View Full Version : 39 wks - paranoid my waters will break - did yours??

presley
23-11-2009, 19:35
My official due date is next Wednesday, but both my previous bubs came 14 and 10 days late, so I've probably got a while to go. But since I've finished work and not really made any plans as I just don't know when bub'll come, I'm kind of at a loose end. But I get pretty nervous going out to shops and stuff (especially starting to think about Christmas shopping) as I'm worried my waters will break!! :eek: I'm wearing a pad but am not confident that it'll be enough if it does happen. Has this happened to anyone? And what did you do?

Whoops
23-11-2009, 19:43
My waters broke with two of my babies, but I was at home when it happened. Going by my own experience, a pad would be okay. Just make sure you carry spares as it keeps leaking.

Theophania
23-11-2009, 19:43
Lol can't say that happened to me, I had my waters broken by a male dr and he had to leave his hand there to make sure no cord came down so that was a little awkward lol :rolleyes:

I personally would not be worried about that though, I mean if it did happen in public people are going to see your belly and understand you haven't just wet yourself :laughing:

Maybe if you have a big enough hand bag you can carry a small towel or something with you for peace of mind

Shortiii
23-11-2009, 20:02
Mine didnt break... at all. Lol. Had them manually broken 30 seconds before DS's head popped out!

However I was a little nervous too, but at the same time... I was pregnant, so if it happened it happened...

Most of my other friends who have had bubs have either had their waters trickle a little, or it broke at night, when they got up to go to the toilet!

I wish mine would have broken.. they didnt believe i was in labour until shortly before he arrived!

BoyCrazy
23-11-2009, 20:08
hehe i remember being so so paranoid about the exact same thing (with both babies lol)

with my first, my waters broke at exactly 39 weeks, at home, and while i was on the toilet in denial that i was actually in labour :laughing:

with my second (also born at 39 weeks), my waters never broke til i had an ARM in hospital. had had a show, contractions, midwife thought bub was getting stressed as she kept losing his heartbeat (turns out he was holding the cord lol)

i agree with PP, take a bag with you, with an old towel, some pads, and a spare pair of undies and spare botoms (pants or skirt whatever). also u should remember bout your car seat too..u dont want your waters breaking on that lol...my DF made me sit on a tarpaulin with 2 towels under it ;) haha men!

ps when preg with my 2nd i was going up to the local westfield every day just to go for slow walks around the shops and enjoying the aircon. i think i spent more time waddling and going to the public toilets than actually shopping :laughing:

good luck, all the best for your little ones arrival! :goodvibes:

soozem
23-11-2009, 20:11
:yes: mine broke at home. I went through ALOT of maternity pads before I got to the hospital. It wasn't so bad if I was standing but at one point once I got to hospital I had been sitting on the bed for a while and I guess built up a bit of fluid (sorry tmi) and not even the pad could hold it lol everything got wet including the bed and floor :eek: It is the most unusal feeling to be losing all that fluid and have no control.

Areca
23-11-2009, 20:15
Mine broke with DD2 but there was so much pressure I knew they were going to break.
dd1 they broke when I was fully dilated.
DS I just didn't feel like they were going to break....even went to the beach in labour....after 24 1/2 hours my midwife broke them to try and speed up my labour (it worked) and even she struggled to get them to break.

I definitely had warning with DD2....it was like I could feel them bulging and I never had that feeling with dd1 and ds.

2boysfornow
23-11-2009, 21:15
sorry mine did break at home too but keep coming all the way to the hospital...

Had to sit on a towel inthe car and still strandle walked to the ward...lol

I'm afraid to say thats the least of your worries .. have a healthly baby and a decent labour...good luck

Oh and by the way I went over and was induced with first 2 pregnancies and went naturally with 3rd ..although was my first girl so maybe impatient....lol

jolenje
23-11-2009, 22:01
It was a usual sedate friday night...2 days before bub # 1 was 40 wks...(due sunday 8-8-08)
I was laying in bed watching some boring tv show...and GUSH....it was like nothing I have ever experienced in my female reproductive years (a few since I was almost 32)...I raced to get a towel, and the flow kept coming...so embarrassing...but so exciting also...
I screamed out for hubby, who was a rather useless first time dad... " my waters have broke, I'm leaking all over the place...?"
Bugger, ****, crap...Friday night football meant he was unable to drive, hence I had to drive to the local hospital, luckily only around 10 mins away...
I had to pack a towel in my undies, a most bizarre feeling I must say...it still seemed all so surreal, a product of hormones and adrenaline I guess...
I got to the hospital, and they assessed me...
and promptly sent me home as they said I wasn't advanced enough...
I was so taken aback...I always thought waters breaking was a symptom of fast onset labour...
Little did I know...
I went until almost 1pm the next day before giving birth to an 8pd4oz 58cm 36cm head circumf...naturally with assistance of ventouse suction...(no mean feat considering I was ill with a fever, throat infection going into labour and hadn't slept for almost 48 hrs...plus being almost 32, and a narrow hipped mummy...I was 3pd12ox at birth-daddy/hubby is 6ft 4, hence the big yet not heavy pregnancy...)I only put on 10kgs in 40wks, but she was too big for me...)
It was the most terrifying...yet happiest day of my life....
DP and I still get emotional when we look back...

Starlet
23-11-2009, 23:31
My first baby my waters broke sometime during the night. I have no idea when. I woke at 2am and thought that I felt a bit sticky down there, stood up and it started running down my leg lol.

DS2 it happened after I started having contractions every 5 mins. I bundled DS1 into the car to drop him off at my mums before going to hospital and as soon as I pulled the door closed, I felt a pop and trickling(so back inside to get a change of undies lol).

DS3, I went to hospital as I had the runs and baby hadn't moved during the day - they chucked me on monitors to see what was going on and I started getting some ouchie contractions. The midwife wouldn't believe me when I said the contractions were hurting and wanted to send me home and I insisted she examine me before I left. Oh what do you know, I am 4cm. She tells me that I'm very stretchy and she could almost stretch me to 5cm - then my waters broke all over her hand and she said 'Now you're 5cm'. I gave birth only 4 hours later.

DS4 I had a home birth with no examinations. My waters did not break until his head crowned :)

Lastcenturymum
23-11-2009, 23:50
Joleneje, I was a bit like you. A big gush when I sat up in bed to go get out to go to the loo.

To be honest I never even thought about my waters breaking and certainly not in public. Would be interesting to know what percentage it actually happens to. I certainly didn't even think about wearing a pad (I was uncomfortable enough :p)

Go out, enjoy yourself, browse in shops and make the most of these last few days.

If you are at a loose end and you already have two kids you must be super organised. All the best :sunshine:

IndigoJ
23-11-2009, 23:57
Mine didnt break :) I had them broken for me :( when i was in labour to 'move things along' well it didnt move things along, made things worse imo. My biggest fear was having them broken while shopping, but at the same time if they did break at least i knew it was the real thing. Rather then is this it?, nope, is this it?, nope for 8wks.

Good Luck, im sure you will be fine :)

Bellini
24-11-2009, 01:07
Just so you know, I was told at my birth class that only a small percentage of women spontaneously break their waters prior to labour starting.

Anyway, mine broke with a massive gush early in the morning, just after I got out of bed to go to the loo. I'm glad it didn't happen in a shop, although upon saying that, I have never heard of that happening (but it seems to happen in all the movies! :rolleyes:)

I'm sure a pad will prevent any leaking if it does happen, but seriously don't stress. Go out shopping and enjoy yourself :)

fabulouscazza
24-11-2009, 01:51
I must be the only person who's waters broke in a public place! It was always my fear too, but I lookback on it and laugh...
It was my due date with dd and I totally thought I was going to be overdue, so dh and I went to crown casino for dinner and a movie. We were walking back to the car (still in the complex) and gush! There was heaps! We ran back to the car and thankfully dh gad some towels in the boot so I sat on those for the drive home then jumped in the shower as soon as we got home.
With ds, I was overdue and induced. I had a trickle at midnight, then had my waters broken just before I gave birth; so both were very different!

MumtoD
24-11-2009, 05:48
Mine broke at 37 weeks and my son came 24 hours later. They broke in the middle of the night and it woke me up but luckily it wasnt enough to wet the bed. A pad was fine for my waters - I wore that until I went to the hospital 6 hours later and my clothes didnt get wet.

lira09
24-11-2009, 07:22
A lady I know had her waters break while she was out doing her weekly shopping :o but ppl helped her out and she called her mum (she was early 39weeks) and they come and got her and took her home her DF went and got her car from the shops she had bub a few hrs later

presley
24-11-2009, 20:29
If you are at a loose end and you already have two kids you must be super organised. All the best :sunshine:

:laughing::laughing::laughing: Lol I'm nowhere near super-organised!! I haven't got the bassinet ready, I've got washing piling up (and wet washing I couldn't be bothered pegging out), can't be bothered cooking dinner.... blah blah blah....where's that nesting instinct when you need it?? I just can't get myself to care about housework and stuff (am kinda hoping that DH will just have to do it while I'm in hosp :laughing: fat chance).

Thanks for tips everyone - great idea to carry some towels/spare clothes just for piece of mind. I think if I go out I'll wear black pants instead of jeans so if anything does happen it won't be so visible (you remember that tampon ad where she says "i had to leave the party with a jacket tied round my waist thinking this should never have happened"? maybe i'll start carrying a jacket round with me ;)).

My friend was at pizza hut salad bar years ago when a woman's waters broke all over the flor. She said the woman kind of stood there in shock until she said to her 'i think you'd better go'. Thankfull it was on tiles! The trouble is we really need a new couch but I'm too scared to go out sitting on couches in case my waters break on one!!

BoyCrazy
24-11-2009, 20:38
my mum told me today about my aunt's labour..her waters broke in the middle of woolworths. she didnt have anyone with her and no time to waste so she drove herself to the hospital in labour. she then promptly gave birth to my cousin in the lifts of the hospital :eek: lucky she didnt wait for help, or my cousin wouldve been a woolies baby! :laughing:

DonDon
24-11-2009, 20:43
My water broke spontaneously with both my chn. The first was in bed and I just felt a pop when I moved and when I stood up it trickled down my leg. I sat on a towel in the car and it was fine. Then with #2 well I was out in the shops and would you believe it finishing my xmas shopping! I had just gone to the toilet and was walking out and I thought gee that feels like a lot of mucus (tmi but I know ykwIm) so I went back into the toilet and that familiar smell came. A pad certainly would have been enough. I actually considered going to one last shop as I only needed one more thing but decided to go back to the car and I had another little trickle at the car but a pad would have been enough. Go to the shops and feel the cool. If your water does break noone will know you or remember your face after you go and what a wonderful present to take your mind off of embarrassment!
Good luck

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
24-11-2009, 22:10
With my first bub they were broken for me in labour and I don't recall it at all.
With my last bub I was in the hospital, had regular contractions for 8hrs but only 2cm dilated...was about to go home as we all thought bubs was a while away and then I felt this horrible pressure and they broke everywhere. Wasn't allowed home then as they had broken (also lightly meconium stained). Good thing I stayed as she was born less than an hour after they broke...if they hadn't broken we would have left and she would have been born at home or in the carpark or something! :laughing:

Bellini
24-11-2009, 23:41
I actually considered going to one last shop as I only needed one more thing but decided to go back to the car

Now that's shopping dedication! :thumbsup::laughing: