View Full Version : Tummy time and sitting up

mumofesme
21-07-2006, 16:44
My 6 month old baby is able to sit up pretty much by herself now. She didn't learn this from tummy time, just from me propping her up against me. I know this is not recommended but she much prefers this cos she can actually play with things properly.

Should I be discouraging this, or is that just silly? Am I the only one stressed by the importance of tummy time? Our mums didn't worry about tummy time and we can all walk properly!!
What's everyone's thoughts?

Little Gorilla
21-07-2006, 18:11
my bub hated "tummy time" - so, he hardly ever had it...he sat up well unasisted very early.
he was a late crawler (lazy and chubby)
he was a late walker, however, he never went through that "drunk" looking stage many first walkers do, he was very stable on his feet and ran very quickly afterwards

Jenko
21-07-2006, 18:47
My DD didn't like tummy time much either. She was sitting unsteadily at 6 months - she had to have cushions around her for a while. By 7 months she was sitting ok. She crawled at 9 months and walked at 11 months.

I was a little concerned because you hear and read how important it is. I still tried her on her tummy for short times but i didn't push it too much.

If your daughter is happy to sit propped up against you then i think that is fine. She would let you know if she was uncomfortable or not satisfied.

Mini
21-07-2006, 19:13
I wouldn't worry about tummy time! I got told off my by CHN for not giving DS lots of tummy time, but he HATED it! :o Anyway, eventually he reached an age where he was happy with it and now crawls happily! Like you say, its not like you walk down the street and look at a stranger and think "that person obviously didn't have any tummy time!!!".

I also wouldn't worry about propping your daughter up to sit - that's the approach I've taken, too as DS feels safe and secure. Its good because I can help him play while I'm keeping him upright! He now sits quite well, but I usually have a triangle pillow behind him just in case!! :D

21-07-2006, 20:37
I give DS heaps of tummy time and he rolls straight over, so if it works for you, thats great. I might try it with DS to help.

JeSsIkA
21-07-2006, 20:43
My DD hate tummy time..so we hardly ever did it, i think i spend most of my time holding her when she was little..until she could sit.. i had nothing else to do.

My DS is totally different, he LOVES tummy time, he rolls all over the place.. following peoples voices, especially DDs.. he spends heaps of time on the floor with his toys...he is unable to sit and i think it will be a while before he will..

i reckon if they linke tummy time do it, if they dont.. well dont worry..