MissR: Shelby born 28th August 2009

RachinSyd: Emi born 3oth August 2009

lola77: Max born 2nd September 2009

Chub Chub: Finn born 7th September 2009

Moongazer: Spencer born 6th November 2009

Ibb: April born 28th November 2009

Chub Chub
14-10-2009, 12:30
Just a quick post so I can find this thread again. Fatty has been a monster at daytime sleeps today and yesterday. He was up at 8am yesterday....pretty much fed on and off until he fell asleep at 12.30 and slept till 3 then up until 9pm....eeK! But then he slept until 3.30. But today he was up at 7.30....napped when I took Miss M to the park (probably 20mins) and then was in his bassinet from 11.45 to 12.25pm....argghhhhh. Where has my good sleeper gone:confused: DH went back to work yesterday so maybe it is me stressing....who knows but I am exhausted and it is only lunchtime. He is being a very clingy baby.:hair:

Kema
14-10-2009, 13:34
Chub - I hope that good sleeper comes back to you soon.

I have a question...surprise, surprise :p

When Isla was at the docs the other night the doc mentioned she could have a virus, I know there is stacks going around at the moment but I dont really know if she is sick or not.....

I'll explain, She normally has about a 2 hour sleep at lunch time but the last couple of days she has woken up about half way through and started to grizzle I have gone in and she has thrown up :confused: It's normally about an hour and a half after her feed and its kind of watery IYKWIM?

Is she vomitting? Or is it just a little spit up?

I cant tell?

Kema:bee:

Forever27
14-10-2009, 13:42
hunnybunny - So glad to hear from you. And I'm glad to hear that you'll have continued support when you get home. Since your bubs were born on the same day as Julliana, I'm curious how close they are in weight. Julliana is about 12 pounds now. What are yours?

ChubChub- I hear ya. It sounds like we lived similar nightmares yesterday. Today was better her though. Hopefully things get back to normal for you soon too. HUGS.

AFM - I finally got Julliana to start eating correctly on the left side last night. It was really exciting. But then this morning I woke up to a rock hard boob. It started producing more milk than normal to try to keep up with her demand. It was extremely painful! I really hope it doesn't continue to over-produce like that. I already have too much milk. :)

Jen

moongazer
14-10-2009, 13:44
OMG - how did we end up on a third thread! think I've barely read the last one!

Kema - I can't help sorry. hope Isla feels better.

We had our car seats fitted today. I think I'm ready for this baby to come out! Just so tired and everything is a big effort, and I'm not even that large. My 5 year old niece asked me if my baby had "fallen out" yet. :D cute!

Forever27
14-10-2009, 13:59
Kema - from everything I've read about spitting up, they aren't normally supposed to spit up later than an hour after they've eaten. If it were me, I would at least call the doctors office and ask a nurse.

Kema
14-10-2009, 14:20
Yeah, I think she may have a little bit of a bug.

Coz normally she wakes during her nap and self settles but she seems quite upset about it when she vomits....she has always been a chucky baby but it never used to faze her.

Kema
14-10-2009, 14:21
If only she could talk...:laughing:

mindy19816
14-10-2009, 14:35
Jen i have a question for you seeing as you are the queen of expressing :D. I have started pumping for that bit longer after the milk stops to try to up my supply this morning (you suggested it to someone else) So my first pump for the day i got 100ml (3 1/2 oz) then 4 hours later when i went to pump again i had a lot less milk than usual, only 60ml (2 oz). Now i know it's normal to get a little less in the afternoon but i normally get at least 80ml in the arvo and evening pump. Am i doing something wrong? Or can i expect it to get better soon? Please don't tell me i'm drying up :no: HELP

miss R
14-10-2009, 15:04
Kema- hope Isla is better soon....
CC- hope Finn starts sleeping again for you..I had this last week with shelby...touch wood this week has been better....
Jen- Its always interesting about babies weight...A friend of mines little boy is 7wks and is 11pd3oz already (only 7pd born):eek:
HB- good to hear from you sweety..hope things keep improving for you
AFM- feeling better at the moment..havent cried for 2days now so that is a good thing...I go back to the dr next week to go through some questions....
Have a question about expressing....
I need to get my hair done but dont want to take S to the hairdressers so MIL said she will look after her for me but i need to express so MIL can give her a bottle if she needs....
Firstly i need to purchace a pump..what do you recommend????
Scondly- how much do you need for a feed? How do you store it? how long does it last? do you reheat it when they need it? and is it ok to only do it on those odd occasions.....
sorry for all the q's but i have no idea....
Dont no how i will go with leaving S though...
Went out for coffee with my friends from antinatel class/hospy today...It is great to catch up with them and there bubs...wspecially as they were all born within a couple of days of eachother...
Well best go and peel some veges for dinner...
so organised-----not:laughing:
bec

cobbec
14-10-2009, 18:04
Bec, in regards to breast milk... it will last 3-5 days in the fridge if it hasn't been frozen. I always heated my expressed milk. YOu can't heat it in the mic tho. So either get a bottle warmer (I have the Avent one) or in a jug of boiled water. YOu can freeze it also. It should be stored in an airtight container. As for a pump I had the Avent manual pump and then a Nuk electric one.

Hope that helps.

Bec

lola77
14-10-2009, 19:03
bf - causing trouble with starting a new thread hey ;)

yay hunnybunny! so nice to hear from you. we've all been thinking about you. how long have you been in there now? presumably they send you home with some sort of plan for the future. so glad you took the brave step to seek help.I'm sure this time has been hell for you but I have no doubt that ultimately it will make you a far stronger person and a even more fantastic mummy to your lovely boys!

missr - regarding expressing, their is a formula to work out roughly how much they need in a day: 150 x weight (e.g. 4kg)/number of feeds per day (e.g. 6) = amount per feed. Having said this, they can take a small amount at one feed and more at the next. Max has 150ml (total expressed from both boobs) at his dreamfeed. Depending on the timing of your appointment you could express maybe an hour before and leave the milk with your MIL. If you're only going to do it occasionally I guess you want to be careful not to overpump when you're not due as you'll either not get much or up your supply a bit. As your supply is generally higher in the morning, maybe try expressing say 30ml of the second breast before you give it to her, then save it up over a few days. You can add fresh milk to frozen and then defrost the whole thing when you need it. Having said this, I'm no expert so maybe good to check with baby clinic or ABA. I express every morning (between 60-90ml) and have left that with mum when I've been out. I have a Medela Swing which I'm told is the best one but it cost $300!

mg - it's exciting to get things like car seats fitted isn't it! makes it seem a little bit more real :)

kema - hope you get to tbottom of isla's pukeyness soon!

chub - hope fatty finn behaves himself for you tomorrow!

forever - makes me realise how fat max is! he's
12 pounds 3 ounces at 6 weeks!! hope your boobies settle down a bit. did they give you any indication of when they would? how is your sister's pregnancy going? how far along is she?

afm - had my 6 week check with my fabulous obstetrician today.gosh I'll miss my visits to him! all is good and he was even nice enough to comment on my lack of stretchmarks :). I know I'll regret saying this but Max has been pretty good today - only had to resettle him once during his morning and lunchtime naps and he actually resttled himself a couple of times. In fact he slept so well, I fell asleep on the sofa until 2.10pm (over 2 hours after hed gone down) which was unfortunately 20 mins b4 I was due at the obstetrician!!! Luckliy he was runnign late but I still got there late!!! Did my first walking breastfeed going into his office!

Am going to have fatty's hands and feet moulded tomorrow - hope it turns out as well as BF's! Have finally got Max's birth certificate so now just got to go through the complex procedure of getting him a british passport (we're both british and not ozzie permenant residents), then a visa (like they'd deport him :laughing:, then can finally add him to my medicare card and get some money back!

Hope everyone has a sleep filled night!

RachInSyd
14-10-2009, 21:51
Bec - I also have a Medela Swing pump and bought it on eBay. It cost me $220 + 20 postage so cheaper than in the shops. The seller ID is alwaysintheflow. It arrived really quickly too.

Lola - Has Max had his immunisations yet? Emi had a slight fever that night and she seemed high for about 24 hours after.

MG - It must be getting close now. When are you due? (I can't see tickers from my mobile).

AFM, Emi's almost at 4kg now finally. She's still quite a small bub. I hope she's getting enough milk. She's putting on an appropriate amount of weight so I guess she is.

Hi to everyone.

lola77
15-10-2009, 07:17
have we lost everyone?

helloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

rach - not taken maxi for his vaccinations yet. he was 6 weeks yesterday.

afm - max's hand and feet moulds got cancelled last night. have to forgive them though - the lady has 3 kids, is heavily pregnant and has been in hospital for the last 2 days!!! And she apologised!!!

not sure what to do today now! that was my little activity for the day. may take max to DH's office instead. he took his dreamfeed last night but then woke at 2.45am (usually wakes closer to 4am). I reswaddled and settled him but he woke 10 mins later so I fed him. He was then a bit reluctant to feed at 7am. Has anyone else had this? Gina Ford seems to say that reluctance to take the 7am feed indicates they could be ready to skip the middle of the night feed and that you should gradually reduce the night feed or try to offer them boiled cooled water instead. Anyone tried this?

fatty is getting cranky so gotta go. hope everyone is still around :wave:

talia11
15-10-2009, 09:00
Miss R when I was still BF I was using the Medela Mini Electric pump but I think if you are doing it quite regularly during the day it is better to get the swing as the motor is more powerful.

Well we had Madison at the docs the other night after she has been so unsettled for a few days - it is either teething (really grizzly, drooling HEAPS, shoving hands practically down her throat and really clingy) or we think she might have a UTI - had to collect some urine in this funny bag thing that was stuck to her so we should have those results on Monday. This is how stupid the doc was though:

Her: I think she has a temp - she feels hot.
Me: Well are you gonna take her temp then?
Her: No, I felt her and she definitely has a temp.
Me: Well, could you please check to make sure?
Her: Well ok.

Checks temp - it is fine. :banghead:

Anyway, She has a Paed appointment in two weeks so will get a good check over.

Hope everyone else is well!!

moongazer
15-10-2009, 10:17
Oh Talia - nothing like having to be proactive in your or your loved one's care!! I think a bit of doctor shopping may be on the cards for you.

HB - just wanted to show my support for you at the moment. You have done a fabulous job getting these two beautiful boys into the world, and getting a bit of support for yourself is VERY brave and courageous. :yelclap: I hope you feel better soon, and know we are all here for you to vent whinge and moan at, and none of us would EVER judge you. :hugs:

MissR - I hope you are feeling better. By your post you seem to be feeling a bit better, so :fingerscrossed: all keeps doing well for you.

RachinSyd - we are 37 weeks on Saturday and due on 7/11. Obs said would only go a couple of days over the due date if we are late due to GD.

Have my appt with Obs tomorrow, and then change to weekly visits. I'm starting to get a bit scared :eek: by the prospect of pushing this nugget out of me! I keep wondering what the pain will be like, and how I will cope, and whether I will need pain relief etc etc. Will they be like period cramps? Will they be sharp pains?? Will it be like knives through my tummy? Don't get me wrong, I plan on labouring with the intention of going with the flow, and wont be disappointed if I use analgesia, or if I get switched to a c-section. it's just my brain going into overload, and as my Dh says, I'm too smart for my own good :laughing: meaning I think too much! I keep reading books, he keeps telling me to put them down!!. I do think that knowledge is power though, but just not knowing what it will be like is doing my head in! I have had some cramps the last few days, and other pains here and there. The top of my belly seems to have softened a little bit, so I think bubs is moving down and doing what it's meant to be doing. I'm getting scared of the changes that are going to happen to my life and how I'm going to deal with those as well. I am always going to have someone I have to look out for and be responsible for keeping alive!
Phew! I'm going to try and turn my brain off.....

Sonja
15-10-2009, 10:39
Hi MG

The best thing i recommend to prepare you for the birth is to read a book called Birth Skills. A few of the women on this site have used it and strongly recommend it. It apparently really helps control the pain and gives you a lot of coping strategies.

Good luck

Sonja

LulusMum
15-10-2009, 10:42
Moongazer - not sure if you are asking what labour is like or if you are thinking out loud so i will answer anyway. For me it was like to worst period cramps ever. But this pain only lasted as long as the contraction and in between contractions i didnt have any pain across my abdo at all. Having said this max was posterior so i had lower back pain all the way through - no breaks. i guess it felt as you do the day after you have been lifting all day/slept funny ect. Just a strong dull ache in lower back. That pain went away as sson as i moved off the bed. I gave birth on my knees leaning over a gym ball and it was the best decision i made. Took all pressure of my back and midwife applied heat and pressure to lower back so it really freed things up. For me as soon as i could push the pain went away, and to be honest it didnt hurt when he came out. Yep - i screamed the place down but it was more due to the sheer strength of the contractions, not really due to pain. To push hard you need to vocalise (think of lleyton hewitt:laughing:). They say when bubs comes out sometimes it doesnt hurt cause you have strtched all the nerves to the max so cant feel the pain. I belive this is waht happened in my case and i ended up with a 2nd degree tear. For me delivery of the placenta hurt more cause they had to manually manipulate it (by pushing hard on abdo) to come away. Then when it came out (i was sitting back at this stage) it obviously was dragged over my wound so that killed but only lasted about 1 min.

All in all i am fully prepared to do this again (actually i cant wait). I have never felt more powerful or proud of myself as im sure every mother does no matter what birth she has.

You will be fine - i went in with no expectations apart from thinking i would need pain relief but i needed none. I still cant belive i didnt have any

lola77
15-10-2009, 12:03
Hi MG

The best thing i recommend to prepare you for the birth is to read a book called Birth Skills. A few of the women on this site have used it and strongly recommend it. It apparently really helps control the pain and gives you a lot of coping strategies.

Good luck

Sonja

:iagree:I'm one of the ones who read it and it is great. There are a number of different skills including moement, vocalisation, visualisation etc - learn them all and then just use the ones that feel right at the time. My approach to the birth was to arm myself with as many different tools as possible - I did Calmbirth classes, read Birth Skills, hired a TENS machine, practiced yoga breathing techniques. I'm one of life's planners and it helped me feel more relaxed to approach the birth knowing I was prepared (ha ha!!). Although I ended up with exacty what I wanted to avoid (induction and emergency c/s) I also gave the natural way a bloody good go and went for 7 hours using a variety of techniques, and a further 10 on gas and air, before having an epidural. I think whatever you choose to do, it's a good idea to make sure your partner is aware of what you want to do and is supportive. We preapred some prompt cards with encouraging phrases on them and at the various points where I felt I couldn't go on, he was there telling me how well I was doing and that I could go on. Not to say that he didn't irritate the crap out of me at other times and I would have quite happily bashed him!! I hope that doesn't come across as negative as it wasn't at all. I did everything I could to prepare, but ultimately I had no control over the size of my pelvis, Max's head, and the fact he went posterior mid way through labour. I have no regrets and it still makes me emotional (in a good way) thinking about the experience. I honestly can't remember the pain being thatbad, it was being tired more than anything else. The hardest thing for me was relaxinf between contractions - I found it hard to get comfy, which may have contrabuted to me feeling tired! Or maybe beingin labour for 22 hours did that!

Enjoy the experience for ultimately what it is - the arrival of your beautiful baby into the world. No matter how it happens, the outcome is the same!

Ooh very excited for you now! I would do it again tomorrow. We, maybe not tomorrow, but maybe in a year or so!!!

moongazer
15-10-2009, 12:58
Girls - thanks for all the responses!!

Sonja - I actually have birth skills and have read a bit of it, and think it's a great book to arm me with coping strategies.

Lulusmum - I was just thinking out loud, but it was nice to be acknowledged, and to get some responses about what labour was like for a few of you. I used to get terrible period pain when I was younger, so I think I can handle that then - unless my pain threshold has changed!! I am going in with the intention of trying NOT to think of little lleyton, but now you've planted the seed...:laughing:

Lola - It's so lovely to hear of women who have had such a positive experience to labour. i guess it's just the fear of the unknown. I know I would be happy to be pregnant again whenever - I have enjoyed it so much. I really hope I have the same feeling about birthing that you have! Another of our friends had the same happen to them re labouring for a while, until the docs realised that their son wasn't coming out due to his size and her pelvis size. They also called their son Max!!

Kema
15-10-2009, 13:02
:wave: Everybody,

MG - I agree completely with Lola...I ended up with a birth experience I could never have imagined, but ultimately it was the day my daughter was dorn and will remain to be the most amazing day of my life...there is no way to explain it. When my mum came in to meet Isla on the day she was born my mum asked how I was and my reply was simply "I cannot believe how much I love her!" I'm teary just thinking about it. You will be responsible for another life and it will do your head in somedays...you will come onto bubhub and complain of no sleep and an unsettled baby at times, you will be paranoid about things you never imagined such as the comfort of somebody else and whether their bowel movements are normal :laughing: But you know what its all part of it and its the best thing in the world...there is nothing else like parenthood (which I am sure you have heard a lot) but the day your baby is born (regardless of how it emerges into the world) you will be forever changed and you will understand why everyone tells you that there is no way to explain it. I cant wait for you to feel that overwhelming joy and unconditional love...it is amazing!! :cloud9:

Talia - Isla is exactly the same at the moment. Do her gums feel firm or can you see white beneath the gum (the gums sort of go translucent) Mind you we have had this for quiet some time and are yet to see a tooth emerge...aparently it takes a while. We also had to test for a UTI, Isla's urine was fine but how funny is it trying to get a urine sample from a baby....:D Hope Madison settles soon.

Lola - In regards to the feeding, Isla dropped her 10-11pm feed and kept her 3-4am feed, I ust go with it. I have heard to offer cool boiled water but have never done it....let us know what you decide to do.

Rach - Great to hear from you and fantastic to hear that Emi is well and gaining weight!!

AFM - Well a bit of an unsettled night last night but as I said I'm just powering through. I figure moving house in 2 weeks is going to put any routine we have in an absolute mess anyway....I gave Isla some pureed pears this morning...OMG, she ate so much (compared to Farex or Pumpkin) looks like the girl will have a sweet tooth like her mum...lol. She just loved it so much, it was incredible. I have been cooking up some veges and fruit to give to her and she just loves feed time. I am generally just giving her a little bit once a day and as soon as she is in her high chair the arms and legs start flapping about and she squeals with delight...its hilarious!! :goodvibes:

Anyway have to go to work this arvo so I better go get organised...

Talk soon

lola77
15-10-2009, 13:20
mg - how spooky about the other Max! I hope you have a lovely birth experience! I think being accepting of it being an upredicatble process helped me be not too disappointed when it didn't go exactky as I would have preferred.

talia - doctors are useless sometimes. i refer to my comments on my GP telling me to crush Max's losec!!

well my lovely lunchtime nap has been interrupted by the police at my door. apparently my next door neighbour got broken into yesterday! and the way they got in (via a sloping roof in the garden) means they could have just have easily got into our yard. worrying! told Dh that we need to do an off site back up of the PC. We have a back up device but I figure if they stole that too, we'd lose all our photos of Max, Taz and the last 8 years or so!

well need to go get fatty up so we can get to DH's office!

Chub Chub
15-10-2009, 15:27
;)So many posts since yesterday!

Just a quick one from me....hopefully will get on and do personals...sometime:o

Moongazer....I had an awesome birth experience with Fatty. Divine Miss M's delivery was a lot hard and exhausting (being in labour for well over 2 days) but it was awesome too as I met my DD for the first time. I read a book too....can't remember the name?:confused: It was a hypnobirthing book but also gave techniques for coping...visualisations etc. I think it made all the difference making Fatty's birth awesome.:D His birth was pretty much over in 4 hours and just shy of half an hour of pushing. If I could be guarenteed another calm baby and good birth I might just think about having another baby.

Anyhow....weighed my Fatty today.....5.44Kgs. No wonder I am dropping weight and getting muscles in my arms:p

talia11
15-10-2009, 17:25
MG in terms of the contractions I can safely say it was the worst pain I have ever experienced - when I was pushing for an hour with nothing happening before my emergency c-section I was feeling the pain as a contraction came and although it eased off when it passed - I still had pain as Madison was posterior too. BUt I had an epidural so that gave me the ultimate relief until game time - I did make alot of noise - not screaming but kind of moaning....:o

Asd Kema said though - it is the best experince in that you get that beautiful baby - I too had that feeling of ultimate love - I remember the moment I fell in love with her was about day 2 in hossy and we were alone - she was laying on the bed with me and looked at me with this pure look of recognition! It moved me so much and it was then that I felt what everyone talks about.

The doc I saw was only at the medical centre so I wasnt overly concerned, the mian thing was they tested for the UTI which I thought might be the problem.

Kema I felt her gums and they feel quite firm, I cant see anything though yet.

Chub chub - we weighed Madison on the weekend and she was 6.6kg...:laughing: I lover her little rolls but people always have a near coronary when I tell them - kinda annoys me!!

RachInSyd
15-10-2009, 18:28
MG - I agree with the other girls...the best day! My labour/birth was quite traumatic but the experience was amazing and then seeing snd hearing your baby for the first time...well I couldn't stop crying. Getting emotional now too. Before having Emi I too was freaking out about having to be responsible for another person but it all just feels natural now.

Lola - So glad you guys weren't robbed. We're also organising an off-site back up at the moment. Friends of ours were robbed recently and lost their pics of their 3 year old girl. How awful would that be!

Hi to everyone. Hope your nights are sleep-filled.

Chub Chub
15-10-2009, 19:21
Chub chub - we weighed Madison on the weekend and she was 6.6kg...:laughing: I lover her little rolls but people always have a near coronary when I tell them - kinda annoys me!!

Talia...I LOVE :bee:that my little man is a fatty. He is so cute and as I am exclusively breastfeeding I am glad to know that he is getting more than enough. I love his fat rolls too. I ALWAYS get comments on how big (FAT) he is.

lola77
15-10-2009, 19:37
After reading Talia's post, I'd like to clarify that it obviously hurt because I wasn't sucking down the gas and air for no reason and was having contractions at the back and front, right on top of one another. However, it seems to be true what they say about the hormones making you forget as when I think about the experience, my over-riding memory is not about the pain. It's easy to say now but please don't be afraid of it.

Also, a piece of advice that someone on here gave was to read things about how to actually look after the baby as we get so focussed on the pregnancy and birth, we forget about preparing for what to do when we take them home. I wish I'd read up a little bit more about settling and things like that. That said, sometimes the best way is to learn as you go!

It's a bit quiet in here today. Hope everyone has had a good one! I took Maxi to DH's office and he carried him round like the proud daddy he is! Only one person got a cuddle as he was the only one who asked, and is DH's best mate anyway!! He was very well behaved apart from falling asleep on the way there when he was supposed to be awake and not falling asleep on the ay back when he should have been asleep! I thought it might completely screw with his routine and make him cranky. Apart from it taking a bit longer to settle him, he seems ok :fingerscrossed:.

Have a question about how everyone puts there babies to bed - what process do you go through? I've generally been taking him to his room when he shows tired signs, changing his nappy if needed, swaddling and putting him straight into his bed. Most of the time he cries after a minute and I either let him cry for a short time or rock his crib if he's not calming down. I'm questioning whether I should be cuddling him more before I put him in his cot. I guess I'm doing this because the Gina Ford book seems to have a 15 minute gap between taking them to their room and putting them in bed but I'm not sure what I should be doing in that time. Does everyone's baby cry when you put them down? Are they already asleep when you put them down? Do you put them in awake? Do you have to help them settle? Sorry for all the questions but I want to make sure I'm not creating sleep association problems by rocking him.

Anyway, DH has just made dinner so I'm off!

ibb
15-10-2009, 19:56
Hello:wave:

Well another quick one as dinner is just about ready and i only just got home.

We are definately having a little girl!!!

She is 3 pounds at the moment and because my placenta has not moved one mm, she will most likely be born at 37 weeks max by c-section where they estimate she will be 6 pound 8 ounces so a little one at that!

She wouldn't stop moving and is head down and believe me i could feel it last night low in my pelvis. I was wondering if it was too early as she felt really low. Her feet are up under my ribs so getting big kicks now.

We ended up getting fantastic 4d shots again. I will post them tomorrow though as DH took the cd to work and i took the still shots and he left the bloody cd at work!! I am so angry with him:hissy:

Have to have another scan at 36 weeks if i get that far so we will see but i plan to finish working in 4 or so weeks.

I promise i will do personals over the weekend. Hope everyone is good and filing away all the advice for the future but no doubt i will be asking the same questions when its my turn:)

lola77
15-10-2009, 20:05
yay ibb! it's about time we had some new babies around here!! so exciting.

talia and chub- i love my fatty baby too! don't so much love trying to keep his double chin rolls from getting manky though. think I might go weigh him again tomorrow as I forgot to write the weight down on Tuesday and completely forgot what it was!

Kema
15-10-2009, 20:13
Talia - I had that exact same moment...where Isla looked at me and let me know that she 'knew' I was her mummy. It was in recovery about half an hour after her birth and just before I BF her for the first time.....

http://i496.photobucket.com/albums/rr329/kema_13/P1010223.jpg

Lola - I put Isla in her cot awake (she is in a sleeping bag, so I cant help regarding swaddling) I touch her face and tell her it is time for sleep, I kiss her and leave the room.

What happens next is always different, sometimes she is straight to sleep, others she grizzles a little, others she screams (normally if I have left it a little late) If she grizzles I leave her to see if she is crying up or down...if she is crying down I leave her. If she is crying up or screaming I go in, I try to settle her by rubbing her tummy, or stroking her face, if none of this works I resort to the dummy...I usually then spend an hour going back in to put the dummy back in coz she always spits it out. I usually leave straight away the first time I go in, if she doesn't settle I sometimes sit with her til she goes to sleep (not often though, only when she is hysterical) If she falls asleep in my arms (which she rarely does)I put her into bed and stroke her face tell her time to sleep and kiss her forehead, she always wakes up just enough to realise that she is being put down.

I think the most important thing is to catch those tired signs and put him down...if we miss it even slightly it'll be an awful night.

Kema
15-10-2009, 20:22
Ibb - Bummer about the placenta not moving but :smiliedance: for having a little girl!!
I cant wait to see some scan piccies and I'm with Lola...its time for some more newborns.

I had Isla weighed on Tuesday and she was 6.76kg at 4 months and 62cm. Growing girl!! :p

fickwalker
15-10-2009, 20:28
Kema - Oh wow, look at those big, big eyes. So adorable!

Funnily enough, and I know how weird this sounds considering that we don't even know if DP is actually even pregnant yet, but I feel like if this potential pregnancy comes to fruition, we'll be having a girl. I got it right last time around and I figure I've got a 50/50 chance this time too. :)

Sorry I haven't been contributing much, just been reading and storing up all this advice for when we eventually get to that point. So thanks in advance! :)

Last follow-up injection tonight. DP and I are both glad that we're done with the jabbing. I always get worried that I'm going to hurt her. Anyways... Nothing left to do now but wait until the 26th. We've been okay thus far, I'm hoping the rest will pass as smoothly.

Wishing all of you a sleep-filled evening with happy bubs. :)

RachInSyd
15-10-2009, 20:35
Kema - that photo is adorable. No wonder you fell in love.

Lola - Emi usually falls asleep in either my or DHs arms. Occassionally she'll fall asleep in her cradle but usually it's in our arms. I think we'll have to try and change that soon.

Sonja
15-10-2009, 20:53
Lola I've hesitated in replying as I have to be honest and say I'm not a Gina Ford fan at all so take my opinion bearing that in mind.

I wouldn't worry about creating sleep associations at 6 weeks of age. Your baby is still so little and the most experienced advisors tend to agree that for the first 3 months in particular a baby cannot be spoiled by cuddles, rocking or anything else that helps them go to sleep. They were inside us for 40 odd weeks - it takes them a while to get used to their new environment.

If you don't want to rock him or pat him or anything else then that's fine, but I wouldn't not do it because a book says you shouldn't. It's a book that creates a lot of emotion in women as some her views are considered extreme. I know people who follow Gina Ford to the letter and their babies sleep through the night from a very young age, so if that's important to you then that's absolutely fine. Lucy waited til she was 13 months old and Scarlett is 6 months and not sleeping through so take my advice bearing that in mind as well.

Scarlett is over 6 months now and we've slowly moved her into self settling by following her cues and so far it's worked well - yes we've had some rough patches (are coming out the end of a particularly bad one now) but it's not because she can't self settle; it's because she's just made a major developmental leap and her little world is inside out.

I guess all I'm trying to say is these books are written by people who are not with you in the middle of the night when your baby screams for 2 hours for no reason, or when you're supposed to be getting them up from their nap but you're still actually trying to get them to sleep in the first place.

I never worried about that 15 minutes, and just kept cuddling Lucy and Scarlett until I was ready to put them down.

Sonja

Kema
15-10-2009, 21:02
This is the reason I dont follow Gina to the letter, although Isla goes down and generally settles herself, there is no way I am missing out on cuddle time :D

That being said Isla isnt big on cuddles when she is ready for sleep. If I put her in her cot as soon as she shows tired signs, she smiles at me, waits for her kiss, turns her head and closes her eyes.

Lola - I think its great to read up on routines etc but like everything else, some of it will work for you other bits wont, so I wouldn't stress too much over getting Max into routine with no flexability IYKWIM?

Kema
16-10-2009, 10:55
Where is everyone? :confused:

fickwalker
16-10-2009, 11:00
I'm here Kema, but nothing much to say. Oooh, I did just run downstairs to buy the new Sookie Stackhouse book... But that's really only interesting to me. :)

lola77
16-10-2009, 11:44
morning everyone,

I don't think I was very clear in what I was saying yesterday. I wasn't suggesting that I wasn't cuddling him cos a book told me not to, I was saying that I don't normally cuddle for long when I'm putting Max to bed and was feeling bad about this. I cuddle him loads during his awake time but when it comes to sleepy time I generally darken the room, put some music on, change his nappy, swaddle him, give him a quick cuddle and kiss and put him down. I guess I'm just so tired that when I know it's time for his bed and he's fed, burped, nappy changed, I want him to settle as quickly as possible. To be honest it's the settling tha wears me down physically and emotionally, more so than getting up in the night to feed or him crying, as I just don't know when it's going to end.

My worry with sleep associations actually realtes to something I think Sonja said a while back. I have him in a crib at the moment which I can rock to settle him. My concern was that I wouldn't be able to do this when I move him to the cot so I shouldn't perhaps rely on it to get him to sleep now.

Obviously the health and wellbeing of Max are the most important things but I'd be lying if I said I didn't crave a little bit more sleep. Does this make me a selfish mummy - perhaps? But I don't think I'm any better a mummy to him when I feel exhausted and short on patience.

I'm not a Gina Ford devotee and am still learning what bits are important and which aren't. The routines really helped me at a time when I was completely lost and doubted everything I was doing, and gave me a little bit of hope that I could look after him and might be able to leave the house again. I have no idea whether these routines will work long term for us but when you're feeling compltely clueless as to how to settle your baby you've gotta go with something.

I was genuinely interested in the process everyone went through to see whether there's something I could try or just to make myself feel less like a bad mum for not cuddling him for ages.

Well I'm going off for a lie down as I'm having a bad morning and just want to cry. Sorry for the rambling post. Not sure it makes any more sense.

miss R
16-10-2009, 11:45
Hi all:wave:
Fick- i have everything :fingerscrossed: for you and DP.....
Yay for last needle.....
Kema- Isla has grown soooooo much sinc that piccie was taken.......Those eyes havent changed much though:p
Lola- I never no if i should be putting shelby tobed awake, or asleep. She gnerally falls asleep while feeding however i check her nappy so she wakes a little then put her down. she then stretches and makes screechy noises and i give her a quick pat untill she stops the stretching. If she wakes once im gone (doesnt cry just grunts and groans) i go back in give her a pat and leave but usually dont have to. I worry about spoiling but like lola said they are to young to spoil....
Lola- how is S going with her sleep. how are you????:hugs:
BF- what are you up to.....
CC- hows finn today???Have you started the GF routine yet....
AFM- took shelby to get her hands and fet moulded yesterday so just waiting on the photographer to ring me so we can gt the photos done then wait wait wait for th finishd product... we are getting 2hands, 2 feet and photo....
Had another good night last night which was good.....Off to clinic today at 3pm so hopefully she has put on more weight. she hasnt had the growth spurt yet still putting on 250-300gms a week...so waiting for that to happen.Getting lots and lots of smiles now with th ocasional what appears to be giggle or gaggle...so cute whatevr it is....
here is a piccie of my smiles thismorning... finally got a good one with the camera
http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq347/1982bec/16-10-09006.jpg
Did any of you see sunrise thismorning with the big helium balloon....turns out the boy was hiding in the attic of there house..:eek:
ok well im off to have som lunch
back later with shelbys weight
bec

fickwalker
16-10-2009, 11:47
lola - Big hugs, honey. Obviously, I can't offer anything actually helpful, but HUGS none the less.

miss R
16-10-2009, 11:50
Lola- we were posting at the same time....
:hugs: I understood what you were getting at in regards to settling techniches...I love when shelby goes to sleep against me:p but she does have to learn to self settle which she does well during the night..day time not so well as there is to much to see:laughing:
Max is a very lucky boy to have you as a mum and dont ever doubt that....sending loads of :hugs: to make you feel better

Kema
16-10-2009, 12:09
Fick - :wave:

Miss R - Shelby is so cute!! I still cant catch a good smile on camera...as soon as Isla sees the camera she frowns...lol

Lola - I have PMed you.

Backflip - I've PMed you too...:p

Sonja
16-10-2009, 12:42
Lola

I am really sorry my post made you feel that way and I reread it many times before I posted to make sure it wouldn't upset you so I'm sorry it had that outcome.

I was never saying you don't love Max or cuddle him or anything.

My whole point was to reassure you to try and not worry what you do at 6 weeks - we rocked Scarlett every night and she had all her sleeps in the pram during the day at that age. Once we got to around 12 weeks I made some changes to remove these associations - and it wasn't too difficult.

Noone needs to justify what they do on this forum and the only reason I said I'm not a Gina Ford person was so I was being completely honest about what I said.

Once again I apologise for upsetting you. Maybe it's time for me to take a break from here for a while.

Kema
16-10-2009, 12:46
Dont go Sonja....

We love you :p

fickwalker
16-10-2009, 12:57
Sonja, please don't go. You've been such a wonderful support to so many of us. Sometimes, online conversations are hard to judge because you're not sure of the tone the other person is using. Just a misunderstanding... Please don't go. But, of course, I understand if you need some time away and if that is what you choose to do, please don't be a stranger. We would all miss you too much. :)

Big hugs to both you and Lola.

Sonja
16-10-2009, 13:13
thanks Fick and Kema but I am going to stop posting. that my post could make someone cry is reason enough.

I have only ever wanted to be helpful and supportive as someone who tends to go through things before the others as Scarlett is older.

But maybe things do run their course. I'll still keep an eye on how you're all going and will be back when we're TTC#3, but for now, adios!

fickwalker
16-10-2009, 13:20
I completely respect your decision, Sonja. We will miss you and I look forward to seeing you around these parts again sometime. Give Scarlett hugs from DP and I. :) Thank you for all the advice and kind thoughts you've sent our way. *big hugs*

lola77
16-10-2009, 13:38
Sonja, please don't go because of me. It wasn'your post that made me cry. I'm having a bad day and am feeling really overhwlemed. This is the first whole week I've been alone with Max since he was born and I'm just so tired. I miss my mum, I miss my doggy, I missmy best friends in the UK and I cn't get Max to sleep for more than 10 minutes. He's crying right now but I can't go in there as I can't stop crying.
I can't post anything further right now but please don't go.

mindy19816
16-10-2009, 13:57
Lola, don't worry we all have bad days, some worse than others and some just come out of the blue. With regards to settling and routines and stuff, don't read to much. Little snippets here and there are ok but rely on your instinct a bit more. I found that the more i was reading the more unsure i was about myself and my parenting so i stopped and it made the world of difference. There are lots of different ways that work for lots of different people, but you are you and your baby will love you no matter what. If you feel comfortable doing it then its right for you iykwim. Trust yourself :hugs:

Backflip
16-10-2009, 15:19
Hi ya! I'm here, just don't have much to contribute really, scared if I say something it'll be the wrong thing.
*directed at no one in particular*
For fear of doing exactly that, I really think that little babies need flexibility, I read GF's routine for Mitchell's age and if I tried to follow it I would have a grumpy tired baby. It would not work for him as it does not allow enough sleep time.
I agree with Mindy, but maybe even one step further, toss the books away and read the baby. Easier for me to say as a second time mum, I've been through it all before but sometime forums like this suck for first time mums cause too many questions are asked, too many answers are given you don't know what to try- or maybe you just might not like the answers given at all.
ANYWAY! Mitchell is being a trooper, has 5 nights out of 7 slept till 7-7.30 am I am almost feeling revived! He still sleeps alot during the day but only if I am home, if we are out forget it he's too bust gawking around...
Riley went to the specialist yesterday and has to go into Mercy Private Tuesday week to have grommets put in his ears, so that is at the forefront of my thoughts at the moment as it is stressing me.
I am here and reading, just like I said sometimes I say nothing cause I dont want to upset anyone!

Sonja
16-10-2009, 15:31
Lola I'm here. I don't want to make you feel any worse than you already do.

I still remember week 6 and 1 day after Lucy was born. I had had pneumonia so my mum had stayed longer than we had planned and so it was the first day I too was alone. I cried all day.

Babies have massive growth spurts at 6 weeks, and it can be brutal. Lucy cried the entire day and would only sleep for tiny amounts of time. I thought I was going to go insane. I too have no family in Melbourne and most of my friends were in Brisbane so I know how you feel. Being alone with a crying baby is the most isolating feeling I know.

Feed him as much as he wants today and don't worry about routines. Gina Ford hasn't got children (at least she didn't when she wrote that book) so she doesn't know how it feels to hear your own baby cry so much.

In terms of his crying, this is probably the worst it will get as it peaks around 6 weeks - you'll still have some really tough days (I had one myself a week ago when I actually thought I might harm Scarlett I was so strung out from no sleep and all the crying) but this is one of the toughest.

Sonja

RachInSyd
16-10-2009, 17:32
Lola - week 6 has been a pretty tough one for me too xx

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 18:00
Ok...i just wrote the biggest post and lost it.....arrrgh.

Will try again.

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 18:20
Lola...firstly PLEASE PM me your phone contacts. We both have big boys a few days apart and my DH has gone back to work this week as well so this is my first week alone. The only difference is that this is my second time.......Miss M is 4 so it was a long, long, long time ago.

Ok firstly I am going to put a few of my beliefs out there and they are my beliefs and not put out there to make anyone feel like they are doing anything wrong....it will just put into perspective some the reasons I do what I do!

Ok so firstly: I believe that very few babies are born knowing how to sleep. They do occur but most babies need to be taught how to sleep. In saying that I did have lunch with one of my good friends whose little Miss is 4 weeks older than Fatty. She is gem when it comes to sleeping. She doesn't requiring swaddling to sleep and will nod off by herself. She can also be transferred from pram, to cot to carseat without waking. All things Fatty will not do. So I am VERY jealous:D

Secondly: I do believe in allowing babies to cry. But up until 6 months I will not let my baby cry for more than 5 minutes and will not leave them if they are obviously distressed (you know that really consistent and scary cry they get...I don't believe it hurts them, I just don't like it:o). At six months old I did play hard ball with DD but then again I had bad habits I needed to break with her that I WILL NOT be doing this time. But I know this is not for everyone as it is a natural thing designed for parents to not to like to hear there baby cry. Evolution it is an amazing thing (if you believe this type of thought too!)

Thirdly: This one is the most important....I do what is best for me and my baby. I won't rock my baby for hours at night unless they are sick but that doesn't mean I think it is wrong....it just isn't the right thing for me. I have many close friends that still rock their kids at 3 years old and they don't mind but it would drive me personally batty.

Fourthly: Routines. I take what ever I think or like from certain routines and leave the rest. I have seen how routine works if strictly adhered to but my life is too crazy and busy to stick to a routine stringently....that does not mean I don't believe they don't work. I have a girlfriend whose son is the product of a strict routine but she was willing to make it THE prioirty in their life and I like to be flexible. It is a case of whatever floats your boat!;)

I have a few techinques I do use that I swear by and will post them later....in the middle of dinner and a baby about to wake.

WILL BE BACK!

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 18:32
Ok here are my routines for Fatty:

NIGHT TIME:

I feed him late in the arfternoon and then he usually cluster feeds in the afternoon. So he can usually go 2-3 hours between feeds but at this time of day it is not unusual for him to feed and then an hour later want another big feed. I will feed him before 7 or 7 30 and then he will have a bath. I ALWAYS put lavender bath wash or lavender oil in the bath. I have always done this with the bedtime bath and I swear by it....might be a coincidence but I am sticking with it. Fatty has a kick around in the bath and is out and dressed between 8 and 8.30 and then he has his last feed for the night. The house is made dark.....we have lamps everywhere and DD still associates the lamp lighting to wind down time and sleep. Fatty has a big feed, sometimes I offer both sides of my breasts and he is usually pretty close to sleep or asleep. And he goes into his bassinett and is swaddled and that is the last we hear from him till his feed which is anywhere between 2.30 and 4.30. All night time feeds after this are just feed and straight back to bed. There has been a handful of times where he has been unsettled and I am up with him for more than an hour to settle but they are few and far between and usually when he won't bring up wind. I never expect that he will go straight down (he usually does but I don't expect it therefore I am never distressed if it takes longer than usual.) IF he won't settle....meaning his legs are usually going and he is rigid I walk him and pat him but try to minimise eye contact. I will put him across my knees and rythmically pat but only as a last resort.....I only do this if he is unsettled. But as I said he normally feeds and straight back to bed.

I do my day time settling techniques after I feed my kids...will be right back.:flowerz:

talia11
16-10-2009, 20:17
Talia...I LOVE :bee:that my little man is a fatty. He is so cute and as I am exclusively breastfeeding I am glad to know that he is getting more than enough. I love his fat rolls too. I ALWAYS get comments on how big (FAT) he is.

See comments like those really **** me off - I was in a shop today and the sales woman said -
Oh let me guess - she is 6 months old? I said no, 3 months and she replied with - Oh she is so fat!! :gloomy:

Lola hang in there chick - everyone here is doing a wonderful job - we all have so much to learn and it definitely is one of the hardest things I have ever done! I agree with the tossing of the books - I bought Save Our Sleep and only ever read the first chapter - found it much easier just to record in a book Madison's routines as SHE set them, then learn from that and work out techniques that suited us both. But in saying that, whatever ti takes to get you though is the key - I tell I have the greatest admiration for mothers now - whoever says that parenting is not a job in itself is either childless or dare I say it, a man.

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 20:57
Ok....Day Time:

I am trying to get Fatty to sleep by self settling at least once a day. By this I mean that I try and put him to bed awake and hope he needs no stimulation from me or anything else for that matter to sleep. I was successful today, in that, this afternoon after a feed he was yawning and a tiny bit grizzly and I put him in his bassinett and swaddled him and left. 5 minutes later....sleeping baby. My aim is to get him to do that at least once a day. Sometimes I am successful others I am not. Yesterday I had to pat him. So here I swaddle him and left. He grizzled and then start to get distressed. So I went straight back in and did not pick him up but reswaddled and turn him on his side (not facing me) and placed one hand on his shoulders (firmly but not hard) and the other I patted him firmly and rythmically on the bum. I time it that I will only do this for 5 minutes. Within 5 minutes he was asleep but rewoke after 20 minutes. I knew he was still tired and am trying to teach him not to cat nap so again reswaddled and did the pat thing again.....he slept for 2 hours after this and woke up a happy boy. This is what I mean by teaching him to sleep.

I only added my techniques here as a suggestion:D I hate to use the word advice as I think it can be misinterpreted as my technique is better than yours.....which it may not be. I believe some techniques work better for some babies than others. Oh and HelenHasTwins suggested that I swaddle Fatty for all his sleeps as someone else suggested that swaddling should only be for night time sleeps.......well Helen's suggestion was the one that worked for my Fatty (thanks Helen). So take what works for you from the books for routines and dump the rest. Well that is what I do:D I also avoid eye contact when it comes to sleep time.....as they get older the little monkeys will try and get you with a sneaky smile to get out of sleep....smart little things these human babies can be:laughing:

Lola I hope you can find a technique that works for you. Also be aware that babies have growth spurts...generally there is one t 6 weeks. (I just noticed that Sonja posted that too!) So all of your hard work at settling and routine can go out of the window because all they want to do is feed and increase your breast milk supply (if you are breastfeeding). I only found this out by crying to the health child nurse whn DD was little. I wished someone told me sooner.

Oh and one most important point I forgot is enjoy every little moment. The snuggles, the cuddles and those restless nights when you are walking the hallways with a grizzly baby on your shoulder and your eyes hanging out of your head because before you can blink they become so independent and too big for cuddles unless they want them:( I so am loving Fatty falling asleep sometimes on my shoulder and snuggling like a koala as it had been such a long time since DD did that....it does go quickly.

Oh and sometimes babies get so over tired that there is nothing you can do and all they do is cry. This is where with DD I used to get into the shower and calm myself down for 5-10 mins. One day she cried and cried. I had a shower so I couldn't hear her and then got out, took my time and dressed and then started to try and settle her again. Be kind to yourself. You (we) have the hardest job in the world. We are given a appliance without the instructionbooklet or as someone once said to me it is like putting togather an piece of Ikea furniture WITHOUT the Allen key. You don't know where to start or how to do it.:laughing:

As I said send me your phone details and I will chat any time with you to compare Fatty notes or give each other suggestions.

Oh and next time I am in Sydney....I am coming to meet your Fatty (and you too;)).

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 21:06
See comments like those really **** me off - I was in a shop today and the sales woman said -
Oh let me guess - she is 6 months old? I said no, 3 months and she replied with - Oh she is so fat!! :gloomy:

Oh talia:hugs: Some people are just dumb! Just think that her being so healthy is a product of you being a good mum. I have been on the opposite end of the scale with my DD who was consistently underweight and the constant comments and concerns from child health nurses used to drive me batty. Some wanted me to supplement feed her (which I didn't as she gained weight). She was just small for her age.....surprisngly, today she is the tallest in her Kindy class....so no one would know she was a petite little mite when a baby and a toddler.

I had one person ask if I was sure that DD was 12 months old as she only looked 9 months. :confused: Of course I was sure, I gave birth to her.....bl00dy fruitcake!

Madison sounds perfectly healthy.....once they are running around no one knows the difference between a little baby or a big one! I've had one of each and it is not as concerning to get the fat comments than the skinny/undersize comments. She is a baby and not fat.....just perfectly healthy and more than likely laying down fat supplies ready for when she starts getting active and crawling/ walking etc.

Biggest hugs to everyone having a bad day.:hugs:

Kema
16-10-2009, 21:10
Chub Chub - Nicely said :yelclap:

Chub Chub
16-10-2009, 21:16
Chub Chub - Nicely said :yelclap:

Thanks Kema.....I get told sometimes that I talk too much:o I do (talk too much at times) but I hope some of what I posted can help someone;)

HelenHasTwins
16-10-2009, 21:53
:wave: Ladies

Talia, :hugs: Don't listen to what stupid people say...my boys are chubbies and I just love it:D If our babies are a bit chubby it just means they are healthy and well loved...stuff what anyone says:yes: There is no such thing as a too fat baby...it is all good

Sara, great suggestions love:thumbsup: I also have been teaching the boys not to capnap, if they wake earlier than 45mins I put them back to sleep by patting of generally they just do it themselves, I use to get them up and take them out to the lounge and play and wonder why they were crumpy but now I give them the chance to go back to sleep and 9 times out of 10 they do and usually for another hour of so....

The boys are doing pretty good today, Jack is still a bit unsettled with his teething and no sign of a tooth yet....Jack has red knees from trying to crawl, he is sooo cute, he gets so frustrated that he can't do it yet...Michael is trying to turn over finally, I still think he is a bit too fat to do it yet, but he tries...lol

wannabemamma
17-10-2009, 08:14
Morning ladies

I just wanted to post a whole lot of BH love :hugs::flowerz::valentine:. I think there's a lot of us who need a little hug (and a whole lot of sleep!!!!). Hang in there ladies :goodvibes:

Not much from me - just quietly asking Ben each night if he could please sleep a little more! His day sleeps have improved, possibly due to a morning massage but still up twice a night (I've had 3 nights now where I only get up once, but last night was 3 times - -arrrrggghhhh). So I'm thinking of adding in a massage in the evenings. Two a day shouldn't be too much????

Have a great weekend ladies

moongazer
17-10-2009, 15:40
Hi there girlies,

Lola - you are a great mum and doing the best job you can. Cry your eyes out love, because releasing that tension is also really important. I hope you are feeling better, and know we are all here to support you. :hugs:

Sonja - no need for you to go. We all know no offence is ever meant. We are all so focused on trying to help each other, that sometimes tone gets confused in our written words. You are a fabulous resource for us all! :yelclap:

Chubster - nicely written!

Talia - I agree with Helen - no such thing as a chubby baby. Tell people to go jump. It's amazing how people have such opinions on pregnant women and on babies, when really it isn't any of their business. Some people think I'm massive, others tell me how small I am. I feel like punching them in the nose!!

AFM - thanks everyone for your comments on your labours. I have definitely been getting aches in my lower abdomen. I asked my Obs but she said that the pains will be more "ouchy". It seems to come on quickly for me though. I was down the road at the shops with DH earlier today, and got a bit achy in the video shop. By the time we came home I was quite achy, and hung out on the couch, but then needed to go to bed and doze for an hour. I was then a bit worried if this was mild, how would I cope! :o But then again, these were long constant aches, not contractions and just exhausted me. Bubs is engaged, so we are ready to launch. I really should get that bag ready.... DH has some friends coming over for poker tonight, and is paranoid I'll be sending him a text from the lounge room to cut down on the drinking! :laughing: I think that would be his fault. He is the one who keeps insisting it's coming early!!

I hope everyone is having a better day than before hand, and getting some rest or having fun!

miss R
17-10-2009, 19:06
This thread sure is quiet......
Sonja- pleas say...you are a wonderful friend to us all........:hugs:
CC- well said darl:thumbsup:
Lola- hopw you are feeling better.....
BF- hows everything your end....
Helen- yay for hearing from you... cant wait to s you and the boys
AFM- not much happening...Shelby slept for about 3hrs all up today and just gone to bed now after being awake since 2.00..Had a small cat nap at 2.45-3.15. sh just keeps smiling at me when im trying to get her to sleep:laughing: soooo cute....but soooo cheeky:yes:
ok well gonna gohave an icecream and watch some telly
bec

mindy19816
18-10-2009, 11:50
Cooper slept in his cot in his room last night :smiliedance: and he didn't cry once. Mind you he did have a ratbag day yesterday, he didn't think he needed sleep :rolleyes:
He went to bed after his 8pm feed, i woke him at about 1am for a feed then he slept until 8:30am. Lately he has been going from about midnight through to 8am :smiliedance:WOOHOO.
Gotta go feed him now, will come back later to post some more about his ratbag daytime episode :wave:

Backflip
18-10-2009, 12:19
Yay Cooper!

I'm here, watching the motorbikes on TV and having a lazy sunday. Kids are outside playing and Mitchell is asleep.
I am toying with the idea of trying Mitchell in his cot again for his night sleeps, he is now consistently sleeping from 8pm till 7am, but last time I tried him in his cot he woke at 4am... He does all his day sleeps in it, but I am scared of letting him grizzle in there over night as I don't want him to wake the other kids...
Oh well just have to bite the bullett!

Hope everyone else is having a lovely Sunday:sunshine:

mindy19816
18-10-2009, 14:08
Backflip i did it on a night when i knew DH wouldn't be working the next day so if Cooper started to cry, daddy could go in and settle him without him thinking he was gonna be fed :yes: But he didn't wake up and cry at all :thumbsup: I was really unsure if I was ready for him to not sleep with us but i knew i had to try it at some point and if it didn't work i could always try again later.

As for yesterday daytime :( He was really unsettled (think it might be a growth spurt). He just wouldn't stay asleep, it was like he was having nightmares and waking himself up. He normally has about 8 hours worth of sleep broken up through out the day but yesterday he only had about half of that. For one of his "sleeps" i let him sleep in my arms for an hour or so and then later i ended up just laying him on his sheepskin on the floor in the lounge room and he just watched tv and chillaxed. It may not have been sleep but it was rest at least.

I feel like i shouldn't complain. I know a lot of you guys have big difficulties with sleeping, but Cooper is really good normally so it always seems like a big deal to me when he is out of sorts.

Bec, has Shelby slept any better today? or is she still being a cute cheeky monkey :p

miss R
18-10-2009, 15:06
Mindy- yay for cooper sleeping inhis cot....he is a good sleeper by the sounds of it..
AFM- miss Shelby still fights me for her day sleeps. Altough we went out today and she slept for 2hrs in the pram. I have since been trying to get her to sleep since 1.15 and she goes off and as as soon as i put her down she wakes up. How do you put your bubs to sleep throught he day? she used to fall asleep feeding (bad i no) but now she just doest want to sleep. Do you just leave them in there bed awake and hope they doze off. I have done this for the last half hour and she just grunts and groans and talks to hrself so not sure if it is achieving anything....

Kema
18-10-2009, 19:27
Miss R - I basically leave Isla to go to sleep during the day (and at night, actually) if she wantsto grunt and groan and chat then thats fine, if she cries I go in and resettle her (normally involves putting a dummy in) I find that sometimes she almost chats herself to sleep, she IS tired and wants to go to sleep but sometimes chats to herself till she doses off. BTW - I can tell she is tired because if I get her out of bed thinking that because she is chatty she wants awake time the **** hits the fan :laughing: I have been fooled before.....

Mindy - Thats great news about Cooper. Hope he was more settled for you today.

BF - Good luck putting Mitchell in his cot for the night.

AFM - Not much happening here. Still teething with no hint of a tooth being any closer...if I rub my finger along Islas gum it sort of feels sharp (IYKWIM) but then as we all know these teeth could go down again....:rolleyes:

We have basically had a very grumpy bub, she has gone off her bottle a bit it seems it hurts her to suck but she is going like a little champ on the solids...she ate about a tablespoon of pumpkin last night, she just loves it!!!!

We have also had a bit of trouble with her birthmark (she has a large haemongiaoma on her tummy) it has scabbed up a bit and has been bleeding :( Spoke to the paed the other day who told me to apply olive oil and keep it covered (which I was already doing) but it seems to be getting worse and causing her pain, so I think we will have to go back to the paed about that. I'm a little worried, we were hoping that it wouldn't cause her any trouble and would disappear by itself but the next step is medication or laser.....I dont wanna have to watch my bubba go through that!!!

On a lighter note we are off to the FS on Tuesday to discuss another FET, doubt that we would get one in before Christmas considering I had a caeserean (let alone the fact that I am sure everyone is trying to get one in before Jan 1...lol.

I am excited for our FS to meet Isla....:smiliedance:

Question here for you girls who aren't breastfeeding.....how long did it take for a regular AF pattern to return??

PS - I'm addicted to Cafe World...lol.

Backflip
18-10-2009, 20:19
Kema I'm not BF'ing and I am on my third true AF since Mitchell was born. I am getting it about every 24 days at the moment. Had it at 5.5 weeks, 9 weeks and 12.5 weeks. Hoping it goes back to the pre preg 28 days cycle soon, every 3.5 weeks is a bit much to bear!
No more babies here though, and TBH it makes me a bit sad. Mitchell is such a good baby that I am loving having him around and really really don't want him to get bigger! Was just looking bck at his tiny baby pics and said to DH "do you want to have another one?" I nearly got back slapped off the couch!:laughing:
Decided to stick with the portacot tonight, Riley is going for a sleep over at mum's tomorrow night so will try M in his cot then as there will be no other kids here.

talia11
18-10-2009, 22:30
Question here for you girls who aren't breastfeeding.....how long did it take for a regular AF pattern to return??

Kema mine came back after 8 weeks, last a week and has just come back again (14 weeks).

mindy19816
18-10-2009, 22:49
Bec, i do the same as Kema. If he feels chatty or even a little grumbly i just leave him and he eventually falls asleep. I only go in there if he is really doing a real cry, not just crying to hear himself.

Kema, let us know what your FS says about another cycle. I'm curious how long they like you to wait after a c-section.

Backflip, maybe DH will change his mind when Mitchell gets bigger ;)

Talia, i was looking at the new photos of Madison that you put on FB. WOW she looks so much like you :yes: Very cute

PS i'm addicted to Cafe World too :laughing:

miss R
19-10-2009, 07:13
Bec, i do the same as Kema. If he feels chatty or even a little grumbly i just leave him and he eventually falls asleep. I only go in there if he is really doing a real cry, not just crying to hear himself.

I think thats where im going wrong....I go in as soon as ihear her grunting and groaning and even just a little sqwark. she doesnt really evr get a true cry until she is way past over tired...
I have just put her to bd as she was yawning in hert bouncr and when i pickd her up she started screaming so i changed her nappy and have put hr to bed.
I feel bad when i put her to bed and she is awake but i suppose it has to be done. Was quite teary again yesterday arvo. there was a message on my home phone from last night the midwife called from the clinic to see how i was doing. She is wonderful....so have toring her back today.
Our clinic visits are supposed to be fortnightly but shelby only put on 90grms last week (i changed her nappy befor weigh which i forgot we dont do and her nappy weighed 100grms) so just have to double check her weight.
Off to the GP on wednesday, then pead and baby clinc friday.
On a lighter note we got 9hrs sat night and then 8hrs feed then another 5.5 last night.... so why worry about the day sleep issues???? But she needs to have a sleep through the day so we dont get a grumpy bubby.
ok well back soon
bec

miss R
19-10-2009, 07:28
Have just checked on Miss Shelby and she is :sleeping::sleeping::sleeping:
Wonder for how long.........

miss R
19-10-2009, 08:04
she is awake!!!! I hear some of you say that if they wake befor and hour you still leave them. Shelby is still yawning so have put the dummy in and left again. How long do you leave them for? this is what i dont no.....

Sonja
19-10-2009, 08:26
Miss R

I would try and resettle Scarlett if she woke after 40 or 45 minutes (ie one sleep cycle). SOme people say to leave them for 10 minutes before you start to resettle but that didn't work for her as she would get herself completely wound up so what I did once she woke was go in and turn her onto her side facing away from me and pat her bottom and shush her until she went back to sleep. I would do this for between 20 and 30 minutes initially but after a week or so she'd be asleep within 5 minutes.

"They" say you should do this for all the day sleeps except the last one as you don't want her to sleep too late into the evening or you'll never get her to sleep at night.

Day sleeps are important as the more sleep they have the more sleep they want. Some babies sleep through without every sleeping much during the day but this is not really the norm.

And if you're unsure when to put her down, at the same age Scarlett was up for 1.5 hours and then the goal is they sleep for the same amount of time. Regardless of whether she was showing tired signs, I put her down for her sleep after that amount of time. That was the mistake I made with Lucy - I never knew how long she'd been awake so she was usually either not ready or overtired when I'd put her down.

fickwalker
19-10-2009, 08:33

Quick question: DP is going to Melbourne this weekend for her sisters birthday. She wants to take her sister so they can both have their hair done together, question is... Is it safe for DP to have a colour done? The appointment is this weekend and our BT is on Monday. Is the dying your hair thing an old wives tale or should she really stay away?

Thanks in advance. I hope everyone is well. :)

Sonja
19-10-2009, 08:46
Fick

Kema's a hairdresser so will no doubt confirm, but it's safe. I think the warnings came about in the bad old days when hair colour was much harsher and not as safe as it is now.

I gave up A LOT for pregnancy, but there was no way I was having regrowth!

If there's any concern, go to a salon that uses plant based products (like Aveda).

Kema - this is your area :laughing:

Sonja

fickwalker
19-10-2009, 09:17
Thanks Sonja. Once Kema confirms, I'll pass the info along. DP thanks you. :)

PS: A direct quote from DP once I told her I'd asked all you wonderfully knowledgeable ladies here:
*grins* bub hub's on it! i feel confident when the ladies are on the case!

Chub Chub
19-10-2009, 10:56
Thanks Sonja. Once Kema confirms, I'll pass the info along. DP thanks you. :)

PS: A direct quote from DP once I told her I'd asked all you wonderfully knowledgeable ladies here:
*grins* bub hub's on it! i feel confident when the ladies are on the case!

:laughing: I am pretty sure Kema has confirmed on here before that haior colouring is A OK! I also did not give up my hair colouring whilst preggo. I did give up soft cheeses, wine, salami but I too was NOT going to have regrowth:D

fickwalker
19-10-2009, 11:02
*chuckles* Okay, cool. Thanks ladies! I figured it was fine but was only concerned as we're still in the TWW phase and certainly don't want to endanger anything. Then again, after what happened with Cas, I think we're almost a little too cautious, just afraid of something similar happening again.

Many thanks again! :)

Chub Chub
19-10-2009, 11:10
*chuckles* Okay, cool. Thanks ladies! I figured it was fine but was only concerned as we're still in the TWW phase and certainly don't want to endanger anything. Then again, after what happened with Cas, I think we're almost a little too cautious, just afraid of something similar happening again.

Many thanks again! :)

Oh Fick....I had a miscarriage before Fatty and totally understand:hugs:

fickwalker
19-10-2009, 11:15
Chub Chub - *hugs* In an odd way, having been through what we have with Cas has been a good thing, it's taught us that it's out of our hands. We could do absolutely everything right and it still might not work. And, also, we figure we've been through the worst thing we could imagine... So it's made this TWW a hell of a lot easier to deal with. I'm thankful for the lesson our son taught us. :)

lola77
19-10-2009, 12:47
hi everyone,
hope you all had a good weekend.

kema - poor little isla! i hope that mean tooth makes an appearance soon. I've stayed away from anymore FB after Farmtown started to rule my life during maternity leave! Didn't Lulusmum tell us that Medicare isn't changing for IVF in January, or did I misunderstand?

BF - hope mitchell has a good sleepover in his big bed :yelclap:

mindy - not spoken to my FS yet but my obstetrician told me last week that the official line is that they don't like you to be pregnant again until 6 months after a c/s.

missr - I've been getting a little tougher with Max. Since I had the day at the day centre where they taught me about settling, I've always hesitated before going into him, just to see what he's doing. They told me that crying is part of their winding down or resettling process and if we go in too soon, we can interrupt them and have to start all over. MAx is inconsistent at the moment and sometimes goes down easily, other times I need to rock the crib and resettle a lot. I'm not sure what the inconsistency is down to at the moment but trying to figure out all the variables (did I miss his tired signs, is the swaddle too loose etc).

fick - as Sonja said, Kema is probably the authority on these things. Personally, even though I checked it out through numerous sources and knew it was safe, I was paranoid so didn't colour I think until after my 20 week scan. Luckily I have brown hair so the regrowth isn't as obvious as a blonde would be. Totally with Sonja on giving up a lot during pregnancy! I miss going out and getting completely smashed and having a boogie!!

AFM - had a hectic weekend. Had a 4 year olds birthday party at a play centre which was a fun insight into my life in a few years time! It was so noisy so I was left with an overstmulated baby who didn't want to go to sleep easily. Then we went to our photogrpaher to go through our pregnancy and newborn photos. Cost a small fortune but we're sorted for Christmas presents for granparents at least. Sunday, I finally got his feet moulded and the little bugger kept moving his hands so it took ages.Left Max with daddy while I went to the mall to do some chores and shopping. Apparently he screamed the whole time I was away although I suspect that DH is very sensitive to his cries and picks him up straight away. That and he managed to bash his head on the cot when he was re-swaddling him!! Finally got DH to fill in the gaps in my birth story so will post it in the appropriate section on BH later It's very long, but includes all the text messages DH was sending to my sister, so is very accurate! Just had my monthly morning tea with ladies who did Calmbirth classes (although none from my class), and some pregnant ladies were there. God I miss my belly sometimes! Max was certainlny quieter in there :laughing:
Not sure what's going on with him at the moment - he dreamfed at about 11.30pm, woke up at 2am so I decided not to feed and just re-settle which took about 40 mins on and off. He went through to 5.15am when I fed him, then he woke again at 6.15am and I resettled and he slept until 7.15am. He was unsettled during his morning nap and then when he was due for a feed while I was at the cafe, he decided to sleep! Just going with it today!

I'm going to try for a nap while he's quiet - famous last words!!

See you all later :wave:

miss R
19-10-2009, 13:08
God why am i so hopeless today......
Hav ben settling and resettling for the last 3hrs and she is still rying..Not hungry just pulls off the breast and cries louder. Am really struggling at the moment to work out what to do and where im going wrong. Sorry about the me posts today just having an off day again i think. really teary and am just feeling low.
i think i will go and get her out of bed. Might not be back today as i dont want to brng everyone else down

Kema
19-10-2009, 13:49
I feel so loved :D

Fick - Hair colour is safe during pregnancy, I'm sure back in th day when colour chemicals were a lot harsher it may not have been safe but these days it is fine.

That being said, if I have a pregnant client that is worried about chemicals I offer a few options...one is to use a plant based product (as Sonja suggested Aveda is good, just for the record Henna is not) another option is to use a colour with either no or very little ammonia (a bit harder if you are covering grey or want a vibrant red) or to have a service that is what we hairdressers call "off scalp" Foils and highlights (through the good old tip cap) can be applied with no colour touching the scalp.

Bear in mind though that a LOT of women have their hair coloured during pregnancy (most women dont even know they are pregnant during the TWW) and I myself not only had my colour done every 5 weeks while pregnant but I also worked in the salon exposed to these chemicals everyday up until 36 weeks pregnant. There was one study done suggesting hairdressers had smaller babies (suggesting the chemicals were an issue) but Isla was just shy of 4kg...so there obviously wasn't a problem there for us.....:D

Gottta go...baby crying...BBL

fickwalker
19-10-2009, 13:53
Kema - Thanks so very much for the in-depth response. I know that DP really, really appreciates it. :)

Thank you!! :)

MrsPee
19-10-2009, 14:19
Hi MG

Good luck

Sonja

I TOTALLY agree with Sonja, I read the book and LOVED it. It got me and DH through my labour with NO drugs, NO tears etc..... I found it to be very imformative and it made so much sense, when they were explaining things... WHich helped me to know what was happening and what my body was doing. So instead of tensing up and fighting it, I just stayed calm and it made for a very different labour then my first one.

Hi Everyone by the way.
I do pop in and I will be back soon just takin a break with so much going on here at home. DH is finally home and that is wonderful but we are madly researching his next posting and need to get that paperwork all in soon as he only has 12 months left on this ship and he is looking/thinking about going to Submarines.....

hugs and kisses to everyone

lola77
19-10-2009, 16:18
Bec - you're not hopeless! you're also not psychic so working out what's bugging her is a bit difficult!! I think the only thing you can do is the things you have control over - feed her, burp her, chnage her nappy, check she doesn't have a temperature, try al your usual resettling techniques one more time and maybe something you've not tried before. If all else fails, go into the garden and cry for a minute, take some deep breaths and go back in knowing it will end eventually. I'm sure they're able to sense when we're a bit low and seem to pick those days to be a pain in the ****!

Does DH get home soon? I'd say hand her straight over and go for walk!

:hugs:wish I could help more but Maxi is fighting me a little too today!

I'm sending peacful baby vibes your way.

Chub Chub
19-10-2009, 18:48
God why am i so hopeless today......
Hav ben settling and resettling for the last 3hrs and she is still rying..Not hungry just pulls off the breast and cries louder. Am really struggling at the moment to work out what to do and where im going wrong. Sorry about the me posts today just having an off day again i think. really teary and am just feeling low.
i think i will go and get her out of bed. Might not be back today as i dont want to brng everyone else down

Bec.....we are all here to support you my dear.

Just a thought....are you eating regularly? I know when I had DD she would scream and pull off. The Child HEalth Nurse said something about my milk not having enough calories or something about the hindmilk:confused:. SO she made me ensure I was eating properly...a week later it was much better. Oh and to make sure that I got DD's wind all up. It is just a thought. It may not be Shelby's issue but who knows????

Oh I am meeting Helen on Thurs....at her place. Wanna come? We can chat and I can give you a real:hugs:

mindy19816
19-10-2009, 19:09
mindy - not spoken to my FS yet but my obstetrician told me last week that the official line is that they don't like you to be pregnant again until 6 months after a c/s.

Thanks Lola :D I think i will probably wait untill he is about 1 anyway.

Bec, does she pull of the boob often? and when she does, does she cry and sort of throw herself back and go a bit stiff? And what about vomiting? Cooper used to do all of that, it turned out that he had reflux. If it's not any of that just remember one day you will wake up and she will be a different baby, growth spurts are a killer but once one ends their behaviour tends to change a bit. I hope some of that made sense :confused: Feel like i just rambled :laughing:

I went and got Zantac today for Cooper and OMG what a difference it has made. He hasn't vomited once today:fingerscrossed: And that is without the feed thickener. Just breastfed :smiliedance:. Yesterday i couldn't give him a boobie feed withouy a massive vomit, not even a 5 min feed. But now after only using the Zantac once, :wizard: magic.
He has decided to drop his afternoon nap lately though so i will see if i can remedy this over the next few days.

gonna go have dinner now, will be back later.

Kema
19-10-2009, 20:58
Miss R - I'm sorry I didn't get back sooner but I think all the other girls have said it....you are doing a great job...try not to doubt that.

As for the pulling off the boob, just to put another thought into your head (like you need it) I found Isla did this to encourage let-down, I found if I was stressed or anxious she would do it more....hard not to be stressed, anxious, grumpy, worried and just plain crap when you are having a day like yours....but maybe some fresh air and a ten minute break will help.

I find when Isla is unsettled and I am trying everything sometimes DH can go in and BAM, she settles...and vise versa.

Lola - I have no idea when it comes to all this Medicare stuff. I believe that there wont be much of a difference to the clinics that are charging aroung the $6000 mark for a stim cycle but there will be a difference to the clinics charging $10,000 or more :eek: I think they are trying to get all clinics to charge a standard fee for each procedure (mind you just look at OBs and GPs...they charge all different sorts of prices, so I dont know why they think the can change it for IVF clinics :rolleyes:)

I remember the 2 months before Christmas were crazy for my clinic the last couple of years anyway so as I said probably in the new year.....

Mindy - Awesome news about Cooper!!
As for concieving after a caeserean...I think it depends a lot on each woman and how streched the uterus becomes during pregnancy as each woman would be different (IYKWIM) My OB told me he would like 12 months between c sections...meaning I would have to be almost 6 weeks pregnant now...lol. I just figure this is a topic where everyone gets conflicting advice so although my OB said to have 12 months between c sections my FS could suggest something else.

AFM - We had an awful night last night, I felt like I had a newborn again...so much screaming!! :hair: But on the plus side we had an incredible day today....typical Gemini..lol!!

Thanks girls for the info regarding AF. AF arrived for me when Isla was 3 months old and I am currently on day 31 and there is no sign of AF. I was always a 28 day girl so I wondered how long until I can expect a regular period.

Maybe I am pregnant.....:laughing::p

miss R
20-10-2009, 07:12
Hi all, thanks for all your advice yesterday. I was in quiote a state when DH got home so he took Shelby while i had a nice long shower. Shelby didnt settle till 7pm after me trying since 10.30am. Thats a long time for a 7wk baby to go without sleep. Im just praying for a better day today.:fingerscrossed:
Kema- glad isla had a good day
Mindy- usually when she pulls off or does the woodpecker thing its because she needs burping. but yesterday she was scratching and really not happy
ok well best go feed themunchkin

lola77
20-10-2009, 12:57
hey bec,
how's it going so far today? how was she overnight?

where is everyone today?

I had mothers group this morning and only half the group turned up! Luckily all the ladies that I've been chatting most with were there and we had coffee afterwards and a good old chat!

Weighed Max and he is an enormous 6.16kg!!!:eek:. That's 630g in 2 weeks!! Is it possible for babies to put on too much weight?? I think it puts him in like the 99th percentile or something! Will ask paediatrician this week.

Max is all off routine again thanks to mothers group so still trying to settle him for his big midday nap when he should be getting up in 30 mins. Oh well, I guess a good amount of sleep is more important than a schedule!

DH won't be home until 11pm tonight (which he only told me last night) so I hope he's a good (not so) little man for mummy for the rest of the day.

I hope the quietness of this thread is not an indication that everyonés having a bad day!

miss R
20-10-2009, 14:24
[QUOTE=lola77;4172119]hey bec,
how's it going so far today? how was she overnight?

where is everyone today?

Weighed Max and he is an enormous 6.16kg!!!:eek:. getting up in 30 mins. Oh well, I guess a good amount of sleep is more important than a schedule!

!/QUOTE]

Shelby was good once she went to sleep. went down at 7 and woke at 2 then again at 6. Nights arent the problem its the days......
It is very quiet in here at the moment.
WOW Max!!!!!! what a weight gain. Poor miss Shlby is 4.1kg..... she neds to grow som more to catch up to these babis that are younger than her:laughing:
Just went into her as she was awake and lent over the bassinette ans she gave me the biggest smile ever....then went back to sleep.....
such a little bugger
ok well bst go se what DH is up to.
bec

lola77
20-10-2009, 16:16
Me again!

Question for those of you with refluxy babies, especially those on Losec. Max has been on Losec since he was 3 weeks old (he's now 7)but only for about a week since BF told me about NOT crushing it. Should he still be vomitting so much? He's been so vomitty today, even an hour or so after he's fed. I keep him upright for as long as possible and make sure he's been burped. I'm now worried that he's not getting enough kicking and tummy time because I can't put him down without vomitting. I just tried tummy time over an hour after feeding and he vomitted and then face planted into it. I then took him to his room and he vomitted whilst I was wrapping him and then at least twice after I put him in his cot. He isn't distressed about it and evidently weigh gain isn't an issue but it still worries me.

We're seeing the paediatrician for his 6-8 week check on Thursday but given the inconsistencies around how reflux is diagnosed and treated, I was interested in what your experiences have been.

cobbec
20-10-2009, 16:32
Lola, I had Emma on Losec for all of 3days as she was vomitting more on it than before so I took her off and changed her to a lactose intolerant formula which worked wonders for us. I don't think they are supposed to be very chucky on Losec but I'm not sure either.... And what an impressive weight gain for Max...

MissR, hope Shelby has been better for you today. It's hard to work out what's wrong with them at times...

AFM - the sun is finally shining here and it is getting so warm :) I weighed Emma yesterday and she was 5.565kg... she is really enjoying her solids... pear and banana are the favs here... Hopefully the nice weather will continue as we have Emma's christening on Saturday in Batemans Bay.

Bec

Kema
20-10-2009, 16:55
Lola - Isla has never been diagnosed with reflux, she is considered a 'happy chucker' ahe could vomit as much as Max, but it doesn't seem to faze her....lots of washing in this house though and the face plant is the worst!!

Miss R - Hope your day has continued to get better.

AFM - Welll...where to start....

Went to the GP this morning to get a referral to the paed coz of Islas birth mark. It's been cracking and has started bleeding too. I got there and she decided to take a swab (which Isla was not impressed about) She then told me she would fax a referral to the paed as she needs an appointment urgently (I called the paed yesterday and explained I needed an appointment ASAP and they told me the first one was February :eek:) So as I was paying the GP bill, my GP appeared and told me that she had spoken to the paed and Isla has an appointment tomorrow at 2:15pm. This was less than 5 minutes after I left her room....GO GP!!!:thumbsup:

While I am thrilled that Isla will be seen tomorrow I am scared to death of what might happen next....looks like a trip to the Royal Childrens Hospital will be in the near future...

Then n a lighter note, I went and saw my FS, it was wonderful to see him meet Isla and he kept saying what a beautiful sight (I guess they dont see many prams come through the door)

For those of you who are interested in what he said regarding another FET post c section...

Basically we went over the birth of Isla and my general health, c -setion, full term, no longer breastfeeding, had one period waiting for another, etc, etc....

He then said and I quote....

"Well I think you know when you are ready for another one and lets face it if you could concieve naturally you would just start shagging so I dont see why you should have to wait just because its IVF"

:laughing: and thats my FS...straight to the point.

So basically we left the FS knowing that when we are happy to start again just call the nurses on day 1 of AF (ahhh the memories)

FYI we are thinking not this cycle but the next and obviously because it can take a while for AF to become regular again we dont really know when that will be...bt we will just play it by ear.

BBS

lola77
20-10-2009, 18:55
kema - great GP! so glad you're getting it seen to. and how exciting you've got the go ahead for number 2. face planting is slightly amusing though don't you think!

cobbec - hope the christening is beautiful. we will need photos of course!! hmmm, not sure what to do with the reflux - will defo grill the paed!

I apologise in advance but need to rant about grandparents. Tell me whether you think this is appropriate. My dad has made no attempt to contact me since we left hospital 6 weeks ago. He sent me an email while I was in hospital which I replied to about 5 days after i got out (reasonable with a newborn baby i thought!). I've heard nothing since - no emails, text messages, phone calls - nothing! I posted a bunch of photos on Flickr and gave him a guest pass to see them. I can tell that he's looked at them but no comments have been made. I had major bloody surgery and Max is his only grandchild! My mum tells me that his father was the same when I was a baby and tells me that he isn't doing it intentionally, it just doesn't occur to him. I'm not great with confrontation - he's not been a great dad either. Not in an abusive way, just not very involved with my sister and I (parents split up when I was 8). Mum reckons he will get defensive if I send him an email ubt I don't know what to do. I don't want to write him off completely but I also would like him to be aware of the impact of his behaviour.

Anyone have any good suggestions?

Sorry this post is very much about me. They're all that way at the moment!!!!

ibb
20-10-2009, 19:03

Well haven't been on here for a while so yet to read all the posts but i will catch up.

I had my ob apmt today. It was so much better. Very relaxed, DH was with me and i wasn't rushed. Maybe he was having a real bad day. We paid the big bill $1250 so now on fortnightly visits.
Anyway as you know placenta has not moved at all so i will be having a ceasar and if all goes well he will try to get me to 37/38 weeks which at the latest would be 17th Dec so i would just be out of hospy in time for a quiet christmas at home.
It was so funny when the midwife was measuring me, 1'm showing 31 weeks but am only 29w5d today, she kicked her!! The midwife was so shocked. She was like " Oh she flicked me" I can't believe it!! It was hilarious. My little girl is already sticking up for herself and not letting people push her around:laughing:

Kema
20-10-2009, 19:16
Ibb - Great to hear you had a better appointment today. Might not be a 'quiet' Christmas with a newborn in the house though :laughing: I cant wait for some more newborns on this thread....babies grow too quickly!!

Cobbec - Hope the christening goes well.

Lola - Face planting is a combo of :laughing: and :hair:

As for your dad....I dont really have any advise but you are not alone...my mum and dad split up when I was about 4 and my dad hasnt had a lot to do with us (his decision) anyway every time I see him and my step mum, the step mum goes on and on about how he wants to be a bigger part of our lives and that he regrets not being around more :ecomcity: If he calls I talk to him, I have never said a nasty thing to him and I dont give him the cold shoulder but I dont contact him, I used to and he would say he would keep in touch, then didn't and I would be hurt....I came to the realisation that if I didnt expect anything then I couldnt get hurt (at the ripe old age of 14)

When Isla was born (his first grandchild) I honestly believed that he would try to make an effort and he would ring every couple of days....but surprise surprise...that lasted all of 10 days and I havent heard from him since.

So Isla was 10 days old last time I spoke to him and she is now 18 weeks!!! For me its easy, no expectations = no hurt.

I really hope my daughter never has to feel that way....and I hope that you can resolve any issues you have with your dad.

lola77
20-10-2009, 19:59
Thanks Kema! Had I come to the same decision as you had at a younger age, might have saved msyelf a lot of heartache and my little sister a lot of therapy. Unfortuantely, I've always held out hope. It ****es my mum off that he turns up for the 'big' days - my graduation, wedding etc and plays the proud father, then is basically absent the rest of the time. I've just emailed her and she apparently has a plan to contact him without getting him angry! Brilliant - yay mum!

ibb - so glad your obs appointment was better, and I'm with Kema - unlikely to be a quiet Christmas, but a very memorable one :yelclap:

Well DH is home early so should go chat with him1

cobbec
20-10-2009, 21:53
Kema - how exciting to be thinking of number 2... I would love to but DH isn't to sure at the moment.

Lola, we have that problem with DH's dad. He has only seen Emma twice since she was born and for less than an hr each time. He is coming to the Christening but only to the church (which for our family is seriously 10mins as the minister has done so many christenings for us) DH is very upset with this as my family are always visiting and ring daily. He confronted his dad over the ph last night and it was not good. Seems to have settled today but I think sometimes its best to just accept what they want to do and as Kema said it makes for less hurt when you dont' expect anything... hard I know.

Anyway am off to bed soon.

Bec

fickwalker
21-10-2009, 06:24

Looks like this cycle didn't work for us. :( DP thinks she woke up to AF this morning. She says it's really light so she can't be sure yet, but yeah. We're a bit disappointed, but *shrugs*... What can we do? Hopefully we can another FET cycle started asap.

I sincerely hope you all have a wonderful day. :) I'm off to work. :(

Kema
21-10-2009, 06:50
Fick - Dont lose hope babe....sometimes a bit of spotting can be implantation bleeding, it can also be very normal to have a little bleed in early pregnancy....but :hugs: to you and your DP, it's awful not knowing...when is BT?

Cobbec & lola - I didnt mean to sound harsh if thats the way I came across...it was an awful decision for me to make to view my father in this way and although I try to remove myself from the hurt as much as I can, it still sometimes sneaks through.....I'm not suggesting this is what you should do Lola, I just wanted you to know that you are not alone. I count myself as lucky coz I have an amazing step dad who is just like a 'real' dad to me and of course a 'real' grandfather to Isla....

fickwalker
21-10-2009, 07:10
Kema - BT is scheduled for Monday. I thought implantation bleeds wouldve happened earlier. We'll just wait and see how DP goes today. You're absolutely right, it may not mean anything. :)

sorry for the short message. Typing on the iPhone is somewhat tricky.

RachInSyd
21-10-2009, 07:10
Fick - As Kema said it could be implantation bleeding. I'll keep my fingers crossed this is the case.

RachInSyd
21-10-2009, 07:12
Fick - I had spotting at 6 weeks. It can happen anytime.

Kema
21-10-2009, 07:21
Fick - Was it a 2/3 day embie or a blastocyst?

Implantation bleeding can occur 6-12 days past ovulation.
Of course the hardest part is that you wont know until AF turns up for sure or BT on Monday.
TWW sux!!

fickwalker
21-10-2009, 07:25
RachInSyd - Thank you for the crossed fingers. I'm hoping you and Kema are right and it's just implantation bleeding. DP got up to go to work about an hour and a half before I did, so the conversation we had was a bit bleary. I'll keep an eye on her today and hopefully the bleed stops. I guess we both assumed it was AF because she's due today. But we will wait and see... And cross our fingers. :)

Kema - It was a blastocyst.

Sonja
21-10-2009, 08:28
Hi Fick

I'll be thinking of you and your DP and hope it turns out okay. I too had quite a bit of bleeding in the first 12 weeks of my pregnancy with Scarlett, so I knowhow hard it is to not stress.

Sonja

fickwalker
21-10-2009, 09:15
Thank you all for the kind words of support. I'm still hoping against hope that this is just an implantation bleed and that we still have a chance this month. But DP has said that the blood is red, not pink or brown, and has gotten a bit heavier since she discovered it this morning. So I'm not holding my breath, but I'm hoping really hard.

Thanks for the advice and info, there's so much about this whole process that I'm yet to learn. I think I'd go crazy if it weren't for you lovely ladies here on BubHub. So yes, thank you. :)

Backflip
21-10-2009, 09:35
Thinking of you and DP Fick, and as always keeping everything crossed for you:hugs:

moongazer
21-10-2009, 10:14
Fick - I hope it's an implantation bleed for you both. :hugs:

Lola - :fingerscrossed: your mum has a good plan. I'm so sorry you feel this way.

Kema - you didn't sound harsh. You told it like it was. Great news from your FS. I think I like your doc!! :goodvibes: I think I like your GP too!! Hope all goes well at your pad appt today.

Kema
21-10-2009, 10:23
Thanks MG - Having a bit of a hard time coz I stupidly decide to have a little look on google :doh:

Of course I found all the worst case scenarios of hemangiomas and the read a study suggesting that hemangiomas occur due to twins beginning to develop.....

The study has no conclusive evidence but it makes me feel sad for the possible 2nd baby and that Isla may feel that loss too...stupid I know but hard not to feel this way considering Isla was a double transfer.

Why do I google?

lola77
21-10-2009, 12:37
fick - as everyone else has already said, don't assume the worst just yet. As I've told you before, I had a major bleed at 12 weeks and was told by a doctor that I'd miscarried. I have a fat screaming little man to prove otherwise. Mine was caused by the placenta implanting so slightly different but trying to make the point that I know blood always makes us worry, but it doesn't necessarily mean it's all over. Have my fingers crossed for you both!

kema - you didn't come across harsh at all. stupid electronic communication! your post made me feel better that I wasn't the only one. oh and stay away from google. I hope the paed is able to give you some reassurance. i'm sure the condition you mention does exist but it could also be for a million and one other reasons. Don't torture yourself and just focus on those big beautiful eyes :)

fickwalker
21-10-2009, 12:42
Thanks lola. I think it was DP's resignation that really got me down. I'm a hope for the best, prepare for the worst type of person, but I always have hope. But DP... She's usually very optimistic. Not today though. *sigh* But thank you, I really appreciate the support from you ladies, I can't say how much.

Chub Chub
21-10-2009, 13:45
Fick....bugger!:hugs:

Fatty slept from 8.30 through till 5.30am! Woo Hoo but DD woke up sleep walking soooo I didn't actually get a full nights rest. But oh well! It may also just be a once off but it is nice to think that he can sleep that length. Although he is asleep now after going down at 11am.:eek: I think he may be growing!

I had him weighed this morning and it looks like he only put on 50grams....which is ok as he has been putting on weight in massive proportions. SO he now weighs 5.45kgs. I guess next week he'll make up for it.

I also have been thinking that maybe I'd like another baby. I think it is all the baby talk here and my hormones as I always said that I'd be happy with just 2 and I have to think further ahead when I am paying for them in high school or university which will cost a fortune;)

Hope everyone is having a good day....Kema I am waiting to hear about Isla's appointment. Fingers crossed all is ok.

miss R
21-10-2009, 13:50
Fick- goodluck darl hope everything is ok.....
how is everyon today?????
well went to the dr today about myemotions and im not depressed but just a bit emotional when it comes to bub. He is happy for me to cry if i want to and doesnt think it is of concern, but is glad that i thought i should see someone. H did a check of shelby and she is at the 45th percentile for weight, HC and length. sh is 4450grms (was 4190 last friday), 55.5cm long (was 53cm 2wks ago) and Hc was 38cm (34cm when born). He is happy with her growth. He was gona do her immunisations today but i said no and that we are bookd in for nxt wednesday so DH can come. He is happy for her to have panadol befor we go there. Did you give your bubs panadol bfor there needles?
Home tomorrow then see the pead and the baby clinic on friday. will ask the pead about shelbys tounge and see what he says about that.
Well last night was a good night. Miss S slpt through from 8pm - 5am. so :fingerscrossed: for another one of those....Its just getting her to stay up that that as she doesnt like having an afternoon nap... well must go so be back soon
bec

miss R
21-10-2009, 13:52
CC- we were posting at the same time...Good boy Finn:yelclap:

Chub Chub
21-10-2009, 14:02
Yep...he is a good boy....still:sleeping:

cobbec
21-10-2009, 17:00
Kema - you didn't sound harsh...

Chub - Yah Finn!!!

MissR - I always give Emma panadol before her shots and for about 24-48hrs after as kids in our family tend to react to the polio and get pains in their legs...

Bec

Kema
21-10-2009, 18:14
Ok so.....

We got to the paed at 2:15 and he had already spoken to the chairman of vascular anomalies at the Royal Childrens Hospital. He had a look at Islas birthmark and was quiet surprised by how much it had grown. He measured the ulcer that has formed and phoned the specialist while we were there.

They decided that the best course of action was to start her on Propranolol (adult blood pressure medication) to try to shrink the hemangioma. We had to go and have an ECG first to ensure her heart is healthy to begin with (which it was)

The doctors have asked us to use Isla in a case study as this is still a fairly new treatment, which we have agreed too. The results seem to be quiet good, but I am way out of my league....how do you make a decision like this? Luckily I trust my paed, he is just wonderful!! and the chairman of these things at the Royal Chidrens is surely one to know...

They took photos of the hemangioma for a baseline, so we can see if the medication is working and these pics will be used in future publications.

The doctor in Melbourne asked where we lived and when the paed said Geelong he was shattered because he wanted us to pop in so he could see it....obviously a unique little girl. :D

Anyway having a bit of a hard time coming to terms with medicating her but hopefully it will help to shrink the birthmark faster (as it will eventually dissappear on its own) and there will not be any more ulceration :fingerscrossed:

We have to go back in a month for more photos and to see what happens next...

Talk soon

Kema
21-10-2009, 18:15
BTW - I have read everyone elses posts but really cant think straight to try to do personals...forgive me?

Backflip
21-10-2009, 19:17
:D:D

L-R Josh (Strangefruit), Ben (Wannabemumma), Scarlett (Sonja), Angus (Lovethesun), Mitchell (Me!)

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a332/simo22/cid_9C35DE2E34894B1BB0687BB9AE81DB4.jpg

Kema
21-10-2009, 19:27
So cute BF!!

mindy19816
21-10-2009, 19:58
Kema, it's great that Isla won't have to have any surgery for it now she's taking the medication :smiliedance:

Backflip, love the photos :D

My baby's not well :( He has had a cough for a while but it has been slowly getting worse. Today it has just been horrible and it hurts him, so my house has been full of coughing, choking, crying, screaming and very little sleep. I thought it might be croup so i put the vaporiser on in his room but it has been 36 here today and he kept getting to hot in his room. I will see how he goes overnight but i might have to take him to the Dr's tomorrow.

Sonja
21-10-2009, 20:10
Mindy - have you got some vapor rub or euky bear rub? you rub it on the soles of their feet while they sleep then put socks on them or put them in an all in one suit (might be hard if it's hot). it can relieve the coughing. keep an eye on his chest when he breathes and make sure his chest doesn't look sunken. I'd take him to the doctor in the morning - coughs and head injuries are always worth checking out. hope he gets better really soon.

BF - beautiful photos. And thanks SF for a lovely afternoon. Poor Lucy nearly knocked herself out on a tree branch and as we were leaving, almost choked on a lolly (given to her against my better judgment but because I thought it would cheer her up). then when I was trying to comfort Lucy and stop her choking I basically dropped Scarlett. Gawd some days I definitely should hand them over to DFS! By the way Lucy really liked Riley - which is something as she has now reached an age where she generally doesn't like playing with boys (DH hopes it lasts for 20 years!). Anyway emergency visit to our GP and everything is fine. she was stoked as it got DH home early and she was allowed to watch all of Snow White.

Kema - it does sound like a lot to take in. I hope you get your head around it all soon.

Off to bed. Back to having cr@p nights here so need to get as much sleep as possible.

Sonja

mindy19816
21-10-2009, 20:29
Thanks Sonja, i forgot about vicks on the feet, i will give it a go and hope for at least some sleep tonight.

lola77
21-10-2009, 20:43
love the photos - Scarlett and her boys! maybe one day we can get one of everyone on here although that might involve a bit of a journey for forever and juliana :)

am very jealous of chub and miss r having long sleeps for finn and shelby. fngers crossed it continues!

kema - so glad Isla is getting seen to. I think trusting your paed is the most important thing. I'm sure they wouldnt advise you to go down this route if the benefits didn't outweigh any risks (if there are any!)

had a bit of a pooey day. i think the result of last nights stupid decision on my part to drop the dreamfeed and his increased waking left me knackered and feeling less able to deal with the constant resettling during the day. just feel so useless on days like this. i seriously got to the point today where I felt like walking out the house and carrying on going - I didn't of course. going to paed tomorrow and I'm really hoping he's able to help and doesn't just tell us the reflux is one of those things we have to put up with.

off to express. night everyone.

RachInSyd
22-10-2009, 07:00
BF - What gorgeous photos. How great is it to see all those beautiful babies together.

Kema - it sounds as if you're doing the right thing. Sometimes we just have to put our trust in the specialists. Emi also has one on her back which Im keeping an eye on (she was a single transfer).

Lola - hope today is better for you.

Mindy - hope you all got some sleep last night and things are better today.

AFM, we've seen big changes in Emi over the past week (week 7). She's babbling and smiling much more...growing up.

Sonja
22-10-2009, 07:07
Mindy

how did you get on last night?

Sonja

Backflip
22-10-2009, 07:43
Sonja how is Miss Lucy this morning?

We had the worst night here since Mitchell was born. He wouldn't drink at all ( had 40ml at 6.30 pm and that was it since 2.15 in the arvo), fell asleep exhausted at 8pm then woke screaming, and I mean screaming at 10 and did that till 1am when I gave him nurofen and got 3 big farts and a big burp out of him. He still wouldn't drink but was smiling so put him in bed and he slept till 7.45. Don't know what was wrong (assuming wind pain but have my doubts...) but it was awful. I am buggered.

Hope everyone else had better nights :(

lola77
22-10-2009, 07:55
morning everyone!

after seeing those beautiful photos yesterday, I was thinking that us Sydney people should get together too! Did you get any photos of the mummies btw?
I know Rach and I have discussed doing it at some point but i can't remember who else is in Sydney - I'm thinking Mrs Pee and Mindy but i can't recall who else. If we were able to arrange something, it would also be great for Fick and DP to come too and see the end result of all those injections and scans.

In theory, who'd be up for a meet?

Hope everyone had a good night. We reinstated the dreamfeed and he slept until 3am and then 6.30am :smiliedance:. He's gone for his morning nap a lot earlier than usual but I'm not going to force him to stay awake!

Off to paed this afternoon - any tips for things I should ask him?

Sonja
22-10-2009, 07:57
Hi Backflip

that doesn't sound like much fun - but it sounds like an almost typical night at our place. last night was better though - I did a rollover at 10 and then just fed her when she woke at 2.30 rather than trying to resettle her and she went straight back to sleep. So I feel 100% better today.

Lucy's fine. the swelling's gone down and she's now got a mighty bruise which will impress everyone at kindy tomorrow.

maybe it was too much stimulation for Mitchell yesterday? I sometimes found that if we did something in the afternoon and were out for a few hours it could lead to an eventful night. hopefully things will return to normal tonight.

bright sunshine here in Melbourne today. Lucy, Scarlett and I are off shopping for new bathers for Lucy and then to the playground. keeping Lucy quiet today just in case she's got a headache or a stiff neck.

Have a good one everyone

Sonja

Backflip
22-10-2009, 08:29
Sonja glad to hear Lucy seems ok. Riley and her were playing chasy and he was running away when she ran into the tree, he fell over at the same time too but wasn't hurt. He liked playing with her too :D
Riley had a similar haematoma on his forehead from launching himself off the bench when he was about 17 months old. Scary stuff. He also had a breath holding spell at the same age in which he stopped breathing, turned blue and fainted- while I was yelling for an ambulance and clearing his mouth to start doing CPR he coughed and started breathing again- that was scary! I am thankful for my first aid training in situations like that.
Who else has done first aid? Or knows how to do CPR? It is a very important thing to be able to do, especially if like me you live in the sticks cause being able to do CPR is the difference between life and death/irreparable brain damage. Scary but essential to think about.:(

fickwalker
22-10-2009, 08:37
Lola - That's a fantastic idea. DP and I would be up for a meet. Thank you for thinking of us as well. :)

AFM/Us - DP is still bleeding this morning, still bright red. Heavier than yesterday but nowhere near as heavy as her AF usually is. If this is AF (which, granted, it probably is), I would've expected that it would be a lot heavier, considering she's essentially got nine weeks of lining etc that she'd be losing.

At this stage, DP is still going to do the BT on Monday. I was thinking about things last night and got to thinking about how DP had a bleed at 10w last time around - Quite a bit of blood, but mostly brown. Now, I'm not a doctor (obviously) but I was thinking... What if that brownish blood last time around was actually from implantation but couldn't be flushed out of her system since she was so swollen and bloated from the OHSS? I know that probably didn't make any sense and even more probably sounds like I'm clutching at straws but... *shrugs* Oh I don't know! *laughs* I'm just not ready to give up hope yet.

Hope the rest of you lovely ladies had a relatively peaceful night and have happy bubs to play with today. :)

moongazer
22-10-2009, 09:38
Still have everything crossed for you and DP Fick. Are you thinking of going in for an early BT?

BF - those pics are just gorgeous of the bubs' at SF's. Sounds like Lucy and Riley had a hoot together Sonja ad BF, albeit with a bit of drama thrown in. :D

Kema - glad you have a plan for Isla. It's a good idea to get it sorted it now, and great that you were proactive enough to ignore everyone who said it will get better...:yes: Hopefully all will feel better now for you.

Lola - hoping today is a better day for you.

Rach - sounds like Emi is thriving.

Mindy - have a better night??

Sonja - hope your nights are getting better too.

I think everyone should do a new round of photos!! Give me something to look at!!!

fickwalker
22-10-2009, 09:47
moongazer - DP is still going to POAS tomorrow morning and we're still doing the BT on Monday. Once that gives us a BFN as we're expecting, we'll get cracking on another FET cycle. But until Monday, we're trying not to stress about it. :)

Backflip
22-10-2009, 09:47
MG who is your sms buddy?:)

mindy19816
22-10-2009, 10:52
Hi everyone :wave: Thanks for enquiring about how he went. He had a good sleep last night but i decided to take him to the Gp's this morning (was gonna go see the paed but hes on holidays this week :rolleyes:) GP thinks it is probably due to his reflux or the start of a virus, but either way he said there wasn't a lot more i could do that i wasn't already doing. So glad i took time out of my day to go and see him :banghead: He seems to be a bit better today so will just see how he goes.

Lola, Write down a list of things that are concerning you cos if you don't you're bound to have a brain fart when you get there and not ask a single thing that you actually want to know :laughing:. Hell yeah i'd be up for a meet. I think the biggest issue for all of us is where would we meet???? Talia is down Wollongong way, i'm out in Penrith, not quite sure where MrsPee is?? Where abouts are you and Rach?

miss R
22-10-2009, 10:55
Morning all.
Lola-0 hope today is better for you...Im offv to pead tomorrow and would like some tips on questions to ask.....
BF- love the piccies.......
Sonja- hows everything your end.....
CC- how did finn sleepo last night????
Fick- still have :fingerscrossed: for you and DP
AFM- Shelby woke up cranky yesterday arvo after being asleep till 4.30. didnt feed properly at 4.30 then didnt feed properly at 6.30. went down at 7.30 and woke at 1am. fed well and woke again at 5. i did my 1st express after hr feed at 5.30. i used the breast she fed from and got 60ml in 5min.. is that how you do it. use the breast they last fed from. I thought i would use that bit to see if she woul take a bottle which she does. she downed it in 5min flat then had half hour from the breast as well.
Any tips on best times for expressing etc would be great. well better go as bub is ready for feed and sleep
back soon
bec

mindy19816
22-10-2009, 13:36
Bec, i don't think it matters which boob you express off first after a feed, i usually wait about half an hour to an hour after a feed to express. 60mls in 5mins is great from one boob :thumbsup:

Weighed cooper today and he is now finally over 5kg :smiliedance: He is 5240g, so he's put on 400g in 2weeks. How much is a normal amount to put on each week? I can't remember.

talia11
22-10-2009, 13:44
:wave: all - just wanted to pop in and say hi and I am reading all your posts (lots of chats!!) and I hope you are all feeling well and happy :valentine:

hunnybunny
22-10-2009, 14:02
Hi all, I'm reading up on everyone too, just not much time for posting!

My baby's not well :( He has had a cough for a while but it has been slowly getting worse. Today it has just been horrible and it hurts him, so my house has been full of coughing, choking, crying, screaming and very little sleep. I thought it might be croup so i put the vaporiser on in his room but it has been 36 here today and he kept getting to hot in his room. I will see how he goes overnight but i might have to take him to the Dr's tomorrow.

I had to take Cohen to the Dr yesterday too, he has bronchiolitis, has a yucky cough and has ventolin through a nebuliser every 4 hours to stop him wheezing. Poor bubby!

mindy19816
22-10-2009, 14:23
Hi Talia :wave: How's Madison been?

Hunnybunny, poor Cohen :( I bet it's fun trying to get him to wear the mask for the nebuliser. I remember having to do that to my cousins when they were babies.

MG here's a photo as requested :laughing: This is him in his Bumbo watching tv
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1301&pictureid=7561

cobbec
22-10-2009, 14:30
HI all

Lovely sunny day here in Canberra...

Lola, even though I'm in Canberra depending on where and when you all meet up I would definately make a trip to Sydney.. Emma is great in the car we went to Nowra yesterday and she was an angel... so please let me know it would be great to meet you all.

Moongazer, I will put some pics up next week after Emma's christening.

We are heading to Batemans Bay tomorrow morning and will be back Sunday.

Fick, good luck with your DP BT on Monday... I still have everything crossed for you.

Bec

talia11
22-10-2009, 15:40
I would be in a meet up too as long as it isn't too far out - Wollongong to Sydney isn't a long drive!

moongazer
22-10-2009, 18:06
Mindy - Cooper is so cute in his little seat. Very cute seat too!

BF - I have no SMS buddy yet. Anyone up for it??

cobbec
22-10-2009, 18:49
Moongazer, I have just PMed you my details... I am happy to be your sms buddy.

bec

Kema
22-10-2009, 19:18
I am still reading everyones posts and I hope that the sick bubbas get well and that the unsettled ones get some good sleep tonight....I'm still not up for personals but I thought I would tell you abou our night last night

Started Isla on the medication...she screamed, had gastro symptoms and realy cold hands and feet, gave her a second dose this morning...more screaming, pretty sure she only slept for about 2 hours between 8pm and 8am.

Went to change her this morning and the dressing covering the H was full of fluid and smelt funky! Rang the paed who told me to stop medication and change dressing....

This part is TMI....

Pulled the dressing off and the scabs on the H started to lift with it, rang the paed who told me to ring GP and organise ongoing wound care, straight to the GP who cleaned the wound and re-dressed it. Then she asked me to sit down...results of the swab that was taken the other day showed a Golden Staph infection :crying:

Anyway continuing on antibiotics and stooping all treatment for now, GP's everyday for re-dressing and observations.....

Different girl so far tonight sleeping in her swing...poor little thing.

Sorry about the me post.

cobbec
22-10-2009, 19:50
Poor Isla... hope the antibiotics kick in soon and clear it all up...

Bec

RachInSyd
22-10-2009, 20:03
Kema - thinking of you and Isla.

Fick - goodluck for Monday

Lola - I'm in newtown. Will try to think of a place where we can all meet. Any ideas?

Hi everyone. Thinking of you all.

mindy19816
22-10-2009, 20:24
:hugs:Kema :hugs: Isla :hugs:

Fick, where are you and DP located?

moongazer
23-10-2009, 08:22

Cobbec is my sms buddy now, BTW I've Pm'd you my details now too! :D

Kema, Isla :hugs: how horrible for you both. I think a me post was in order. At least now they know what antibugs she is sensitive to, and can try and get that under control. I'm sure you are just feeling so out of control now. Thinking of you. :goodvibes:

miss R
23-10-2009, 08:38
Kema- oh poor Isla and you and DH... Well at least now it can only get better with antibiotics...:hugs: to you all.

Ok have a questio about teething.........
Firstly Miss S has been quite grizzly for the last week, munching on her fist at all times, not feeding well and generally clingy. She was munching her fist thismorning and started crying...upon looking i noticed a white thing on her bottom gum. washed hands and felt with finger and it is abit rough and pointy.her gum under it is quite red. I think it is a tooth but isnt it to early. i no they go up and down a bit befor coming through but what do you think.Am off to pead thismorning so will ask him. rang my mum who said it sounds like it.
oh and my dad got shelbys name tattood on his arm. first tatt for him.
gotta go bub is grizzling
bec

mindy19816
23-10-2009, 10:25
Bec :eek: it does sound like an early tooth. Holy crap. That is so sweet that your dad got Shelby as his first tattoo :yes: Let us know what the Dr says.

fickwalker
23-10-2009, 11:39

Sorry for being so distant. DP went against my wishes and did a HPT last night. BFN, as expected. Just feeling a little down in the dumps about it, but on the other hand, we've got five more shots before we have to do another stim cycle. So. Onwards to the next cycle. Hopefully, we'll have more luck. :)

mindy - DP and I live in Glebe, but more than happy to travel for a meet up. Thanks again ladies for inviting us along.

Sonja
23-10-2009, 11:55
Fick - I am sorry to read about your BFN. I know how gutted you must both be feeling. I used to give myself 24 hours to feel like total cr@p then pull myself together and focus on the next cycle. Take care of each other.

Kema - sorry about what Isla and you are going through. It's so hard when our babies aren't well.

Super quiet one for me today. Have a bout of gastro so taking it easy. Thankfully Lucy's in kindy so only Miss S to entertain.

RachInSyd
23-10-2009, 12:02
Fick - sorry to hear about the BFN. Spoil yourselves and then soldier on :). You'll get there! Looking forward to meeting you both at our meet up.

fickwalker
23-10-2009, 13:23
Hello lovely ladies...

Just a quick update to let you know we've already got the ball rolling on our next FET attempt. DP is starting back on the Puregon injections on Sunday and we have a BT and scan scheduled at our clinic on Wednesday. So we're back in the game, so to speak. :)

Thanks so much for all your kindness and support, I really do appreciate it.

Kema - I'm hoping things get better for you and little Isla really soon.
Sonja - Hope you recover from that gastro bug quickly.

Everyone else, I hope you're having a wonderful Friday. :)

miss R
23-10-2009, 13:51
Fick- sorry darl:hugs:
AFM- went to the pead and it is confirmed shelby has cut her 1st tooth and the one beside wont be far behind:eek: She is to young for teething gels so that sux. ok well be back later off to the baby clinic now

Forever27
23-10-2009, 14:23
Fick - I'm so sorry about your BFN. Glad to hear you're jumping right back in the game. Hope this cycle goes better than the last two.

Sorry I haven't posted in awhile. Things have been so crazy and/or busy lately that I'm even having trouble keeping up on the reading let alone posting.

Quick question... Have any of you experienced a period of time where your bub just doesn't want to eat. Not that she's not hungry, she is. She just would rather have her pacifier than eat. We're having to feed her when she's groggy or in her sleep to get it down.

A few days ago she was going through a growth spurt and couldn't seem to eat enough. Now she gets hungry but screams when we try to feed her. It's not reflux but clearly something's up. Is this normal?

empty
23-10-2009, 21:28

I had my daughter Hannah weighing 2.07 kgs at 4.10pm on Wed and my son Elliott weighing 1.48 kgs at 4.11pm on Wed. They are so so beautiful and doing well. They were born at 32 weeks + 5 days. Elliott has been off CPAP since yesterday and Hannah came off it today.

I still have only got pinpricks of colostrum and not enough to syringe. Has anyone had this happen? I have been massaging and trying to express every 2 hours with no luck.

mindy19816
23-10-2009, 22:00
Congratulations Empty :yelclap: Did you have a c-section? It can take longer for you milk to come in after a c-section. Mine took about 5 days to come in. Can't wait to see some piccies when you get a chance.

mindy19816
24-10-2009, 17:05
Beyonce is in my head :laughing:

All the little babies,
Now put your hands up
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1301&pictureid=7590
oh oh oh oh oh oh, oh oh oh, oh oh oh :D

miss R
24-10-2009, 19:10
Mindy- Cooper is sooooo cute:p

Where is everyone?????It is like a ghost town!!!!

Poor Miss Shelby. Her littl gum is quit red so bought a teething ring today so will use it tomorrow. It is one you put in the fridge. She is giving her fists curry. Constantly chewing on them.But considering she is being so brave and is a good little girl. Lots of smiles today from her.
Hope everyone is having a good weekend.

ibb
24-10-2009, 20:10
FIck - Sorry to hear it didn't work out. Good for you both getting back on the wagon again. Fingers crossed next times the charm

Lola - I'm on the Central Coast and would love to meet you all if that's ok?

Sonja - Glad Lucy is ok from her fall

BF - Loved the pics.

Miss R -Poor Shelby teething already. Hope she gets some relief and you all some sleep soon

Mindy - Cooper is a cutie but he looks so big now! Loved the pic

Hb & Talia - Glad all is well with you both. HB hope you are getting on ok with your PND

Kema - Poor Isla, I can't imagine how worried you must be. It sounds like they are on top of it and letting them use her as a case study will help families with the same problem in the future. I hope the GS infection clears up. Don't they normally put people with that in quarantine? What are they doing with her?

Forever - Good to see you on here and hope all is going well with your little gir

Empty -Congrats to you and DH on the safe but early arrival of Hannah and Elliott. Glad they sound like they are doing swell.

AFM - Had my hair coloured and cut quite short today. Last time before bubs meets us. Have my babyshower next week. My best friend is saying her DH will be so glad when its all over as she is driving him nuts with her planning! Everyone except 1 person is going who was asked and she is dropping in after her work day. I'm so excited about seeing them all as we are scattered everywhere thru NSW and they're all coming down.

Bubs kicking heaps. My placenta didn't move at all i think i told you so ceasar booked in for 17th Dec if i can get that far. Because of the placenta and i'm still growing, its rising instead of dropping low. Feeling a bit awkward now and a bit out of breath. Still no stretchies. I will be so happy if i can get through this without them. Getting the backaches now but pelvis feeling mainly ok as i think the weight is not too bad on it now.

Ok well will stop in here to check on you all again soon.
Byeeeee

mindy19816
25-10-2009, 09:34
Bec, poor little Shelby (and you) what a little trooper :hugs:

Ibb, not long to go now :smiliedance: I hope you can make it to the 17th. Did you find out if you're having a boy or a girl??? Enjoy your baby shower :party:

Cooper rolled over this morning :yelclap: He was trying yesterday but kept getting stuck on his arm :rolleyes: This morning he figured out that you just need to throw your bottom over a bit further. He rolled on to his tummy and then to his back, then i moved him back to the middle of the bed and he rolled on to his tummy again but then got a bit cranky when he realised he was on his tummy (hates tummy time) so i put him on his back again and he rolled on to his tummy one more time :D Think he got a bit tired after that.
Am off to visit my mum today so i will pop in later tonight.

ibb
25-10-2009, 09:38
Mindy - A girl

How clever is Cooper:yelclap:

Backflip
25-10-2009, 11:56
Quick one from me...:( DH went for a dirt bike ride yesterday arvo and I don't know why I just had a bad feeling, gave him a big hug and told him to be careful and asked him to call as soon as he got off the bike. He left at 1.30 and I was expecting a call sometime around 5. The phone rang at 2.45...Hi honey, I've had a little fall and I think I've broken my shoulder.
So home he came and off to doc, xray then doc to be told to go to hospital asap as his shoulder is dislocated and broken collarbone... Off to Austin, wait 3 hours to see a doc to get told shoulder is fine :rolleyes: but the AC joint that joins his shoulder to his body is ripped to shreds, so he has to wait to see a surgeon in 2 weeks :confused: and will more than likely need it wired or screwed. So we are going to go to the GP tomorrow and try to get a appt to see someone sooner for a second opinion. I will add a pic of what he looks like currently- it's the right shoulder...

ibb
25-10-2009, 12:54
Ouch, that looks painful. Saw your notice on FB, hope everything works out ok for you:hugs:

cobbec
25-10-2009, 14:58
empty - congrats on the arrival of Hannah and Elliot.

Mindy, clever Cooper...

MissR, hope Shelby is feeling better with her teeth.

Backflip, hope DH is feeling better soon.

AFM - back from Batemans Bay after the Christening... yesterday was a beautiful day... Emma was so good. She wore the Christening dress mum & dad bought for me all those tears ago. I will post some pics later tonight.

Bec

Kema
25-10-2009, 15:57

Fick - I am so sorry hun, hope you guys feel better soon.

Empty - Congrats on the arrival of Hannah and Elliot....how exciting!! :cloud9:

Cobbec - How gorgeous that Emma wore your christening dress....thats pretty special.

Mindy - Clever Cooper....Isla hates tummy time too, I think thats why she figured out how to roll from tummy to back...no tummy time here, as soon as you put her on her tummy she just rolls back.

Miss R - Poor Shelby, what a little trooper.

BF - Hope hubby is okay and recovers quickly.

AFM - Well we have now been going to the hospital every day for dressing changes, long story but I saw a GP and he pu gauze on the wound that ended up sticking and hurting miss Isla a lot, I couldn't go through that again....Isla has been admitted to the hospital and is considered to be on "overnight leave" which basically means we go to the kids ward for about half an hour a day, they change her dressing and take her temp and thats about it...I figure it must have something to do with funding to word it this way. Anyway se has been so brave, she screams when they have to change it but it has to be done....I take her for a big drive afterwards coz she just loves the car....which I can pretty safetly say I will make it to a Melbourne meet up oneday :thumbsup:

We get the keys to our new place tomorrow, it's always all or nothing in this house.

Sonja
25-10-2009, 15:58
Mindy - lovely photos and clever Cooper.

Empty - congratulations on the arrival of the twins. Can't wait to see some photos

Miss R - poor Shelby and those teeth. And poor you - hope she doesn't bite when she feeds!

BF - ouch! Hope DH gets better soon. And I hope he's a good patient, unlike certain other DHs I know :rolleyes:

Bec - how lovely for your parents. Our family has a christening gown from when my father was christened, but only one of their grandchildren have been christened. We all have the babies photos taken in the dress. It used to bother my parents that almost none of the grandkids are christened but now they've got 6 they're used to it. Sounds like it was lovely.

AFM - quiet weekend here. Looking forward to warm weather this week. Scarlett's having her first trip to the pool next Saturday.

Sonja

Sonja

WotWillBWillB
25-10-2009, 23:08
Hi there we are finally home. So looking forward to sleeping in my bed tonight.

I am not too sure what has been going on as my phone wouldn't let me keep reading this site. :hissy::geek:

Well not much happening here. So will try to catch up over the next few days.

Hugs to all

Susan

cobbec
26-10-2009, 07:14
Susan, how nice to be home... once you have settled in pls let me know as Emma and I would love to visit.

Bec

miss R
26-10-2009, 08:03
Morning all,
wow it has been quiet in here lately...
BF- hope DH is ok.....My DH is looking at selling his bike as well because he doesnt want to risk an accident.....But i'll keep mine:D
WWBWB- welcom home!!!!enjoy your own bed.....
Kema-how is Isla today....give her and you big :hugs: from me
Ibb- how are you feeling????
Lola- how is max today..Is he sleeping better again?
Sonja- how is Miss S going? Good to see you are still with us...Im not sure what to do about feeding...
AFM- Little shelby is doing well. That tooth is giving her curry and the fists are always in her mouth. I brought her a teething ring and was holding it there for her as she is to young tohold it herself. Well what do you no she can hold it herself. This girl is constantly amazing me. Still not really sleeping through the day but for 2 nights in arow has done 10hrs. so :fingerscrossed: that continues...My mum is coming for a visit this wekk. shelby gets her needles on wednesday. well gotta go get organised have bills to pay and banking to do.
back soon
bec

Kema
26-10-2009, 11:16
Miss R - How clever is Shelby sleeping 10 hours a night!!! You must feel so refreshed too, or do you worry about her all night?

Susan - Welcome home!! Enjoy your own bed and shower...thats what I miss most.

Got the keys to our new place this morning so am getting excited about moving....should be there now but someone else had different ideas...lol....gotta take Isla to the hospital for a dressing change, this is the part of my day that I dread. But she seems happier and hasn't had a fever the past 2 days so heres hoping that infection is clearing up.

RachInSyd
26-10-2009, 11:35
Empty - Congratulations on your two little new babies. How exciting. I hope you're all doing well and look forward to seeing some photos.

Kema - Good to hear Isla's temperature has come down. I hope this means things are getting better.

Susan - Welcome home. How nice it must be.

Bec - Sounds like Shelby is thriving.

Not a lot happening here. Emi was 8 weeks yesterday! We weighed her on Friday and she's still only in the 10th percentile for her weight but seems to be putting on enough each week so I guess it's all ok.

RachInSyd
26-10-2009, 11:58
Finally a photo of Emi...8 weeks. Hope it works.

http://i700.photobucket.com/albums/ww1/RachInSyd/CopyofDSC05147.jpg

Sonja
26-10-2009, 13:40
Rach - Beautiful photo of Emi. Is that one of those bonds clipless suits? I had one long sleeve one for Scarlett and it did my head in. I just could not get her into or out of it without nearly breaking her limbs.

Kema - gee you've been through a lot and now a move! glad to hear Isla's on the mend though. How exciting a new house.

RachInSyd
26-10-2009, 14:10
Sonja - It is one of those clipless bonds suits. I can only put them on her if they're quite a bit too big. We were given three of them but fortunately two of them are larger sizes.

miss R
26-10-2009, 14:41
Rach- Emi is soooo cute:p How heavy is she now???? Her and shelby must be born very close togther as shelby was 8wks on friday.
AFM- Had togiv shelby som panandol befor as her little gum was sooo red and she was crying and shoving her fists in her mouth and munching in btween the cries. she is having a sleep now so hopefully she wakes up ok and happy. Rang the hospy to see if there is anything else i can do and because she so young can only do panadol and teething ring. No teething gels at her age.... Looks like it is gonna storm hre so best go
bec

RachInSyd
26-10-2009, 15:16
Bec - Emi was 4.225kgs & 55cm last Friday. Did I read that Shelby is now 4.4? I guess they're both quite small. Emi was 8 weeks on Sunday so 2 days after Shelby and then Lolas Max was about 2 days after Emi. Hope Shelby's feeling better. When can she start the gels?

Sonja
26-10-2009, 15:48
Miss R if it's any consolation I've never found teething gels much use anyway. Most of them have an ingredient which can be unsafe if digested in large quantities (Medigel doesn't have it if anyone is wondering) and I found it so hard to get enough of the stuff on the gums that I don't think it helped.

miss R
26-10-2009, 18:26
Bec - Emi was 4.225kgs & 55cm last Friday. Did I read that Shelby is now 4.4? I guess they're both quite small. Emi was 8 weeks on Sunday so 2 days after Shelby and then Lolas Max was about 2 days after Emi. Hope Shelby's feeling better. When can she start the gels?

WOW our girls are so close..Yeah shelby is 4.4kg and 56cm long and was 8wks on friday. we both have petite little girls

Backflip
26-10-2009, 18:54
Please everyone keep fingers crossed for my little Riley who is going in for his surgery on his ears tomorrow. DH is also off to the ortho surgeon tomorrow about his shoulder and will prob have surgery by the end of the week. Looks like I need a nursing degree....:(

Sonja
26-10-2009, 19:15
Hi Backflip

Yes I'll be thinking of your little boy tomorrow. You will no doubt have a very rough day what with all the worry but will be thinking of you and Riley. if you can, can you text me once it's over and let me know how he goes? Lucy talks about him all the time now and when she's going to have another play with him.

Sonja

lola77
26-10-2009, 19:23
WOW our girls are so close..Yeah shelby is 4.4kg and 56cm long and was 8wks on friday. we both have petite little girls

...and I have a big fat monster!!! HE was 6.3kg last Thursday and I'll weigh him at mothers group tomorrow. I don't know whether the last few days of him waking every hour or so have been a bit of a growth spurt. I certainly hope it doens't last!

BF - will be thinking of you all tomorrow. I'm sure Riley will still cntinue to have that beautiful big smile on his face.

sorry have been slack with personals but have had a bad couple of days with MAxi and have been too knackered to do much. once I've had chance to have shower I'll be back to read and catch up with everyone! :wave:

talia11
26-10-2009, 20:24
BF good luck tomorrow - let us know how you go ;)

Oh man - when I read how small you babies are - Madison is 7kg!! LOL

RachInSyd
26-10-2009, 21:29
BF - will be thinking of you and Riley tomorrow

Backflip
27-10-2009, 07:26
Thank you everyone, we have had breakfast and am waiting till it's time to leave at 11. He should be operated on at about 1.30 pm.
Will let you know how both Riley and DH go.
Lucky Mitchell is all good at the moment!

Sorry for the lack of personals, the last 4-5 days have just been one thing after another. I am reading just mostly on my phone so it's hard to reply.

Big hugs to little Isla, I hope she is on the mend.:goodvibes:

moongazer
27-10-2009, 09:36
Good luck to Riley for your operation today. BF - thinking of you hun. :hugs:

Rach - Emi is gorgeous!!

MrsPee
27-10-2009, 09:44
Hello :wave:

Wow it has been a while. I have been on here and reading what was happening with everyone.

Empty - Congrats on the babies
Miss R - Wow a tooth already
Sonja - Thanks for the tip you gave on the gel, I will have to remember that.
Kema - So much going on... I hope that Isla is feeling better and quickly
Lola - How is Max now? Is he sleeping a little bit better?
Talia - How old is Madison now?
BF - You will be in my thoughts all day chicken :hugs:

I know that I have missed so many of you and I am sorry.

AFM - Well not much to report.. DH is away again for the week :rolleyes: He made the Navy Golf team and they are in some resort for the week playing against the other services (Raaf/Army).. He has told me to book a Day at a day spa for when he gets home and he will even take a days leave to look after Hunter so that I can have some time out for myself.

Hunter is doing well and sleeping great but he is starting to teeth I think, as he is munching on his fist so hard and hhis fingers too. At times he tries to chew on my shoulder and the dribble....

I am going to have a FET in December if all goes to plan. :fingerscrossed:

We are looking at a possible move to WA this time next year so I am trying to get everything done before that happens. I dont really want to find another FS and clinic. I have already dealt with 3 FS and Clinics and I love my FS. lol

Here is the latest pic of Hunter..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/jodestar/008.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v247/jodestar/006.jpg

MrsPee
27-10-2009, 09:47
Rach- Emi is lovely and so tiny.. Oh I so miss the little new born stage..

HelenHasTwins
27-10-2009, 09:48
Rach- Emi is soooo cute:p How heavy is she now???? Her and shelby must be born very close togther as shelby was 8wks on friday.
AFM- Had togiv shelby som panandol befor as her little gum was sooo red and she was crying and shoving her fists in her mouth and munching in btween the cries. she is having a sleep now so hopefully she wakes up ok and happy. Rang the hospy to see if there is anything else i can do and because she so young can only do panadol and teething ring. No teething gels at her age.... Looks like it is gonna storm hre so best go
bec

Bec I got Jack one of those mesh teething things that you can put frozen fruit in it, and it has really helped Jack with his teething, maybe you could get one and put crushed ice in it for Shelby. If she is holding her teething ring she will be able to hold this as it also has a ring on the end of it.

:wave:Ladies

I am off to the Ped for the boys 6 month check ups, Michael has really bad eczma on his face so I am hoping the doc will be able to help I did get some moo goo yesterday so I will see how that goes....I also think we are going to have to put Michael in a helmet as his head has 3 flat spots and it is not getting any better no matter how we sleep him....but on the good side of things, the boys have now been dummie free for over a week and they are selfsettling really well now and go down for naps within 5 or so minutes...

Hope everyone is well, will pop in later to see, was just popping in to see how poor Bec and Shelby are going with teething.

WotWillBWillB
27-10-2009, 09:48
Wow Girls so much to catch up on.

BF i will be thinking about you today with your dh and also Riley. I am glad that Mitchell is all good at the moment. Hope he stays settled for you today.

Kema you are having a rough patch with Isla. I am so glad to read that she is on the mend. How exciting it is to move into a new place. The part i hate is packing up.

Talia must mean that Madison is just eating well and must be a very happy and healthy bub or maybe just the good milk.

Lola sounds like max is happy and healthy too or maybe just good milk.

Miss R Poor little mite with teething problems already. I have no idea if this is any help, but my hubby’s cousin in Wollongong told me to use teething tablets (i think you can get them on the net but don’t quote me on that) There is a Chemist in Wollongong that does them and apparently they work better than anything else she has tried. She also tried them on her own tooth ache and now swears by them. I am not too sure what age you can use them but sorry.

RachInSyd wow Emi is a cutie, I love the big eyes! My two do it all the time too.

Mindy woo hoo Cooper for rolling over. Lol mine two are way too lazy to roll over, they hate being on their bellies, Justin is worse than Lilly he just lies with his head on the floor. They are trying to sit up now. Oh wow such a cute pic of Cooper.

Ibb wow not long for you now. I bet your starting to get excited. Have you got your nursery set up yet? And bag packed?

Cobbec how was Emma’s christening? It was a nice day on Saturday down the coast we went fishing at Tuross and it was beautiful. That was the first day we have left the bubbas for a full day. How is Emma going now??? I will let you know hun when i have finally got the house unpacked enough for visitors as have just got so much junk to unpack from being away and I never have the time to do it. So soon as I am done I will let you know.

Sonja how did Scarlett go with the pool did she like it? How is her sleeping going? And how is Lucy?

Fick sorry to hear about the bfn and I truly hope this cycle is the one for you and dp. Good luck to you both.

Forever Yes I have had both bubbas not eating properly for the last 3 weeks now. With my two it is not every feed. Hope Julliana is doing better now and eating more. Are you still pumping? I sympathise with you if you are. I certainly don’t miss that. How are you doing anyway hun?

Empty congrats hun I hope both your twins are doing well. I hope your journey in the SCN is not too stressful for you. Hopefully you will be able to bring your twins home soon.

Moongazer wow not long and you will have a beautiful little bundle in your arms.

Honeybunny I have been thinking about you over the last few weeks and wondering how you are doing. I sure hope you are well and the twins have gotten over their illnesses. Lots of hugs to you hun.

Sorry to anyone I have missed.

AFM. We are home and starting to settle back into our house. The bubbas look at everything as they haven’t seen any of it before, but i guess they have been away for 5 weeks, that’s a lot of time in their short little life.

We were advise to start solids esp for Lilly. We started on Farex and there were some funny faces pulled but they ate it and looked for more. We started them on apple this week and they love it. Lilly talks more and she talked me when I am feeding her now lol and they both get cranky when it is not coming quick enough.

I am still having problems with Lilly at the last feed at night. She screams and won’t drink, not too sure if it is wind or if she is just over tired. It is so hard as I normally do that feed by myself. I have put up with it so long, but it is starting to stress me out more and more now. I really don’t know what to do.

I can’t believe that I have bubs almost 6 months old (or corrected age of 4 months). They are not quite 6kgs (or well last time they were weighed anyway they are probably over that now).

Anyway I have :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity: enough. I really should go get the next feed ready, as bubbas are starting to wake.

Hope you all have a good day :wave:

Susan

cobbec
27-10-2009, 13:20
Backflip - hope all goes well with Riley today. Thinking of you.

Just a quick one from me. I have added Christening pics to facebook and here is the link for those who don't have facebook or haven't added me...

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3865945&id=616950916

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3865945&id=616950916#/photo.php?pid=3865947&id=616950916

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=3865945&id=616950916#/photo.php?pid=3865935&id=616950916

Susan, it was a beautiful day Saturday... Sunday was awful tho... and my niece had her birthday party at home... my poor sister had 15 6yr olds to entertain in the rain...

Bec

Sonja
27-10-2009, 16:31

I heard from Backflip earlier and Riley's fine. He was really sick from the anaesthetic which was really distressing for BF, as you can imagine. He sounds like he's been a real trooper though.

The next few weeks are going to be hard so spare a thought for them. I'm sure she'll be in to update you all soon.

Sonja

MrsPee
27-10-2009, 17:22
Thanks Sonja,

I have been thinking about them all day and was going to call her or text but thought I would wait for her to update when she got the chance..

I just wished that I lived a little closer so that I could help out in some way even if it was just to pop over and give her some company or help with the house work whilst she looks after her boys.

Backflip
27-10-2009, 19:28
Thank you all for your thoughts and well wishes. Sonja and Mrs Pee :hugs:
Riley was a super kid going in, all excited, went under beautifully with me holding his hand and giving him a kiss.
Went for a quick coffee and then got the call I could go into recovery to be with him. As soon as I got out the lift on the theatre level I could hear him :( He was hysterical.
They got me in a chair and he was put on my knee screaming. A heart breaking hysterical full body racking scream. He was inconsolable. I was trying to tell him how good he was and how brave he was and he was screaming at me that he wasn't. He was ripping at himself, trying to pull the drip line out of his hand and pull dressings off and his ID tag off. I had to hold his hands apart, in the end the nurses took the drip out and put a gauze on to stop it bleeding which he ripped off sending stuff flying and blood spurting out, he kicked and screamed and was terrible.
I carried him back up to the ward screaming, he didn't want ice cream or water he wanted a jam sandwich, we got that and by this time he had literally cried so much he was vomiting. The icy pole that went down came up, the sandwich came up. He finally settled and with me laying in bed cuddling him he fell asleep for 30 mins and woke up calm and my normal boy. The anaesthetic obviously had a rough effect on him :( It was awfully distressing and I have never felt so useless that I couldn't help him. I was asking him if he remembered it just before he went to bed before and it appears he knows nothing of it. Thank god.
Anyway, DH also went to the ortho surgeon today and he has to have a plate inserted in his shoulder next wednesday. At least it gives me a chance to have Riley back to normal before I have to deal with that. He has to stay in overnight :(
What a crap few weeks :gloomy:

mindy19816
27-10-2009, 21:46
:hugs::hugs::hugs: BF, Dh and Riley :hugs::hugs::hugs:

MrsPee
27-10-2009, 21:57
Riley was a super kid going in, all excited, went under beautifully with me holding his hand and giving him a kiss.
Went for a quick coffee and then got the call I could go into recovery to be with him. As soon as I got out the lift on the theatre level I could hear him :( He was hysterical.
They got me in a chair and he was put on my knee screaming. A heart breaking hysterical full body racking scream. He was inconsolable. I was trying to tell him how good he was and how brave he was and he was screaming at me that he wasn't. He was ripping at himself, trying to pull the drip line out of his hand and pull dressings off and his ID tag off. I had to hold his hands apart, in the end the nurses took the drip out and put a gauze on to stop it bleeding which he ripped off sending stuff flying and blood spurting out, he kicked and screamed and was terrible.
I carried him back up to the ward screaming, he didn't want ice cream or water he wanted a jam sandwich, we got that and by this time he had literally cried so much he was vomiting. The icy pole that went down came up, the sandwich came up. He finally settled and with me laying in bed cuddling him he fell asleep for 30 mins and woke up calm and my normal boy. The anaesthetic obviously had a rough effect on him :( It was awfully distressing and I have never felt so useless that I couldn't help him. I was asking him if he remembered it just before he went to bed before and it appears he knows nothing of it. Thank god.

BF - I could have written that almost word for word. Joel had the same thing happen when he had his tonsils out at age 7.. I could hear him screaming before I even got into the recovery area and he was in a bed with two male Nurses a female nurse and the Dr all trying to stop him from hurting himself. Joel was screaming in my face to get his mum... he did not even know that it was me :( It was awful and we were both in tears. I had to climb up onto the bed with him and just hold him and the Dr had to keep topping up his meds until he was asleep again. When we got back to the ward he had two nurses assigned to him and they were not allowed to leave and had to keep taking his obs every 5 mins. I was told that he would be asleep until morning as he had, had loads of meds but the kid was awake in 2hrs.
Like nothing had happened at all.

The Dr told me that it was a reaction called 'Emergance Delirium' and something that I must tell the Dr if he ever needs to go under again as they will need to make sure that he comes out of it really slowly.

Did they tell you something similar because it sounds just like it.

anyway enough about me I am just glad that Riley is ok. :hugs:

MrsPee
27-10-2009, 22:06
A little info on ED

A child who emerges from anesthesia may experience a variety of behavioral disturbances that are interchangeably described in the literature as postanesthetic excitement, delirium, and agitation. To avoid confusion, much effort has recently been made to recognize the difference among these terms.

Delirium is a complex psychiatric syndrome that includes perceptual disturbances, hallucinations, and psychomotor agitation. At present, there is no unique definition of ED because of its heterogeneous clinical presentation. Some authors have described such an event as a dissociated state of consciousness in which the child is irritable, uncompromising, uncooperative, incoherent, and inconsolably crying, moaning, kicking, or thrashing. Typically, these children do not recognize or identify familiar objects or people. Paranoid delusions are also possible. Combative behavior has been more often described than simple restlessness and incoherence. Sikich and Lerman defined ED as "a disturbance in a child's awareness of and attention to his/her environment with disorientation and perceptual alterations including hypersensitivity to stimuli and hyperactive motor behavior in the immediate postanesthesia period." ED usually occurs within the first 30 min of recovery from anesthesia, is self-limited (5–15 min), and often resolves spontaneously. However, agitation and regressive behavior that lasted up to 2 days were also described.

miss R
28-10-2009, 06:03
Morning all,
BF- how awful for you andpoor riley, but glad all is good:hugs:
Mrs Pee- glad to see you back here with us:yes:
AFM- OMG we got ou first really big night...Since friday shelby has been doing 10hr at night...last night she did 13hrs. had last feed at 4pm, bed 5pm and woke at 5am thismorning:eek:
i have been half awake since 2 waiting for her to wake.......and my boobs werte sooooo sore
well best go have some brekky as early start as off for needles

moongazer
28-10-2009, 11:05
Poor Riley and BF. A big :hugs: to you, and will be thinking of you later when DH needs to go in for theatre. I hope Riley feels a bit bit better soon though, and glad to know he is his normal self again.

Cobbec - beautiful piccies of the christening day. Little Kate is just gorgeous. Was it a family gown she wore??

MissR - :goodvibes: for the needles today. I hope all goes well. :smiliedance: for Shelby sleeping so well.

Empty - sorry babe, I forgot beforehand to congratulate you on the safe arrival of your beautiful babies.

Mrspee - Best book that day spa in. Your DH sounds like a sweety. I hope you don't need to move and change FS.

WWBWB - congrats on being home with your bubs'. How exciting and daunting to start your lives in your own home together now.

:wave: to everyone else.

AFM - I'm starting to get worried about my teeth/gums!! I don't have the best gums, and have had some intensive cleaning sessions on them, and they were pretty much better by the time I fell pregnant. With all the hormones going mad, they did play up a bit, but now they are bleeding quite easily in a couple of places. I'm not sure how quickly this is likely to resolve after giving birth, and whether I need to bring my hygienist appt forward. I don't know if I need an emergency clean or if it is just the hormones playing silly buggers at the last minute! Just thinking out loud ladies! A very BORING thought I have told you :laughing:.

LulusMum
28-10-2009, 12:43

Well, my computer has been dead for 9 days but is finally up and running today:smiliedance:
It was a funny story - the only day i decide to take a nap and the computer blows up - i wake up to house smelling like burning plastic and the office full of smoke:no:

Anyway - so much has happened on here and here at home too.

Kema - im so sorry for Isla, hope she i better soon

BF - Hope Riley is aslo feeling better soon

Sonja - Hi:D

I have read so much and i had all intentions to do personals for all but cant remeber what i read

AFM - max has started solids and LOVES them. Cries when i take to bowl and spoon away cause he wants more but i am concious of overfeeding so am sticking to recommended serving sizes till he hits 6 months. DH has a new job - is running for governemnet for the seat of Adelaide for the green party so have not seen him much. This is really taking a toll on me cause he used to be home by 5 to do the bath then i would feed then he would settle. Now i do it all and DH usually isnt home before 7pm, so not really seeing Max either, only weekends and 1/2 hour B4 work in the mornings. This will get worse if he wins seat in upper house as he will be travelling to canverra for parliament often. I have so much more understanding for what single motehrs go through, and Mrs Pee, what patience you must have.

I have realy enjoyed having Max to myself though, i have learnt more about him in the last week haveing to do it all by myself. He has dropped the 3am feed (finally) and is sleeping though 7pm till 6.30am. he has also dropped the am sleep but sleeps from 12noon till about 3pm. This is working fine for us (fror now, im sure he will throw me a curve ball any day now).

Anyway - heard it will be 36 in Adelaide on sunday so am cleaning the air con ducts so we can use air con.

Have a great day, will do more personals when my brain starts to works again:bee:

Sonja
28-10-2009, 13:27
Hi Lulusmum

That's fantastic for your DH. I don't in any way want to turn this forum into a political discussion but we've generally voted green so well done to your DH.

But I know what you mean about doing the whole bedtime thing on your own. It's fine now but when Scarlett was much younger she could take a while to settle for the nighttime sleep and I really loved not having to do that one. Esp with Lucy waiting to have 400 stories read to her before bed as well. It must be hard - part of you must want him to win of course but not to become a politician's widow!

Clever Max sleeping through. Scarlett still isn't but she's having only the 1 feed and resettling straight away after it so we're getting more sleep. I know she's not waking through hunger (she doesn't have much when she feeds) but we're both too tired to face resettling her at 3am. I know we'll have to do it if she doesn't drop the feed but we want to see where she gets to after 7 months.

Her diet is amazing now - cereal and fruit and yoghurt for breakfast, custard for morning tea, chicken and vegies for lunch, more fruit or yoghurt for afternoon tea and more meat and vegies and fruit for dinner. Whew! Can't wait to get her weighed and see how she's doing. She's also still having 4 breastfeeds a day. Don't know where she puts it all!

Okay - off to get dinner prepared.

Sonja

LulusMum
28-10-2009, 13:51
Sonja - WOW, go scarlett, i love a girl who adores her food:D

Yes, i am worried about becoming a politicians widow, i am also conscious of having to look ok when we are out in public together - no more trackies and pony tails for me now (not the he is 'famous' or ever will be, but i get sacred of damaging any chance he may have)

Max may be sleeping through, but only 2 weeks ago he was waking 4 times a night. We were seriously thnking how did we do it night after night when he was newborn. I think thisis the beginning of the forgetting so we go back for number 2. I HATE the bedtime settle and have started the bad habit of BF'ing to sleep/. naughty, i know, but i would rather feed him to sleep for 10 mins then pat, rock, shush for 1 hour. Max is getting too fat to rock in my arms now anyway. I havent had him weighed but my dog weighs 5 kilos and (not joking) max would be getting close to double.

Anyway - i am sooooooo happy to have my computer back:p

moongazer
28-10-2009, 16:14
Lulusmum - go your DH. I know what you mean by looking the part. You always have to look presentable and respectable. You'll be fine, and btw, ponytails are fine to wear :)

Sonja - wow, Scarlett is a great eater. I hope we don't have any problems when it comes to that for us. A girl at work had such a hard time with her son who is VERY fussy. She now has a pact with him to introduce a new food every week, and when he gets enough stars he gets to buy a game. Bribery - you gotta hate it, but it was the only thing that worked for her. He once went about a week without eating he was that stubborn!

LulusMum
28-10-2009, 16:42
Just wondering if any mums with teething bubs have noticed ear tugging. I have notice Max tugging his left ear only. The outside is red but just from the pulling. There is no smell/discharge and while it may be an infection i have heard that ear tuigging is a common sign of teething.

He doesnt seem to be in pain which i thought would accompany ear infection (or at least the grizzles) but i gave him panadol just in case.

So: it could either be
teething
infection
Max has discovered he has ears

I have made appt with paed tmrw arvo just to be on the safe side

Sonja
28-10-2009, 16:50
LM - no I haven't noticed any ear pulling

MG - Scarlett's eating is really refreshing for us. Lucy isn't so much of a fussy eater as a non-eater. Food has been a battle with her from the start. It's not fun at all.

ibb
28-10-2009, 20:36
BF - What a truly terrible few weeks you are having. Glad Riley is ok now. What a shock that would have been. I am so glad he doens't remember any of it.

Miss R - Great sleep for Shelby and you!

WWBWB - Wow 6 months already. Time flies. Glad they are doing so well. Yes getting excited and yes nursery is completed. I have my shower this Sunday but have washed and put away everything we have so far. No bag packed as yet. When should i do that and what do i pack for a c-section birth?

Mrs Pee - Hunter is just an angel. He takes my breath away seriously when i see his picture.

Cobbec - I love the gown and she looks angelic in it. Congratulations. The cake was beautiful too. We haven't decided if we are christening ours. Very complicated and only the other day i was trying to think who we would ask to be her guardian should anything happen. There is no-one who i could leave her with. My SIL and BIL were always going to be it but they lost their 2 youngest girls last year and just haven't returned to their normal self and never will. My folks drive me nuts and i think i can't do that to her and DH's folks though great are very old fashioned so even though they would be main choice, not too keen on that either.
How do you decide such a thing?

Well i'm 31 weeks tomorrow, finsihing work at 34 weeks and can't wait. Bubs is kicking me bigitme and it is painful. Not sure if its moreso because my placenta is not padding it at all but it really is hard to cope with. Got teary last night as i just wanted to sleep and she wanted to PARTY! Good practice i know. Pelvis flared up bigtime Sunday. My own fault, i overdid it cleaning. My shower is this Sunday and its been raining non stop so had to get the backyard and house ready in case it rains - its planned at a park.

Anyway getting tired and still yet to have my icecream and choc topping which i am dying for.
Night all

MrsPee
29-10-2009, 14:35
Mrs Pee - Hunter is just an angel. He takes my breath away seriously when i see his picture

Thankyou that is so sweet. :o

Well I hope that the rain does stop in time to not only give you a rain free day but to also let the ground dry out a little too.

Oh I so miss being pregnant :p The time will fly by when you give work up...

Where is everyone else?

lola77
29-10-2009, 18:34
Sorry I've been absent for the last week. Had a bad few days (relatively speaking) over the weekend and was knackered. Had a minin meltdown on Sunday evening cos I couldn't sleep. DH let me sleep through 2 feeds and woke me up for the 2.45am feed - had boobs like Granite!
Am trying to catch up with where everyone is at but apologies if I've lost track.

missr - am so amazed Shelby has a tooth coming already. Is she doing ok? Am very jealous of her big sleeps. Given that MAx is putting on soooo much weight, he really is physically capable of going longer between feeds, but maybe not mentally ready?

lulu's mum - yay you're back!sounds like you're going to have some busy times ahead. Best of luck to DH with his campaign! My uncle is an MP in England so I have a vague understanding of what it involves. I too am in awe of single mothers, and Mrs Pee! I know what you mean about BF'ing to sleep - I only do at at the bedtime sleep and I figure it's not a big deal as all the other naps are completely separate from feed time. I too hate the really long settling period - fingers crossed he's getting better at going down quickly!

ibb - hope you have beautiful weather for your shower. Not long to go!!

sonja - was intersting to see what Scarlett eats. I have no idea about that regime yet but it does sound amazinf and great that she's a good eater! I remember going through a stage when all I would eat is those tinned sausage and beans - yuck! 

bf - you've had a really tough couple of weeks. So glad that your lovely smiley boy remembers nothing of his post-op reaction and I hope DH's goes well. When will you know how Riley's op went?

kema - how is Isla today? How are you coping?

wwbwb - has lilly's feeding improved? Max cries out during feeds but I think that is due to his reflux. That wouldn't be an issue an the twinnies age would it?

cobbec - loved Emma's Christening photos - that gown is beautiful. Don't know what to do about christening as DH is an atheist (although we did get married in church!). Would be nice to have some kind of cermeony but have no idea where to start!

AFM - well a few firsts this week. Got Max's passport photos done - they're so cute! I also bought his first pair of baby sunglasses now that the wether has started to improve. We had our first visit to a baby friend - a former colleague whose baby was due after Max but gave his mummy pre-eclampsia and jumped the queue. Managed to get him to sleep lying on her 2 year olds bed - yay! Have to say I'm enjoying him so much more now. He's just getting cuter and more smiley and talking to me - I always loved him but just love him sooooo much now!
Sorry to the Sydney ladies that I havený got any further on our meet up. Being from England perhaps I'm not the best person to suggest a good location. I'm on the Northern Beaches so if anyone fancied a day by the beach we could meet at mine, but I'm also willing to drive anywhere. Any suggestions for somewhere to meet that might make a shorter trip for cobbec and talia?
HAve my bestie here from England for 2 nights which is too short but given her company paid to send her here, I'm very grateful for any time with her. Think we might brave the crowds at 'Sculptures by the Sea' tomorrow!
Hope everyone is doing well today!

LulusMum
29-10-2009, 19:04
Lola - i remember 8 weeks being the turning point with our max. I just thought he was so much fun, he was so interactive and all of a sudden didnt seem like so much work. If you have turned that corner i can say it just keeps getting better from here. Yes, you will still have bad days, weeks, even months, but at least now you get the smiles, recognition etc that comes with an older baby.

Speaking of bad nights, serves my right from saying that Max was sleeping through. Last night he woke at 7pm (was down at 6pm, and usually we dont see him again), didnt go back down till 10.10pm. Woke at 11.56pm, didnt go back down till 1.12am. Back up at 4am, down at 5am, up at 5,30am when i decided i had enough and just got him (and me) up for the day. He want down at 8.30am, slept till 10.30am and i though "oh good, we are back on track" - well, do you think the little bugger would sleep all day??? - not a wink. He is down now, snoring so loudly i can hear him over the Tv and my typing. Im not sure why his sleep pattern stuffed up but it may be due to his first dose of the hot weather. Anyway, i have a feeling it was a once of and tonight will be better:fingerscrossed:

I am exhaused after last nights performance so hubby made tea and is off at Mc Donalds getting me a caramel sundae - then to bed at last:sleeping:

MrsPee
29-10-2009, 19:50
Lulu's mum - I have found that when it is a little warmer then usual, Hunter is a little bit all over the place. I'm hoping that it is just something that he will need to get use too and not a indication of what Summer will be like for him..

Also from my memory and a friend confirming with me today, Yes they can tug at their ear's when they are getting teeth.. I hope that this is what it is and not an infection.

Lola - That is great that you get to see your Bestie and she can actually hold Max. As for the get together I am more then happy to go anywhere too including your place.. As I told you I am in the Hills area and would also be happy for everyone to come here or we could meet at Parramatta or even the City? I guess as you said it depends on those comimg from the South Coast.

Hey I was thinking today (yes I hurt myself, lol) I have been a member of a few forums over the year's and in the past when it has been xmas we have all done a secret santa thing (for those that wanted to) and we all sent each other a gift to the value of $20...

Someone takes the names of those that want to be involved and then you PM your address along with a small list of the things that you like i.e candles, xmas deco's etc to that person and they then PM your SS with your details along with yourl list. We have a date that gifts must be sent by and then you post when you get it to say Thankyou. We could buy gifts for ourselves or the babies???

So any takers.... You can all say No if you like I wont be upset.. lol

lola77
29-10-2009, 20:04
oooh I like the secret santa idea! I'lll be in!

Forgot to mention that I am really liking my mother's group. I know several of you have had not so good experiences but so far mine is great. The official sessions have finished but we've all agreed to meet up at the same time each week. Next week one of the ladies (who is a paramedic) is going to do a baby first aid session for us. What does everyone else do with their groups?

Should get all my preggo and newborn photos back this weekend so prepare for me posting a million photos!!!

Night all :sleeping:

MrsPee
29-10-2009, 20:20
Ok so far then MrsPee and Lola.....

As for the mother's group, well I did not join one but a lady that I use to work with has a 3yr old and she still to this day gets together with EVERYONE from her mothers group every week or second week. They have Birthday and Xmas Celebrations together. It is really nice to see but sadly it does not happen all that often so I am very happy for you Lola. The 1st aid thing sounds great...

Night, Night

Sonja
29-10-2009, 20:34
Am off to bed too but ...

Mrs Pee I think secret santa is a great idea so count me in.

Lola I loved my mother's group and we met weekly for almost 2 years. It became harder once everyone had second babies but one of my closest friends was someone I met in mother's group. We still get everyone together for a birthday and christmas celebration every year..

Sonja

MrsPee
29-10-2009, 21:04
Great :-)

So, so far we have

Lola
Sonja
MrsPee

Are we buying for ourselves or the babies?
I tend to think ourselves as so much has been about the babies that it would be nice to spoil us for a change....

What do you think?

cobbec
29-10-2009, 21:31
Count me in on SS... and I agree buy for us...

Lola I am easy about where to meet... if I have found a job I wont' be able to make week day meetings tho.

Bec

Forever27
30-10-2009, 01:41
I love the secret Santa idea! Count me in as long as whoever gets my name doesn't mind sending internationally. I completely understand if that's just too much to ask. :)

miss R
30-10-2009, 06:50
MOrning all:wave:
Ooohhh secret santa count me in!!!!!!

WOW lots of chatter on here.....

My mum is down for a week so have been going out a bit.
Shelby had her needles on wednesday ad screamed alll day. It was a cry i hadnt heard befor, was grizzly yesterday as well.
That tooth is giving her curry and she is always chewing her hand or rubbing her tounge on it.
All week we have been doing 5pm - 5am so we are a bit excited about that. but still no sleep during the day....
Just thought i would post a piccie from our mums meet. We all did antinatel classes together and were in hospital together.
http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq347/1982bec/291009007.jpg

L-R
Kaz and DJ (born monday), Me and shelby (born friday) Krissie and Lyra (born friday) Liz and Thomas (born wednesday)
All bubs were born the same week.
Ok gotta go bub is hungry.
bec

Sonja
30-10-2009, 07:12
Wow Miss R that must make the days seem very long, particularly if they start at 5am. Scarlett wakes early (5 to 5.30) at least once or twice a week and I feel like the day's half over by 9.

Mrs Pee I was going to say it should be for the mums so I agree that's a great idea.

Jen you should definitely be included in the ss.

Hunnybunny - been thinking of you - how are you going now you're back at home? Hope it's all coming together, although no doubt some days are still tough :hugs:.

Have a great day everyone

Sonja

MrsPee
30-10-2009, 07:55
Bec - 5am starts use to kill me because I agree with Sonja, The day is so long... in saying that My little monster was awake and playing in his cot at 4.30 am this morning. :rolleyes:

Forever27 - You are more then welcome and I am sure that no one would mind sending to you. You are after all a very much loved part of our special group.

Ok so far we have

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee

if anyone else wants to be part of it then maybe just copy the names and add yours at the end when you post that way I don't miss anyone that has said yes.. :p

HB - :hugs:

Kema
30-10-2009, 08:15
I'll be in SS too :D

Lola - I love my mums group now too I was hesitant to start but now its awesome, the first aid sounds great, we try to meet once a week sometimes twice but we are more coffe and cake kind of girls...lol. We keep saying that we sould all go for a big walk to work off the cake but we rarely do...lol.

Isla has been waking more the last couple of nights too and I wondered if its the heat, she seems to down her bottle so fast, its seems she is thirsty not hungry...IYKWIM.

We are still here but have so much happening I hardly get to post. Still going to the hosi daily for dressings and still on antibiotics, moving house this weekend and working 4 days this week, so hence I just have too much to do and too little time.

Talk soon

Kema
30-10-2009, 08:17
Secret Santa

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee
Kema

WotWillBWillB
30-10-2009, 09:14
Mrs Pee and Helen sorry i forgot you in my last post.

Helen i noticed you posted some more pics of the boys on fb. WOW they a such cuties.

Mrs Pee Hunter is gorgeous. He must be getting big now too. I am glad to hear he is doing so well. You have done such a good job with him on your own for so long. It must be hard. Is dh home yet?

Add me in too for ss.

WWBWB - Wow 6 months already. Time flies. Glad they are doing so well. Yes getting excited and yes nursery is completed. I have my shower this Sunday but have washed and put away everything we have so far. No bag packed as yet. When should I do that and what do I pack for a c-section birth?

IBB I am not too sure if i am the right person to ask about packing your bag, as I never got the chance to pack mine. I hope you enjoy your shower on Sunday. I am not too sure what to pack for c section birth but i am sure some of the others ladies can advise. You are almost due the same time as one of my friends, she is 30 weeks.

wwbwb - has lilly's feeding improved? Max cries out during feeds but I think that is due to his reflux. That wouldn't be an issue an the twinnies age would it?

Lilly is doing a little better, still crying but not as bad. I think she is just over tired and has wind that seems to build up during the day (if this makes sense). She only plays up with the last feed, never with any of the other feeds.

I have also changed their routine, I have ended up adding a second lot of solids and dropped their late feed. I have been just trialling this for the last 2 days. The last 2 nights they have gone to bed at between 8.30 and 9.30 the first night and woke at about 5.50am, than last night Justin decided he didn’t want to go to bed. So i finally got him in bed by about 10.30 or 10.50ish, Lilly was totally asleep by 9.30 and then started stirring for an hour before I got up to feed them at 7.00am.

Justin on the other hand is an angel. You know each day I believe more and more that my babies were handpicked from my dad in heaven. :crying: Lilly is just like me and Justin is so laid back like DH. :rolleyes:

Ok better be bubbas are meant to be sleeping but neither are!!!

Hello to everyone else :wave:

Susan

moongazer
30-10-2009, 09:35
Secret Santa

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee
Kema
WWBWB
Moongazer

moongazer
30-10-2009, 09:39
Be back after. Off to Obs appt today. We will be making a plan for me, and I'm getting a check.

I asked last week how she would do the vaginal exam to check my cervix. Would she she use a speculum? She said that a spec is a bit uncomfortable at 39 weeks, so it would be digital. I then stupidly asked if it was like an ultrasound thing. She said, "no...digital...". It was then I pointed my finger in the air and said "ahhh....digital!!" :laughing: What an idiot!:doh:

amum21
30-10-2009, 09:51

Sorry for crashing your thread, I just wanted to say hi to moongazer and wish you all the best for bubby's arrival, I have been checking in on you every now and again...........you must be getting excited now.

Sonja
30-10-2009, 10:15
Wow Moongazer sounds like things are getting moving. How exciting! Good luck with the appointment today.

:yelclap: another baby on the way :yelclap:

LulusMum
30-10-2009, 12:11
Caount me in for secret santa, and big yes on pressies for us. Our playgroup today decided to do secret santa for the kids, i said santa better leave some wine for us too:laughing:

Well, had the locum out last night, just a gut feeling that something wasnt right with Max. He has inflammed ear cannals and gluey ears:confused: Have some drops and keeping him dosed on nurofen till Monday when his pead decides to come back form spontaneous holiday (how dare peads, FS, Dr's, obs etc go on holoiday:banghead:) - just kidding:D

Secret Santa

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee
Kema
WWBWB
Moongazer
lulusmum

moongazer
30-10-2009, 13:17
Yep Sonja - feels like things are steaming along nicely.

Had my Obs appt today, and she decided to wait until next week to do the vag exam. She thinks my BSL's are well enough controlled, so we have a few days to play with.

Have a wedding to go to today. I wasn't sure if I'd make it, but feeling ok, so I got a dress yesterday that I can wear after bubs as well. We are going to go to the church and reception, and bug out as soon as I feel the weariness creep in!! Should be lovely. It's at Glen Ewin wine estate, which should be a bit cooler than what it is in the city at the moment. A pity I can't indulge too much in the vino that will be on offer!! think I may slip in a glass of sparkles though!!

Amum - thanks for stopping by!! I check in on you now and then too, and am just so happy that things are moving along for you. Getting very excited, but also very scared, and it seems it's just now that I realise what a life change this bubs will be for us! :laughing: You'd think I would have gotten that around in my head before now!! :hugs: to you hun.

Forever27
30-10-2009, 15:01
Thanks for making me feel so special ladies. Being so far away sometimes I feel like the outsider so thanks for letting me be apart of the SS. I'm very much looking forward to it.

Wow Moongazer it sounds like you're just days away from seeing your little bub. I bet you're really excited. I hope you have fun at the wedding today. Don't push it though. ;)

Well it's official, my cycle has returned. I forgot how much fun AF was. This cramping sucks!!! I was hoping that it wouldn't come back until Julliana was at least 6 months. I guess the slowing down on the pumping must have shifted my hormones enough to get things moving again. Oh well, what's 2 months anyway? I just hope I'm not cramping like this for Christmas. That wouldn't be much fun at all.

:wave: to everyone. I'm sorry for lack of personals. My heads just not in the game very much with all this cramping. One of these days I hope to have more time to get on my laptop and write a decent post. Too bad you guys can't just read my mind as I read all of your posts. :laughing:

Nighty, night. :sleeping:

Jen

Backflip
30-10-2009, 16:16
Count me in for SS please :D

Life is fairly chaotic round here atm, Riley has recovered well, DH goes in to have his shoulder plated and screwed next Wednesday. All 4 kids here this weekend and TBH I am a bit scared how I will cope doing everything myself.
Mitchell is being a good little boy.
Take care everyone. x

HelenHasTwins
30-10-2009, 16:25
That's ok WWBWB, I know you think of me:laughing: I am not on here much these days but I do pop in from time to time and read everyone posts, but I think I talk to most of you on FB anyway..thanks the boys are getting big...

:wave: Everyone...

I would love to be in on the Secret Santa, and Jen I don't mind sending to the US if I get you;)

Sonja
30-10-2009, 17:39
BF - :hugs: let me know if there's anything I can do. Happy to pack a cut lunch and a map and ferry some food out for you on the weekend. Lucy's at a sleepover so easy done.

RachInSyd
30-10-2009, 17:45
I'm in!

Secret Santa

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee
Kema
WWBWB
Moongazer
lulusmum
Backflip
HelenHasTwins
RachInSyd

Backflip
31-10-2009, 09:47
BF - :hugs: let me know if there's anything I can do. Happy to pack a cut lunch and a map and ferry some food out for you on the weekend. Lucy's at a sleepover so easy done.
Thank you Sonja xoxo :)

WotWillBWillB
31-10-2009, 22:19
Hi girls i added some more pics of the twins (finally) to Face book so if you want to have a look.

Anyone that isn't a friend just add me and let me know who you are. Night :wave:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=78161&id=668931379&l=63f714e0f4

talia11
01-11-2009, 07:11
Hello all!! I will be in the secret santa too!!

Lola
Sonja
Cobbec
Forever27
Miss R
MrsPee
Kema
WWBWB
Moongazer
lulusmum
Backflip
HelenHasTwins
RachInSyd
Talia11

lola77
01-11-2009, 16:01
ooo it's quiet in here today!

what's everyone up to?

BF - how's riley doing?

Well I had my best friend here from England for a very quick 2.5 days. Not seen her since May 2008 and she was here for a conference. So sad that she's gone but at least she got to meet Max before he gets really big and being a mummy herself, helped me with him for a couple of days. Her DH left her before their baby turned one so the poor thing has really enjoyed the break away over here. Wish England and OZ were closer together!

Got to take Mr Max for his needles tomorrow - not sure whether to be worried about it or not :confused:

Hope everyone is having a good weekend :sunshine:

Sonja
01-11-2009, 17:58
Lola don't be worried but don't be surprised if he's unsettled for 48 hours after the needles. He might also get a bit of the runs.

I gave Scarlett panadol about an hour before her needles and it really seemed to help - she didn't get much bruising and wasn't too out of sorts.

I think it's harder on us then them

Sonja

lola77
01-11-2009, 19:33
Thanks Sonja. TBH, I wasn't worried until I heard other people talking about how worried and scared they got!!

I don't actually have any baby panadol and won't have time to get any in him before his appointment so will have to wing it.

Am taking him to my office for the first time on Wednesday so it would be typical timing if he's cranky!

I just realised that on Tuesday it will be exactly one year since we started on the injections for IVF. Coming up to a year since MAxi's conception - where has that gone!!!

Night all!

cobbec
02-11-2009, 02:17
Lola, I agree where has time gone... Emma's 1yr conception was last Monday...

This is a quick one from me to say that I may not be online much over the next week or so. Those who have me on FB may have seen I have changed my status to single. My husband is in jail tonight after trying to strangle me and DS... he stopped tho... I rang 000 when he went for DS so I now have the fun of packing and moving and trying to find somewhere else to live. I may be with internet for a bit too (don't know how I'll cope with that). All is good here for now but he will go to court at 9am so will be out by 10am I am packed just in case. The police were going to make it a condition that he not contact me, Emma or Jake and he's not to come to the house but that won't stop him if he really wants to. I don't know what snapped in him tonight but I can't risk it happening again.

Sorry for the me post and very down at that. I am holding it together... Jake and Emma help there :)

Talk soon.

Bec

Sonja
02-11-2009, 07:09
Oh my God Bec I don't know what to say except what an amazing woman and mother you are to hold it together for your kids. I can't imagine what you've been through. I have tears in my eyes just imagining it. :(

Please let all of us know if there's anything we can do to help. I know I speak for all of us when I say we're here for you and will do whatever we can to help you.
:hugs::hugs:

Sonja

Sonja
02-11-2009, 07:10
Lola

The 2 month ones are usually fine in terms of reaction - I didn't bother with panadol until Scarlett got a lot older.

Sonja