View Full Version : christmas budget

kessi
01-12-2009, 17:22
:xmas:hi all,
just wondering what the average person spends on each of there children for xmas:reindeer: it just seems to be all about money,money,money :( its easy buying for younger children but as they get older it gets so more expensive!

Gumby
01-12-2009, 18:06
Things have chopped and changed threw out the year but our final budget is $300 per child (we have 3) plus about $200 all up for stocking fillers (barbies, skipping ropes, paint, matchbox cars and so on) We only spent $50 each on nieces and nephews and my smaller brothers and sister.
So gifts this year cost us all up $1400. We dont buy for adults :no:

Kittylou
01-12-2009, 18:09
Our budget is around $150 per child. We have a pretty big family so they get plenty of presents.

mumma2ajem
01-12-2009, 19:26
this year as it is my bubbies first xmas i went wayyyyyyyyyyy overboard i think i spent nearly $1000 eeek:eek: but you only get one first xmas and next year she may also have a sibling as well so we didnt really mind doing it this year also i got alot of the things on special throughout the year and the toy laybys at target so didnt notice the dollars add up but next year i will def be limiting it to $500-$700
bubby is also the first grand child and great child and niece so she will get spoiled by others as well no idea where to store it all?? but alot of it is outside stuff so tht solves one problem

Butterfly Mummy
01-12-2009, 19:31
WOW I wish I could spend that much.

SANTA only gets my two children one thing $50 each they then get things from my parents, brother, and some clothes and books from us.

I dont want them growing up expecting huge presents and would like them to be thankful for what they have you just never know when you might not have money to be so generous with them.

IF they need something big like a bike then they get it for their birthday.

Myztiks#1Fan
01-12-2009, 19:33
i dont plan on spending any more than 250/300 on coop for this xmas. he has everything he could possibly need atm and i would rather put money away for a holiday or save the money for the wedding we are going to next year as we have to fly interstate for it(its not til october but i want to make sure we have a great time away)

~BEXTER~
01-12-2009, 19:35
We spend $20-30 on the children in the family we have 13 kids to buy for so that can cost up to $300

I usually spend 1,000 on Keiara mostly educational toys.

I spend about $50 on her father from her and $100 from me.

I sometimes by a joint present for my grandparents for about $20

I try to get my sister something little as well as my mum and her partner.

we have a rule not to buy for the adults as there are just to many kids.

mumma2ajem
01-12-2009, 19:44
[QUOTE=Butterfly Mummy;4273860]

I dont want them growing up expecting huge presents and would like them to be thankful for what they have you just never know when you might not have money to be so generous with them.

thats what me and dp were saying last night so thats why it will be cut back next year and we dont want dd to grow up to be ungrateful and act very spoilt but i just went a lil crazy as she is my first :o however we have also started this year with her ( although she is to young to know or understand ) it will happen every year so she knows there are kids out there that do miss out sometimes we give 2 gifts to the kmart christmas tree apeal one for a little boy and one for a girl we hope she will continue to enjoy doing this every year :yes:

Gumby
01-12-2009, 19:44
WOW I wish I could spend that much.

SANTA only gets my two children one thing $50 each they then get things from my parents, brother, and some clothes and books from us.

IF they need something big like a bike then they get it for their birthday.
My children are very thankful for what they have :yes:

LibranTwin
01-12-2009, 19:54
Well this is going to be our cheapest christmas yet!!!

My DD is only 18 months so we are going to spend less than $100 maybe even less than $50 on her. Then we have KK set up on both sides (~$200) and we are thinking we might miss giving each other presents this year or only spend $50 each on each other. That's $400 max :)

To me it isn't about the money, and also if we don't start saving where ever we can now our dream of buying a house isn't going to happen.

Once we have more kids and they are older we will spend $100 max on them.

TacoFest
01-12-2009, 19:55
Well I don't have a set budget to spend on briella but I have spent over $1000 on her this year. Its her first chistmas and she is (and will always be) an only child so I don't mind spending the money on her :)

mumma2ajem
01-12-2009, 20:04
Well I don't have a set budget to spend on briella but I have spent over $1000 on her this year. Its her first chistmas and she is (and will always be) an only child so I don't mind spending the money on her :)

im glad im not the only one who spent over $1000 on a first xmas :xmas::tree:

TacoFest
01-12-2009, 20:07
im glad im not the only one who spent over $1000 on a first xmas :xmas::tree:

It's so easy to do!! I got a lot of nice things tho that will last her years!!

mumma2ajem
01-12-2009, 20:14
It's so easy to do!! I got a lot of nice things tho that will last her years!!

thats what we did as well and we brought things throughout the year not in one go so i didnt realise how much money it added up to
we bought her one of those leap frog globe things it cost us $140 but it will last her years up until she is in school as it can be updated online as times change she wil have a blast with it at this age as she loves things talking to her and she loves her tag reader she like to touch the oen on the book to say the words and the globe is pretty much the same so its not like it is all wasteful stuff that next year she wont play with :tree::noel: i just luuuuuvvvvvvvvvvvvv xmas so much i could not resist :xmas:

Blueberry Crumble
01-12-2009, 20:19
Geez, I thought I went overboard on DS's first Xmas at $300.

Needless to say, he is 3 now, and my daughter plays with all of those baby toys, so I havent had to buy any for her.

This year my daughter will be getting a glowworm.

My son is getting a trampoline, and a few bits of duplo for his collection.

As the kids get older, and you realise that they dont even play with all the things that are bought for them, you tend to tone it down a lot.

One thing I have noticed is that the more DS has the less he plays with his toys.

kezzaskids
01-12-2009, 20:20
we spend around $300 per child..... and we have 5 kids! My 17yo is getting a ticket to soundwaves for $165 plus a few other things.... it adds up quickly! Our 1yo DD wont be geting much as she doesnt understand yet and I can spend her $$ on the others!

my_lot
01-12-2009, 20:56
I usually spend 1,000 on Keiara mostly educational toys.

Do you home school?

Myfanwy
02-12-2009, 07:14
This year the budget is very tight. We have $800- to spend on our four children and our new niece. So that's less than $200- for each child.

As our kids are older it makes things more difficult as the presents they want are generally more expensive. I am actually pleased with having a tight budget because I have had to think about what they really want and need. :tree::reindeer::snow::tree:

Teegzie
02-12-2009, 09:37
My 17yo is getting a ticket to soundwaves for $165

I'd be pretty stoked with a ticket to soundwave if I was 17! :yes:

With DD we didn't set a budget as such, but rather just tried to restrict our (read: my :o) spending on her. We got her a trike which will last her a few years, a play tent which we can use inside or outside (so we don't have to buy a big expensive cubby house that stays outside) and then the rest is pretty much books and a few small stocking stuffers.
She already has so many toys! We have 3 of those flexible horse feed tubs overflowing with toys, and she uses maybe 10 different toys max! So as a result we are limiting ourselves each xmas and birthday we plan to get her one big present that will last her a while and then one or 2 smaller things. I don't mind getting her a few books though since she loves reading with us and I want to encourage that!

DF and I don't get eachother xmas presents, and we have told all of our family we are only buying for children not adults. So other than DD my niece will get something (I budgeted adn stuck to $50 for her) and we will get something small for the 2 children of family friends since they will be at my IL's for xmas day.
All up, as an estimate, I'd say we've spent about $300 on DD (more than I would have liked to) and then about $100 on others. I try to spread it across the year though so we don't go broke all at once just for xmas!

PeppaH
02-12-2009, 09:48
I tell ya, if my kid(s) ever became ungreatful that would be the last Christmas they get. No budget really on how much we spend, try not to go over board though. However because DS birthday is in April, its still close to Christmas so I try to buy things that will last him a while. For his first Christmas alot of stuff he got was baby stuff and he out grew it to quick.

spoon
02-12-2009, 10:00
We have 5 kids to buy for. Our two eldest will be recieving a plane ticket to fly up to Coffs Harbour to see grandma a few days after chreistmas. We will also give them around $50 spending money for their trip. I bought the tickets cheap, they were about $80 each so that is them each at $130.00.

Our three little ones have had $20 each on a toy they wanted, $30 each on a dvd they will each love, a beautiful picture book each, and then the big present is tickets to see the Wind in the Willows with their nanna, pop, uncle and aunty and us. That was my present to my mum dad, bro, and sis in law aswell so all up they have had $75 spent on them so far. I am planning on getting them a few small things also, but that will be it.

My husband is getting a dvd that he will love, plus I think I will secretly arrange a date night for him and I or buy some tickets to a comedy show.

:santa::reindeer::xmas:

I do not believe Christmas is about how much $$$$$$$$ you spend on things, rather it is about giving happiness to the ones you love by spending time together. I like my gifts to extend beyond just the day my loved ones recieve them.

:reindeer:

2s'nuff
02-12-2009, 11:12
I've spent about $160 on each girl and a $35 combined pressie
Nieces and nephews (5) I spend up to $40 each (depending on what I can get on sale)

We don't do adult pressies

Last year was lots bigger as I bought a trampoline and bikes for both girls (the bikes were an unexpected last minute buy as DD1's broke 2 weeks before Xmas).

Lisa

julez19
02-12-2009, 13:28
we dont have a budget per se but this year for the first time I will try to spend less then the usual $4000, I love xmas so always end up buying loads of pressies for EVERYONE and loads of food as well. I always figured it was the one time of the year that I can spoil everyone I love with time, good food and gifts that I cant always afford to buy during the year. We will try to stay under a $300 budget for the boys gifts each, 8 year olds have such expensive taste:yes: And I have allocated $100 for each set of parents and nieces and nephews we have a limit of $20... more if its something I really must get them. Dp always gets spoiled because he nevers buys himself anything during the year, and I dont like getting pressies, I would rather give and see everyone love the things I have spent time choosing or making :) so fingers crossed for me...will let you know how I go after the pressy shopping :D

BoyCrazy
02-12-2009, 14:36
$200 for each child, so 400 all up.

$100 each for a big present and $100 on santa sack stuff.

we dont get each other presents, and we dont do presents for other adults. i only have one neice, and i will probably spend about $30 on her for something pink and girlie ( i have no idea about shopping for a 5yr old girly girl haha..should be interesting!!!!)

BlessedWithBlue
04-12-2009, 15:36
We usually stick to about $100 per child as we have five and it gets way too much if we go too much more than that.
This year though we have gone a bit over that, we got their xmas layby off and have spent a little extra as well so this year about $200 per child.

We dont buy for eachother or any of the adults and there are a lot of family children to buy for so we tend to stick to $20 per child for neices and nephews

ThomasMum
04-12-2009, 17:10
We dont have any budget. Having said that it doesnt mean that we can spend whatever. No we would never do that, we'd rather put more money into DS's trustfund :yes:

Myosotis
04-12-2009, 17:27
I dont have a budget, i could spend whatever i wanted. But i dont..
Its an over commercialised holiday that i dont buy into. Besides we are not religous, so have no reason to celebrate.. ;)

I have however spent $11 on each child for a 'summer present' a clamshell (cost $22) for the backyard that is currently being landscaped. So they will have hours of fun splashing about and keeping cool all summer.

Christmas is celebrated for all the wrong reasons and i refuse to bombard my kids with excess toys they dont need just to be the hero for the day.. :p

oscarjessie
07-12-2009, 16:50
It is our first Christmas with DS and we have spent about $120 on him. He is only 4 months so does not need a lot. We bought presents that are from 6 - 36 months so he should get lots of use from them.

I bought the pressies at the KMart sale that was buy one toy get the second for 50% off.

The $120 consists of a console with a steering wheel and makers noises etc and and train that he can move along the ground when he is mobile that makes lots of noises and lights up. He is also getting a small rattle thing and some outfits.

As kids we always got clothes, underwear and other practical gifts for Xmas and i will continue the tradition with our kids.

Our family has instigated a $50 budget for each couple - ie my sister and BIL as a couple and we are being very practical with those gifts.

I have spent about $40 on the nieces and nephews.

MsMummy
07-12-2009, 17:12
My son will only be 15 months at Christmas, so we won't spend much.

He just had his first birthday in September, and received some lovely toys and books, a clam shell and a Euro Trike, and some clothes, so he really doesn't need anything else.

We're actually contemplating getting him nothing.:laughing:

Actually, i wouldn't mind some sort of musical instrument - like a little keyboard or something. so however much that costs.

I imagine it gets a lot more expensive as kids get older.

danik
12-12-2009, 16:22
I've never really thought about how much we should spend on DD for Christmas. Can't even really remember what we spent last year but we did get her a toddler sized playgym which cost $200 and a few other smaller things.

I think we spent around $30-$40 on our 5 nephews & nieces and $30-$60 on adults.

qldmummy
12-12-2009, 20:51
We have spent about $140 on each of our boys including a joint present. $50/$60 each for hubby and I and $100 on each set of grandparents (4 adults). Nieces and nephew have had about $30 each (3 of them) and my BFF will be about $30 too.

We have managed to stretch that money for our boys pretty far and we also come from big families so no doubt they will be spoilt then too.

LachlansMun
12-12-2009, 21:15
We have spent about $250 total on each child including presents from Santa. Our newest addition will only have 1 small present though as she'll only be days old and won't know anyway!

I don't go overboard but I like to buy them some good toys as I don't buy them toys at any other time of the year except birthdays.

Babblings
12-12-2009, 23:31
DS first christmas i spent $800.00 on him for christmas. This christmas it has totalled $500.00 for DS. We spend $150 on each other and $30 on nieces and nephews (5) than buy our Df's brother and my sister a $50 present as they don't have kiddies yet:)

So in total we spend $1050.00...we add this to our budget for the yr....although this yr i went $30 over as i forgot to add our new niece to the list when i budgeted...woops :o:laughing:

loving6
12-12-2009, 23:52
We spend $50 on each child. So that's $250

plus
One family gift at $200 to $400. (last year it was a cubby this year it's a trampoline)

Hubby and I spend $30 on each other.

My parents get a $20 gift . That's it

Everyone else gets a homemade/ home cooked gift.

JabberJaw
12-12-2009, 23:56
My kids are getting literally thousands spent on them this year. BUT there is a reason. Our house burnt down so they lost lots of there belongings. Our insurance is paying us out for the kids stuff next week so it is all going to be chrissy prezzies.

There are getting computers, ipods, and game consoles.

They know that its because of insurance, and they certainally know not to take things for granted. They have been without since august, so i cant wait for them to have all there own special things again.

ETA...santa will be delivering their stuff because out awesome insurance company told santa exactly what the kids needed to be replaced ;-) and they are sending a cheque to santa to pay him back for some of it.

Opinionated
13-12-2009, 00:18
This year we have spent heaps. About $1000 in materials for a cubby and a trampoline. Our backyard has been off limits for years so this finally makes it their space (and my sanity). They are getting some needed clothing too. Other years, not more than $100 per child including clothing/ shoes that they need. They get plenty of things throughout the year and at Christmas from grandparents, aunts and uncles. They have more than enough stuff.

ladybugblue84
13-12-2009, 00:21
I don't really think in monetary value when buying Christmas presents it's more a "feel" for when I've got the right amount of presents ranging in all different sizes & types ;)

last year for my DD's first Christmas that was about $100 or maybe a little bit more. This year I think around $250. I got her an outdoor plastic cubby & a plathora of ITNG toys/DVD for stocking stuffers. I spend around $20-30 for my nieces & we went in on my dads prezzie which is an awesome idea cause then you can get something decent (we got him a Tom Tom). This year I have also regifted!!! I wrapped up some babydoll purfume I got from my ex (unused & unwrapped) to give to my sis. And some of the clothes still with tags my DD never got to wear I wrapped up for my niece. No point in that stuff going to waste.

I'm going to Thailand in feb so need to save big time so no more expensive prezzies from me! I'll buy my bro's $10 tshirts from big w. Haha. It's the thought that counts!

As one of the pposters said the more toys my DD has the less she plays with them! So really gonna tone it down next year.

I love Christmas though & it's really hard not to get caught up in the spending frenzy. I'm going to try & enjoy the cheaper side of Christmas from now on but as a kid I remember this as the only time I got stuff bought for me new. So there's a fine line I guess

LizzardLover
13-12-2009, 07:12
i've spent about $300 on my DD, but I also dont tend to buy her things during the year other than b'day and xmas so feel it's ok that i'm spending so much :) DD also doesn't really get spoilt as such with tons of gifts from family, she gets enough but certainly not spoilt.

mumma2ajem
13-12-2009, 13:35
My kids are getting literally thousands spent on them this year. BUT there is a reason. Our house burnt down so they lost lots of there belongings. Our insurance is paying us out for the kids stuff next week so it is all going to be chrissy prezzies.

There are getting computers, ipods, and game consoles.

They know that its because of insurance, and they certainally know not to take things for granted. They have been without since august, so i cant wait for them to have all there own special things again.

ETA...santa will be delivering their stuff because out awesome insurance company told santa exactly what the kids needed to be replaced ;-) and they are sending a cheque to santa to pay him back for some of it.

glad the insurance is coming in just in time for chrissy i could just imagine the look on your kids faces when they see all their things back again ( obviously new ones ) it would be priceless and im sure your kids know not to take things for granted given the situation they you were in with your house burning down :hugs: hope you have a wonderful xmas seems like you deserve it :noel:

ChelsLuke
13-12-2009, 20:02
200-300 each but that includes a main pressie last year was a wii, year before a trampoline, this year guitar hero.

We do a main family pressie and then little ones each.

We also buy for everyone else which is expensive $300 on our parents, siblingand nephew. About $20 each )sometiems that is couples. I wanted to only buy for kids but that said only my brother has children everyone else doesnt, and they still buy for us even though we say dont.

I wish more people/kids were about the spirit of christmas, last yr Fil complained cos all his son gave him was $20, which makes me wonder what he said about us as allw e got them was a scrapbooked pic of the kids. :( It makes me sad that he is so caught up in what people got him and yet only expects to spend aobut $30 on each child himself

A Party of Five
14-12-2009, 08:55
We have five kidlets and we spend $50 each, we do not buy for each other or the rest of the family.

meme
14-12-2009, 11:19
I don't have a specific budget but I have tried to be really economical. all the adults will get a $20 oxfam thing so that was 100 bucks. then they also get a small present, assorted nice gift htings I havepicked up secondhand over the last few weeks at garage sales and opshops. I think I have spent about 20 dollars on those each. so another 100 bucks.

for my three kids I also have 3 small second hand gift piles that will be mainly stocking fillers. probably spent under 20dollars for each child. second hand books and toys and some crystals and special soaps.

then I would like to buy a digital camera for the younger two as they love using my camera and an ipod dock for the eldest as she loves listening to her ipod and always steals mycomputer speakers. so those will be under 100 dollars I hope.

and that will be it this year.

however I am looking forward to the january sales.....

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
16-12-2009, 09:43
It is our first Christmas with DS and we have spent about $120 on him. He is only 4 months so does not need a lot. We bought presents that are from 6 - 36 months so he should get lots of use from them.

I bought the pressies at the KMart sale that was buy one toy get the second for 50% off.

The $120 consists of a console with a steering wheel and makers noises etc and and train that he can move along the ground when he is mobile that makes lots of noises and lights up. He is also getting a small rattle thing and some outfits.

As kids we always got clothes, underwear and other practical gifts for Xmas and i will continue the tradition with our kids.

Our family has instigated a $50 budget for each couple - ie my sister and BIL as a couple and we are being very practical with those gifts.

I have spent about $40 on the nieces and nephews.

:iagree:, we spend around the same. Haven't added up Jake's presents TBH as I'm not fussed on sticking to a set budget but it's probably around $100-$150.
At the same time I can't imagine spending $300 or more on him as I'd rather put the money towards our family holiday, bills or put some extra on the mortgage than buy him more toys for his toybox since it's already far too full and he has sooo many things.
We spend around $50 for our mums and 30-40 for the other adults. My sister and her husband made a deal with us to not get us presents this year and vice versa (they'll just buy for the kids) as we don't need anything and neither do they.