holidays i was on my prac so the last time we had time off together was xmas - its been lovely to have some time together around the house, although he is getting under my feet a bit:rolleyes:
Sounds like you are not having a very relaxing holidays with the kids with painting and all. I think we will all be ready for a catch up with no men or older kids after the hols - let me know what day you are all free and i will arrange. We can have it here and i can make you all spiffy coffees with my new best friend:D
moongazer
07-07-2010, 15:37
LM - I'm usually pretty free. Let me know when the catch up is and I'll be there with my coffee tasting tastebuds at the ready!! :D
LulusMum
07-07-2010, 18:15
Kiwi - just quickly, going back to our very rushed chat today, we have a spare oil heater we dont use at the moment so if you want to borrow it to see if it makes a difference to Sams sleep you can - its just sitting in our wardrobe doing nothing at the moment:yes:
kiwigemini
08-07-2010, 11:05
Hi everyone.
LM- That would be great thanks! Nice seeing you yesterday, I too have been wondering when we would see each other at the shops. I'll PM you my number and we can sort a time for me to pick it up, cheers.
Lisa - So sorry to hear about your Grandmother, grandparents are such special people in our lives. Thinking of you and your family.:hugs:
Try not to worry about your scan, just sounds like bubs was being cheeky, zooming around. Sam was a bit behind on dates too, now he's a chubby bubby.:hugs:
Rezza - All the best! I was induced all 3 times, all of my births were positive, DS1 was a huge shock because it was so fast, but then even though Sam was faster I knew what was coming, so that made it easier. Two of my labours were drug free, and with DD I had an epi. Be open minded and you'll be fine. The most horrific part of Sam's birth was afterwards when the Dr spun the mirror around so I could see the grazes on my vjj. NOT a pretty sight!:laughing:
Shy - Glad to hear you're feeling better, and yah for seeing bubs again.
Mardi, Peachy, Bertie- Are you out there???????
Waiting- Yahh for a tooth. If Sam is like the other 2, no teeth will turn up until he's about 1! Miss A, no crawling yet, Mummy's not ready.
Hope everyone is well.
Sam slept over 13hrs last night!!!!!!:smiliedance: Asleep at 6.10pm, up at 7.15am! And he has just had a 1 1/2 hr nap in his swing, go Sam. Just me and the boys for the next couple of days as DD has gone away with her friends from next door. It's soooo quiet and tidy.:laughing:
waitinghoping
08-07-2010, 14:59
LM - Im always up for a coffee testing session thats for sure!!!:laughing: As of next week Im fairly free for 2 weeks, then after that Im only free Mon, Tues and Thurs. Hows your uni going??
Kiwi- Yay 13 hours sleep thats AWESOME!!!!!
Rezza - Not long now!!!!:goodvibes: Good luck for friday, we will be thinking of you - cant wait to hear your news!
Hi to evertyone else - peachy, NGU (hows the twinnies??), Dreams, Fizz, Paul, MG, Trying(s) and anyone Ive missed. Hope you are all keeping well.
AFM - Well A is sick again now. She has an awful cold again, lots of snot. Ewwww. She has been gagging a lot too I think its from all the mucus she has been swallowing. Does anyone use one of those suction bulb thingys? Do they work? Taking her to the docs this afternoon to get checked out cos she has a really bad cough so isnt sleeping well. Poor bubba :no: On the up side though Ive finished my uni subject - just have to do an assignment - so got a 2 week break then just TAFE stuff next semester so a bit less crazy. Yay! DH is recovering- still very sore, cant drive and cant lift but he is doing better and is now able to help me out a bit so taking the pressure off. Its been a crazy week thats for sure!!!
I'm just a bit :confused: at the moment, and wondered if any of you could tell me where are the best places to buy baby stuff, furniture, etc? I would like to take advantage of sales but have no idea where to start!!!
Cheers xx
BabyBunting and YCN is really good as well :yes:
waitinghoping
08-07-2010, 21:30
Shy - I bought most of my stuff in the Target sale last year :yes:
LulusMum
09-07-2010, 10:30
Kiwi - sorry i havent called - Max has come down with a virus again, think its kick back from his vaccs last week, the nurse did say if he reacts it would happen in about 5-12 days time - so here we are:rolleyes: we are also super busy trying to squish things in while DH is home, and me trying to get uni assignments done while he is on holidays. You could come tmrw to get it if you like, in the morning would be good, other then that we are busy all day today and friday so we could leave it till monday morning about 9ish - not sure how easy it is for you to get out with kids in tow, but we'll work something out im sure. Let me know when you think you can come and i'll PM you my address:flowerz:
kiwigemini
09-07-2010, 12:21
LM - Poor little Max, sick again. I remember the 2nd winter we had in Oz, I swear the kids were both sick for 6 months straight! Monday morning, 9am will be fine, DH can watch the kids and I can pop over. We are the same when DH is home, busy, busy. He has been working 60hrs+ atm, poor bugger, then gets a list of chores from me when he's home. School hols just add another level of crazy, lol.
Shy- I bought stuff from all over, Target, Kmart, Babies are us, Baby Bunting, Baby Haggle and Ebay. I waited for what I wanted to be on sale, then got it. I was lucky I got to do baby shopping all over again. Happy shopping.:)
kiwigemini
10-07-2010, 12:53
Rezza - I just popped in to wish you luck for today, but doh! :doh:It was yesterday. Hope everything went well, or is still going well. We can't wait to hear the news.:flowerz:
CONGRATULATIONS TO REZZA AND DH on the arrival of
Piper Grace
at 2.45am 9lb 2oz.
Born by c/s. I imagine a long labor for her the poor woman as by memory she was being induced on Friday!
Mum and Baby both doing well!
peachykeen
11-07-2010, 10:15
Congratulations rezza!!! xxx :cloud9:
moongazer
11-07-2010, 11:23
Congratulations Rezza and DH!!
Welcome to the world little Piper Grace :flowerz:
Congratulations Rezza and colin and welcome piper grace xox
waitinghoping
11-07-2010, 12:26
:smiliedance: Congrats Rezza and welcome to the world Piper Grace!!!! :smiliedance:
Rezza - its been a long haul for you - I hope your recovery is quick. Enjoy these precious first days with your little girl.. it goes waaaaay to quickly :hugs:
kiwigemini
11-07-2010, 15:54
Congratulations Rezza and DH on the safe arrival of Piper Grace.:smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance:
Congratulations Rezza and DH on the arrival of Piper Grace! I hope you are feeling much better now you can see your gorgeous little girl xx
Hi Guys ,
did any one use a doppler are they easy to use thinking of getting one ?
I hope everyone is well
LulusMum
12-07-2010, 12:24
Liv - we were advised against a doppler cause sometimes they cause stress when you cant find bubba - also i had an anterior placenta, so probably couldnt have heard bub through that anyway - most appts i had we needed ultrasound to measure FHR as they couldnt get it on doppler. I think lots of people have them and they work fine though. Personally (an i can totally understand why you would want one) as soon as you feel movement and kicks you will know everything is fine, and your not too far off that now - from about 23 weeks on with Max i knew all was good cause the little bugger didnt stop moving:yes:
Congarts to Rezza and Dh on little Piper:baby: Hope all is going well and Mum is getting some sleep:sleeping:
CONGRATULATIONS REZZA & DH!!!!!!!!!!!
Welcome to the world Piper Grace!!
Hope mum and bubs are doing well. xoxo
waitinghoping
12-07-2010, 14:23
Liv - Im with LM on not using a doppler. I considered getting one when I was pregnant with A but realised that if at any time I couldnt find the heartbeat I would have had a complete meltdown.. My placenta was also anterior so same as LM, I would have had trouble finding it.. even without an anterior placenta there can still be difficulties finding it sometimes just cos of where / how bubs might be laying.. I now personally think if not used professionally they can cause more stress than anything. You are sooooo close to being able to feel regular movement that I personally wouldnt worry about spending the money on it.
LM - hows Max doing? Is he getting better? A has had a ripper cold, boogies everywhere and a nasty cough. She is on antibiotics now and improving thank goodness!!
LulusMum
12-07-2010, 14:31
Waiting - Max is still sick - we had to get a repeat of anti's filled for him today as boogies are still yellow!!!! He is back to sleeping through though thank god - sometimes i wonder how i managed with a newborn:laughing: We have a vaporiser in his room now and it seems to have made the world of difference.
Poor A - boogers are no fun for anyone
What day suits us all next week for a coffee and play? Im good any day but monday
kiwigemini
12-07-2010, 15:33
Hi everyone.
Liv - The midwives and OB's had alot of trouble finding Sam's heartbeat, and as soon as they found it he would "swim" away. You will be feeling bubs kick any week now. Not my thing, as I would have freaked if I couldn't find it. But I do understand why you would want one.:goodvibes:
LM - Thanks again for the heater. Any day next week is good with me.
ps. You have a beautiful home.
Hope all the sick bubba's get well soon.
afm - Went to the Pooraka markets yesterday morning and came home to find the laundry walls dripping and a huge puddle on the carpet in our bedroom. Our en suite shower pipes were leaking and apparently have been for a long time.:no: Luckily insurance is covering alot, new carpet, new tiles and some new wiring. Next week should be good for a catch up, while juggling tradespeople. :rolleyes:
Liv....i soooooo was like you! i was almost going to get a doppler but our ob advised against it cos...like the others have said.....it can stress you out if you can't find the heartbeat. I definetely understand how you're feeling at the moment. I'm definetely miss impatient and the waiting to the kicking stage is driving me nuts but hopefully in the next week you'll start to feel bigger flutters and etc and once you feel them you'll know bubby is ok. i have only started to feel bigger flutters over the last week and they're only minor but i can tell it's the baby........so hopefully it's just around the corner for you. Hang in there buddy.
LM and Waiting....hope poor bubbies are ok!!
Kiwi....seems you always have something to fix....you poor woman! nature doesn't like to keep you unoccupied! :D. Hope it's not too much trouble to get everything fixed/replaced. must be a huge inconvenience though.
Thanks for all your support and positive stories last week ladies as well as your thoughts and best wishes about my grandmother. I felt much better after having read your reassuring comments about our scan last week. I'm pleased to say that our 2nd scan today went better and the ob this avo confirmed everything is a-ok! Was quite a funny day at the scanning though. Bubby was being very naughty again and wouldn't turn and wouldn't be in the right position. So.....i had to do a belly-dance on my bank! shake it..shake it! but no....no turning! so the lady asked if i had had lunch....i hadn't so she said it's best if i had lunch and for us to come back. so, we were given 45 minutes to have lunch! aarrgh! anyway, lucky the local pub was just across the road. Salt and Pepper squid and chips later....and the baby still wasn't turning! So.....I then was told to get on all 4s and shake my booty! :laughing:. great image for you there girls! lol. Then....my lovely hubby proceeds to sing 'I like big butts and I can not lie......etc'. :laughing::laughing:. Cracked me up big time! I dont have a big butt but just the timing of his song while i'm shaking my booty on all 4s couldn't have been funnier! and.....it did the trick! 2minutes later and the scanner got the pics she wanted! Ob confirmed everything was perfect. Big sigh of relief there! Liv...be prepared for anything when you have your 20wk scan next week! get your hips ready for some shaking if baby isn't turning or in right position! :laughing:
Went to Baby Junction on Magill Road this avo as well. OMG...so many things to think about! I think we've decided we like the Safe and Sound brand for babyseat......but that's about as far as we've decided. looked at cots and prams too and got some prices. Want to look at Baby Bunting and YCN to compare everything before we make any choices. I think the hardest thing will be the pram! my goodness.....yes i want this....no i dont want that in a pram......lets find one that has exactly what i want with no troubles! Yeah right! lol.
Hope you've all had a good day!
lisab : :laughing::laughing::laughing: I had to do all the for my 12 week scan it was very funny so i expect to do that for my next one .
glad to here all is perfect :smiliedance:
LulusMum
12-07-2010, 19:38
Lisa - im so glad to hear all is well - i think your little one has a few very special people keeping them safe:goodvibes: Def look at YCN - i found them soooooooooooo much cheaper then baby junction - although they do the cheapest capsule rental if you were going to do that.
kiwigemini
12-07-2010, 19:39
Lisa - :laughing::laughing::laughing:
Glad to hear everything was A OK with bubs, sounds like this bub is going to keep you on your toes (or on all 4's lol). More an annoyance factor with the leak, but I'm still not looking forward to the plumbing bill.
LulusMum
12-07-2010, 19:43
Lisa - just thought i would add: one day when i was breastfeeding max (in the very early days) my boobs were huge and sometimes before your milk settles down, when bub pulls off you "spray" for a few seconds before bub gets back on , so anyway, that happened - and i sprayed the wall, DH starts sing "my milkshake brings all the boys to the yard' = i almost, very nearly, wet my pants:laughing:
waitinghoping
12-07-2010, 22:21
Bahahahahahaha!!:laughing:You girls crack me up!!!
LM - I never had the boob-spray thing happening.... my goal for the next bubba. I rekon it could make a great party trick :laughing::laughing:
Lisa - good to hear the results from the scan were good today. I remember my 19 week scan, I had to jump around too. Alexis ran AMOK and wouldnt stay still, when they went to measure her arm length she rolled over on to it and wouldnt roll back!! Had to all another sonographer in to help. Little Miss Attitude already!! Then at the end they recorded a little bit of the scan for me to take on CD, the sonographer said "Ok bubs time to do your thing now.." and she promptly went to sleep. I have a CD of her sleeping... :laughing: My 3d scan at 29 weeks was even worse, NO WAY did she want to lay in a good position for nice piccies!! God good ones in the end though.
Kiwi - Oh bummer about the leak!! Man you havent had a good run hey??
waitinghoping
13-07-2010, 02:14
Oh I forgot to say Im free Tues (all day) and Thurs (morning) next week :D
Morning ladies....just a very quick one.
Did any of you get a full head hair color during pregnancy? if so, where did you go and did they use organic/pregnancy-safe products?
I'm pretty sure all hairdressers would be able to accommodate pregnant people but i just want to make sure i'm heading to a very safe hairdresser cos i definetely need a full head hair color........so obviously it's going to be touching my scalp! i'm going half grey!.....well by now it's half white too! :hair:
LulusMum
13-07-2010, 12:02
Lets make it next Tuesday for a catch up and play - what time suits everyone, probably around 10:30 is good for us cause Max can have his nap and be in a great mood for a couple of hours after.
If you let me if you can come i will PM out my address.
Lisa - im pretty sure hair colour is ok after the 1st trimester - i didnt do full head whilst pregnant, didnt need too and dont often anyway. I go to gauci at the village - they are expensive but they probably have something special they use for preg women - from memory i think Liv used a safe hair dye while cycling last year - maybe ask her what/who she used
moongazer
13-07-2010, 13:11
I'm free Tuesday if you can send me a pm LM!! :yelclap::yelclap:
Lisa - I'm pretty sure hair colour is ok. I had full colour with no probs. I think NGU used to go somewhere in Henley Beach who used Aveda products, which she felt more comfortable with.
nevergivenup
13-07-2010, 13:34
Sorry, it's been awhile since I was last able to get online and catch up with you all.
I'm totally loving being a mum to two amazing little bubby boys, they are just so adorable. Boys are now six and half weeks and starting to give me smiles :goodvibes: which totally melt my heart! I have uploaded some pics for you to see which I took when they were 4 weeks old, is only available to those who are my contacts on BH.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/album.php?albumid=2464
Hope you enjoy pics!
Love NGU xo
sorry sneaking in to tell NGU that your bubbas are abslutely gorgeous......:yes:
are you on facebook if so can you add me (rebecca evans).....would love to keep in touch a bit more
nevergivenup
13-07-2010, 13:47
Thanks Miss R, Will go on there now and add you :)
Rezza - just caught up on your news, congratulations hun, well done. Good healthy size bubba too!!! :hugs:
thanks girls for your suggestions. LM i'm booked into Gauci in Ingle Farm which is where i've been for my last few cuts and have been happy. a little pricey but at least i know i like them. :)
NGU...great to hear from you!! Hopefully i can check out your piccies!! as for facebook....if you're on there then PM me your real name cos i'd love to become 'friends' with you and keep up to date with how you're going!
waitinghoping
13-07-2010, 15:22
NGU - So good to hear from you!!! Oooh Im BUSTING to see your photos!!!! Im on FB too if u want to add me ill pm u :D
LM - count us in for tues! Will be goodb to catch up again. Can u pls pm me details???
moongazer
13-07-2010, 15:43
NGU - I'm also on FB. Can you add me to your BH friends so I can see your beautiful bubbas???
nevergivenup
13-07-2010, 16:17
MG - can you PM me your name for FB, I'll add you too :goodvibes:
moongazer
13-07-2010, 16:30
NGU - you've exceeded your messages on here and I can't send you a PM!!!
peachykeen
13-07-2010, 16:36
oooh i want to add all of you!!!
kiwigemini
13-07-2010, 18:03
NGU- Great to hear things are going so well, smiles are way tooo cute! Can't wait to see the pics.
Peachy- OMG, look at your ticker!!!!
LM- Tues is good for me.:)
Just quickly as Sam is loosing the plot. Latest platelet count, drumroll please........ 162 000 (normal 150-400 000)!!!!!!!:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance: Wahooo!!!!!!
moongazer
13-07-2010, 21:23
:yelclap::yelclap: Kiwi :yelclap::yelclap:
kiwigemini
13-07-2010, 21:44
Thanks MG.:flowerz:
waitinghoping
13-07-2010, 21:55
:smiliedance: Kiwi thats AWESOME news!!! Congrats! :smiliedance:
LulusMum
14-07-2010, 08:44
Kiwi - ripper news:D i really needed a pep up this morning and that has done it for me:yes:
So far for our playdate we have:
MG and Spencer
waiting and Alexis
Me and Max
Kiwi and Sam
Rach and Emi (from the overjoyed thread, they have just moved from sydney to adelaide - so yay, the more the merrier)
If anyone else wanst to join us please let me know
what time is it hun ? I should be able to make it
LulusMum
14-07-2010, 11:55
10:30 Liv xx
kiwigemini
14-07-2010, 14:20
Hi all.
I have more FANTASTIC news! Saw the cardio today, and nothing has gotten worse. I am on yearly MRI's to check the valve's function and that my aorta hasn't grown. I also have to get my BP checked every 2 months, as it is more dangerous for me if it creeps up. So WAHOOO, again!!!!!:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance: that is fantastic news kiwi
HI all :wave: Just a quick one....
lulusmum - I would love to come for the playdate on Tuesday if I am able to get there, can i let you know for sure later??
Sorry I have had to be quick - things are too crazy here!! haha
Thank You All very much for your congratulations and well wishes.
Miss Piper Grace Harrison was born 11th July @ 4:26am by emergancy c-section. 9 pound 4 onz 52.5 cm long, Head Circumference 36cm..
I laboured 38 hours and finally got fully dilated, when Pipers head got stuck on my pelvis, She was sunny side up and in a impossible position to turn or delivery, Her heart rate dropped right down in the 60's and I had a high fever and was showing blood in my urine............ C-section it was...
It was so nice to see my little girl for thr first time, But I was quite sick in surgery and recovery that the first 5 hours of her life were spent with her Daddy!!!!
I only spent 2 night in hospital after I had the c-section, First night was interesting and last night was much easier... I just need to get a hang of this I am a Mum thing now.....
I am so so so so so sorry for not posting any personals.... I have photo's up on Facebook feel to PM for my real name and i will add you to see the piccies..... I seem to be able to get on facebook more then BH (cause I use the mobile phone)
I hope all is well with everyone
Take Care
Rez Xxx
Hi everyone...sorry just another quick one....
Rezza - It's such a small world, but I reckon I work at the same place as your husband!! I saw your birth notice in the paper today and recognised the name straight away!! I have been keeping an eye out to see if his baby had been born yet, because when I was almost on maternity leave we had a conversation about him becoming a daddy and he was sooo excited, plus I was also told that it was an IVF pregnancy!! I saw the surname and his name and then the baby's name and was spun out!!! hahaha.....
Morning All!
Kiwi....fantastic news about all the results!! :yelclap:
LM.....unfortunately can't make your catchup cos I have to work but hope you all have fun.
Rezza...glad that lil miss has finally arrived for you!! I saw the photos on FB and she's beautiful! Sounds like you had a long labour but glad that you're all recovered and loving having your beautiful little cherub with you! Hope miss Piper is being a good bubby for you!
Liv...goodluck for your morph scan this week! can't remember exactly which day it is but wishing you a beautiful scan! get ready for some booty shaking! :D. Was also nice to bump into you yesterday!
:wave: to everyone else!!
Well DH and I bought all our furniture and etc yesterday! woohoo! had a look at Baby Junction, YCN, and Baby Bunting and ended up getting everything from Baby Bunting! Got cot and mattress, change table and mattress, bassinet (we're going the old style bassinet cos we just love it!), Pram, Carseat (to use from newborn as well), and a sheet and blanket for bassinet. Can't wait to pay it all off and bring it home!! yippee!! Soooooo exciting!
waitinghoping
18-07-2010, 12:10
Rezza - OMG Piper is just beautiful!!! Hope you are doing well xx
Lisa - How exciting you've got all your stuff!!!! I remember getting all the stuff for A, I was on SUCH a high afterwards!!! (or maybe that was sheer sleep-deprivation as I had flown in from Darwin on a night-flight and didnt sleep as A went MENTAL in my tummy the whole flight then went STRAIGHT to the Target Toy Sale :laughing:)
Oh man... all these new bubbas (and soon bubbas - PEACHY!!) All I can say is "Cluck! Cluck! Cluck!!"
:wave: ladies and bubbas,
I hope you all are well I am not 100% sure i can make it tomorrow but i will try my best .
how is every one doing are you all enjoying the cold weather it is going to brrrr all week this week .
I cant beleive i am 19 weeks now where has that time gone i have my 20 week scan on friday and we have deciede to find out the sex and just keep it to my self gosh that is going to be hard.
I am very nervous about the scan but sure evetrything will be ok as it has been in the past .
has anyone else had problems with their pelvis and how did they cope with it ?
has anyone heard how ngu and liss are going ?
liv xox
Morning!
Waiting....i am definetely on such a high but once i get the furniture home it'll make me more impatient cos what's the point in having the furniture without the baby?! :laughing:. Dont worry about me, just reconfirming my other name is 'little miss impatient'. :D. goodluck with alexis' first swimming lesson!! how exciting!
Liv....goodluck for your scan! i'll be thinking of you on friday. also be aware that you may not get everything done in the one scan if the baby isn't behaving properly. our sonographer said that some people have had to go back 2 or 3 times to finish getting all the pics/measurements of everything. We had to go back purely for the heart which scared the sh1t out of us (i guess also cos the sonographer didn't choose her words properly). I know it's natural to be scared. I wont deny that I was. we prob both were. I'm sure everything will be fine as it has been in the past! we'll all be thinking of you!
btw, you can tell us the sex if you want to! :) we wont tell anyone outside of here...we promise! dont we girls! :) :yes:. Peachy just had to tell someone and she told us and made us all keep it to ourselves....which i'm pretty sure we have..?? :D. Your choice though. sometimes it's so hard to keep that info to yourself but we'll always be here with our eyes and ears open for you! How exciting!! in 5 days you'll know what you're having! yay!
LisaB: I had trouble with my first scan jellybean was to active they just let me wait for an hour then scan me again and i have asked and they will do the same this time as the other one and cause they had more of a chance to scan we know that everything was growing as it should that is what the stongrapher said to us .
So we will wait as long as it is needed :laughing:
oops it is thursday i have the scan i dont know why i wrote friday i just want to know where my brain is today :laughing: clearly not in my head
Ahhh.....that's cool liv. We were just told to come back a week later so the baby (and heart) could grow for another week! I would've been happy to hang around on the same day and wait and hour or however long but sonographer said we had to come back in a week! was only doing what i was told.....much to my dislike! haha! yay for one day closer for you!
LulusMum
19-07-2010, 12:50
Just a quick note to those coming over tmrw - the two houses across the street are both having renos done at the moment - so lots of trucks in a very skinny court. Just thought i would let you know there are car parks at the top of the court, and then just a short walk down to my house. :yes:
Lisa - great news on geting all your baby stuff - did you end up finding a pram that ticked all your boxes?;)
Liv - next time your at the ob's get a referral for the physio at the WCH - they were fantastic with my back and i believe they can fit you with a pelvic support belt if you require one:yes:
See those that are coming tmrw - very exciting:yelclap:
Hi LM.....yep sure did. getting the Valco Matrix. Have read reviews and half rave about it and half dislike it. however it is good for us and our budget and everything that i wanted in a pram for at least one child. :yes:. You'll always get good and bad about everything.
I think people who are disliking it are the ones using it with the toddler seat and are finding that it is a bit heavy when holding a toddler and a baby and also has a tendency to lean forward (when holding the toddler in toddler seat)....but that's cool cos we were focussing more on what we wanted now for at least one child and at least if it had the option for a toddler seat then great. If we get to be blessed with a 2nd baby then we might upgrade. We do love it though! can't wait!!
LulusMum
19-07-2010, 14:25
Lisa - thats so true. When we bought our pram the sales girl told us to focus on now and we did. Realistically we carried Max in the baby bjorn for about 4 months anyway, only took the pram for long trips/walks. And also, if we get pregnant soonish Max will be getting close to 2 - so i dont think i'd have a hope in hell getting him to sit still in a toddler seat anyways. Next bub can go in the bjorn, and max can stay in the pram (or they can both go to nana's and mum will have to go out by herself!):laughing: TBH - im a bit bored with my pram anyway, and you buy so little big stuff for the next bub - they get all the hand-me-downs, that i am looking forward to getting a new pram (like i dont have 3 already):rolleyes:
LM...you're very much like me. If we had a 2nd child then i'd be carrying the newborn in a baby carrier/baby bjorn and the toddler can ride in the pram/stroller that we had. I couldn't go huge and fancy just to accommodate for a toddler that we 'may' have. Just have to do what's right for us and this first single child and that's what we've done. Which pram have you been using??
I also love our pram cos it has a very easily removable bassinet which you can just take inside to anyones house and the baby can sleep in that should it need to if you're visiting anyone. easy peasy!
We're also getting the Safe'n'Sound Meridian too which i'm very pleased about! we made sure the pram and the carseat fit in the car before we bought it too! :laughing:. Altho....cos we dont have a big family car....with the carseat in it (when the baby has to sit facing the rear) DH will have to drive and i'll have to sit in the passenger seat (that's when we both go out together). not to worry tho cos that's only while it's rear facing. DH drives most of the time anyway but it just has to be that way while in rear facing because of the amount of room the seat will take up. lucky i'm a shorty otherwise we would've been in trouble! lol.
LulusMum
19-07-2010, 15:18
Lisa - we have a strider deluxe that stays in the car and is my shopping/lunching pram - we hava had this since day 1 so have the bassibet etc that match. I recently got a phil and teds e3 for powerwalking with cause the strider was a bit heavy and bumpy. I also got a mountain buggy probably 5 months ago which lives at my mums house so she has a pram whan she has Max and i dont have to lug one over there - its the easiest of the 3 to put up and down so thats why she has it. We also have the meridian car seat and while rearward facing DH also had to drive as it would only just fit behind the passenger seat - and we have a huge family car - they are just big seats, but now that Max is forward facing it is the only car seat on the market that is high enough so bub can see out the windows - they love it. Oh - and i picked up my 3 year old nephew in it the other day and still had heaps of room to pull the head rest up, so definately a value for money purchase seeing as though you can use it for 4 years:yes: What cot did you get? I just love baby stuff and am a bit annoyed that we spent so much on the nursery cause i would love to buy it all again - guess i will have to start mentally decorating a little boys room - racing car beds, here we come;)
waitinghoping
19-07-2010, 15:42
Im really sorry, looks like we arent going to make it tomorrow. A was vomiting a bit early yesterday but until today she hadnt vomited for 24hours. Took her to her first swimming lesson this morning (she howled through it.... dunno if its because she was unsure or if she had a belly ache) and she fell asleep when we got home. As soon as I woke her and sat her up after her nap she exorcist-style projectile vomited through her cot again. Poor bubba.
Bummer. I REALLY wanted to come too!! I also had my mums group organised to catch up at my place in the afternoon and have had to cancel that too..
When will this ever end????????!!!!!!!! :hissy::crying:
LM - is that the Hipod brand car-seat?? I think thats what A has and she LOVES facing forward now and looking out the window
LulusMum
19-07-2010, 15:56
waiting - grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Poor bubba though, i get what you mean about it never ending. max has had about a million colds this winter - i hear the avearge is 8 but i beg to differ:banghead:. Hope A feels better soon so we can finally baby cino our bubs together. i even got out Max's rocking thomas the tank cause i know A loves to rock. Oh well, we will ahve to catch up while you are on hols and before my prac. And the car seat is safe and sound - if A can see out the windows it would appear my sales girl lied to me about the meridian being the only high one:no:
LM....didn't know the car seat was high enough for bubby to see outside the window! i knew it was easily extendable upwards but didn't know they could see out the window! woohoo! :)
We got a Regent cot in Jarrah color. I think there's anotehr name with Regent but will have to look when i get home. We got a matching 3-tier change table too.
Check out the baby bunting website and look at the Chloe bassinet! DH and I are so in love with the bassinet!!! absolutely love it! so cute!
If you PM me a personal email addy then I can send you the links to all our new things!! :yelclap:
Also, not sure we can afford 3 prams! haha! will just be lugging our 1 and only one wherever we go. :) at least we'll get the unfolding and folding of it down pat! :D
Waiting.....poor A and her :barf:. poor little bubba. Hope she recovers soon!
Question to everyone. Did any of you get a rocking chair for the nursery and if you did, did you use it?
lisab: We are getting a nursing chair it is leather and really comfy dh wanted one for watching tv :laughing: we have been very lucky as we are getting that off my sil
moongazer
19-07-2010, 17:35
Hi girls - waiting - when can bubs change to forward facing?? S is still rearwards!! We have a SNS compaq deluxe. Can't say the car seats were really "sold" to us very much, as we really had no idea!! We went for that one because it would fit in my car. DH only JUST fits in the passenger seat with it rear facing. Lisa - to remember - if DH has had too much to drink and you need to drive home, there is nothing stopping him from sitting in the back seat. Just a thought - something we talked about!!! :D
MG.....happy birthday for the other day!! :party:. I think by now S would be fine to be facing frontwards. I think it's usually up to 6 months rearwards??? correct me if i'm wrong.
Great thinking about if DH had too much to drink....but he's too responsible to drink when he knows he has to drive. :) it took me a long time to convince him that he was fine to drive even after having only 1 drink. lol. Can you tell he's a law degree?! :laughing::laughing:
Hi everyone!!
LM - I am sorry but I won't be able to make it tomorrow either. I have had a massive weekend - we went to melbourne yesterday for a day trip that last a long time!! haha I am still recovering and my house needs a little TLC!
Lisa - I have the Valco Matrix and LOVE it! I think it's so easy to fold and put back up again and I have no issues getting it in and out the car - You just need a big boot to fit it all in when you are using the bassinet! Plus we also have a rocking chair, even though I rarely use it for feeding it is good to rock bubba to sleep when they are unsettled.
Waiting - i really hope A gets better soon - poor little darling isn't getting a good run at the moment! Sending you both a big hug!!
Hi to everyone else, sorry it had to be short and sweet!
Trying2....glad to hear you have a valco matrix and love it! awesome stuff! It does easily fold and fits in our boot well.....altho probably takes up half of it with the bassinet! :laughing:ooohhh....*goosebumps*...so excited! :yelclap:
I too thought a rocking chair would be a great idea purely for being able to rock the baby to sleep. currently still sitting on the idea! :D
Hope all is well with you!
moongazer
19-07-2010, 20:56
Thanks Lisa - about the rear/frontwards!!
Laws changed here this year, and I think it is now about months, not weight. I'm hesitant to contact the woman who fitted our seats, coz she seemed like a bit of a seat nazi about being rear facing. Thinking of going to Red cross to change seat around this time!! :laughing:
MG.....dont believe everything nazis say! that's why their nazis.....only they think they know best. It's up to the mother/father and what works best for them. check out the laws and then work out what's best for you and baby. :yes:
kiwigemini
19-07-2010, 21:34
LM - Sam and I are still coming.:)
Waiting - Poor little A (and Mum & Dad), she is having a bad run.
Lisa - You can pick up cheap lie-back strollers, they are really handy to keep in the car. We used ours from about 3 months. We have the baby seat in the middle, (DH and I are both tall), no problems with leg room then and it's the safest part of the car for bubs if you are in an accident.
MG - They've just changed the law, haven't they????
I always put them forward facing on a combination of age, height and weight. My kids are tall, they just don't fit rear facing for too long.:laughing: TBH, DD and DS1 only got out of boosters when Sam came along. I hate seeing 5/6yr olds, unable to see out the window and having seat belts going across their throats, arggh, it gives me shivers.
afm - Great day today, kids at school, Sam slept (no fighting), a clock work day. School hols went really fast, and yesterday was the only day I had had enough. They bickered and fought all day long.:rolleyes: But all in all we had lots of fun time together.
waitinghoping
19-07-2010, 22:06
Lisa - Yeah LM is beating me on the pram count.... I only own 2.... but will get a 3rd next time I have a bubba haha! I had an old rocking chair (wooden) but personally didnt really use it. Ive since been given a rocking chair (not a feeding one but a normal one that used to be my FILs) so may use that more... dunno.
LM- I was soooo looking forward to A having a bubbacino and catching up!!!! WAAAHH!! She vomited a couple of times early yesterday then nothing for over 24 hours... then she had her huge power spew today.... now nothing since.... I have NO idea whats going on. :no: Not sure if its gastro or not.... Yeah A can look out the window in the car. Thank goodness cos it keeps her quiet thats for sure!!!
MG - I think here in SA its facing rearward until 6 months (interstate have weight restrictions but really..... who is going to police that??!!) A's seat says forward from8kg (she is only 7kg) but I turned her around cos she kept trying to sit upright and cracking a mental so figured it was time. One of my friends suggested to turn the seat around then go for a drive around backstreets, roundabouts and stop/start a bit... watch bubbies head. If they can hold it up and not jerking around then you're probably ok. Check if the seat can sit at a slight-recline, thats what we have A doing so that way less change of her flopping around and more head support. :thumbsup:
Kiwi - yay for the end of school holidays! its probably a welcome relief for you!!
Buying baby stuff - ok here's my tip -
MONITORS - I didnt think I would ever use one (hardly do cos A is only in the next room) but its a god-send if we are outside and she is asleep etc... I bought a normal one and it SUCKED BIG TIME. Returned it within 2 days the buzzing was soooo bad. Make sure you get a digital one (mine is Orrcom) I got it online but Baby Bunting stock them and they rock! Never had any buzzing or interferance. Silent until A makes a noise. And it plays lullabies. We put the music on as soon as we put her in to bed and she knows it now, it definitely helps in settling her.
moongazer
19-07-2010, 23:06
agree with Waiting - go the digital monitor!! We have an Oricom too. Don't use the lullaby part, but it is great you can adjust sensitivity as well as volume.
We have a rocking chair from baby bunting - the feeding chair they have. I got it on advice from a friend. TBH - we don't use it that much. My friend had the chair in the lounge, so was good for her. I have it in DS room, and I don't really feed him much there. I would do the dreamfeed in his room, but at night, DH was bringing him to bed to be fed, and during the day I feed in the lounge. For us it was a bit of a waste of money, and in hindsight I would have just got a comfy chair in DS room instead. However, if you plan on using it in the lounge, and especially if you plan on using it for night feeds, it would be a godsend.
A tip I loved was to buy some cheap cloth nappies from Big W or the like, and then you have lots of chuck rags!! Love them. I always have one in my bag, and have one near me when feeding.
PS - Waiting - you'll be missed tomorrow
LulusMum
20-07-2010, 06:59
Just a quick one - the new laws on rear/forward facing are 12kg or 12 months. 12 months has been recommended as the age as developmentally they still dont have enough strength in their neck - this is soooooooooo true cause even now when i break at lights, Max's head comes forward and rests on his chest. I then have to pull over and push his head back in to the head reast of the car saet - even when its in fully reclining mode. i wouldnt rush to turn them to face out cause once you do that they stop sleeping in the car - thats for sure.
As for feeding chairs - we just have a comfy armchair in maxs room, great if you fall asleep when feeding - and i totally agree with MG, the best baby shower gift i got was a pack of towelling nappies - can be used as bib, burping cloth, spew cloth, put under their head when they are asleep, small to put in nappy bag and use as wash cloth/towel - a million uses:yes:
waitinghoping
20-07-2010, 09:04
Morning!
Well it seems A is REALLY constipated. Is it possible that constipation might have caused the vomiting?? She hasnt vomited for almost 24hours.. Gonna have to feed her pears today.... But after a good nights sleep she seems soooo much happier.
:laughing: Sesame Street just started and she squeeled with excitment, she must be feeling better!:laughing:
LulusMum
20-07-2010, 09:21
Waiting - think it may work the other way around, as in she prob vomited alot of fluid and if she was then off her milk/water etc then this has caused the constipation. A good trick is the pears like you said, but what i do with max is boil the pears in water, strain them, then you give them the liquid to drink and also the pears to eat - beware of poo explosion with this though:D
Waiting....poor A. constipation isn't even nice in adults! poor bubby! :hugs:
LM....can't believe the child may have to face rearwards for 12 months or 12kgs. that's insane! would it drive them nuts?? I can understand for the safety factor of course but would it drive bubby nuts? :confused:
Thanks guys for your tips and advice on the nursing chair, baby monitors, and cloth nappies as extra towels. nice ideas! Any other purchases you can recommend would be great!
p.s - apparently singlets are becoming hard to find...? I'm preferring to use the body singlets. Do you guys know if stores still stock them or are people even using them these days? i still want to use them as i always thought it was a must for babies? would make me feel more comfortable anyway. I was planning on heading to target to put a whole bunch on layby so i can get stocked up! :D
Lisa : look at the angel care monitor as they have a sound movement monitor and they are one that sids recommends .
you have to be careful as some of them have interference from other electrical equipment .
waitinghoping
20-07-2010, 10:05
Lisa - I own 1 singlet suit but really hardly used it. Prefer normal singlets personally and much cheaper!! A being a summer bub (born around the time your little one will be) lived in short sleeved body suits for the first few months of her life, it was too hot for singlets apart from occasionally at night. I use a normal singlet and a body suit under her clothes in winter for warmth but thats about it. Bonds do have them though, and Target. Once the summer stuff comes in store the will be around again
LulusMum
20-07-2010, 10:10
Lisa - for a summer bub singlets are a must. target brand are best cause they are longer then bonds. In summer, even the stud crotch ones can become a bit hot, so the plain old singlets with a nappy (keeping in mind a newborn will be wrapped too) is plenty of clothing. We stocked up on singlets thinking a winter bub would use them - but not the case as a wondersuit and flannelette wrap were sufficient. I do use the snap crotch ones in winter though cause they keep everything tucked in - its one of the things that really annoy me when you see babies in winter with either their tummies or kidneys hanging out - they must get cold. If you plan on having a baby shower i would steer clear of wraps and towles cause i got about a million of each. You will need plenty of flannels, dont bother with newborn size though, just get big ones, again these can double as bibs etc and are good if bub has a poo explosion and you need to clean them up. Stay away from wipes till bub is older, just use sorbolene and water on cotton wool. Dont bother with newborn size bibs - total waste of money, i use the big towelling ones from target - they are fab. You can save money on sheets for the bassinette by just using either muslin which can double as a wrap/BF cover up, OR the mattress of the bassinette will fit in an adult size pillow case - you will need to change the sheets frequently due to wee, spew and sweat, especially in summer - so some cheaper options come in handy. We bought high quality pillowcases (1000 thread count organic) and they were still cheaper then sheets and felt lovely, stayed cool etc. Most bassinette mattress protectors have a layer of plastic in them that make bub sweat and get smelly, we used a folded over towel with sheet over the top and allowed air flow - keep in mind that bassinette mattresses can be washed so if bub has an accident - no big deal.
Stay away from commercial baby washes etc. All you will need is sorbolene and some bath oil (we use alpha keri form the chemist, disperses in water doesnt just sit on top), maybe a bit of shampoo - but that is about it. Max was in a rash for days after using johnsons products, and i have heard of this happening many times. Even now he is one, we use curash shampoo as the johnsons one makes his scalp dry and flaky. Mittens are a must (or just pop socks on their hands) and take a set of baby nail clippers to hospital, i had to cut maxs the day he was born they were so long. Thats probably alot to take in, but we wasted so much money on stuff that has been used never or a few times.
Start buying things you will need now, like maternity sanitary pads, napisan, baby washing detergent, tissues etc - if you pop in one item a week now you wont notice the difference on your grocery bill
waitinghoping
20-07-2010, 10:41
Yeah come to think of it... A spent a lot of time in just a singlet and nappy on the really hot days.
Totally agree with LM - start stocking up on stuff now if you can chuck it in your groceries each week, it makes a big difference. I stocked up on maternity pads (dont go toooooo crazy there - I did and HATED THEM :laughing:) washing powder (STILL havent bought any since she was born..), stuff you can put away. I use Johnsons and Johnsons, I didnt actually plan on it but was given so much of it when she was born. tried it and A hasnt had a reaction so figured Ill use it all up. Havent bought any of it myself though. I wanted to use the Organic stuff from the chemist.... umm.... brain fade... but havent had to buy any stuff for A yet.
Well (sorry if TMI here!) A just did a p00 the size of a golfball and just about as hard. OMG the poor thing. Seems happier and is now down for a nap.. will see how she goes and if she is looking ok might call through for a cuppa after all :thumbsup:
waitinghoping
20-07-2010, 11:00
I was just doing some reading on the forward/rearward facing thing in SA, everything I can find says they MUST be rearward facing till 6 months or approx 9kg then in a forward/rearward seat afterwards (nothing on which way it should face..) :confused:
quickly....ducked to target in town! number of singlets available = zilch! well of the body-suit type anyway! :thumbsdown:. will keep shopping around as it's the one i'd prefer to use. i've skim read your advice and etc so will have more of a read tonight at home.
Also, shy1 has connections and gave me a document on car restraint laws and etc. i dont think i can attach it in here so PM me your personal email and i can send it to you if you like? (or maybe i can give you a summary?).
Lisab : can you send that to me
elise , laura, rach and gerry nice to see you all and your beautiful babies
Lisa - in answer to your questions about suggestions on what to buy, mine would have to be a bath seat. My SIL bought me one for my baby shower and I LOVE it! It is sooo easy! She got me a nice one from Baby Bunting with a none slip surface for baby to sit on, although there are cheaper options. We found that it even fitted into the baby bath that we had with our change table, but now we just use it in the normal bath, so easy, it allows you to have both hands free! I make it the present i buy for babyshowers now!
waitinghoping
20-07-2010, 21:29
Was great to catch up with those of you who could make it today.
LM - I love Max!!! He is such a character. Yep, you're gonna have you're hands full!! Oh and his first step too.. :goodvibes: Thanks for letting us gate-crash
MG - Ill say it again - Spencer has the most BEAUTIFUL eyes!! He's gonna be a heart breaker thats for sure! The ladies will be queueing up when hes older!
Kiwi - WOW Sam has grown SOOOOOOO much!
Liv - was good to see you and your belly again today, you're looking absolutely glowing!
Well we got home and A crashed for 2 hours. :thumbsup: She has been pretty good today, a bit whingey but nothing extreme. No more p00s yet tho (beside the 2 golf-balls this morning :barf:) Poor bubba. DH had to go to TAFE tonight (first night of his new course) so I was on my own, had her fed, bathed and in bed by 7.15pm (she is usually up till 8.30-9) but her eyes were hanging out tonight. Fingers crossed for a good nights sleep!!
LulusMum
21-07-2010, 07:41
Waiting - if you ever need max to wear alexis out again, feel free to pop over:laughing: I woke max up at 3pm, and he was SCREAMING to go to bed at 6 - so we obliged and my little champ slept till 6:20am:yelclap: I cant believe that A let me cuddle her for so long, she is tiny, just like cuddling a newborn:goodvibes:
OK - well, im a bit poopy about something - one of my friends is pregnant - this is great, she was overweight so had to have a gastric band put on and lose weight before she could fall pregnant again (she has a three yr old). - i find out she is pregnant last night, via txt message, while everyone else already knew. I seriously thought people were over all this bull$hit - i have never begrudged a friend their baby or pregnancy so why do people treat me like im a nutcase that will crack it if i hear good news:confused: Im supposed to be seeing them all tmrw but now i feel like they have been talking about me behind my back, but if i dont go they will think im $hitty about the baby.....grrrrrrr why cant things be easy?
moongazer
21-07-2010, 09:05
LM - you could take the confrontational road, and in front of everyone there tell her how happy you are for her, and that you thought it was a real shame she felt the need to tell you by text, and after everyone else knew. Tell her your own issues have never impacted on your happiness for others around you, especially when she has taken a tough road to get her bump.
I say this, but I wouldn't have the guts to say that to my friends I don't think! :D
trying2.....thanks for the bath seat suggestion. With our big package purchase on the weekend we also got a bath and bath trolley and a bath seat! woohoo! (i assume the bath seat you're referring to is the one the baby can lie on without resting on your wrist the whole time?).
Waiting....how is A today? glad she got some golf balls out of her system yesterday! :yelclap:
LM....these sorts of things with friends can suck. They try not to upset you but then they just assume they know how you'll react. yes some have babies easier than others but friendships dont usually change because of it. I would just go and fuss over your friend as much as possible and make it look like it doesn't bother you in the slightest! ask all your other friends when are they having babies and fuss over everyone to the max! :laughing:. shove it to them! show 'em who's boss.
Hope you get to go see them though and that they get their act together and see that you're a genuine friend and not a jealous one. goodluck!
Glad to hear you all had fun yesterday! sorry I missed it......but i guess that's what working full-time does to you. *sigh*.
LulusMum
21-07-2010, 09:23
Thanks - i guess i forgot how people treat you when you do this stuff, i mean its been almost 2 years since i fell pregnant with max - must have forgot the pity etc that people force on you...
I guess i am more pi$$ed off with my sister then anyone else - we are in the same circle of friends, which is nice but can be tough at times. So E (preg friend) told P (sister)she was UTD and then P told E that i was doing a cycle soon??? - then from that E must have decided not to tell me, so i guess im annoyed that my sister broke that confidence - i mean we are sisters first and friends second, so i just feel she has been gossiping about me as though we werent related at all. To top it off E was saying how great if we were pregnant together and bubs were close same as all the kids in the group are now - that just adds to the pressure of getting pregnant which is already stressful enough...
MG - im a chicken so i couldnt do that, i was nervous yesterday and it was my house!! I will go and gush with the rest/best of them though:D
Lisa - plenty of time for playing when bub comes, im sure i will still be hosting play dates next year;) I think trying ment the actual seat, not the ramp thingy - if you got the plastic moulded one, if you have a boy you may need to get a towelling sling instead ($12 at big w), cause the plastic one has a crotch thingy that stops them sliding down and it used to squash Max's man bits:o We had a bath seat for Max but could never figure out how you wash their bottom while they were sitting in it:confused:
lulu : :hugs::hugs::hugs: honey i am not sure to say all i can think up is maybe let your sister know how you feel .
peachykeen
21-07-2010, 10:12
Liv check out ur ticker!!!! Far out it seems like only yesterday you announced and your half way already!!!!
sorry i've been MIA girls!
I do read up on you all! Hope you all had a lovely day yesterday! I think i'll leave catch ups until after the little miss is born! dont really feel confident driving far from home on my own in case soemthing happens!!
AFM, everything going really well with baby, she's growing and healthy! All the right things are happening with her so thats great! Dr estimates 6.5 - 7lbs so thats a lovely little bundle!
I'm getting so uncomfortable tho! VERY READY to meet her! Just doesnt seem the slightest bit real, if i think in 3 weeks i'll have had her, it does not even seem real AT ALL!!
Have started on the raspberry leaf tea! and also evening primrose oil to help soften my cervix, it think why not every little thing might help! Been having period like cramps since last night and its only every now and then so hoping that might be some sort of sign!
anywho!
Off to a boring meeting today from 2-7ish gah hopefully that will do it for me hahaha!!
Take care girls! Cant wait to come and see you all with my little princess!!! :baby:
Peach xx
kiwigemini
21-07-2010, 10:32
Hi all,:wave:
LM- That just sucks hun.:hugs: I hope you are able to talk to your sister and friend to sort something out. :hugs: Thanks for hosting yesterday, Max was his usual charming self.
Lisa - Johnsons products, dry out all my kids skin. We all use QV products (DH has bad psorisis (sp)) and Sam's skin is beautiful. I agree with the others about popping a few items extra in the trolley each week. Sam is nearly 5 months and I have only bought 1 pkt of nappies since he was born and still have at least another 6 weeks worth. Just don't buy too many newborn ones.;)
Waiting - Sounds like A had a great time.
MG - Great to see you and Spencer again.
Rach - Not sure if you read this thread. Was great to met you and the gorgeous Emi yesterday.
Liv - You are positively glowing! Enjoy tomorrows scan. Pssst..... Are you going to share?????
Just got a text from my Mum, my Granddad has been taken to hospital as he also has an aortic aneurysm and they are worried it's about to dissect. This is when I really hate living so far away.:crying:
LulusMum
21-07-2010, 13:01
Kiwi - that sucks. We used to live 4 hours away from both our families which is nothing compared to you guys - but i kinda know how you feel. take care, i hope your grandad is OK:yes:
I got some $hitty news today, combined with last nights text message and the issues with that i have been a bit of a mess today to say the least. I have got MIL coming over in 1/2 hour to watch max and i am off for a massage - bit of escapism never hurt anyone right?
moongazer
21-07-2010, 13:41
LM - I hope you are ok and get to escape happily for an hour. Thanks again for yesterday!
Kiwi - was great seeing you yesterday. I really hope your granddad is ok. Will they be operating on him???
waitinghoping
21-07-2010, 13:46
Oh LM - If you need any newborn cuddles you can borrow Alexis anytime!! damn I should have got on Bubhub earlier I would have give you a big:hugs: when I bumped in to you!!! Sorry I was in such a hurry, damned Dentist was waiting... If I were you I would say something to each of them (your friend and sister). I would explain to them that you are ok with pregnancy news, you dont need to be wrapped up in cotton wool because of your situation. And I would also let your sister know she broke confidentiality. Not cool. Geez some people just dont get it do they??!!! Such huge misconceptions about having IVF out there. I hope your massage is awesome and you are refreshed after. Oh and Max... the Charmer, got the checkout girls wrapped around his little finger!!!
Kiwi - oh thats terrible news, I hope he is ok. Must be so hard living so far away :hugs:
Peachy - :goodvibes::goodvibes::goodvibes:
Well A is a bit better today. Starting to poo again (yep, right when I bumped in to LM at the shops :laughing:) and much chirpier. She was beside herself last night. Ended up sleeping in bed with us all night. But we all got a good night sleep so it worked! Shes at day-care at the moment (Im supposed to be doing homework, man Im the Queen of Procrastination!!) just praying she doesnt bring any bugs home this week...
Kiwi.....:hugs:. Hope you are ok. Will be thinking of you and your family.
Thanks also for the tips/advice and etc. I always plan to try and buy 1 item each week but i always seem to forget! silly me! :laughing:. I'll need to make a list of what everyone has suggested and work through it! very grateful to everyone.
LM....hope your bad news today sorts itself out. Just going to be one of those days hey! go out and enjoy that massage and the time to yourself! get a coffee and a big fat cake and just induldge and enjoy!
p.s - the bath thing we got is a towel texture so is that what it's called? towel sling thing? lol. anyway, it's towel-like and sits in the bath (like a ramp shape) and bubby lays on that rather than on your wrist the whole time. :) I haven't really checked out other bath-helpers yet. :)
Well I haven't felt bubby move a whole lot today (compared to other days). maybe i have just been too busy to notice? i'm not worried. i've just treated it to a nice bowl of spicy chicken and veg soup and a pack of maltesers.....that should give it a little sugary kick! :D. I'm at the point where i can feel it move a few times a day but if i put my hand to my skin i can't actually feel anything.....so just gotta feel it within for a while yet i think and then when it's ready i'll feel it from the outside too. can't wait! :yelclap:
kiwigemini
21-07-2010, 14:25
LM - I hope the massage improved your day.:goodvibes:Your escapism is much healthier than mine, I head for a bottle of wine.
Lisa - I used to eat icechips and put ice packs on my tummy to get Sam moving.:yes:
Thanks everyone for your thoughts and kind words. We knew this would be an issue when we moved here, but it still sucks. Must get Sam a passport and mine renewed, we're a bit trapped otherwise.
My Granddad got flown to Wellington Hospital, the scan showed the aorta wasn't leaking but ready to burst at any moment. He got rushed into surgery and he's still there, but should be out in the next hour or so. Hopefully it's all going well.:fingerscrossed:
waitinghoping
21-07-2010, 15:45
Kiwi - oh thats awful, the same thing happened to DH except his burst. Its quite scary. I hope he is ok and you're doing ok too. Ps - Im the same, straight to the nearest bottle of wine!!! Im MORE than happy to drink with you....:D
LulusMum
21-07-2010, 15:57
Hang on a minute - who said a massage was my only means of escape????? As we speak i have a bottle of red breathing all ready for wine-o-clock aka max's bedtime;) bring on 6:30 already
Kiwi : honey it is so sad to hear that i hope your grandpa has a speedy recovery .:hugs:
lulu:I hope you enjoyed your massage and enjoy a couple of glasses on wine
Hey girls, did you get the email from Lisa re the child restraints? I got the official instructions from work, so there should be no confusion!
Sorry, I haven't read all your posts, so I am sorry I am not up to date....
Kiwi, I'm sorry to hear about your grandpa :hugs:
Was just wondering Kiwi if you can remind me how many cells Sam was when you had transfer done? I am trying to reassure a friend who had a 2 day 3 cell transfer today, but naturally would like to tell her a success story. She is so wonderful, and so deservent of a child, but this is her 8th cycle in 6 years. I so desperately want her to be a mum.....
Will drop in on my next days off to catch up more (Sun/Mon) hopefully!!!
xxxxx to all
kiwigemini
21-07-2010, 18:49
LM - 29 minutes to go....... You're better than me, I just had a glass with tea.:D
Shy - just spotted your post. Sam had just split into 4 cells before my transfer, midday of day 2. From memory 3 cells is still good for day 2. I hope this is the one for your friend.:goodvibes:
Waiting - Gosh your DH was lucky! Survival rates are pretty low once they burst. I might just have to take you up on that drink.;) LM you in?
afm - Surgery went well, but it was major and recovery will take about 3mths. So relived, just wish I could help Mum out as my Nonna (her step-mum) has only just got out of hos herself for a stroke and still needs alot of help. So sad, a few weeks ago they were so fit, healthy and independent. :no:
Stressful day, worry about Grandad , plumber came and made a mess then DH walked dog **** all through the house!!!!!
LM - 14 minutes......
LulusMum
21-07-2010, 19:54
Kiwi - you dont even need to ask if im in or not - just ask how much:laughing: - writing this 51minutes post bedtime and 2 reds later.....
i was actually thinking when we were all sitting here the other day how nice it would be to have a nice dinner out - without bubs and hubs. Its been ages since i had a girly night out, and i have never left max with DH at night, except when i was on prac. Not that i cant, its just i feel bad about leaving DH when i go out to have fun. But, as i was having my massage today i realised how little i do for me anymore - im lucky to shave my legs once a fortnight - so whos in for a night without the kidlets?
Kiwi - i hope the recovery is a speedy as possible, you left your cookie container here the other day - come over one day for coffee and to pick it up:yes:
moongazer
21-07-2010, 20:09
I'll be up for that!!! Count me in for a dinner. DH is telling me to get out and leave him alone with bubs!! :laughing:
lulusmum : I would be up for that :yes:
waitinghoping
21-07-2010, 21:35
Count me in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :smiliedance:
:hissy:I was sooo up for a glass of wine tonight but Ive got the WORST migraine.. have to ring the chiro tomorrow. Owwwww.
waitinghoping
21-07-2010, 21:39
Nah I take that back, DH asked me if I wanted a glass of wine.... Of course!!!! :laughing:
LM I hope youre doing ok and the massage and wine has helped you relax. We are here for you if you need to vent :hugs:
RachInSyd
21-07-2010, 23:54
I hope it's ok if I join you all here. (For those that don't know I moved to Adelaide about two months ago).
It was great to meet you and your beautiful bubs yesterday. Emi and I loved it. LM, thanks for having us all and thanks to Max fir sharing all his toys. Hope your day today has gotten better.
BTW I was desperately hanging out for wine o'clock today. Must have been one of those days. Would love a night out too.
COUNT ME IN! :yes:. nice idea LM.
Yes i wrote that in capitals cos i'm so in! lol.
oh...also :wave: to Rach. sorry i missed out on meeting you the other day.
Also, i'm wondering if it's ok for me to put in a request about dinner (please feel free to slap me if you think i'm being selfish).
Is it ok if we dont go to town?? I work in town all day everday (well mon-fri) and the last thing i want to do is go back to town for a social event. drives me nuts! :laughing:. (unless if we were to meet at say 6pm or something on a weeknight and therefore i wouldn't go home between work and dinner). If we've got people coming from all sides of Adelaide then The Parade or North Adelaide i can handle.......but i really prefer to avoid town. Sorry, hope that's not too selfish of me to request...?
LulusMum
22-07-2010, 09:33
Hi guys - Great, dinner it is. Does anyone have any food preferences? - im a little piggy so am easy as i eat just about anything. DH and i did go to the oriental hotel last wednesday night for dinner as they do wood fired pizza night - it was really nice, and the pizzas are usually $15 but they do them on wednesday for $5:eek: - Dont want to make it too expensive cause i want everyone to be able to come and not have cost stop them - so any suggestions for nice but not too pricey would be most welcome. Shall we make it week day or weekend? Im easy either way:yes: I guess the parade has some nice eats, melbourne street (montezumas=yummers) - hmmmmmmmmmm will have to think, i will inspect the entertainment book when max is down later
Kiwi - i hope your grandpa has improved overnight, and if you think for one second we are going out without you - forget it. You need a night out 3 times more then we do, so im going to drag you out with us:D
Liv - i think (:o) your scan is today - good luck and i cant wait to hear what jellybean is - im guessing BLUE, but you better tell us, i really need some great news today please:goodvibes:
LM.....as well as being otherwise known as Little Miss Impatient....i also go by the name of Miss Piggy. So i'm easy with whereever/whatever too. Could never pass up a good pizza though! :laughing:. Or Schnitty. Or salt and pepper squid. or....i dont know.....anything! :laughing:. If you happen to find somewhere in the entertainment book then let me know cos i'm pretty sure i might be able to scab the same voucher from my mums book! :D
Kiwi....I agree with LM. You need to come out with us and let your hair down and take your mind off things. I know how hard it can be to do but sometimes a girl just needs to get out and have fun and forget about everything else. Glad to hear your grandpa survived the surgery and is on the road to recovery.....albeit a long recovery. Hope you and your family are ok.
LM...yep it's Liv's morph turn today! Goodluck Liv!! please please please tell us if it's pink or blue! lol. But if you choose not to then that's cool cos somethings you just want to keep to yourself (while at the same time laughing at all our guesses). :laughing:
moongazer
22-07-2010, 09:43
Good luck Liv!!!
I'm happy with whatever for dinner as well!! The Oriental is cool by me, I haven't tried their pizzas!!
I would also be up for mexican at Montezumas as well. I rarely have Mexican and quite like that place. Or we could go all 70's and pig out on ribs and chicken wings at the Pink Pig!! lol
LM - I stopped getting the Entertainment book when I got preggers. I wonder if maybe I should get it again???:rolleyes:
thanks girls i will post latter this afternoon :D very calm to be honest cant wait to find out if jellybean is a her or a she
What about the kensington at the moment i can not eat thai or anything spicy :no:
have a great
LulusMum
22-07-2010, 10:32
MG - MIL gives it to us every year as a gift:yelclap: Really we only used the takeaway ones when i was pregnant and max was small, But we have been using it heaps recently for the vouchers to get in to wildlife parks etc - max loves animals and we can get 1/2 price entry and stuff - its great. Ohhhhhhh - im happy with any of the suggestions, now for what night......
Liv....clearly you've got pink on your mind! :laughing:.
You mean you can't wait to see if it's a 'he' or a 'she'. :D.
LM...any night suits me. If it's to be during the week then i'd love wednesday cos DH plays cricket wed nights and i hate being home alone but then any night is also fine with me. Friday and Saturday night is even better and i dont have to worry about work the next day! :yes:
kiwigemini
22-07-2010, 11:12
Yes, count me in!!!!:yes: I love girls night out. Gotta run and get the groceries. I'll be back later to see if it's pink or blue for Liv. I'm thinking Pink......
Any nights ok, if DH is on night shift I'll get MIL to babysit, so no problem.
that scan went really well all perfect :smiliedance: but we were unable to find out the sex jellybean would not behave so we will just have to wait until december :rolleyes:
Glad it all went well Liv! how exciting! will you not try and find out the sex at another near future scan or are you just going to stick it out til dec and have a nice surprise?
LulusMum
22-07-2010, 15:00
Liv - im so glad all is perfect :yelclap:(as we knew it would be). decembers not that far off -i can wait:yes:
waitinghoping
22-07-2010, 15:40
Oh man, Lisa now you've got me thinking about Schnitties... mmmmmmm Wheres the drool icon when I need it....:D
haha Liv, pink on the brain!!! Im still with Kiwi, Im thinking girl
LM - I noticed your signature has changed... :thumbsup:
Im not fussed where we go, though Im with Lisa, lets by-pass the city. Norwood area always works well, though Im happy wherever. Maybe a pub or cafe would be best just cos there might be better selection of food for our preggie ladies... I prefer not to do Mon or Wed nights cos DH is at TAFE so no-one to look after A. Though if one of those nights were the only nights we could do Ill try to rope a grandparent in....:yes:
LulusMum
22-07-2010, 15:48
Waiting - time to change my ticker - i cant bring myself to add a "im 2 in..." ticker yet so i will just add some baby dust for bub number 2. Speaking of which, after much arguing with repro yesterday about booking on (wont go in to the details) - i am happy to announce i am officially booked on, day 1 tmrw, first jab on saturday - all systems go:yelclap: First scan not till 2nd aug - i take a while to get juicy:D Max's EPU wanst till day 22:eek: after almost being cancelled twice. Fingers crossed next one wont be so hard (but dont mind really if it is) - so last wine for me tonight - might be the last one for the next 15months or so.........;)
Looks like im the only one whos going with BLUE for Livs bub then - on my own again:rolleyes:
Waiting.....yes i agree.....we need a 'drool' icon! haha! moderators......do we get a special request for a special icon? :laughing:.
When was the last time you had a good schnitty? sometimes when i'm having a crappy day or feeling very tired and DH goes home slightly earlier than me and has to go shops to get something for tea.....he usually comes back with schnittys! lol. oh bless him!
As said i'm also easy with any night. preferred nights would be fri or sat so i dont have to worry about work the next day......but happy to go with whatever suits.
Can anyone in the NE area recommend a good physio - one that deals with preg ladies? i've been seeing one the last few weeks who deals with all the preggie ladies at NECH. I didn't know that til i had my first appt with her cos i thought i was just booking into a general physio who dealth with pregnancy. so naturally i thought 'bargain'. however, i'm not sure if she's really doing enough for me. It seems to be my lower right back muscles that just hurt! I can't stand on my right leg (say when having to stand on one leg) and when i get up or down it's always that side/leg that hurts. She has strapped me the last few weeks but doesn't tend to do any massage or anything. All she does is gets me to lie on the bed and lift my legs in the air one at a time and she'll see if the height i can raise the leg to has increased. Then she might move the leg a bit and then she straps me. not much else. I would've thought some massage would've been good or am i just expecting too much?? anyone else had a similar problem?
and then for nearly all of the appt all she talks about his her daughter without taking a breath! sort of drives me a bit nuts! :laughing: :ecomcity:. she's a lovely lady and all but i'm just not sure her treatment is working or if i should be looking at someone who will also massage the area??
LM....we must've posted at the same time! :)
goodluck with your new cycle! that's great you've got the ball/egg rolling again! :D. So no wine for you at the girls night out then??
Also....i haven't made my mind up on Livs baby gender yet so you're not totally alone in blue. :laughing:. she must've had pink on her mind earlier but i haven't made my choice yet so i could very well join the blue club with you.....but i'm not sure yet. Will sit on it a bit longer. :idea:.
waitinghoping
22-07-2010, 16:07
Oh Yay LM how exciting!!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap::yelclap:
Did anyone see the article about Orgalutran (is that how you spell it?) on ACA (or Today Tonight, cant remember.. all a blur...) last night? Its going to be put on PBS from August 1. :thumbsup:
waitinghoping
22-07-2010, 16:55
Oh I forgot to say A is doing much better now. Gave her pears and apricots :thumbsup: Poos galore!!! She has now decided that sitting is over-rated. Wants to be standing ALL THE TIME. If it sit her down she cracks it big time. GRRR If she could spend all day in the Jolly Jumper she would!! (apart from currently watching PlaySchool :laughing: cute) Might have to look in to one of those activity centre thingos that they stand in I think Target had them on sale.... MG did you say you borrowed one from the Toy Library? Which one??
Lisa : I go to a awesome physio and chiro but they are not on the northside here is the details
Smart Health : Ashford and I see Jane she works from 3 most days ph : 08 82931100
and Chiro I see sarah whyatt who specilises in pregnancy and babys PH 8333 0111
Or if you want a massage stephanie is fantastic and she is in kent town 08 83639422
I really reccomed all the above good luck
LulusMum
22-07-2010, 17:23
Lisa - i go to inspiring choices at the modbury heights shopping centre - no physio but Scott does awsome massge and did for me the whole way through my pregnancy. Yesterday i say the new massage lady whos name is Maria - and want to kidnap her and make her massage me everyday:D She rocked, i am slightly paying for it today, but i love her. They have chiro and accupuncture there too. Oh, an on the wine front - i dont drink much, but on ething i have learned is that one glass isnt going to hurt my chances - obviously everyone has an opinion on this, and this is just mine, but after all the study and lengthy convos with my FS, this is the conclusion i have come to. So while i dont make a habit out of it, if i happen to be cycling, and we have a social function, i dont rule it out entirely - but i wouldnt drink a bottle for the sake of it either if that makes sense;)
Liv and LM...thanks for the recommendations. very much appreciated.
Well i got strapped again at the physio. She explained that massage probably wont do anything for me. :(. The muscles at the joint between my spine and pelvic bone are very inflamed and it's putting pressure on my discs and that's why i'm quite sore. When she gets me to lay on the bed and raise one leg at a time....the legs should be raising to over 100degrees each and mine only go to 80-85. So i'm just one of those patients that could take a bit longer. :rolleyes:.
It's not really getting any better because i'm a full-time office worker so i sit down alot and sitting alot isn't really helping......i should be laying down. So maybe i can put in for a reclining chair at work?? :laughing:. So she has asked that I rest all weekend. oh goody! :)
Having said that about the massage though....i'm sure a good massage wont go astray! haven't had one in a while! :D
LM...as for the wine! you go for it! you do what you want to! enjoy your glass or 2 while cycling. I wasn't sure if anyone was like me because since about half way through last year i gave up everything a preg woman shouldn't have. i acted as if i was preg because i just tried to train my body for it. maybe i had a glass or 2 of wine somewhere over the 5 months of ivf'ing but it certainly didn't do any damage and it was sooooooooo good! If only i could have a glass with you on our night out! hmmm...maybe i could ask for half a glass of light wine? lol.
Waiting...glad to hear A is doing alot better! maybe she can do all your uni work for you while she's at it. lol. or if she wants to stand then maybe she can stand over the stove for you and make you a nice dinner! :laughing:
Morning! yay it's working again! :yelclap:
so i'm a little chuffed today! I was lying in bed (on my side as you apparently should) and i could feel the baby moving within so naturally i put my hand in my tummy to see i can feel anything (which up until now i haven't felt anything on the outside). well blow me down.....i felt little knock-knocks on the outside. just little ones. was very uplifting! :yelclap:
But geez....i'm tired....wish i could go back for some more :sleeping:.
Hope you all have a nice day and weekend!
moongazer
23-07-2010, 10:02
Waiting - The toy library I g to is the Burnside Toy Library. It is on L'Estrange St. $40 for a year membership, but you can pay terms as well. It is affiliated/run by my local library, which I think is the case with most toy libraries. Ring your local library, and they should be able to point you in the right direction. Otherwise, I'm sure LM said she has one sitting under their bed....
moongazer
23-07-2010, 10:02
Lisa - feeling the baby from the outside - it's just fantastic isn't it?? :yes:
MG...yep the feeling this morning was such a blessing. i'm not sure if it was actual kicking or me just feeling the baby move through the tummy with my hand. who knows. but it was like little tapping. :)
I saw another thread about hairy bellys! did anyone else grow extra hair on their belly while pregnant (or are growing it while currently pregnant)? I am. The girls in the other thread said they mostly had boys but then there were a couple who had girls. i'm growing extra hair and not reading anything into the gender side of it but just wondering if any of you girls grew extra hair on your belly?
moongazer
23-07-2010, 14:00
I didn't grow extra hair lisa. My friends did though.
It's funny though cos I didn't know it could happen and i thought it was just me so i thought i was slowly growing into a gorilla! :laughing:. it's not a massive amount but it's definetely more than usual.
glad i found the other thread and saw that it's normal and i'm not the only one! :D
LulusMum
23-07-2010, 14:33
Waiting - i have one you can borrow, i'll get brett to get it out over the weekend:yes:
moongazer
23-07-2010, 15:14
Lisa - i think it's more common in girls with meditteranean descent. I'm very fair in an irish way, and I didn't even notice a linea nigra
LulusMum
23-07-2010, 17:25
Nope - no hair here - but didnt lose a hair off my head the whole time, and after he was born went to the hairdressesr and she "stripped" the baby hair off my head - it was gross - but felt so mush better after she did it :yes:
Ok - on to dinner - whos free friday 6th aug? - that said i am having my scan on mon 2nd so may well be having EPU that day or day b4 - or next thurs 29th july??? - have a think:confused:
oh - and i have changed my vote from blue to pink for liv - purely because we need some more girls on this thread to even out the numbers - so team pink it is :goodvibes:
waitinghoping
23-07-2010, 18:17
Lisa - I didnt grow extra hair on my tummy but I did get the dark line. Still got it but its VEEEERY faint now. As MG said the hair growth is more common in mediterranean women
LM - ooooh thanks that would be AWESOME! Let me know when u are free for me to pick it up and ill pop round :D A was at MILs for the day today and even she commented how much she wanted to stand and would crack it whenever she tried to sit her down. She will LOVE it!!
MG - thanks for the info, TTG library has a toy library in it, might have to look in to it. LM or anyone else local (Kiwi?) are you guys registered at the TTG toy library??
Fri 6th sounds good to me. Pretty sure Im free. Yay!!!!
LulusMum
23-07-2010, 18:36
Waiting - did i look like i needed MORE toys to pick up???? - we do go to bounce and rhyme on wednesdays though at TTG. Mon morning i am free from 10-11:30 if you want to coem for coffee and to pick up the activity centre, or, tuesday morning anytime :yes:
moongazer
23-07-2010, 19:10
Next Thursday night is probably good for me. In-laws are coming back from Croatia that day, so will be a busy day, but I'll be free that night. I'm ok Friday 6th as well, so i'm really easy. :D
I had a lot of hair drop about 3 months post partum!! I now have lots of new hair growing in!! DH is MOST jealous!!
I am free on the 6th August :yes:
LulusMum
23-07-2010, 19:42
Lets make it 6th august then, we can decide where later.
MG - DH gets poopy when i tell him Max has officially taken him over in the hair stakes - he is nearing baldness at an alarming rate - and has McDonalds sponsorship to boot:laughing:
LM.....friday 6th is perfect! woohoo! at least i dont have to work the next day! :yelclap:
I haven't got the line down my tummy yet. when does that sort of start happening?
My new belly hair is only minimal but it's still more than usual. not bothering me though. at least i know it's normal.:rolleyes:
Also, i used to malt a bucket load everyday but now i dont malt at all? interesting........i didn't take any notice of it until you guys started mentioning about head hair. hmmmm.....at least i've stopped malting for a while! :D
moongazer
23-07-2010, 21:05
Lisa - your hair will thicken up soon and then once your bubba is born, you will lose the extra hair!! I used to pull handfuls out in the shower, and still some would find it way onto my boobs while I was BF!! :laughing:
waitinghoping
23-07-2010, 22:15
LM I think you ARE the local Toy Library!!!!!!!!!:laughing::laughing: Next Tues morning works best for me, say 10.30am? Thanks sooooo much! Alexis will LOOOOOOOVE you. :bee: Some of the mums from my Mums group used to go to that bounce and rhyme, not sure if they still do. I had meant to go but havent got there yet.
Lisa - Apparently you dont lose as much hair during pregnancy. And yep Im with MG I lost hair at an alarming rate after having A, its cos the preggie hormones are gone so your body makes up for all the hair it DIDNT lose while pregnant. I had the BEST skin EVER while I was pregnant. (I have AWFUL skin - not so much my face but all over my body normally - it was the clearest and softest its ever been. I miss it...:crying::hissy:)
waitinghoping
23-07-2010, 22:33
I thought it was time to update.... looks to me like we have been boy/girl/boy/girl for a while now.... Must mean Pauls Wifey is having a boy as Peachy is having a girl!!! That would also put Liv as having a boy..... hmmm not what I predict!!!
ROLL CALL ADELAIDE BUMPS AND BABIES
Adelaide IVF Bubbas :baby:
Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
mummynow: DS - Matthew James - 4/11/08
Lulusmum: DS - Max - 17/06/2009
Aries10: DS - 21/10/2009
moongazer: DS - Spencer John - 6/11/2009
Waitinghoping: DD - Alexis Tia - 27/11/09
Dreams - DD Emily Grace - 11/1/2010
Fizzgig - DS - Kai David - 31/1/2010
Trying2: DS - Seth - 13/2/2010
Tryingnottobetooclucky: DD - Jasmine Elise - 23/2/2010
Kiwigemini: DS - Sam Tate - 6/3/2010
Liss77 - Kate Joanne 5/5/2010
Nevergivenup - Gian Carlo and Jonas James - 27/5/2010
Rezza - Piper Grace 11/7/2010
Due in 2010 :bfp: 's:
Pauls64 (wifey!) EDD 27/7/2010
Peachykeen: EDD 9/8/2010
Bertie50: EDD 7/10/2010
Mardicharli: EDD 14/10/2010
Mummynow: EDD 20/11/2010
Lisab26: EDD 29/11/2010
Liv01: EDD 13/12/2010
Hopefulthisyr: 2/2011
LulusMum
24-07-2010, 09:00
Hi - im too much of a technology defect to do it, but is there anyway we can update the roll call to include TTC#2 2010 - i like it here with you guys and if you all dont mind wont be heading back over to the adelaide IVF thread. Its hard cause i belong here because of max, but dont because of cycling IYKWIM - and just to be clear, i dont want anyone to feel like they have to tip toe around me when im cycling etc - its my choice to be here so i will suck it up:yes: And i love hearing about bubbas and pregnancy so chat away:yelclap:
Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
Nevergivenup - Gian Carlos and Jonas James - 27/5/2010
Liv01: EDD 13/12/2010
Shy1: EDD 12/1/2011
TTC #2
Lulusmum - Cycling July/Aug 2010
Morning all!
Can i please just firstly say that DH FELT HIS FIRST KICKS THIS MORNING!!! :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:! So precious!
Waiting...OMG...everyone has been commenting on how good my skin is at the moment! I just figured it was maybe the skin cleanser i've been using?! :laughing:. I've always had terrible skin.....very prone to pimpes but i figured they had been gone for a while now because maybe the products i had been using were working their tricks. i'm talking about the last 1-2 years of it being good...but still....you would've thought pimples would've returned with all the hormones during pregnancy! yay!
Lulusmum....you are very welcome to stay in here while cycling! this is our home! :yes:. We'll always be here to give you hugs for claps....whichever one you need at the time! :D.
waitinghoping
24-07-2010, 10:03
No LM you cant stay... :laughing: Kidding!!! No way would I LET you leave!!!! My apologies I didnt even think to add another section. Good idea though - Thanks Lisa for doing it. Oh and LM - we are all here to support you in your quest to TTC #2 so feel free to share as Im sure down the track there will be more of us in your position. No shying away from us now!!
Oh and feel free anyone to update if I got details wrong or anything needs to be changed. :yes:
lulu: You are more than welcome to stay cause I would not let you leave :hugs:
Lisa: Mat felt buba move before i realised :laughing: he now hopes jellybean will move every night when he cuddles me but it has been really early in the morning so he has missed it :ecomcity: he is so cute he talks to my belly every morning a nite:kiss:
Adelaide IVF Bubbas
Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
Due in 2010 's:
Liv01: EDD 14/12/2010
TTC #2
24-07-2010, 10:51
My skin was the best while I was pregnant too. i have really sensitive skin, and found my skin didn't go red and patchy/blotchy after i cleansed. Not too bad now, but I am on better products for my skin too!! :D
Liv - you on a mac?? I am and lose all formatting too when I cut and paste. A girl on another thread mentioned to quote the roll call, then in the preview, get rid of the quote marks and add your change!! It worked for me!! :D
moongazer
24-07-2010, 10:53
Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
TTC #2
Moongazer - Aug 2010
LulusMum
24-07-2010, 14:25
Thanks guys - i really didnt want to leave, but i know this thread was set up so peopel could talk about pregnancy and bubbas without upsetting anyone, if anything seeing all the preggos in here gives me inspiration at the very least... And thanks Moonie - i was getting lonely down the bottom by myself - OMG, soon we will have to add a ":baby: due in 2011":yelclap::smiliedance:
AFM - Well, i am stocked up on elevit, vit B and anything else i can get my hands on. Last night was 1st wine free night in a whie and i must say i slept better than i have in ages:sleeping: - am not changing anything drastically, but i have swapped one of my 2 coffees for a decaf - (yes liv, it finally arrived)
Lisa - when did you start/stop aspirin? My FS said it doesnt make a difference or not so i can take it if i want - just not sure on the protocol
Lisa and Liv - Those types of flutters are absolute magic - now wait for 38+ weeks when you are in tears begging bubba to please get their foot/elbow/bum out of either your rib cage, vajayjay, or bladder:laughing:
LM we all know each other quite personally in here so it's like we're a happy little family! :D.
I have been taking my aspirin since January and I think by memory my transfer was mid march. My ob has requested i still continue to take the aspirin until further notice because even the morph scan showed that had different levels of blood flow in my uterine wall and i cant remember if it was a recent blood test or the scan itself that showed i still had positive reading for ANA antibodies.....so yep, 5 months into the preg and i'm still taking it until i'm told to stop.
Are you taking it? I guess i haven't had any tests to show if it made the difference or not but i guess the tests i have had have indicated that i should be on it...if that makes sense? Have you had any tests to indicate if you should take it? If you decide to then that's great.....as long as your FS and future ob/midwife are aware you're taking it. I had to explain to my ob why i was taking it and once she saw test results she understood. :)
Yep the movements have been magic. Such a blessing that DH could finally feel them. Yes it was first thing in bed this morning and I woke him to grab his hand to put to my tummy but the smile on his face was absolutely beautiful! :yelclap:
MG....i thought i saw in another thread that you were starting again! woohoo! However I wasn't going to put it in the roll call until you had confirmed it! :yes:. Goodluck!!
:wave: to those we haven't seen in a while! Liss (how's kate?), NGU (how are those precious boys?), Fizz (how's kai?), Tryingclucky (how's jasmine?), Trying2 (how's DH and how's Seth?), Rezza...hope you're enjoying motherhood with Piper!
Mg : yes I am on a mac i tried to do it a couple of times but always looks the same but i love my mac :yes:
Lulusmum : Enjoy your first jab tonight I am sending you some :babydust2:
What an exciting day today we have now ordered all our big stuff cot and everything we ended up ordering it from baby junction in magill and they are fantastic and great discount it was so cute hubby was checking out all the toys saying we should get this and that.
And we have has a very active bubba the past two days :D
Anyway have a fantastic saturday night
Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
Due in 2011 :bfp: 's:
Mummyagain: 25/3/2011
TTC #2
Moongazer - Aug 2010
Well I hope you don't mind but I started the heading of babies due in 2011 on the roll call because there are a few of us already!
LM and MG, hope you will soon be due again!
Kiwi, how are your levels going?
Lisa and Liv, lovely catching up for lunch yesterday, you are both glowing, and I can't wait to have a bump which looks like I'm pregnant, and not that I've just been indulging in too much of the good stuff!!!! Both your purchases sound wonderful, can't wait til I am confident to go out shopping!
Waiting, how is A going?
Lisa, I am on baby aspirin until around 32 weeks I reckon then the dr will reassess.
To everyone else, :wave: sorry just got home from work and walking the dog and am buggered!
AFM, almost 16 weeks now! Got Ob appt on Wednesday morn which is also DH's birthday, so :fingerscrossed: all is still well....hopefully will get a scan, well, I know he will if I ask!
I haven't had much nausea since about 11 weeks, just the odd bit that comes over me when I've eaten, but doesn't stick around. I've been terribly 'blocked up' so have been drinking and eating prune/prune juice!!! Sorry if tmi!
When did you girls start showing? I guess because I carry extra padding that it is taking longer! I know my tummy feels hard, just want to look UTD!
I hope to be able to come along to the dinner on 6/8. I am working 7/8 but should be ok.
waitinghoping
24-07-2010, 18:10
Thanks everyone for updating!!! A bit easier to keep track now :) MG I wasnt sure whether to put you on the TTC list yet cos you had mentioned it but wasnt sure if you said it in here or that was common knowledge. Yay!!!! Now LM has a buddy!!! :yelclap:
Oh and Yay a 2011 bubba list. I wont be on it...:crying: My next will be a 2012 bubba. Waaahhhh!!! Wont start TTC till mid next year. (12 months time). Feels like FOREVER away. Dont want to be preggas while doing my uni placements (M/S in a kitchen with 20+ students at a time... hmmm might not be pretty....:barf:) so I have to wait. Though Im worried if I leave it till then.... then it takes a while.... Ill go mental.... augh stop thinking about it!!
Shy - WOW 16 weeks already!! Thats gone REALLY quickly! Will be good if you can come along, from memory I havent seen you in AAAAAAAAAGES!!
LulusMum
24-07-2010, 18:25
Shy - sorry, i dont get it. To be due in 2012 wouldnt i have to be pregnant in or after early april of 2011, and we are only july of 2010, giving me at least 8 months to nail this and be due in 2011, which im cofident i will -so i was hoping for earlier then 2012 thanks all the same
Liv - Woo hoo - i looooooooooooove baby purchases - cute of DH too, mine still runs around like a kid in candy store picking out stuff for Max, i love the kaloo range of toys in baby junction:yes:
Lisa - i have had all the tests (at least once:rolleyes:) and they didnt find anything. Its just my FS doesnt think low dose aspirin is an effective treatment - he doesnt believe in it as i questioned him about it. He said i could do it if i wanted too, but wasnt putting me on it as a matter of course, so i was at a bit of a loss as to when to start if i was going to do it - if that makes sense. Did it interfere with EPU at all? I had a massive bleed after one epu - their excuse was the area is very vasular, it wasnt vaginal bleeding as such, they just hit something when going through the wall with the catheter - so i was wondering if you started before or after EPU - so thanks for the clarification:goodvibes:
moongazer
24-07-2010, 19:21
methinks Shy is having a baby brain moment!! i sure jope it doesn't happen until 2012, because I don't have many eggs left to begin with!!....
Waiting - yep, I was waiting until I got the all clear. Got my results from a followup pap and colposcopy, and was told to go and get pregnant!! :smiliedance: Told my gynae/ob I'd see her in a few months!!!
Liv - yep yep - I love my mac too!!
hi ladies,
New thread here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=353736):D