View Full Version : URGENT!! Is a line a line?

DreamBelieveAchieve
10-10-2009, 19:37
Asking for a friend..

2 different brands of tests... AF not due for 10 days... both tests had an extra line.. very faint but definatly there...

UTD or not?

aardvark
10-10-2009, 19:40
On a HPT, yes, a line is a line.

However if AF isn't due for 10 days then there should not be any implantation until 8 DPO, so no HCG to detect in urine, so it sounds like AF may have been due earlier than expected.

MumNeedsCoffee
10-10-2009, 19:54
yes, my test had a very very faint line

MothersMilk
10-10-2009, 19:58
Yes, in most cases a line is a line. Considering two different brands have shown a second line i would say your friend is pregnant :yes:

Opinionated
10-10-2009, 19:59
Yes a line is a line.

*raises eyebrow* I once told my mum the birth control pills in my underwear drawer were "for a friend":).

DreamBelieveAchieve
10-10-2009, 20:00
No seriously its for a friend! i promise! God i hope my eggo isnt preggo! :eek:

Opinionated
10-10-2009, 20:07
No seriously its for a friend! i promise! God i hope my eggo isnt preggo! :eek:

You are a crack up Tess.

h086
10-10-2009, 20:12
I would generally say yes but if AF isn't due for another 10 days, I don't know :confused:

moozle
10-10-2009, 20:20
In almost all cases but I read a post on here recently that stated that it is possible to get a false positive if you truely believe you are pregnant.. your body can produce HCG!! Crazy stuff!!! Don't quote me on this though.. I had no idea it was possible.

MumNeedsCoffee
10-10-2009, 20:33
In almost all cases but I read a post on here recently that stated that it is possible to get a false positive if you truely believe you are pregnant.. your body can produce HCG!! Crazy stuff!!! Don't quote me on this though.. I had no idea it was possible.

Hmmm hope I'm not scaring anyone but I know someone had a positive pregnancy test only to the result was because of a tumour (can't remember exactly where but I would assume ovary) and then started cancer treatment
Very very rare

Also found this on a website...
One common corrupting agent to the pregnancy test is exposure to soaps or detergents. These can cause a false positive result. Thus urine collection should be done carefully to avoid such exposure. Many tests simply have one urinate directly on the stick used to give results. If one must urinate into a cup, the cup should be very clean and presumably free of any leftover soap or detergent deposits.

and you can find false pregnancy on wikipedia which is what moozle described, some women even go through to false labour

Anyways sorry for confusing the issue

LolliLips
10-10-2009, 20:51
Yes a line is a line.

*raises eyebrow* I once told my mum the birth control pills in my underwear drawer were "for a friend":).

:wave:... time to fess up lol. It's me.

I took a HPT today as a joke with my sis as i said i had been peeing heaps. "haha lets buy a test, it'll be the first one i've ever done that came up negative..." DOH :eek:

My last AF finished 24th Sept. I have a regular cycle and can safely assume AF will arrive on the 20-22nd.

Here is the pic i took of the 2 tests.

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/5834/imgp3254m.jpg

My gosh skyby80 i have a horrible irrational fear of cancer and u've just scared the be-jesus outta me! :dizzy:

DreamBelieveAchieve
10-10-2009, 20:52
See Opinionated told you it wasnt me!!!! :p

MothersMilk
10-10-2009, 20:55
Now that i have seen the pics - that is a positive no doubt about it.
You are pregnant :D

beaniebabez
10-10-2009, 20:57
I have had 3 tests come up like that. I went to the DR and did another and he said its a positive. Congrats to you. :)

~Temet Nosce~
10-10-2009, 20:58
Could be twins.. or more.. resulting in higher HCG level..

DreamBelieveAchieve
10-10-2009, 21:02
OOOO TWINS!!!!!!!!! can i have one?!?!?!!?!?! (a girl please :laughing:)

LolliLips
10-10-2009, 21:08
Could be twins.. or more.. resulting in higher HCG level..

Twins actually runs in my family. My Mums Dad was a twin. I wonder if anyone else who had twins got an almost unbelievably early result on a HPT. :detective:

Calling all multi birth mums... HELP!! :laughing:

I may well be in the June thread. :yes: I'm not all that sure what to do now. Do i wait til the 20th and then go to the doc or do i go now and get a BT?

Last 2 bubs i tested 1 week after AF was due and the line was unmistakable.

MumNeedsCoffee
10-10-2009, 21:08
[QUOTE=Gillby;4144418

My gosh skyby80 i have a horrible irrational fear of cancer and u've just scared the be-jesus outta me! :dizzy:[/QUOTE]

Sorry, my bad. Did I mention it's very very rare. Or that she's ok now.
Hope I didn't spoil the fun

Congrats!!!!!! :smiliedance:

beaniebabez
10-10-2009, 21:09
I would go now to the DR if it was me.

moozle
10-10-2009, 21:47
I had a very early BFP from a HPT, it turns out I had 3 times the average amount of pregnancy hormone and explained why I was so sick!!

Congrats!

LolliLips
10-10-2009, 21:58
Thanks for all the congrats girls.

I think i'll head to the Doc first thing on Monday and get a BT done to be sure. No point waiting around if HPT's are coming up :bfp:

Symptoms so far : peeing like a race horse, queasy everyday at around 12:30 -1pm, have had a bigger appetite the last week and gained .5kgs because of it :thumbsdown: (yeah i know, lots more to gain now lol)

EDD: 25th June 2010 apparently.

Oh lordy i feel like this :smiliedance:/:crying:!!

beaniebabez
10-10-2009, 22:06
Looks like I will be seeing you in the June thread, Congrats again.
Whats your hubby say bout it?

LolliLips
10-10-2009, 22:53
He's pretty stoked.

I'm the one who's a bit freaked... 25 years old and i still feel like i have to answer to my parents! :laughing:

"Oh for god sake are you serious" (said in a VERY Scottish accent.) That'll be my mum after i get the Docs results back... bahaha

:goodvibes: :babydust2: i'll pop over to the June thread once my results are official. Kinda exciting butterflies in my tummy... or is that my dinner coming back up :laughing:

84zsazsa
10-10-2009, 23:40
:smiliedance: Woohoo!! Your kids are a good age to go again & one of each so :detective: interesting this time round!!

I have been making party stuff for a kiddie Bday all arvo & thought I would jump on for a quick look round...then opened this thread to exciting news like that...off to bed now with a :) for you...Congrats & good luck!! Will add...when reading the first page I too thought "a line is a line" as I remember a good friend saying that when I did mine & it looked the same as yours.

Danni

11-10-2009, 09:18
oh wow gillby congrats.. im thinking about your other thread in the conception issue... you were spot on...:yelclap:

yay..a baby on the way..so special :D

LolliLips
11-10-2009, 09:21
Thanks 84zsazsa :)

I took 1 more test i had this morning and that too had a faint line :yelclap:Feeling much more positive about it today after a nights sleep.

I have been blessed with one of each so far so i won't feel like i've missed out on experiencing one sex. Perhaps twins and i'll get 1 more of each... oh i might regret saying that! :footinmouth: :laughing:

Wish time would go quicker so i could get to the Docs!!! I would just like to say, i credit all those wonderful ladies who monthly hop on the TWW train. You have incredible dedication an patience! I just don't know how you do it! :babydust2:

Bronny i was thinking of you last night when i remembered my thread! I think i am WAY too in touch with my body!