View Full Version : Sharing Accomodation? with a child?
Kari_Adel
18-07-2006, 12:06
Hi fellow bubhubbers! :wave:
Kind of a strange question I know.. but I'm curious to know others thoughts on Shared Accomodation when you have a child. I'm 22, and live on my own with my handsome prince Jake.. and struggle to pay $170.00 pw for our little shoebox of a home. Its quite depressing at times, as if I still had friends around me (not those who disappeared one my baby wasn't a novelty anymore) I could consider sharing.. and could afford a larger home with room to move, entertain and play in a rear yard!
:( Has any mums had any experiences with sharing with others with a child? Either having someone rent one bedroom.. or even sharing with another single mother and child(ren) (imagine it.. a make-shift family.. children can play.. share bills and home duties.. share babysitting at times..?)?
If anyone knows someone who would be interested in sharing, pls pm me.
All feedback welcome! :kiss:
Thanks, Kari xo
18-07-2006, 12:09
bummer! if this was in say a years time id definately be interested!
Kari_Adel
20-07-2006, 11:18
C'mon fellow bubhubbers.. I'd love some feedback!?
:yes:
I've never shared with ANYONE before (I made a swift transition from living at home with my mummy TO being a mummy with a home of my own)..
So I'd love to hear some stories of "sharing" accomodation.. with or without little bundles of joy all tied in... and any suggestions/warnings when considering having either a single person rent a room.. or sharing a larger family home with another single mum to split living costs..
The pension doesn't go far.. especially when ex-DP :mad: only pays the minimum $21.97 a month in child support! That barely covers the petrol money to drop him off for visits!
Pleeeeeeeeeeeease.. all feedback welcome..
:ecomcity: Kari xo
20-07-2006, 11:24
kari are you on msn atm???
Sorry hun, I can't offer you any advice. I went from living with my mum to living with DF. Good luck on the house hunting/sharing :fingerscrossed:
lexi'smum
20-07-2006, 14:37
Firstly I love your avavtor!!!!
and now to the question, yep my Dp my DD (20mths) and I share with a 2 other people (not a couple) -these people were strangers who replied to our ad, we live in a fairly big place and we have had boarders in with us ever since and before DD, it works fine for us, these people are young also, but are very respectful when it comes to DD and also have been known to help out with babysitting, provided you find the right people I believe that it works, and is a great option.
Good luck with it.
mind you sharing is at times, not all that great! just be VERY picky when choosing boarders, we've had some shockers!!
and i think your better off getting them in to your place, then you always have the say in things!! rather then you renting a room off them!
LittleBoysRock
20-07-2006, 15:20
We moved back into my Mum's place 6 months ago to save a deposit for a house. It has been a bit of a nightmare as DS still has disturbed sleep, when he doesnt get any sleep none of us to. It has been a contentious issue and DH and I will be moving out as soon as we can.
Goodluck though, I may well work in your case and save you some pennies!! :thumbsup:
Kari_Adel
20-07-2006, 23:12
BrandNewDay.. would you believe I logged off shortly after writing this post so didn't see your msg until now! Oop! I'm guilty of "appearing offline" on msn unless someone I WANT to talk to comes on.. :laughing:
Thanks anyway Caz.. but hey if you DO know anyone responsible and kid-friendly who would want to share.. let me know! Even another single mum and bub.. like I've said before "make-shift family" and more likely to be a sharing success as long as parenting is similar hehehe otherwise there could be some disagreements hehehe :ecomcity:
Lexi'smum, can you believe I actually took that picture myself? My DS Jake doesn't sit still long enough for a nice photo *sigh* so I managed this happy snap holding him.. running up and down the backyard (the old place actually HAD a backyard unlike the new one grrr) and taking random pics hoping for some successful shots! And walla.. yay! --- I love your avator also, very cute! Awwwwww.... *poke* You know.. my nanna once told me if you play with a bellybutton too much, you deflate like a balloon!? :o
Monyfelix moving back in with parents.. eeek! Poor thing.. once thats deposit is saved.. you're free! Unfortunately saving it could take longer due to house price-rise dammit!
Thanks everyone so far for your honest opinions.. I'm just struggling to make ends meet comfortably on my own and would love to share.. I just don't know anyone to share with..
Being on my own also means I couldn't afford to rent a home for $250.00 a week and advertise for a boarder.. then we definitely WOULDN'T eat! So I'd need someone to go into it with whole-heartedly.. hence why I think another single mum would be best.. alot of understanding.. support and security for all.. but easier said than done!
Hmmmmm *take a deep breath* that'll do me for now! :ecomcity:
Kari xo
mum2littleman
20-07-2006, 23:18
im 20 and i live with my parents but i really want to get out and give DS a place of his own but i cant do it alone, i was wanting to rent with another single mum or sumthing that way we could help each other out but im on the coast and dont no any other single mums here that want to get out on there own :no: bummer
Kari_Adel
20-07-2006, 23:35
mum2littleman oh I'm so glad someone else on here has mentioned wanting to live with another mum. I haven't know anyone who has done it so I dont know where the idea came from.. but it'd be the perfect solution. You'd both know how each other feels.. could help each other out with alternating babysitting, or sleep-ins.. normal things like chores etc.. share living costs etc.. seems perfect. If the kids were close in age you could even rent a 3br home and let the kids share the main bedroom.. or if u preferred a 4br home.. you could still afford it by splitting the rent..
Makes sense.. damn if only you were an Adelaidean! :(
mum2littleman
21-07-2006, 22:31
Makes sense.. damn if only you were an Adelaidean! :(
i was thinking alone the same line if only u were on the GC. lol
LilShenanigans
22-07-2006, 03:21
GEEBUS! lol
One mum in Adelaide, one on GC and I'm in Sydney and needing a hand!!! lol
grrr.
I've got the 3bd, a messy kitchen and boxes needing some unpacking time (i've been here since April) and I've been wanting someone to share with but majorly worried about complete strangers.
Frustrating. :(
Kari_Adel
22-07-2006, 14:54
Maybe you mums should start a forum thread in your states too.. :idea: hopefully you have some better luck!
I'm glad that there are other mummys out there thinking the same thing.. I didn't know whether it was a completely insane idea! But it would make things easier financially, emotionally etc etc. Also, alot of young mums wouldn't have had the opportunity to share with friends which I think is an exciting and important step in growing up. I'd hate to be old and haggard and be sad that I never got to play "roomies."
Also, I don't have any "prospects" for continuing my family anytime soon, hahaha so it'd be nice to give DS another little bub to run around with..
Keep posting..
And speak up Adelaide mums.. PLEASE.. know anyone? I'd be interested in living in western or southern suburbs ie from Fulham area down to Aberfoyle Park / Hallett Cove.. around there..
Kari_Adel
24-07-2006, 00:15
:idea:
Does anyone know someone studying at Flinders Uni etc and wanting to share? I'd also be happy to share with a student, pref female. I'd like to move further south way.. back to Marion/Brighton area or even up the hill towards Aberfoyle Park etc. Basically in a 10min radius of Flinders Uni, as I hope to begin study there also next year (or the year after)..
:rolleyes:
I'd want to look at living in a nice family-ish home, open plan, 3br (+ study if preferrable) with secure backyard for DS Jake.
I'm home-proud.. but not an absolute clean-freak.. so the person would have to be tidy.. but not obsessive (which obviously wouldn't be a good thing with a toddler around the place).
Price range $220-$250 rent a week.. third person prob pay $80-$100 plus expenses.. to be discussed..
Please let me know. I'm getting desperately depressed with my current box -- its horrible. Also feeling very isolated out here :( -- my lease has only just expired but I'm avoiding renewing it (just going month-by-month) in hope that something comes along soon..
:ecomcity: Thanks for listening, MWAH, Kari xo
Kari_Adel
28-07-2006, 14:42
:crying: I'm desperate...
Kari have you been trawling the shared accomodation section in the paper or maybe put an ad in yourself???
How much exactly are you looking at spending per week(you can pm me that if you want)
we also use to have another person share with us,but are all full up now...LOL
You can also try www.flatmates.com.au (http://www.flatmates.com.au) they have heaps of people and you can search by lots of critera.
I also know a single mum who shares with another single mum, it works out really well for them. Its almost like they are a couple, kids are looked after by both of them, they get nights out and everyone is happy. So there is hope for you finding someone.
Kari_Adel
28-07-2006, 16:55
Kari have you been trawling the shared accomodation section in the paper or maybe put an ad in yourself???
How much exactly are you looking at spending per week(you can pm me that if you want)
we also use to have another person share with us,but are all full up now...LOL
Been looking.. but with myself AND Jake I'd really like to share a 3br/4br with one other person or another single mum as I'd need two of the bedrooms and want it to feel homely.. rather than moving into someone elses spare room! :thumbsdown:
Most ppl are only advertising a single room, and prob wouldn't take too kindly to an application including a toddler!? :eek:
But makes it tricky as I couldn't possibly afford to sign a lease for a nice $250pw home and simply keep my fingers crossed in hope someone will move in and do the right thing by us..
I need someone who's willing to go into it together.
At the moment I'm paying $170.00pw on my own for our little lifeless flat. Ideally, I'd love to find a 3br home for about $220-$250.. most I'd be able to afford would be about $150pw so ie in the example of $250pw home, the other would pay $100pw..
:ecomcity: If only I knew a student etc at Flinders uni (I'd like to move closer to there)..
Kari_Adel
28-07-2006, 16:56
You can also try www.flatmates.com.au (http://www.flatmates.com.au) they have heaps of people and you can search by lots of critera.
I also know a single mum who shares with another single mum, it works out really well for them. Its almost like they are a couple, kids are looked after by both of them, they get nights out and everyone is happy. So there is hope for you finding someone.
:D Thanks heaps for that link, I'm looking now! :hugs:
oh that must be really hard being in that situation.
We had a couple of lovely new homes in our area recently that were near brand new for $200 per week they would have been ideal.
:fingerscrossed: you find something soon.it would be great to have you back up this way.And then you could borrow my texts:D (I am FU girl as well)LOL
Kari_Adel
28-07-2006, 17:30
oh that must be really hard being in that situation.
We had a couple of lovely new homes in our area recently that were near brand new for $200 per week they would have been ideal.
:fingerscrossed: you find something soon.it would be great to have you back up this way.And then you could borrow my texts:D (I am FU girl as well)LOL
Bugger.. thats sounds nice.. $200pw (split prob $125/$75) we could afford to DO things!
Really for a student.. its ideal. I cook, I clean.. I'm great company. Prefer female.. so we can keep her maternal urges at bay so she can finish uni :laughing: and it'd be cheap rent.. the cupboards would be full.. who could ask for anything more?
If you're still at F/U; can u keep your ear out if any students are looking for a nice stable home TO SHARE and feel they have equal rights to? That'd be great babe! :thumbsup:
I will check out the online Uni boards a liitle later as I have some study to do and see what may be around.:thumbsup:
Kari_Adel
31-07-2006, 12:08
I will check out the online Uni boards a liitle later as I have some study to do and see what may be around.:thumbsup:
Anak -- did you have any luck checking out the uni boards? Eh eh? :rolleyes:
Also, I took Vespera's advice and checked out the FLATMATES website and put up an ad but for some irritating reason it wont let me put up a direct link.. all links end up going to the home page instead grrrrr...
Keep your fingers crossed for me! :fingerscrossed:
Anak -- did you have any luck checking out the uni boards? Eh eh? :rolleyes:
Kari, I did have a look and unfortunately nothing going at the moment.They had one guy on there in his 50s who was looking for visual design students only to share.
So no luck at the moment sorry.I know you dont want to wait that long but its a shame its not the end of year as thats when all the ads for students start surfacing.
Kari_Adel
02-08-2006, 12:54
Kari, I did have a look and unfortunately nothing going at the moment.They had one guy on there in his 50s who was looking for visual design students only to share.
So no luck at the moment sorry.I know you dont want to wait that long but its a shame its not the end of year as thats when all the ads for students start surfacing.
:thumbsup: Thanks anyway Anak.. keep your eyes and ears open for me please. xo
Kari_Adel
05-08-2006, 15:32
UPDATE ---
Have had a response from www.flatmates.com.au (http://www.flatmates.com.au)
Thank you for that link Vespera! :thumbsup:
But unfortunately that applicant is currently in Whyalla, wanting to move to Adelaide to be closer to UniSA. Its a bit out of her way to come down for a coffee & meet before her move-day.. so seems a bit tricky and naturally I'm a little hesitant to say to a stranger "no worries, I'll just sign for a place and hope we get along and you stick around!" :confused:
THIS IS NERVE-RACKING!
I can't afford to sign a lease on my own. Does anyone know if the lease is co-signed, if the other person is just as responsible to complete the term as you would and would have to pay for rent until lease ends etc unless they find someone to replace them (in the event that they decided to live somewhere else)?
Thanks angels! :hugs:
Hope all is well with everybody!
05-08-2006, 15:34
good luck with it hun :)
Kari_Adel
05-08-2006, 15:41
good luck with it hun :)
Thanks darls. I've come across this GORGEOUS house at Sheidow Park for $250.00pw and wish I had something happening so I could go get it!
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&s=sa&cc=&c=95693638&tm=1154756371&id=402275406&f=0&p=10&t=ren&ty=&snf=&ag=&cu=fn-rea&fmt=&header=
3br near-new home. 2 bathrooms, double garage. Ample entertaining area (Jake's bday is in October and it'd be a DREAM to actually be able to have his party at home instead of down at the park -- it poured with rain last year :( ) --- looks beautiful.
Hypothetically, I'd be happy to hand over main bedroom with ensuite (well somewhat happy haha how luxurious) and have the other two bedrooms and main bathroom -- as I'd need the main bathroom with bath for Jake.
Garage each, no need to step on each others toes..
Split rent $150/$100 + split expenses -- obviously I'd pay $150 as I'm having two (small) bedrooms... its sounds PERFECT in theory... :rolleyes: just need someone interested!
If I were a student etc I think it'd be a great opportunity for only $100pw.. its just the wrong time of year I think to be looking.. d'oh!
05-08-2006, 15:44
id love this house!!!
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&s=sa&cc=&c=74345615&tm=1154756770&id=402275358&f=0&p=10&t=ren&ty=&snf=rbs&ag=&cu=fn-rea&fmt=&header=
Kari_Adel
05-08-2006, 15:47
Look at this 4br house... HUUUUUUGE rear yard, mostly paved.. imagine Emma on her little trike when her time comes.
And Jake would have a 10m line-up of Matchbox cars ready to race! :laughing:
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&s=sa&cc=&c=11876724&tm=1154756899&id=402268164&f=0&p=10&t=ren&ty=&snf=rbs&ag=&cu=fn-rea&fmt=&header=
Kari_Adel
05-08-2006, 15:49
Another fave.. look at that sun streaming thru the paved entertainment area! :D ooooooohhhhhh natural sunlight.. I vaguely remember what thats like!
http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsearch?a=o&s=sa&cc=&c=2927327&tm=1154757026&id=401385218&f=0&p=10&t=ren&ty=&snf=rbs&ag=&cu=fn-rea&fmt=&header=
Kari_Adel
13-08-2006, 14:13
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Some potentially good news!
A big THANKYOU to Vespera who recommended www.flatmates.com.au (http://www.flatmates.com.au)
An external UniSA nursing (R/N) student responded to my "ad" on the flatmates site and is interested in teaming up. She's currently living in Whyalla so meeting up has proved to be impossible so far, but we're making plans for her to come down next month to meet etc look at places and make sure we're on the same page when it comes to sharing accomodation.
:fingerscrossed: this is the "one" haha!
13-08-2006, 14:14
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Some potentially good news!
A big THANKYOU to Vespera who recommended www.flatmates.com.au (http://www.flatmates.com.au)
An external UniSA nursing (R/N) student responded to my "ad" on the flatmates site and is interested in teaming up. She's currently living in Whyalla so meeting up has proved to be impossible so far, but we're making plans for her to come down next month to meet etc look at places and make sure we're on the same page when it comes to sharing accomodation.
:fingerscrossed: this is the "one" haha!
fingers crossed :D
Kari_Adel
13-08-2006, 14:15
bummer! if this was in say a years time id definately be interested!
In a years time? Well if all works out with UniSA student I mentioned in previous post we'd be signing on for a ONE year lease. She does have a boyf in Adelaide but not ready to move in with him just yet.. but you never know she may choose to move in with him after the initial lease period and someone would be needed to "take over" for me to be able to afford to stay on at the larger property.. and that would approx be "in a years time!" Something to keep in mind.. :thumbsup:
13-08-2006, 14:20
In a years time? Well if all works out with UniSA student I mentioned in previous post we'd be signing on for a ONE year lease. She does have a boyf in Adelaide but not ready to move in with him just yet.. but you never know she may choose to move in with him after the initial lease period and someone would be needed to "take over" for me to be able to afford to stay on at the larger property.. and that would approx be "in a years time!" Something to keep in mind.. :thumbsup:
well i will :D :)
:fingerscrossed: all goes well for you Kari.
How is your study going btw??
Kari_Adel
16-08-2006, 09:55
:fingerscrossed: all goes well for you Kari.
How is your study going btw??
Study going well.. getting a little bored with TAFE :o and can't wait to get into uni. So :fingerscrossed: I'll be ready to enrol for next year.. depends on completion of current course, moving dramas etc. But I'll knuckle down and get this unit out of the way (ideally :laughing: ) and hopefully everything comes together soon!