View Full Version : Weddings in 2010 - Lets Chat

mum2ethan
28-12-2009, 19:53
Hello :wave:,

Just thought i would start up a chat thread for those who are planning a wedding in 2010. Thought it would be nice to share ideas and tips and get other ladies opinions on things etc.

Im getting married on Sat 3rd of July in Darwin. My DF and i have been together since 2000, and he popped the question March 10th 2009 (his birthday :yes:)

I cant believe how fast the time is flying!!!!

Travdan
28-12-2009, 20:06
Hi Mum2ethan

I'm getting married 21 August 2010 in Phuket. We've been engaged since 26 March 2008 which was our 3 year anniversary. It seems so long ago, but since we booked our venue in June, it's gone really fast.

P.S Congrats!!!

fox_girl
28-12-2009, 20:09

DF & I are 90% set on our date. Just waiting to hear if our venue is available.

We are getting married on 4th April 2010. It will be our 4th anniversary together.

We got engaged on my 21st birthday in Port Douglas.

We are having a cocktail style low key wedding.

Love to hear ideas & share mine.

Congrats to you all

xoxoxo

Travdan
28-12-2009, 20:19
Wow, that's not too far at all. Ours is just going to be small as well, and very casual. We'll have the money to book our travel next month which is exciting. Most things are organised, there is a wedding planner over there who has done everything which takes a lot of pressure off. Just have to show up (and pay for it lol)

fox_girl
28-12-2009, 20:34
Ours is all planned out and has been for ages. Just had trouble deciding on a date.

Just wanted to share some pics of the dress I have ordered.

Front of dress (http://i431.photobucket.com/albums/qq34/mumoflj/80ca_10.jpg)

Back of dress (http://i431.photobucket.com/albums/qq34/mumoflj/7b88_10.jpg)

When I saw it I fell in love with it. Its not an expensive dress but its what I want.

We have my ring. Need to get DP's ring. He knows what he wants, just gotta get it.

My friend is doing our photographs. She has an expensive SLR digital camera thingo, So she is doing our pics. Which is good cause I am very comfortable around her.

My best friend is doing our hair. She did all our hair styles for my sisters wedding & they looked amazing, so again another expense saved.

Have to find a celebrant I like. There is a few but dont seem to click with them. IYKWIM.

Found our cake we are having. Cupcakes :p Just gotta order them.

DJ we wanted is booked for April so gotta find another one. He recommended another guy for us which was nice.

And just waiting on confirmation from the venue if we can have the reception there.

We decided if we cant have the reception there we are just going to have our beach ceremony then a party/reception at a family members house.

Travdan
28-12-2009, 20:57
That is absolutely stunning. I can't copy my dress because the website is all in flash player. But if you're interested, it's on the HobNob Bridal website on page 3 of Collections and is called Madeline.

We got our rings back in June, didn't really plan to get them that early but with the midyear stocktake sale we saved $1000.

That's awesome that you have so many friends that can do things for you, weddings are pretty expensive so every dollar saved can be used somewhere else.

mum2ethan
28-12-2009, 22:34
Hi ladies. Congrats to you both!

Travdan - ohhhh a destination wedding! how lovely! How long are you planning on going to Phucket for? Does the wedding planner over there regularly keep in contact with you with preparations etc?

mumoflj - your wedding sounds like its going to be beautiful! Love your dress! Sounds like you are on top of everything with your planning. Great to see you are saving a lot of $$ as well. Its all about who you know isnt it! ;) When will you find out about the venue?

We are have done our guest list. It is around the 90 mark, but 30 or them are kids and most live down south as well, i dont think they will come up. So we have guessed about 60 will actually go to the wedding.
Venue - well im hoping to meet up with them early in the new year to pay deposits, get final pricing, as they are renovating at the moment and have just hired a new head chef so they are re-doing the whole menu. Kinda nervous about it as they originally said the renos will be finished in March, now its May...
Dress- ive found the perfect dress here are a few pics:
Front: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0506.jpg
Back: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0504.jpg
close up: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0499.jpg

As for rings i have mine, DF knows what he wants (just a simple gold band) so just need to get that.

Ohhh almost forgot our theme is red, white with a touch of black.

mum2ethan
28-12-2009, 22:38
That is absolutely stunning. I can't copy my dress because the website is all in flash player. But if you're interested, it's on the HobNob Bridal website on page 3 of Collections and is called Madeline.

We got our rings back in June, didn't really plan to get them that early but with the midyear stocktake sale we saved $1000.

That's awesome that you have so many friends that can do things for you, weddings are pretty expensive so every dollar saved can be used somewhere else.

I just had a look at your dress. OMG stunning!!!!

Miss_N
28-12-2009, 22:55
Hey Ladies...

I'm planning a wedding for Jan 2011...can I still join in? :)

I have not done ANY serious decision making! We just had our engagement party so now that is done I can start really thinking about the wedding! :yes:

I have NO idea what I want! I like the idea of beach weddings and church weddings! I like SOOOO many different dresses and flowers etc!!!

DF and I are moving closer to a capital city so I think I need to see what is on offer there!

I think I need to go to a bridal expo too! :D

sandy_1902
29-12-2009, 10:51
im getting married 12/11/10

just on the coast.

just waiting for our guy at the venue to get back from holidays to offically book, and having our ceremony on a lookout :D

not sure about my dress yet
i brought one but i dont like it anymore so selling it and going dress shopping again up in brissy on the 5th :D:D

Bubs'n'Roses
29-12-2009, 10:58
DP & I are getting married 26-03-10. We are going the easy route with just a simple ceremony and then some lunch. All up, the day will cost us about $500. So I didnt have much to contribute to this thread but anyway.... :D Congrats to all the brides to be.

Travdan
29-12-2009, 11:10
We'll be in Phuket for 9 nights and then 5 nights in Singapore on the way back. So a nice loooong break.

The wedding planner has been fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and she always responds to emails really quickly, so that has really taken a load off my mind, because you really have to trust them because they are so far away.

This is the place we're getting married. We were in Phuket in June, and went to check it out to make sure we loved it because we'd only seen in on the internet.

http://www.lagunaphuketweddings.com/index.html

I LOVE your dress as well :thumbsup:

Blonde Assassin
30-12-2009, 15:27
Hi all :wave:

DF & I are getting married October 23rd 2010 in Melbourne :valentine:

Its going to be in a garden in front of a waterfall & the reception will be on the same grounds in a room above the trees..its so pretty & perfect for what we wanted! We're only having about 35 guests, so only the people who truly matter to us.

We've been together 2 years & already have a gorgeous 5 month old boy.

We've already got the venue booked for the ceremony & reception, but are yet to get on top of photographers, dress, celebrant etc. After New Years I guess we'll have to hurry it up, its going to come around so fast!! I'm totally freaking out! :laughing:

But sooooooooooooo excited :smiliedance:

mum2ethan
30-12-2009, 16:19
Hi Miss N - Of course you can join! Congrats to you and your future hubby on your engagement! We didnt even have an engagement party! I was pretty overwhelmed by the choices of wedding dresses, and what i had in mind looked really bad on me! And what i thought wouldnt suit me is perfect for me! :rolleyes: Our bridal expo that we had here was pretty lame (they didnt even have a florist stand :eek:) so i do most of my "research" online :laughing:

Hi sandy_1902 - a wedding on a lookout sounds really awsome! What dress did you buy? Yay to going dress shopping again! I thought it was sooooo much fun! but i ended up finding my dress at the 2nd shop i looked at (still had 2 more shops to go to but ended up cancelling)

Hi Rosebones - congrats to you as well! Your wedding sounds lovely! I originally wanted to just have a bbq in the backyard, but DF wouldnt hear of it and we ended up on making plans for something not so simple :rolleyes: (isnt it meant to be the other way around, the guy wants something easy and simple??? hehe)

Travdan - Thats a nice break! Not too long, not too short! And your location is WOW breathtaking! I can see why you want to get married there. Great to know your wedding planner is in full contact with you, must be a huge relief to know whats going on!

Hi Emz16 - Congrats to you as well!! A garden wedding is fantastic! Sounds really great. I know what you mean about time going fast!!! Cant believe its the end of 2009!!!!!! Im sure you will get on top of things soon. Its a bit crazy this time of year isnt it!

Well as for me - I dont think i said this earlier but we are having out ceremony on the foreshore, near some gorgeous cliffs, and then for the reception we will be having a garden dinner, so its all going to be outside, and that time of year here is perfect weather!
For our honeymoon we will just be getting a hotel room for the weekend (and time away from the kids) as DF runs his own business so he cant get away for too long (just yet!) so we will plan a big family holiday in a few years time, that way my DD will be old enought to really enjoy it (planning on going to gold coast) plus in the meantime i can do renos on the house :D
How many bridesmaids/groomsmen are you having?
We are having my sister as maid of honour and DF's best mate as best man. Then we have my DD and neice as flowergirls and DS and DSS as page boys.

sandy_1902
30-12-2009, 16:26
mum2ethan - ill post a picture of it for you.. mind you it was about two inches to big for me but i just dont like it at all anymore and its not a very good photo

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/16bd08df.jpg

we are getting married at Pat Fagan park coolangatta :cloud9: my only hope is it doesnt rain lol

for BM, im having my littls sister, then my besti as my maid of honour and my elder sister as my co-moh

DD is going to be flower girl and DS is ring boy =]

cookie087
31-12-2009, 02:55
We are getting married in feb 2010... Only 6 wks and I'll be a married woman! Most things organized but some still to do so I must hurry it up!!
Looks like I'm the first out of the hubbers to get married in the new year!

Jess988
31-12-2009, 11:00
Hi travdan- I'm very interested about ur wedding becuase I would like something like that.

How many ppl are you having? And how much does it cost for the wedding?

Travdan
31-12-2009, 11:28
Hi travdan- I'm very interested about ur wedding becuase I would like something like that.

How many ppl are you having? And how much does it cost for the wedding?

Hi Jess

The wedding itself was about $4,800.00, but that includes hair and makeup for everybody, photography, flowers (bouquets for everyone, for the chapel, backs of chairs etc), celebrant and just coordination of the whole thing. Its so cool too, because I'll get dropped off at the ceremony on a boat :D

The reception will cost about $7,500.00. We are having it in one of the 5 star resorts in the Laguna complex.You have to pay for a minimum of 30 ppl with the food (there'll be about 25 there including us total). This includes food (and OMG you should see the menu, I'm not kidding) full bar for 6 hours, flower centrepieces for the tables, a european DJ and cake (black forest mmm), and we are going to have these big lanterns things that we let of into the sky too.

This particular place is expensive for Thailand, but there are heaps of beautiful hotels around Phuket that do wedding packages, and for much cheaper. We definately couldn't afford to have a wedding of this standard if we had it in Australia. And the convenience of having them organise it is great.

If you have any more questions, I'd be happy to help.

Jess988
31-12-2009, 14:08
Wow that sounds great, my type of wedding :-) plus everyone that comes gets a holiday too.

Travdan
31-12-2009, 14:51
Wow that sounds great, my type of wedding :-) plus everyone that comes gets a holiday too.

Well, I think thats what everyone likes about it too - the holiday. They probably don't give a rats about the wedding!

Also, you're more inclined to get only the people you are close to going, and you don't feel obligated to invite all that family you haven't seen for years, or your work mates etc.

mygirlindi
31-12-2009, 19:34
:wave:Hi everyone

DF and I got engaged about 3 weeks ago and we are already in full planning mode. We have tentatively set the date at 25th June 2010 - it is a Friday. We are thinking we may bring it forward one week as the school holidays start the day after and people may already be on holidays. We are planning on a beach or garden wedding (we know it will be outdoors!). We met with a celebrant yesterday - she was so lovely so we think we will go with her. We are only having immediate family so including us there will be about 14 people. Just the way we want it. There will be no formal reception we are just going to go out to dinner afterwards with everyone. So that's about it for now. Looking forward to getting to know you all. Good luck with the planning!

mum2ethan
01-01-2010, 11:21
mum2ethan - ill post a picture of it for you.. mind you it was about two inches to big for me but i just dont like it at all anymore and its not a very good photo

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/16bd08df.jpg

we are getting married at Pat Fagan park coolangatta :cloud9: my only hope is it doesnt rain lol

for BM, im having my littls sister, then my besti as my maid of honour and my elder sister as my co-moh

DD is going to be flower girl and DS is ring boy =]

ohhhhh thats a nice dress :yes: what dont you like about it, if you dont mind me asking?

We are getting married in feb 2010... Only 6 wks and I'll be a married woman! Most things organized but some still to do so I must hurry it up!!
Looks like I'm the first out of the hubbers to get married in the new year!

Not long now! how exciting!!! Yes looks like you are the first of us to become a MRS :D

:wave:Hi everyone

DF and I got engaged about 3 weeks ago and we are already in full planning mode. We have tentatively set the date at 25th June 2010 - it is a Friday. We are thinking we may bring it forward one week as the school holidays start the day after and people may already be on holidays. We are planning on a beach or garden wedding (we know it will be outdoors!). We met with a celebrant yesterday - she was so lovely so we think we will go with her. We are only having immediate family so including us there will be about 14 people. Just the way we want it. There will be no formal reception we are just going to go out to dinner afterwards with everyone. So that's about it for now. Looking forward to getting to know you all. Good luck with the planning!

Congrats!!! Thats great that you have found your celebrant! Thats the first thing we did. Sounds like you will have your wedding planned in no time!!!

Im just looking at shoes at the moment. Cant seem to find anything i like. There are a few designs i like from ebay, but not sure if i should get them from there as my shoe size varies from 9 - 11 :eek: depending on the shoe...

Blonde Assassin
01-01-2010, 22:20
Hi all! Hope you all had a fantastic New Year! 2010 is here!! The year we're getting hitched!! :laughing: Can you believe it?!

cookie087 - I can't wait to hear of how hectic it gets when you're so close to the date! Be sure to keep us all up to date on everything! Best of luck getting it organised!

sandy_1902 - If that is your dress in the photo, I think its stunning! Why don't you like it?

mum2ethan - Shoes are hard if you don't try them on! I guess they have to be comfy if we're wearing them for most of the day! One of my fav shoe designers is Tony Bianco, because he makes half sizes - you might want to try their website? There are some wedding shoes there.
By the way, your wedding location sounds beautiful! Do you have any photos?

mumoflj - The cupcake idea sounds really nice as an alternative to one big cake. We're only have about 35 guest so we might consider it too. Oh & I ADORE your dress!! I love dresses which are one shoulder, they're very in fashion..very Michelle Obama :laughing:

Travdan - My gosh! Your wedding location is so glorious & exotic! How lucky are you?! What is it like working with a wedding planner? They would be good for making sure you aren't leaving anything out!

mygirlindi - Outdoor weddings are all the go aren't they?! We're getting married in front of a waterfall! Have fun choosing your location & let us know when you've chosen one!

AFM - I am going to try on wedding dresses the week after next, (after I've worked off all the food & alcohol from the silly season!!) but next week I HOPE to have a photographer booked! I'm really paranoid about booking the photographer, but there is one who seems to have really natural shots at an affordable price, so hopefully its the right one :fingerscrossed:
I want to ask you all, where do I find a celebrant? Is there an online directory of them somewhere? I've seen some in a wedding magazine but I was hoping I could browse more online somewhere. If anyone knows (for Melbourne) of anything please let me know, because they are the next thing we need to organise!

Travdan
01-01-2010, 22:40
Hi Emz,

You're wedding sounds gorgeous, and I reckon small is the way to go! The waterfall would be so beautiful.

I got my shoes on Wednesday from Zu, I saved $50 in the post Chrissy sale so I was stoked. And they are surprisingly comfortable too.

I know on the Perth Births, Deaths and Marriages website, they had a link to all of the WA authorised celebrants, so maybe you could try there?

The wedding planner is great, it would be too difficult trying to coordinate all from here, plus she gives me my choices for things and I just have to pick. Otherwise I'd get lost if I had too many choices lol.

DF said to me this morning "We're getting married this year". I can't believe it.

mum2ethan
02-01-2010, 22:48
mum2ethan - Shoes are hard if you don't try them on! I guess they have to be comfy if we're wearing them for most of the day! One of my fav shoe designers is Tony Bianco, because he makes half sizes - you might want to try their website? There are some wedding shoes there.
By the way, your wedding location sounds beautiful! Do you have any photos?

AFM - I am going to try on wedding dresses the week after next, (after I've worked off all the food & alcohol from the silly season!!) but next week I HOPE to have a photographer booked! I'm really paranoid about booking the photographer, but there is one who seems to have really natural shots at an affordable price, so hopefully its the right one :fingerscrossed:
I want to ask you all, where do I find a celebrant? Is there an online directory of them somewhere? I've seen some in a wedding magazine but I was hoping I could browse more online somewhere. If anyone knows (for Melbourne) of anything please let me know, because they are the next thing we need to organise!

Where i live, there are very limited shoe places :rolleyes: i just cant find a style i like, and i LOVE those shoes as they will really suit my dress and the heels arent too high (not a heel person :laughing:) I will have a look at that website tho, thank you
As for celebrants i just looked in the yellowpages, also our Births, Deaths and Marriages has a list as well. Also word of mouth.

Travdan - Awwww thats so cute of your DF!!

AFM - I went and brought some paper for my invites (i have a wedding journal on here that i post pics on, the link is in my signature if anyone is interested in having a squize...) BUT the translucent paper i got isnt as clear as i would like it to be, it doesnt show the effect of the paper in the background, so im going to take it back and see if there is a clearer one :no:

Travdan
02-01-2010, 23:36
M2E

I just had a look at your journal. Wow! I can't believe you made those cakes! You are very talented, they look absolutely divine.

And your DD looks sooo cute in her little dress. I think you've done a great job, it looks like it'll be a beautiful wedding.

The invites really make it as though it's happening. We sent out Save The Dates a little while ago and it was "wow, this is real".

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 02:31
Well couldn't get the venue I wanted.

So we are going with a private beach ceremony with loads of photos & just drinks with close family afterwards.

Kinda glad in a way....

Feel I can finally relax now :D

cookie087
03-01-2010, 02:55
Ok so considering I'm first up I thought I'd share some details...
WeddNig is on the 13 th of feb at caversham house. We are having it in the hidden gardens! So beautiful there. Our reception is at a ballroom we have hired, and have organised all our own food, decorations, etc. Alot more work but worth it as we are saving $$$

Our colour scheme is black red and white. All my bridesmaids are in black with red roses and the groomsmen are in all black suits with red ties.

All my flowers are fake red roses but they look divine! I got them from a lady in America or a quarter the cost of anyone I could find in oz.

I'm having a 1920 Chicago style fancy dress hens party!!!

If anyone needs any help with anything, let me know! I'm pretty much sorted so getting excited now!

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 02:56
Wow Cookie, you sound extremely organised.

Married the day before Valentine day.

cookie087
03-01-2010, 02:59
Yep! And the weekend after my bubs 1st birthday... Very full on few weeks!
Oh and we aren't going on a honey moon as such, we are going to a local hotel for 2 nights, bub free, to recover from all the alcohol and start TTC # 2!!!
We are then going around WA next year, 3 weeks south and 6 weeks north! So that's going to be our honey moon. A little late but it's the only thing we both want to do

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 03:05
Sounds lovely.

Do you have any pics of the Hidden Garden?? Its sounds so romantic.

cookie087
03-01-2010, 03:07
Yep will post some up Monday. On my phone ATM so can't do it now!

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 03:10
Cool cant wait

cookie087
03-01-2010, 03:18
If u wanna have a look at te website it's cavershamhouse dot com dot au
pretty sure there are some pics there, and when I get a chance I'll upload some pics I have.

So where is everyone else at in there planning stage?

mum2ethan
03-01-2010, 09:53
Ok so considering I'm first up I thought I'd share some details...
WeddNig is on the 13 th of feb at caversham house. We are having it in the hidden gardens! So beautiful there. Our reception is at a ballroom we have hired, and have organised all our own food, decorations, etc. Alot more work but worth it as we are saving $$$

Our colour scheme is black red and white. All my bridesmaids are in black with red roses and the groomsmen are in all black suits with red ties.

All my flowers are fake red roses but they look divine! I got them from a lady in America or a quarter the cost of anyone I could find in oz.

I'm having a 1920 Chicago style fancy dress hens party!!!

If anyone needs any help with anything, let me know! I'm pretty much sorted so getting excited now!

We have the same colour scheme, but mine is more red than black. Sounds like its going to be a gorgeous wedding!!! My MOH will be in a red dress with red and white flowers and DF and the best man will have black pants with white shirt and a red rose buttoned on the shirt. Your hens night sounds like its going to be a lot of fun! My sister (MOH) is organising mine... im a bit scared :laughing:

M2E

I just had a look at your journal. Wow! I can't believe you made those cakes! You are very talented, they look absolutely divine.

And your DD looks sooo cute in her little dress. I think you've done a great job, it looks like it'll be a beautiful wedding.

The invites really make it as though it's happening. We sent out Save The Dates a little while ago and it was "wow, this is real".

Thanks Travdan, I was having second thoughts about doing the cake, was thinking it wouldnt turn out right and that i wont be able to set it up cos i wont have time etc etc, but i think thats just me stressing out a bit, im confident on making the cake now, but dont know if i should cheat and get plain mud cake slubs from cheesecake shop and decorate it (my oven is about 50 million years old, we have a new one sitting in the carport but DF is the one to organise to get it installed and a new benchtop put on as it is a seperate oven and benchtop, the one we have now is just one unit)
YES getting all the stuff for the invites makes it feel so real, i think when i start putting them together and printing our names on it then it will be like OHHHH WOW this is happening!!!

Well couldn't get the venue I wanted.

So we are going with a private beach ceremony with loads of photos & just drinks with close family afterwards.

Kinda glad in a way....

Feel I can finally relax now :D

Everything happens for a reason, and it sounds like your wedding will be perfect!

If u wanna have a look at te website it's cavershamhouse dot com dot au
pretty sure there are some pics there, and when I get a chance I'll upload some pics I have.

So where is everyone else at in there planning stage?

Just had a look at the website, tehy had a virtual tour of some gardens (not sure if it were the hidden gardens or not, it had a waterfall?) but wow! gorgeous!
Planning stage... well im all over the place! Im just sorting out my invite stuff, trying to get a meeting with my venue, thinking about what flowers i want... and thats about all im doing at the moment (oh and trying to find a short sleeved RED satin shirt for my DS, do you know how hard it is to find one!!!! I found one but its long sleeved and cost $80 :eek: i might see if my grandmother will make it for me)

little_froglette
03-01-2010, 10:43
hi ladies- My man and i have been engaged for nearly 2 years- planned nothing as i found i was pregnant but now she is here and then we heard that his family is flying over from Hungary to see the bub (he is the only member that lives is Aus) and he goes- i'm gonna marry you when my family gets here- how does MAy 29th suit you?
:) then handed me a bowl of cereal.

wasn't the most romantic way to set a date but i'm glad there finally is a date.
He's like plan what you want etc etc etc but now he's pretty much taken over! ha ha ha
i picked my dress and bridsmaids dresses.
but my sis has also informed me that she will be 7 months preg in my wedding so hmmm?
My colours and chocolate brown and baby pink.

Travdan
03-01-2010, 18:57
TiffanyRegos - That actually sounds sweet the way you set the date. And how funny that he's taken over!

M2E - our oven is ancient too, so frustrating cos if you want to cook something, than you have to have it going flat out to cook anything, and cakes, forget about it unless you burn the outside so the middle is cooked.

Cookie- All we have left to do is book our travel, which we'll be doing later this month, get the mens clothes (we're gonna wait till the mid year sales because we are paying for the groomsmens clothes), get the bridesmaids dresses made and get my accessories, undies etc. I think that's it.

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 19:32
I never even thought about making my own cakes.

We want cupcakes. Surely they can be easy to make???

Hmmm now you've all got me thinking. Baking time this week I think.

mum2ethan
03-01-2010, 22:56
hi ladies- My man and i have been engaged for nearly 2 years- planned nothing as i found i was pregnant but now she is here and then we heard that his family is flying over from Hungary to see the bub (he is the only member that lives is Aus) and he goes- i'm gonna marry you when my family gets here- how does MAy 29th suit you?
:) then handed me a bowl of cereal.

wasn't the most romantic way to set a date but i'm glad there finally is a date.
He's like plan what you want etc etc etc but now he's pretty much taken over! ha ha ha
i picked my dress and bridsmaids dresses.
but my sis has also informed me that she will be 7 months preg in my wedding so hmmm?
My colours and chocolate brown and baby pink.

Congrats on setting the date. It was a very "blokey" way of setting the date, but very cute! My brother had chocolate and baby pink for their wedding, at first i thought that wont go together, but it went really well together, very lovely!!!!

I never even thought about making my own cakes.

We want cupcakes. Surely they can be easy to make???

Hmmm now you've all got me thinking. Baking time this week I think.

Its very rewarding to know you were the one that made it! And very personal as well. :yes:

AFM - we went for a drive to the location of the ceremony to get down the number of the house opposite so we can get a permit to have the wedding there and i took some photos, just trying to upload them now...

mum2ethan
03-01-2010, 23:01
Ok here are some photos...

Possible spot, with us near the fence and guests under shady tree looking out to the ocean: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0815.jpg

Or here where it is clearer... http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0822.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0820.jpg

fox_girl
03-01-2010, 23:10
looks amazing m2e.

cookie087
03-01-2010, 23:58
Looks gorgeous mum2ethan, I like the first place the best, a bit of shade for everyone!

lozie2
04-01-2010, 17:50
Hey, im gettin married in 8 weeks, 27th feb,
be bak later to give details,,, cassie just woke for tea!

Blonde Assassin
04-01-2010, 20:33
Ok here are some photos...

Possible spot, with us near the fence and guests under shady tree looking out to the ocean: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0815.jpg

Or here where it is clearer... http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0822.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0820.jpg

I love the first one too! The tree makes it so much more rustic!!

I have given myself ONE week (from tomorrow!) to find a photographer & hopefully book them for our big day!! Wish me luck :fingerscrossed:

cookie087
04-01-2010, 20:35
Goodluck with finding a photographer. Just a tip a couple of friends passed on, make sure u meet the photographer for a chat first as there style might not be what u r after, also just to make sure u 'click'.

cookie087
05-01-2010, 21:09
So here are just a few pics of caversham, i dont really have many, just took these to show my DP. Where the grass is faded is where the red carpet goes. We will be stading on the stairs and the guests will be on the grass under some umbrella shade things.

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/cookie087/Photography/P8314574.jpg

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/cookie087/Photography/P8314580.jpg

Travdan
05-01-2010, 21:11
Aw, that's gorgeous Cookie.

cookie087
05-01-2010, 21:27
thanks, they arent the best of pics but u get the idea! so excited now, i suited my 11month old up today and my heart melted! he looked so gorgeous!!!

And if any of u ladies are thinking of getting fake flowers, the lady in america i got mine through is fantastic and i will be more than happy to pass her details on to u.

Travdan
05-01-2010, 21:32
What type of flowers are you having?

cookie087
05-01-2010, 21:36
What type of flowers are you having?

I am having red roses, and im so so happy with the way they turned out!

Do you know what you want yet?

Travdan
05-01-2010, 21:45
Yeah, I'm having white roses and cream orchids, in a cascading type style. The wedding package included only certain flowers, which were those locally grown in Thailand. If I wanted anything they had to import, it cost extra. But I'm happy, I think they are beautiful.

My friend had silk flowers, and they looked so realistic! I bet yours are beautiful!

Travdan
05-01-2010, 21:53
Oops, cream roses and white orchids.

fox_girl
05-01-2010, 23:19
IF I have flowers I want only 3 or 4 white calla lillies. I LOVE THEM!!!

Travdan
05-01-2010, 23:39
IF I have flowers I want only 3 or 4 white calla lillies. I LOVE THEM!!!

I originally wanted calla lillies too! If I could have got them, I would have.

OneNowOneLater
08-01-2010, 09:50
Hey guys, only just found this thread

DF and i are getting married on the 31st of October 2010 :D We're getting married here (http://www.hansheysen.com.au/weddings.asp)

I wont put a link up for my dress, cos DF occasionally has a look on bh.... however, if you want a peek at it, just PM me and i'll tell you where to find a pic of it :D

I cant believe how much there is still left to organise. Let alone, how much we've organised so far (got engaged on the 18th of sept 2008)

What we've organised so far. Already have my dream dress, got all of the bridesmaids dresses, my shoes, jewellery for the bm's and DD who is flower girl, paid for the celebrant, paid for the wedding location, booked the reception location, organised and paid for all of our bombeniere, gifts for the groomsmen, gifts for the fathers, i'm in middle of organising a hair/makeup trial, contacted the caterer we want to use this morning with a big list of questions, and half done the invitations. My aunty is paying for the photographer as a wedding gift.

What we still need to do - book the caterer, book the makeup/hairdresser (same person), book the chair covers/sash (oh mumoflj or any adelaide brides, if you want the name of the cheapest chaircover people i've been able to find, let me know - they cost $3.50 for the cover and sash - that includes delivery, set up and take down :D), book the table cloths, decorations, vehicles, drinks for the reception, accomodation for the night before and night of the wedding, the bm's are gonna be getting their own shoes - so we're thinking weekend away to go shoe shopping lol, sending half of the invitations to the printer to get done - cos our printer wont do it and probably some other stuff that i cant think of right now.

What am i forgetting????

lozie2
08-01-2010, 21:51
ok im back,

We are gettin Married 27th feb so 7 weeks!

I have a beautiful dress which i bought pre-loved (trying to save money) i looked at the same dress in the store and loved it when i seen this one in my size i was over the moon i saves over a grand!

We are getting married in warragul in a Chapel with our reception at the show grounds.

We have organised, everything for me, boys suits, Girls dresses, fingers crossed they still fit my sister will be 7 months pregnant on the day and is my maid of honor, cake we are having a hot air balloon cake! i have discussed the flowers i want with the florist i just have to book (hadnt done so as i have had a lot of troubles with dfs mum) we are having mini gerbs, red for me and white for the girls and orchards on the parents and grandparents. Just waiting on RSVPS.

We have a wonderful celebrant she is so helpful.

How is every1 dealing with interfering mother in laws?
she is ordering extra flowers and doing stuff we dont want, we didnt want to hire cars or have lots of flowers (i am not a flower person, im allergic) and i think the money spent on cars is better spent on grog.

We arent having a honey moon as my DF just lost his job :( We are going to start TTC soon after the wedding, we did want to start ttc soon but wiht the new job we should wait!

I hope every1 else's wedding plans are going well

OneNowOneLater
08-01-2010, 22:37
well my MIL reckons we should wait another year - its not like we're having a 2yr engagement already! pfft! I dont think she's ready for DF to grow up - despite him being 26 (will be 27 in may)..... :laughing:

ATM, my mum reckons i'm being stupid for planning anything 10mo early. Apparently its all gonna (the plans that is) fall apart a month or so before the wedding - like others she's seen..... And that EVERYONE plans their weddings with like 2-3 months prior to the day.

Im sorry, but October is wedding season, and if i start planning that close to the end, not only will i be tearing my hair out from the stress (esp if i'm working too like i want to be!) and turning all bridezilla like, chances are i wont get a caterer, hairdresser/makeup artist, cars etc.....

Stupid me told her that i had booked a hair/makeup trial today for next week (if i dont like this hair/makeup artist, i dont have to book her, so fingers crossed i like her and she can do what i want with my hair - http://s3.amazonaws.com/wedding_prod/photos/c3532357f570cfa80683dc934a84559f (http://s3.amazonaws.com/wedding_prod/photos/c3532357f570cfa80683dc934a84559f)) so i dont have to find anyone else.....

ARGGH parents!

sandy_1902
09-01-2010, 00:13
well my MIL reckons we should wait another year - its not like we're having a 2yr engagement already! pfft! I dont think she's ready for DF to grow up - despite him being 26 (will be 27 in may)..... :laughing:

ATM, my mum reckons i'm being stupid for planning anything 10mo early. Apparently its all gonna (the plans that is) fall apart a month or so before the wedding - like others she's seen..... And that EVERYONE plans their weddings with like 2-3 months prior to the day.

Im sorry, but October is wedding season, and if i start planning that close to the end, not only will i be tearing my hair out from the stress (esp if i'm working too like i want to be!) and turning all bridezilla like, chances are i wont get a caterer, hairdresser/makeup artist, cars etc.....

Stupid me told her that i had booked a hair/makeup trial today for next week (if i dont like this hair/makeup artist, i dont have to book her, so fingers crossed i like her and she can do what i want with my hair - http://s3.amazonaws.com/wedding_prod/photos/c3532357f570cfa80683dc934a84559f (http://s3.amazonaws.com/wedding_prod/photos/c3532357f570cfa80683dc934a84559f)) so i dont have to find anyone else.....

ARGGH parents!

oh pffft my wedding is in november and i already have alot done.. lol just got to get to the paying depoist parts then im done for a few months lol

even though we all no it wont happen like that... i wont be done until the weding haha

OneNowOneLater
09-01-2010, 00:37
I'm just annoyed.... i spoke to my self adoptive sister (who is getting married 4 weeks before me) a little while ago on fb.... mum hasnt been included in her plans, but knows them all and has no problems with her wedding plans.... S has everything booked apart from the hairdresser. Yeah, she has guests travelling in from interstate and possibly overseas, BUT, so do I! I've got family in New york that are going to be invited and will hopefully come..... So our plans need to be done soon too..... But, i'm the stupid one for even making enquiries = cos oh wait - The wedding is at the end of october!

:hissy: I'm sorry everyone for my vent!

sandy_1902
09-01-2010, 09:15
oh dont worry what she says

if you wait and wait to book you wont get what you want pplain and simple book early and you get everything you want lol

your doing a great job planning

fox_girl
10-01-2010, 14:49
So after a much disappointing and upsetting weekend we aren't having a wedding with Family.

We are going to elope.

Just DF & I.

Major problems with the inlaws. Annoyed i cant have my parents there or FIL but the things we do for love.

I initially told DF I didnt want to marry him at all due to the family issues. He said dont be silly. But I honestly dont know.

Sorry for the downer rant.

OneNowOneLater
10-01-2010, 17:40
Massive hugs for you Sarah!

mum2ethan
10-01-2010, 18:16
So after a much disappointing and upsetting weekend we aren't having a wedding with Family.

We are going to elope.

Just DF & I.

Major problems with the inlaws. Annoyed i cant have my parents there or FIL but the things we do for love.

I initially told DF I didnt want to marry him at all due to the family issues. He said dont be silly. But I honestly dont know.

Sorry for the downer rant.

Sorry to hear about the troubles with the In-laws :hugs: at the end of the day its all about you and your husband. You need to do whats best for the both of you.

mum2ethan
11-01-2010, 19:42
I just brought my shoes off ebay. Kinda nervous on sizing but for under $50 you cant go wrong and they are exactly what i want! heres some pics:
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/MM-009I_02.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/MM-009P-Wi4-03-1.jpg

Blonde Assassin
12-01-2010, 13:48
mum2ethan - very nice shoes! They're a sensible heel for a long day too! I'm sure they'll fit perfectly!

fox_girl - sorry to hear your initial plans aren't going ahead! It IS all about you & your hubby though, so just try to focus on pleasing yourselves & don't worry about everyone else!

OneNowOneLater - you are definitely not planning too soon for an October wedding! Our wedding is in October too & I'm stressing that we're leaving it too late!!

lozie2 - we aren't having a honeymoon either because we can't afford it :( But good luck TTC & for your wedding!! Its so soon! Eek! My MIL is completely indifferent about our wedding which I guess is a good thing - it'll be amazing if she even bothers to turn up!

AFM - We have a visit with our photographer in about a weeks time, but she seems what we want. Her packages are reasonable, (about $2500) but not too cheap & nasty! She has her photos online, which are gorgeous, & she has done a lot of weddings at our venue, which must be a good thing! :p
On Saturday I'm going to try on some wedding dresses at a couture label I really like!! Sooooo excited!! This is the first time I'll have tried any on so it'll be a big day! I don't want to get my hopes up too much, but there is one particular dress that I LOVE (which is also within my budget!) so I hope it fits my shape & looks good!! But I should be prepared in case it doesn't suit me I guess. Fingers crossed :fingerscrossed:

TripleTime
13-01-2010, 09:56
Ooooo. I can join now!!

We're getting married in september. :D

cookie087
13-01-2010, 12:24
Yay congratulations tripletime!

Emz - goodluck with ur dress shopping, it's so much fun!

Foxgirl - sometimes I just wish we could run run away and get married, would have saved so much time, money and stress. I hope u still have a lovely wedding even though ur eloping.

Afu - well it's one month to the day today an I'll be getting married! It's getting so close and I still have to order my cake, and pay for lots of things!!! I better get a wriggle on!

TripleTime
13-01-2010, 12:28
Best get a move on Cookie.

Can safely say all we have left to do is dress everyone.! :D

OneNowOneLater
13-01-2010, 14:25
Well, i cant wait till tomorrow. I'm having my hair and makeup trial.... I'll be posting the pics that are taken tomorrow arvo on my second photobucket account, that DF doesnt know about :D Cant risk him finding them lol. So if you want to have a look anyone, feel free to pm me, and i'll fwd you the link to my account :D

I've posted a link to the hairstyle that i want, in the hairstyles thread.

Travdan
13-01-2010, 15:22
Hello again ladies.....

Sounds like a lot is getting done!

AFM, Im starting to get really frustrated with travel agents. I have contacted 3 different agents, who say they'll get back to you in 24 hours, and have not heard from one!

We have everything planned, from who we are going to fly, to where we are staying, dates etc. We just need a price! It's annoying because you are potentially going to spend a fair amount of money, and they can't even give you basic customer service.

Ok, rant over. Sorry about that :-)

OneNowOneLater
14-01-2010, 19:06
Had my hair/makeup trial today... I have some photos online now.... If you want a squiz, just send me a PM - I warn you, some look a little yellow cos of the lighting lol.

Quote from my dd "you're prettyful mummy!"

fox_girl
14-01-2010, 19:15
Onenowonelater - I am slack in PM'ing you but send me a link I want to see how prettyfull you look :D

So I was thinking today... I got an email from the venue I want to use and they had a cancellation and I can get the date I want.... HMMMMMM So do I bite the bullet and do the wedding i'd prefer and HAVE to invite SIL & MIL or do we elope??? I am leaning more towards eloping & having a reception & renewal of vowels for our 1 year anniversary.

OneNowOneLater
14-01-2010, 19:26
:laughing: Get the place you want, just dont invite your SIL or your MIL.

fox_girl
14-01-2010, 19:32
Yeh I wish it was that simple.

DF wont do it unless his mother is there. But SIL hmmmm I could maybe get away with that one....

TripleTime
14-01-2010, 20:01
So I was thinking today... I got an email from the venue I want to use and they had a cancellation and I can get the date I want.... HMMMMMM So do I bite the bullet and do the wedding i'd prefer and HAVE to invite SIL & MIL or do we elope??? I am leaning more towards eloping & having a reception & renewal of vowels for our 1 year anniversary.

Do what you want! :yes:

We learnt this the hard way. Tried to please everyone & ended up in a HUGE fight between us.

We were about to walk down the street to Births Deaths & Marriages. Now we're doing things our way & if they dont like it. Tough sh!t !

lozie2
14-01-2010, 20:13
in a way i wish we just eloped! but in a way im happy, you only get married once! well your meant to!

hsvmum09
17-01-2010, 06:51
Hi Ladies, I am joining this thread very late My DP and I are getting married this week :) Everything is organised ready to roll.

We are having a beach wedding (provided the weather stays good) can't put details up because I have a stalker will come back with lots of pics though.

Blonde Assassin
17-01-2010, 19:55

I have found my PERFECT wedding dress!! :smiliedance:

So excited! Its just what I wanted! Its pretty, princessy & feminine & OMG I just LOVE it! Can you tell how excited I am?! :laughing:

Here's a photo of it: http://www.roseelise.com.au/popups/lulu.html

Tell me what you all think!!

I'm getting a necklace, earrings & bracelet from the designer so it matches the broach on the bow. The lady who makes these dresses is fantastic (if you happen to be in Melbourne). I went & tried it on alone, because she had heaps of stairs & my Mum is in a wheelchair so she couldn't get up there. But she's offering to come to Mum & Dad's so they can see it on, which I thought was really nice.

We meet our photographer next weekend, then once that's organized we will begin the hunt for our celebrant! Hope everything is going well with you all! Keep the updates coming - I'm really enjoying them :goodvibes:

sandy_1902
17-01-2010, 21:03
oh its gorgeous!!!!

we have changed out dates we are now 11/11/11 so a year later lol

but here is my new dress

http://s99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/?action=view&current=LU5140_1.jpg

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/top.jpg

lozie2
17-01-2010, 21:35
wow both dresses are stunning!
Less than 6 weeks til our big day!! EEEK!!!! i feel unorganized! i will get there!

mum2ethan
17-01-2010, 22:17
Hi Ladies, I am joining this thread very late My DP and I are getting married this week :) Everything is organised ready to roll.

We are having a beach wedding (provided the weather stays good) can't put details up because I have a stalker will come back with lots of pics though.

Ohhh congrats! how exciting! not long to go!!! cant wait to see the pics and hear all about the details

I have found my PERFECT wedding dress!! :smiliedance:

So excited! Its just what I wanted! Its pretty, princessy & feminine & OMG I just LOVE it! Can you tell how excited I am?! :laughing:

Here's a photo of it: http://www.roseelise.com.au/popups/lulu.html

Tell me what you all think!!

I'm getting a necklace, earrings & bracelet from the designer so it matches the broach on the bow. The lady who makes these dresses is fantastic (if you happen to be in Melbourne). I went & tried it on alone, because she had heaps of stairs & my Mum is in a wheelchair so she couldn't get up there. But she's offering to come to Mum & Dad's so they can see it on, which I thought was really nice.

We meet our photographer next weekend, then once that's organized we will begin the hunt for our celebrant! Hope everything is going well with you all! Keep the updates coming - I'm really enjoying them :goodvibes:

Wow gorgeous dress! Such a great feeling when you find THE dress isnt it! sounds like you are really organised and on top of everything!

oh its gorgeous!!!!

we have changed out dates we are now 11/11/11 so a year later lol

but here is my new dress

http://s99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/?action=view&current=LU5140_1.jpg

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l314/dandysandy_2006/top.jpg

What a great date! DF originally wanted to get married on the 10/10/10 but around that time its so very hot and sticky up here (our build up :dizzy: couldnt imagine getting married then)

Not much to report, went and saw the celebrant, she should be emailing me a working draft of the ceremony this week!

Ohh forgot to send you a PM OneNowOneLater, but the hair and make up trial looked amazing! Really suited you! As did your dress!!!

OneNowOneLater
18-01-2010, 11:18
Thanks mum2ethan! I love my dress! I drew that dress when i was 15. I'm so lucky i found it in a store, otherwise i would've had it made - which would've cost me about 2-3 times the amount it did when i bought it in store.

The dresses look wonderful both of you!

PaulsPrincess
18-01-2010, 11:31
Hi guys - can I join you?

We are getting married on the 17th April, 2years to the day of our first date (although it wasn't planned that way, just a fluke).

We are having a small wedding - about 20 guests as this is the second marriage for both of us and we had a son in November last year. Our aim was something classy and elegant but intimate. Our ceremony and reception will be held here http://www.hermitagehill.com.au/

My dress is ivory (will post pics at some stage) I bought it last January as we were planning to marry last year but have postponed it due to being pregnant.

Our wedding all up is going to cost about $5000 which includes all our clothing and our accommodation on the wedding night.

Everything is booked except the cake (which I must do today)

OneNowOneLater
18-01-2010, 11:47
Oh wow, PaulsPrincess - that location is going to look absolutely stunning for photos!

Travdan
19-01-2010, 11:06
Well, a travel agent finally got back to us on Friday and we have booked the travel for our wedding and honeymoon.

Phuket for nine nights and Singapore for 5 nights.

We are staying here first for three nights, and this is also where the reception is being held, in the Casuarina Restaurant

http://www.dusit.com/hotels/thailand/phuket/dusit_thani/index.html

Then 6 nights here, as it will be closer to all of our friends that are coming.

http://phukethotels.impiana.com/

And this is our hotel in Singapore

http://www.parkhotelgroup.com/Default.aspx?alias=www.parkhotelgroup.com/phcq

This will be our last hoorah for a while as we are looking to buy a house, so we thought we would make it worth it.

fox_girl
19-01-2010, 22:26
Congrats Travdan.

Looks like things are falling into place for so many.

I am still stuck and confused...

OneNowOneLater
19-01-2010, 22:45
:smiliedance: Woohoo one of my interstate guests have booked their flights to come!

fox_girl
19-01-2010, 22:48
:smiliedance: Woohoo one of my interstate guests have booked their flights to come!

YAY!!!! That is AWESOME!!!!

OneNowOneLater
19-01-2010, 23:22
Yep - and its a former BH'er too. Granted, she didnt post much when she was on here...

And fox_girl - i still say Elope and have the party afterwards! lol dont even tell MIL or SIL that you got hitched! :laughing:

fox_girl
19-01-2010, 23:27
Yeh that is my plan now.

Its good to get reassurance from others.

My friend eloped with the parents there (they are a lot older than me) and didnt tell anyone till months later. I figured it out cause I saw the ring!!!

I really like that idea. Elope and not tell!!!!

moozle
20-01-2010, 00:02
:wave: everyone.... M2E, how did you start this thread sooo long ago and I've only JUST seen it?! :laughing:

For those of you who don't know, M2E and I are getting married on the same day :) 3/7/2010.

So far I have ordered the dress (can't post pics coz I don't have any), booked the reception, the cake, the entertainment, church, photographer, hair/make-up artist, we have the rings and I have almost everything I need to make the invitations.

I still have a heap to do reading all these posts but I'm sure I'll get there.

Congrats to you all and I'm looking forward to planning along with all of you and seeing the pics!

OneNowOneLater
20-01-2010, 14:32
wow i cant believe this thread has made 10 pages so far :smiliedance:

Well, i've paid the 50% deposit for my makeup/hair - $362.50

She also emailed me the schedule that we'll be using.... It is going to be a REALLY day! She's going to be getting there at 5am! :eek:

lozie2
20-01-2010, 16:46
i went and paid for my flowers today :D all i have to do now is wait for RSVPS and do seating!! i think!

mum2ethan
20-01-2010, 17:00
Thanks mum2ethan! I love my dress! I drew that dress when i was 15. I'm so lucky i found it in a store, otherwise i would've had it made - which would've cost me about 2-3 times the amount it did when i bought it in store.

The dresses look wonderful both of you!

Wow thats so amazing that you drew that dress when you were younger and have found it!!!! Meant to be or what! :cool:

Hi guys - can I join you?

We are getting married on the 17th April, 2years to the day of our first date (although it wasn't planned that way, just a fluke).

We are having a small wedding - about 20 guests as this is the second marriage for both of us and we had a son in November last year. Our aim was something classy and elegant but intimate. Our ceremony and reception will be held here http://www.hermitagehill.com.au/

My dress is ivory (will post pics at some stage) I bought it last January as we were planning to marry last year but have postponed it due to being pregnant.

Our wedding all up is going to cost about $5000 which includes all our clothing and our accommodation on the wedding night.

Everything is booked except the cake (which I must do today)

Welcome!!! The location is gorgeous!! Sounds like a really nice wedding you are planning, cant wait to see pics of your dress, sounds like you are very organised!

Well, a travel agent finally got back to us on Friday and we have booked the travel for our wedding and honeymoon.

Phuket for nine nights and Singapore for 5 nights.

We are staying here first for three nights, and this is also where the reception is being held, in the Casuarina Restaurant

http://www.dusit.com/hotels/thailand/phuket/dusit_thani/index.html

Then 6 nights here, as it will be closer to all of our friends that are coming.

http://phukethotels.impiana.com/

And this is our hotel in Singapore

http://www.parkhotelgroup.com/Default.aspx?alias=www.parkhotelgroup.com/phcq

This will be our last hoorah for a while as we are looking to buy a house, so we thought we would make it worth it.

Ohhhh so gorgeous!!! Looks like its going to be a lovely getaway!

Woohoo one of my interstate guests have booked their flights to come!

Yay thats fantastic!!! I might have my uncle coming from Spain! I hope so, we havent seen him in like 10 years...

everyone.... M2E, how did you start this thread sooo long ago and I've only JUST seen it?!

For those of you who don't know, M2E and I are getting married on the same day 3/7/2010.

So far I have ordered the dress (can't post pics coz I don't have any), booked the reception, the cake, the entertainment, church, photographer, hair/make-up artist, we have the rings and I have almost everything I need to make the invitations.

I still have a heap to do reading all these posts but I'm sure I'll get there.

Congrats to you all and I'm looking forward to planning along with all of you and seeing the pics!

Hi Sam :wave: glad you have joined i was going to PM you, but you seemed really busy with the holidays. How are you going? Sounds like your plans are all coming together nicely! Im waiting on invite stuff as well its taking sooooooooooo long to get here!!! Cant wait to get stuck into it!!

wow i cant believe this thread has made 10 pages so far

Well, i've paid the 50% deposit for my makeup/hair - $362.50

She also emailed me the schedule that we'll be using.... It is going to be a REALLY day! She's going to be getting there at 5am!

5AM!!! :eek: Wow thats early!!!

i went and paid for my flowers today all i have to do now is wait for RSVPS and do seating!! i think!

yay!!! The place that i was going to get a quote from for flowers has unexpectedly closed shop. There was a sign on the window saying they were shutting down then the next day the place was empty, so i dont know if they have relocated or what :confused: hope that anyone who ordered thru them has been notified!

AFM - i missed the postie today and my shoes are here!! YAYAYAYAYAY so will go and pick it up in an hour Hope they fit!!!
I also recieved my flowergirl headbands they are so gorgeous! I posted pics in my Journal but will post them here as well. Here is my DD modelling hers and i couldnt resist putting her in her dress as well (still need to take layers off as its too poofy lol)

http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0862.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0879.jpg

lozie2
20-01-2010, 17:06
they are so nice mum2ethan,

O and also forgot to meantion, we ordered DFs ring in November, called last week thinking it should be in,,,, Stupid people didnt order it and now it will get here 13th feb... i hope for there sake it fits!! im so angry about it!

Blonde Assassin
20-01-2010, 18:04
Hmm now this has got me thinking, what order do things generally go in terms of "getting ready" on the big day?

I think I'll be having different people doing my hair & makeup, so which usually goes first? How early do you really have to be?! You want everything to look fresh! My wedding is at 11am

TripleTime
20-01-2010, 18:56
Hmm now this has got me thinking, what order do things generally go in terms of "getting ready" on the big day?

I think I'll be having different people doing my hair & makeup, so which usually goes first? How early do you really have to be?! You want everything to look fresh! My wedding is at 11am

Mum & Dad's wedding was at 11am, Mum started getting ready at 4am.

Thats the reason why ours is at 2pm. We dont do mornings very well.

cookie087
20-01-2010, 19:16
Hair first, then makeup. Other wise ur hair spray or product will wreck ur makeup. And then dress.

And we will be starting to get ready at 6 for a 1pm wedding. But it really depends, how many people are in your bridal party that are getting their hair and makeup done?

lozie2
20-01-2010, 19:26
ok so what time should i start getting ready??
myself and 2 bridesmaids, plus my mum... and the chapel is 30-40 mins away.. getting married at 3.30pm

Blonde Assassin
20-01-2010, 19:47
Wow!! Its gunna be a longggggggggggggggg day!!

I didn't want an afternoon wedding, our ceremony & reception is in a garden so it'd be silly in the evening as we wouldn't be able to see anything!!

We're not having any bridal party, just us, thank god!!

OneNowOneLater
20-01-2010, 21:00
I know - my 4 bridesmaids (i managed to talk DF down from 7 thank god!) are having their hair done before me, and she's expecting to start mine at about 9.30am - and then start on everyones makeup.

lozie2
21-01-2010, 13:19
well rsvp date is in 6 days and we still are waiting on 19 couples... how frustrating!!

OneNowOneLater
21-01-2010, 14:59
Deposit is now down on the chaircovers/sashes.... :smiliedance:

Blonde Assassin
22-01-2010, 13:53
When are you girls having hair & makeup trials? How early should I begin to get onto that? I've got the dress & jewelery chosen (so that helps!)

OMG but first I really need to find a celebrant!!

Have a nice weekend to all who are planning :yes:

TripleTime
22-01-2010, 14:21
I booked my hair trial last yr for this August with a September wedding.

OneNowOneLater
22-01-2010, 14:24
I got in really early and had my hair/makeup trial last thursday :D If anyone wants to see the pics, just PM me and i'll send you the link to them....

I really need to get hold of our caterer and actually pay a deposit...... No one answered the phones there yesterday....

OneNowOneLater
22-01-2010, 15:01
:D Well the deposit for the caterer is now paid for :D Another thing down lol :D

cookie087
22-01-2010, 16:49
We are finally getting everything ticked of and paid. Hair and makeup trials done, suit and dress fittings done, celebrant and officials stuff sited, vows written, cake ordered...

Only thing left now is music choices... Now that's the hard bit!

mum2ethan
22-01-2010, 18:25
Only thing left now is music choices... Now that's the hard bit!

OMG tell me about it!!! cant believe how hard it is to find the right music!!!
DF and i have a few songs that mean a lot to us, but it just doesnt seem right IYKWIM it just doesnt fit...

Sounds like everyones planning is full steam ahead!!!

OneNowOneLater
22-01-2010, 19:01
DF and I have chosen this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOtaShvmySU) to be our wedding song. Grab the tissues everyone :D

TripleTime
22-01-2010, 19:40
Sounds like everyones planning is full steam ahead!!!

Unless your me. I really cant be bothered, way to many other things going on.

moozle
22-01-2010, 22:40
Sounds like everyone has been busy! I had a very productive day today. I bought the bridesmaids dresses (well, ordered them) and we also ordered the suits (DF had a fitting). I booked the wedding night accomodation and am feeling like it's all coming together! YAY!

OneNowOneLater
23-01-2010, 17:04
Well, i found out today that my MIL wants to pay for the flowers and the cake. She apparently also said flowers for the table deco's, but i'm gonna put my foot down on that one.... We have purchased heaps of candles (not only for decorations, but for the bombeneire and attendants gifts) - so i'm not gonna let a whole heap of flowers take away from the fragrances from the candles which i specifically picked!

With the flowers, i want oriental lilies - not roses or anything else.... she'll probably try and convince me to have something other than what i want.... Aint gonna happen though!

And as for the cake, she'll probably want us to have the traditional fruit cake - but DF and i wont eat it! Choc mudcake all the way lol....

I wanted to share!

cookie087
25-01-2010, 15:02
Well I had my hens night on Saturday and had a blast! We had a Chicago 1929's theme fnacy dress and decorated the place out. We had heaps of nibbles and a slushy machine. We also had a very hot topless waiter!!
I had the best time ever! Now I just have to wait til this weekend for the bucks to be over!

Blonde Assassin
27-01-2010, 14:02
How is everyone's planning coming along?

OneNowOneLater - We are totally having a Choccy Mud Cake too!! Yummo!! Why would anyone want a yucky old fruit cake at their wedding?! :laughing:

I have organised our photographer for the big day!

I'm just unsure which of her packages I want. For those of you who've already got a photographer, how many photos are they guaranteeing for the day? My photographer offers two packages which would suit us, but I'm not sure which to choose. One has 200 photos & the other is 500 - which should I go for? We are only having a small wedding (35 guests) & no bridal party.....so would 200 be enough do you think?

mum2ethan
27-01-2010, 14:57
Well I had my hens night on Saturday and had a blast! We had a Chicago 1929's theme fnacy dress and decorated the place out. We had heaps of nibbles and a slushy machine. We also had a very hot topless waiter!!
I had the best time ever! Now I just have to wait til this weekend for the bucks to be over!

Ohhhh sounds like a fun night!! I hope my MOH does a theme for the night (hint hint, i know your probably reading this MOH :p)

Emz16 - as for photographers we only wanted professional pics at a beach location after the wedding. We figured there will be heaps of pics of the cermony and reception taken by friends and family members. So we just wanted nice sunset/beachy shots. We are getting a disc full of pics and 30 edited photos. Works out to be a heap cheaper. But we found a lot of places would only do package deals.

AFM planning is going well. Just sent off the pattern and material to my mum to make the pageboy vests!
Also found a few more cake designs i want to try out!

OneNowOneLater
27-01-2010, 22:23
How is everyone going?

Mum is going shopping with my aunty (after measuring her up - gotta love the fact that she's a dressmaker :D) to get a pattern for an outfit for my aunty - for the wedding, tomorrow....

My aunty has absolutely NO taste at all... I swear, if we let her come up with something herself, it will be cordoroy slacks with old dodgy velcro do up shoes, with a tshirt tucked in.... I want my aunty to look special! Afterall, she's one of 2 people from my bio family who is going to be there....

mum2ethan
28-01-2010, 22:01
How is everyone going?

Mum is going shopping with my aunty (after measuring her up - gotta love the fact that she's a dressmaker :D) to get a pattern for an outfit for my aunty - for the wedding, tomorrow....

My aunty has absolutely NO taste at all... I swear, if we let her come up with something herself, it will be cordoroy slacks with old dodgy velcro do up shoes, with a tshirt tucked in.... I want my aunty to look special! Afterall, she's one of 2 people from my bio family who is going to be there....

I bet your Aunty is very excited!!! Thats so sweet of you!

I paid the deposit for the DJ today!! woohoo! So happy thats done! Would be even happier to get the quote off the venue! :rolleyes: starting to get so over this!!!

Travdan
28-01-2010, 22:09
Haha ONOL, I'm just imagining your aunty. It would be nice to get her all done up and feeling special.

As for me, nothing to report wedding wise, but other big news is last week we put an offer in on a house and it was accepted. I'm so much more stressed about this than I've ever been about the wedding.

OneNowOneLater
28-01-2010, 22:16
She did seem kinda excited.... And i trust mum when it comes to clothing - she is a dressmaker by trade - and is making dd's flowergirl dress from scratch, as well as the ties etc....

Travdan
28-01-2010, 22:48
That's awesome! Cuts out a lot of cost, plus you can get exactly what you want. My bridesmaid dresses are getting made by the mum of a lady who works with MIL. So for each dress, it'll cost about $50 including the material, which I already have.

mum2ethan
28-01-2010, 22:57
Haha ONOL, I'm just imagining your aunty. It would be nice to get her all done up and feeling special.

As for me, nothing to report wedding wise, but other big news is last week we put an offer in on a house and it was accepted. I'm so much more stressed about this than I've ever been about the wedding.

Congrats on the house! How exciting!!!! Your very own place!!!

Travdan
29-01-2010, 11:00
Thanks! Yeah, our real estate told us that our landlord was only going to renew our lease for 6 months because they want to sell next summer and increased our rent by $30 per week! The house doesn't have any form of air conditioning or doesn't even have a back patio or verandah! So rude.

So in 3 days we decided to buy a house, found one and put an offer in. The new house is only about 15 minutes away from where we live now and is a lot nicer too. And has air con and a huge patio. It only works out to be an extra $80 a week on top of what we are paying in rent at the moment.

It will be nice to come back from the wedding to our own place too.

OneNowOneLater
29-01-2010, 15:45
My mum is actually willing to talk wedding plans with me atm. Turns out that she was only talking bout it being too early for hair/makeup trials to be done or to even look for one.... i do, at times, have a bit of a problem with mis interpreting things people say to me :(

But she looked over the menu we've chosen (pointed out something that we'd missed - we picked the mud cake as one of our dessert items, and that we're getting a mud cake wedding cake - and said that it would be a bit of over kill and suggested changing that option to the black forrest cake instead), looked at the cake etc.....

I'm getting all excited :D

OneNowOneLater
29-01-2010, 21:07
I've just bought DF's wedding gift - a Tie clip that is identical to his wedding band.

Here (http://www.tiesncuffs.com.au/products-1492-3508-Curved-Tie-Bar)

They have others - and are reasonably priced IMO, plus its free delivery in Australia ($10 for express post - that way if it gets lost somewhere, its traceable)

OneNowOneLater
03-02-2010, 11:59
woohoo it arrived!!!!! Its absolutely perfect! Granted, a smidgen shinier than i was expecting, but perfect none the less :D

TripleTime
03-02-2010, 15:39
Ok, i have a problem with finding a dress & im running out of time.

Where did everyone get theirs from? I need ideas.

cookie087
03-02-2010, 15:56
I got mine from a ball dress shop called Dana mathers. alot of ball shops are now stocking gowns in white, they look exactly like wedding dresses but best thing is that they are a third of the price!!!

Travdan
03-02-2010, 16:12
Yeah, a lot of formal wear stores can order a dress in nearly any colour.

I got mine from a bridal shop called Hob Nob here in Perth, which probably doesn't help.

lozie2
03-02-2010, 16:26
i got mine of idogowns.com.au

Went and picked up DFs wedding band today, and picked out he girls head pieces. they are small but i didnt want much in our hair.

everything is coming together, we have a meeting with our celebrant on saturday Arvo. then still have to meet with the reception lady to finalize menu and numbers.

Travdan
03-02-2010, 16:28
199 days to go for me! I was so excited getting under the 200 day mark lol.

OneNowOneLater
03-02-2010, 22:46
I got my dress from the bridesmaids section of one of the most upmarket bridal stores here in adelaide. Only cost me $360 = gotta love debutante dresses :D

Blonde Assassin
04-02-2010, 16:16
OMG I don't think I'll say how much my dress cost!! Just paid the deposit today & I'm still reeling! Haha!

How is everyone going with the whole "something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue" thing?

I have absolutely no idea what to use!

Something new = dress

Something blue = garter

Everything else I dunno! Mum can't find her veil anywhere, that could be both the borrowed & old item! So we're going on a hunt to find it because it'd be ideal!!

Travdan
04-02-2010, 17:48
Yeah, I'm thankful that my parents paid for my dress, I love it so so much but would never be able to afford it. It was their way of contributing because we are paying for everything else.

I think I'm borrowing my mums garter, she also has a brooch that belonged to her grandmother that I'll pin inside the dress. One of my bridesmaids offered shoes, tiara or veil, but I kinda want my own IYKWIM? Plus our weddings and styles are completely different.

OneNowOneLater
04-02-2010, 18:12
For my something old - my late grandma's engagement ring (going to wear it on my right hand), something new - my dress, something borrowed - my MIL2 is going to lend me a necklace/bracelet on the day (although she and my FIL have just split up - so i may need to find another set of jewellery) and no idea at all for the something blue - probably a garter though.

TripleTime
04-02-2010, 20:36
Something old - Mums vial
Something new - dress, providing i can find one * rolls eyes*
Something blue - Left over satin from DS's blanket tacked to the peddy coat of my dress
Something borrowed - The purls of Nan's necklace that i broke when i was 2-3, on my dress some how.

Shan
05-02-2010, 10:18
We are getting married 27th March! I have been planning it for the last 18 moths(that's when we booked everything) but now7 weeks till our wedding and after having my dress for the last 18 months I'm NOW thinking of getting new one stressing out..... :crying:

TripleTime
05-02-2010, 10:23
Shan - Your issue is one reason ive only started looking now. We're getting married in september.

OneNowOneLater
05-02-2010, 10:39
oh no Shan!

I'm actually glad, because of this fact, that i found my one true DREAM DRESS and bought it straight away. I didnt want to settle for anything else and then not like it cos it wasnt something i truely wanted.

As for me, after searching online for hours last night for pink stargazer lily hair clips (they are all too big for what i want), i looked at the website for the company who made the hairclip i have for my hair - and worked out that they make pink versions of the clip that will be in my hair.... So now i just have to go back to the chemist where i got mine and find one (hopefully they have some there)

moozle
05-02-2010, 12:53
You guys are all so super organised! I am starting to try to design invitations. I am stuck for some original ideas! Anyone?

mum2ethan
05-02-2010, 16:42
Hey Sam, I started my invites, have a sneak peek in my journal, but here is a website that has some inspirational ideas... www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au (http://www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au)
Travdan - under the 200day mark! How exciting!!! Time is just flying past!!!

Something Old - dont have anything as yet
Something New - shoes, dress, etc
Something Blue - garter
Something Borrowed - Veil

cookie087
06-02-2010, 12:29
Well I have 7 days to go and I can't wait!!! I'm counting down the days as I madly rush around finishing all those little bits that I haven't yet done!
Something old is a treasure chest we are having at the reception for cards, it's an antique.
Something new is my veil
Something borrowed is my jewellery
Something blue is my garter

All the rellies have started arriving so it's really exciting to see everyone!

flicker
06-02-2010, 12:36
hi, :wave: i am already married. but i love reading/chatting about weddings!!!

moozle- re invitations, a friend of mine is in that business. she is now designing wedding invites that are wrapped around a bar of chocolate. i dont know how it would work, but it looks so cool!

OneNowOneLater
06-02-2010, 12:45
OMG m2e!!!!!! The website you put up on this page has the EXACT guest book and pen thing that we want!!!! I LOVE YOU! :laughing:

mum2ethan
06-02-2010, 12:53
OMG m2e!!!!!! The website you put up on this page has the EXACT guest book and pen thing that we want!!!! I LOVE YOU! :laughing:

Awww shucks your making me blush :o:laughing: I LOVE that website! So full of gorgeous things!! Its where i got the invite design from. And a few other ideas that im still tweaking in my head hehe

Flicker - that idea sounds cool! Would be no good here the choc would melt too quickly lol

cookie - OMG only 7 days!! how exciting, i bet all the rellies coming up is making it feel more real!!! i cant wait to hear all about it!!!

OneNowOneLater
06-02-2010, 12:57
:laughing: Do you know hard it is to find this (http://www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au/store/catalog/Wedding_Guest_Books_Wedding_Guest_Book__Diamante_C irclet_White.html) book anywhere?!?!?!?! yet one look at the site you linked, i found it straight away!!!!!

mum2ethan
06-02-2010, 13:18
:laughing: Do you know hard it is to find this (http://www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au/store/catalog/Wedding_Guest_Books_Wedding_Guest_Book__Diamante_C irclet_White.html) book anywhere?!?!?!?! yet one look at the site you linked, i found it straight away!!!!!

:laughing: thats so funny! Its meant to be :skywriter: GORGEOUS book BTW!!! and not a bad price either!!!

lozie2
06-02-2010, 13:21
cookie- will be thinking about you in a week, i have 21 days to go! i don't feel organized at all anymore!

O well!

Something Old - dress
Something New - shoes,
Something Blue - mum has organized that not too sure!
Something Borrowed - wishing well

I got my garter yesterday, I LOVE IT! My df and i are big footy people he is essondon i am hawks, i go a hawks garter off ebay... NOT showing my DF til the day!

OneNowOneLater
06-02-2010, 13:29
:laughing: DF was like "$50 for a pen?!?!" my response "It matches the book!!!!"

flicker
06-02-2010, 13:30
that is a great idea lozzie2!

yeah not sure how it would work in summer, but they certainly are unique. and as a chocoholic any oppotunity is good......mmmm

fox_girl
06-02-2010, 15:58
Wow everyone is getting soo organised and I am being so slack.

Even though I can go with the place I initially wanted. We decided against it.

Private ceremony on the beach with just a light dinner somewhere for reception. Still on our anniversary though.

OneNowOneLater
06-02-2010, 19:02
The IL's invited fox_girl?

mum2ethan
06-02-2010, 19:46
Yay im so excited i just finished doing the outside of all my invites!!! Here are some pics:
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0958.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0973.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0974.jpg

ONOL - :laughing: men :rolleyes: they dont understand that things have to match!!! hehe

fox_girl - ohhh that sounds so lovely and intimate!!

OneNowOneLater
06-02-2010, 20:14
m2e = aint that the truth! The amusing thing is, he's constantly going on about how he's a perfectionist in the artistic sense. Not to mention, the tie clip i've purchased is identical to his wedding band, and the earrings we have on layby match mine! haha....

flicker
07-02-2010, 09:29
mum2ethan- love your invites!

lozie2
07-02-2010, 14:46
DF Had his bucks night last night,,, IM SO ANGRY! they had a topless barmaid which i dont care that, then DFs mate gf turned up and was here all night... ITS A BUCKS NIGHT. i prob shouldnt be ****ed about it, but i just think its rude to turn up to some1s bucks night.
She tried hitting on my df and was asking him to massage her, he was drunk so he was, and she gave him a massage and it wasnt a clean massage... IM MEGA ****ED!

Sorry had to vent

mum2ethan
07-02-2010, 15:11
DF Had his bucks night last night,,, IM SO ANGRY! they had a topless barmaid which i dont care that, then DFs mate gf turned up and was here all night... ITS A BUCKS NIGHT. i prob shouldnt be ****ed about it, but i just think its rude to turn up to some1s bucks night.
She tried hitting on my df and was asking him to massage her, he was drunk so he was, and she gave him a massage and it wasnt a clean massage... IM MEGA ****ED!

Sorry had to vent

OMG!!!! i would be fuming!!! DF and i had an arguement about this a few months ago as his best man lives down south and his wife was whinging that she would miss my hens night so she will just go with the boys on the bucks night. I was like DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!! Its a BUCKS night for MALES!!!
Cant believe she was hitting on him!!! The nerve of some ppl!!! :banghead:

moozle
08-02-2010, 14:36
I don't know what to say lozie :hugs: I'd fe furious and we'd be having words.

Travdan
08-02-2010, 14:47
M2E, your invites are gorgeous! Great job.

Lozie, I'm so sorry. Women do not belong at bucks parties and vice versa as I don't think it's fair if one partner turns up and noone else is allowed to. And what happened with the massages? That doesn't sound right. You have every right to be furious!

Blonde Assassin
08-02-2010, 15:48
lozie - Sorry to hear! I would be soooo angry! Women should definitely NOT be at a Bucks Night, hopefully you guys sort the situation out soon!

mum2ethan - very nice invites! I might use that site when the time gets closer!

AFM - Haven't done that much lately. I'm still recovering from the wedding dress deposit! :laughing: My next project is to find a celebrant - seems they're like finding a needle in a haystack!

OneNowOneLater
08-02-2010, 21:21
lozie - I'd be p!ssed too! Makes me glad that the boys all think that a fun time is playing computer games over a beer. as for me, i'm gonna glam it up in melbourne with my bridesmaids :D

OneNowOneLater
10-02-2010, 23:15
We got our guest book and pen today - not the one from the website you put up m2e but relatively close - more matches the invites whereas the other matched the bridesmaids necklaces

http://giftables.com.au/pdfs/Wedding%20Accessories1.pdf

The guest books are on page 2 - ours is the one on the top left corner.... then on page 3, in the same spot, is our pen thingy.... we have a feather one....

cookie087
11-02-2010, 01:43
So I have 2 days to my wedding and I feel like ****. I've got a stupid bug and been throwing up all day.

Everything that could possibly go wrong has gone wrong, i now know why some people elope.

Shan
11-02-2010, 11:23
Oh no Cookie your poor bugger!! Sending you Get better vibes :wizard:

Totally understand why people elope, it would ave so much stress, time and money!!!!

Blonde Assassin
11-02-2010, 17:33
Best of luck for everything on your big day cookie!! Try & get as much rest as you can!!

I got to try on my dress again the other day!! :D Not big news I know, but it makes me feel so happy - I love it!!

OMG does anyone else get SUPER emotional when they think about all the romantic mushy stuff involved with weddings?! I'm hopeless! I cry all the time (& no i'm not UTD!) :laughing:

lozie2
12-02-2010, 09:06
Cookie- Good luck for tomorrow!

OneNowOneLater
12-02-2010, 10:01
Have fun tomorrow Cookie!!!!!! Hope you're feeling better!

Travdan
12-02-2010, 10:10
Good luck Cookie! Can't wait to see some pics.

Shan
12-02-2010, 13:26
Good luck cant wait to see pic's!!

Em: I have been playing our wedding songs and i sit here in a pile of tears! I cry every time i hear them! It will be me crying as I'm walking down the isle not my partner lol... :laughing:

mum2ethan
12-02-2010, 16:33
Hope you are feeling better Cookie!!! Good luck for tomorrow, hope its the day you have dreamed about. Cant wait to hear all about it!!!

I got to try on my dress again the other day!! :D Not big news I know, but it makes me feel so happy - I love it!!

OMG does anyone else get SUPER emotional when they think about all the romantic mushy stuff involved with weddings?! I'm hopeless! I cry all the time (& no i'm not UTD!) :laughing:

I cant wait to try on my wedding dress again!!
YES YES YES i cant listen to ANY songs without getting so emotional!!! We still havent picked the walking down the aisle song, so ive been going thru a few. And watching clips on youtube i get all teary :laughing: sad i know!!!!

mum2ethan
12-02-2010, 17:13
AHHHHHH Im so fing pssd off right now!!! I went into spotlight a few days ago to see if the paper i had ordered was in (have already done 14 invites in this paper LOVE it) and they hadnt even placed my order, in fact they LOST my order form, so they said to order it in will take ANOTHER 3 weeks, i was like NO i ordered it 3 weeks ago not my problem you f'd up. so they said they will call other spotlight stores to see if they had any in stock then it will take only a week to get here, they said they will call me back later that day.... THEY NEVER CALLED ME BACK (am i suprised really?? :rolleyes:) anyway gave them a few days then though bugger it i will chase them like usual. Just called them and she told me that the paper is discontinued and no other store has any instock... well lets just say i went off my head asking WHY they didnt call me to let me know?????? grrrr so fricken mad lucky i called and didnt go in there or i would have probably been escorted out :hair: so i dont know what im going to do, ive tried looking on the net for similar paper, but im having no luck!!!

OneNowOneLater
13-02-2010, 14:13
m2e - we had a similar problem when it came to our paper from spotlight too when we went back for more - only to be told that it had been discontinued.

After lots of research on DF's part, we finally tracked down the distributer and found a scrapbooking store on the other side of town actually stocks it.... I was gonna go all bridezilla (:laughing:) if we couldnt get more.

So my suggestion, is to work out who made the paper, contact them, and find out where-else they distribute to. And then contact them.... All else fails, start looking around at the scrapbooking stores.

Goodluck

moozle
13-02-2010, 14:29
That sucks M2E!!! I'll check out spotlight here and see if they have any and I'll send it to you if I find any. It's the red shiny one, right? cardboard or paper?

mum2ethan
13-02-2010, 14:37
That sucks M2E!!! I'll check out spotlight here and see if they have any and I'll send it to you if I find any. It's the red shiny one, right? cardboard or paper?

:hugs: Thanks Sam (please dont go out of your way tho), its the red rippled paper (shiny) i have found something online called Satin crush, but it doesnt look shiny, i have emailed them and asked them, if all else fails at least i can fall back on that.

ONOL - thanks for that might give spotlight another call and find out who the distributer is and get in contact with them. Ive heard of heaps of stories now of spotlight doing this. Sucks cos up here our choices are very limited, ive been getting most stuff off the net, and was over the moon that i could actually get something here, and could look at it properly before i ordered!

On a positive note, my dress gets here in 10 DAYS!!!! so excited!!! now i can start organising my hair and make up trials!!!

OneNowOneLater
13-02-2010, 14:49
did the paper come in a sealed bag at all? if so, it should have the name on the bag.... otherwise, definnantly give spotlight a visit.

mum2ethan
13-02-2010, 15:32
did the paper come in a sealed bag at all? if so, it should have the name on the bag.... otherwise, definnantly give spotlight a visit.

No unfortunately it just came as loose sheets i might have a barcode somewhere, but all it said was red ripples paper.

OneNowOneLater
14-02-2010, 10:38
hmmmm.....

I'd def start with the Spotlight avenue, and go from there.... Fingers crossed you can find some more paper! I know how stressful it is to find the perfect thing, and then not be able to find any more.

Cookie - I hope you had a wonderful day yesterday! I bet you were absolutely beautiful!!!! Cant wait to see some pics!

OneNowOneLater
17-02-2010, 21:09
M2E - how's it going with the paper hunt????

Man, its quiet in here! Echo, echo, echo.........

fox_girl
17-02-2010, 21:19
Hey gals,

We aren't getting married anymore!! (Well at the moment)!!!

WE are PREGNANT!!! So having a baby instead

Travdan
17-02-2010, 21:22
Wow!!!!!!

Congrats, that's wonderful news!!!!

OneNowOneLater
17-02-2010, 21:28
:D Fox, you should now just elope lol.....

Once again, congrats on the pg! Catch up some time soon perhaps?

fox_girl
17-02-2010, 21:33
Yes indeed!

cookie087
17-02-2010, 23:59
Fox -congratulations!

As for us, our wedding was awsome! Everything that could have gone wrong before the day did, but on the day it was great!

The morning was heaps of fun getting ready, but started early at 4.30am!!! Ceremony was perfect, absolutely
loved it! The reception was like a big party! We had a ball. And we defenatly had blood sweat and tears (no exageration). We then stayed in the duxton for a couple of nights which was great to get away from it all.

For those interested in photos, add me on facebook cookie087 or pm me for my name
to add me. We have put about 60 piccies up but the rest are printed in albums for everyone to come visit us and see!

lozie2
18-02-2010, 08:41
fox i would elope!

Cookie congrats on the successful day! i cant find you on facebook!

OneNowOneLater
18-02-2010, 08:51
I cant find you either cookie :(

I'll send u a pm :D

lozie2
18-02-2010, 10:57
cookie i would pm you but im really not that great with technology! lol

mum2ethan
18-02-2010, 18:14
M2E - how's it going with the paper hunt????

Man, its quiet in here! Echo, echo, echo.........

We have a touchdown!!!! DF found the paper on the net, but when we clicked on it to purchase it, the screen said page not found or product no longer available (heart attack time) so i emailed them to ask if they had it and how can i go about getting some... they replied (longest 2 days of my life :laughing:) saying they have some available and to call them, which i did straight away, the paper cost less than $2, but postage was $9.95, he asked if i wanted to purchase anything else to make the postage worthwhile (it was their standard rate) i said i dont care just get me this paper!!! :p should get it by Wed next week!!! YAY so happy now!!!

Hey gals,

We aren't getting married anymore!! (Well at the moment)!!!

WE are PREGNANT!!! So having a baby instead

CONGRATS!!!!!! Awsome news!!!! :goodvibes: Total agree that you should just elope!!! :D

Fox -congratulations!

As for us, our wedding was awsome! Everything that could have gone wrong before the day did, but on the day it was great!

The morning was heaps of fun getting ready, but started early at 4.30am!!! Ceremony was perfect, absolutely
loved it! The reception was like a big party! We had a ball. And we defenatly had blood sweat and tears (no exageration). We then stayed in the duxton for a couple of nights which was great to get away from it all.

For those interested in photos, add me on facebook cookie087 or pm me for my name
to add me. We have put about 60 piccies up but the rest are printed in albums for everyone to come visit us and see!

Sooooo great to hear your day went so well! And after all the drama before hand!! Im going to PM you for the facebook add.

Im getting very excited my dress arrives in 5 DAYS!!!!! so im going to start organising the hair and make up trials!!! cant wait!!

moozle
18-02-2010, 20:38
M2E - YAY about the paper and the dress!

Cookie - Your pics are amazing. congratulations! Sooo can you tell us what went wrong and how to avoid it?!

Fox_girl - congrats!!! That is so exciting. I think I'd probably elope too but I totally get it if you want to have the huge wedding. By the time it rolls around, you'll have earned it!

cookie087
18-02-2010, 21:18
Thanks moozie - those weren't even the professional pics, they were just ones my bro took so I'm so hanging out to see the professional ones.

Ok well we had lots of dramas on the day, but all in all it was awsome, and we seem to have notice the bad things way more than anyone else as we have only had rave reviews from everyone!

What to avoid:
1. don't stress about anything on the day. I didn't stress and just tool everything as it came. If the car breaks, it rains, or ur dress breaks (as mine did), use it as a photo op rather than a disadvantage, it's unavoidable so make the most of what u can and remember the bride is allowed to be late!
2. Be prepared to find out who ur true friends are. We had people not show, and I even threw one so called mate out the reception for being a ****
3. allow way more time than u think u will need. Time goes way too quickly!
4. Reed ur vows, u may think u will remember them but chances are u will be that caught up in emotion that u won't remember or ull be crying and just want to get it over with!
5. Write a photo list and make sure u get the shots u want, not what ur photographer wants
6. Do something different and don't worry what others think, it's if day not there's!

I'm sure there are more things but I'll add as I remember them!

Any questions just ask!

moozle
18-02-2010, 21:30
Wow, thanks Cookie - they're all really helpful and great tips! Can I ask how your dress broke? you must have lost you cool a bit then, surely?!

cookie087
18-02-2010, 21:37
The girls were doing it up (lace up) and I obviously loosed weight in the couple of days leading up to the wedding while I was sick. Anyway long story short, they were trying to get it tight enough and one of the loops snapped! Luckily my photographer was there and made a photo op of it and we all cracked up laughing! The girls managed to do up the dress, and my veil covered the back so u couldn't tell anyways! I refused to let anything spoil my day!!!

lozie2
19-02-2010, 20:18
OMG my partner just got his roster for next weekend and he 'forgot' to ask for our wedding day off! He is rostered on5-9 friday 12-4 saturday and 4-8 sunday! we are getting married at 3pm on saturday.... I told him so many times to ask for our wedding day off!! IDIOT!

OneNowOneLater
19-02-2010, 20:33
Uh oh!!!!!!

Is he going to try and get the whole day off?

cookie087
19-02-2010, 20:56
I'm sure if he explained it to his work they will willingly let him have it off. It is a once in a lifetime thing after all!

Liddy
20-02-2010, 16:27
Hello :)
Wondering if I can join you ladies, first huge congrats to you all!

My fiance` and I are getting married 6th november 2010! Can't wait, he proposed 31st october 2009 so just over a year we will be engaged! Just enough time to plan a wedding IMO lol. We had our engagement party last month, it was beautiful, really special. We have a place picked and booked, we're having our ceremony and reception in the same spot, it's an old civic gardens with big old walls and stair cases, I can't wait! I've tried on 1 dress so far and it wasn't the one but i'm still looking lol We're looking into printing off the invites soon DP is a print machinest so we'll be getting it for a good price!!
Aside from that all exciting, we have 2 little girls and they're going to be my little flower girls, dd1 will be 2.5 years and dd1 will be 14 months, gunna be cute!!

And yeah I think that's about enough intro for me, my name is Lydia btw and we're in Perth :)

moozle
20-02-2010, 23:02
Welcome Lydia and congratulations on your engagement! Of course you can join :) Looking forward to hearing how your plans are all going in the lead up to your big day.

mum2ethan
21-02-2010, 12:21

Welcome Lydia, and a huge congrats to you!! Cant wait to hear more details of your wedding and see pics, it sounds gorgeous!

lozie - OMG MEN! shocking! they would forget their heads if they werent screwed on :rolleyes: Hope he can get it sorted out, surely they can understand.

Cookie - thanks for the useful tips! Hehe sounds like you took everything in your stride on the day. Well done! And you looked so beautiful and so very happy!

AFM - my dress came in on Friday (4 days early yay) havent had a chance to try it on again, im going to organise hair and make up trials first.
I went shopping with my sister for BM dresses, as there was a big sale on, we werent ecpecting to find anything, but we did!!! Here is a pic of it (the pic doesnt do it justice, its bad quality as it was taken on mobile phone) and i will put up the pic of my dress again just so you can picture them together. I think they will go really well together :D

http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/Photo0448.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/Photo0449.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF0499.jpg

OneNowOneLater
21-02-2010, 14:18
Cookie - lol i still cant find you on there - maybe the problem is a combination of our privacy settings.......

Edited - Cookie, i've changed my search settings to allow everyone to look for me (i had it as friends of friends - so chances are we dont have any mutual friends lol)

lozie2
21-02-2010, 17:10
He got it off! :D

OMG 6 DAYS! IM SCARE AND EXCITED WELL NOT SURE HOW I FEEL!

oops caps was on...

Ethans mum I LOVE LOVE LOVE those dresses!

Aww that would be so cute jade and lilys mum! i wish cassie was walking! lol she will only be 9 months, im happy she isnt but still would be so cute if she was!

OneNowOneLater
22-02-2010, 14:17
Here are my shoes (http://novoshoes.com.au/collections/evening/princess/122.aspx). Mine are silver though (same colour as the bridesmaids dresses)

Liddy
23-02-2010, 10:18
Thanks for the welcome ladies :D

OneNowOneLater - I loove your shoes, they're gorgeous!!

Mum2Ethan - I love your BM dress it's gorgeous!!! I've been close to buying mine a couple of times, i'm going for either a nice deep purple or a pale pink and i've found some gorgeous stuff around!

Lozie - Wow not long to go for you! You must be so excited!

I'm going to try a few dresses on, on Friday, i'm excited, hoping I can find something I like!!

Blonde Assassin
25-02-2010, 20:12
OneNowOneLater - your shoes are so pretty!

Mum2Ethan - lovely dresses!

Hmm am I the only one here who is NOT having a bridal party?

We have found the most darling wedding celebrant, I'm so happy because he's just perfect! Some of the others I called sounded really over-confident & pushy, but this one is letting us do it our way & isn't the type to "run the show" IYKWIM

Actually I have a question, do celebrants usually stay for the reception afterward? Or do they just perform the ceremony & leave? I thought in some cases they stayed for a meal, but I'm not sure...

lozie2
26-02-2010, 07:29
just a qucik stop in for me... Im getting married tomorrow!
Hope every1's planning is going well!

mum2ethan
26-02-2010, 15:31
Thanks ladies!

Emz16 - Mine is just doing the ceremony then leaving, every wedding i have been to has been like that, unless you are good friends with the celebrant i dont see why they would stay for the reception.

Lozie - good luck tomorrow (not that you need it) whats going thru your mind at the moment? Cant wait to hear all about your perfect day!!!

Bubs'n'Roses
26-02-2010, 15:39
Hi everyone, mind if I crash in here?

Lozie2 - How exciting, tomorrow! Good luck, and have a wonderful day.

Emz16 - No bridal party here. DP got himself a rogue best man, but I nipped that in the bud (is that the expression lol) and there's no best men, maid of honors...

We are getting married in exactly a month. Woah. So this time next month, I will have a husband. Crazy. We've gone rather simple, just down at the registry office and then a lunch afterwards at a lovely place overlooking the river where DP and I had our first anniversary dinner. :valentine:

I have my dress already. DP has his suit. Both our daughters have their dresses. Everything is coming together. I'm just making a decision on whether to include this rogue best man.

I'm excited. Have to get a new ring however, as my one I was going to use, is broken. :(

Excited to go back and read over your plans and ideas too! :D

lozie2
28-02-2010, 20:59
We had a great day yesterday! here is a link to my pics http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...9391531&ref=mf

I had a great day, but very happy its over! Cassie was so good in the church she didn't cry at all, when her name was mentioned she put her hand up and made a noise, and when we had our marriage cert in-front of us she was holding it as well. It was just perfect!

mum2ethan
01-03-2010, 22:11
Hi everyone, mind if I crash in here?

Lozie2 - How exciting, tomorrow! Good luck, and have a wonderful day.

Emz16 - No bridal party here. DP got himself a rogue best man, but I nipped that in the bud (is that the expression lol) and there's no best men, maid of honors...

We are getting married in exactly a month. Woah. So this time next month, I will have a husband. Crazy. We've gone rather simple, just down at the registry office and then a lunch afterwards at a lovely place overlooking the river where DP and I had our first anniversary dinner. :valentine:

I have my dress already. DP has his suit. Both our daughters have their dresses. Everything is coming together. I'm just making a decision on whether to include this rogue best man.

I'm excited. Have to get a new ring however, as my one I was going to use, is broken. :(

Excited to go back and read over your plans and ideas too! :D

Hi Rosebones, wow not long till your wedding, i have been reading your journal every now and then. Sorry to hear your ring got broken! But besides that sounds like everything is starting to come together!!!

We had a great day yesterday! here is a link to my pics http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...9391531&ref=mf

I had a great day, but very happy its over! Cassie was so good in the church she didn't cry at all, when her name was mentioned she put her hand up and made a noise, and when we had our marriage cert in-front of us she was holding it as well. It was just perfect!

Sounds like such a great day! I cant see your facebook link, it just goes straight to my home page :confused: How cute is Cassie putting her hand up :laughing:

AFM - im deciding on what i should do with flowers, but i found these and love them, they are very different...
For me: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/Bk784PgB2kKGrHqEOKjMEtkmpgdN0BLZjvK.jpg

For MOH (but not so big and that colour as she will be wearing a red dress so the white will stand out more): http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/black-and-white-wedding-flowers-lgr.jpg

Bubs'n'Roses
01-03-2010, 22:28
Hi Rosebones, wow not long till your wedding, i have been reading your journal every now and then. Sorry to hear your ring got broken! But besides that sounds like everything is starting to come together!!!

The days just fly by.. its scary.

Your flowers are beautiful! I haven't got that far yet. It's coming together, thankfully people are offering to help me out since I have a creative mental block!

Cannot believe its the 2nd of March tomorrow.. oh man, I got jitters lol!!

Congrats Lozie2, I'm glad you had a wonderful day.

mum2ethan
01-03-2010, 22:49
The days just fly by.. its scary.

Your flowers are beautiful! I haven't got that far yet. It's coming together, thankfully people are offering to help me out since I have a creative mental block!

Cannot believe its the 2nd of March tomorrow.. oh man, I got jitters lol!!

Congrats Lozie2, I'm glad you had a wonderful day.

Ahhhh i know! I cant believe its MARCH already!!! seriously where has the time gone??? Im stressing out and its ages till my wedding compared to yours!!
Thats great that you have ppl offering to help, always makes things a bit easier!!!

Thanks for the flower comments, still deciding if i should get them... or if i should go something a bit more "traditional"

cookie087
01-03-2010, 23:08
M2e - I love love love ur flowers, wish I'd seen then before my wedding! I think they're awsome. Do u mind me asking where u have seen them?

mum2ethan
02-03-2010, 16:47
M2e - I love love love ur flowers, wish I'd seen then before my wedding! I think they're awsome. Do u mind me asking where u have seen them?

Hi Cookie, dont mind at all, i was browsing ebay looking at real touch flowers and came across it here is the link to the store: http://shop.ebay.com.au/angies2710/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

I just emailed her to see if she could to the white one as well, as i googled images and found that one and she sent me a link to this and its perfect: http://cgi.ebay.com.au/WEDDING-FLOWER-ARTIFICIAL-SILK-BRIDE-MAID-POSY-BLACK_W0QQitemZ290408509463QQihZ019QQcategoryZ9873 4QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp3911.m7QQ_trkparmsZalgo% 3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D3%26ps%3D6%26clkid%3D820 2912917459994708

now i just have to figure out if it does go with my dress or if its going to look silly!

mum2ethan
03-03-2010, 16:34
Ive done up a mock pic of my dress with the flowers to see if it goes... here it is http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/dress1.jpg
What do you ladies think??? Or should i be going for something more traditional? (without feathers)

cookie087
03-03-2010, 17:19
m2e - Thanks for that... I think if you are having the shoulders on ur dress then something more traditional, bit if you aren't then go for them! Love the dress too!

mum2ethan
03-03-2010, 17:49
m2e - Thanks for that... I think if you are having the shoulders on ur dress then something more traditional, bit if you aren't then go for them! Love the dress too!

Thanks for your feedback cookie, no i wont be wearing the bolero. Hmmm too many decisions!! lol i do love the flowers!

cookie087
04-03-2010, 01:06
In that case, I think u should get them, they are so so different but absolutely gorgeous! Plus, who wants to have a traditional wedding anyways, u have to add ur own flavour to ur big day!!! Goodluck with ur choice.

mum2ethan
04-03-2010, 17:25
Thanks cookie, i think im going to order them!!! they cost less than what i got quoted here for my bouquet alone, and this is including postage of both items!!!

My mum sent up the page boy vests and i recieved them today LOVE THEM!! :skywriter: she did such a great job, here are some pics of my DS http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF1087.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/DSCF1088.jpg

moozle
04-03-2010, 20:03
Mel - The flowers are gorgeous! I think you should get them! Can you return them for a refund if you don't like them?

mum2ethan
04-03-2010, 21:32
Mel - The flowers are gorgeous! I think you should get them! Can you return them for a refund if you don't like them?

Thanks Sam, I will be getting the flowers, i really love them! As for being able to return them i dont know, its from the UK. So dont know if it will be worth the postage. But i really like them and so does the bridesmaid, so looks like im getting them YAY!!!
Hows your wedding plans coming along? How are you feeling?

OneNowOneLater
04-03-2010, 22:36
WELL, i'm back! I didnt have the net for a few days cos my modem sh!t itself.

m2e - your flower choice is absolutely gorgeous...

Liddy
05-03-2010, 12:06
Mum2Ethan - Love the flowers, they're gorgeous! The vest is so cute!

I had no luck finding a dress last friday, i'm looking in a boutique shop this morning, i've tried on 1 dress there, the style was alright but it didn't cut low enough at the front felt abit old fashioned so i'm going to look again and hopefully see something I like!

Does anybody know when Tulips are in season? I'm thinking about using white tulips for my wedding.

lozie2
05-03-2010, 13:01
Love the flowers!

Tulips are winter i wanted them!

Blonde Assassin
05-03-2010, 14:33
Love the flowers!

Tulips are winter i wanted them!

Ohh are they really?! I wanted them too! So no good for October then! :no:

Liddy
05-03-2010, 18:01
Oh bummer!
I have a dilemma with the dress too, i'm loving alot of ones I try on but I think I may have to get one specificially made to fit me because my bust just doesn't seem to fit in anything and if I go a size to big the dress is wayyy too baggy but if I go the size I should be my boobs don't fit.. lovely.
What a pain in the bum, going to make it alot harder to find a dress now.

moozle
05-03-2010, 19:32
Jadeandlilys mum- you should be able to get a bigger size (to fit your bust) and get them to clip the back so you can see what it would look like if it was altered to fit your waist. Most dresses need alterations anyway so I wouldn't worry too much about that.

Mel - Plans are all going ok so far. Dress still isn't here yet, I think I'll have a few months to wait still! I really should sit down and work out a timeline of what still needs to be done and when I can/should do it! Feeling a bit better the past few days, thanks xx

mum2ethan
05-03-2010, 19:34
Oh bummer!
I have a dilemma with the dress too, i'm loving alot of ones I try on but I think I may have to get one specificially made to fit me because my bust just doesn't seem to fit in anything and if I go a size to big the dress is wayyy too baggy but if I go the size I should be my boobs don't fit.. lovely.
What a pain in the bum, going to make it alot harder to find a dress now.

Have you tried on any lace up dresses??

OneNowOneLater
05-03-2010, 20:20
JadeandLily's mum - the brides diary that i have says that Tulips are out between November and April - so you may be lucky! I also agree with the others re getting a larger size and just getting it altered after - OR a lace up dress like m2e has suggested.....

lozie2
05-03-2010, 20:39
thats off onenowonelater, my florist said they will die in the summer heat!

I wore a lace up, its great it didnt matter if you put on or lost a little weight!

cookie087
06-03-2010, 01:46
I think ull find the nov to April for the flowers is in uk or America where they have different seasons to us. They would die over here in the summer heat.

mum2ethan
06-03-2010, 12:06
Mel - Plans are all going ok so far. Dress still isn't here yet, I think I'll have a few months to wait still! I really should sit down and work out a timeline of what still needs to be done and when I can/should do it! Feeling a bit better the past few days, thanks xx

Sorry Sam dont know how i missed your post! Yes i also need to sit down and work out a timeline!!! Did the bridal store give you an estimated time for your dress to be delivered?? I STILL havent tried mine on since it has come in :o ive been dying to, but i want to wait till my stiches are out of my back and i need to organise hair and make up trials for that day as well.

I just ordered my flowers. Not bad $118 for both inc delivery!!!! Soooo much cheaper than i got quoted for here!!!

Im going to start to order my bonbonniere stuff soon. (having rock candy with our name in it... something like this: http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Rock-candy-Boiled-lollies-Bonboniere_W0QQitemZ330409705452QQcmdZViewItemQQpt ZAU_Food?hash=item4cedf3ffec

moozle
07-03-2010, 08:39
Mel- They said my dress would come sometime in June, I think!! I know it's cutting it fine but what choice did I have?!

It's going to be such a shock to see it on for the first time 'properly' with all the hair and make-up done. It's nice that you're waiting :yes:

Ugh, don't even talk to me about flowers! ha ha... nah, I'm glad you've got some beautiful ones at a bargain! Mine are going to be soooo expensive :( I have so much detail on my dress so I'm getting crystals in the boquets it's about $60 each on top of the normal price...

I love the idea of the rock candy but we've decided to just get some fardoulis chocolates in our wedding colours and use them as a bit of colour/decoration on the tables at the same time. I don't think people will mind - I know *I* wouldn't...

mum2ethan
08-03-2010, 18:01
Sam - hopefully your dress comes in early for you. :fingerscrossed:
And bugger about the flowers costing so much! Make sure you get a lot of quotes from different florists! You would be suprised at the price difference!
We are also going to have Choc hearts in the wedding colours as well as the rock candy. At least i know everyone will eat them and not leave the bonbonnieres sitting on the tables. (altho that would mean more for me :D)

My paper finally arrived today!! So i get to finish off the invites!! YAY but im sooooooooo sick of doing them! Cant wait till ive finished the last one! They are so fiddly!

OneNowOneLater
08-03-2010, 21:01
We're waiting on more paper to arrive too unfortunately - that way we can send the white bits off to the printer to get printed (they didnt print them all when we had them there - so need to send the ones they didnt do) and cut the purple ones to size so we can put holes in the, so we can put them all together.... I so totally know what u mean by fiddly.... especially when we have to glue heaps of stuff onto the front of the wedding invites.....

axelandlexismum
08-03-2010, 22:38
Hi all my name is megean and i have a 2omth old lil boy...
I havent been on bubhub for AGES lol, im getting married on April 11th 2010, almost 4 wks arghhhhhhhh id love to have some other brides to be to chat to if im welcome...

Im on fb to if anyone else is

Travdan
08-03-2010, 22:55
Hi Megean, welcome. Wow, that's not far away at all! Where are you getting married?

M2E and ONOL, I admire you alot. I don't
think I'd have the patience to make my invites. I ordered mine online from America along with the Save The Dates. They are simple but I really like them. They are cream with a teal (like my bm dresses) wrought iron border and teal print.

OneNowOneLater
08-03-2010, 23:33
lol DF is mainly in charge of the invites - I just supervise.... lol.... it was really upsetting when we found out that the paper we had was discontinued and thought we couldnt get anymore.....

LOL, its practically the only thing that i'm letting him have most of the say in hehe..... how bad is that tho? :laughing:

But essentially, we've done all of the plans together, if one of us veto something, we've always come up with a compromise... EG.... he wanted SEVEN groomsmen - I said no, we're only having 4 now lol....

axelandlexismum
09-03-2010, 09:36
Thanks Travdan for the welcome!!!!
We are getting married at this place called Glendower in Upper Beaconsfield (melbourne) its very nice a simple lil place.... I have almost finished everything, but i still feel like im forgetting something!!!! I never thought weddings would be so stressful ans tearful lol, im hoping il never have to do it again hehehehe... If anyone has any wedsites or knows of any places that sell really nice guest books and pen set it would be a great help lol...

I admire the ones who are making there own invites, i had enough stress organising them and making sure they were 100% with the lady i found online lol, but they were worth it!!!!

If anyone wants to add me on FB please just send me a message saying your from BH so i accept you lol....
Thanks again for your replys

mum2ethan
09-03-2010, 15:58
We're waiting on more paper to arrive too unfortunately - that way we can send the white bits off to the printer to get printed (they didnt print them all when we had them there - so need to send the ones they didnt do) and cut the purple ones to size so we can put holes in the, so we can put them all together.... I so totally know what u mean by fiddly.... especially when we have to glue heaps of stuff onto the front of the wedding invites.....

Hope your paper turns up soon, i cant wait to get these invites out! :hair: They are driving me insane!! lol Our paper was discontinued as well, but we searched and searched on the internet and found some. Phew!

Hi all my name is megean and i have a 2omth old lil boy...
I havent been on bubhub for AGES lol, im getting married on April 11th 2010, almost 4 wks arghhhhhhhh id love to have some other brides to be to chat to if im welcome...

Im on fb to if anyone else is

Hi Welcome Megean! Wow not long till your wedding!!! So tell us all the little details :D dress... colours... flowers... etc

OneNowOneLater
09-03-2010, 16:59
axelsmummy - look back a few pages - m2e posted a link to a site that had some absolutely gorgeous pen/book sets....

mum2ethan
09-03-2010, 17:53
the site is www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au (http://www.trulymadlydeeply.com.au)

axelandlexismum
09-03-2010, 20:54
Hey :wave:

Thanks il check the links out.... Hopefully they have something nice hehehehe!!!

Ok details, well we are having a garden wedding at this place then rerception to follow there... Im having 2 white hummers (loooooooooove hummers), my bridesmaids are wearing fuscha dresses with silver accessories.. Im wear the most gorjeous dress (well i think so anyway) from brides of Melbourne, it an A line dress with a fitted bodess and lots and lots and lots of tule and a long train, its also ivory...
My flowers are latex pink lilies with white/yellow frangipanis, they look SO real and beautiful...
The boys are wearing suits :laughing: with ivory shirts, my DS is my page boy and has a tiny lil suit well size 1 but it still looks little, my flower girl is wearing a similar style ivory dress to mine with her lil bunch of flowers and my mum and i made a halo of frangipanis for her hair!!!!

Um i just picked out all the stuff for the reception table dacor, and its different to normal but looks stunning!!!!
Ivory table cloths with black chair covers and a fuscha sash around them... The tables are having 1 tall black candlelabra with frangipanis wraped around them and fresh pink liles around the bottom with tea lights around the botom!!! Outside there is a MASSIVE deck area (which somehow im going to have to manage to walk down and look good at the same time lol) im having tule and fairy lights wraped around the edge so at night it will still look pretty...

Um i think thats all lol.... sorry for the :ecomcity: on lol, first time ive been able to really tell ppl hehehehe

Whats are everyone elses plans for there weddings?????

Travdan
09-03-2010, 21:03
Axelsmummy - I'm getting married 21 August in Phuket, at a place called Laguna Wedding Chapel, with a reception at the Dusit Thani Hotel. I wish it would hurry up!

axelandlexismum
09-03-2010, 21:06
Travdan- Naww that sounds so lovely, i wish now after all the stress etc lol i could go that but my family wont travel hehehehe imagine your photos on the beach naww gorjeous!!!!!
Add me on FB if you have it

Travdan
09-03-2010, 21:19
Aarrrgh... I'm trying to send you a PM but I'm on my phone and it won't let me send it for some reason. Can you PM me your name so I can add you?

mum2ethan
17-03-2010, 17:05
Hey :wave:

Thanks il check the links out.... Hopefully they have something nice hehehehe!!!

Ok details, well we are having a garden wedding at this place then rerception to follow there... Im having 2 white hummers (loooooooooove hummers), my bridesmaids are wearing fuscha dresses with silver accessories.. Im wear the most gorjeous dress (well i think so anyway) from brides of Melbourne, it an A line dress with a fitted bodess and lots and lots and lots of tule and a long train, its also ivory...
My flowers are latex pink lilies with white/yellow frangipanis, they look SO real and beautiful...
The boys are wearing suits :laughing: with ivory shirts, my DS is my page boy and has a tiny lil suit well size 1 but it still looks little, my flower girl is wearing a similar style ivory dress to mine with her lil bunch of flowers and my mum and i made a halo of frangipanis for her hair!!!!

Um i just picked out all the stuff for the reception table dacor, and its different to normal but looks stunning!!!!
Ivory table cloths with black chair covers and a fuscha sash around them... The tables are having 1 tall black candlelabra with frangipanis wraped around them and fresh pink liles around the bottom with tea lights around the botom!!! Outside there is a MASSIVE deck area (which somehow im going to have to manage to walk down and look good at the same time lol) im having tule and fairy lights wraped around the edge so at night it will still look pretty...

Um i think thats all lol.... sorry for the :ecomcity: on lol, first time ive been able to really tell ppl hehehehe

Whats are everyone elses plans for there weddings?????

OHHHH I LOVE HUMMERS TOO!!! im trying sooooooooooooooo hard to get a white one (very limited choice here have to go door knocking for ppl that own the hummers as no-one hires them out) I have got a contact for a black one if i cant get my white one.
Your wedding sounds so great! cant wait to see the pics of your big day! I have a journal on here that has all the details and pics of my wedding plans so far... will find the link in a minute, but basically the theme is Red, White and Black i have 1 BM, and DF has 1 GM, we have 2 page boys and 2 flowergirls.

Heres the link if you are interested in having a look: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=245171

mum2ethan
21-03-2010, 14:41
Hows everyone going? Pretty quiet in here lately...

I have booked my hair and make up trials for wed 31st, i will also be having a dress fitting on the same day, so i will be able to try EVERYTHING on with the dress, im so excited i cant wait!!! Will definately be taking pics too!!!

Bubs'n'Roses
21-03-2010, 16:27
I've got 5 sleeps to go and am so nervous!!

TurnedBatty
21-03-2010, 16:35
I've got 5 sleeps to go and am so nervous!!

Ooh its so soon!!!

Thought I should join in on this thread, we are getting married November 27th. Was meant to be april 11th, but being pregnant put a dampner on our plans! ;)

axelandlexismum
21-03-2010, 20:15
Hey all.... :wave:

Rosebones- WOW 5 sleeps... hope all goes well for you and congrats!!!!

Cazza86- Im getting married on the 11th of April, im sure your arrival of your bub will be just as if not more exciting hehehehe congrats

OMG, OMG, OMG.... 3 weeks to go!!!! I feel so stressed out about everything, im 100% sure everything is done but i have this strange horrible feeling i have missed something....
Dress and 2 fittings- check
Girls dresses- check
Suits- check
Page boy/flower girl- check
Flowers picked up - check
shoes-check
hair and makeup booked-check
place cards-check
reception organised-check
minister organised-check
wedding cars-check
favours-check
rings-check
reception decore-check
Lol sorry i just had to writeit all down lol.... Im sure im not forgetting anything just being a BRIDE i guess hehehehe, i just really have to hand over the cash for most of the stuff :no: (i dont want to hehehehe)...

Hows everyone elses plans going????? Is anyone else stressed out like me? Oh i have my finally dress fitting next monday :smiliedance: and if everything fits perfect i get to bring it home.... SO excited

Blonde Assassin
21-03-2010, 21:30
You must be sooooooooo excited axelsmummy!!

Where did you get your flowers from? They're obviously not real?? I'm interested in the possibility of fake flowers (just makes the big day so much easier!!)

mum2ethan - Hope the trials go well & they suit your dress perfectly!

As for us, we haven't made many more plans, just saving cos there's still 7 long months to go!! I'm trying to decide on a hairstyle to suit the dress. I'd love a wavey look because I have a very thin head of hair, but might consider some extensions to give it more body. Has anyone used these before?
I have chosen all of the songs for the ceremony, so that's a big step! Now I just have to stop listening to them over & over & getting all teary :D

Best of luck to those of you getting married in the next month :goodvibes:

cookie087
22-03-2010, 00:17
Goodluck to everyone with upcoming weddings, I'll be thinking of you all.

Wrx mum - I know u weren't asking me, but I also had fake flowers and everyone thought they were real and even look real in pics... So happy as that was one less stress! What sort of flowers/colours are you wanting?