View Full Version : Meet the Murgon Mummies!

Mother Duck
20-07-2006, 21:47
Well now

I have been threatening to do this for quite some time!

Here it is ...a date....

(and yep your fellas are welcome too - golf course, fishing on the dam (all beit nearly empty - easier to catch a fish!), etc etc)

I propose Fri 11th and Sat 12th September, yep thats right TWO NIGHTS!

Isn't it about time you let your hair down, and took the time to have that lovely country style weekend with other crazy ma's!

At this stage (not cemented yet)

Gorgeous B & B booked - a whole house just for us - plenty of space and beds
Mums from Murgon, Proston, Cherbourg, and Wondai all keen to meet you (city mouse country mouse!)
Karaoke tentatively booked for one night
Winery tours available
Camp oven dinner to be done by owners of B&B just for us
Grand tour of a cattle property whenever suits
Plenty of animals to be seen!
Tour of Cherbourg (Indigenous community), including elders showing you 'the ration shed' (houses much historical information including photos of Cherbourg), and visiting an art gallery etc.
Local Mums very helpful and friendly - ie provide any portacots or matresses or equipment etc needed for kidlets
PLENTY of other stuff to see and do!
Possible to organise a bus from a local company depending on interest

You will have a ball!

So what do you think guys, up for a Meet the Murgon Mummies? - looking for responses please!

InSaneOne
20-07-2006, 22:06
that sounds great jessi

what would be the approximate cost per person for the weekend - food and accomodation?

Mamaduke
20-07-2006, 22:10
Sorry to hijack Jessie but I was just wondering...
has that whacky man with all of the cameras around his home sold his house in Murgon yet?
It was on A Current Affair about a month ago and I'm sure they said he lived in Murgon!

Mother Duck
20-07-2006, 22:15
Thanks Mammaduke for making Murgon sound dodgy!!!

Tutt Tutt!

And in answer to your question - I don't know. All will be safe though at the Murgon Meet - no need to worry, I know peoples what know peoples! ;)

Billie and Beth - I am hoping to keep the cost down as much as possible, it will depend on how many are coming, plenty of room to be comfy but not in pockets so I am hoping if a few come $$$ won't be much.

If anyone is really stuck for $$ there will be ways to make it less for them!

Also by making a real 'night' of it with the local ladies and their kidlets it should cost less too - as in most will put a few bob in - should be fine!

InSaneOne
20-07-2006, 22:32
Jessi - i just looked at the calendar - what is the date and month again? in september the 11 is monday or did you mean august?

Mother Duck
20-07-2006, 22:40
hmmm - i was going from the b&b guys diary - nope i meant sep - will have to check again tomorrow and confirm - what date suits?

veve
20-07-2006, 22:51
Sorry to hijack Jessie but I was just wondering...
has that whacky man with all of the cameras around his home sold his house in Murgon yet?
It was on A Current Affair about a month ago and I'm sure they said he lived in Murgon!

oooherr bugg*ar the tour of the cattle yard Jessie.. I want to tour the weirdo's house... :D

Mother Duck
21-07-2006, 13:21
Yeah - I'll try to find out just who it is - and then maybe we can all take cameras and sit outside videoing (hmmm is that a word) the weirdo!

Sounds like fun

♥My Innocent Angel♥
21-07-2006, 18:48
hey might sound like a bit of a stupid question but where is murgon exactly :)

but definetly sounds like an interesting place
;)

Mother Duck
21-07-2006, 19:44
Not a silly Q'n at all!

From Bris you travel up the Bruce Highway to Gympie and then turn inland, an hours drive from Gympie.

There are other ways you can come from Bris too

We are about 45min from Kingaroy (Sunday drivers mins that is)

Its a great place!

draught
21-07-2006, 19:57
Hi love
Will discuss it with the head honcho and get back to you! (Does the B&B take small well meaning but slightly annoying dogs as well as people?!)

Shelly68
21-07-2006, 19:59
Hiya Jessie,

Firstly congrats on your little man, I haven't spoken to you in forever.

I'm definitely interested (I'm sure we discussed this at one of the dinners, lol)

How long would it take to drive to your place from Brissy, (or even say Gympie, then I'll add the hour on that you said).

Shelly

Issey
21-07-2006, 20:33
Sounds interesting, will stay posted. :)

Terrible2+1cutie
21-07-2006, 21:22
I was engaged to a guy from kingaroy once, been to murgon on many occassions.

Catherine

Mum to Blaze and Bailey

salieri
22-07-2006, 09:21
As a repeated visitor to Jessie and family may I add that Murgon has everything, including Jessie & her beautiful family.
What more could you need. :smiliedance:
I hope you all have a great weekend.

Jess, please give Mickayla & Jacob a special hug from me & a firm handshake for Scotty.
Hope to see you again soon. :hugs: :kiss:

Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 10:52
As a repeated visitor to Jessie and family may I add that Murgon has everything, including Jessie & her beautiful family.
What more could you need.
I hope you all have a great weekend.

Jess, please give Mickayla & Jacob a special hug from me & a firm handshake for Scotty.
Hope to see you again soon.
Ohhhh Salieri - I am soooo excited to see you actually post - and yes *holds head up proudly* Murgon does have everything ;)

Special hugs to everyone coming right up :hugs: :kiss:

Draught - if the B&B is no go for puppy I know a house that will be truly delighted to open its doors! And less than 300m away from the B&B too!
Looking forward to hearing back from you as (no pressure) you realise you are on my most wanted list!

As for the date - I might give you guys a few available dates and see who likes what

Sep - Fri 1st Sat 2nd, F 15/16, F22/23 Oct 27/28 - Sep is better for me and if it is the weekend of the 22nd that is M's 2nd b'day so that will of course involve a birthday bash for the kiddies!

Shelly68 - so good to hear from you - sent you a pm a while back - hope all is good for you! It is about two and a half hours to Gympie, maybe two depending on the trafic, straight up the Bruce Hwy. There are lots of good places to break up the drive if you need to.

T'rah for now :wave:

lukaelmo
22-07-2006, 10:55
Teehee, I like the slogan:

Murgon, it's got everything!

I haven't spoken to DP yet, but will tempt him with the fish... I wanna come see everything :D .

Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 11:01
Oh Ali - I'll show you everything don't you worry! ;)

I'm thinking about organising a night golf game for the fellas (and whoever else!) - should be easy to do - and heaps of fun!

Hmmm - waiting for some YES PLEASE's first - none of this tentative stuff!
*nervously taps fingers*

InSaneOne
22-07-2006, 14:42
Jessie it might be easier for people to give you a definate yes or no if the knew a rough cost estimate. i know we can't say yes or no until we find out a rough cost to see if we can afford it as money is quite tight in our household. can you give us a rough estimate say if 20 people went (or 10 couples).

Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 18:10
Okey Doke - well here is my estimated amounts:

ACCOM
B&B would give us the house for $50 per person per night including a light breakfast and the camp oven dinner. This is a substantial amount less than they would normally charge (I will try to get some photos for you as it really is gorgeous)

There is a pub in town that has rooms too and I could ask the manager there if he could do them cheaply (maybe $20) but the B&B is much nicer. There are several caravan parks in town if anyone would prefer that, and several other options hotel wise.

I guess it just depends on what is needed.

For people who are really strapped there are always options - just pm me if you want more info on that.

FOOD
Plenty of options here too - The B&B are including a camp oven dinner for one night in their price. They have several other places to eat in town iff wanted - The golf course does meals and would prob be less for a group booking, one of the motels does the same, RSL approx 25 for dinner and desert and prob a drink too. Take away would be about $15 family size pizza or 7 or 8 bucks hamburger chips etc etc. There is a supermarket in town open 7 days with reasonable prices for whoever wants to get their own food.

ACTIVITIES

Visit to Cherbourg most likely free, cattle property about the same, no idea how much for golf (would cost about five bucks each for the night golf balls I think), Karaoke I could try and do through the local RSL - would have to find out - private hire would be all up $150 between however many are there. Hmmm - it is really hard to estimate as it depends on what everyone wants to do - I can say for sure that the locals are very good at looking out for each other and because of the nature of who we are prices would be very reasonable) - if I had a better idea of who wants to do what I can be more specific

03-08-2006, 11:43
BUMP.

Jessie, I'm very interested in going along to this! :D (No idea about the husband, pfft! who needs him to want to come?) And $50/night (so $100 all up for accom.. or do I have to pay extra for Cobes?) sounds good really.. I assume that for the small kidlet, unless I'm planning on co-sleeping I'll need to bring up some sort of bedding for him.
No preference on the date.. :)

Anyone else?

Mother Duck
03-08-2006, 12:04
Aww Seek - youv'e come to the rescue!

I had given up hope :p

Nope not a brass razoo for little bubbas (I think children under 5 are freebies) - you won't need to bring cots etc for Cobes as there are plenty of mums here who would be willing to lend what you need.

I think we should just choose a date - what suits you? any are OK for me
Love J

03-08-2006, 12:17
15/16 or 29/30 are best for me (pay weeks ;))

COME ON BRISBANITES!!!!

I can probably drive up with someone if they want.. (they'd need to supply their own baby seat and possibly an achor-bolt.. I might be buying another one or these soon myself anyway) :)

Mother Duck
03-08-2006, 12:26
Rightcha Are Seek

I've booked 'the Barambah Lodge' for 15th and 16th Sep - and I have just been told that we have a free bottle of wine with our 50bucks per night accom - bargain!

Although it may take us the two nights to drink it given the whole bf thing!

That happens to be my good friends b'day too (on the Friday) - so I will definately try to org the Karaoke in her honour :)

http://www.southburnett.biz/posters/barambahlodge.html

Here is a link to the B and B - check it out - tis gorgeous!

AND I reckon I can set up a play area in the yard for the little ones too - maybe a paddle pool for our little boys to dip their toes in :)

Mother Duck
03-08-2006, 12:39
Booked the Karaoke too for the Friday night at the RSL - should be good for a laugh - and you can take bubba (we do - there is this really groovy perspex wall that is sort of tequila sunrise colours, even though it is noisy; when you face the pram to the wall the bubbas are a bit mesmerised and fall asleep easy as!)

Or I am sure we could arrange something to do with babysitting if you prefer - let me know

Tea Lady
03-08-2006, 12:49
Hi Jessie

Sorry I've been such a slacker. I'm keen to come - will need to check with Mr Tea about the $.

PS hope you're all going well :)

03-08-2006, 12:51
I was just looking on whereis.com.au and it says the trip from Bris to Murgon is about 3 hours... going up the burnett hwy, through nanango and toogoolawah and such. :)

Chris is suggesting we just come up for a day :( I'll at least get friday night out of him, and go home late saturday :) (just have to find puppy-sitters and that's that - if he wants to go!!)

Mother Duck
03-08-2006, 13:10
pm me about the puppy - details etc - we might be able to arrange someart there too

Great stuff Tea Lady - will be lovely to have you and yours :)

03-08-2006, 13:41
oh when I say Puppy I'm talking about 2 biiiiiiiiiig dogs (German Shep x Kelpie & Rottie x Boxer) who are no longer puppies :p

And unable to travel with babyseat in car :( (I knew I wanted that bloody station wagon!0

06-08-2006, 21:57
Damn wish i'd noticed this thread ages ago! Will see what's doing around here that weekend and maybe come! :smiliedance: I'd love to meet all you bubhubbians! Dunno about DH coming, but i'll try!

I might be able to coax the other Dalby mums into it too, Sarie & Jasminesmum. Would be a great weekend! Will let you know....

draught
07-08-2006, 09:26
Jessie - am still interested - just need to find out if DH will be in the state or out and then we can plan. We are away for a couple of weeks so will get in touch when we return, and we should know by then whether he will be around or not.

Big hugs to the family in the meantime
T

♥My Innocent Angel♥
07-08-2006, 11:23
def interested jessie

but it would just be me and bubs as i dont have a DH (does that make a difference to the price for me ie:would it cost me more or the same as a couple) lil confused :confused: which is pretty easy :laughing:

15th and 16th sound good and my DD is not far behind yours jessie she is 2 on oct 11 it says its only two and a 1/2hrs for me on whereis to get to murgon even though i havent really spoken to any of you is that ok you dont really know me like you all seem to know each other :D

Mother Duck
07-08-2006, 15:54
Shazzbut - I was wondering where you were! It would be so good if the others from your way will come too - I was hoping! Must pm Gin Gin girls and Toowoombah girls etc just to make sure they know about it.

Certainly nice to see you in this thread :)

No worries Draught - I understand the situation with DH bwing away so much etc - will look forward to hearing from you (I well and truly have my fingers crossed that you will come!) - I thought you were away in Aug, nice to know my memory works a little

Shae - fantastic that you might come along and no need to worry about not having a DH with you - it will be great fun for you anyway (great to be around some like minded fellow mummies for a bit) - I think we should do the little ones a joint birthday cake too! As for the cost it is per person per night - so $50 (includes bottle of wine and dinner and a light brekkie) - on the website I posted a link for the tarriffs will read a bit differently as he has 'done us a deal'

I'm so looking forward to having you guys up here - will be wonderful!

07-08-2006, 15:58
:gloomy: awww i wanna come too! but that weekend we have relos flying over from argentina. sniff sounds like so much fun too. pls have a wine and a sing for me. hope u guys enjoy urselves. wouldve love to have met up with u jess, and all the rest. sigh! the place looks lurvely too!:(

Mother Duck
07-08-2006, 16:13
Ahh Maria - how very cultured! Don't worry we will get to meet in person one of these days! - you will be missed though :)

07-08-2006, 16:14
Ahh Maria - how very cultured! Don't worry we will get to meet in person one of these days! - you will be missed though :)

thx jess:hugs: n yes we are a cultural mob!

♥My Innocent Angel♥
07-08-2006, 16:32
well ill give a yes cause i think at that price it is an opportunity to good to miss :D and the place looks so very nice so look forward to getting to know you all :smiliedance:

more mummy friends woohoo:laughing:

Mother Duck
08-08-2006, 20:46
Awesome - yes I'm a tippin' we will have more than one good yarn to share :p

♥My Innocent Angel♥
11-08-2006, 00:35
atm in light of recent event with my uncle i will cancel my yes as i dont really know whats going on and would like to be around for my aunty if she needs me so sorry ladies i hope you have a fantastic weekend maybe next time :fingerscrossed:

11-08-2006, 13:58
Hey Jessie, i will say yes atm, for me and the girls, but unsure of DH as yet. I will let you know if he comes. Can't wait to meet you all! :smiliedance:

Oh, and i'll speak to the other bubhubbers this weekend, and suss out if they want to come! :yes:

Mother Duck
11-08-2006, 14:18
Hi Shae - yes I read your thread about your Uncle, I really hope he is OK, life plays some very strange tricks on us. You know you are welcome anytime at all - just let me know when you need a weekend away!

Shazbutt - I am so pleased, looking forward to meeting you.

OK - I need some advice -

The B&B - as is usually the case will need a definate yes or no about the weekend. It is no probs if there is just a few of us but I do need to book. I know it is hard to say a definate yes or no but I can't really afford to pay for it if you guys don't show etc

So .... any suggestions about this one??

I am happy to put you guys up at our place but it wouldn't be the same and there isn't huge amounts of room.

Anyone willing to pay a deposit??? Also should I make it just the one night (Fri) or for the two - Please let me know

What to do, what to do?

Anyway - looking forward to hearing from you guys again soon - J

11-08-2006, 15:39
Jessie - We'll be coming up but I'm unsure of for how long. I'm trying to squeeze at least Friday night & Saturday out of Chris but he seems to think we can only be up until late on Friday.... (ie: no staying over) :( b ut we'll karaoke and what not.

Mother Duck
11-08-2006, 16:59
Hmmm - I wonder if I should can the B&B and just welcome you guys at ala our house???

It will be so good to see you for however long, but me thinks (with such a little bubba) it would be a good move to stay the night - tell DH we promise not to bite!

11-08-2006, 17:01
Hmmm - I wonder if I should can the B&B and just welcome you guys at ala our house???

It will be so good to see you for however long, but me thinks (with such a little bubba) it would be a good move to stay the night - tell DH we promise not to bite!
that's what i thought.. but he's worried about the dogs :rolleyes: and the cash

11-08-2006, 18:18
Hey Jessie :wave:

I will say a DEFINITE yes for Friday night, with or without hubby and am willing to make a deposit.

I will speak to the Dalby girls, and let you know what they want to do, but i will pay a deposit for then anyhow. If Seekrit can't/doesn't stay (Nikki, tell DH we really need you, i would love to meet you & bubby Cobey!), and we don't get anyone else, then i'd be willing to book a night at a motel or something.

Mother Duck
11-08-2006, 22:43
Great - Thanks Shazz

I am happy to stay up there too and pay my $50 too - will be great fun and I won't want to be up at my place while you are living it up at the B&B

I will phone them tomorrow and see if they are happy for us to book with potentially just us - I know then that there will plenty of room for others if needed but at least I won't have to be there by myself IYKWIM!!

Would be wonderful if the Dalby Lasses can make it too - looking forward to seeing you at long last miss Shazz - you will even get to meet the fillie (not that she is a filly anymore!)

Hope the above makes sense - I am a bit in the end of the day nonsensical mode

14-08-2006, 13:43
Hi Jessie :wave: , so how'd ya go? Will they take just us couple of yummy mummies?! ;) LOL

I have spoken to DH, but he won't know 'til closer to the date whether he has to work.... I'll be there though! :smiliedance: I'm so looking foward to meeting you too!

Didn't your little filly pass away, (sorry, i still have baby brain)....or is it a different one? Forgive me for having to ask that :o. I am looking forward to seeing your horsies though!

vanillabean
14-08-2006, 21:29
I used to live in Kingaroy. If I was still there, I would be in it for sure!

26-08-2006, 15:17
Are we still on Jessie? Not that far away now!

Mother Duck
11-09-2006, 23:12
Rightyooo you lot

Ding

Last drinks bell

Please let me know if you are planning to come along to sunny Murgon - and 'thanks awfully' to them what have already :p

Jess

11-09-2006, 23:18
:eek: that's THIS weekend. isn't is.
:banghead: Jessie. I suck, I suck really bad and I've double booked myself.. again. (I've been doing this a lot lately)
I am SO sorry. Chris says we can go up for dinner or something soon tho'!!! It won't be a big meet but he's keen to meet you (and I want to see you again)

I am sooooooooooo sorry. I feel horrible now. ****. :banghead:

13-09-2006, 18:30
That's a bugger Nikki, i was looking forward to meeting you :( . Ah well, you never know, i might make it to one of the Brissie meets....one day :D .

samtom
01-10-2006, 20:27
just wanted to say Hi :wave: I am from Kingaroy