View Full Version : Stalking BUBHUB whilst waiting to TTC
narribri
29-01-2010, 19:29
I picked my ring out in the window, and showed it to DH quite a few times. He smiled and nodded, but didn't let on much. Previously we had agreed we wanted to get married in April 2009 - and in about March 08 I said to him 'you better hurry up and propose, it'll take me a year to plan the wedding if you want it on schedule'.
I was watching him like a hawk, apparently he'd gone to look at the ring I loved but they took the display down and sent them all back to the supplier that morning! so he got them to send my ring back.. three weeks later he goes and puts it on layby as he can't get enough cash out in one hit. He then had to find plausible excuses for four trips to the bank at unusual times (he didn't drive at the time so I took us everywhere). Some of his excuses sucked, and he got yelled at, but he said to me afterwards that he put up with it because it meant I wasn't suspecting the real reason :laughing:
Anyways.. eventually he got the ring, and was trying to get me to go up to Kings Park with him for a picnic. Me being the oblivious grumpybum I am, kept delaying it and delaying it. One Sunday in May, I was trying to do the washing but the water people were cleaning the pipes, and my washing machine filled up with icky brown water, which made me sooooo mad! I stomped down to DH's house in a tanty, and he was like 'right, we're going for a picnic'. He packed this gorgeous cute little picnic lunch and drags me up to the park. It was very sweet and romantic, and a lovely warm day for that time of year. We were just laying on the blanket in the sun, when he gets down on one knee and starts out on this gorgeous little speech. He only got halfway through it before we were both in tears, and we walked back down the hill to the busport that afternoon feeling like we were on top of the world.
You know, I've never written that story out before and it's a lot longer than I thought it would be! :laughing:
So what success rate have people had with OPK's and other ovulation predictors??
Is there anyone that is just going to go for it? And then see what happens?
I am in two minds as to what I will do....
I have a Maybe Baby which I used with DS - but we fell first month so we didn't really get to have a go so to speak... I am currently thinking that once I go off the pill maybe try a couple of cycles just to see how we go and if no luck then, then have a go at the predictors.
Hales You are not silly for looking at prams now.... Get in and do your research it is a BIG investment and you don't want to stuff it up. I would maybe "borrow" a friends baby to push in the pram because there can be a fair bit of difference once a pram has a baby in it...
Keep up with your research!!!
Also does anyone else have a preference for what they would like to have or don't care either way??? I was really swaying towards a girl a couple weeks ago but now I don't know. Think that I may just see what I get... I'll probably change my mind again though..:laughing:
leajones22
29-01-2010, 20:57
Justus4now - :smiliedance: congratulations on your engagement and I am looking forward to hearing about your wedding plans.
Narribri - the only problem is he stopped b/f at 7 months.
Tieko & Opaque - :hugs: hope you feel better soon.
AFM - Before we got engaged my DH was offered an opportunity to go and work in New York for 4 months at the time he didn't want to go because of me. I convinced him that he should go and just after New Years in 2003 he flew out. So for the next 3 months we spoke on the phone and talked about me flying out in the April so we could have a holiday. It was my first time flying and I did it all by myself and it is such a long way.
On a Wednesday 16th April we went for a walk through the city and across the Brooklyn bridge that night we got dressed and went out to this little italian restaurant called Scallettas which is opposite central park, on our walk there DH kept his hand in his pocket and made sure I walked on the opposite side of him so I had an inkling that something was going on. Well nothing happened at the restaurant and we had a great meal and then took a cab to the Empire State Building. Once we got to the top he made us walk around and around and around until he found a spot that had no people but unfortunately it was so windy and freezing and here i was wearing this little dress and very thin cardy I was cold. He started asking me if I truly loved him and I said of course and then he asked what would I do if he did this and as he was aking that he got down on one knee and pulled the ring out of his pocket. I started crying and the first words out of my mouth were "oh my god" and the "YES" it was great. We then went into the gift shop and bought a little crystal replica of the building as well as a silver pendant and a teddy dressed as the building. It is something that I will never forget.
Opaque - DH doesn't want us to have any "help" TTC. I think he hopes it takes ages to fall because of all the BDing, grrr. If I'm not UTD after a few months I will definitely be putting my foot down!
Prams - I think I'll just research on the net for now. I keep checking out all the prams as we're walking around the shops!
I'm hoping for a boy first, but obviously happy for any healthy bub :)
Leajones - that is an AMAZING story! Wow!!
MrsHappy
29-01-2010, 21:51
HELLO LADIES i cant believe that ive been MIA for so long and that this little thread i started has reached 100 pages!! WOW i think they will prob start a new one for us soon!!
Ok there is way too much for me to catch up on right now but there are a few things i wanted to say!!
Welcome to the new ladies and special :hugs:to SpecialK, i read your other thread and my heart goes out to you and your man! i hope your special time comes very soon!
justusfornow CONGRATS well done, such an exciting time and your right a wedding does take up alot of head space
My engagement story cos all your lovely amazing staries have inspired me (and cos i cant resist) we went out for our 5 year anniversary and went to a beautiful resturant on the beach, after we went down to the beach and was just chatting sitting on the bonnet and he jumped down on one knee and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him , i started :smiliedance:and screaming and crying and looking at my amazing ring that he got designed (and is better than i had ever imagined)!! i said i have to call me Mum and Dad and he said they already knew cos he had already asked (good man) and that just topped it off!! we got married exactely a year later on our 6 year anniversary!
*i too have been looking at prams (sneaky sneaky) and cots and clothes and all the rest,
*i have no preference for the sex of my first born
*sorry there are lots of ladies not feeling well
*dont think we will be using O predictors to start with (will just be BD as much as possible and watching my signs)
Can everyone please have a look at the front page and if you are not on there and want to be post your details and for those ladies that have changed your starting dates let me know cos i want it to be up to date!! thanks ladies i promise to hang around more!!!!;)
insideaway
29-01-2010, 22:13
Also does anyone else have a preference for what they would like to have or don't care either way??? I was really swaying towards a girl a couple weeks ago but now I don't know. Think that I may just see what I get... I'll probably change my mind again though..:laughing:
I most definitely want a boy first and hoping only boys to follow :D I'm such a tomboy I wouldn't know the first thing in raising a daughter.
Can everyone please have a look at the front page and if you are not on there and want to be post your details and for those ladies that have changed your starting dates let me know cos i want it to be up to date!! thanks ladies i promise to hang around more!!!!;)
Hey stranger :) Yep, if you could change me to April/May that would be wonderful!
leajones22 - how wonderful is the view from the Empire State Building? *sigh* I miss that place. What an awesome place to be proposed to :)
elleandsam
29-01-2010, 22:13
Just a quick one from me, not having any luck with pram warehouse atm. I paid last weekend and they think the payment still hasn't gone through even though I checked and double checked the account details. I don't feel like they're being very helpful. I've made 7 phonecalls to them and only once has my call been returned. Ladies if you're going to buy a pram online I wouldn't recommend pram warehouse. Hopefully on Monday I'll hear back from them, I just hope I get the pram or I'm out $570 :hair:
Hi all!!
Congrats JustUs! How exciting!!
My DH and I went to Great Keppel Island for our 2 year anniversary... on the actual day of our anniversary My hubby went to try and organise a nice table for us at dinner but came back saying he didn't have any luck... We got ready for the night and went down towards the bar and hubby took me towards the beach instead.. He had organised our own little table on the edge of the beach with drinks and a cheese platter while the sun was setting... A little into it DH got down on one knee and recited a poem he had written for me and the last words were will you marry me... It was soooo romatic and the poem was soo nice.. He is very talented at writing poems but doens't do it often!
I've been using OPKs this month and havent got a + yet! I'm not wanting to get one for 2 days or so as we are trying to sway for a girl! Fingers crossed!
Hmm i'm sure there is heaps I missed out on.. having a blank!
Hope everyone enjoys their weekend!!
Justus4now - forgot to also say hope you get a honeymoon baby (if you don't plan on TTC before then that is)... lol
Most people think our DS#3 is a honeymoon baby (born 9 months to the day after our wedding) but I am happy to let them think that cause it sounds much more romantic and lovely than the real story ie: DH went to his bucks night at the nuddie bars on the Gold Coast with his mates and came home 'happy'... lol so much for 'we must abstain from DTD for a full month before the wedding dear'... :laughing:
Love all the engagement stories, all lovely!
Once DH gets unsnipped I think I will be in every baby shop 'researching' every pram cot and baby accessory available..... :cloud9: can't wait!
Hope everyone who is not well gets better real soon, being sick sucks big time!
Nat :flowerz:
Morning girls. Had a rough night last night with my sickness and ended up sleeping in the lounge, so the tiredness will hit me later (didn't really get to sleep till 4am!) but other than that I am feeling a lot better today and like I can function somewhat!
Currently cd30, 15dpo and still no af but am assuming that the sickness will delay it anyway :rolleyes:...so as a guess I don't think I'm pregnant this month. I think I may go and get a haircut and colour this week though - yay! That should lift my spirits and I think I deserve it as it's my birthday on Monday :smiliedance:
As for gender preferences - would like a girl next and then another boy...not too particular is it? :p lol no but seriuly I wouldn't be to phased either way!
Prams - haven't done much reading into it to be honest...all I know is that I would like a layback stroller - because it will be small and EASY!! With my first bub I went out and brought a fancy expensive pram, reversible handle, etc etc the lot! Honestly it was a pain though...and so much harder to fold down, heavier, and hard to fit in the boot than strollers. It was gorgeous though :rolleyes: but this time I'm definately going for the easy option!
Hope everyone is well or getting better by the day...
I've made 7 phonecalls to them and only once has my call been returned. Ladies if you're going to buy a pram online I wouldn't recommend pram warehouse. Hopefully on Monday I'll hear back from them, I just hope I get the pram or I'm out $570 :hair:
If you have checked that money was transferred to right place and that it has left your account they would have to have it by now :confused:... If money has gone to wrong account for some reason surely your bank would have some avenue to correct it when you do a transfer you put account name and numbers so they can match it is going to right person/company...
If it has gone to right account by all your details tell the Pram Warehouse want to speak to the manager or owner of the company, if no resolve there. Then get the department of fair trading to investigate the matter (or relevant ombudsman dept), that is what they do and believe me they get results. That usually gets some more attention to detail happening because there is no reason you should loose your money (and that is alot of money to just loose and not get your pram).
AFM: My DH finished work in WA yesterday our caravan sale finalises this weekend and DH will start the long drive home early next week, SOOOO excited to be getting my DH back!
Take care all.
PS. Tieko - Glad you are able to function today hope you continue to improve.:thumbsup:
Just a quick one from me, not having any luck with pram warehouse atm. I paid last weekend and they think the payment still hasn't gone through even though I checked and double checked the account details. I don't feel like they're being very helpful. I've made 7 phonecalls to them and only once has my call been returned. Ladies if you're going to buy a pram online I wouldn't recommend pram warehouse. Hopefully on Monday I'll hear back from them, I just hope I get the pram or I'm out $570 :hair:
Is the money missing from your account??? If it is - go to bank and get a proof of transfer. Fax or email it to them... If they still don't fix it - go to Office of Fair Trading! That's absolute bull s**t.... Makes me think twice about using them! Even if it is a genuine mix up - their customer service is cr@p...
Most people think our DS#3 is a honeymoon baby (born 9 months to the day after our wedding) but I am happy to let them think that cause it sounds much more romantic and lovely than the real story ie: DH went to his bucks night at the nuddie bars on the Gold Coast with his mates and came home 'happy'... lol so much for 'we must abstain from DTD for a full month before the wedding dear'... :laughing:
PMSL!!! That is awesome. I am sure DS3 will love that story when he is older!
Most people don't realise that you are actually pregnant for almost 10 months (from date of LMP to birth)
Who said about the abstenance for a month before weddings??? I didn't know anything about this! We DTD the night before the wedding... :laughing:
Hi everyone:wave:
I have been stalking bub hub for months now but have just come across this thread. My partner and I have been together for about 10 years and are getting married in August. We've decided that we'll start TCC on our honeymoon. I can't wait - I've been so clucky for the last 7 years and have been trying to convince DP!
It's good to know that I'm not as crazy as I thought. I already have my pram, cot, hospital and obstetrician picked out!!
Kathryn
insideaway
30-01-2010, 13:45
It's good to know that I'm not as crazy as I thought. I already have my pram, cot, hospital and obstetrician picked out!!
Kathryn
Welcome Kathryn :) You are not alone, I have my cradle and pram already and hospital picked out (really picked out for me cause of where I live) hehe :D
Kat10 - WELCOME :wave: I am new on here too but have already found the Ladies here WONDERFUL...
Hope your journey to a :bfp: is short and your have a wonderful wedding... wish I could relive mine it was just the best day ever...
PS. I was married in August too (27th) nice time of year I think... we got married at Mount Tamborine in QLD it was just beautiful:skywriter:.
narribri
30-01-2010, 14:33
Morning all!
Elleandmum - that sucks, keep on them, make sure you either get a refund or your pram
Welcome to all our new ladies
Yay for Saturday morning sleepins, best invention ever :cool: Usually I can't sleep much past about 7am, but today I didn't move until past 9.
I was looking at the Strider Plus last night, it looks interesting although I don't think I'd bother with the infant carseat. 9kg is just reached too fast, I'd probably just invest in a proper carseat.
I haven't found any cots that tickle my fancy online, I think DH and I might just get a matching cot/tallboy/bookshelf ordered from the local place that does pine furniture. I love the colour of properly polished pine.
PS. I was married in August too (27th) nice time of year I think... we got married at Mount Tamborine in QLD it was just beautiful:skywriter:.
I got married on the 27th August too! In 2005!
mini-moo's mummy
30-01-2010, 15:08
So sorry to hear about you're experience SpecialK! You sound as though you are a very strong woman and will pull through all of this OK! I work in a Dr's surgery, and you should definitelty report your step-aunt. There are confidentiality agreements that she would have signed stating that she can not use any information for personal reasons! That is just unacceptable!
Well some big news on my front:
IM ENGAGED!!!
thanks hon.....i dont think im overly strong i think its more my DH helping me be strong.....
but im determined not to get in a rut so that helps i suppose....
ill definatly be taking it up with the hospital because we are really angry it happened..
massive CONGRATS on ur engagement!!:valentine:
SpecialK - I am so sorry for you loss. Hopefully we keep you entertained whilst waiting to TTC. You have such a positive attitude - you are an inspiration. I'm sure I would still be hiding under the covers, good on you for keeping your chin up!
On a brighter note, went to GP last night to check pre-preg bloods - all are clear. So all my immunities are good and we can start when we like. So fingers crossed for Apr/May '10 TTC!!!
thank you ....... im sure u will, im not going back to work till i find a job so ill be hovering around here a lot!!!
yay thats fab on ur results...... if i dont get my way DH and i will be trying around the same time as yu, im hoping for the end of march but im not going to push the subject at this point....
still have to get the all clear from my OB first
I want to find out more about the Strider Plus as well. I'm so tempted to go and look at it at the shops, but I just feel strange looking when I'm not even TTC yet.
hon the best thing i did wa research before i got preg......
it made life so much easier when we had to go and buy all of our stuff.....
i knew what i wanted and what i wanted to spend and im so glad i did coz its a daunting world the baby gear world!!:laughing:
Is there anyone that is just going to go for it? And then see what happens?
Also does anyone else have a preference for what they would like to have or don't care either way??? I was really swaying towards a girl a couple weeks ago but now I don't know. Think that I may just see what I get... I'll probably change my mind again though..
we will just play it by ear as we did when we got preg with Gus.... we decided we didnt want it to be clinical until after 6 months of trying..... and will do the same this time.....
hmmmm well as for a preference, we always said we wanted a boy first, so we achieved that, but i think next time id like a girl, i think it would feel a bit weird having a boy.....
but hey im not gonna be fussy ill take whatever i can get!!:yes:
Welcome to the new ladies and special :hugs:to SpecialK, i read your other thread and my heart goes out to you and your man! i hope your special time comes very soon!
Can everyone please have a look at the front page and if you are not on there and want to be post your details and for those ladies that have changed your starting dates let me know cos i want it to be up to date!! thanks ladies i promise to hang around more!!!!
thanka mrshappy..
ill have a look after this post and post up my details for u!
Just a quick one from me, not having any luck with pram warehouse atm. I paid last weekend and they think the payment still hasn't gone through even though I checked and double checked the account details. I don't feel like they're being very helpful. I've made 7 phonecalls to them and only once has my call been returned. Ladies if you're going to buy a pram online I wouldn't recommend pram warehouse. Hopefully on Monday I'll hear back from them, I just hope I get the pram or I'm out $570
hoe frustraiting i hopw they get their sh!t together for u soon!!!
welcome kathryn!! :wave:
dont worry hon i had my hopsy and OB picked and the pram i wanted and a few other things too, well before i was pregnant!!!
i know have a nursery ready to go and my OB and hospy wont change next time.....
ok so my proposal story......
in 2008 i was working for a airline and DH and i decided to go to the gold coast for a weekend, staff travel made popping off very easy!!
so off we went, and it happened to be valentines day when we went but coz we dont really bother with it, to me it was just another day......
we went out for dinner and then having ice cream on th beach when the sun went down and he tol me he had something to show me.....
pulled out a box with a band of diamonds and asked me to marry him...:cloud9:
i thought it was a joke coz we had decided we would get my ring made and then just tell people we were engaged but DH had other ideas so bought the tempry ring and popped the question.....
then when we got back i decided what i wanted and we had it made......
AFM: not much going on this end really.....
had a pretty average arvo yesterday, a close GF had here baby and it kinda affected me more than i thought it would, was planning on visiting her in the hospy but i think it might be to much so ill wait till she gets home.....
Thanks so much for the warm welcome, ladies.
SpecialKBaby, I have just read your story and want to say how sorry I am for your loss. My heart goes out to you and hubby.
Sounds like there's a few August brides here. We're getting married on the 18th in Fiji - I can't wait (it's funny I'm not really excited about the wedding but I'm excited because it's one step closer to TTC!).
I was looking at the Strider Plus last night, it looks interesting although I don't think I'd bother with the infant carseat. 9kg is just reached too fast, I'd probably just invest in a proper carseat
I've been looking at the Strider Plus online and think that it's what I'll be getting as it looks very versatile. I agree about the carseat, I'd just get a good carseat.
I was going to start buying some of the big things before TTC (just to stretch out the finances a bit) but twins run in both our families so I've decided to restrain myself and not buy anything yet :)
narribri
30-01-2010, 16:21
I was going to start buying some of the big things before TTC (just to stretch out the finances a bit) but twins run in both our families so I've decided to restrain myself and not buy anything yet :)
I feel the same way, I don't want to be hit with thousands of dollars of expenses all at once. DH won't let me buy stuff though, so I've started a baby fund and I just put away a small amount every fortnight. It'll be easier once I've got a job again.
I feel like the odd one out, I was married in April :p August is still freezing cold and rainy here, no way would I plan a wedding any earlier than late September.
mini-moo's mummy
30-01-2010, 16:23
SpecialKBaby, I have just read your story and want to say how sorry I am for your loss. My heart goes out to you and hubby.
I was going to start buying some of the big things before TTC (just to stretch out the finances a bit) but twins run in both our families so I've decided to restrain myself and not buy anything yet
thanks kat..... :hugs:
i wish i had bought more before we were preg but now ive got everything bar my car seat and bottle teats, plus gender coloured clothes.... we did buy a bit of blue and boy stuff for Gus but not a tonne..... when we find out next time what we are having then ill be able to buy more in the way of clothes!
elleandmum - that totally sucks about pram warehouse, I definitely would've considered buying a pram from there. Bad customer service totally $hits me, I'd be on the phone abusing the c$#p out of them!! :mad: I hope you get your pram soon, or your money back! They better have a damn good excuse!
Tieko - glad you're feeling a lot better! Have you tested again?
Got anything special planned for your birthday?
Welcome Kathryn!! We're glad to have you here :)
I got married in August too!! (30th, 2008). It was a tad cold but I am so glad we didn't choose a warm month!
I know what you mean about being clucky for so long!! I've always wanted to be a mum, I can't wait! Hopefully I'm good at it :laughing:
SpecialK - thanks for the tip on going out and researching baby stuff now, I'll let DH know :laughing:
:hugs: it must be so hard hearing all this baby news about everyone else. You'll be there again before you know it.
Not much happening here! Just cleaning the house and I've just made a potato salad to have with the bbq tonight, YUM! I could sit down and eat a whole bowl myself.
We went to Bunnings earlier and saw like a hundred pregnant ladies :( Saw a few little newborn bubbas as well, so cute!
Oh Mrs Happy - can you change me to June/July for TTC. Hope you get the chance to chat more often!
narribri
30-01-2010, 16:58
MrsHappy - welcome back! Could you please change me to Jan 2010 for TTC - we've started as of today :D
Hales - know what you mean about the potato salad, it is so yum when it's fresh!
SpecialK - thanks for the researching tip, makes me feel not quite so bad for doing everything now ;) I shall show your post to DH and tell him I've got permission from experienced parents.
Well - we must be the laughing stock of the forums by now, we started out planning to TTC at the end of this year, and we've changed our minds soooo many times in the last 2-3 months. I don't think we'll be changing it again though. I said to DH jokingly yesterday "can I have a baby yet" and he was like "yeah sure". I thought he was just joking back, so I didn't think anything of it. Half an hour ago he comes to me and says "I wasn't kidding when I said you could have a baby now, you know"... I got all teary and gave him a big hug, and the end result is we're just going to go for it and see what happens. I'm not going to do OPK's or pre-seed until after March when we were originally going to start, just going to continue with my temping and see how things roll.
:smiliedance: Congrats narribri! So jealous! I hope you get your :bfp: very soon :babydust2:
narribri
30-01-2010, 17:10
Oooh. Love your wedding avatar! We thought about the dove releasing, but the budget wouldn't stretch that far by the end of it all.
we've started as of today :D
YAY for you and your DH hope it doesn't take long for your :bfp:
HowCrazyCool
30-01-2010, 17:19
Hi everyone. My name is stevi im 21 and my Dp is 26 turning 27 on th 14/2, Me and Dp talked about babies about 2 months ago and after 4 days of solid talking. We decided September would be a good time to start. Except im not on the pill due to it making me moody and i gained lots of weight.
So today i am 4 days over due for AF and i can just feel it's coming.:( But i was silly enough to get my hopes up.
We will have been together for 2 years on the 19th of may. but i think that time isn't everything.
And i think i am looking forward to September more then i have ever looked forward to any date in my whole life. Its like your Christmas's all come at once.
So i just wanted to say hi and subscribe to this thread and wish you all some patience. cause that's all i have been thinking about. where has my patience gone?:rolleyes: Can someone please give me some. i'll even pay. :D
Oooh. Love your wedding avatar! We thought about the dove releasing, but the budget wouldn't stretch that far by the end of it all.
Thanks! They're the ones that we released and then we held a baby dove for more photos. The stupid photographer didn't even capture the moment we released them :hissy:
MrsHappy - Put me on list TTC i'd say June hopefully sooner but depends when DH can have his VR. I'm in Warrnambool Vic...
Stevi - WELCOME Good luck for your journey TTC and know there is always someone here to help you out for support info or just to vent...
PS. I caved already hearing all the talk about the strider plus I had to look and I LIKE!
MrsHappy
30-01-2010, 18:09
Hello ladies! wow im one twice in two days haha, just jokes i hope to be on much more from now on!
Tieko- HAPPY BIRTHdAY for Monday hope you get spoilt and feel better soon! Have you tested again?
Nat- i bet you are jumping out of your skin waiting for your DH, hope the time flies! and ive popped you on the list, dont worry as you will see it keeps changing!!
Kat- welcome, i have all those things picked as well and more haha we are shocking, buthere to keep each aother sane haha (maybe), do you want to be added to this front list?
Special K- so sorry you have had a rough day, big hugs!!
Hales- ive changed you over (down with me now and its looking like June is going to be pushing it for us so i may even be after you :()can you send some of that potato salad my way!!! I love it!!
Narribri-Ive moved you but i would be lying to say that im not SUPER jealous!! congrats and hope your journey is super short darl!!
Stevi- welcome welcome hope you can be kept busy in her for a while!!And if you find any of that patience send it my way, im running out!!
Well AFM just took the pup out for a big walk with DH and now im off to pretty myself up as im heading out tonight for a girlfriends 25th so that should be fun, oh and i have bought my Lotto ticket that is going to win me 20 million :fingerscrossed: haha i wish but you never know!! then i could start TTC straight now!! hope you are all enjoying your saturdays!!:flowerz:
Congrats Narribri - I wish my DP would give me the green light to start now, I'm so jealous.
Mrs Happy I would love to be added to the front list. I'll be an August TTC - hopefully earlier if I can convince DP to start before the wedding :fingerscrossed:
Nat good to hear that you liked the Strider Plus - I want to go and look now but I afraid if I do I'll buy :o
Welcome to all the new ladies here!! I'm sure you'll find this a fantastic place to be! Just look at me - I've moved on to actively start ttc and I still hang out in here :laughing:
Well af is still a no show, and I still have lots of cm...doesn't feel like anything is happening anytime soon here in that regard, but as it's only my second cycle off the pill I could still just be all over the place! haven't tested again yet and probably won't until Monday now.
As for my birthday - I'll be 26 :eek: but I have a lovely party planned with friends and family for next weekend - have a bbq at our new house....with fire-twirlers for entertainment!! :D My dp is friends with quite a few so should be fun, the kids were just transfixed last time they saw them! We also have those sparklers for all the kiddies that will be here so they can have some fun with that! Should be a great night, and an awesome excuse to dress up!
Kat10 - I would be the same if I go in a baby shop I would be very tempted to buy stuff but am lucky to have a DH that would be devastated if I bought any of the big things (pram/cot etc) with out him so would force myself to resist. Even for our wedding he went over all the details and was very involved in what he liked/disliked (he even read through all the lyrics to the songs we used to make sure they were worded appropriate for a wedding not just sounded pretty :p).
elleandsam
30-01-2010, 18:39
Hi there everyone, rang Pram Warehouse this morning and asked to speak to a supervisor. Apparently there is nothing they can do over the weekend however it will be dealt with first thing on monday. Here's hoping. I can want my pram or my money back.
Thanks Mrs Happy! I'm hoping June/July comes around quickly! Hopefully you'll still be there with me :)
Tieko your party sounds awesome!
Being 26 has been great for me :) I'll be 27 in Feb and I'm hoping I stay 27 forever!! Haha
elleandmum - good on you! They better have answers for you on Monday!
Has anyone considered buying baby items from Ikea? I was originally thinking of getting one of their cots but found out the side doesn't drop down. Apparently their highchair is good?
insideaway
30-01-2010, 19:24
Narribri - I'm sooooo happy for you :) You must be so excited. I love coming here and reading that people have pushed it forward while I've pushed mine back.
Ellesmum - I really hope they do sort it out for you quickly on Monday, it's beyond a joke it's taken this long and you still don't have an answer.
AFM - just got home from watching Avatar in 3D. Absolutely amazing! Was just a beautiful movie :)
narribri
30-01-2010, 19:30
Narribri - I'm sooooo happy for you :) You must be so excited. I love coming here and reading that people have pushed it forward while I've pushed mine back.
AFM - just got home from watching Avatar in 3D. Absolutely amazing! Was just a beautiful movie :)
Thank you girls, it's all so exciting! Sorry about making some of you jealous :( I've been there so many times.
Avatar 3D is amazing! I love love loved it.
insideaway
30-01-2010, 19:37
Thank you girls, it's all so exciting! Sorry about making some of you jealous :( I've been there so many times.
I'm only slightly jealous :laughing: Definitely more happy than jealous though! Pushing it back works better for us at the moment but who knows, I am getting cluckier by the minute :)
elleandsam
30-01-2010, 19:55
Ellesmum - I really hope they do sort it out for you quickly on Monday, it's beyond a joke it's taken this long and you still don't have an answer.
Tell me about it, I'm so upset about the whole situation. I would not recommend anyone buy anything through them!
AFM - we're doing a clean out of the house this weekend. It's good to get everything more organised.
brogeybear
30-01-2010, 20:02
Oh my goodness you lot have been chatty! Good to see you back here again MrsHappy. I was just starting to wonder if you'd deserted us.:no:
Welcome to youngmum, Stevi and Kat!!! Its getting busier and busier.
Congrats on the proposal and its so great to hear all the stories too! Here is ours, DH and I met at ballroom dancing lessons and the first week we didnt even really talk, the week after we talked a bit and the group of us decided to go ice skating the following night. Well DH and I spent the whole night talking and skating around the rink and afterwards, a few of us decided to go for coffee, back in my home suburb.
There is a jetty right across the road from the coffe shop and we ended up going for a walk out there and talking some more "under the moonlight", etc, etc.
So anyway when it came time for him to propose the suprise that he was actually going to do it was completely ruined coz his stupid mother asked me "did you like the ring", like duh, eouldnt you check first to see if I had it or not!!!
So anyway then I knew he had it and I kept pestering him coz I wanted my ring :laughing: so he did catch me by surprise because he didnt propose where I expected him to.....he took me out for coffee and for a walk out on the jetty and when we got to the end he pulled out the ring and showed me and said, "so I guess its a yes"
:laughing: Wish I had one of those really romantic stories...well I would have had if it wasnt for the MIL :no:
AFU - DH's car has been pronounced terminal so now we have to buy another car!!! Great timing considering our house settles this week. GRRR Everything always happens at once.
I am really worried that its going to take us ages to conceive...I still haven't O'd and I had a break from the brown discharge but this arvo I got AF pain and a tiny bit of red. Have no idea what is happening with my body....so glad Im charting so at least I'll know when I O and when a real AF is due...Just dont want to wait..and dont want some 45-50 day cylcles either. I've been on the pill since I was 18 besides when I was pg with DS and before that I never really paid much attention to AF but I dont think it was extremely regular, so I hope its all going to be a smoothish ride.
Anyway so much for me....Ill have to keep on top of all you ladies posts!
Has anyone considered buying baby items from Ikea? I was originally thinking of getting one of their cots but found out the side doesn't drop down.
the cot I had for my first never had a drop side and it was never an issue actually come to think of it cot for second did have drop side but never used it either...
elleandsam
30-01-2010, 20:04
the cot I had for my first never had a drop side and it was never an issue actually come to think of it cot for second did have drop side but never used it either...
Our cot has a drop down side but I don't like it that much, we keep it up always.
mini-moo's mummy
30-01-2010, 20:22
I feel like the odd one out, I was married in April .
dotn worry hon im odd to we got married in march 09.....
SpecialK - thanks for the tip on going out and researching baby stuff now, I'll let DH know
it must be so hard hearing all this baby news about everyone else. You'll be there again before you know it.
yeah tell DH it will be better for his mental state in the long run!!! LOL..... shan was so glad i knew what pram i wanted coz when he saw how many there was he nearly high tailed it out of baby bunting!!!
yeah it kinda is, but one here i kinda subject myself to it iykwim, where as IRL like with the preg and brith announcements this week thats been harder......
SpecialK - thanks for the researching tip, makes me feel not quite so bad for doing everything now I shall show your post to DH and tell him I've got permission from experienced parents.
i wouldnt call us experienced LOL...... but it will help u out in the long run!!!
:yelclap: yay for TTC now thats fab!!!
Hi everyone. My name is stevi im 21 and my Dp is 26 turning 27 on th 14/2, Me and Dp talked about babies about 2 months ago and after 4 days of solid talking. We decided September would be a good time to start.
welcome stevi!!:wave:
Hi there everyone, rang Pram Warehouse this morning and asked to speak to a supervisor. Apparently there is nothing they can do over the weekend however it will be dealt with first thing on monday. Here's hoping. I can want my pram or my money back.
what a pain in the ar$e!!!!! i seriously wouldnt go near them to buy stuff now :no:.....
make sure u demand ur money back if they keep stuffing u round thats not on!!
Has anyone considered buying baby items from Ikea? I was originally thinking of getting one of their cots but found out the side doesn't drop down. Apparently their highchair is good?
i looked at their cots and change tables and i wasnt impressed with their cots, and the change table was ok, but i got a childcare brand one at baby bunting for the same price with a discount so didnt bother much more.....
their high chair is pretty basic looking i havnt payed a lot of attention to it but it looks like it would be really easy to clean......
MRSHAPPY..... can u please put me down for april??? thats a rough guestimate for now, still under negotiations with DH..... im TTC number 2 i suppose u would say :confused:....... and im in melbourne
narribri
30-01-2010, 20:25
I looked at the Ikea stuff, wasn't too happy with the quality of any of it. I think the side of the cot dropping down is important for me, I'm pretty short so bending in to lift bubs out will be difficult without the side drop feature. I'm not a fan of Ikea furniture at the best of times though.
I will be going down to our local pine-furniture man and getting a quote from him to do a cot, tallboy and maybe a bookshelf and change table. His prices are really good, and while I haven't seen any baby things in his shop display, I believe he does them to order.
HowCrazyCool
30-01-2010, 22:13
thanks nat278, mrshappy, and tieko brogeybear specialkbaby.
i love the idea of getting things for bub before TTC. definitely a money helper, and Dp is very concerned about money. i think if i showed up with something baby he would fall over faint, thinking we were pregnant all ready. :devil: might be a good idea, would show him the world would not implode due to us having a baby.
Narribri, i also like the idea of getting all the baby furniture specially made. you could be sure it wold pass the test of time. And would mean a lot more passed down through to your baby's children. Would be special indeed.
I have always had this silly thought to find a nice solid cot at the op shop. sand it back paint it white and get all of the females in my family to come and paint somethings on it.
I think the hardest thing for me is my partner has a nearly 4 year old. It gets to me when she comes over and i do motherly things for her, cuddle her, cook for her, rock her to sleep when she is sick. then she goes home. She is not mine and at best we will always only ever have the best relationship possible that a step-parent and step-child can have. she already has a very capable, loving mother. And joining this group was pushed along by the fact we have had our little one for nearly 6 days. the longest me and dp have ever had her. And it is nice to get into a routine. it feels familiar.
tieko, your party sounds wonderful, i have a few friends who do fire twirling. and i have some fire poi all though i haven't practiced for about6 months. i know they will look beautiful at your party. I think it is an awesome idea. and all the best for monday. And you were right this is a fantastic thread. i feel better about having to wait all ready by just talking about some of the hurdles in the wait till TTC.
JasmineLouise
30-01-2010, 23:05
Hi ladies :wave:
My preference for gender would be a boy. But i certainly wouldn't be disappointed if it turned out to be a girl.
elleandmum: I certainly wouldn't be buying anything from pram warehouse after hearing about all your issues. Lets hope they get resolved by end of day monday.
Opaque: i too have never heard about the abstaining from dtd one month before the wedding :o
Welcome kat10 welcome to the madhouse. I have my pram picked too :laughing:
Where in Fiji are you getting married? It''s such a beautiful place, i would LOVE to have my honeymoon in fiji :valentine:
Narribri: great idea about the "baby fund". I have been looking online at the education savings fund. There is one called a "future students fund" which can be opened prior to having children and can be used for both primary and secondary school fees. Has anyone had any experience with these funds?
Congrats about officially TTC!! :smiliedance:
Welcome stevi look forward to sharing your journey too.
Today i popped into David Jones in my lunch break... i was looking for a gift for my aunty who had her little girl earlier in the week. Admittedly i was quite distracted by all the gorgeous baby clothes. There are some lovely red and grey knitted 'bebe' winter unisex items. I was momentarily tempted... But after having to go out and buy 3 space bags to store my expanding collection of "baby buys", i managed to talk myself out of it :laughing:
Well...I just wiped and pink cm for me ...looks like this is not our month :no: af is on the way. I'm not too upset about it, as our original plan was to ttc in february, however if we get a bfn next month I think it's safe to say I will feel down about it all.
JasmineLouise
30-01-2010, 23:12
Well...I just wiped and pink cm for me ...looks like this is not our month :no: af is on the way. I'm not too upset about it, as our original plan was to ttc in february, however if we get a bfn next month I think it's safe to say I will feel down about it all.
Sorry to hear that Tieko :hugs: You've had a rough run recently... good luck for next month, sending lots of baby dust in your direction :)
HowCrazyCool
30-01-2010, 23:16
hey jasminelouise,:shakehands:
I have an aunty who not long ago announced she is 8 weeks pregnant. It's a bit of exciting news for that side of the family. So we are all pretty happy for them.
O Tieko, :hugs:.....:fingerscrossed: for Feb.
Opaque: i too have never heard about the abstaining from dtd one month before the wedding :o
Think it is usually not staying together the night before and not seeing each other the day of the wedding but my DH is not one who likes to be outdone :laughing: and told me I couldn't last 1 month without his 'lovin' so I told him I could it is him who would cave in the end, it was more a dare/bet then a traditional thing or anything... BUT I WAS RIGHT :yelclap: he gave in first... lol (glad he did we got our Beautiful little man :ecomcity: because of it)
...looks like this is not our month :no: af is on the way
Sorry to hear, Crossing everything for Feb to be your month...
elleandsam
31-01-2010, 06:10
Tieko - :hugs: heres hoping Feb is the month for you.
AFM - I have a wriggly baby on my lap so this willbe quick. I'm heading to the gym today which will be fun. DH is back to work tomorrow. The weekend is always over too quick.
wow well I still feel...well and truly horrible :( I've had enough of it so I'm off to the doctor today for some antibiotics to help me along I think. it's my birthday tomorrow so i really don't want to spend the day bed-ridden, thank goodness i made the party for next weekend and not this one!
Waiting2012
31-01-2010, 09:35
WOW! I think I just read through about 20 pages of posts!!!!
Welcome to all the newbies :)
SpecialKBaby: So sorry about Gus.....I had tears in my eyes and I cannot begin to imagine how you are feeling. So so sorry....
Justus4now: CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Such good news :)
Hope everyone is feeling better soon......vomitting is the worse :(
AFM: Been making the most of the weekend before going back to work tomorrow. Going in to school soon to do the final setting up for the new Prep girls tomorrow. Such a good class this year! Works out well though, especially if I'll be pregnant for half of the year...
Hope everyone's enjoying their Sunday!!!
Morning girls!
:hugs: Tieko I hope Feb is your month!
Welcome Stevi! :wave:
JasmineLouise I know what you mean about being tempted when you see gorgeous baby outfits etc. I was just doing the shopping at Coles yesterday and saw these adorable little Bonds socks, but I resisted :yes: So proud of myself haha.
Waiting2010 Good luck tomorrow with your preppies! So cute!
SpecialK I told DH that it's best I do all the research now on baby stuff so I don't waste his time once we're UTD. He said "you girls are unbelievable" :laughing:
AFM - I've got some work to do today. That's if I can stop myself procrastinating haha.
I looked up the Strider Plus again, I LOVE IT :D
I would love to go and have a look at the shops. I think I like it in red.
Morning ladies,
What a lovely start to my day my kids SLEPT IN YAY!!! was 9am before I got my 2 yo bouncing on my bed :yelclap:
SpecialK I told DH that it's best I do all the research now on baby stuff so I don't waste his time once we're UTD. He said "you girls are unbelievable" :laughing:
AFM - I've got some work to do today. That's if I can stop myself procrastinating haha.
I looked up the Strider Plus again, I LOVE IT :D
I would love to go and have a look at the shops. I think I like it in red.
I looked at the Strider plus I too think it looks great so told my DH last night on the phone thinking he'd dimiss me only to be shocked by him saying send me a link to the website I'll have a look at it...:thumbsup: WOW! I wasn't expecting that... he is so keen on having another bub...lol
it's my birthday tomorrow so i really don't want to spend the day bed-ridden, thank goodness i made the party for next weekend and not this one!
Hope the doctor can help you out. Can't have you sick on your birthday. Hope you have a wonderful day!
PS. I would like a girl this time round but a 4th boy would be much loved too... :cloud9:
Morning all,
Tieko - Sorry to hear that Jan's not your month :fingerscrossed: for Feb. Hope all goes with the dr today - can't be feeling sick on your birthday!
JasmineLouise - we're getting married at the Shangri-La in Fiji and have about 30 family and friends coming over to celebrate with us. I can't wait - I haven't had a holiday for so long and am really hoping for a Honeymoon baby (oh and the fact that I'm getting married :laughing:)
ellaandmum - I hope they sort everything out tomorrow. I know I won't be shopping at the pramwarehouse now that I know what you've gone through.
Being a newbie to all of this I just though I'd ask about some of the things I should be doing in the months leading up to TCC. So far I've got to change my health insurance (planning to do in April / May so I'll be covered for the 12 months), book a Dr's appt to have a check up, and start on vitimans. I'm also planning on getting healthier generally cos eat too much junk food, I drink too much and do no exercise :o. Anything else you all recommend?
Kathryn
narribri
31-01-2010, 11:46
Morning ladies!
Kat10 - sounds like you have everything covered :D The only thing I might recommend is changing your health insurance sooner rather than later - if you're anything like the rest of us ladies, you'll end up moving TTC forward.
elleandmum - same here, I won't be shopping at the Pram Warehouse. Thanks for letting us know, and I really hope it all gets sorted on Monday for you.
Tieko - HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! happybirthday Hope you are feeling better, and have a wonderful day. Good luck for Feb, fx it's a BFP for both of us!
I looked at the Strider plus I too think it looks great so told my DH last night on the phone thinking he'd dimiss me only to be shocked by him saying send me a link to the website I'll have a look at it...:thumbsup: WOW! I wasn't expecting that... he is so keen on having another bub...lol
I showed DH the Strider Plus too.. as well as a few others. I was suprised at how keen he was.
AFU - today we are going to a baby and children's market at the showgrounds. I am really excited, it's a good chance to actually be able to look and touch things like all the different MCN's, see the cots, prams etc. DH is pretty keen. I nearly fell over in shock when he agreed to come with me last week, but given that we've started TTC this week it makes a little more sense in retrospect. Hopefully it will save time and money when we are actually buying for baby, particularly with ordering samples of MCN's and the like.
I shall come back and give a full report on all the interesting things we saw.
insideaway
31-01-2010, 14:27
Narribri - sounds like fun :). I don't think I could drag my DH to one of those if I tried. Can't wait to hear about what was there :)
narribri
31-01-2010, 15:12
The market was actually really good! It was small, and mostly second hand clothes stalls but there were quite a few MCN stalls there (which was what I was really after). I got to look and play with quite a few, and I even ended up bringing one home with me :o DH and I have definitely decided we're using the Baby Beehinds bamboo multifits as a workhorse nappy, and I'll collect some pretty Magicalls and Itti Bittis for going out. Should have seen his face when he saw the Little Squirt, it was so funny.
Here's my nappy :D http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o284/eleniagothfraidh/BBHNappies.jpg
There were a lot of second hand prams, but DH wasn't feeling the best so we basically hit the nappy stalls and came home again. I don't think we'll worry about the prams til we're UTD anyway.
Here's my nappy :D http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o284/eleniagothfraidh/BBHNappies.jpg
Glad you enjoyed the market! The nappy is cute! So how much will each one cost? I love MCN's. Are they the one size fits all ones?
DH and I just went to the shops. I decided I want a Pandora bracelet for my b'day so we got it today :yelclap: Plus a couple of charms. Now I have to wait a few weeks to wear it though :( Does anyone else have one?
I like the idea of each bead or charm having a meaning. So for birthday's, anniversaries, birth of our bub!!! :D
narribri
31-01-2010, 16:22
Glad you enjoyed the market! The nappy is cute! So how much will each one cost? I love MCN's. Are they the one size fits all ones?
DH and I just went to the shops. I decided I want a Pandora bracelet for my b'day so we got it today :yelclap: Plus a couple of charms. Now I have to wait a few weeks to wear it though :( Does anyone else have one?
I like the idea of each bead or charm having a meaning. So for birthday's, anniversaries, birth of our bub!!! :D
This one is the bamboo fitted nappy, one size fits most, and the small PUL cover. We plan to use mostly these as workhorse nappies, plus get some of the prettier Magicalls for going out and dressing up. The nappy itself cost $25, and the lady says I'll probably need 2 dozen to have bubs in them fulltime. She recommends 6-8 of the covers, which cost $12 each. I did all the sums, setting up a basic workhorse stash is going to cost just over $600, plus probably another $100-200 in pretty nappies as soon as we find out the gender.
I love the idea of the Pandora bracelet, with all the charms meaning something, but I probably wouldn't do it for myself. I wouldn't wear it anyway, I hate bracelets or anything on my wrists. Which charms did you get? Last time I looked they had the cutest little baby pram one, and a wedding cake.
I have a pandora which i got 2 Christmas's ago! It's all full now.. each bead has a meaning.. eg. I have a baby boy, a dog, a house, a teddy bear (my mum gives us a teddy for the baby when we find out we are having one so she got one for my bracelet at the same time) a pram etc.
Narribri - That market sounds good... We have one around our area which is all second hand stuff.. I've only been once but you really need to go early to get the good stuff! The nappies looks good! I wish i could do MCN's but i really don't think i could...They look so cute!
The nappy itself cost $25, and the lady says I'll probably need 2 dozen to have bubs in them fulltime. She recommends 6-8 of the covers, which cost $12 each. I did all the sums, setting up a basic workhorse stash is going to cost just over $600, plus probably another $100-200 in pretty nappies as soon as we find out the gender.
I love the idea of the Pandora bracelet, with all the charms meaning something, but I probably wouldn't do it for myself. I wouldn't wear it anyway, I hate bracelets or anything on my wrists. Which charms did you get? Last time I looked they had the cutest little baby pram one, and a wedding cake.
That's pretty good considering how much you'd end up spending on disposables! So are they machine washable? Gosh I have a lot to learn about MCN's! It's a good thing I have a lot longer to learn now!
I love jewelery! Nothing over the top though, just nice and elegant. I'm a silver girl :yes:
I got 2 silver "stoppers" (so the charms don't move around the whole bracelet while I'm just starting my collection) they have a really nice pattern on them, and a silver charm with an amethyst stone hanging from it.
Oh it looks like AF is on her way :smiliedance: I'm on CD28 today (first AF off the pill)
elleandsam
31-01-2010, 16:53
Hi everyone, sorry for being such a downer the last few days, I haven't really been feeling myself. I'm having some cervix 'issues' which is getting me down about the whole TTC thing. I'm forcing myself to the doctors this week. I really have a feeling that this isn't the month for us.
narribri
31-01-2010, 17:00
That's pretty good considering how much you'd end up spending on disposables! So are they machine washable? Gosh I have a lot to learn about MCN's! It's a good thing I have a lot longer to learn now!
Definitely machine washable, I think they recommend a cold wash with minimal detergent, line dry in the sun. I think you can tumble dry on the odd occasion, but it's not recommended to do it regularly IYWKIM.
I read a thread in the cloth nappy section of this forum where the cost of MCN's was approx $1200-1500 including all washing costs, vs $3000-3500 for disposables over an estimated 3 years in nappies for bubs. A load of washing isn't that much work, really, and with MCN's you don't have to spend time folding and pinning, so I'm pretty enthusiastic about putting bubs in fulltime cloth.
I have been looking into MCN's for a while now, I love them! I can definitely see this becoming an addiction.
Oh it looks like AF is on her way :smiliedance: I'm on CD28 today (first AF off the pill)
Nice! Mine have been more like 24-26 days off the pill.. don't mind a short cycle, as long as my LP stays long enough for implantation.
Hi everyone, sorry for being such a downer the last few days, I haven't really been feeling myself. I'm having some cervix 'issues' which is getting me down about the whole TTC thing. I'm forcing myself to the doctors this week. I really have a feeling that this isn't the month for us.
Don't worry about that, we totally get it! :hugs: :hugs: I was going to say in your other thread, don't get too stressed about cervix position, I have heard that it's the hardest fertility sign to interpret correctly. One article I read recommended disregarding it entirely unless instructed by a FS. Hope you feel better soon.
Waiting2012
31-01-2010, 17:01
ElleMum: That's no good :( Hope it all works out for you...
Hello again everyone,
The pandora braclets are really lovely but don't think i'd get one for myself as DH bought me a solid gold braclet a few years back that I never take off and don't want to wear 2. (have 5 fingers that need rings though... :laughing:) All the jewellery I own I wear all the time and has been a gift from DH, next is a ring with stones for each childs birth month set into it.
Here's my nappy :D http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o...BBHNappies.jpg (http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o284/eleniagothfraidh/BBHNappies.jpg)
My sister bought them for her bubba will have to ask her what she thought of them. I used cloth for my first then was really slack with my last and used disposables all the time :no:.
OK Ladies done the engagement stories so my next question is have any of you decided/thought about how to break the news to family friends when your get your BFP's?
I am already ticking away as it will be a big surprise for our families as they will not know DH had the snip UNsniped..
Here is todays idea will email them all mutiple times and in each email i will only write one letter spelling out words "i'm pregnant".
with my first it was single 18 and had just moved back to Mum & Dads after teeneage problems so announcement was not really OH YAY more OH CRAP moment that ended in OH YAY after the shock wore off... :laughing:
With my last bub DH and I went to his parents place with a picture of a 3 wheel pram and a picture of a 4 wheel pram made out like we'd had an arguement and needed them to help settle the arguement gave one picture to FIL one to MIL and told we couldn't decide if 3 or 4 wheels is better... FIL loved it but my MIL is soooooooooo daft she proceded to go on a rant as to why 3 wheelers are better blah blah blah wasn't until til my BIL yelled at her to F#***ng wake up she realised what we were trying to tell her... told my parents over the phone with a riddle about how many grandkids they had to buy for at christmas and told them to add one more... :p
Elleandmum - Good idea going to doctor better off getting the facts from them regarding whats happening than getting depressed or upset over it because it may not be a problem.
I read a thread in the cloth nappy section of this forum where the cost of MCN's was approx $1200-1500 including all washing costs, vs $3000-3500 for disposables over an estimated 3 years in nappies for bubs. A load of washing isn't that much work, really, and with MCN's you don't have to spend time folding and pinning, so I'm pretty enthusiastic about putting bubs in fulltime cloth.
Cloth nappies aren't hard work if you keep a big enough supply and wash daily will do my best to use cloth this time.
My Implanon comes out tomorrow... YAY!
insideaway
31-01-2010, 17:47
Sending positive thoughts your way elleandmum :D Hopefully the doctor has some answers for you.
I'm totally on the MCN bandwagon too, I'm probably going to go with BBH Minkee Multifits and Cushie Tushies Basix AIO as my mains, with a few Fuzzibunz and Rumparooz if I can afford them. We have a water tank so we'll be saving money on water as well so I think it's definately the way I'll be going. I haven't gotten any yet but I will buy a few BBH when they have their sale in Feb.
hales83 - Wow, good job on having a 'normal' cycle straight of bc. I've had a 36 cycle so far which I was stoked about, hopefully it'll be around that this month.
Hmmm, not sure how I'll tell my family. I'll probably ring up my brother and tell him straight away, not sure about my Mum, I think she'll need to be sitting down so probably in person.
I'm totally not a jewelry person, I only wear my wedding band (not at night either) and that drives me crazy lol.
Elleandmum - Good idea going to doctor better off getting the facts from them regarding whats happening than getting depressed or upset over it because it may not be a problem.
:iagree: & :hugs: I'm sure it will work out fine!
hales83 - Wow, good job on having a 'normal' cycle straight of bc. I've had a 36 cycle so far which I was stoked about, hopefully it'll be around that this month.
Yeah I'm pretty happy! My cycles were pretty good back when I was a teenager off the pill, just REALLY heavy! I stocked up on pads yesterday when I did the food shop, the check out chic must have thought I was a weirdo :rolleyes:
Does anyone else have pretty heavy periods?
I'm not sure when I O'd either :confused: Hopefully next month I can make some sense of it. I still don't want to chart though.
Tieko how did you go at the doctors?
Here's my nappy :D
Hehehe that's too cute!!
Yay hales! That's great :thumbsup: Out of curiosity, how come you don't want to chart?
My Implanon comes out tomorrow... YAY!
Yay Nat! It's all happening in this thread!!:smiliedance:
CLC78 - DH won't let me chart. He wants to keep everything stress free and natural. So in guy language... He wants to BD all through the month, not just have me focus on when I O. I'm happy to go along with this for now, but if we haven't got a bfp after a few months I'll be charting and using OPK's that's for sure!
Think it is usually not staying together the night before and not seeing each other the day of the wedding but my DH is not one who likes to be outdone :laughing: and told me I couldn't last 1 month without his 'lovin' so I told him I could it is him who would cave in the end, it was more a dare/bet then a traditional thing or anything... BUT I WAS RIGHT :yelclap: he gave in first... lol (glad he did we got our Beautiful little man :ecomcity: because of it)
That is so cute!
elleandsam
31-01-2010, 19:40
Thanks for the support ladies, you girls are wonderful :hugs:
MCN - Go for it! Do it! Do it! :devil6: Just kidding. DD has a stash of around 60 nappies, with brands including Cushie Tushies (couture and basix), itti bittis, Dragonfly Magick, zappy nappy, genesa forge, Bonnibuns, pea pods, and I think that's it! I haven't counted them in ages, I'm too afraid to! :laughing:
Just watched Biggest Loser's first episode for the year and loved it! :yelclap: Though it didn't have the Commando in it, he's my dream man :p
CLC78 - DH won't let me chart. He wants to keep everything stress free and natural. So in guy language... He wants to BD all through the month, not just have me focus on when I O. I'm happy to go along with this for now, but if we haven't got a bfp after a few months I'll be charting and using OPK's that's for sure!
Ahhhh OK fair enough, I can totally understand that :) (:laughing: at the "guy language"!!)
Hello Stevi & Kat10!!! :wave:
Tieko - Sorry bout AF... Hope you are feeling better now!!! happybirthday for Monday!!!! Hope you have a great day and get spoilt.
Hales83 - Would LOVE LOVE LOVE a Pandora's bracelet. But I just can't bring myself to buy one - even as a gift.... I feel a bit selfish spending heaps on jewellery now that we have DS... Maybe that can be my "baby" gift from DH. Got a diamond ring for DS... :laughing:
GREAT NEWS that you cycle is 28 days! How cool is that! Don't stress, I don't feel when I ovulate either.... Just aim for mid cycle and do lots of "it" and you'll be fine! Your DH is obviously not silly wanting to DTD all the time - boys and their brains....
Elleandmum - HUGS - hope the cervix issues can be sorted out by the Dr...
Nat278 - Yay on the Implanon coming out - that's excellent. Hopefully you get some nice cycles now.
MCN's - I am naughty and bad but I love my disposables.... :-( I couldn't cope having to scoop the poo out of the nappy, then soak it and wash it... :barf: Plus I am not really "domesticated" I could not cope with washing nappies every single day... So disposables it is for me. I think that they are a good idea, but they are just not me.... Sorry Ladies....
AFM - Went into work for 3 and a half hours today to try and catch up on what I missed last week being sick. But then came home and watched a movie with DH while DS slept.
Monday tomorrow... Yay let's get excited! :laughing:
Hello Stevi & Kat10!!! :wave:
Monday tomorrow... Yay let's get excited! :laughing:
I think I forgot to welcome Stevi and Kat10 :o :wave:
As for being excited about Monday... hmmmm you strange thing Opaque :laughing::laughing:
I do love Sunday evenings though!
Hahaha for Monday!!! But I am actually looking forward to it.... Finally something good on tv tomorrow night :)
:smiliedance:Brothers and Sisters tomorrow night... and THEN.... two hours of Grey's on Tuesday night!!! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
I soooo can't wait for Brothers and Sisters!!! Just finished watching the 3rd season again on DVD :)
Opaque & CLC87 - thanks, it's great to be here!
Elleandmum - :fingerscrossed: for the doctors this week. Hopefully it's all good news.
Nat278 - Congrats on the Implanon coming out!! Asked DP if I could stop the pill this month (AF due this week) and he said NO WAY. Oh well I'll just have to keep waiting. What great idea's on the BFP announcement. I'm still tossing up when to tell - I think mum and my sister would be devistated if I waited until 12 weeks to tell them!
narribri - Wow you've just introduced me to MCN's and I'm liking alot :D
I said to DP tonight that I'd gone to have a look at a Strider Plus today and his response was "oh that's that blender you've been looking at? :laughing:
I afaid that TV can't detract me from thinking OMG it's Monday tomorrow - another whole week at work :(
narribri
31-01-2010, 21:31
narribri - Wow you've just introduced me to MCN's and I'm liking alot :D
Awesome :D They are seriously addictive.
Whee, Biggest Loser (aka Fatties in our house) is about to start. Off I go!
Kat that is hilarious!!! A blender haha, gotta love em :)
insideaway
31-01-2010, 21:54
Awesome :D They are seriously addictive.
They are - I've devoted a whole folder in my bookmarks to them :D
I'm off to watch House ladies so good night :) Hopefully I make it through to the end without falling asleep :laughing: I'll blame DH if I do, he was the one who suggested I make banana bread and then a roast this arvo.
I said to DP tonight that I'd gone to have a look at a Strider Plus today and his response was "oh that's that blender you've been looking at? :laughing:
:laughing::laughing: what a crack up... :laughing::laughing:
What great idea's on the BFP announcement. I'm still tossing up when to tell - I think mum and my sister would be devistated if I waited until 12 weeks to tell them!
Can't help myself thinking about stuff like this I love a good surprise and our BFP will be a HUGE surprise to both sides of the family... so want to come up with something a bit fun.
Just sent DH my short list of names... LOL we picked one last week but can't help myself thinking about others... LOL
:laughing::laughing: oh that's priceless, I just laughed so hard and read this out to my DH!!! :laughing::laughing:
After I explained to DP what a Strider Plus was we had a good chat about names :D. I haven't really been allowed to talk too much "baby" in the house so that was a huge step for us - he even came up with some great names!
Also this weekend we've started clearing out the junk in one of the spare rooms so we can start setting up a bubba's room soon :yelclap:
mini-moo's mummy
01-02-2010, 08:49
ok this is gonna be long didnt make it on yesterday!!!
sorry in advance ladies!!!
wow well I still feel...well and truly horrible I've had enough of it so I'm off to the doctor today for some antibiotics to help me along I think. it's my birthday tomorrow so i really don't want to spend the day bed-ridden, thank goodness i made the party for next weekend and not this one!
hope ur feeling better hon!!
SpecialKBaby: So sorry about Gus.....I had tears in my eyes and I cannot begin to imagine how you are feeling. So so sorry....
thank you......
SpecialK I told DH that it's best I do all the research now on baby stuff so I don't waste his time once we're UTD. He said "you girls are unbelievable"
:laughing: he will soon just learnt to listen u rant and rave over stuff, shan now does ranting and raving over some bub items, like monitors and car seats!!
Being a newbie to all of this I just though I'd ask about some of the things I should be doing in the months leading up to TCC. So far I've got to change my health insurance (planning to do in April / May so I'll be covered for the 12 months), book a Dr's appt to have a check up, and start on vitimans. I'm also planning on getting healthier generally cos eat too much junk food, I drink too much and do no exercise Anything else you all recommend?
as someone else said change ur insurance now, at least its done so if u do start early then u know ur covered, especially if like me u definatly want to go private.....
i cant remeber when ur planning on TTC but u could get ur dr's appt out of the way now, and start ur vitamins now, cant hurt to get things moving!:D
DH and I just went to the shops. I decided I want a Pandora bracelet for my b'day so we got it today Plus a couple of charms. Now I have to wait a few weeks to wear it though Does anyone else have one?
I like the idea of each bead or charm having a meaning. So for birthday's, anniversaries, birth of our bub!!!
i havnt got one but im thinking of talling shan thats what i want for my brithday...... its either that or im going to get a neckalce made up with 3 pendants 2 S ones and a G one then i can add the first letter of our kids names as we have them
OK Ladies done the engagement stories so my next question is have any of you decided/thought about how to break the news to family friends when your get your BFP's?
hmmm i dont know what ill do this time, when i got the BFP with Gus i tested at 230 or so in the arvo and shan gets home bout 4 and i couldnt hold on i had to call him and i just said to him " ive peed on a stick and its positive" and he told me he knew i was preg o it wasnt overly exciting......
i do want to do something different this time but i dont know what......
as for our families we will prob just call and tell them like last time but i think we will try and wait till after i have my stitch put in and we know all is ok, so prob around 13-14 weeks, which will be hard
MCN's - I am naughty and bad but I love my disposables.... :-( I couldn't cope having to scoop the poo out of the nappy, then soak it and wash it... Plus I am not really "domesticated" I could not cope with washing nappies every single day... So disposables it is for me. I think that they are a good idea, but they are just not me.... Sorry Ladies....
hon im with u on that one, i just cant do it so it disposables for us too
Hahaha for Monday!!! But I am actually looking forward to it.... Finally something good on tv tomorrow night
thank god its about time we got some decent shows to watch again!!:yelclap:
I'm off to watch House ladies so good night .
sh!t i missed it was it good?? i love house!
Also this weekend we've started clearing out the junk in one of the spare rooms so we can start setting up a bubba's room soon
yay its awsome fun setting up the nursery!!!
im going to re-arrange our nursery so when we do have the next bub it doesnt seem like the new bub will be going into Gus's room as such.... prob dont need to but mentally i think for myself i have to.....
AFM: didt make it on yesterday DH dragged my to lake eildon with some friends for the day......
it was fun if u like having no toilet and a million flies everywhere!!
i dont wake board or jet ski or anything like that so was a bit bored and it was soooo hot!!
i sat in the shade yet i resemble a lobster!!!
my knees are so sore!!! oopps!!! oh well give it a week or so and ill be normal again!!!
and prob TMI but all the antibiotics they gave me when i was in hospy and when i can home have caught up with me and ive got thrush now.....:barf:...... so its off to the chemist i go this morning, and i have to send off the forms to get Gus's birth and death certificates..... and shan told me we will get his ashes this week or next week so i dare say ill have another crappy few days this week...... its never ending, mind u once we have all that stuff things might settle down.....
not long now till my OB appt!! whooo hooo roll on wednesday!
happybirthday HAPPY BIRTHDAY TIEKO happybirthday
HOPE YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY!
insideaway
01-02-2010, 09:46
Happy birthday Tieko!! Hope you are feeling better today :)
narribri
01-02-2010, 09:54
Happy birthday Tieko!! Hope it's a wonderful day happybirthday
OK Ladies done the engagement stories so my next question is have any of you decided thought about how to break the news to family friends when your get your BFP's?
I can't decide! I think I'm going to order a 'dad' book, put it in a nice little bag with some booties and a baby toy, and hide it somewhere in the house. Then I can bring it out the morning I get my BFP and just hand it to him without saying anything. He has my chart bookmarked on his computer now though, so at this rate he'll probably know before I do!
Also this weekend we've started clearing out the junk in one of the spare rooms so we can start setting up a bubba's room soon
This is a good idea! Something for me to do this week while DH is at work.
Absolutely priceless!
Forgot to mention - DH's reaction to the MCN when I handed it to him was absolutely priceless. He looks at me and goes "What is this?" I say "A nappy" and the baffled look on his face said it all. I had to show him how to unsnap the front, then he shooed me away, took it over to the couch and spent a good half hour playing with the snaps and putting all the inserts in and out. He even stuck his hand in there with his fingers poking out the legholes, walking it up and down his leg like a baby bottom. Soooo funny.
I'm off to watch House ladies so good night .
sh!t i missed it was it good?? i love house!
The first half was excellent! Unfortunately I fell asleep halfway through and had to be carried to bed :laughing:
JasmineLouise
01-02-2010, 10:57
Dont get me started on MCN's... i can foresee a long and expensive addiction in the making :D
Love the "strider/blender" comment. Someone's got a lot of learning to do :laughing:
I love it when DF talks baby... out of the blue one day he just said "I really like the name Elliot, Elliot William" :eek: I had never considered it until then, but i actually quite like it. I did remind him that we may have a girl too, but he suggested that if so, we could just "put it back" :laughing:
I am lucky enough to have the day off which is quite unusual, so im going for a walk to the shops, and im going to buy yet another 'space bag' for all the bub's clothes i have managed to accumulate and seem to be taking over the entire top shelf of our wardrobe :rolleyes:
I can't decide! I think I'm going to order a 'dad' book, put it in a nice little bag with some booties and a baby toy, and hide it somewhere in the house. Then I can bring it out the morning I get my BFP and just hand it to him without saying anything. He has my chart bookmarked on his computer now though, so at this rate he'll probably know before I do
HAHA.. I love that idea, aren't I silly I am all excited thinking about ideas to announce it to my parents and in laws never thought about telling DH... :laughing: should tell him first hey, with DS#3 (our first bub together) I did the HPT after a joke with MIL, DH were at Coles next morning and mucking around we bought a HPT, so later that night while DH was on the computer I went and POAS, it was instantly positive (almost glowed it went 2 lines so quickly..lol) I knew DH wouldn't believe me so I took the test AND the box down cause as soon as I showed him he said "and what is that supposed to mean?" :laughing: told him to read the box and he just went silent... took us both a few days to sink it in as we only got a test to play along with my MIL's joke never thought we actually were pregnant...:p
Will have to get my thinking cap on for how to tell him this time... Hmmm
I love it when DF talks baby... out of the blue one day he just said "I really like the name Elliot, Elliot William"
What a lovely name, DH and I have 2 girls names picked but think DH is rethinking the first name for a boy... A girl will be Rhianna Anne Louise or Jasmine Anne Louise and far a boy will be Rowan Andrew Douglas.
Anne is MILs Middle name Louise is my sister
Andrew is BIL and my brothers Middle name and Douglas is my Dad.
Our other boys are
DS#1 - Anthony Angelo (first name is my DH first middle name and his middle name is a family name on his BM side)
DS#2 - Aiden Maxwell (Maxwell is my uncle who passed away prior to his birth)
DS#3 - Rylee Edward James, (Edward James is DHs Grandfather first and middle name, James is also my pop)
What 'naming rules' do you have for naming your kids? if any that is...
I like the middle name/s to be in honour of someone but like the first name to 'be their own' not named after anyone specific and DHs side of family like the 2 middle names thing.
DH and I had Jasmine picked for Rylee if he was a girl (DH still loves it I'm not so sure) I told him this time round that since we have 2 boys with A names that one with R name that the next one should have R name too.. hence Rhianna and Rowan... lol :cloud9:
Ok will stop waffling now
justus4now
01-02-2010, 12:27
Wow... it is alwas so busy in here over the weekends!
Firstly,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TIEKO!!! :flowerz:
I hope you are feeling better and have a lovely birthday!
I got a pandora bracelet for my 21st and absolutely love it. I don't were it all the time, as it is getting quite heavy now it is nearly 3/4 full, but I absolutely LOVE that each charm has their own special meaning and special person who it came from. I will definitely be getting a baby related one when we get a :bfp:!!!
I have decided to jump on this MCN bandwagon and do some research :detective:... It has been prams prams prams on the google search recently, so time for something new! I have just started a "Baby Diary" to put down all my notes and preferences for any and all baby related research I've been doing! There is so much out there that I'm afraid when it actually comes time to go out and buy stuff, I'll forget what it is I liked!
I got my baby buy in the mail on Friday!!! It is sooooo cute!!! I love it, and DF didnt even freak out at all! (I hadn't told him about this one :p) No more buys for now though! Gotta start saving money now that we have a wedding and baby to plan! :D
We were discussing how we would tell family etc the other night too! I've said I'd like to wait a little while - probably 10 weeks before telling anyone and he completely agrees... except I would HAVE to tell my bestie as soon as I found out, just cos thats the kind of relationship we have, and she's on the other side of the country now, so wouldn't be able to tell anyone anyway! Of course he agreed with this as well :laughing: How cold he not. We have decided that we will probably find out the sex (i want to be organized decoration and clothing wise) but not tell anyone else that we know! Then DF says "but then they wont know what colour presents to buy... maybe we can just tell our Mum's!" hehehe what a cutie... so I'm sure there will be more discussion on this once we actually are UTD! I would love to wrap up a MCN for each of our parents with a little note saying "Better start practicing - You'll be using these in 7 months!" or something like that!
Well I'm on my 5th day off today - back to work tomorrow, booked myself an extra long weekend since I didnt have any time off over xmas/new years and I am loving it! I get to do all the housewifey things - I can't wait to be a SAHM! I even packed a picnic lunch and went and surprised DF at work on Friday! It was so nice (he works on the family farm) we went off and found a nice little spot overlooking the valley! We even saw a newborn calf! It was so gorgeous! We will eventually move onto the farm when he completely takes over in the next couple of years and he was talking about how we could do that everyday and have bubby sitting in the pram, or on the rug! He's so cute talking about bubs!
As for names, I agree with having the middle name in honour of someone. When we have a girl, her middle name will be Ruby after my great-grandmother (who is still alive!) I really hope she is still around when we have a baby girl. So at the moment we are in agreeance for Isabel Ruby for a girl, but no boys names have really stuck yet... Still plenty of time! For some reason, I am dead set on having a girl first... all of the illicit baby purchases I have made besides one have been pink or girly! hehehe
OK, Well since I've done all of the housework that could possibly be done, I'm off to watch the final epsiodes of Greys anatomy and Brothers and Sisters (thanks for advising this one is back on tonight- I hadnt even seen it advertised!) There is going to be a fight over the remote tuesday night though, DF has just gotten into Survivor and its the final at 7.30 while Greys starts at 8.30! Sucks only having one tv! haha
Until next time...
mini-moo's mummy
01-02-2010, 12:29
The first half was excellent! Unfortunately I fell asleep halfway through and had to be carried to bed
dam!!! what a bugger!! hopefully channel 10 will do a re-run :rolleyes: in my dreams!!
i have a few "rules" but nothing major......
our surname is kelly so we cant have anything like rylie kelly or holly kelly or marley kelly or sophie kelly, way to many "ly" sounds for me!! DH agrees SIL is one of the above and its way to much in once mouth ful!!!
it kills me coz there is quite a few of those names i love!!
with middle names, id like our kids to have their own name and middle name......
but DH wanted to use FIL's name as the middle name coz he passed away 2yrs ago, but his name was melvin so i did a bit of searching and found out the FIL, DH, and DH's grandpa all had charles so that won!!!
but ideally id prefer not to involve family names can get a bit to difficult, like playing faves, but now we have done that i dont know what we will do next time......
we had said we would use Gus as a middle name for a boy but im not to sure now, kinda seems a bit wrong.....:(
I think it would be a beautiful tribute to him to use Gus's name but it really is such a personal choice, only you and your DH will know if it feels right when the time comes...
Elleandmum - How you get on with Pram Warehouse? any luck yet?
Then DF says "but then they wont know what colour presents to buy... maybe we can just tell our Mum's!" hehehe what a cutie... so I'm sure there will be more discussion on this once we actually are UTD! I would love to wrap up a MCN for each of our parents with a little note saying "Better start practicing - You'll be using these in 7 months!" or something like that!
I like your idea may use that on the inlaws as they aren't as computer savvy as my family, think my email idea for my parents/siblings will be good but MIL is daft :laughing: so the MCN sent in the post with a note maybe a good idea then I don't get stuck on the phone with her :ecomcity: either.
Off to doctor now to get the implanon out... see you on the other side Ladies... :yelclap:
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 13:59
Hi, Hales83, Opaque, CLC78 and everyone else i missed.
Hales83, i have never seriously looked at prams. But that Strider Plus looks like a GOOD pram.
My engagement story is yet to happen.:p But i am doing the proposing. For my 21st my dad got me a hot-air balloon ride. So im going to book it for the 19th of may. our 2nd anniversary and cross all my fingers and toes that the weather is good enough to go up on that date. And i always have the fall back plan that if he says no i can just give him a push.
Nat278- breaking the news of the BFP? well i guess i had never thought of that. (that's why i like this thread, it encourages me to be baby crazy, and then i can just get on with being patient IRL) The in-laws, i think we would get DSD to tell them the news. they would love that. They adore her. My mum, i would find a crochet pattern of something baby. She would start crying everywhere. My step dad, might just tell him he is going to be a poppy again.
I think it's really wonderful you put so much thought into it Nat278. Just makes the baby journey a bit more special. You sure made me think
Hi CLC78, i see your a step mummy too. Did your partner all ready having a kid put him off or delay him wanting another one?
Happy birthday Tieko:flowerz:
I didn't even think of a way to tell Dp about a BFP.
i would like him to be there for the first test. not to miss out.
Nat278
Well me and Dp haven't talked baby much.
So my names would be, O and i would love twin boys.
Boy 1) Torben Terence James Dicicco ..... Terence James is my uncle who passed away about 8 years ago.
Boy 2) Damin Alexander Dicicco. Alexander is my cousins first name. He is like my brother.
Girl 1) Mahalia Jade Dicicco. Jade is my best freinds middle name. her daughters (my goddaughter) middle name.
Girl 2) Morgan Anne Dicicco. Morgan is my sisters middle name Anne is my cousins.
I have one rule. we will be having having Terence James somewhere. if it's the first name or has another in front.
I would love to MCN. But i wonder if i would get any support prom DP in this.:rolleyes: But he would love the saving money bit.
Happy Birthday Tieko! Hope you're having a really nice day!!
Names - My DS is Blake Jayden... Blake is my Maiden name so because i'm not a Blake anymore I wanted to use it for my son... I liked my last name and like it as a name aswell. So because we had my family name and obviously DH family name we just picked a middle name that we like... We have a girls name picked out (which i'm REALLY hoping I get to use this time!) she would be Mikayla and we havent discussed a middle name yet but i was thinking Mikayla Leigh... Leigh is my sisters and SIL's middle name.. and I want to spell Mikayla that way as Kay is my Mum's and other SIL's middle name. Haven't told DH this but i think he'll agree! We haven't thought about a boys name yet... Will probably wait to find out the sex of the next bub before thinking about that... might not have to!
With telling family - As soon as i found out with DS that i was pregnant i first rung my hubby.. (my plan didn't work as I had a book I wanted to give him called "So you're going to be a dad") but i couldn't wait as this was at like 8am! I then rung my sister and told her and then i was going to my nieces swimming lessons that morning and so was my mum so i told her then! I told my best friends that day aswell. I think it was a few days later that we asked DH family if they wanted to go out for dinner and we told them there! I actually told a lot of people before the 12 weeks! I'm sooo bad with secrets!
Hmm what else... I'm so bad at remembering everything that has been talked about!
Have a good day ladies!
JasmineLouise
01-02-2010, 14:07
nat: I'm the same, i have come up with a number of ideas on how to tell the inlaws, but have put little thought into telling DF :laughing: Nice selection of names there... some sound quite familiar :p If it helps at all, i do actually like my own name. I love the name Aiden, if only i wasn't marrying an Adrian :laughing: Edward, Elliot, and Henry are definitely quite high on our 'list'. Girls however... I quite like Madison, Summer, Madeline and Evelyn. No doubt these will change a hundred times over before we even think about TTC. No 'naming' rules so to speak, my only rule is no unusual spelling. Personally i'm glad that i am a 'Jasmine' and not a 'Jazmyn'. Good luck with the implanon removal.
justus4now: Glad to know i'm not the only one scouring the internet for baby items without actually being UTD :laughing: What was your baby buy... do tell!! We will definitely be finding out the gender too, i like to be organised, and i will undoubtedly be telling anyone who cares to listen. My purchases have been a combination of both. I started with unisex but i couldn't help myself, I figure i can always give away what i dont use to willing friends or relatives. Enjoy your final day off!!
Happy Birthday Tieko!! :party:
Hi CLC78, i see your a step mummy too. Did your partner all ready having a kid put him off or delay him wanting another one?
It put us BOTH off wanting another one to be honest! I'm the one who has done a back-flip. It was never on the cards for us... but it is now! :)
narribri
01-02-2010, 14:08
Baby names - hmm. This is an ongoing debate between myself and DH, and only in the last week have we really found a decent size list of names that we both like.
Boys
Daniel Cyril (Cyril is my grandfather's name)
Daniel Christopher
Joshua Alexander
Connor James
Benjamin Angus
Aemon Christopher
Mitchell Cooper
Girls
Eleanor Julia (my 100% favourite, I love the meaning of Eleanor, and she'd be Ellie for short)
Hannah Grace
Hannah Rose
Riley
Piper
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 14:12
Hi mrshappy:wave:, would i be able to go on the list for September? Thanks
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 14:17
Happy Birthday Tieko!! :party:
It put us BOTH off wanting another one to be honest! I'm the one who has done a back-flip. It was never on the cards for us... but it is now! :)
I know what you mean about being put off. I love the fact that DSD does go home!!!! that we get a break. But i can not help this baby feeling. Dp wants to wait till DSD is older so a baby would not detract from her. i think it would only add to her as a person. she would mellow out.
And i would like to wait to till the end to find out about the sex of the baby. Nice big surprise at the end.
Thankyou so much for the birthday wishes everyone!! :goodvibes: I'm feeeling much better today, only have sore ears and throat left so nearly all well! I've had a wonderful day so far today! I woke up this morning to my two beautiful boys bringing me their home-made cards, then I walked out to the lounge room to find that my beautiful man had filled the lounge room with 99 balloons!!! :cloud9: (there was 100 but one popped :laughing: he works nights so had blown them all up during the night while I slept!) Sitting on the coffee table amongst all the balloons was a teddy bear that he had bought me that you press it's paw and it says "I love you" and it was holding a silver braclet for me. I love my family so much :goodvibes: Afterwards we had pancakes for breakfast and then dropped the boys at school...and then I went and had my hair cut and coloured!! (an added bonus was the hairdresser had a vibrating massage chair!) I just got home an hour ago and have been eating my chocolates from my boys! LOVELY day so far!!
As for baby names - we haven't decided on any 'certain' names yet but have two favourites at the moment - Lucas for a boy, and Aurora (rory) for a girl! Not sure if they will stick but it's what we like at the moment!
Also noticed there are a few step parents in this thread! Whilst I'm not a step parent - my partner is, as my two boys were from a previous marriage. I think my man is coping fantastically at the step-parent gig, but he loves kids and has always been clucky, so it hasn't put a dampener on his bub desires whatsoever. Fingers crossed that we get pregnant next cycle - I'll be buying pre-seed this time so we'll see if that helps!
JasmineLouise
01-02-2010, 15:09
AmyLou: Blake is such a lovely name :yes: Leigh is a good middle name, it works quite well with Mikayla too.
narribri: I love "Conner James" :) Eleanor is so lovely too :goodvibes:
I just couldn't wait to find out the gender. A close friend of mine is finding out the gender of her bub on thursday. I have spoken to her belly and given the baby strict instructions to keep his or her legs uncrossed for the scan. I need another excuse to go baby shopping :smiliedance:
JasmineLouise
01-02-2010, 15:12
Happy Birthday Tieko... we must have posted at the same time :party::goodvibes: How lovely is it to feel pampered, you lucky thing!!
My birthday wish for you is a BFP :wizard: :babydust2:
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 15:20
Wow Tieko! you are one lucky girl. And you still have the rest of the day to go!
Tieko, can i ask how long have you and you DP been together?
brogeybear
01-02-2010, 15:28
Well Teiko, it sounds like you are having a WONDERFUL day! So glad that you are feeling a bit better as well!!
I have some more MCNs coming FINALLY and some cloth wipes!!! They restocked but hadn't listed them as they were preparing for they cyclone. They shoul be here on Wednesday/ Thursday WOOHOO
Guess what!?!?!? Our house settles in 40 mins YAY. DH and his bros are moving everything out of storage this arvo.
On the bumma front, we need to buy DH a new car! GRRR. His has been pronouced terminal! Oh well, thank goodness for the FHG, just means I will have less $$$ for baby fund *snif*
I have decided that I definitely want the strider plus and that I will get the car capsule for bub and keep DS in his convertable birth to 18 kg one until bubs is out of capsule. He should be 3 by then and well and truly ready for the AHR Maxi Rider....I think I will buy it soon, hopefully I can hold off until I am UTD tho. I already have a strider, just the normal one, its red. I think I want the Kingfisher blue next time.
I paid over $400 for my pram about a year ago, do you think I would get $200 for it I really have no idea. I think Ill list it on Ebay and dont want to put too high a price on it but dont want anyone to "steal" it either LOL
Sorry I forgot who was getting the implanon out today, but I hope it all goes well.
Also Elleandmum, you must let us know how it goes with Pram Warehouse?
Thats all I can remember for now...gotta go, only 30 mins til settlement!
elleandsam
01-02-2010, 15:29
Tieko - good to hear that you're doing better and that you're having a lovely birthday.
AFM - still no luck with Pram Warehouse, and it's really starting to get me down. I wish DH was home so he could call them instead of me having to do it, it's really starting to get me down. I'll give them another call at 4.30pm to see what's going on. I really don't want to have to seek legal advice but that could be my next step.
leajones22
01-02-2010, 15:56
Wow have finally caught up on the reading.
Happy Birthday Tieko.
Elleandmum, I would ring the ACCC and ask what your rights are and maybe call the bank and say that the payment was unauthorised and have it reversed.
Well while I was catching up on everything that has been going on I turned to look at DS who was laying on the floor next to my chair to find that the little bugger had taken his nappy off and was laying there rudey nudey.
This time we wont be finding out as we found out for both DD and DS and I would really like a surprise, and since I have clothes for both and no bedroom to decorate it doesn't matter.
As for names we do tend to go for names with a family link. But it wouldn't matter if there was no link either.
Our kids are Hayley Marie and Jack Ian Thomas. Marie is my middle name and I wanted to pass it on and before we had kids DH's dad passed away so Jack was given Ian as a name after my FIL. Jack also has 2 middle names just like my DH.
We know that if we have a girl she will be called Lily and we have Olivia as a backup. And for a boy I have been thinking lately of Fraser but haven't told DH yet.
As for MCN since there is no soaking I am all for it and am hoping to buy a stash next month (well next c/c statement which is in 2 weeks).
MrsHappy
01-02-2010, 17:50
hey ladies hope Monday hasnt killed anyone yet hahaha, ive had such a super busy day but it has meant it has flown, still at work but out of here soon!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TIEKO sounds like you are certainly getting spoilt!
Kat that is a great step clearing out a room, one step closer than i have gotten haha
Hales i have 2 FULL pandoras (have been collecting for three years now) and they are very very heavy, i have to take them off when i go jogging or they swing up and down my arm
Elleandmum i how your lady issues fix themselves quick smart and BLOODY prams warehouse, give them an ear bashing
Nat how did the removal of the implanon go?
Special K i imagine those last few things will be very hard to do :hugs: i think that Gus as a middle name would be a great way to honour your lil man! i will add you to the list
Jasmine i feel the same as you im right on the MCN bandwagon now (and have managed to get DH on there as well :yelclap:) and i can see a little obsession starting!!
Stevi that is a wonderful idea about you doing the propsing i have a girlfriend that plans on doing it that way
Brogeybear what does your user name mean!! Congrats on the house settling! a New home owner woo hoo!!:yelclap:
HI HI to everyone else!!:wave:
AFM nothing new here im too boring on this baby front right now nothing is changing for the better and its getting frustrating! BUT :fingerscrossed:when i win the Lotto on thursday it will all change :laughing:
insideaway
01-02-2010, 18:00
My family has a tradition of passing down names in the family. Both my brother an I have our parents names as middle names and DH has his uncle's name as his middle name. It's something I would like to continue but as my first name is Courteney (thanks for the spelling Mum!), I wouldn't dare give it as a middle name to my daughter.
As for names, I like Noah Christian or Noah Darshan (DH's name) for a boy, nothing for a girl. DH like Dorothy for a girl (it was his Nan's 'Aussue' name she took when she moved to Australia), I absolutely hate it but I doubt I have any choice :(
brogeybear - I'd definitely list the pram on eBay, you'll be surprised with what you'll get. I think you'd get $200 easy!
elleandmum - how did the second call go this afternoon?
Hi to everyone else :).
Love all the kids names you all have used or picked... we all have great taste in names..:yelclap:
Tieko - Oh so jealous hope I get spoilt for my birthday like you have been.
Elleandmum - I would ring the ACCC should not take this much to get simple service.
Brogeybear - if you put $195 on it it sounds cheaper thn $200 cause mentally people think "it's less than half price so it's a bargain"
CLC78 and Stevi - I am a step mum too we're a blended family as it is called our oldest is DH's our middle is mine and our youngest is our wedding present. Day to day we don't refer to any of them/us as step kids/ step parents or half brothers as titles, it's just they are all brothers and they are all our sons so none of them feel 'different' to the other IYKWIM. our oldest is living with his BM at moment and DH and I miss him likecrazy can't wait til DH is here so we can get him to come down for a visit been over a year since I saw him last.
AFM: Have not had my implanon removed yet dumb Dr wouldn't do it today and won't be available for a few weeks to do it even after I made an extra long appointment for them to do it :thumbsdown: and told them what I wanted appt for when I booked it.
Glad I followed my gut feeling last week ad booked to see another Dr at a different Drs surgery after today was not impressed they make you feel like a number more than a person :no: so when I was out last week made a back up appt with this other Dr the receptionist when I made appt was LOVELY and took the time to match a Dr that is better with womens business and TTC used to deliver babies so hopefully will be a good one got appt with him next Monday for a meet and greet go over my history etc then got 2nd appt to get implanon out on 17th Feb (my birthday :goodvibes: of all days...lol)
Joys of having moved town gotta find new Drs etc...
MrsHappy
01-02-2010, 18:14
Insideaway I Love Noah for a boy!
narribri
01-02-2010, 18:42
AFM: Have not had my implanon removed yet dumb Dr wouldn't do it today and won't be available for a few weeks to do it even after I made an extra long appointment for them to do it :thumbsdown: and told them what I wanted appt for when I booked it.
That sucks! Glad you've got a better doctor. I hear ya on the difficulties of finding a good doctor after moving. I've been in Perth for two and a half years now, and I still haven't found a GP I'm completely happy with.
Okay, this might be a bit silly and maybe TMI - but I need to go and have a pap smear. I've never had one before (I know, naughty naughty) - how uncomfortable is it, and what should I expect?
leajones22 - LOL about your LO being nudey my 2yo is currently in the "i can pick my own clothes stage" and is wearing grey tracksuit pants with bright orange with tigger strips shorts over the top a navy and grey pin stripped collared shirt with a short sleeved white Tshirt over the top... LOL oh and to top it off before I left to goto Drs he insisted on wearing a pair of sky blue undies over the top of his shorts as well... :laughing:
It wasn't worth the arguement to make him look 'normal' while I was out so got a few funny looks down town... :laughing: put photo link on if you want to have a look Rylee is over 'Mum and her camera' so wouldn't smile for me (oh and the TV was more important too...lol) though got undies off while at the doctors so felt a bit better
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/ab171/philnat278/Athome151.jpg
Okay, this might be a bit silly and maybe TMI - but I need to go and have a pap smear. I've never had one before (I know, naughty naughty) - how uncomfortable is it, and what should I expect?
In my opinion they are no big deal! Not very flattering, but having a baby will be worse!!
You'll lay on a bed with your knees bent and legs open, "relaxed" and they'll insert a spectrum (I think it's called?!:o) so they can get in there with the little swab thing which you might feel as like a little scrape of your cervix - it doesn't (or shouldn't) hurt.
They will also probably ask you if you're comfortable with them doing an internal, where they insert 2 fingers and have a feel around and push on your stomach and make sure there's no pains anywhere.
That's pretty much it. It's over in mere minutes.
Good girl for going to get one done :thumbsup: Better late than never!
I don't find them too bad (for an internal examination that is :laughing:). they basically use this speculum (sp?) insert it inside you open it up a little to see the cervix then use oversized cotten buds to take swab of cervix... you do feel what they are doing but it is more unncomfortable than anything isn't painful IMO.
I was embarrased getting my first but when your a woman / have a baby you tend to loose all inhabitions in time when it comes to medical stuff 'down there' after I had my first born I went for 6 week check up and Dr asked if I minded his trainee looking on as he did the examination to which I replied "sure whats one more pair of eyes starring at my bits" :laughing:
HTH
Nat:flowerz:
they basically use this specalum (sp?)
Speculum!! That's it. Not spectrum :laughing:
SquishyWishy
01-02-2010, 19:06
Hello everyone!! :wave: I haven't been on here for 3 days and there is pages and pages to catch up on! I wrote out my whole proposal story on Friday only to have BH freeze on me and i couldn't be bothered doing it all again.
Nat, that is just so cute! :laughing:
I think that is really unfair of your doctor though... isn't it your decision when to have it removed!?
Narribri.... naughty girl! It's nothing to be worried about, it's a little embarrassing and slightly uncomfortable and but honestly it's fine and very quick.
Where do i start....
Names - Charlotte, Isabella or Alexandra with middle names Grace, Rosalie and Amelie... not sure which combination. And boys i like Oliver and Jackson with Peter as the middle. But a friend will probably take Jackson and DH doesn't like Oliver... so boys are difficult!
Prams - I have been tossing up between the Joolz Bloom and two others which are quite similar but more readily available in Australia... but i can't remember the names at the moment. (My head is seriously not switched on today).
Slings - I'm getting a bubba moe for a friend's baby shower and i'm going to just order myself one too! :laughing: Although I did look at them at baby bunting on the weekend and felt thoroughly confused about how to best wear the thing. :o oh well.
AFM - so i finished my antibiotics and still felt like crap... so i stayed home today and went to the docs... he's ordered heaps of tests to see what's going on. But then AF shows up this afternoon! So maybe it was period pain!? Anyway at least this 2nd cycle of the pill was only 31 days, so it seems they are getting more normal.
I'm ordering pre-seed soon too!
Oh and Congratulations on settling BrogeyBear!! :smiliedance:
insideaway
01-02-2010, 19:09
I've had far too many of them. I find them really, really uncomfortable/painful but I think that has more of an issue with my endo. You can feel the swab poking around but it only takes a minute. They will probably do a breast exam as well (or my doctor does when I get a smear test).
Oh and Congratulations on settling BrogeyBear!! :smiliedance:
HERE HERE :party: :yelclap: CONGRATULATIONS!
narribri
01-02-2010, 19:15
Thanks girls! I've made my appointment for a pap smear and preconception checkup next week. Possibly a bit late since I'm already 2dpo, but better late than never!
Congratulations on settling Brogeybear!!! :smiliedance:
Squishywishy - I just looked up the Joolz Bloom, it looks really good! Thanks for that :D
I'm ordering pre-seed soon too, definitely in time for the next cycle. I need to start drinking green tea in the meantime, just wish I didn't hate the taste so much!
insideaway
01-02-2010, 19:18
I need to start drinking green tea in the meantime, just wish I didn't hate the taste so much!
Make sure when you make it you don't use boiling water - you will burn the tea and make it bitter. Also flavoured green tea is awesome - or just normal green tea with honey or lemon.
I have found the most amazing green tea, so much my friend and I look forward to afternoon tea all day :)
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 19:23
Mrshappy- Thanks im a bit nervous about the proposing thing.
Hi insideaway.
and everyone else:wave:
CLC78 and Stevi - I am a step mum too we're a blended family as it is called our oldest is DH's our middle is mine and our youngest is our wedding present. Day to day we don't refer to any of them/us as step kids/ step parents or half brothers as titles, it's just they are all brothers and they are all our sons so none of them feel 'different' to the other IYKWIM. our oldest is living with his BM at moment and DH and I miss him likecrazy can't wait til DH is here so we can get him to come down for a visit been over a year since I saw him last.
On feel like i want to say daughter but then i don't want to confuse or upset people. And i know it would not be appreciated from the Ex. And i wanted give you some of these for:hugs: not seeing you son for a year. that would be painful indeed.
:laughing:maybe he is trying to be a super hero? very cute.
SquishyWishy
01-02-2010, 19:23
I don't really like the taste of normal green tea either... but I have an array of flavoured green teas from T2... so you should be able to find something you like!
Oh and I'm going to start charting my temp seriously tomorrow! Not sure how i'll go with that... i always wake up needing to pee at all hours of the morning.
Narribri I just saw in another thread you've brought TTC forward to now!! How exciting!!
narribri
01-02-2010, 19:30
I don't really like the taste of normal green tea either... but I have an array of flavoured green teas from T2... so you should be able to find something you like!
Oh and I'm going to start charting my temp seriously tomorrow! Not sure how i'll go with that... i always wake up needing to pee at all hours of the morning.
Narribri I just saw in another thread you've brought TTC forward to now!! How exciting!!
Thanks, I'll have to pop into T2 this week. I have the Lipton citrus flavoured one, but it's not really doing it for me.
With the charting, I'm the same, I wake up a lot and always need to get up and pee. I have my alarm set for 4:30. Anytime I wake up, I check the time and if it's within an hour of the alarm I take my temp before I do anything else. If you need to take multiple temps during the night and then sort them out in the morning - do it, it makes sleeping a lot easier.
Yep, we have brought TTC forward, we started this cycle. It wasn't my idea either, it was DH's! Fortunately he decided the day before ovulating, not the day after, because I didn't have to wait at all!
Stevi - good luck! I thought about proposing to my DH, but he got his act together in time. Let us know how you go.
Make sure when you make it you don't use boiling water - you will burn the tea and make it bitter. Also flavoured green tea is awesome - or just normal green tea with honey or lemon.
I just made one like this, and it tastes heaps better! Still not a fan, but much better than last time. Thanks insideaway :D
Wow Tieko! you are one lucky girl. And you still have the rest of the day to go!
Tieko, can i ask how long have you and you DP been together?
Well it's a bit of a complicated story lol! We dated briefly 2 years ago (broke up as he had planned to leave the country for a while) but stayed good friends afterwards...but have been together for a year this time around! It's a short amount of time in the scheme of things, but as I've been married before (was with my ex husband for 7 years) I have developed a VERY good idea of what I do and do not want in a relationship ;)
Honestly I think it depends a LOT on the doctor/and on any conditions that you have! When I had cervical erosion it was very painful to get a pap smear. I also found it very uncomfortable when I was younger but now know that was just due to the doctor! I recently had one (a few weeks aago) and to be honest - I hardly even felt a thing!! It was seriously over in a matter of seconds....and I will definately be returning to that doctor again next time I need one! The one I had before that was fine too but we've since moved from that area.
insideaway
01-02-2010, 19:41
No worries Narribri :) I highly recommend the 'Go Go Geisha' tea at the T2 shop - just delicious!
WOW girls, talk much?!!! :laughing:
There is so much to comment on but I know I will miss heaps, sorry! (And I don't even have "baby brain" yet )
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TIEKO!! :party:
It sounds like you've had an amazing day! Glad you're feeling better!
Specialk - :hugs::hugs:lots of these for you. Hopefully finalising these few things will give you some closure (if that's the right word?)
I think the 'S' 'S' & 'G' charms are a lovely idea! Then like you say, add your future bubs initials.
Brogeybear - Congrats on settlement :yelclap:
stevi - that's a great plan for a proposal! What if HE proposes before May? Hehe.
narribri - pap smears generally aren't painful, but the last one I had was with a different Dr and boy was it uncomfortable :eek: She made me lie on my side while she did it and it HURT! I will not be going back to her again! It'll be over before you know it!
Names - Boys so far are Campbell, Taylor & Koby with Jai as a middle name
Girls are Imogen, Maya & Kiera with Grace as a middle name. Possibly Maya Imogen or Kiera Imogen.
I don't think I'll be able to wait the full 12 weeks to tell family and friends. I think we'll tell our parents at 8 weeks and then swear them to secrecy, then tell others as we approach 12 weeks.
HowCrazyCool
01-02-2010, 20:20
Well it's a bit of a complicated story lol! We dated briefly 2 years ago (broke up as he had planned to leave the country for a while) but stayed good friends afterwards...but have been together for a year this time around! It's a short amount of time in the scheme of things, but as I've been married before (was with my ex husband for 7 years) I have developed a VERY good idea of what I do and do not want in a relationship ;)
I think it's very dreamy that you two found each other again. fate even. Dp and i will be together for 2 years in may, i sometimes get the O you don't want to settle don yet. It is quite annoying, And makes me distrust there trust in me.
Hales83 If HE proposes before then i would fall over dead. DEAD, Due to his horrible Ex leaving him for his friend about 2 months after they got engaged. i doubt he will propose. But he said he wouldn't mind getting married one day. But i think it's going to be me doing it. Which i am fine with.
I think I forgot to welcome Stevi and Kat10 :o :wave:
As for being excited about Monday... hmmmm you strange thing Opaque :laughing::laughing:
I do love Sunday evenings though!
I really wish there was an emoticon to resemble sarcasm...
Well I had a cracker Monday. Was absolute sh*t. It is like I never left high school with the *****iness that goes on where I work.
I know what you mean Opaque! Although sometimes I'm the biatch!!
Ok I need your honest opinions! Is it wrong for me to want to start TTC after only being in my new job for possibly 6 months? I've been with the company 5 years. I'm just hoping I don't get a case of the guilts! I have no reason to right?
I like the middle name/s to be in honour of someone but like the first name to 'be their own' not named after anyone specific and DHs side of family like the 2 middle names thing.
DH and I had Jasmine picked for Rylee if he was a girl (DH still loves it I'm not so sure) I told him this time round that since we have 2 boys with A names that one with R name that the next one should have R name too.. hence Rhianna and Rowan... lol :cloud9:
We named our DS - Corey Jack.
He's not named after anyone because my FIL has two cracker middle names that we didn't like. My dad's middle name is ok but then we didn't want anyone to be jealous etc because my other nieces and nephews have not been named after anyone either for the exact same reasons.
And now because we have DS named just by his own name etc, we don't want to give DS2/DD1 (whatever it may be) a "meaningful" name because we don't want any jealousy between the kids etc.
My darling mother keeps saying that if I have a DD she expects her to have her middle name. Each time I have brushed it off nicely - however when she suggested it the other week I said "this child has two sets of grand parents, two granny's, two pop's. It is not fair to name her after one gran and not the other - it is NOT getting the middle name 'May' END OF STORY". Nothing more has been said on this subject to date.:laughing:
Boy names are still being discussed but our girl name is "Avril Brooke" this is what we had picked if DS was a DD, and we still love the name.
Ok I need your honest opinions! Is it wrong for me to want to start TTC after only being in my new job for possibly 6 months? I've been with the company 5 years. I'm just hoping I don't get a case of the guilts! I have no reason to right?
NO REASON FOR GUILT! However I feel the same....
I was off all of last week sick and now I feel guilty about thinking about TTC in April/May. The thing is I am 99% sure that I will get hyperemesis again (extreme morning sickness) and this meant being in hosp on/off etc for the 9 months.
I know that I am stupid, but I think that they will be sh*tty at me for having a baby. Even though I will have been there for more than enough time.
I THINK IT IS WELCOME TO THE WORLD OF MOTHER GUILT MISS HALES!!!! :raspberry:
Your going to be a great mother - all mother's get the guilts about EVERYTHING, even when you know you are doing the right thing!!!:laughing:
Tieko - happybirthday What a wonderful birthday - i'd be lucky to get a card let alone 100 baloons!!
JasmineLouise - DP says that if we have a girl she'd better come with a receipt! Although saying that he came up with the only girls name we both like - Ruby. As for boys names we both really Lachlan and Liam. We'll definitely go with a family name for middle names as none of DP's grand parents are around anymore so it'd be a nice tribute to them. Apart from that no rules really
Stevi - what a lovely proposal plan. Love the backup plan too :laughing:.
Brogeybear - Congratulations on the settlement :)
Nat - I can't believe the dr would remove it! The other dr sounds much nicer anyway so maybe it's a blessing in disgusie.
Hales83 - don't worry about work. You've put in 5 years already - nothing to feel guilty about at all.
Hahaha thanks Opaque. It's crazy isn't it, I hate feeling this way! I probably won't tell them I'm UTD until I'm ready to pop haha.
insideaway
01-02-2010, 22:19
Nope, you have no reason to at all to feel guilty. Not that it stops you feeling that way, I know I've been feeling like that too since we've decided to try to TTC. When I think about having to tell anyone at work it gives me such a feeling of dread, I wonder how long I can hide it lol
Hales83 - don't worry about work. You've put in 5 years already - nothing to feel guilty about at all.
:iagree: but at the same time I can totally understand :yes:
A strong work ethic and a sense of responsibility are fantastic attributes to have! But you're also entitled to move on with your life and start a family. Anybody who holds that against you doesn't deserve your loyalty in the first place :)
My darling mother keeps saying that if I have a DD she expects her to have her middle name. Each time I have brushed it off nicely - however when she suggested it the other week I said "this child has two sets of grand parents, two granny's, two pop's. It is not fair to name her after one gran and not the other - it is NOT getting the middle name 'May' END OF STORY". Nothing more has been said on this subject to date.
I say if your Mum wants May in the name, tell her you'll name her April or June instead and just the two of you will know she is almost named after her :laughing: only kidding, I love the names you picked.
kat10 - yes I think it will be a blessing in disguise, I believe everything happens for a reason the big things and the little things they all lead us to something better.
Hales83 - No you shouldn't feel guilty you have worked there long enough.
Better than what I did at my last job, I got the job told them I was getting married 3 months after I started there so they knew I would want time off for the honeymoon which they were fine about what they didn't like is me coming back from the honeymoon and announcing i'm pregnant... :laughing:
Stevi - I agree great idea proposing to him and plan B is a cracker :laughing:
Well it's a bit of a complicated story lol! We dated briefly 2 years ago (broke up as he had planned to leave the country for a while) but stayed good friends afterwards...but have been together for a year this time around! It's a short amount of time in the scheme of things, but as I've been married before (was with my ex husband for 7 years) I have developed a VERY good idea of what I do and do not want in a relationship
Tieko - Love your story, some things are ment to be.
I met my DH on the internet met same day we first chatted online :doh:married 10 months later :p.
We just have the one, although DSD is 18 now!! Not a child anymore! I do refer to her as my step daughter, she's not my daughter and I'm not her mum... but she does refer to DH and I as "her parents" :o
OMG OMG!!!!! I cannot believe what just happened!!~!! My 5 year old son just sleep walked into the kitchen...AND PEED IN THE FRIDGE!!! WTF!! :eek: He then got the tomato sauce out and went and lay on the lounge....did I mention OMG!!! So now I have to go and do the shopping again since he peed all over the fruit and vegetables!! Yes that's right...he actually opened the fruit and vegetable compartment to do it. Omg I am just in so much shock, so funny, but oh so gross at the same time!!
On another note though...
Tieko - Love your story, some things are ment to be.
I met my DH on the internet met same day we first chatted online :doh:married 10 months later :p.
Nat :flowerz:[/QUOTE]
I actually met him on the internet too - on Myspace!!! :laughing: We met for the very first time in person on Valentines Day 2 years ago....definately a fabulous romantic day to meet, and I love that it makes the day truly special to us in much more than a 'commercialised holiday' way :cloud9:
Would love to hear how everyone else met their dh/dp?
We just have the one, although DSD is 18 now!! Not a child anymore! I do refer to her as my step daughter, she's not my daughter and I'm not her mum... but she does refer to DH and I as "her parents" :o
CLC78 - That is sweet it's nice to be thought of that way by your DSD "her parents" Love it. isn't always easy being step families etc, so is nice to hear the good stories like that where the step parent/child have a good relationship no matter what age they are.
Anthony calls us Dad and Natalie and BM is Mum and ### (if he was aloud to swear he would refering to her BF he is a dumb**$ his BM deserves better) we are very open with the kids and they know how we are all related and we kinda just took their lead on what they want to call each other and us.
For me it was the proudest day when DS#2 chose that he wanted to call DH Dad, he wanted to buy him a mug that said 'worlds greatest Dad' on it for the 1st fathers day after i met DH, I had a chat to him about the meaning of giving him something that says Dad on it, we walked away and went looking at other things in the shop and just as we were leaving he said I want him to be my Dad so we bought the mug and he wrapped it and gave it to him and told him he wanted him to be his Dad... was precious who knew a $2 mug could mean so much....:skywriter:
OMG OMG!!!!! I cannot believe what just happened!!~!! My 5 year old son just sleep walked into the kitchen...AND PEED IN THE FRIDGE!!! WTF!! :eek: He then got the tomato sauce out and went and lay on the lounge....did I mention OMG!!! So now I have to go and do the shopping again since he peed all over the fruit and vegetables!! Yes that's right...he actually opened the fruit and vegetable compartment to do it. Omg I am just in so much shock, so funny, but oh so gross at the same time!!
I laughed so hard I nearly pee'd myself.... :laughing: what a crack up, yet horrific too.
so what did he do with the tomato sauce? :laughing: if it was my DS#1 he'd just about drink it straight he puts it on nearly everything.
isn't always easy being step families etc, so is nice to hear the good stories like that where the step parent/child have a good relationship no matter what age they are.
we bought the mug and he wrapped it and gave it to him and told him he wanted him to be his Dad...
Ohhh there's been plenty of bumps along the way and a few mini earthquakes!!!
That's a gorgeous story about your DS and DH, daaawww!
OMG OMG!!!!! I cannot believe what just happened!!~!! My 5 year old son just sleep walked into the kitchen...AND PEED IN THE FRIDGE!!! WTF!! :eek: He then got the tomato sauce out and went and lay on the lounge....did I mention OMG!!!
ROFL :laughing::laughing: to funny!! Reminds me of when DSD was 8, she was sleep walking, came downstairs, straight past us into the dining room and sat at the kitchen table fiddling with the fruit in the bowl :confused:
I hear you there... we've had our share of them too!
Reminds me of when DSD was 8, she was sleep walking, came downstairs, straight past us into the dining room and sat at the kitchen table fiddling with the fruit in the bowl :confused:
I remember waking up when I was 9/10yo going to kitchen started pouring cereal, said good morning to Mum only to have her giggle and tell me to go back to bed it wasn't morning I'd only been in bed for an hour....
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 08:42
AFM: Have not had my implanon removed yet dumb Dr wouldn't do it today and won't be available for a few weeks to do it even after I made an extra long appointment for them to do it and told them what I wanted appt for when I booked it.
oh my god what a pain in the a$$!!!!
it drives me batty when drs do sh!t like that!!!
but glad to hear u made another appt just incase good thinking!!!!:thumbsup:
dont worry hon i did whatever i could to get out of it, and now my DR has woken up to me and just sayd while ur hear we will do it so i dont get much choice!! LOL..... it works well and it means i get it done.....
to bo honest i think its just uncomfy but not painful..... mind u i compare it to what they have had to do to me while i was in hospital for the week weith Gus and i spent more time with a speculum in than what i did with it not in, so im now not even fazed by the thought....
one word of advice, when they do insert it, just relax as much as possible, easeir said than done, but it does help, and i adjust myself to make sure im more comfy.....
good luck im sure u will be fine!!:hugs:
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/ab171/philnat278/Athome151.jpg
ADORABLE!!!! what a little spnuk, clearly layering works well for him!!:laughing:
I need to start drinking green tea in the meantime, just wish I didn't hate the taste so much!
sorry might be a stupid question but why green tea???
Yep, we have brought TTC forward, we started this cycle. It wasn't my idea either, it was DH's!
thats awsome!!!
can u get ur DH to give my DH a call and tell him its a good idea to get trying!!! lol.....
Specialk -lots of these for you. Hopefully finalising these few things will give you some closure (if that's the right word?)
I think the 'S' 'S' & 'G' charms are a lovely idea! Then like you say, add your future bubs initials.
yeah i think it might make things easier but see how we go.....
yeah i loved the idea when Dh suggested it, so im rapt, and it will be a prezzie with significance!
I
oh god no!!!
hon u have to do whats right for u and ur DH not what u think will be right for ur work!!
and u have given them 5 years of hard work so im sure they will be fine!!
the only girls name we both like - Ruby.
i LOVE the name Ruby, Dh wasnt keen but i rekon i could talk him round..... that was until SIL's girlfriend named her puppy Ruby!!! talk about shattered!!!
OMG OMG!!!!! I cannot believe what just happened!!~!! My 5 year old son just sleep walked into the kitchen...AND PEED IN THE FRIDGE!!! WTF!! He then got the tomato sauce out and went and lay on the lounge....did I mention OMG!!! So now I have to go and do the shopping again since he peed all over the fruit and vegetables!! Yes that's right...he actually opened the fruit and vegetable compartment to do it. Omg I am just in so much shock, so funny, but oh so gross at the same time!!
OMG!!! how funny!!!! spew bout the vegies though!!!
Would love to hear how everyone else met their dh/dp?
pretty boring here.....
we met through friends who were seeing each other.....
and we now dont have anything to do with those friends who spilt about 6 months after DH and i started seeing each other!!
god sounds like my issues with my mums partner, who has been around since i was 1 but they arnt married so i refuse to call him my step-dad.... he is a a$$hole anyway so would rather not be related to him!!!
AFM: sorry i didnt get on during the day to play yesterday, a GF dropped around for lunch and ended up leaving at 6!!
not much going on here really.......
counting down to my OB appt tomorrow.....
oh actually, i wonder if u girls think this is a pain in the rear.....
so u obviously all know my story, when we were in the hospital they send the pastrol care lady to speak to us, now this woman made things seem a tonne worse than needed, almost like she wanted me to collapse on the floor drying hysterically so she could help me.....
so i discharge myself asap becasue after a week i wanted to get home, so they organised a nurse to do a house call 2 days later....
now i thought this was coz i had had the infection and been to theatre for retained placenta, so the nurse rocks up and she starts going on about trauma and concelling like im a looney, asking questions like what my birth was like all that.....
so i get over that and a few days later the pastrol care lady calls me again to check in, again i think to see if ive lost the plot.....
then yesterday i get a call from the maternal health care nurse wanting to do a home visit to see how im going!!!
do these people not communicate???
ive told all of them im happy with the way im going and IF i feel the need for councelling or whatever ill call them, but they keep harassing me!!!!
it just seems weird they keep calling and keeping tabs on me???
anyways ill be round all day today no visitors!! just housework calling my name!!
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 08:59
SpecialKbaby - I would just tell both of them next time they call that you are fine but you won't be needing their services again.
AFU - my pram is being sent!!! I mentioned once that I had no problems contacting a lawyer, and now it's being sent!
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 09:16
SpecialKbaby - I would just tell both of them next time they call that you are fine but you won't be needing their services again.
AFU - my pram is being sent!!! I mentioned once that I had no problems contacting a lawyer, and now it's being sent!
yeah i did say that i would call them if i needed them but they still feel the need to call me :rolleyes:
OMG YAY!!! i meant to ask u bout that in my last post!!! :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: good on u for standing ur ground!!
brogeybear
02-02-2010, 09:24
Elleandmum - LOL, a little threat works wonders sometimes!
Nat - Wot the? with your stupid DR?? You are the patient, if you no longer want an implanon, I think its your call, not his. Boy there are some morons in this world!
SpecialK - I kinda get why they are hastling you but for crying out loud, if you say no more, than clearly that is your call! Surely they can see that you have great support with your DH and that you arent trying to hang yourself, etc. I just wouldnt let them in next time!
Teiko - OMG!!! That is so hilarious about your DS! I was PMSL when I read that! Shame about the veges tho LOL
Sorry thats all I can remember without reading 5 pages!
AFU - names: every now and then out of the blue, DH says "how do you like ...... for a boys name?" or whatever, it is soooo cute. We have Elijiah Liam for our DS, we also had picked Zakariah Joshua and for girls: Charlotte (Charli) Kate and Indianna Khloe (I am one for the unusual spelling!) but Charlotte is becoming so popular I am torn, Ive had that name picked since I was around 15 *shame*
I came up with Esther Abygale the other night and I rather like it!
Moved everything out of storage last night, so going to unpack today, how fun will that be with a 2y/o?!? Hopefully move out of mums tonight! YAY
BROGEYBEAR - its my nickname, has been for a long time from quite a few people! My name is Brogan and so brogeybear (kinda like Yogi Bear i guess) and sometimes I get "little bear"....not really sure why, now I actually think about it, I hope its not coz I LOOK like a bear LOL.
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 09:30
SpecialK - I kinda get why they are hastling you but for crying out loud, if you say no more, than clearly that is your call! Surely they can see that you have great support with your DH and that you arent trying to hang yourself, etc. I just wouldnt let them in next time!
AFU - names: every now and then out of the blue, DH says "how do you like ...... for a boys name?" or whatever, it is soooo cute. We have Elijiah Liam for our DS, we also had picked Zakariah Joshua and for girls: Charlotte (Charli) Kate and Indianna Khloe (I am one for the unusual spelling!) but Charlotte is becoming so popular I am torn, Ive had that name picked since I was around 15 *shame*
I came up with Esther Abygale the other night and I rather like it!
Moved everything out of storage last night, so going to unpack today, how fun will that be with a 2y/o?!? Hopefully move out of mums tonight! YAY
BROGEYBEAR - its my nickname, has been for a long time from quite a few people! My name is Brogan and so brogeybear (kinda like Yogi Bear i guess) and sometimes I get "little bear"....not really sure why, now I actually think about it, I hope its not coz I LOOK like a bear LOL.
its almost like they want me to fall in a heap and beg for help!!!
i have said i have a lot of support around me ( ive got awsome DH, family and it sounds silly but bubhub helps a tone!!) yet the still call me!!
i think im going to let all unknown numbers go to msg bank!!! :cool:
YAY for settlement!!! :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap: thats so exciting!!!!
leajones22
02-02-2010, 09:34
grrrrrr my interent just crashed and I lost my entire post.:geek:.
Tieko - ROFLMAO about your son, if it were me I would be putting a baby lock on the fridge door to prevent him from doing it again:laughing:.
Hales - you have to do what is right for your family and not worry about work.
Opaque - I agree on the mummy guilt and it doesn't get any better. I can't buy stuff for myself and I also never get to have my own food or drink without the kids making me feel guilty whilest they stand in front of me making puppy dog eyes.
Narribri - I tend to find I get crampy after having a pap smear but it soon settles down after a nice hot bath. Start a new thread to find a good gp in your area as I bet you will get lots of recommendations.
Specialk - goodluck with the OB. No no-one communicates, how frustrating and aggravting it must be for you right now.
Elleandmum - yay on the pram what b******ap excuse did they give you?.
I met my DH at my Debutante Ball, he was a guest of my friends partner. But we didn't get together for over a year after that.
Oh and my little girl starts kinder today:o
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 09:34
Brogeybear - I think it's a very cute nickname. And I love the name you've picked out.
SpecialKbaby - good idea, that's what I half the time anyway.
Names - we like Corey Jackson for a boy and Kaitlyn Rose for a girl. DD is Elizabeth May.
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 09:42
Specialk - goodluck with the OB. No no-one communicates, how frustrating and aggravting it must be for you right now.
Oh and my little girl starts kinder today
thank you..... so bloody frustrating surely they realise its more painful than its worth?!?!?!:rolleyes:
oooh hope she has a great day!!:flowerz:
SpecialKbaby - good idea, that's what I half the time anyway.
Names - we like Corey Jackson for a boy and Kaitlyn Rose for a girl. DD is Elizabeth May.
never used to id answer everything but i tell u what im so much more selective of who i speak to and when especially at the moment!!!
im still not sure on names, but from our list we picked Gus from we still have Jasper Harrison Jagger Oliver Jett and Madden for a boy....
girls we still like Summah Maddison Makenzie Sienna Alexis....
bit none of them seem like they are US like Gus did....... mabye coz im not in the frame of mind to think of names yet i dunno......
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 09:46
Leajones we must have posted at the same time!
Bull**** excuse is right! They said that their boss is overseas and has no internet so hadn't checked is mails and blah blah blah, oh well, I'm getting my order and I won't be dealing with them again.
narribri
02-02-2010, 09:59
Omg! That is so funny, and so gross, and so frustrating. All over the fruit and vegies too. What did he do with the tomato sauce?
Oh and my little girl starts kinder today
Good luck!
Hales - you can't worry too much about what work think, honestly. If there's one thing I've learned about employers, it's that they take whatever you are prepared to give and more, and they won't stop until you put your foot down. There is nothing wrong with you wanting to start a family at your age, and they should be expecting that, TBH. Good luck with sorting it out.
Start a new thread to find a good gp in your area as I bet you will get lots of recommendations.
That's actually a really good idea, I shall do that. Thanks!
its almost like they want me to fall in a heap and beg for help!!!
My parents divorced when I was a teenager, and I have met many many counselors and pastors who behave exactly like this. It's so annoying, they won't take no for an answer! Just keep shutting them down, eventually they'll get it.
Elleandmum - good work with the pram warehouse! It's amazing how effective a little threat is sometimes.
sorry might be a stupid question but why green tea???
Apparently green tea helps increase your cervical mucus quantities. It's always been an ongoing problem for me, so whatever I can do to naturally help out is fine by me. I've also heard evening primrose oil can help, but it's one of those things that you can't take after ovulation so I figure I'll try the green tea first. I made some with just hot water, not boiling yesterday, and it tasted heaps better. Thanks for the tip whoever it was :D
can u get ur DH to give my DH a call and tell him its a good idea to get trying!!!
Sure thing! :cool:
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a.../Athome151.jpg (http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/ab171/philnat278/Athome151.jpg)
Too cute! He has marvelous taste in clothing :laughing: I have some similar photos of myself from around that age, I wasn't much better.
nat278For me it was the proudest day when DS#2 chose that he wanted to call DH Dad, he wanted to buy him a mug that said 'worlds greatest Dad' on it for the 1st fathers day after i met DH, I had a chat to him about the meaning of giving him something that says Dad on it, we walked away and went looking at other things in the shop and just as we were leaving he said I want him to be my Dad so we bought the mug and he wrapped it and gave it to him and told him he wanted him to be his Dad... was precious who knew a $2 mug could mean so much....
Awww, so cute, brought a tear to my eye.
I met my DH while we were playing an online text roleplaying game - reserved for super-geeks, I assure you. I was living in SA at the time, he was in Perth. We hit it off immediately in game, even though you can't go out of character or talk about real life inside the game. It took us about 3 months to graduate to MSN Messenger, and another 2 months for him to get up the courage to call me :laughing: I flew over to Perth for the long weekend a couple of months later to meet him, we were 'official' the first day we actually met. TBH, I was in love with him long before we physically met.
We did 10 months long distance, it was the hardest 10 months of my life. It got to the point where we couldn't go any further being apart - either we had to break up and move on, or someone had to move. I ended up moving. Eighteen months later he asked me to marry him, and 11 months to the day after that, we got married.
brogeybear
02-02-2010, 10:38
Yep, I do that A LOT!!! If its that important then they can leave a message! Yeah, it seems like they dont know how to handle the fact that you are "handling" it. Its not like I would feel like talking to them anyway if they are being that pushy! *hugs*
MrsHappy
02-02-2010, 10:46
Morning ladies,
Nat your son definitely has some style going on there. Too cute make sure you post pics of anymore odd outfits
Elleandmum now that you have the pram what do you think of it?
Tieko that is the funniest story I have heard in a while, my DH is a sleepwalker and the silly bugger did a similar thing to your DS except he peed in our wardrobe! I woke up in the middle of it and I was not impressed but can't blame him as he has no control over it at all. But I will tell you that I am now a much lighter sleeper!
Special k hope they get ur message soon, I think you know but they are probably just worried that you haven't gone through all the stages of grief yet!
I met my DH through mutual friends who are no longer together, met him the week before my Final yr 12 exams so mum was not impressed to say the least.
Names...the leaders are for a boy..Ashton with Lachlan as a runner up and for a girl..Madison with Edie as a runner up!
Sorry if I missed anyone I'm on my phone so hard to look back through.
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 10:47
Yep, I do that A LOT!!! If its that important then they can leave a message! Yeah, it seems like they dont know how to handle the fact that you are "handling" it. Its not like I would feel like talking to them anyway if they are being that pushy! *hugs*
it drives me nuts coz ill feel like im doing well and then they start their speil and i bawl!!!! then they think i need the bloody help!!!
they dint like it when i tell them im handling and dealing things with my DH and family.....:cool:
brogeybear
02-02-2010, 10:47
Oops...looks like the computer took around an hour to post my post! GRRR
Narrabri - such a romantic story!
Everyone has such lovely names picked out! It seems that the trend of "unusual" names like Apple and Moonjuice has passed - thank goodness! (I really wanted to call my son Galaxy Mango, didnt you know?! Hahaha)
brogeybear
02-02-2010, 10:56
Special K - what the hell is wrong with "handling" it with the pwople you are closest too, after all your DH i going through the same thing, so clearly he is going to be understanding and supportive. And if you do eventually feel ready or the need for couselling, they arent making that option look very attractive. You are entitled to feel however you want to feel and if you have already gone through the collapse in a heap and ball stage or not, shouldnt be their concern. People grieve differently, you may not go through a severe deep depression and may only have bursts of crying, etc. It doesnt make either way any better or worse, just different...and they as "professionals" should realise this!
Mrs Happy - My nephews name is Lachlan! *smile*
Elleandmum - what a ridiculous excuse, they are a big company, it shouldnt and I think wouldnt have anything to do with when the boss checks his emails *blah*
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 11:08
Special k hope they get ur message soon, I think you know but they are probably just worried that you haven't gone through all the stages of grief yet!
i know its their job and they have to check up u, thats fine, but its making things worse than they need to be!!
Special K - what the hell is wrong with "handling" it with the pwople you are closest too, after all your DH i going through the same thing, so clearly he is going to be understanding and supportive. And if you do eventually feel ready or the need for couselling, they arent making that option look very attractive. You are entitled to feel however you want to feel and if you have already gone through the collapse in a heap and ball stage or not, shouldnt be their concern. People grieve differently, you may not go through a severe deep depression and may only have bursts of crying, etc. It doesnt make either way any better or worse, just different...and they as "professionals" should realise this!
exactly!!!
i just wish they would give me a bit more time before trying to push concelling on me.....
i said to SH last night, they need to start calling say 4 weeks after its happend to then see how well ur dealing with things, coz im assuming 2 weeks after most people are still processing whats happend and getting used to that way life is going to be now......
i have made it well clear that if i need help i no where to look for it!!!
anyways there is probably more exciting things happening in the land of bubhub!!:D
SquishyWishy
02-02-2010, 11:11
Good morning!
I'll probably miss heaps, as i'm on my mobile.. Work internet has been down all morning.
My puppy is called Ruby too! Lol She's very cute though, it'd be a lovely name for a little girl. I really like Ashton too!
Nice work elleandmum, how's the pram?
My DH and i met at work and we worked together for almost a year before we went out and never really spoke to each other too much. When i broke up with my ex, DH brought out the moves! Lol
Yay internet is back! This phone sucks., i'll be back soon!
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 12:06
Haven't got the pram yet, it's being sent from Queensland so it should be here by the end of the week, if it's not here by next week I'll be on the phone yet again.
Cd 22 here, and I'm so so tired and a little emotional, don't know if it's just PMS or what.
brogeybear
02-02-2010, 12:18
I am tired an emotional too....but thats just becuase Ive bee procrastinating unpacking and watching all the sad greys anatomy clips on youtube from when Denny died....now I have a snuffly nose from crying *snif* He is my "date" for the bubhub awards but I love him with an accent in Ps I love you!
Cant wait to hear what you think of the pram Elleandmum...did you get the car capsule too? Thats the bit I wanna know about!
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 13:20
Haven't got the pram yet, it's being sent from Queensland so it should be here by the end of the week, if it's not here by next week I'll be on the phone yet again.
Cd 22 here, and I'm so so tired and a little emotional, don't know if it's just PMS or what.
oh what a bugger!! it just doesnt get better does it?!?!?!?! well i hope for ur sake the pram is everything u dreamed of!! :yes:
im with u on the tired and emotional!!
my bloody dog keeps waking me up at 7 or 730 and well i think my hormones are still settling so that would explain that side of things for me!!!
ur trying now arnt u??
narribri
02-02-2010, 13:45
Definitely joining in on the tired and emotional side. I'm getting really stressed about finding a job, I've been out of work since Christmas. Despite doing really well on all the interviews I've been to, and having really competitive skills and experience, I keep missing out fractionally. The last few nights have been really broken sleep, mostly because I'm dreaming about being pregnant :laughing:
HowCrazyCool
02-02-2010, 14:11
Stevi - what a lovely proposal plan. Love the backup plan too .
Stevi - I agree great idea proposing to him and plan B is a cracker
I think so too!
Teiko - that is very funny about your little man and the fridge. I was the doing the peeing in my family. :rolleyes: always on the couch.
I meet my Dp through my sisters boyfriends sister a couple of times. Then we were both out on the town. and me and him and about ten other people came back to my house and then went to another house. then i got dropped home, BUT i had left my bag in his friends car. so he got my number off of the boyfriends sister. and asked me out. and gave my bag back.
For me it was the proudest day when DS#2 chose that he wanted to call DH Dad, he wanted to buy him a mug that said 'worlds greatest Dad' on it for the 1st fathers day after i met DH, I had a chat to him about the meaning of giving him something that says Dad on it, we walked away and went looking at other things in the shop and just as we were leaving he said I want him to be my Dad so we bought the mug and he wrapped it and gave it to him and told him he wanted him to be his Dad... was precious who knew a $2 mug could mean so much....
As a step kid and a step parent i know how much that would have ment for both of them and YOU, Me and my sister in the last 2 years have talked about calling our step-dad dad, were not there yet. But it will happen. And i just wanted to say it's awesome that your son feels so loved by him and was able to come to that choice at such a young age. :shakehands::shakehands:
oh actually, i wonder if u girls think this is a pain in the rear.....
Yes i do, just have a VERY FIRM chat with them and say you appreciate everything and if you feel you need their help you know where to call. :hugs:
It is very hard to keep up!!! And i know i missed heaps.
I was wondering, do any of you plan to home birth? Or would look into it more?
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 14:17
Stevi - no home birth here, the idea freaks me out, I'm a natural born worrier. However I totally respect others in their choice to do so. We'll be going public hospital with a private doula :)
AFU - E has been really whiny today, not her usual self at all. I'm about to give her some lunch in hopes that it picks her mood up a bit, but so far it's been a tough one today.
HowCrazyCool
02-02-2010, 14:31
elleandmum. Hope the lunch helps. and the rest of the day picks up a bit.
I really feel at one with the idea of birthing at home. I freak out a bit when i think of having a baby at a hospital. But i find that most home births are done after a hospital birth. And wonder if i can do my first at home. if i personally can do it. i guess i think that about labor full stop.
narribri
02-02-2010, 14:38
Stevi - no home birth here, the idea freaks me out, I'm a natural born worrier. However I totally respect others in their choice to do so. We'll be going public hospital with a private doula :)
Sums up my feelings in a nutshell. I think it's a lovely idea, but I could never do it as I worry too much. I hate hospitals and stay away from them as a rule, but I believe it's the safest place to birth my baby.
We will be going public, with a doula or student midwife to help out DH.
HowCrazyCool
02-02-2010, 14:49
also i handle pain differently. I need to go in on my self and have quite and no annoying people annoying me or people get yelled at. So i feel home is the best place to do that. I don't think i would get the best patient award when at hospital. But that being said. My mum had pre-eclampsia for the last month with me and was in hospital. If my baby is at any risk i will be at the hospital in a second.
I like the idea of birthing in the hospital with a doula or midwife. Like your own personal guard and protector. And to support these men!!!:D
narribri
02-02-2010, 14:52
also i handle pain differently. I need to go in on my self and have quite and no annoying people annoying me or people get yelled at.
I'm like this too. I figure if the midwives get their nose snapped off a few times, they'll figure it out. Most midwives are aware that you don't talk to a labouring woman during a contraction, at any rate. My doula/student midwife and my hubby will be watching out for this, and will make sure I get left along to do my thing.
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 15:14
We were lucky with DDs birth, we had a wonderful midwife and the OB I had seen all throughout my pregnancy delivered her, he was supportive, kind and very calm throughout the whole process. I asked him at one point if he minded if I birthed on my side and he said "you can have her standing on your head if you like, just let me know what you need to do!" :laughing: We also had a student doula with us who was AMAZING! We will be hiring her for the next birth. She was so supportive of all my choices, even when I decided on an epidural, she didn't judge she made sure I was happy with the choice and then made it happen.
I think such a supportive team made for a wonderful birthing experience. I was induced and my labour was only 9 hours long with only a 50 minute second stage. I wouldn't have changed anything about it.
In other news, E has started commando crawling a few days ago, and today she crawled a few paces up on all fours for the very first time! :yelclap: So very proud of her.
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 15:18
Yes i do, just have a VERY FIRM chat with them and say you appreciate everything and if you feel you need their help you know where to call.
I was wondering, do any of you plan to home birth? Or would look into it more?
i hope after yesterday they get the point!!!
i full respect peoples choice to home birth but for me i feel safest at the hospital with my OB and DH with me...... im a worrier and after all of our issues i couldnt even consider it..... we had a student middie but she was away so didnt get to see Gus's birth but we have told her when we get preg again if she still needs "models" we are willing to have her follow us again.....
AFU - E has been really whiny today, not her usual self at all. I'm about to give her some lunch in hopes that it picks her mood up a bit, but so far it's been a tough one today.
hope shes better after some lunch!!
SquishyWishy
02-02-2010, 15:29
I agree with the others about home birthing... it's a lovely idea and I think it's great that some women do it. But for me I would be more comfortable with technology around me, people telling me what to do (i need direction to feel comfortable) and a private OB who i have consistency with and my DH of course.
In other news, E has started commando crawling a few days ago, and today she crawled a few paces up on all fours for the very first time! :yelclap: So very proud of her.
Congratulations!! How adorable!
narribri
02-02-2010, 15:31
Congratulations E! How cute!
basilmint
02-02-2010, 15:43
my gosh you guys have all been so busy since i have last been able to post... it's taken me quite a while to catch up.
mrs happy would you please put me on the front page for TTC June/July in Sydney? thanks!
as far as the latest topic goes, i will definitely be going to the hospital for labour.... i work in one, so i think that makes a difference as far as comfort levels go! errors can be made no matter where you birth but at least in a hospital there are no delays with transport or unforeseen circumstances. i totally respect those who wish for a home birth though.
AFM, i never thought i would be so excited to say this, but AF arrived yesterday!! first cycle off the pill, it was a 56 day cycle compared to a 120- something day cycle last time i went off the pill, so i am very happy i didn't have to wait that long. even though we don't want to TTC until June/July, i wanted to get my cycles back into some sort of rhythm so i can be ready to go come midyear. and, about two weeks ago i documented in FF that i thought i had some EWCM, but i wasn't 100% sure, since it was pretty thick... but since AF is now here, it must have been O two weeks ago! yay!
it means i have to reschedule my pap smear that i was going to have this week but that doesn't matter.
i normally love summer but i just want it to be over this year so that it is winter and we can start!
basilmint
02-02-2010, 16:02
oh narribri i checked out your FF chart, how exciting!
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 16:03
basilmint - good to hear your cycle is going back to normal, I made sure I had two 'normal' cycles before I started TTC. Aren't our bodies confusing? :laughing:
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 16:16
In other news, E has started commando crawling a few days ago, and today she crawled a few paces up on all fours for the very first time! So very proud of her.
:yelclap: good job E!!!!!
I agree with the others about home birthing... it's a lovely idea and I think it's great that some women do it. But for me I would be more comfortable with technology around me, people telling me what to do (i need direction to feel comfortable) and a private OB who i have consistency with and my DH of course.
:iagree:
AFM, i never thought i would be so excited to say this, but AF arrived yesterday!! first cycle off the pill, it was a 56 day cycle compared to a 120- something day cycle last time i went off the pill, so i am very happy i didn't have to wait that long. even though we don't want to TTC until June/July, i wanted to get my cycles back into some sort of rhythm so i can be ready to go come midyear. and, about two weeks ago i documented in FF that i thought i had some EWCM, but i wasn't 100% sure, since it was pretty thick... but since AF is now here, it must have been O two weeks ago! yay!
it means i have to reschedule my pap smear that i was going to have this week but that doesn't matter.
i normally love summer but i just want it to be over this year so that it is winter and we can start!
its a good idea to have a few cycles off the pill just so u can familiarise urself with whats going on thats for sure!!!
i agree bring on winter, for me i just want cooler weather, hopefully i will be preg by winter!!!! :goodvibes:
Aren't our bodies confusing?
god ur telling me!!! :laughing: all to hard for me to understand!!!
narribri
02-02-2010, 16:18
basilmint - good to hear your cycle is going back to normal, I made sure I had two 'normal' cycles before I started TTC. Aren't our bodies confusing? :laughing:
I was planning on doing this, but a nurse friend actually said to me that they don't recommend doing this anymore. The first cycle off the pill apparently provides a bit of a fertility boost, which is why they put ladies about to commence IVF on the pill for a cycle first. Having said that, some people have so much trouble coming off the pill with irregular cycles, trying to TTC under those conditions would be sooo frustrating!
basilmint - yep, very exciting, and sooo long to wait before I know.
elleandsam
02-02-2010, 16:21
DD is having her first afternoon nap for about a month :yelclap: every afternoon since DH went back to work she's fought her afternoon nap, must have been all that crawling wearing her out :p
Btw I ordered a clean shopper this morning (www.cleanshopper.com.au) and it came... this morning! I paid by direct deposit and it was hand delivered to my front door. So so so impressed. I wasn't going to buy one, but BH users get 30% off, so I thought, why not. And I have been so impressed by their customer service, and the quality of it is so impressive as well. Very very happy.
mini-moo's mummy
02-02-2010, 16:37
I was planning on doing this, but a nurse friend actually said to me that they don't recommend doing this anymore. The first cycle off the pill apparently provides a bit of a fertility boost, which is why they put ladies about to commence IVF on the pill for a cycle first. Having said that, some people have so much trouble coming off the pill with irregular cycles, trying to TTC under those conditions would be sooo frustrating!
ooohh thats interesting!! :yes: i didnt know that!!
DD is having her first afternoon nap for about a month :yelclap: every afternoon since DH went back to work she's fought her afternoon nap, must have been all that crawling wearing her out :p
Btw I ordered a clean shopper this morning (www.cleanshopper.com.au (http://www.cleanshopper.com.au)) and it came... this morning! I paid by direct deposit and it was hand delivered to my front door. So so so impressed. I wasn't going to buy one, but BH users get 30% off, so I thought, why not. And I have been so impressed by their customer service, and the quality of it is so impressive as well. Very very happy.
whoo hooo mummy time!! :laughing:
the clean shoppers look great id never seen one of them before!! might need to get one, well when i have a bub!!
MrsHappy
02-02-2010, 16:39
Elleandmum big congrats to Elle way to go, I hope she goes right back to having arvo sleeps now, was it an amazing moment for you?
Basilmint welcome back, on my phone at the moment but when I jump on tonight ill update the list for you! I am jumping off the pill in March and can't wait Congrats on getting your AF haha sounds funny! I'm the same as you about wanting time to hurry up, I'm usually a big birthday girl but this year I just want my birthday to come and go (my birthday is in may) so that I can be super close to starting!
I too love that women can have choice about where they birth but in saying that ill ne doing it in a hospital!
leajones22
02-02-2010, 16:55
I looked into having a homebirth but found it to be too expensive for us and the fact that they don't have insurance at the moment was another factor, so I will be going public but with my private ob and I will look into having a doula this time as well. And even though I need to have antibiotics for a heart condition when I am in labour (which means I am supposed to go in early) I think I will get my ob to write me a script so I can get them and take maybe 2 doses at home so I can be in my own space.
:smiliedance: woohoo elle on your crawling.
Hayley had her first Kinder session and loved it. Proud to say no tears were shed by either Hayley or Mummy.
It just took me 15 mins to catch up :laughing: I told DH I have to come on BH every night or I'll NEVER catch up. He doesn't understand! I'm thinking I might have to quit my job so I can stay home and post :laughing: Do you think being a SAHM counts with dogs?
elleandmum - great news about the pram, good on you!!! Can't wait to her the report!
Yay for E!!!!! So cute!
SpecialK - I completely understand the need for some people needing counselling, but they should just be OFFERING it not FORCING it on you! It sounds like you're coping pretty well! You must have an amazing DH! And of course we obviously help too ;) :laughing:
OMG Tieko!!!!! I almost wet myself laughing about your son. Does he sleep walk often?
Welcome back basilmint! YAY for AF!!
Thanks for reassuring me about my work situation girls! I'm a bit of a worry wart. I think it's time I start putting myself first!
DH and I met on the net :rolleyes: I hate admitting it and not many people actually know. Don't get me wrong, it's a great way to meet people but I just never thought I would.
It was on ICQ. I used to chat to a friend on there that had just moved to WA. I was waiting for her to come online one day so did a search for people to chat to in Australia and DH came up. We chatted for about a week before we met up and then were "official" a week after that. Our first date actually lasted about 8 hours. We got stuck in a freak storm together in DH's car. The roads were flooded and we couldn't get home. Luckily we liked each other!
I love the thought of a home birth, but I don't think it's me. I'd be too worried something would go wrong. It would be an amazing experience though!
I love the names everyone is thinking of!!
I'm having withdrawals on my baby item frenzy. I need to buy something else :laughing:
:eek: 5 pages since I was last online!! I'll need to settle in at home after work and catch up properly :laughing:
SquishyWishy
02-02-2010, 20:01
Ooh can I be a stay at home doggy mum too!! :laughing:
I just ordered 2 six packs of pre-seed and a pack of ten hpt's (without bulky packaging) so I can pack them for my trip.
I also ordered 2 Bubba Moe's!! The 'Sage' one for a friend and the 'Midnight Star' one for us! :p Yay, can't wait for it to come.
Mrs Happy, I hear you!! Normally can't wait for my b'day in May... but i'm far more excited about the baby thing. And I've been dreaming about going overseas my whole life and even that's being overshadowed by babies are bit. It's a bit sad really, I should just enjoy one thing at a time instead of always getting ahead of myself.
Only 8 weeks and 2 days left of work!!!:smiliedance:
steviebabynz
02-02-2010, 20:08
Oh my gosh as others having been saying - so much has been posted since I last checked. Woah :)
Might take me a bit to catch up lol.
I've been super clucky this week even over tupperware haha - all those cute little plastic spoons and plates - i think i might have gone mad
Oooh squishy a holiday sounds good!! where are you off to? i know what you mean about trying to prioritise excitement to one thing btu i am the same - babies are taking over my thoughts :)
Can't believe its Feb already - have we got many TTC starting this month??? Bet you're all excited if you are - YAY for you all
MrsHappy
02-02-2010, 21:23
I want to be a stay at home puppy mummy too, I'm sure my lil boy would love that too! stevi I am loving that it is Feb already, another month down. Come on March haha
MrsHappy
02-02-2010, 21:28
I want to be a stay at home puppy mummy too, I'm sure my lil boy would love that too! stevi I am loving that it is Feb already, another month down. Come on March haha
MrsHappy
02-02-2010, 21:55
What's up with BH tonight? I couldn't even log in on my phone.
I hate leaving my little boy every day when I go to work :( it breaks my heart. He's a 5 yr old pug but very much still puppylike. DH has a german shepherd, she's a good dog but I don't call her mine. I just can't "warm" to her.
sam's mum
02-02-2010, 22:16
I have made a new thread for you ladies here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=319414)