View Full Version : Adelaide - IVF to Baby bumps and babies

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

LulusMum
31-03-2010, 08:21
Lisa - Dr Linda McKendrick used to be my gyne, she delivers at ashford, not sure if she does wch. Dr Peat at wch rocks - he was fab, and did quite a nice repair job afterwards;) Just check with your private heath, as many will charge out of pocket if bubs isnt admitted as a patient, i mean, if bub is born healthy and doenst need to go to nicu or scbu you might be charged, up to $3000 approx oop. If bubs does get admitted as their own patient, not just under mums admittance, then you wont be charged. I have private too but went public. I know several middies at wch and they all said care is no different. You arent even guaranteed private room as they are given to highest need first such as mulitples or c/s. If you are a private patient and end up in share room, you could be put on a waiting list for a private room when someone leaves, but then you have to pack up all your gear and bubs and move - too hard. You will get a free TV though, although charge is only $5.00 per day, keep in mind though that not even that is guaranteed to work:laughing:

lisab26
31-03-2010, 08:32
yeah i dont mind going public or private but it will be through WCH. I just would prefer to have the same ob the whole way through....the same person to do the scans so i know that i have an actual appt rather than just turning up and waiting in line........?

I also know that unfortunately i'm going to have to have a c/s - for health reasons which i'd rather not go into. So, just want to make sure it's as cheap for our pockets as possible but also i want reliable treatment......
I dont mind if have to share a room and etc. i'm quite easy.....i just would prefer consistent treatment and very little oop expenses.....esp if im going to have a c/s.

We have our first appt with the ob on 5 May....will they be doing a scan do you think?? i hope so!! cos that will be at 10 weeks......and i want to know everything is hunky-dory!

LulusMum
31-03-2010, 08:39
Lisa - generally no scan at 10 weeks, but they will use the doppler to check heart rate and that bub is in the right spot. If you go public you dont have to "wait in line". You still get appt time and you can still see the same ob the whole way through. They will ask at your first appt if you want mid or dr clinic, but you can change your mind at any stage through your pregnancy. I was public, chose mid clinic, where i saw the same mid the whole way, until i got to about 32 weeks and encountered some minor complications. Because it was IVF and originally a twin pregnancy they didnt take any chances and automatically transferred me to drs clinic. I saw Dr peat at all appts, and even though he didnt catch max, he was there to break my waters and do my stitches after. The Dr doesnt do the scans anyways, they give you a form and you take yourself off to ultrasound where the sonographer does it, then the dr discusses the findings with you at your next appt. Hope this helps:goodvibes:

lisab26
31-03-2010, 08:43
oh jeepers......lol. looks like i need to have a proper discussion with you about it! :laughing:

LulusMum
31-03-2010, 08:50
No worries mate, will be happy to catch up and have a proper chat about all this. I can get so daunting with all the info and everyone has a different experience. I probably leaing a fair bit out too cause its just too difficult to explain through typing. Just dont stress about it yet, its normal for people to not have their first appt till almost end of first trimester anyways, so just try and relax or you will do your head in:D

lisab26
31-03-2010, 08:55
yeah the only thing that's doing my head in a the moment is making sure my levels are rising and waiting for first scan! yippee!! dont worry, i'm quite relaxed though.

will organise a catchup with you and a maxi cuddle!! :)

peachykeen
31-03-2010, 12:10
Lisa, my levels were at 1300 or something!! SOUNDS PERFECT!! so happy for you!! welcome to the graduation thread!!

WOOHOO 21 weeks this week! Officially in the teeeeeeeeeeens!!!!!!! OMG!

little peanut is moving around a lot! I've been feeling really great in the second trimester although my only complaint is that i'm finding it increasingly harder to get comfy in bed at night and it tends to wake me up a lot! I guess i'm be well used to waking up when peanut is born!

Hope everyones well! i've been painting my front door today it was the most horrible colour!

have a lovely easter ladies!!

lisab26
31-03-2010, 13:21
thanks peachy! good to know!
what week did you start feeling anything??

happy 21 weeks!!

are you keeping busy now that you're not working or are you just taking each day as it comes?

waitinghoping
31-03-2010, 20:36
Lisa - so happy you have joined us here!!! I was private through North Eastern, had an OB who I saw the whole way through (except 2 appts while she was on holidays and I saw the other Ob she worked with so I knew her in case she ended up delivering).

Here's what I had:
- Didnt have 1st appt till about 10 weeks (oh those first few weeks were sooo nerve wracking!) had a 6 week scan at Repromed.
- Dont think I felt anything till at least 7 weeks (though from memory I had some spotting before that). Just gradually started to feel REALLY tired, nauseous at night and it gradually got worse then MS started, had that till around 15 weeks.
- Had my main scans (12week NT and 19 weeks Morph) through Sound Diagnostics, doppler heartbeat checks each appt and every now and then an ultrasound checkup at the OB's rooms (though I think I might have got extra scans at the rooms because I had complications so she was cautious, but I know she does do them for others too).

Hope that helps.

lisab26
31-03-2010, 22:19
hi guys!!

hope you're all keeping well!

Just want to have a vent for a minute........
When I got the call on Tues to say I had great levels with my BFP I then asked the nurse if i could do another blood test for tomorrow to see if my levels are rising properly (even though she said they were perfect). So, will see what happens tomorrow. Then FS called me later this avo and congratulated me and said that i'm fine to do the blood test tomorrow but that will be it until my scan because just have to let nature take it's course and hopefully it's a good course. if something were to go wrong there's nothing they can do about it. basically said stuff like that. I have been thinking about it ever since that call and have felt a bit let down! surely they should ALWAYS do a 2nd blood test to see if levels are rising perfectly! and not only should they do that BT but they should also do a BT 1 or 2 days before the scan just to make sure everything is hunky-dory! I couldn't think of anything worse than to turn up to a scan and see no heartbeat all just because the clinic didn't want to do regular BT's just to see everything cruising along! know what i mean? sorry.....just really a bit let down by how their policies are! Man, i feel like i have to do everyones job for them sometimes no matter what situation i'm in!! I've seen a few people in the unfortunate situation of getting a BFP but then getting no heartbeat or even getting the heartbeat but then miscarrying a few weeks later! Why can't they just help us out with how we feel and what we feel and if we want a BT then why can't they just do it? !!

Waiting.....thanks for the info. I'd love to go through north eastern but i know i'm going to have to have a c/s so that's why i'm headed to WCH from the start.....gotta make sure i can do cheapest option for that case. :(
What is the NT scan at 12 weeks? is the morph scan one that checks size and shape and etc?
The 1 and only symptom i'm feeling is hunger! lots of it! haha. normally i am always hungry but this time it's a HUNGRY!! haha!

waitinghoping
01-04-2010, 04:23
Lisa - NT scan = Nuchal Translucency scan there they measure the clear tissue in the babys neck and give you a risk factor for the baby having downs syndrome. I ended up having a c-section at North Eastern (after 13 hours labor), not ideally what I wanted but I have to say they were wonderful about it, the OB was really calm and chatty the whole way through. As far as c-sections go I would say mine was a pretty good experience and had an awesome recovery :yes: (if you havent had a peek look check out the photos in my FB of my c-section)

Right A has gone back to sleep, time for some shut-eye for me!!

Hows everyone going? All the new bubbas - Kiwi, Dreams, Fizz, Trying(s)? and our preggie ladies - Bertie? Mardi? and of course Peachy! (plus anyone else Ive missed... brain fades at 5am haha!)

peachykeen
01-04-2010, 07:45
Lisa i didnt have a second blood til about 6.5 weeks because my levels were normal, if they are that high i really wouldnt worry about getting another blood just enjoy the next week, because if you are anything like me.... dead on 6 weeks... i vomitted all day everyday until about 15 weeks lol!!!! BUT you asked for it! Just try not to get hungry.. thats all i can say!

Waiting i'm good! Having ****ty as sleeps at night! BUT had THE best dream last night about having our baby, she was a little girl and so perfect.. so ofcourse i've now woken up wanting a girl lol! and i dont know what i'm having so now i really want to know!! did you know???

Peach xx

LulusMum
01-04-2010, 08:33
Lisa - i didnt have any follow up bloods done at all. Just the initial confirmation and then scan. TBH i wasnt on bub hub at the time so was probably a bit naive to what could go wrong, just thought once you were preggers that was it. Just remeber that these horrible things that can happen do happen to a very small number of people - you are young and healthy so the risk of anything going wrong is sooooooo minimal. The risk of anything happening after the scan confirming heartbeat and bub is in right spot is minimal - you wil be fine. Personally, even though we knew from pretty early on that one of our twins wasnt going to survive im glad i got to see on the scan what was going on, even though it was bad news, i felt i got to say goodbye to bub - musch better then hearing numbers were dropping IYKWIM.

At the 12 week scan, combined with BT's they will check thickness of fluid at the neck, and also check for a nasal bridge bone, which children with down syndrome dont have. Then they will send you a risk assessment, mine with max was 1:300 000 for NT defectes, and 1: 15000 for DS - so very low risk, but hey, i had just kept elevit in business for 4 years so my folate was probably through the roof:laughing:

moongazer
01-04-2010, 09:19
Hi girls, just thought I'd pop in and say I have been reading, but haven't had much time to post. Lots of stuff happening in my life at the moment. I would love to catch up if that ends up on the cards at some point. I'm at Toorak Gardens, but can certainly travel to meet!

Lisa, I can understand your FS comment may have seemed horrible and insensitive.
My only thought is that by the time the first scan comes around, hcg levels would be so varied that it would be an unreliable indicator of the pregnancy status. I know that it can take weeks for the hcg to get to 0 after a miscarriage, so if you see what I mean, the only real reliable indicator would be the heart beat. :) I hope this doesn't upset you more. It all sounds so impersonal. xx I'm sure all will be well with your little bundle

waitinghoping
01-04-2010, 09:59
Oh Peachy I dont miss the cr*ppy nights sleeping while pregnant AT ALL!! At least getting a bad night sleep now involves A and even if she's being a monkey she still grins and at 3 in the morning that makes it a bit easier. (a bit..) I used to get really twitchy legs (restless legs) during pregnancy in the first trimester then it came back even worse in the 3rd... I would have to massage my legs for an hour before bed.. would take me about 2 hours to get to sleep.. then up every hour pe*ing. Augh.

And nope we didnt find out the sex. I was convinced A was going to be a boy so when they pulled her out and said "what have you got?" i was like "hmmm well it hasnt got a willy.... a girl?? Oh its a girl!!" hehe the drugs had really got to me by then, it was a real process of deduction!! :laughing:

Yup Lisa I agree with what MG said, the HCG arent really a good indicator, its so varied for everyone.

MG - I saw in another thread you've had it tough recently, hope you are doing ok :hugs:

NGU - hows the twinnies??

lisab26
01-04-2010, 18:44

Thanks for your responses. I'm just being over-cautious/over-sensitive me.....haha!

BT today showed hcg is now over 3000 which i'm happy with. To know it has nearly doubled is great!

Did any of you get that big body/pregnancy pillow? i'm such a tummy sleeper that i've now been trying to train myself to sleep on my side......:)

I'm so excited about everything to come!! Keep telling me of your experiences cos i love to hear of what to probably expect! love it! yay!

Hope you've all had a great day!

LulusMum
01-04-2010, 18:52
Lisa - i got the snoogle pillow form toys r us, its almost like a spiral so you hook it over your shoulder, comes around under your tummy and then between your legs and ends just about near your lower back - it doubles as a breatsfeeding pillow after, and its so comfy i still use it now. You can also use it when bub is small to make a kind of nest for them if you are having floor time etc. So many uses so great value for money. DH bought it for me as a gift, but i think they are about $60.00, and about $20.00 for the pillow cases

waitinghoping
01-04-2010, 20:11
Lisa I had a normal body pillow - it was awful but that might have been just me cos Im quite little. Way to big and thick, I was used it once then got rid of it. I ended up just using normal pillows to get comfy and towards the end a u-pillow which I used for b/feeding. (initially just folded towels while my bump was still small)

liss77
02-04-2010, 20:48

Lisa - big welcome to you!!! So lovely to see you here! :D

Ladies, I am due in about 4 and a bit weeks, and would love to come to the catch up / mothers group. (I am from Western suburbs, but am happy to travel)

Hope all are well, when is the next bubba due?

Happy Easter

Love Liss:flowerz:

waitinghoping
03-04-2010, 13:22
Wow Liss just over 4 weeks... thats gone SOOOOOOO quickly!! How exciting!!!

Looks like we've got a few of us available for a catch up, might be time to look at dates :D

LulusMum
03-04-2010, 14:14
Waiting - i agree re: choosing dates. My prac finishes on fri 23rd april, following monday (26th april) is anzac day so we could have it on the tuesday (27th april) if that suits. That way we will catch liss before bub comes (hopefully:yes:)

What does everyone think about that plan. I was thinking bubbles for the first meet up till we get to know each other, and if we want to make it regular after that, say once a month catch up, we could rotate houses, or just have it at my house - whatever people want to do. About 10ish is a good time for us cause Max is awake and happy then and we can grab morning tea, or we could go 11ish and stay for lunch - i forget what having a smaller baby is like, so maybe mums with little bubs need to speak up here about what would suit.

Look forward to having a date sorted:p

tryingnottobetooclucky
04-04-2010, 16:08
Lulusmum - thanks for taking the idea of a catch up and running with it! :yelclap:The plan sounds great.

Welcome Lisa! Congratulations on being here! I only had one blood test, so I wouldn't worry about that! Fingers crossed you have a lovely sticky one!

Has everyone been having a good Easter weekend?

Things are going relatively well here. After the initial hellish weeks when Jasmine was crying all the time, we worked out it was because I wasn't producing enough milk :no: so she was crying because she was constantly hungry. So, it's been incredibly disappointing having to give her formula, but since we've been giving her topups after every feed, she's a different girl! Okay, she still takes a while to settle during the day, but at least she's just grunting rather than crying!

Wow Liss, that's not long! Hope you manage to find time to get food put away in the freezer - it really is hard to find time and energy to cook in those initial weeks!

LulusMum
04-04-2010, 16:37
Trying - im glad you got the bottom of Miss J's unsettledness. I understand entirely the guilt factor of either stopping BF'ing or top up feeding with formula. I fought this battle a few times and really got worked up about it. Lucky for me after a few months of perseverance i managed to fully BF Max and i have just recently cut down to one comfort feed per day - on my terms. It felt so much better knowing i was making this decision about when to stop, as opposed to stopping cause you have no choice. In the early days i used to bawl and just hate myself about it, i couldnt believe how guilty i felt about it. Now that Max is older though i really dont think much about it anymore. Its like we have so many other things to do now, BF isnt on my radar anymore. When they are little like J all they do is eat and sleep basically so its no wonder we get our knickers in knots about the feeding thing. I hope you will feel better about this in time, cause the most important thing here is that you and J are happy, and it sounds like introducing top ups has got you a contented little girl, and possibly given a bit of respite in the sleep area. I hope you dont mind me organising the meet up, you kind of sounded like you had your hands full, and i am just an organising freak;)

Happy Easter everyone, i dont suppose any other bubs on here are old enough for choccie, but max had his first taste on good friday and DH has likened him to a crack addict - always on the look out for his next hit:laughing:

tryingnottobetooclucky
04-04-2010, 17:00
I'm very happy for you to organise it Lulusmum! :yes:

Yes, the BF thing has been hard, particularly when my mother is one of those women who my DH and I are now terming "Breastfeeding Nazis". Before you have kids, you expect that it is a decision you can make, whether to BF or bottle feed. I guess many women who don't have any problems with BF continue to think that. You don't expect that the decision can be taken out of your hands. Thank you for your story of perseverance with Max. I am still really hoping my supply may be able to increase enough to fully BF J, so am using a supply line to give her formula, and expressing as well now and then.

waitinghoping
04-04-2010, 21:15
Lulusmum - 27th sounds good.. only thing is Im a complete gumby and forgot I go to uni on Tues....D'oh! Though I might be able to be 'sick' that day :D

Tryingclucky - I had supply issues too, and initially felt bad about giving A formula. I managed to get back to exclusively BF for a little but but A always had issues attaching so my supply dropped and I felt I was fighting a war with her screaming every feed so decided to express full time (which 10 weeks later Im STILL doing!) Because of expressing I still have supply issues but here's a few suggestions if you havent tried might be worth a go:

- Make sure you are drinking HEAPS of water, I find my supply drops if I dont drink enough
- Try taking Fenugreek or Blessed Thistle (both available from health food stores) I find Fenugreek helps me. I was taking a combined one which was good can give you the details if you want, just PM
- Brewer's Yeast also helps. There's a good lactation cookies recipe here on BH to help supply.. a bit bad for the hips but you can mix the ingredients (Brewers yeast, oats, Flaxseed meal - all be it not nice tasting) in to smoothies etc.
- Express after feeding can help improve supply, that way you can feed the EBM instead of Formula.

Hope that helps!

Easter has been good here, just chilling. A is too young for chocolate of course but with the amount Im eating I reckon she's getting chocolate milk now! Though the easter bunny gave her a stuffed bunny (Im eating the egg that came with it:laughing:)

LulusMum
05-04-2010, 08:30
Trying - we can chat more about this at the meet up if you like, but have you tried taking prescription medication (motilium, domperidone) to increase your supply, was it offered to you at torrens house? Eventually i had to resort to these drugs and my supply went through the roof - we are talking absolute huge melons:D The risk with these is that you can only take them for about 3 weeks and after that your supply will either stabalise at the higher level of supply, or dry up completely. i was lucky that it stabalised high, and i maintained it through7 BF's per day and 3 expesses - getting a full feed (210ml) expressed throughteh 3 combined. If you want to know the routine i was given to get supply up inc expressing let me know and i will bring it along to our meet up.

As for your mum, i have found actually explaining to people the issues you are having gets them off your back faster then being prickly about it. My mil was the same. We explained the situations (getting up 7 times a night, cranky baby etc) and she finally got it. Its a shame your mum isnt giving you the support you need during this time, lucky you have us:yes:

tryingnottobetooclucky
05-04-2010, 20:44
Waiting - expressing for 10 weeks is impressive! I've just finished eating my first batch of lactation cookies, you've reminded me, I really should make some more! I tried adding LSA and brewers yeast to porridge and had to throw it out as it was gross :barf: but the cookies are yummy. Pity about the calories!

Lulusmum - yes, I've been on 8 tablets of domperidone a day since leaving hospital. Just starting to wean off a bit now, cutting down to 6 a day at the moment.
My mum is generally very supportive, I am lucky, although some of her early comments before she realised how serious the problem was, still hurt. She knows that though, and is trying to be really good.

At the moment our schedule is feeding on the breast for 10 minutes each side or until she's no longer feeding well, then feed her through the line. Half an hour after finishing I'm either giving her another top-up on the breast, or expressing. This evening was a bit exciting, I managed to express 20ml, whereas my previous best after a feed is about 5-10ml, so I think the supply line is helping!:thumbsup:

kiwigemini
05-04-2010, 22:13
Hi all, I have my Mum here from NZ, so just a short one.

Tryingclucky - So glad to hear things have improved with J. I have had supply issues from the beginning with Sam. My milk never really came in, well not like with the other 2. After Sam "woke up " from the jaundice he became a hungry, upset baby. I expressed (even though I hate it ), took fenugreek and flax seed, ate rolled oats and was on domperidome. Unfortuantly none of this really helped, and when I stopped the domperidone my milk dried up completely. So yesterday my 4 week old baby became Formula feed. Many tears, thank god Mum is here, she is so supportive. But I know it's for the best and Sam is so settled now.

Paige was a breeze to BF, it was so easy, I never understood the fuss. Joshua had major feeding issues, he could latch on but struggled to suck, we would both be in tears at feed times, no supply issue though. He ended up being FF at 10 weeks, after many visits to Drs and BF clinics. No one could help us, they couldn't work out what was going wrong. Josh struggled to bottle feed also for a long time.:no: I felt like a HUGE failure, I had BF my daughter for 10 months, how could this happen? My guilt was massive and I would bottle feed in secret and made DH buy the formula. I was a mess.

I was hoping BF would work out this time, but it was not meant to be and I am not putting myself though that hell again. I am sad it didn't work but I don't feel any guilt, shame or sense of failure this time.
Sounds like you're on the right track to boost your supply, don't be put off by me as I have had breast surgery since the 1st two and I always knew BF might not work.

Liss - I think you're due next hun.:baby:

LM - That date is fine by me, times don't matter as Sam changes his routine on a daily basis.:laughing: Bubbles sounds good for a 1st meet up.

Lisa - You're pregnant hun, enjoy. Congrats again.

Hope everyone else is well.

afm - School holidays here, so it's a tad full on. Off to the shops tomorrow to buy new jeans as my baby bump doesn't want to leave and I am soooo sick of the 3 things I can squeeze into. My Mum is here but only for a week, boo hoo.
I got my referral for the cardiologist, I should hear from the RAH in a week or 2 for an appointment. I also need to ring and book an appointment with my hematologist, as I am no longer being seen by WCH. I'm off the prednisolone and feel so much better for it. Take care all.

So much for a short post, well that's enough :ecomcity: from me.

tryingnottobetooclucky
06-04-2010, 10:33
The guilt thing is just awful isn't it Kiwi! I can understand why the promotion of BF is important, but it really feels that we've gone too far, stigmatising FF. Glad to hear Sam is settled now. Getting enough food really makes a difference doesn't it! :hugs:
Glad to hear you're feeling better off the pregnisolone!

waitinghoping
06-04-2010, 22:01
Kiwi - wow a hard decision to make... obviously the right one though, Sam sounds like hes doing much better.

I agree with Tryingclucky there's so much of a stigma against FF and such a push for BF, can feel guilty but its not your fault. I still have days where I feel guilty I cant B/F Alexis.. though I figure while Ive got the milk I may as well give her what Ive got... hence why I spend 1/2 my like attached to a breast pump :laughing: I keep contemplating going to full FF (she has some formula each day) but havent brought myself to that point yet so you are braver than me. :yes:

Hope everyone and all the bubbas (and little bubbas still 'doing time inside' :laughing: are doing well!) Cant wait to meet you guys at the catch up. I have a mental block as to who I have and havent met yet....(Kiwi I remember you!) probably cos I met everyone when I was preggas - damn preggo brain!!

lisab26
07-04-2010, 08:58
Morning All!

Trying and Kiwi....i hope you are ok about the B/F guilt. Dont feel guilty. You've tried and done the best you can. (but then again, i probably wouldn't know because i'm not at that stage) but if you've tried and done the best you can then that's all you can do. Hope you are ok.

Well i'm heading to the GP tonight to request a BT. I'm 6 weeks today and still not feeling a thing! it's driving me nuts and i just want to cry (although i'm not stressing) because I just want to feel something! This wait to the first scan is worse than the TWW! Give me headaches, give me tears, give me spew, give me the works.....just give me something! I sort of feel like i'm just waiting for AF to arrive. So, i'm not waiting til scan, i'm going to GP to get a BT to see if levels are still rising/good. I'm then seeing my usual GP friday next week to get a ob referral so again i'll get another BT just to make sure. Sorry, i'm such a details person that I need to know everything is good. i'm prob a bit impatient which is why i'm so organised and like to know everything is as it should be.........:thumbsup:

Is it usual to not feel anything at 6 weeks. no sore boobs, no dizzy/nausea feelings, no tummy pains.......nothing! ?

I am stoked that i'm am UTD and that i got my BFP...I just want to feel something!! just something! :rolleyes:

moongazer
07-04-2010, 10:28
Lisa - I didn't feel anything about 6 weeks. I only started feeling mild nausea about 8 weeks. My (.)(.) didn't feel any different either. Don't worry too much. Everyone is different in what they feel. :D

lisab26
07-04-2010, 10:59
Thanks MG. i'm just such a worrywart! :laughing:

i'm still going for an extra BT just to make sure....:)

mardicharli
07-04-2010, 14:26
Hi Everyone! :wave:

Haven't been on for ages - was going nuts organizing my 40th (sigh) and have had my folks staying with us for a couple of weeks.
But now on holiday for a whole 2 weeks - yay!! :)

Haven't had a chance to read back much yet but:
LisaB I just went through the dreaded wait for my first scan - had to wait until 7 weeks with my OB and even then this was early as we lost our first baby at 9 weeks. :(

I convinced FRM to do blood tests each week until I saw our OB as I didn't want to get to the scan and see a slow heartbeat as I did last time, but actually found having the blood tests very stressful. I found I was stressing about each one from about the Mon (I had them on Weds) and then the wait each day for the results was traumatic! Then the analysing of each result - was it high enough? Are the levels dropping or still going up - as it can take days to actually start falling..etc.. As the results can very in the thousands I was still stressing until the day of the scan. I thought it would help, but only gave me peace of mind for a day or two a week.

You are so lucky they they are doing the scan so early!

As with Moongazer I didn't feel much until 6 weeks except for some (.)(.) tenderness. Then boy did I get hit with MS and tiredness!!! Hoping it will stop soon - have never been so tired in my life! And the MS is all day - yuck! Have vomited every morning for 7 weeks and have all day nausea and sometimes more vomiting too. :barf:
Love that I know bubs is growing along well but don't wish it to start too soon! :D Won't be long and it will all start for you!

AFM - Have our 12 week (although it will actually be 13 weeks and 1 day but who's counting???) scan tomorrow at 1pm. Soooo nervous. This is the next biggie! We haven't done a thing babywise until now - so don't want to jinx it! So planning on starting on the nursery next week! :fingerscrossed:

Hi to everyone! So glad everyone is going well! Will catch up and do a proper hi to everyone soon!

moongazer
07-04-2010, 15:06
OMG Mardi - the 12 week scan is the BEST! I couldn't get over how wriggly my bub was, and how developed he looked. I could have stayed there ALL day watching him!!!

trying2
07-04-2010, 15:21
Hi everyone!!

I just wanted to weigh in on the BF subject - I have been formula feeding since Seth was about 2 days old as the whole BF thing was not working for us both and I tried expressing but that did not happen either. I am completely fine with no BF, my outlook was as long as he is getting something it didn't matter what it was. I am lucky that my partner was so supportive about it and I only had 2 midwives that reacted positively towards my decision. I am so peed that there is such a strong opinion that breast feeding is the only way to go - it has the tendacy to make people feel terrible if they find BF is just not for them for what ever reason. I found that in the ante-natal classes formula feeding was not even mentioned, so of course it sets people up to feel like failures.

To those of you that are feeling guily - DON'T! As long as your little bubbas are healthy and putting on weight, that is all that matters!

My SIL commented to my mum after her daughter (born 3 days after Seth) fell sick, that she could not believe that her daughter was sick and that it should have been Seth because he is not breast fed!! I can tell you that a comment like that really set me off - she would not want to say something like that to my face! there are way too many myths about breastfeeding I think and i am at peace with not being able to do it!

Lisa - Hope your BT test gives you the comfort you are after. Some people never feel anything while they are preggars, while others feel like crap!! I can totally see where you are coming from though - I started stressing once my morning sickness stopped!! haha

As for the catch up date - Most days suit me, so i am happy to go where ever, when ever! Mid-morning times seem to be the time where my little man is at his peak!

Talk soon xox

LulusMum
07-04-2010, 15:52
On Breastfeeding - Lisa, i felt the exact way you did when pregnant, not really fussed either way, give it a go and see what happens. But, hormones do funny things to you after bubs is born, and yes, i became to breastfeeding nazi. Its gone now though (thank god) but the guilt was all consuming, and the crap i put myself through was ridiculous. I can say it was worth it though, cause i BF solidly for 6 months with no probs after all the crap calmed down, and have chosen to go to one feed a day. I think that is the thing people forget though, that there is a choice. Trying 2 - you are totally right, as long as bub is healthy and gaining, that all that matters, would rather have a settled bub on formula than a screamer on BF.

At the end of the day, its easier to say you chose to do it, then being forced in to it by something out of your control, and i feel for the mothers who want to do it but cant. There is also a fine line between encouragement and downright forcefullness, and sometimes, many people who have never experienced breastfeeding dont always get that right. as for mothers who can BF without a problem, and think everyone should be able to do the same - i say poo to them, half their luck to have abundant supply and easily let down udders and a bub who sucks for that matter - they will never know how lucky they are - while the reast of us plug away for hours to get 5ml of pure gold out of cracked and painful nipples.

The key to anything baby is CHOICE, and every mother will make the right one for her bub, even if its not the right one for herslf, or anyone else for that matter:yes:

waitinghoping
07-04-2010, 22:45
Wow Trying2 I cant believe the comment your SIL made!! Id want to slap her!!!

Tryingclucky & Kiwi - Im Agreed with Lulusmum and Trying2- as long as you have a happy baby who is gaining weight, it doesnt matter how or what (Breast milk or formula) they are fed.

Lisa - I didnt feel anything at 6 weeks either, maybe a bit more tired than that but nothing really noticable. I was DYING to feel SOMETHING! Dont worry, it will come...

Mardi - Welcome back!! Wow the 12 week scan - I agree with MG - I stared in awe at that scan.. couldnt believe from the 6 week scan of a 'blob' with a heartbeat suddenly at the 12 week scan she was a real little person!!!

MG - Little Spencer must be getting big now!!! I cant believe how much of a growth spurt Alexis has just gone through!! Where did my newborn go???

AFM - well its been one of those days. A refused to sleep pretty much all day from 7am to went to bed at 8pm. She had a couple 20min cat naps but thats it and was just soooo miserable. She was good this morning at playgroup but in the afternoon just turned. Thing her teeth are really on the move cos she is grabbing at her gums like a mad-woman. All I could to do today was to hold her and carry her in the sling so didnt get much of anything done... including my homework... Hoping tomorrow is a better day.

moongazer
08-04-2010, 07:41
waiting - I think this is a wonder week for you, isn't it?? I admit I forgot a wonder week hits at this age, and couldn't work out why S was so unsettled. When the week was over though, he is just such a new evolved person. There were MASSIVE changes!!

:iagree: with Waiting, trying - your SIL needs a good slapping!!!

AFM - I admit I am one of these women with abundant supply!! However, I do not judge people who do not BF!! I think whatever floats your boat. There are too many reasons to FF over BF, that i really don't get why there are so many BF nazis around. Yes, Breast milk is the optimum for your baby as it evolves specifically for your baby, HOWEVER, sometimes it just doesn't happen, whether it be physical or mental. People need to get off the bandwagon, and stop the guilts being dealt out. If baby is healthy and gaining weight, and in a loving environment, then power to you!! :yes::goodvibes:

liss77
08-04-2010, 08:36

Looking forward to our catch up :)

Lisa - I stressed all the time in the first trimester - I was so happy when my ms started and my boobs became sore. I understand how you feel. Just keep thinking positive and enjoy the journey (easy for me to say now, I know) It is normal not to be feeling anything / not much / lots in the early weeks - that is the thing it is so different for all of us. All the best :goodvibes:

Just to put my two cents worth in re bf. OMG the bf nazis are downright scary! I would love to bf - but am aware that it is not always easy! I think we ladies all need to support each other. Mostly those that are unable to feed feel like crap enough without others jumping on for a kick. I have yet to try bf as bubs is still on the bake:D, but have encountered plenty of anti-ivf view points in my time and that makes me furious!!! Where is the sisterhood?!?

Of course breast is best - but enough with the blame and guilt trips (and in some cases as my darling ff sister has encountered outright hostility and abuse).

Whew! I will climb off the soap box now.

Hope you all had a good Easter!

Love Liss:flowerz:

lisab26
08-04-2010, 09:23
Morning ladies!

waiting....sorry to hear alexis gave you a bit of a busy day yesterday.....but she just wanted cuddles! funny how little babies wrap you around their fingers! :laughing:

Liss.....not long now!!

Well ladies...holy moly to me! BT lastnight showed hcg of 18,900! That up from just over 3000 last thurs. Glad to hear all is going well.

Some may find it more stressful to request more tests but i find it more relaxing. I find it more stressfull if i dont have more tests so i'm glad i did this one.
I'm also going to have the flu shot when i see the GP next week for an ob referral. the GP next week is my usual one...whereas lastnight was just the first one i could get into at the GP clinic cos my usual wasn't avail....and well....when i want something i dont wait! haha.
Did any of you get the flu shot while UTD??

Hope you're all keeping well!. Thanks for all your responses on how you were feeling at my stage. I guess i just gotta be patient. :rolleyes:.....me....patient! yeah right! i can see the pigs flying now.....:raspberry:

moongazer
08-04-2010, 18:58
Yup Yup - I got the flu shot while preggers. But I worked in public health system, and had contact with lots of sick people. It may not have crossed my mind if I wasn't i a job where I have it every year anyway.
Regardless, I had no problems with it, and had no flu last year.

waitinghoping
08-04-2010, 20:57
Nope, I didnt get the flu shot. Was offered it through work but havent ever had it before so decided against it.

Lulusmum- I just noticed how close Max is getting to a 1st birthday.... How exciting!!! :goodvibes:

mardicharli
08-04-2010, 22:29
Hi Everyone!

Lisab - I was at my OB today and there was a notice encouraging all of his patients to see their GP's and have the flu shot. I asked OB anyway as I am paranoid and he said yup, definitely have it - all good! :)

AFM - We had our 12 week scan today and as you all said - it was amazing!!! He was sooo cute lying on his tummy with his arms and legs all crossed under him!! Only prob was they couldn't get good pikkies of them so they did a vaginal scan too - but I didn't mind - the pictures were much clearer and our scan lasted over 45 mins in total so we got to see lots!!
Thankfully our DS risk was low (1:1800), even with my age (it started at 1:96 as I am 40!) - so a HUGE relief there - will actually allow myself to start thinking of designing a nursery and buying baby things! YAY!! :smiliedance::smiliedance:

Hope all's well with everyone! xx

lisab26
09-04-2010, 14:34
hi guys

i'm wondering if anyone had the 'metallic taste' symptom and if you got it at 6 weeks?

i've had metallic taste in my mouth (coming and going but mainly coming from those inside burpies). directly before it started i used the dettol hand sanitiser and ate a bit of my croissant but realised the santiser smell was so strong so i went and washed my hands but the taste in my mouth has stuck around. surely if i had swallowed any it would be half a droplet! i'm sure i rubbed it all in dry though. :(

So, did any of you get the metallic taste at 6 weeks?? if not, should i be worried. i dont believe i swallowed any but it would be a big coincidence if the metallic taste happened at that exact moment.

hmmm...:confused:

peachykeen
09-04-2010, 15:13
Lisa my mouth was really funny.. it had a horrible taste in it for about 3 months.. it has now been replaced with heartburn! Look forward to that one!! I wouldnt worry if you do or dont have the taste and i'm sure it wont matter if you got a bit of sanitiser in your mouth! I get all sorts of s**t in my mouth lol!

I havent ever had a flu shot either and have decided not to whilst pregnant, i've to be honest never really had a flu... TOUCH WOOD lol i'll get one now! but i'd say after the baby is born i'd be more comfortable with it.. i dunno why..

trying2
09-04-2010, 19:58
Lisa - this is the dental assistant coming out of me, but do you happen to have any amalgam (metal) fillings? If so that could be the cause of the metallic taste in your mouth which would mean you'll need to get to the dentist sooner rather than later. Just a thought as to a potential reason for the horrible taste.

I had a flu shot just before I commenced IVF tmt and had a swine flu shot during my pregnancy, being in the health industry I thought it was not worth thr risk!

lisab26
09-04-2010, 21:08
trying2.....the metallic taste has gone now......for now. lol.
are you talking about recent fillings?? I dont think i've had a filling for at least 15+ years.......

as for the flu shot.....yeah i'm probably low risk but then everyone is at some sort of risk i reckon. i work in an office building so anything can fly through those airconditioning systems. I also (unfortunately) have to get public transport to work in town everyday so who knows what cooties people have on the bus too..........
so, yeah, prob just being extra safe. :)

waitinghoping
09-04-2010, 21:22
mardi - congrats on your scan!!! How exciting, Im so happy for you!

Lisa - Yep I had the metallic taste too. Didnt last long though.. then I went to nausea (mostly at night).. then the M/S kicked in.

Peachy - I was the same with the flu injection, for some reason I just didnt feel comfortable with the idea of getting one while I was preggas

I have a little girl who is refusing to go to sleep.. I think its her teeth giving her grief... she sounds so sad...

trying2
10-04-2010, 00:05
Lisa - it's mainly older fillings - the reason there could be the metallic taste is that the amalgam is leaking which would mean a trip to the dentist. But also sounds like a common pregnancy "side effect"!

kiwigemini
10-04-2010, 07:38

Mardi - congrats on a great scan. The 12 week one is personally my favorite, it's amazing how they go from being a blob to a baby in a few short weeks.

Lisa - I have had the metallic taste in my mouth for all 3 pregnancies, usually followed by nausea and vomiting by 6/7 weeks. Re the flu shot, I didn't get it and was advised not to by my specialists. But that was because of my health problems and vaccines can sometimes make things worse. Even though I was immune suppressed for much of my pregnancy, the Drs didn't want to take the risk. I will look into getting it now.

Waiting - hope A has settled for you. Sam is 5 weeks today, so I am expecting a wonder week any day now.

Hope everyone is well.
Liss and NGU, not long now!!! Peachy you're close behind too, how exciting more babies.:goodvibes: Sam is calling bye.

nevergivenup
10-04-2010, 09:17
Hi everyone :goodvibes:

I really need to keep up with this thread!

Lisa - I know this is a bit belated, but was so excited to see you've joined this thread with your exciting pregnancy news! Re the flu shot, I had the swine flu shot around 12 weeks pregnant. OB and GP insisted that I needed to have it. I'm glad I did and it's over with now but at the time I was very nervous about having it.

Kiwi - thanks for thinking of me. Your right.... not long now! My Ob is hoping I make it to the 38 week mark on 5 June, but that being said my pregnancy has other complications so is more likely to be earlier than this.

Found out couple days ago that I have gestational diabetes! Plus I also have Grade 4 placenta previa, so am being monitored very closely, every 2 weeks I'm having scans. Aside from these negatives, bubbas are doing great! They keep me pre-occupied even when there's a good show in TV as I'd rather watch them wriggle about in my tummy.

liv01
10-04-2010, 12:13
Hi Ladies ,

I am so happy to announce that i have had a natural miracle after two years on IVF :bfp:

i hope you dont mind me joining this thread

sorry I am on cloud 9 at the moment

trying2
10-04-2010, 12:20
Congratulations Liv! Natural too...so exciting! Welcome to our expanding group xx

mummynow
10-04-2010, 12:49
Hi ladies! What a great idea for a thread. I only wish it was around in 2008 when I was pg with my IVF bubs. Congratulations to everyone for your BFP's and / or little bubs' that have already arrived!

I hope you don't mind me popping in here but Peachykeen suggested I visit ;)

Some of you may remember me from a few years ago in the Adelaide IVF threads.

Well after years of doctors & big dollars (one clomid bubs - DD, and one IVF bubs - DS) we are shocked and proud to announce that completely out of the blue (and almost without even trying - BD'd once on CD21 :o) that I am pregnant with bubs number 3 :eek:

And just when I was starting to get used to the fact that 2 was it for us :smiliedance:

kiwigemini
10-04-2010, 14:30
OH OH OH, SO MUCH EXCITING NEWS!!!!!!!:smiliedance:

Liv - I am sooo happy for you, I had read in the Adelaide thread that AF was late, and I have eagerly been awaiting your news. Yahhhh!!!!!!

mummynow - I remember you. How exciting, another natural miracle. Congratulations.

:smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance:

waitinghoping
10-04-2010, 15:33
LIV!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mummynow - I remember you, welcome back how exciting number 3!!!!!!!! :goodvibes: Wow your DS is growing up so quickly!!!

NGU - bummer about the GD and placenta previa but wow your twinnies are doing so well, Im so happy for you! I dont reckon I watched any tv for the last few months of my pregnancy was way to preoccupied with watching my belly move!! yours must go crazy! I used to put the tv remote on my belly and Alexis would knock it off. I meant to try the malteasers like in the tv add but forgot!!

Oooh all these naturally conceived miracles! (I must have started something... yep Ill take the credit :laughing:) must be something in the air!!

And you are all making me clucky to try again... no... not yet.....

LulusMum
10-04-2010, 16:52
Liv - this better mean you are coming to our mums and bubs play date;)

liss77
11-04-2010, 09:02
Yippee and a huge congratulations to Liv and Mummy Now for their natural miracles!!!

Welcome to this board - we are so happy to have you here!!

Love Liss and Bump

lisab26
11-04-2010, 10:49
Welcome and congrats to Mummynow and Liv!!

:yelclap::smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance:

will be great to go through the whole pregnancy with you guys and, yes, hopefully we can make a general mums and bubs group! can't wait!

waitinghoping
11-04-2010, 14:14
Ok, time for one of these in here me thinks!!!

ROLL CALL ADELAIDE BUMPS AND BABIES

Adelaide IVF Bubbas :baby:

Kodismum - DS 2008 (?)
mummynow: DS - Matthew James born 4/11/08
Lulusmum: DS - Max - 17/06/2009
Aries10: DS - 21/10/2009
moongazer: DS - Spencer John - 6/11/2009
Waitinghoping: DD - Alexis Tia - 27/11/09
Dreams - DD Emily Grace - 11/1/2010
Fizzgig - DS - Kai David - 31/1/2010
Trying2: DS - Seth - 13/2/2010
Tryingnottobetooclucky: DD - Jasmine Elise - 23/2/2010
Kiwigemini: DS - Sam Tate - 6/3/2010

Due in 2010 :bfp: 's:

Liss77: EDD 5/5/2010
Nevergivenup: TWINS! EDD 17/6/2010
Pauls64 (wifey!) EDD 27/7/2010
Peachykeen: EDD 9/8/2010
Bertie50: EDD 7/10/2010
Mardicharli: EDD 14/10/2010
Mummynow: EDD 20/11/2010
Lisab26: EDD ?/2010
Liv01: EDD ?/2010

Hope I havent missed anyone or got any details incorrect, feel free to update!!!

nevergivenup
11-04-2010, 15:38
OMG so much exciting news!!!!

:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S

:cloud9::cloud9:

Liv and Mummynow

So glad you can join us in the celebrations. And both natural successes! Well done!

Mummynow I remember you, didn't you move to the Mount? Maybe the country air and contentment had something to do with it.

Liv, after 2 years of trying what a nice surprise. Enjoy every second hun, your willpower and perseverance has paid off! :hugs:

Waitinghoping - thanks for putting together that list, was getting hard to keep track.

Kodismum
11-04-2010, 18:20
Hi All, sorry I don't get a chance to get on here much.
I had g diabetics when I had Kodi, I found I lost so much weight afterwoulds. The only prob Kodi had low blood sugar afterwoulds so he had to be fed every 3 hours for first 2-3 days but after that he was fine.

Fizzgig75
11-04-2010, 22:26
Hey strangers. Wow, have I a lot to catch up on. Forgive me if I bring up old news in your personals.

waitinghoping: Good job on the roll call. If you don't mind I might just add a couple of others?
Just going back a bit... if bubs has tongue-tie they may struggle to poke out their tongue because the little thread of skin under it doesn't let it stretch out very far, this can give the tongue a 'heart-shaped' appearance. Just google images and this is what you get: http://images.google.com.au/images?hl=en&q=tongue-tied%20babies&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi (http://images.google.com.au/images?hl=en&q=tongue-tied%20babies&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi) NOTE: Some of those images are definately NOT babes with tongue-tie - LOL. In my case I think the tongue-tie and inconsistent attachment has led to an over-active let down (which is very painful) and 'too much milk', yes we suffer from over-supply, my body thinks it's feeding twins. I've thought about expressing only to try and control what's going on better but just the thought of doing that several times a day is exhausting enough. Congrats on doing that, and at uni!, you are super-woman!
So how's the comfy cruiser? Use it much?
Wow, teeth already, time just goes way too fast.

moongazer: I bet Spencer loves his cot now. Does it make you sad seeing him in his own bed? I was sad when DD went into the cot at 6 months, then again when we converted it to toddler... and next week I'm going to look at big girls beds as she's nearly bigger than the toddler bed! Time goes too quick. Good idea to stick something down your top. Shall have to do that with DS's stuff.

kodismum: hi and welcome. Would love to hear a bit more about you and your LO. Will you be going to the catch-up?
Did you manage the GD through diet alone or did you have needles too? I'm not sure but I think Nevergivenup might have to have needles.

peachy: I must say what a gorgeous looking baby you have there! I reckon you've got a blue one there! I'd put money on it ...and no I wasn't looking for anything in particular, so don't go reading into that ;)

clucky: How was Torrens? I often beat myself up when I think about how unsettled DD was and not doing more about it, I probably should have gone to Torrens but I just had so much family support (in a way that probably wasn't helpful in the long run if you know what I mean?) that I thought I was doing ok... I probably wasn't. Was it there that you found out about your milk supply? I've had friends who have been unable to BF so I understand that I'm very lucky to be able to EBF, even if we do have different issues arising from an over supply. I also know what you mean about the 'BF nazis'. When I was at the baby expo visiting the BF assoc stand I couldnt believe some of the stuff they were saying to me... I was so relieved that my girlfriend who couldn't BF her 3 was running late and wasn't there to hear such things. Totally insensitive.

kiwi: One of my besties tried so hard with all her 3 to BF but it just didn't happen. They were all so much more content when she went to formula. Her 11 month old is the happiest baby I have ever encountered! Really, I've never seen anything like it! Happy baby = happy mum!

lulus: Sorry if I have misunderstood but are you still breastfeeding? The reason I ask is that when I went back to FC TTC #2 I was supposed to have weaned for a minimum of 2 months. Does repro have that policy? Both Dreams and I had to wait until we had weaned our first and then when we had bfn after bfn we thought we should get our prolactin levels checked as this breastfeeding hormone can stick around and interfere with implantation. I think my levels were ok but I can't remember if Dreams had some issues?

lisa: sorry for belated congrats, that's awesome news! Loved the way you announced it to us! If they don't normally scan you should ask for one anyway, I'm sure they would do it. It's interesting how different the clinics are. At flinders they do 1st BT at 21days post EPU, then they do weekly BTs til 8 weeks where they then perform viability scan. (Interestingly when I then went to my OB that very same week he did a scan too.) After my 1st 2 bloods at Flinders I didn't want to find out my hcg levels any more, I still had the BTs but just didn't want to know levels because when I had my m/c I knew my levels were borderline each week and it was just too stressful. I prepared myself for the worst and hoped to see that flutter at the scan. I liked that at Flinders you were given the choice. I think everyone should have the choice, especially at Repromed when you're paying those high fees!!
All my 3 pregnancies were very different. I didn't have any sore BBs with DS but was SO very tired and I had a headache for the 1st 15 weeks! Hungry is good - lol... I was with DD and I put on 22kgs with that pregnancy! I bet you've a little girl :-) Will you find out sex?
Also don't worry about 'training' yourself re sleepin position. There's nothing wrong with sleepin on you tummy, it'll just get to the point where it will be too uncomfortable. I too had snoogle like Lulu, from what I've seen I think they're the best value for money. Mind you I didn't use it as much with DS in the 'traditional way' because from 20 weeks I had to sleep upright so I coiled it up and used it to prop me up.
I didn't have flu shot. My OB never mentioned anything and if he didn't I probably wouldn't have bothered.

liss: wow, how time has flown! Are you fed up yet or do you feel you could go over if need be? Which hospital will you be at?
mardi: congrats! Another milestone to cross off the list... and how that list will grow now. So may you know become officially excited! Happy shopping. Have you told everyone yet?
trying2: OMG I can't believe your SIL said something like that! I'm really sorry that you and others have been treated like that... please know that not all of us BF mums are that insensitive. As I said to kiwi: happy baby = happy mum.

never: *sigh* you just can't catch a break huh? hey, sorry I haven't msg you back yet, I've had a s**t week, mostly due to a sick dog so was unsure about catching up. I think it would be best to wait til school hols finish and then that way we have free reign out there again without all the feral teenagers. LOL! You got some fantastic pressies at your baby shower, hopefully you're well covered now and don't need to buy much more.

liv: CONGRATS!! omg that's so awesome! Forgive my baby brain if I have this wrong but weren't you told by FS to look down the egg donation pathway?? When are you due?

mummynow: OMG hello stranger! Congratulations! That is so incredibly fantastic!! Welcome back. How's the family? How's the Mount been treating you? Has DD started school?

bertie: where you at? You're quiet.

Actually there's a few quiet ones yes? Where is everyone, hope you are all well.

Wow, what's with all the miracle naturals?? Maybe I might have that miracle one day?! HA! FAT CHANCE! Unless DHs swimmers have some microscopic jackhammer... or perhaps some special sci-fi 'beam me up scotty' powers to overcome that ancient vasectomy of his.

Just on the whole breastfeeding thing, I just wanted to point out that there can be issues at both ends of the spectrum. Some, like me, have an over-abundant supply which many would think wow how lucky, wouldn't that be great, but in fact can be another reason for mums to switch to formula. (Lulusmum please don't say poo to me cos of my abundant supply! I promise I'm not a BF nazi!) I'm perservering with BF at this point in time but the issues DS and I encounter include: an over-active let-down which can cause him to choke and splutter and potentially not feed well, so he may be unsettled too. He can gulp in so much air and have so much wind. He loses suction which can lead to poor attachment causing really sore nipples. It hurts to feed. If he's not comfortable feeding there is potential for him to refuse the breast and not gain weight... luckily we haven't really had too much of that and he's gaining well. I also have the embarrassing problem of spraying 'company' if he decides it's all too much and detatches suddenly and I'm not quick enough to get the bib over my boob. I know it's not the same as not having enough but I just wanted you all to know that there can be other difficulties experienced. The over-supply causes a milk imbalance and DS can end up very gassy and with very green poo. Unpleasant for both of us. I get that BF isn't easy, not for everyone and cool with whatever a mum decides is best and that is not necessarily breast. I guess I'm just surprised at how judgemental mums can be towards other mums. I used to be judgemental before kids but man how that changed once I had my own! LOL!

Re: The catch-up. I'm South but would be ok to travel to a meet-up. Could you please PM me the details once decided? I probably wouldn't make a Monday catch-up and any held on Tues or Thurs would be ok if people kick-on a bit through lunch-time.

AFM: We're going great guns here apart from the fact that both kids got a nasty cold. DS seems to be coping better but I already know that he's going to be heaps laid back unlike his high-strung sister. Luckily he's so good cos there's so much else going on, namely dealing with an old puppy dog who was at his worst on Friday (thankfully picking up Sat morning and more improvements after the vet visited and gave him an injection for his arthritis). Hopefully we wont have a repeat of Fri when I found him laying outside in a puddle unable to move and being the large malamute that he is it was very difficult to carry him inside. Over the course of the day I had to do 5 clean-ups and sponge baths after he peed all over floor and himself. Thankfully he can now toilet outside with assitance. Needless to say his days of spending the night outside are over. Poor puppa.

*sigh* I'm spent, that was exhausting! Well DS has only just settled (he's been doing it on his own!!) and is likely to go for his 6 hour stint now so I should probably make the most of it and go to bed. nigh nighs.

kiwigemini
12-04-2010, 09:46
Hi Fizz,
Nice to hear from you. Thanks for your (and everyone else's ) supportive comments re FF. I am actually ok about it this time round, but find the hassle of cleaning, sterilizing and making up the bottles a drag.
Wow, what you said about Kai's feeding sounds exactly what happened to DS1, milk would spray everywhere and he would choke and pull off. He started to refuse the breast and stopped gaining weight. I tried expressing and feeding him EBM, but with a very active 2yr old who didn't nap and decided that week to start toilet training it was all too much. It was with him I suffered all the guilt. But I was still sad when it didn't work this time. I agree, happy baby = happy mummy.
I feel so lucky to have had a wonderful BF experience with DD.
Your poor doggy, (and you for all the extra cleaning up) glad to hear he's a little better. Yah for DS self settling, Sam doesn't yet. Hope the kids are over their colds.

NGU - Bummer about the GD, I hope it's not too difficult to manage. Sounds like you had a great baby shower, I'm having mine next Sat as Sam ended up being born the day it was planned for. :laughing: Glad to here the twinnies are doing well.

Waiting - Thanks for the roll call, great idea.

Hi everyone:wave:

afm - Well I've survived my 1st round of night shift, with all 3 kids at home, and we all did great. Our 2.5yr freezer died nearly 2 weeks ago, still waiting for the new one, grrrrr!!!! Sam and I went for our 1st BIG walk yesterday, and it was fantastic, need to lose these extra 20kg !:eek: Take care all.

tryingnottobetooclucky
12-04-2010, 10:27
Congratulations to Liv and Mummynow!!!!
What miracles!!!

Thankyou for the rollcall Waiting! :yelclap:

Fizz - how long did it take you to write that post?! Very impressive. Torrens House was good. The staff there are great, and it was nice to be able to put things in perspective (ie, even though I'm sad I can't fully feed my child on breast milk, that's nothing compared with what some women have to put up with when their children have health issues :no:). I've known I've had supply issues since the day we left hospital, but I didn't know exactly how much J was getting (or not getting) until Torrens House, when she was weighed before and after feed.
Sorry to hear about your pooch. It's hard watching pets get old and deteriorate. :hugs:

Kiwi - well done on making it out for a walk! I was quite happy with myself last week, managing to walk to the grocery store with J in the pusher. Glad you all survived the night shift!

NGU - sorry to hear about the GD. How annoying. It would be exciting getting to see your two bubs so regularly though!!

Peachy - yay for a good scan!

AFM I'm wondering whether J is entering a wonder week. She was so grumpy last night:crying:. Fingers crossed it was just a once off and not something we have to deal with for the next couple weeks!

liv01
12-04-2010, 10:43
thankyou girls

still very excited and nervous but on the good side i have nausea and i am really tired :fingerscrossed: this is a sticky one .

i have made my first ob appointment on the 4th May with dr stephen lane so cant wait for that :laughing:

the other thing i am noticing it feels like my tummy is tightening is that normal ?

waitinghoping
12-04-2010, 13:42
Liv - My tummy did the tightening thing too.. Dont worry, after bubba it will be stretched enough ready for #2 is my theory! (or at this stage if Alexis decides to move back in haha!)

Fizz - go for it adding others, I just only put in people who have been in this thread, didnt include anyone who hadnt bobbed up in here from the Adelaide IVF thread cos wasnt sure if they are online anymore or would want to be included. And congrats on the MEGA post!!!

Tryingclucky - we are wonder weeking here... augh.

Kiwi - are you back at work already??!!!

Well Little Miss was up every 1/2 hour last night from 10pm till 3am.. Fed her then she was still fussing at 4.30am so took her to bed with me... she went to sleep at 5, up at 7, fed then slept till 9. I am sooooo tired.:sleeping:

LulusMum
12-04-2010, 16:34
Fizz gig - no, i dont mean poo to you, i mean poo to BF'ing mums who thing its easy therefore everyone should do it (and are very open with this belief!). If you Bf and dont rub it in to FF mums, then no poo to you:laughing: TBH i dont really care (nor should i ) what others do. It was important to me, simple as that. I think some people took what i said the wrong way, either that or its hard to express what you want to say by writing it. Its such a sensitive topic, but what i was actually trying to get across is "do what you want, doesnt make you better or worse if you do or dont, as long as bub and mum are happy". Hope that clears some things up:D

And yes, i am still BF Max 1 or 2 feeds a day. FS has no issue with this, as long as my cycle returned, which it did when i cut to this many feeds. He said as long as my cycle returned this ment my body can and will handle another pregnancy. I would get my prolactin levels checked, but thsi is unlikely to be the cause as they have just found out now that my progesterone in LP is totally non existent, therefore a pregnancy cant be supported adequately. To fix this i am on 2x crinone a day and 3 x pregnyl injections with 2 day monitoring.

LulusMum
12-04-2010, 17:35
Hi, have just decided my above post didnt really make sense. I am obviously not really very good at articulating myself through written word, so as far as BF'ing goes, i will crawl in to a hole now;) and not speak further on the matter

As for the catch up, is everyone cool with tuesday 27th. I will start an attendence list, and PM details out to those on the list that are OK with the date - hopefully this means we cannot be stalked by any looney tunes:D
If you cannot make this date/time and have another suggestion that would suit better please let me know

Mums and Bubs Play Date
Tuesday 27th April, 10am start with possibility to continue over lunch

Lulusmum and Max

kiwigemini
12-04-2010, 18:25
LM - Come out of that hole, hun. We know what you mean.:yes: Looking forward to the 27th.

Waiting - No, I'm not at work. DH is a shift worker, and nightshift during school holidays with a newborn can be a bit tricky. DH sometimes finishes work at 6am, so keeping things quiet can be a mission, and I don't always feel like going out every morning. During term times it's much easier.

LulusMum
12-04-2010, 18:46
Mums and Bubs Play Date

RSVPs:
Lulusmum and Max
Kiwigemini and Sam
[/QUOTE]

waitinghoping
12-04-2010, 21:06
LM - Count me in on the catch up!!! :smiliedance: I can predict Im going to be really unwell and unable to attend uni that morning..... :yes:

Though you might have to allow 1 looney to attend.... at this rate if Alexis keeps sleeping so cr*p Im gonna check myself in to the looneybin!!! :laughing:

trying2
12-04-2010, 21:09
Hellooo just a quick one....count me and Seth in for the catch up! It'll be good to meet everyone!

tryingnottobetooclucky
12-04-2010, 21:53
I'll be a bit late, as J has got her 6 week appointment (at 9 weeks) with the paediatrician at 9:40, but it'll be great to see you all after that! :yelclap:

LulusMum
13-04-2010, 11:07
[QUOTE=LulusMum;4672252]

Mums and Bubs Play Date

RSVPs:
Lulusmum and Max
Kiwigemini and Sam
Waiting hoping & Alexis
Trying2 & Seth
Trying clucky & Jasmin
Liv and bub (still baking!)

lisab26
13-04-2010, 12:13
oh.....no fair.....i have to work!! :hissy:

can't wait to be on maternity leave!!!!!!! :yes:

liv01
13-04-2010, 12:59
lisab : have a sickie :) :laughing:

peachykeen
13-04-2010, 14:27

sooooo... sunday night my tummy was tightening at regular intevals and i had some cramping!

Went to hospital and was put on a monitor and had an internal examination of my cervix! Cervix was closed and long which was good! Monitor was picking up small contractions so they gave me some drugs and kept me in for obs over night.... YAY!

Next morning a repeat of all tests were normal except urine which they thought i might have had a bladder infection so i was put on antibiotics straight away! I have now found out i dont have a bladder infection.. arghhhhhh

So on my own i'm putting this all down to me being a little run down, dehydrated and a bit hungry... i think that it was braxton hicks... stupid midwife was like... oh you wouldnt be able to feel those... hmmm well i wasnt going into labour,.... so what else could they have been!

I've been very cautious since! i feel really fragile like i cant do much incase it happens again! I had a similar thing happen last night! my tummy was as hard as a rock!

so we arent sure what caused it all... so time to try and forget about it and think about cooking this little one for the next 16 weeks!

Hope everyone is well! will get to personals later!!

peachy xxx

waitinghoping
13-04-2010, 14:31
Tryingclucky - A didnt have her appts until she was 8 weeks either!

Lisa - Yep I think a sickie is called for. Think of it as educational.. You need to come to the catch up to see what you're in for..:laughing:

Sleep deprivation is at an all time high here. Im officially getting LESS sleep atm than when A was newborn. :sleeping: The car had to be towed this morning, clutch is gone, so Im housebound.. put A down for a nap when the tow truck came thinking she wouldnt sleep long so I did some housework... 2 hours later she just woke up.. augh could have got some sleep myself!!

waitinghoping
13-04-2010, 14:33
Peachy - good to hear everything is ok with you and bubs. I had the same thing at just before 24 weeks (so same time as you by the sounds of it) the contractions I started having were agonizing. Hope it has all settle down for good for you. Bubba Peachy you need to stay in there where its nice and warm!!! You coming to the catch up??

Kodismum
13-04-2010, 20:18
Hi All, would love to catch up with everyone but I work Tuesdays so maybe another time I will meet u all. But I love ready all your posts as I wish I had all this support when I was p with Kodi.

moongazer
13-04-2010, 21:48
count me in for the play date!! looking forward to meeting you ladies. Must admit I'm a little nervous as I ca be quite shy!! :p

waitinghoping
13-04-2010, 22:01
Yay MG!! Dont worry, Im not shy, Ill do enough talking for the both of us. :laughing: Just kidding Im not that bad really!!!!

But that does bring up a good point... umm.. how do we know who each other are?? (ie when we get there so we arent asking random people..'excuse me are you LulusMum??" or "Bubhub?") People might think Ive finally flipped it!!! :D Ive met a few people before but faces I dont remember, probably will once I get there, but thinking of people who havent attend a catch up before...

Any ideas?? I could arrive in a clown suit or something but then you would all probably run away from me than come up to me!!

LulusMum
14-04-2010, 06:37
Mums and Bubs Play Date

RSVPs:
Lulusmum and Max
Kiwigemini and Sam
Waiting hoping & Alexis
Trying2 & Seth
Trying clucky & Jasmin
Moongazer & Spencer

Hi, i was thinking about how we will meet also - i am going to ring to see if they will book us a table, if so i will PM you all the booking name with the details of where we are going so we can all just make our way to the same table and dont have to wander around hollering "Moongazer, trying clucky where are you?" - however, that would be pretty funny to see:laughing:

Its pretty loud in there so i dont think we will get any strange looks when we introduce ourselves, the table i want is directly behind the babies play area, so its a bit screened off and a tiny bit quieter then the open tables - if anyone needs to feed or bub needs to sleep its a bit better IYKWIM.

I will also be arriving 10 mins early, and i will include my description (clothes etc) and what the pram looks like ect. (woop woop - gotta love a blind date.)

MG - dont worry mate, i am quite a shy person too, and i was packing it when i arrived at another BH adelaide meet and greet - now one of those girls is such a great friend, that we see each other alot for coffee ect, i would have missed out on that if i didnt go.

I am so looking forward to meeting you, you all sound so nice on here, will be great to meet in person - hopefully i will have some good news to share:fingerscrossed: otherwise i will be stealing all the tiny bubbies to get my fix

lisab26
15-04-2010, 18:44
howdy!!

Sorry, a sickie is a fantastic idea but maybe not so good to do the day after a public holiday!! oh well. i'll be at them all when i'm on maternity leave!! :yes:

btw, HELP! i think i have a piglet on board!! :Di'm starving all day! i eat plenty of fruit, i have a big bowl of cereal with a banana for breakfast, i have a salad sandwich for lunch and i'm starved all day! what can i eat to get me through the days....??
yes mummy likes her food but she's not used to this much hunger! :laughing:
and the peeing......may as well move my desk to the toilets!! haha.

I'm loving being pregnant, i'm just wondering what tips there are to keep up with the hunger and toilet trips!

Also, interesting to see if i can do a survey here......to try and find out the difference between being pregnant with a boy or a girl.! :laughing:
So, tell me if you had a boy or a girl and how hungry you were and how many trips you made to the toilet within each hour! lol.

I have my GP appt tomorrow night to get an ob referral and i'm also going to ask for another hcg BT just to see what my levels are and to make sure they're still rising nicely before first scan next week! :)

Anyway, hope you're all keeping well! I gotta go feed my piglet! lol.

LulusMum
15-04-2010, 19:31
Lisa - doesnt sound like you are eating much protein which keeps you the fullest. You could try adding some eggs in for breaky, and add some tuna or home cooked chicken to your sandwich. Other forms are cheese, yoghurt etc so you could keep some cheese and crackers at you desk to munch on. Try to graze rather then eat 3 meals a day - this will aslo help when the dreaded 3rd trimester constipation sets in:yes:
You could drink some milo or sustagen as a snack too, these should kep you going.

As for having a boy - i dont remember peeing alot until late pregnancy when bub went head down and pushed on my bladder. I ate frequenly but small amounts, again because bub was squashing my stomach and i couldnt get alot of food in at a sitting. Dont think this helps much, sorry:rolleyes:

lisab26
15-04-2010, 19:39
LM....thanks for your advice. Maybe i should try having scrambled eggs a couple mornings.......
I do have quite a bit of cheese. usually 2-3 slices in my lunch sanga and a piece or 2 when i get home. We mainly have meat/chicken/veggies for dinner each night. I can't really add chicken to my sanga cos it would be cold......but i could heat it up. problem is, there's never any leftover chicken from dinner cos piglet eats it all! haha.

I do usually graze too. I have a big bowl of Sustain with a banana for breaky, then for morning tea i usually have a piece of fruit or 2 or carrot then lunch i have a sanga then a carrot or fruit for afternoon tea about 3.30 and by the time i get home about 6pm i could eat a horse! which makes me feel sick when i'm eating dinner cos i feel absolutely starved when i'm eating dinner that i feel even more sick because i'm so hungry that i dont feel like dinner is touching the side of my stomach! haha. i must have a tummy leak! :laughing:

as for the peeing, well there isn't much notice!.....when my bladder is full it has to be emptied immediately otherwise there will be an accident! today i was out at lunch and in between 2 different places and all of a sudden i had to go loo and i just bolted like there was no tomorrow to hubbys building to use their toilets! Bladder full and hunger pains dont mix either! haha. oh the joys! it's funny but i cant keep up! :laughing:

moongazer
15-04-2010, 21:31
Lisa - I found my hunger increased at the beginning of my pregnancy, and decreased midway through. It increased again by the third trimester, sometimes I woke up hungry at 3 am!! I always managed to get back to sleep, but I definitely remember other people saying they would get up and have some toast or a sandwich to tide them till morning!! :laughing:

I also had GD, but was able to control it easily through diet alone.

I would have toast in the morning, or sometimes I would get organised and make bircher muesli which was great for tiding me over. It also gave me a serve of dairy. My ob told me my calcium needs increased with pregnancy, so one extra serve was needed daily - ie have 3 serves of calcium daily. Bubs will take it from you whether you replenish your stock or not, so to help ward off the dreaded osteoporosis get it into you!!!

For morning tea I would have a yoghurt, or some fruit, but would find I needed more, so I'd add a handful of nuts,or some carrot sticks. I would have something similar for afternoon tea if I was hungry. generally I would get hungry by the time I got home, so I would have some cheese and crackers, or, we have a coffee machine, so i would fill up on a latte.

Dinner had to be on time, or I was tearing down the walls.

Don't worry. it's normal to be hungry. What I found interesting was that I needed to eat NOW, and often, but usually I would eat and then my body would just say - STOP, and I often wouldn't quite finish my serve.

RE the cold chicken - I would cook up a chicken breast the night before work, while I was cooking dinner, and use that for my lunchtime protein. If you cook the meat yourself, then you can eat it cold for about 12 hours afterwards if you know it was refrigerated properly. Because I knew my food handling was good, I would extend it slightly, but never to the second day. I also would boil up some eggs and make curried egg sandwiches for myself. If I had a roast the night before, I would use that meat the next day for sandwiches as I knew it was freshly cooked.
Cans of tuna and salmon are great portable forms of protein.
I would eat leftovers for lunch, or make a salad at work, with chicken or egg or tuna (until I couldn't stand the smell due to pregnancy:laughing:). I would substitute chickpeas if I had no other protein. I had 9 grain vitaweats with cheese and tomato, or avocado and tomato. Baked beans or tinned spaghetti with toast was another great one. there are some really easy ways to add protein in - I found it was just adjusting my habits, which I found really hard at first, but was second nature by the end. I found lunch the hardest meal of the day to eat, while I was working.
It's ok to eat bought hot cooked chicken as well, as long as you know it's fresh. And don't forget that mayonnaise bought in a jar (even egg mayo) is ok as it has been heat treated, so it's not like fresh mayo which has raw egg in it. It did my head in until I realised that, because I can't stand Praise mayo or fake mayos!!

Hope that helps.
:sunshine:

waitinghoping
15-04-2010, 22:40
MG - Im with you - I HATE fake mayo's!! Gotta have the real egg stuff!!!

Lisa - oh yeah the hunger at the beginning... I swear I could have eaten non stop! My first craving was 2 minute noodles - HAD to be Home brand Beef.(god knows why!!), couldnt be any other brand and usually I cant stand 2min noodles!!!!

Actually I pretty much ended up grazing from the start... as Lulusmum said.. start grazing!!!! I would graze throughout the day cos I couldnt keep full meals down. Snacked on carrots, cheese (initially but once the MS kicked in I couldnt have dairy before lunch time or I would be really crook), nuts. Vitawheat crackers were good as snacks. And pretzels. Burger rings were my god send for MS!! Yep, I remember peeing non stop initially. I think thats pretty standard though!!

Oh and what MG said about calcium is correct - bubs leeches it from you especially at the beginning while all the bone growth his happening. Really important to get enough throughout the pregnancy. I couldnt keep dairy down in the first trimester so ended up craving dairy HEAPS (could eat it late in the day though) and craved it throughout the pregnancy. Ive heard what you crave the most (in the way of food groups) is what baby is needing - you may be deficient in that are (ie I was deficient in calcium so craved dairy). Make sure you are taking a good multivitamin.

lisab26
16-04-2010, 09:29
Thanks guys for your great help and advice.

I hope i'm getting enough dairy throughout the day. I have my cereal for breakfast and usually cheese with lunch...so maybe i'll just add another glass of milk in during the day to be safe. :)

as for multivitamins...? i'm only taking elevit and pregnancy fish oil......should i be taking more?

are eggs ok cold once boiled or do eggs have to be eaten hot?

As for yoghurt....so that's definetely safe?

As for mayo.....which particular brand is good? i've been avoiding mayo cos i know it can have some raw egg and milk powders in it.

Btw..in regards to the burger rings! i remember you guys mentioning that they helped with your MS. i haven't had MS yet but considering you popped healthy bubbas after eating burger rings....well they're now my entree when i get home from work....just cos they're read to eat!

like you MG...i have to eat NOW and i have to pee NOW. even once i've eaten it never seems enough!! i had to stop at the shops lastnight on the way home and DH was already getting half the dinner prepared at home. i was starving on the bus and STARVING at the shops so got some burger rings. DH found me stuffing me face with them in the car when i pulled into the driveway! he asked if he could have some later....i said...nope...they're my snack for when i get home! :laughing:.

Did any of you take pregnancy fish oil or did you just include enough fish in your diet? if you just ate fish.....what did you tend to have and how often? just curious.....:)

Sorry for all the questions, i just have one hungry piglet on board that i need to make sure i'm feeding properly considering it needs to be fed every 2 minutes! haha.

liv01
16-04-2010, 10:40

any advise for m/s i get up in the morning feeling like crap not that i am complaining but i am having trouble eating breakie ???

I hope you are all well :)

LulusMum
16-04-2010, 10:42
Lisa:
Eggs are fine as long as the yolk is cooked through, and yes you can hard boil tehm and eat them cold

yoghurt gets a huge thunmbs up

Thomy mayo is yummers, eat what you want just check on the jar to make sure it has been pasturised

I only took elevit, nothing else and im sure you would agree that max turned out OK

As for fish, i dont really remember what types i ate, i ate alot of canned tuna and salmon, and i ate small portions of atlantic salmon about once every 3 weeks. As for white fish, well an easy filling lunch i made when i finished up work was just the frozen crumbed fillets (birdseye) and salad or veg. Just make sure you ask if its deep sea or not, and steer clear of the deep sea varieties

LulusMum
16-04-2010, 10:45
Liv - i used to eat before getting up, had soem bread sticks and ginger beer next to the bed that i would eat laying down still - couldnt even move before i ate something. I never really ate breaky early on, just made sure i had substanitial morning tea, like cheese on toast or something. But, that said, i have never been a big breakfast eater, i prefer to snack in the mornings

moongazer
16-04-2010, 11:50
Lisa - S & W mayo is yummy too! Yoghurts and milks etc are ok because they are pastuerised. Mayo is heat treated for supermarket shelves, so it's ok to eat.

I only took elevit - actually I only took it for the first 4 months, then got jack of it as I had a varied diet anyway, and got blocked up on it!! You only need to take folate for the first 3 months anyway. (yes, elevit contains folate!!).

I wasn't very good with fish, as I got sick of canned tuna halfway through the pregnancy. I ate tuna steaks and salmon, but really just craved sashimi!!!! i'm not a huge fish person though. I believe deep sea varieties are ok, as long as you don't have too many in a week. google for info and there is tons. the issue is with their mercury levels, but as always, there are believers for both sides - to eat or not to eat!!!

Liv - i didn't have too much MS, but when I did I drank ginger ale or dry ginger and that helped.

waitinghoping
16-04-2010, 15:33
I second Lulusmum on the fish - no problems eating it just make sure its not deep sea cos of mercury levels. I was quite fussy with fish while I was pregnant, I didnt eat it the first trimester (bar tinned tuna from memory..) and even after that would only eat it if I cooked it or I was confident in the place I was buying it from. Oh and I had MASSIVE cravings for sushi. It was the one think I told DH he had to do (constantly reminded him!!)... bring Sushi to the hospital. Did he?? NOPE.:no: Meh.

Liv - Have you tried the Blackmores morning sickness tablets? And lots of ginger. The most I could stomach for breakfast for MOST of the pregnancy was either crackers or toast (with no margarine or butter, dairy was really bad for me). Orange juice helped too. Eat before you get up if need be and eat slowly. Snack on dry stuff in the morning, I used to constantly snack in the mornings to keep the nausea at bay..pretzels.. burger rings :D

Multivitamins - I didnt take Elevit, it made me too constipated. I took Natures Own Pregnancy Platinum. I now take their After Birth Care (or something like that, cant remember the name). The Pregnancy Platinum are reflux free as I was a bad sufferer of reflux (even when not preggas!!)

Eggs - Again I avoided them during first trimester, then after that only occasionally had them. (the flatulence being pregnant was enough without egg-farts added :laughing:) I believe HARD boiled is ok as long as you do it yourself, cool them quickly and keep them cool. Its all basic food hygiene stuff. No soft-boiled eggs.

moongazer
16-04-2010, 16:53
The deal with egg yolks is the chance of salmonella. Throw out any raw eggs you have which are cracked. You should do this anyway.
Egg cooked so the yolk is hard is ok.
IE - hard bolied, scrambled, omelette etc. Alas - I didn't do hot breakfasts when preggers as I mainly love eggs soft poached!! :laughing: DH and I would go out to breakfast, and he started eating eggs benedict. drove me crazy, as it had poached eggs, hollandaise sauce, and ham....all things I couldn't eat.
Oh - and with the whole sandwich meat thing - If you REALLY want ham, get it freshly cut and then heat it. Listeria dies when heated. Often the problem with listeria is it can live on the blade of the slicer if it isn't cleaned properly, so don't assume that the meat will be ok if it is freshly sliced!!

I also ate loads of BLT sandwiches!! I cooked the bacon myself.:laughing:

Fizzgig75
16-04-2010, 23:44
:wave:hey everyone, hope all is well.

kiwi: Yeah that's one thing that makes me pretty determined to persevere with BF despite the discomfort etc... I'm WAY too lazy to bother with all that is involved with making up bottles and even more lazy to get out of bed. When I weaned DD but she still wanted a early morning feed I would have a thermos of boiling water, a bottle of cooled boiled water and the formula dispenser on my bedside table so in the morning I would mix the 2 waters to get the right heat and then add powder. That's pretty lazy eh? LOL!
At what age did DS1 start refusing? My DS is starting to get really fussy and feed really quick... I'm hoping that he's just becoming efficient? We still go through enough nappies and his weight gain is right on track so I'm pretty confident that it's the latter.

clucky: LOL, actually I'm not sure how long it took to type the actual post because I actually type as I read, iykwim? I open up the thread and have notepad opened alongside and as I read I do personals in notepad so I don't miss anything. That was a particularly long one as I was SOOO far behind in everyones news, so yeah probably took a couple of hours to read where everyone was at and reply. Hopefully by logging in more frequently I can get it done in a flash.
Wow, that's so interesting the way they ascertain how much bubs is getting with each feed, makes total sense. I think all mums should know to do that if they aren't feeling confident. I should've done that with DD... there's a lot I feel I should've done better with her... my poor first child!

liv: Dr Lane was my FS and OB and funnily enough as involved as he has been in bringing my 2 precious children to this world he actually missed both of their deliveries!! He just so happened to be on holidays with DD and with DS it was his weekend off! I saw him for my post-natal appoint last week and he is still in disbelief over it! I think he's a bit dissapointed too as he has been there right from the beginning i.e. Dr referral to him to talk about what our options were with DHs vasectomy. Anyway, he is lovely and you are in fantastic care with him.
I always kept dried biscuits or crackers in my bedside table to eat before getting up and/or watered down sports drink such as powerade or gatorade. ..and you're allowed to 'complain', it sucks, I think people wrongly think that we are ungrateful if we complain - so untrue.

lulu: sorry chicky, I didn't take your post the wrong way, I was just stirring which is so typical of me. I don't think I made this clear either. You're right it can be hard to express in writing. Please don't crawl in a hole!
Ah, interesting that they've found an issue with progesterone. I actually questioned this when none of my FETs worked. They always said that because my lining was good there were no issues. Oh really? Then how come IAF starts 13DPO when I have a FET and am only on minimal support with the pessaries, whereas 3 of 4 of my stims were bfp (the stims being medicated better supported the luteal phase than a natural FET with pessaries alone). Bet your next FET is a bfp!
Please count me in for the catch up. I won't be able to get there until about 11:30 though as DD has dance class in the morning. Hope that's cool, surely some will want to kick on over lunch? Oh and I will have DD with me too.

peachy: how scary! Does sound like BHs for sure though and they are perfectly normal and harmless... but can be painful, that midwife doesn't know what she's talking about! I see BHs as a good thing, it's ur uterus exercising and getting strong for the delivery!!

waiting: Sounds like you've a milestone just around the corner, what's happening in the teeth department?

lisa: I'm going to guess girl. Only because my DD turned me into a oinker but I just ate normal with DS. I totally agree that it sounds like you could go a bit more protein in there. Eggs are great as are baked beans. I always had 'trailer mix' with me (dried fruit and almonds). I also carried around some roasted chickpeas or broadbeans - there is a yummy brand available already packaged up available in the healthfood aisle at woolies. They are also quite low in sodium compared to many other packaged snacks we tend to go for which helps keep the fluid retention to a minimum.
What bread do you eat? Go for seeded bread, it's not only higher in protein and fibre but also has a higher amount of potassium than regular bread, the potassium can help counteract the high levels of soduim in bread. If you still enjoy your carrot for snacks then you can try some homemade hommus (chickpea dip) which is yummy and dead easy to make. Another fave of mine with crackers is mashed avocado or even nut paste such as almond or almond and brazil nut paste. Nuts are good sources of protein, fibre and calcium and can be a good alternative to so much cheese/dairy (I'm a cheese-a-holic too so I understand) which has no fibre and lots of saturated fat and cholesterol. Ricotta cheese is an excellent cheese to switch to as it is low in fat and safe to eat during pregnancy.
I always had a milo before bed and would still wake at 3ish for crackers and cheese or yoghurt or fruit.
Another high protein alternative is quinoa which can be used instead of rice or made up like porridge (good in winter for brekky!).
Your green leafys are good for calcium too, so go the broccoli esp if your body goes on a dairy strike. The other thing with your green leafys is that they have the iron and folate too.
Personally I think Blackmores Gold is the best supplement to take as it has iodine and omegas that many others dont. In normal mums with healthy pregnancies this would be the only extra needed. Being on the low side of stored iron I took 'spatone' as recommended by my OB after my m/c... I continued with it during my cycles, my preg and will continue until I've weaned (just recently lowered dose).
Eggs are fine as long as they are cooked through. So no soft-boiled eggs (WAAAH, that was SO tough for me!).
Fish: Stear clear of your big fish such as flake as they can have unacceptable levels of mercury in them, really only safe to have once every 3 or so weeks. I would have an oily such as salmon once a week. 1 - 2 serves of tinned tuna and 1 - 2 fresh white (or a bake in the oven if too tired to bother with anything fresh). I don't eat red meat or poultry though so that's why all the fish and legumes etc.
Just remember that during pregnancy your hormones change and alter the ph in your mouth making your enamel susceptible to erosion. After eating, particulary the middle of the night ones, give your mouth a rinse out with tap water or tap water with a little toothpaste in it (NOT mouthwashes, they make things worse!)

waitinghoping
17-04-2010, 00:28
Off track but WHOA did you guys feel the tremor??!!! could feel the rumbling coming then the whole house shook. Went outside theres people coming out of their houses everywhere going "OMG is that an earthquake??" OMG Im still shaking it was freaky!!!! Its woken A up.. she wont settle now.. GRRRRR

LulusMum
17-04-2010, 07:53
Waiting - DH used to joke that the only thing that could wake me up was an earthquake - apparently not even that will do it:sleeping:

We are off to see the windmill production of grug today with Max and our neices will be there too. Hope its good, if max enjoys it we will be getting him season tickets to the windmill for his birthday:goodvibes:

Hope you all have and awesome day

LulusMum
17-04-2010, 07:57
Mums and Bubs Play Date

RSVPs:
Lulusmum and Max
Kiwigemini and Sam
Waiting hoping & Alexis
Trying2 & Seth
Trying clucky & Jasmin
Moongazer & Spencer
Fizzgig & Kai, and DD

kiwigemini
17-04-2010, 10:31
Waiting & LM - the earthquake woke us all up except for Sam. I think I would have slept through it but poor DD was screaming. You think she'd have been used to them, I mean, she's been in much bigger ones. She's been watching the news with us lately and all the big quakes around the world, freaked her out. Just makes me think of home, I was just thinking the other day how I haven't felt an earthquake in nearly 3 years.
Hi everyone. Gotta go, this household has bloody headlice!!!!! So gross!:barf: Time to rinse.

moongazer
17-04-2010, 16:49
Slept right through the earthquake! lol None of us woke!! :laughing:

lisab26
18-04-2010, 11:42
Morning ladies!

hope we're all having a nice weekend. DH and I just slept in til 11am! noice!! We took piglet to it's first rock party lastnight. had a friends 40th which was 'rockstar' theme and they had a band playing rock music all night. was quite good. poor DH...so cute....he said to me 'the loud music wont hurt piglet will it?'. too cute. i said no dear....lol.

Well my hcg is now up to 60,000 which is nice for 7.5 weeks so we're sailing along quite nicely (i think). still wishing for some m/s but i guess i have to learn some patience. :) First scan is this coming thursday! can't wait!! day before my bday too!

Thanks for all your tips and advice on food. i'll try to include more eggies in my diet and some more canned tuna. Were you guys very careful about which brand you got of the tuna? i'm only careful now to pick food that was made/packaged in Australia.

Fizz...as for our bread. we only ever eat wholegrain, 9/12 seed or wholemeal. never white bread. :) and....as for the greens such as broccoli....normally i LOVE my broccoli but in the last few days i've been turned off of cooked veggies. yuck! makes me feel sick to even think of them so that's very disappointing cos i wanna make sure i'm getting all the veggies. BUT...i do have lots of salad! so, i'm hoping that can make up for it. I might be switching to blackmores pregnancy gold cos it does include everything. at least that'll be 2 tablets i have to take instead of 3. i also have to take my baby aspirin.

I have food guidelines and etc but what fish did you guys used to eat besides tuna. did you eat alot of whiting cos i thought that was a shallow fish but i could be wrong. The frozen fish in the shops....does that state if it's deep sea or not?

sorry for all the questions. I do actually have food guidelines but i'm just keen to know from your own personal experiences.

Anyway, off to feed piglet a late breakky! DH just had to go to the shops to get some milk first! lol.

Hope you all have a fantastic day!

waitinghoping
18-04-2010, 19:37
Lisa I just saw your FB status.... looks like the weird pregnancy dreams have started for you already!! :laughing:

lisab26
18-04-2010, 19:50
waiting....i've been having weird dreams for years! haha. i'm very unique i must say! lol. :laughing:

LulusMum
20-04-2010, 07:19
:no: BFN for us this time, at a loss of where and what to do next...........

liv01
20-04-2010, 08:49
lulusmum: :hugs::hugs::hugs: I am so sorry to here that honey .

what to do next honey i am not sure but i know you guys will make to right decison after you have had time to think about it xoxox

peachykeen
20-04-2010, 09:10
oh Sorry lulu's mum :no: we'll all be here to support you with what ever is next! Dont give up xx

liss77
20-04-2010, 12:01

I have not been able to get onto Bub Hub for about a week (silly computer).

I would love to attend the Mums and Bubs and Bumps get together on the 27th, but am not sure if I will be able to make it. I have had a great pregnancy so far, but in the last few days have had so much hip pain, walking around the house is difficult :(. I am seeing my preg physio tomorrow, and will see how I go.

Could someone please pm me the details and I will let you know closer to the day if I am able to make it or not. Only 2 weeks to go until bubba is here :smiliedance:.

Love Liss and Bump

waitinghoping
20-04-2010, 13:55
Lulusmum - sorry to hear about the BFN. :hugs:

Liss - whoa only 2 weeks, wow that is SOOOOOO close!!! Hope you can make it to the catch up, would be good to see you and bump!

Peachy - are you coming to the catch up? Would be great to see you again (and your bump!)

peachykeen
20-04-2010, 15:28
Waiting i'm not sure if i can make this catch up :no: i'm so so busy working at home i havent had a second to my self! can you pm me the details! i'll do my best to get there!

mardicharli
20-04-2010, 19:20
LulusMum - :hugs::hugs::hugs:for you! So sorry to hear of your BFN. :(

Liss - Only two weeks to go!! Wow! Where does the time go?? Hope it all goes really well! Bet you are sooooooo excited!xx

AFM - Would love to come to the catchup and FINALLY meet you guys but alas I am working and actually have a conference that day too! :( Bring on maternity leave!!
We are 15 weeks tomorrow - can't believe how fast the time is going - better clean out the spare room so we can actually start on the nursery!
Hope all are well! xx

liv01
20-04-2010, 19:40
ok girls how do i get a baby ticker thingy :laughing:

mardicharli
20-04-2010, 20:41
Liv -You will find the tickers up the top of this page in the black line of writing next to the "Bub Hub" Heading. Click on that and follow the instructions! Have fun! :D

liv01
20-04-2010, 21:06
thanks i will try it

LulusMum
21-04-2010, 18:06
Am in the process of sending PM's of the catch up to:

kiwi
waiting
trying 2
trying clucky
liv
MG
fizz
peachy
liss

Hope that is everyone, although the more the merrier:D If i have missed anyone please send me a PM and i will send the details to you

LulusMum
21-04-2010, 18:22
Just wanted to add that the baby play area is fenced off, thats how you know what it is. Just walk straight up past the yellow fence, heading toward the toilets, and you will find us:yes:

LulusMum
22-04-2010, 18:01
Good luck to Lisa and DH, hope your first scan tonight is perfect, and you get to see your adorable little blob and little flickering heartbeat:p:goodvibes::cloud9::baby:

lisab26
22-04-2010, 21:53
We have a beating blob!!!!! :yelclap::smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance:

Tonight at 7.30 we saw the most perfect heartbeat!! 181bpm! size is 20.5mm! Our little piglet is just that.....a little piglet! we're 8w,1d, but it's the size of 8w,4d!! So So proud!!! I just want to yell it at the top of my voice to the world!
Dear DH just burst into so many tears and we had the nurse and FS jumping around!

So, we couldn't be happier. we're totally on .:cloud9:

lisab26
22-04-2010, 21:54
Best birthday present for my bday tomorrow too!!! :party:

Fizzgig75
22-04-2010, 23:05
lulu: sorry to hear it was a bfn. What you do next is hug Max and maybe even take him to a special place that you will both love and you can feel free to have a cry. I would take DD down to Port Noarlunga (pretty much irrespective of weather) and I would let the sea breeze blow away my tears. DD would just chase the seagulls. I took some of my best photos of DD after a bfn. The next thing you do is hang in there, this pregnancy might just take a bit more time. Perhaps your body is still recovering from Max'a pregnancy? Well that's what I ended up telling myself about mine anyway... I was just about back to the shape and fitness I was pre-DD when I got my sticky bfp.
How was Grug? Was going to take DD but have been out nearly everyday and would struggle to schedule in. We saw The Gruffalo last week and DD was SOOO scared, she stuck it out though so I'm so proud of her. I've taken her to quite a few Windmill productions now over the last 2 years and I've never been disappointed. Are you going to any 'Something on Saturdays'?
Thanks for pm, would you mind supplying the actual address please? I'm just being a lazy southerner here!

Liss: Please keep us updated! How exciting! Can't wait to hear all about it, we've had a little drought in here.

lisa: congrats, thanks for the update. You guys must be so relieved! You are SO having a girl! So that's my prediction, guess I'll find out in December? What's official EDD? Happy birthday for tomorrow :flowerz:

O M G will someone PLEASE slow this train down, it's going way too fast! I've now had to pack away some of DS's small 000 - so sad! I can't believe I'm pulling out some 00's out of the closet. I'm so in love with this little boy, I need time to slow down. I'm freaking out a little here about it all cos it's going to be the last time I experience all of this.

Looking forward to Tuesday :)

waitinghoping
22-04-2010, 23:20
Lulusmum - so sorry to hear about the BFN :hugs:

Lisa - YAY for the heartbeat!!!!!!!! Sooo excited and happy for you!!!!!!!!!!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

Fizz - wow he's going in to 00's ALREADY?????!!!!!!!!!! :eek: Wow he must be doing well!!!!!!! Alexis is still 000 and she will be 5 months next week (already! *sniff!*) She wears a 00 wondersuit cos Bonds are such small sizes but everything else in 000 is finally fitting (some stuff has been falling off her for ages!!)

AFM - I had mums group at my place today which was fun. First time Ive hosted but was all good. Havent had a car for over a week but finally got it back so have had a severe case of cabin fever (and I think A has too!) so went to organise her childcare on Wed. Was nice to get out finally!!

moongazer
23-04-2010, 08:58
Waiting - Spencer is still mainly in 000, but is moving into 00's at the moment. The large 000's fit him, but many have been put away! Little boy is growing up!!!
He's been a real grizzlebum last night and today!! Argh! I don't know what to do. Is it teeth?? Is it an early wonder week?? Is it that he kept waking himself up last night when he turned over and kept bumping his head!!

nevergivenup
23-04-2010, 12:00
I would have loved to have come to the catch up next week (is day before my bday). But unfortunately, I have strict orders for OB and DH not to leave the CBD and to stay with 10mins proximity to a hospital. So will have to join in once my twins are born.

Lisa - Oh how beautiful, I remember how emotional that 1st scan was. Nothing more precious that seeing your bubba's beating heart for the first time! Bet your hubby's reaction sent you off even worse! What a great birthday present hun. Happy birthday, bet you can't take your eyes off that first scan pic too! happybirthday.

Fizz - you are such a gorgeous person and amazing mum! Was so nice to catch up for lunch the other day! Thanks also for the maternity clothes, I was starting to get sick of my maternity uniform LOL! And had decided not to buy anymore maternity clothes, as won't be long now before my bubbas are born. Also, love love love that breastfeeding top!! About to order another one.

Did you tell your DH re your bubby boy being so into cars! Funny story girls, I was holding Fizz's baby boy facing the window at a cafe where he was amused by the cars driving past. When the traffic lights changed to red, he would start crying. Then suddenly the lights would turn green, and the cars would come past the window again and he was quietly amused once again. I can't believe boys start off this early with their interest in cars!! Too funny:goodvibes:

AFM - this baby bump of mine is really starting to explode, am loving being obviously pregnant! And loving tummy tv at night, so entertaining, I could watch them for hours. Everything is going exceedingly well so far, even though I am aware there are still risks due to the placenta previa and also gestational diabetes. Gestational diabetes, seems to be under control at the moment with careful diet. Got a growth scan next Thursday and OB appointment too. Can't wait, then following fortnight have the labour talk appointment with my OB..... can't wait for that one!!!!

kiwigemini
23-04-2010, 12:29
Hi all, :wave:

LM - So sorry to hear about the bfn.:hugs:

Lisa - Wahoo!!!!! Fantastic news on your scan and a big happybirthday

Fizz - Sam is already in a lot of 00 clothing and he was only 6 pound 6 ounces at birth! 000's just don't have the length. Re: your ques about DS1 and BF, he started refusing at around 6 wks, that's when I tried expressing but went back to BF. We got to 10wks and he was refusing most of the time so that's when I started FF.

Waiting - Hope A is sleeping better for you.

MG - Hope spencer is more settled today. Sam has been very unsettled this week too. Mornings are all good, but afternoons are a nightmare and he isn't staying down at night. :hair: Hope I don't fall asleep at the catch up.:laughing:

NGU - Glad to hear things are going well, not long now. Are you coming to the get together? I used to watch my belly at night too, way better than tv.

Liss - SO CLOSE NOW! Exciting times.

Liv - Your scan must be soon. Hope all is going well.

Mardi - Maternity leave will be here before you know it, glad to here things are good.

afm - Sam has gained 1 kilo since birth! He seems so big all of a sudden. Bit of a unsettled week, hope that passes soon. I went to the Dr and found out that the funny "wart" on my leg is a skin cancer. WTF!!!! I just want to visit a Dr and not walk out with something wrong! Luckily it's not a bad one, but will have to be cut out in the future. I have the physio in 2 weeks (Sam's fast birth did some damage), then the following week the Hematologist then the next week the Cardiologist. So over Hospitals and Drs! On a happier note, my Dad is visiting next month and will be here for DD's 10th Bday, she is very excited. And my Mum, Aunt, Uncle and 4yr old cousin are coming for Xmas!!!! Yahhh!!!!
Looking forward to seeing everyone next week.

LulusMum
24-04-2010, 09:39
Fizz - Grug is the first theatre production we have taken him too. We actually bought the tickets as a gift for our neice who recently turned 2, and her parents were on major toy and clothing overload - hence why we bought her tickets to something instead. We took Max cause under 1's were free - and he loved it. It was very short and he managed to stay engaged throughout most of it (with the help of some biscuits:D). It was aimed at under 4's, so if something of that age group came out again i woudl take him for sure, and when he gets older will be buying the season tickets:yes:. The best part was that Ted Prior (author of grug) was there, and they were selling the books, so we now have an autographed set of grug, im sure max will love them when he is older.

MG - cant believe spencer is in 000's still. Max is in 1's and was from 9 months, im so worried my baby will look like a monster on tuesday - wonder how i can make him look smaller:rolleyes: We bought all his winter stuff in ones too, but think i may need to stock up on some 2's just in case. I put him in some size 0 trackies the other day as i had been slack with the washing, and they seriously came to his knees. Thats what you get when your daddy is 6'6.:yelclap:

moongazer
24-04-2010, 15:11
LM - DH is 6'7"!!! Spencer is in the higher end percentile for height, but not crazy! I don't have my chart on me, we are at the beach!! Max won't look like a giant! He'll look perfect! :D I think a lot of the 000's we have for S is on the large end. Yesterday I started really culling the wardrobe. i'm going to have to take stock! We are going to Tasmania in late May, and apparently Cradle Mountain has an average temp of 6 C as a high at that time! :eek: Time to do some shopping...

:wave: to everyone!
Looking forward to Tuesday

moongazer
24-04-2010, 15:12
PS - lisa - hope you had a happybirthday

woohooo :party::party:

LulusMum
24-04-2010, 15:59
MG - max started life pretty average in the 50th percentile, and is now off the chart for both height and weight:eek: He will be a big boy, and Dr predicts he will be taller then DH when he is fully grown, i dont mind, although i know it will cost me a fortune in food, then again, what boy doesnt eat like a horse:D

If you need some cold weather stuff, we just bought max a great waterproof, fleece lined jacket from pumpkin patch, they also have some great polar fleece lined denim overalls but didnt have maxis size. i am addicted to sooki baby from myer, and they have bought out a funky lime green and black thick jacket with matching black trackies that max has and they are just great, looking forward to the colder weather so he can wear some of his new stuff:yes:

Quiet day today, am recovering from tonsillitis, laryngitis and a cold, so have had 2 nana naps so far today, and DH did the shopping with max and they came home with a snuggie for me:smiliedance: and enough magazines to open a shop - so im set for the night.

waitinghoping
24-04-2010, 23:09
OMG LM - Max sounds HUGE, very cute!!! Hehe I love big bubbas, they make A look so tiny it cracks me up. DH is 6'something-huge (not sure exactly) but Im tiny. 5'0 to be exact but I round it up to 5'1 cos it sounds bigger....:laughing: A was always around 50th percentile during the pregnancy and at birth... she has now dropped to under the 10th, was closer to 3rd last measurements. She is due to be weighed and measured again this week... I think she has had a growth spurt so hopefully she hasnt dropped off the scale!!! Hope you feel better soon, and in time for Tues! :yelclap:

MG - Oh Tassie would be nice. And yay an excuse to go clothes shopping!!! Ive been thinking I need to go through the 00 stuff to see what A has got for winter..she got given all summer stuff when she was born so think Im gonna need to stock up.

Well we went to my Mums for dinner tonight... and A DIDNT SCREAM ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! First time EVER. She is normally inconsolable when we go out at night, to the point of making herself spew. I reckon it was cos my nieces were there and she loves them so they distracted her. Once they left she started to melt down a little but by then it was past her bedtime so to be expected.

BTW if any of you are FB'ers and want to add me feel free... PM me Ill give you my details. That way you might recognise me on Tues when I get lost :laughing::laughing::laughing:

liv01
25-04-2010, 15:58

hello ladies,

I hope you are well I am starting to get excited 7 weeks tomorrow and one week until my scan :p

I was shocked to realise that all pants are starting to get a little tight i can see a shopping trip soon .

looking forward to seeing you all on tuesday

liv xoxo

liv01
26-04-2010, 17:47
hey ladies,

I will be late tommorow as i have to go to the chiros it looks like my right hip is out i have been in a little pain today we went and sore my gp today and he is a 100% sure it is muscle problem he also did a urine test as well in case it is uti and he has given me a referral to go for a scan this week so a little scare but i think it will be ok well i hope so .

so i wont be their until 11am .

see you all then

liss77
26-04-2010, 18:26

I am sorry, but I will be unable to attend the catch up tomorrow. I would love to come, but I have such a painful, unstable pelvis, have been diagnosed with PUPPP (itchy pregnancy rash) and none of my shoes fit my feet because of the swelling!!! I feel like crap. I know this will be worth it (can't wait to meet bubba!), but for the time being, will stay at home sitting on pillows and heat packs putting on my medicated cream.

I would love to attend the next catch up - with bubba!! Have a lovely time.

Love Liss and Bump

waitinghoping
26-04-2010, 22:28
Liss - sorry you cant make it tomorrow. Just remember it will all be worth it when you hold Bubs in your arms.. so exciting its not long now!!!!!!!!!!!!

NGU - I cant believe how close your twinnies are to coming too! ooh its gonna be busy in here with news soon!!!

See you all tomorrow morning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:smiliedance:

LulusMum
27-04-2010, 14:23
Hi Lovelies

Well i think we can agree that today was a total success:yes:

Loved meeting everyone and all the beautiful babies:bee:

max is so worn out, fell asleep in the car on the way home, didnt wake up when i got him out and is now crashed in his cot - i can hear him snoring through the closed door:laughing:

Thanks especially to peachy and fizz who both drove so far to come and play, and cant have been easy with either pregnant belly or toddler and newborn in tow

I for one think we should do this again, maybe we can change locations so the same people arent always having to travel so far. Cause bubbas are still so young, maybe a house next time? something to think about anyway....

Hope we all get a peaceful afternoon after a busy morning:wave:

lisab26
27-04-2010, 15:06

Glad to hear this morning was a success! gutted I missed out!

however, i've scorred next monday off work! yay! got first ob appt at 2.30 that day anyway so just decided to have the whole day off!

so, anyone free for a catchup next monday?? happy to host at mine (Para Vista) or happy to travel......:)

Would love to see any of you who are keen.

peachykeen
27-04-2010, 16:33
:DThanks for organising today Lulu's mum (or should i say max and lulu's mum)!! max is so big and grown up!

It was great to see all of you lovely ladies!!

Waiting, Alexis is soooooooo cute! i'm just in love with her!! was good to see you again!!

Moongazer, spencer is adorable! i just loooooove his eyes! So big and gorgeous!!

TryingClucky, it was great to see you again! Jasmine is so cute! I love her long locks!! gorgeous little thing!

Trying2, was great to meet you and seth today! he is very cute!! so little!

Kiwi... i thought this before but now i've met you in person... You are one of the most beautiful people i've ever met! I just love your guts!!!

Fizz, it was lovely to meet you too! And also nice to know i'm not the only one in the world with verbal leakage issues!!

Liv, was great to see you today! even if you were to vague to realise who i was lol!!

it was great to see you all! hopefullly i am a bit bigger next time!!!

god i hope i havn't missed anyone.... that would be terrrible.. my apologies if i did...

Peachy xxx:smiliedance:

trying2
27-04-2010, 17:33
Thank you Lulu's Mum for organising today also!
Seth and I had a good time meeting everyone, even though I am a little shy! I will settle in the more we catch up though! I am usually the quiet one at most things!!

Peachy - Your bump is just beautiful! You really are glowing, it's great to see pregnancy agreeing with you! Won't be long now until you are holding your precious little one!

Waiting - I totally agree with Peachy - Alexis is adorable, such a beautiful little girl!

MG - Spencer is such a handsome little guy! Hope Seth gets to play with him when they are bigger!!

Lulu's Mum - Max is a cutie too! I can't wait for Seth to be able to play around with him in that cool pay equipment too!!

TryingClucky - Sorry I didn't introduce myself, I was sitting right next to you too!! Jasmine is adorable, so much smaller than Seth, even though they were born so close together! She was so well behaved!

Kiwi - Sam is soo beautiful! He was so well behaved also! Did not hear a peek out of him!

Liv - It was great seeing you there and getting to put a face to the name! You look so happy and glowing also!

Fizz - Your 2 littlies are just beautiful! Your little girl was so cute running around!

Lisa - Sorry you couldn't make it today, but another catchup at a house seems like a great idea!

Thank you all so much again for today and I promise to come out of my shell a bit more next time! And also if anyone is on FB - PM me! Would love to be able to catch up on there also with photos etc!

lisab26
27-04-2010, 18:49
Hey guys

I'm also on FB if you would like to become 'friends'. :)

Trying2...i'll PM you. :)

liv01
27-04-2010, 19:00
it was lovely to catch up with you all today what a bunch of beautiful bubbas:D

peachy : sorry for my vaugeness i felt so dumb

mardicharli
27-04-2010, 22:18
Sounds like everything went really well today and you all had lots of fun getting to know each other and babies and bumps! :D
Wish I could have been there - was stuck in THE most boring conference ever!! :(
Hopefully make it to a catch up before I go on maternity leave, if not, definitely after! :yelclap:
Hope all are well!

waitinghoping
27-04-2010, 22:59
Hey, it was lovely to meet everyone today (and again see those I have met before too!) Sorry If I :ecomcity: too much :laughing: Thanks Lulusmum for organising!!!!!

Peachy - Love your bump!!!! Doesnt matter that its only little, as long as Piglet is growing thats all that counts!!! Pregnancy suits you

trying2- Seth is such a chilled out little man!! He just looked so happy and relaxed, wow I just wanted to curl up with him!!! Wonder if his chilled out personality might rub off on Alexis...

MG - Spencer is gorgeous, a handsome bubba thats for sure! Was great to finally meet. Hope his teeth stop giving him grief soon. On btw I gave Alexis a piece of pear tonight (she likes pear pureed its the only thing she has liked so far) and she LOVED it!!!!!!!Was trying to shove it in her mouth and when I held it to her mouth she would take bites! If I squished some on a spoon.... no go!! She wanted the big piece!

Lulu's Mum - Thanks again for organising!! Max is fantastic, love him! Hopefully next time Alexis will be able to and play with him in the play area - by the looks of her she wanted to play with him and was BUSTING to go in the play area with all the big kids!!! I went over to the shops after and forgot to get one of those raspberry teething dummies.. GRRRRRR

TryingClucky - Jasmine is beautiful, such a beautiful head of hair. How exciting too that she gets her brace off in a week. If you dont mind me asking - why does she have it (did I miss that in earlier posts? Sorry!)

Kiwi - hehehe I didnt notice your accent last time - I did today!!! (not that its a bad thing it just made me giggle that I didnt even notice it before!!) Sam was such a good by and had a nice long sleep - pity Alexis didnt take his lead....

Liv - Sorry I didnt get a chance to talk to you much. You are looking really well

Fizz - Nice to finally meet you! Kai and your DD are beautiful, Kai's eyes had me mesmorised!! Your DD was so well behaved, I was thinking afterwards about what you said about her being a lot like Alexis when she was younger... if Alexis turns out anything like your DD.. then I must be on to a good thing!! Oh and on a side note - I LOVE the red in your hair - I used to have the red in my hair too but it never lasted long.... I miss it but get sick of re-dying it all the time...

Lisa - Bummer you couldnt make it.. you're not far from me! (probably just up the road actually!) Ive already got plans for next Mon but would love to catch up some time down the track for sure.

Liss - Hope you are doing well, not long now!! Hopefully you will be at the next catch up with babe in arms!!!

Dreams - How you going? Hope everything is well

Mardi - Hows your little bump going??

AFM - Well Little Miss decided to stay awake for another hour after leaving today!!!!! She had a couple of cat naps today but that was it. Ended up taking her to uni with me to do some printing for my assignment. She was b*ggered tonight!! Fingers crossed for a good nights sleep!!!

moongazer
28-04-2010, 15:27
:wave: girls!! Was so great to finally meet some of you yesterday.

Sorry if my message is short and no personals. I wanted to write a quick message, but Spencer is requiring attention!!!! Those teeth! argh!! :laughing:

peachykeen
28-04-2010, 16:18
cute little toothy pegs!!!

liv01
28-04-2010, 16:26
Hey Girls,

I have my first ob appointment on tuesday any ideas on what questions i should be asking ?

as I officially have no idea :laughing:

tryingnottobetooclucky
28-04-2010, 21:21
Lulusmum – thanks for organizing the get together! Sorry I had to come late and leave early, I hope we can do it again soon at a less crazy time! Lovely to hear about Max crashing out.

Peachy – lovely to see you again, especially with your lovely bump! Very exciting!

Hi WaitingHoping – Jasmine has needed the brace as she’s got developmental hip dysplasia, which basically means her hip socket didn’t develop fully in the womb, so the leg would be able to click out of place, so she needs to stay with her legs splayed (which keeps the legs in position, allowing her hip socket to develop. Only one more week to go until the brace comes off!

Your little girl was so cute!

Kiwi – great to see you again. Thanks for coming and finding me when I first got there – it’s always awkward that thing of looking at each different group, trying to work out if they would be the forum people!

Trying2 – sorry for not introducing myself too. I’m hopeless at remembering peoples names, so I was embarrassed to ask incase I should have known but had forgotten. Good to have finally met you, even if I didn’t realize it was you at the time! :o

Fizz – sorry I had to rush off without talking to you at all. Hope to meet you again some other time.

Liss – sorry you couldn’t make it on Tuesday. Not long to go now until you’ll have that bub in your arms!! How exciting!:yelclap:

Sorry to the other people who were there on Tuesday who I couldn’t put a username to, so didn’t chat with for fear of looking stupid!!:footinmouth: :o

waitinghoping
28-04-2010, 23:07
Liv - I had NO idea what to ask at the first appointment, I think I more listened and took all the info in then at the next appt had questions. Wrote them down as I thought of things (and usually forgot my list..) Must have looked like a complete idiot but whoa it was a learning curve!!

We talked a lot about medical history at the first appt (DH's and mine combined probably needed a 2 hour appt just for that!!! Or a WARNING! sticker stuck to my head.) Even the OB kept saying toward the end of my pregnancy how she clearly remembered the first day we walked in and she heard our medical issues and she though WHOA this is gonna be a long 7 months and OMG I need to contact people and get info Quick Smart!!!

From memory I asked the OB about herself (Im a sticky beak!) and I think one of my official questions was "ok so what the hell do I do now?"!!!!! :laughing: I had NO idea!!!

liss77
29-04-2010, 18:01
So glad to hear the catch up went well :).
Bubba and I hope to catch you all at the next one.
OMG I cannot believe Bubba will be here in less than one week! Next time I see my ob will be in theatre!!!!!!!
Love Liss and Bump:goodvibes:

LulusMum
29-04-2010, 18:11
OMG Liss - these next few days will go so fast, try to enjoy them, savour a sleep in if possible, go out for a nice romantic dinner, it may be your last for a while:p - how cool is that:D

Seriously, i went 10 days early and wished i had known so i could have relaxed (read: slept) a bit more, once bub is here thats it, in a good way though, just full-on.

im so excited for you, and cant wait to see what bump is and obviously you arent calling bub "bump" so cant wait to hear his/her name also.

good luck babe - you did it:smiliedance: (almost)

waitinghoping
29-04-2010, 19:35
Oh Liss how exciting!!!!!!!!!! Have you got an SMS buddy? If not PM me Im happy to be your buddy. Cant wait to hear your exciting news and find out all about "bump"! I agree with Lulusmum, enjoy the last few days, they go too quickly! Get lots of sleep now (and maybe a bit extra for me... Im SEVERELY sleep-deprived!) cos you're gonna need it!!!

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

liv01
30-04-2010, 14:04
Liss,

Omg Honey how exciting I can wait to hear what bump is.

liv xoxox

LulusMum
30-04-2010, 14:40
Liv - read your last post??? Are you still feeling a bit vague by any chance:laughing:

I was thinking about your OB appt, and its probably a good idea to just jot down a bit of history of TTC etc, also about chromosomal issues - this way they can really individualise your care as far as tests etc go. I know at the catch up you were asking q's about amnios etc so anything specific there may set your mind at ease a bit. Not all OB's like this, but you can sort of "hint" for want of a better word what you expect from them during your pregnancy ie: do you want to know every little detail or just the basics that bub is Ok - does that make sense? Its just a way to nut out if you are on the same page. I would also mention the fact that you may need a C'section but want natural, there are many exersizes, physio stuff that you could be doing now that may help you achieve the birth you want - never too early to start preparing.

Hope that helps:D

liv01
30-04-2010, 14:52
:laughing::laughing: I should really read what I write .

Liss I am so sorry I was meaning to say that i cant wait to hear what bum is meaning a girl or a boy enjoy your last couple of days.

xoxox

thanks elise

lisab26
30-04-2010, 15:33
Liv....definetely check once more! :laughing:

liv01
30-04-2010, 15:55
:laughing: it is ment to be bump

LulusMum
30-04-2010, 16:47
:laughing:OMG - liv you are too funny, im wetting myself:yelclap:

liv01
30-04-2010, 18:29
:laughing::laughing: omg I vague

waitinghoping
30-04-2010, 22:29
:laughing::laughing::laughing: Liv I love it!!! You sound like I did when I was pregnant - all my brain cells went to my uterus :laughing:

Fizzgig75
30-04-2010, 22:36
Hi everyone.
Nice to be able to put some faces to usernames on Tuesday. Looking forward to next catchup where I might be able to chat to those I didn't get a chance to . For us the travel isn't really an issue but if we do any Northern locations the morning/lunch is probably best (for me anyway!) so that I can hit the road about 2 or 3ish cos 1) need to avoid peak traffic and 2) So DD not napping too late (she falls asleep in the car) making it impossible to get her to bed at a reasonable hour. The venue was good too... loved that we 'on our own' as it enables everyone to talk freely about ivf without freaking out the people around us! The play area is great too, now that DD less likely to get lost! lol.

Had a couple of bad nighs here. DS has pretty much always been a good sleeper with the occassional bad night where he would wake for playtime somewhere between 3 - 5am, but the last couple of nights have been shocking! After I've gone to sleep I find myself just picking him up and pulling him into bed with us when he wakes for a feed, I go back to sleep and he 'fends for himself'; I've actually done this for a while now and he feeds fine but the last couple of nights have been horrible with him feeding, sleeping and then waking up writhing around in pain! Wednesday night he was squirming and crying so hard, so unlike him, I thought it might be wind so I 'took him for a bike ride' (pumped his legs up and down) and eventually he filled his nappy big time! How that nappy contained it all I have no idea! So I changed, wrapped, cuddled, put him in his own bed and then got comfy in my bed... as soon as I relaxed I heard the explosion again. I kid you not there was just as much the 2nd time around! He was now wide awake wanting a play, something I do not encourage during the night which can be so hard to refuse that grin. So last night, same kinda thing, except this time his poo was GREEN, urghk! So I'm now I'm wondering again what's wrong with my milk; not feeding him right or perhaps my hormones are changing (haven't started AF yet) and affecting things? He's also drooling heaps so maybe too much saliva is unsettling the gut? I dunno, so horrible to see him like that. Last night was so bad it even woke up DH (who normally sleeps through anything), he rolled over and goes, "Is he broken?" I said no, and with that DH was dead to the world again. *sigh*
Well I was hoping to do a few personals tonight but after the last couple of nights I'm just going to pump and head to bed methinks.

moongazer
01-05-2010, 09:00
Fizz - there is NOTHING wrong with your milk!! DS probably has a bit of a sensitive tummy. Mine does, and sometimes gets terrible wind, and then has an explosion.
Green poo - not a problem with breastfed babies. Spencer often has green poos. He DID have a really tough time of it after the last rotavirus vaccination. I'm sorry, I don't know if you are vaccing or if Kai has recently been vaxed. If so, that could be it. I googled images for breastfed baby poos, and found a website which had pics of normal poos, and how diverse they can be.

Stop thinking there is something wrong with your milk!! :hugs:

LulusMum
01-05-2010, 09:47
Fizz - sorry you are having a rough time at the moment. Dont forget that their gut is changing in prep for solid food, so that could be affecting the way he is digesting milk at the moment. Im pretty sure there would be nothing wrong with your milk though. Bicycling always helped max, that or floating him on his tummy in a warm bath - beware, keep a seive close at hand:laughing:

I hope things improve, he may have just been banking up a bit of poo and now its all gone that may be the end of the unsettledness:fingerscrossed:

kiwigemini
01-05-2010, 13:14
hi all,

had a few computer dramas here, so sorry i haven't posted for a few days. just a quick one as i have a very tired and cranky sam in my arms.
thanks LM for arranging the get together, so nice to meet some of you and your lovely babies.
will be back later to do personals, just wanted to tell Fizz i agree with the others. nothing is wrong with your milk hun, probably just a backlog. DD used to have days like that, her poo was a rainbow, you never knew what colour you were getting.:laughing: i hope kai's tummy has settled and you are feeling better about things.:hugs:

time to take cranky-pants for a walk me thinks....

liss- wahoo, all the best.

hopefulthisyr
01-05-2010, 13:59
Hi Adelaidians - I am new to this site. I am currently on my 2nd ivf cycle with ICSI, tranferred 2 embies today. First cycle was unsuccessful due to poor egg quality (Grade 3), embies were grade 2 this time so hoping for a better (the ultimate result). Can you girls tell me what Grade your embies were when you achieved pregnancy? Best of luck to you all

lisab26
01-05-2010, 18:42

Fizz/ladies....obviously i have no experience in breastfeeding and please excuse me if i suggest the wrong thing.....but i'm wondering if the tummy unsettledness can sometimes be a bad reaction if you've eaten something different that the baby has had a reaction to through the breast milk? This is purely coming out of no breastfeeding experience but just a question i can throw out there as a curious question and as something that i wouldn't mind knowing for myself and for my future breastfeeding days.
Fizz i hope that DS is ok and that you're able to get some sleep soon.

Liss.....goodluck!! it's nearly time! woohoo! :yelclap:

Liv....you had me wetting my pants too from your posts and i was at work so i had to watch how much i laughed. lol.

Hopeful....I haven't actually ever had my embies graded but have only been told if they're good or really good. There is a another Adelaide Thread of ladies who are currently going through IVF/ICSI cycles who might be able to shed a little more light for you......the other thread is in the big general section of the IVF area of this forum. You're more than welcome to stay in here of course but some of the ladies currently going through ivf cycles might have some more answers for you......?

AFM.....well i just had a nice big nanna nap but had the most awful dream. :no:. Basically i was with Liv (yes you liv) and another one of you ladies who has had a son (but i'm not 100% sure which one of you it was or even if it was one of you in the end). Anyway, all was going well, the 3 of us were sitting together chatting away and i was holding the newish baby and all of a sudden the baby was lying face down on the floor......and....well it doesn't end in a happy ending! :(:(:( Why would i have such an awful dream??!! it has freaked me out but i dont want to tell DH cos i dont want to freak him out. Did any of you have such awful dreams during pregnancy?? Sorry if it's a bad thing to post but i just needed to know if i'm the only one that had a bad pregnancy dream.

lisab26
01-05-2010, 18:48
but yet the mother of that baby wasn't all that fussed! i dont get it!! :confused::confused::(:(

kiwigemini
01-05-2010, 19:00
lisa - yes, the foods you eat can upset bubs through the breastmilk. you should be able to goggle a list. i still have a very tired sam, only 2 little catnaps all afternoon.:hair: if you want i can write a common list later. as for the dreams, i had a few terrible ones while pregnant. try not to stress, you will be a great mummy. wait until in the future you have your child's friend over and they hurt themselves at your house. the worst feeling. my dd broke her arm at my best friends house and she still feels bad about it years later. blame those dreams on all those hormones and a bit of stress. just a crazy ole nightmare.:hugs:

LulusMum
02-05-2010, 09:09
Lisa - yep food can upset bubs, for me it was cheese and tomato - so no spag bog, pizza, tomato in salad etc. There is a list out there somewhere, but it will only take you about a week or two to learn what agress with bub and what doesnt, and you wont make that mistake again;)

Funny dreams are part and parcel with being preggers luv, sorry. I dont imagine it means anything "bad" will happen, its just those darn hormones. Sometimes talking about it can make it better if its upsetting you, talk to DH, he may get a laugh out of it:rolleyes:

Kiwi - Poor sam, wonder whats troubling him. You said teh other day you take him walking daily? I found a great walking track yesterday so if your keen to get out, we could go for stroll one day to get out....

liv01
02-05-2010, 10:33
hello ladies,

it was lovely to meet you all on tuesday and what a beautiful bunch of babies .

I am sorry but this is a me me post as I have my first scan tomorrow very nervous and excited all i want to see is the heartbeat and I keep on reading and hearing of people who dont have a heartbeat and it is freaking me out so much and i dont know how to overcome these feelings any advise would help.

sorry for the me me post

liv xox

LulusMum
02-05-2010, 11:28
Liv - here is my advice - STOP READING THE MISSCARRIAGE THREADS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just remember what a fighter this baby is in the first place to even be here. It must be fine if its still here cause remember you were told that if anything was wrong you would misscarriage naturally. Its fine, when i got my BFP with max i wasnt on Bubhub, so had no idea that you could get pos result and no heartbeat - naive i know, but it saved me from so much worry.

Everything is fine, you will be doing more harm then good by stressing over this, especially when you do see the HB tmrw and realise you worked yourself up for no reason.

Have a chat to your baby:baby: - cause thats what it is, not a heartbeat, not a blob, but YOUR son or daughter, tell it how much you love it, how much you cant wait to meet it, how much you will treasure them always, and how they are so wanted by so many people - Its in there liv, believe me, and talking to Max while he was in my tummy always made me feel better if i had read something that made me feel insecure.

liv01
02-05-2010, 16:17
i read it on the adelaide thread i guess i just want to see the heartbeat and deep down i think all will be ok

lisab26
02-05-2010, 16:52
Liv....dont worry, i was having exactly the same worried thoughts as you....in fact i was absolutely packing it! but.....you have a beautiful baby on board and tomorrow you'll get to see that beautiful baby and it's hearbeat!! and considering you'll be at 8 weeks.....you'll actually get to see it's a tiny little bubby! so cute!! Everything will be fine! I know it's hard not to think about the unfortunate stories but just know that you have a miracle on board who wants to be your son/daughter for life!

liss77
02-05-2010, 20:37
Hi Girls - I hope this finds you all well :flowerz:

Hi Waiting and Hoping I would love an sms buddy! Thank you I will send you a pm.

Will do more personals later - soo tired!

Love Liss and Bump :bee:

kiwigemini
02-05-2010, 21:09
Hi all,:wave:

Liv - Enjoy seeing jellybean tomorrow.:goodvibes: Can't wait to hear all about it.:)

LM - A walk sounds great, be warned I might talk your ear off.:laughing: I'll PM you tomorrow. Will be great to see you and Max again.

Trying - Lovely to meet you, Seth is adorable, hope we can chat more next time.

Tryingclucky - Jasmine is a sweetie. Bet you can't wait for the brace to come off, hope all goes well with that this week.

Peachy - shucks hun, make me blush. Was great to finally meet you and your perfect little bump.

Waiting - Nice to see you again, and to meet the cheeky little Alexis.

MG - How's Spencer's teeth? Poor little guy. And how is Mum going? Teething is tough. Great to meet you.

Fizz - Lovely to put a face to the name. What a beautiful little family you have. Hope DD wasn't to hard to get to bed that night. Had a great time chatting.

Hi, Bertie, Lisa, Liss, NGU and Mardi, hope all is well.

Hope I haven't forgotten anyone, HUGE apologies if I have. Well, I've been a solo parent since Friday as DH has been away for work. All went well, even though Sam had a bad afternoon/evening. Feel quite proud of myself, tee, he,he. But, yah DH is home tomorrow. Sam and I are helping at the kids school tomorrow, well I hope I'm some help. Catch you all later.

waitinghoping
02-05-2010, 23:50
Liss - I have PM'd you - sooo exciting!!! :goodvibes:

Liv - I agree with Lulusmum - STOP READING THE MISCARRIAGE THREADS OR ANYTHING ELSE NEGATIVE!! I know I was guilty of it and it made me really anxious. Once I stopped reading, I felt much better. I reckon this cyber-world has made us too well informed!!! Good luck for your scan tomorrow!!! I think I bawled the first scan I had, as soon as I heard the heartbeat the relief was incredible.

peachykeen
03-05-2010, 07:55
:babydust2:GOODLUCK LIV!! :babydust2:
I'LL BE THINKING OF YOU AT 2PM!! (or 3pm knowing Dr Davies!!)

love love love

xoxoxoxoxo

moongazer
03-05-2010, 08:37
Good luck Liv!! Brace yourself for an emotional and astounding moment!! :hugs:

trying2
03-05-2010, 11:00
All the best for today Liv! Enjoy every minute. Don't worry, stressing is normal, I stressed at every appointment right up until the birth!!

kiwigemini
03-05-2010, 11:47
All the best Liv and DH, magical moments. :hugs:

liv01
03-05-2010, 19:01

I am on :cloud9: we got a beautiful heartbeat of 163 i measured 7.4 weeks but she said that they still go by my last af which makes me 8 weeks exactly and everything looked perfect.

when I heard the heartbeat tears started to flow.

we are so happy and thankyou for all your well wishes

LulusMum
03-05-2010, 19:04
Liv - what beautiful news:bee: with the measurements, well we were always either behind or infront never dead on (i dont know anyone who ever has been). Congratulations, its been a long road but you got there, now relax and enjoy, it will go so quick:cloud9:

kiwigemini
03-05-2010, 19:07
As I said on the Adelaide thread .....
WAHOO!!!! CONGRATS LIV & DH.

Such a special moment, I'm tearing up. So happy for you both. :smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance:

waitinghoping
03-05-2010, 21:49
YAY LIV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So excited for you!! Congrats, ooh Im feeling warm fuzzies, such a special time for you!!!

mardicharli
03-05-2010, 22:04
Congrats Liv and DH!!
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

This is such a special and magical time for you both!
PS. I'm sure we all cried too!:yes:

moongazer
03-05-2010, 22:29
:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: Liv and DH :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

Oh the first heartbeat - I LOVE IT!!! I teared up too!!

nevergivenup
04-05-2010, 15:11
Liv - so glad to hear your on :cloud9:, I remember that 1st scan oh so well. Is such a miracle :hugs:.

AFM - need to vent!! As some of you know I had to cancel a holiday to Perth in February because I have grade 4 placenta previa. Anyway, I wasn't worried because I had travel insurance. I received a call about a month ago, asking me to get my OB to complete a questionnaire about the pregnancy, which she did. There were questions about how the baby was conceived i.e. through ivf. I didn't think too much of it because the trip was booked and paid for well in advance of the actual ivf cycle anyway, not to mention the reason for canceling had nothing to do with it being an IVF pregnancy either. Placenta previa is not a complication of ivf!!!

Well, today, they called to advise me that my claim has been declined because we did IVF!!!!! I'm not so upset about the money, but more upset that they have the ordacity to suggest that I shouldn't have planned a holiday because I was undergoing IVF. I told the lady that we would have still gone on that holiday regardless of IVF, if it wasn't for a pregnancy complication which has nothing to do with IVF. Where do they get off. As far as I'm concerned it was none of their business to know about the IVF anyway.

Sorry, but I am really angry about their response to a simple claim!

lisab26
04-05-2010, 15:35
Liv.....you know i'm absolutely stoked for you!! well done!!!

NGU.....THAT SUCKS! what morons!! that's so unfair! IVF has nothing to do with it!!!!! gggrrrr!!! i dont know what to suggest but my jaw has dropped to the floor! so stupid!!
not to worry, your babies will be here and the trip will all be forgotten soon! but, you have every right to be angry! I'd ditch that insurance company and tell them where to stick it! :)
btw.....how long now??

waitinghoping
04-05-2010, 15:37
OMG!!! NGU that sucks that your claim was denied because of IVF. IVF has NOTHING to do with your trip!! Or the Placenta previa!! Id be getting the OB to write a letter informing them of that fact and clarifying the situation that you were unable to travel because of the medical condition NOT because of the IVF if I were you!!! :yes:

Makes me so angry that people just dont understand IVF.:banghead: I was demoted at work because my boss found out I was having IVF. Makes by blood boil to hear of stuff like that happening. Makes no difference HOW a baby is conceived, some of us just have to go about it a different way to others. Our lives are already affected by the impact of TTC for so long / issues faced etc etc, why should 'having IVF' make any difference to other people.

Id be giving them a piece of my mind if I were you!!!!!!!! :devil:

Rant over. Hope you are ok though. Hows the twinnies doing?? Not long now, its so exciting!!!!

moongazer
04-05-2010, 16:12
NGU - that sucks, like everyone said. That being said, unfortunately I remember seeing an old thread about this, and that majority of travel insurers will not insure you if your baby was conceived by IVF. I don't know why. It seems discriminatory to me, but they love their loop holes these insurance companies.

Waiting - It is illegal to demote you due to you doing IVF. Just like it is illegal to demote you if you become pregnant. I would go to your union if you have one.... I just feel like punching people sometimes.

nevergivenup
04-05-2010, 16:14
Thanks Girls, I feel better for just getting it of my chest. I just hate ivf discrimination. IVF is such a personal thing too and I don't think we should be forced into to telling other business agencies (insurance), especially when it has nothing to do with things.

Anyway, twins are doing great! Saw OB last week and she was thrilled that I have made it past 32 weeks. She said she kept thinking something would go wrong and has been pleasantly surprised that nothing has. So now I get to have my bubbas at Ashford as hoped, now that I'm past 32 weeks, so I'm totally stoked about that. Also, c-section has been scheduled for 31st May, so only 4 weeks to go. I so can't wait!

OB has warned that I need to really rest and take it easy, as other OB I saw that she shares a practice with, thinks I should be in hospital. There is a risk of severe haemorraging because of the placenta previa. I have just promised I will continue to take it easy. Am bored out of my brain, but at least while at home I can watch movies and foxtel.

waitinghoping
04-05-2010, 17:01
Lisa- have you had your first OB appt yet?

Oh damn was gonna write more personals cos I got bored with doing homework :laughing: but Little Miss has just woken up. Might BBL. Hope you are all well :wave:

lisab26
04-05-2010, 18:48
NGU....WOW!!! 4 weeks!! yippee!!! sooooooo excited for you!!! goodluck!

Waiting....yep first ob appt yest! went splendidly!!! we(i) even begged for another scan and we got to see bubby and hear a heartbeat!!!! stoked!! heart rate has dropped to 171 from 181 last time but that's all normal (apparently). So, next step is 12wk scan on 19 May and then back to see ob at 14 weeks on 31 may! yippee!!

waitinghoping
04-05-2010, 23:33
Oh Yay Lisa!! Did you end up going with Anna?? What did you think?? Yep its normal for the heartrate to drop. How exciting :goodvibes:

NGU - 4 weeks WOW

Just wanted to say a MASSIVE GOOD LUCK to Liss for tomorrow!!!!!!!!!! Just think in less than 24 hours you will be holding your precious bundle. So excited for you, cant wait to get your sms!!! Enjoy waking up in a baby-free home for the last time (and getting up when YOU want to not when bubs says you should :laughing:)

Fizzgig75
05-05-2010, 00:13
liss: OMG you're having your baby tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!! Good luck and I can't wait to hear all about it!!!

liv: Congrats!!! Isn't it the best?! OK, I'm going to guess... GIRL.

hopefulthisyr: Welcome. I was at Flinders, they never told me the grade of embie, just the stage we were at. My bfps came from embies that were a little ahead of where they 'should be'. i.e I would have day 2/3 transfers and my embies were at day 4 stage.
Good luck!

kiwi: where you at with all of your medicos?

lisa: I might just be putting my own spin on things, but I think the nightmares just happen because you've invested so much in this pregnancy and you love your bub SOO much and you're just fearful of something maybe?
Fetal heartrate will vary due to activity (ie having a swim vs sleeping) and also size (ie a mouse has a faster heartrate than an elephant). I'm still guessing girl.

never: my phone went flat today, sorry! Shall give you a call tomoz.

hi everyone else! :wave:

oopps! Sorry, perhaps I shouldve explained myself better. I wasn't really having a 'go' at my milk per se it was more that I was confused and at a bit of a loss as I thought I had worked out the issue several weeks ago as being too much milk so changed the way I fed and then thought I'd done too much of that and reduced my supply too much and then tried to build up again only to get more green poo... just seem to be having a hard time working it out that's all.
Lisa: And most definately the food you eat can affect... with DD suffering from colic I eliminated pretty much everything under the sun! None of which seemed to help, she still cried 24/7!! LOL. With DS I can pretty much eat anything and have no issues... haven't had much in the way of chilli yet though so shall give that a try soon. One thing I have noticed though is if I haven't had much chocolate DS seems to have less bowel movements, which isn't good for him as it banks up a bit and causes him discomfort. But when I've had a good quota of the good stuff he's pooing left right and centre! Not good for me with all the nappy changes (and clothes when it's a no 3!) but he's happy so I'm happy.
MG: his rota vax was 3 weeks ago? LOL, I googled newborn BF poo too!! ick! The things we do!

DS has a fever at the moment :-( Started last night, poor little mite. So I'm staying up at the moment to give him a dream feed at about 12 and see if he needs some more panadol or I might try, for the 1st time, nurofen. If I went to bed and he wole at 12ish I would be a zombie and possibly not check his temp, naughty mum, so it's best for me to stay up now.

For those that visit the other Adelaide thread, the following is just a copy of what I posted there.
This exact day last year was when DS was conceived. I had EPU and DH had a TESA the morning of the 4th. Our 8th cycle. Now we have DS. So I'm positive this is a fertile time of year and we're going to see some more BFP's in here!!

I have a special date coming up. What should have been the 1st birthday of my lil angel. I thought I had dealt with it pretty well but last year I befriended someone (she had a baby a few days before my DS was born) who lost her 2nd DD at 20weeks. By talking with her about our losses I was able to really work through it and then on Sunday just gone I had some closure. I walked with her in the Teddy Love Club walk-a-thon which is a support group for pregnancy and infant loss. At the completion of the walk there is a massive balloon release. Holding DD in one arm and DS in the other I picked out a single white balloon - my angel. For the 1st time ever I felt like the mother of 3, for the very 1st time all of my 3 kids were together. I asked DD to pick another balloon... this balloon was on behalf of all of the lil ivf angels in here... DD chose a pink balloon (no surprises there). We released our balloon along with everybody else, it was an amazing sight... even through blurred vision.

LulusMum
05-05-2010, 08:40
Fizz - thats beautiful, i replied on the other thread. Im glad you have found closure. I hope you get the milk issue under control - something i struggled with my whole breast feeding career - i managed, just wanst always fun. And - i will say, how lucky for you that you "must" eat chocolate for Kai's bowel health:laughing: that cracked me up.

Liss - Good luck, although im sure you wont need it. we are a rare breed - women who dont find out th sex before birth - so i am super excited to find out. im guessing girl.

Lisa - so glad OB appt went well, makes it real almost doesnt it? Im going with boy, but im always wrong about these things, max was an annabelle the whole way through:o

lisab26
05-05-2010, 09:24
Liss......goodluck!!!! yiippeee!!

Fizz.....such a beautiful story!!

Waiting....yep...seeing Anna. Well we were only meant to see the midwife on first appt but because we/i begged for another scan....anna spared 5mins to help us! yipee!

LM....OMG...DH likes Annabelle for a girl!! lol. But, i'm not 100% keen on it.....plus, we have chosen our girls name. just came out of the blue to me one day a couple weeks ago and i emailed it to DH and he liked it to! wow! that was quick! lol.

peachykeen
05-05-2010, 09:46
Good Luck today :babydust2:LISS!!!! :babydust2:

Cant wait to hear your news :)

peachykeen
05-05-2010, 09:47
:hugs:fizz-- I'm so glad that you could share that moment! :hugs::kiss:xxxx

lisab26
05-05-2010, 10:42
my hubby is sick with bronchitis at the moment so he's stearing clear of me! how is it he gets sick (even after he's had the flu shot but i know bronchitis is not the flu) and i dont even get one feeling of sickness with being pregnant! lol.
he always gets sick days and i dont! lol.

moongazer
05-05-2010, 11:49
Liss - good luck for today!! Oh what a wonderful blur the next few weeks will be for you!!!

Fizz - lol MUST have chocolate!! You also have to keep your energy levels up my dear!! :laughing:
The walk sounds like a wonderful idea and concept, and I'm so glad you worked through some stuff. We can never underestimate the power of the mind and memories/emotions. :hugs:

Lisa - hope DH feels better soon

big :wave: to everyone else!!

liv01
05-05-2010, 13:12
Liss Good luck honey I cant wait to hear of your beautiful baby xoxxo

kiwigemini
05-05-2010, 13:59
all the best liss. i'm thinking girl.......:hugs:

LulusMum
05-05-2010, 18:21
Liss - the suspense is killing me..........................:detective: i need to know if bump is pink or blue:yes:

mardicharli
05-05-2010, 18:34
Best wishes for the arrival of your little one Liss!!
Hope everything goes splendidly!!
:smiliedance::smiliedance:
I'm gonna go out on my own and guess a boy! :D

trying2
05-05-2010, 18:39
Hope everything went smoothly today Liss.....can't wait to hear your exciting news.

Think I'll back you up mardi and say boy too!! hehe

LulusMum
05-05-2010, 18:54
Trying clucky - has Jasmine had her brace off yet, i think you said it would be this week. if she has i bet she (and you and DH) is enjoying bathtime:D hope all went well and she is all fixed:flowerz:

waitinghoping
05-05-2010, 19:30
Havent heard anything from Liss.. think Ive checked my phone 100 times today... :D My guess is GIRL

waitinghoping
05-05-2010, 19:42
Strike that I take it back!!!!!!!!

Liss and DH are proud to announce the arrival of their daughter

Kate Joanne

at 3.30pm today - 6lb 8oz & 48cm long. Mum, Dad and baby doing very well :D

CONGRATS LISS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Enjoy this special day and your beautiful little bundle. Cant wait to hear details :goodvibes:

LulusMum
05-05-2010, 19:45
Congratulations Liss and DH on the arrival of baby Kate:baby:

Beautiful name for a beautiful girl:bee:

waitinghoping
05-05-2010, 19:48
My guess about a GIRL was correct then!!! So happy for Liss, I love baby news :smiliedance::baby:

liv01
05-05-2010, 20:10
congratulations Liss I am so happy for you and your dh and what a beautiful name xoxox

kiwigemini
05-05-2010, 20:41
Congratulations Liss and DH on the safe arrival of your beautiful daughter. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

mardicharli
05-05-2010, 20:56
Huge Congratulations Liss and DH on the birth of your beautiful daughter!!
So happy for you both!
:smiliedance:xxx:smiliedance:

lisab26
05-05-2010, 21:00
:yelclap:Well done and Congratulations Liss and DH!!! :yelclap:

:smiliedance:Welcome beautiful Kate!:smiliedance:

moongazer
05-05-2010, 21:52
Congratulations Liss and DH on the safe arrival of Kate Joanne!! Welcome to the world little Kate. May you know how much you are loved!!! :yelclap::yelclap:

trying2
05-05-2010, 22:04
Congratulations Liss & DH on the arrival of Kate! Such a beautiful name! Hope everyone is doing well, enjoy every second xx

Bertie50
05-05-2010, 22:15
:cloud9: Congratulations Liss on the birth of little Kate! :cloud9:
That is absolutely fantastic news. I am so very happy for you both. Glad to hear all is well. You must be elated.

peachykeen
06-05-2010, 08:52
Congratulations Liss on the safe arrival of your beautiful baby Kate!!

Cant wait to meet her! :yelclap:

Peachy xxxx

lisab26
06-05-2010, 09:12
Bertie!! long time no hear!! we've been wondering about you! how have you been?? hope all is well with you.

waitinghoping
06-05-2010, 23:02
Evening! Thought Id share new vids if you havent seen them on FB:

Jolly jumping:
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=405138116992&saved#!/video/video.php?v=405138116992 (http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=405138116992&saved#%21/video/video.php?v=405138116992)

Giggling (love this one!)
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=405138116992&saved#!/video/video.php?v=405136776992 (http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=405138116992&saved#%21/video/video.php?v=405136776992)

Had a few rough nights again lately.. Hoping for some sleep tonight... if A is unsettled again gonna try Panadol, see if it is pain that is upsetting her...

Hope you are all well (nice to see you in here again Bertie!!!)

LulusMum
07-05-2010, 08:12
waiting - we find nurofen better then panadol for overnight use, i have heard the same from many other mums:yes: Hope she put in a better night and you all got some sleep:sleeping:

Fizzgig75
07-05-2010, 22:37
liss: CONGRATS!!!!!! So glad to hear that you are all doing well. Enjoy, take lots of photos and savour... it's just the best!

lisa: if your hubby is the one that gets sick and you don't you might be even more resilient whilst pregnant, I believe I was, the amount of germs DD brought home but I didn't get sick.

waiting: Do you have vids uploaded anywhere else? I'm not on FB and was hoping to avoid joining for fear of getting sucked in!! Hope A lets you sleep tonight and that she's not in any pain. Has she had a fever at all? It's so hard when they're so little and can't tell us what's happening.

Ladies, thanks for your positive comments regarding my story. I've been thinking that the one last thing for me to do now is to donate a teddybear to the teddy love club so that they can pass it on to a family that might need it.

Well we got some answers with DS's fever. We had a really bad night Tuesday, even had a scary moment bout 4amish, was thinking I'd go to hospital but I just thought I'd see how he'd go with some panadol and he settled. He had laboured breathing and sounded like he was wimpering - broke my heart. Once the panadol kicked in his breathing settled and he slept on my chest the rest of the night. So went to GP on Wednesday who sent us to hospital just to be on safe side. As it turns out he has a urinary tract infection. At 1st I thought that it was fairly straight forward but apparantly not, especially for boys under 2 (or is it under 5?). He needs to go on anitbiotics but he also has to have an ultrasound (which we did yesterday) to see if there is an anatomical reason for it and then he has to have another test (a nasty one) in about 6 weeks time. Gonna see my GP again in a couple of weeks just to be sure that the antibitoics did clear it up. I hope that he didn't get the infection because he is uncirc'ed... if he did I'm going to feel like the worst mum and DH will give me the 'I told you so' look. Of course I've done the bad thing of 'googling' (why do we do that?!) and freaked myself out over the possible complications of repeat infections. Really shouldn't google stuff - google should be banned for all of us in here!

Well he's due for some antibiotics but just before I go I wanted to ask those of you who LO's have a comforter at what age did you give it to them? DS has been unwrapping himself from his swaddle for weeks now and will often play with the fabric before settling, I thought 1) OK he needs to go into a sleeping bag and 2) maybe he needs a comforter? Today I gave him a little blankie when he was settling in the swing for a sleep and he kept putting it up over his face which was really cute but also freaked me out because I thought it was dangerous? Is it dangerous or am I being paranoid? Is there something you do with these teeny blankies to keep them off their face? I'm new to the comforter thing, DD was wrapped tighly until she was about 15 mo!!
ok, nighty night.

moongazer
07-05-2010, 23:43
Fizz - I gave Spencer a comforter at about 12 weeks. We moved him into a grobag at this point, and also then later that week we moved him into the cot, and knew we would be trying a portacot soon after. I thought he probably would need something while he was going bunta and crying as he got used to the new bed. The only thing I could think of that was small enough, and able to be washed that I had on hand was a flannel!!! :laughing: I stuck that down my top for a couple of hours, then gave it to him. He sometimes lays with it over his face, but I figure he can move it if he wants. I freaked out when he started sleeping on his tummy, and I went in to him and he was asleep on his tummy with the flannel shoved over his nose - but he was breathing. I think as long as it isn't long enough to strangle him, little Kai will be ok. A midwife reminded us when we were in hospital that as small as a newborn/baby is, they have just as strong a sense of survival as us.

I like the flannel as it's easy for us. People told me to make sure it was something that could be washed, and to buy 2 at once if going for a specific comforter. I know of someone who bought what they thought was the same comforter, so they could clean the other, but the bub wouldn't settle as the new comforter was made out of a slightly different fabric!!

I think Waiting (sorry if I got you wrong) said Alexis has a comforter with a head in the middle of a blankie, and she pats the head before going to sleep - - sweet little thing!!

Glad you got Kai seen by a doctor. POor little man having an UTI, so uncomfortable. My friend had her little boy have a UTI, and heard it is pretty uncommon for boys - their urethra is a lot longer than girls, so it's harder for the bacteria to climb up and infect the bladder. I hope all is ok. I don't think Kai being uncirc would make too much of a difference to him getting a UTI. I think it would be a coincidence hun.:hugs:

Shy1
08-05-2010, 07:54

Well it is with much trepidation I post on this site! I am very hopeful that I am here for the long haul, but also very aware of what could go wrong still :( Very sad we have to feel that way isn't it!

Anyway, I am on :cloud9: finding out yesterday about my :bfp:. My levels were HCG 359, prog over 190, and oestrogen 8,500 at 16DPO. I hope this is all good! I have never had those levels this early before, and have never had prog over 45 so here's hoping!!!

I have felt little bouts of mild nausea since about 3 days post transfer on/off at any time of the day, have sore boobs, am peeing ALL night (like every 1.5 hours!!) and have on/off cramps. I hope these are all GOOD signs!!!

Please feel free to offer me any advice you can to get me thru to my scan on 27 May!!!

Thanks again for having this thread to go to and ask questions, I truly never thought I'd be blessed to post on here for real!!!

Shy1
08-05-2010, 07:56
PS - Fizzgig, thanks for sharing your story. I am very good friends with a girl who lost twins at 20 weeks, and another at 14 weeks. She is heavily involved with TLC, and I donate bears to her from time to time. She just recently walked for her 3 :angel: and I take so much inspiration from her. If you can donate a bear, it is such a good cause :hugs:

LulusMum
08-05-2010, 09:24
Fizz - poor baby. When i worked in the WCH emergency dept we had boys in all the time with UTI's - like at least 5 a day. I think it can also be cause by a systemic infection in teh body that transfers to urinary tract, as well as starting there too. Im pretty sure it has nothing to do with cicumcision, if that were the case im sure we would have been educated in this in hosp/by paed, and also had a few more incidences of it - seeing as though most little boys these days are "in tact". I think its a great idea to buy a bear, maybe you could buy two matching ones and keep one as areminder of you angel. We bought 2 teddy bears when we found out we were having twins, now max has one and the other is on his dressing table looking over the cot:angel:

Shy - what fab news. Those numbers sound great, you must be so happy:bee: Only advice i can give is try not to stress too much, you have waited of this for so long and i would hate for you to waste any precious preggie time stressing over things that may not happen. None of us know what tmrw will bring, so enjoy today like you havent a care in the world:flowerz:

If i dont get on again:

"HAPPY MOTHERS DAY TO ALL THE BEAUTIFUL MUMMIES ON THIS THREAD - WHETHER YOU HAVE A BUB OR A BUMP OR A BLOB - ENJOY YOUR DAY TMRW":goodvibes:

waitinghoping
08-05-2010, 22:36
Fizz - Poor Kai. Hope he is better and it doesnt return. :hugs:Touch wood Ive been lucky and Alexis hasnt been sick yet, really not looking forward to the first time. Alexis has a comforter (a pig head on a blanket thing) from memory I gave it to her at about 12 weeks. (Yep MG you got it right!!) A grabs hold of it when I give it to her in her cot and she strokes it to sleep. Cute! She does pull it up to her face and some times on her face but I havent had any trouble with it. If shes asleep and its near her face I pull it away a little.

Shy - So good to see you in here!!!!!!!!!

In case I dont get to pop in tomorrow...

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY EVERYONE!!!!!

Enjoy the day with your bubbas, bumps and jellybeans!

Im going out for brekky, cant wait! Have never gone out for breakfast before, its usually always me cooking it :laughing:

moongazer
09-05-2010, 08:04
Happy Mother's Day to all our mums and mums to be!!! :flowerz::flowerz:

lisab26
09-05-2010, 08:31
:flowerz:HAPPY MUMMY (AND MUMMY-TO-BE) DAY LADIES!!!!:flowerz:

I keep getting a tear in my eye when i think how proud i am to be a 'mummy-to-be' on mothers day and how pleased i am for you others with belly babies to be celebrating too!!

Love to all!!

Shy......HUGE WELCOME TO YOU IN HERE!!!. :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:. Enjoy being pregnant and try to distract yourself between each scan! yes definetely harder done than said i know but at least try!! :)

10 days til my 12wk scan!!

waitinghoping
09-05-2010, 16:18
Happy Mothers Day!!

Ive been spoilt, its been lovely. Went out for brekky this morning and DH got me (on behalf of A) a bracelet with "Love you Mum" engraved on one side and her name on the other. Beautiful. Dont ever want to take it off. :bee:

Off to MIL's for dinner tonight, hoping A will be good...

Shy1
10-05-2010, 17:13
Hi ladies, I hope you all had a great Mothers Day. DH spolit me from the furbaby, and as a mum to be! He is so sweet!

Did any of you get follow up bloods? I just want to know everything is going as planned and levels are rising ,etc....

I still have the same symptoms, guess the cramps make you a bit confused, but I know it is all normal. 17 sleeps to go and counting to scan! Booked an ob today!

Thanks xx

liv01
10-05-2010, 17:37
Hi Shy1,

I have not had any follow up bloods only the scan and next week I have my second appointment with dr lane and he wil do some blood tests that you have a 10 weeks .

I had cramping on and off i think for about 2 weeks it stressed me out but i have been told it is all normal :yes: so dont stress too much.

mardicharli
10-05-2010, 17:42
Happy Belated Mother's Day Everyone!!

Hope you all had a lovely day with your bubbas and bumps!
My hubby and furbabys spoilt me with a Happy Nearly Mother's Day card :D Slippers (I actually needed some new ones due to swollen feet! and chokkies! Hope you were all spoilt too!

Shy - Soooo happy to see you here - Huge Congrats!!:smiliedance::smiliedance:
I had bloods taken each week but it just made me stressed out each Wed waiting for the results - and as the nurses say, they don't really have an idea of good numbers or not so I don't think I'd bother again!!
As long as you get the odd twinge or two that's and awesome sign of a growing bub! xx

lisab26
10-05-2010, 18:49
Shy....I definetely had follow-up bloods taken once a week til the first scan! it would've driven me nuts otherwise!! others feel it stresses them out more but i felt i was more stressed without knowing if the levels were rising properly!

So, i had a BT done 2 days after the FSA BT. Then about a week later i went to my GP and had another one and then about a week later i had another GP one and then the week after that was my scan! I wouldn't have had it any other way. I felt so much better knowing each week that everything was going well. I guess because i also wasn't feeling anything other than tired and hungry! I often got my results on the day or the next day depending on what time i had the BT done.

I say it's your own personal choice but if you're a 'details' person like me then i say go for it! :D

waitinghoping
10-05-2010, 21:37
Lisa - how did your OB appt go? What did you think of Anna?

lisab26
11-05-2010, 09:01
Waiting....ob went well. We only saw the midwife for first appt so will see anna at 14wks.....currently we're booked in to see her on 31 May but i'm trying to get in earlier....cos i'm too impatient! :laughing:
Having said that though.....at the appt with the midwife i/we begged for another scan to see bubby and our wish was granted and we got to meet/see Anna for 5mins while she helped the mdwife do the scan!! yay! she's lovely! they're all lovely!

12week scan next wed 19th!! can't wait!!!

Rezza83
11-05-2010, 09:46

I have never posted on this thread cause I am far too lazy but have been reading it for some time now..

Shy: I did not have any follow up bloods as I did not need it, as soon as I hit 7 weeks along came the morning sickness, which I had all day up till 17 weeks... But only to have it come back again at around 28 weeks... I am 33 weeks on friday and was just recently told I have early stages on pre eclamsia, and now i am on bed rest.. My ob/gyn said morning sickness is the greatst sign of pregnany (though it dont feel so great) My tios are, dont let your self get to hungry, eat small amounts regulary and dont have you showers too hot or too cold (sounds weird I know but if my shower was too hot or to cold it took me quite few goes to wash my hair, i think one day i just left the shampoo in it while laying on the couch wrapped in towel that is how sick i felt)

Liv and Lisa: how exciting I loved my 12 weeks scan cause after that the baby does not fit in one photo, I rhink i cried the whole time i could see the picture then came home and gazed at it for hours, the next step after that is feeling the baby move.... I am so excited to hear how evrything goes

to everyone else I am so sorry i did not do any personals..

AFM: 53 days to go and my lil miss will be here, cant wait to have my body back, i having beeb having really bad braxton hicks and cant fit hardly any food in my belly what keeps me going is in 53 days i get to meet her...

hope everyone is well

rez

waitinghoping
11-05-2010, 22:07
Lisa - Good to hear it all went well. Yay not long till your 12 week scan!! Oh you are soooo lucky no MS!! Im soooooooo jealous!

Rezza- welcome back! Wow not long for you to go now!

AFM - still having a lot of sleep issues here. A is waking more during the night and really struggling to get her back to sleep (taking up to 2 hours each time). Its like having a newborn all over again. Took her in to bed with me last night at 4am cos I had been up for hours then at 5am she spewed all over me and the bed.

So, change of tactic tonight. I mixed more Farex in to her pears (in case its a hunger issue), now she has been put to bed wrapped in a bed-sheet (no way shes gonna get out of that!) and NO DUMMY. I was stunned she went to sleep. She fussed for a little bit but was surprisingly good. Fingers crossed.

Shy1
11-05-2010, 23:12

Rezza, thanks for that. Wow, not long to go now, how exciting!

Lisa, yay for seeing another scan! I can't wait to see a picture and heartbeat!

AFM, went in for b/t today. HCG 1478, prog over 191 still, oestrogen up to 9700. FSA really happy, but also very accommodating with more b/t's if I need it. I just go to my local blood place and FSA give me results that day, it is very convenient.

I am a real worry wort, so for me, seeing the levels go up is really important. Monday is a really big day for me, as it usually around that point that things go wrong. But, this time they WON'T!!!! I am 21DPO today, so I know things are on track so far!

Thanks for your advice :hugs:

lisab26
12-05-2010, 08:14
Waiting......i hope A starts to settle again for you soon! I can imagine how tired overnight you get. Does she sleep during the day much?
Yes i'm one very lucky lady to have no MS but i just wish that i did so it makes it feel more real. but, we're nearly at the end of the first trimester and our 12wk scan next week will tell us if everything is still going well. can't wait!!!

Shy....fantastic news about your levels!! you're just like me. i'm such a worry wart too that it made me feel so much better to have a BT confirm each week that my levels were rising! FSA are very accommodating so i'm glad they're helping you stay as calm and stress-free as possible. You have as many BT's as you want if it makes you feel just that bit better. I did and i wouldn't have had it any other way! the next thing that will drive you nuts is the wait in between each scan but that's cool......we'll get there!!
You've done so well! I'm very very happy for you and DH! :yelclap::D:flowerz:

Rezza.....53 days!!! sooooooo jealous!! i'm one of the most impatient people around so to know that i HAVE to wait 9 months (well 6 by now) to have my baby.....that's the part that's driving me nuts! lol. I often dont like to wait so having to wait 3/4 of the year is driving me insane. haha! can't wait to hear of your beautiful bubbys arrival!

LulusMum
12-05-2010, 09:13
Waiting - your not alone mate, Max has been sick since saturday and has been up every night. He has the runniest nose and the cough set in last night. He has also got really bad ears (always has) so we have to be careful not to let the mucous clog up too much or he gets ear infections. This means the only way to stop this is have him sleep upright - on me:no:. Oh well, at least he is peaceful for some of the night, as for me - well i am a total zombie, yesterday i even got dressed without even realising i had forgot to put my bra on:o. I clearly remeber a rough patch with max around the age alexis is now. We ended up rocking him to sleep in the pram most night and there he would stay. You will probably hear lots of advice from people around this time telling you what to do and what not to do - i say: do whatever works. People were horrified that we let max sleep all night in the pram, but he slept and we slept, thats all we cared about. When the wakeful period ended we got him back in the cot self settling no worries, so dont be too concerned about starting habits that will be hard to break. I hope the little miss gives you a break soon:bee:

waitinghoping
12-05-2010, 13:47
LM - poor Max, sounds like hes having a rough time (and Mummy too!) I really hope he gets better soon and you can get some sleep. :hugs:

We had a much better night last night. I think the wrapping in her cot sheet might have done the trick. Feel like she's regressed a bit in that dept but hey like you said LM, you gotta do whatever works and hopefully she will grow out of it soon.

kiwigemini
13-05-2010, 09:38
Hi all, I finally have a few minutes to myself to catch up.

Fizz - Thankyou for sharing your very personal, heart touching, story. I hope poor little Kai is feeling better, it's scary when they get sick when they are so little. I hope they find nothing wrong. My DB had kidney reflux, but unfortunately it wasn't picked up until he ended up in hospital with a massive kidney infection at 13. One of his kidneys died, but the other is super big to compensate. Although unpleasant and upsetting it is good they are checking things out. :hugs:

LM - How are you hun? Hope poor little Max is better, bad time of year for sick kiddies.:hugs:

Waiting - Pleased to hear you had a better night, I think my 2 had a rough patch around that age, soo long ago. I can't complain, Sam has slept through the last 2 nights, although I'm awake checking on him all of the time, so I can't really say I feel better for it yet, ha ha.

NGU - That really sucks about the insurance. Insurance companies are not my friend, with all my problems, it costs a fortune, and that's after many forms and Dr's letters are produced, grrrr. Glad to hear the twinnies and Mum are doing well.

Peachy - How you going? Have you had your GD test yet?

Liss - Hope your'e getting some rest and healing well, hope to see you and your little princess at the next catch up.

Shy - Great to see you here!:smiliedance: Sounds like everything is on track, can't wait to hear all about the scan.

Rezza - Welcome back, wow not long to go now.

Lisa - The 12 week scan was my favourite, very close now. Glad to hear your OB appt went well.

Hi, everyone else, hope all is well.

afm- I'm off to see the hematologist this morning, so here's hoping for high platelets. Cardiologist next Wed, DD's 10th B'day next Thurs and Dad coming from NZ. It's all go. Sam is doing great and slept through a couple of times, I hope that keeps up. Gotta go.

LulusMum
13-05-2010, 09:53
kiwi - :fingerscrossed: for today, and how great is little Sam sleeping through:goodvibes: what a clever monkey

Well - things are going downhill at a rapid speed in this house. Last night when i was feeding Max his dinner he went bright red and looked like he was choking. i frantically start unclipping the highchair straps to get him out when he spewed all his dinner and 3 pm bottle everywhere. It wasnt normal projectile baby spew, but really just oozed out, all the time he was bright red and couldnt breathe:no: So after the spew he seems OK - so i bathe him cause he is covered in vomit, all good after bath, playing on floor happily with dad. Put him to bed, wakes up and hour later with a dreadful wheeze and gagging even though no more vomit:( Think about taking him to hosp but decide its too cold and will probably make him worse, think about calling locum - hmmmmmmmmmm last time they took over 6 hours to arrive and i am too exhaused to stay up. So i set up mattress on floor of max's room only to be kept up all night by constant coughing that leads to gagging/choking/vomiting. Needless to say we are both exhausted today and heading off to the Drs at 10:40am. Poor baby, hope they find whats wrong, although i have a feeling we will be refered to WCH - again:dizzy:

peachykeen
13-05-2010, 12:57
SOOOOOO i had my GD bloods on tues and came back with high glucose levels so this morning had to go in to doc for glucose tolerance test to check if i actually have diabetes or just a freakishly high reading.... grrrr better not have it I LOVE SUGAR!!!

Not much to report here, baby is realy wriggly at the moment, sometimes looks like its trying t escape from my tummy! Dh is in love with my belly now! Always hugging and kissing it!

We have our 3d scan on monday! I cant wait sooooooo excited to see what the little baby looks like!!

counting down the weeks now! I have a feeling its gonna fly by!!!

much love to all!!

Peachy :) xxx

lisab26
13-05-2010, 13:33
Peachy! very exciting!
Out of curiosity....how much are the 3d scans?? i'd love to do 3d/4d but not sure how much they are!

dont worry, i love my sugar too! in fact each day i've been having a little chocolate or a couple bikkies or a little bit of ice cream. still watching what i'm eating but i hope too that i haven't overloaded on the sugar....cos i'm a sweet tooth as well! When do you get the drs results?

LulusMum
13-05-2010, 13:51
Lisa - we had a 4d scan done with Max, it cost under $300 (about $250 but cant remeber exactly) and that included a 30min dvd, large print, 2 medium prints and 8 small prints - all given on the spot. That was at fetal fotos. They can give you a quick sqiz at bub in 3d at normal scans if they have the right machine - not all rooms have them.

Well - sick boy here. He has a cold, a virus which may or may not be bacterial by now, have script for antibiotic anyways and i will decide if he needs them or not if no improvement by saturday, he also has ear infections in both ears, and bronchiolitis which has landed us in hospital before........ So, we are back on prednisolone, taking demazin under prescription as not usually given to kids under 2, back to back double doses of panadol and nurofen as still having break through temps even on both medications, and have a referal to WCH giving priority 2 status in emerg if wheeze worsens to get adrenaline nebuliser:dizzy:- not the best day we've ever had to say the least

kiwigemini
13-05-2010, 15:45
Oh LM, poor little Max! Sick and having to take the evil pred. Hope he improves quickly and doesn't get any worse. Thinking of you guys.:hugs: for Max and :hugs: for Mummy & Daddy.

Peachy- Hope it was just a one off.:fingerscrossed:

Fizz- How is Kai?

afm - All good, I may even be in remission:smiliedance:. We discussed treatment plans if needed, because me and the evil pred are NOT on speaking terms, LOL. But, then again, the pred did help get Sam here safely and probably caused my remission, hmmmm.

Shy1
13-05-2010, 17:51
Kiwi, remission??? That's bl00dy fantastic mate, so pleased to hear that could be the case!!!! :yelclap:

To those of you who experienced some nausea, was it stronger some days than others? haven't had much today, and getting worried!!

liv01
13-05-2010, 17:52
LM : i am so sorry to hear about max i hope he feels better soon :hugs:

kiwi: that is fantastic news :D

ASFM I have a cold maybe sinus infection plus nausea and vomitting i have only kept food down since 1.30pm and i have no energy my beutiful hubby came home early from work today and went to the chemist to get the icepoles that my midwife recommended if not any better tommorow and have to try maxilon .

sorry for the poor me post just feeling awful

i hope everyone is well