ontheway
08-10-2009, 08:46
How is everyone going? What's your bub's favorites-
Ds are-
Melon and Banana
Avocado and pumpkin
Avocado and apple
Avocado and banana
I'm making a food diary for hubby to use when i go back to work if anyone is interested...
http://foodforgwen.blogspot.com/
she's 10 months now but the basics section might come in handy...
Kian loves pear and carrot...
Spinach was a huge FAIL! You should have seen the faces... Ha ha ha ha...
kobi'smama
11-10-2009, 20:12
Ds is loving sweetcorn at the moment.
Favs are
Zucchini, squash & sweetcorn
Brocoli, sweet potato & Carrot
And Apple, Pear & Farex & EBM or banana, farex & EBM for breakki
The past few days I have started to slowly introduce tiny amount of grated cheese melted in his vegies.
Is loving it!
KeithCheggers
11-10-2009, 20:33
DS has now been on solids for almost 2 weeks with breastfeeding still and there has been a big change in his sleeping habits... as in he's making a habit of having a decent sleep. I'm pretty convinced it's due to the introduction of food - now I have no excuse to not start a Spring Clean!!!
He loves apple, pumpkin, carrot and banana but we havent found one food he won't eat yet (very early days though I know) and there are just some he will wolf down!
Tried Banana and Formula... can't inhale it quickly enough!
Also loving sweet potato with pear or carrot or pumpkin.
I cook and puree all my own and freeze them in trays then put them into ziplock bags and I just choose different combos for him. Still need to introduce the spinach again but I'm sure it will be fine once I combine it.
Did some pea and potato today but he hasn't tried it yet. Cause he was a piggy earlier and didn't want anything else but his milk tonight.
Mummy2R&K
11-10-2009, 21:57
Haven't tried much with DD yet, she's coming up to 5.5months.
She loves her RG cereal with a bit pear puree mixed in. I got a bag of apples today and did those :D so got enough to last a month now i think.
Tried her with abit of my banana, had a few teaspoons.
She likes pumpkin, and I did some sweet potato tonight, but put a bit of cereal in with it and it was nicer then.
Can't wait to start yogurt :goodvibes: that was and still is DS's fav food.
With spinach, do you buy your own or use the frozen stuff from the supermarket?? Do you just steam it then puree it?
I haven't started Cassie yet. Just want to know what age you started your babies? she watches me eat but i would like to wait until she is around 6 months if possible. i have tested to see what she does with a spoon... she isn't ready for that yet! she still pushes it away with her tongue. Also bfing mums, what do you mix rice cereal with?
We haven't started yet either, but are planning to at 5 months. DS is just so big and BFing round the clock and is so ready for more.
What foods made your bubs constipated? I want to avoid them at first cause DS is predisposed to a bit of constipation. Particularly vegies, I know a lot of fruit are pretty easily digested but I dont want to only be giving him fruit.
I started DS on farex at 4 months and mixed it with EBM. Then once we started fruit, I mixed that in with the farex and substituted the EBM for cooled boiled water.
As for constipation - I think potatoes were an issue for DS, so I reduced the amount of potato in his meals compared to the other foods. I've been making my own as well and making meals out of different cube combos :-)
We've tried banana and avocado without much success and beans caused a reaction. I'm going to try avo with vegies tomorrow as avo / banana and avo on it's own caused DS to gag and puke :confused: Banana with anything has been a no go. Most other foods we've tried have been okay though!
Apparently banana is one of the worst fodds for constipation a friend said to me the other day. Her CHN told her that. I guess iron rich foods like spinach could also be a problem. But basically most fruit and veg are high in fibre.
As for the spinach I bought fresh baby spinach leaves and cooked them myself before pureeing them with a bit of water.
Lozie - Kian has really only been really interested in the last week or two. I tried him on and off from about 4 months because he was so interested in our food and was showing the other signs, but it's only now that he's really keen. He turned 5 months on Friday. He would make faces and push the food out and gag, so I'd leave it for a few days and go back and try again. I started with one food at a time, once a day but now combine different veggies and fruit. He has 2 lots each day usually. I never used a lot of the cereal cause he just didn't like it much.
Mummy2R&K
12-10-2009, 11:44
Apparently banana is one of the worst fodds for constipation a friend said to me the other day.
I found with my experience with bananas from DS was to wait until they were VERY ripe, ie, skin going brown, and it reduces the chance of constipation. DS never really got it, so maybe that was why?
Thanks for the tip on spinach.....I've always wondered what other 'green' vegetable to put in the mix, so will try that with DD :thumbsup:
kobi'smama
12-10-2009, 16:06
We also started DS on Farex with EBM at about 3.5 months.
Also a heads up, we were at CHN last week and she asked if DS ate a lot of yellow/orange vegies i said yes & she said she could see it in his skin (meanwhile i couldnt but anyway) so she said to introduce other colours. He already had brocoli and zucchini but have since added couliflower and squash (although yellow..)
Tried to do beans but my hand blender couldnt blend them will have to buy a food processor.
Going to try avo soon.
There isnt many vegies that arent yellow or orange - The only thing i have found he wont eat was plain potato.
Here is a list of what he is having at the moment, any ideas on what other vegies of different colours i can add:
Sweet Potato
Carrot
Pumpkin
Sweet corn
zucchini
squash
brocoli
couliflower
Also a tip, we were at a stage where DS refused to eat my vegies as we had a few days out where he had RF pouches which always have a fruit in with the vegies. I perservered as i didnt want him to only want the sweet & weened him off the sweet by adding sweet corn in the vegies. Was really yummy!
The sooper nanny
12-10-2009, 19:13
Katelyn has been having farex for a while, not so keen but I added some apple today... she LOVED it... she was begging and cooing for more. Im looking forward to trying her with different things. She seems so grown up now. It all happens so fast!!
Sheer Bliss
12-10-2009, 19:35
We haven't started yet....going to go down the baby led weaning path, so waiting for bubs to show more signs of being able to hold thier food and eat it. Just read the bit about banana causing constipation? Mix it with pear, and you have the perfect balance. Too much pear on it's own can cause runny poo, so when you mix the 2 the sort-of cancel each other out. DS1 also LOVED the combination.
kobi'smamma - DS has also had turnip and swede and liked them (mummy soooo didn't though - ha ha). We were going to try peas this week. How about asparagus?
I've got some peas with potato ready to go but haven't tried it yet.
Thanks for the paear and banana tip charlis mum. I haven't given him any banana today at all, just vegies but he's still constipated. Going to have to have a go with some prunes pureed in I think.
Anyone tried brussel sprouts or cabbage???
Pears and Pear juice are great to help constipation in bubs.
If that helps any one.
I have jsut started my boy, he is on rice cereal and pears, at the moment. And I mix the cereal with cooled boiled water.
It seems to be well received. And he is sleeping better at night, so it must be keeping him happier.
Is anyone finding some of the food you make REEEEALLY yum?? I nearly had to fight DS for his lunch today - pureed chicken and pumpkin with a small handful of grated cheese. It tasted really good :laughing: I also find when I give him pumpkin that I always wish I had made pumpkin soup for dinner...
The one good thing about today's lunch was that I had chicken and steamed pumpkin for dinner last night and made that little bit extra for DS. It will be heaps easier when we can do this all the time - oh well, baby steps. Back to the kitchen I go to continue with the chopping, peeling, steaming and pureeing :D
Ok so I boiled a few prunes in a bit of water today and pureed them to add little bits to his food to help with the constipation. Banana with prune, HUGE hit!
Fingers crossed seems to be helping.
Tried a couple of the Heinz Organics (just for when we're out and about) The pear with apricot...LOVED it. The pumpkin with wild rice (I think smells and tastes awesome) not so keen!
Hi ladies, is there a maximum amount of Farex you should be giving bub per day? :wave:
IIRC you were supposed to build up to 2-3 tablespoons per feed. Once you're at that stage move on to veggies, then fruit.
TBH we didn't do too much of the cereal cause he hated it. But he absolutely adores fruit and veggies.
Thanks Ushas do you keep going with the amount of Farex as you introduce vegies or stop Farex?
we did organic rice cereal from about 4 months - but J wasn't too keen, so i built him up in to solids.
trying to go more down the baby led weaning path - but still do purees (but more of a mash then puree, so there are chunky bits - obviously not too chunky)
we have tried (for BLW)
- watermelon
- honeydew
- banana
- toast with puree spread (only a TINY piece)
for purees/mashes
- banana and apple
- sweet potato and carrot
- potato and zucchini
- pumpkin, peas and brocolli
I always offer a bottle of water with each solid meal (he currently has breakfast and lunch) and try and get him to drink at least 50ml - but he is FF - this helps with any constipation (i think ;) )
Lilahh - I think you'll find that once you're on the veggies you won't need the Farex anymore. You can start the veggies by mixing the Farex with other things.
Yes I'm trying to encourage Kian to drink more water, especially now that the weather is warming up, but yeah I'm sure it helps with the constipation too!
We are still really starting on solids. We have been using RG and they are a hit with DS. I made some steamed then mashed pumpkin and sweet potato. Going to start him on pumpkin tomorrow.
So far he has dried:
Potato (he gagged a bit until I added some RG rice cereal)
banana (only a little taste not even a spoon full - liked it)
RG apple, pear & cinnamon (loves loves loves this)
RG spinach, pea, apple & broccoli (he likes it - pulled some funny faces at first)
RG sweet potato, carrot & apple (He loved the flavour but it gave him severe belly pain/wind)
Organic rice cereal ( he didn't really like it)
RG organic rice cereal (loves it!)
Will cut down on the RG now that I have had a chance to make some food for him, don't want him getting too hooked on sweet foods. Tomorrow I will start him on Pumpkin for a few days. After that I will try sweet potato.
What I am planing on trying him on once he's 6+ months (can't wait) RG multigrain breakfast, banana & apricot cereal (my friends bub LOVED it) and yoghurt.
How many meals in a row do you keep your babies food the same for?
Kuddles - if I try something new for DS I give it to him in the morning or for lunch for 3 days to watch for reactions or intolerances. Then after that I change to a new food.
Thanks Bella. I thought I read somewhere to do that but I couldn't remember where. :) That was my plan.
Hi ladies for those taking the puree/mashed route to start with, how many tablespoons are your bubs having per meal? Im wanting to do a whole batch up and get a rough idea of how much to make in one go/how long it will last as DS has really just started on one meal.
Lilahh - what I do is make up a puree of each individual veg/meat and then freeze them in freezer trays. I then put them into ziplock bags and label them. Last as long as you need them really. Then I just pull out cubes, defrost and mix and match as I want. Kian will easily eat 3-4 cubes of different things. So about 3-4 tablespoons I guess.
angelsofmine
06-11-2009, 11:34
Nate is now eating 3 meals a day but he is oin very bland food due to allergies and of course no dairy at all. we introduce new stuff over 5 days.....
He has tried
farex
pear (cant have)
banana
apple
potatoe
swt potatoe
carrot (not fussed on this yet)
pumpkin (he loves this)
rockmelon (hates)
he tries to steal our toast...well anything we try to eat and loves meal times with us all..... And being already 10 kilos he needs the food otherwise he would drink all day..... am thinking when i see his pead next monday that we may try chicken next
we tried a spoonful of pasta the other day and he has been ill ever since so its out for a while now......
GoldLeader
06-11-2009, 12:57
Lilahh - what I do is make up a puree of each individual veg/meat and then freeze them in freezer trays. I then put them into ziplock bags and label them. Last as long as you need them really. Then I just pull out cubes, defrost and mix and match as I want. Kian will easily eat 3-4 cubes of different things. So about 3-4 tablespoons I guess.
:iagree:
I cook, puree and freeze in ice cube trays as well. I label the ziplock bag with the date and what is inside, then just remove 4 cubes (3 - 4 tablespoons) at each meal to defrost and heat. I cook a pot of vegies and a pot of fruit each weekend and that lasts the week.