View Full Version : great toys for a 16 month old

HugsAndKisses
14-07-2006, 14:42
:wave: hello everyone i saw a thread not long ago about the toys people wasted money on but what i want to know is what are great toys for a 16 month old:confused: i really want to buy my son some new toys but honestly dont know wat he'd want....he loves to try and figure things out like blocks and putting lids on pens etc so any ideas big or small:smiliedance:

thanks in advance guys i know u'll have some good suggestions:yes:

natasha
14-07-2006, 14:46
Its such a tough stage this one! I had the same problem with what to get DD (shes 18 months now).....I just don't think there are many good toys out there for this age group. What about a shape sorter that plays music everytime he gets one in? You can buy really easy ones for his age group. Or a sand pit for the garden??

HugsAndKisses
14-07-2006, 15:21
actually u have still helped...we had thought about a sandpit so maybe that is a good idea :thumbsup:

jembelina
14-07-2006, 16:22
I second the sandpit idea........with cups and some plastic utensils, a sifter - he will have a ball.
Also have you tried him with some chunky crayons or pencils? Ds has filled 3 scrapbooks with scribbles and loves it when I draw something he can recognise!
Play dough - he will try to eat it but it's fun anyway!
ds has a plastic shopping trolley($10!) that he puts various things in and drags/pushes around the house.
Very bsic jigsaw puzzles - ds doesn't have much of a clue yet, but when I help him he gets such a kick out of getting one in ("did it, did it" he tells me!)

Taht's all i can think of right now - hope it helps!

HugsAndKisses
14-07-2006, 17:37
hey there really good idea's.....so maybe its more creativity they like at this age ya reckon:chef: i will buy a sandpit i think wat do u cover it over with though...we have a few cats in our ar5ea that sometimes come in our yard....wouldnt wanna find any surprises in the sandpit:laughing:

draught
14-07-2006, 17:40
If you buy one of the plastic clam shells they have two shells, so one acts as a lid - very effective. In summer, when there are no water restrictions of course, we put water in the other half and they make a great mess!

Toys that make noise are also good - shakers, bells, drums, whistles, etc. And books. Lots and lots of books!

Lallas' Mum
14-07-2006, 17:53
My husband built our boys a huge sandpit using hardwood sleepers. He then made a flip-up cover using shadecloth. It works a treat!!

The toys my eldest son (who is nearly three now) were these Mega Blocks cars and trucks. They have the base with wheels and two top pieces which are the front of the car and the back. They are 6-7 cms long in the base and chunky. They are certainly not something they can fit in their mouths. My eldest found them great because he could throw them and they would break into three pieces and then he could put them back together. You can mix and match them and they fit together with other mega blocks pieces. I am quite sure we own every single design ever made!!!! My youngest thinks they are great too. He is 14 months old and is really getting into them.

I would say they were hands down the best for my mechanically minded, ever curious son.

annb
14-07-2006, 18:34
what about a blackboard, we have one with double side one black the other magnet so all his magnet stuff he can play around with on it as well
anything you can hammer things into...those wooden peg style ones we have a couple of those
and really anyhting that unfortunately makes a noise so we have a fair few musical instruments - drums tambourine bells maraccas, his latest favourite is DH old Casio electric keyboard, DS loves turning it on to all the different rhythms and dancing along and hitting the keys

HugsAndKisses
15-07-2006, 09:44
i guess i will be off to the the shop next week when dp gets paid:yes: those ideas sound really good! is anyone able to let me know how much a blackboard/magnet board might cost and who sells them...i really like the idea:thumbsup:

annb
15-07-2006, 11:20
i got mine in Kmart for $50 it was on sale...but Kmart or Target you can get them easy for around that price all year round, mine is a world for kids brand

HugsAndKisses
15-07-2006, 15:59
thanks heaps i will go to target and check them out on friday :D
and if anyone has any other ideas id still really like to know as i would like to get a couple more things....also thanks for the sandpit idea id say we'll be getting one of them very soon too:yes:

wattle
15-07-2006, 20:54
Have you thought about joining your local toy library? It's such a great idea, if you borrow something and it's really popular with bub, then you can buy one. Otherwise return it and try something else.

It's also a lovely way to meet other mums.