View Full Version : ready to DTD for our 3rd baby but sooo scared i'll get timing wrong for a boy!
Mama2Mia
29-11-2009, 09:31
Deep down inside i'm grateful for a happy healthy baby and all that kinda stuff but i'm also longing for that little boy i thought i was having 2 pregnancies ago :(
I'm day 12 (of generally a 28-33 day cycle) so we'll be trying very soon but i feel like i've done everything i can to prepare but there's no real patterns in my cycles, basal body temps, mucus etc so its so hard!
My OPKs are coming up negative (i used to use maybe baby and that never worked for me so i'm wondering if these OPK sticks don't work for me either?) but i don't want to miss the opp. this month to conceive.....
Its too late to actually have sex if i've woken up and noticed my temp rise right? Or can i still fall prenant but just very little chance?
Countrydeb
29-11-2009, 23:39
As someone who has 4 boys i reckon it's easier to have them than a girl .......In my experience it helps to dtd on day you ovulate and anytime thereafter,also have the big o before hubby,use deep penetrating positions[woof woof if you get my drift]...I would think so long as you've ovulated the next few days after should be ok.......From what i've read on the subject you get more leeway trying for a boy....good luck.......
Do the deed and do it often and you are more likely to get a boy apparently.
OPK's and Maybebaby never worked for me most cycles, as i didn't ovulate most cycles due to PCOS, so they were useless for me. Hope it shows up for you though soon.
Goodluck, I hope you get the little boy you are after.
Mama2Mia
03-12-2009, 14:29
well i finally got my postitive OPK!!! but i thought i had missed it (28 day cycle but i'm on day 18 already and still no temp rise which is unusual) or the things didn't work for me so we DTD when i thought we were ovulating (day 15).....
so chances are we'll be having another girl if i'm pregnant....
Countrydeb i reckon its easier to have girls :laughing:
Well after two girls that were conceived at ovulation basically we made DS and we DTD at absolute min. 5 days before ovulation so I wouldn't rule anything out...I thought that DS would have had to have been a girl.
Mama2Mia
03-12-2009, 16:08
thats promising to hear :yelclap:
only time will tell....would be sooooo lovely to complete our little familiy with a boy...hubby is seriously outnumbered at the moment!
overitand36
03-12-2009, 16:17
doing IVF and I would say any baby is a good baby
is their any REAL research that gender selection works and how does that work for us unlucky ones
Mama2Mia
03-12-2009, 20:07
absolutely any healthy baby is a good one no doubt about that whatsoever...i would still LOVE to have a little boy:yes:
please boy sperms swim fast fast fast and be the ones to fertilise my egg this month :laughing:
We tried gender selection with our last pregnancy and even when my obgyn saw my charts he commented that 'gona be a girl going by that' and he was right, I think its harder for a girl cos you have to BD well before you O, for us it was 3days before, lucky for us DH got gastro so I thought we had no chance I thought 3days was too far out but now we have an 8 month old little girl.
This time we're not using gender selection, we'll leave it upto fait.
MummyHas3boys
05-12-2009, 13:29
I think it is a lot easir to have a boy then a girl!
I have 2 of them :) When we were TTC we didnt do anything like charting temping and all of that, we just DTD...and often!! probably every day....if not definatly every second!!
I agree with Ashy - I find it easier to have boys as well as I have 2 of them :)
I would ensure you have plenty of good quality EWCM by drinking heaps of water and green tea, thats 2 things I did before conceiving both of my boys and since reading up on gender swaying techniques it appears they are 2 very boy friendly things to do.
I also agree with the deep penetration positions, but I can't really agree with all the timing theories because our DS2 was conceived 2 days before O which in theory should lean more towards a girl.
goodluck and I hope you get your little boy!
i'd definitely have to agree as i have two boys as well. much easier to conceive. this time we're trying for a girl but somehow i doubt we caught the egg this month...guess we'll see
haha i have to agree that getting boys are easier than getting a girl... i got two aswell and with DS2 we tried for a girl.... our last bub (finally a lil girl) we just took a chance hehe and got our lil angel
sarahsboys
06-12-2009, 10:05
We tried gender selection with our last pregnancy and even when my obgyn saw my charts he commented that 'gona be a girl going by that' and he was right, I think its harder for a girl cos you have to BD well before you O, for us it was 3days before, lucky for us DH got gastro so I thought we had no chance I thought 3days was too far out but now we have an 8 month old little girl.
This time we're not using gender selection, we'll leave it upto fait.
Oohhhh, I'm excited by that. We conceived 3 days before O and I am currently pregnant, hoping for a little girl after 3 boys!
I have to say too, that i think it is easier to conceive boys, as I have 3 of them!!:laughing: My only advice would to be to know when you ovulate and DTD on the actual day of ovulation. This is how we got our boys, not by planning it of course, just how it worked out!
SCORPIOGEMINI
11-04-2011, 11:17
This is why at times I get confused, do we try gender sway or not? we dtd all the time when we concieved our 2girls, now that I would really like to try for a boy, my husband isnt happy about this, he says what every1 else says 'just be happy with what you get' grrrrrrr! So I now need to know when Im ovulating & its driving me crazy, Im using the maybe baby and I've had ferns & pebbles for 11days that doesnt make sense :no:, dont think its working for me.
Gosh its so much easier when you just dtd when ever, but I cant let go of the idea of gender sway just incase there is truth to it.
Hubby:kissykiss:Me
DD1:bookworm:8yrs DD2:cheerleader1:6yrs
uptheduff
11-04-2011, 14:30
We used the O+12 method to concieve DD2 (we were trying for a girl)...Which is basically having sex once only, 12 hours AFTER you ovulate. Worked for us....but if you're trying for a boy, i would start having sex as soon as you get your positive OPK...don't wait too long afterwards!
Personally, i think diet and other things have more to do with it than timing alone....but that's just me :)
SCORPIOGEMINI
12-04-2011, 10:06
Personally, i think diet and other things have more to do with it than timing alone....but that's just me :)
Yes I agree, this is why Im also trying to make my body more alkaline, I tested my ph and Im pretty acidic, hope this doesnt take too long though. I guess in the long run i'll be much healthier making my body more alkaline anyway :wave:
Both my boys were concieved dtd on the day of ovulation, both my girls were concieved dtd a few days before o. They say girl sperm last longer than boys. But really when it comes down to it, its a 50 /50 chance :laughing: