View Full Version : March 09 Mummies October Chat!
Morning girls,
I figured if I started an October chat that people might post in it:p. Ahh it's been a quiet few days on the hub.
I'm feeling pretty down in the dumps the last few days, I can't put my finger on a reason why either which is pretty frustrating in itself.
Nothing much new here, I'm off to get my last 2 wisdom teeth ripped out this morning. I don't mind the dentist part, it's just the recovery part that I'm not looking forward to! This past 7-10 days I've been able to eat normally from last time, so I think it'll be a few weeks again until I can eat properly so I made the most of yesterday and had steak and salad for dinner, a bag of chips after dinner and a block of chocolate on the way home from the shops yesterday:o.
Most of you have probably noticed on FB that Indie went for her first bike ride the other day. She seemed to like it and I think she looked pretty cute in her helmet. I have to do some adjustments on it because even on it's smallest setting its still seeming a bit loose, so I'll try popping a hat on under it.
A big hello to all the girls who haven't posted in a while, I know I will miss heaps of people if I start listing names, but I'm thinking of you all and often wonder how you and your bubs are doing.
Hope everyone is well:sunshine:
Hello everyone, hope you're all well. I haven't posted in a while, the weeks seem to fly by and was home alone last weekend as DH was in Perth so Will kept me very busy.
Not sure if I've even posted since William got his first tooth :confused: It was over a week ago now, he's very proud of it and shows it off if you ask to see it, he also has to poke his tongue out at the same time. I'm pretty sure the other bottom tooth is going to cut fairly soon too.
We've had a few early starts the last few mornings but this morning slept until 7am which was bliss. Will is now on 3 meals a day, he's such a piggy. He had his 6 month shots on Thursday, they weighed and measured him and he's now 9.3kg and 70cm, chubby bubby.
Me - Good on you for eating the choc, chips etc. I would make the most of it before the teeth are pulled. Hope it goes ok and you recover quickly.
:wave: to all the other March mummies, hope you're all well. Right better go make more purees....
Jess I have been a bit the same, just a bit blah. It is almost like now F has started to sleep and settle down I am realising just how shattered I have been for the last 7 months. Also starting to think about going back to work next year and am feeling very unsure about what to do.
Good luck at the dentist, I hate the dentist so much I just don't go.... I'm sure it will come back to bite me, sorry, lame joke alert :laughing:
Sahara is looking pretty cute on her bike ride!
Pippa F hides his teeth, it is a real struggle to get a look at them (bottom middle two) and they are so cute!
So far I am loving daylight savings - 5am has turned into 6am! Sorry Qld girls.
I think we have cracked the sleeping thing at night - has been almost 4 wks of sleeping through with one bottle at 11 pretty much consistently (well, we do get up at 5, but hey its better than 3 feeds and getting up at 5) and the last two nights he hasn't had the bottle and has still woken up at the same time.
Have probably jinxed myself and we will be back to the old ways tonight.
Happy October everyone :wave:
Hi folks! Hope you and your bubs are doing well!
Abigail and I are doing great :) She's now well into her 7th month, eating 2-3 solid meals a day and STILL breastfeeding as much as she ever did (I cannot fill this child up! LOL). She's still a little tyke, only just 6kg at 6 months, though I'm hoping now she's on regular solids she might start to bulk up. She's only just into 00s and the occasional 0 size clothing.
First two teeth came through together on the bottom week or so ago. Now it's latchy-not-bitey poor mama's nips.. Hehe. Starting to introduce her to a bunch of stuff which is fun. She naps every few hours for a bit during the day and sleeps 10-12 hours a night, half waking once or twice for a dream feed. It's a nice time :)
I go back to work full time in 4 weeks, and DP is taking 12 months off to be a SAHD. I'm beside myself at having to leave bub, but it can't be helped. I need to go and earn so we can eat and have somewhere to live. Here's hoping the adjustment won't be too painful for any of us.
Well take care all :) I'll probably be mooching around here off and on as usual. /hugs
Hi everyone, nothing much to report from my end. Ella seems to have a bit of a cold and was up between 10 and 1 last night which is very unlike her. Hopefully tonight won't go too bad. I am not going back to work until after Christmas and considering I need to settle Ella into daycare it might be Feb until I'm back properly. I am totally dreading it :crying: but we need for me to work as well (part time anyway). I feel for you all returning to work. I am actually so happy that I am going to manage 10 - 11 mths off. Well must rush off.. post again later :wave:
Where is everyone lately????????
trifecta
06-10-2009, 15:17
I'm lurking around, haven't had a lot of time to post as Jacob has decided he doesn't need much sleep during the day anymore..... humm still working on that one! He refuses to go down for his afternoon sleep now, but on the plus side he is usually down for the night by 6:30. When I say down for the night, he still wakes at least 2x :rolleyes: Ah well, getting there! He's still such a happy wee man that really I can't complain. And he just loves his boobies way too much to give them up for more then 7hrs in a row :laughing:
I've really noticed a change once he turned 6m, he's just such a little 'boy' now, he flings his toys around the place, is really vocal, loves noisy things, doesn't want to sleep so much etc... He sits up really well now and never falls over, loves to stand and pulls himself up, does a 'bum shuffle' and is starting to rock on his knees but needs a bit of help still to get up there. He eats 3x solids and we only mush with a fork now and he feeds himself finger food too. Still no teethy pegs though!
Thats my update, he's in the baby bonds search so please vote for him! He's number 3972, you have to register on the bumps and baby bonds website :flowerz:
Hope everyone is going o.k, hopefully Ella is feeling better MKS and you get a better sleep tonight. That's great that your DH can take the time of work and be a SAHD. I can imagine how difficult it is for you to return to work though.
Can hear grumbles, better go he's actually been asleep for nearly 2hrs! Amazing : ) Been out all morning though so he must have been tired. xx
I was wondering the same thing.
I had my last 2 wisdom teeth out yesterday, so I'm feeling pretty crap from that, I think I'm in more pain this time than last time, except this time they were gentler to me and just wiggled my teeth out.
One of my best friends has her little girl(2months) in hospital atm and looks like she'll be there for the rest of the week. I can't visit because of which ward she is on, so I'd like to send something up, what do you think I should send? I was thinking maybe some magazines, snacks, and some nice body lotion and lip balm - any more suggestions?
Tales - Wow that time has flown so fast, I remember when I went back to FT work with DD1, I'd never even left her before, the first time was for my return to work interview! I was so scared but she was fine. That's great that DH can be a SAHD, my cousin was a SAHD until his DD started school and they have such a great bond.
Kar - I totally get that, feeling shattered because you've actually slept. I think it's because our bodies are working a little more on actual energy and a little less on adrenalin:confused:
MKS - How did DS go the other day on the big trip to kindy?
Pippa - 9.3kgs :thumbsup: what a great weight! So did Will get a top tooth first? Indie's first was her bottom right, followed closely by her bottom left. Come to think of it, DD1 got her bottom right first too:detective:
Afternoon ladies :)
Just have to say- OMG OUCH! She's been biting me every feed today and my nips freaking hurt!! They feel like they did the first weeks again. /sigh. I've started yelling and saying "ouch!" when she does it, and pulling her off (which is all instinctive, really). Then poor bubba's bottom lip quivers and she starts crying - don't think she's put two and two together yet. Am going to follow some suggestions I've read elsewhere on the site and pop her on the floor for a bit when she does it, and make sure she feeds when she's hungry, not snacking. Sadly, she still feeds to sleep at night so I haven't quite figured out how to avoid getting bitten/not yelp when she's tired without waking her up again..
Me- Her little girl is in hospital? Or your friend (my brain is lagging a bit today so I'm not sure which you meant)? If her little girl, I'd suggest those things you mentioned (for mum), plus maybe a little toy or storybook or something they can play with together..?? Hope your wisdom tooth pain subsides soon - I loathe getting teeth pulled. It's one of the reasons I haven't been to the dentist in ages - I have a wisdom tooth that I'm afraid they might pull.
mks- I hope Ella is feeling better soon :( Abi had a cold a couple weeks ago (caught it off me, no idea where I got it from) and it was the pits. Poor baby was so snuffly and miserable. I bought a Vicks steam vaporiser which works relatively well. She certainly slept better at night.
kar - get lots of sleep where you can. I reckon it takes as long for your body to catch up as it did to run it down.
PippaG- wow 9.3kgs! What a little champ. :) I can only hope Abigail has finally doubled her birth weight at the next weigh-in (which I've scheduled for later this month when she's 7 months old).
Well take care ladies. :) Will post again soon..
ETA - meant to ask, I've been away for so long, but was just curious whether any March mummies are pg again? Have seen a couple Feb 09 mums announce they are, so was just wondering whether anyone was super-brave/lucky to be UTD already again..? ;)
Tales I wish I were lucky enough to be pg again but seems we have our hands full enough as it is so we'll be waiting a while longer until we ttc.
It's my friends little girl, she's only 2 months. Dhs suggestion was to lend her an iPod loaded up with games and audiobooks, but all we have is dd1's which she uses just about daily and dh and I have iPhones so we can't go without them. I sent her a text message this afternoon asking if she wants me to drop off a home cooked meal and some magazines for her so she'll let me know when she gets the message. I've also offered to help with the older kids too if she wants it. I just wish I could make her little girl better. I remember how hopeless I felt when dd1 was in hospital and she was 2 1/2 years old so was able to understand more of what was happening and didn't seem as fragile, I couldn't bare to see such a young baby in hospital:(
Oh tales I forgot to say, when indie was biting me, I'd take her off say a firm no then boobs go away for a while. It only really took a few times and it clicked for her(except she bit me last night in her sleep!).
Wow hnb, a 2 hr sleep woo hoo!
Me, the drive went really well. Since then (Friday) he's been in undies except for bed time. I think we are there :smiliedance:. There have been a couple of accidents at home but that's to be expected. I just have spare clothes in the boot now. Tomorrow will be a test when I take him to playgroup. Our biggest problem with the toilet training is that when he's having fun he doesn't want to go and that's when he has an accident - he leaves it so long that he can't hold on any longer!
I was in hospital with Ella for 5 nights when she was 6 weeks old. Speaking from experience this is what I would have liked - magazines, books, some company, snacks and a decent meal. I was SO bored and the food was horrible. Ella had bronchialitis so it wasn't so serious that I was worried and devastated and she was so little that she slept most of the time and I couldn't leave at all cause I was BF (and didn't want to leave her anyway).
Tales Ella started biting me too and I was saying 'no' really firmly but I stopped BF in the last few weeks anyway so I didn't really make too much of an effort.
Speaking of BF, now that I have completely stopped I would just like to say that I have lost all BBs and they are smaller than they were before :( (and saggier :() How unfair!! I hate to think what's going to happen after a 3rd.. lol..
Thanks for the tips mks, I'll do up a little package tomorrow and send it on in:)
Oh a tip for night time is to put undies under pull ups. I'm proud to say dd1 is now fully tt at night. Turns out she was weeing in her pull ups on purpose to use them all up so she wouldn't have to wear them anymore. Cheeky monkey!
Jess I would send food, hospital food is hideous IMO.
Tales, we have a nipper too - I have been trying the 'no' and stern face but his little face just crumples, bottom lip quivers and the we have lots of tears. It is just too horrible! I have worked out he mostly does it when I try and force feed him 'just a bit more' so have stopped doing that and have had less nips on the nips.
MKS - I think my boobs are going to be flatter than every when I finish too. From B to A. Guess it doesn't make much difference anyway.
HnB - F is such a boy too. He kind of always has been but it shocks me how much seems to be nature rather than nurture.
A questions for BFing mums - I just can't get excited about sex AT ALL. Is starting to be a bit of an issue. I know that BFing does decrease libido and I think there is also a bit of a psychological thing when your baby is still using your body for sustenance, but any thoughts or tips?
trifecta
07-10-2009, 09:33
Jess your such a kind and thoughtful friend. I'm sure she will appreciate all your offers of help and the lovely package. How you feeling after the dentist? Hopefully you will have a speedy recovery and relatively pain free.
Kar I noticed that once AF returned I seamed to have an increase in libido. DH generally stays clear of the boobies though, I think he's more worried milk will start spraying everywhere if he touches them too much :laughing: slowly slowly though, you've had 6m of hardly any sleep so it takes a bit to get back there. No telly on in bed and an early night to snuggle down helps too :D
uh oh, crying again better go. Might head to the shops as mister J has once again fought the sleep.... the car is bound to work. And I need some groceries anyway. later..
Me - that really is a very thoughtful thing to do.
Can I ask you all for your opinion on solids. Will has just started to have 3 meals a day. Currently he has pureed fruit or farex with pureed fruit for breakfast and then pureed veggies for lunch and dinner. Should I be offering him something like yoghurt or custard as well? Also, should I give him water to drink now? At the moment he's just on formula.
Thanks girls
F's solids routine is generally cereal and fruit for b.fast, meat and veg for lunch with a fruit chaser and dinner is usually whatever i have around, some avo, ricotta, yoghurt maybe lunch leftovers if i defrosted/cooked too much (his lunch that is not mine!) some chick and veg soup if i have any in the fridge (a staple in our house and he loves it).
f has been having water from a cup since about 5mths, i offer it to him with his solids meals and now and then during the day. i make sure he doesn't replace milk with water though and don't give it to him before he has had a feed if one is due.
trifecta
07-10-2009, 13:17
Oh he's testing me today little toad! Doesn't help that I'm super grumpy, tired and snappy as it is without him refusing sleep and screaming/squealing at the top of his lungs.
I just chucked him in the car and went for a drive, got a maccas sundae and drove to the beach to eat it! I feel such a failure resorting to the car to get him to sleep - I vowed I would never do that. He's hardly even accepting boobie help to sleep, I don't know what else to do.
Darn AF!:hair::rain:
Kar, I have totally stopped BF and I still have zero interest. I hope it returns at some stage for the sake of my marriage :laughing: DH tells me that I'll only be interested again if I want a 3rd baby! I am just SO tired at night - all I want to do is SLEEP.
We went to playgroup this morning and of course DS had to go and wee himself! I am kind of glad he had an accident though so he could realise what it's like.
Pippa, this is what we do farex with fruit for breakfast, vegies at lunch with a little bit of fruit after (or if I give her avocado and banana I just make more of this) and meat / chicken with vegies at dinner with some more fruit for dessert. She has a real sweet tooth though cause I struggle to get her to eat all her vegies / meat (2 ice cubes) but her mouth opens wide for fruit. Cheeky girl! She has water in a sipper cup with all her meals but really it's just for the sake of learning - she drinks only a little bit of it. I used to also feed DS afternoon tea when he was a baby but haven't started that yet. That's when I would give custard and yoghurt.
Me I hope your teeth are feeling better now.
I give bubba cereal and fruit for breaky (I give her the rafferty's garden multigrain cereal - she gags on farex), she gets a light lunch of fruit and custard or some banana and avo or something, and dinner is veges and maybe some protein, depending on what I have. She still BFs before every meal and every couple hours, so sometimes she doesn't eat a lot but that's cool. I'm trying to keep up as much BFing as possible before I go back to work and feed her a whole heap of different foods so DP can pretty much feed her anything while I'm gone, maybe a milk chaser, and I know she'll be fine.
kar - Yep, zero. REALLY unusual for me.. (as well as frustrating). I go through the motions when I get the guilts (maybe once a month). But since bub was born it's been maybe 4 or 5 times in total..? Had a little spike in libido recently, so maybe AF be returning soon? I dunno. Hoping to return to normal, but 5-10 minutes alone with DP at some point (ie sans baby) would prolly help LOL
I am going to be an Aunty!!! Can't say anything on fb yet but I'm so excited, may can't come fast enough! Yay!
Just Add Water
08-10-2009, 11:37
How exciting Me!!!
Will pop back later to catch up with everything, just wanted to say a quick hi! I have my nieces and nephew for a few days as well so about to brave Canberra with seven kids. :eek:
cheers for the link JAW :thumbsup: will post proper in the morning :sleeping:
sorry this mpost isn't better, im in a tad rush today.
re the solids thing: we chop and change all over the place. Cady used to have 3 good solid meals a day and bottles were a nightmare now its swtiched back the other way, now she wants MILK MILK MILK MILK and solids are the hard point. I offer 3 meals, but i'm lucky if she'll eat more then a dozen mouthfulls. No idea whats going on our pudding girl, but not much i can do either.
Jess - congrats on the new about being an aunt again soon!
AFU - well cady has decided to totally skip size 0...very frustrating. I saved up and bought her a bunch of size 0 t-shirts a few weeks ago, and now they're all snug. Lucky for me I had a total brain fart a few days later and when I went back I accidentally bought heaps of size 1's and then couldn't be fagged taking them back :D She's seemed to have this massive growth spurt. The brissy girls will remember that she was always 'chunky' lol with a short body well over the last 2 or 3 weeks she's stretched out and is a bit more in proportion but size 1's are perfect. "sigh" no more little baby :crying:
its all my own fault, im upsetting myself and I'm hormonal as all hell and have no idea why. I decided I wanted to organise all her old clothes so that when SIL's bub is born, anything that I don't want to keep I can give to her, as I have plenty of unisex stuff and a few 'boyish' things that she never wore (everyone was convinced I was having a boy...) so if she has a boy i can give her that...anyway...babbling ... the point is that i found all her stuff from when she was born...0000's and out came the waterworks. NO I AM NOT CLUCKY LOL :cool:
does anyone have any advice, i don't wanna go to the doctors, its too much of a pain in the a$$. I've had quite a few AF's now, but this one is strange. I'm a over a week late, but have had PMS for about 2 weeks, and AF came today but its (TMI) like old blood, just kinda brown and not much at all, its not like a normal AF I've never had this before. Maybe its just my body still recovering from BFing??? although I stopped that almost 3 months ago now. This would be my 4th AF if it were normal.
Hi Karice! Have you ruled out pregnancy? Our bodies can do strange things sometimes when they're getting back into the swing of things. Stress can also affect AF and I'm sure you've had your fair share of that lately. You could wait to see if your next cycle is normal and see a doctor if things are still strange, but if you're really concerned I would try and see a doctor sooner.
Hello to everyone else too! Sorry I've been MIA for over a month now, my laptop's been collecting dust.... still have to catch up on reading the rest of September's posts!!! Just been so busy recently - it hasn't helped that we've all been sick as well.
Must dash now but will hopefully come back later with an update and perhaps even some personals.
Have a good weekend everyone!
Lisa :wave:
Well I knew it was coming sooner or later and it's hit me this afternoon... I'm coming down sick:(. Fantastic timing too, dh has been working all weekend an tomorrow we're supposed to be getting up a 3:30 to get him to the airport on time for a flight, he'll be away for 3 days. I'm going to be shocking with the girls for 3 days alone if I'm sick as well as catching up on all the things from basically having had all of last week off as well all the follow up from this weekend of work. I could really do with a housekeeper right now just to organise things for me and help with the kids so I can focus and get through all this work prett quickly so I can start to take it easy a bit a in 2 weeks time we're expecting things to get busier. Ahh I just need to wake up feeling 100%!
Ok incoming vent. I went searching on fb for a childhood friend, I found her brother but couldn't find her so I added her brother as a friend(we were all friends), then added her when I saw her on his page. Her and I were chatting a bit and talked about catching up for coffee so I sent her my number and we vaguely said we'd catch up in the next few weeks. I went to try to organise it this afternoon an she's deleted me. WTF she was the one who first suggested catching up and when, if she wanted to catch up why delete me? Petty I know but I was looking forward to seeing her after so many years:(
Just Add Water
11-10-2009, 18:16
J, I have had people contact me asking why I had deleted them, but they were still showing on my page so I had no idea that they were being told to add me as a friend again... just a weird FB thing.... might be worth shooting her a message. If she doesn't reply then it's her loss!!
Oh good tip. I only noticed as I searched my friends list to pm her and she was gone. I'm not too worried, we drifted apart years ago but I guess I just got it wrong thinking there was a chance we'd reconnect again as adults. At least I do have a bunch of great friends on there:)
oh gawd...
so J has taken to only doing a 45 minute sleep in the afternoon, I try my very hardest to get him to sleep longer, but nup, nothing...
well, he's been screaming for the last hour, he is just sooo overtired, finally got him in bed (wow, he is so strong, both me and dh are struggling to hold him down in order to put a nappy on, let alone clothes!) and he's now asleep... hopefully for a while...
:hair::crying: Just having a minor moment...
And dh has SO much work, he's already told me the next fortnight is booked up with 14 hour days, let alone breakdowns, ect...:crying:
Just Add Water
11-10-2009, 19:58
Oh god Tash... :hugs: I really wish we were closer so you could get a break.
thanks kris:hugs: I shouldn't complain, when I think of the crap you guys are going through:footinmouth:
well, i think we're back to up every hour, at least... I just wish he would sleep!!!:(
:hugs::hugs::hugs: Tash, I wrote you a post last night then BH crashed and umm so did I:o.
I totally get how you're feeling. I think it's important to ask for help when you feel you need it. If you know DH is going to be working 14 hr days 2 weeks straight, try to schedual in a few times when your mum or a close friend can come over(better in the afternoon so you really don't mind them taking over iykwim), hand J to them and take 5. That might mean having a shower to refresh yourself for the evening ahead, making dinner or going somewhere for 5 mins to get away from it. Whatever you need.
I guess I am lucky in that most weekends DH doesn't work, but he worked all this weekend just been and 1/2 of the weekend in 2 weeks time. I could feel myself getting frazzled(and sick) and needing to rest yesterday, so I picked up the phone and asked my parents to come over. They took the girls for a 1/2 hr drive, helped me bath them, feed DD1, cleaned up the kitchen and then just took off as soon as DD1 went to bed(Indie was already in bed by then). It really did help me and it's taken me almost 4 years to get to the point of going "hmm I know this is going to be hard, I know I need help" and just picking up the phone and asking for it.
When you're facing so many things, as much as J is the most important person in the world in all this, your sanity still needs to come first iykwim. Anytime you're feeling stressed and need to chat/vent or even just have someone else listen to J's crying/screaming with you, you're welcome to just pick up the phone and call:hugs:
:hugs::hugs::hugs: Tash, I wrote you a post last night then BH crashed and umm so did I:o.
I totally get how you're feeling. I think it's important to ask for help when you feel you need it. If you know DH is going to be working 14 hr days 2 weeks straight, try to schedual in a few times when your mum or a close friend can come over(better in the afternoon so you really don't mind them taking over iykwim), hand J to them and take 5. That might mean having a shower to refresh yourself for the evening ahead, making dinner or going somewhere for 5 mins to get away from it. Whatever you need.
I guess I am lucky in that most weekends DH doesn't work, but he worked all this weekend just been and 1/2 of the weekend in 2 weeks time. I could feel myself getting frazzled(and sick) and needing to rest yesterday, so I picked up the phone and asked my parents to come over. They took the girls for a 1/2 hr drive, helped me bath them, feed DD1, cleaned up the kitchen and then just took off as soon as DD1 went to bed(Indie was already in bed by then). It really did help me and it's taken me almost 4 years to get to the point of going "hmm I know this is going to be hard, I know I need help" and just picking up the phone and asking for it.
When you're facing so many things, as much as J is the most important person in the world in all this, your sanity still needs to come first iykwim. Anytime you're feeling stressed and need to chat/vent or even just have someone else listen to J's crying/screaming with you, you're welcome to just pick up the phone and call:hugs:
Darling you know :iagree:
Schedule some time in with your mum.
Thanks JAW, Me and Kar, I really appreciate having you guys around to help me out. Even though it's only virtual freindship, you are all SO much help to me :hugs:
Hopefully one day soon I'll get to meet you guys in person:)
J is a right handful at the moment, not only fighting sleep, but as those of you know on FB, screaming the house down, think it's to do with seperation anxiety when going to bed, sorry, but it's so painful at the moment.
My sister is coming down at the end of the week, might hadn himn over to her and mum for an hour....
That's good that your sis is coming, the end of the week is close(please let it be close, dh is back at the end of the week too).
Well some may already know but I have swine flu:( and because I'm still bfing, the best the doc has suggested is panadeine, fluids and rest(I actually managed a laugh when he said that one!). My dads been helpful taking me to the doc last night, took dd1 for the afternoon today and mums coming after work to cook dinner and bath the girls for me. I think indies fighting it too cause she's been slightly unwell too. So cause dd1 is out, indie and I are having a date on the couch with TiVo.
Oh Me, that's no good at all!:no:
I hope it improves soon:(
A day with the tivo sounds good.
The screaming has started agiain, woo frickin hoo....
:hugs::hugs::hugs: Tash I hope the screaming doesn't last long and DH job doesn't take too long tonight.
:hugs: Me - I hope you start feeling much better soon. I take it your girls are ok?? As you know I was wondering about getting vaccinated. It didn't even occur to me until we got an email from the daycare telling us what is recommended (eg if you are elderly, pregnant etc).
Tommo, I hope you are both alseep by now. Do you think it could be J's teeth?? As good as a baby Michael was, we had screaming at bedtime for over 2 years! He slept well in the day and once he was asleep at night slept well but bedtime was always horrific. He is such a night owl still and it still takes me forever to get him to bed. I know that isn't much help to you but the bright side of my story is that once we put him in a bed, the screaming and crying stopped. :) Of course now he gets out of bed 10 times.. more stories, toilet, one more goodnight.. the list goes on :rolleyes: A bit hard to put a 7 mth old in a bed though!
Not much new from me. I am very tired cause I go to bed too late every night so I am off now. :sleeping:
Just Add Water
13-10-2009, 22:57
Wow it's been quiet in here, and I'm just as guilty as the rest of you!! FB is way too easy to keep in touch with each other it seems.
There are a few of you having a rough trot - which sucks ("sucks" is my new "pfft" of late it seems lol). Hopefully things settle down soon.
We're over the job hunting. DH has a few days lined up with a mate this week and thank god!! He is getting so down about it. He's fixing up his resume to send off to a small company in Brisbane tomorrow night so we'll see where the wind blows us. It's just so disheartening for him - he's applied for over 50 jobs we worked out, and although we know it's not just him it's still hard for him. Having no money absolutely sucks as well. It's so hard having to tell the kids "no" about things.... on the upside we're getting rid of a heap of stuff out of our house because I'm selling them lol.
I do have some exciting news for me though...... as of tonight I'm the ACT consultant for Baby Blossom. eek! Not sure what I've gotten myself in for but it's 15% commission and I get a sellers discount off their products so I can only give it a go. There isn't anyone else in this area so I'm the first. Now I just have to organise a starter pack and go from there. I'm having some people over to do a demonstration of cloth nappies in a few weeks so that will give me an idea of how other people do it. I'm not very good at talking to people but I figure I can take this with me. I also have a few other little things I'm trying to get going so hopefully I can mix it up with that.
DS is being a little bugger - but still gorgeous. His personality is really starting to show through - he has a foul little temper and I can see that we're going to have some good tantrums in the future lol. Master 5 has a decidedly foul temper and I suspect that Bay takes after him. He had his first meeting with another baby last weekend, he met a 9 month old girl who lives around the corner from us (another hubber who I FINALLY got to meet).... and turns out he doesn't like to share... so we're going to meet up with them soon so he can learn.
Anyhoo, I should probably get to bed and try and get Bay to sleep. I am crossing my fingers that his grumpiness is related to his teeth finally making an appearance.
Well last night, there was crying, but not gut wrenching, i can't breathe screaming, so that is a start.
took about 15 minutes for him to go to sleep, which is really good. Instead of aiming for an 8.30 bedtime, we've moved back out to almost 9.30.
He is having a 1.5 hr sleep in the morning, then 45 mins, so I decided to try for another 45 min in the evening, then bed. Seems to be working better.
Had to get up 4 times, but I got to sleep a solid 5 hours between 2 and 7, so that was nice.
That was with some panadol before bed, his mouth was like a waterfall last night. But I still can't see anything on his gums!!
MKS, lol, at least once he's asleep, that's it, I suppose! :laughing:
Me, how are you going?
JAW, that's great news about baby blossum! I keep thinking I should do something:o Still thinking about it, LOL. woohoo on catching up with a hubber! I got to meet 1, in a cloth nappy swap, LOL, turns out she lived about 10 minutes away! who would have thunk it! lol, out here in the 'sticks'. I hope some work comes up for dh soon, it's so diheartening to have some many knock backs. I remember (many moons ago, :laughing:) when I came out of high school, and was applying for jobs, I was either too young, or not enough experience, (I'd been working since 15 mind you), it was horrible. Stuck with the part time work I had, ended up in management within 6 months, lol. So, you never know what will pop up, it's usually the unexpected!:hugs:
Well, we bit the bullet, got all our paperwork sorted, and have popped a fella on casually for dh. The fella's current job is dependant on the weather, and whilst it's raining, no work. He's a good labourer, can't send him out on his own or anything like that, but is helping to get things stripped apart, ect, which is making dh's turnaround alot quicker.
Well, it's dh's birthday today, the big 3-1, LOL. He's feeling a bit sorry for himself, now he's really in his 30's,:laughing::laughing:
whole lotta screaming going on here too. completely blood curdling. we are on day 13 of high maintenance boy - surely we need to have a break soon! rich is going back to san fran on sunday for a week so i hope either teeth pop through or he otherwise gets over it soon!
amber teething necklace should arrive today - i am getting desperate :laughing:
ok, sorry no personals have realised f will be awake very soon and i haven't had a shower
trifecta
14-10-2009, 15:24
I've had trouble getting in here the last couple of days, so sorry I couldn't send any messages of support to those that needed it.
Hope Josh has calmed down a bit now Tommo and you can get a break.
Kar - you've had two weeks of screaming? Hope your both going o.k too.
Me - I can't believe you have swine flu! Hopefully it's a weak strain you have? I'm thinking of getting the vac. Hugs hun, please rest!
JAW- congrats on the baby blossom contract! You will have to send me some info : ) I've recently discovered Jacob doesn't really share much either, though he doesn't ever have anyone to share with most of the time. I've been watching him with friends bubs and he's a bit of a 'snatcher' lol. Have to watch that one! He's started squealing for fun too, which is a great laugh - not. I hope something comes up soon on the job front, Brisi would be cool :thumbsup:
Jacob's sleeping patterns are all over the place at the moment. Tommo he really fights his sleep too, especially during the day. Quite often the only sleeps he has is when we are out and about in the car. He only has two sleeps a day now, but is still asleep by 7 if not earlier so I can't really complain. Still waking 2 - 3x a night though.
We are still waiting for teeth too, though they don't seam to bother him all that much.
As soon as he's the slightest but tired we have full screaming, major sleep resistance and have had three nights of 1hr + screaming. Had to abandon at swimming yesterday because people were staring
at that poor baby. Cheery boy has left the building ATM!
Trying to breath and not get stressed. I know it just makes it worse
krus that sounds great! Cheap naps for you and hopefully a profit
Maybe it's something about this age? Indie went all day with only a small nap this morning and that was a few hours of us struggling each other to end up with her sleeping.
I sure hope it improves for everyone!
perhaps, just maybe, there is a leap coming,
today Josh crawled foward, and has been better, so perhaps, hopefully, maybe, (PLEASE!), there is a leap on it's way???
The screaming is subsided, he still isnt a really happy fello, but better, so hopefully, tonight, there might be a bit more sleep???
might have jinxed myself there...
Day sleeps are pretty much MIA here too, apart from the odd 45mins.
I am totally over this wrapping issue. I wrap him he breaks his way out and then cries, or rolls and then cries. So I try leaving at least one arm out and he cries even more until I wrap him. I seriously wish we had never wrapped him in the first place so we didn't have to try and solve this problem now.
:hugs::hugs::hugs: Pippa, I wish I had some tips for you
subaruforestermum
15-10-2009, 16:21
Hello hello, just popped in to say hi...
Havent even been on the hub for a while, so thought I'd make an appearance.
sorry I've been away a bit, I've been a bit down in the dumps so I didn't really want to go on her and complain as i usually do
so my AF issue is still weird, but I can't be a$$ed going to the docs so if it happens next month then I'll get it checked out. I'd had that weird old blood happen for a few days then at about day 4 it turned into the heaviest period ever. It was almost as bad as the bleeding I got after I had Cady and it lasted for about 4 days. No idea what that's about, it was a little painful and my moods have been shocking, but it all seems to have settled down a bit now.
DP is appliying for another support worker position at another organisation. He's also going back to TAFE to complete his mental health Cert IV (he had to give it up to get work to support us when we moved to brissy) but he can do it through OTEN this time so he can study from home. He finds out on the 30th if he gets an interview or not
I think Cady is going to skip the crawling stage. We're no closer to crawling but she can stand on her own if she holds onto the side of the couch.
Jess - OMG swine flu!!! that sounds horrid. I hope you get the chance for some rest and a good veg out
Tash - :hugs: jeez girl you're doing so well. I've got no idea how tough things are for you although I'm sure I can imagine. I agree with what jess said about asking for help if you need it.
JAW - that's awesome about the baby blossums! I can relate to the bumming out feeling of job hunting. I too am sick of being broke. I didn't even have enough cash for more sanitary pads the other day, so I just had to make them last. So very very very very sh!t :gloomy:
suby - :wave: great to see you, what's your news??
pippa - argh wrapping...don't get me started lol... Before we moved Cady was well on her way to being unwrapped for sleep, then she needed it again coz she was in a new house. Then we got back on track and then she had 2 teeth come through over about 3 weeks so had to wrap her again to settle her. Now we're almost unwrapped again but I know the jinx-monkey will strike again and we'll be back to wrapped :laughing: I give up lol
kar - don't you just sometimes miss the days when having a simple shower didn't need to be planned into the day around a baby??? We're going to change Cady's room and the guest room around as the pipes for the shower currently run right past her head and it wakes her up coz they 'squeal' so i have to shower when she's awake, which means plonking her in her walker in the bathroom doorway...not very practical...
ummm can't think of anything more...my brain is frazzled, i didn't get much sleep last night and I've had a busy day.
oh Cady starts her swimschool next friday so I'm looking forward to that
um...im revising how i make baby food, i've tossed out everything that i had previously made. I think I may have put too much pasta or rice or meat in one batch and i don't know which. I followed the baby food recipe from the website and she's had all those foods before and not had any bad issues with it but she had the worst consipation ever and at the end of the day when she did poop her little bum had a spot of blood when I wiped it :( so just to be safe i've tossed everything and i'll make it all again and she's been on straight fruits and veg for 4 days so i can start over.
righteo...im off like a peice of cheese :wave:
well, Josh has the crawling mastered:dizzy::eek:
This isn't a great thing, the saftey gates have gone up, and i'm glad I did a sweep not that long ago of things to get out of reach!!
pippa, oh hun, it's hard when you have tried everything and you're at the end of your teather:( There are plenty of people still wrapping at 1 year old, so maybe work on wrappping a bit longer so you can have some sanity?:hugs:
Hi Suby, it's all been pretty quiet in here of late:)
karice, that's a pity about your food! I'm getting low on stocks too, boo.
Since having J, I despise AF, gosh, not having it for y'know, 10-11 months, it's a b!tch when you get it back!
In another part of the forum, I was chatting about J's behaviour, and she bought up gluten intolerance, which *may* explain a few things!
I have offered him weetbix a few times, and i *think* the crappy behaviour correlates there.
Anyway, I'm going to keep an eye on it, see how things pan out...
subaruforestermum
15-10-2009, 20:52
suby - :wave: great to see you, what's your news??
Ummm my news, Indie is doing well, she's a happy baby, 7pm bedtime every night, 3 meals a day! Loves her food, she'll eat then have a bottle too...
She's commando crawling, no teeth, even though she gets the excessive amounts of saliva and red cheeks etc, nope... Chewing constantly..
Has been saying mum for a while now, usually when she's upset... or wakes up... BUT we still have the issue that she hates being left alone!
Work has asked me to work for them again, they called me and held my supervisor position open for me at the Nikon Super GP! So that was cool, and I was thrilled to be requested...
Ummm DS has to see and ENT, as he had 2 hearing tests after being on the waiting list for ever, only to be told that YES there is a problem and so now we have to go on the waiting list to see the ENT specialist, NOT impressed..
Indie was in hospital a couple of weeks ago, she had blood through her poo's, we went to our local, they sent us home, we were then in brissy so went to logan and they transferred her by ambulance to the Mater.... She hadnt been constipated or anything, no bugs were found in her specimen, an ultrasound showed swollen lymphnodes in her tummy, but yet we have no idea why it happened, they only gave me a guess as to what it was, which can be very serious! Luckily they think it fixed itself...
We had a couple of family members pass on, which was shattering to DS, his great nanna. Was hard telling him, and yet at the funeral the MIL hugged me, which I was shocked about! Was a sad sad day, first funeral I have ever gone to for a family member!
Geeze so much has gone on, but that's the main bits..
Oh and little miss started swimming lessons, and loves going under the water, kicks, and just loves it....think watching her brother so much and being there has made her use to it all... Her first time ever in a pool or big mass of water that wasnt the shower or bath...so it was great to find out that she was happy, and loved it!
Hope that's not too much for you Karice...lol...regret asking????...lol
Hope your DP fgets the job! fingers crossed... and hope your health is ok (there are some things I should go to the doc about but put it off too, I never even had my 6 week checkup post baby!!!)
Hi tommo & Me
Hi SFM, long time, no hear! Hope Indie is ok now.
Tommo, you have changed your name. Well, now the fun begins for you!:laughing: Ella is trying really hard to crawl but not there yet. The longer it takes, the better in my opinion. It seems like just yesterday I brought home a little sleeping baby and now she's trying to get active and into everything. DS has just come good :laughing: at nearly 3 - I am not ready to start all that again!!! I was hoping to have a placid one this time but looks like she's going to give Michael a run for his money :hair:
For those whose babies don't sleep through the day I feel so sorry for you. I am hanging out for the next sleep time when she's awake! That doesn't sound nice but Ella wants attention all the time and doesn't sit happily and play on her own and there isn't much I can do with her at this age so I am glad she has 2 good sleeps in the day to give me a chance to get stuff done.
Speaking of AF, I had my Mirena inserted about 4 weeks ago. A week later AF arrived (1st once since Ella) and 3 weeks later it's still going. Light but still.. I really hope my body adjusts cause it's such a good option.
Well better go and do some work while she's asleep.
MKS, I have made a change;)
Middle name + J for joshua;)
I'm actually in complete and utter shock at his speed, I am not used to having a baby see, and crawl over within seconds, he used to eventually get what he wanted, but geesh, he is into EVERYTHING, as I said, not coping well with how quick he's got.
SFM, sounds like you've had alot on! Good on you for keeping it together, that is alot to deal with.
Woo hoo indie put on150g this week! Yay! So she's now 6.95kg. She's been feeding like a newborn overnight for a few nights now and it clicked this morning that perhaps, like in LeeJ's situation, we might be in for a big developmental leap forward!?! Hmmm will watch this space and see what happens there.
I'm at the office but just do not want to get out of the car. I want to go home and curl up and finish watching Saturday nights episode of Dexter... Man that show is twisted but I just *have* to know what happens!
You really do forget how small our bubs were don't we? I saw an 11day old bub this morning who just looked so tiny, hard to remember my monsters being that small!
Just Add Water
19-10-2009, 12:14
Me - I hope you don't get stuck in the office all day.
Bay has gone back to feeding like a newborn as well. I've dropped his feeds down as he wasn't finishing his bottles and wanting to be fed every 2 - 3 hours... the upside is that he's sleeping like a newborn as well (which he never did as a newborn lol) so he's sleeping during the day as well, so I get to catch up on other stuff or have a nap with him :)
I've been pretty busy this week.... I'm having a demonstrator come to my house on Saturday to explain the wonderful world of cloth nappies for those new to it which will be interesting. I think I have about four or five friends coming at this stage so it is an excuse for us all to catch up. I've also set up an online garage sale through Facebook as I am so fed up with having so much crap and tbh we could use the money. Now I just need to get people to spread the word. I'm hoping to avoid ebay fees... I've also listed the stuff onto the free online classifieds we have so hoping to make some sales through there as well.
On top of that I'm trying to set up a FB page for my other new venture as a demonstrator for a party plan business... I am driving the head of the company insane with my questions I'm sure, but I want to do it right. Now just to have all these things move forward!!!!!!
Bay is dozing in his rocker (wont sleep anywhere other than his rocker at the moment or in someone's arms, he likes to be held as he's very restless)... he keeps opening one eye and looking at me, just checking I'm still here lol. Very cute.
He hasn't started crawling properly yet but has mastered the commando crawl and my goodness he can move fast. He has also learnt to lift his legs up and spin on his tummy to do a fast turn around. He has a fondness for junk mail and cables lol Definitely a mix of both me and DH.
I am off to clean my house and hang some washing out - we've finally got some nice days here. Yay!!! Happy Monday everyone :)
I hate hormones:hissy:. I've been in such a foul mood for days now and I just can't seem to snap out of it. I'm putting it down to hormones('cause if I don't it means that I'm just actually a b!tch on the inside and whether I am or not, I'd like to think I'm not:p).
Does anyone have any tips for improving your moods/mental health?
Just Add Water
19-10-2009, 12:52
I know it's not for everyone but I've been thinking about colonic irrigation.... there is a thread in the general chat section and one of the girls had it done recently and said that she's amazed at how much better she feels, how motivated she is... I've got the name of a good place now just need the money.... but I hear it does wonders....
I know for me that my little pills help :o but again, that's not for everyone and obviously you need to see a GP about them.
But sometimes I think we all just need a few days where we are absolute *****es. The kids get to throw tantrums, our husbands get to sulk and have time out so why can't we? DH is well aware of my thoughts on this - which is why we take turns having lazy days and sleeping in while the other one takes the kids out about once a month. Just let it out - the ***** will only grow if you leave her in there :laughing:
Just let it out - the ***** will only grow if you leave her in there :laughing:
:laughing: I guess me feeding her chocolate often to shut her up isn't helping much hey:laughing:
I just don't know what's gotten into me lately, yeah I've had a lot going on and I've been sick and run down, so it's no surprise I'm feeling like this, but I just want to snap out of it. I can't be bothered doing anything, I couldn't give a rats if my whole world just collapsed around me and if I was left totally alone. I just have no motivation for anything, I don't care for much atm, and as much as I'm trying, I just can't stop letting things get the better of me and it takes all my effort to force a smile or polite chit chat with *some* people. Like our storeman, he's a nice guy and trys to be as helpful as he can be, but I don't know why, I'm just peeved at him and instantly get frustrated the second I either see or here him. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that he accidentally rammed the forklift into the rollerdoor and its now all bent. Every time I see it I can feel myself getting livid on the inside. I hate that he's done it, he never said anything until I asked him about it, the roller door now doesn't shut properly, I'm worried because we're still trying to get out of our lease(it's in the lawyers hands now), and I'm worried that we're going to have to pay to get it fixed. I know it was an accident, but it should never have happened, he could easily have put the roller door up higher and not hit it at all. Gah little things like this really really get my goat.
I also had some lady attempt to drive into the side of my car yesterday(she was turning the corner and I was going straight, but she started going long before I'd even passed her). I pulled over because I was shaken and I turned to look at her and she looked back at me with that "WTH are you doing?!?!" look on her face. I mean seriously, I was going straight and I had to swerve otherwise she would have driven straight into Indie's door. That peeved me too.
The other thing that has really made me livid has been a client lying to me. I've been chasing them for an outstanding amount, which 2 different people there promised to pay last week. 4:55 on wednesday 1 of them rang and said "I can't get onto net banking, no-one's going to be here for the next 2 days, can I pay by direct deposit on monday?". I was like "umm, I'd rather not, but yeah whatever". So today yet a different person phoned dh and said "oh we have a cheque here for you to collect". why is it my responsibility to trapse to the other side of town to pick up a cheque that is already 60+ days overdue when I was promised direct deposit payment a week ago. WTF, why couldnt they just be honest last week and say we're struggling to make payment but can do part payment of $x on x date? DH doesn't have time to go collect the said cheque and I'm worried I won't be able to bite my tongue, so DH has now had to push other work back to make time to make a detour of 1-2 hrs:hair:.
Gah, I think I need more than 1-2 hrs of straight sleep as well as a massage session or 2, I hate feeling so wound up and like I'm about to burst a vein from stress, its not at all a nice way to live, its made me snappy at home, pushing my relationship to its absolute limits and I'm not quite sure how to recover that at this point in time:(. Perhaps my world is already falling apart:crying:
Just Add Water
19-10-2009, 13:46
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Ok, deep breath, I'm going to be blunt, but it's because I love you :D
Just reading about all the stuff that you do makes me tired (and to be honest a little miffed on your part that you never seem to be able to just sit back and relax!). Are you still doing a review at Christmas time of the business and what you're going to do with it? I would be making sure that your DH sticks with that (even if it does cause an argument.... ). You are going to just keep on being sick (seriously, when was the last time you had a full week of being "well"? I don't think you've ever been able to get over anything before having to stress yourself out again). And being sick is going to make you get cranky (and rightly so!) and if your DH doesn't get that then he really needs to get a clue. My god, you work your **** off, at home and at the business. I seriously have days where Bay and I hardly move from the loungeroom because I just need to chill after a rough night. And if there happens to be a block of chocolate besides me well then I'll put my energy into eating that. My house is relatively tidy, the kids are clean and fed, we eat decent meals, our clothes are washed and the rest of it I'll worry about tomorrow. Why? Because I've already come too close to having a nervous breakdown from trying to do it all and it's only now, months later, that I can see how big an impact I had on everyone else in our family. All of a sudden the kids are much nicer to me, and it's because I'm nicer to them and listen to them. Don't get me wrong, I still have days where I really don't want to talk to anyone and just as I expect my kids to tell me when they need a time out then I expect them to understand that I need my space as well sometimes.
Clients are always going to **** you, another reason why you need to get out of that business. At some point you're going to have to lay down the line to your DH and tell him that if he wants it at the risk of your health and his family then he's entitled to it... because from where I sit that's what he's doing... I lived with someone who lived by the line "I'm doing this for all of us, it's not like I enjoy working this hard" and I can honestly say I'd rather be where we are now, completely broke and borrowing money every second week to pay rent - at least I have a husband again who finally appreciates that his family has to come first.
As for the sleep - go and stay at your mums for a night with the girls and sleep - get your mum to bring Indie into you when she wants a feed and they can look after Cady, you deserve it. I would seriously love to be able to come up and just help you out but it doesn't look like that's going to happen in the future.
I'm a firm believer that a marriage is only as strong as it's weakest point... unless everyone is prepared to go in at the frontline then it's going to be very hard work for the person that is. Again, I'm saying this from someone who has been up front while my husband dragged his feet. A lot of screaming, yelling and me walking out for a few days and things started becoming clearer to him. We still have our days and I think we always will - just yesterday we got into a massive fight over a bloody prepaid sim card for a mobile phone. It was a stupid reason to fight but we fought nonetheless.. he forgets faster than I do but we both forgive those little fightsl pretty quickly.
I haven't read this back but it's probably pretty blunt... like I said I get miffed at how little time you get to just relax.... You know the number if you ever want to call and you know my address if you want to send abusive messages :o
You'll get there, hon... you've much, much stronger than I think you realise :hugs:.
xxooxxoo
From the bottom of my heart JaW, thank-you for being blunt and honest. I've had all those same thoughts, but just thought it was be expecting too much from the world so it is great to see that someone else has the same POV as me.
Yes we will still be having a review of the business at christmas, but the way things are going, its more likely that we will put our energies into a full time internal sales person and I'll step away from the office, hopefully not even have a desk there, because I have a perfectly good desk at home where I can do a few bits and pieces around other things.
You're right though, I am constantly sick, I didn't realise just HOW sick I've been this year until you said it. Here I was just thinking I've had bad luck for a few weeks, but you're right, I've been sick on and off for months and months now.
I also read the thread on colonic irrigation, I don't think that's for me, but it has made me see that I should really be getting myself in for a session of acupuncture, I think that would help me immensely. I feel so relaxed afterwards and I think that would be a great benefit to me.
I am pushing myself too far, taking on much more than I can handle and I know that. I guess I just haven't wanted the business to fail and fall in a heap, 'cause if it does, it means we loose everything. DH's car is owned by the business(and my car is so old and crappy that everytime I drive it I seriously think something is going to break on it), we might have to sell the house(we certainly wouldn't be able to afford to keep paying the mortgage if DH didn't get another job straight away), we'd loose all our computers, phones, the works. The business is so integrated into our personal lives that TBH, I think both DH and I would be lost without it, hence working our butts off to make it profitable(which has worked :smiliedance:). The downside is that I have often felt like saying "time to choose, the business or us", because the stress does get the better of me somedays. I don't have that same drive and passion that DH has, for me it's a means to making money and down the track, for us to improve our lifestyle, it's just not yet at that point(though next year it should be at the point that we can pay ourselves decently enough to be able to enjoy the weekends and have a holiday or 2 throughout the year, vastly different to the last 18mths).
I need to find an outlet, a way to deal with everything that is going on in my life so that I can stop stressing and start focusing so that I can just enjoy life the way it is meant to be enjoyed. I know that I need to step back and stop worrying about everything so much, but I'm not yet at that point where I can actually do it yet, ykwim?
But thank-you JaW, I will put more effort into relaxation, stepping back, stressing less and putting myself first:):hugs:
Jess, It's understandable feeling that way with everything you have on your plate.
:hugs::hugs::hugs:
Thanks LeeJ, I guess I'm having a huge "woah is me" moment. Does feel better to offload and realise that yes I do need to make some changes for my life to improve:)
Just Add Water
19-10-2009, 14:39
phew, I'm glad you took it the right way :) and glad that you're going to make some time for yourself... you need to :hugs:
trifecta
20-10-2009, 07:14
Me- So sorry I've missed what's been going on the last day or two, I haven't been on BH at all and now I feel really sad that I couldn't offer any help. You are always the first person to put your hand up and offer support to everyone else, I really hope you have some friends close to you will do the same. I wish I lived in Brisi dam it!
It sounds like you can take some of JaW advice and start mending things, a little time out will do wonders I'm sure. Don't ever feel guilty for needing some 'me' time, I'm sure you never get enough (or any!)
Hang in there, you are due a break or two surely. xx
Thanks hnb:)
I have 2 bits of exciting news to share, no I'm not pregnant and well maybe 1 of them isn't very exciting for others haha.
1stly, it's 10am and I'm still in my pjs:D well I've showered but couldn't be a$$ed doing much so threw my pjs back on:)
2ndly, after a bit more sleep last night, I checked indies mouth this morning and her 3rd tooth has cut through! Her teething necklace has made a noticable difference to her during the day and as she doesn't wear it at night, I guess that explains the constant night waking for a few nights.
I don't have a great deal planned today, picking up the new battery for my laptop and a few more little bits of cleaning but generally, today's plan is to do a lot of nothing. I'm even contemplating heading to the mother baby centre at strathpine for a massage:)
Good on you Me. A bit of pampering always helps!
Nothing much new from our end. I am trying to get some cleaning done today cause DS is at daycare. I should get to it since Ella is asleep. I am finding now that their roles have reversed. He plays (not quietly but you can't have everything :laughing:) on his own and now she wants all the attention. So we are back to square 1 - I am getting hardley anything done in the day (only when she sleeps). Now I know why I went back to work when Michael was 6 mths - working from home is just not happening!!! Will be there soon enough though so just making the most of it right now.
We have no teeth here - late developer!
Just Add Water
20-10-2009, 10:27
1stly, it's 10am and I'm still in my pjs. well I've showered but couldn't be a$$ed doing much so threw my pjs back on.
I'm even contemplating heading to the mother baby centre at strathpine for a massage
:yelclap: :thumbsup::smiliedance::wizard::flowerz:
:raspberry:
Just Add Water
20-10-2009, 10:28
MKS - We have no teeth here yet either... thought we were close but they went back up again.
sorry i haven't been around girls...I know its slack of me and I should have coz you're always there for me but TBH I just can't stop hibernating :confused:
Jess - :hugs: I've always said you're superwoman to me, i would go insane if I had to deal with everything that you do. I'm glad to hear that you stayed in your pj's :party:
hmmm...i think I might have hit 'the wall'. I'm told every new mum goes through it, it just usually happens in the first 3 months. Everything is p!ssing me off, I can't be bothered going out or visiting people unless its for Cady's swimming lessons or for her playgroup. DP is annoying me (althouhg I think part of that reason is because hes home in my face all day) I've gone on strike for about a week now. He was supposed to go down to the abbatoirs about 3 weeks ago, he can get a job there any time he wants, yes the pay is terrible, yes its a disgusting job but its a means to an end until something better comes along and every friggin day there's an excuse "im tired...i need to make some phone calls...i need...i want...i need" what about what I need? what about what I want???? It would be nice after a year of living dollar to dollar every week to be able to get myself something nice or do something nice for myself. he gets to go out with his mates and play poker and drink booze we can't afford but nono, i'll just get left with all the sh!t to deal with...angry people on the phone chasing us for money coz we haven't been able to pay our bills yet.
what's the point? every day is pointless, just the same stuff. the same excuses. the same results. the same mess to clean up every damned day. :gloomy:
sorry...needed the vent.
i should mention some positive stuff...cady cady cady cady
she's so cute. she's trying to crawl, she's learning to put her knees under her, she desperatley wants to and she gets so frustrated when it doesn't happen :rolleyes: she's learnt how to play peek-a-boo which is just awesome. she'll pick up a book or a blanket and hide behind it, then drop it quickly and go "AGABBA!" it cracks me up. She's learnt how to dance (sort of) i'll have some music playing and we either dance together or i ask her to dance and she'll go nuts on her own. Her little arms and legs start bouncing and her head bobbles from side to side. she looks so proud of herself when she does it. SHe's also trying to sing along to music. she's learnt how to take turns, we'll either play peek-a-boo or dance and I'll say "your turn" and she'll do either of those and then she goes "ah-non" which is her telling me its my turn and i'll do it and so on. she can stand herself up if shes holding onto something (usually the couch) she can now say "mum" "dad" "nan" and "bodbod" which translates to "botbot" when she's hungry :laughing: she has also discovered the glory of plastic cups. of all the toys i've bought her she plays with plasitc cups. she loves trying to put things in them shake them around and tip things back out again.
my girl is awesome. everyone at my mothers group (cady is the oldest by 3 weeks though) thinks that she's advanced for her age but i keep telling them she's a bit slower on things like rolling, and solid foods has gone backwards.
JLeesmum
21-10-2009, 11:42
hello!!!
its been a while since ive pooped my head in here...:laughing:
what are everyones lovlies up to?
well..
Jyden is saying dad ALL the time and the occasional mum or nan, he's sitting up, crawling, has 2 bottom teeth, weighs 10kgs, he pulled himself up into standing position yesterday!, he has worked out how to open the cupboards and draws..
he's basically eating what we eat..(he had spag bol last night, chicken fetticini the night before)
he sleeps roughly every 2 hours, for 2 hours during the day (if im lucky)
and sleeps 7.30pm-5am at night.
we went swimming for the first time last week.. i dunked him and he loved it!
i trust him now to eat a banana without having to mash it! ( i tryed BLW but he keeps on shoving big chunks into his mouth and gets frustrated when he cant spit it out so were doing a bit of both)
i made banana pancakes for him.. he loved them! :smiliedance:(first time he has had eggs).
i love being a mum!.. were thinking about another one! well.. whenever im ready DP say's
is anyone else trying for another one yet?
we might have to start trying soon as i dont want another thing happening in september!
my bday, fathers day, our anniversary, my cousins bday and my uncles bday r all on the same day!
[QUOTE=smashlee;4174965]
is anyone else trying for another one yet?
:no: NNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!:no::no: DEFFINATELY NOT... I love my girl more than anything in this whole wide world but I do NOT want any more!!!
Just Add Water
21-10-2009, 19:19
Yep :) And I know of two others trying, another who is now 11 1/2 weeks pregnant (not on BH anymore though) and another I suspect may be making an announcement soon :) I'd love to say I am but it will happen when it happens.
Nope:( no more babies here(yet). It seems we have enough stress in our lives, I think dh and I both would have heart attacks if I was to fall pregnant anytime in the next few months, though my heart desperately wants to:) confused yet?:p
ahhh off to sleep, I hate daylight savings, means dh's trips to the airport are even earlier and we get even less sleep than a "normal" night
JAW, who do you suspect???
I know who is 11 wks from FB but not anyone else.
I am far from trying or wanting to be pregnant. I think 2 is enough for now. I would prob like a 3rd but don't know if I'll be able to make myself do it. My heart wants it but my head thinks, "be happy with the 2 you have". In any case, if we have a 3rd it will be a couple of years away at least!
DP got a temp job working on railway line repairs. I think the job goes to the end of the year. A friend of ours works there and said they're looking for people so he picked him up this morning. DP's been gone for almost 2 hours so I'm guessing they let him start straight away :smiliedance: It sounds like they work for 10 days then have 4 days off. I'm loving having the house to myself, I get some normality back and I don't have DP under my feet moping around and making a mess everywhere :thumbsup:
I took Cady to "mini muso's" yesterday, its run by the salvation army, and it was pretty good. They had all kinds of instruments from little guitars to teeny tiny baby marraccas and they sang songs and got to make lots of noise. yesterday the theme was "old macdonals farm" and they had brought in different animals like bunnies, a dog, baby chickens, a budgee etc... and they played games, played with toys did crafty things, danced and the biggest hit at the end was playing with the parachute :rolleyes: they served morning tea also so the kids got to eat cake a fruit...can you guess which got eaten the most :laughing: It was pretty good for $3
well, im going to try to be productive today, clean my kitchen do some laundry at the very least. I might be having a friend come over later today and her bub is Cady's best friend (Cady is 3 weeks older than her but about twice her size lol)
oh and the little bugger wouldn't go to bed again last night. She keeps having massive tantrums at bed time and she drank over 700 mls (yes...that is NOT a typing error...700 mls) of milk over 3.5 hours as well as having her dinner before she would finally sleep. Any suggestions on why she's doing this????
That's great news kaz about dp's job! What a relief for you.
On bedtime, Cady is a VERY switched on little girl, if she's ha a tanty and been let up out of bed again, I wouldn't be surprised if she keeps trying for it to happen again. I would suggest a routine and sticking to it as my KD was the same and still is. Sticking to our guns is the only thing that works for her. Should only be a few tough nights then things should improve. I am astounded by how similar our girls are. Perhaps I should warn yo now, 2 isn't so bad but watch out when she's 3-4, that's the horrible tantrum age! In all seriousness though, I found consistency to be the key there and I am just always prepared that when I put my foot down that things will get worse before they get better.
thanks Jess that's really great advice :yes: It sort of had been in the back of my mind that maybe she's clued onto the fact that if she tantrums enough then her Dad will get her back out of bed and let her play with toys :cool: maybe we just have to be prepared for a few crap nights of tantrums like you said and stick to our guns.
she's usually dozey when I put her in the cot, but after 20 mins she manages to wake herself back up and rolls around and throws her dummy and now she pulls herself up and stands at the side of the cot rails and just yells mumumumumumum or dadadadadadadadada which eventually turns into a scream (another reason why we've had to go back to wrapping to stop her throwing a party in her cot. I've noticed that her tantrum cry is disceivingly similar to her actual legitimate "something is wrong" cry
our girls do seem very similar don't they!!! thanks for the warning on the 3-4 year old stage ;)
:no: not trying here.
i wanted 2 children, then while i was pregnant, fell in love with the idea of a few more (i come from a big family) I love the hussle and bustle of a big family.
Now that we have josh, i'm thoughoughly traumatized by the screaming and the lack of sleep, that now im considering 1! lol, well, we will probably go back for more, we're just still in shock with josh i think.
LeeJ don't worry - you are better off for it. Those who have "perfect" babies rush back for another one straight away and then get the shock of their lives when the new baby is "normal" and cries!! lol..
Me I am so hoping that we are over the worst with Michael - between 18 mths and 2.5 he was horrible!!! Now at almost 3 he is pretty good and entertains himself and is nowhere near as naughty as he was. Please let him not get worse when he turns 3 :eek:
Karice, yay for DH finding some work! I know what you mean about them being home. DH's work has been quite slow lately and he has been driving me up the wall when he's home. The house is a mess and I just can't get anything done!
Just Add Water
22-10-2009, 10:39
Hate to break it to you girls but 5 is the most sucky age possible. Boys especially. Master 5 is horrible, they get a boost of testosterone around 5 and god it's nasty - they get all agro. Myself and a few of my friends with 5 year old boys are HANGING for them to go to school next year... they're feral!!! Ryan spent 2 hours yesterday completely losing it over a bloody banana ffs! This from a child who is normally so placid and gets complimented all the time for his manners :laughing. Miss 6 is always going to be a handful so although 5 was a challenge for us and she is getting better I don't know what is age related and what is related to her brain. :D
I am under no illusions that we could end up with a hard work baby - we are blessed that Bay is quite an easy baby but I already have been through hell with the 3 older kids so I figure I can cope with pretty much anything.
As to who I suspect? Well I'll keep that to myself, I wouldn't want to ruin anyone's news :D But I'm sure they'll tell you when they know :)
I've just ordered my starter pack for my demonstrations so Bay is about to get 9 new nappies, as well as an order I had on layby that I paid out last night so that's another 3 - so we've hit 23 I think now :) Yay.
what is it about the men being home that makes it so much harder to get things done? You'd think with an extra pair of hands around to entertain the children that it would make things easier? I don't get it. While DP's been home, the day has been a huge success if I've been able to clean the kitchen from the day before and do one load of washing, today even though I didn't get as much sleep as I would have liked I was up and dressed by 7am, the kitchen was cleaned this morning, I've cleaned it again after lunch, all my floors have been swept and mopped, the laundry is done just need to hang out another load and put away all the dry stuff thats been folded, my dining room is CLEAN nothing on the table, the highchair has had a good scrub, i've rearranged my house so that we now have a designated "play area" so i'm not constantly tripping over toys spread from one end of the house to the other and Cady can still see me while I'm cooking in the kitchen, AND my friend and her bubba came over for coffee and has been here for around 2 hours. please explain...:confused: Do men have a permanent force feild of chaos that sucks time, order and cleanliness into oblivion?
:hair: I just dropped my phone and shattered the screen into more pieces than I can count:hair:. Thank god it is specifically listed on my insurance with only a $250 excess. New phone here i come:D
Just Add Water
23-10-2009, 08:20
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,26248547-421,00.html
Saw this just now.... I can't believe there is more about the pressure the staff are under!!!! And yes I am making an assumption here that this is about someone we know. Disgusting.
ETA - Just had an email from K and confirmation that this is about her little princess.
I understand it's a hard job, there are a heck of a lot of hard jobs out there but people just don't go around biting people, let alone children or babies.
K - Am thinking of you hun :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:. Enjoy your time away.
I put in a hard slog yesterday and this morning and Woo Hoo I'm up to date, well almost, I'm as up to date as I have been in years! Now I can actually take a few days off next week and ENJOY them!!!
K :hugs:my goodness, how aweful :(
K and hubby hope s&g have been able to help you out and you are having a good break
as for us not trying but not not trying... But no af here so will keep bfing madly!!
I saw that article in the paper today and knew straight away that was it. I don't think I realised K was in Brisbane. Wow... how disgusting!
happybirthday to you, happybirthday to you, happybirthday dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr JAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWW, happybirthday to you!
Hip Hip Hooray:party:
I hope you have a fantastic day!
happybirthday to you, happybirthday to you, happybirthday dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr JAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWW, happybirthday to you!
Yay! Me did such a great job, I'm just going to quote her hehe
I hope you have a fantastic day!
Happy Birthday kris!!!!!!! :kiss:
Just Add Water
25-10-2009, 21:58
Aw thanks girls!!
Me - thanks for the other thread too, I found it eventually :D
I actually had a pretty good day after the disaster that was yesterday :o Had a few people over for a bbq for brunch and then a few more plus DH's family for an early dinner bbq. DH cleaned the house yesterday and then did a big clean up outside and cooked all day and cleaned up afterwards so he is in the good books... he was upset that he couldn't go and buy me a present so I told him to get my magazines that I get each week as I hadn't gotten them - so he did... I really couldn't care less about a present, I'd much rather he get a job and stop being so down on himself. :(
In other news, Kaz, you might be getting some new neighbours.... DH has been struggling to find work and we've given up hoping to hear anything back from the job in Tas that he really wanted (bugger!!) but he's rung up all the stores in Coffs / Grafton and it seems there isn't much competition for AV installers / repairers up there and what there is isn't reliable. So he's probably going to head up this week to do a meet and greet with them all and see what it's like. We'd be staying with mum for a bit at first (oh god give me strength for that :fingerscrossed:) and then we'll go from there. I really don't want to live in Coffs but we need something to happen. I'm ringing up tomorrow to find out about cashing in my super so we can get a little ahead on some things. Our lease is up in January and whilst we'd really like to stay as we love this house and know the people who rented it wanted long term tennants it's just not feasable... we can get a house this size for $200 / week less in Coffs. Insane.
I am so angry at my body at the moment too... For the last two months I've had positive tests and then really heavy AF's so have assumed that I've lost it before it's begun.. well this month I had what I suspected was an implantation bleed about 10 days after my AF finished and all the other signs were there too... but it seems AF has reared her ugly head again. I am so gutted. Which is stupid, because we have so much other stuff to deal with at the moment that I really don't need to fall pregnant right now and become a pyscho ***** again but god I want to. DH says it will happen when it's meant to and I know he's right I am just so sick of my body convincing me I am and then letting me down... though any first year pysch student would probably tell me it's my mind trying to convince my body :o
Oh well, I'm off to try and see some more stuff.... if you're on my FB could you please, please, please look up my other page and send it to your friends... I need to get as many people as possible looking to try and make some money. Sold a few things but not enough. I can't even get my bloody glasses fixed :cry:
I need to get over myself, I really do.
Is coffs just the place to be this week? Dh is there today for an install, though he left at 3 this morning to drive down and will drive back this afternoon, crazy boy!
(((hugs))) jaw, I hate the ttc rollercoaster. I've been meaning to spread the word about your other page, but I need to log in on my computer for that, so will do that today:)
off the wrangle my big monster into the shower!
JAW :hugs:
will double check i have gone to your page. i am waiting for AF to return so TTC can become an option, although at this point I am not in a terrible hurry. can completely understand your disappointment each month.
JLeesmum
26-10-2009, 10:04
happy birthday for the other day JAW (hmm could have been today.. sorry!) what fb page? let me know, id love to help if i can..i think i added you i m not sure...
i think we are going to TTC VERY soon.. it took us 3 years the first time so i dont want to put if off just incase it takes us just as long..
umm i dont mean to change the subject but what are your bubs eating now?
(PS- Jyden has a new 'thing', pulling the bath plug out..hehe)
:laughing: Smashlee Indie does the same, though if I give her a toy as she reaches for the plug it's usually enough to distract her long enough for me to bath her!
Well we only started on solids about a week ago, it's really hit and miss, just some cut up vege's or bread and last night some pasta. As I said though, really hit and miss, somedays I'll offer her food a few times through the day, other days nothing:o
Smashlee, Ella is eating 3 solid meals per day now. Breakfast of farex with fruit. Lunch of avocado and banana or vegies, dinner is either chicken or beef with sweet potatato, pumkin, parsnip, carrot etc. She doesn't like her greens much so we stick mainly with the orange vegies :laughing: I give her fruit or custard after her dinner as well. Everything is still pureed (or mashed fairly well in any case). She also has 4 bottles per day.
I have this stupid feeling that I am pregnant. Pretty impossible though. I have a mirena inserted for goodness sakes and have been bleeding / spotting for the past 4 weeks! I just feel a bit yuck at some stage every day and keep thinking 'what if'? Maybe I want to be (but I really don't want it yet anyway).. So stupid to think like this.
Marie does ella have a an orange tinge around her nose? i am convinced felix does from eating orange vegetables - apparently that is where surplus beta carotene stores. it is not a problem but his nose areal always looks like it is stained orange!
felix has 3 full meals a day - b.fast cereal and fruit, lunch some sort of protein and mixed veg followed up by fruit and yoghurt, dinner again some sort of protein and veg followed by some steamed beans/carrot sticks for self feeding and some fruit. he also usually has a couple of small rice thins spread with ricotta or avo while i am getting his meal ready because he goes a bit mental if he doesn't have something to eat immediately once the process starts.
he eats a lot and usually has BF at about 5am, BF about half an hour before he goes for morning sleep, BF around 10.30 BF around 3 BF around 6.30 followed by bottle top up of which he usually has 100 - 150 mls.
Bloody hell no wonder I feel like I am always shoving something in his gob. and he is a small baby.
JAW - I'm gonna be totally selfish and say that I'm :smiliedance: that you might be moving to coffs *blush* We'd be about an hour and a bit away from each other. I know its a massive change and an interstate move sucks a$$ soooo bad especially with kids but I really loved growing up in Coffs. Dad and I moved there from Sydney when I was 15 and it was probably the best thing ever, everyone is so laid back here and the weather is so nice all year round. When you guys come up to have a look around if you'd like some space from your mums place you're welcome to stay with us for a break :D plus it would give your DH a chance to have a proper look around at the Grafton options. Seriously, we rent an awesome 3 bed house with a massive backyeard (we're on a 1/4 acre block) for $275 a week and that's one of the more pricer places in Grafton BUT I have a school opposite my front door and Grafton Shopping world on my back door and the main street shopping about 30 second WALK from my house and I'm in a quiet street. When we lived in Brisbane we were paying$240/week for a crappy run down MOULDY death trap of a house in the getto of brissy. Rent here is so much better value for money. I'm so sorry that ttc isn't going as well as you had hoped. I've been thinking that maybe all the stress that you are under might be throwing everything out of whack?
Jess - was there ever a time when your Caydence hated the shower? My Cady loves a bath, even when we dump water over her head to get the bubbles out of her hair but freaks in the shower...I can't work it out...
smashlee - My Cady's eating habits litterally change week to week. Some times she'll have 3 meals and a snack and other days I'm really lucky if I can get her to have half a dozen mouthfulls at a time. This week however, we've been having the fruity musli farex and either apples or bananas mixed in, yogurt or apple oatmeal for lunch with some chopped banana peices for dessert/finger food learn to chew type stuff and dinner is either a jar of baby food if i'm lazy (with meat of somekind) or my own made pasta/couscous/rice meat/veggie/cheese combo. She's still wanting over 800mls of formula a day.
mks - i've got no idea what a mirena is :o i've been meaning to ask you. Would it interfere with an acurate home preg test reading?
kar - Cady gets an orange tinge after eating lots of orange veggies :yes:
AFU - nothing really new hear to report. My old company has asked if I would be interested in working for them again part time. It's nice to know that I'm valued enough for them to seek me out and ask but I need more info first. They're currently working out of coffs so its not going to be worth me going in 5 days if that's what they want. I've said I'd be interested in either two 10 hour days or 2.5 days spread over the week. By the time I've paid for fuel and childcare its just not going to be worth it for any more days and I'm not ready to go back full time yet. I'd miss my girl too much. Plus I just think that I wouldn't cope plain and simple. We'll see.
It was my neices 2nd birthday party over the weekend. It was nice but as per usual when the whole family gets together, someone gets their back up about something. Its always the same culprits.
hmmm...can't think of much more for tonight. Other than Cady did a power chunder earlier in the night but we've all been there before. Stunk so bad though :barf:
night night all
big hello to all those that have gone walk-a-bout come back and talk to us!!!!!
mks - i've got no idea what a mirena is :o i've been meaning to ask you. Would it interfere with an acurate home preg test reading?
kar - Cady gets an orange tinge after eating lots of orange veggies :yes:
A Mirena is a contraceptive device. Like an IUD I suppose but OB insterted it into my cervix and it releases the same hormones as the pill but instead of it going through my blood stream it goes straight into the uterus. Apparently (according to him) it's 'the way to go' cause it elimates the human error of the pill when you forget to take it or get sick. It also lasts for 5 years. The only problem I have found so far is that I have been spotting since after a week I got it in. I didn't have AF before so I assume I got it (stopped BF in the same week he out in in). I am having an u/s next week to see if it is in the right position and hasn't moved so I guess if there is something else in there I'll know soon enough :laughing:
Haven't noticed an orange tinge yet but I do know others who have noticed it in their children. I used to think she had pumpkin in her eyebrows and couldn't figure out why I had never washed her face properly until I figured out it was cradle cap! Speaking of which, it is quite bad on her scalp (but you can't see it cause her hair covers it). Any suggestions anyone on how to get rid of it??
Mks I just wash indies hair with qv cream(and it's versatile because it's an awesome moisturizer too). It makes a big difference, doesn't get rid of it completely so you need to do it again every now and then, but of all the things I've tried this has worked out to be the simplist, pain free, least chemical involved, fastest option for us.
Kaz - she loves both the bath and shower, though throws a tanty when it's time to get out. She'd happily stay in the shower all day long if I let her! Do you hold cady or let her sit? I find having them sit at this age they enjoy it more. When I take indie into the shower I still have her sit in the bath seat and she's quite content there, I just don't have it in the stream of the water, just off to the side iykwim?
Tired and grumpy today:( I hope it passes quickly, I hate being a grump especially when it's just the girls and I home all day.
Happymumma
27-10-2009, 06:38
Well hi all
I know its been awhile and im not even sure what type of reception i will recieve but hi :o
I have been reading along for the past week or so and have really missed having conversations bout our bubbas :(.
Any way will come back in more and say hi just needed a break away i guess........well have a good day ladies off to swimming lessons today might pop back on tonight :)
trifecta
27-10-2009, 06:55
Welcome back HM :wave:
JaW - Oh I really hope something comes up for you in Coffs, let us know hun! What a beautiful place to live too, not that I've been there but I really want to :D A move, change and some lovely sunshine will make the world of difference and then hopefully once your settled other things will start to stick :sunshine:
Well I'm recovering from some sort of cold thing, luckily it was DH's long weekend just gone so I got to spend some time in bed. Feeling much better now but my voice is very croaky. Off to swimming soon though, I figure J is fine so I'll tough it out for him as he loves his swimming and he so good at it!
He makes me so proud more and more everyday:D He's a cleaver lil munchkin, is nearly crawling and scoots around the place either on his belly or bum.
He's eating 3x meals a day too, lots of finger food to feed himself and I usually try to get some yogurt into him while he's stuffing his face with bread and vegetate.
Wake up time seams to have shifted to 6am instead of 7 , but he's usually asleep by 6:30pm now as he is only having 2 day sleeps.
Anyway gotta run, Tuesday is our 'busy' day. Swimming, then rush home and off to the library for books and songs.
Have a good day everyone, I'll try pop in more often. x
quote for the day: men suck :hair:
most of you know that Cady's been having tantrums at bed time coz her Dad caves and gets her out of bed and lets her play with toys but this week i've put my foot down and bedtime is bedtime. She was really good last night, went to bed with the smallest of complaints. DP accidentally turned the baby monitor down so it was practically switched off last night, I didn't realise and then when I went to check on her I found her absolutely screaming and upset covered in spew from head to toe, i got covered in it coz she went a second time (probably from being so upset) so i had to rebath her and change all the sheets and scrub the carpet late last night as well as try to calm her down. I reckon she had only been crying for 15 minutes but to her in the state she was in it would have been horrible. :crying: Then coz she was upset she had an unsettled night and was up every couple of hours and it took ages for her to get back to sleep and DP is a terrible snorer so it took me ages to get back to sleep and so the vicious cycle continues. So I'm currently on day 4 of having around 4 hours broken sleep a night and once again "his majesty" wants a sleep in coz "he's soooo tired" :geek: I'm tired and I don't deal well on tired. So when Cady woke up at 4 am and wouldn't go back to sleep, all I wanted was a coffee at 8am and he won't get out of bed. :banghead: so going to be a sh!t day
PS Hi happymumma and hubnbubby
sorry for the vent...I'm going to kick his lazy bum out of bed
JLeesmum
27-10-2009, 09:49
karice- i hear you about the snoring thing! its sucks hey..
men. a similar thing happened to me last night too, i put DS to bed and asked DP to turn the monitor on but he didnt 'hear' me. we were having tea and my dog was standing at DS door sticking an ear up, so iw ent and had a listen, he was screaming! poor lil bugger ..
me- i sit jyden in the bottom of the bath on those picture suction thingys, as long as the water is only 2cms deep he doesnt fall, i have a shower with him most times and just leave the plug out, he rolls around like a crocodile..lol.
im so proud of myself, yesterday i managed to make up a heap of home made food for DS :D
custard and apple, apple and oatmeal, apple n mango, mango and oatmeal, mango and custard, banana and avo, beef cassorole (meat,onion,pumpkin,potato and sauce) and some spag bol! he also loves chicken fetticine but i didnt get around to making any..
i tryed him on alphabet spaghetti yesterday, he loved it!
he eats 3 meals most days, sometimes just 2, and still has 800ml milk.
he is crawling EVERYWHERE now, its so draining..lol. jyden chases the dog, the kitten chases jyden, the dog chases the kitten,AHH.
i seriously need a play pen, the portacot just isnt big enough..
YAY getting a new car today!! a holden commodore VX station wagon 01 model. i cant wait!!! im thinking about getting a personalized number plate. SMASH (my name is Ashlee, but i got that nickname is highschool)
any whoo i better go get ready to go to the bank :D
mumma2ajem
27-10-2009, 10:18
Well hi all
I know its been awhile and im not even sure what type of reception i will recieve but hi :o
I have been reading along for the past week or so and have really missed having conversations bout our bubbas :(.
Any way will come back in more and say hi just needed a break away i guess........well have a good day ladies off to swimming lessons today might pop back on tonight :)
heya was meaning to ask you over fb but kept on forgetting and was skimming here and seen you had posted so would just ask here can you tell me if there are any nice resorts/ accomodation around your area to stay at we are heading down that way in about a month and want to stay somewhere nice do you have any ideas??
hope swimming is fun chat later :flowerz:
Happymumma
27-10-2009, 17:09
Hi misslouie :D yeah there are heaps of nice places to stay down this way :yes: depends on your budget and how far down the coast you want to go if you are wanting to come to the Illawarra area the Novatel in Wollongong is REALLY nice but pricey but is right on the beach, then there are some really nice caravan parks and what not close to the beach at Shellharbour if your on a budget! hope that helps if you find a place you like and you want me to tell ya what its like just FB me,when you do come down it would be good to catch up and meet :p.
mks- on the cradle cap thing Jackson used to get that a little and the best thing i found for him was baby oil on his head before he went to bed for the night then with a soft baby brush in the morning put some baby shampoo on to clean the oil of and work into a lather the oil helps soften the skin then the brush and shampoo helps lift it away just dont scrub over a few days Jacksons seemed to go away completely.Hope that helps.
Well i guess a little update on us would be helpful, well DP has gone away again he was home for a month and now he is gone for another 2 months :( its ok we are getting kinda used to it now but i miss him like crazy everyday. Jackson has 4 teeth with another 2 cutting at the moment, poor thing had 4 cutting at the same time at one stage there just cant wait for him to get these other 2 cause it seems like he hasnt had a break from this teething caper since his first tooth cut at 5 and a half months poor bubba.He has started swimming lessons and loving them :thumbsup: weighs 10kg on the dot and eats soooooo much food 3 solid meals and snacks(finger food), and still has 4 full bottles a day!! He is pretty much on normal food,well what i eat toast, weetbix,pastas,soups,cheeses yogurts,chicken advocado all fruits and lots of vegies he has even had tofu!!He is not crawling yet but he is giving it a fair go arms and legs go just hasnt connected the lifting of the belly bit lol
Other than that i think thats all the new news i have my friend had her baby all was healthy and now i have millions of cousins and friends with little newborns around me , makes me a little clucky but i want a decent gap between kids so not TTC just yet.Im 20kg lighter and have been slogging it out on the wii fit of late cause i still wanna lose another 15kg and i think i will be happy. Well this is a very long winded post about random things will cut things short there before i bore you all to death.
Chat later
take care
at the risk of sounding completely dense...how do I give Cady toast without her choking? :confused:
Kaz how do you do it ATM? With dd1 I cut it up into 1cm x 1cm squares a this age.
trifecta
27-10-2009, 20:13
Kaz I cut off the crusts and give them to J to chew on. He loves it and they usually go soggy enough by the time he's sucked the vegemite and he loves to chew. Toast/bread is the one thing he never flings around the place - every last crumb is eaten! I watch him closely as he tends to shove so much in his mouth, but he's never choked and doesn't even gag anymore.
i cut the crusts off, then give it to him.
the first week or so of doing finger food, she will probably choke herself alot (lets be honest here), just stay close, she will soon learn;)
josh prefers his finger food now, tonight he tried steak for the first time, with broccolli, carrot and beans, all just in strips, and off he went.
Just Add Water
27-10-2009, 20:28
I wanna get off the merry-go-round!!!!
*sigh* DH is on his way to Coffs to scout around for work after talking to some people, but on his way there he's received a phone call and is now probably going to Brisbane to meet up with someone about a job in Rockhampton. Rockhampton!!!! My god. On the upside my cousin has just moved there and is due to have her first bubs in January so that will be cool - but it's bloody hot up there and I don't do well in the heat :cry: Oh well, think positive.
Kaz, if we end up in Coffs I'll be bugging you lots because OMFG my mother is already doing my head in!!
Is Bay the only one not eating solids? He is lucky to have one meal a week... he's just not interested. The only one he'll actually finish a jar of is the strawberry yoghurt (have some very cute pics of him trying to eat the jar afterwards lol). Everything else he'll have maybe a spoon or two before pushing it away. He just likes his milk. Oh and water. Loves his water - good boy! But I'm not fussed on the solids... he doesn't have any teeth yet and to be honest milk is much easier. I'll keep offering but def not going to push it.
Ok, well I need to go and sort some photos and work out more stuff to sell. I've just realised we have 2 months till our lease is up and we'll be moving somewhere so holy hell I need to get rid of some stuff now!!
Happymumma
28-10-2009, 06:45
I just cut Jacksons toast into four squares and away he goes but he has 4 teeth so shreds it pretty well and gums it til it is soggy and all gone pretty much. at first he only had 2 teeth and he still managed ok a few gags here and there and stayed close for the big bits but no drams really.:yes:
Cady is shocking with fingerfoods... the first time I tried to give her apple was about 2 weeks ago, I figured she's got teeth now so I'd rather she learn to bite food rather than everything else in site, she's like a damned puppy sometimes chewing on EVERYTHING. Anyways, the point is that I stewed the apple so it was very mushy and cut it up into tiny cubes and she still choked, she just tries to swallow without chewing. Scared the hell out of me. This week I bucked up the courage and tried her on some bananna peices. I've been slicing it and cutting the slices into 4 so they're bite sized, she's gagged but not choked. It freaks me out though, I've got no clue when it comes to finger foods although she eats alot more when she knows she has to chew it rather than the odd lumpy bit in her food.
I haven't been game to try toast yet but i might give it a go when I buy bread. might buy some vmite too. DP bought her some of her own salt reduced butter to encourage me to give it a go :rolleyes: my excuse was that our butter is high in salt so I "can't" lol would be good to get into some more savoury foods, at the mo shes all fruit fruit fruit and yogurt and orange veggies
made a winner last night, swede, potato and pumpkin with a small amount of chicken and rice :thumbsup: she gobbled the lot, lumps and all.
JLeesmum
28-10-2009, 07:51
hello!, just popping in. Jyden has 2 teeth, i cut toast into soldiers for him, he seems to manage ok (its hard to tell how much he eats when most of it is on the floor)
wow our babys are getting so big!
JLeesmum
28-10-2009, 08:01
hey karice- when i use bananas/avocado/peaches/apricot/pumpkin etc i just press each bit once with a fork, on to his highchair, he loves picking it up and making a mess. that way he is feeding himself but cant gag. its messy, but it might work.
i made some banana pancakes (ity bitty ones). they were great, they just crumbled up in his hands.. (1 cup s-r flour, 1 egg, 1 cup milk, 1 banana)
josh has no teeth yet, but still manages toast, carrots, beans, chicken, steak, broccolli, just fine:D
Hi everyone, sorry I've been quiet I've been reading along but had a bad couple of weeks with Will.
Haven't really got time to do a proper update or personals now. We're off on holiday on Saturday going to Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne over 2 weeks so trying to get organised.
Hope everyone is well. x
tried toast today no choking but may have put too much vegemite on :laughing: she was pulling all kinds of faces but kept laughing all the way through. she was extremely tired though so I'll try again while I'm cooking tea. It might keep her occupied long enough to actually cook dinner in peace instead of the whining all the way through
smashlee - cheers for the pancake recipe, I have a banana that deperately needs eating so i'll give it a go :yelclap:
so as far as other finger foods goes does everyone just boil veggies and meats and have them in bite sized peices? i can't seem to find any info on this...
I haven't been giving any finger foods. I can't even remember when I gave them to DS but he was older than 7 mths. I have given Ella a rusk a couple of times but she's not interested much. My kids are lazy :laughing: They want to be fed! DS is nearly 3 and I still feed him his weetbix :o. He insists on feeding himself every other meal (huge mess) but he lets me feed him weetbix so I do cause it means less mess in the morning when I am usually rushing. I gave him some custard before and he told me to feed him cuase he would spill it on the floor! He is the messiest eater out of all the kids I know. At daycare they laugh cause he sits in a pool of spagetti when that's on the menu for the day. One of these days I will be able to wash without soaking.:rolleyes:
Tomorrow I am taking my 2 for take 2 of their pixie photos. We went on Sunday and both were horrible! They wouldn't sit still, Michael was pulling silly faces and Ella was crying. :fingerscrossed: it works cause I won't even have DH this time.
Finger foods I do beans, carrot sticks, brocolli, cauliflower (all steamed in microwave) rice thins with avo or ricotta, banana. Beans I leave whole and he sort of splits them and sucks the good bits out, carrot 5cm lengths, florets of broc and cauli. Thick slices of ripe pear is good too.
Hadn't thought about toast. DO you do actual toast or bread. Isn't vege very salty for them?? I love it so I guess F probably would too! Hmm, hadn't even considered this.
Try not to seem panicky when they seem to choke/gag - the gag reflex is very strong and if you seem to be worried or upset they freak out more in my experience.
Kris hope you get some certainty soon love.
Pippa hope everything is OK. Have a lovely break.
Day 4 of single mummy here and i am TIRED.
i do toast, so it takes longer to soggy up ;)
i don't put anything at all on it, ah, terrible mummy, LOL
trifecta
28-10-2009, 20:19
I put that new vegemite on - the isnack or whatever it's called now, no butter needed and I don't think it's as salty.
I sometimes put Hummus on too. He loves them both. Not together tho. :laughing:
I use bread and toast, whatever I feel like.
Kar - What rice thins do you use? I've been looking for some but can't seam to find what I'm looking for? I know that sounds stupid... The ones in the 'kids food' place say they are all for over 10 m?
i am a bad mummy, i rarely take notice of the supposed age on those things. can't remember what brand, raffertys maybe? i bought normal adult ones for him this week they are apparently the same but you have to break them up and they dont have extra iron.
Kar I use bread, but I guess that's because DD1 doesn't eat toast so I can't be bothered making it unless it's for me these days:o
Kids do love vegemite(well most do), but I've found I've had to wean DD1 off it because of the preservatives in it, they send her quite hyper, so I won't be giving it to Indie.
Pippa - I hope you have a great time away and that it's a relaxing holiday for you.
a good one, when we were at the expo, i was chatting to the chickey from mumum rice rusks (they are like rice crackers for bubs), they are marked 12+m, but she said it was ok, if they were capable from 6 months.
well, they are joshs favorite thing, he gets one while he is waiting for his dinner, and munchs it right down. it dissolves in your mouth, so its hard to choke on ;) i quite like them actually:laughing:
Leej I was looking at them today but put off at the 12+ on them, will definately grab some in my next shop. We're still hit and miss with this solids thing but it's handy to have things close to ready.
Please don't say anything on fb, but I can really feel myself heading into another battle with the depression monster. It really sucks because before it happens I always get this burst and catch up on paperwork, get my house as close to spotless as I'm ever going to get then bam I loose all motivation, all energy, all focus. I just hate this feeling. I'm having all these ridiculous thoughts, like dh is working crazy busy hours atm, I KNOW it's work because I'm talking to the customers, invoicing them the hours yet I find myself questioning everything he does, everytime the phone rings, everytime he gets a text, everytime he's on fb, I always wonder if I am one of those women who wouldn't know if her dh was cheating. I've also started freaking out about having the girls in the car, I think this has a lot to do with dd1 having worked out how to undo a baby seat. She. Doesn't do it when we're driving, but it does freak me out. There's just so much going through my mind constanly, I've become insomniac again which I really just don't need.
Sorry, didn't mean this to be a pity post, but I just need to get it off my chest. I hope I'm wrong, I don't want to be depressed, I want to enjoy life, be happy and most importantly I want to stop stressing!
Just Add Water
28-10-2009, 22:19
:hugs: Jess - get yourself to your doctor hun and get on top of it... you can get free counselling through the mental health scheme with medicare (which is sadly not promoted enough). It really is worth it. I wish I could come and give you a hand as I know how hard it is to struggle through those days... and believe me when I tell you that I completely understand the questioning of DH's hours and calls, I've done it many times and when I'm feeling good I can see that I was being irrational (but at the same time that thought it still there - would I know? :o)
How good would life be if we could just relax? I hope you get some relaxing time soon.
Now off to your calander, schedule a call to the doctor and get yourself some time to sort you out. :hugs: Oh and get some valerian - it's a herbal relaxant that you should be able to take while breastfeeding (but obviously check with the health food shop) it is seriously the best stuff I have ever had to help me sleep and I usually only need to take it for 2 or 3 nights to get myself into a routine again. It's worth a shot anyway - and it's not a sleeping tablet, just something to stop your mind going a million miles an hour.
Thanks jaw. I've had the free councilling but the main person who offers that in my area is the rudest cow I've ever met, told me to "get over it", when I was talking about the nightmares and anxiety attacks I was having at the time. You're right(again), I've been putting off going to my doc, I should just do it.
Glad I'm not the only one who stress's over dhs movements. I know it's irrational, like right now I know he's with our web person getting out the new newsletter, but I still question it?
I'd totally forgotten about valerian, it didn't help the last time I had it, but I was also a lot younger and living off coffee so I'll give that a go too. The hardest part is waking up for the night feeds and fully waking up, that just sucks and I find it so hard to get back to sleep and it leaves me shattered!
Anyway, off to *try* to sleep!
Just Add Water
28-10-2009, 22:47
Try again with the councelling... your GP should have a list of them, I find it odd that there's only one. It's a relatively new program through medicare where you do a mental health review with your GP and they refer you for 6 medicare funded sessions, you can then do a review and have another 6 if need be. I had about 15 to choose from and this is a much smaller area.
Failing that try beyond blue - they have some awesome counselling services I've been told.
And failing that grab a phone or a keyboard and pour it all out to me (or any of the other lovely ladies we have around here who think you're just wonderful and a supermum). That's what we're hear for :D I hope you get some sleep. :hugs:
:hugs: me.
I agree, get to the doctor so you can get on top of it.
Hope you get some decent sleep tonight. :sleeping:
Evening girls :) Just a quick one cause I really have to go back to bed (but for some reason can't sleep). I can't believe how quick this whole month has gone. Just astounded. I went back and read the read of this month's posts (though in reverse order, which was some weird, anti-time thing which did my head in) and it seems like a busy month for most. I hope you're all doing exceptionally well at the pointy end of October now, though, get lots of yummy sleep and your children are exceptionally well behaved for you :). Only 8 weeks until Christmas, and we all have first timers this year so it promises to be a special silly season for us all :D Personally, I can't wait.
Not much news, Abi's third tooth seems to be machete-ing its way through the gum (top eye tooth I think) and is causing more distress than the two on the bottom did. She's still sleeping and eating ok, though, so it could always be worse. Since I go back to work on Monday *woe*, DP has spent the last 3 weeks at home with us learning the ropes. That basically meant that I palmed cranky-child off to him for the day and played computer games lol. Since Abigail and I didn't really have much of a routine, though, it's been more difficult that it probably should have been. In any case, she seems to do much better with him when I'm out of sight, because as soon as she spots me the game is over and it's "mmmmmmeeemmmmmm /cry" until he hands her over. Poor poppet. She so doesn't understand. Breaks my heart. I have faith that they will be ok all day while I'm out because I have to believe it in order to function. Tell you what though, they will have to tie me to my desk to get me to stay at work any longer than I absolutely have to. Oh, and it's been suggested that I may be able to work a day or two a week from home, which would be just the peach. So we'll see what happens. Went shopping today and bought a new work wardrobe. By the gods I hate clothes shopping... at least it's over.
Have also tried Abi on formula for the first time, since I haven't been able to express enough BM to build a useful stockpile for when I'm at work. It's going ok, though I have no idea if I have bought the right one or not. I figure they're probably all much the same, though I started her straight on Stage 2, since she's over 6 months and on solids. She doesn't really like it much yet, and is still learning to feed from a cup/bottle, but I feel better that DP has something to feed her while I'm at work. And she still needs at least one bottle during the day. /sigh. Was hard to put it in the trolley after working so hard bf-ing her for the last 7 months though..
LOL so much for a quickie, anyway. Night girls. And have a wonderful weekend.
Jess love please try and look after yourself. I know the feeling of that horrible black dog lurking waiting to pounce. Try and get him before he gets you :hugs:
Tales, when I first started giving Felix a bit of formula my helath nurse recommend NAN HA Gold with probiotics. It is apparently the closest to BM and easiest to digest. We have never had any issues with it. When I am buying it at the supermarket I feel like shouting "He only has one top up of formula before bed, the rest is boobs" :laughing:
JLeesmum
29-10-2009, 09:58
Hugs me. poor darl. it sounds like your suffering alot of anxiety. i hope you slept well.
tales- i use s26 step 2, just to let you know...
JAW.. i asked before but you might not have read the post.. what are you selling Smile ? is it on ur FB??
i went to mothersgroup yesterday, it was the best one yet!, only because i could acctually put jyden down and he just commando crawled off and was playing with the other kids Smiliedance ! some of the kids were eating party pies and bits of meat were falling on the floor, DS was picking it up and eating it. it was so funny, i just turned a blind eye..hehe
hey is anyone here from perth?? i dont think there is...
Just Add Water
29-10-2009, 10:11
Hi Smashlee,
Sorry I did read that but my brain is all over the place and I reply in my head and then think I've done it :laughing: I'm having an online garage sale via facebook... if you look up Will Look Good In Your House you'll be able to find it :D You're not on my facebook yet either. If one of the other girls see this then can you send Ash my details? Ta.
As for being from Perth - Tinytotsmum and Missyky are from Perth but neither of them are on here that much anymore. They pop their head in from time to time but you could try maybe sending them a PM?
Bay slept his biggest sleep every last night - OMG I couldn't believe it.... and then he's gone down for a 1 hour nap this morning (can hear him waking up now).
I have been absolutely flat out the last few days getting stuff listed for sale, organising nappy stuff, trying to keep on top of the housework and doing my bit not to spend any money. We ran out of washing powder but have pure soap so I've been making my own - I'm such a tightarse at the moment, but hey if it works and it's here :p
Ok, need to keep on going. Finally catching up on some emails and stuff. Need to pack up Master 5's room as well - he's being a little brat and as far as I'm concerned he can have his bed and some books, everything else can go in the shed - no one gets to be rude and keep their toys in this house! I'm such a *****.
Thanks girls. Well I had a fantastic nights sleep, well ok it was short(11:30 - 6) but there was only 1 feed in there so I woke up feeling like I'd had an awesome 8hr sleep!
JaW - we do that with DD1 too. Sometimes she's kept the tantrum going and ended up in her room with just her mattress, pillow and blanket. Yep, we've even taken the bed base away. But that's been an extreme and she's gotten it back within a few hours. She has no toys in her room at all. I had the baby toys in Indie's room, but I've just moved them out, I figure now that she's able to sit to occupy herself it's only fair to DD1 that she has no toys in her room either.
Is there a growth spurt that happens about now? From Indie's big huge sleep last night, and followed up with a 2-3 hr nap today I'm thinking she's having one, and about time too! She's put on 100g in 6ish weeks, so she's due for one!
I've had a bit of a tidying morning, I can see part of my desk now, so that's a good start. I really need to work my way through this mound of paperwork sitting to my right before I loose all desire and motivation to get things done again:rolleyes:
Jess :hugs: I hope you find someone helpful to talk to throug hthe counciling services, really in a helping role there is no excuses for being treated the way you were previously. It's idiots like that that do more harm than good. They're supposed to be impartial people you can trust to give you advice, not tell you to "get over it" what a cow.
JAW - arhg your day makes me feel tired just from reading about it :laughing: I really do feel like I'm lazy somedays lol I know I'm not but I'm barely coping with what's on my plate let alone dealing with 4 kidlets, selling stuff, packing up a house, you go girl :yelclap:
smashlee - sounds like mothersgroup was lots of fun, it's great when the bubbas can sort of amuse themselves
tales - I understand its such a bummer to put Abi on formula (even just for topups) after putting in the hard yards with BF, please don't feel bad about what other people at the store might think, you know your girl and know best for what needs to be done. It must be hard as it sounds like you're doing this coz you need to go back to work so in a way you're choice about it hasn't really been your own :hugs: Everyone in your family will get used to the new routine, bubbas are adaptable little things.
AFU - I'll try not to blab too long lol
I've decided to give the farex a break for a while. That's the only thing that I can think of that's constipating her so much. I need to get on top of it as she's really struggling to do a poo poor little bugger. I've switched to just weetbix which I'm mixing in some of her formula to make it soggy. I've also bought some pitted prunes so I just chop them, stew them in the microwave and then give them a quick buzz in the blender and mix that in to her weetbix. She ate it all up so that's a good thing, should help to clear her out. She hated the prune juice, even watered down to buggery and I don't blame her, I think its foul. Also, I've bought some of those kiddy rice cracker things after reading on here I thought I'd give them a go. I've got cream cheese and tuna here so maybe she'll eat that. I made the banana pancakes yesterday, they were a big hit! I must admit though, I did add some cinnamon to it :o I don't think it would be too bad for her. She's strange my girl, she seems to really hate baby foods, either bought in a jar or made by me. The other night I'd had a bit of a rough night, was using leftover fridge stuff to make a meal out of as today is grocery day and i hate throwing things away. Made a creamy fettucine bacon and veggie concoction and blended some up (no bacon) for Cady and she ate the lot and wanted more. Thought I'd test this theory again last night as I'd made sausage casserole so I blended up the veggies from that and the teeny tiniest peice of sausage meat, same thing again, gobbled the lot down and wanted more. WTF??? She just likes big people food, no baby food. I don't get it. So I'm just going to make sure that as I'm cooking I'll take Cady's portion out before I add any salt (if I do) all my stocks and stuff that I make have very little salt in them so I'm not worried about that.
So DP and I had a massive fall out last night. Long story short, I haven't had much sleep for almost 2 weeks. Cady's teething or something again and she's up every couple of hours really unsettled, DP just sleeps through it he doesn't get up to her. Yesterday I'd had a crap day, DP worked back a bit so when he came home at 5 I was relieved. All I wanted was to cook tea and sit down for an hour or so by myself. He walks in the door and says "i want to go out tonight" I explain that I'd rather he didn't because blah blah blah go out next thursday instead then i said i just want a coffee and i'll start cooking. I come back in the kitchen to find him starting cooking, me the stupid fool thinks that he's cooking to be nice. nono, he's cooking so he can eat before he goes out. anyway, I cracked it big time and then he got angry at me coz I was upset that he wanted to go out, throwing comments at me like "don't be such a brat, its not that bad" then it was "hurry up, how long is it going to take" he just kept pushing and pushing and pushing me and I snapped. I hurled a saucepan (it was empty i was cleaning it) across the room and left. I went for a big walk, bought a god damned packed of cigarettes, smoked them till i felt sick, cried and eventually walked home. DP was on egg shells around me when I got home, making me coffees, giving me compliements, bathing Cady, taking out the rubbish etc... once id finished cooking and put cady to bed, i went to bed and he didn't wake me in the morning, got up for work himself made his own lunch. maybe my extreme has gotten through???
Oh Kaz, :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs: I would have snapped months ago so I can totally understand why you did snap. I really hope that this is his wake up call for some permanent changes in his attitude. I'm here if you want to chat.
Unfortunately I'm coming to the end of my tether with DD1. She never listens to me, backchats, is rude and then after DH talks to her comes to appologise with an empty appology then does the same thing again. I'm honestly getting to the point where I don't want to live with her anymore. This morning was going well until it was time to clean her teeth. She has about 5 different types of toothpaste so to make it fun we do "rainbow toothpaste" which is a tiny bit of each one. Well this morning she wanted to do it by herself but put far too much on so I said, nope, we'll have to do rainbow another time, just use it like that. She was fine until DH was out of sight then cracked it, threw her toothbrush in the sink, sending toothpaste everywhere, spat toothpaste everywhere and started screaming. I cleaned her face and sent her to her room. Well wasn't that the worst thing in the world to do. DH came in and was like "WTF? You gave her 2 seconds from when I walked out until you sent her to her room?" Well sorry but if she's going to behave like that what else am I supposed to do? We don't smack in our house, when she's naughty she goes to her room. She knew what she was doing was wrong, she knew it was naughty, she did it because she didn't get her way so I think it's totally the right thing to send her to her room for it. DH is like god to her, she barely ever back chats to him, usually listens to him but I feel like she's constantly pushing me and manipulating me to get her own way and then **** me if I tell her she can't do what she wants. Well I'm sorry but I will not be pushed around by a rude, pushy 3 year old. She needs to learn that she can't get away with everything and sometimes she WILL be sent to her room. Argh! I hate that we have a personality clash, I just wish we were both more laid back:(
Just Add Water
30-10-2009, 11:23
Kaz - good on you for getting out, I really hope it's given him a wake up call. He's a parent and your partner for goodness sake, not a bloody single man who can party when he wants. Grrr to him!!!
Jess - as someone who has an extremely strong willed, back talking, attitude loving 6 year old.... breathe. I had to laugh when you said you had taken away the end of her bed... back when Miss 6 was Miss 4 she spent a month (yes, a month) with her mattress on the floor and nothing in her room but her bed stuff and her clothes. It took her a month to prove to us that she had changed her attitude and could look after her stuff.
I don't put up with any of it. She currently has about 3 sets of clothes, the rest have been put away as I'm fed up with her not putting them away and not looking after them. Master 4 has hid toys gone through yesterday and I threw a whole heap out and packed the rest up. In this house you have the right to a bedroom and the rest is a privilege. Bill Cosby & Donald Trump had the same attitude :D If our kids are rude then they can enjoy their room, and until they are ready to be a part of our family then they don't get to enjoy the rest of the house. Apologising because they have been told to is not acceptable either.. I personally think that a change in attitude is worth much more than a sorry. If I'm ignored then hey, I'll ignore them back. No, I'm not interested in talking to you about your dolls because you weren't interested in listening to me. Perhaps when you are then I'll come and play again. People say they're just kids - but kids still know how to play games (toothpaste game above shows that exactly) and they'll keep going as much as they can. Unfortunately I know all too well that when you're both not on the same page then things will be much harder to change. DH's attitude started changing much more when I started taking him to appts and getting the teachers to bail him up and tell him what was going on - it made it real and not just me having a whinge.
Failing that, put some laxatives in his food so he has to stay home for a few days and see what it's really like :p
Apologising because they have been told to is not acceptable either.. I personally think that a change in attitude is worth much more than a sorry.
Failing that, put some laxatives in his food so he has to stay home for a few days and see what it's really like :p
Hallelulia Someone understands how I think!!! That's all I was trying to get across to DH. I don't care if she appologises or not, as long as she shows me that she's taking what I'm saying on board and changing!
:laughing::laughing::laughing: That is soooooo tempting!
thanks girls, who knows with that man what goes through his head. We seem to go around in circles, everything is good for a few weeks and then the selfish monster rears his ugly head again. Sometimes I actually think that it would be easier to be a single mum, well, not easier but not so taxing on my emotions anyways.
Jess, :hugs: I don't know what to say. I've never been in the position of having a difficult kidlet, but I can imagine its a whole lot harder when DH doesn't get what the issue is. I must admit I liked JAW's idea of giving him laxatives so he can be witness to the daily troubles you're having. Does he understand that Caydence can and is able to play up to him and then as soon as his back's turned start to push your buttons?
On a random note, We just came back from swimming lessons. About half an hour before we left the weetbix and prunes certainately did their job :laughing: there's about a week's worth of backed up poo flushed out in one go...such a mess, the nappy wasn't big enough to contain it all. So very very VERY thankful that she didn't save that up for in the car seat or the pool. That would have been terrible. But, she went under water today and didn't even cry :yelclap:
:laughing::laughing::laughing: laxatives...
i know, it bugs me when people say that kids don't understand manipulation, they DO!
i feel myself getting frustrated with J, and he's only 7 months old. He's not doing deliberate things like dd1 is obviously, he just has such a temprement on him! he can't be put down! gah, won't go into it, just a bit at the end of my tether myself. So i'm understanding the frustration.
do u think that the kids even at this young age know how to test us??? DP thinks I'm crazy but I swear Cady is testing the boundaries. EG: she's in the walker, without fail she'll go up to the curtains and start yanking on them. I say "ahah! Don't touch!" quite firmly with a stern "cranky face" until she starts to do something else. I go back to cooking or whatever, I look back she's doing it again. She pulls her arm away when I tell her no but waits until I've looked away and does it again. This lasts for about 15 mins. I SWEAR she knows what is going on and knows she's being naughty...DP thinks I'm insane and just thinks that she doesn't understand what I'm saying :confused:
Yep, bubs can totally play you and anyone who says they can't should spend a day with Cady, DD1 and Mr J TOGETHER and watch them try to outdo each other to get what they want from you. These kiddo's are smart, they're figuring out how the world works and how to make it work for them.
I finally get my macbook air back this afternoon! It was reported stolen almost a year ago to the day and it was recovered in April and the police are dropping it off to me in about 5ish minutes with the power pack and everything. I'm so excited! My 17" is lovely, but quite heavy for lugging around all the time. DH and I are already fighting over the air, but I figure he just got a new laptop not even 5 months ago so this one is mine!
JLeesmum
30-10-2009, 14:15
karice, its great she poo'ed! isnt it funny how something so gross can make you so happy?..lol. coloxyl is a good one if u get stuck again.
the last week jyden has been pooing pebbles about 3 times a day.. im not sure if he is constipated cos he is pooing so often, but its always hard..?? any ideas anyone?
i made a massive lot of chicken, veges, and white sauce, and sweet and sour chicken n veges! yummo!
i bought some of those mum mum baby rice crackers, there great! like $3 for about 20!
also jyden ate his first 'clix' (like jatz) today..lol
Bloody he'll add Felix to that gang. Not sure if you saw my general post yesterday. We are having toddler style tantrums. I
pick him up he looks around and starts laughing
hard poo is a bigger indication of constipation than frequency
went to work again, was great! Feeling guilty for enjoying it so much of course
rich is home Sunday will be glad not to be a single mummy. How the he'll do they do it? Even crap partners with baby care and household stuff are still an adult to talk to at the end of the day
TuesdaysPrincess
30-10-2009, 20:08
Just popping in quickly to say hi. I am utterly exhausted, and have had enough of everything! :)
I have had a quick read of everyone's posts and wanted to give a big :hugs: to all who are going through a rough time.
Benji's still quite unwell, another ear infection 0 this is the 9th one in 7 months! He gets four or five days off antibiotics and then he gets another one. So we're going to see the ENT doc on the 5th and hopefully he will book us in for grommets and we can start to look forward!
He's still a shocking sleeper, feeds 2-3 times a night (at different times and takes a full feed, so I know it's not just a habit) ... I am utterly wrecked. I've not had a decent sleep in 2.5 years (DS1 didn't sleep through until I was 7 months pregnant!) ...
Anyways, hope everyone had a nice weekend! Jess, see you Monday babe! I'm sure Indie will be a nice fat piggy on Monday!! Sounds like that growth spurt is definitely happening!
TP I hope you can get in for grommets soon, the poor munchkin!
We've been working on getting her fat this week, so fingerscrossed we have some luck! You predicted her growth spurt well:)
ash I'd try increasing his fibre, adding pear or prunes into his meals should help a lot.
Kar I'm glad you're enjoying work, don't feel guilty about it. If it's making you happy then its making you a better mummy at the end of the day:)
well im glad its not be just being nuts.
sorry for the not so great post today, not feeling my best
Cady has gotten a cold from somewhere duringthe night. She's been all snotty and just generally sooky. its not often that she's happy to just lay back on my lap and veg :o i gave her a bottle and put her back in bed and she's gone straight to sleep.
well DP doesn't seem to have improved much. he came home yesterday and was straight away "i want to do something" no hello how was your day would you like 10 mins for a coffee? I just burst into tears, wouldn't talk to him. he just kept pushing and pushing and pushing " Dan wants to know if i'm going there or if he's coming here, give me an answer, would you object to them coming over?" I told him that I can't give him an answer because its going to start a fight. "why?" because if i say I don't feel like enteraining all your friends you're going to say that you want to go around his place and I don't want you to go, I need you here" and so he just went and phoned his mate, selfish prat. they didn't end up coming over anyway but thats not the point. so then he says "ok, so that you have warning, I am going over to Dans house tomorrow after work" he's such a pr!ck sometimes. If he can't get his own way he has the biggest tantrum. I told him, you don't care how I feel or what I need, you just do what you want. "oh but that's not true, i do care" like hell only when it suits your social calandar... :gloomy:
gah...sorry, i know im not the only one going through a sh!t time, I'll stop complaining about it.
TP i hope b's little ears get better soon, poor bugger, you've both been through a rough time, hopefully this doc can help to stop it happening again.
kar - going to work sounds like fun actually :laughing: can i come????
smashlee - to me that kind of sounds like consitpation. weetbix and fruit (i used prunes as a desperate measure) fixes it just be prepared for the mess lol. Although Cady had been having problems for a week so it was all backed up I think
jess :smiliedance: for macbook. I reackon you should totally call shotgun on it and leave the new laptop with DH
i suppose i should go an do something constructive...dishes...vacuum...blah...sleep? sleep would be great. oh how i miss sleep... I was thinking of downloading a documentary on the effects of long term sleep deprivation and showing it to DP so that he might get why his help would be appreciated. I went to buy some ingredients for dinner , had had a very long and taxing day with Cady doing lots of housework and was busy in general and had had about 3 hours sleep, asked DP if he could give me half an hour for a break and do you know what he said "but you'll be having a break while you're at the shops..." nice...a$$hole...:geek:
:hugs: Karice. Men.. they just don't get it. My DH thinks I have it so easy being at home with the kids all day.. he has stayed home with DS all of Jan while I worked full time and thought it was easy. Yeah, that cause he rested while DS slept - he didn't clean, cook, wash etc. If it was only looking after the kids it would be ok but what about everything else???? He's got a rude shock coming when I go back to work - he'll be helping A LOT more. Otherwise I just can't do it.
TP - poor Benji. Hopefully he gets his grommets soon and is on the path to recovery!
Re the constipation Ella was like that a while back. I did give her coloxyl but the biggest help was changing formulas. Now we are on Nan which is meant to be the best for that.
Me I am thinking that DS is starting to get the full on attaitude and resistance now too. He is 3 in 3 weeks (I guess that's why :laughing:). I am starting to be a lot tougher on him cause he is old enough to listen and do what he's told now. As my friend told her 3 year old, nice mummy has left the building and mean mummy has moved in!
Just a quick one, am at the gp atm waiting to discuss anti depressants with my doc.
I left dh this morning and left dd1 behind. Don't know where I'm going to stay yet but I have a few temporary options. I told dd1 that I was leaving because I don't want to be angry anymore. She's upset and I feel bad for that, but I feel worse when I'm constantly on edge when she's around. I'll also talk to my gp about how to organise councilling for her. Dhs response when I said I'm leaving, "and how are we going to split the business?"... "you can have it, I don't want any part of it". Tbh I just want my sanity back.
I'm yet to break it to family and friends, so for the timebeing please don't say anything on fb, I'll get there over the next week.
Just Add Water
31-10-2009, 10:52
Jess - :hugs: I know where you're at, I truly do. If you really want to get away from it all then you'd be more than welcome to stay at Coffs with my mum... they're at work most of the time and she'd leave you be. Plenty of room and it's out of town and a great place to sort your head. You're also more than welcome down here as well but I understand that's not as practical, but if you want tell me what I can do for you.
I don't have a mobile at the moment but will pm you my home number if you want to talk to someone. :hugs:
oh jess ! :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
my door is always open, you're more than welcome to come and stay with me for a break, change of scenery :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: i'll pm you my home number
:hugs: oh god, jess, i didn't realise it was getting this bad:( You have my number.
we have sunshine in vic at the moment, and the berry farms are about to open if you want a trip;)
:hugs::hugs:
hun, im so sorry things are so hard right now:(
Oh Jess I'm so sorry. If there is anything at all I can do you know to just call or email me.
wow Jess, I had no idea it was this bad either. Can you go to your parents? I know that you have been having a hard time with DD but is that the reason for this, or is it the business, or everything on top of each other I suppose. I want to be as supportive as possible but is leaving DD1 behind and taking DD2 with you going to create more problems? As everyone else said, whatever you need, just send a message on here or FB. :hugs:
Thanks girls I really do appreciate it. Atm I can't have dd1 with me, she pushes my buttons too far and just makes me so angry, it's better for her if she stays, at least for the time being.
I went to my gp this morning and have started on some anti depressants, hoping they will just take the edge off so I can work on fixing the problems.
Mks it's just a combination of everything. Everything has been resting on my shoulders for so long. I've been crying out to him for so long now that I haven't been coping, he's expecting too much of me, I need help and most importantly I need support. The only 2 days this year that I can truely say I have done nothing in regards to the business are the day I had dd2 and when I had my last lot of wisdom teeth out, other than that I've done something every single day(yep, I even paid bills and made phone calls from my hospital bed:(). All he says if I say anything about being tired, exhausted, stressed, not coping etc is "well im working my butt off doing 18+ hr days so ...". He just doesn't get it. He's so far from being on the same page as me. We have nothing in common. My life is work, kids, housework, cooking, groceries. His life is work, dd1. He justifies it by saying "I'm working hard for our future and family", but what's the point when you're family has fallen apart because you're too busy doing other things to put 5 mins into it?
We've had the business for just over 3 years now. In that time he's had a new car, 2 new expensive laptops, 3 new iPhones, 1 new iPod, 2 new other phones, a new wii, TiVo, tv and probably a bunch of other expensive stuff too. I've had 1 new iMac, 1 new iPhone and 1 other new phone. My car is 12 years old, 230000+ kms on the clock, the clear coat has worn off, every panel is either dented or scratched, the inside is completely trashed from dd1 and all I've been asking for since dd1 was 7-8months old is a newer car. I get nothing. There is always something more important. Like atm he needs to spend $30ish k on a demo machine so there goes any hope of a new car this calendar year for me. I'm just sick of being walked all over and being second fiddle to a freaking business!
Part of me is too embarrassed to see any of my family irl so I'm tempted to go back to the house so I don't have to, but then I just open myself up to being walked all over again and that's just not worth it. Watch this space though because I probably am stupid enough that I will go back:(
Just Add Water
31-10-2009, 14:37
Jess - I wrote a big post this morning in the PND section... I truly get where you're coming from. Don't worry about being embarrassed, as I said to you the other day you need to get some time for you. DD1 will be fine, I survived my parents splitting up several times and it's really only when I was a teenager that it had any real affect on me - and that was more to do with the tossers they both hooked up with... Now is your time to be selfish, don't tell your family if you don't have to unless you want to, and in regards to it all... if this is the path you want then you'll come out fine financially as well, afterall the business is doing well. It might be callous to say it but it's something that is no doubt playing on your mind. Being a good father does not mean a good husband and as much as the girls deserve a good father you deserve a good partner in life who sees you for much more than the accounts girl.
Where are you going tonight? Do you have somewhere to go? I'm toying with the idea of heading up to Coffs for a few days to get away myself so if you're really stuck for somewhere then let me know and I'll head up there (DH told me to go this morning.....) and we can meet up and you can have somewhere to clear your head and I can give you a hand with bubs.
Where are you going tonight? Do you have somewhere to go? I'm toying with the idea of heading up to Coffs for a few days to get away myself so if you're really stuck for somewhere then let me know and I'll head up there (DH told me to go this morning.....) and we can meet up and you can have somewhere to clear your head and I can give you a hand with bubs.[/QUOTE]
c'mon girls!!! lets unite!!! bugger all the sh!t we're all dealing with, it will still be there tomorrow. Kris, you're welcome to stay at my place too ;) or I can come for a drive to coffs, I don't mind either way. we might all benefit from having a good natter and a b!tch about all the stuff that is going wrong and get some fresh air in the country side.
my last post was supposed to be quoting JAW's post but it didn't seem to work right... :confused:
I'm staying in town overnight then goingto see Nae at the markets tomorrow and then will head south to stay at my folks caravan at the beach about 2 hrs north of you kaz. So I'll be free to head south for a catch up and the bubs would love catching up I'm sure. I'll work out days clearer tomorrow and message you both.
Well the 1 think I have noticed about the meds so far is OMG I'm so thirsty!!!
I'm feeling slightly more upbeat this afternoon, I feel I've sorted a few things today(meds, accomodation, got all our stuff, told M what he needs to organise for himself and who he needs to pay). If only I'd gotten my load of clothes washed too it'd be a perfect day:p well, you know what I mean;)
Just Add Water
31-10-2009, 18:35
What meds are you on? I'm on Lexapro and found that I was thirsty as well... but they do generally take a few weeks to really kick in (though in all honesty I thought they worked pretty much right from the start but that was probably pyschological). But I'm glad things are getting sorted for you and that you are able to start to clear your head. Remember that it's one day at a time and don't let anyone pressure you to make any decisions.... it's taken a long time to get to this point and it's like pregnancy weight, it's not going to disappear over night :hugs:
I'm so glad you have a place to go and clear your head! DH is going to Brisbane (ah the irony) on Wednesday and will be back on Thursday so if I head up it will be the end of the week - depends on what happens in Brisbane.
Did I mention he's got an interview for a job in Rockhampton? Gah!!
Jess a caravan at the beach sounds like exactly what you need right now. I always find the beach helps me to clear my mind of clutter and focus. I'm sure dh's response about the business was at least in part a shock response. Remember you have been thinking about this for a long time. For him it is out of the blue (I am prepared to assume that despite everything you have been saying to him it never entered his head you had reached this point). Look
after yourself tonight love and fb me if you want a chat xx
trifecta
31-10-2009, 19:43
Me :hugs::hugs::hugs: and a big :kiss:
I know you are going south, but you are more then welcome to stay with me up here in sunny Nth Qld. I have a big place with a spare room in a quite town opposite the beach. We even have two Macs you can play with :D You and dd2 can stay as long as you need to, it's a great place for some quite reflection. I'll pm you my number too.
I'm really sorry to hear it's got so difficult for you, maybe now tho M will see how much you do do on a day to day basis and that it's not acceptable. No one would cope with the work load you do hun, not to mention the running of the house as well.
I'm coming down to Brisi in about 3 weeks, if you are back then please let me do anything you need to help you out. I mean anything. Taking dd1 for the day, shopping, cleaning, taking you out for a cup of tea and chat.... :hugs:
JaW - Do you have any side effects from the Lexapro?
My hubby was on Lexapro for about 3 years, but got sick of the side effects after that long and got off them after seeking some physc consultations. He still suffers anxiety but has managed to be off the meds for about 2yrs now.
Just Add Water
31-10-2009, 19:50
JaW - Do you have any side effects from the Lexapro?
My hubby was on Lexapro for about 3 years, but got sick of the side effects after that long and got off them after seeking some physc consultations. He still suffers anxiety but has managed to be off the meds for about 2yrs now.
I didn't really have any side affects... a bit of nausea to start with but it went away, oh and a complete lack of interest in sex (which came back when I increased the dose but has gone again). To be totally honest I've gone off them at the moment (stupid I know) but am making an appt on Monday to go back to the perinatal clinic as I'm pretty sure I have PND - given that I never dealt with the AND properly it's really no surprise... I hate taking tablets but need to do something. I going to be asking about something else as I had been playing around with my dosage (I haven't had a doctor monitoring it since December.... :o) and even going up to double the original dose didn't do too much. Again, that might have more to do with my forgetting to take them as often as I should.... I'm the perfect poster child for what you shouldn't do when diagnosed with depression...
trifecta
31-10-2009, 19:55
Ha yeah the lack of libido was one of the biggies, he he not that that it makes much difference these days :D
He was really bad coming off them tho, spent a week not doing anything other then complaining alot and was pretty sick.
I'm on lexapro too. I do feel a lot better tonight, it could be pshyscological, could be because I've been out clearing my head all day, could be the meds, could be because of the enormous outpouring of support you've all given me, or it could be a mixture of all of the above, either way I like it:D. I'm not angry, stressed mummy:smiliedance:
I'm not worried about the side effects, they can't be any worse than how I was feeling(except for when I tried cipramil - that stuff is horrid, it made me suicidal:eek:, so of course I took myself off them). So far it's just the dry mouth thing, just an annoyance more than anything else.
JaW - if you think you're bad, you should see my previous attempts at taking AD's, terrible terrible terrible:shame:. I think because I've never wanted them before and really had them pushed on me iykwim. This time though I feel that I need them and that they will help(along with other actions of course). I think getting back to the perinatal clinic would be good for you(haha like I should be the one talking! I think we just need each other to remind us of what's good for us, just like a week ago you were telling me to drag my backside back to the doc!).
Well Indie's asleep. I know I won't be interupted by any trick or treaters, so I think I might head off to bed(though I take no responsibility if I keep posting for another couple of hours:p).
jess - glad to hear that you're spirits are starting lift :smiliedance: I told DP that we might be getting a visit from you and he was all for it :D If you make down here (and JAW if you make it up here) for thursday then you'll be here in time for the Jacaranda festival. It's nothing flash but basically every year our town has a local public holiday to celebrate our whole town being covered in purple flowers and there's always a parade, markets and other festive stuff...basically any excuse to have a day off work hehehehe
JAW - how come you've taken yourself off the meds? Do u feel like you still need them or just wanted to try out what its like without them?
AFU - Cady has gotten a cold from somewhere although I'm suspecting that she's about to teeth. Last time she teethed she was spewy, had a cold then we had a week of crankies and pop they came through. We've had prjectile vomits every night for a week and on day 2 of a cold. She hasn't been around anyone that's sick and she very very very rarely gets ill. It just meant that I was yet again up at all hours of the night. She's so sooky when she's like this, all she wants is mummy. She's not the most snuggly of babies, she's faaaar too independant for that :rolleyes: but she's wanted to either fall asleep in my arms or at the very least have me in the room. So I caved last night and slept in the single bed in her room so we at least got a few hours sleep.
DP had wanted to go out last night, but when he came home to find a screaming baby and a frazzled mummy he thought better of it. He went and did a big grocery shop for me so I didn't have to do it, bought a cooked chicken and pasta salad so I didn't have to cook, the new womans weekly mag that I haven't been able to buy for months and a big block of chocolate and some yummy gooey camenbert cheese :D so he's back in my good books today. SO i have eaten chocolate for breakfast (im off to a great start lol) after much protesting Cady is back in bed and I've finally gotten half an hour to myself. :smiliedance:
DP still has another 5 days of work to go, its kind of nice not having him around for most of 10 days, I'm sure I'll enjoy his company much more after 10 days...maybe...hehehehehe
right now im off to read my mag
tata all :hugs:
Wow kaz that's great that he's seeing that you need a break fingerscrossed he keeps it up!
Just saw Renee and TP at the baby market got a new nappy, baby legs and a pair of jeans for dd1, pretty happy with all that. But now I'm not even 5 mins up the road with a flat! Sing with me now, it's raining it's pouring... If I didn't have my boot absolutely chocker full and indie with me i'd just change it but I've called my parents for reinforcement. Looks like it's shredded on the inside so hmmm not sure it's safe for me to drive on incase it happens to the spare but also not a good idea to drive a few hundred kms without a spare. Will see what dad says.
jess - don't let the tyre dishearten you, its always darkest before the dawn.
Just Add Water
01-11-2009, 18:51
How're you going, J? Have you spoken to M yet, or are you just having a total break? Oh and I spoke to my mum and she said you're more than welcome :D
Kaz - the idea of the three of us sitting around and having a massive B**tc session sounds WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :laughing:
The emotions are just hitting me big time :crying:.
DD2 cut another tooth today. That makes 5 now and #6 is right there ready to come through too. I only realised as I put her down asleep tonight that I left her teething necklace on, perhaps a blessing in disguise there. I'll leave it on til I'm ready to go to bed then I'll take it off. :fingerscrossed: that gets that tiny bit more sleep out of her.
Just Add Water
01-11-2009, 19:30
Wow 6 teeth... we're yet to see one.
I'm presuming you're at your parents beach house now? And your emotions will completely hit you now... this is the first time you've stopped to let them get to the surface in months. As much as I'd love to tell you it will be easy you're probably in for a very few rough days at least as you start to process it all. :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: But in order to be where you need to be you need to take the first steps... and they're often the hardest. xx
Thanks JaW, unfortunately I know I'm in for a rough few days. I'm going to be exhausted and I'm really really really hoping these teeth don't keep her up all night tonight:o.
Nope, not there yet. My car is unsafe to drive. The flat I got actually ended up being that the inside of my rear tyre was shredded and it went flat instantly. Dad checked the other side and it was the same(though not yet flat). So before I go anywhere I need to get 2 new tyres for my car at the minimum. I also need to find out why they both went like that, because that's not normal. I've been saying for a long time that there are some serious things wrong with my car and that there are probably actually too many things to fix that it really just needs to be sent to the wreckers and I get something else, doesn't have to be fancy, doesn't have to be expensive, but it does need to be reliable! Shirts me to tears whenever I see 1 of M's friends in particular who gives my tyre a kick and always says the same "you still driving this heap of sh!t?". Really shirts me. I'm so self concious about my stupid car. Honestly I'll go somewhere and park ages and ages and ages away so noone has to see my car. At least it keeps me fit :laughing:.
JAW - it'll be great to sit around and have a massive b!tch about everything :laughing::yes: when I was younger, I was always mates with boys coz I grew up with boys I suppose and I couldn't understand why girls got together and did that, now I'm older and have to live with a man and look after a man (coz really I have two children, a teenage boy and a baby girl hahahaha) i soooooo totally understand the refreshing cleansing and essential ritual that is a good old b!tching session.
Jess - i do think that the next few days will prob hit hard, but I agree with JAW it's coz you've finally got the chance to sit back and let the emotions go. A couple of years of stress and worries and problems all pouring out over the next few days is going to be overwhelming at first, but you need to do it hunny :hugs: just relax, the world is not going to stop spinning if you take a few days, weeks or months off until you're feeling better. Now is the time to be totally selfish and do what you want and need to do.
dinner is ready so i need to go, DP is bugging me :rolleyes:
Which baby markets are you all talking about? Not Matilda's markets?? I went today but didn't buy much. Just some hair clips for Ella and to put in the girls goody bags for Michael's b'day party.
I did take DS to the shops with me this afternoon and he was such a good boy. I was so proud of how well he behaved and he got a ride on the 'big red car' before we left as his reward and he didn't even throw a tantrum when we left :-) I also found a pair of shoes reduced from $150 to $30!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Me, where are you now? Have you told your family? How are you feeling?
JLeesmum
02-11-2009, 08:55
just a quick hello..
horrible night
DS went to bed at 7.30pm, i went to bed at 8.30pm, DS woke up at 9pm and stayed awake till 1am, then we were awake again at 4!!!!
rrr. im assuming its more teeth..#3 i hope.
is it usually the top teeth that come 3rd?
smashlee - it must have been the night for it, cady went down at 8 but was back up at 10 was awake till 2am (not grizzly or anything just AWAKE) went back to sleep and then was back at at 4am :sleeping: she's napping fine today...plus she's had a cold which seems to be getting better and huge projectile vomits so I'm thinking its teeth also. Got no idea which ones come next, i think its the top incisors??? not sure though.
Yes typically it's the bottom middle teeth first followed by the top middle teeth.
Good news! DD2 has hit the 7kg mark!!! She had only put on 100g in 6 weeks and put on 200g this week :thumbsup:.
I'm going to try to sleep while I can. I'm so tired today
Just Add Water
02-11-2009, 11:41
Yay Indie :yelclap:
Was just popping in to see how you were going J... I hope you get some sleep - you've got a lot to catch up on.
I've given up on getting any more today... Master B has hayfever so we were up until just after 5 this morning when I finally got him to sleep, alarm went off at 7, back to sleep about 9 (DH took the kids to school) and then back up at 10... he's okay within himself but omg he's so frickin tired. I've been giving him saline drops and chest rub so I'm hoping it will start to clear soon.. or that he'll at least nap. I am achieving absolutely nothing. He's sitting in his rocker for five minutes while I have a mental health break - but he's not happy about it. Was very much wanting daddy this morning and cried when he left. :(
Poor B. I hope he rests up for you.
Must be the time for sick bubs! Just came back from the dr. He thinks Ella has asthma:crying: She was coughing quite badly and wheezing. They gave her some ventalin and prescribed me steroids and ventalin so we'll see how she goes over the next few days before we go and see him again on Thurs.
Hope you're holding up ok Jess. Where are you?
Oh and speaking of teeth, Ella still has none!!!! A bit slow there :-) She is kind of sitting (but flops over) but is crawling (slowly but she makes her way accross a room). It's all happeneing a bit backwards this time .. lol..
JLeesmum
02-11-2009, 13:03
mks- ventolin???? i didnt hink they could have it till 2yo. also they cant diagnose asthma untill there 2 also...
and yep, i woke up with a sick baby this morning too! poor lil fella
So glad I don't have a sick bub. I hope all the bubs are going to recover quickly.
MKS - I'm at the house today, because I had to get my car fixed this morning, but I saw DD1 this morning and she wanted to talk to me tonight so I blurted out that I promised to see her after kindy, so I'm here for the tonight at least and I'll take it from there.
I have such a splitting headache today. Indie just isn't a day sleeper, I hoped I could get her to rest in the cot but nope, she's not interested, so no proper rest for me
whoops - I can't spell. Yeah ventolin. He didn't actually say asthma as such but since she has had bronchiolitis before he said that that if the ventolin helped her breathing it means that it isn't bronchiolitis. It did help so he has prescribed it for the next 3 days along with some steroids and then reassess. He said it could be asthma but isn't saying she is asthmatic if you know what I mean.
Jess, I guess you need to see DD so yeah, take it from there. Hope everything works out (whatever that means - I guess works out how you want it). I am very lucky that Ella sleeps well in the day but poor thing is coughing herself awake which is not good at the moment!
here's a giggle for you all girls for the afternoon...
Just had Cady weighed at the clinic and wanted to check up on these projectile vomits... well she's 10.15 kgs at 7 and half months and is OFF THE CHART for percentiles :laughing:
turns out the projectile vomits are because she's eating herself sick
the nurse said that with the amount of solid foods and the wide variety that she's eating then Cady should be on about 600 - 800 mls of milk in 24 hours... umm... Cady's still been having well over 800 mls its not uncommon for her to chow down on 1100mls in a day easy :o she still has bottles 3 - 4 hourly on top of solid meals
so i've been given some instructions and a new feeding routine to try and cut her back a bit and at least get her down to the 97th percentile :laughing: hahahaha my chubby baby loves her food :raspberry:
trifecta
02-11-2009, 15:35
Karice one of my friends little girl who is 6m old weighs in at 11kg!
Hope the new feeding routine goes well and the vomits stop!
Just Add Water
02-11-2009, 15:56
I'm sorry but I need to get this out.......
I am so absolutely freaking bloody tired. :cry:
Bay didn't get to sleep until just after 5 this morning and then as I said before we had about 2 hours and then another hour... he then settled at about 1pm for about half an hour, then for 20 minutes at about 2.30 and then he's been screaming non stop unless I'm with him. He looks drugged, that's how tired he is... I finally get him dozing off in his cot and the friggin dog starts barking at the guy doing the garden so he gets scared and wakes up again. Then at 4 I get him asleep again, albeit in my arms... he is constantly startling himself so not really going more than five minutes without having to resettled.. I put him in his cot 20 minutes ago so I could *gasp* go to the toilet and he wakes up as soon as I put him down again.
DH is out doing a job for some friends so now I have to go and get the other three kids (I so don't want to drive, let alone deal with people - I haven't left the house for three days :o) and then I have to come back and do dinner and hope to christ no one wants to argue over stupid crap like usual...
And all I want to do is get mcdonalds... but I've just paid for all my nappies so we have about $5 till Wednesday so I have to bloody cook. I think they can suffer with baked beans. Then bed. And then I am taking Bay to bed and he's going to bloody sleep whether he wants to or not. Grrr. I am so glad I got to sleep for 11 hours on Saturday night when they all had a sleepover at their nans... because he has not stopped screaming and wanting to be held since. And I can't do anything else for him. :(
Ok, whinge over, I need to make a quick coffee before driving. Sorry.
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs: JaW. Has Bay had a sleep over before? I'm wondering whether he's just really clinging to you atm because he is still a bit confused about the whole sleep over thing? I really hope he settles better tonight for you.
Baked beans are a fantastic source of protein, they're low GI and they're considered a power vege I do believe so :thumbsup: great choice for the kids. DD1 likes it cold too, so even no cooking:) Can you let Master 9 unleash his eagerness for the kitchen and let him make the toast?
JLeesmum
02-11-2009, 16:58
jaw- baked beans sound good, we had toasties last night. im pretty bluddyy tired myself..DP told me not to do any housework today and he will help me do it tommorrow.
so im acctually going to listen to him for once..lol
Karice-hehehe that is funny...little piggy.
Jydens 8 months (yesterday) and weighs 10kg..
Ella must still be little cause the dr weighed her today for her medication and she's about 7.8 kg at almost 8 mths. Haven't looked at the chart though..
JAW - baked beans sounds great :yes: can you kick DH out of bed and claim it for yourself and Bay for the night? At least you'll be comfy with a bit of extra room. I know its a step backwards but does he settle at all being wrapped?
mks - i think 7.8 at 8 months is smack on 50th percentile...Cady's just a piggy she's always been a bigger than average girl. Put it this way, her cousin will be 2 in Feb and although Emily has always been around the 10th percentile for weight Cady has now overtaken her in the weight department and wears bigger clothes than her :o i hope that the ventolin helps her but I also hope that she comes back all clear for asthma. Although, all of DP's family had childhood asthma and grew out of it so there is still hope even if she does get 'diagnosed' iykwim
well, the new feeding routine 'may' have started to work already :fingerscrossed: i dropped one of her bottles, just gave her a teeny tiny 60mls to help her settle although she didn't sleep this arvo. She rarely does in the late afternoon anyway but it was worth a try. She ate double the amount of solids at dinner time, even with having a light custard snack to replace her bottle at afternoon tea and despite being incredibly over-tired from only sleeping 2 hours last night and only having a short nap in the morning. She had her bath and OMFG went to bed at bedtime. :eek: she had only drank half her bedtime bottle (around 120mls) so I put the rest in the fridge and she woke up about 1.5 hours later grizzly so I gave her the rest and she's only slightly stirred once. For the first time in about 3 weeks I actually got a stressfree evening. I got to read my magazine in peice and quiet, I feel so much better. She's been driving me nuts for weeks on end and every night I've been power-spewed on, its been quite depressing. I'm about to risk going to bed and hopefully get more than 2 hours sleep tonight for the first time weeks. oh and no spew so far HOORAY
Also, i've forgotten to mention that other sleeping issues aside, we've been successfully sleeping and going to sleep unwrapped for every sleep for 2 weeks. It's great coz if she loses her dummy she puts it back in herself if she can find it. It's just annoying when she decides to stand up at the cot and yell at me. oh well, you can't have everything I suppose.
Jess - how did it go with DD1 after kindy today?
ok well, big hugs to everyone nitey night
i was still up every 2 hours last night but it is a slight improvement on recent nights... i guess i can't hope for too much while she's still got a little bit of a cold. We'll see how it goes today, she was a bit better, not so grizzly and once she was re-tucked in she went back to sleep for a little bit. I guess waking up has become a little bit of a habit for herself and it might take a week or so to re-learn staying asleep
JLeesmum
03-11-2009, 09:33
karice- thats great u finally got a break, and that she has stopped spewing!
well i ended up going to bed at 7pm last night, i couldnt keep my eyes open.
DS slept from 6.30am-5am and only had 1 dummy spit, so that was great!
how many sleeps (if any) and for how long, are your bubs sleeping??
Just Add Water
03-11-2009, 10:01
Morning, i just realised i'd been doing the answer in my brain thing but never actually answered anyone again :o. I really need to work on that.
Kaz - I took myself off the AD because I like to believe that I am superwoman who can cope with anything. It was a stupid thing to do, almost as stupid as not having seen a doctor about them in 10 months because I didn't want to... I have enough left for 20 days at the usual dose or 10 days if I double it (which I had been doing) so I'm staying off them until I see someone. I want to try a different one... and in all honesty I'd rather be a ***** for a while and actually have a libido and not have to make my husband feel like he's unloved - that was horrible.
As for kicking DH out of the bed, well I'd have to sleep in it first :laughing: We really need a new mattress (despite the one we have only being 3 years old and was over $3000 at the time) as my back kills each morning, so most nights I'm on the lounge, sometimes I have Bay sometimes DH has him - we take turns, depending on who's more tired. I try and sleep in there at least a couple of times a week though. Can't wait to be able to get a new one though!
Me - This was Bay's second sleepover, he stayed the weekend at my sister's a few months ago. The difference was though that my sister slept on their sofa bed with him and he was in the portacot at his nan's house. He's used to being with us at night so I dare say that was a part of it. And I am definitely sure that combined with his hayfever it is a bit of separation anxiety coming into it. He's been doing the whole scream when you leave the room to get you back game but it is more than that (I'm getting good at winning that one ;) ).
Well the kids had their baked beans much to the delight of Master 5 & Miss 6. Master 9 was not happy as he's not a fan but I told him to suck it up and deal with it. He got the message :D I had a cheese sandwhich and then I remembered I had some chicken burger fillets so I cooked some of those too. We've got a public holiday here today so DH will be home for most of it so I'm planning on actually cooking a proper meal - we have some lamb shanks in the freezer that I think will go lovely in the slow cooker. Mmmmm.
Ok, well I'm off to keep taking photos of stuff - as much as I hate to admit it ebay is the way for me to go... Had stuff on there for 2 days and already sold several things. I'm sure the whole FB thing would work better for someone else. I appreciate everyone doing their best to help me with it but like I said, if it wasn't me it would probably work :rolleyes:
Morning all. We actually had a good night's sleep even though Ella was coughing for a couple of hours after I put her to bed. The dr told me that the steroids would kick in about 6 hours after I gave them and he was right. By around 10'ish she wasn't coughing and fast asleep.
I have to say Ella is a great sleeper. She goes to bed around 7.00 and wakes up anywhere between 6.30 and 7.30 (athough on sunday she slept until 8.20 :eek:). SHe then has her morning sleep from about 9.30 / 10.00 to 11.30 / 12.00. Her afternoon sleep is from around 2.00 / 2.30 - 4.00ish
I have been very lucky with both kids. I lawys struggled to get DS to bed (and still do) but he used to be a great day sleeper as well. He has only just cut out his lunch time nap but he amuses himself fairly well so I don't mind that he's not sleeping and it makes it so much easier to get him to bed at night.
Karice, re the spewing thing I forgot to say last night that I asked the nurse about Ella always vomiting (not projectile but just random vomits throughout the day) and she said that it was probably just that she was eating too much (well it was all milk at that stage) and just getting rid of the excess. So there you go.. even the little ones can be greedy!!:laughing:
Just a quick update from me, Indie seems to be waking.
I'm back at the house for now, said I'd work for another 2 weeks to tidy up loose ends, prep everything for hand over and give him a head-start of finding someone else. I'll see how I go after 2 weeks if I want to stay at the house longer or if Indie and I will take off for a while.
To make matters worse I got the fuel bill for this month and worked out exactly how much my car is wasting in fuel - I went through 160L of fuel and only travelled 825kms:eek:. That is so far wrong! I just spent $200 on new tyres yesterday, so guess it's back to the mechanic to see what is actually wrong with it. Apparently DH was planning to buy me a brand new car next month and called a recruitment agency last friday to hire them to find staff to take the burden of both him and I, so he has made efforts towards changing some things, so I guess that's a positive. Will just keep taking it 1 day at a time.
A big thank-you to all of you for all the support, :hugs: and lovely PM's. It really does help. For those I haven't PM'ed back, it's not that I don't appreciate it, because I absolutely do, I'm just a bit lost in my own mind atm to put the right words together to say thank-you.:goodvibes:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=4209787#post4209787
new thread chickeys