View Full Version : Bub's 1st b'day what did u do?

Kaileysmum
12-07-2006, 13:42
Hey

My dd is going to be one in a couple of months, and I don't know what I'm going to do for her b'day, I want to know what I'm going to do early so I can put money away for it.......So I need ideas.

What did you do OR are going to do for your child's first b'day???

Or any ideas?

gidgeroo
12-07-2006, 13:47
With DS1 we had an afternoon tea with family and friends (about 25 people adults & kids). I made a decorated cake which was fairly easy and the kids loved it. he was too young for a theme so we kept it simple and just made sure there were some games for the older kids (pass the parcel) and lolly bags at the end.

Another thing we've done is a sausage sizzle party which was really easy to organise and meant the DH did the cooking outside!! All I needed to do was make the cake, salads etc.

And don't miss any opportunities for people to bring things - people often offer to bring desert or a dips/cheese platter - take them up on it. You could do the same for them in due time.

Mumshmum
12-07-2006, 13:49
We had a sausage sizzle with all our family and friends. We had it at the in-laws place, which has a huge yard, and we set up picnic rugs and chairs etc. I made a number 1 cake and that was it. It wasn't anything flash, but the kid's don't remember. They just have the photos of all the people who loved them sharing their first birthday!

Briannabear
12-07-2006, 14:03
For our DD's first b'day we had a party with family and close friends.
Lots of child friendly finger foods (ribbon sandwiches, fruit skewers, jelly cups, biscuits etc) and of course a b'day cake!
It was great fun!

~Emmylou~
12-07-2006, 14:07
We had a bbq at home with about 15 close family - we live in a townhouse so it was a full house!

I dont' think it's necessary to do a big party, they don't have idea what's going on yet and they're happy just to have some people visit and some cake :) But go all out if you want to!

*Chels*
12-07-2006, 14:13
im wondering the same thing.
im just going to have a bbq with family and friends.all rileys friends are his age so they wont know whats going on lol!!
i will get a cool cake tho.i was gonna make one,but i suck:laughing:

~Danni~
12-07-2006, 14:15
our family dosen't often do parties (I plan to change that:p )

so for DD's 1st birthday we are doing a BBQ type thing with some party food, we are also having our baby shower at the same time cos they will be pretty close (and DD won't know she had to share her day:rolleyes: )

It will be more of a family get together than a huge party:D

Mrs Little
12-07-2006, 14:28
We are having a dedication for our DS on the same afternoon as his Birthday Party. It's just an afternoon tea thing.

I agree with everyone else.... they are so young, that they don't understand anyways.

We don't have many chn. coming, so we're not having games. But i have enjoyed arranging this party, making it as childish as possible.

We are having a balloon theme. So we will have lots of balloons around the place( not a good idea if there will be lots of little ones at the party- but we don't have any family or friends with babies). I made an invite that was a balloon shape and got my DS to draw on the back of each envelop with crayons. I made the invite as if it was from him.

We will have a balloon birthday cake (i'm trying to figure out how to make one).

We will have his dedication in the backyard- small 30 min service. Followed by cutting the cake and then arvo tea. We might open presents towards the end, depending on how DS is doing.

Simple yet enjoyable !

Mrs Little & Son.

cjb/jbvd
12-07-2006, 15:19
we don't have any family close enough to have a party, and i don't have any close friends in the area either.

since i work full time, i'm taking the day off (which where i work is a pretty big deal) and taking ds to the zoo or the aquarium as he loves fish and animals. i'll buy him his favourite flavour giant cupcake that he can have all to himself and make as much mess as he likes and put a candle in it and sing happy birthday to him.

i'll make as much of a fuss over him as i want, cuddle him all day, and let him sleep with me all day when he has naps.

and that's about as much as i can do for him....

of course, his weekly playgroup will play games, put on party hats and do the happy birthday thing and i will go to that too but that's more for the other kids benefit. his actual birthday will just be me and him.

sunshine girls
12-07-2006, 15:26
We had a party with close friends and family and i asked everyone to bring a baby pic of themselves and we had a guessing comp.....the black and white ones were a dead giveaway for the old farts but it was fun!

dannii
13-07-2006, 09:12
ive been thinking about the same thing and my DD has only just turned 7 months lol!

with my first 2 i just had family party/bbq at home and just had food and bday cake etc . they really didnt understand the whole birthday thing, think they just enjoyed all the people & family around and present wrappings haha

13-07-2006, 10:42
Yeah we kept it simple with the older 2 - just a family get together.
It is a milestone reaching a year old I believe so I like to celebrate.
Our baby is 8mths and I have been thinking about what to do.
My mother is turning 50 a week after bub's birthday so it would be nice to have a great combined hoohah!

gidgeroo
13-07-2006, 15:22
We will have a balloon birthday cake (i'm trying to figure out how to make one).

Hi Mrs Little
I made a balloon cake for DS1's 2nd b'day. I made a bunch of cupcake sized cakes and then heaps of different coloured butter frosting. I frosted each little cake in a different colour and piled them all on top of each other so you could see all the layers (I made around 12 but you could do as many as you like) Once they were all in place I cut up pieces of coloured ribbons and lay them under some of the cupcake balloons so that it looked like a bunch of balloons. I tied the ends of all the ribbons together in a little bow. It was really effective and meant I didn't have to worry about cutting a cake.
hope that helps.
Georgia

suemp
13-07-2006, 15:35
we had a bbq at the local park. we chucked ds in a walker and let him go crazy on cake.

Kooy
13-07-2006, 15:48
I'm planning on going to a local park with a BBQ area and doing a morning/lunchtime thing. Snack foods etc. But after reading this thread.. I like the idea of a sausage sizzle!

We'll invite most of our friends and family etc. It's not often we all get together - so any excuse is good for me!

I can't wait till he's older cause I want to do the whole farm animals petting zoo etc!!!

I'll probably make the cake... :chef: but am having difficulty deciding what to make!
Maybe a number one ... or I do like the train idea too!

Good luck with your planning!

13-07-2006, 16:20
For there first birthdays we've done BBQ lunch on the sunday closest to there birthday with all our family and friends. MASSIVE amount of people each time but very easy with a BBQ. Bubs sleeps through most of it tho!