View Full Version : young mum new to yeppoon looking for some friendships
lonelymum87
17-10-2009, 11:05
Hi, Im Amanda, im 22 with a 3 yr old daughter and an 18mth old son. my partner and I have moved to yeppoon recently and am hoping to find a friend/ some friends, with children for my 2 to play with. Spendin most of the day at home doing the usual washing and cleaning up after the children over and over again becomes a little depressing. So If you are in my area or close by i would love to chat.:wave: Or if you know of any mother get-to-gethers ide love to know of them. Hope to hear feedback. thanks!!
jassymonty
04-11-2009, 14:06
Hi Amanda,
My name is Jasmine and i'm 26, have 2 kids, one at prep aged 5 and a 3 year old.
I moved up here from brissy about 3 months ago. I too am finding it hard to meet people.
Do you have family here?
Hope to hear back :)
lonelymum87
05-11-2009, 10:00
Its great to hear from you. I do have some family here and also in rockhampton, but none of them have any children and some are 40 odd years old. So how are you settling in?? The best thing i find about this place would have to be the beach so far. The kids love it, we mainly go to the cooee bay beach cause we can normally have the whole thing to ourselves. Do you know of any play groups or activities for 3 year olds around? I would love for billie to mingle with others kids her age. And i wouldnt mind having someone other than family to talk to either. I hope to hear from you again soon.:)
jassymonty
06-11-2009, 08:14
Hey, i'm at taranganba, so it's not too far from cooeybay.My kids love the beach too.
Glad that you've got family locally,
I have looked up a couple of playgroups, havn't been there myself though. There is one on Fridays at 9.30-11.30 at the communtiy developement centre, and the other is at emu park on monday same time at the kindergarden there. Do you have facebook or msn?
I can't believe how hot it gets here some days lol, i was really suprised! i guess you're used to the weather lol. Does your partner work?
I'm still trying to find out where things are around here, going to try to find the library today, shall be interesting ha ha
hope to hear soon:)
lonelymum87
06-11-2009, 11:01
hi, i have a facebook page just look me up (Amanda Staines) and add me if you want, there are plenty of photos of myself and my little family. My msn addy is lukenmanda@hotmail.com. My fiance' is out of work at the moment, he is getting a little here and there, its really slow and hopefully will pick up soon. I took the kids to the library, but i dont think ill be taking them again on my own, they just run a muck i cant keep up with them and my yougest Regan (18 mnths) runs around pulling books off the shelf :} Bit hectic. Will have to arrange to meet up at the beach one day soon so the kids can have a play. Anyway let me know if your keen on the idea n add me on facebook too if you want. Talk soon:wave:
jassymonty
07-11-2009, 07:25
Hey, yeah that sounds like a good idea,
I think i added you.not the best at computers lol If you'd like mine , msn is jasmonty@live.com.au, and facebook is jasmine montgomery
I'm not sure if i added the right amanda on facebook lol,(there was a few)
I have a photo of myself , blonde hair and hubby if there is a few jasmines.
When i was at the library yesterday, there was a group that meets every friday for kids under 2. Do you reckon you're gunna try the play group?
talk soon
Jas
mum2olivia
23-11-2009, 21:41
hi my name is Krista
I just moved here after a very long rough patch!
I'm 22, Divorced single mum and new to Yeppoon **Mulambin**
Ive moved to a million different towns and states and am over uprooting my life and 3 year old
Olivia is 3, she is in Kindy at Cedar Park and we know noone!
if anyone wants to add me
mum2olivia@hotmail.com is my msn!
wow, hi there :)
I'm 32 and fiancee is 31
I've lived in Yeppoon (Cooee Bay actually) for a little over 6 months now.. love it here! Beach is nice and quiet, weather is not too bad (though I'm feeling the heat today!)
I have no kids currently, but just found out that I am pregnant, so woohoo :) Glad there are a few of us around this area!
jassymonty
02-12-2009, 07:32
Hi there shokujo,
Congratulations , that's great news, how far along are you? Do you know when you are due?
Do you have any family or friends here?
great to hear from you
Jasmine
I went to the doctor this morning, got result of blood tests.. best estimate is that i'm 7w2d, and due July 19... Pretty excited :):):)
I don't have any family here at all, a couple of friends that I have met through work, but that's about it, it's a very sleepy town! lol
halloweenmum
02-12-2009, 12:53
wow, hi there :)
I'm 32 and fiancee is 31
I've lived in Yeppoon (Cooee Bay actually) for a little over 6 months now.. love it here! Beach is nice and quiet, weather is not too bad (though I'm feeling the heat today!)
I have no kids currently, but just found out that I am pregnant, so woohoo :) Glad there are a few of us around this area!
HI Ladies,:wave:
I have just moved to Yeppoon too (Emu Park actually) and I am 32. I didnt post earlier because Im not exactly a young mum, LOL.
I have a 13mth DD and I am pregnant with my second, due 18th June 2010. So Shokujo, we are both preg and both the same age (I only had my birthday a few weeks ago,lol).
DH and I do not know anyone, DH works long days and i am home alone everyday. My DH is 43 so yes he probly seems super old to you young ladies, LOL. I do not have and family in QLD at all, theyre all in WA :no:
I take my DD to the Emu Park daycare centre 1 day per week just so she can interact with other kids her age. I HATE dropping her off, and I only leave her there for 2 or 3 hours but i have to do something to get her social skills going. But gee its THE BEST centre. Fantastic staff and facilities.
So it sounds like Yeppoon is the place to come when wanting to get away from your old life,lol.
I have been too shy to go to a mothers group, mostly because they tend to be bi@tchy and Im pretty quiet and shy which sometimes gets mistaken for being stuck up, kwim. Fact is, Im far from it!
Hi Halloweenmum :) Very nice to meet you!!!!
Very nice to meet someone the same age, due close to the same time (well, a month difference, but that's close enough!)
I've only been to Emu Park once, nice place :) DF & I are actually going through the process of looking for a house to buy (soo sick of renting!) and we thought we had plenty of time, but now with surprise bubs on the way, we'll need to get it sooner rather than later (home loans are much easier to get BEFORE you have a dependent!).
I'm working part time at the moment, but DF works not only long hours, but is sometimes away for days at a time due to him being the boss and having to sort out problems in Clermont, Hail Creek & Blackwater.. lol... He's actually just left this morning, and probably wont be home till Saturday Morning.. It's ok, i don't mind, i get a tad lonely sometimes though.
I definitely love this part of the world, it's definitely been a good place for us! Looks like a bit of a storm is brewing outside now too.. yay!! I love watching a good storm over the beach! :)
halloweenmum
02-12-2009, 14:14
Hello Shok, so nice to meet you too !! :) My name is Claire.
DH and I are about to refinance too, we are renting here but so want our own home again.
Im not working, Im a SAHM to my DD Jessica. Im lucky we can afford to have it that way for now, but sometimes its hard to make ends meet.
My DH works 13 hour days plus some weekends, but at least he doesnt go away. How do you do it?
I am so excited we are both pregnant!!!! So when is your first ultrasound? I am going private and am using an Obstetrician in Rocky, Dr Etherington. I had lots of complications in my first pregnancy, but so far this time around its all good apart from morning sickness, lol.
Youre right about a storm brewing, already had one pass over my house about 10am and lots of rain, makes a cool change thats for sure! But now my DD is grumpy because thats her nap time and the storm was so loud she didnt sleep :banghead:. Oh the joys!
My name is Penni :)
Renting is the worst! I forgot how bad it was, as we had our own place in Brisbane for about 6 years.. it's weird!
I cope ok when he is away, TBH it's nice to get a little bit of peace and quiet.. lol.. He's been nagging me for the last two days - make sure you eat breakfast, have you had any yoghurt today, drink plenty of water.. nag nag nag... lol.. It's kinda cute in a way though!
I'm massively excited too :) Looking forward to the big day already, even though I know it's a long way off! Not too sure about my first ultrasound yet - going back to my doctor in 2 weeks time, he'll then refer me to an ante natal clinic, so I assume it'll be arranged around then. He said I didn't need one at 12 weeks, but I'd really like to, I'm so curious to see the little bub :) I think I will just be going public for this one (silly me, didn't update the PHI cover in time to be covered for private care!)
I hope your pregnancy is smooth this time around.. I'm not getting morning sickness at all, just feeling a little tired and hungry! Guess that's why I really want the u/s - It just doesn't feel real at the moment, because my body feels pretty normal!!!
jassymonty
03-12-2009, 07:04
Hi guys, good to see where getting so many repys for yeppoon! Don't worry about not being a young mum, i was even suprised i was classified as one at first! lol i certainly don't feel like one some days. So what does your husbands do? congrats on both your pregnancy's, very exctiting.
Penni, it's farley standard procedure to get an ultrasound at 12 weeks and you can ask for one, most people get one at 12 weeks.
We only got a bit of rain yesterday and a few noises like a storm was coming, but missed us:(
Halloween mum, how does your little one like day care?
Hi Jassy :) it is good to see so many of us from the Yeppoon area!
DF works in the quarry industry, but they have contracts in some of the big mines, so he's away at least once a week, sometimes more often. He enjoys his job, though sometimes the driving can be a bit much! lol
I think I will get a 12week one, it's just the GP said that if I got a 12 week one, i'd have to pay for the 18 week one.. that's fine by me, I'd pay for 50 of them!!!! lol
I got woken up at some stage last night by heavy rain (might have even been hail!). Doesn't help the sleeping patterns that midnight looked so bright, i thought it was time to get up! lol.. that's the full moon for ya :(
halloweenmum
03-12-2009, 10:01
Hi Jassy and Penni,
How cool is this thread! :yelclap:
Jassy - Hello! Nice to meet you! My DD is not used to daycare yet - she LOVES the other kids and toys but is scared of the staff. Thats my fault, because she just doesnt see any other adults except for me and DH. So she doesnt trust them and refuses to eat or drink anythign they give her. We have to just leave food out for her to eat herself. i only take her for 2 - 3 hours once per week for now as I want her to enjoy it, not hate it. THe Emu Park centre also do emergency care and thats a big reason as well, since when I have this next bub I wont have anyone to look after her when I go to the hospital.
Penni - re your first ultrasound - sorry but your doctor is not doing the right thing by you! You should be sent for a dating scan as of right now to confirm bub's due date and to check for a viable pregnancy (they look at the heartbeat, yolk sac, etc). And besides, you get a really cool photo printout of your little bean to stick on the fridge!
Also, every doctor should send a woman for the 12 week scan! Its the nuchal scan to check for downs syndrome and other disorders. Some women choose not to because they already decide they wont terminate even if it is a downs syndrome baby. I am having it done and regardless of the outcome i wont terminate either but I would rather know if I am having a child with special needs entering my home so that I can be prepared and prepare my family as well. (eg: research the condition, find out what to expect, get in touch with support organisations, etc) with sleepless nights ahead when bub is born, I wont have time to do that stuff afterwards. Anyway, thats just my opinion, every womans choice is different :).
Oh and one other thing re paying for ultrasounds - sorry but your doc is misinformed again! I used to work at a radiology clinic. Every clinic is different in their policies about whether you get charged or not. All you have to do is phone around and ask if they bulk bill scans or not. Have you seen the ads for Bolsover Radiology on TV - they bulk bill all ultrasounds and you dont have to hold a concession card either, you wont have to pay a cent and it doesnt matter if your referral is made out to a different clinic you can still take it there. Hope that helps you hun!
Well, I am off for my nuchal scan - TODAY!!! Going to Bolsover in Rocky so its free. iM nervous.
Wow Claire - Thanks for that info!!! I've decided to change GPs now anyway, since I wasn't really liking this one, only problem is she always needs to be booked in advance, so I will see her on the 16th. Hopefully she'll send me straight for a scan :(
Thanks for telling me about Bolsover, though I was hoping just to stick to the Yeppoon area for the scans, since I don't have a car and dont very much fancy the long bus ride into Rockhampton! good luck with your nuchal scan :)
EDIT: Just called another medical centre in Yeppoon and got an appointment booked for tomorrow!! Hopefully they will be more helpful, the receptionist certainly was!
So I'm getting ready to go to see this new doctor (YAY!).. hopefully can get a scan done very very soon.. It still doesn't feel real to me, so I'm thinking a scan will definitely help! lol.
Claire - how did your nuchal scan go?
EDIT: Visited new GP at the new medical centre... She was AWESOME! Absolutely love her, she has all the time and patience in the world to answer my questions, and she's sending me for a scan on Monday :) Couldn't be happier :)
halloweenmum
04-12-2009, 20:09
Thats fantastic news Penni, how exciting!!!
My scan went well, so cool to see bub moving about :)
I just did all my christmas shopping today, I bought everything at Big W, lol. Thats me being lazy, a lot of people are getting chocolate this year :laughing:
Yay, happy to hear that your scan went well :) 12 weeks seems such a long way off for me at the moment, even worse is my doc said if i do the dating scan, she'll hold off until 13 weeks for the next one, so I will have to wait an extra week!!! UGH!!! LOL... Once I get the nuchal scan, that's when I'll start telling everyone (I have told my mum already, but holding off telling the rest of the family!)
Yay for lazy Christmas shoppping :) Big W is a great place to shop for Christmas presents! I'm planning on going there myself.
How far away are your family? Mine are all in Melbourne, so I better get my butt into gear and start buying presents, since I need to send them.. Thinking everyone might just get a K-Mart voucher or something.. LOL!
halloweenmum
05-12-2009, 07:14
All of my family are in WA :(
Im very homesick,lol. I think the postage will cost as much as the presents did! :santa:
I wanted to buy vouchers but DH thought it was too much of a cop out, yeah well not as much of a cop out as the chocolates theyre gonna get :laughing::laughing:
Did you join the Due In July thread yet, I am in the June one, its great fun and you learn so much! Great to compare your pregnancy with others due at the same time too!
hehe, at least the vouchers would be easier to send by post!!!
Yes, I've joined the due in July thread, it is a bit of fun.. I'm a teensy bit shocked though that some of the ladies are already starting to show! Though I've always been a bit on the heavy side, so it might take me a while anyway, but still!!!
I got an SMS from my mum last night saying "You don't know what has happened to me.. I'm out shopping for christmas stuff (decorations etc...) and I can't stay away from the baby section!!!" LOL.. I'm happy that my mum is happy, but it kind of hurts a little that she's so far away.. i think this is a time where a gal really needs her mummy!
I had my scan yesterday :)
Bubs is just over 1cm long, and I am 7w2d. Heartbeat is 148.. I actually saw it beating, it was so awesome!!! I haven't stopped smiling for the whole time! lol
Told the family last night, my sister is absolutely stoked! July is just way too far away! lol
halloweenmum
09-12-2009, 06:50
I'm happy that my mum is happy, but it kind of hurts a little that she's so far away.. i think this is a time where a gal really needs her mummy!
Oh tell me about it! Ive gone through my first pregnancy without my mum and now my second :crying: And we are sooo close. ITs really hard.
I had my scan yesterday :)
Bubs is just over 1cm long, and I am 7w2d. Heartbeat is 148.. I actually saw it beating, it was so awesome!!! I haven't stopped smiling for the whole time! lol
Told the family last night, my sister is absolutely stoked! July is just way too far away! lol
Congrats on a great scan! I think scans are a big highlight of pregnancy, amazing to see the little heartbeat isnt it :)
Well, finally my morning sickness has passed, I am 13 weeks hooray! It was horrible! Never had it that bad with the first bub. I have a persistent craving for tomato that has lasted over a month now, weird,lol!! I eat tomato everyday!
It was definitely an amazing experience seeing the heartbeat (mind you, it was pretty much all i could see.. lol).. It's a shame there are only 2 more scans though :(
Happy that your morning sickness has passed, 13 weeks - excellent :) Does the time normally go fast or slow?? It's feeling really slow at the moment!
I hope I don't get tomato cravings - I'm allergic :P
suprisedmumtobe
09-12-2009, 17:47
Hi Ladies :wave:
Was just looking around and came across your thread so thought i'd pop in and say hi. I live in Biloela and this will be our 1st little bub. Am due in early July and am having it at Rocky mater under Dr Etherington. I have my 1st appt with him next wk so i'm hoping everything goes alright.
Hope you girls are well.
Welcome suprisedmumtobe :)
Congratulations!!! Such an exciting time!! Your due date is on my birthday! lol.. Good that we are both due same month also!
I'm going to the Rocky Base hosp to have bubs, because I didnt have all my health insurance sorted in time to be covered, and while we aren't poor, paying full price for a private delivery would kinda push us over the edge, lol :)
This summer is gonna be hot and stinky, I feel sorry for you ladies who are a lot further along in their pregnancies!
Just a question - Is anyone going to do the ante-natal classes that Rocky Base hospital are running in Yeppoon? I don't know much about it just yet, until I get back to my GP early in the new year, but was just curious.