View Full Version : Did you find out the sex of your baby before giving birth?

sydneybubhub
08-11-2009, 14:37
It's a hard one these days.

With such wonderful modern technology at our fingertips, many parents are keen to find out the sex of their baby so as to lessen the shock (sorry... I meant to say plan ahead). The nursery can be put in a gender-specific colour scheme, and the baby's wardrobe can be planned without including items that are sooo not the politically correct colour (but is there such a thing these days when it comes to gorgeous clothes for newborns!??).

On top of all that, it certainly helps in narrowing down the names list... well, at least from two genders to one!

Unless, of course, you're old fashioned like me and just want to have a bit of surprise on the night [or day, or early morning (and as if the breaking of waters isn't surprise enough when it's nowhere near your due date!!)].

Did you take a peek? Or did you adopt a-wait-and-see attitude?

2girls&1angelboy
08-11-2009, 14:45
found out i was having girls and i had girls :)

IndigoJ
08-11-2009, 14:48
I found out i was having a boy, and i had a boy.

The way i saw it i could buy all the boys clothes and stuff and have a surprise for the next one. As opposed to having a surprise for the first and buying both genders clothes. That would have been too expensive for us.

earthfairy
08-11-2009, 14:56
Didnt find out the sex & we had the most beautiful, perfect baby girl....

I was surprised to find that most people were quite shocked that we didn't find out the sex!?!?!
Every time someone asked & we said "NO" they always answered with "WHY?"

:confused:

Is it the norm these days to find out?

I have to say that initially i wanted to find out & DH didn't, im so glad he convinced me to keep it a surprise...there arent many surprises in life these days...and this was by far THE BEST one ever!

:goodvibes::cloud9:

SammiAnn
08-11-2009, 14:58
Hi :wave:,

We didn't find out with our first two pregnancies, they were lovely surprises :bee:.

With our third we thought we'd see what it was like to find out, but we didn't tell anyone that we knew what bub was. We were told a boy and although I was skeptical after the first scan there was no doubting it on our many growth scans towards the end, particulary a 4D one at 32 weeks ;)!

For our fourth and final we plan to not find out. We enjoyed the surprise and the knowing but watching everyone else's reactions made us want to wait with our last.

Sam :sunshine:

PS I didn't vote in your poll as we did both and I couldn't do mulitple choice, sorry.

Myosotis
08-11-2009, 15:04
Cant vote as the poll is not multiple choice..
I didnt find out either time, first time had a boy second time a girl.. :)

Myztiks#1Fan
08-11-2009, 15:23
i wanted to find out however coops legs were closed when we did the ultrasould his legs were closed however they took a shot and said boy and i was lucky as i wanted a boy. i couldnt think of any girls names and i just love little boys and i had a boy:cloud9:

3BoysBlue
08-11-2009, 15:38
1st time we didn't find out, It was a Boy

2nd time we did find out, It was a Boy and they where right

3rd time we did find out, It was a Boy and I'm guessing we will find out in around 10wks if their right

MummaFug
08-11-2009, 15:56
I needed to make 2 selections but couldnt :(

I found out both times, once boy and once girl. BOTH times were correct.

Emmi
08-11-2009, 16:59
We didnt find out. Everyone but my mum said boy, inlcuding me, as baby was sooo active!
I got my girl :goodvibes::bee: and it was such an awesome suprise and almost like a little reward for all my hard work in labour and birth! :flowerz:

MummaBear03
08-11-2009, 17:11
Was told boy, but had a girl. I wasn't going to find out but the person doing the ultrasound said "he" a number of times, then said "Oh, sorry, you said you didn't want to know didn't you" but it was ok, I only didn't want to know as I was still in denial lol. But then the others all said "Yep, it's still a boy" but then she surprised us all :D

BazzasMum
08-11-2009, 17:24
DS1 - told girl, had boy.

DS2 - told could be girl, could be boy, don't buy pink yet. Found out at 37 week positioning scan he was boy, so technically found out before birth. Just as well as I couldn't come up with ANY girl names at all!

elleandsam
08-11-2009, 17:32
We found out, dh and I like to be organised.

~BEXTER~
08-11-2009, 17:37
I found out with my first and they were right.
I still brought whites, greens and yellows just incase but they were right.

Not sure if I will find out this time round.

2sweetgals
08-11-2009, 18:35
We chose not to find out both times, thought it was a boy both times, had girls both times! :D I love the surprise, as a pp said, there are so few surprises in life, it's such a wonderful one :)

Booo
08-11-2009, 18:37
I will find out!!!!

JustUs3
08-11-2009, 19:11
We didn't find out and had a beautiful baby girl. :)

Kayangel
08-11-2009, 19:50
I found out with my first, got told boy and he was a boy.

With my second, i think i would seriously consider not finding out.

SalTheGal
08-11-2009, 20:00
I didn't find out first time, and he is a boy.
Found out second time, told boy- and he is a boy...but even though we found out, we didn't tell anyone else, kept it to ourselves- never doing that again!!!!

Littlemissmetal
08-11-2009, 20:03
Both times we found out, both times told boys, they were both born boys :D
Next time around we are hoping for A surprise though!

Kayangel
08-11-2009, 20:05
Both times we found out, both times told boys, they were both born boys :D
Next time around we are hoping for A surprise though!

Werent u told girl first though? and then told boy by someone else?

SassyMummy
08-11-2009, 20:17
We waited, but I had wanted to find out... but the sonographer couldn't tell us.

I had a daughter.

In future, I think I will wait again. The wait was worth it in the end.

Mummy2Kobi&Hailee
08-11-2009, 22:04
was told with first it was a boy and it came out a boy so that was correct.
this time around we have found out and been told its a girl but i'll have to let you all know after the 15th Dec when i have my elective c-section.

Little-Pink-Hen
08-11-2009, 23:42
I couldn't handle not knowing and counted down until the 18 week scan, but miss was a little shy and didn't show us. We found out at 27 weeks. We still brought a gender neutral nursery setting and other items. Dh still wanted to buy uni sex cloths though as we were keeping it a secret from everyone. Despite loving pink myself I didn't want to bombarded with pink at my babyshower (that I never had because I was in hospiatl with complications) but every one basically brought me boyish stuff, uni sex cloths don't exsist anymore. I evenually went and brought 3 dresses and 3 jumpsuits.

tomtom
09-11-2009, 14:12
I voted for the last bub.

The first one I didn't find out. It drove me mental seeing all those cute gender specific outfits. I ended up with a heap of yellow and green stuff for him. The next three I found out.

I liked knowing what we were having. It's easier choosing names a preparing. I like pink for girls and blue for boys, and in no way was it any less a " surprise " upon meeting my beautiful long awaited for children.

By the way I was told correctly on all three we found out for.

BabelFish
09-11-2009, 21:12
Yes we have found out both times. The first time I had a girl, this time I'm having a boy. But another nine weeks will confirm that!

DP didn't want to the first time but I did. I didn't want to the second time but he did!! I'm glad we did though, we were hoping for another girl and got such a surprise when we found out it's a boy! I'm really stoked that we found out now - I'm so excited.

MellyMumma
09-11-2009, 21:21
I found out all 4 times and all 4 times they were right! All girls!

Ffrenchknickers
10-11-2009, 09:26
We found out with all 4 bubs and they were all correct :) Boy, boy, girl, boy.

If we have another one, I would like to say that we wouldn't find out but I know that will NEVER happen as I am just not that patient!!

simba6
10-11-2009, 09:39
:bee:1st we didn't find out and i had a girl.

:angel:DS 1 found out and had angel boy, but was correct.

:eek: DS 2 - we found out at 20 weeks scan we were having a girl, we had 3 other scans that told us no different, and i had a boy :cloud9:

A Party of Five
10-11-2009, 10:51
I found out with all of my babies and they got it right everytime even with the twins :yes:

lil miss
10-11-2009, 11:23
we wanted to find out at my 18 weeks scan. they tried, but bub was laying with her legs crossed and tucked up into her crotch. no matter how much the poked and prodded, she wouldnt move so they couldnt tell us for sure, they only gave us a 55% chance of it being a girl. it wasnt until i had a scan at 32 weeks that we found out for sure it was a girl.

Littlemissmetal
10-11-2009, 14:37
Werent u told girl first though? and then told boy by someone else?

Yes we were told we were expecting A little girl originally with DS2 at our first 2 scans (16.5&18weeks) it wasn't until our 20week scan we found out we had another boy on board. Hence why we won't find out the sex of any other babies we have - too much stress and not worth the disappointment.

teenie
11-11-2009, 09:40
We didn't find out either time...but I could only choose one option on the poll, so I said it was a surprise - a boy (our 1st). Then we were surprised again with our 2nd - a girl:yelclap:. Made the end of both labours absolutely thrilling:cloud9:.

LittleBubbles
11-11-2009, 11:18
We found out with our 1st DS at 20weeks. We both had a hunch it was going to be a boy, because there was only 1 boys name we could think of, and we couldn't even pick a girls name...

This time around i've had 4 different scans done, and i've wanted to find out deserpately... I asked everytime and no one could tell me. The baby was always in the wrong position to tell. I'm convinced we're having a girl, like before - we've got 1 name picked out for a girl, but if it's a boy we're kinda stuck...

The problem i'm having now is because i'm so convinced i'm having a girl, I often wonder if i'll be disappointed if it comes out a boy. I *really* want a girl... I wonder if my wanting a girl is the reason I think it's a girl, and if i'm just setting myself up for disappointment. :confused:

BabelFish
11-11-2009, 13:16
That's exactly how it was for us. We very much wanted another little girl (well, secondary to another wonderful, healthy, happy, sleeping baby, that is) and both had a feeling it was a boy. Part of the reason I decided I wanted to find out this time was because I didn't want to have ANY feeling of disappointment - not matter how tiny and fleeting it might have been - if I was hoping for and expecting another girl and the baby was born a boy.

It's a boy. :laughing:

We're thrilled now - so excited. But yes, it did take a little while for us to get our heads around it, no matter how happy and rapt we were at having another healthy baby, and so I'm really pleased we found out and now I can't wait to meet our little man!

naebie
11-11-2009, 13:39
Well, I didn't find out, but DP did, and kept it a secet for 17 weeks!
I was sure I was having a boy, but ws pleasantly surprised to have a girl!

Misschief
13-11-2009, 23:20
I found out Im having a boy. The 3D scan definitely shows his boy bits. So Im quite sure he will be a boy after birth lol! :D

Happymumzy
14-11-2009, 07:50
my first was a surprise! and he was a boy, but i found out with my other 2, 2nd one they said was a boy and he was, and last one they said was a girl and she was! :)

PunkyDiva
14-11-2009, 07:52
We didn't foind out with the first two but we did with the next four and they were the sex they had predicted.

Zahra723
14-11-2009, 14:54
well with my 1st one they said it was a girl at first but at a later stage it was a definite boy and my second baby i just found out 2daii is a Boy!!! :flowerz:

TripleTime
15-11-2009, 07:02
Was told, Identical Girls & a Fraternal boy.

Have, ID Girls & a Frat Boy.

honeydew
15-11-2009, 11:29
DS- I desperately wanted to know, and in my heart I just knew it was a little boy. At the 20 week scan he had his legs shut with the cord dangling between them so we couldn't see. It wasn't until 32 weeks at another scan that we found out we were right and were having a son :cloud9: Neither of us could wipe the smiles from our faces and we raced staight to the shops to stock up on everything blue we could find :laughing: We were so excited that we rang everyone we knew and told them he was a boy.

DD- I again wanted to find out, and at first I was certain it was a girl. Towards the scan I thought it might have been a boy, but sure enough at 20 weeks we were told we were expecting a little princess :cloud9: Again, we couldn't wipe the smiles from our faces and raced straight to the shops to stock up on everything pink :D We kept the sex a secret from everyone (except BH) until she was born.

This bub- I REALLY don't want to find out this time because this will be our last baby and I want to experience finding out at the end. We have no preference for boy or girl and everyone else who finds out at the birth says how amazing and wonderful it is not knowing until they're here. It is SO tempting though, we are having heaps of trouble coming up with names, and it would narrow it down for us. I could know if I'm going to be a mummy to a 2nd little prince or a 2nd little princess in a matter of WEEKS! But I have to stay strong otherwise I know I will be dissapointed in myself for ruining the ultimate surprise!

BabelFish
16-11-2009, 22:16
Hahaha chocoholic we did exactly that!!! We weren't going to tell ANYBODY and within three minutes of leaving the hospital after finding out with both DD and DS we had told just about everyone we knew and were off to the shops. How funny!

JimJamsMum
19-11-2009, 20:00
I didn't find out with DS1 and I didn't want to find out with DS2. Then my obsty went on holidays and I saw his locum who did a quick scan. He said, "do you want to know the sex of the baby." I said, "no definitely not." So then he says,"okay but I think I just saw something." :hair: I went into denial and pretended I didn't know I was having a boy but I wasn't at all surprised when DS2 was born. I really like the whole guessing game that comes with waiting until bub is born

wombatsrcute
20-11-2009, 13:26
We have found out each time with my 5 pregnancies. (The 4 children I have now, 2 boys and 2 girls, and my twin boys from a tragic pregnancy) They were right each time.

I wasn't going to find out for one of them but it was obvious that it was a boy. We could see the 'equipment'.

I preferred to know. Sometimes I have had a preference for gender so it was good to be prepared. I didn't want the little one to hear that mum had been a bit disappointed when they were born.

I am from a family of 4 girls and 1 boy, with my brother being second born. When I, the last child was born, and my brother heard I was a girl, he cried with disappointment. My dad admitted he was a bit disappointed also. Mum didn't mind at all and figured she would now have 4 daughters, like in her favourite novel, "Little Women". Mind you, she would've loved a second son also. I never felt unwanted or unloved due to my gender. I figure I had no say in it and, of course, if given the choice, I would be a girl anyway!!! :yes:

LuvMy4Babes
23-11-2009, 22:29
I didn't find out with any of my 4 and absolutely loved the surprise. 2 boys and 2 girls.

mummyof3cuties
24-11-2009, 09:30
For my first pregnancy I didn't find out and I had a girl - although everyone else said it would be a boy.
My second I didn't find out and swore it was going to be a boy because I carried so differently. It was another girl.
For my third I found out, but only because I actually saw that it was a boy, but we kept it a secret between myself and my husband.
I am now pregnant with baby number 4, and swore that I didn't want to know, but when I went into the ultrasound I decided I did want to know, more because I had kept all my boys clothes and would need to move into a bigger house - I wasn't having 3 girls in the one room - luckily, it's another boy! So we are still keeping it a secret, but the 3 others just want a brother so they will be pretty happy when he finally arrives in April!

muminshock
24-11-2009, 22:13
Good poll!
Bub #1 - I desperately wanted to know but didn't at the same time. DH didn't want to know so we didn't find out. I came so close at 37 weeks when I had to have a scan but couldn't do it. We had a girl
Bub #2 - I was determined to find out with this one but DH still didn't want to. The night before the scan, he said "maybe we could" that was enough rope for me. I had the sex written on a piece of paper, the girls sealed it in an envelope with tape and staples! I took DH out for dinner and opened the envelope before he had a chance to realise what was going on. He was a little shocked I did it but over the moon it was a boy (no one else knew we were having a boy, in fact no one knew we even knew!)
Bub #3 - when we looked back on the first 2, we didn't regret anything about finding out/not finding out, but agreed that it was just much more fun not knowing. Tortuous and fun at the same time :D. I must admit I did find myself thinking on those last few pushes, "oh I just want to know what you are"... maybe it helped, maybe it didn't.

We've got one more baby to go and they will be a surprise too. Having said that, if my overwhelming hunch that we will end up with twins comes true, I will be finding out for sure - that's just a whole 'nother ball game!!

Babblings
25-11-2009, 22:12
We found out about DS gender during pg because we had experienced a missed miscarriage at 16+4 and wanted to experience knowing more about our bub incase we were unfortunate enough to experience another miscarriage. It reasured me and i felt like i had a closer bond once we knew the sex.

ILOVEBRODY
26-11-2009, 12:04
Found out with both my pregnancies and both were right. We wanted to know so we could choose names and plan on clothes and things. If I had a baby number 3 I would probably leave it as a surprise since I have one of each. :)

anewme
28-11-2009, 16:50
I never found out with any of mine.
I had Girl,
Boy,
Girl,
Girl,
Boy.

I just love the IT"S A .... Moment.

ThomasMum
29-11-2009, 17:31
I just love the IT"S A .... Moment.:iagree:

We didnt either, but boy did I pray hoping to have a boy bc I knew how important for DH and his family side to have a boy bc his sister and ALL his cousins had girls only.
God LOVES me, I did have a boy!! :smiliedance::D

:tree:

RHJ
30-11-2009, 08:17
I didn't find out with my first 2, so ticked that option. Both were boys. My 3rd i did find out, (as i was desperate to find out early if it was the girl i had my heart set on) but alas, another boy for us :D

I LOVED the surprise element though... it was really nice to find out after birth what we would be naming our little one and things, but i really needed to know earlier for the 3rd, so i could prepare my emotions.

MagicalLeopluradon
30-11-2009, 10:30
Yep, I found out with my first pregnancy I was having a little boy and I had a boy and this pregnancy I have been told I am having another boy.

missheili
30-11-2009, 16:30
I really wanted to find out the sex of my baby, which i did!!! At my 19 week scan i was told i was having a boy after i asked and i had my beautiful baby boy in May 2009!!! I still had my doubts about the sex though because i didnt see any boy bits or any girl bits haha!!! I reckon finding out the sex of your baby at the 19 week scan is just as good and as exciting as finding out when you give birth- not if they get the sex wrong, that would definately be a huge surprise!!! :)

koulto01
02-12-2009, 14:42
We tried to find our but the cord was in the way. It will be a nice surprise though. Im actually kind of glad we didnt find out.

Leeee
09-12-2009, 15:12
we won't be finding out. we have names picked for both and the whole pink/blue thing is so stereotyped and i personally don't like stereotypes so i really don't feel the need to have those colours at all, really. babies don't care what colour they're dressed in so they can wear green and white and light blues and stuff, whatever gender. i like the idea that it will be a surprise. the other reason is i really really really want a girl so i think if we find out and it's a boy i won't look forward to the birth as much, and i don't want to feel like that about my children. so yeah that's my answer in advance :)

wombatsrcute
10-12-2009, 07:43
we won't be finding out. we have names picked for both and the whole pink/blue thing is so stereotyped and i personally don't like stereotypes so i really don't feel the need to have those colours at all, really. babies don't care what colour they're dressed in so they can wear green and white and light blues and stuff, whatever gender. i like the idea that it will be a surprise. the other reason is i really really really want a girl so i think if we find out and it's a boy i won't look forward to the birth as much, and i don't want to feel like that about my children. so yeah that's my answer in advance :)

You are right about the stereotyping, on the whole, though I didn't do it to buy pink and blue stuff.
You say you 'don't want to feel like that about my children' yet won't you be a bit disappointed at the birth now, instead???
You see, I really wanted a girl for one of my boy pregnancies. I wanted to know and get my disappointment out of the way BEFORE he was born. I reckon it would be horrible to be disappointed at the birth, even just a little. So...I got over it, looked on the bright side and was very happy when he was born, 6 days overdue, all 10 pounds 4 ounces of him.
I guess it's personal preference when you want to know if you're getting your preference for gender. My dad told me that he was a bit disappointed when I was born and my brother (who was 6) cried. They had girl, boy, girl, girl, girl, with my birth. My dad and brother had so wanted another boy. No ultrasounds back then so they couldn't get their disappointment out of the way before my birth. Mind you, they loved me heaps and never made me feel different.
So...I found out beforehand each time so there were no unwanted feelings at the birth. Mind you, I am just happy to have a healthy baby, after my first pregnancy where everything went wrong due to one twin dying etc

Seacretsquirrel
10-12-2009, 08:38
Cant vote as the poll is not multiple choice..
I didnt find out either time, first time had a boy second time a girl.. :)

:iagree: Me too but DD was first then DS (though the US guy said he was a girl the first time, said boy the 2nd so we were figuring on it being a suprise then when we went to Brisbane to have bubs we got a scan at 35 or so weeks (as they didn't trust the Darwin scans as the quality was shocking) and the woman was very confident and showed us his little boy bits

galen
15-12-2009, 19:31
Previously we did a check at a local hospital and found out that it is a girl. Both of us always wanted a baby girl. Anyway Patricia is already 2.4 year old. :)

pookie123
16-12-2009, 07:05
i have 2 girls and no i did not find out although looking at the ultrasound pictures i knew straight away they were girls, i had major morning sickness, i am currently 3 months pregnant with the 3rd and i think its a boy due to hardly any morning sickness.. i am wondering if i should find out the sex this time:flowerz:

The Girls Only Club
16-12-2009, 09:06
i had major morning sickness, i am currently 3 months pregnant with the 3rd and i think its a boy due to hardly any morning sickness.. i am wondering if i should find out the sex this time:flowerz:

I was opposite I had no morning sickness with either of my girls but with this baby before I rolled out of bed in the morning I was sick.Couldnt stand to be at work cause the smell of Potato and Gravy made me sick.

We didnt find out the sex of DD1 thought she was a boy until the day she was born(hence it took 4 days to name her) with DD2 I found out as I didnt want any surprises.My next ultrasound is 30/12 and Ill be finding out then too.

koulto01
20-12-2009, 13:56
Yes we found out yesterday when we went for a 3D ultrasound!!!
I had a gut feeling it was a girl and I was RIGHT!!!
Can't wait to meet our little Angel:angel:

bellababy84
21-12-2009, 15:21
we really wanted to find out as i'm shocking with suprises i just can't wait and because of my mother in laws history with not being able to carry girls, my other half wanted to find out to finally give her a baby girl as weird as that sounds i guess. We found out at our first u/s and sure enuff she was a girl and the second time round it just made it easier on preparing and as i had heaps of girls things i didn't have to do a massive shop again! We're definately going to find out for when we have our next two... but things might change when that happens.. wait and see!

Me almost 25!
Hubby to be 31!
Munchkins, Little Miss Emma 4 going on 44 and Ratbag Rahne a bright and cheeky 1 year old.

To be a parent is to throw out all the books and to follow all those little gut instincts and say well screw you all I'm doing the best I can do!

Amielou
23-12-2009, 16:43
we wanted a surprise too and it was a surprise -

~when we asked the ultrasound tech and they told us~

:) it is a surprise whether it is before the birth or after IMHO :d only difference is when ;) DH and i couldn't wait. we found out girl for the first one and had a girl and were told girl for this one too, pretty clearly looked like girl bits even to me and DH but we'll see in 3 to 5 weeks time :)

codswallop
23-12-2009, 23:07
i needed extra options :D
i was suprised both times and now have one of each!
its the only realy suprise you get in life and it gave me somthing to cling to in labour (need to know what it is get it out now!!!!!!!!)

reemasams
28-12-2009, 01:45
It was not a surprise in anyway. I was less concerned on whether it would be a boy or girl? My main concern was safe delivery.

Cromo
11-02-2010, 18:03
We found out...My 16 week ultrasound, they were 99% certain it was a Boy...I was a bit shocked, because I was having "Girl feelings"...Next ultrasound at 20 weeks, they told me it was a Girl..
We had a beautiful baby Girl :)

Cromo
11-02-2010, 18:04
Our second bub is due at the end of August...We are going to find out...So if we need to buy Boys clothes it will be easier...
We wanted to know with our first bub because it made it easier to buy clothes...

Jennii
12-02-2010, 22:30
We found out, just couldn't resist.

We were told boy and we had a boy =)

teenageparent
13-02-2010, 22:19
well i wanted to find out at the time of the scan bubbas legs were crossed and couldnt see at all.

But then when it was all happening they said "its a boy" i just cried seriously the best surprise ever.

Im planning for another one but think i might find out because i have alot of boys clothes and if this next ones a girl i have all this boys stuff. So ill have to buy pink!! :)

JJAZ
23-02-2010, 11:15
we found out both times and both times the result was right, two girls! :D

Nickyps
24-02-2010, 16:42
First pregnacy we didn't find out and we had a girl.

Second pregnancy we did find out and it was a boy.

Hollywood
06-03-2010, 12:01
Surprise: Boy :cloud9:

lissgrr
07-03-2010, 06:22
I like knowing.. We had our name sorted and it felt nice for bonding to talk to my son by his name...

bunkx
07-03-2010, 12:58
i think a surprise is heaps better (although im very impatient and did consider finding out what my second on was glad i didn't though:) )

Aquamarine
07-03-2010, 13:01
Found out all three times. This time we are finding out but not going to tell anyone we have so I don't have stupid comments thrown at me for the rest of the pregnancy. Oh wow four boys......bla bla bla

Brightsilverstar
07-03-2010, 13:21
We aren't far along enough but we will be... Its amazing some peoples reactions are when you tell them you are finding out

blooper
07-03-2010, 22:20
1st pregnancy - No and it was a girl
2nd pregnancy - Yes and it was a girl
3rd pregnacy- No, Twins, girl then boy.

Mamamarch
08-03-2010, 02:03
Nope, didn't find out either time. I didn't have any scans, so it would have been a bit difficult. :laughing:

My feeling about baby's sex was right both times, though - boy then girl.

Jesska
08-03-2010, 06:25
DS1 - we did find out they said boy, he was a boy.
DS2 - didn't find out.
DD - Found out she was a girl and she was infact a girl :D

oneofeach89
09-03-2010, 10:45
i found out both times that i have been pregnant and i have had what they said...

mumof22010
11-03-2010, 09:38
i wanted it to be a surprise with my first and we had a boy... with our second i wanted to know but bub did not want us to know i thought i was having a girl,, i kind of felt that i was and i did have a girl

GraceUnhearing
11-03-2010, 09:43
there should be an 'other'
or multiple choice

i didnt find out with Rylan
but i did with Zeke

and will be finding out this time too

i loved the surprise
but i also loved knowing

this time we want to know if its a boy or a girl as i only have boy things here
so a little girl would need a whole new wardrobe!

love2190
14-04-2010, 11:57
In my wife's both delivery, we did not find the sex. We got suprise both time. First time it was Boy and second time it was Baby which i want both time. It was rally surprise.

soexcited
14-04-2010, 12:01
I wanted a surprise and DH desperately wanted to know. Initially we were just going to get the sonographer to tell him and keep it a surprise for me but I changed my mind and decided I absolutely had to know. I had a feeling DS was going to be a boy and had constantly referred to him as "he" ... luckily "he" was.

I was insistent that he not be named until he was born though.

Izy
14-04-2010, 12:06
i found out. As a woman waiting 2 yrs for my baby, and 3 angels later. I needed to know the sex to make it more real that I was actually having a baby.

Cromo
16-04-2010, 12:28
We had our 20 week ultrasound yesterday and we found out the sex.
We weren't going to find out because we wanted the surprise but my partner wasn't originally able to come to the ultrasound and he wanted to know so I was going to find out. He came, so we just found out.
And my motherly instincts were right, I guessed it right lol.

cuddlepot
04-05-2010, 14:26
For our first we didn't find out. We had DD. For our second we found out we were having a boy and they were right. I guess we found out the second time around to make it more real for DD who was 3 at the time.

We are ttc now and when we do get :bfp: I don't think I want to find out. I liked the surprise :)

aquagirl
04-05-2010, 17:06
We asked for both, for DD1 I 'felt' like I was having a girl so went more by my feeling that what was told to me. For DD2, we were told "well it looks like it could be a girl...but it could also be a boy" well duh! Had no feelings there, so we didn't get any coloured stuff until she was born.

Mum2Jas
07-05-2010, 13:33
We didn't find out for the first bub but i am pregnant and i think i would like to find out for this one so that we can be more organised.

sophiesmommy
07-05-2010, 17:53
We didn't find out for the first bub but i am pregnant and i think i would like to find out for this one so that we can be more organised.

I too found out with my first DD at our 19 week Scan, With Our 2nd DD she had her legs closed at our 19 week scan , so did'nt find out until a week before she was born at a scheduled scan requested by our doctor to check baby due to having a ceaser .... I wanted to be organised with our 2nd , if she was a Boy would have had to do loads of shopping , If we have another child we arn't going to find out the sex :)

witheverythingiam
25-05-2010, 20:24
We found out - we were told we were expecting a boy, but I gave birth to a girl!!!

Luckily our nursery was neutral (Kidsline Zanzibar).

25-05-2010, 20:56
Wait and see! I needed something to look forward too (and my husband too) after going through labour. :)

LilTylersMummy
02-06-2010, 10:07
Yes! we found out we were having a boy, and we had a boy!:yelclap: We kept it a secret though, no-one knew except our mums :)

~Candy~
02-06-2010, 10:13
Yes, I found out the sex with my 1st, 3rd and 4th babies before they were born (my 2nd I just she was a girl). They were all correct :)

MamaMetcalfe
12-06-2010, 02:17
I was hoping I was having a girl but nope while laying there having the 12 week scan I saw his boy bits then DH saw them & then I saw them again so we just said yeah, tell us. They highlighted it all & said yep boy. Thrilling.

The 20wk, 22wk & 32wk scan all said boy & yes, he came out very much a he!

If I manage to get pregnant again I dont know what we will do ??? maybe just wait & see if we see anything & go from there.

PA80
14-06-2010, 12:38
We decided to find out at the 19wk scan, we were both convinced we would be having a girl, but he was a boy! We kept it a secret from everyone else.
We are so glad we found out, because we felt like we were able to bond with him more knowing who was in there...and as it turned out this means so much to us now, as he was stillborn at 31wks. At least we feel like we knew him.
We will find out for future pregnancies too.

trishalishous
14-06-2010, 14:13
we didn't find out, but were convinced DD would be a boy.
we probably won't find out next time, but if its twins again, then might think about it (although we have loads of boy&girl&unisex clothes)

chantelalana
02-10-2010, 15:15
Yes i found out and it was a boy!! Confirmed at 3 or 4 scans he's definitely a boy. I have 2 weeks until my due date tomorrow:D

I knew from day 1 when i found out it was going to be a boy and i was right lol

~CupCakes~
02-10-2010, 15:36
#1 didnt find out _ boy
#2 didnt find out _ girl
#3 didnt find out _ girl

everyone was always so shocked that we never found out, but i thought there isnt much that is a surprise anymore and i think that this special news to find out after bubs joins you earthside

people were particularly surprised that we didnt find out with DD1 and DD2
DD1 we got but what if its not a boy you wont have pink clothes:rolleyes:
DD2 we go you have one of each so why does it matter :rolleyes:

waterlily
02-10-2010, 15:39
I found out and we got our beautiful DD:bee:

Aries
02-10-2010, 20:34
We didn't find out for either pregnancy. We both wanted it to be a surprise for us to find out at the birth and I wouldn't have had it any other way.

That seems to be the question that everyone asks though when they find out you're expecting.

I'm actually surprised that most people seem to find out the sex, and we seem to be in the minority!

cub
02-10-2010, 20:40
I haven't found out either time, but I only voted for my last birth.
IMO nothing compares to that moment when my baby is born and I get that final surprise :cloud9:

If we were meant to find out mother nature would have given us belly windows.

chickenfoot83
02-10-2010, 22:41
We found out and it was a boy
When she asked us we told her we wanted to find out she scaned over "that area" and my DF started to cry and said its a boy and the sonagrapher said yes congrats your having a little boy it was such a beautiful moment.

HotChocolate
02-10-2010, 22:54
I didn't find out with any pregnancies and have two boys.

Mrs P
02-10-2010, 23:07
We found out, wouldn't do it any other way. Far to impatient to wait until the birth :laughing: We have waited too long for this baby so the fact that the baby will be born I don't think it could be anymore of a surprise!

Tweak
02-10-2010, 23:25
I did only because they were twins
2 boys and the ultrasounds were quite clear and quite correct

Next baby I won't
I wish I didn't with them
I think the "reveal" would be such icing on the cake

PuppyGuts
03-10-2010, 08:01
we didnt find out with DD and i was so sure i was having a boy, DH even got a massive kick to the face when he said "kick me if your a boy" lol and yeh suprise-got a girl.

the suprise was definatly the best, although they took her away when she was born and she was a bit crook and noone told me it was about half hour before i thought to ask what id had!

if i got pregnant again id probably keep it a suprise again. unless it was twins. coz id have alot of sorting to do!

Mrs P
03-10-2010, 08:40
I'm curious for those who wouldn't/didn't find out with a singleton would find out with twins, really it shouldn't make a difference??

Pinkjellybean
04-10-2010, 14:01
I didn't find out, and loved having the surprise of finding out on the day DD was born, but I think for the next I would find out to help DD bond with the baby, and also because not knowing just about killed me!

crunchie
04-10-2010, 14:47
All the way through I didnt want to find out - we had a scan at 35 weeks and i asked the sex at it - my partner was adamant he didnt want to know so he left the room before I was told we were having a girl!

I had been convinced I was having a boy and was shocked! But delighted!

I managed to keep the sex from my partner but I was so glad I found out when I did - I was exhausted and over being pregnant and the knowledge gave me a new enthusiasm for the final weeks of pregnancy and I found that I really bonded with her during the last 5 weeks!

Pinkzy
04-10-2010, 14:56
I tried to find out with my first pregnancy but the sonographer could not determine the sex. I knew in my heart it was a girl all along though and I was right :) Thank goodness too otherwise I wouldn't of known what to do with all the pink stuff I bought during my pregnancy.

I found out for sure it was a boy with my second pregnancy :)

1CrazyMoose
04-10-2010, 15:05
I didn't do the poll because I was told with Both my children. Ages 2 and 9weeks

Boy - correct
Girl - correct

sheep
04-10-2010, 22:53
We didn't find out and had two boys. I *knew* they were boys, just a feeling.

RoarsomeMum
05-10-2010, 00:32
We found out! Twice :o. After a big halabaloo at 15 weeks (well almost 15 weeks) and a big honcho all experienced "best in the state" sonogropher told us BOY! which Chris was sure of and I figured high chance too cause the males in that family produce males! (DD was the first girl in MIL's fam for 55 odd years!) by 18 weeks I was really thinking we might be having a girl, but tried to convince myself it is because I wanted one so much. 20 Week scan said Girl. So did the 3D and 4D and specific gender scans we did afterward!

I wanted to know EVERYTHING we could about the baby we FINALLY were expecting.

Our surprise was 2 lines on a stick and then the ability to hold our daughter, to finally be a family at last.

Finding out stole nothing from our experience.

Bekk
05-10-2010, 18:21
I am such a curious person but DH and I have decided not to find out for our first pregnancy. We might find out another time if we feel like it's the right thing to do. I haven't voted as we are only half way and i still don't know what the baby is obviously.

Alot of people are not understanding when you say that you're not finding out...but i do understand why people do find out.

1+1=5
05-10-2010, 18:28
we found out with all 3 of ours and they were all boys.

i wanted to know because i really wanted a little girl and i wanted to be prepared mentally by the time bubs arrived.

I also like to do some shopping :). Its very hard to find any neutral baby clothes so you need to know if you want to buy some clothes

escapethefate
06-10-2010, 09:30
i found out with my first and second, both boys
didnt find out with my third and she was a girl :)
not sure if i will find out with any more that i may have, as finding out at the end was so awesome!

Lexie and Zekes Mum
06-10-2010, 10:01
I found out with both, I like to be organised

Two Little Loves
08-10-2010, 15:53
DD1 we didn't find out. We didn't see the point as we would have to buy everything, clothes etc either way plus DH really wanted the surprise at the end. We were both pretty sure it was a girl though!

DD2 we did find out, DH left it up to me, and I loved knowing. I am an organised person by nature so it was good to know we were set for clothes etc. I loved being able to call her by name (which we didn't share with anyone else until the birth) and tell our daughter she was getting a little sister.

cutiepiekai
16-10-2010, 07:13
We didnt find out what we were having. Everyone kept saying we were having a girl but i wanted it to be a suprise. Im so glad we didnt know what we were having. And i dont think i was unorganised not knowing the gender. We got so many presents when our baby was born that he had everying he needed (in the right colours), i think i would have gone a bit over the top with shopping if i had know what colour to buy. Yes we ended up having a little boy and it was a wonderful suprise especially because everyone was convinced it would be a girl.

cozycuffs
19-10-2010, 13:55
We didn't find out and had a beatuiful boy, when i look back i am so glad that we didn't find out, it was a great suprise.

nataliej
19-10-2010, 22:10
We didn't find out for either of our kids. Our first was a girl and then we had a boy.

My DH really wanted to find out the gender with our first bub but enjoyed the surprise so much, we decided not to find out the second time around either.

I have to admit with both kids, when I had ultrasounds my DH and I would spend the whole time trying to guess bub's gender LOL!

just her chameleon
19-10-2010, 22:18
I found out at the morphology scan, I told DH if we couldn't get a definite answer that day I would request another scan :laughing: I HATE surprises :laughing:

Jensha
22-10-2010, 21:57
I didn't find out. I love suprises. And it felt so special all the excitment of not knowing and then to go through labour and for them to say. Was just so special. I had a girl. If I have another baby I will leave as a suprise again.

PKKXP
27-10-2010, 18:46
First time we didn't find out and had a girl
Second time didn't find out and had a boy
Third time we haven't and won't find out till the birth

27-10-2010, 19:51
Found out with Hayley and Nathan and they were right. Tried to find out with Skye but couldn't.

AndrewTheEmu
01-11-2010, 20:11
DH and I could not decide on names. We thought if we knew the sex it would be lot easier (and we were right). Plus, i insisted on calling bub 'Hubert' (would NEVER have really called bub that but it was a name that stuck in my head) HAD to find out the sex. and bub was a girl :D

mumof4doula
05-11-2010, 21:11
We have four children and we never found out the sex of any of them including the last which is our only daughter. There are so few surprises left in life and I believe there's nothing more special than lifting up your newborn baby to make that discovery yourself. This was important to us especially for our last baby to find out that we'd finally had a little girl after all the boys. We were very relieved and I shed quite a few tears of joy! It really was the icing on the cake.:yelclap:

chopchop
27-03-2011, 10:24
nope, the suprise was wonderful

ronniewilliams
14-04-2011, 08:22
We have two children but never to know the sex of child before birth.

babyspice
30-04-2011, 22:34
i was due 31/12/08 so everyone wanted to buy us baby related presents for christmas, i didnt want everything to be yellow or green, or 'safe, unisex' colours.
I also wanted to know, i couldnt handle the suspense, i wanted to be able to plan the nursery :)
:highfive:

daisymoo
30-04-2011, 23:30
Nope,we didnt find out with the last three and we will not be finding out with the next!!
Must add i have all boys!;)

MummaSmallBladderr
03-06-2011, 12:44
I have a son and a daughter and im expecting again..i found out with both my kids because i am an extremely organised person, i like to have the essentials in the right colours..of sourse there is a chance they would get it wrong, but then i would rather give the thing t someone else who is expecting then to be disorganized. i plan on finding out the sex of this bubba too. my fiance used to be all about suprises but when his ex gave birth to their daughter and they had everything in white he has changed his mind about keeping babys sex a suprise, and i dont think he really enjoyed the anticipation as he told me it kept him up all night trying to pictured wether he would be having a girl or boy

Bekk
03-06-2011, 22:25
We didn't find out the sex and it was awesome. We refered to our baby as 'Bump' and as "he'. I hated the thought of calling our precious baby an 'it'. Turns out we had a girl, which is was sure of anyway. I didn't hold back buying colours. I dress her in ever colour under the sun, not just pink (although i do always have a pink or purple something on her, like a blanket or jacket just to help other people.) Her nursery was so much fun. I just made it that i could swap a couple things here and there to accomodate for either sex. So much fun. And nothing can top that moment when you get your baby on your chest, to finally meet them and find out their sex. AMAZING!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=2861&pictureid=13765

sweetpea82
03-06-2011, 22:29
We didn't find out. There are few surprises left in the world. Def won't be finding out for number 2 either ;)

mum to one so far
04-06-2011, 06:37
need a new option on poll, i didnt find out with first, he was asurprise but with this one we wanted to know

LivinOnAPrayer
04-06-2011, 21:15
i did find out, and named her that day :)

nikki87
06-06-2011, 12:05
i wanted to find out for my first so i could prepare everything but for my next i dont want to but my DF does.

singlemumma82
06-06-2011, 12:14
We found out as soon as we could with DD and even if we didnt want to know she gladly gave it all away as soon as they popped the ultrasound on my belly.

We were sure she was a boy though and it took us another 10 weeks to agree on a name, by the time she was born she was responding to her name :p

Degrassi
06-06-2011, 12:27
I opted not to find out and got an amazing surprise when my DS was born. I think it's exciting to not find out, especially for your first bub. Unsure whether I would find out if I have a 2nd child, there are practical reasons to finding out if you already have other children I guess.

scarymarygoldfish
18-06-2011, 23:28
I desperately wanted a boy. She was (and still is :laughing:) a girl and I was soooooo glad I found out to be able to come to terms with it before she was born. Of course I'm head over heels in love and wouldn't change her for the world and next time I'd like a suprise because I'll be stoked with either.

scarymarygoldfish
18-06-2011, 23:32
As other members are saying, it was especially nice to bond with our already named daughter while she was in utero.

proudmama
18-06-2011, 23:51
we found out DS1 was a boy before hand just so we could be prepared being our first

we didn't find out with #2 so we could have that suprise at least once and most of the stuff we already had was fairly nuetral - turned out to be another boy

this time round i was fairly certain would be our last and i just had to know so i could either come to terms with having 3 boys or if i could finally start shopping int he girls section and ..... YAY DD is due early Aug

scarymarygoldfish
19-06-2011, 00:30
Yay Proudmama I'm so happy for you :goodvibes:. How perfect.

Sturgette
19-06-2011, 11:54
I found out for both pregnancies but didn't actually know for sure with until the 32 week mark. Both seemed to like playing hide and seek when it was time for the ultrasounds :D

lola77
19-06-2011, 11:59
After doing Ivf, I wanted something to be a surprise so didn't find out. DH really wanted to know so posted our scan video on a website which has a few sonographers on. I can't remember know whether they got it right.

It didn't bother me that I couldn't get the nursery ready. DS was in our room for the first 6 weeks anyway and I'd pick out 2 different types of linen I liked, and just ordered it when he was born. As it was we ended up moving his bedroom when he was 3 months old anyway and we're renting, so nothing was permanent!

Not sure whether we'll find out with this one but we've got a while to decide yet :)

tiny2011
20-06-2011, 12:21
I found out I was having a boy at 19 weeks and had a boy. If you could find out in the first month I would have... it felt like 19 years having to wait!!!