View Full Version : Did you quit smoking when pregnant
Theophania
07-01-2010, 23:11
I am just curious to see if many women quit smoking when they found out they were pregnant. I saw another thread about smoking and didn't want to derail it. I have quit for both my pregnancies, it took longer second time but I am smoke free again :smiliedance:
Also did anyone stay off ciggies or did you take it back up after bubs was born?
I quit when I found out I was pregnant. I have the odd ciggie when I drink here and there but that's maybe 3 times a year if that.
SorenLorensen
07-01-2010, 23:22
yep
DD1 i didnt have 1 after finding out.
second bub i finished of my packet
DD2 i finished off my packet.
i think i probably stopped right away with DD1 becuase i was too much of a bubbling mess to want one :laughing:
DD1 i took it up again when she was 2 months and her heart murmur cleared up...i bought a pack on the way home from the doc that day:doh:
second bub i got DP to go down and buy a pack for me the day we found out bub was gone :(
DD2 was about a month and a half (6 weeks) :doh:
i was very easy for me while pregnant, i don't know why. but as soon as i think im in the all clear i grab one as soon as i am stressed.
DD1 was born with a few issues and i really NEEDED one but wouldn't while she had a funky heart, as soon as that was gone the craving took over.
second bub...well, you get the story
DD2, i had a 2.5 year old and a 6 week old.
i am hoping to quit next week when DP and i have the house to ourselves (and the girls will be here), it means i will only have one person who has to cop it :o. if that does not work i will try my hardest with our next bub to NOT TAKE IT UP AGAIN :fingerscrossed:
I stoped buying packets straight away but would have the odd one here and there until i was about 12wks. Then i stopped, havent had one since :)
I stopped the day after I found out with my first. That was 10 years ago and I still don't smoke and never will again.
Theophania
07-01-2010, 23:28
I hope I can stay off them this time, I took them back up when DS was 5 weeks old, I wasn't bf and I would just smoke when he was asleep or between his feeds. I remember the night I took it back up lol a PND cleaning night it was like 11.30 and I was cleaning like a mad woman and left DP home with bub (they were in bed) and went to the servo and got a pack and an energy drink, so wish I had of stayed strong against the bloody cravings..... Oh well maybe this time :o
SorenLorensen
07-01-2010, 23:28
I stopped the day after I found out with my first. That was 10 years ago and I still don't smoke and never will again.
i need someone like you around me after i have a bub to smack some sense into me.
what are you doing aprox. 6 weeks after my next bub who i am yet to conceive or TTC for is born ??:laughing:
dreamtobeamummy
07-01-2010, 23:29
I stopped about 3 days after finding out..
I honestly felt guilty.. I didn't think I woudl be one of those ones.. BUT in saying that, I had cut right back whilst TTC and just before I found out I was pregnant I had cut right back to 2 a day.. so it was quite easy to quit.
I would of been maybe about 5 weeks?
dreamtobeamummy
07-01-2010, 23:31
I hope I can stay off them this time, I took them back up when DS was 5 weeks old, I wasn't bf and I would just smoke when he was asleep or between his feeds. I remember the night I took it back up lol a PND cleaning night it was like 11.30 and I was cleaning like a mad woman and left DP home with bub (they were in bed) and went to the servo and got a pack and an energy drink, so wish I had of stayed strong against the bloody cravings..... Oh well maybe this time :o
Its not easy to quit, I had tried 3 times Previously to quit!!
DF now tells me he will slap me if I touch another one when our baby is born.. he keeps telling me he has a date set to quit.. (I dont know the date).. so see what happens, but I won't push him as I beleive you can't push one to quit smoking!
I often sit there and smell the packet, or the rolly tobacco packet.. mm god it smells good!! lol!! I often do miss going out with him for a smoke.. sad hey!
MUMSIEOF2
07-01-2010, 23:51
me too, ive always thought if u cant give up when your pregnant, u won't ever give up, so glad i'm a non smoker..
misskittyfantastico
08-01-2010, 00:11
Yup. I quit a few days after finding out. I read the Allen Carr book and I also had pages of "Quit messages" from the paper. I was ready to stop.
It's been five years, and I'm not going back.
TurnedBatty
08-01-2010, 00:13
With bs I quit cold turkey at ten weeks. I started smoking again when he was three months old. This time round, I quit six months ago so I'm all good! I used hypnotherapy, but I had always said that when I quit smoking next I would be pregnant!
2 Cherubs
08-01-2010, 01:08
I quit the day I found out I was pregnant
I have a feeling I'll probably be the odd one out here :no:
Although I've cut back on the cigarettes massively (and I mean massively, I've never smoked as few cigarettes as I do now and I've been smoking for close to 15 years, started at the age of 12) - I have not been able to stop completely and don't see being able to do so before bub is born and I hate that. It's almost like I've resigned to the notion of "I'm a smoker and will be forever, I have no choice". And it's BS :gloomy:.
I am really, really hoping that I'll be able to stop once bub is born. There is absolutely no smoking in or near the hospital...and I'm having a c-section so it's not like I'll be able to walk out the front of the hospital every time I want to light up, the thought of doing that really disgusts me to be honest so hopefully that thought alone will help too.
I really hate it how my ob, friends and family say things like "you're almost due and everything's fine..there's no point in stopping now, just relax" - I know they're only trying to help and make me feel less guilty about it but it's simply not true, it's NOT fine and like every single other mother to be who smokes, every time you light up is like another load of guilt added to how you're already feeling.
Sorry for the rant :o
I did ivf so quit as soon as I started the drugs it was alot easier than I expected it to be! But after all the drama before and after birth I took it back up again :( wish I hadn't!! Next pregnancy that's it no more!!!
Theophania
08-01-2010, 08:20
I have a feeling I'll probably be the odd one out here :no:
Although I've cut back on the cigarettes massively (and I mean massively, I've never smoked as few cigarettes as I do now and I've been smoking for close to 15 years, started at the age of 12) - I have not been able to stop completely and don't see being able to do so before bub is born and I hate that. It's almost like I've resigned to the notion of "I'm a smoker and will be forever, I have no choice". And it's BS :gloomy:.
I am really, really hoping that I'll be able to stop once bub is born. There is absolutely no smoking in or near the hospital...and I'm having a c-section so it's not like I'll be able to walk out the front of the hospital every time I want to light up, the thought of doing that really disgusts me to be honest so hopefully that thought alone will help too.
I really hate it how my ob, friends and family say things like "you're almost due and everything's fine..there's no point in stopping now, just relax" - I know they're only trying to help and make me feel less guilty about it but it's simply not true, it's NOT fine and like every single other mother to be who smokes, every time you light up is like another load of guilt added to how you're already feeling.
Sorry for the rant :o
I think quitting at all (even after you have bub) is much better than not quitting :yes: One thing I have found since quitting again is that I am not out of breath when running around like a fool with DS. We all want to be here longer for our kids so quitting is always better :thumbsup: Its a terrible addiction and one that is sooooo hard to cut. I hate it when you get a non smoker who says 'just quit, Im sure its not that hard'. IT IS THAT BLOODY HARD LOL. Good luck with your quitting I hope you succeed.
The Girls Only Club
08-01-2010, 08:24
I didnt quit with either of my girls,although I did cut down on milligrams(from 12 to 8 then to 4)
I finally quit in September 2003,DH said to me I smoke to much and would never quit so I stopped just to prove him that I could,When I thought I really needed a smoke I just thought "If you have that smoke hubby will be right"it became my motto.
Sometimes after I eat I still get a craving for a smoke but hace learnt to ignore it.
~Temet Nosce~
08-01-2010, 08:29
Smoked very minimal with dd, quit completely at about 8 weeks wtih ds.. unfortunately started up again at 41+3 weeks as I was stressed and over it..
elleandsam
08-01-2010, 08:32
I quit the day I found out i was pregnant and haven't smoked since.
With DD1 I was 9 weeks
DD2 I was 14 weeks
DS1 I was 19 weeks
This pregnancy, I had my last one just after I showed dh the test so straight away.
I obviously started up again after each pregnancy but I believe it had alot to do with my husband still smoking. Hubby has been smoke free for about 6 weeks now so should be easy once bub is born..
BoyCrazy
08-01-2010, 09:09
quit when i found out i was preg with ds1. everyone told me how i would definately start smoking again when bub was born!! yeah well 5yrs later i still havent been tempted!! :D
now i actually cant believe i spent and wasted so much money on such a disgusting habit!
The day i found out i was pregnant with DS1, was the day i quit.
It will be 7 years in April.
Fuchsia!
08-01-2010, 09:49
I quit the day i found out. I would never smoke while pregnant. Its not even a choice in my eyes.
neekynoo
08-01-2010, 12:00
I quit the day i found out. I would never smoke while pregnant. Its not even a choice in my eyes.
Same :yes:
Found out at 5 weeks and never went back. That was 3 years ago now :D
Smoking can be very bad to your health what more if you are pregnant for every single thing you do your baby inside can be affected,
i quit when i was 8 weeks preg with dd1. she is now 3.5 years old and i have only had the occasional ciggie here and there since. ohh i lie i went through a stage about a year ago when dp went away for 5 weeks for work and i was so stressed with dd i bought a pack and smoked them all but could only handle half a smoke and would butt it out. otherwise im pretty proud of myself.....besides the health issues i dont think i could fork out te $$$$ for them now, so expensive!
good luck to everyone trying to quit :thumbsup:
~BEXTER~
25-01-2010, 14:38
Lucky for me smoking just made me want to vomit, just smelling it so it was easy for me to give up and i stopped about 1.5 weeks after I fell pregnant.
I was smoke free for 2 years but I was still getting cravings that would sometimes last up to a week, one night I was stressed and gave in smoked for a few months and quit then started then quit again.
I am smoke free now, still get cravings though but I am being strong, don't have the money to be buying smokes at the moment.
I have been smoke free for 10 weeks today :D
Theophania
25-01-2010, 15:36
I have been smoke free for 10 weeks today :D
:thumbsup: :yelclap: :smiliedance: Feels good doesn't it. I love being smoke free :yes:
dp says she'll quit when she finds out she's pregnant. i'm convinced it's affecting her fertility but she doesn't believe me. she won't quit any sooner than that though, which is part of the reason i'm soooo impatient for her to concieve! she says she wants to, just that there's no motivation to yet. i don't understand that at all.
she says she wants to then keep it off after giving birth and (:fingerscrossed: breastfeeding- only one of her mum's 4 children took to the breast and she wasn't it) but she's not making any promises. i guess it comes fromt he fact that half her family smokes.
still i guess it's something. i've known people who smoked all through pregnancies without a second thought and tbh that just sickens me. no offence meant i've never smoked and never will so i don't understand it so i can't accuse smokers of anything i guess iykwim
Well done, Gumby!! That is fantastic :D
I still haven't completely quit. I'm proud of myself for cutting down as much as I've been able to though. I was a heavy smoker before finding out I was pregnant and my OB is even impressed at how much I've cut down, which is very encouraging while I'm trying to give up completely. I'm hoping to stop entirely once I've had bub and am in the hospital - simply because there is no smoking in or near the hospital and I won't be able to just leave whenever I want a cig, especially after having a c-section.
Good luck to all of you who are trying to give up and *hugs* to those of you who are reading this who are in the process of cutting down. It's very, very difficult and any attempt to better your health and your baby's health is one to be commended :)
FearlessLeader
25-01-2010, 16:08
:hugs: to you Pinkvanillaz. I can't imagine how hard it must be for you (and everyone else who's found it hard to quit). I found it easy, but only because my body completely rejected cigarettes once i became pregnant. Hope I don't go back once bubs is out, though i was never a heavy smoker to begin with, so it would be extremely stupid to start up again!
It's easy for some, but for others it's very, very hard so I would never judge a woman for smoking when pregnant.
brogeybear
25-01-2010, 16:16
Non-smoker here, hope you dont mind me barging in. Its just that I know of a place that does accupuncture and they do it for smokers who want to quit and its one session, thats all. Its called Get Well Naturally Health Clinic and its in north brissy. Im sure other places do it too. It really works, I know a few who have done it!
Personally I find smoking the grossest thing and cant understand how people can smoke when pregnant or around children, etc. Not trying to judge, I just really dont get it. Im one of those people who when walking into a shopping centre, coughs loudly if there are people at the entrance smoking. :o I figure, ok if you want to smoke I really dont mind, but dont polute my air space! :footinmouth: Feel free to lynch me now! :D
Mum2Mimi
25-01-2010, 16:31
i found out i was pregnant at 7weeks,didnt stop smoking til my first scan at 9weeks+6days, think i was in shock and didnt really set in that i was pregnant til i saw it on the screen, had my last ciggie b4 scan and never picked one up again until dd was 16months old,she now 19months and i really regret starting again as im finding it hard 2 stop agian,when i was preg it was easy 2 stop and im a haevey 20 per day smoker but wanna give up again b4 ttc#2
It was prob easy 2 quit when i was preg aswell cause my body had began rejectin it
Thanks aliblue :)
I agree about smoking in or near shopping centres...to be honest, even as a smoker, I think the laws should be even tougher. They say you can't smoke within 4m of shopping centre entrances, I actually think it should be banned all together as there are people EVERYWHERE...not just 4m away from the entrance, but also 10m away...20m away etc.
I definitely believe nobody should smoke around kids and I'm personally glad smoking is banned at parks, playgrounds, beaches, public pools etc. When bubby is here, if I haven't given up, I plan on making smoking VERY difficult for myself. Obviously I'll be outside (duh lol), but I'll also have a smoking shirt which I wear to smoke in and take off afterwards, hand sanitiser, brushing my teeth, minty gum, the works.
Being pregnant, I absolutely refuse to smoke in public, anywhere. Not because I'm afraid of the looks I'd get, but mainly because I don't want to set a bad example for anyone else. I'm doing the wrong thing, I know that, but why would I openly do the wrong thing in front of anyone else?
sandy cheeks
25-01-2010, 16:33
I gave up before I knew I was preg the smell made me sick then 3weeks later no AF it all made sence.
I am still smoke free but I am one who always hated the smell of ciggies didn't enjoy it iykwim.
MyTwoBubs
25-01-2010, 17:07
Stopped as soon as i found out with DS
And Stopped yesterday when i found out about #2- but finding it harder this time.
Still will not have one if Im pregnant
MagicalLeopluradon
25-01-2010, 17:26
Yes I did, I didn't find out with DS1 that I was pregnant until I was 12 weeks but as soon as I found out I stopped....I am more of a social smoker though, with DS2 I wasn't smoking at all as I only had a 6 week break between pregnancies and didn;t want to expose DS1 to smoke anyway.
Janesmum123
25-01-2010, 20:19
The problem with me is I like smoking but then one day when I woke up and went to light up I almost threw up, that's how I found out I was pregnant both times..:D
I have never smoked in my pregnancies because it just made me soooo sick all the way through the pregnancy.
But if I'm going to be 100% honest I probably will go back to smoking once bubs is born...I know nobody will understand that cigarettes and me have a complicated relationship.
jaesmummy
28-01-2010, 20:00
Sadly, I've always smoked when pregnant, although I cut back heaps. This pregnancy I went from 25 cigs a day to 4 a day now. My obs. is very pleased but still nags me. I have never had a low birth weight baby but hubby told me that my placenta was a lovely healthy colour on one side , but had a greyish tinge on the other so it obviously does affect the placenta. Just about everyone I know is a smoker so it makes it pretty hard to quit. I can live without them all day, but for some reason I really struggle not to light up at night. Maybe its the end of day stress. :flowerz:
It's strange how placenta's work.
I was a very heavy smoker when I was pregnant with my daughter, yet my placenta was healthy and the midwives didn't even know that I smoked during my pregnancy until I told them I did.