View Full Version : Talking hubby into more

chickymumma
10-11-2009, 02:29
**WARNING - LONG-WINDED VERSION** Ok - I need some help / advice .... we've got 2 very healthy, mostly happy, content children (DS 7 and DD 2 1/2). But I don't feel finished!! I want more - preferably 2, but at least 1!! Problem - DH says NO, NO, NO, NO, NO!!!

Background ... we've been married for nearly 16yrs, early on in relationship we decided that we would always have 2 kids, even though DH thought that 1 was all he wanted.

After DS was born in 2002 by emergency C-section, DH wasn't too keen on #2 and then DS didn't sleep well until 18mths old when we went to parenting centre for help. I also had undiagnosed PND. When DS was about 20mths old and we had been having almost constant full nights of sleep, DH finally said "oh let's have #2", but STUPID, STUPID me, said "oh no, let's wait a while, it's my 30th soon & I don't want to be pregnant for the party". BAD, BAD, BAD decision.

Anyway, so we kept living, got a 2nd mortgage to buy land and so I had to go back to work until we finished renovating & sold existing house. No talk of #2 was even allowed until house was sold.

And then BANG, life altering moment, Dr very cleverly spotted lump on my thyroid in early 2005 and after a massive series of tests which were all inconclusive, surgery was performed in May 2005 to remove 1/2 my thyroid with a tumour that contained malignant cells, but they were fully encapsulated (had a thick layer of skin around the tumour that hadn't let any of the malignant cells escape into my body), so the tumour was regarded as an "adenoma". I had to undergo follow-up ultra sounds over the next 12 months to check that no more tumours grew on the remaining 1/2 thyroid (no other tests show anything abnormal!!). So any baby plans were put on hold for ANOTHER 12 mths, just in case I had to do chemo or anything.

We had a scare from a new growth on the remaining 1/2 thyroid, but it was biopsied straight away (even though it was smaller than the size they like to biopsy!) and came back as definate benign cells. About the same time as this was happening, my Dr found lumps in my breast, so off for tests, etc., etc. on that too!

Boob lumps turned out all fine, but I tell you, it bloody shakes you to the core!! All I could think about (right at the start of the thyroid debacle) was how unfair this all was to OUR SON, why give him to me, to then turn around and make me ill & unable to be there for him 24/7 or worse still, die!!!

Anyway, all clear given in June 2006 with just 12mthly blood tests & ultrasound for the rest of my life - no medication needed for now as my "very clever" remaining 1/2 thyroid just took over the job of both halves!!

Amongst all that happening, we'd sold the house & moved into a rental house while we got building underway. We started talking about #2 (or I should say, I started HASSLING DH to get me preggers!!) He finally agreed in Jul 2006 that it was time, but I'd bloody just missed ovulation - NOT HAPPY JAN!! So we fell pregnant in August 2006 and DD was born in April 2007.

I did end up with PND again, but Dr & I (had same one through all of this and for the last 20yrs) were pretty much on top of it this time, so I only had a few months of being miserable and moody.

I can't exactly remember when after DD was born that I started feeling "unfinished", but I started talking to DH about having more (he said NO) and now that feeling HAS lasted and he's not budging!! When we finally moved into the house we built, he even made me get rid of all my baby stuff (that DS & DD have grown out of). I hadn't had time to sort through any of it, so what the baby shop didn't buy from me, went into the Lifeline bin..

Picture this, me standing at Lifeline bin with hubby's van, kids in front seats watching me bawling my head off putting box after box after box of baby clothes, toys and accessories into the bin. I didn't speak to DH for the rest of the day and he probably STILL has no idea why!! Great thoughts afterwards of "why didn't I just store it all in a friend's garage and sort through it at a later date". TOO LATE! He had just said to me "none of it is to be moved to the new house and that's FINAL!", so I did it - STUPID, STUPID, STUPID!!

So of course when I told my friends, they all straight away said, he's made you do that so you can't use it to pressure him to have more kids - DOH!!! I knew that, but it didn't really hit home.

I've asked him and argued with him OVER and OVER and OVER, but without success. I'm not on any contraceptive pill, he doesn't use anything (except withdrawal - ick! TMI, sorry!), but I haven't fallen pregnant.

He reckons we should be satisfied that we have 2 healthy children and not be greedy and that DS's behaviour is such a handful, how would I cope if #3 turned out like that too! He says I'm always running late now, how am I going to get 3 of us out of the house on time. He says I wouldn't want to work again (I've only just started back at work casually at nights so that miss DD isn't ever away from us & I'm not paying for daycare & end up working for $4/hr!), so the pressure would be back on him to work longer hours. He's in a VERY physical blue-collar job and generally works 12-14 hours per day, 6 days a week as it is.

Even in 1 argument / discussion he brought up my weight issues (started at 70kg at 5wks preg #1, put heaps on during preg #1 but all out front, lost it all + lost a fair bit more, put it all back on with general depression, lost it again, 70kg when fell pregnant #2, heaps & heaps on this time and round like a beach ball, managed to get rid of a fair bit of it but still have BIIIGGG muffin top & bum starts at waist!, was up to 78kg with depression (AGAIN!) but getting back down, now hovering around 70kg but shape isn't good!). He reckons he's worried that I'll balloon pregnancy again and then with 3 littlies won't be able to shift it AGAIN, will get depression AGAIN, etc. etc.

Plus he says he knows I wouldn't want to stop at 3, that i'd want #4. His list of reasons goes on and on and every good reason I come up with, he comes back with something else.

Even when I was talking to a GF about her labours and how she just gets into a really good rhythm with heavy metal music and I was saying that I'd probably want her in labour ward for #3, so she starts telling DH about her labouring ideas, and he says "oh you'll need to save that and tell her (my) next husband" !!what the!!!

So, I guess it comes down to this ..... (1) am I being greedy? (2) if i'm not being greedy, how the heck do I change his mind ??

It doesn't seem likely that I'm just going to accidentally fall pregnant, I even worry sometimes that he's snuck off & had the snip, but then I think that he's not that devious kind of a guy.

Ok, sorry to rant & rave, but this has been a really good vent!

Please try not to give me TOO much negative response, my mindset isn't in a place where I can handle it right now. I really wish I had a mother of some sort of decent calibre to talk to, friends are great when your family sucks (except my sis of course), but nothing beats family in some situations!! I see some women with these wonderful caring, nurturing, loving mums (mainly) and (some) mums-in-law who would do whatever, whenever for their daughters and I choke up with tears for the crap my sister & I put up with from our stupid ***** of a mother.

And I just want that for my family!

I recently met some girls who are sisters & sisters-in-law - all similar in age & similar age kids - the companionship and love and caring was and is nearly over-whelming.

I want THAT for my family!

I want my daughter to not only just have 1 sister-in-law (maybe?), but a sister too or maybe 2 or 3 sisters-in-law. DS needs some other boys around - he's lonely playing by himself or trying to get DD involved with lego & star wars, etc. He'll need some brothers (& in the future, brothers-in-law) too to play footy / soccer with at family functions!! I want a big Christmas table with all my children and their kids. I want Sunday or at least once-monthly lunch or dinners with all our kids & eventually with their partners/wives/husbands & kids.

I don't want to be alone on Christmas anymore, I don't want to get to Christmas morning and wonder where we're going today or who could we possibly visit - I want to make our own large family loving & caring memories.

Why doesn't he GET IT? I'm not the best person at getting my view across and DH can be a bit dominant when we have discussions / arguments. :confused::confused::confused:

Ok, I'm really going to stop now cos' I'm getting all teary, it's 1.30 in the morning, I'm PMT'ing and shouldn't probably have posted this ..... anyway, maybe I'll delete it tomorrow.

Thanks for "listening".

:babydust2::fingerscrossed: A. (35 & 10 days old - clock's ticking!)

Poppetfish
10-11-2009, 07:21
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

Lately my DH has been saying he doesn't want any more babies. After lots of fights he has finally said once DS and DD are off to school we can have another baby. DH and I both have issues where having babies later means that infertility problems increase. I have a family history of early menopause as well.

Before we had DS, DH and I talked about how many children we want and we both decided we wanted 6. Then during our pre-marriage counseling, he said he wanted between 4 and 6. Then once DS got Dxed with ASD he has suddenly said, "I don't want anymore children. Maybe when DS gets better we will think about it."

I don't understand why he doesn't want anymore. DS is always going to be DS and and just because he is different doesn't mean that we cant still have the family we want.

I feel so empty and I feel like my babies are missing. My family isn't finished and it tugs at me.

tonyamanda
10-11-2009, 12:32
:hugs: My hubby didn't want a third one but i was due to have my impanon replaced with a new one.. I asked him if he wanted a third but he was very against it.. I gave him the option.. I said if he seriously didnt want another then i wanted him to get "the snip" cause i wanted to give my body a rest from contraceptives etc. He refused to let anyone touch him down there and wow that really changed his mind.. then once i was pregnant he is super excited.. hes scared but excited.. all he wants is the baby and i to be safe and have a safe pregnancy.. hopefully your DH can change his mind :hugs:

V8
10-11-2009, 17:27
I know you have been wanting a baby for a long time, i remember first meeting you and you still had the urge, gosh i'd be devastated if i was told no more. :( I hope that you are able to get him to change his mind. Goodluck sweetie :hugs: :hugs:

Plus i just about cried when you were describing your chrissy, i loved the chaos of all of us kids growing up, it was a noisy house but never dull and we were never lonely (there are 4 of us kids). Plus being older now and having a biggish family is fantastic, i would love for my kids to experience that. :hugs:

Kat79
10-11-2009, 21:03
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

I'm with you on this one chickymumma. It felt like I was reading my own diary whilst reading your post so I can fully empathise with you. I'm teary just thinking about it.:hugs:

I wish I had an answer for you but I'm just as stuck as you are with this dilemma. I just had a fight with my DH about the same thing.

Why is it that can't men understand us when we tell them that WE don't feel finished having a family? It's not rocket science & it's not like we don't know what we are in for with having another child. :hair:

If only I had a magic wand to help us both out . . . .

K.

chickymumma
10-11-2009, 23:30
................ I feel so empty and I feel like my babies are missing. My family isn't finished and it tugs at me.

OMG!!! such an accurate quote.

Thanks everyone for your replies / posts - i'm really, really glad no-one has had anything negative or nasty to say!

I'm looking forward to more ..... at the mo', the subject of more kids is definately off the table as I think we need to work out whether the marriage is actually staying put before adding more kids. Although in saying that, whether or not he decides to work on our marriage & stay with us, i would only want to have a child with him. Right now I can't image having a child by anyone other than him ........ ????? :no: :confused: :gloomy:

xo

ilovelucy
11-11-2009, 08:49
chickymumma, when you find the answer on how to convince your DH, let me know, as i'm in the same position! I want at least 3, but he only wants 2 and reckons he'll get the snip when HE'S finished... I cant offer you any advice on how to win the argument, but i really hope you get another chance to make your family complete.... :hugs:

PunkyDiva
14-11-2009, 00:58
:hugs: My dear sweet, gorgeous, amazing baby sis, I am just sitting here with tears running down my face so wishing our parents could have been normal or that I could live closer to you or that there was something I could say or do to make it all better, but I can't change any of that. All I can offer is me, my love and the knowledge that we are here for you no matter what, where, when or why.
I don't have answers on the baby front, I never feel finished I always want more but I know I won't have any more and I have stashed maternity and baby clothes away here for you so big fat raspberry to Mr H. He has turned into such an old grouch, what is his problem ??

bootiful
15-11-2009, 11:35
i wasn't going to post as its not going to be the rosey 'go for it' post that you are hoping for but i thought if i was very careful about my wording (as there is no tone in text) that it might be helpful, not just for you but for others in your situation too.

:hugs:yes you should be very happy to have been blessed with 2 wonderful children

the urge to mother more children can be very strong in some women as they feel that they have much more love to give and the more they think about the idea the angrier they get that their partner doesn't want to agree with them.

but (and i hope this doesn't sound too harsh :o) it is about you "and" your partner and your existing kids. your partner is 1/2 of your loving partnership and his say should matter just as much as yours does. so many times i read on BH that women need help convincing their hubby to change their mind to have more kids. why is it that the partners need their minds changed? why is it that they "have" to agree with their partner because "they" want more. its like just because the womans urge to have more kids is pushing her to do so she has to win and get her way.

if your husband doesn't want more kids there are probably some very valid reasons (unless he is just being a tool) for not wanting the mother to have any more kids. in your case it sounds like your hubby views you are being an awesome mum to your 2 children and knows that if you add one more your already busy day you will be even more stretched it will not leave anytime for yourself. im sure he wants what is best for you and not being as irrational as it may seem.

i guess basically what im trying to say is in a partnership it should be 50/50...he should take into account your feelings but you should also respect his. Coming to a compromised is hard with a baby cause you can't have 1/2 a baby :p but maybe the fact that you already have 2 gorgeous children is the halfway point.

I know this post is long but i hope it has given you some food for thought...on a quick final note...i wanted 4-6 kids but DH wanted 2. I don't like odd numbers so we decided to stop after 2. Sure I could of pushed for 4 and he prob would of caved but why should i push my husband into doing something he doesn't want to do...and god forbit anything was wrong with my pregnancy/labour/child (i dont' have a good track history) it could end up in a really bad way.

Proudofmy3Babies
15-11-2009, 16:54
OMG...your Christmas Wish sounds wonderful and perfect and everything anyone could ever want...me too...I didnt have a great childhood either...and Im not going to be negative...my husband only wanted 2 as well but compromised with 3 and we are now both terrified but excited that bub is nearly here....however I have the most supportive helpful husband and without him I dont think I could be the best mother and the mother my children deserve....so if your husband isnt like that...it sounds like you have a wonderful sister and if you stick close you will have awesome Christmas's with an extended family.... I still have no family of my own and my husbands is far away.....Ive heard adding a third baby changes dynamics and it can become triple as hard with three as it was with two...so without a support network and a husband who is opposing the idea....make sure you are strong and your relationship is strong and be happy in your life before you forfill your dream of having more babies...you sound like a wonderful woman with great kiddies....my other suggestion is maybe you can look at fostering children? I know its not the same but there are plenty of beautiful babies who need a loving mothererly hug from someone like you...and you know what...sometimes they will never leave your heart and life...I had all 5 workers at the refuge I spent my teenage years at at my wedding and I couldnt have been prouder to have them as my family photo....fostering can touch kids lives in ways you cant imagine....hope everything works out for you..