View Full Version : What do you think of these brands?
Just Add Water
16-10-2009, 00:14
Doing some research here... what do you think of these brands, any favourites, any dislikes... anything at all you can tell me? I only have ittis from this lot, I have a monkey doodlez and a swaddlebees coming but not here yet.
Thanks ladies :)
Baby Chilli
Bear Hug Baby
Blueberry
Bubba J
Bubblebubs
Bummis
Cute Tooshies
Eenee
From Baby Blossom
Green Kids
Happy Heinys
itti bitti
JamTots
Mandy Mac
Methven
Monkey Doodlez
Mother-ease
Nap-Naps
Potty Praiser
Rumpsters
Snappi
Stacinator
Sugar Peas
Swaddlebees
Toodle Bugz
Tots Bots
Tudy's Inc
Its the Baby Blossom list ;)
Baby Chilli- I have one, cute colour, pretty absorbant its a AIO hybrid (with a pocket) So you can boost it to how you like. Its not as trim as the others but it is close
Green Kids-Have one. really good boosters, cute colors, very absorbant, i LOVE my GK
Happy Heinys-Have one, Its not my favourite but it works well, depending on how you boost it, it is a bit big around my DS's legs though, they are pretty bubbly too, not as trim as i like.(i boost it big though)
itti bitti-Have one and more on the way, nice and trim, works well, no leaks so far.
Mandy Mac- one on the way, will let you know
Monkey Doodlez- Not too bad, absorbant enough, cute patterns.
Swaddlebees-Have two, i use them for dirty play, they arnt as absorbant as some, but it all depends on it its a AIO or pocket, mine is a hybrid, so i have to really stuff it to make it work, they are trim though.
hi there - that is a big list!
I had one happy heiny, didn't love it, the velcro got curly really quickly and it wasn't a great fit in the leg (but I have skinny babies!) Good boosters though, I use both the terry and hemp ones in my rotation regularly (in other brands of pocket)
I have two mandy macs, they are my favourite night nappy because they are super absorbent but really trim (probably because of the snappi fastening). And that is just the plain ones, I haven't even tried one of the Purple Nights!
I have one tots bots fluffle - it was one of my favourite fitted nappies with my first baby. Nice and thirsty.
I have one monkey doodlez AIO that I bought recently on sale - but I've only used it once so can't really comment on it yet.
Hope this helps! Have fun :)
Just Add Water
16-10-2009, 09:50
Yes they are Baby Blossom :) Thanks for that IJ! :D
Anyone else? I am wanting to get at least 6 of these but want to make sure I get the ones that are the best of the bunch... all feedback is greatly appreciated!
AmberMama
16-10-2009, 11:16
We use Itti's and they're sensational. Though I'm looking into buying some Issy Bears too after reading very good reports from other mums here (not helpful I know as they aren't on your list, sorry!)
Just Add Water
16-10-2009, 11:20
Thanks BecBabe & Tiahna :)
Issy's are good :) I use them for nighttime and we get no leaks. Also use ittis here too. Branching out though :D
sweetseven
16-10-2009, 11:35
I have an Itti delich (AI2) and an Itti Boo (fitted). I prefer the Itti Boo myself and have found the Itti delich leaks in bed. The snapins for the boo are softer (and a little thinner) than those of the delich, but the shell of the boo is absorbant material as well, so that makes up for it.
However I find I seem to prefer fitteds in general with AI2s as second preference. So my opinion may be slightly biassed.
I have used
Itti's - Love them , i have the snap ins and they never leak for us
Bubblebubs - i had a newborn one of these , it fitted and worked well
Bummis - I have a small cover with gussets and it is good
Greenkids - i have both types , they work well but just a bit boring for me .
Only have ittis from your list - LOVE
Like my itti's - both snap and sewn. I use snaps without a mini booster and sewns with a microfibre mini booster and get a great length of time out of each.
green kids are good, decent inserts and boosters, expensive to buy though as you buy the component separately and I find the minky times a bit stiff(though the anytimes are fine). I tend to use my anytimes with a bamboo insert and 2 bamboo boosters for nights and my minky times I've just converted to popping an issy day time insert in as I prefer them:)
I only have a few of these:
Bubblebubs - love them to bits. Totally useful - used for day and night. Soft, wash well. The inners have faded a little in the sun though. And they aren't a trim fit.
itti bitti - our workhorse nappy. Highly recommend and can never have to many in my opinion. They are a great fit and trim. My larges fit my 16mth old and my 32mth old - and both are chunky kids. Low rise though. Snap in boosters can discolour pretty quick with some kids (mine have badly - turned a grey colour)
Mandy Mac - I had 4 of these and sold them shortly after getting them. Low rise - not suitable for my boys for night time and I hated that they didn't have snaps/velcro. There are better night nappies out there in my opinion.
mumcha you might find that your itti inserts have discoloured after using panadol on your kidlets. Out of all my nappies, if I use panadol, itti's will discolour more than any other nappy. It fades over time though:)
Me - I don't give panadol - or any other form of pain relief to my kiddies (cruel I know but I worry what it does to their liver/kidneys)
However my DS is currently a blueberry fan!
Just Add Water
16-10-2009, 20:52
Thanks for the feedback :)
Anyone else?
I had a look at the Baby Chilli - they look cool :) Might have to get one of those.... they're limited edition though so not sure.
embryonichappyperson
16-10-2009, 21:09
I have Mandy Macs hemp, they make up the majority of my nappy stash. They are trim, you can get a great fit because you need to use a snappi and they wash up well. I don't use them for night, I use BBH bamboo and that's the only 2 types of MCN I own lol.
Some people complain that hemp smells after a baby wees in a MM but I don't really notice any smell, only sometimes if DS2 has done a big wee.
He might sometimes wet through a MM just as quickly as he did when he was in terry flats but I just add a small BBH bamboo booster in. I don't use the BBH small boosters that come with the BBH as the long one is enough for now.
Just Add Water
16-10-2009, 21:27
Thanks ixnay :)
My collection is pretty boring, so I've only tried the following:
Bubblebubs: I have a cute green AIO - it dries quickly and is really easy to put on and fits well. I don't like the velcro closing that much though.
Green Kids - didn't fit my skinny baby, and I swapped it after one use.
itti bitti - have the snap-in and sewn-in. Love them.:bee:
Thanks for starting this thread Just Add Water and for everyones comments and opinions. This forum has given me great confidence to try these nappies as no one I know uses them and is pretty mush afraid of them. I've been told heaps not to use them.
Our first baby is due in December and the most exciting thing for me has been investigating these modern cloth nappies. I love hearing about all the colours and shapes and sizes available.
Today I was at the Baby Expo in Melbourne and bought some Mandy Mac bamboo prefolds with Thirsties PULs and a Baby BeeHind AIO.
peanutbutter&jelly
17-10-2009, 21:01
On the baby blossom list (admittedly, their site drives me mad but I love them... the pink kills my eyes :dizzy:) I loooove my blueberry one size :D With snaps, no question. I have ittis but they gape (always have until my DS is almost out of that size, so at 12 kg he just squeezes into a medium snap in and they no longer gape... but his larges are pretty bad =( )
And haven't tried any of the others, sadly...
Lillynix
17-10-2009, 21:31
Bummis - Love their PUL super whisper wraps and superbrite covers!
Green Kids - My first ever MCN, worked great until DD started tummy sleeping, they were good boosted overnight until that point. Not much of a fan of the touch tape closure though.
itti bitti - Were really good. I had some classic PUL AI2's before they started doing the Minky ones, nice trim fit, loved them while we had them, sold them on because PUL chaffed DD's thighs once she started crawling.
Mandy Mac - I have the hemp fitted which I LOVE for newbies, such a good trim fit, I also have the 4 bamboo night nappies that Mumcha on sold (lol) love these aswell, nice fit on DS who is an odd shape, but mainly bought them for night use for Belly Babe.
Rumpsters - Had three of these when I was new to MCN, didn't like them at all. Far too trim on my chubby DD so they leaked really easily and just not a good fit. Better for a skinnier bub I reckon!
Tots Bots - I had one Fluffle, didn't like it at all. Not very absorbent and just bleh, really.
Bubblebubs- bought one second hand, didn't like it at all
Cute Tooshies- these looked great at the melb expo, osfm would have bought one but no money left
Green Kids-fitted my ds when younger, now only 12kg and don't like fit at all, sold them off
Happy Heinys-didn't like i had a osfm and prob good for a chubby baby, mine very slim build
itti bitti- good trim nappy, but i found gapping at legs once a wee done
Stacinator i had a fleece cover, not over impresses, leg elastic "went" pretty quickly
Swaddlebees - love these, if i had have known about them when ds younger, would have got more of them, very trim nappy, i've got fleece side snap (trimmest of all), velour inner which is a bigger fit, then the aio velour inner is big too, bulkier than the fleece inner ones
Think about bambooty's too, they are a nice trim fit like an itti, but tighter leg elastic which for slimmer babies is good, chunky thighs probably not so good, also like magicalls, bigger fit, their new multifit is really nice too.
I don't have some of the brands you listed, but I have others (lots of WAHM brands), so heres my list.
Starting with easy to obtain, down to near impossible.
Itti Bitti - Cute, affordable, good resale. They suit my chunky little girl well, but we had to upsize as she was getting plumbers crack in mediums (at 6 months), not so great for pooplosions.
BBH- We have fitted and magicals. I use the fitted at night with a wool cover, works great. The magical doesn't work for us.
Bonnibuns- I have 2 minky ones, not my favorite but a good workhorse. The plain ones are cheap and are OSFM so will last a while.
Bambootys- Nice and trim under clothes, don't last that long, maybe 2 hours tops here. "easy peasy" are good daddy/daycare nappies, but takes ages to dry.
Cheeky Butts (brought from eco mum and bubs)- nice trim OSFM with snap down front, cheap, but velcro, so doesn't get used a whole heap.
Lou Lous - Panel nappy, quite cute but fleece and velcro, so not my favorite, also quite bulky
Bubble Bubs - Either velcro or snaps, we have snaps, its not a good fit for my bubba, but very cute nappy.
Genesa Forge - Usually available, also do customs. Side snappers are fantastic here, one of my favorites. Great looking nappys do fantastic night nappys too.
Fluffy bubs - Need to do stockings, OSFM but we get wing droop when its folded down. Very absorbent and super cute prints.
Abby Gro - Similar construction to fluffy bubs, slushies are cute. We can't snap ours down as bubba is too fat so there a bit high in the rise. Very absorbent.
Baby Bullfrogs - Does stockings, or customs (but theres a waiting list), still waiting on ours to arrive so I will tell you more when they do, ive heard great things.
CGR - Goes by stockings, very cute with embroidery and panels, good fit, 8 layers of bamboo, very absorbent.
Cherubs Kiss Auriel - Incredibly hard to get hold of, fantastically well made, size 2 is quite large, we haven't really had a chance to give these a good run yet.
Bundle of Buns - BEAUTIFUL! These are amazing nappies, fantastic booster system, beautifully made custom embroidery, almost impossible to get hold of.
Hope that helped a bit.
Just Add Water
19-10-2009, 14:34
Thanks everyone - you have been an immense help :) I have placed an order with them, and also got some cloth pads and a swim nappy for DS... I I'm going to end up with a mandy mac, a blueberry minky, a blueberry cover (just wanted to check it out tbh) and a micro doodles... I already have a few ittis and i have a swaddlebees coming along with a few others so hopefully I'll get them all soon... I'll be referring to this list next time I have some money lol.
Thanks again.
MamaKoala
19-10-2009, 22:41
I got 6 Bubblebubs second hand and fell in love with them. I've ordered 2 more.
I'm going to try some itti's as soon as I get some more cash. I tried to order some tonight but looks like I spent too much on fluffy mail this week.
Just received a Twinkle Lily Limited Edition today so busting to try it but have to wash it first.
I don't have any of those other brands. Oh except BBH which I'm still on the fence about.
LivinOnAPrayer
21-10-2009, 16:45
Blueberry - good nappy, simple, osfm are good value
Bubblebubs - too bulky for my liking.
Cute Tooshies- osfm but only fit up to about a medium comfortably
Green Kids - excelent work horse nappy
itti bitti - was a great stash filler but we gat bad wing droop as they grow up
Monkey Doodlez - great work horse, great fit
does anyone know if their is a promotional code for the blueberry nappies
I like the look of them and by the sounds of this thread they are a pretty good nappy so i would like to buy some