View Full Version : Baby Bjorn carriers... are they worth it?????
louise37
20-10-2009, 07:58
Hi, i am thinking of purchasing a Baby Bjorn carrier, but want to know are there really worth it.
Will i get the use out of it.
I was planning on using it when i duck over to the shops so i don't have to use the pram and when i walk me DD to preschool.
Are they hard to get bub in and out of, or should i stick to using my pram.
Any advice or experience appreciated.
MothersMilk
20-10-2009, 08:04
It depends.
My baby hated being it and i found it not the most comfortable - DH thought it was okay but useless if bub hates being in it. It was also difficult to get on - we got almost no use out of it.
I suggest, if you do buy one, to get one cheap - just incase you or bub don't like it. You could also take bub down to the shop and try one on with bub in store before buying it.
I loved my Baby Bjorn and used it heaps with my first two. I then sold it on ebay and had to get a new one for the bub that we're about to have! (BTW I bought mine new for about $100 9 years ago and sold it for $45 on ebay 6 years later, so the resale is pretty good too :thumbsup:)
Getting bub in and out takes a little practise, but soon became second nature to us.
You can get slings that look more comfortable. I'll be getting one of these ones for my next bub.
http://www.sleepshop.com.au/Content_Common/pr-Sleep-Accessories_Sleepy-Wrap.seo
Absolutely worth it in my opinion. Really easy to use and much easier than getting a whole pram out if you just want to duck into a shop, then you've got your hands free to pay etc. Both of my bubs loved it, especially when they get bigger and can face forward and look around. They often like the walking motion as that's what they've felt during the pregnancy. DD1 was in there until about 1 yr and used to get so excited when she saw it!
We have one and DD loved it! We brought ours so we didn't have to lug the pram around when making quick trips to the shops ect. DH wore it more than me and still says it was the best thing we ever brought. :)
Not worth it.
They don't last very long, they're not good for the carrier's back and they're terrible for the babies development (they just HANG by their crotch. Ouch)
Babies outgrow them pretty quickly - or if they don't outgrow them, the bubs get too heavy to carry as the design isn't the most ergonomic for parents.
An Ergo baby carrier is better suited for the long term. Costs about the same, goes from infancy - 18kg (my 3 year old isn't yet 14kg!) you can wear front, back, hip and I can wear my 4 month old or my 3 year old without it bothering my back or feeling heavy or anything like that.
The sleepy-wrap that's been linked also looks pretty sweet :D I have a hug-a-bub (same as sleepy wrap) which was GREAT for really little days - so 'nuggly!
Maybelline
20-10-2009, 08:43
We didnt like them..uncomfortable.....i found are pram very easy....maybe go and test them out...
I love mine and use it all the time. The issue of it being bad for the baby's body - well as far as i am concerned any sling is not going to be good to carry baby in for hours on end - you just have to be sensible about it really.
The difference between a sling and a baby bjorn is all about weight distribution and keeping the knees above the bum.
They don't recommend using a jolly jumper for more than 10 minutes at a time for this reason.. because they're just hanging by their crotch and their weight is not being distributed.
I remember arguing the same thing before I read up about the benefits of slings and other carriers. ;)
Besides - who carries their 3 year old around in their baby bjorn?
pixiemum2
20-10-2009, 14:33
I think any sling/carrier is worth it! I had both a baby bjorn and a sling. I used the sling more as it seemed a lot more comfortable and snug for my babies. My kids woould go to sleep in it as soon as I put them in it. The baby bjorn is very easy to get bub in and out of so don't worry about that.
I didn't like my baby bjorn. I felt like I was going to topple forward and I was concerned that it seemed rather uncomfy for a baby (I wouldn't like to be held like that). My recommendation would be to investigate a sling for newborns/small babies and then an ergo for when they get a bit older.
Natsmummy
21-10-2009, 14:11
I think a sling/carrier of some sort is a great idea. As to which type that's up to you.
I had a Baby Bjorn Active and used it every day with DS. I found it super comfy and he loved it. While I was pregnant with DD I also purchased a Sleepy Wrap and a ring sling but the only one that DD likes being in is the Baby Bjorn so I'm going to sell the other two. DD hates the pram so I use the Baby Bjorn even more with her than I did with DS - at least once every day and not just when I'm out - I find it can be a great way to get jobs done if she doesn't want to be put down.
kiwichuck
21-10-2009, 14:17
I've had both a baby bjorn and a sling for all 3 kidlets and they've all preferred the baby bjorn. I often wonder if its more comfy for refluxing babies cos it doesnt bend them in the middle?? Anyways, I dont leave home without it...
I haven't had any success with slings - I've tried a few brands and I wanted desperately for them to work - but I think it may just be me (perhaps I'm somehow sling-challenged?)
I don't mind the Baby Bjorn for when they're very little but haven't found it comfortable once bub gets over 3 months.
I love my Ergo, it's fantastic - but don't love it for the newborn stage!
The Baby Bjorn hurt my back and shoulders like nothing else- they burned. They dont distribute the weight properly.
Have a look at the Hug-A-Bubs for the little stage then a look at the Ergo (I have an Ergo and I can STILL carry my 4 yr old and 2 .5yr olds in it for hiking up mountains and hills!!). The Ergo is a 3 way carrier and you can use it on front side and back and all the weight is distributed to your hips so you dont notice and huge strain on your shoulders or back.:flowerz:
Marygrace
21-10-2009, 18:23
I've used a Baby Bjorn and they are TERRIBLE! They are SO uncomfortable- I had a heavy baby, by the time she was 2 months old I could not carry her in it. They pull horribly on your shoulders and just feel wrong.
As said earlier, they are bad for the baby's spine and hips because all the weight is put on the spine. They are also impossible to breast feed in (well I couldn't anyway).
I then switched to an Ergo baby carrier and I can't believe I put up with the stupid BB for so long. Ergos are amazingly comfortable and as said by Seekrit, cost about the same (actually cheaper than the top of the range BB) but last for years. You can carry a toddler on your back when they grow out of on the front.
They are just as easy to put on but I'm telling you, the difference between the two is remarkable- there is no competition!
When I couldn't carry my 6 week old for more than 10 mins without agony in the shoulders, I now can carry my 12kg 13 month old for a 6 km walk with ease and comfort.
You need an additional infant insert if bubs is less than 4 months old, looks so cosy and comfortable.
All the weight is distributed evenly over the baby's legs, making it MUCH safer and more comfortable for them.
I see all these new parents in baby shops getting a BB and I think "Nooooo, don't waste your money!!"
For serious baby carrying, or any at all it's got to be an Ergo! :thumbsup:
I like mine.
I am quite small and my bub is not heavy so it never hurt my back but I never used it for a long time at once so it still looks brand new.
I bought a sling while pregnant but bub hated it - would start screaming as soon as I put her in it so I had to retun it:)
I took her to the shop to try Baby Bjorn and she loved it! She always slept in it:)
But I still prefer my pram for long walks.
But in gerenal I like it.
SorenLorensen
22-10-2009, 00:08
Besides - who carries their 3 year old around in their baby bjorn?
no idea but i know my 4 year old loves the ergo when DP lets her in it ;)
its a piggy back ride with out the effort :laughing:
no idea but i know my 4 year old loves the ergo when DP lets her in it ;)
its a piggy back ride with out the effort :laughing:
:D Hubster and I went on a long walk from his work into south bank - with Cobey on his back the whole way! :D
NOT WORTH IT :laughing:
Please look at an ergo, much better!
I have a mei tai (similar to an ergo) and love being able to carry my 2 year old. I don't think I ever thought I would, but for those times I'm in the supermarket I can race around and get want I need without any hassle.
I reckon you'll get better use out of a mei tai, ergo or something similar.
AmberMama
22-10-2009, 08:30
We got our Baby Bjorn second hand off Ebay for only $20, and we quite like it. I'm quite big and DD is quite small and it suits us quite well. I do agree with some of the PPs that bubs are sort of 'dangling' by the crotch, but I always put a hand underneath her bum (mainly for my own peace of mind) and she loves being in it.
I didn't like the baby bjorn. I too found the Ergo Carrier far better for baby, and lasts well into toddlerhood. For the absolute newborn, I had a hug-a-bub which was divine for the closeness, ability to have baby lying down, breastfeeding and sleeping with good head support.
Pices_79
24-10-2009, 21:27
I had a Baby Bjorn Active and loved it with both of my children! It had wonderful back support and gave me the ability to carry my babies with me instead of getting the pram out. With my DD i carried her until she was 12 months old. DS on the other hand was a big boy at 10.5kg at 6 months so I stopped using it then.
I found it invaluable and have recommended it to all my friends. I bought a sling but only used it a few times before giving it away as it killed my back. I also bought an Ergo and hated it...
I think with things like this you need to give a try before buying it as different things suit different people!
Baby Bjorns are crud compared to other carriers. I have an Ergo and a Pikkolo - they are brilliant and can easily carry my 2.5yo (he thinks its pretty cool to be Daddy's backpack lol)
I have a baby bjorn active and love it! I'll use it when I don't want bub to have a sleep in the pram at the shops which is pretty regularly. I lashed out and bought the active carrier - as i have horrible back and neck problems. And this hasn't been an issue as this carrier has pretty good support (even my chiro saw it and has been recommending it to new mums!). DS is currently about 8kg and we're still using it. I think the Active looks a bit more comfy than the base model but haven't tried that one so can't reeeeallly compare :laughing: We tried a sling and I was always in pain so that didn't work for us.
However, if we could do the carrier purchase again, I would have done a bit more research and looked into the Ergo carriers as well, just for the longevity of use.
If you know of someone who has one you can try out, I'd do that as it is quite a bit of money to spend... and even on ebay the active carriers seem to go for $100 or more.
I absolutely love mine. Best of all I bought it on ebay for $55...perfect condition and I've used it for 2 babies:thumbsup:.:thumbsup:
aphrodeity
25-10-2009, 14:23
I was given one of the 'active' ones and it was ok... I didn't really like it for all the reasons mentioned above. Bubs should really be held with their legs in a 'froggy' position, not hanging down like with the BB. I'd recommend looking at something with a waist strap (Ergo, Mei Tai, Yamo, Hug a Bub... you can even make your own hug a bub-style wrap for ~$5 worth of material), so that as bubs gets heavier their weight is distributed into your legs iykwim, with a BB all that weight goes onto your shoulders and upper back.
ontheway
26-10-2009, 11:05
are they worth it?????
Not for us, we ended up also buying a Ergo.
wildoats
26-10-2009, 11:08
Everyone is different... but for me it wasn't worth it. I was so tired when my baby was born that I didn't have the energy to work out how to use it :laughing:... by the time I worked it out my baby was too big.
bumblytumbly
26-10-2009, 11:28
I love ours, and use it all the time. It's great when your out and what to use a trolley rather than the pram, or for food shopping. I also pop ds in it if I want to do something around the house that needs 2 hands and he wants to be with me.
It took a little bit to get used to and to work out getting him in and out, but now it's just second nature.
Definately try them out though.
mummyeeee
28-10-2009, 22:36
A sling or carrier is a great thing to have for popping in and out of shops, etc as you said.
I used a Baby Bjorn for my first bub and didn't really have a problem with it. It hurt my shoulders a little bit but I used it quite a lot. Funny thing is, with my second baby I can't use it for more than a couple of minutes and my shoulders are in agony. I bought a hug-a-bub and it is the greatest thing EVER! More difficult to get on, yes, but put it on before you head out if you are driving and it is great. No pain and baby LOVES it. She is a bit older now (8 months) and loves facing out and it is so comfortable. I took the baby Bjorn on holidays recently instead of the hug-a-bub for ease of use - what a mistake that was!
Hope that helps. Good luck with everything. :)
funkybamboozle
29-10-2009, 21:41
I used the Baby Bjorn active with my DS3 until he was about 12months and my osteo told me to stop as I had quite a bad back. She recommended the ERGO which I have used with DD 15 months as well.
I got the ERGO sport because of the larger shoulder straps as Im 180 cm tall and DH can use it easier.
Im a fan of the Babes in Arms facebook site and they are saying they have reduced them to $149 including postage which is cheaper than the Baby bjorn.