View Full Version : *+* Feb 09 Mummies NOVEMBER Chat *+*
Seacretsquirrel
01-11-2009, 22:52
<3 Sticky Pretty Please Mods<3
Hellooooooo Lovely Feb mummies
Well lookie here November already it will me xmas before we know it and then our babys will soon be 1 yikes!
Kate and QC hope the CC is working for you guys I am struggling with R ATM too he has been waking a lot over night too but the past few nights have been better though the CC thing is proving difficult - DD would cry for up to 20-30 mins (I couldn't do the going in after 5 mins thing with her as it would just wind her back up again so I had to let her go for a little while - not flat out bawling but that grizzly tired cry - I would go in if she didn't look like she was settling after 5 mins) anyhoo R just goes and goes and goes and doesn't settle so I am finding that I have to let him go for a while and then go back in and give him a cuddle and then he will settle - very odd child:D
Is any one elses bub really :barf: ATM R is driving me nuts after almost every meal and BF (even small ones) he is puking just a little bit each time but he is then crawling through it and playing in it which makes me want to :barf: myself. Not sure if this is normal as he is soooooo active crawling sitting and standing etc -Z was lazy in comparison she was only jsut starting to crawl at this age.
Anyway I am getting back to Castle and off to bed (With company for a change:smiliedance::valentine::smiliedance:)
Oh and KJ it is sooo not underhanded to do the CC when DH is away (I did it with ditching the dummy and again with the CC he is not great when they are crying heaps so it is better for all if I do it when it is only bugging me)
Seacretsquirrel
01-11-2009, 22:56
Oh and R now has 2 teeth (bottom Right and top left so he looks a bit like a yokel) and the other 2 are nearly there too! yikes now to curb the biting:rolleyes:
sweetseven
01-11-2009, 23:12
Nope, not spewing all the time, and only occasionally sending back a little food, but we generally get some posit a few times a day. I think it is that she is taking in a bit too much, so some has to spill back out.
She's also developed a bit of a snooty nose and I thought she was rather warm today, so she might be coming down with something.
gizmoduckus
02-11-2009, 09:40
Well hello everyone and welcome to November! I am going to try and start posting more regularly from now on. Sometimes I just get a bit lazy in that regard....
Well, let me think what has been happening with us.....
We got back from Fiji and we had a fantastic time. It was so beautiful and the wedding went really well. I hated coming back to reality. The kids did really well on the plane and I did better than what I have before. I have a fear of flying so I did some hypnosis before we left and I also took some valium. I have worked out that valium doesn't really do much for me. Has anyone ever heard of that happening? My GP said I would probably only need half a tablet or one at the most... I took 2 and I still needed to have a couple of vodkas on the way back to calm down.
L has been doing so well lately. Ever since Fiji he has come leaps and bounds with his eating. He is eating double the amount than what he was before and is now eating other stuff apart from purees. Fingers crossed that he will start putting on weight again because for awhile he wasn't.
He has also started to pull himself up onto his knees and yesterday DH found him in his cot sitting up. He also started waving hello this morning. I just love when they learn new things, it is just so exciting.
Aaaaaannndddd..... we now have two teeth! It definitely has been an eventful week for him this week.
I am already trying to organise L's 1st birthday. December is too busy to do anything so I thought I would get started early. We are having a sesame street theme and I need to get started on making the decorations. It is going to be quite a big party (:o) so I really need to get cracking..... Has anyone else thought of what they are going to do yet?
BoyCrazy
02-11-2009, 17:24
hello everyone!!!mymymy havent we been a quiet bunch lately!?! where is everyone hiding? I hope all the feb mummies and bubbies are well & happy!
Giz- gosh i havent even started thinking about the 1st birthday!!! omg, its a fantastic idea, i should get organised...spose i should organise christmas first tho, lol..im very good at procrastinating!! lol. Yay to L for his new found activities!
SS-yay for rileys teeth!! :yelclap: does he bite? my little man chomped me again last week when he got his latest tooth, omg it still hurts now!
well my little man is 9mths old tomorrow! :eek: where has that time gone???? he is waving hello/goodbye, says mama and babba, has 9 teeth, claps hands, commandos (but not proper crawling) and can sit himself up. its not gonna be long before all our little bubbas will be walking!!!
not much else going on, am trying to plan a bbq for my DFs 31st bday, in late november..and then xmas after that, then a month off (january) then Jasper will be 1! arrgggh! craziness..
oh and me and df have decided to try for no3 ;)
gizmoduckus
02-11-2009, 17:41
oh and me and df have decided to try for no3 ;)
Whoohoo! I was actually thinking of asking when everyone was thinking of having the next one.
We are planning on having 3 but we haven't decided when yet. On one hand, I like the age difference between my 2 boys. On the other hand, it took me nearly a year to fall pregnant with L. Soooo basically that means that I have no idea.:laughing:
It doesn't help that I have started to get really clucky again....
KJ Good luck with the CC. I hope you can get it started while DH is away and that when he returns he will support you.
QC Good luck with your 'useful' person. Congrats on T sleeping through the night and G calming down in the mornings.
Gizmo Congrats on L's eating. We have thought about Miss K's birthday as well. We are having it on Saturday 13th of Feb, the day before Valentines day.
The pictures from the wedding look beautiful. I'm glad you all went well.
BC How exciting! I am really clucky. DH and I are planning to TTC in February when Miss K is 1. It took us two months to conceive last time so :fingerscrossed: it only takes that long this time.
AFU I'm exhausted :sleeping: Feel like I have been on the go and haven't stopped since last Wednesday when work finished. My status on FB yesterday was 'is exhausted and feels like she hasn't stopped since finishing work last Wednesday. K's paed appointment, GymbaROO, Erica visiting, Federation meeting, out to dinner, food shopping, swimming lesson, Curves, visit Aunty Trina, present shopping, Bec's 21st party, visit family, take Erica to train, ...lunch with Ashlee and Tianna (including a bike ride and swimming), school work. Sleep is emminent (spelling?)!'
Miss K's paed appointment went well. He said that the constipation isn't a major illness so that is good. He has given us some medicine to give her once a day until she poos once a day for a month and then reduce the dose until she doesn't need it anymore. He said that she has been constipated this long and it could take just as long to fix it. We've reduced her medicine a little because in the last two days she has poo'd five times and they have been big runny poonami's. We made the decision to reduce because we don't want to take her to opposite end and have her end up with diaherra.
The thing that concerns me is he is a bit concerned about the alignment of her hips. She has to have an ultrasound and xray to see if there is a problem.
My niece's 21st party was great. I think that Miss K was adored by everyone. Many photos were taken when we were boogying on the dance floor. It was very cute that she slept for a while and woke when the cake was cut.
We are having new professional photos taken in a fortnight. One of the months from GBAGM's Newcastle group is a photographer is doing some free sittings to update her portfolio. We are having some done in a Newcastle park and some at a beach. DH is chuffed because it is a casual shoot and he is allowed to wear jeans and a black shirt.
Time for a hot chocolate and to take my book to bed. Hope everyone is going well.
Seacretsquirrel
02-11-2009, 18:33
Nope no number 3 in this house (it nearly was with Riley and that was a wee bit scary when I am on my own so much)
Yay for new found skills Riley now stands in his cot so we are on the hunt for a big bed for him (or a new bed for Zahlia and he can have her old one not sure yet) I am about ready to kill our cot as the side is a royal PITA to get up and down and now that he can stand I can't ever leave it down cause he pulls up on it and if he did that in the down position it falls off:hair: (yet another reason for a big bed)
Giz - I am thinking maybe a jungle theme for R's birthday but I need to get through Zahlia's first and I am not really sure what I will do esp since DH will be away so it will be just Riley and I and perhaps my GF and her 2 ratbags (as her DH will be away too) I think we are going with a gingerbread house for the cake but I haven't thought beyond that - hmmm really should think about it soon - though we were talking today about bringing it forward a couple of weeks and doing it before DH leave (around the end of Nov) she won't know and it also puts more than a week between present fests! and most importantly he gets to celebrate with her (us)!
Ummm not much else happening for the moment Hope you are all doing great!
Lateralus
03-11-2009, 11:03
Happy November lovely ladies... It's hard to believe that it's almost Christmas again :eek: It seems like only yesterday we were bemoaning cankles, back pain, sleeplessness and wondering who would go off first!!
Giz glad to hear you had a great time in Fiji... I LOOOOOOOVE Fiji.. we went there for our honeymoon. It is easy to forget about the rest of the world when you're there isn't it! Hope the transition back into reality isn't too painful! A cocktail in the evenings with a slice of pineapple and a tiny little umbrella in it seem to help the transition :laughing:
BC How exciting that you & DF will be TTC soon... Do keep us posted!! And happy 3/4 birthday to Jasper!!
SS what are you doing on BH when your DH is home??? :valentine:
Zeph glad to hear that K's paed appointment went ok and that there is no serious cause of the constipation. Good luck with her hip ultrasound. When is it? My niece had to have one of those & all was fine - I think they are ultra cautious about checking for clicky hips in the LOs.. So lets hope it's a false alarm! Hope you get to recover from your hectic weekend too... Phew - I felt exhausted just reading all that you did!
AFU I am really pleased with the results of our "operation sleep soundly" so far. The first night she settled at 7:30pm - woke at 10:15pm and cried for 35 minutes (with intermittent comforting) and then slept 'till 2:30 - fed & then slept 'till 7:30am! And last night slept from 7:30pm 'till 1am, fed then and then woke at 5:30am and after a breakfast feed slept 'till 8:30!!! My 'rules' for this week were that she could have one feed overnight, and the first feed of the day could be anytime from 5:30am onwards... So far we have easily achieved those goals with minimal fuss! If she continues to go well with the one feed overnight, will try and phase that out next week. One feed overnight is so much more managable than 3 though - so even if we stay on 1 feed overnight for a while, I'll be happy with that.
I think DH was stoked with the results that I got with just one night of the CCing... I think now that he can see the major results we have had from just one CCing session (that's all she's needed - she's settled herself each other time) he is 100% behind it :smiliedance:
quitecontrary
03-11-2009, 15:06
Oh I am so glad that Kate put the link through to the new thread - and it seems you are all chattering away here which is good to see. I started thinking that our thread was coming to an end before our bubs even hit their first birthdays!!
BC good on you for even contemplating ttc! We talk about it all the time, and even though I am old I want to have a Christmas where I'm not pg for a change! Plus I like the age difference between our two, so I think we'll be giving it a birl in the new year. I think my family are horrified but I'll be the one having the baby.
KJ pleased to hear that things have improved with Z's sleeping. Last night T woke up at 3 and wouldn't settle without a little feed, but it was because G had woken up and called out for us twice in 10 minutes.
SS wow to considering a Big Bed for Mr R already! T is still in our room and we have no real intention to move him out for quite a while.
Hmmm, Toby's birthday party. Well, we will have to have one for him, even if he is a bit of a Nigel-No-Mates, this is what happens with the 2nd bub, no mothers group etc. But he does have a few cousins and older friends who adore him so I think it will be okay!!
Oh, things went really well with my mother's help - she got on really well with Gen and I even managed to get out to the Doc's for T's overdue immunisation shots just with the lad. So, she is coming again on Thursday. Worth every cent!
GBAGM I agree with Kate. Maybe feed her before you go out and then let her play for a while before she sleeps. Maybe you could also offer her a dream feed when you get home in case she gets hungry earlier because of the earlier feed? Good luck and enjoy your night out!
Kate Thanks for the wishes with the hip ultrasound and xray. I was meant to ring and make an appointment today but things with work got in the way. I'm hoping that we will get an appointment on Thursday or Friday.
I currently have nothing planned for this weekend except for gymbaroo, swimming and food shopping. And I'm planning to keep it that way.
Congrats with the CC and settling! Good luck and I hope that it continues! I'm extra pleased for you that your DH is now on side.
AFU Today was another hectic day at work. Tomorrow I have a day off to plan things. I'll still be at work but someone else will be doing my job, so I'm looking forward to that.
hello hello...I have been that naughty reader-non-poster again!! Sorry!!
Will just keep it quick...
BC - we would love to TTC soon, but I dont seem to ovulate while BFing. I didnt get my period until I had fully weaned DS after he was a year old. I don't intend on stopping BF just to possibly TTC... But I would looooove to have a smaller gap this time (althought I have loooooved this age gap). By the way I cant believe Jazzy has NINE teeth!!!!!!
KJ - I have also found Leila to be a dud sleeper...She actually does sleep well at night, but she is hard to get to sleep. We tend to break ALL the rules and I feed her off to sleep or DH rocks her...DS was the BEST self settler, so its weird having such an unsettled fall-asleeper. She has pretty full on seperation anxiety and I just dont know what to do...Do you leave them, do you not, that is the question!!! arrrgggggg
I have a holiday job just to earn a little bit of cash for Chrissy pressies for the kids. Just selling calendars in one of those calendar stalls for 10 weeks. They have given me 3 hour shifts every odd day, so that Im not away from the kids for too long and I dont need to express. DH is only working PT and the semester finishes as of this week!!! Thank GOOOOODNESS!!!
Anyway better run...will try my best to stay in touch and post!!!!
gonnabeaGR8mum
03-11-2009, 19:28
have decided to make a concerted effort to post in here more regularly ;) so here goes nothing
I'm sorry to hear Zoe was unwell last week Kate- Glad it didn't bother her too much though. How is the sleep re-training going?
QC - how are you going with the closing of the 24hr buffet service? the arrangement with the friend sounds good. some days i would love to have someone to jsut carry Elianna around after me :laughing: and i'm sure it will be great for G to have someone to play with her too.
s7 - your baby girl is amazing with her speaking, we're only just now begining to get sounds like "mum-mum" "dad-dad" "bub-bub" and "there :confused:"
i have a bit of a dilema at the moment. We have jsut about got Elianna sorted into a proper night-time routine, she wakes from her last nap of the day around 5/5:30 has dinner around 5:45/6 then a play with daddy til 6:45/7 then bath, boob, bed where she will sleep through til about 5:30 (and i re-settle her til 6:45 which is the earliest i will feed her in an attempt to get her to learn to sleep-in that little bit longer). i feel like we have really made progress and i'm happy with how it is going. Only thing is tomorrow night we have to go out to a conference dinner for DH's work and we'll need to leave here around 6 ish. Now Elianna refuses to take a bottle at all and can smell out formula in her sippy cup at 100 paces. i have been trying to express (which she used to take out of a sippy cup quite happily) but i guess my body is just too efficient and i'm not getting any out so i'm stuck with not knowing how to feed her before bed when i'll be 50km away.
my only thought at the moment is to move her whole routine forward an hour tomorrow so that she is going to bed just before 6, do you think this will ruin the routine we've got going at the moment? does anyone have any other ideas? _______
still alive- i have been having problems posting so this is only a test... anyone else with problems with BH and Firefox? Only a test at this point, if it works, more tomorrow :)
:goodvibes:
MumNeedsCoffee
03-11-2009, 22:04
:wave: Hi all,
I've only looked in the Feb 09 Mummies Chat once before but thought I'd better pop in here to check out what's going on with babies the same age as my Jadey baby.
gizmoduckus
03-11-2009, 22:05
GBAGM - Does she need to be feed to sleep? If she doesn't then I would just feed her before you leave and still put her down at around the same time. If she does need to be fed to sleep, then the only thing I can think of is to put her down earlier and then maybe give her a dreamfeed when you get home.
I know that is probably not good advice but they were the only alternatives I could think of.
gizmoduckus
03-11-2009, 22:11
:wave: Hi all,
I've only looked in the Feb 09 Mummies Chat once before but thought I'd better pop in here to check out what's going on with babies the same age as my Jadey baby.
:wave: and welcome! Stick around this time. We always need people to chat to....
MumNeedsCoffee
03-11-2009, 22:42
:wave: and welcome! Stick around this time. We always need people to chat to....
Thanks, I will stick around. It's so exciting to hear about our babies learning new things and good to discuss problem solving with bubs at the same age.
So I read through the previous posts in this thread and thought I'd join in
DD got her 2 bottom teeth at the 6 month mark and no more yet
She learnt to wave a couple of days ago :) and says Da da da da da
No :barf:from Jadey, that stopped months ago
:sleeping: is good, she slept from around 7:30 last night, a bottle at 10pm, and slept until 8am :smiliedance:
We were having issues with her escaping from her wrap but then not being able to sleep unwrapped but she's sorted that out herself
We are housebound alot at the moment, DD has an issue with her eye and is really sensitive to light. She can tolerate being taken outside for only short periods of time, eg to the car, she will bury her head in my shoulder. The car has a really dark window tint and we bought window shades for her. Any longer than that and she starts crying and takes a really long time to settle down. Me and DP share a car which he uses to get to work, and he's working alot lately and public transport is not an option due to the light issue. Sooooo my point is I was reallly jealous when I saw your post about just getting back from Fiji.
Although DP is doing 5 night shifts this week so I've been escaping out to Mum's during the day, so after so much time stuck in these walls it's been like a holiday to Fiji :)
Hope to get to know you all as I keep an eye on this thread.
I already know GBAGM as she invited me to a Mummies meet which I've not been able to make it to yet.
Lateralus
04-11-2009, 12:50
:wave: welcome skyeby80 - the more the merrier! Looking forwards to hearing about all your parenting adventures!
Far out it's a stinker here today... the thermometer in town said 40 degrees when I drove past at 11am (although I suspect it may have been over exaggerating a bit). We had swimming lesson this morning and contemplating another dip this afternoon. We had planned to do some gardening but it's just too hot!
Settling & Sleeping is still going really well with just one feed overnight... I am so stoked! Am going to try to settle her without that feed overnight next week... baby steps..
We had a little bit of excitement last night when I left Zoe for 30 seconds to take the bins out and came back in to find her chewing on a cockroach bait station :eek: I washed her mouth out with water (didn't she love that - NOT) and gave the poison information line a quick bell - thankfully they said that the worse effect she might get from it was some nausea. It still makes me shudder to think about it though. This morning I have ordered a play pen... It's too risky to have her free ranging when I do not have my eyes glued on her all the time (which is impossible to do especially when DH goes away for a week at a time for work). I am not 100% keen on the idea of a play pen - but I think it as been proven that it is a bit of a necessary evil. On the up side, it will mean we can drag it outside and plonk her in the shade while I work in the garden... something that's been impossible to do since she has started rolling and crawling... I have missed getting my hands dirty in the garden :smiliedance:
Oh, & some good news... I got a letter accepting my application to extend my maternity leave :flowerz: So now don't have to go back to work 'till late february...
quitecontrary
04-11-2009, 15:57
Just a quick one. Kate, we have a playpen for T and I'm about to set it up again for him. There is no way I can watch him all the time with G here as well. We also have just a simple old wooden one for the garden, means he can still eat dirt but in an enclosed spot.
Eek, G is screaming - more later!
Lateralus
05-11-2009, 10:25
hello ladies...
WE SLEPT THROUGH THE NIGHT LAST NIGHT!!!! 8:30pm 'till 630am!! Albeit that was after an hour of crying, but I am stoked! The only thing is - Zoe is quite subdued this morning, so I hope that does not mean she is getting sick :fingerscrossed:
Had fun in the garden this morning establishing my new compost bin (yes - sit down - the excitement might be too much)... Something strangely satisfying about getting dirty in the garden!
MumNeedsCoffee
05-11-2009, 10:55
hello ladies...
WE SLEPT THROUGH THE NIGHT LAST NIGHT!!!! 8:30pm 'till 630am!! Albeit that was after an hour of crying, but I am stoked! The only thing is - Zoe is quite subdued this morning, so I hope that does not mean she is getting sick :fingerscrossed:
:smiliedance: How lovely is a full nights rest :)
gizmoduckus
05-11-2009, 10:56
:yelclap: Yay Zoe! Super sleeping effort!
I need some advice.... well sort of..... I need to know if you would be worried, if you were me.
As most of you know, L has had quite a rough start with his feeding. About a month of two ago he wasn't gaining any weight (9.6kg) and he really didn't eat much solids. Sent an email to the pediatrician who said that sometimes it is normal around this age not to gain any weight.
While we were in Fiji, something just clicked with L and all of a sudden he started eating and he has been doing really well since. At the end of our stay there we weighed him and he was weighing 10.1kgs, so we got excited.
2 days ago we thought we would weigh him again because he was doing so well and he weighed 9.4kgs. This means that even though he is eating, he's losing weight.
What do you think is going on? We have an appointment with the pediatrician in December but I don't know if we should wait until then to voice our concerns or if we should send him another email.
What would you all do?
Seacretsquirrel
05-11-2009, 11:28
K-J Well done to zojo on the sleeping front and also to you on getting your hands dirty!
Giz - is he still BF (I can't remember) I was reading in another thread about BF bubs doing a bit of a speedy weight gain until 6 months then it slowing down (more growth spurts) where as FF bubs are a bit more of a consistent up curve - not sure how true it is but it might explain the drop/plateau.
R is 8.5 and has been that for a while now (BF and doing rather well on solids - 3.7kg at birth) but he has really leaned out since he started crawling and pulling himself up his wee fat legs have leaned out heaps. Miss Z was much smaller too and she did huge plateaus she didn't gain much between 6-12 months and then nothing at all (10.4 kg + or - 200g ) between 12 and 24 months then she has gained then in Jan she jumped to 11.6 kg and now at nearly 3 she is about 13 kg. So I think so long as he is happy, alert, doing all the right things I wouldn't stress too much about the weight. (unless there are other medical issues of course) he may have just done his weight growth for a bit then will have a spurt soon.
Mine seem to do this - they get very round in the face before shooting up in weight and height.
Welcome JDandMe I second the stick around and chat we are a bit hit and miss in here we go great guns for a bit then it becomes a bit of a ghost town. - oh and most of us are on FB too so if you want to befriend us on there send a PM!
AFU - Well instead of buying R a big bed we have bought Z a new one. It was too good a bargain all the ones we were looking at for R were really expensive (over $500 for just a really plain wood bed) so we were checing out Freedom on the off chance that they had something reasonable and low and behold they had a funky silver filigree bed on sale for $99 so we ar going to pop R in Z's old bed (it is jsut plain whit wood) and she will get her new one when we do that. Not sure when but I think I'll get DH to put it up soon so that if R looks like getting out anytime soon I can do the switch with out having to try to put a bed together by myself (not to mention moving the bookcases etc into the new rooms).
R now has 4 teeth - I forgot how big the front top teeth look intheir little mouths:laughing:
He is still waking once a night for a feed but has dropped the morning one so we are running a breakfast- BF (morning tea) - Lunch -BF (Arvo tea) - Dinner - bath - BF - Bed - dreamfeed - then a between midnight and 4am feed..... oh well it seems to work for him :sleeping:
Uuuumm not much else happening here other than I am considering selling my P&T pram to a GF but I am just not sure if I should - Z never wants to be in it anymore and I rarely use it for DS on his own as the quicksmart is easier. but there is a slim chance we will be moving to Brisbane in the near future (depending on when DH changes to become an officer) where I would be able to do more walking - it is just tooooo hot here even at 7am. But I think that by then R will be in the little trike thing with a handle rather than the big pram anyway - :hair::hair: I just don't know what to do - or how much to charge her conssidering it is only 2 years old, in pretty good nick and comes with the coocoon, covers and toddler seat and cost us over $800 new - do you think $400/$450 is too much??????
Hope you are all having a good day
----- Oh and DH is at work so that is why I am on here:p
gizmoduckus
05-11-2009, 13:56
L is on prescription formula which is different than breastmilk and different from ordinary formula so I really don't know what I should expect to be normal.
SS, I think that $400 is reasonable if it is in really good shape.
JDandMe WELCOME! Make sure you do stay around! If you are on FB PM us your details so we can all add you.
Sorry to hear about Jade's eye issues. Do you know what causes it? Can it be resolved?
KateJo Glad to hear that Zoe's sleeping is still going well. We are in the process of getting another playpen for Miss K. She spends three days a week in DH's office while I am at work and she is moving around so much that she ends up under his desk playing with the cords. He is worried that one day she will bite through the cords and electrocute herself. Congrats on the extension of your maternity leave!
Gizmo Miss K put on a heap of weight when she started solids and then plataued. She has only put on 0.5kgs in the last three to four months, which is good when she was on the 125th percentile for weight and height. When I first read your post I was going to say that putting on a bit of weight with solids is a good thing but I'd be a little concerned about the weight loss. One kilo is a big loss.
SS Congrats on the deal with Z's new bed! And if I was near you I'd buy your P&T for $400/$450 if it was in good shape.
AFU We have an appointment next Tuesday for Miss K's ultrasound and x-ray on her hip. We were really lucky because the call before mine was the cancellation for next week otherwise we would of had to wait till December.
*pity party coming* I had a weigh and measure at the gym today and I am so disappointed in my result. I have put on 3kgs and many centimetres. I need to exercise more and stop eating. I'm starting to feel like nothing I am doing is working in this area at the moment.
MumNeedsCoffee
05-11-2009, 19:01
Ok here goes, apologies for the long post but here's whats been going on and you'll probably find me whinging in this group about the trouble with Jade's eye, as I do in other groups.
Jade started treatment for presumed congenital glaucoma when she was 4, nearly 5 months old.
For those who haven't heard of this before -
A disorder of the eye in which increased pressure within the eye produces pain and varying degrees of loss of vision if left untreated.
It is usually the result of incorrect or incomplete development of the eye’s drainage canals during the prenatal period.
She was due to have an operation to treat this when it was first discovered but it couldn't proceed due to a bleed within the eye. The surgeon said he had never seen a glaucoma case with an eye bleed.
After months on eye drops to reduce the pressure and treat the bleed we finally booked in for the second attempt at the operation.
That was on 20 October. It was a different surgeon this time, and we got called back shortly after Jade went into theatre and told that Jade had another eye bleed. This surgeon suspected Jade had Juvenile Xanthogranuloma (JXG). We got confirmation that this is the case last Tuesday after the results came back from the fluid and blood taken from her eye.
I don't really know how to explain JXG, if you're curious and on Facebook then type it in the search and you'll come across a support group with the many varied accounts of JXG.
For us it means that Jade has a lesion in her eye which bleeds periodically causing secondary glaucoma. We have more specialist visits before we find out what this means for the future.
The good news is that JXG usually spontaneously regresses by 4-5 years.
When Jade is having pain due to her eye she will cry almost all day, she becomes really sensitive to light, she has one eye bigger than the other due to the glaucoma but this was much more noticeable before and seems to have reduced so the new treatment must be working, the eye is cloudy, she has experienced some vision loss due to the damage already done but we will not know the extent until she is older. We sometimes have wins when her medication is changed and life almost gets back to normal, but then something happens like just this Tuesday I took her to the doctors as her eye looked very swollen and she's had another bleed.
On another topic, I am on Facebook so I'll send you a PM and have some more FB friends :)
quitecontrary
05-11-2009, 20:47
JD good to see you hear, sorry to hear about your dd's JXG, it sounds like a lot to deal with/work out.
KJ yay to composting - I understand your joy completely.
zeph oh no to the pity party. I go to weight watchers - and the gym - and I hear your annoyance. I need ww as it keeps me on the straight and (getting) narrow(er).
giz - demand a re-weigh! I am sure that Liam isn't going backwards with his weight.
SS I wouldn't be too keen on selling the P&T, they are great and if you do move to somewhere where you can walk to get places/ exercise you won't be wanting to push the little bike thing, esp if there are hills! Just my thoughts - we wouldn't survive without our vibe, both the kids are in it all the time, G has no choice in the matter, much to her disgust.
We had a busy old day today. Playgroup this morning - such a wet weather expedition for us, but it cleared up before we were heading home. Our helper came again this afternoon, and boy did she earn her keep - I got back from my chores and both the kids were up and leading her a merry dance.
Tomorrow we're off to the gym/creche in the morning, and I think we are going to have a new family habit of dinner down at the pub in Coogee on Friday nights. I am looking forward to it already.
Hope you're all doing well!
sweetseven
05-11-2009, 23:59
KJ Congrats on sleeping through. Now is there any chance Zoe might have some words to my little girl. It has been more than a week that she still hasn't been asleep by 1am (when I give up and take her to bed with me). Tonight I finally got her off at 11:30pm tonight. Yippee. Now I'm just waiting for the uniforms to finish their wash cycle so I can hang them up and go to bed.
giz Welcome back. As for the weight gain in Fiji and then loss again here, is there any chance that a different diet may've impacted things?
SS I've seen P&T's go for $350-$600 on ebay, so I think $400-$450 sounds reasonable. I also saw a couple of kids recently on a 2seater (one behind the other) ride-on toy with a handle for the parents to push, and it looked a much better alternative to a pram. I commented to the father who was pushing it, and he mentioned that it was narrower and more manouverable than a pram also.
Zeph I understand your pity party. I was recently looking at clothes with Miss15 and Miss10 and everything I tried on either didn't fit properly or made me look huge. The only thing I found that fit well and looked good was a size 16 skirt, and I refused to buy it because I'm not ready to accept size 16 yet. (It was a big thing for me to accept size 14 a few years back.)
Lateralus
06-11-2009, 15:40
Giz this may be a silly question... but was L weighed on the same scales when there was the big difference in weights? A lot of the time scales are calibrated differently and you can get significantly different readings. Also.. was this a bare weight? Clothing or a wet or dirty nappy can cause a discrepancy between two different weigh ins... Like some of the others have said.. As long as he is happy and meeting all his developmental milestones, perhaps don't get too worries about a one-off dip in his weight! (Oh, and great news that he seems a bit more keen on his grub!!)
Lateralus
06-11-2009, 18:07
had to sign off before I had finished before...
JDandMe sorry to hear about wee Jade's eye condition... It must be so frustrating that the surgery's were cancelled because of the bleeds :( Good news that the JXG regresses when they get a bit older... Hopefully they can find a good balance with her medications so that she is comfortable & that minimal damage is done! :hugs:
Zeph hang in there with the exercise!! Even if you don't seem to be losing weight you are doing wonders for your cardiovascular system!! I am sure some weight loss will happen eventually - just hang in there!
QC woohoo - love a family ritual! Have fun at the Coogee Hotel.. make sure you don't order a chocolate icecream though :p
SweetS hope DD starts treating you to some early nights soon!
AFU another all night sleep through last night :smiliedance: 7pm 'till 630am! then a quick feed and back to bed 'till 8am... felt like I had won the lottery!
We went and looked at a childcare place today.. Am having a bit of a dilemma because there are no positions at any of the child care places in town, but am looking at places a bit closer to my work... I am feeling so anxious about leaving her with someone else. The one that looks the best so far is an ABC center.. of course they have 'that' stigma attached to them... But my gut instinct is that it's the best one we seen. But - a few more to look at still.
quitecontrary
06-11-2009, 20:42
KJ eek - rest assured that we are going to the other pub in Coogee! And we go and get a paddlepop afterwards! Yay to Zoe sleeping through again.
Thoughts please - I have been giving T a dream feed or he stirs before we go to bed and I feed him then, and he has been basically going straight back to sleep. He then sleeps through, with perhaps a few grumbles around 3 (which wasn't his usual wake up anyway) til after 5. Just wondering if I should drop the dream feed now that he is 8 months old? He is still in our room and I don't imagine he'll be going anywhere else til after we come back from England in Feb. So I know he is going to hear us come in to bed etc, not that he wakes fully then anyway.
Enough on that.
We had a lovely day. Went in and picked up dh after work and had dinner at the pub on the beach, and then we went and sat on the beach and made sandcastles before paddlepops and home! Toby had a great old time holding court in the highchair at the pub with his 3 tooth grin!
MumNeedsCoffee
07-11-2009, 13:44
Zeph I understand your pity party. I was recently looking at clothes with Miss15 and Miss10 and everything I tried on either didn't fit properly or made me look huge. The only thing I found that fit well and looked good was a size 16 skirt, and I refused to buy it because I'm not ready to accept size 16 yet. (It was a big thing for me to accept size 14 a few years back.)
Decided to finally buy a pair of jeans yesterday, just squeezed into Size 16 but only cause they're stretchy.
Is it just me or does it seem like everyone one else just pops back to their skinny selves post-baby?
I was on Reductil for a month which was working well but it's expensive
Hi Everyone, I am fairly new here. I have a bubba that was born on the 2nd of Feb. His name is Jordyn. I also have a daughter Chelsea who is 10.
Lateralus
07-11-2009, 18:39
:wave: Hi Bindy & welcome! The more the merrier in here!
Hi Bindy :-) Welcome! Looking forward to getting to know you and your bub. You'll find the ladies here very friendly and supportive. My DD Miss K was born on Feb 16th.
sweetseven
08-11-2009, 00:31
Welcome Bindy. Sometimes we can be quite chatty and othertimes days can go past without a word. Hopefully you'll feel that you fit in and see the similarities in all our bubs.
As for me, my bub had gone to sleep tonight, YAY, so I'm off to try and get some sleep whilst I can.
quitecontrary
08-11-2009, 20:06
Welcome Bindy! My little due-in-Feb came in March but I've stuck around here anyway!
JD I am still not back to my pre-preg weight, 5 kg to go, but even then its not where I want to be weight-wise. Haven't been skinny for a loooong time!
Well, last night T didn't even grumble at 4 - I could hardly believe it! And he didn't wake for First Breakfast til about 5.45 which was amazing. He does go back to sleep after that - until his sis comes and joins us generally between 6 and 7.
We've had a lovely weekend. Yesterday we went and looked at lounges - and have decided on what we like, but we're going to have to wait until we do our first extension/reno - whenever that actually happens. Maybe it won't be too long now we've seen the lounge suite! Then we headed over to the gallery in Newtown where dh's latest artwork is installed so we could have a look and he could meet with the artist. Then we had thai for lunch with the others, did a bit of shopping and headed home with two sleeping kids!
This morning we went down to my parents for breakfast and a bit of a relax. Nice to spend some time with them just by ourselves, they are usually entertaining a cast of thousands down there it seems!
Hope you've all had lovely weekends!
Purplebird
09-11-2009, 08:16
Hi everyone :)
Another one here who has been reading and not posting. I promise I'll make a bit more of an effort. Actually, it's been nice not having as much time on t'internet - I seem to get heaps more done!
Cam is doing well, although not at the moment as he has tonsilitis, poor love. He is still not crawling, but he gets around by dragging his legs behind him - he looks like a caterpillar. Very happy that he's not yet moving far :) He's not as keen on food as his sister was, but that's not a bad thing. Last week we cut out the 2 am feed succesfully by DH settling him, but since he's been ill his sleep has gone pear shaped again. I'm sure we'll get back on track (only to have it all stuffed up again by jetlag at christmas, lol)
Number 3 - we are still undecided, it's a bit of a heart/head thing here. I would love another baby, but realisitically I am fed up with being tired and I don't think I could do the sleep deprivation thing again.
Anywho, sorry for the lack of personals, hope you're all well and I'll catch up properly soon :)
quitecontrary
09-11-2009, 12:09
PB - good to see you here again! How is the new house going? Bet you're loving it! I hear you on cracking the overnight feed only to have it rear its ugly head again. I keep telling myself he's not a baby forever. I understand the 3rd baby dilemma - I think thats why little ones are so blessedly cute around 1, so their parents go "Oh, how lovely, lets have another one"!
I have two sleeping little ones here at the moment, after a lovely morning feeding the ducks in Centennial Park - so lovely! The house is a shamozzle - I slept in this morning (7.30!) after having a strange overnight with a Toby who wasn't really upset just a bit grumbly. I staved off feeding him til 4.30 as I knew it wouldn't make much difference to him - for once I actually got him up and nursed him in the rocking chair without feeding him and he wasn't looking for it. He's fine of course, and I am much better with the extra rest - G came in at 6am which was just a bit too early for this Mumma today. I ended up going to her bed til they all got up, then I went back to my own!
He's grumbling now so I suppose I should attend to him!
Hope you're all going well, we are having a lovely sunny day here in Sydney Town!
gonnabeaGR8mum
09-11-2009, 16:44
Welcome Bindy :yelclap: i look forward to hearing all about your little man.
QC- we have dropped the dreamfeed and Eli goes from 7:30 til 5:30 ish and then i stretch her a bit longer. If i thought it'd help i'd put the dreamfeed back into the routine just to get some more sleep in the morning.
all this talk of fitting into a size 16 and coming to terms with being bigger than pre-pregnancy is depressing, i'd love to be a size 16!, me and my size 18s have been friends for a while now (didn't change throughout pregnancy) and i just don't think the friendship is ending any time soon lol. but i do feel your pain. the weight just won't budge grrrr!
poor little Cameron PB, i can't imagine Eli having Tonsilitis, it would be horrible for them :(
we've been going well here, Eli is finally saying "mum" "dad-dad" and "hello (while laughing and waving, usually about 15-20 min AFTER arriving somewhere!)". She has started cruising the furniture and pulling everything she can reach onto the floor :hair:. She's still doing her funny one-footed crawl but she's very very fast now lol.
We've been sleeping a lot better too, only i can't seem to break the 4/5am wake-up habit. i've been holding off feeding her til 6:30 ish in the hope that she'll give up waking so early but to no avail.:sleeping:
re: next bubba
we are thinking we'll wait til Eli is about 2 before trying again. if it takes as long as last time she will be 4-5 before we have another, but if it doesn't a nearly 3 year age gap is perfectly acceptable to us :D
sweetseven
09-11-2009, 19:24
I've been wondering if perhaps this bubs lack of sleeping might be due a gluten intolerance (as is the case with some of my other children). Since I have been lazy with her food lately and her diet has consisted predominantly of cereal and yoghurt.
So yesterday, I bought polenta as a substitute instead of cereal. Last night, she went to bed at 1:30am. Tonight, she has gone down at 6pm. Fingers crossed she stays there.
quitecontrary
09-11-2009, 21:19
S7 - I hope that the polenta does the trick - it must be lovely to have your bub in bed at 6 instead of 1am. I bought some polenta the other day too - must make some up for Toby soon!
GBAGM - I think that I would drop the dream feed if Toby wasn't in our bedroom, he stirs when we come in to bed. As for stringing out the bub in the morning - I don't know! G wakes up between 6 and 7 and it doesn't matter when she goes to bed, or what time we actually get up and give her breakfast, and she's 2!! Toby at least has the good manners to go back to sleep after his first breakfast!
sweetseven
10-11-2009, 00:22
QC Yes, it was much easier to cook dinner for everyone else without bub being demanding. Unfortunately, it didn't last and she got up at 8:30 and here I am trying to settle her after midnight again.
GR8 My apologies for stirring up the unwelcome subject. I think it is one that has been gnawing at the back of my mind for awhile now, and I'm just finally starting to accept it, and talking about it is forcing me to stop ignoring it.
PB Aww, poor baby. It always seems so unfair when little ones are hurting.
gonnabeaGR8mum
10-11-2009, 07:28
GR8 My apologies for stirring up the unwelcome subject. I think it is one that has been gnawing at the back of my mind for awhile now, and I'm just finally starting to accept it, and talking about it is forcing me to stop ignoring it.
its ok hon, i was just thinking how nice it would be to fit into a 14 or 16 clothes. its funny how we're never satisfied though. i'm sure if i had gone up a couple of sizes i'd wish to be back in my 18s again, just as if by some miracle i managed to get into 16s i wouldn't be satisifed and i'd want to be a 14. ahhh Women :rolleyes:
Purplebird
10-11-2009, 07:43
its ok hon, i was just thinking how nice it would be to fit into a 14 or 16 clothes. its funny how we're never satisfied though. i'm sure if i had gone up a couple of sizes i'd wish to be back in my 18s again, just as if by some miracle i managed to get into 16s i wouldn't be satisifed and i'd want to be a 14. ahhh Women :rolleyes:
ha ha - so true! I don't think I'd be happy unless I was in a size 8 (which has never happened and probably never will!). Can I just say though that I found breastfeeding can make you hang onto some extra stores of fat, so don't despair. I'm sure you will shed the extra when you finish feeding.
S7- poor bubba, sounds like she has gotten into the habit of going to bed late. I'm sure she'll get the hang of an earlier bedtime eventually if you persist with it.
QC - your G and my E have obviously been conversing as Miss E will only ever get up early too, no matter what we try.
Cam is heaps better today which is good. We had an afternoon of screaming and a bad night, so I hope he gets some good naps in today.
I live next door to the Australian Masters golf and the helicopters are already driving me nuts :thumbsdown:
gizmoduckus
10-11-2009, 10:16
Sorry I haven't been back to reply but my BIL's grandmother passed away last week and I have been helping out my sister by looking after my nephew. The days have just seem to have flown by.
zephani - good luck with miss K's scan today.
JDandMe - what a story about your little one. Hopefully there isn't much damage that has been done to her eye. I am also on FB, if you want to add me just PM your email address.
quitecontrary - If you are still happy to give T his dreamfeed, I would keep going with it. Otherwise you could always give it a go dropping it and if it doesn't work then you know he isn't ready for it yet.
Bindy79 - Welcome!
Purplebird - I am glad that Cam is feeling better. It is so horrible when they are sick.
sweetseven - I hope the polenta works for you.
AFU, I have decided to not stress too much about L's weight and I am going to wait until his peaditrician appointment in December. Most of the time he is quite happy so I just need to take some reassurance in that.
L has learnt how to climb the stairs at our house so it looks like we have to get out our baby gate to block it off. I was hoping that it wouldn't happen until we have moved into our new house but alas it wasn't meant to be. He is also trying to pull himself up on furniture but so far he hasn't had much success. They all just seem to be growing up so fast... :crying:
It is so hot here this week and I love it! Unfortunately I am confined to the house today because the car is getting serviced. :( Oh well, I might try and get to the pool by the end of the week.
I hope you all have a good day.
Seacretsquirrel
10-11-2009, 11:54
Hey Ladies
I too am hanging onto some unwanted fat stores (friens with 16-18 here too) but I agree BF is part of the reason for me - I wish I was one of those people who lost weight BF.... sigh.
Riley is curently having his first sleep in his big bed - thought I'd try the nap first see how he goes fingers crossed for a good sleep cause I think he was banging himself on the bars of the cot and waking himself up.... he has been asleep for jsut over an hour now so far so good.
S7 hope your wee girl gets a handle on a routine soon for you - Riley seems to like the 6-7(or 8sish) nap then another feed (a big 4 sides one - so I have discovered) and then that is him till 12 ish then up at 5 is for 1st breakfast.... little hobbit that he is.
Giz glad you have decided not to stress too mcuh about Ls weight sometimes it is hard not to but if he is happy and healthy otherwise he is prob just a little guy - what size were you and your DH as bubs cause that is a good indicator of what your kids will do.
of to make lunch and check on wee muppet (Riley)
floodprincess
11-11-2009, 12:12
Hallo Beautiful Feb 09 Mummies :wave:
Sorry I've been absent for the past two months (after I got back from Melbourne life went from a fast pace to breakneck for some reason)..
I've finally managed to catch up on October & the beginning of November - but boy, I'm sure not going to do personals!! :o
It's nice to read about all the milestones and wonderful things happening with our bubbas...and not to feel so alone in being friends with some extra kgs!
Welcome to the newer ladies, like most others, I too have FB - feel free to PM for details!
AFU - to summarise the last few weeks - non-stop achievement! Miss M is going well on solids (not that we've had much weight gain, she's sitting aroung 7kg) but we've got 2 bottom teeth and her top right incisor. She's mastered the polished floor board slide and I don't think it'll be too long before a real crawl comes through...and she's beginning to wave and clap.
A few words here and there when the moment takes her, but sadly the only person that can get her to laugh (or even giggle) is DD1 (although the way they carry on is a right treat)..
Her arm seems to have made a full recovery, hopefully the specialist will discharge us with the same news at our next visit:)
Anyway, lunch is calling me from downstairs....
Take care ladies!
quitecontrary
11-11-2009, 14:01
Hello!
Good to see you back here FP! Sounds like Miss M is going well, and that the two sisters get on like a house on fire!!
PB helicopter noise is a pain, hope its not driving you too mad.
Giz I think you're right, I'm not going to give up the dreamfeed, it works for us! Perhaps when the Star Boarder gets his eviction notice from our room, but I can't see that happening for quite a while really!
T has been really good lately - I think he is used to not being fed on the midnight to dawn leg! He does a bit of grumbling but nothing too severe, and some nights he even forgets to grumble - which is great. It seems that I am tuned into him and dh to Genevieve, which works well - dh answers her call-outs in the night which doesn't happen every night either.
They are both still napping so perhaps I should do something else apart from use the internet - hmmm, no!
Lateralus
11-11-2009, 18:10
Hi ladies... just a quick question. Do you find that your LOs are really fussy with their food when they are teething... Zoe is usually such a good eater (at last something that was going without any hiccups).. But I think she is now teething again and she is really off her food. The only thing I can get her to eat (and even then it's grudgingly) is yoghurt... Should I just feed her the yoghurt - or do you think I am making a rod for my back by just feeding her yoghurt... She might get the taste for it & get it in her head that that's all she'll ever eat?! :confused:
gizmoduckus
11-11-2009, 18:40
Hi all. We have been having a few more issues with L. We emailed his peaditrician who said that it definitely needs to be look at so he has brought our appointment up a couple of weeks earlier.
I have done what you should never do and have googled what might be causing his problems. The main thing that keeps coming up is something that they thought that he had when he was first born. Because he started to get better in Special Care they didn't end up doing a biopsy to see if he had it. Now I am starting to think that his milk protein intolerance and reflux covered a lot of his symptoms earlier on. If he has it then he has to have surgery. :(
The worst thing is, I read that if it isn't diagnosed early it can cause all sorts of issues and in some cases can lead to death. :gloomy:
I have the biggest knot in my stomach and the worst headache. I am stressed thinking that I am the worst mother in the world if he does have it and if he doesn't have it, I will feel like the biggest idiot. I just want to cry.... :crying:
MumNeedsCoffee
11-11-2009, 19:03
Hi all. We have been having a few more issues with L. We emailed his peaditrician who said that it definitely needs to be look at so he has brought our appointment up a couple of weeks earlier.
I have done what you should never do and have googled what might be causing his problems. The main thing that keeps coming up is something that they thought that he had when he was first born. Because he started to get better in Special Care they didn't end up doing a biopsy to see if he had it. Now I am starting to think that his milk protein intolerance and reflux covered a lot of his symptoms earlier on. If he has it then he has to have surgery. :(
The worst thing is, I read that if it isn't diagnosed early it can cause all sorts of issues and in some cases can lead to death. :gloomy:
I have the biggest knot in my stomach and the worst headache. I am stressed thinking that I am the worst mother in the world if he does have it and if he doesn't have it, I will feel like the biggest idiot. I just want to cry.... :crying:
:hugs: Why are you thinking you're the worst mother in the world hun?
Even if he does have it maybe if you look again you will find that the incidences of serious problems and death is very very small.
Scary I know but even if your suspicions are correct you need to look at both the best case scenario - what are the common symptoms, as well as the worst which google searches can focus on.
I got into a panic when Jade was diagnosed with JXG because it is linked with leukaemia but later found approx 14% of JXG cases progress to leukaemia
You will have done the right thing either way by discussing your concerns with your doctor to investigate the matter further. And don't feel silly. I've checked Dr Google as well and picked up on things the doctors have missed.
I've found facebook is a great source of information, you hear real mothers experiences with childhood illnesses instead of some of the frightening information found on google searches
I hope everything turns out ok :hugs:
MumNeedsCoffee
11-11-2009, 19:29
Hi ladies... just a quick question. Do you find that your LOs are really fussy with their food when they are teething... Zoe is usually such a good eater (at last something that was going without any hiccups).. But I think she is now teething again and she is really off her food. The only thing I can get her to eat (and even then it's grudgingly) is yoghurt... Should I just feed her the yoghurt - or do you think I am making a rod for my back by just feeding her yoghurt... She might get the taste for it & get it in her head that that's all she'll ever eat?! :confused:
Jade goes through moments like that where she will only eat yoghurt for a week or so then she's back to normal.
I just mix her fruit in the yoghurt.
Update on us -
We went for our visit to the Eye Clinic at Westmead Childrens Hospital yesterday.
There's concern that the eye pressure is still up despite all the eye drops she's on so we're booked in for 1st December for examination under anaesthetic of her eyes and wash out of the blood.
Next week we have our first appointments with the hematology and dermatology doctors. Not quite sure what this is all about, something to do with the JXG but we'll see.
Other than that Jade's really clingy at the moment. Not too bad though, when I've had enough of carrying her around I just lie down on the lounge and she's happy to sprawl out on my stomach and make herself comfortable. Not getting much housework done though.
gizmoduckus
11-11-2009, 19:33
I'm sorry. What I wrote probably didn't make a lot of sense. It is all just a jumbled mess inside my head and I just needed to get it out.
I don't really want to discuss this too much with people in real life because with every other issue we have had with L they would think I am over-reacting until I get proven right and then they all say "Oh, he is doing better now. Before he was just so sad". :hair:
Thanks for your reply. You have made me feel better.
MumNeedsCoffee
11-11-2009, 19:44
I'm sorry. What I wrote probably didn't make a lot of sense. It is all just a jumbled mess inside my head and I just needed to get it out.
I don't really want to discuss this too much with people in real life because with every other issue we have had with L they would think I am over-reacting until I get proven right and then they all say "Oh, he is doing better now. Before he was just so sad". :hair:
Thanks for your reply. You have made me feel better.
I understand
If you ever want someone to vent to or discuss your fears with I'm just about always around here or on facebook :)
quitecontrary
11-11-2009, 21:36
Giz - thats what we're here for! Dr Google can be a bit harsh - self diagnosing can be the worst form of punishment. I am glad you have an earlier appt, and I hope that everything is okay with your beautiful Liam.
JD who cares about the housework? Take care of that little girl!
Kate I second JD's comments - if Zoe eats yoghurt then try putting some fruit in there, and I'm sure she'll have her appetite back again soon! Nothing worse than preparing tasty morsels that are entirely rejected though.
Seacretsquirrel
12-11-2009, 08:07
Giz - Oh I soooooo agree Dr google is a bit of a scare-monger Try not to stress to much till your pead appt hopefully he will have some answers for you - I find writing down my qs helps with my white coat amnesia (that might just be me though)
Kate go with the Yog and fruit for now at least it is fairly healthy and would be nice and cold and not having to chew is good on sore gums.
JD :iagree: with QC housework be damned lots of cuddles are in order.
Welcom back FP glad Miss M's arm looks all good and yay on all the milestones.
AFU Riley is now in a big bed :eek: but seems to be doing really well in it he was up the same as in the cot the first night but last night (after a couple of extra bedtime feeds - 6,7,9 &9.20 pm little monkey) he slept till 6am:smiliedance: so fingers crossed he gets sorted and will do this more often caise I am feeling soooooo much more human today. He has also just discovered the walker (the push along walking aid not the sit in type) and just walked across the lounge :yelclap: I think he will be on his feet on his own before long.
hope the rest of you lovelyladies are doing well and great big :hugs: to us all (I am sure we could all use one regardless)
Everyone Thanks for the support after my little pity party. It's nice to know that I'm not the only one struggling with the weight issues.
Kate How'd you go with the childcare thing? I know there is a hype around ABC but I think it is important to remember that centres are only as good as their staff and policies and should be judged on their own merit. I know that is easier said than done and I would be stressed if I had to put Miss K in care.
I agree with the others. If ZoJo will eat yoghurt give it to her and if you can sneak in some fruit even better.
PB Welcome back! It's so good to see you again! I am glad that Cam is feeling better. There is nothing worse than having a sick baby.
GBAGM :hugs: I understand the yearn to be a size 16 infact these days I am yearning to be a 20 but like you I don't think the friendship is ending anytime soon. We are having photos with Tamara on Saturday and photos really scare me. DH made a comment the other day about me not being in many photos with Miss K and her asking one day why I was never there. I know this is the case when it comes to photos but I can't help it. When I put Miss K's swimming photos up on FB I made sure they didn't show much of me.
Gizmo Thanks for the good luck wishes with Miss K's scan. I will let everyone know as soon as we hear something.
I'm sorry you are having more issues with L and I'm glad his appointment with the paed could be bought forward. Again I agree with everyone else that Dr Google can be a real stress causer. A lot of the time we end up stressing about diagnosie that will never happen. Talk to us! We will never accuse you of over reacting! Besides I think all of us do it at one point or another :p
SS Congrats on moving Riley into a big bed. The picture of FB looks so cute. He looks so tiny in a big bed.
FP Welcome back as well! Congrats on Miss M's weeks of achievement. DH and I were only saying the other night that this 8 month seems to have gone on forever but that Miss K has developed SO much. She is really at a beautiful stage right now :bee:
Fingers crossed that the Dr will discharge Miss M at her next visit. It is GREAT news that her arm is better! You must be so pleased!
JDandMe I hope your appointment in December can give you some answers and that there won't be a problem with blood so that the Drs can see her eyes properly. Good luck with the hem and derm visit.
AFU Miss K had her xray and ultrasound on Tuesday and we should know something by Friday. She didn't like having the ultrasound done and subsequently the sonographer copped a big kick in the stomach. It was her nap time though. She was much better with the xray and they got everything they needed in one take.
Constipation update - we have been on medicine since we went to the paed a fortnight ago. This last week as been a major success and in the last seven days we've had five nice soft poos, including four days of consecutive poos. Hopefully we can reduce her dosage at the beginning of Decemeber and she will be off her medication when we go to Melbourne for Christmas. If she's not that's all well and good but it is nice to have something to aim for.
As of yesterday we now have a slow and unsure crawler! She is unsure of the motions and takes her time but she is doing it! I'm so proud of her! I came home from work yesterday with videos that DH had taken and to find a safety gate across his office door so that she can't escape. He had been looking for one for a few weeks because even when she was only rolling she could escape his room and end up in her room.
She also has a little cut on her finger where she found the crack in the tv cabinet glass door :( I have been meaning to get that fixed for months so I guess this is the little push that I needed.
We have to leave for Gymbaroo in 30 minutes so I should head off. If I don't get back before the weekend I hope everyone has a good one.
Lateralus
12-11-2009, 11:53
haha - it's feast or famine in here - everyone's either sooo quiet or totally chatty! Hopefully I won't forget anyone in the personals...
Giz :hugs: you sound like you are doing it tough hun. Like JD&Me said - there is no reason at all for you to feel like a bad mother... You have followed all the right avenues for getting L checked out & persisted when your gut feeling was that something still wasn't right! Hopefully when you have his paed appointment you'll get the news that you want! :hugs:
JD&Me sorry to hear that Jadie's eye pressures are still up :( Hopefully when they evacuate some of that blood under anaesthetic it will help bring that pressure down :fingerscrossed:
Zeph great news on all fronts from your camp it seems... normal hips, pooing like a champion and starting to crawl! Go miss K you star!
SS I saw the pic of Riley on FB too... he looks too cute in the big bed! I hope you are treated to many more long nights sleep! My DH goes away a bit but nowhere near as much as Paul... You have my fully admiration.. I don't know how you do it, especially with 2 LOs!
AFU - we went down to the play center with some little friends this morning... It's so cute to watch them playing together (or along side each other anyway). While I was there I got a very interesting proposition... I have been thinking about getting out of nursing for a while as the hours are not very family friendly & difficult to work around childcare. One of the girls in our play group works for the local member and they have a few positions coming up in their office next year... It's nothing too glam - admin type stuff - but the hours are perfect and the pay is good. I have no experience in admin - but am good with computers and she said that's all that's really required... So am going to seriously consider it... exciting but scary at the same time!
Zo is teething like a demon at the moment poor little chicken. She was a little devil yesterday... clingy, crying, spitting her food out left, right & center and then had the audacity to pi$$ all over me when I was getting her ready for her bath last night. Ah well - if I was teething and couldn't talk I guess I'd find similar ways to express my displeasure with the whole situation too!
gonnabeaGR8mum
12-11-2009, 12:27
poor little Cameron PB, i can't imagine Eli having Tonsilitis, it would be horrible for them :(
look sliek i jinxed myself, Eli came down with a 38.5 degree temp yesterday which spiked to over 39 overnight and has remain in the high 38s ever since, regardless of panadol and ibuprofen. took her to the doctors this morning and she said it looks like she has viral tonsilitis, to keep going with the panadol and ibuprofen and keep her fluids up. she also said that i didn't need to worry about the temp too much, even if it was 42/43 i should just keep doing what i'm doing. i thought that over 39 was life-threatening so now i don't know what to think. and of course DH is away for work atm so i have no immediate transport, except an ambulance if things get bad. so i'm sitting here with a snuggly and very hot bubba (who is incidently 9 months old today :smiliedance:) worrying my little head off!:rain:
oh well, i'm sure it will be fine, jsut have to stay awake til DH gets home tomorrow afternoon!
quitecontrary
12-11-2009, 18:04
GBAGM I do hope little Eli is feeling a bit better, and therefore you are too.
Kate I had to laugh about Miss Z relieving herself all over you last night - not really funny when you're there though.
Zeph glad the meds are working for Miss K's gut, and that the scans have been done. We've got the safety gate up too now to try and contain T in the living room. Just too hard with the two of them otherwise.
SS can't believe your lad is in the Big Bed already, and looking tiny in it - though it does sound like your cot was a liability. And wow to walking behind the walker - I think Riley is going to be our first walker - go the March Babies eh??
Well, I took T down to get his passport photos taken this afternoon - can't believe he will have his own at such a tender age, though G was even younger the first time she left the country. We booked our tickets yesterday - England via Abu Dhabi!! Can't wait to experience the weirdness of the UAE for a couple of days! The Sheiks of Arabique and that kind of thing. Ha with two kidlets in tow I don't imagine we'll be going very far past the hotel pool but we shall see.
Purplebird
13-11-2009, 21:24
JD&Me - aww, poor bubba. I hope everything works out for her after the operation :hugs:
Giz - I hope you're managing not to stress too much and that you can get some answers soon at your appointment. :hugs:
Kate - I have a poor teething bubba here too (numbers 5&6 about to cut through together) and he is also not keen on much but yogurt. I seem to remeber DD doing something similar and she is by no means fussy about her food now! How exciting about your possible change of career.
Zeph - yay for MissK crawling :smiliedance: Cameron is still commando crawling, but he is getting very quick at it. So glad to hear you have sorted out her poo issues too.
QC - we have just got Cam's passport back, he looks very cute in the picture (I'm possibly biased!). We are going all the way through on our journey (via Kuala Lumpur for 4 hours). We stopped in Hong Kong last time for a couple of days and it certainly helped with the jet lag. This time we just want to get home as quickly as possible. I figure it's going to be hell anyway (the journey, not the holiday!)!
SS- Riley is so clever! He must look so cute walking behind his walker. He looks so little in his big boy bed from the pictures, but very gorgeous laying there! It must make the transition much easier to do it now as well. Riley's been so physically able from the start hasn't he - was Z the same too?
AFU - Cammie is getting super fast at his funny crawl which is causing problems with his big sister as he can get to all her toys. He copped a chair over the head yesterday as he was trying to join in with her teddy bear's picnic. Poor fellow also gets everything taken away from him as soon as he reaches it. I guess we'll have to get him some of his own things so that he can have somethings to hang onto for a while.
We had just about our best sleep last night 7pm until 4 am (with a dream feed). Shame it took him an hour to go back to sleep at 4 am, even after a feed.
MumNeedsCoffee
14-11-2009, 19:00
I think little Jadey bear is not far off crawling, she's been doing the backwards slide to move about but now every chance she gets she's on her hands and knees trying to get those legs moving
Guess it's time to do the tidy up and move things out of babys reach
Seacretsquirrel
15-11-2009, 23:09
PB Yes Riley has been a wee machine from Day 1 even at a few hours old he had a really strong neck. Zahlia had a strong neck as a tiny NB but was much slower with all the physical dev (sat right on 6 months, did a bit of a backwards creep and bum shuffle from about 7 months till she finally did the traditional crawl at 9 months and walked at 14 months) She was a bit like a turtle for ages too even after she rolled and could sit if she flipped herself onto her back she was stuck was rather funny.
The transition was heaps easier too (though I only have my GF's bubs to compare it too as Z was in a big bed at 13 months) it does seem as though is was hassel free (so far touch wood and all that) compared to a much later transition.
Hope all you sick bubbas and mummies are doing better.
anyway off to bed hope all is well with you all and I will be back tomorrow with proper personals xxxxxx
quitecontrary
16-11-2009, 16:49
PB Yay for getting Cam's passport back! I was going to take T's form today to the local PO where you don't need an appt but it didn't happen. You are brave going straight through! I know that for us it is going to be a hard time, with all the emotions coming back to the surface about dh's Mum, and with the family home sold and his dad in a home, and our b-i-l with his cancer. So a couple of nights rest on the way both ways won't harm us!
We have had a very lazy day - I even fell asleep on the lounge whilst the kids both slept this afternoon. Such a busy weekend (again!) and good and hot here today, nothing better than a day at home in our newly insulated house - thanks Kev!!
Lateralus
18-11-2009, 11:22
hi girls... it's been pretty quiet in here again... hope everyone is going along ok?! GBAGM - hope Elli's temps have come back down & that she's feeling a whole heap better!!
Nothing really to report here - after a few days of teething type behavior (clinginess, crying, restlessness) Zo seems to have settled down without any new teeth to show for it. She's back to enjoying all her usual food (not just yoghurt) and is now finally getting the hang of finger food - grapes, peaches and kiwi fruit are big favorites! We had an awesome night last night - slept 7pm-2am - quick feed & the slept 'till 8am :eek:... She can do that again anytime she likes!
Am off to Pearl Jam in a week which I am super excited about... It has been so long since I have seen live music... :smiliedance:
quitecontrary
18-11-2009, 18:56
Kate - you are right, it is very very quiet in here! Glad to hear Z is sleeping properly again and is over her bout of mystery behaviour. T just pops out his teeth without any issues it seems, and G did the same but I do remember with her that there were weeks of weird behaviour apropo of nothing, and thinking that some teeth must be on their way. Just little balls of "keep us guessing" eh? Lucky you going to Pearl Jam - that should be great! I'm with you and the lack of live music - but thats parenthood for me it seems!
We've just come in from fish and chips at a harbour park, and it was lovely. T just sat up in the pram taking it all in, and G ran around in her usual fashion. At least T has had the good grace to go to bed - G is in the process, fingers crossed it doesn't take too long tonight!
Hope you're all ok - would love to hear some news my dears!!
KJ Except for the ****ing all over you ZoJo sounds exactly like Miss K has been this week. Hope she is *actually* teething this time and will finally get tooth number ONE. She has been leaning over chewing on my leg :laughing: and is even whimpering in her sleep :(
Good luck with the admin job. Sounds like it could be good for you. And have fun at Pearl Jam! I am so so jealous!
GBAGM Hope Eli is feeling better. Having a sick bubby is not good, especially when you aren't feeling well yourself.
JDandMe It definitely sounds like it is time to move things out of Jade's reach. Miss K is now pulling thing off the coffee table and picking everything up off the floor and attempting to put it in her mouth.
AFU We had our photos taken last weekend and saw some of them today. They are beautiful and to say I am happy with them is an understatement :yelclap::yelclap: I've just shared a link to my FB. They were taken by one of the Newcastle BH mum's.
Miss K was 9 months old on Monday. This 8th month feels like it has gone for ever! In the last month she has learnt to high five, wave (even if it is backwards :-P ), to crawl, to stand up when holding on to someone or something (I posted photos on FB last night of her pulling herself up in her cot) and to say 'car' and 'ta' and lots more. We are so proud of her!
I ended up at the Dr's yesterday after trying to break up at fight at work. I was kicked in the knee and ended up with a badly bruised knee and some tissues damage. I have been told to rest, elevate the knee and ice it often. I'm feeling pretty useless. I had the day off work today but DH still basically had to look after Miss K because I couldn't lift her:hissy:
I'm getting nervous about this coming weekend. We are leaving Miss K for the first time to go to a wedding. She is staying with my sister (who even bought a portacot for her) and I know she will be loved, cared for and spoiled but...
:goodvibes:Hello everyone!
Well, for some reason, BH does not want to work on my firefox so I need to open it in IE... that does not help my posting average that will soon be closer to zero than to one :)
I am going to Pearl Jam too!! :yelclap: I am looking forward, I saw Ben Harper at the Enmore and was sensational and also saw Pearl Jam the last time they came and they were really good. Still need to work the logistics... should I let my friend put him to sleep? or should I just rush after the concert trying to make it home before his 'late' bed time???
I hear you on the 8 months wonders Zeph... Welcome to the new people (cannot remember names) and sorry for lack of personals to anyone else.
G has been the same, he was crawling before but his style has gone from simple comando to SAS comando and now he sometimes even crawls 'like a man' :p He also pulls himself up and does not believe in standing still, therefore he keeps on trying to walk and falling!! (he has some kind of permanent bruise in his forehead). he makes lots of sounds with dada, mama, ata.... and eats everything he finds!! he has grown a lot and put some weigh although he is still slender at 9 kg. And... he has ONE tooth!!!! (no dentures for Christmas for this one, we are thinking of a helmet instead!) And he can throw things! I mean, he can throw EVERYTHING! and loves the noise. He chuckles and laughs all the time and there are some days when, aside that to say 'mum I am awake' I don't hear him crying. We have also gone to the swimming pool for the first time, to the beach and even a lake! he loves the water... he is such a lovely little boy, I cannot belive how lucky we are :cloud9:
And a lot of work and and a visit from a friend and lots of fun.
Take care. :goodvibes:
Seacretsquirrel
19-11-2009, 09:53
Hey Ladies
Welcome back Adora glad all is A-OK in your neck of the woods.:thumbsup:
Zeph - Yay to Miss K with her achievements and hope you are doing better with your ouchies:hugs:
Kate yippeee with the good sleeps go zojo keep it up!:smiliedance:
QC Z is the same with the stalling at bed time it is a bit of a pain but I guess this too shall pass:D
GBAGM hope Eli is feeing better :hugs:
Not much to report here either Riley is doing really well in his big bed he is sleeping better than in his cot I think he was getting his feet caught in the bars and then as he is such a wriggle worm it hurt and woke him up. But so far so good.
He is really crusing and can stand momentarily now. I am constantly amazed at how fast he is doing all this physical stuff - though he is my quiet one (Z was saying quite a bit at this age) guess he is more focused on the movement:D
We went to the water park yesterday (it is great for littlies and the best bit is that it i FREE!!!!!!! Zahlia loved it and so did Riley he was powering around in his orange floaty seat thingo and once he could each the bottom in the shallow bit he was off and racing was hilarious seeing him using the front of the floaty to lean on with his bum out of the water walking around (and his wee fat legs lol)
Anyway off to take miss Z outside to jump on her Tramp - she just went and got my book so I could read and watch her funny wee chicken.
gizmoduckus
20-11-2009, 10:29
Hi All.
Just quickly letting you all know that we went to see the paediatrician this morning and he thinks it might be what I thought it was. We have an appointment with a pediatric surgeon this afternoon to see if L needs to have a biopsy.
I don't know what I want the outcome to be. If he has it, then he needs an operation and no one wants to see their little ones have one. On the other hand, if he doesn't have it then we still don't know what is wrong with him and we don't know what we have to do next. :(
quitecontrary
20-11-2009, 11:38
Oh Giz - my thoughts are with you and your family. I hope that things get cleared up one way or another for Liam soon.
SS - the waterpark sounds like a hoot! I suppose ours is the beach!! I don't think I can manage it with the two kidlets by myself though. Toby loved having a swim a few weeks back at the local pool - poor neglected second child, G had already started mums and bubs swimming by this age! I will try and get us into a class next year when G goes to preschool.
All is well here. Had a wakeful night last night, G had us all up at 2am then T decided he really needed to talk about the situation for an hour or so - I gave him a quick feed but it didn't help him settle at all. Then he was up at 5 for a drink and a nap in with us, then I put him back in the cot and G joined us at 7am. A little exhausting but we made it out to the gym/creche! I drove down there, its a little warm here today!
MumNeedsCoffee
21-11-2009, 21:07
Giz - :hugs:
sweetseven
21-11-2009, 23:01
Giz, I hope for the best for little Liam. If your fears are true, I wish you encounter a great team to treat him, and that he recovers well.
gizmoduckus
21-11-2009, 23:13
Thanks guys! I am feeling a bit better today.
We went to see the peadiatric surgeon yesterday afternoon and he has booked Liam in for a biopsy in 2 weeks time. He scared us by saying that if he does have Hirschsprungs then it's going to be a pretty big surgery. They will have to remove the part of his bowel that isn't working and then reattach it all. He will also have to have a colostomy bag for 3 months.
We have heard from other people in the medical field that the surgery isn't that bad but I guess the surgeon has to give us worse case scenario so that we know what to expect.
It is just going to be hard waiting the 2 weeks before finding out anything. I think it is the not knowing that is the hardest bit.
I hope everyone is well and enjoying the weekend. Hope to hear from you all soon now that Bubhub is up and running again.
sweetseven
22-11-2009, 01:13
I couldn't understand how bub was managing to eat raw beans today. She would put it in her mouth and reef it out really fast, repeating until there was only a thin sliver left.
But this evening I discovered a tooth had broken through her gum. Unfortunateloy she is now screaming. I am suspecting constipation - silent farts coinciding with screaming.
I am trying to give her paracetemol, but she wont take it, and I cannot find my sryringes.
Edit: 2am, she's finally asleep, but sobbing in her sleep.
MumNeedsCoffee
22-11-2009, 09:55
Giz - That's such a huge thing to deal with :hugs:
Wishing all the best for you and your family.
hi,
gizmo, big :hugs: for you. I just cannot imagine what you are going through. In the positive side, at least they are actively searching for something instead of dismissing it... good luck with everything!
QC, yes my playground is the beach as well :) G LOVES the water and he is fearless (which is not really a good thing). He will learn! We really need to get one of the pop-up tents and some more stuff for him... for now we just walk down the street with him in the sling. It is great!! SS, your Riley sounds like such a funny kid!! is he fearless as well?
S7 good on bub for getting a tooth without complaining.... although that might explain some to the 'late evenings' she has had ?
AFU we went to Pearl Jam and Ben Harper yesterda and it was pretty good. One of my friends stayed with G and gave him his bath, food and put him to sleep... and NO PROBLEMS!! I was so happy and relieved... it was the first time that some else aside from my DH or myself put him to sleep and he was a little angel. Well, that makes things a lot easier in terms of even thinking of going for a nice romantic dinner :valentine: It was great being in the concert and holding each other and dancing!! Th elittle thing was even good and allowed us to sleep until 6:30 (instead of 5:45h), which was a good thing but not enough given that we went to sleep at 1h...
Well, enough for now!
:sunshine::goodvibes:
P.S. who understands this weather??? it is driving me insane!! you never know how is going to be!
MumNeedsCoffee
23-11-2009, 18:53
Jade just learnt to pull herself to standing! So proud :)
Although I probably should have lowered the cot base a while ago, I have to wait for DP to get home from night shift tomorrow and ask him to do it. No idea where the tools are.
Adora - How nice you were able to get out, enjoy some music and dance! DP asked me today if I wanted to go to Green Day and I looked at him like he was crazy as DD is going through a really clingy phase and cries if anyone else holds her. Gives me some hope :)
sweetseven
23-11-2009, 19:01
Ardora, great to hear your little one stayed up with no problems without you. I hope you get to enjoy many more stress free evenings.
And yes, that tooth may explain the recent nights where she didn't even go to bed by 1am. I also think it is minorly amusing that my Miss6 lost her first tooth the same day that bub cut her first.
One little thing that is niggling in the back of my mind at the moment. It has been weeks since my bub has said any words at all. She still vocalises and makes noise, but no words. If you recall, she used to say Daddy lots, Mum a fair bit, and Baah (for her sister MissB), plus at one stage she was trying out a new word each day. It seems to be since she has started standing up, she's stopped talking.
Purplebird
23-11-2009, 20:27
Woo - I can get back onto BubHub! it was running awfully slow for a while :confused:
Sweet7 - ah well, they say they're either walkers or talkers. Maybe that means bub is using all her concentration to move around now instead! At least you know she is able to vocalise I guess. I'm sure she'll be chattering away in no time.
Giz - big huge :hugs: for you hun, I hope all is OK.
JDandMe - :smiliedance: clever Jade! Cameron is trying to pull himself up, but he's not doing very well yet!
Ardora - hooray for a night out - makes you feel human again hey?!
I'm finding it fascinating watching Cam developing. He's so much more physical than his big sis was. She was crawling really well by now and she walked before 11 months, but Cam is so much stronger and more determined. he is soo fast when he crawls around and he gets very, very annoyed if he can't get to what he wants. I think he will have a bit of a temper!
I have decided I'll probably go back to work a day or two next year some time. I was going to have the whole of next year off but I don't think I could keep my sanity if I did. I think my kids will have a much happier, better mummy if I have a day or two away from them every week where I can actually exercise my brain!
MumNeedsCoffee
23-11-2009, 20:40
I'm guess I'm lucky in that Jade is not crawling yet because I know she won't go anywhere :laughing:. She tries but her legs slip out under her.
But has been keen on the walking for the last week, we spend almost all day of me holding her hands while she walks around the loungeroom.
She walked herself back into a giant toy dog we have and I let go and she stood supported against the dog for a minute and looked so pleased with herself. Then we spent the rest of the night with her walking backwards towards it and trying to do the same again.
And tonight she learnt to pull herself up on the cot and walk around the edges of it. I reckon tomorrow she'll be cruising the furniture in the loungeroom. :)
Seacretsquirrel
24-11-2009, 12:27
Wellllllllll what a weekend.......
We had a fancy dress 4th b'day party on Sat (only found out it was fancy dress on Wed) so we made a batgirl costume for Z and because every superhero needs a nemisis I dyed a bonds singlet suit green and put purple ????? all over it (The Riddler) he was super cute and Zahlias turned out quite well too (pics will be on FB if you want to see:yelclap:)
DH had gon 4x4ing with his bestie for the night so I was on my own again with the intention of meeting up with them and doing some 4x4ing on Sun but the elements were conspiring against us I missed the turn for our meeting went waaaaay to far onto a lovely corrogated dirt road, hit a kangaroo and then after I had realised I went too far and turned around I had a darned flat tyre thank god for the kindness of strangers some people from the christian school nearby stopped and helped me change the tyre - at least I'll know what to do next time :o so 3 hours later I finally had phone reception and got hold of DH and we met up. Turns out I drove right by them and they tried to catch up but couldn't (they had to all get into the car and by then I was a fair way down the road they did see my poor roo though:crying:) so we had lunch at the pub at Batchelor and came home with no 4x4ing or swim..... considering we missed each other about 3 or 4 times in that time I am thinking that we were not meant to go for the 4x4ing and perhaps we missed out on a bigger problem.
Sigh all over now and we are all in one piece (except the roo) .
Now onto personals ....
S7 I think Z stopped talking for a while while she was learning to crawl ect from what I read and the MCHN it is completely normal for them to stop doing things while learning a new skill.
Giz I hope you get some answers soon.
JD - gotta love the "walking" Riley loves it too. She might skip crawling altogether but now she is pulling up it is a whole bunch of new mischief she can get into and more things to reach.
Ardora- yep R is a fearless wee monkey. yay for a great night out and for bub settling for someone else. and most importantly for potential date nights! (I am planning one for DH and I this week not out but a romantic dinner for us once the munchkins are in bed.
Anyway gotta run and get R into bed for his afternoon nap in a sec and convince Z that sleep is better done lying down with eyes closed (playing around in ones room does not a sleep make) and after last nights efforts she (and I) need the nap:sleeping:
Purplebird
24-11-2009, 19:44
Oh dear Sweet7 - that sounds as bad as getting rid of a dummy. DD has a dummy and I'm not looking forward to that going - she absolutely loves it and will find it very hard to give it up. However, it's going when she turns 3 as I don't want her to suffer from any problems with her teeth or speech.
All I can say is I'm sure you're doing her a big favour by tackling this now. Hang in there - she'll get through it quickly enough :hugs:
Are you worried that the hands will go in the mouth once she's asleep anyway?
BoyCrazy
24-11-2009, 19:46
evening feb mummas!
sorry again for my slackness its so hard to keep up with this thread sometimes!
well my little lazy man, who has been crawling around on his belly for the last 2 months FINALLY decided to go up a level and has learnt how to crawl on all fours! :yelclap: he did it the first time today and now i cant stop him lol. he is also cruising furniture & standing briefly on his own for a few moments, before realising hes not attached to me and freaks out hehe.
is anyone else fully aware of the fact that its like 5 weeks til christmas and then another 4 weeks and then february???? meaning our 'little' bubbas will be celebrating their first birthdays!! :eek: does anyone know what theyre gonna do to celebrate the milestone? we are thinking a big bbq party...was gonna do a theme but he wont really remember it anyways, and i think ill just save myself the stress lol.
anyways, hope everyone is well, and bubs are being good to you all! :hugs:
BoyCrazy
24-11-2009, 19:48
:eek: 10 weeks exactly today!!!!!
sweetseven
24-11-2009, 20:22
Thanks PB and SS. I had a slight niggle in the back of my mind that perhaps something was wrong, but your words have put me at ease.
And, here's a sorry state for you. Though it sounds like your 4x4 attempt was a complete failure and you probably didn't enjoy it at all, I'm still jealous and would've loved to be in your place instead. I guess I really don't like being stuck in the city.
(Edit - deleted my comments about addressing my Miss3 sucking fingers and pulling her hair, which I accidentally posted to this thread. PB already replied, so my apologies for making your comment comparing to taking away a dummy look out of place. And yes, it is likely going to take a lot of vigilance checking on her during her sleep. I don't expect her to do so in her sleep, but if she stirs, she will to resettle herself.)
gizmoduckus
26-11-2009, 09:57
Hello everyone!
It is starting to sound like everyone's little ones have started to crawl properly. It is definitely time to get everything out of reach.
L does three different types of crawls. He does the normal one when he is not in a rush to get anywhere. The commando crawl if he wants to get there now and the, what we call, zombie crawl when he just feels like mixing it up a bit. We call it the zombie crawl because it reminds us of those old horror movies where they cut the legs off of the zombies but they still keep going by dragging themselves across the floor. :laughing:
He has also started to pull himself up which has meant a few tears when he has fallen down.
I am so sore today. I went to kickboxing for the first time last night and it was really full on. It was an hour of full on boxing, running, jumping and push-ups. If I keep this up, I am sure that I will lose these last 7 kilos that I haven't been able to budge.
I have already started on organising L's birthday. He is having a sesame street party and I love making all the decorations myself, so for the last couple of weeks I have been doing a lot of painting and cutting in my spare nights. We are having it in quite a large hall so I have to do quite a bit to cover the walls. We did our guest list the other night and you will all have a heart attack if you knew how many people are invited. From between DS1's 1st birthday and Liam's, a lot (and I mean a lot) of our friends and families have had children. I am freaking out about how many lolly bags I have to do let alone feeding them all. :dizzy: Oh well, it's the only big party we have for them...
quitecontrary
26-11-2009, 17:36
Giz - go on, spill the beans on the number of people that are invited for L's birthday! I'm guessing 150? Am I near the mark? I know for some cultures turning one is like the biggest thing out! In China they celebrate 100 days old as thats when they are a year old from conception - then its nothing til they turn 70 according to my students! We seem to have a cut off of 50 invited for parties - and generally about 30 on the day which is manageable in our place.
SS glad that you survived the 4x4xkangaroo experience. The fancy dress for your children sounds like a hoot!!
BC your countdowns are scary!!
Well, our social calendar is full-on over the next few weeks - tomorrow night is my niece and nephews Flamenco concert, on Saturday we have a friends housewarming, then on Sunday we have our playgroup Christmas picnic - we are going to Fairfield City Farm which should be fun - followed by a 5 year olds party! Oh, yeah and on Saturday afternoon I'm having two wisdom teeth pulled (eek). On Tuesday night it's Dh's work christmas dinner. The following Saturday is my Dad's 70th birthday party - and we'll have houseguests for the weekend. And the social whirl will continue!!
Seeings the babysitter is here and there are parcels to collect from the post office I suppose I should shake myself and head off.
Oh, we had the session in the park with the photographer this morning - me and my siblings and our children. Bit of fun, and hopefully some nice pics!
MumNeedsCoffee
26-11-2009, 19:23
:laughing: The zombie crawl! I love it
Jade's not doing the Zombie crawl anymore, she's still very slow and tenative but she can make it across the loungeroom now.
Lateralus
27-11-2009, 13:31
Hi everyone :wave: Have been guilty of doing the read but no post lately...
I had an awesome night on Wednesday night... went up to Brissy and saw Ben Harper & Pearl Jam with my sister - was a fantastic gig! Had a pretty late night though and couldn't sleep once I got home (P.E.E. - or post-Eddie excitement as my sister called it) then woke up with a bit of a stomach bug... so that wiped out much of yesterday for me. But feeling a whole lot better today and neither DH or Zo seem to have come down with it - so hopefully it was something I ate rather than a bug as such :fingerscrossed:
Everything is going pretty well with Zo - she has regressed a bit with her sleeping again - but it's been so bloody hot I don't mind her getting a few extra drinks overnight... She is eating mainly finger food for breakfast and lunch and getting mashed veges with meat or fish for dinner. We still have only 2 teeth but she has been dribbling like crazy the last week so there might be some more on the way. To be 100% honest I am not in any tearing rush for her to get any more... Being BF & all :o I am scared of getting nipped! She is crawling like a trooper and is cruising round the furniture with increasing confidence. She has even started letting so and standing unsupported for a few seconds. She is in to absolutely everything.... I can't even begin to count how many times I tidy up during the day - and within 5 minutes of cyclone Zoe hitting we're back to square one :laughing:
DH has been offered a position with the town fire brigade pending passing his medical (I can't remember if I have told you all this) which is exciting. His medical is on monday and if he passes he will start his training in February.
That's about all from our camp. Hope everyone is going well & handling this heat ok. Looks like we're in for a cool change next week - just after I packed ALL of Zo's warmer clothes away... Ah well ;)
quitecontrary
27-11-2009, 21:09
Crikey - just did a big rambly post on what we've been up to and its been lost in the www it seems.
So briefly - took the kids to thier cousins' flamenco concert - Toby loves watching the action on stage!
- Kate - yay to your dh joining the brigade! DD never bit me whilst feeding, whereas DS does it often, even before teeth - maybe its a boy thing??
- Wisdom teeth out tomorrow - eek but better out than in I feel!
- Weather still warm but weird and inconsistant.
Hope you're all well and I don't lose this post too!
debplus3
28-11-2009, 06:54
Hello!!!
Life has been moving along at a cracking pace here...and now I need your help!!
All you Sydney-siders....advice desperately needed!!
It looks like DH may be up for a promotion and we may be relocating from Melbourne to Sydney in the next 4-6 weeks.
We know nothing about Sydney and are seeking advice on good areas for families, good schools, any general advice.
DH work will be based in the Rydalmere area.
We have 2 cars so public transport not such a huge issue.
We need to make this decision very fast, so please can you help!!
DD due to start primary school next year and DS due to start pre-school.
THANKS!!!!!!
PS - yes, I'm stressing out big time!!!!
quitecontrary
28-11-2009, 18:27
Hi Deb - wow what a big move! So many factors to consider. I suppose I would be thinking about being near dh's work cause commuting long distances can be such a pain. I'd also want to be on public transport - even though I drive I like the fact that dh can catch the train to work. We are over in Rockdale which I think is a great area - near the bay, not too far from the city or the surf beaches, great train service. But not direct to Rydalmere.
But I think there are a few women here that live closer to the Rydalmere area and they might be able to help you out. The other place to post - if you haven't already - is the Sydney thread - you would get a bit more from others on BH! This thread is very quiet at the moment!!
Lateralus
28-11-2009, 20:56
Hi Deb - I used to live in Sydney, but like QC not in the area you're looking into... I was over on the Northern Beaches & North Shore which would be a bit too far for your hubby to travel for work I'd say. I do agree with QC on the public transport factor though... Traffic and parking in Sydney can be a royal pain in the butt & expensive - so if DH can get PT to work it will safe a lot of stress! Congrats to your hubby on his promotion too! Very exciting! :yelclap:
Purplebird
30-11-2009, 08:43
Congrats on DH's promotion Deb! Hope you can get some good advice about Sydney.
Giz- LOL at the zombie crawl - that's exactly what Cameron does too. It looks so funny - everyone laughs at him. He can do the conventional crawl, but doesn't seem to like it much.
QC - you sound as busy as us at the moment, with little gatherings. We have had Mothers Group Xmas parties, Xmas lunch with friends, new neighbour's drinks party, and we have childcare xmas party coming up as well as a few other things. It's nice to be busy though - E loves a social event! :santa:
Hi everyone else!
I can't believe how quickly this year's gone. We leave for the Uk in less than two weeks. I think the flight will be, er, interesting! Cameron is not a big fan of being held for long now, he prefers to be on the move, so I think DH will be walking lots of laps of the plane with him!
E is in her creche today so I am off to the shops soon with Mr Cameron. It's nice to have him all to myself. We'll go for coffee I think - I'm sure he'll appreciate that!
Lateralus
01-12-2009, 18:23
new December thread is here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=306441)