View Full Version : Yay its August, any day now

yeahagirl!
05-08-2005, 07:04 AM
Hey beautiful people,
I have had the most awesome morning just catching up with this site/thread, we have not had the internet for 5 weeks now, was driving me nuts!

Good to hear all about everyones pregnancies and to see lots of new people too :p i am armed with lots of good ideas now , especially the ones i can do on the couch like the letter to the little one , thats great.

As for me have my 39 week app today (due 12th) we were not quite engaged last week, still not sure even though having heaps of pressure down there (like been riding a horse dont you think?) dont have much room near the ribs and feeling very bruised there actually

going to visit someone in maternity today and am torn between wanting the real version or the sugar coated turn of events? its just so close now, am trying to protect my overactive mind.

lots of painful braxton hicks has got me feeling like its gonna happen any day, am feeling hopeful, have been heating up the wheat packs like 3times per night for my hips and been in tears plenty of times over the last week (the last time it was because hubby smelled and haddnt had a shower before he came to bed ! i am terrible, surely there are better ways to handle these situations but i just couldnt manage it)

am feeling like the queen of whinging (kinda like Vesna!! hehehe) so mad at myself for watching so much big brother (and in the beginning i said i wouldn't)
am SO SO ready like most of us are, and hubby is so so ready for a holiday he says hehe
well its been a great ride but im well and truly ready to get off it talk to you all soon , or see you on the other side (Wow imagine not being pregnant anymore what a bizarre thought!)

ok im done rambling for now, will get in as much as i can though now till she gets out if you all dont mind

how are you all doing this week? cant wait to hear about birth stories after too, hey do we keep posting here afterwards or does this thread stop pretty much after august?

Amy

MonMic
05-08-2005, 07:31 AM
Hiya,

Have you been at our place? I am exactly the same!
I hit the wall on the weekend and have really not been coping this last week as I am SOOOO over being pregnant and just want him out!

I too am 39W EDD 10.08.05, and have been having some very strong BH for the last few days, I am so desperate on a couple of occasions I thought here we go! but no luck.

I am going for a 20min walk each day and having lots of raspberry leaf tea to try and bring him on, so fingers crossed.

Poor DH has also had enough of me, we want more but he reckons he can't put up with the pregnancies, I keep telling him he has nothing to complain about as he gets of pretty easy, but it wasn't until one of the girls at work told him that he cut me a bit more slack! I can't complain as he has been really good for the last week taking care of our 2 year old whilst I went to bed.

Not being pregnant! wow what an idea I feel like I'm just going to be stuck this way forever. I can't wait just to be able to bend down again. We are all so close now.

Take care everyone!
Monica

05-08-2005, 08:15 AM
Wow...there are a few of us getting close now huh? I know i'm a bit different as i'm booked in for a caeser...but i can't wait. Next Thursday here i come!! :D

I have the same question as yeahagirl!, do we keep on posting here once our bubs are born or go to another thread? Maybe someone will start a new one for bubs BORN in august??? :confused:

I am actually looking forward to being in hospital for a few days, ahhhh, the peace!! You know what i mean! (DH has to look after little miss terrible 2yr old while i'm in there!!) :eek:

Anyway, keep on keeping on girls....not long now!!! Can't wait to se all the birth posts on here when i get out...

noniandlilysmum
05-08-2005, 09:22 AM
Well I am not actually due till the 22nd, but like most of you am getting plenty of braxton hicks... It seems the more raspberry leaf tea I have the stronger the braxton hicks are... The naturopath told me to drink it like it is water, It can't harm you... I am like, Ok... Another remedy to get things moving is a hot bath with lavender and clary sage (some don't like the smell of clary sage, I don't mind it), I will start to take it closer to my due date... I am also walking as much as I can tolerate it, but my ankles totally swell up, which is really weird... Sleeping is now the most uncomfortable thing, as much as I like it, somehow I end up on my back even though I start off on my side and wake up with pains in my tummy, I am trying to be more aware, but what do we know when we are asleep, I am dying to sleep on my belly again, I miss it sooo much... Still have not got that nesting instinct everyone else seems to be having, I am actually really tired come the afternoon, but can't seem to sleep nor find the energy to keep motivated, I am lucky to get dinner and the dishes done, Last night we just had spaghetti on toast... Anyway can't complain, just a couple more weeks and it will be all over... Yay...

I think it is a great idea starting a new thread of when we have our bubs, That would be really neat as each person has their baby, we post it on the thread of August bubs, kind of like a headline ha... READ ALL ABOUT IT, READ ALL ABOUT IT!!

Any way, my floors are calling me, they are in desperate need of attention, Hope to hear some birth stories soon, Take care all, and enjoy these precious last moments of pregnancy as once our bubs are out, Time just seems to disappear :p

P.s. Sorry if I offend anybody, but both hubby and I are hoping VESNA does not win, she drives us crazy!!! :eek: Not that I am a huge Big Brother fan...

zenifa
06-08-2005, 05:12 PM
I could relate to all of the posts in this thread. I have been lucky to feel pretty great throughout my pregnancy, but in the last couple of weeks (I'm 38 weeks today) I have been more uncomfortable and a little whingey at times.
Like Haana I really miss sleeping on my stomach and each time I lie on my side the baby seems to let me know she wants me to move or my hip hurts and then I end up on my back and my back hurts. I'm forever grunting when I turn over or try to move. I am looking forward to being able to put shoes/socks on (other than slip on shoes) on my own or without grunting like a little pig!!

DH Troy has been great with foot/back rubs, so I'm trying to keep my mood swings under control for his sake.
I hope that you all will still come to the August 2005 section and post threads with birth stories and news of how motherhood is going, as I'm looking forward hearing from you all. Only 10 days til my caesar....yeah I wonder if I will miss being pregnant.

Sorry don't watch big brother so can't comment on Vesna

Z

yeahagirl!
07-08-2005, 08:42 AM
Hey, ive bin reading the july section for some birth stories OMG!!
some really funny ways they have been trying to get labour going too :D

I have been feeling pretty desperate too Monica but am trying to talk myself into a more calm state, surely the stress of waiting and wanting cant do us any good, hubby says i just need to stop thinking! but how to do that?!

Am pretty excited for you girls having a ceasar at least u know when its happening. I do know that I wont go any later than the 22nd (10 days past as the induction has been booked).

went out for hot curry last night but only got a few braxton hicks as per usual. Have started on the rasberry leaf tablets as im so sick of the tea, the midwife said that she really can tell the difference between women who take rasberry leaf when they are in labour so get into it girls. and tried the sex thing too, midwife says is very good way to get things moving if your body is ready anyway, quite a task though, a bit of massage before hand helped.

went into see two women in maternity the other day and still didnt get to see a baby!! one was in special care and the other hadnt had hers yet, was hopeing to sniff the babies head apparantly can send you into labour (another one many :rolleyes: )

so what else, some of my other syptoms are (just to see how you all are on these areas) cant fit my rings on my fingers, cant clench my right fist for the first half of the day, having odd twinging shooting pains only lasting a few seconds in various areas, vagina, bottom and either side of lower belly.

okey chat soon , am going to read my book and go to the movies today, pity there is not really alot on at the moment is there! u guys seen anything good?

feet up if you can !

zenifa
07-08-2005, 08:48 PM
Yeahagirl - good luck with getting baby going. I hadn't heard about the smelling of the baby's head. I'm one of the mums to be having a caesar but I can certainly relate to some of the things you are experiencing- can't get my rings off my finger and have pins/needles in my hands esp when I try to clench into a fist and also lots of weird feelings down there, shooting pains in vagina, bottom and on both sides of my lower tummy, also my heartburn has come back with a vengence (it had been on hiatus for a few weeks) and I'm kind of sick of having to go to the loo every hour regardless of my fluid intake.
I've been seeing a few films at the film festival this week but you are right, there isn't much out at the moment worth seeing. I saw 'monster in law' with a friend this week which was okay, good for a giggle - it might take your mind off things for a bit.
Good luck with everything, hopefully baby will come soon and you wont' need to be induced. Off to put my feet up Z

yeahagirl!
08-08-2005, 12:43 PM
Thanks Z ended up seein The Island which was good, i cried in a few parts and there was a kind of disturbing part concerning a mum and a baby, just to warn any of you going to see it. I must admit am pretty excited that sex and the city is starting back tonight (even if is reruns)

I am looking forward to being in hospital too actually, i have always liked the idea of food being brought to you and visitors with pressies cant wait! Am sure it will all be a bit surreal having our babies next to us instead of inside us, cant wait to see this little person who kicks me so hard :p

well still need to do a few things, am going out to buy a cd player so can have in the labour room, apparantly they used to supply them until people started stealing them :eek: how rude

got so cranky at hubby last night when he got up in the middle of the night and i said i was so hungry and he replied " dont worry about food right now" i was furious , i can see funny side now but i was thinking sure you dont have to worry do you! Please girls humour me with some funny or not so funny moments with your partners/family/friends when youve bin angry or frustrated with them...

zenifa
10-08-2005, 08:44 AM
Yeahagirl - thanks for the tip re: The Island, we're hoping to see it if we get time before bub arrives.
I've had (what I think are) braxton hicks the last few days - which vary from uncomfortable to downright painful, so this has just further intensified my raging hormones and moodswings (poor DH! :( )

Like you there is part of me that is looking forward to going to hospital and finally meeting this person that has been inside of me all these months (& kicking really hard all the time!) - plus the food, visitors and pressies is definately a bonus!! I'm trying not to think about how nervous I'll be before my caesar or the pain/discomfort afterwards and sleep deprivation, baby blues, breastfeeding etc

Also I've got a few things to do - thought I might get some more nursing/maternity bras (I've got 2 but think I may need more) plus I've got a friend having a baby a few weeks after me, so I may go shopping for a nice pressie for them.

My hubby has worked out a way to stop some of my crankiness and you may be able to suggest this to your other half - a back or foot rub, it seems to do the trick for us. It takes my mind off whatever has been annoying me and it gives him something to do, as often DH doesn't feel he can do anything to ease how uncomfortable I'm feeling at the moment. Its interesting also to read the other thread about other august mums wanting their babies out, we are kind of the opposite - I don't want my baby to come early, as my obs is away and we're kind of organised for next week!! This means I'm a bit more moody with BH and kind of freaking of an early labour - seeing obs tomorrow so that will hopefully reassure me. Sorry for the ramble, baby brain is limiting my ability to remember any funny stories for you, but will keep trying Z :p

yeahagirl!
13-08-2005, 05:14 PM
so exciting to think some of you have now had your babies yay!

i am now offically 1 day overdue, 3/5 engaged and bub has been the right way around all along and has now decided to turn posterier hmmmm, so am on my hands and knees as much as poss trying to turn her around, my pelvis feels like its going to break!

have taken to asking for the massage ect from hubby Z and it does help, i was always waiting for him to offer :p
midwife said after a few days of waiting to bombard my body all at once with the clary sage, hot curry, walking and sex- she said it will often work once you are already overdue,will let you know how it goes.
if i still havnt gone into labour by friday they will do a strip and stretch :eek: sounds painful.
there are still things i could do and clean but i have lost interest and feeling very introverted, just doing alot of thinking and reflecting.

good luck to you all

doesnt it rile you up when people tell you "just enjoy these last moments" rrrrr i can see where they might be coming from but seriously there is nothing enjoyable about feeling like this at the moment, weve DONE the enjoying pregnancy part!

noniandlilysmum
14-08-2005, 08:15 PM
Hi there all... Well with only 8 days to go I am getting very nervous, especially as I am getting so many comments from people about how big I am... I am not usually a very big person but have put on 17kgs since being pregnant, most people are telling me it is all in my belly, I just can't imagine my belly being a whole 17kgs... Anyway just curious to know if you were told you were huge only to have a 7-8 pound baby, no offence, but I think between 7 and 8 pound is average... My first baby was a girl 7 pounds 6 ounces, and my second was 7 pounds 11 ounces, also a girl... My friend had a baby a month ago, she weighed in at 10 pounds 5 ounces... Did not wish to be her... I think any bigger than 9 pound is too big for mel... I think I would like him to come out now... have done everything over the last couple of days to try and bring him on but he is just not budging, I guess he is just not ready yet???

Wishful thinking??? :rolleyes:

Mumma_Duck
15-08-2005, 12:58 AM
Hi there..

I'm new to bubhub, I only found out about this website a couple of weeks ago and tried to post a thread a few days ago, but its still all new to me and I wonder if I'm doing all this right. Thought i might give it another go.

This will be my second, I already have a little girl, she'll be 5 in October, it seems like it was so long ago that i was last pregnant. Well i too am due in August, the 25th, anyday now though, hopefully sooner. It's getting so darn uncomfortable, pains and twinges all over, fingers and ankles swelling, my husband and I made up a name for the swelling of ankles, we call them swankles!

I still get heartburn and it's disturbing my sleep as well as getting up every hour or two to pee which is painful sometimes, due to the bubbas head pressing on my bladder. Even while I'm out and about he manages to twinge something in my lower ab area which makes me freak, so i try and rush home 'just in case'. I'm so scared that my waters will break in public and I'm on my own. If i really need to go out somewhere I try to organise someone to come with me. With my last pregnancy my waters didnt break till I was well into labour and i was already under the effects of the epidural, so I dont quite know what or how waters breaking feels like. Guess i'll be in for a shock!

I'm also starting to get really nervous and a little scared as the date gets closer as I know what to expect, I had a long labour with my last. At first I was told that my baby might be a little big, but when I went to the 36 week check up with the doctor he said that it would be average (whatever that is). My first born weighed 2.815 Kgs. At first I thought that this baby would be around the same till i read somewhere that second babies and boy babies are usually bigger. Well no hope for me then since this is my second baby and he is a boy!

My hubby and I are ready for our bub to make his entrance to this world (me especially). I have read in other posts about natural remedies that may help things along, like raspberry leaf tea? and clary sage oil? i dont know much about them but i would like to try. Is there anything else that i could try also?

To 'noniandlilysmum', don't worry too much about other peoples comments, every woman is different and every pregnant woman is beautiful. I too have had comments and have taken some of them to heart, but realise now that they're not worth me being worried and upset about.

Well I hope I haven't ranted/whinged too much, or bored anyone. Good luck to everyone and I hope you all are keeping well. Take Care.

yeahagirl!
15-08-2005, 07:24 AM
Hi baby duck,
everyone should feel very welcome to rant and rave away as much as they can i think, makes me feel like im not the last pregnant woman around the place, am sure everyone else feels the same

i am 3 days overdue now (with my first bubba) and have been doing lots of reading on the net about natural remedies for bringing on labour, nothing working as yet but am going to give everything i can a good go today :p

noniandlilysmum- i have put on about the same as you and people say the same thing,people dont really know what they r talking about its just like the thing that you say to pregnant women

well here goes another day then

COME ON ! :D

newmum2be
15-08-2005, 07:45 AM
I'm another who hasn't really posted on here but I am due today and as I'm showing no signs of action getting a bit frustrated (although I know I shouldn't be as its terribly normal).
On advice from here I got some clary-sage oil but was a tad freaked out by it because there seems to be lots of stuff recommending it not be used during pregnancy (although I think thats because of the inducing labour aspect of it) I put some on a tissue in my pillow case last night and as I could smell it quite readily I had the odd panic "what if this upsets the baby?" - gawd you tend to become so paranoid when you're pregnant - don't you?

Anyway have my 40 week check today - and hopefully will be back there before the week is over.

zenifa
15-08-2005, 09:03 AM
To Yeahagirl and newmum2be - wishing you both some positive progress towards labour today - hang in there, not long now!!
Haana - my experience has been the opposite of yours, I've put on about 15kg and its my 1st preg and most likely to be a girl. People's comments to me are about how small I am ( I don't look or feel small at all and the ob says baby is a good size, whatever that means!!), like I'm not eating enough or doing something right for this baby!?!
Also like yeahagirl, I'm a bit over everyone saying "enjoy your last days of being child free" etc, I've done all the nesting and preparations, gone out, seen family/friends/concerts/movies, been to restaurants and spent quality time with hubby - but as my c/s is tomorrow, not sure what to do today - rest I guess.
Starting to feel nervous about tomorrow, but I feel lucky as I guess I know when I will see my baby and don't have to worry about trying to bring on the labour!!! (funny, hubby is worried that sex will bring the baby on earlier, doesn't stop them though does it!!)
Anyway take care everyone!! good luck with your upcoming births and will let you know how I get on!! Zenifa

Luvmyfam
15-08-2005, 12:50 PM

Well I am now 2 days over. Am starting to feel really heavy in the pelvis and I have had slight back aches and cramps. Last night I thought it was action stations but it went away. I have heard that some pre-labour symptoms are similar to period pain type cramping and PMS. Anyone else heard or read the same?

On the weight issue, I have been told in the same day that "my god your big" and "my god your small". I think I have gained about 15-18kgs. Don't weigh myself too often. So I think people will say whatever they think you want to hear or similar. Healthy bubs is what we want.

I so know the frustrating feeling. They will exit when ready, but gee i wish they would hurry up! I am also so over the "enjoy while you can" comment. It really isn't easy being this pregnant.
And to all the bubbas that are overdue, come on you little tykes we want to meet you!
Zenifa- Hope your day tomorrow is wonderful! All the best and enjoy meeting your beautiful bub!!

newmum2be
15-08-2005, 04:16 PM
Mumofmash

Like you all I've experienced so far feels a bit like period pain and cramps - but also like you it tends to go away after a while which is very frustrating. Not sure how long they can go on for but I suspect quite a while.

yeahagirl!
16-08-2005, 08:18 AM
sending happy thoughts to Zenifa today (shes prob already in hospital)
so wonderful to hear as each new bub comes into this world

hi newmumtobe getting hard isnt it. well least theres a few of us waiting. i got the clary sage oil too and was a bit worried but did alot of searching on the net and am satisfied, especially now being overdue, the only reason why they say dont use during preg is as it might cause early labour. so i have used for the first time yesterday in bath and rubbed into tummy with carrier oil. but as you can see still waiting so who knows.

mumofmash i feel so heavy in pelvis too, so painful just moving at present, am sure she has dropped down more since they last checked on friday, everythings feels and looks different (more space between boobs and tummy). and have to go to bathroom way more(if thats at all possible, i maze well just sit there most of the time).

Also is my last day on my own, my hubby was going to take holidays from whenever i went into labour but he has decided to leave as of tomorrow woo hoo so we can walk, walk , walk together.. am so glad really feeling housebound as cant drive at the moment..

heres for a bit of raunchy information that you may or may not beleive im still very dubious, after reading stuff on the internet about sex and other things to do to help bring on natural labour, there was quite a few sites saying that the male prostaglandins in sperm which you have all prob heard can help soften and ripen the cervix during labour (is also what the gel stuff is, but from pigs would you beleive) actually work better if digested through the gut ( ie oral sex) ! hmmm now although this was on quite a few midwifery sites, it does sound like a male came up with it hehehehe
anybody else heard this?

noniandlilysmum
16-08-2005, 09:28 AM
I too have heard this, although personally would rather take castor oil... I have also heard evening primrose capsules pushed high up into the vagina can help rather than taking orally... Who knows???

I don't have any sign/s that this little man is ready to meet us as yet... I am so over it, like all of you, I enjoy being pregnant, but am all organised now, just waiting for the baby... Wierd, it is as if I am bored, but not...

Trying to clean today as yesterday was a holiday for the show, and so is tomorrow, and today is the only day I have to myself until next monday, which is the day I am due... So I guess I am really quite busy in actual fact...

Anyway, hope you are all well and have some good news to share soon... :)

Luvmyfam
16-08-2005, 02:26 PM
yes yeahagirl I have heard about the prostoglandin thing. Only my partner told me and I was like yeah whatever. Did my own research but didn't tell him I found out about it. hehehe.

newmum2be
16-08-2005, 09:33 PM
Well I think oral sex would be a lot easier to manage at present but I find it hard to believe it wouldn't be destroyed by stomach - and its not really getting to the cervix there.

I thought I was all action stations last night - have had bloody show and had quite full on contractions coming 8-10 minutes apart - but when I got up and did some cleaning they went away- oh well hopefully not too long now.

noniandlilysmum
20-08-2005, 08:52 AM
Well just to let you all know I am still here waiting, due on monday... No sign of him coming yet, so more than likely to go overdue... Not too worried, just excited... How is everyone else going??? I guess you would all be very busy at the moment with little time to spend on the net... Well Hopefully I am not too far away with bub, am getting a little bored in a sense and curious to meet my little man... Take care all, Haana :p

our little treasures
20-08-2005, 10:51 PM
Hi all you august mums to be.
I thought I would put a post in as my little man was over 2 weeks due and I ended up having him in august he was due 22nd july - 26th july but ended up coming on 7th july naturally and no drugs- I think this is great considering the little man was 9pnd 14ounces. I by the way tryed everything in the end to get him out and had very painful braxton hicks which is suppose to make it easier and quicker. 19 hr labour and still painful he he he. Well sorry if I scared you. We are happy he is here he is so placid compared to his sis. Well good luck and I hope you meet your little cherubs sooner rather than later.

LOVING wife and mummy to
Mark 30
Atahlia Shilo 30/01/2004
Our new addition Daylan Mark 07/08/2005