View Full Version : im over the pregnant look!

24-07-2006, 17:08
Ahhh it feels like im gonna lose my mind :crying:
Im 27 weeks preggie & cant find anything to wear! I've looked in maternity clothes but none fit me they are all too big or just look like grandma clothes! Nothing in my wardrobe fits me anymore either. I went to church last night & it took me around 2 hours to find something to wear- a dress. When i did go i felt very uncomfortable & very self concious as i just feel FAT! and this is how i feel the majority of the time. At home its not too bad as i just chuck on trackies but im finding it really hard when having to go to formal places like out to dinner...etc...

What does everyone else wear that makes them feel GOOD?

Poopa
24-07-2006, 17:12
Oh :hugs:, I think we all go through this.

I avoided maternity clothes (couldn't stand the thought of wearing pants up over my belly button), so I stuck with normal clothes that gave a bit.

Through out most of my pregnancy I wore my pre-pregnancy Supre pants (grey pants, the clip broke on them and they were quite stretchy and comfortable). And I bought long tops that fit over my belly (most shops sell these now as the middriff look is out!).

I still felt like a dag though, especially towards the end of the pregnancy when I didn't see the point of buying any more big clothes.

jenna_due 28th oct
24-07-2006, 17:22
:wave: Hey, i know edsactly what you mean.
I am 26 weeks pregnant and feel like my hips, legs and bum have exploded even my feet have gotten fat, my stomach is so big my partner has to help me off the chair!!!
I have the worst trouble trying to find things to fit my growing belly, and fit nicely around legs and bum.
The only thing I have found so far were track pants, (sorry to dissapoint) but there are some nice clean looking ones avaliable and they are so comfortable.
I bought a realy nice black pair that look like normal black pants, so there perfect for going out in, I got them from target.
I found that with tops because I am so big they are too short, they dont cover my belly.
Supree have three quarter tops in a range of styles and colours that are longer than the average top, I wear them all the time and there stretchy and comfortable.
good luck, hope you find this helpful :D

jenna xoxo

ForeverMine
24-07-2006, 17:30
I'm only 19 weeks pregnant, but I have found that cotton on have the best maternity clothes. They often tell me they get heaps of pregnant mum's in because there tops are quite long ( they go past my bum) and are really streachy.

I live in cotton on clothes at the moment and there prices are really good, spessily when theres a sale on.

For pants I find that I can still squeeze into them if im lucky and when it comes to doing them up, I have just invested in a fabric belt that heaps of teens are wearing from Warehouse for Fashion for $10.

SamanthaJane
24-07-2006, 17:31
Oh krissy! i am at the exact same stage!!! :hugs:

I feel like a fat frumpy old woman! :gloomy:

Yet everyone else seems to think i barely look any different?! and that i am "glowing"?! What the?!

Only 1 pair of my usual pants fit me comfortably! And they are boring black pants! I always live in jeans, and now i cant fit into ANY of them! My bump is just growing too fast for my liking now lol!

Around home, yeah im fine with just wearing my sisters jeans coz they are a size bigger... but i wouldnt wear them out of home, because they look too baggy and daggy.

I've looked at maternity clothes (that i can actually afford$) and they are ugly!

Just try and find a simple pair of black stretchy pants, they are boring, but when u dress it up with a pretty top and nice shoes, it does make u feel better!

I do my hair and my makeup... lol, instant happiness! :laughing:

Jeffy
24-07-2006, 19:08

I am 30 weeks pregnant and live in two wrap dresses I bought - try Target. They have heaps of wrap style dresses at the moment and you can wear singlets under them, wear them over leggings or just with boots. I tie a ribbon around my waist and put girlier shoes on when I am going out. Also, I have one of those 'hippy or gypsy' style skirts that have the wide band of elastic at the top. I wear that with a lycra top that is a couple of sizes bigger than usual.

k15s
24-07-2006, 20:11
The best investment you can make is a Belly Belt. Yo can buy them online or at Bras n Things and the like. I wore my normal jeans throughout both pregnancies. You just have to either wear longer tops or invest in some of the fabric belts to cover the middle bit! I got THE best belts on ebay called Mums Tums or something. Great fabric and big enough to basically keep me in my pre-pregnancy clothes.

danik
28-07-2006, 14:08
I'm also having a bit of a sad with the clothes issue.

I have bought a whole heap of maternity clothes off ebay.

I have found a majority of maternity clothes quite daggy but ended up pleased with what I found on ebay.

New maternity clothes can also be expensive so the buying on ebay made such a difference.

Tam-I-Am
28-07-2006, 15:23
I must be really weird, cause the only time in my life that I've been truely happy with my body, and confident with the way that I looked was when I was between 20 and 36 week pregnant! I had pretty clothes that were flattering and made me feel great. My skin was cr@p, but I glowed (or so I'm told!)

I lived in Pumpkin Patch maternity clothes because they weren't too expensive (ie you can get a fairly decent top for under $30 and a cool-ish pair of pants for unde $50). They didn't make any really outragous fashion statements - but they were okay! And, BTW - Pumpking Patch have a huge sale on now, so it might be worth having a look. Here (www.pumpkinpatch.com.au) is the website.

(Just thought I'd add I am in no way affiliated with PP - I just love their clothes!)

carles
28-07-2006, 15:30
I'm only 19 weeks pregnant, but I have found that cotton on have the best maternity clothes. They often tell me they get heaps of pregnant mum's in because there tops are quite long ( they go past my bum) and are really streachy.

I live in cotton on clothes at the moment and there prices are really good, spessily when theres a sale on.

For pants I find that I can still squeeze into them if im lucky and when it comes to doing them up, I have just invested in a fabric belt that heaps of teens are wearing from Warehouse for Fashion for $10.

Cotton On - definitely a life saver!

M O P
28-07-2006, 15:35
Try www.froufrou.com.au (http://www.froufrou.com.au)
I found them through Bubhub and was able to get a few basics, a couple of good belly tubes and a pair of pants. I used the belly tubes so I could wear shirts I already had, but just not done up over my tummy, they were also great for using to cover a Belly Belt.

pebilz
28-07-2006, 19:52

I'm exactly the same!!! Cotton on is the best! I still am just fitting into my normal jeans and am hoping for the warmer weather to come around really soon so I can wear my capri's from my first pregnancy which actually have some sort of style!!

28-07-2006, 19:55
Thanks for the tips guys. I had a look at supre & found some great tops just on the look out for some pants as DP wouldnt stay with me & i got rushed out of the shop before i got to get some :(

Holly_Golightly
28-07-2006, 20:15
Although you've been there, I find Supre pants great too. I have black stretchy pants and even there are jeans are very low cut so sit fine under the belly but I recommend a longer top so as not to ummm 'hang out'.

I cannot wait for summer. I have a few pairs of knee length shorts that are so comfy from Supre and just stocked up on Empire waist dresses and tops. They have heaps of room to grow into but don't look too frumpy. I am just wearing a winter coat and tights atm. This summers fashion is very preggie friendly.

I have one pair of maternity pants from PP. They are roll top black pants and I love them. So comfy but fitted. They are on sale atm for $40.

Also there is a seller on Ebay (don't know if I am allowed to mention their name) who makes really cute dresses and tops but probably not that great for winter but very cheap.

*Sparkles*
28-07-2006, 20:22
I bought my first pair of preggy jeans last weekend, they are adjustable so should see me through. I was just starting to need the button undone on my normal jeans, so I'm not very big yet. The maternity jeans cost $100 (and that was in a sale) preggy clothes are soooooo expensive!
I have bought some pre-loved clothes from ebay. I have got 3 tops, and 4 pairs of pants and the lot would have cost me about $50. But I suppose it depends on whether you have a problem with wearing second hand stuff? Personally, it doesn't bother me as it's something I will only need for a few months and the clothes are in good condition as the previous owner only wore them for a short time too.
It's worth a look for those who don't have a problem with the idea.

DjF
30-07-2006, 16:27
I know somebody else mentioned target - yesterday we were in there to get some homewares and they have a really great selection of stretch patterned dresses - if i was pregnant id be in there in a flash buying them! They were really pretty and some had adjustable ties just under the bust. Everlast (can get at sports stores) also have some really nice fold over pants - not just tracksuit pants either!:D