View Full Version : Weight in Last Tri for baby...
kirstenriley
25-07-2006, 21:59
Does anyone know how much weight the average baby should be putting on in the last trimester..e.g..weekly or fortnightly or monthly?????
My doc is currently on holidays and i saw an interim doc today, since last visit 2 weeks ago i havent put on any weight and the baby has only put on approx 350g...he said that was ok as long as there is still lots of movement which there is so i was just wondering what the norm was???
maartysmum
25-07-2006, 22:05
I put on a measly 100grams in the last 4 weeks before my son was born, mind you he weighed in at a tiny 2520grams. I was sent for an ultrasound at 35 weeks because I wasn't growing or gaining weight at all but everything came back ok - they did mention that his stomach was on the smaller side of things.
When he was born they checked the placenta and all was fine. He was healthy - only mild jaundice which cleared up in a few days after the UV treatment.
I wouldn't fret too much, as long as you have gained reasonable weight over the course of the pregnancy and you are still getting heaps of movement.
Chickadee
25-07-2006, 22:08
Doctors are very bad at estimating bub's weight before the birth. They regularly get it very wrong. I wouldn't even be surprised if you had seen two different doctors on the same day and they'd given you a different estimate of bub's weight and growth.
There is no way to really compare Dr A's estimate today with Dr B's estimate 2 weeks ago - they are both going to be slightly off the actual, maybe in the same direction or possibly in opposite directions. Maybe your Dr B 2 weeks ago regularly "measures" bubs as heavier than actual, and your Dr A today regularly "measures" them lighter than actual. So of course it would seem like a small weight gain.
kirstenriley
26-07-2006, 10:01
thanks guys....i will keep an eye on the movements just to be on the safe side.:thumbsup:
mama anne
26-07-2006, 15:40
i second everything everyone else has said
about 2 weeks ago i went to my midy appointmnt to find i had lost half a kilo!
and then the next week had put it back on but no more
then the week after put on half a kilo or something
they werent worried at all, they said to me that the only reason they would be worried is if it was significant (as in 5 kilos or more) loss or gain in one week ... as every visit you wear different clothes, shoes, you might have eaten more or less that morning for brekky .... etc
i'm personally glad they aren't as worried about the weight thing weekly anymore, it must have been quite stressful for those who have gone before us ...