View Full Version : When to HPT?
starlex
05-08-2005, 07:42 AM
I have really irregular cycles (30, 37, 47, 41, 27) and am currently on Day 33. We BD on Day 19 and 22 and i am hoping to be pregnant. I had headaches, spotty skin and constipated since Day 25, but no other symptoms. When is the earliest i could do a HPT?
Miss_Vicki
05-08-2005, 09:18 AM
genraly i thought u have to be Atleast 4 weeks preg for it to come up :)
ellymayone
05-08-2005, 10:38 AM
I think it just depends on what kind of test you buy and how
sensitive it is. I took a test with my son the day I was supposed
to start and it was a night so not even 1st morning urine and
it automatically came up + I didn't even have to wait.
Sandy
22-08-2005, 09:31 AM
I think its about 14 days after conception occurs. You have to wait for the fertilised egg to make its way down your fall. tube and then embedd itself in your uterus (6 days each). Then your body produces the HCG hormone which the tests picks up. Impossible before then with a HPT. Thats why too you sometimes get spotting in the early weeks of pregnancy. When the egg makes it home, it disturbs the lining, causing some bleeding.
starlex
22-08-2005, 11:20 AM
Well now i am on Day 50 and still no AF or BFP. I have done 4 HPT from about Day 35, the last one was on day 46. i wish i was pregnant, but if i am not then I wish af would just hurry up, so we can just get on with it. my last cycle was 27 days and the one before that was 47, so i guess i might just be having a long cycle. very frustrating! any advice appreciated :)
Sandy
22-08-2005, 11:28 AM
Wow Starlex, you're cycles are everywhere. I guess all you can do is wait. I have a friend who is 40 this year, cycles everywhere and she feel pregs after a few months trying so there is hope!
Just wait (I know it sucks) and when you hit 50days, and still no AF, then I'd try another HPT - a good expensive one. I use the cheap ones from Woolworths and they seem fine, but I reckon go a chemist one for this one. If you go over 50 days, that would be your longest cycle yet, so maybe......
I have heard that sometimes HPT will show a very very faint line if they even detect a tiny amount of HCG. Just remember to use your first morning pee. Fingers crossed for you!
22-08-2005, 11:50 AM
Hey Starlex,
Maybe you should go to the doctor for a blood test! 50 days is a long time!!! Good luck!
Since your cycles have been all over the place have you been to your doctor to talk about them, she might send you for a scan to see if there is a physical reason for it.....
kelbel
22-08-2005, 12:03 PM
Hi Starlex,
Im in the same boat as you. My cycle is about 55days this time. I've already been to the Dr and had a blood test which came back -ve. I'm considering going to the Obst. to get checked out. I already have 1 DS.
Just wanted to let you know that you're not alone. I too wish that AF would hurry up if i'm not preg.
Take care.
starlex
22-08-2005, 01:01 PM
Thanks for your support. Don't know why my cycles are everywhere, I am only 26 and have been off the pill for 10 months. I had an u/s about day 14 of this cycle because i had a pain near my left ovary, but it showed up clear. We are now ultra keen to get pregnant with #1 because my mother in law has been diagnosed with terminal cancer, and this would be her first grandchild. This diagnosis is only recent so i don't think the stress would have affected my cycle. The symptoms i had since day 25 have now gone (pimples, headaches) but this last week i have had increased wet mucous and sore/large breasts, so maybe af will come this week. I will do a test tomorrow (Day 51) and keep fingers crossed. Very frustrating having irregular cycles! Might buy maybe baby to check if o'ing. Can you just buy from chemist?
kelbel
28-08-2005, 08:25 PM
Hi Starlex,
I'm pretty sure that you can buy the MaybeBaby from a chemist. When i worked at the chemist we just ordered them in (overnight delivery). So depending on where you live you should be fine.
Goodluck
30-08-2005, 11:32 AM
Hi Starlex - have you heard anything?
starlex
31-08-2005, 07:05 AM
Day 58 and i think AF has finally arrived. I can't believe the first month of trying i had my longest cycle ever. I am really hoping next month is closer to 28 days and then i might have some chance of finding when i o. i guess i will see the dr and ask if there is anything can be done for my irregualr cycles.
31-08-2005, 01:59 PM
Holy Dooly! That is a long cycle!!! Are you impatient like me to?? I am 5 days off af being due and I am just hanging out for the week to end! And thats 5 days on a 28 day cycle - I am normally about 35 days!
Better luck next month.
I conceived in June using home ovulation kits - I picked a pack of 5 + 1 hpt up from Franklins for $20. Unfortunately it turned out to be ectopic and I had to have my lef tube removed - but hey, the kit worked right? I used the home ovulation kit again this month round - fingers crossed the baby moves down the tube this time!!!
Good luck and lots of sticky baby dust your way!!!
Maizie
01-09-2005, 07:58 AM
I am new to posting, been reading for a little while but! This site is so great for women ttc. We are ttc #2, have a beautiful 13 month old daughter. We had 1 miscarriage before her and 1 July this year. Have been charting for the past month, detected ovulation, bd and temps raised. Day 28 for me would be this Saturday. I have been testing since 7-10 days past ovulation, HPTN - has anyone had negative results on the early detection HPT's and then gone on to get a positive result later? Felt for sure my breasts enlarged, they were tingly, not sore and I can see faintly the veins which weren't visible before. Only other symptoms are tiredness, constipation and having heaps of dreams!?
Feeling really down cause I keep testing with negative results, was really hoping to conceive this month. Any thoughts??
Sandy
01-09-2005, 08:05 AM
Just wanted to say welcome Maizie. You'll find heaps of information and support on this forum. Alas though, I don't know about the HPT stuff, but what Ic an tell you is that the HCG hormone which the tests detect only starts to be released by our bodies when the embryo (sp??) is implanted into your uterus. This can take up to 14 days occur. Hence most tests cannot detect a pregnancy while the egg is still in your tubes. Hope that makes sense? So yes, you probably will test positive later if you are pregnant even if you test negative now.
Maizie
01-09-2005, 08:12 AM
Hi Sandy,
Thank you! I have to be patient - been trying to learn this skill for ages now and it still seems to escape me :rolleyes: I really wish I could just be one of those women that have no idea they are pregnant and find out they have conceived a couple of months into the pregnancy!
Sandy
01-09-2005, 08:24 AM
I hear you Maizie. I was like that with my first. I had no idea. I kept carrying pads around with me as I thought my period would come at any moment. I was feeling tired and off and we had to drive to Qld (from Canberra) for xmas with my family up there. I felt sick the whole way and being an avid cyclist, my DH couldn't understand why I couldn't climb climb those step hills in Brissie on my bike. He bought me all these vitamins to perk me up and wanted me to see a doctor as I was sooo tired. We got really worried. Maybe I had cancer sort of thing. Then when we got back to Canberra, on New Years Eve I thought that I had better take a pregnancy test as no period and the rest is history! I know have a 2year old toddler. It was a strange experience but this time round is proving so different. I have never known so much about my body. This is our first month TTC so I'm hoping it happens as easy as before but you just never know. All I can say is make the most of your free time while you still have it! And believe me, by the third trimester of pregnancy, the novelty would have worn off big time. And don't get me started on the birth and the nazi midwives who will have your head on a platter if you mention 'formula'. Its not all roses so live life now girl!!
Maizie
01-09-2005, 08:32 AM
He he - that's a great story! Hope you have no probs conceiving again this time :D I know it's not all easy - I had PND after my 1st bub, but I guess the memory fades a little as time goes on...but I am sure it will all come back as soon as the morning sickness kicks in next time :eek:
Sandy
01-09-2005, 08:43 AM
Thats exactly what has happened to my best friend who is 11weeks pregnant now. We had our girls together and she was adamant about having another whilst I have been unsure. Well, she was thrilled when she got pregnant first go 2nd time around and was all excited. Well, she came over for a cuppa on Sunday and was miserable with morning sickness and low blood pressure. She could only drink hot water. She admitted that she forgot how dreadful you can feel and if she lost this one through a m/c then no way was she having another cause just feels sooo sick. It was the first time since having decided to have another baby that I felt ok about not being pregnant!
Maizie
01-09-2005, 08:49 AM
Poor thing. We do forget when our focus shifts to actually wanting to be pregnant again. Thanks for that Sandy, now for today at least, I am going to make a consious effort to totally enjoy my non-pregnant state!!!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.