View Full Version : Perth FIFO Chef

Bellaleggos
13-11-2009, 23:06

My DP has been offered a Head Chef job FIFO 2 and 1 - he has been thinking about doing it for a long time, and now the time has come to make the decision.
We are both wavering over whether he should do it. The money (let's be honest that's the reason they do it) is $20,000 more than what he earns in Perth. But, are there tax incentives/salary sacrificing opportunities too?

I am petrified of the whole thing - we have a 17 month old daughter, and no family at all here - they are all overseas. We don't have close friends as a couple although I have good friends from work (2 days a week) and mothers group. I know it'll help us in the long run and I'm trying to be sensible and positive about the whole thing, but I know I also have to be realistic and true to myself. Simple things like what'll happen if I get sick, or something happens to us when he is away - who would I call? I know he is making the greater sacrifice and that it will be hard for him too.
Does anyone have any advice?

Proudofmy3Babies
15-11-2009, 13:56
Hi....Im in exactly the same situation as you...my husband works FIFO on the rigs off the westcoast and we live in QLD and I have no family and his family arent close at all...and when you get sick or things happen it can be really tough....... personally I wouldnt look at a 2/1 roster because the time at home isnt long enough...but there are heaps of companies in the west that will offer a 3/3 situation which is pretty good...although a little harder when they are away...

I hate relying on people and I only really have one great couple here that I can rely on...but to be honest...if your in the West he will make friends who might not be on the same roster as him and can help out with car troubles or "men" jobs...and if he gets in with a good company and something terrible happens...they will always fly them home...I miscarried while my husband was away and they had him home the next day and were really understanding...

If you need more advice...email me or add me to msn....Ive been doing it for over 5yrs now, we have two children and Im due again in December for number three...when your pregnant its really hard...but you will be suprised...I find sooo much strength when he is away and we get into a great routine and it all falls apart when he is at home...be strong and positive! Its doable and if it sets you up better financially then its a great option...but its not for everyone and Id be lying if I wished he didnt do it sometimes and wanted him at home all the time...with no family its tough...but Ive just come off a 6.5wk swing with him away and hes going back on Tues after only 2wks at home.....

Bellaleggos
15-11-2009, 14:19
Thanks so much for replying. You sound like a woman in control :yes:. I hope I can be as positive as you if the time comes. We are both still trying to weigh up the good and bad points - he has to go for a medical next week after which he'll be formally offered the job - I guess that's when the decision will have to be made.
I'll probably be in touch. Thanks so much again:wave:

Proudofmy3Babies
15-11-2009, 14:30
No worries at all....trust me...Im not a woman in control:( I have mega meltdowns..but Ive been on my own alot of my life so I guess I was well prepared! What sought of vessel is he going to? Or is he heading into the mines? Give it a go for his probation period..then he can leave if it isnt working out for you and you at least gave it a go!!

tayahnkai
15-11-2009, 18:23
:wave: Hi, Im in the same position too. Well sort of. DH works anywhere from 8-12weeks on/off. We have moved away from all our family and friends at the start of this year. We were in QLD now in Tassie.

If anything major happened Mum would fly down at a moments notice (but that takes time). I only know 1 other couple really well and they are in the same situation and have 4 kids (so dont really like to bother her). Luckily I have not been sick - there is no time for that :laughing:

DH has been doing it for over 10yrs. I have never know him to do anything else. It works for me - although the roster is too long for my liking (Id rather a 6:6). I love being by myself too.

If you can handle being by yourself then go for it. Do you have to move??? Cos if you've already got some contacts then you will be fine. Get to know some mothers from playgroup a little better. If you continue to work it will make the time go quicker too.

tayahnkai
15-11-2009, 18:25
Give it a go for his probation period..then he can leave if it isnt working out for you and you at least gave it a go!!

Great advice :) usually they have a 3mth trial so see how you go.

Bellaleggos
15-11-2009, 21:53
Thanks all for your replies. No we won't have to move so I'll have all my contacts here, and god yes I'll continue to work otherwise I'll go completely stir crazy. He'll be in the mines.
I suppose a big concern is if he doesn't like it then he'll have to come back and find another job. He's quite lucky at the moment, as although he hates the job, the hours are great - all day shifts Mon to Fri and no weekends - rare for a Chef - don't fancy his chances of finding another job like that here in Perth.