View Full Version : How do i bottle feed when out and about?
bekkyboo
25-07-2006, 12:32
Okie doke. Now this may sound silly/stupid etc, but i dont really know how else to put it.
The Peads dr has put DS on formula feeds 3 times a day due to severe reflux, which doesnt really bother me, as it makes it better for me when we go out (like this weekend we are out and about to dinners for birthdays etc)... But i need to know how do i take the formula for times like this. Do i pre-prepare it? how do i heat it up when i go out to dinner?
eh?
any takers?
25-07-2006, 12:38
i usually boil the kettle just before leaving and then pour the correct amount in the bottles then put the bottles in a thermo bag.. with the formula i have a 3 compartment container so the correct amount of formula is in each compartment per feed. When it's time to feed, if the water is too hot i cool it down. Its alot easier to cool the bottle when you are out then it is to heat it. I hope this helps goodluck :fingerscrossed:
bekkyboo
25-07-2006, 12:41
WOW! thanks heaps guys, i agree that it would be easier to cool the bottle down than to warm it up...
thanks again....
oh -the container you have karni... where did you get it from and how much?
InSaneOne
25-07-2006, 12:42
i usually take some bottles full of previously boiled (now room temperature) water. and i take my formula in one of those 3 section containers that are great for putting formula in. i can then heat the water (in boiled water or a microwave) to the desired temp and then add the formula. (thats how i make it at home too). sometimes when out i do give it to bubs at room temperature. you don't have to warm the formula - some babies prefer it room temperature. but you should add the formula to the water after heating - that way you aren't actually heating the milk and if it is too hot you can tip a bit out and add some of the room temperature (previously boiled) water.
InSaneOne
25-07-2006, 12:44
i found both my cntainers at a second hand shop but avent sell them and i think you can also get them from coles and woolies. they are only a couple of dollars and are one of the best inventions.
pur and pidgeon also make ones but they stack on top of each other (like a tower)
25-07-2006, 12:45
WOW! thanks heaps guys, i agree that it would be easier to cool the bottle down than to warm it up...
thanks again....
oh -the container you have karni... where did you get it from and how much?
avent and tommee tippee have them.. by memory $15.. but you can get cheaper versions. They stock them in some supermarkets, kmart, target and most baby shops.
Here's an idea of what they look like
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/6-Avent-baby-bottles-8-teats-2-formula-holders_W0QQitemZ120012115593QQihZ002QQcategoryZ20 402QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
mumchristy23
25-07-2006, 13:08
Also, if bub isn't going to have a feed for a few hours you could always wrap your bottle in foil.... this keeps the water warm. (make sure you have cold water with you tho... can stay quite warm for a while.
Good luck.
Is he on the AR formula? If so you wont be able to make that up ahead of time as it will thicken.
I saw the formula dispenser(sp?) today in Big w, woolies and target. They sell the tommee tippee ones for about $6-8. They are quite cheap now days.
EskimoMumma
25-07-2006, 17:54
Dont forget dispensers can be found at most pharmecys :)
Blairsmummy
25-07-2006, 20:44
My bub is also a reflux bub and had to be put on Karicare Sensicare HA-AR formula. As it is thickened though, you MUST not pre-mix it or poor bub will have a hard time getting it out of the bottle!!
I too use the 3 stacker formula tower (pidgeon brand). I got mine from the chemist for $7.95, although I noticed at the Reject Shop this arvo that they have a Garfield one (not a tower though) for about $3.00. They are brilliant.
I heat my bottles by either standing them in a cup of boiled water for a couple of mins, or if near a microwave, I heat the 200mls of water for 15-20 seconds and then mix in the formula. I know that microwave is not preffered as it heats unevenly, but as I mix the formula after and shake it thoroughly, this has never been a problem.
Hope this helps. By the way, did you get the faster flow teats to help out with the thickened formula (which I presume bub is on...). I have used a number 3 avent teat with our bub since we started bottlefeeding at 7 weeks.
Good luck
Is he on the AR formula? If so you wont be able to make that up ahead of time as it will thicken.
Hmm...I used S26 Ar for my DS and I often made it ahead of time...only if it was going to be kept in the fridge tho...and never had probs with it thickening. Maybe I was just lucky.
You can get the formula containers at Dollars & Sense, I saw them whe I was in there last week...they had the tower ones and the 3 compartment ones too.
I usually take one bottle with room temp water and one with just-been-boiled water when we go out. If you put them beside each other in an insulated bottle bag by the time bub needs a feed one of them is usually the right temp. DD has always prefered her bottles room temp, probably partly coz it was soooo hot when she was tiny it helped cool her down.
mumma_jessy
26-07-2006, 00:02
I take a thermos and a bottle of cooled water everywhere, then i can make it up as i go along, and you can count on making it the right temperature every time.
I also have a self-sterilising bottle that you just put in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes and it's sterilised again, it's fantastic!!! I think it's a Pur...
You can get formula containers from all over the place, i got mine from a 'spend a penny' shop for $2!
i love my 3 section container one. highly recommend them but beware don't buy cheapos as they don't last very long ie ones from $2 shop. i have two one tommee tippee and one avent ones. both can be washed and sterilised in the microwave (do it once a week) they cost $8 each and they worth their money.
jess was on Gold NANHa from day one due to low blood sugar levels as her top up feeds. i had no problems with it. but a friend who used S26 gold her daughter refused any cheapo brands after
almond eyes
26-07-2006, 09:00
I agree, formula dispensers are just brilliant!!!
1. Pre-measure the formula you need and put them in the dispenser.
2. Put pre-boiled, cooled water in a few bottles when you go out.
3. Mix the forumula in when your bub is hungry.
Voila! Sometimes, water is still nice and warm so no need to warm it up. Also, some babies, like Sam, like it at room temperature. You can try giving this to your bub. If he likes it then all the better...no need to heat the milk.
If your little one is used to warm milk, just ask for a bowl with hot water in it wherever you are and submerge yur bottle in it. It's the easiest way to heat the milk.
Don't worry :) You'll get the hang of it. Baby care just seems so daunting at first---too many things to think about. ;)
mamachops
26-07-2006, 17:25
Avent bottles fit nicely into most stubbie coolers, which you can use to keep the water warm.
Paid $6 for my Avent dispenser at a chemist warehouse/