View Full Version : the 3 best things youve bought
The sooper nanny
08-11-2009, 23:26
Hi all My MIL was asking about things that I would recommend to buy for a pregnant colleauge of hers, which got me thinking out of interest, what are the 3 best things youve bought for your baby/child and why were they so good?? Ill start the best 3 things I got so far (kts 5 months) have been The fisher price my little lamb cradle swing- kt loves this and it has been a very convenient place for her to go when I need to do things, when shes fighting her sleep $289 so not cheap but worth every cent My travel system- the capsule lifts off the pram and clicks onto the pram. Its also a great pram on its own. We got the fisher price one from target Bath cradle for the bath. This has really been a god send and has saved my back. I also would recommend dr bwons bottles (helped kts colic SOO much) and I cant forget the wooden play gym from IKEA.... in fact Im in love with IKEA. Our whole house is filled with stuff from ikea. just thought it would be interesting to see what other products people found useful.... :)
(in no particular order)
1. Proper breastfeeding chair for newborn period
2. Ergo
3. bouncer - gave us 10 minutes of peace when he was really young
BabelFish
08-11-2009, 23:43
1. Happy Baby freezer trays for freezing portions of pureed food (or breastmilk or anything else). Unreal.
2. Plain terry towelling nappies for use as change-table mats, burping towels, just about anything, you name it and they are the best things to use it for.
3. My collection of beautiful cloth nappies. Saved us literally thousands of dollars, so beautiful and soft and gorgeous, fashion statement ... I could go on.
And there is a fourth one because I couldn't choose:
4. Miracle blanket for swaddling Houdini babies. Absolutely awesome. So good I bought two at $40 each!
And on the flip side, the most POINTLESS things I ever got for her were:
1. Knee pads for crawling. What a complete waste of time.
2. Fancy clothes under size 0. All she wore was onesies pretty much from birth. Easy, comfortable and sooooooo cute.
3. Ameda double breast pump. Useless, didn't work, massive waste of money. My manual Avent one is the best one ever.
Chesby - I was eyeing up those double pumps in the chemist the other day, but couldn't part with $350 as I already have an Avent electric.
But a double would be great as it looks like I could be expressing at work long term...and I'm time poor.
(assuming it works), would it work with large breasts? The pumps seemed quite close together.:detective:
sweetseven
08-11-2009, 23:58
belly bra (ordered from the US) for support whilst pregnant
bumbo
baby sleeping bag (though some people prefer wraps)
sockstealingpoltergeist
09-11-2009, 00:08
Sling.
Vibrating bouncer.
Elecric breast bump.
I'm with some of the other girls its hard to only pick 3 :D
I'd have to say the glide rocker chair with gliding footing stool have been a godsend for late night/long feeds
2. would be the electric swing with attached mirror - my DS is a little like my DP and rather likes looking at himself in the mirror, I get at least 30min of time to do housework while he giggles at himself.
3. would be the fisher and price cot mobile/projector. since bub is still in a bassinet next to our bed we attached it to the side of the change table to get extra use of it. Can honestly say there are barely any tears at nappy change time as he giggles and has a conversation to the dangling animals and the protection of the colours above him distracts him every time.
belly bra (ordered from the US) for support whilst pregnant
-i loved this during pregnancy, I picked one up from my local physio for about $80 :)
updaduff
09-11-2009, 01:52
baby bouncer! wasnt going to buy one and then a friend insisted i need one and bought one for me. great to get things done and i can strap him and move it around the house where i need him.
clothe nappies - we do use disposable but we are always using clothe nappies for all sorts of things. i think we have 2 dozen clothe nappies and go through them in a fortnight.
my breast pump :) just a manual hand pump. but on a side note, some one at my baby shower gave me sachets of formula and i thought it was a bit odd. but then i got sick and they were a life saver when i ended up back in hospital and unable to feed DS and didnt have any BM stored.
My carriers!
DD was a colicy baby, and would barly let me put her down. I had a hug a bub (not one of those crappy baby bjorns) and it was a life saver. Now I have an Ergo and OMG I LOVE it!!!!
Baby food freezing trays, like icecube trays but they hold exactly 1TBs of food each and have a lid.
My beautiful Modern cloth nappies, saved me a small fortune and so so cute and fluffy.
Sorry if that didn't make sense, trying to resettle DD.
1. Vibrating Fisher Price Rainforst Bouncer. Have used it EVERY day and its a godsend.
2. Grobags - our son slept through the night the first night we put him in them (12 weeks).
3. Pram with bassinette attachment. Was great when he was a new born because he would sleep in the bassinette at peoples houses and actually slept in it on our bed for the first 12 weeks of his life.
4. Bumbo - he loves it!
Sorry couldnt choose 3.
Top 3 in no particular order:
1. Grobag egg thermometer - so useful to work out the temp in bubs room and therefore what bedding to use. Still using it nearly 3 years later.
2. Electric Swing - borrowed one from a friend initially and when we gave it back we bought one cause we'd used it multiple times a day.
3. Exercauser - my ds was interested in his environment, but also wanted to stand up, but couldn't. The exercauser gave him a chance to stand up, look around and play with lots of toys all at once. He really loved his time in it.
TripleTime
09-11-2009, 06:56
1 - Swing, its my third hand & awesome for getting wind up.
2 - Baby bean bags. one of my many ebay buys, great for kids that dont like rockers.
3 - sleeping bags
4 - bumbo seats w/ trays, helps improve find motor skills & allows bubs to sit aided while you do your thing.
If I really had to choose here are my favourite three things ...
1. Oricom Secure 500 monitor - so quiet and many great features!
2. Fisher Price Power Plus Swing - my DD loves it and I love how it can be plugged in at the wall saving on batteries!
3. GroBag baby sleeping bags - generally helps with a good sleep on most nights.
bath seat - laying down one. Saves your back!
Mirror- she loves looking at herself
Cloth nappies
jolly jumper- cassie loves it... doesnt go in it often but laughs when shes in it
the list could go on!
missie_mack
09-11-2009, 08:02
In no particular order
Bumbo
Glamour Mums breastfeeding top
Baby swing
Mrs Awesome
09-11-2009, 08:08
Ha ha ha...when I saw this thread, I knew what Shazzi's number one item would be before I even opened it up!
I have a few favourites....
1) Bright Starts "By-my-side infant bouncer"...sits high up off the ground and reclines and sits up (4 options), also vibrates and plays music and white noise. DS would curl up in this and sleep as a newborn and now at 5 months sits up in it and watches me in the kitchen cooking dinner.
2) Cloth nappies....we use disposables but use this for lots of other things like change mats, spew rags, etc.
3) Pillow for breast feeding (I just got a plain old tri pillow from Aldi
4) Change table musical mobile .....sorry had to add one more!
Ergo - saved my sanity and back when bub would only sleep upright and attached to me or DH
Cloth nappies - terry flats as Chesby said and mcns for actual bum use
Jolly jumper - gave my reflux baby a way to be upright and having fun and gave me the chance to not hold him ALL BLOODY DAY
Myztiks#1Fan
09-11-2009, 08:22
the 3 best purchases i made when coop was a newborn was an avent bottle sterliliser, an old school bouncer(the one with the wire rack rim and material put across it- i cant describe it right) and also fluffies(little white socks for feet) that you could get from kmart etc, they kept his feet so warm esp as he was a winter baby and oh so soft
2. Plain terry towelling nappies for use as change-table mats, burping towels, just about anything, you name it and they are the best things to use it for.
:iagree: We have 5 dozen square terry nappies and they were by far one of the most useful things we've had for DD! Even now we use them for mopping up after nappy free time, and wiping up spilt drinks etc rather than wasting paper towel.
For us the best buys for DD were (in no particular order):
- terry flat nappies (as already mentioned)
- Fisher Price Papisan baby swing - best $250 we ever spent! DD didn't like to be cuddled when she was upset so the swing was a life saver when she got really screamy!
- Avent breast pump - I couldn't breastfeed DD so having my pump meant that I could express and she could still get the goodness from my milk!
1. Bright Starts Deluxe Baby Bouncer with vibration, music and white noise. Awesome! :thumbsup: It was an early christmas pressie for the boys last year, but it turned into my godsend, esp when feeding two it helped me trying to get them both on the pillow. :)
2. I agree with the terry flats- get a nice colourful pack from Big W to brighten everything up lol. I still use them now to constantly wipe the dribble from teething from their chins etc.
3. The BLW book by Rapley and Murkett. It has saved me hours of frustration. I have happy eaters who will try anything, and feed themselves. In contrast to all the babies in my mothers group, who at 1 or just below and STILL refusing lumpy food! Who can be bothered with that! :D ;)
soexcited
09-11-2009, 09:59
I second most of the things on here but had to add the angelcare monitor. As a bit of a stresshead I couldn't live without it. Means I can get a decent nights sleep without getting up every 2 seconds to make sure DS is breathing!
MummaMilk
09-11-2009, 10:02
1. Ergo, Maya Wrap and Hug-a-Bub great investment if your going to have a small age gap!
2. Terry flats/flannelette nappies for wiping spills/vomit/exploding poo or just about anything.
3. MCN's in OSFM if your going to have 2 in nappies.
NonnyMouse
09-11-2009, 10:16
My best "buy" ever would have to be DP LOL. He's great as a bouncer, rocker, babycarrier, keeps bubs happy while I cook tea, occupies busy hands and feet during the particularly messy nappy changes, holds DS upright for feeding etc etc. Couldn't be without him.
As for best ever gadgets... nothing has been really "stand out" cause I don't tend to buy/use them, but having just got myself a baby jail (playpen) I can't imagine life without it! A nice safe space for DS to play when I'm not in the room is worth it's weight in gold.
Oh, and I suppose my pram was a pretty good buy. It's easy to use, easy to get in and out of the boot (I can even manage it while holding a baby), manoevres really easily, and after puttin git through it's paces a lot we have absolutely no complaints at all about it.
Hmmnm.... and on futher thought... my Turn-a-Tot car seat, cause I have a bad back and it's been invaluable for me to be able to get DS in and out of the car with ease.
1. Angelcare monitor
2. Coloured cloth nappies from Big W for spew rags etc
3. My 'just in case' two pack of newborn dummies
.... and 4. My baby beehinds bamboo fitted nappies
The sooper nanny
09-11-2009, 10:38
Ha ha ha...when I saw this thread, I knew what Shazzi's number one item would be before I even opened it up!
:laughing::laughing: You just know me too well!! I have harped on about it alot havent I? But the hours of peace I get are so worth it!! Best product ever. It only goes up to 11kgs.. im going to cry when we cant use it anymore.....
kezanazz
09-11-2009, 11:14
oooo... i cant pick 3 but i might be able to do 4... as i read others replies i found myself going oh yea for sure, yea yea yea
ok
1. Bumbo and play tray - this was given to us when we had DD, it is fantastic for when she just wants to be close by.
2. Fisher Price swing - we managed to get this second hand for $50 and she loves it, has her arvo nap in there and everything.
3. Pram that can have a bassinet attachment and the bassinet that goes with it, made sleeping while out and about so easy.
4. jolly jumper and stand - while it was her first day of use yesterday she loved it and got the hang of it really quickly....
look honestly i think i need an open ended list here coz i could say change table with bath attached(dont have to bend down), her car seat mirror(turned the crying into smiles), my tommy tippee bottles and formula holders.. man the list could go on...
LOL, it's pretty hard to pick 3 isn't it.
My 2 youngest just didn't function without being wrapped, so I can say by far the best thing ever for them was The Woombie wrap. It mimics what it's like for them in the womb, they can still move their arms & legs around, but can't get out of it. Best thing ever :thumbsup:
I second most of the things on here but had to add the angelcare monitor. As a bit of a stresshead I couldn't live without it. Means I can get a decent nights sleep without getting up every 2 seconds to make sure DS is breathing!
:iagree: Yep, almost my #1, but came in a very close second. I've used this for all 4 of mine & the piece of mind is priceless.
can't come up with a number 3. I'll just say pretty much all the things everyone else has said :laughing:
updaduff
09-11-2009, 13:36
ive already put down my 3 - but want to add my angelcare monitor. dont think i would be able to sleep without that peace of mind.
MagicalLeopluradon
09-11-2009, 14:40
1: Fisher Price Rainforest Jumperoo
DS has used this every day since he was 2 months old and is now 7 months old, definately worth the $$$$
2: Fisher Price Rocker Chair
We call this his armchair, he loves it and sits in in daily just playing with his toys, he has been in this since he was 2 months and loves it!
3: Avent Electric Steam Sterilizer
So quick and easy to use, couldn't live without it!