View Full Version : The things u need

SamanthaJane
21-07-2006, 00:14
If you are feeding a newborn with bottles, what do u really need?

How many bottles? What size bottles? How many teets? etc etc

I know we need all these things, but how much of each is 'enough'?

Ana Gram
21-07-2006, 00:30
I had seven of everything as 6 bottles fit in the steam steriliser leaving one spare. It does mean you have to wash the bottles often at the start becasue they do go through so many. You will need different teats the older baby gets as they have different "speeds" for lack of a better word.

I used smaller bottles at the start as someone else paid for them, but you could just use the regular size ones, not a huge difference. I used Advent and they have lasted really well, over two years.

21-07-2006, 00:38
Well for probably a good week we only used 3 bottles as i would wash the bottles up after every feed & throw them in the milton solution or microwave steriliser.

So i had 3 bottles then 3 teats all the standard Tommee Tippee.

We then found Boof didnt like those particular teats so we went out & got the cross cut which he preferred & helped with his wind.
I then got some of the cheaper style bottles from Big W so ended up with 9 in total which were then used in rotation & i bought a new pack of teats anytime they needed to be changed but usually had 9 in rotation. This meant i had enough for the 6-8 feeds easily with a few for back up which was especially good when Boof wanted more than normal.

You need to find a system that works for you.

I would wash up everynite & then sterilise so everything was ready for late nite feeds & the following day.

Good luck !

21-07-2006, 00:41
IYou will need different teats the older baby gets as they have different "speeds" for lack of a better word.

Not if your lucky & have a bub like mine who likes cross cuts :thumbsup:

Rell
21-07-2006, 08:18
I used a microwave steam steralizer and 8 wide neck bottles.
With DD I used the normal bottles but with DS I changed to wide neck and found them muck easier to fill and wash:thumbsup:
The bottles I got from Big W (called BeBe I think) and were much cheaper then the Avent and still did a great job. I too used the cross cut teats which did Nath for 12 mths.
All my bottles were 250ml I think the smaller bottles are a wast of time because because they will grow out of them fast.

Sarie
21-07-2006, 08:25
We had 6 bottles and 8 teats. We always use Tommee Tippee bottles and Nuk ventilated teats, they're great for our boys' wind. We also have an electric steam steriliser.
All our bottles were 250ml.
I would have the bottles made up in the fridge all the time. Formula lasts 24hrs once it's made up and it's so much easier just to get one out of the fridge and heat it up when you need it!

Poopa
21-07-2006, 08:47
:eek: Wow, so much work! I don't know how you ladies found the energy to be sterilising bottles etc. while losing sleep and looking after a newborn... I guess we all learn to cope.

Sarie
21-07-2006, 08:56
It's not really that hard and I had a wonderful hubby who helps out alot, especially on night shift;)

21-07-2006, 09:07
ive got 7 250ml bottles and use the miltons method to sterilise

SamanthaJane
21-07-2006, 10:05
So does anyone bother with the 125ml bottles?

Also... What does cross cut teats mean? :o

21-07-2006, 10:10

i found the small bottles a waste
hence why i decided to toss them and get the bigger ones so i didn't waste anymore money

Melo
21-07-2006, 10:14

Great for giving babies water and I still use the one i've got - Sometimes DS will only have 120mL to drink so i'm not wasting anything!!

EskimoMumma
21-07-2006, 10:30
I havent bothered with the smaller bottles. When DD was born I had 10..

for some reason i only have 3.. :banghead: (dont ask me how i have lost them, i hoenstly havent got the faintest idea)

diamonds22
21-07-2006, 11:20
Sj, I brought:

~ 6 Avent bottles (260mls) with newborn teats..(don't forget to check what age the teat is suitable for..lol i didnt know this before:o and ended up with heaps of 1month teats..which wont be long before i use them anyway)

~ 1 Avent microwave steriliser..which is fantastic....so easy to sterilise it only takes 5mins (comes with either 1 or two free avent bottles)

~ 1 2L jug with measurements up the side (i pre-make the formula (last 24hours) and just fill up the bottles as i need them (unless going out...i add the formula to a bottle of boiled (cooled) water as I need it)

~ 1 Tommee Tippee bottle cleaning brush (comes with an attachment that cleans the teats too...its been really good)

~ 1 portable bottle warmer (just from woolies or something, only a couple of dollars and works great..not too bulk for my baby bag)

21-07-2006, 14:07
I have too many bottles to count but only used 8 at the beginning - enough to last a day for my bubs who had EBM.

DD1 has 3 bottles per day so I have 3 bottles out for her and 3 out for DD2 who is mainly bf but does have some bottle topups of EBM.

I use a microwave avent sterilizer which holds 4 bottles that I use for DD1's bottles and I have milton solution for DD2 as I have my breastpump and her bottles in there I just find thats easier.

As for the smaller 125mls bottles, thats all I use for DD2 atm, they fit in the milton bucket much easier and as I have a double electric breastpump I need to fit the 2 pump 'heads' 2-4 bottles to express in AND the 3 avent bottles that DD2 drinks out of... so for me, they're brilliant!

I found they get a lot of use as once bubs is older if you have the avent ones they are the perfect size for home made food for bubs when you're out and about and when they start drinking water or juice, nice size to start off with.. etc so definitely not a waste imo!

MrsMiggins
21-07-2006, 14:21
I have 9 Avent bottles for DD all up & I have found this to be the perfect number. You don't have to be constantly washing & sterilising - once a day is plenty & you can even go a day and a half if you're feeling lazy!

I have:
7 x 260ml bottles
2 x 125ml bottles
various teats for all stages & a couple of the vari-flow teats
1 x microwave steam steriliser.

Don't bother with the larger Avent bottles - you won't need them.

The 125ml bottles are great for me as DD will often only have a small part of the bottle, so it's great when I want a small bottle to take out when I know she won't want much. Plus, I use them also now as water bottles with the sipper cup tops.

The 125mls are also great when bubs is tiny, as you only need 60ml of formula at a time & it's easier to measure it in the smaller bottle & easier to see how much they've had of it.

Rell
21-07-2006, 19:43

Cross cut teats are ones that have a x instead of a round hole. They are also called variable flow teats, the milk will only come out as hard as your baby will suck.

Leez
22-07-2006, 09:36
I started off with 6 x 125ml Avent bottles (I was given them) plus 7 teats. DD was into the 250ml bottles and faster teats by 8 weeks. As others have said, get about 6-7 bottles so you only have to wash and sterilise once a day.

I've got the Avent electric steriliser and its a little ripper, as is the bottle warmer.

Lisa

22-07-2006, 18:52
Cross cut teats are ones that have a x instead of a round hole. They are also called variable flow teats, the milk will only come out as hard as your baby will suck.

This is pretty much it !
They are good for wind & colic because bubs can only get as much as they can suck so means less sucking of extra air to cause problems. :thumbsup:

And no we didnt bother with small bottles especially cause we had a big bub who was drinking more & more as the weeks went by it would have been a waste of time ! But my sister did give me a few when Boof was older that we used for water.

Rell
22-07-2006, 19:42
Totaly off the topic but everytime I see the pic of your little boy allyoo it reminds me so much of my little Nathan when he is wearing his bucket hat the same colour. You have such a cute little boy there

22-07-2006, 22:55
Totaly off the topic but everytime I see the pic of your little boy allyoo it reminds me so much of my little Nathan when he is wearing his bucket hat the same colour. You have such a cute little boy there

Awww shucks :o
Thanks Rell i have to say even though i am biased i think my little munchkin is one of the cutest around :D

23-07-2006, 10:52
~ 1 Avent microwave steriliser..which is fantastic....so easy to sterilise it only takes 5mins (comes with either 1 or two free avent bottles)

oh i got the electric one, its great, just put em in and off you go:smiliedance:

SamanthaJane
23-07-2006, 10:59
I've got the electric one too! ;)

23-07-2006, 11:02
I've got the electric one too! ;)

:smiliedance: , its so easy to use, its the best thing i have bought ever:D

SamanthaJane
23-07-2006, 11:07
My mum told me it was a waste ... she says "i never needed one of them" :p

Um derr its called modern technology:laughing: