View Full Version : Ever feel completely different to everyone around you?
Georgie47
15-07-2006, 17:39
I'm having a funny day today! I've been in Brissy for 4 yrs now and the majority of the time I'm very happy but every now and then (like today!) I feel different to everyone in the room, asthough I'm really aware of the difference in culture. Dh and I have a 2 yr old and one on the way and I'm wondering if I'm just a little more emmotional than usual!
Does anyone else out there know what I mean or am I just soooo pregnant today??????
Hi Georgie
Does anyone else out there know what I mean or am I just soooo pregnant today??????
- I KNOW I KNOW (jumps up and down!):smiliedance:
I went out last friday night for the first time since DD was born and the next day said to my DH its just not the same:no: Sometimes I think that people just dont get me and it makes me very sad and homesick:crying: I'd love to be transported back to the UK for a night out/or in (even better) with my friends
I'd love to be transported back to the UK for a night out/or in (even better) with my friends
Ditto.
But then, I'd probably superglue myself to their furniture so I wouldn't have to come back :p
Ha Ha Beany, me too LOL! I am sooooo homesick at the moment, think its the time of year. Usually in August I go to Spain to my mums timeshare with my sister and nephews, think thats a thing of the past :( I called my mum the other day and she sounded so fed up it made me feel very sad:gloomy:
Sorry Georgie I'm hijacking your thread for a good old moan!
CarolineF
16-07-2006, 12:08
I know exactly what you all mean.
I have not settled since arriving, I feel like a square nut in a round hole. :crying:
Im off back to the UK next weekend. Sad and terrified. Its odd how life does not turn out as you planned.
Pregnancy won't help. But Good luck with it, and love to you all:hugs:
rubyredlips
17-07-2006, 09:21
I too feel like a bit of a mis fit sometimes! To be expected I guess..... When I went back to the UK last September (3 months preg) it was quite bizarre...I did feel like I had finally got it out of my system and was more than happy to leave.......BUT I really miss the quaint little villages, the history and of course life long friends and family!
If I can get over for a hol every couple of years I'll be happy....am hoping to get over with the Hub (hes never been with me) next year - maybe I can talk him into moving over for a bit...?
Georgie47
17-07-2006, 13:44
I'm feeling a little better today but I felt even better when I read all your thoughts! It's always nice to know your not alone.:yelclap:
CarolineF, I'm going back next week too! for four weeks, sooo looking forward to taking bubs to see the family, oh! and my name is actually Caroline, (George is my mums name, I sometimes use it when I'm missing her, keeps her close somehow!!) So, are you back for good then?
I'll be heading for Next, Gap, Tescos, M&S, Topshop etc, etc, as soon as pos! but first I'm heading to the local chinese for some decent crispy duck!:smiliedance: Funny, things you miss eh?
I was lucky to meet a couple of other women headed for Perth before we came out here, we now get together for coffee (not up to pubbing having just had a bub) and it is so cool to get together and have a laugh - it's different with UKers, we just laugh so much and slip into the old accents etc. I like being with Aussie/ South African mates, but the humour isn't there so much :confused:
Im finding everything hard at the moment, i have struggled to make friends, and im not a shy person, im happy to chat to anyone, and i miss my friends back home:yes:
But people are clicky and have there own groups etc:confused:
Maybe a newlife down under has lost its spark for me:rolleyes:
at the moment, i want my mum, my friends and to sit im my local pub and have a chardonnay.....mmmm off to dream:laughing:
Im finding everything hard at the moment, i have struggled to make friends, and im not a shy person, im happy to chat to anyone, and i miss my friends back home:yes:
But people are clicky and have there own groups etc:confused:
I found the some thing here in Sydney.
I realised, after graduating last year, that all the friends I had made at uni were international students that were flopping around like fish out of water just like me. Then they all went back to their various homes and I'm still here on my lonesome :gloomy:
rubyredlips
18-07-2006, 09:31
I reckon motherhood must have alot to do with us all missing home y'know! surely, we can have the best of both worlds??? hmmmm....wherers that lotto ticket..
hey, why dont we have a christmas in july get together, its cold & dark enough (almost!), I had one last year (just me and the aussie hub - it was an impulse thing - no-one to invite!) we just sat aroudn and drank and listened to chrissy music, had lights up, nice food....need to get the wizard of oz on dvd...its chrissy on corrie (uktv) at the mo....we could sit around and watch that! :laughing:
Georgie47
18-07-2006, 11:53
Hey rubyredlips!
That just sounds a great idea, the sort of thing i'd do, if only you lived in Brisbane, i'd definately be up for a good old English Christmas in July, a tree, decorations, even a black and white movie and a glass of sherry before falling asleep in front of the fire!! yorkshire puddings, roasted parsnips, christmas pud, the lot! What a laugh that would be!:yelclap: Thanks for the reminder, I needed that today:D
What a party!!
Wizard of Oz on telly was an Easter thing silly! :rolleyes: :D
Every bleeding Easter ...
Christmas was the time for Only Fools and Horses Christmas specials.
Wizard of Oz on telly was an Easter thing silly! :rolleyes: :D
Every bleeding Easter ...
Christmas was the time for Only Fools and Horses Christmas specials.
I love only fool and Horses! i wish it was on foxtel!:( but its not
Oh well i have the trashy footballers wives to lookforward to tomorrow:laughing:
rubyredlips
18-07-2006, 17:28
Eh? Only fools and Horses yes, Wizard of Oz, also yes, and Den serving Ange divorce papers in the turkey or cracker or something....??? he he he
what about Zulu........and lets not forget noel edmonds!
Dammit!
I HAD forgotten Noel Edmonds too ... took 5 years! And you undid it all!
(okay okay, I was a regular viewer of Noel's House Party on Saturday evenings ... and yes I DO actually remember the tune to the "Mr Blobby" song ... )
Beany how could you forget Noel:shame: I had him rammed down my throat when I went back he is the "star" of the UK version of deal or no deal. Has anyone seen it?
I reckon people considering emigrating should be made to watch the UK version and then the Ozzie one, they couldnt be more different. I couldnt stop laughing at the UK Show much to my mums disgust but it did grow on me even with Noel!!
I woke up this morning in a panic, i am due to fly back to England for a visit next week, the first in 3.5 years, and i was terrified i wouldnt fit in back home as i struggle constantly here, but after reading this thread i have realised a good dose of home, family, good friends, long summer days and even Noel Edmonds is what i am craving. I am hoping it restores my faith in myself, my friends will tell me if im being a wally!
Thanks everyone, i will think of you all while im there!:wave:
Hey Bobtob:wave:
I hope you have a brilliant trip - check out Noel its such a scream:D
I bet you fit in no problem - I too was a little anxious pre my trip home earlier this year but two minutes with my friends and it was like old times. IMO thats the trouble you just can make friends like the old ones.
Have fun - all these people going home are making me :gloomy:
I woke up this morning in a panic, i am due to fly back to England for a visit next week, the first in 3.5 years, and i was terrified i wouldnt fit in back home as i struggle constantly here, but after reading this thread i have realised a good dose of home, family, good friends, long summer days and even Noel Edmonds is what i am craving. I am hoping it restores my faith in myself, my friends will tell me if im being a wally!
Thanks everyone, i will think of you all while im there!:wave:
Hey Bobtob:wave:
You'll be fine i went home last year and i was like i never left...you'll have a great time and the weather is soooooooooooooo hot...can i come with you lol:laughing:
rubyredlips
21-07-2006, 10:16
Whenever I've been back to the UK it has felt instantly like I haven't been away! I love the fact that it's like you have 2 lives...one here and one there! Both with pros and cons equally I reckon!
Have a good weekend girls :wave:
rubyredlips
21-07-2006, 10:18
Wierd.......I just wrote a v similar thing to you LA62 - it's like youv'e never left - and i don't know where it went...... :idea:
rubyredlips
21-07-2006, 10:19
there it is! I'm losing it.......................... :confused: :confused: :confused:
lol i loose it every day:eek: :yes:
My mum is always saying at the moment...who needs OZ when we are getting this weather:banghead: so annoying!
Mind you shes getting me back for all the times i day it to her when its there winter....does not feel great to hear:laughing:
filmgirlgail
22-07-2006, 17:59
Hi Georgie :wave:
I know what you mean. I've been in Brisbane 2 years next month and I've married an Aussie who is now running the family business here. I've already been back twice for visits, and our aim is to go every 18 months or so, but sometimes all I want to do is have a girlie night with my mates.
Like others, I'm not shy - I've handed out my phone number to other mummies from music classes, swimming, etc but never seem to hear from them. Plus I want to get some "non-mummy" friends too - I don't mind if they have children, I just don't want that to be our main reason for meeting, IYKWIM, in the nicest possible sense as I love my DD to bits but she's not the only thing I want to talk about.
I just had my cousin and her friend stay for a few days from the UK on their way around the world and it was great to mention a shop or place and they knew it!!
I also miss the ease of shopping, like at Tesco's where you could actually get decent baby clothes whilst you did your shopping, although my local Coles has just started a range to rival them.
Anyway, enough moaning, just wanted to say hi. Have to go and put DD to bed, then we've ordered pizza to eat whilst watching Dr Who!
Georgie47
22-07-2006, 19:12
Hey filmgirlgail! (would love to know the meaning behind that one;0)
Wow, we too have been back twice in the past 3 1/2 years and go again next week for a wee holiday:smiliedance: I hear what your saying about the socialising, you do miss your girlfriends somedays hey?
I would say the 2nd year is always the hardest, as the first feels like a holiday and then the fun slows down and reality hits!!! but I've felt better again recently. I have to say though I'm like you in the way I love to hear familiar English words like Tesco, Next, Topshop, Marks & sparks, Eastenders, (we even called our cat Alfie moon!) but even 'This Morning' is so much better than the morning shows here! Oh Dear I've whinged enough for one day, sorry about that!
We have a 2yr old Max, and one on the way, due in November and at 33 I'm shattered this time, (especially at the thought of that flight:eek: everything will be fine I'm sure!!!
Pizza sounds good, thanks for that, great idea!:thumbsup:
filmgirlgail
22-07-2006, 19:43
Hi Georgie
Well, it just means, as my FIL says "If you want to know anything about films, ask Gail" - love the movies, old and new :yes:
I know what you mean about This Morning. I didn't watch it regularly but if I was having a pyjama day with Jess then I knew there was something to watch or have on in the background. Here I haven't even tried after seeing that most of the morning was taken up with product placement type adverts.
I'm about the same as you - Jess just became 2.5 exactly and I'm due in September with #2 and am 33! Whereabouts are you from? I'm from Amersham, Bucks, but lived in Kingston, Wimbledon, and many places in Bucks. My parents have just moved to Devon last month so the house in Amersham that was "home" for 31 years is no longer ours :crying: Didn't know last time I was there that they were moving, not that you can take a brick with you or anything :rolleyes: to remember it by.
Pizza was good - 1st time I think I've ever finished one by myself!! Must be pregnant :yes:
I'll be heading for Next, Gap, Tescos, M&S, Topshop etc, etc, as soon as pos! but first I'm heading to the local chinese for some decent crispy duck!:smiliedance: Funny, things you miss eh?[/quote]
Yum crispy Duck oh how I miss it and a Curry with a pint of Stella
I am a little different to you fine ladies I am an Aussie that misses UK and all my UK friends i only lived there for 4 years but fell in love with everthing about the place even the weather I got myself and English man :hugs: as a keepsake
I would of stayed for ever only would couldnt afford to buy a shoe box to live in
We have been is Brisbane for 6 years now and have only been back once and i cant see us going back any time soon:crying: Domt think i could do the flight with a baby but Granny(MIL) is coming next for DS first birthday
Oh I am getting home sick
Karen
Georgie47
23-07-2006, 21:40
Hi Gail,:wave:
I'm actually from Dover, Kent but lived around London for a while before coming to Aus four years ago. Another thing we have in common, my parents are also moving at the end of the year where they've lived for 38 years and I'm really sad about it! Wierd, didnt think it would bother me but I was born in that house and feel strangely attached!:crying: Glad in a way to be going home this week to sit in my old room!!!
How's the pregnancy going? I bought those incredibly attractive support stockings today for the flight, umm nice! My second trimester has been great, so much better than my first.:yes:
filmgirlgail
24-07-2006, 09:44
Ah the lovely support stockings!! I was in hospital for 4 weeks before I had Jess and had to wear the full length ones - how they expect you to get them on when you're over 34 weeks I don't know. :no: I had to get someone to get them over the ankle and then I could manage it.
I used to know Dover and Canterbury quite well as we lived in Brussels for 6 years so used to get the ferry or hovercraft over all the time in the early 80s!
Pregnancy is ok this time. Last time I had complications, hence in the hospital and an elective c-section. This time I don't have all the same problems but some so am having a c-section again but hopefully won't have to go in early.
2nd trimester was better as no morning sickness :smiliedance: but I have SPD (symphisis pubis disorder) so the more weight I put on the more it hurts :thumbsdown: Anyway, 6 weeks on Thursday I'll meet my little disco bubba and that problem just disappears!
When are you off on your trip?
Georgie47
24-07-2006, 22:02
So glad you understand the glamour of these lovely stockings, I felt like i'd done a work out by the time I got them on! Jesus, are they meant to be that tight?:confused:
Aaarrgghhhh! so you know good old Dover! bless, everyone looks so foreign there these days, mum said so many Slovakian people live there now its really changed. Canterbury's nice, some good pubs, did you ever go to bluewater shopping? :thumbsup:
We head off on Thursday, a little nervous about the flight with Max but hey, we're doing it so going with the flow on that one.
So, if you like your films I have a question for you, did you ever see Abigails Party? a Mike Leigh film from the 70's. Its become a bit of a cult classic in the u.k and they've now made it a stage show in London apparently, I thought that film was hilarious! My sisters getting tickets, that'll be laugh!
filmgirlgail
25-07-2006, 11:03
Well I haven't been to Dover in years now, we left Brussels in 1985!! So have only been there every 5 years or so since then.
I'm sure Max will be fine. I'm lucky in that Jess is just interested in everything that's going on around her and happy to watch people and explore the new environment. I packed her a bag with a few new toys or else toys I had hidden for a while and were therefore new to her. An A5 pad of paper and pencils to stuff in your purse is a good idea too. I've managed it to the UK and back solo twice, which I didn't think I would ever do, so at least with two of you, one of you can get to go to the toilet by yourself for 5 mins :D Trying to fit in one of those cubicles with a toddler is a nightmare :eek:
As for Abigail's Party, my old landlady loved it but I never saw it, but apparently it's quite good, so I hope you enjoy.
Hiya girls
The Uk has been a bit on my mind lately, probably because I'm getting lots of mail and catching up with friends re our baby news. I've had some really vivid dreams about friends too.
Gail, I just noticed you are from Amersham... DH was born there and we are both originally from Bucks, around Beaconsfield and High Wycombe. I wouldn't mind a holiday back but it seems unlikely with a family of 5 now and my family aren't there anymore so :thumbsdown: I could so do with a shopping trip... Next, Boots (lots of 3 for 2s!) and even Tesco for baby stuff on the cheap.
Can you imagine how tragic we would sound to all of our friends telling them we miss places as mundane as Boots and Sainsburys? It'd be like the aussies over there complaining about the lack of Soul Pattisons and Coles :laughing:
LOLs just checked backin to this post...my friends think i have such a glam life in sunny Oz!... ( er no not in Melb at the Min!:gloomy: ) i'd hate them to read what i have posted on here
My secedule tonight for the TV is er Corrie
emmerdale, and eastenders....:eek:
we may as well be back in the uk:laughing: