View Full Version : A day in the life of...

Lilahh
28-10-2009, 16:10

Was just interested in what 24 hours in your life with your LO(s) looks like. I really like hearing about other peoples rhythms/routines (or lack thereof, like us sometimes) with babies of a similar age to DS, it gives me good ideas. :wave:

Mrs Awesome
28-10-2009, 16:56
Our day follows DS who is 19 weeks, its fair set, buts thats how he made it from a young age.....

0800 - Wakes up, nappy change, get dressed etc.
0830 - Breastfeed (BF)
0900 - plays on floor with activity centre
1000 - Down for nap
1100-1200 wakes up and nappy change, reads stories with mum
1230 - BF
1300 - plays on floor
1330-1500 sometimes plays, most days we would be out and about at this time shopping, groceries coffee etc
1500 - nap
1600 - wakes up, nappy change, play time with mum
1630 - BF
1700 - Plays on activity mat until cranky then i take his nappy off and let him have a kick until about 1830
1830 - Bath with daddy
1900 - BF with EBM top-up
2000 - Bed for the night
1030-1100 - dreamfeed then back to bed until 0800 next day.

Not a bad day I think!

Tegan15
28-10-2009, 19:01
:hair::geek: I just typed I long reply and bubhub crashed.

The sooper nanny
28-10-2009, 19:34
well very day is different in our house, i dont really have a fixed routine but kt seems to have set up her own

6am wake, nappy change (usually a poo) noice!
bottle
play in mum and dads bed, back down at 0730-8 for an hour nap
up for breakfast (solids) usually fruit cereal etc
back down for a quick nap at 10ish
bottle at midday, a big sleep in the arvo
playtime/out and about / walk etc
sometimes a quick nap before more solids, bath,(as were usually covered in pureed something) normally bed at 7pm.
feed at 11, and 4 start the day again.....

every day is different as i said, and it tends to depend on what Im doing. She still sleeps a lot during the day, but I just let her tell me what she needs.....and thankfully she sleeps any and everywhere

lozie2
28-10-2009, 20:06
it varies but normally

7am- bf, nappy and changed if we are going out.
depends how long it takes to feed, play on the floor on tummy, i have a shower
8- food
8.30ish bed
10am bf, nappy,
depends how long it takes to feed, play on the floor on tummy
11.30ish bed
1, bf nappy
depends how long it takes to feed, play on the floor on tummy
4 bf nappy
small play on the floor
4.30 bed
6 bath (every 2nd night)
6.30-730 (or anywhere in between) feed
Bed

we sing songs read books and chat after her feeds before her nappy change. sometimes she will have a feed over night sometimes she wont

Ushas
28-10-2009, 23:51
Yeah every day is different for us but Kian has a basic pattern he follows.

6.30am AWAKE! Bottle
6.45 Playtime, he often sits on the floor and we play with whatever he fancies.
8am Nap
8.45/9 AWAKE! Solids feed
9.30ish Playtime/ books
10.30/11 - Baby DVD and fall asleep
11.45/12 Bottle
12ish Playtime
1.30 Nap
2/2.30 - Solids Feed then Playtime
3.30 - Bottle
3.45 - Play/snuggle/read
5ish - Snooze
5.30 - Play
6.30 Daddy home/Cuddles/Bath/Stories
7.00 Bottle and Bed

But if we go out it's usually around 10.30/11. Kian will sleep anywhere and he just fits in with whatever we do, so he may be awake longer or sometimes he'll sleep longer. Feeds always follow the same pattern although I want to switch the solids around a bit so he's having 3 a day at more 'normal' meal times.

Lilahh
29-10-2009, 07:07
Ill just post the last 24 cause every day is different!!

6am: Wakeup, nappy change, up with Daddy while Mum sleeps in
7.15am; BF, back to sleep
9am: Wake up, BF, nappy change, watch Mum get ready
11am: Solids while Mum has coffee with friends
12pm: Gets feral from being awake for 3+ hours. Has a small nap in car on way home.
12.30pm: BF, will NOT resettle into bed. Bawls on and off for an hour.
1.30pm: Finally falls to sleep with lots of patting, bub is cranky and overtired.
2.30pm: Wakes up cranky, won't resettle, has tummy time and cuddles.
3.30pm: BF
4pm: Quick snooze
5pm: Wakes up happy!
5.30pm: Solids with Daddy and then tummy time.
6pm: Bath
6.30pm: Milk feed
7pm: Into cot, whinges a bit, settled asleep by 7.15pm
11pm: BF, nappy change, back to sleep
12.30am: Wakes up cranky, think its his teeth? Comes into our bed, settles with dummy.
3.30am: BF
5am: Wakes up, thinks its time to start the day!!
6.15am: Settles back to sleep with a BF
7.15am: Start it all over again.

lou333
29-10-2009, 07:39
Buddy - what a great routine Harry's in - I'd kill for an 8am start. Mine is a bit like yours Lilah, different from day to day and DD is 18 weeks. So an average day might be:

5am - BF, back to bed
6.30am - awake again, bit of play
7am - BF
8.30am - sleep 2hr
10.30am - awake, BF, play (typically floor play, tummy time, watching big sister play, reading books, in bouncer watching mummy do chores which she loves!), might go out
12.15pm - sleep, 2hr might need re-settling in between sleep cycles
2.15pm - BF, play, might go out
4.00pm - sleep 1hr
5.00pm - awake and very grumpy! Try to distract her for 1hr then bath and BF
6.30 - sleep
10.30pm - BF
1am - crying, re-settle
2.30 - BF
4am - crying re-settle
5am - BF (mostly do this to avoid DD1 being woken up, otherwise we're all starting the day at 5am!)

Mrs Awesome
29-10-2009, 08:34
Yeah, I really cant complain....DS is a dream baby! I feel so blessed as I know how different he could have been...makes me a bit nervous about the next one!

I didnt aim to get him into a routine, he kinda fell into it on his own. I did read the baby bliss book, but have never tried to follow their routines, although I did stick to not keeping him awake for more than an hour when he was teeny.

Most of you seem like you are well on the way to getting a good routine happening...and you know wht, if it suits you and your family...stick to it!!

Ushas
29-10-2009, 10:56
Yeah I read Baby Bliss and hated it! It was far too restrictive and talked about not going out much as it was overstimulating and stuff... But I'm sure it works for some people. Just not for us.
Bub settled into his own routine quickly and I'm happy to follow his directions which follows the same pattern day in and out, regardless of where we are or what we're doing.
But I also count my blessing every day that we have such a fabulous little boy. And although I can't see us having another, I completely understand what you mean about being worried the next one won't be as well-behaved. Lol!

Emma84
29-10-2009, 11:14
i like these threads aswell, it is what lead me to bub hub in the 1st place. Our day is usually like this
6am - wake and cuddles in bed/on lounge with mum
6.30 bottle
7.15 solids breakfast
8am SLEEP usually for about 90mins
10.30 bottle
11.30 solids lunch
12.00 SLEEP usually for 90mins
2.30 bottle (she may be dropping this soon, and i'll intro an arvo tea of prob yoghurt)
3-4.30 PLAY
4.30 solids dinner
5.30 bath
6.00 bottle
6.30 bed
10.30-11 DreamFeed
usually another feed around 3-4amthen it all starts over again.
Sometimes she sleeps til 6.30, we just shift the morning 30mins back and catch up by lunch so the night routine is always the same! If i go out, im now trying to make it in the arvo cause we're dropping the arvo sleep as she sleeps HEAPS better overnight wothout it

Rosebones
29-10-2009, 15:52
Newbie... hmmm...

6.30am - wake up, plays with sister for a bit, bum change, hangs out with dad for a bit
7.30am - breakfast of either farex/some custard thing
8.30am - BF, has a nap.
10isham - Bum change, play time
about 12 - another BF, she doesn't like solids for lunch
1.30pm - Nap time.
3.00pm - BF, bum change, play time. (Though today she's gone down for another nap.. weirdo)
5.00pm - Usually she naps here so I can make dinner...
6.30pm - Shower time!
7.00pm - down from shower time, quick plays with daddy and then some solids (pumpkin sweetcorn usually she loves it)
8.00pm - BF and she goes down for a sleep.
anywhere between 11pm and midnight she wakes up - BF.
Then she'll wake anywhere from 4am - 6.30... if the suns up, I'll get up. If not, BF it is.

bella77
29-10-2009, 18:15
Lilah - my day sounds a lot like yours sometimes!!!

Ours normally ends up like this

5:30 - 6:30 - awake and plays in cot
6:30 - 7ish - solid feed of farex and fruit, sometimes some toast with avo
7:30 - bottle
7:45 - play til sleepy
8:30ish - 40min kip, sometimes ends up as 2 hours, eps on weekends for some reason!
between 9:30 - 11:00 snack - normally fruit
9:30 - 12:00 - normally out at an activity - Rhyme Time, mum's group, swimming, Gymbaroo etc. If home early, will have a 40 min nap
12:00 - Solid feed - protein + vegies
12:30 - bottle
12:45 - play til sleepy
2ish - nap
3ish - afternoon tea - yoghurt or custard
3:30ish - play - often outside. Massage.
5:00 - solid feed + fruit, bikkie or rusk
5:30 - bath + short play
6:00 - bottle
by 6:30 - bed :)

Our play time involves stories, songs, playing with his toys or in front of the mirror, crawling around the house and falling over lots!

TripleTime
29-10-2009, 19:40
You ready?

5.30am up & ready for the day - bum changes & hit the bean bags
6-7am bottles - everyone
7-8am play time
8am sleep time - 9/10 they'll fall asleep playing & i leave them there. This is where i try to have a shower, doesnt always happen
10-11am bottles
11am-12pm play time
12-1.30pm sleep
2-3pm bottles
3.30 sleep
4.30 wake up - If its bath night when start now & finished by 5.30, if not its play time with Daddy while i battle bottles
5.30-6.30 bottles
6.30-7 wind down time
7pm bed time
2am quick feed & i mean quick, everyone is fed in 45minutes & straight back to sleep.
5.30 start again.

*sigh*

EAT - In there some where i manage to eat breakfast, dinner & maybe a snack. I hardly every get dressed & either do the Trips. We do if we are going out. Ive eaten Lunch twice since monday & that was only because we were out & i could hand non sleeping kids over to someone.

LittleBug'sMum
29-10-2009, 20:49
I don't really have a routine, but this is kind of what we do if we don't go out anywhere during the day:

6am wake-up - Usually little bug wakes up and makes all sorts of weird noises until his dad goes in, gets him up and changes nappy and puts him in bed with me.

7am - I drag myself out of bed and bf the bug, usually coz he just wont wait any longer.... He has a bit of a play on his mat while I eat breakfast and watch the today program on TV.

8am - we go out for a nice long walk and little bug has a sleep in the pram. Or if I'm feeling lazy he will have a sleep in his cot, after much patting from me.

9am-ish - back from walk, the bug sits in his bouncer in the bathroom while I have a shower (fun for him, I'm sure). Then we have a bit of a play, or do some housework or something.

10am - bf, then more playing/ housework.

11am -sleep

12pm - Dr. Phil on TV

12:30ish - wake up. (interrupting my Dr.Phil watching, really must find a way to make him sleep longer...) Might try some solids, but usually this involves me shoveling farex into the little bugs mouth and then him spitting it all over his bib, clothes, highchair, floor, me... Every few days I give this a miss.

1pm - bf, then again with the playing/ housework

2pm - another nap.

3pm - ish wake up and play (a bit whingy by now usually, so needs entertaining).

4pm - bf, Dad arrives home from work so can play with little bug, YAY! :smiliedance: I get to do something, or chill out for a bit or whatever.

5pm - bathtime, little bugs favourite time of the day
5:15pm - bedtime story - "Peepo" - it's a really sweet book.
5:30pm - bf and then into bed by 6pm
6:05pm - glass of wine for me :D, then DH cooks me dinner.

2am - ish - The bug wakes up for a feed...
Then it all starts again.

Sometimes he will sneak a couple of extra breastfeeds in there, especially lately as he has just got his first teeth and has been extra whingy, so I try to bf him to stop the whinging.

MegACT
29-10-2009, 21:08
Bub has been sick so his routine has changed a little. This is a very flexible routine and I just follow Bubs cues.

7.15am Awake, BF and in bed with Mum (if we don't have to be somewhere early in the morning).

8.00am Shower for Mum while Bub plays on our bed.

8.30am Nappy free/Play time for Bub, Breakfast for Mum and finish getting ready.

9.00am Solids feed

9.30am Nap for Bub (sometimes) or head out of the house for playgroup or catch-ups.

10.30am Awake from nap (if he has one), BF and play

11.30am/12pm Bottle and bed, Lunch and R&R for Mum

2.30pm/3pm Awake from big sleep, BF

3.30pm/4pm Solids feed and play, Nap for Bub (sometimes)

5pm Dad home from work, Mum prepares dinner while Dad supervises Bub

6pm/6.30pm Bath, Family time

7pm Bottle and bed

Bub sleeps through 7pm to 7am.

Ushas
30-10-2009, 00:19
It's fascinating how we all manage to do different things just to be able to complete the basics of housework/showers/eating etc...

I either pop K in the excersaucer or Jolly jumper in our bedroom doorway or wait till he's asleep to have a shower. I pop him in his cradle swing with a DVD if I'm desperate to do some housework. It's great now that he can sit independently cause he plays quite happily on his alphabet mat and I can work around him.

bella77
30-10-2009, 06:31
It's fascinating how we all manage to do different things just to be able to complete the basics of housework/showers/eating etc...

And it's also amazing how much you can get done when your child only naps for 40 mins - shower, food, washing on, other load hung up or off the line or put away, ring people etc :D Thank goodness my hubby loves to do the housework...

lozie2
30-10-2009, 07:56
tt- im tired just reading what you get up to in the day!:sleeping: i think i need a sleep!!

TripleTime
30-10-2009, 08:10
tt- im tired just reading what you get up to in the day!:sleeping: i think i need a sleep!!

Its pretty crazy :o

The days we go out, like today. I got up at 4.30am to pack the nappy & swimming bags, suitcase for the trip's weekend with Nanna & Pop's. One more to dress, feed everyone & we're off.

lozie2
30-10-2009, 08:18
tti know i have said it before but wow i think your amazing! i guess you really have no choice but to do it! but still i don't know how i would go with triplets!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

lou333
30-10-2009, 08:19
tti know i have said it before but wow i think your amazing! i guess you really have no choice but to do it! but still i don't know how i would go with triplets!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

:iagree: Wow!

Lilahh
30-10-2009, 08:23
TT: I've said it before, Ill say it again... your amazing!!!! :yelclap:

Bella: I agree, I maximise those 40 minutes so much!! :laughing:

Meg: Its so great that Kobe is still sleeping thru even when sick, what a little trooper.

Bub almost always has 3 days sleeps, one 1-1.5 hour one in the morning, a 40 minute nap and a 1.5-2.5 hour one. I prefer him to have the longer one at lunchtime but its just so hard when you are out and about, he usually switches them and has the catnap while we are out and the big one in the afternoon.

Since he has been teething he constantly needs resettling during his day sleeps. Sometimes up to 5 times in an hour! But its pretty easy, I just duck in, pat him on the butt for a sec and jiggle the dummy and he is comatose within a few seconds again. But its annoying, he used to be such a deep sleeper...:detective:

TripleTime
30-10-2009, 08:37
Thanks Girls. Just got to do what youve got to do.

kuddles
30-10-2009, 09:09
I just came across this thread.
Here goes...

6:40am DS wakes and talks loudly
6:45am I get him up and put him in bed next to DP. He loves his morning hugs from his Daddy.
7:00am BF
7:45 Nappy change
8:00 Plays on the floor while I iron and get breakfast ready for DP and I.
8:15 Daddy hugs before work then uses me as a climbing device or just gets hugs (depending on mood). We then play until DS gets sleepy.
9:30- 10am somewhere between these times DS will have a 20-40 min nap.
10ish DS wakes for a quick play
10:30 DS has solids (whatever we are introducing at the time).
11:00 Nappy free tummy time. Nappy change.
11:15 play time
11:30 - 12 Sometime between these times DS gets cranky. He just wants a BF. BF.
12ish - playtime
12:30 - DP comes home for lunch/ meet DP out for lunch
12:45 - Nap in his swing/pram for 20-45 mins
1:10-1:30 Nappy change when DS wakes then play time.
2pm BF
3pm Play
3-4pm Some where between this time we have another nappy change.
4pm- DS sleeps in his swing 20-60mins
5pm - BF and play until Daddy gets home
6pm - DP feeds DS Solids then changes DS's nappy and plays with him.
7pm-8pm if on bath night DP bathes DS and I usually dry and dress him. If on non bath night it is Daddy's storytime.
8pm BF
8-9pm DS goes to bed. Thankfully he can self settle in his bed at night time :)
9pm Adult time.

(This is just a rough guide as to what happens in our lives. If he needs more BF or Nappy changes he gets them. If by miracle he wants to sleep more that is awesome but otherwise some days I'm lucky to get 3x 20min naps. Not complaining though because I consider myself lucky that he self settles between 8-9pm and doesn't wake until 6:40am on the dot.)

Thursday is swimming day so he has a nap in the car when I drive to pick my friend and her little girl up. When we get home he has a warm bath to wash the pool water away and then has food and then sleeps for a long 1-1.5 hour sleep. We don't have a night bath on Thursdays even if it is bath night. :)

I tried to get him to self settle during the day in his bed but that just put his night sleeps out for a week. Will try to get him to sleep in his bed when he's older/ grown out of his swing.

Kimmie
30-10-2009, 18:44
This is a fairly usual day for the little guy. It can change, especially his day sleeps when he's teething badly.

0630 - Wake up and chat and cuddle with me in bed
0700 - bottle
0730 - chats with me or dad and/or playtime on mat
0830 - nap for 45 min to 1hr
0930 - up, tummy time and mat time
1100 - bottle
1130 - playtime and nick jr so mum can have a shower!
1230 - nap for 1-2 hours - housework etc for me!
1400 - up and tummy time or bouncer
1500 - bottle
1530 - playtime
1600 - nap for 30-45 min
1630 - up and playtime and bath
1900 - bottle and bed
2300 - wake him up, put a night time nappy on, bottle and straight back to bed. Sleep through to morning.

His playtimes vary from us reading a book to him or just hanging out with him, playing with some of his toys or time in his bouncer or cradle swing. He seems to like Sean the Sheep, Curious George and Yo Gabba Gabba on Nick Jr, so he gets to stare at that sometimes too! Mum needs a hot coffee sometimes! :laughing: