View Full Version : Support & motivation to excercise!!!

sim081005
12-10-2009, 14:19
OK as it seems a lot of us have decided today is D day to stop using the oh so common answer, "Oh I just had a baby' and start to lose the extra kg's & tighten up our tummies and anything else that needs it. We could all tell each other what we did each day or few days to exercise, eat right etc etc. This way we can stay motivated & support each other.

I am not lucky enough to be able to afford a PT or the time to go to the gym but I can certainly take Mason for a walk when he is grumpy, go extra hard when vaccuming/mopping, eat better or remember to eat & do some exercises on the fit ball when I have 10 minutes spare.

OK so has anyone got any good advice, tips?

I am aiming to lose 5kg by the end of January which will make it only another 32kg to go for my goal weight.

sim081005
12-10-2009, 14:23
Sorry I just realised I spelt exercise wrong in the thread name. Mods can you please correct this for me & make it a sticky

bAaM
12-10-2009, 14:30
I am a sept mum but i am up for it, I just need to get the all clear from my physio in 2 weeks and i am full steam ahead.

My goal will be to get under 100kg before my wedding in december so in about 7 weeks. (I am 104)

sim081005
12-10-2009, 14:47
bAaM good luck with that. Sounds like it is a reasonable goal & hopefully with the help of us here, you can achieve it

WTK
12-10-2009, 17:18
Sim great idea for a thread!!!!!

Ok, so as you know I started my 'Operation Wedding' today. I'd saved my stimulus tax cheque from KRudd to pay for a PT, and as far as I can see, Norm is going to do me wonders. I too bAaM want to crack the 100kg mark which means I've got 38 kilos to loose, ideally I would like to have done that by April next year for our wedding, but I'm a realist so anywhere near that I'll be happy with.

I was pretty embarrassed at my first session today, I huffed and puffed thru my fitness test, sweated and went red in the face! And it was just the bloody fitness test! Lucky there was only Norm and I. I'm keeping a food diary as well. I came home and had a chicken and salad sandwich on multigrain bread with a handful of brazil nuts, almonds and blueberries :thumbsup:

I must admit drinking 2L of water a day is going to be easy. I drink that already, sometimes more. Eating healthy won't be that much of a challenge either. I've been on every diet and more than once in my lifetime so I'm no stranger to 'trying to loose weight'. My problem is exercise. We hate each other. How can anyone enjoy, sweating, puffing, chaffing, gagging ... ? So thats why I have Norm to motivate me. Heaven help me if one day, exercise and I are friends!

I'm all for us supporting and motivating each other to loose weight and be healthy Yummy Mummy's :flowerz:

Leanda
13-10-2009, 17:29
Are any of you breastfeeding? I've noticed that most of the 'diet' programs with meal replacements (e.g. Tony Ferguson) are no good for breastfeeding women.

sim081005
13-10-2009, 17:34
Yes I have noticed the same. I rang Weight Watchers & was told not a good idea to 'diet' while breast feeding but to watch what I eat instead & to see a dietician to give me food list & program.

I am going to try & do this on my own with exercise & see how I go.

Leanda
13-10-2009, 17:59
There's a business idea for someone - how many mums would love a weightloss program they could follow when breastfeeding!

Go for it Sim - we're here for ya!

WTK
13-10-2009, 20:18
I told my PT straight up that I was bf'ing and so he was not to put me on a fresh air sandwich diet. He was fine with it. I really think its the exercise that is the key. Well its the key for me anyway :)

moozle
13-10-2009, 20:46
I was pretty embarrassed at my first session today, I huffed and puffed thru my fitness test, sweated and went red in the face! And it was just the bloody fitness test! Lucky there was only Norm and I.

My problem is exercise. We hate each other. How can anyone enjoy, sweating, puffing, chaffing, gagging ... ? So thats why I have Norm to motivate me. Heaven help me if one day, exercise and I are friends!

Firstly, good on you all for getting into the exercise! If I have any advice, it's set yourselves managable goals. Start small and build up!

WTK - Don't be embarrassed.. just remind yourself that you are never going to be that big and that unfit EVER again. In fact, it's great that you had such a hard time doing the fitness test because you and your PT will be able to see just how far you've come in a few weeks when you do it again :)

As for loving exercise... I never used to do any exercise and hated it so much. I was very overweight, and didn't really do much in the way of exercise at all because I got hot, sweaty, couldn't breathe and it hurt for days afterwards! I actually started with just walking long distances. Then I started going to a gym class once a week.. then a few classes... then started working out on the tredmill. I'd see all these people running so I thought I'd give it a go... 1 minute here and there. I was so embarrassed to start with but now I can run over 30 mins at a time and I lost so much weight and changed my body that way. I really DO love exercise, the way it makes me feel and look. I can't wait to check in here in a few weeks/months and see how addicted you are to it!!!

Good luck girls!! :hugs:

Leanda
14-10-2009, 11:03
Im enjoying one last week of indulgence and will join the efforts next week. DD1 goes back to daycare then so life will be a bit easier.

krispy
14-10-2009, 19:54
I'm a sept mum too but I'd love to join in if thats ok?

I have 7kg of baby-weight to lose, plus another 10kg after that to get back to my normal weight.

My initial goal is to lose the 7kg by Christmas as we are going to the UK and I need to be able to fit into at least SOME of my jeans and pants....

The remaining 10kg I would like to lose by June next year, in time to have dress fittings for my wedding. There seems to be a few of us with weddings to look forward to, great motivation I think :thumbsup:

I think the diet part will be fairly easy as I eat healthily already and any crap that I eat such as chocolate or icecream seems to make the little man really colicky... so just by BF I am forced to be good! The exercise is my downfall, I really need to force myself to get out for a walk every day.... And start some squats and lunges, my poor old behind took the brunt of my PG weight, lol.

Has anyone got any good recipes or ideas for low-fat high-protein snacks?? I am struggling to find things that I can keep on hand for the munchies when I am too tied up with the bub to make a proper meal :confused:

EDIOH
14-10-2009, 21:53
Hi girls, ill join in. I too would like to get under the 100kg mark. so have just under 25kg to loose.

I have major food issues. I eat too mucha nd cant help myself. I eat when im hungry, bored, tired emotional ect.....

As for excercise we have an eleptical trainer (just need the motivation to hop on to it) and we walk for a half hour every night if its not raining.

I wish i could fix my food issues, but its like i just cant help myself. Got to try again i guess.

qldmummy
15-10-2009, 07:36
I will join you too girls. I have a few stubborn kilos that I need to lose which didn't falliff in the begining. My problem is either lack of eating and when I do eat, its crap food

Leanda
15-10-2009, 12:47
I'd like to lose 12kg, 7 of which is baby weight.

I think this weekend we should do a check of our cupboards, fridges etc and get rid of any temptation. If you dont have it in the house, you cant just grab for it. So, be strong and either throw out the junk or put it in a big box and store it at the top of a wardrobe or something so you have to make an extra effort to get at it. Make sure you do a good grocery shop to fill your cupboards and fridge with healthy, easy snacks instead .. any suggestions anyone? My one exception is a block of good quality dark chocolate - half a rectangle (2 squares?) with a cuppa after dinner is enough to satisfy me and stop me from wanting desert, and the antioxidants are great.

Maybe we should each post a weekly activity goal (e.g. drink 6 glasses of wateror walk 3 times this week)?

My challenges are drinking water (which I dont) and living with my parents whilst we are building. They love their sweets and carbs so I am surrounded by temptation.

I've lost 16kg before on Atkins and the carb intake really has an impact on my weight so I'll be watching that, but I'm not going to follow the Atkins program right now because of the breastfeeding. I hate exercise unless its in an airconditioned gym with my iPod, but that's just not possible for me right now. I'm eyeing up my parents pool but the water temp is just a bit too cold!

Also, make sure you are all taking a good multi-vitamin (whether you are breastfeeding or not).

WTK
15-10-2009, 13:25
Good idea Leanda about getting rid of all temptation. DF took a king size block of macadamia chocolate with him to work yesterday, temptation, gone!

Snacks I have are, brazil nuts, almonds, blueberries, sour cream and chive wafer crackers and Nestle diet yoghurt. You say you don't drink water, what about soda water? I find its the fizz I like so I have soda water and lime juice. It's not the same as coke :laughing: but I like it

My PT has me walking a minimum 12,500 steps a day. Woah that is going to take some doing. After my session and walking the supermarket I'd only done half of that :rolleyes: I worked really hard today, sweated and turned the famous red shade. My legs and arms were shaking when I had finished as well. That's it now sessions done till Monday, must walk the dog this weekend ... must walk the dog this weekend ... must walk the dog this weekend ...

A friend of mine commented on my fb status and gave me some gold advice. She said 'find your Beyonce'. So true, I love Beyonce and think she has such a smoking body. I'm going to find some pics of her and put them up all around my house. I also have the number 100 on my fridge, on the bathroom mirror, on my sun visor, in my wallet and on the mirror in the bedroom. Seeing my magical number is all part of my motivation.

100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 :)

sim081005
15-10-2009, 13:31
OK I went shopping last night & there was no crap in the trolley. Lots of salad which I love & I am going to get organised tonight & cut items up like celery & have in a box ready for me to grab on the run. Also I am going to make my salad ready for the 5 minutes I get for lunch tomorrow. This way I will not miss meals.

So I goal for this week is to eat lunch & breakfast everyday & do 20 minutes 4 times a week doing exercises with the exercise ball (labour ball) like lunges holding the ball above my head, sit ups of it (these are good for the pelvic floor), push ups of it, on my back with the ball being held with the feet lowering it & back up. I am sure I am going to be sore but I need the tummy to shrink so I can do up my old pants. They fit everywhere else but there.

OK that is it for me. Keep going ladies we are on the right track now

krispy
15-10-2009, 19:02
Well today u didn't do any "exercise", but does shopping for 3 hours count? There was alot of brisk walking involved, lol. Oh and I mopped the floor. But I also had a very decadent hot choc at max brenners...

My goal for the next 3 days is to either walk for an hour, or do my post-natal fitball DVD each day. My best friend loaned me all her post-preg "fat clothes", none of which fit me! Eek. So my first goal is to get into those shorts :)

EDIOH
16-10-2009, 11:39
Goal for this week is to drink more water and do at least 2 seesions on the cross trainer.

WTK
16-10-2009, 21:29
Excellent goals ladies

I walked for 35 mins today and did 4500 steps along the way! It was quite hot too so I had the lovely sweaty boobs :laughing:

My cousin bought me some green and jasmine tea which I've been told is great for weight loss and doesn't harm bubba. I would usually have icecream and chocolate sauce after dinner ... instead I'm having a cup of green tea and some brazil nuts!!!!

100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 :)

PuRpLeSkY
17-10-2009, 10:03
Hi! I'd like to join in to, although I have'nt got much to lose, I was super fit when I got pregnant, I was doing bootcamp and running a few times a week, never been in better shape, but when I got pregnant I bled for 7 weeks and was'nt allowed to do any exercise not even walk on my treadmill! so for me it's not about losing weight so much but about feeling healthy and strong again and toning! I feel so flabby! I have my 6 week check up next week so I'll wait till then to see if I get the all clear to return to proper exercise, I'm just nervous about my c section scar

Leanda
18-10-2009, 11:36
Hey girls, my goals this week are 6 glasses of water, no naughty sweets & no starchy white carbs at dinner. Found a website for a great post-baby ab routine DVD so might order that .. I want a flat tummy not a flabby tummy!

Leanda
18-10-2009, 12:25
Oh WTK you are right, I totally forgot about soda water! No-one else in the house likes it so it can be my treat :)

sim081005
18-10-2009, 20:43
Well I have not stuck to my goals but I will start them & stick to them as of tomorrow being Monday so it is a new week & a new outlook.

Leanda
18-10-2009, 21:57
Oh boy, after trying a dress on in Target today I feel like crap :( This better work!

Sim - dont judge yourself on what you did yesterday, just focus on what you will or wont do today *hugs*

sim081005
19-10-2009, 17:47
OK reporting in for the day. I have kept my goal!!! I had breakfast & lunch today. I went for a walk that normally would that 30 minutes at a brisk pace but I did it in 20 minutes. I am going to do my 20 minute workout once bubs goes to sleep.

WTK
19-10-2009, 17:53
Of course you can join Purplesky :)

Well ladies weigh in today and I lost 1.3kgs. I was hoping for more but I'll take it. My trainer was very pleased with me. He wants me to do 12,500 steps per day and so far I haven't got anywhere near that, max 8998. SO he whipped me on the treadmill for the whole session! Still haven't made it today I'm up to 9160, at least I've cracked the 9000!

100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 :)

Electric Rodeo
19-10-2009, 18:42
Hi Girls:wave:

I'm a September mum with an August bub, I'd love to join in too.

I started 4 weeks ago when DD was 3 weeks old. I had lost 8 kilos in the 3 weeks following her birth and have lost 6 kilos in the past 4 weeks since I started thinking about my food.

That puts me at 94kg, would love to get under 80, 75kg would be terrific.
Have no time line but really want to have it gone with time left over to enjoy being skinnier before we try for bub #4 at the end of next year.

I have joined up calorie king and its a great site. Has made me more aware of what I'm putting in my mouth. Haven't started a proper exercise program as yet as frankly I'm a bit buggered:p Have dusted off the tready and will start on that as my exrcise of choice.

Look forward to sharing stories with other mums with young bubs.:goodvibes:

Leanda
20-10-2009, 14:30
Well done WTK and Sim! Welcome Mitake!

Gee they say you should do 10,000 steps a day ... I didn't know it would be that hard! Mind you, I have no idea how many steps I do in a day ... should get one of those pedometers.

Yesterday I avoided the biscuits, banana cake and chocolate at home and made stir fry vegies with left-over BBq meat and a soy & garlic sauce for dinner - yum. Not so good on the water front as I was battling a headache. Would like to get a walk in today but will see re the timing between Miss waking up/feeding and needing to get to daycare to pick up Ashley. Food today has been porridge for brekky, yoghurt for morning tea, salmon on Ryvita for lunch and now some fruit for afternoon tea with smoked cod and salad for dinner. Just keep me away from desert!

sim081005
20-10-2009, 16:46
Congrats WTK. Remember a lose is a lose no matter how big or little

Leanda your lunch sounds so yum. I think I have to go & get some salmon or tuna for later on this week

OK I have been good today!!!

Brekkie = cereal with skinny milk & a banana with apple & black current juice
morning tea = handful of almonds
Lunch = chicken breast roll
Afternoon tea = apple & museli bar
dinner will be = BBQ chop with salad
snack will be another piece of fruit

I am going for a walk after dinner & if I have time I will do some more tummy exercises

WTK
20-10-2009, 16:49
Your food sounds yum Leanda :) 2 panadol and a massive glass of water should shake your headache.

Welcome Mitake :)

Sim good on you for reaching your daily goal, feels good doesn't it?

I cracked the 10000 steps yesterday, 10021 to be exact! Was so stoked. I originally was going to make Tuesday my rest day but I thought nah bugger it, so off I went in the 26 degree heat and walked the longest yet, 59 mins would you believe, and 7200 steps! So I'm very happy with myself and I've done over 2L of water so far too.

I had better be careful or I may just catch fitness :laughing:

Leanda
20-10-2009, 17:13
WTK-Better bottle fitness and inject some of it into me!

Sim-I have to try not to overdo the fish, its all Ive craved since falling pregnant. This is going to be the brainiest baby with the amount of Omega3 shes getting. Learnt you are better getting tuna etc in brine not in olive oil, as a lot of the omage3 drains away in the oil.

Californication
22-10-2009, 20:08
:wave: ladies. I need motivation, so hopefully joining you girls will give me some (or you can kick some into me!!!) I haven't done any major exercise since Christmas due to my knee, (apart from the physio) so need to start slowly so that I don't get sore. Been given the all-clear by the Dr on my wound, so can now start to build up my short walks.

I'm already back to pre-preg weight, but want to loose 25-30kg to get into my healthy weight range. Don't have a timeframe, but hopefully within the next 12 months so that the next pregnancy is easier on my old body :)

sim081005
22-10-2009, 20:24
welcome Clare

Well I didn't do any exercise today or yesterday but I am planning on going for a walk tomorrow night when DH gets home & the dogs can come too.

I have been going well with eating until today where I managed to skip brekkie & lunch. I will get back on track tomorrow. I may even get on the scales tomorrow

Leanda
25-10-2009, 15:40
Well, the eating plan has gone down the drain with DH away and the folks in charge of the kitchen ... *sigh* Glad it's Monday tomorrow - fresh week, fresh start!

kobesmum
27-10-2009, 09:48

Hope its ok if I join too?? I've got about 5kg of baby weight to lose, plus another 5kg that was there before I fell pregnant, so I'm aiming at 10kg :yes:

I've been walking every day for about 30 mins, and I'm lucky because I live in the foot hills so there are plenty of hills to climb and nice scenery to look at as I walk:yelclap:

Now my goal is to incorporate some extra exercise like yoga, weights and boxing (hitting the bag while DH holds it - great for tension release!!). But I'll take things easy, so this week the goal is 30 mins of yoga (I do it at home from a DVD).

As for food... Chocolate is still my best friend and worst enemy!! I still have some in my pantry, coz I believe if its not there I'll binge next time I lay my hands on some. So I'm trying for moderation... Not easy :rolleyes: I'm aiming at eating more fruit and veg during the day so I'm cutting up healthy snacks to put in the fridge at night, ready for the next day.

Hope you're all having a fab day :wave:

sandy119120
28-10-2009, 06:45
Hi girls ,

I would love to join here, i had my baby 12 weeks ago and still looks like i just gave birth to my DD.

I started to do excersises 5 weeks ago.. but stop, i dont know if lack of motivation but im sure 92 kilos should be enough... i dont know how to start this time.
I gained 30 kilos with DS1 but i did loose 26 kilos soon after his birth.
then 28 with DS2 took longer and i lost 18 only... and now with DD i gained 24 and soo far only lost 8 kilos and that since i had my DD :hissy:.

My Current weight is 92 kilos my pre=preg was 58 kilos. that looks like a longgggggggggg way.

sim081005
28-10-2009, 13:12
Well ladies I have been meaning to keep to my goals but am struggling with this crying baby I have. Anyway I have been getting DH to make me a sandwitch ewvery morning when he makes his lunch so that I can just grab it & eat. I have not been so good on the brekkie but my dinners have improved out of site. Salads with a lean bit of meat & for dessert it has been fruit

I will start doing 1 minute running followed by 5 minutes walking & so on after I get my sun shade cover for the pram as Mason just is too fair for me to take the risk. But as I haven't been doing my tummy exercises, I have been walking the house & garden to get grumpy pants to stop crying so I think it all works out in the end

PS I have now lost 0.5kg

JimJamsMum
29-10-2009, 14:21
Hi Ladies, as some of you know I have decided to train for a triathlon. I'm basically starting from a zero level of fitness so have a long way to go and need all the motivation I can get.

Sim - have you tried doing floor exercises with Mason? If you can, try laying on your back with your feet flat on the floor and knees bent up. Sit Mason on your tummy with his back resting against your legs and do some tummy crunches. You can also put your knees to your chest and lay him on your shins. Babies also make great weights for bench pressing :D It might shock him out of his crying :p

mum2bubble
29-10-2009, 15:03
Hey ladies, decided I would finally join you all.
I'm not quite sure how much weight I put on during the pregnancy, I hadn't weighed myself for well over a year before I fell pregnant and no one weighed me during. Although I tried some clothes on today and I think i've gone up a dress size:(

My biggest problem is not exactly the exercise, its the days following when my legs hurt to get up etc, so then I dont continue the exercise daily.

Dp is a personal trainer so I got him to write me a program and he will update it every few weeks so I don't plateau.

My goals for the moment are to stick to the exercise plan and NO MORE SOFT DRINK!!

:fingerscrossed:

sim081005
29-10-2009, 16:43
JJM I had never thought of using Mason as my weights!!! Look out Mason

Well yesterday I did the following exercises as I was going out of my brain with Mason so I did them in front of him

20 lunges on each leg holding the exercise ball above my head
50 sit ups on the ball
25 squats
20 where I hold the ball between my legs on my back & bring the ball up to my arms and down

I am soooo sore today

WTK
30-10-2009, 10:35
Welcome to all the new 'Jane Fonda's' *cheers with a water bottle*

Good exercises Sim, the trick now is to keep it up every day. And 500grams is what Weight Watchers recommends is a fantastic weekly weight loss :)

JJM - I really admire you with your effort and aiming to finish a triathalon, good on you :thumbsup:

MM - darlin heart don't stress about going up a dress size, that's why we are here to motivate you to go down a dress size!!

I lost 500g's also on Monday. I was quite disappointed because of all the effort I had put in and so my PT measured my tummy and in 2 weeks, I've lost 1.5cm OF PURE FAT!! That made me feel a whole heap better. Onward and downward ladies ...

kobesmum
31-10-2009, 16:51
Well there goes my regular walking... First the hot weather rolls in, now I've stubbed my toe big time on Kobe's swing... It's black, swollen and very sore - not even sure if I can get my foot into my runners anymore :no:

BUT I can still work on my eating habits...

I did come up with a good substitute for soft drink the other day... I made some iced tea using Rooibos with Vanilla tea bags. This tea is from South Africa and is used by pregnant/breastfeeding women because a) it has no caffeine, and b) it's known to help bubs with wind/colic (it's even sometimes used mixed with EBM or formula) so it has a dual benefit :yelclap:

To make iced tea, put 6 -8 tea bags in a jug, pour 2L hot water over, add sugar to taste. Leave tea bags to steep until cold. Chill in the fridge. Some other additions for extra flavour; sliced lemon, mint leaves. I know I've put sugar as an addition but it's not really necessary coz the tea is so yummy, plus a tb of sugar is WAY less than most soft drinks have.

Hopefully I can go for a hobble once the sun goes down and it's a bit cooler :rolleyes:

BTW I haven't managed my 30 mins of yoga so I haven't achieved this week's goal - bub seemed determined to sabotage my yogaing (is that a word??!!) So it's my new goal for next week

Hope you're all enjoying your weekend

krispy
31-10-2009, 18:35
Thats a great idea Sim, exercising in front of the bubba! Never thought of that, Sonny has been a nightmare this week so will give that a go next week if he keeps up these shenangians...

Well I lost 1.5kg this week, I reckon purely from walking up and down the house trying to rock my screaming baby to sleep! lol. My daily walking plans were thwarted by a pair of very cranky magpies that had me running away waving Sonny's muslin wrap over my head! But have managed to do my fit-ball dvd twice which is a miracle.

Haven't been concentrating on my diet as I lost my milk supply last weekend when I had tonsillitis and couldn't eat or drink... so have been stuffing my face all week trying to get the milk up again :)

We go to the UK in 8 weeks, so I would like to lose 8 kg by then..... yeah right, lol.

Good work everyone!! :thumbsup:

JimJamsMum
01-11-2009, 07:15
Kobesmum thanks for the tip re Rooibos tea. I used to drink it hot but it didn't occur to me to have it iced. I've been drinking too much coffee lately so will have to start the Rooibos instead. Thanks:fingerscrossed:

WTK - well done with your weight/cm loss. That's awesome. If you're doing lots of exercise it's possible not to lose that much weight because you're forming muscle as well. Also sometimes when you're BF your body likes to hold onto some fat in case of emergency.

AFM, I have stuck to my training program this week and I feel fabulous. I have heaps of energy and am looking forward to my workouts each day. Something I wasn't really expecting was that my libido has improved which is something of a miracle because it's usually hopeless while I'm BF. DH must be happy about that because he bought me a computer for my bike the other day :D

Leanda
05-11-2009, 12:47
Welcome to newcomers and well done to those of you doing anything about your diet or exercise - girl power!

Seriously, anything that you manage to achieve is just amazing whilst looking after a bub as well. As one of the girls on our August thread said ... 'You can doooo eeeeeeeeeet!'!!!:smiliedance:

Love hearing the numbers being shed too.

I'm hating the scales, they are swinging between 78kg and 81kg. I know the weight has a lot to do with fat vs muscle ratios, fluid retention etc but I'm trying to weigh myself at the same time weekly, first thing in the morning. Seems to be dependant on whether Amber's had her first feed of the day and what I consumed the day before! Very tempting to just ignore the scales and go on the 'clothes fit' principle.

I ordered my 'Be Fit Mom' DVD with tummy muscle exercises designed specifically to get your core in shape after childbirth. It also deals with muscle separation but I think I'm ok on that front with less than a one finger width gap. Sessions are about 30 mins in length so I should be able to fit them into baby naps. Cant wait for it to arrive.

I'll take some before and after waist/hip measurements.

WTK
07-11-2009, 13:34

Another 2.6 weight loss this week :yes: outstanding if I do say so myself. *pats own back*

Californication
07-11-2009, 14:10

Another 2.6 weight loss this week :yes: outstanding if I do say so myself. *pats own back*

:smiliedance: WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO! :smiliedance:

That's a fantastic loss Anna! I've not been doing anything so you've put me to shame!!!

sim081005
07-11-2009, 19:06
Go Anna!!!

Well I went for a very brisk walk for 35 minutes today & it took me over 30 minutes to cool down from it. I have been slack lately or more that I have had a child attached so I haven't been exercising but I have been much better with eating

MissSky
07-11-2009, 21:13
hey ladies

hoping that you dont mind that I join this thread. I am so feeling like I need not only motivation ( with my partner on night shift he is all for lazy afternoons which is tempting since our little man is not a big sleeper so neither is mummy right now) but I kind of feel like I need to tell someone so I'm slightly more accountable:)

reading your thread has totally given me the belief that I can reach my goal. a new bub, lack of sleep, bout of swine flu, poor eating and relocating to a new state have taken its toll.

Game on for fitness!!!

My goal is to be in the "healthy weight" range by the time my DS is one. So thats 16kg in 8 months (:crying: oh that so ugly to have to type), so I'm hoping 2 kg a month is achievable. I am armed with a cross trainer, hilly areas outside and a desire to get back to my pre bub fitness of being able to run 10k in 45 min (i completed a comp run 3 months before I fell pregnant and ran this time, now i havent been running for over a year).
so diet needs an overhaul- need to relearn portion sizes, replace chocolate with (....???? i dont know ... how can anyone replace chocolate :laughing:), and lots of yummy fresh fruit and vegs every day.

so exercise plan...for this week, 5 nights of doing at least 2km on the cross trainer, sounds easy but my cardio is so weak right now. and i'm going to use a tip from a friend that is doing WW is instead of using the drier for washing I'm determined to hang out every load this week, anything to get moving more.

You have all had such fantastic success its an inspiration to others (even if not all those that read this thread write and tell you). Good luck for this week, hope you all achieve your goals.:flowerz:

JimJamsMum
08-11-2009, 07:07
MissSky - welcome. 16kg in 8 months is totally do-able. That's just 500g per week. And you are right, there is no substitute for chocolate. No point trying to pretend otherwise :laughing:

Leanda - looking forward to hearing how your new workout video goes.

Absolutely!!! That's awesome.

Sim - good for you for keeping the healthy eating going even if you can't exercise at the moment. If I was in your situation I'm sure I'd be curled up in the corner with a giant toblerone by now. So good for you :)

AFM, I have now completed two weeks of my training program (well I will have after my bike ride today). I have sooo much energy and feel soooo good. I can't believe the difference. Also my belly is flattening out. I don't think it will ever go back to how it was but DH still has faith :yes:. I have decided that after each month of sticking to my training schedule I will buy myself a little present to help keep me motivated. Only two more weeks until I get my new joggers :yelclap:

One last thing: I have picked the event I am going to do as my first triathlon. There is an all womens event here in Sydney in March which is for women who are new to triathlons. The distance I am aiming for is 250m swim, 10k bike ride and 2.5k run but there is a shorter one to fall back on.

Gotta dash and pay some attention to my kids. See ya!

sim081005
08-11-2009, 10:45
JJM I am lucky in that Mason is allergic to caffine so no chocolate allowed for me!!!

I am in such a good mood today after my walk & amazing day of a happy baby that I am going for another walk & going to try & do all the house work, spray the paving (annual thing to stop the weeds), pull out the weeds in the backyard & then if I still have time & energy try some ball exercises

MissSky
10-11-2009, 22:39
Hi again ladies

JimJam- fantastic that you have found the triathlon, sounds like your determination is showing already with sticking to your training for 2 weeks, those joggers will be well deserved.

WTK- wow!! congrats great results.:yelclap:

Sim - just so you know your energy is rather contagious, I logged in here last night to wallow in self pity about the bad day I had and the temptation of the crunchy chocolate in the fridge, I read your last post and re thought my "need" for chocolate, decided if i have any chance of keeping up I'd need to rethink - so I ended up doing an hour on the cross trainer to vent frustration instead of eating it, and I have you to thank :)

so changes Ive made to my diet.

- am having scrambled egg whites with multigrain bread for breakfast, museli &yogurt with honey as a morning tea and have started using a butter plate at dinner to control portion sizes (manly needed when my DP serves dinner). Oh and I had some of that crunchy chocolate today :laughing: but only 4 pieces after my salad lunch.

I've done 12ks on my cross trainer so far and feeling good - well except for the pain :doh:

happy healthy to you all

WTK
14-11-2009, 15:14
Afternoon fellow Jane Fonda's

Misssky the cross trainer scares me so good on you for doing 12ks, great effort.

I had a weigh in on Monday and only lost 300grams but that's ok, I'd lost another 1.5cms around my middle :) Temp got up to 29 degrees here this morning and I attempted a 5km walk in it. Done and done Whoo hoo!! I even beat the dog back to the car :thumbsup:

JimJamsMum
15-11-2009, 05:45
Hello hot mammas

WTK- awesome effort. You've lost heaps in the last couple of weeks :yelclap: And a 5km walk. Woohoo!!

MissSky - I got so excited to read that you did exercise rather than eat chocolate. I thought you'd really found a substitute. Then I read on and saw you'd had some for lunch. So I was right, there really is no substitute... (yes that is a jingle for a chocolate ad and yes I really am brainwashed and addicted to the stuff.)

Today I completed my third week of training :yelclap: I am definitely getting faster on my bike but swimming is still a challenge. I have a plan to improve my swimming fitness so hopefully it will work. Only 1 week to go before I get to buy my reward for myself. :D

Californication
16-11-2009, 10:45
swimming is still a challenge. I have a plan to improve my swimming fitness so hopefully it will work. Only 1 week to go before I get to buy my reward for myself. :D

JJM - not sure if this will help, but I used to swim all the time and would start the season doing 10 laps (50m pool) doing alternate freestyle and breaststroke. As that got easier, I would do 2 freestyle, 1 BS, then 3+1 etc. Once I got to 5+1, I would do 2 extra laps every 2-3 day until I was doing 20 laps. Would then start doing 6+1 etc until I was doing 9 freestyle, 1 BS. I could never do just 20 FS. If I missed that 1 BS, I could only do 15-16 laps! I would love to swim, but it's only a 25m heated pool here and I hate it. Just get a rhythm and you're at the end, and it feels like swimming in soup! Give me an unheated 50m pool any day! BUT, I want to take William to lessons and they start at 6 months in Busselton, and I think they have a 50m pool, so will do his lesson, put him in the creche and swim myself!

kitty galore
16-11-2009, 10:56
I love swimming too, but have been too scared in recent years to get into some bathers! I do have some bather shorts somewhere, but i def need to get a new top of some sort.

well i have pulled my head in - saturday i did about 5 mins (2kms) on the exercise bike (sad, i know, but it is a start).
sunday I did 4.5 km on the exercise bike.
today we went for a really nice walk, about 30 mins, so that is good. I will get on the bike again tonight, and as long as it is more than 4.5 km, I am not bothered.

we made sushi for dinner last night (yum, we all love it) and my DH had some choc biscuits after - i wasn't even tempted to have one, so I was very proud of myself!!

JimJamsMum
16-11-2009, 11:36
Clare thanks for the swimming tips. It sounds like good advice and I think I'll try it out tonight. My plan was to take a break at the end of each lap and gradually shorten the break but I think your idea to keep moving is probably better. I'll let you know how I go.

MPA - welcome :) When I first started three weeks ago I was riding 3km on my bike three times a week. Now I'm up to 6.5km. I am riding outside on the road so not sure if it's directly comparable to an exercise bike. You've gotta start somewhere you know.

WTK
16-11-2009, 17:29
JJM this is for you since you are a fb virgin :)

I only lost 300gms this week :( but I had my best heart rate recovery yet. At the end of my 40 mins on the teadie I did 3 mins walking at 5.5, incline of 2 and my heart rate dropped from 159 to 128 in the first minute after and then down to 118 another minute after that. I was so proud of myself and so was my trainer. We went back over what I started at and a month ago I was doing 20 mins all up and a top speed of 4.5 with no incline and heart rate up to 168 with a drop of only 8 beats in the following minute :confused: So even tho the pounds aren't dropping off I'm getting alot fitter and I feel so much better for it.

My parents have a lap pool so I'm really looking forward to going home and doing some swimming. I love it. And MPA with the pool being at my parents I don't care what I look like and neither do they. Get out there babes 'you can do eeeeeeettttttttt'

Keep up the fantastic work everyone, happy salad thoughts to all :):)

JimJamsMum
16-11-2009, 19:18
WTK -thanks for the update and :yelclap: That's awesome that you're getting so much fitter. I'm sure the weight loss will come as your metabolism speeds up.

Clare - thanks for the swimming tip. I did as you suggested but just swam 300m in total. I also had to rest for a minute between each 100m but considering three weeks ago I couldn't even swim 50m without stopping I think I'm doing pretty well.

sim081005
16-11-2009, 19:48
Well I am now picking myself back up & joining in again. My eating hasn't been too bad considering how **** I have been feeling lately.

I have been walking about twice a week & at such a fast pace that the DH & 2 dogs don't keep up!!!

As Mason is now sleeping during the day, I am using this time to get back on top of the housework & once that is under control & in some sort of routine, I am going to add more exercise in. I could start it now in those times but I am going to pace myself & not put too much pressure on me. I also want to start to use Mason in my exercises as something different for him.

In the new year, I am hoping I can start to do some swimming as well. Not sure where as yet.

WTK I am so proud of you keep up the good work

JJM & MPA the thought of a bike makes my butt hurt!!!

Clare I do not agree with you on the non heated pool. I am such a sook when it comes to hot or cold. Give me hot anytime even the weather. I like to exercise when it is stinking hot. I know I am weird

Well I am off to bed as I have spent the day washing, folding & dusting everything in sight

JimJamsMum
23-11-2009, 19:11
Hi girls, just thought I'd pop in here with an update. Yesterday I completed the first 4 weeks of my training program and I'm happy to report that I have not missed a session. I have achieved the following in four weeks:

- I have gone from swimming 100m to swimming 300m and now use the 50m pool rather than 25m. When I first started I couldn't even swim 50m without stopping
- I am averaging 3km per hour faster on my bike and cycling almost twice the distance

So I'm pretty chuffed and I get to buy myself a little present to celebrate.

How's everyone else going?

MissSky
24-11-2009, 23:19
Congratulations JJM:yelclap: that is amazing results in just 4 weeks of training! it will be a present well deserved:yes: you must be feeling amazing coming into christmas. crazy to think how far you will be swimming and cycling in a years time.

AFM - oooh bad:no: to say I fell off the wagon would suggest it was unintentional, I really should say I jumped and fell into a big pile of emotional eating for a week. I got so down after a week of good eating, lots of exercise and only lost 800g ( I know now I lost sight of the big picture) then I started in on using the same old excuses, bub wasnt sleeping at all, my DP was working nights so was lonely and desperate when I had no help with a screaming bub, n the thoughts of whats the point im never giong to lose the weight, n trying to cook healthy when Im so to tired to cook. Then one day past with no excerise, before I knew it a week went by. but had a big talk with DP on sunday and got him on board. so now we are going to do a bit of a big cook up once a week so we have meal back ups, bub slept through the night for the first time ever ( i think I have infants friend to thank for that) so now in 2 days have been for 3 x 1 hour walks, and a few weight sessions at home - also managed to plucked up the courage to get on the scales again and am relieved to see I'm still .5kg down from starting weight.

hope everyone else is doing better that i did in the last week.

WTK
25-11-2009, 10:46
JJM you are a legend!! Good on you. Watch out, when you do your triathalon you might win!!!!!!

MissSky the good thing about your bad week is that you acknowledged it and this week is better. Keep it up :thumbsup:

AFM - I PUT ON .200g last week :hissy: :hissy: I was so upset I bawled for the first 10 mins of my training session. I had increased my steps, stuck to the healthy eating to the 't', drank my water and then some, only to put on. I was so so angry with myself, dam the bloody scales!! But like you MissSky, Monday was the start of a new week and we'll just have to see how we go. My PT has given me a 1200, 1500 and a 1800 calorie a day menu plan and I was able to pick which one I wanted to follow. I was going to go 1200, but decided on the 1500 and will work down. I'll let you know how I go ...........

sim081005
25-11-2009, 11:30
I have decided that life with a baby is hard enough let a lone the up hill battle to lose weight & get fit.

I have lost 1.5 more kg's since my last weight in so that takes me to a total of 1.8kg's gone. Not where I wanted to be now but a lose is a lose & that is what I need to keep telling myself.

I was also able to job on the spot for 3 minutes the other day. I have not been able to do this since I was 18! I am now using the Wii fit plus program to help me as it is not practical for me to get out & about all the time. I like the exercises on there & the fun ones like boxing & dancing I do with Mason next to me & he loves it.

I have also put a calendar up of when DH & I are to do the big walks (3 to 4 times a week) plus we are planning our meals a week in advance. This I think is the key to my weight lose.

My next big goal is to walk around the Botanic Gardens here in Melbourne at the next meet

Californication
25-11-2009, 14:39
JimJamsMum - Glad my swimming tip helped you out! 300m is a fantastic improvement for you - you'll be swimming km's in no time :)

Sim - you can keep your heat. Give me moderate temps any day! You're doing so well - you're an inspiration :)

MissSky - good on you for getting back on the wagon.

WTK - Don't get too down about your gain. Muscle weighs more than fat and you are loosing cm's which is a far better indicator of what your body is doing than the scales. You are doing brilliantly!

I came here to report on Friday, but BH was down and I've been busy this week (and tired as W is waking up between 4-5am each day) Anyway, Friday DH and I did our first pilates session. We were supposed to start over a month ago, but our physio (we're doing it with her as both have issues - him back, me knees - so need "medical" pilates for a while) was sick and then went on hols. Anyway, so did that and then I walked from the PO into town. Not a huge walk, but it was uphill so that's a pretty big achievement for me!

JimJamsMum
25-11-2009, 19:33
Hi Ladies.

Sim - you're doing great. It sounds like you have some good strategies in place to help you keep up with the exercise and weight loss. :yelclap:

MissSky - I really hope I'm still exercising in a years time :fingerscrossed: Hopefully you are back on track now. I think sometimes we need to take a break from our efforts, if only to realise how good the changes we are making make us feel and get us re-motivated

WTK - :laughing: PMSL. Remember, it's not about winning it's about participation :p As for that weight gain, you probably drank an extra glass of water or didn't pee before your weigh in. It's hardly significant. As Clare said, you're losing cms which is much more important.

Clare - how's Pilates going? Do you find it deceptively difficult? I know I did.

Bye :wave:

PS- I went to the shops to buy milk after my swim tonight and thought I'd buy myself some chocolate but when I walked down the confectionary isle none of it looked very appealing so I didn't get anything. It was a momentous occasion

Californication
26-11-2009, 14:52
Clare - how's Pilates going? Do you find it deceptively difficult? I know I did.

PS- I went to the shops to buy milk after my swim tonight and thought I'd buy myself some chocolate but when I walked down the confectionary isle none of it looked very appealing so I didn't get anything. It was a momentous occasion

JJM - that is fantastic! I always used to be more of a savoury girl, but DH is a chocaholic and has turned me into one too! He still wants it more than me though. I have to ration it out to him or he will eat the whole block in one sitting!!! But I haven't had any for about 2 weeks now, and not sure that I miss it much.

As for the pilates, we're starting off slowly. I was doing it after my injury, but then my knee got to the point it was better and my belly was too big to do some of the things, so we stopped until after the birth. I found it challenging for sure. This time she will have to fix my knee AND my tummy as my knee has gone backwards a bit. I wasn't as sore on Sat as I thought I would be either, but I also haven't practiced at home as much as I should! Must do some today as we see her again tomorrow!!!!

WTK
27-11-2009, 10:18
JJM I did something similar ...

Chocolate, hhhhhhhmmmmmmmm. Oh how I love thee, white, cake, dark, biscuit, icecream, milk, bar, block ... DF and I got DVD's last week and I was standing at the counter. I picked up a king size kit kat and stood there waiting my turn to be served. The woman and her 2 screaming kids in front of me finally started to leave and I stepped up. I put the king size kit kat back and purchased my DVD's. I walked out of the store and drove home, smiling. I beat the chocolate :)

Going to see an osteopath today for my neck and shoulder. Hopefully my headaches will stop and I can get more out of my weight sessions.

Happy fitness everyone :yelclap:

cass87
27-11-2009, 11:35
Hi! Im joining in here, I need you ladies to keep me motivated!

I have 10 kilos to lose before I will return to my pre pregnancy weight. The tried weightwatchers before I was pregnant and it helped me lose some weight so I thought I would try it again, but not having an active job anymore dropped my points down to nothing and when I tried to stick to it I ended up just eating more junk because I was soooo hungry!!!

So now I have realised that Im actually going to have to exersice to shift the weight, but I didnt realise just how hard it is to fit it in!

I have started the couch to 5k running program. I completed my first day on Wed and have my second today. Its basically interval training with jogging and walking and apparently by 9 weeks you will be able to run 5ks or 30 mins straight. I am determined to stick to it !

I also joined calorieking , I wont be using this strictly for weight lose, but just as a guide to help control my portion sizes, and help me with right and wrong foods- I am a huge overeater and it helps to be able to log what I've eaten during the day so I can see were Im going wrong.

Anyway so far I've lost 500g! Woot. Hopefully I can keep it up.

I am a huge chocolate fan too and I admire everyone putting it back, I had smarties yesterday, they were smiling at me so I HAD to eat them. haha

sim081005
27-11-2009, 12:41
Cass I have just looked at that couch to 5km run & that is what I have been trying to do with no luck but now that I have a proper program I will give it a go.

Californication
28-11-2009, 13:52
Second Pilates session done and dusted. And I'm sore! She upped the ante yesterday and added in a heap more things for me. My abdominals are sore today though, and my calves.

Then we went to Busselton and walked all over town getting Christmas presents. But we got them all done and some extra exercise all at the same time :)