View Full Version : medicines and breastmilk

kamaraj
15-07-2006, 22:48
Hi everyone, Cody and I are bothsuffering from colds at the moment, I have taken him to the Dr and sorted him out but forgot to ask about things that I can safely take myself. Could anyone point me in the direction of a good website that can tell me what does pass through into your breastmilk? One of my friends used to tell me heaps she had found out on the internet but i really have no idea where to start looking. Thanks heaps

drewid
15-07-2006, 22:52
Panadol is the only thing I take while breastfeeding. Not sure what else you cn safely take, most things are off limits, same as in pregnancy. If you go to the chemist the pharmacist can tell you which cold/flu remedies are safe for you, I got some once when I was really crook and needed something extra strength.

You can also take penicillin I just remembered...that was another one I got early on when I thought I'd die of the flu!

Hope you are feeling bettter soon!

kamaraj
15-07-2006, 23:44
I cant take penecillan (sp??) as i am allergic to it! The chemist is closed until monday. I have been taking panadol, and we have these natural tablets called ease a cold. I just sort of wanted to have a look at maybe a site and just have a bit of a read about what does pass through into your breastmilk and at what levels. I have had no luck searching for one
Thanks for your reply though

NatLeah
16-07-2006, 00:01
Try this web site... http://www.babycenter.com/general/baby/babybreastfeed/8790.html
hopefully it helps.

I hope you and your bub get over your colds quickly :fingerscrossed:

kamaraj
16-07-2006, 00:28
Thankyou heaps for that natleah!! That is what i was looking for. Cody seems to be suffering more than me the poor little man, he is so blocked up and having lots of trouble feeding. He also got conjuctivitis which we have soom antibiotic drops for. His cough is the worst it sounds horrible, its hard to say wether or not he is getting better, always happens on the weekend when nothing is open in our small town!! Would be nice to have our happy smiling little man back. Anyway off to bed for me i think, he is sleeping for now, have a good one and thakyou once again :hugs:

Rhoxie
16-07-2006, 01:13
It's not only medicines that pass through to your milk that you have to be careful of... most cold medicines that are designed to dry up runny noses also dry up breast milk :thumbsdown: so you could find yourself in short supply if you take the wrong thing.

I had a chemist give me something by mistake when I had the flu and it took over a week to get my supply back to normal after only taking 2 doses. :banghead:

NatLeah
16-07-2006, 09:28
My bub also has a snotty nose i have got some equaliptus oil in a oil burner in his room it seems to be helping to clear his little nose... maybe you can give it a go. You can get it from any supermarket if you have one in your town...