View Full Version : Do I need to inform centrelink, please say no!..

girly
29-11-2009, 00:14
Ook. I'm on the SPP, BUT, am I allowed to earn *private* money..It's roughly $500 p/w.

It's just offering services privately. With a client.

I haven't began the r/ship yet because I won't if I will lose money from centrelink..

??

Nowhere
29-11-2009, 00:16
500 a week, I would say you wil have to tell centre link as thats an income. I was under the impresion that you mus inform them of ALL earnings

girly
29-11-2009, 00:16
GOD thats sounds bad haha

Ok, what I mean is I have met through an agency a young man who has a foot fetish. his normal girl has started a new career in NZ. He LOVES my feet, always has. He is offering $50p/h for about 10 hours a week for foot massages, just rubbing cream on my feet, yes hes a bit weird. DDs dad thinks he's a mass murderer in disguise haha..

His a lovely boy and I could do with the money...

IndigoJ
29-11-2009, 00:22
Yes. Anything you earn is income therefore needs to be reported to CL. I 'think' you can earn up to $130 a week (or is it fortnight) before your payments change.

Earning 'private' money is actually called cash in hand and is illegal. But i think the explanation on it is a bit more indepth than what i can offer.

Looshkin
29-11-2009, 00:27
Yeah anything you earn you need to declare to CL.

Apparently even if you sell things regularly on Ebay you need to declare it to CL officially.

But a regular income, even if it is cash in hand still needs to be declared to CL, and officially you do need to pay tax on it as you are defrauding the ATO if you don't pay tax.

Earning an extra 500 a week is quite a huge amount really, CL would take a fair chunk out of your SPP. If you get caught and you're not declaring the income CL will make you pay the money back - and if that money is $500 a week you could essentially be in deep sh1t.

I'm sure with your modelling etc you have an ABN. To do it legitimately if you want to do it, you would be better off invoicing him for goods and services at $x amount, paying the ATO the tax's required and declaring the self employed income to CL.

girly
29-11-2009, 00:32
I try to keep the abn as professional as possible. I dont use it privately..

our little treasures
29-11-2009, 00:46
$500 is heaps for any kind of work and you need to report it.

As for exceptions there are a few but not too many. I do know if you make money off a hobby up to a certain amount you don't need to declare it but it's such a blurred line you should be ringing CL for information.

Sorry but it's VERY important to be upfront with CL as the benefits are there for a reason:D

girly
29-11-2009, 00:49
Well....this is going to sound even more weird lol

This guy used to have a thing for male feet, started massaging sibels dad and his father. It was a pure hobby of his...Then all of a sudden he is only into womens, hence the reason he think he is a mass murderer...I think hes just jealous...Anyway

At the time sibels dad was on a benefit and centrelink said it's nothing to declare...Then when I call the said call back mon coz it sounds 'suss' and they would want to asses it properly...

Her dad was getting about 300-400 per week, cash.. Now whe I call it's different..

Nowhere
29-11-2009, 00:49
Your best bet would be to invoice him useing your Modeling ABN number that way its all legit, If you get dobbed into centre link for not declairing it and they look into the alugations, Being that your work is as an escort if that is done none legitamately they wont just be looking at centre link payments the police would also be notified as any escort agency has to be fully legit or all sorts of alergations can be made KWIM. Its the same with skimpies and stripers etc they all must be legitamately set up with licences.

Nowhere
29-11-2009, 00:51
Well....this is going to sound even more weird lol

This guy used to have a thing for male feet, started massaging sibels dad and his father. It was a pure hobby of his...Then all of a sudden he is only into womens, hence the reason he think he is a mass murderer...I think hes just jealous...Anyway

At the time sibels dad was on a benefit and centrelink said it's nothing to declare...Then when I call the said call back mon coz it sounds 'suss' and they would want to asses it properly...

lol on the weird foot thing there was a guy that was a regular at the club with a foot fetish :barf:

girly
29-11-2009, 00:53
That's the reason I wont bother if I have to tell centrelink...

I dont want them thinking it's anything else like dirty bad jobs...It's too weird to even try to explain to you guys lol..

girly
29-11-2009, 00:55
LOL...

He is fantastic

ahaha, sibels dad has a second toe bigger than the first, R(massuese) used to gel the second toe up and stroke it vigorously. I was hilarious..He never caught me laughing though...He would shut his eyes, play with the hairs..BUT his so good at it lol...

Nowhere
29-11-2009, 00:59
[QUOTE=Shiraaa;4266924]That's the reason I wont bother if I have to tell centrelink...

I dont want them thinking it's anything else like dirty bad jobs...It's too weird to even try to explain to you guys lol..[/QUOTE

lol im pictureing you trying to explain this to an old frump behind the counter at centre link while she glares down her nose at you looking like a bul doog chewing on a wasp, :p

When declaring the money and invoiceing it you would have to say i earnt this money by indulging some weirdos foot fetish :laughing:, You could list is as you are being his career, as you at catering for his needs, or as a minder, or even just make the invoice for in home services and if they ask what you do for him you could just tel them bit of this bit of that, Or bil him as a personal assistant

Harlequin
29-11-2009, 01:28
DAMN IT SHIRAAA. Why can't I find someone who will pay me to rub my blasted feet?!?!?!

Lastcenturymum
29-11-2009, 01:33
It's called Morton's Toe Syndrome.

And Shiraaa, I think you already know the answer to your question, it comes down to a matter of your own conscience, doesn't it?

luvmyboys
29-11-2009, 10:18
ok
whilst on one hand I can see the attraction of of being paid $500 a week to sit and have a guy rub your feet for 10 hours a week (hey if my husband rubbed my feet more often that could almost be my scenario;)) but if someone alse came to you and said what you have said wouldn't you be going "Danger Alert Danger Alert". Aside from the dishonesty with centrelink I would be hesitant to allow some stranger into my life who wanted to pay me $500 to rub my feet.

WorkingClassMum
29-11-2009, 10:26
I try to keep the abn as professional as possible. I dont use it privately..

Sorry - but seeing that YOU are your work, no matter what you're doing, it is business

When you invoice the man, you don't need to be too descriptive as to what you're doing.

When you complete your tax return you can still put down modelling services

Claiming that you want to keep your ABN 'clean' is a cop out IMO

You ARE earning serious money and it should be declared IMO.

$500 pw, or $26,000 pa is fairly good money

BlakeNatsMum
29-11-2009, 10:47
Id like to find me a person who would rub my feet and give me money! Sounds like a dream!..

Wasnt Me
29-11-2009, 11:02
Sorry - but seeing that YOU are your work, no matter what you're doing, it is business

When you invoice the man, you don't need to be too descriptive as to what you're doing.

When you complete your tax return you can still put down modelling services

Claiming that you want to keep your ABN 'clean' is a cop out IMO

You ARE earning serious money and it should be declared IMO.

$500 pw, or $26,000 pa is fairly good money
:iagree::iagree:

Amara
29-11-2009, 11:34
Of course you have to report it to them. It's income - all income has to be reported to them - it is clearly stated on almost every bit of paperwork that is sent out from them. Private income is still income.

Your payment will drop significantly, but you should still get a part parenting payment & full FTB A & B & a pension card. You will still be ahead though.

A little off topic, but someone mentioned Tupperware. I think it's time Centrelink got with the times & stopped calling it a hobby. It is an income just the same as someone who works in an office, a bar or rubs people's feet for a living.

I know someone who got a full parenting payment (or whatever it used to be called) for about 10 years while she did Tupperware, jewellery parties, alcohol parties & linen parties. She would sometimes earn as much as $1000 from one party (jewellery) yet Centrelink thought she deserved to still get a parenting payment. Completely wrong in my view. Mind you I have been told by someone who used to work at Centrelink that high earnings from party plan are actually reportable (once you go over a certain threshold) so she could one day be having to pay it all back one day. I don't believe she ever discussed the fact that she was making a heap of money from it.

I on the other hand work very hard 3 days per week in a very stressful job for a lot less than what she could earn in one party & I get a part parenting payment. It makes absolutely no sense. Seriously all income, regardless of how it is derived should be reportable.... it's only fair. I hope the close that loophole up soon as it would save the Government millions of dollars a year as a lot of women would be getting only a fraction of what they currently get now.

sam's mum
29-11-2009, 14:12
tupperware is a hobby???

this is from a government website guide to ssa (http://www.facsia.gov.au/guides_acts/ssg/ssguide-4/ssguide-4.3/ssguide-4.3.3/ssguide-4.3.3.20.html) and is an extract from the guide to the social security act:

Commission received by self-employed people

A person who is employed on a commission basis to sell a product and/or recruit other commission salespersons, is employed under a contract for services and is self-employed. The costs of obtaining the income are allowed to be deducted in the same manner as for businesses.

The net commissions are assessed (from the date they are entitled to be received) as remunerative lump sums and held as income for 52 weeks, even where the payments are small and/or regular.

Examples: People who are generally characterised as self-employed include consultants for 'Avon', 'Tupperware', 'Amway' and similar consultants and distributors.

and is a plain english version of the social security

MummaBear03
29-11-2009, 14:47
For me, working a 25 hour week in childcare, I get around $500 after tax each week. It then reduces my PPS to almost nothin which is fair enough because I'm earning double what I'd be getting from Centrelink anyway.

Even if it isn't "illegal" it's still wrong. As much as I'd love to get that amount in wages plus full PPS, I wouldn't be able to sleep at night.

What Sam's Mum has stated is absolutely true. I've got friends who do Tupperware and it reduces what they are entitled to in payments.

If you can live with yourself earning that much money and claiming Centrelink benefits in full, as well as the implications that has on ALL people receiving Centrelink and working (ie: will give the majority the assumption that we earn a full wage and still claim benefits) then that's up to you I guess, but I couldn't do it.

You're far better off working than relying on PPS entirely.

pennylane
29-11-2009, 15:00
If you dont declare it,with your SPP and your 'foot' money (sorry,dont know what else to call it lol) you will be outearning my DH,who Serves in The Royal Australian Airforce.And by quite a bit.

Sorry but that seems wrong and unfair.(and I kind of hope you already know that).

Does anyone wanna rub my feet? we could certainly use the money..lol

Myosotis
29-11-2009, 15:37
Far out how much does this weirdo earn if he can blow $500 a week on rubbing someone else feet??:confused:

Tell him to do a massage course at tafe, start up his own business and have people pay him to rub there feet.. ;)

Still gets to get his 'fix' and gets payed to do it instead of paying..
But he will have to keep it in his pants and not drool or twitch around the paying customers.. :p

MermaidSister
29-11-2009, 15:43
Technically you have to inform them of any money you earn at all, whether it's above board or not. Having said that you wouldn't be the first to earn cash in hand and not declare it, as without a tax file declaration there's no record of the earnings that they can check with the ATO. So it's up to you if you scam the system and keep it quiet or not, risking only being dobbed in by anyone who knows about your situation and wants to give you a hard time. (In which case they can investigate.) Have to say that posting this kind of information on an internet forum probably wasn't the wisest of ideas...

WorkingClassMum
29-11-2009, 15:44
u are technically not employed by tupperware.

tupperware do not keep any employment records of any one until they are ready to become a manager and then they are then employed by tupperware and get an abn number and earn cash bonuses.

the demonstrator buys the products for their clients just as anyone would and pays the cost of the products and all extra money on top of that is the demonstrators profit as such for the work that they do.

All that means is the the tupperware demostrator is self employed in retail, no different to any other end-of-the-line re-seller.

The fact that Tupperware re-sellers think that they are exempt is a rort IMO.

The fact that you even talk about a 'profit' and cash-in-hand rings alarm bells

delirium
29-11-2009, 15:58
You are getting paid cash in hand of $500 a week for some weird guy with a foot fetish to rub your feet and don't want to report it to CL... this thread is hilarious :laughing:. Is this a joke thread or for real? :laughing:

girly
29-11-2009, 16:01
Lol I'm not rubbing his feet, he's rubbing mine lmao.

Myosotis
29-11-2009, 16:01
You are getting paid cash in hand of $500 a week to rub some weird guy's feet with a foot fetish and don't want to report it to CL... this thread is hilarious :laughing:. Is this a joke thread or for real? :laughing:

No its EVEN funnier than that.. She is getting $500 cash in hand a week for a weird guy to rub HER feet.. This loser has a problem, he blows $500 a week to touch some feet..:dizzy:

WorkingClassMum
29-11-2009, 16:02
You are getting paid cash in hand of $500 a week to rub some weird guy's feet with a foot fetish and don't want to report it to CL... this thread is hilarious :laughing:. Is this a joke thread or for real? :laughing:

Nahh it's better than that, he rubs her feet...

Miss_N
29-11-2009, 16:05
You are getting paid cash in hand of $500 a week for some weird guy with a foot fetish to rub your feet and don't want to report it to CL... this thread is hilarious :laughing:. Is this a joke thread or for real? :laughing:

No No! You have it allllll wrong!

He is paying HER so that HE can rub HER feet! :laughing:

What is the world coming to! :rolleyes:

Myosotis
29-11-2009, 16:05
He should start playing with his own feet and invest his $500 a week.. Or get a girlfriend who likes foot rubs and save himself some money..

Seriously i dont know whats worse, the fact this guy pays someone a bunch of money to touch their feet or the fact that someone honestly thought they could still get full CL payments while earning $500 a week cash in hand.. (or in foot, taking the money between your toes would prob earn you a cash bonus.. :laughing:)

delirium
29-11-2009, 16:06
Yeah I realised that and editted my post before I saw the others. The mind boggles *shudders*

sam's mum
29-11-2009, 16:08
sams mum- i have read all that as it was shown to me at cl but as just a demonstrator u are technically not employed by tupperware. u sign no contract when u start except their rules and regulations etc for representing the name of tupperware. tupperware do not keep any employment records of any one until they are ready to become a manager and then they are then employed by tupperware and get an abn number and earn cash bonuses. all tupperware deals with is cash in hand. so its the customers who pay you and there is never any transactions between tupperware and the demonstrator except when the demonstrator pays tupperware for the products. the demonstrator buys the products for their clients just as anyone would and pays the cost of the products and all extra money on top of that is the demonstrators profit as such for the work that they do. so as far as cl and gov concerned in their own world a demonstrator is not employed as there are no records to say so and there are no "fixed" hours of work as its work when u want. i have spoken to many ppl at cl and fam assist about it and read and researched everything i could about it. spoken to head office in syd as well and it was made clear that as i couldnt prove employment or work hours or anything at all as there are no records that i need not declare money from demonstrating. i have met many ppl fromtupperware now and no many single/married/pt working mothers and even fathers who have taken up tupperware full swing after they saw how much money they could earn if they became a manager. i think its something everyone should consider as it is dead easy. my manager herself gave up her job to work tupperware full time. single mum with two teenagers and a house to pay off and she is doing great! i think if mums out there find a way to get ahead in the financial times we are all in then go ahead and do it. i consider myself an honest person and i have tried many times to declare money to cl but its their rules and i cant do anything about that. sorry if anyone feels im taking advantage but im just doing what i can to support my growing family and release a bit of pressure of my hubby who is having to look for a second job as our eldest is autistic and costs $50,000 a year for his therapy. its hard and this way i can contribute.

you have confused quite a few concepts there.

1. I have no doubt that you are not employed by tupperware. no problem with that statement whatsoever.

2. when you say that they are employed by tupperware, and get an ABN. that is a contradiction. If you are employed, you don't have an ABN, you use your TFN. Self employed people use ABNs.

3. anyone who is self employed, plumber, electrician, anything, no one is keeping their employment records, hours etc. It doesn't mean that they aren't working, just that they aren't an employee.

4. the whole mention of 'cash in hand' and buying and onselling rings a million alarm bells.

sam's mum
29-11-2009, 16:12
im not trying to defend my self but its really not like i made the rules. i dont require an abn so i dont have to pay tax. cl no this as they told me so. they are aware i make cash in hand i have even told them how much and everything but they cant process it on comp as it just denies them to do so as there is no proof. i cant think of much else i can explain. sorry i seem to be upsetting some of u but ive tried everything i can in regards to cl etc and i cant do more. i wont give up tupperware as it helps pay my sons medical bills which cost us a grand a week on top of rent food etc and raising our other children. its a tough time and this is helping. so im sorry if this offending u but im not sorry for earning the money as i no as a mother im doing what i can to provide for my sons needs and i have exercised everything i needed to and more in regards to cl. i have exhausted every other opportunity and have done nothing wrong as far as cl is concerned. i cant give up the work just because it may not seem fair. the fact that the government wont provide vital aba therapy for autistic children is my reason for having to find other means of money to pay for it. i found it and its paying for some of it. my 6 yr old boy has the brain development of an 18 month old. its hard but without the therapy he would regress. so im in no way sorry for making the money and i would hope at least some of u would understand my side of the situation im in.

sounds to me like they are inexperienced. It is actually very simple to do if you are in the self employed income section and not the wages section.

SammieSnail
29-11-2009, 16:13
Forget about whether or not it is right to defraud Centrelink!
Having a fruitcake rubbing your feet for $500 is not one of the brightest ideas I have ever heard. That is gross and darn weird...

SassyMummy
29-11-2009, 16:17
Hey, if some guy wanted to rub my feet for $500, why the hell would I complain? :p

That said, Shiraaa, it's Centrelink fraud if you do not report it.

AM
29-11-2009, 16:22
Girly you just want to win the 'most bizzare thread' award in the next 'bubhub awards' don't you? :laughing:

girly
29-11-2009, 16:38
Lmaoo I'll be sure to enter it hahaha. Lol no matter what I still think the thread

"which one taste better-paper or cardboard takes the cake... Lmaoo I'm still laughing from reading that thread! Almost a year ago

Me
29-11-2009, 16:40
But your still ahead declaring the money, paying your taxes and receiving a reduced SPP than if you don't do "the work" and just receive full SPP, so why not just do it legitimately?

girly
29-11-2009, 16:43
Oh and as for his job, he and 3 other families import oil from other countries.. He's 23 and driving a$ 200,000 car... Oh and he doesn't work more than about 20hours a week lol. Lucky basterd..

ThomasMum
29-11-2009, 17:19
Do the right thing, inform CL pls :thumbsup:

sam's mum
29-11-2009, 17:21
abn because it is self employment as u are earning but as a manager tupperware also provide u with a ford territory car and pay u extra cash bonuses and provide an annual fuel allowance hence u are also employed by them. i cant be put in self employment as to register that u need an abn which i dont. as for plumbers etc they also have abns etc and pay tax and keep receipts for the hours they work as i dont and cant. i dont feel i have to justify anything any more as i have explained i have done everything i can and spoke to many people in gov agencies and head office as well as tupperware themselves as they have to be in the no for their side of legal reasons. i am doing everything legally. im doing everything cl have told me to do. im abiding by all rules. i would not jeopardise my cl payment by breaking any rules as i cant afford to lose it. im not the only demonstrator around so the situation is not unique to cl. im sorry u seem to feel im doing something wrong but im just trying to do what i can. and i have made sure it is perfectly legal and i would never try and defraud cl hence me doing everything i can to ensure im not. its not like im spending the money on anything luxurious or on smoking or drinking or anything like that. just on medical bills that are needed for my sons condition which the gov hasnt recognised how vital the therapy is. the therapy im paying $50,000 a year for is completely free in the UK. australia is really behind. it may not seem fair to u that i dont have to declare but having to pay the amount of money i do isnt either. i will never own my own home as my loans are maxed out ive never taken and will never take a holiday. i havent bought any clothes for myself in 2 years. all my money is spent entirely on my children as they come first. like i said what im doing has been completely legal and i have broken no rules. so i dont see why it is such an issue. if anything i thought everyone would be interested to no that they too can be making money to help them out. :confused:

I think you may be misunderstanding me, I am not asking you to justify it. I am just wanting to make sure that you understand that some of the things that you are saying you seem to be mixed up on.

I really don't understand why it isn't self employment. If you look at the difference between a hobby and a business, it ticks the boxes for business.

can I also ask that you use paragraphs, I keep getting lost in your posts. :o

SalTheGal
29-11-2009, 17:36
My understanding when I was doing Linen party plans was if you earned under a certain amount (back then I think it was $10,000) then it was classified as a hobby- after that point you were required to get an abn and declare it as income....

I did it as a second job, and never earnt over that much in a financial year, so was able to keep the money cash in hand....

It is the same for artists, musicians, WAHM's, and people who get paid to play sport I thought???

sam's mum
29-11-2009, 17:41
this is from the ato

How do I know if I’m in business?

There are a number of factors to consider when determining whether you are running a business or a hobby.

* Does your activity have a significant commercial character? It’s important to consider whether your activity is carried on for commercial reasons and in a commercially viable manner.
* Is there more than just an intention to engage in business? You need to have made a decision to commence business and have done something about it. If you are still setting up or preparing to go into business, you might not yet have commenced business.
* Do you have the purpose of profit as well as the prospect of profit? Do you intend to make a profit or genuinely believe that you will make a profit, even if you are unlikely to do so in the short term?
* Is there repetition and regularity to your activity? Businesses usually repeat similar types of activities, although one-off transactions can constitute a business in some cases.
* Is your business similar to other businesses in your industry? Is the way you operate consistent with industry norms or other businesses in your industry?
* What is the size, scale or permanency of your activity? Is the size or scale of your activity consistent with other businesses in your industry? Is it sufficient to allow you to make a sustainable profit?
* Is your activity planned, organised and carried on in a business-like manner? This can be indicated by business records and books of account, a separate business bank account, business premises, licences or qualifications, and a registered business name.

there is no mention of amounts earnt. although I do know that profit can come into it if you are trying to claim a loss. there were changes a few years ago with alienation of income and non-commercial losses.

my_lot
29-11-2009, 18:39
:p I just want to know does he do anything else while he's rubbing the feet ?

Miss_N
29-11-2009, 18:48

Or WHAT exactly he will be rubbing the feet WITH! ;):p:eek:

delirium
29-11-2009, 18:50

Or WHAT exactly he will be rubbing the feet WITH! ;):p:eek:

that make my skin crawl :laughing: but is a good point :barf:

Fuchsia!
29-11-2009, 18:54

Forget about whether or not it is right to defraud Centrelink!
Having a fruitcake rubbing your feet for $500 is not one of the brightest ideas I have ever heard. That is gross and darn weird...:iagree::iagree:

Im not sure why you even have to ask this question, i think you know that its wrong but you wanted people to tell you to do it anyway.

$500 a week is a lot of money and you could easily live off that as many working families do. It would be very wrong of you to accept this money and not declare it. I think you already know this.

But i think its realy weird and im not sure its something i would want my children knowing i did for a career.

MsMummy
29-11-2009, 19:47
Ook. I'm on the SPP, BUT, am I allowed to earn *private* money..It's roughly $500 p/w.

No, it's fraud. Obviously.

Personally, I wouldn't broadcast my intention to defraud the federal government to the world.

MummaBear03
29-11-2009, 19:49

I can live with NOT knowing that kind of information :dizzy:

MsMummy
29-11-2009, 19:51
On a related note, my ex-flatmate was a stripper. she had a client who would pay her large sums of money (at the club where she worked) to watch her flex her feet and touch them.

It's obviously not as unusual as I would have thought.:D

girly
29-11-2009, 20:26
Lol, as far as I recall it's cream(proper moisterising cream.

Opinionated
29-11-2009, 20:39
Shoot me, but I would do it and keep my mouth shut about it.

I was once paid to model shoes- the creepiest bit was, the shoes had been owned by his mother! Feet people are weird IMO.

singa06
29-11-2009, 20:48
This thread is so funny! I would love someone to massage my feet...for free!

sockstealingpoltergeist
29-11-2009, 21:00
Shoot me, but I would do it and keep my mouth shut about it.

I was once paid to model shoes- the creepiest bit was, the shoes had been owned by his mother! Feet people are weird IMO.

nothanksbye
29-11-2009, 21:23
I have a friend who works as a receptionist in a brothel.

They have a regular who brings in a bag of snails and pay a woman to crush them with stillettos...and she has to wear nothing else.:barf::barf:

Poor snails.

Back to the op...do whatever your conscience tell you , afterall its your karma.

Veritas
29-11-2009, 21:35
It's income.... doesn't matter how you earn it it's still income.... report it to Centrelink and pay the tax you are legally obligated to pay. Anything less is fraud.

Seriously though, is he going to be doing this in your home, around your daughter???? I'd be exercising a little caution here as to whether it's really a wise idea from a safety and wellbeing point of view....