View Full Version : MCNs- hot or cold wash & which powder?
Annabella
04-01-2010, 15:33
Hi, with my first 2 I used terry flats and started off soaking but got slack and realised I could just rinse the poo off and dry pail. I washed in cold with normal washing powder.
With this one (due in a week) I've got some bamboo prefolds and some BBH magicalls and the washing all sounds a bit technical and I need some advice!
I will be dry pailing again, and am wondering the best way to wash. I have a front loader that either has a 30 min cycle or a 3 hr-ish cycle, which can be shortened by about an hour on 'time save' and I can't change the water temp between the wash and rinse etc. What do people recommend, long short cycle/hot or cold? And also what washing powder as I read to use one without enzymes.
I've read the sticky thread but can't make sense of it all.
Thanks heaps :)
elleandsam
04-01-2010, 15:36
I use a long cold cycle with seventh generation environmentally friendly powder. I dry pail as well. Nothing too fancy and my napped are fine, as long as i sun dry them.
Lillynix
04-01-2010, 15:59
Cold wash, no detergents here!
The cycle on my machine that I use for nappies does a cold pre-wash, cold wash, cold rinse with time save option, it takes about an hour I think? Never really paid any attention, could be 1.5 hours? Then out on the line to dry!
Annabella
04-01-2010, 16:31
What about in Winter when there's no sun? I usually hang things on an airer inside (which will take forever to dry but anyway...), is cold wash ok if the sun is not gonna sanitise it?
jakeandrubysmum
04-01-2010, 16:38
I do a hot wash and use Amolin detergent... anything else causes nappy rash on my kids..
Lillynix
04-01-2010, 16:42
You don't need sun, just the UV rays which are also present on cloudy days :)
During winter (and it's a Tassie winter, so pretty horrid) I hang them on the clothes airer (which I always do anyway, I peg them on so they don't blow away) and put them outside, I also don't mind if they get rained on, it's only good for them.
If they are taking more than a day to dry outside however, I bring them in at night and let them finish drying inside, this can also take up to 2 days in cold weather, but I have enough nappies to compensate for that.
I rinse off poo (although I didn't bother with b/f poo), dry pail, do a quick rinse cycle, then a 40 degree wash with rinse plus, which takes 40 min in my front loader. I use Earth Choice liquid, 1/2 strength. Then dry in the sun.
elleandsam
04-01-2010, 19:05
What about in Winter when there's no sun? I usually hang things on an airer inside (which will take forever to dry but anyway...), is cold wash ok if the sun is not gonna sanitise it?
we just put them on the line, it works a treat even when it's cloudy.
embryonichappyperson
04-01-2010, 19:13
I think I need to work out a new wash cycle combo as when I do a load it takes 2 hours or so haha
Jaspat24
05-01-2010, 11:13
Front loader, cold pre-wash and wash takes 1 1/2 hours, then outside to dry. I use earth something or rather powder from woolies and also use canestan rinse solution. In winter still outside cos my 1/3rd of my washing line is under the eaves. If the rain gets them it makes them all soft and cuddly!