View Full Version : What is your 6-7 month old's routine?

Blueberry Crumble
27-11-2009, 20:19
Please, can people tell me the routine they do with their babys, whether it be strict, flexible or whatever!!

Mummy2R&K
27-11-2009, 20:25
Please, can people tell me the routine they do with their babys, whether it be strict, flexible or whatever!!

Hi this is my 7mo routine:

6.30/7ish Wake Up
7.30ish 150ml Bottle
8.15ish Brekky
9.30ish Sleep
11.30 Lunch, usually half banana and some yogurt
1.00pm 150ml Bottle
2.00ish Sleep
3/3.30 afternoon tea (depends on sleep)
5pm Dinner
6.00 Bath
6.30 200ml Bottle (rarely finishes it)
7.30ish Bed
10.30ish 200ml Dreamfeed

First bottle is usually 45mins after she wakes up, and brekky usually 30-1hr after that.

Sleep times do vary, but I now work on 3hours awake time for first and second sleeps, but I watch for her tired signs, she may go down a bit earlier.

I'm also going to start making the dreamfeed a little earlier, and not so much.

faroutbrusselsprout
27-11-2009, 20:31
Here's mine -
Wake up, anywhere from 5am to 7:30am depending on the night and how long he's been in bed with me hanging off my boob..:o
Brekky around 8
Walk every morning for one hour at 9 and he sleeps for about half of it.
Sleep when he gets grumpy
lunch aywhere between 11-1
Sleep
Make sure he's up when we do school run.
Dinner 4.30
bath 5.30
Bed by 6?
Breastfeeding about 3-4 times during the day stilll before meals
Up a few times during the night reinserting dummy and breastfeeding!

Cheerio
27-11-2009, 20:55
I have generally followed his lead but he has settled into a bit of a pattern which is

7ish start the day, not long after bottle.
8ish, Breakfast
9.30-10ish sleep, normally for about 2ish hours
11.30ish, bottle
12.30ish, lunch
1-2ish, sleep
3.30-4 Bottle
5-5.30 dinner
6.30 bath
and pretty well straight after its bottle then bed

HelenHasTwins
27-11-2009, 21:03
Here is my boys routine (They are 7 months old)...I pretty much stick to it even if I go over a friends house for the day...

5-5.30 am

Wake and they play in their cots or chat to each other until 6am ( they do this everymorning)

6 am-Give both a bottle 220ml and cereal
then a bit of a play on the floor

7.30-Nap usually for about 1 hour

10am -Bottle and straight down for nap ( usually around 1hour)

Play

12.30-Lunch

Play

1.30 -Bottle and straight down for nap ( 1 to 2 hours)

Play

5pm - Dinner

5.30 - Bath and Bottle

In bed by 6pm....sleep till morning...most days they do not make it to 6pm as they are full on when they are awake....

Blueberry Crumble
27-11-2009, 21:08
Gee Helen you are up early!! :)

lozie2
27-11-2009, 21:08
ours is in the process of changing

7am bf
7.45food
8ish, bed
10am bf
1145- 12 bed
1pm bf
2 bed
4pm bf
bath and tea
6-6.30pm bf
9.30-10 dreamfeed
im trying to work out lunch! any suggestions would be great! i was thinking of tryin to extend her 10am feed out to 1030ish

HelenHasTwins
27-11-2009, 21:10
Gee Helen you are up early!! :)

I don't get out of bed till 6pm...;) That is why they play in their cots for half hour or so....I don't mind because they are in bed every night by 6pm and it suits us because my DH starts work early and is in bed early.

TripleTime
27-11-2009, 21:17
6am start - bottle, cereal
7.30 sleep 1hr
10am bottle
11.30 sleep 2-3hrs
2pm bottle - lunch, fruit
3.30 sleep 30min
4.30 start baths, generally done in 45min
6pm bottle, dinner
7.30 bed
2am bottle
6am start again

their awake between sleep & the next bottle & EXTREMELY full on when they are awake.
I wont say how much they eat because someone will freak out that they dont eat enough.

HelenHasTwins
27-11-2009, 21:23
ours is in the process of changing

im trying to work out lunch! any suggestions would be great! i was thinking of tryin to extend her 10am feed out to 1030ish

My routine was pretty much the same as yours until I decided to stretch the boys out to feeds of 4 hours...maybe you could do something like this...just a suggestion...it might take a week or so to get bub's use to it and when I did it with the boys I stretched them out gradually over a week if they wanted a bottle ( or in your case BF) earlier than the 4 hours and were really cracking it I just gave it to them...over a week or so they did stretch out fine especially with the food....

7am bf
7.30food
8ish, bed
10.30am bf
11.00 - ? bed or I would put bubba down for nap straight after bf
1pm lunch
2pm BF
2ish bed
5ish bath and tea
5.30 - 6pm bf
6 - 6.30 bed

This way you have 4 bf a day stretching out to 3 and half hours...the lunch food should help tide bubba over.

Hope this gives you some idea's.

Blueberry Crumble
27-11-2009, 21:28
Thanks ladies, they are all kind of similar hey?

I am trying to introduce a flexible routine for my daughter, but am doing it slowly, and not letting her scream because it isnt the right time for food etc... I am combinig a routine that I have written out with her own demands... hopefully we get some sort of structure to our days!

Deserama
27-11-2009, 23:18
My son's 7 mths and we don't have one. When he's hungry...I feed him, when he's tired I put him to bed...when he wants to play...he plays.

Cheerio
27-11-2009, 23:41
Blueberry, for me it helps if I do things in an order rather than a routine at set times if that makes sense. Its mainly so I don't forget to feed etc :o My memory is shocking! Thats how we sorta slotted into it. Hope that helps :)

NonnyMouse
27-11-2009, 23:52
DS is 7 months, and we're not that sctrict, but most days usually run like this:

5:30 (or 6am if I'm lucky) - breastfeed in bed, then out to the lounge for quality time with DP while I catch a few more zzzz's
7:30 breakfast with me, usually a piece of fruit and cereal.
8:00 - nap time
10.00 - breastfeed, awake and playing, or we go out somewhere
12ish - some finger food and/or yoghurt
2.00 pm - breastfeed
4.00 - sometimes a nap, lasting 45 mins to an hour ish. Longer if we're lucky.
6.00 - breastfeed, then he joins me in the kitchen while I cook tea, or goes for a walk round the block with DP.
6:30- dinner, then playtime
7.00 - top up breastfeed, then off to bed.
10pm - 12 - somewhere arounf this time he'll have another breastfeed.
3.00 am - yep, another feed. This one isn't always, just some nights.
5:30 am - he starts his day over again.

When he's not feeding or sleeping, we either go out somewhere or just hang around the house and he watches me do the laundry, cooking etc. He plays in his playpen for a while, chases me, DP or the cat around the house, and generally explores his environment. I do some one on one with him with action songs, tickle fights etc, but there's no real routine to this, it depends on how tired I am, and what mood he's in. I don't bath him daily cause he doesn't need it, and we don't have a set bath time, but when we do it's usually it's in the middle of the day and we use it to cool off and have some water play as well as to get clean.

Charlotte'sMummy
28-11-2009, 00:38
DD will be 7 months next week and we have pretty much been in this routine since she was about 2 months old..didnt force a routine on her, i guess it's just what works best for her:

*9.30-10am: Wake up (Yes im lucky enough to get a sleep in:yelclap:)
*11am: Breakky (half a banana or yoghurt) and 150ml bottle
*12pm: Nap for an hour or so
-Play time/Walk
*2pm: Nap again for about an hour or so
*3:30pm: 200ml bottle
-Play time
*6pm- Nap
*7pm- Bath
*7:30pm- Mash spuds/200ml bottle
-Nap
*11pm-150ml bottle

She semi-wakes at 11pm to have a quick top up and she's out for the rest of the night.. i find it odd but it works for her and hey i am not complaining one bit cos it means i dont have to get up which is great!

Good luck with trying to get the flexible routine going!

MumtoD
28-11-2009, 05:39
Our son is 7 months old and his routine is:

6am - wake up and playtime
7am - bath
730am - bottle feed
8am - solids
830am/9am - 30 min nap
1130am - bottle feed
12noon solids
1230 - 2-2.5 hour sleep
330pm - bottle feed
4pm - solids
730pm bottle and bed

Only two sleeps here now but with the lunchtime one being 2.5 hours normally and ends about 2-30pm or 3pm he gets to his 730pm bed time without being grumpy normally.

CatNoonan
28-11-2009, 13:38
Hi here's Jim's rountine, he's nearly 7 months old.

5am - Waking for a feed. He has this in his cot cos he's holding his own bottle.

5:20 - 6:30am - Sleeping
6:30am - 8:30am - Another bottle 250ml
9am- 11:00am - Sleeping
11:00am - 12:00noon - Play time. In his bouncer, Walker or on a playmat.
12:00noon - 12:30 - Lunch. Poridge with some pureed fruit added
12:30pm - 2/3pm - Playtime. As before with TV on in back ground with cartoons/education shows on.
3pm - 4pm - A small bottle to help seatle into an afternoon nap.
Then napping if he wants to.
5pm - Dinner time, solids of some kind. His favourite is bangers and mash
5:30pm - 7pm - Daddy time. and bath or getting ready 4 bed
7pm - Another small bottle and put to bed awake with mobile on.

I'm not that strict with my schedule. I let Jim direct me most of the time. We go out often in the car. I don't rush home if it's his sleep time, he sleeps in his car seat or his pram.

bridee
28-11-2009, 19:56
DD is 6mths on Tuesday.

6.30-7.30 Wakes
7.30-8.00 BF
8.30 - sleep generally only half
9.00 out to do DD1 activity eg. playgroup, mothers group etc
11.30 BF usually falls asleep feeding
11.45 sleep 2-3hrs
4.00 BF
6.30 Bath, BF feeds to sleep
3-4am BF

May have arvo sleep, depending on when she gets up from big arvo sleep.

I've only just started solids and these get slotted in whenever I have time at the moment.

Being a second child DD2 just kind of goes with the flow according to DD1 comings and goings.

qtkiwi
29-11-2009, 21:09
My bubs is 6 months and had a pretty similar routine to most

5.30-7am ish (depends when we wakes) BF
7.30 Nap (usually a couple of hours, might be a little later if he sleeps in)
10 am Breakfast
11 am BF
12 - Lunch
2 pm - BF then nap
4.30 -5.30 ish dinner and bath
May have up to three 'cluster BF' after this before he hits the sack, usually in bed asleep for the night by around 7pm though.

CatNoonan, (please dont take this the wrong way) but be very careful letting your little one drink his bottle in his cot. I let my first DS do this when he went to bed and he ended up with endless ear infections and glue ear as a result of this. Its ok if he's sitting up or proppoed up but if they are lying flat and drinking, it can cause problems with their ears. Just something to look out for, I hate the thought of any lil bubba having to go through what he did :crying:

CheekyChicken
29-11-2009, 21:45
Ours is chaos though DD isn't 6 months until tuesday.

Regardless of what time she wakes she will be in bed with me if it is earlier than 7. Sometimes DH will get up with her if it is even earlier. Her wake up time can vary immensly eg we went away for the weekend which meant she slept all the car trip and consequently mucked up her sleep patterns so one night she wanted up at 2am and the next at 4am.

Usually the wake up time is 5:30ish - 7am.

Some days I give her a solids breaky, some days I don't. This will usually be when we get out of bed.

Breastfeed around 10am- usually it is 3 hours after her last feed to could be earlier.

Most days she has a little nap (half hour at around 10am- sometimes it is closer to midday).

If we go out in the morning it is usually around 10am, she might sleep in the pram.

Lunch- somedays solids, sometimes food first boob later or sometimes it is the other way.

Breast feeds generally every 3 hours all day and night.

sometimes another nap at around 2ish for around half an hour.

SOmetimes a late nap at 7ish resulting in a later bedtime (not fun).

Dinnertime (solids) is usually 7ish always with us as we are BLWing.

Generally bedtime is anywhere from 9-10:30pm

We don't get a lot of sleep and I am TIRED!

juz twins
15-12-2009, 22:09
I have twin Girls their routein is

7am milk
8am solids
9:20 bed
11am milk
12pm solids
1:20 bed
When they wake (usually around 3:30) Milk
5pm solids
6pm (bath or Massage)
6:30 milk
7pm bed

i find the routein works for me cause my girls usually sleep through the night but i find it a little restrictive if i want to go out for dinner so we usually stay home and make friends come to us

Sheer Bliss
15-12-2009, 22:25
We used to have something like this....although the timing varies from day to day and is dependant on the first baby to demand something....the other baby just has to follow, lol.

7-8am wake and b/f
brekky an hour later
bed an hour later - usually 9:30-10:30 by then.
DS will sleep for about an hour, sometimes up to 2. I feed him first, then usually have to wake DD, she will sleep for 2-3hrs if I let her.
Have just started giving some fruit for lunch an hour later
bed 1-1.5hrs later - although ATM DD is starting to refuse to sleep at this point!!!!
Sleep for 1.5hrs
So just as DS is waking and having a feed, DD is going to sleep :hair:
She'll sleep for a few hours and wake just as he is getting cranky so will either have a half hour nap in the swing or another b/f. She'll have a feed too.
dinner app 6pm
bath 6:30
DS feed to sleep usually for 30-50mins, DD is nice and fresh from her late sleep, so she plays happily.
DD has turned into a night owl and is then awake until around 9-10pm, but slept last night until 4:30, then 8am. DS will wake every 3hrs overnight, usually 10, 1, 4, then 7:30ish again for the day.....And DS1 usually wonders into m bed at around 5am for cuddles and some more sleep, so from 4-5:30...i'm awake :rolleyes: DD1 is considerate and stays in bed until about 6:30am. haha (sorry not relevant, but had to have a winge! :o)

kel87
16-12-2009, 00:09
DSs goes something like this .. he will be 7 months on the 22nd and has been in this sort of routine since 5 months - a month after starting solids :)

Between 7:00-7:30 Awake
7:15 200ml bottle
7:45 Breakfast (yogurt & banana or toast)
10:00 Asleep
11:30 Awake & 200ml Bottle
12:00 Lunch (meat veg and fruit)
2:30 Sleep
4:00 Awake & 200ml Bottle
5:00 Dinner (meat and veg and dessert)
6:15 Bath
6:30 200ml Bottle then into bed -- usually asleep by 7pm

I generally just go with his flow .. DS is currently catnapping twice a day instead of having 1.5-2hr sleeps arghhh and then teething/vaxs/sickness will throw it out for a day or so ... i just try and keep up the feed/play/sleep and up for 2.5/3hrs max (if i'm lucky!!)

Boobycino
16-12-2009, 07:33
At 6 months bubba was cat napping :hair: No matter what i did :hair: 30minutes sleep tops.

But he was smoothing out around 7 months.

To my memory he was:

waking at 6amish - breastfeed in bed.
wheetbix for breakfast when he 'asked' for it.
back to bed 9amish,

He would sleep between 45mins and 1.5hrs - if he had a full sleep he'd be awake till around 1:30 (having a feed when he woke and then lunch a bit later) and then sleep HOPEFULLY until 3 and then he'd have another feed and another meal of solids and then in bed at 7.

IF he only slept less than 1hr on either nap then he'd have a 30 minute additional nap at 4pm. I'd wake him sometimes so he didn't oversleep so he'd still go down at 7.

Thats roughly what we did :yes:

kuddles
16-12-2009, 07:38
Chel I know your pain. Since 5 months DS has had 3 30min sleeps a day. Lately they range between 20-30 mins.

adelaideannie
16-12-2009, 13:04
WOW guys I have got some ideas now thanks for starting this thread. DS is 6.5 months and we dont really have a routine as he sleeps different every day some days does 30 - 45 min naps x 3 others may do 1 -2 hours in one go and two or one shorter naps usually the lesser. Our only same thing is bed by 7pm dream feed 2230 and usually up at 7am then down 1st nap 9am from there it is diferent everyday! Oh and he has 2 solids meals one around 8am post BF and the other around 3pm before last day nap.