View Full Version : Brisbane AUGUST dinner

TJ
23-07-2006, 18:03
Hello Ladies,

thought i would try and give everyone as much notice as possible for the next Dinner.
I was thinking Saturday 26th August - 7.00pm ish....
I havent come up with a venue as yet - but will probably be in the city or city fringe so its central to most people.

If you have any suggestions let me know. Or as soon as i come up with one ill let you all know.

Tara x

Can a mod please make this a 'sticky'

veve
23-07-2006, 19:34
firstly - congrats on winning (or getting lol) the gnome...

a night time dinner sounds WONDERFUL!!!!

looking forward to hearing more...

bec79
23-07-2006, 21:33
Geez, your quick!

Count me in. The 26th is good for me ATM.

23-07-2006, 21:34
the date sounds good so far. august is a busy busy month for me, too many bdays! but towards the end is ok! where? where? where? decisions decisions decisions! me? no idea :p as long as its warm there (august winds i cant stand lol) for Angelina and I, we will be there

23-07-2006, 22:03
Hey thats my birthday that day!!!! :D So I prolly wont make it sorry.

Gribel
23-07-2006, 22:09
Hi Guys

since I missed the last few ones, I will try my very best to come to this one! SO I can fianlly meet everyone YAY:smiliedance:

Let me know where and when...may i suggest the Turkish restaurant at Southbank? :D Yummmm and we could get up to some bellydancing :laughing:

Belinda :p

dragonflyblu
23-07-2006, 23:17

I am new to this forum and to Brisbane. I would love to meet some other bubhubers, is this just for mums or are mums-to-be welcome as well?

TJ
24-07-2006, 07:06
mums 2 be are welcome as well!!
Im a "trying to be a mum" so the more the merrier!!

Welcome to bubhub!

belinda
24-07-2006, 07:31
That date sounds great to me i will be there.. mmm i will have a think of where to have it....

lukaelmo
24-07-2006, 07:43
Dinner! Yay! I can do dinner...

Happy bday for 26th PB.

Shelly68
24-07-2006, 11:22
Tara-jane, everybody is welcome

(pssss, except Lukaelmo, she's just a worry that one)

I may even be able to make this one, I like dinners!!

24-07-2006, 14:21
I should be able to make it! :fingerscrossed:

24-07-2006, 14:57
Hopefully I'll be able to make this one :D

filmgirlgail
24-07-2006, 15:13

I'm new to this thread but would like to come. Luckily it doesn't clash with me seeing Hugh Jackman live the following Saturday in The Boy From Oz - sorry, just have to drop that one in whereever I can :p I've told my husband that even though I'll be less than a week away from giving birth I will still be sitting there drooling over Hugh in tight pants :D

Anyway, yes I plan to be there - maybe Park Road in Milton? Lots of restaurants there.

24-07-2006, 18:04
..may i suggest the Turkish restaurant at Southbank? :D Yummmm and we could get up to some bellydancing :laughing: [/FONT]

Belinda :p

ooh are u talkin bout the lebanese restaraunt chez le las? YUMBO!!!! although bit pricey, but worth it

SweetDreams
24-07-2006, 18:21
OMG I think I can make this one! Yippee! I'll have to bring bubs though... how's pram space? lol

Susan :)

24-07-2006, 19:34
Happy bday for 26th PB.
Why thankyou Ali!! :D

Hope you all have fun!!

bec79
24-07-2006, 20:04

maybe Park Road in Milton? Lots of restaurants there.

Thats where we had the last get together. I'm happy to go there agian, but somewhere different might be nice??

filmgirlgail
24-07-2006, 20:31
Hi Sweet Dreams

Just wondering if you have French connections from your signature?

24-07-2006, 22:27
Can I be the first to admit I'm not -really- made of a lot of money right now, so not somewhere heaps expensive? or somewhere with a range of meals and prices. :)

veve
24-07-2006, 22:33
Can I be the first to admit I'm not -really- made of a lot of money right now, so not somewhere heaps expensive? or somewhere with a range of meals and prices. :)

DITTO :D

TJ
25-07-2006, 07:25
Oh damm, there goes the 5 star French restaurant booking i had made!!

All good, i was thinking along the same lines as well! Havent come up with somewhere as yet, but i promise i will have made a decision by Saturday/Sunday and ill PM you all!

25-07-2006, 09:08
DITTO :D

:yes: i third that :p

♥My Innocent Angel♥
25-07-2006, 16:08
i am definetly interested ....just curious will it be child friendly as i dont really have anyone to watch mia out here so if its not may not be able to make it

Shelly68
25-07-2006, 16:16
What about the place where we had the very first meet, the food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was pretty good, and I can't for the life of me remember the suburb but it was a great place to go.

Somebody will remember, they had massive slabs of meat that you could choose from, I got the schnitzel and it was delish.

Very central to everybody (about half way)

25-07-2006, 16:40
that was the norman, wasn't it?

TJ
25-07-2006, 19:54
that was the norman, wasn't it?

yep i checked out the little Nick-o-less book and thats were it was.... where abouts it is?? i have no idea, never heard of it. your not talking about the Normanby hotel are you?

ForeverMine
25-07-2006, 19:58
yep i checked out the little Nick-o-less book and thats were it was.... where abouts it is?? i have no idea, never heard of it. your not talking about the Normanby hotel are you?

Oh Gwad.... now that place brings back memories... back in the days of (what a year ago) of reckless drinking and smoking and what not...

But I do LOVE the place on a sunday arvo. :D

veve
25-07-2006, 19:59
yes - the first meet was at the normanby hotel .. it was lovely food.. I dont know about child friendly though - there was barely enough room for JAcks' pram .. and he was the only child there..

oh .. and it is pretty loud... it would be really nice to find somewhere a little more quiet.... ( I know that everyone can hear you shelly .. but that would be due to your OWN volume device :p )

mum23girls
25-07-2006, 20:06
I'll be in!! :thumbsup:

I would suggest crushers.. they have a smorgasboard. They are at the Grange. Nice food of hot and cold!!

25-07-2006, 20:20
nono not the normanby! The norman!! different places! The Norman is on the south side... I can't remember the suburb... :S

the Normanby is up near Ashgrove.. although it's not too bad of a place, I just don't think it's a dinner place as much as it is a pub.. ?

♥My Innocent Angel♥
25-07-2006, 21:40
well good news on my end my mum is going to watch mia so it will just be big old me
lol

Pink73
25-07-2006, 22:02
nono not the normanby! The norman!! different places! The Norman is on the south side... I can't remember the suburb... :S

the Normanby is up near Ashgrove.. although it's not too bad of a place, I just don't think it's a dinner place as much as it is a pub.. ?

The Norman is near the Gabba and PA hospital if you mean where thay do great steaks

TrulyBlessed
25-07-2006, 22:02
What about the breakfast creek hotel? I hear they have great food and not too badly priced. Plus I believe they have a fair bit of space and best of all there is parking and easy to get to via public transport.

Pink73
25-07-2006, 22:07
The Breakfast creek and the norman are both great and both are owned by the same person

TrulyBlessed
25-07-2006, 22:08
The Breakfast creek and the norman are both great and both are owned by the same person

Really I didn't know that.

26-07-2006, 08:47
they did seem similar :D

26-07-2006, 12:54
never heard of the norman :o only the normanby hotel. lols. sozzies, i cant think of anywhere atm, brain still gone. ( i think it aint returned since 98 :p ) but if i think of somewhere nice and cheap i will post agin.;)

Pink73
26-07-2006, 14:53
I have been told the SSS BBQ barn on Ann st is nice its like lone star thay give you nuts in a bucket when you arrive good for big groups if you look at there web site you can look at the menu

laura25
26-07-2006, 15:52
Hey i would love to come along to the dinner and meet u all, have not been able to come to any before because of work but i should be able to make it this time:smiliedance:

TJ
26-07-2006, 21:27
Ok - have come up with a location!!

PM me for the details!

ill call tomorrow and book a table for 20 as a tentative number, least that way we have our "foot in the door"

squiglet
31-07-2006, 10:19
Count me in!
I was so bummed out when I realised I had missed the last one.

♥My Innocent Angel♥
31-07-2006, 10:51
Count me in i cant wait im on the countdown

belinda
31-07-2006, 10:56
im coming this time aswell....

TrulyBlessed
31-07-2006, 11:00
I'll be coming also

neeny
31-07-2006, 11:47

AM new here - our bub is only 8 weeks old this week. We're keen to meet new parents. Please advise me (via email preferably) the venue. Thanks! We live in northern suburbs.

PS. I will have to check with your chosen restaurant as I'm on a gluten free diet (ie. Italian is NOT good!).

My email is : neeny1870@hotmail.com

Kooy
31-07-2006, 11:57
Tara-jane - I'm in!

Please PM me the details!!

TJ
31-07-2006, 20:47
Ok

going to start a list (i still havent booked a table, i know there is plenty of time, ill try and remeber to do it tomorrow, ill just make a tentative booking)

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw

bec79
31-07-2006, 21:09
I'll be there....

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79

Pink73
31-07-2006, 21:38
Me to

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273

TrulyBlessed
31-07-2006, 22:04
I maybe bringing a friend too

mum23girls
31-07-2006, 22:59
me three!!!

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273
mum23girls(Anne-Marie):thumbsup:

♥My Innocent Angel♥
02-08-2006, 18:16
:wave: just wanted to say

24 days to go :yelclap:

:laughing: not that im excited or anything

(i cant wait to meet all you lovely WOMEN ):smiliedance: (and DP's and or Kidlets)

Gribel
02-08-2006, 19:48
I'll be there, too:chef:

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)

Amy, can I catch a lift with you? :D

TrulyBlessed
02-08-2006, 20:01
I'll be there, too:chef:

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)

Amy, can I catch a lift with you? :D

LOL you're the friend I was bringing. HEHE :thumbsup:

Gribel
02-08-2006, 20:17
LOL you're the friend I was bringing. HEHE :thumbsup:

:laughing: see, now that's funny:laughing:

Kooy
02-08-2006, 21:54
Don't forget me...

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)

Pink73
03-08-2006, 08:32
Good idea just put real name in

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)

Mummy2Amelia
03-08-2006, 11:27
Hello ladies, i am interested in coming. I am just wondering if dp's and kids can come?

dragonflyblu
03-08-2006, 11:47

I have nothing on that night so I should be able to make it. Yay!

mum23girls
03-08-2006, 16:18
If anyone would like a lift I am coming from Mango Hill and I will have one other with me, so, if you do want to squish in the back seat, I am more than happy to take others!!! (You can be norti then!!) I will even take the baby seat out!!:D

first in first served!!!

Just let me know!

Kooy
03-08-2006, 16:45
Great idea mum23girls!

I'm coming from Everton Park, so am happy to pick anyone up who lives locally or on the way.. I'm still b/f so happy to be designated driver for the night!

Can't wait... it will be a fun night! :smiliedance:

Jewelbar
03-08-2006, 18:05
Hi All,:wave:
Well, after discovering that I DIDNT get sick after my interesting night in June, I went to Samford to house sit and work a home business for a month.

After that we came back, but it has been flat out, just to get a nursery together. It was finally finished today, although it looks a little sparce or "bland" as my husband puts it. We need some nails for hanging pics on the walls etc. I am also doing 2 oil paintings for babys room. I have done the prelim sketches, but havent started with the oils. I will do that tonight. It is a total experiment because I havent used oils before.

Of course I would love to come to this months dinner, but wont put my name on the list, for more than obvious reasons. Next month or November I will be out and will force myself to come!!!:smiliedance: (Mine or Babys health permitting).

I am so sorry to disappear without a trace in June. Ive missed the friendly banter on this group.:thumbsup:

:0)
Jade.

Pink73
03-08-2006, 18:28
Great idea mum23girls!

I am coming from Bellbowrie and would be happy to give anyone a lift that is on the way (kenmore,Indooroopilly,towong,and anywhere in between.)

juliek
03-08-2006, 23:36
Great idea mum23girls!

I'm coming from Everton Park, so am happy to pick anyone up who lives locally or on the way.. I'm still b/f so happy to be designated driver for the night!

Hi Naomi,

I'd love to take you up on your offer, I've pm'd you :)

Julie.

squiglet
08-08-2006, 08:54
I can't wait to meet the bub hub girls too!:yelclap:
Poor dh is sick of hearing about it now:rolleyes:

~V&M~
09-08-2006, 13:52
Hello ladies, i am interested in coming. I am just wondering if dp's and kids can come?

Yeah I was wondering about this too :confused:

TJ
09-08-2006, 19:17
I dont mind if they come - im not sure what the 'rules' are, i have only ever been to brunch's before never a dinner, partners havent come to the ones i have been to!

:confused:

any other takers?

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)

TrulyBlessed
10-08-2006, 16:54
I think it depends on how old the kids are. I have bought my DS to the last one as he is only 3 months old and relies on the boob for his feeds. I know Veve has bought her little man a couple of times but he is a young one too.

TJ
11-08-2006, 20:30
OK table is booked under the name of BUBHUB
seeing as its a pretty big place, might be best to ask a staff member where the table is, either that walk around until you see a group of ladies and a few littlies....

i have booked it for 20 just in case a few more definitly come

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)
Chrissydec06

SassyMummy
12-08-2006, 01:09
I'd like to add my name to the list...but I dunno whether I'll have someone to watch DD or not yet...(too late to ask anyone at the moment)...so I'll let you know.

Could you PM me the details just in case?

THANKS!

Bel75
14-08-2006, 11:37
Could you please add me to your list?

Bel.

PS - anyone need a lift from Virginia/Geebung way? - just PM me

TJ
14-08-2006, 18:27
Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)
Chrissydec06
Bel75

squiglet
16-08-2006, 17:12
Just checking, but dinner is on the 26th right? (got the dates mixed up on the calendar:rolleyes: )

I am not bringing dh:D He will be ok without me though. He has a birthday party to go to that night.

filmgirlgail
16-08-2006, 17:51

Please put put my name down as coming so that you book to include me, but I'll just have to see how I feel on the night as I will be 37 weeks pregnant that day :yes: but at least I'll be closer to the Wesley if anything happens :D but I would like to meet up with you before I have bubba #2

TJ
16-08-2006, 21:22
Just checking, but dinner is on the 26th right? (got the dates mixed up on the calendar:rolleyes: )

I am not bringing dh:D He will be ok without me though. He has a birthday party to go to that night.

Yep on the 26th!!

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Shae_mia
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)
Chrissydec06
Bel75 + Tiff
filmgirlgail

ButterflyMama
16-08-2006, 21:30
I'm kind of interested but I think it's maybe a bit early for me..maybe I'll go to the next one.. I'm only very tiny pregnant and I don't think I know you all well enough yet.. feel like too much of a n00bie.. maybe next months.. :thumbsup:

TJ
17-08-2006, 19:43
:laughing: haha Dont feel like a Noobie!!
You're more than welcome to come along!!

Im not pregnant or even a mum just yet so dont feel weird because of that!

SassyMummy
19-08-2006, 18:49
Add me to your list please!

Just got confirmation from my mother that she can watch DD. DP's going to the footy that night, so maybe I can drink a little bit...and he can drive me home. lol.

(I don't drive...I'd just have to use public transport...and I'd rather not be a little p*ssed when doing that...).

Does anyone know what time is starts (I'll check the thread to make sure it's not in there already...)...and does anyone know what train station is closest?

dragonflyblu
19-08-2006, 20:07

Can you add me to the list as well. Not bringing my DH just me:wave:

TJ
19-08-2006, 20:49
Tara-Jane
Taylor
Mum21princess (shae)
Belinda
Amyw
Bec79
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)
Bel75 + Tiff
filmgirlgail
Dragonflyblu
Sassymummy

Chrissy - i have taken you off for now, but hope you can make it!!

SassyMummy - im not really sure whats the closest station.... um maybe Fortitude Valley - you would then need to get a bus or a cab.
Sorry im NOT a big help

I've just got to make sure I actually bring Nik-o-less with me, or ill be in big trouble.

Dinner is on SAT 26th Aug - @ 7.00pm
Table is booked under the name of BUBHUB

westendmum
21-08-2006, 13:06
Hello

Please can you let me know the details I'd like to come along if possible.

Im new to Brisbane, what is the restaurant/ area?

bec79
24-08-2006, 08:05
Sorry to pike at the 11th hour, but I'm not going to be bable to make it on Saturday.

I was so looking forward to meeting all those new faces and having a few drinkies. Someone will have to fill me in on all the goings on.
Definately count me in for next time.

Bec.xx

TJ
24-08-2006, 20:07
Oh bec, sorry to hear that! We'll have to catch up for drinkies next time.

Tara-Jane
Taylor
Mum21princess (shae)
Belinda
Amyw
kmam7273 (karen)
mum23girls(Anne-Marie)
Gribel (Belinda)
Kooy (aka Naomi)
Bel75 + Tiff
filmgirlgail
Dragonflyblu
Sassymummy
ChrissyDec06 (Chrissy)

filmgirlgail
25-08-2006, 10:12

I'm going to have to say no to tomorrow night, although I will keep my eye on this site for further meetings. Just as I am getting Braxton Hicks every day and they get worse in the evening and I'm usually in bed watching telly or reading at 8-8:30!

westendmum
25-08-2006, 21:09
Hi Tara Jane

Sorry but my babysitter has cancelled so wont be able to make it to dinner.
Have fun

ButterflyMama
25-08-2006, 22:02
I've been sick with M/S all week.. love to make it to the next meet, though. :) Have fun everyone!

squiglet
26-08-2006, 17:48
I'm feeling a bit under the weather, and tired too............

But there is no way I'm missing the bub hub dinner, will be dragging my sorry bum down there no matter what.
So see all you girls soon:wave:

TJ
26-08-2006, 18:19
Sorry to hear that some of you cant make it!

And i cant wait to see the rest of you shortly!!!

TJ
26-08-2006, 23:31
Well I've just come home from the dinner, and it was great to see you all there!!

Shae(Mum21princess) & Belinda(Gribel) sure know how to knock back a few glasses of bubbly!
Speaking of glasses Stacey (Sassymummy) sure knows how to break them;)

Nick-O-Less has gone to a fantastic home for the next month to Chrissy (chrissydec06) however he is going to need a band aid or 2 after the "accident" on the way to the dinner........ :eek: he fell off the back seat, and he broke away from his 'stand' he himself is in tact tho - thank god!!! (Chrissy - it can be our secret as to how you won to gnome)

SO Chrissy, good luck planning the next meet!
Cant wait to meet you all there!

Gribel
26-08-2006, 23:44
Hi tara-jane

thanks for organizing a great night out - and I had to drink so I could keep up with shae ......

can't wait for the next meet

Belinda

TrulyBlessed
26-08-2006, 23:48
Thanks for a great night ladies. Sorry that my little man was a bit grizzly at the start. He's in bed now fast asleep. Hmmm that seems like a good idea. I might do the same. Looking forward to the next one. See you all then.

veve
27-08-2006, 07:46
Nick-O-Less has gone to a fantastic home for the next month to Chrissy (chrissydec06) however he is going to need a band aid or 2 after the "accident" on the way to the dinner........ :eek: he fell off the back seat, and he broke away from his 'stand' he himself is in tact tho - thank god!!!

oooh .. I got a fright .. you are lucky he is repairable!!! shee wizz ... I miss a dinner and all hell breaks loose!!!! Nick-o-less is a bubhub tradition... take good care of him chrissy!!!

TJ
27-08-2006, 10:46
:eek: You got a fright??? I nearly wet myself when i heard it go clunk off the backseat, i was scared to open his box for the fear that he would have lost his head:o
He should of had his seat belt on :shame:

dragonflyblu
27-08-2006, 12:27
HI girls,

I am sorry I missed it. My DH came home from work at 6pm with 2 couples that he works with and a half a salmon! So we had an impromtu dinner party at our house. My sweet DH had forgotten that I was going out and decided to surprise me. How could I get mad? Anyway, sounds like you had a great night and hopefully I will make the next one.:wave:

mum23girls
27-08-2006, 13:57
Thanks Ladies!! I had a blast..........see you at the next one!!:thumbsup:

SassyMummy
27-08-2006, 14:52
lol...we should have put the broken glass in the box with Nick-o-Less! :laughing:

I had a great time too...and will definately be coming next time.

Don't worry about your grizzly little boy Amy...he was so cute! I actually loved the pout he did before he started to cry (DD used to do it when she was younger...but she never does anymore...I miss that cute pout!).

TJ
27-08-2006, 18:00
hah Amy dont worry - he only cried when Gribel pinched him!!

haha the broken glass would have gone well with broken Nik-o-Less:o

Gribel
27-08-2006, 18:26
hah Amy dont worry - he only cried when Gribel pinched him!!

Nooooooo - you all got it wrong - he pulled the lip when Anne-marie started cooing at him :laughing:

He loves me:D

TrulyBlessed
27-08-2006, 18:59
Nooooooo - you all got it wrong - he pulled the lip when Anne-marie started cooing at him :laughing:

LOL. I think Declan would be impressed if he knew he had grown women talking about him. :D hehe.

TJ
27-08-2006, 20:27

Sorry my bad - i got confused coz you swapped seats!!

Hows the head treating you now?

mum23girls
27-08-2006, 20:27
yeah, I am a bit of a scarey person!!!:devil6: :devil6: :laughing:

♥My Innocent Angel♥
27-08-2006, 20:41
Hi tara-jane

thanks for organizing a great night out - and I had to drink so I could keep up with shae ......

can't wait for the next meet

Belinda

And who was telling who to drink up in the beginning:D

i had a ball thanks tara-jane

everyone was so nice :yelclap:

Gribel
27-08-2006, 20:43
..and who bought the bottle of bubbly?

♥My Innocent Angel♥
27-08-2006, 21:00
..and who bought the bottle of bubbly?

:devil6: :ecomcity: who had the hangover :laughing: :laughing:

Gribel
27-08-2006, 21:06
:devil6: :ecomcity: who had the hangover :laughing:

me - cause i at least had a real drink in the end - not some cordial drink:laughing:

belinda
28-08-2006, 10:03
i had a great time to girls was great to meet you all.

TJ
28-08-2006, 18:26
How come this isnt a sticky anymore?? :confused:

drewid
28-08-2006, 18:28
I took it off sticky because the August dinner has been and gone, and there is a new thread for the September dinner :)

TJ
28-08-2006, 20:12
makes perfect sense, just wondered why the rest were there, but i see they are 'unstuck' as well. i was clicking on the wrong thread all the time coz i didnt realise it had been changed.

filmgirlgail
01-09-2006, 11:24

Looks like I made a good call by saying I wouldn't come as Alexander decided to arrive that day!! He decided not to wait and came 3 weeks early. He was born by c-section at 00:18 on Saturday August 26th weighing 6lbs 7oz. He was in special care for a few days whilst his lungs cleared themselves, but he was then discharged to my care and we came home today. He is currently asleep on me so I'll keep this brief.

Gribel
01-09-2006, 12:11
:smiliedance: Congratulations!!!:smiliedance: