View Full Version : ear piercing - for boys
My 7yo has been asking to have his ears pierced for a while now and I've always told him to ask me when he's 10. He asked again this morning and as he's almost 8, 10 doesn't seem very far away. I'm not very keen on the idea of my boy having piercings - maybe I should change it from 10 to 15 :confused:
How many have allowed thier boys an ear piercing?
And what ear does it go in?
Who has both ears pierced on their boys?
If you don't have your boys pierced, why not? What are your thoughts on this?
JiminyCricket
31-10-2009, 09:45
My stepson has his ear pierced, he got it when he was 7 .
At first I was against it and thought it would make him look a bit too grown up or like one of the naughty kids but it really suits him.
I think its in his right ear but the ear piercer will tell which ear to put it in.
He had a sleeper for a few weeks and now he has a little blue stud and it looks good.
It got infected once and he had to take it out for a week.
I wouldn't get both ears in boys i think that means there gay or something!
It would make a good 8th bday pressie for your son
Does your son handle pain ok?
Myztiks#1Fan
31-10-2009, 09:50
coop doesnt have his ears pierced as he is just 2.5 but if he were around 10yrs or so, i dont think i would have a problem with it as long as he knows that a needle does have to go through his ear or however they are done as i havent had anything pierced for quite some time. he woudlnt have the slightest idea what ear piercing is atm and prolly wont for quite sometime however i dont think i would mind.
Does your son handle pain ok?
He's terrible with pain :laughing:
I don't think I'll be ready for him to have it when he's 8 - and I know that it's his choice but ... but ... may seem selfish but I want to be ok with it as well as him.
*runs and hides*
:p
JiminyCricket
31-10-2009, 09:59
You could take him down to the ear peircers so he can watch someone else get it done so he knows what he's in for.
BabelFish
31-10-2009, 10:21
I don't like just one earring on boys. My DP has both of his ears pierced, but doesn't wear them all the time. So does my brother but hasn't worn his in years. Sometimes DP just wears his left one. Never studs though, always quite a thick, lobe-hugging sleeper.
The rules for our son will be the same as for our daughter. Yes, you can have a piercing when you're old enough to look after it yourself, when you understand the responsibility and when you understand properly what you're asking. The amount of young kids and babies I see with their ears pierced makes me wanna barf. So tacky.
SassyMummy
31-10-2009, 11:10
I hate male ear piercings, and wouldn't allow my son to get it done. Yes, I am sexist, as my daughter is allowed to have her lobes pierced. Meh. I don't care.
Instead of pushing the decision further and further back, just tell him outright that you're not comfortable with having it done. Instead making him wait and wait and then be disappointed when he gets to ten and you say no again. If you do change your mind, it'll be a nice suprise for him.
BabelFish
31-10-2009, 11:12
I must admit, Sassy, that I feel the same way. I hate them on boys, I really do. On grown men I think it can look awesome. Hopefully our son will never ask us - and if he does and I am backed into a corner because his sister might have hers done by then, I'll have to find a way to let him have it done without him looking like a bogan! :laughing:
My brothers had their ear peirced at 6months.
Pain shmain..lol, use numbing cream...
BabelFish
31-10-2009, 12:38
Lol yeah, you're right. Pain is absolutely way down my list of priorities when it comes to my bub. I'd far rather just be able to decorate them without having to think about it.
SorenLorensen
31-10-2009, 13:07
I'd far rather just be able to decorate them without having to think about it.
:laughing: their like our little Christmas trees that last 365 days a year.
DP has an ear ring and if we have a boy he will have the same rule as the girls....when they are older and can be able to truly decide for themselves. im liking the idea of getting it done for the year 6 farewell, we can go out and make a big thing of it, kinda like an entry to the second more 'grown up' stage of life.
but i like them on boys so its easy for me to say yep, yep, yep. i like just one and for the right shape face the 2 can look so....well, HOT (sounds kinda wrong considering we are talking about sons :o)
BabelFish
31-10-2009, 15:24
I agree Soren - they look hot on older guys. Especially two. I really like that look.
But I feel like it's an adult look, not for little boys. I really don't know why. I like your idea about a Year 6 farewell. That's really nice.
It hasn't come up in my house yet - my older boy is more likely to be found under a tractor than anywhere else, and would laugh hysterically at the suggestion of an ear ring (he's 19), and the little one is 4.
I would say no, that is something that will have to wait until you're an adult. I would not be comfortable with my boys having their ears pierced - I don't like the way it looks, and I don't like the image it projects (in this town, at least, very trashy), so my answer would be no.
It doesn't hurt them to say no sometimes.