View Full Version : *+* Feb 09 Mummies OCTOBER Chat ! *+*

parentingrocks
01-10-2009, 06:29
even though I am talking to a brick wall in here :laughing: I will post anyway because maybe, just maybe you'll all come back one day!!!!!
I believe we need to start a new thread at the start of the month and I've never done one before so I hope I've done it ok - just copied the title from last month.

Anyway, Charli is going well. Have just switched to offering solids at lunch and dinner time to first then topping her up with milk, because otherwise she is hardly eating them and it seems to work heaps better and she has dropped one bottle. So she is now having... 1 bottle on waking, cereal, sleep.... lunch solids, bottle, afternoon sleep,.... dinner solids, play, bottle before bed... (and then a dream feed which I will drop soon). Also I offer her water after all solid feeds, but she only drinks 10ml's here and there. I really hope this is enough fluid for her (3bottles during the day + water) but I am going by the guide on the back of the formula tuin which says she should only be having 3 bottles per day from 6 months onwards. Plus it is working to make her eat more solids. What do you guys think?

We are off to an old friends house today to visit, she has a 10month old now. Will be good to catch up and see how they are together.

See you all soon

A'sMummy
01-10-2009, 06:44
Happy October everyone!

Solsen- I tend to do the same with the bottles. When she wakes up in the morning I offer a bottle but she only drinks a very small amount like 20-40ml. Then she has breaky. Then before her morning nap she will have around 110ml. When she wakes up she will have some lunch, then before her afternoon nap she will have a bottle, around 150ml. Then she has dinner at 6pm, then before bed around 7.30pm she will have a big bottle of around 200-240ml. Then during the night she normally has around 150ml so all up she anywhere from 500ml-700ml max per day.

mummyJ
01-10-2009, 07:32
Hi girls! I'm back!! I have been a reader, but not a poster...but new month means new opportunities...So I'm taking it to finally post!!!

Solsen - I think that sounds good! I've never bottle fed, but it does sound right! I know DS hardly ever drunk water in the first year, so offer it, and she'll drink what she wants! Remember, that before they are moving heaps, there is less chance of them getting dehydrated anyway!

Well Leila is a touch younger than most of your lot - she ended up being born 2 March (due 22 Feb)...but until this week she has pretty well refused food...You can still hardly get more than a few spoons in...but its a start!!! Very different to DS who was on 3 solid meals by 5 months and never gave stopping signs EVER!!
It's SOOOO amazing how different my 2 kids have been. Polar opposites, just like DH and I!!
The funny thing is, til now she's pretty well only been exclusively BF, but she weighs close to 11kg!!!!!!! crazy!!!! I think I've got custard coming outta my boozies!!!
She cut her first tooth on Sunday and now has both her bottom ones!!!
I stopped working at the begining of last month...It's nice to have done it this way...She came back to work with me from 6 weeks, but then I stopped because it was getting too hard with her coming and I didn't want to leave her yet...I have been doing attachment parenting with her and she's not ready to be left yet...
I'm a bridesmaid next Saturday...So it will be interesting how I manage focusing completely on someone else other than Leila all day! I'll be fine, but it will be interesting to see how she copes coming second!!
Anyway I've posted a whopper...I promise to try and post more often so that I don't bore you when I do!!!!!

zephani
01-10-2009, 08:50
October 1st! How did that happen?!? Today is the first day of holidays for me, since I only work Monday to Wednesday. I'm looking forward to spending the next two and a bit weeks with my beautiful baby and gorgeous husband. It is our first wedding anniversary next Monday and we are going away this weekend so I'm really excited about that.

Solsen Well done on starting the new thread! It didn't even occur to me that today was the start of October.

The way you are offering solids and milk to Charli sounds good. Miss K has three 200ml sippy cups of formula a day and 200 - 300ml of water. She usually has a sippy cup of formula when she wakes up about 6:30am, then breaky at 7am, she is offered water till her formula sippy cup at 12pm, then lunch at 12:30pm, she again is offered water till her dinner at 5:30 - 6pm and her last formula sippy cup of formula at 6:30pm and bed by 7pm.

Robin Barker in her book 'Baby Love' suggests that babies at this age need 120 - 180ml two to four times a day. So that is anywhere from 240ml - 820ml a day. Go with your gut. You know your baby best and can tell if she is having enough fluid. Three - five wet nappies a day is also a guide.

MummyJ Welcome back! Have you tried offering Leila finger food? Miss K decided about three weeks ago that she wasn't going to eat unless she could feed herself. It's called Baby Led Weaning. You can google it or search for threads her to find out more about it. I bought the Rapley and Murkett book of the same name and have really enjoyed reading it.

For breakfast Miss K is offered a few grapes, a few blueberries, a strawberry quartered, a slice of kiwi fruit and I feed her a tablespoon of yoghurt. For lunch she is offered a couple of cherry tomatoes, a couple of slices of cucumber, a finger of cheese, spear of baby corn, some yoghurt and a rice cake. For dinner she is offered a finger of carrot, potato, sweet potato, potato, pumpkin, a floret of broccoli, cauliflower and some green beans. It sounds like a lot but then Miss K gets to choose what she is going to eat.

I understand what it is like to have a bigger baby. Miss K is 10.3kg and has been that weight for the last 6 - 8 weeks. She is also 78cm so she is quite tall too.

Congratulations on the first tooth! We don't have any teeth yet.

She cut her first tooth on Sunday and now has both her bottom ones!!!

AFU I think Miss K will be crawling in a few weeks. She has worked out how to move backwards and how to climb down the couch. She also moves around by pulling on things on the ground or by rolling to the thing that she wants to get to. When she is on her tummy she gets her legs right up under her bum and wiggles her legs in the direction she wants to go. So she knows what she wants to do and where she wants to get there she just needs to *do* it.

We are off to do the shopping today and then to Gymbaroo. If I am feeling better I will also go to the gym. So busy day. Hope everyone is happy and smiling.

parentingrocks
01-10-2009, 08:59
thanks for the feedback guys I'm glad I'm doing the right thing.

Lateralus
01-10-2009, 16:24
Hi everyone - just a quickie to say happy October! We made it safely down to Sydney after splitting the journey into two parts - home to Port Macquarie one day, then PM to Sydney the following day. Miss Zoe travelled a lot better than I thought she would. She had a few 'moments' but overall she was pretty well 'behaved' considering she was strapped into a car seat for about 6 hours each day. She had been pretty grumpy since we've been in Sydney, but I can finally see a little toothie peg starting to cut through on the bottom. Well, I can't actually see the tooth, but I can see where a gash has appeared in the gum an I think we'll be seeing that pearly white in no time at all! She is SO close to crawling now - she gets around doing the commando crawl, but is also getting up on her hands and knees and rocking - just waiting for the penny to drop and for her to work out that she can get around a lot more easily if she just moves those hands and knees :laughing:

Hope everyone is going ok - will try and log in again sometime later in the week xoxo

gonnabeaGR8mum
02-10-2009, 09:31
OMG october already eek, under 3 months til our littleones' first christmases hoe quickly the time passes

Solsen the nurse told me i shoudl be offering solids first after 6mths and then giving milk as a top up, problem is then miss E refused the milk point blank and resorts to bitting and scratching me to get away, so i guess we'll be sticking with BF first for a while longer (which is very frustrating as i'm sure this is at the root of her refusing to sleep longer than 3 hours at a time as she just isn't filling up as well as she would if she'd just eat a full solids meal :hair:)

mummyJ 11kgs wow :eek: i'm impressed! elianna was just a big baby at birth but her growth really slowed down and she's only just cracking 8.5kgs (but she's still very long at 75cm). with such a good milk supply is it possible that Leila's not keen on solids cause she's just not hungry enough?

zephani sounds like Katherine's not far off crawling and then lookout! Elianna's crawling like lightening now (still on one knee and one foot, i guess she'l never crawl "properly") and getting into everything (i'm such a lazy housekeeper too so i have to watch her constantly- i plan to try and clean daily now!). also i saw on FB that you're not feeling too well :hugs:i hope you can get in to see a doctor soon and he can make you all better for your weekend away and the rest of your holidays (as well as coming to see us next week :smiliedance:)

Kate thanks for sending me that book, i've had a flick through and it looks very interesting, hopefully i'll get a chance to have a proper read over the weekend as my mum will be here to entertain miss E. I'm impresed by Zoe's staying power- we drove to coffs a couple of months back and we had to stop every 1 or so and get Elianna out as she just hated being stuck in that seat and there's only so much singing and reading that she'd listen too before she cracked it! although now that we've turned the seat around (finally!) she can see out the front window and see us so she seems a bit better in the car.

AFU we've been having a grizzly week, after sleeping much better during the day last week (2 hrs or so a day) we're back to having 1 nap of around 30mins and then refusing to sleep again til bedtime. of course she needs much more sleep than this and is so cranky and grizzly that i can't put her down at all without her screaming and carrying on. i've had a couple of meltdowns and have even yelled at her :no: (and then melted down some more) i'm getting so frustrated (even now she is in her cot crying after sleeping only 10 mintues) and i can feel myself getting depressed that i can't seem to do anything right to get her to sleep :gloomy:- sorry enough of the "poor me" i'm really looking forward to the long weekend and 3 days of having DH here to take some of the burden.

i hope the lack of posting in here is because everyone else is going great guns! talk to you all soon

parentingrocks
03-10-2009, 08:45
hi everyone.

gbagm - sorry to hear you are having a rough trot. I hope you little one starts sleeping sounder soon so you can get some well deserved rest yourself. don't feel its your fault she is not sleeping, it isn't. who knows whats going on with our bubs when they refuse to sleep. I bought a product called 'calm' by the brand 'Breuer' (sp?) (just from chemist) and it really helped Charli to settle at nights when she was struggling to sleep recently, maybe you should try it. It relieves irritability and calms the baby using natural ingredients. Even our pead (who would only normally recommend medicines with drugs) told us to try it and he swears by it. good luck.

Kate - good work on keeping Zoe in the car so well. Charli can't sit in her car seat for more than 1/2 an hour, she is suffering from a Chronic case of 'ants in the pants syndrome', its shocking.

Zeph - hope your crawler is up and on the move now.

AFU - Charli's sleeping has never been better and I have finally sorted out a great 'day routine' for us which has her eating her solids a lot better, drinking small amounts of water and sleeping 2 big naps. I am very happy at the moment and I feel so much more confident to have her babysat and leave the house with her knowing she is settled and will sleep when she needs to. AGAIN, anyon ehaving BIG sleep probs like I was hire the lady from sleeprescue.com it saved my life! she is in all cities.
Charli is off to her nan's place tonight for an overnight babysit while DP and I hit the town for a friends birthday. We have a skip here today to clear out our backyard so hopefully mum comes and picks Charli up soon so I can go help outside. Hope her good sleeping continues at mums house. Charli has been funny around other people lately, being really clingy, so I am getting her into childcare once a week and getting her babysat every now and again to try to break the habit. I don't want her to be a sooky little girl, I really hope she gets over it.

Anyway, hope you all having a good weekend.

ardora
03-10-2009, 09:38
Hello Feb mums!!

I tried to post at least twice since the first of October, only to be interrupted by Mr G... anyway, good to hear from you and that things are going mostly fine. GBAG8M... so sorry to hear you are going through a tough phase... I hope you manage to get some rest on the weekend and that you get the sleeping sorted soon!!

katejo, are you still in Sydney? do you want me to PM you the hairdresser with childcare? it was a bit expensive but worth it! I am impessed with zojo's travelling skills! G goes well in the car, we have gone to the south coast and to Port Maq. and he does ok, but I don't think that I could put him two days in a row...

mummyj, leila sounds like a big happy baby!! G is still around 8 kg so he is a light weight in comparison to many february babies. He is about 70 cm so not too long either.

solsen, I am glad ot hear that Charli is now a great sleeper and a settled baby. It is a mazing what a good night of sleep makes to you!! G is resettling himself into a new routine and he is now waking up and 7am, and has some BM; then he has fruit with either rice ceral or youghurt and depending on the day, a little sandwich; sleeps around 9:30h for an hour or so and then is up for playing; he has a 240ml bottle at 12h and some solids afterwards; sleep around 14:30h for anything between 45 mins and 1.5 hours; 240 ml again at 16h followed by something little like a little sandwich or fruit with youghurt. Bath at 19h followed by BM and sleep until 7 am (if he does not feed well after his bath, I giv him a dream feed of some 180 ml of FM).

Zeph,it does sound like K is ready to crawl!! you guys seem to do a lot of activities! I sometimes feel guilty of not taking G to any activities, but I have a fear of structured things... my work life is very organised and I love having chaos on my leisure time... things will change as he grows up but for now I am bein selfish I guess...

AFU G did not show any intention of crawling and all he wanted to do was standing up holding on to something... then, suddenly, yesterday while talking to my parents on skype, he started comando crawling towards the computer, it wa amazing!! my parents were so happy to witness that from the other side of the world!! so he has been comando crawling since yesterday and as he is still a happy chucker, now he can spread the vomit all over the house... YUK!!!! he was so much better from the reflux, but I think that all the excitement of moving has brought it back... and now he is on solids double-YUK!! the good thing is that it does not affect him, he keeps on smiling so I can live with that :)

Well... long post!! sorry!!!

Have a great day :goodvibes:

gonnabeaGR8mum
03-10-2009, 09:47
we did ok for sleep, last night i think because i forced her to have 2 reasonable naps yesterday (refused to get her up both times 'till she'd had an hours sleep all up- i'm a mean mummy). but it must have worked as she went to sleep (self-settled) at 7:30, stirred at 12:30 for her dummy then slept til 4 (feed) then slept again till 7.

then she was a bit grizzly this morning so we decided to try and get her to have a nap before swimming. she was standing up in the cot crying and i was telling DH that we have to wait to see if she self settles when we hear a THUD,:eek: steve ran in and shouted "Oh my God!" i jumped up (spillingmy cereal and milk all over the bed in the process) and ran into her room...she had fallen out of the cot (most likely onto her head) and Steve was pulling her out from under it while she screamed :( i felt like such a bad mummy, if i had just let Steve go into her earlier he would have laid her down again and it never would've happened :no: she seems ok now (I am watching for signs of concusion) but we will lower the cot base before her next nap and keep and eye on her, poor Bubba :gloomy:

mummyJ
03-10-2009, 12:04
GBAGM - you poor possums ( all 3 of you!!). I'm sure Elianna feels better than you do right now. Don't beat yourself up too much...It's just an accident. It's amazing how seriously resilient kiddies are!!!! PTL!

It's amazing how many are crawling already! DS crawled at 6 months, but Leila seems WAY off!!! She is super frustrated at the lack of movement she is able to do...But it'll all good!!

BoyCrazy
03-10-2009, 12:24
good afternoon feb mummies!

cant believe its october already, where is the year going??? My little man is 8 months old today!

gbagm- :hugs: hope eli is ok! if you are concerned about her at all, give 13HEALTH a call and they can do a quick assesment over the phone.

mummyj- we are not crawling here either, though very close! my eldest crawled at 8mths, so im wondering if this may be the month for Jasper!

adora- congrats on G crawling! and its so fantastic that your parents were able to witness it! isnt skype a fantastic invention?!

solsen- we have entered the clingy phase here too...i found with my DS1 he got clingy around 7 months, and it kinda got real bad around 9 months, and stopped about a year old. but for those few months all he wanted was mum. good things to do with bubs are play peekaboo games, so they can see that youll always come back. and when u leave the room or whatever, tell bubs that you are just going for a minute but will be right back..its more about reassurance than anything. Great work with Charli's sleeping too btw!

hi to everyone else! hope your all well!

AFU- like i said little man is 8 months today, he has 6 teeth :eek: already, two on bottom and 4 up top. he has only bitten me once tho, so cross fingers that wont happen again! we're not crawling here yet, but very very close, but he can sit up by himself for ages, and also can sit up from laying down position!
food wise, he is going really well, will eat anything...yesterday he had baked beans, omg am paying the price today lol..hes a bit stinky! :laughing:

anyways, hope everyone has a good weekend!

BoyCrazy
03-10-2009, 18:27
omg is that crickets i can hear chirping?? LOL

where is everyone? cant believe how quiet it is in here lately!

i thought id share a few recipes for our bubbas that i found in the coles baby club magazine (they are all suitable from 6 months on)

veggie blast (serves 3)
-wash and steam 1/4 small cabbage, 1/4 small brocoli, 3 leaves of silverbeet, 1 bunch of bok choy, 1 large potato peeled, and 1 carrot peeled.
-once tender, remove vegies from steamer and put into blender along with 1/4 teaspoon of grated ginger and whiz til combined. serve.

greens with cheese (serves 3)
-steam 1/2 small brocoli, 6 broad beans, 4 asparagus spears, and 1/4 cauliflower til tender.
-place the hot vegies into a blender with 1 egg yolk, 1/2 cup cheese, and 1 teaspoon of melted butter, whiz til combined, serve.

chicken, pear &sweet potato puree (makes 3 cups)
-put 100g chicken breast fillet, 1 cup diced sweet potato & one small pear (quartered) into a small saucepan, cover with 500ml chicken stock & cook over medium heat for 10mins.
-remove chicken from the pot, and puree in a blender with some stock until smooth. place into a container and repeat the process with the remainng sweet potato, pear and stock. mix together with the chicken.

banana, apple & maple yoghurt
(serves 1)
-combine half a banana (mashed), half an apple (grated), half a cup of greek yoghurt and 1 teaspoon of maple syrup in a small bowl and serve.

fruity filler (serves 1)
1 weetbix
1 tablespoon cottage cheese
1 ripe pear peeled & mashed
2 strawberries diced

-in a bowl break up weetbix and pour over with a little amount of boiled water to soften.
-add the cottage cheese & pear and mix together
-once cool enough for baby, serve with strawberries on top

stone fruit swirl (serves 1)
1 ripe mango
2 ripe apricots
1 ripe peach
2 tablespoons yoghurt

-peel skin off each piece of fruit and cut around the stone
-place flesh into blender on high until combined
-pour mix into bowl & add the yoghurt

as i said before, all taken from coles baby club magazine :)

would anyone be interested in sharing recipes? we could start a feb mums recipe thread or something? just an idea!

Seacretsquirrel
03-10-2009, 20:30
Hey ladies I have been rather slack and busy I am still in Brisbane and my mum has been on school holidays so we have been doing lots of stuff with the kids and I have been getting in some retail therapy (I am going to have withdrawl when I get back to Darwin:crying:)

R is doing lots of hands and knees crawling now and has really got the hang of going up the stairs which is rather funny as he gets rather frustrated with himself and growls. He is finally more chatty mum dad and a few other sounds. He is really pulling himself up on things now and can take a few steps holding onto things or people. Food wise he is a fruit boy loves watermelon, rocky, strawberries, banana (had it for the first time today loved it) not too keen on veges but I might try some finger food style rather than pureed
anyway I better go so sorry about the lack of personals :hugs: to those who need them and :smiliedance: to all the milestones our bubs are meeting
Ill pop back soon with a proper post:o

quitecontrary
04-10-2009, 20:58
Hello - just a really quick one! We got back from our fabby holiday today - 9 nights away all up, a week in Yamba and a night either side to break the journey!
Tobias is 7 months old today, ready to launch himself off into the World of Crawling - up on all fours, so I suppose it wont be long if indeed he is just like his sister!! He got his first tooth last tuesday - also like his sis without any fuss. He is such a laid back little character!
Sounds like things are going well with you all.
Will be back here again soon I promise with personals etc!!

sweetseven
05-10-2009, 10:41
Solsen With the feeding, it is really a go with whatever works. Since I'm breastfeeding, I feed both before and after solids. She has a good feed beforehand, then a little to wash it down afterwards.
SS I hope you are enjoying Brisbane, and that the dust storms didn't put you off too much.
QC I'm glad you had a good holliday. :)

It is great to hear about all your early crawlers. My lil bub has only just started commando crawling now. However, last night whilst we were having dinner, she stood up from sitting in her bumbo, holding onto the centre between-the-legs piece for stability, then seemed confused as there was nowhere else for her to go.

I keep reading about your bubs teeth. Is mine the only one still toothless?

And one little win. I've managed to get her back into her cot, after three months of semi-co-sleeping. :party: :sleeping: Also seem to have edged her bedtime back to between 11pm and midnight, so making progress, but I would still like to pull it back to at least 9pm.

BoyCrazy
05-10-2009, 15:23
hello????

mummyJ
05-10-2009, 15:34
Still around the place!

Man I'm exhausted!!! Leila is super clingy...It's a whole world away from what DS was like as a bub! I have adopted attachment parenting pretty well, but its just so tiring!!!

BC - those recipes look great!! I only wish my little girl would eat!!!! She seems to react a bit to foods too - any and all so I'm trying to go slow so that her indigestive system doesnt get too sad!!!
Any others stuggling to eat or reacting to foods?

gizmoduckus
05-10-2009, 17:10
Hi everyone. Sorry I have been MIA for awhile. We have just been hit by illness after illness and I am completely over it. L is shocking when he is sick. He doesn't want to be held but he doesn't want to be put down. He wants to sleep but he won't sleep. It's been a nightmare and to add to all that, his first tooth is breaking through.

Apart from that, not much else is going on. We leave for Fiji in a couple of weeks and I am just hoping that we are all well by then. I have been so preoccupied by the kids being sick that I haven't got a single thing organised for the trip yet.

Mummyj - L is not a big eater either. For the first couple of months I couldn't get him to eat anything. I finally found out that he will eat jar food so that is what I have been buying him. I feel a bit ridiculous going to the checkout with a whole basket full of baby food but he wasn't putting on weight so I really have no choice.

QC - I am glad that you had a great holiday

Sorry, I can't remember anything else that I have read so that will be all the personals for today. I hope that everyone is well.

quitecontrary
05-10-2009, 17:34
me again!!
Slow times here it seems! Its been a grey old rainy long weekend Monday in Sydney town.
We went into the city this afternoon and got ourselves iPhones! Dh has been muttering about them for far too long and decided we should both get them - very nice! After the Apple Store we went up to the Lindt Cafe - yum! All very sweet and romantic apart from the two passion-killers we had in the pram!! Ah well!
BC - those recipes look great! I am ages behind most of you in the Food Dept so its good to have some good ideas!!
Toby is on the whinge and dh and g have gone hunter gathering so I best attend to him.

zephani
05-10-2009, 17:48
Today is our first wedding anniversary! We are on holidays for the long weekend which has been nice. We were disappointed that we got a one person spa instead of two and were worried that we might not be able to come away as I had vomiting, diaherra and flu symptoms on Friday. But luckily enough I started feeling better on Saturday so we were able to come away after all.

Currently we are watching Miss K roll around the hotel floor naked hoping that she won't wee or poo. Again luckily enough she only wee'd and didn't poo. DH is trying to use her toys and shoes as bait in trying to get her to crawl.

Thought you'd like this. Quote for the day from DH : "Your daughter's a munchkin". Me: "My daughter?" DH "She's always your daughter when she's a munchkin :p"

GBAGM I agree with everyone else. Don't punish yourself about E falling out of the cot. Sounds like everyone falls out of something at one time or another. With us it was Miss K falling off our bed. And I'm sure that you did everything you could to watch her to make sure she was ok afterwards.

Thanks for the get well wishes. We made our weekend away and are so excited about meeting you guys on Thursday. Can you PM me here or on FB with where, when, what time and what we need to bring?

BC Great recipes! The fruity filler sounds yummo! How'd you manage 6 teeth? We feel like we've been teething for months and we still have none.

SS Glad you've been having a great time in Brisbane and have been able to spend lots of time with your Mum. When do you go back to Darwin?

QC Glad you had a great holiday. Congrats on the tooth.

Sweet7 We don't have any teeth here yet either. Maybe we should have a bet to see who will be the last getting a tooth.

Gizmo Sorry to hear that you and your family have been sick. Congrats on the tooth as well. I hope that things get better soon. I bet you can't wait for Fiji!

parentingrocks
05-10-2009, 18:36
hi again ladies :)

Charli had her first day at Childcare today - she was there from 9.30am til 3pm as a trial before wednesday because I am back to work every wednesday and saturday so I will need her in Chilcare on the wednesday shift. She went pretty well just didn't sleep much - think there was too much fun stuff going on around her! But it doesn't bother me too much, just going to make sure she sleeps well for the rest of the week so she doesn't fall back into bad (old) habits.
DP and I have been intived to our next door neighbours on Firday night to watch a movie and have a few drinks.. Now I want to ask your opinion on something.. BE HONEST on your opinion... Do you think its neglect/weird/completely wrong/immoral/child abuse/or worse to put Charli to sleep here at home with the house locked and rely on our monitor to know if she waked while we watch a movie at our next door neighbours house???? Sounds crazy but I thought it might be ok. We have an angelcare sound only 420 monitor that the range is up to 100m indoors and from her room to our next door neighbours lounge is about 30m. We were thinking we could test out the monitor before deciding to make sure it works at that distance etc, but is it the wrong thing to do full stop?? :o

quitecontrary
05-10-2009, 19:11
Solsen hmmm, food for thought. I reckon that if you feel comfortable, and you test out your monitor then give it a burl. At my parents the kids sleep in the front of the house without a monitor and we are always at the other end of the house, perhaps not 30 metres, but we'd be closer in the front room at their neighbours. I think I would be more inclined to take Toby with me, and put him down in a portacot though.
Zeph sounds like you're having a good weekend! Bubhubbing on your night away though, put the laptop down and move away slowly!!

BoyCrazy
05-10-2009, 20:32
ooh people are talking!!! :yelclap:

solsen-please dont take offence to this, but i probably wouldnt leave my child at home by themselves even if you are going next door with a monitor. A monitor will not tell you if a fire starts in her room, or another room of the house, you may smell the smoke from next door, but by then it could be too late (most fire victims often die of smoke inhalation first, not actual burning). Just my opinion of course. I know there was a thread about something similar a while back. Anyways, what about taking her there with you? and just putting her to bed in your neighbours room? im sure they wouldnt mind! then you can just pop your head in every so often and check on her, and you know she will be a lot safer than being by herself.

zeph- happy anniversary!!! now get off the computer LOL! glad u are feeling better too!

qc- im so jealous of your iphone! i need a new phone actually, my nokia screen is smashed, but i kinda dont want to go and spend heaps when i know how much it will be bashed around, dropped etc (thanks to my lovely boys lol)

gizmo- hope your family is better soon! especially before your holiday lucky girl!!! still green eyed with jealousy here lol

AFU- little man seems a bit better, you may have seen my other thread on fevers. On friday night he came down with a temp of 39C. no other symptoms except for a really nasty nappy rash. his whole body just felt really hot to touch, i was a bit worried. took him to the docs but just a virus. today he seems slightly better, not so feverish and temps of 37. but still got the rash..have been using pinetarsol wash to settle it down, and sudocrem, but it just doesnt seem to be working.

anyone got any tips for what is the best cream/lotion for nappy rash?

also, thanks heaps to everyone for the support on FB in regards to you know what LOL. im much calmer now! :D

parentingrocks
05-10-2009, 20:46
BoyCrazy - You're totally right. Silly thought of me. All I was thinking was I'd want to know if she woke up.. but who knows what could happen - fire, burgulary, I don't want to think what else... She will be coming with us! She can have a 'cuddle-sleep' as I like to call it in my arms, then I'll put her down when we get home. Good advice. Thanks. BTW Where's this thread you were talking about on FB?? I am going to search around here and try to find it..
QC - Thanks for your advice too. I think I know in my gut it doesn't feel right so I'm not going to do it.
Charli is tucked up in bed, I am just on a cleaning frenzy so better get back to it.

It has been so quiet in here lately!

BoyCrazy
05-10-2009, 20:49
solsen- no worries, i hope i didnt come across as rude or harsh etc!!

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=291629

thats the one i was talking about before :)

parentingrocks
05-10-2009, 21:12
BoyCrazy - not at all!!
OMG THAT EFFING STUPID *&^#!%$#!%$#!!#%^$^#!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That Yumster lady is playing with fire. If I saw her in the street I don't think I could resist slapping her in the face with my greasy hand that just polished off a big mac..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have no idea if I am allowed to say that but mods if you're reading you must know where I'm coming from.. get that lady of this site she is a trouble maker!!! :banghead:

mummyJ
05-10-2009, 21:23
Solsen - I thought I'd give my opinion since you asked...Hoping that no one will judge me since I would do differently to what others have said (depending on the situation / area I guess).
We live on campus at a college, and live in townhouses really close to our neighbours who are also on campus. We all often have our kids asleep with monitors at each other's houses. We know that the monitor range works, and we check up on them every so often anyway (just in case).
So I would say go for it...but judging from your first post, I don't know that you feel comfortable with the idea. I think more than anything, you should go with your gut reaction.

Purplebird
05-10-2009, 21:31
Eeek Solsen, you might want to edit that out hun! :D I do agree, but you might get a 'slap on the wrist' for that comment, lol.

Well done on finding something that works for Charli's sleeps. it must be such a relief. I agree with the others - I'd take bub to the neighbour with a portacot or baby carrier. It will give you that extra peace of mind.

GBAGM - :hugs: I can honestly say I know how you feel and it's so awful. With DD my happiness seemed to be linked to her sleep, which was non -existent. I ended up so drained and unhappy. If you want to chat anytime please let me know. Just know that you are doing a wonderful job and this trying time will pass so soon.

Happy anniversary Zeph - I love your DH's quote. The video of Miss K on FB is so gorgeous. She looks like she is playing that bottle like a guitar!

Boycrazy - thanks for the great recipes. I hope your little man is OK. I always use Sudocrem for a bad nappy rash, but if that isn't working it could be thrush and you might need an antifungal cream to clear it all up.

Mummyj - great to see you back! Attachment parenting is great, but I think it can be extra draining at times. I have followed it for the most part with DD and DS, but I'm just changing the co-sleeping part with Cam now as I just couldn't function properly. Glad to hear you're doing well.

Well, an update from us - we have been super busy with unpacking and it's still not done! Ah well, we will get there.

Cameron is 7 months and 4 days! He has two teeth and he's caught up a lot on his moving - he is up on all fours, but I don't think he will be an early crawler like his big sis. I reckon he's still a few weeks off crawling. He loves his food! It took a while for him to eat much (we are doing BLW) and he still loves his booby milk! His favourites are vegemite toast, rice cakes, fruit, pasta and chicken. he has a good go at veggies too.

He's an absolute delight - always giggling. I think he's still a bit whingier that his sister, but he may be a bit less outgoing than her, which is fine by me! Oh, and I finally got him sleeping out of my arms and into his own room for most of the night :yelclap: (Sweetseven you have my sympathies - it sounds like you're having some success with changing things with your bub's sleeps though. Goodness knows you must need all the sleep you can get with 7 darlings)

parentingrocks
06-10-2009, 03:28
:( Charli has developed Croup in the last few hours......Poor chicken is barking like a dog and can't breathe when drinking. Called the 24hour MCHN and she confirmed it.
Is this my punishment for her having her first day in child care today???? Not fair!!:crying:

ardora
06-10-2009, 05:44
Hellooo!!!

Glad to see you are back :) I have to say that even though slower was better for me to be able of catching up.. it was more boring!

Solsen- don't blame yourself about croup... and don't put any guilt on yourself about leaving you beautiful DD in childcare!! the fact is that kids need to get sick in order to develop their inmune system. It is true that she will get sick a few times after starting childcare but, if she wasn't going to childcare, she will probably end up catching the same bugs a bit later in life... G got sick a few times when we started day care, and now he is doing OK, a bit off at times, but not a a lot more often than the kids of my friends who don't go to childcare.

No time for more personals but... I also want an iphone!! I just could not justify it to myself when I was getting quite a nice Nokia for free... but I will eventually get one!! G is moving everywhere, it is quite funny to look at the pride in his face, he is so happy!!! cute, very cute! Also... another toothless baby here!! I love that toothless smile!!

well, better get myself ready and then G to go to work/kindy. I just really wanted to answer to Solsen... hope C is better! and Jasper too, BC!!

Have a great day !! :goodvibes:

Purplebird
06-10-2009, 08:19
:( Charli has developed Croup in the last few hours......Poor chicken is barking like a dog and can't breathe when drinking. Called the 24hour MCHN and she confirmed it.
Is this my punishment for her having her first day in child care today???? Not fair!!:crying:

Oh hun - croup is awful, you poor things :hugs: I hope she is over it very, very soon. Don't blame yourself - croup is a very contagious disease. ONe thing I will say about childcare is that your child might be sick all the time for the first year or so. When DD started aged 13 months we went through a year of hell with cold after cold, chest infections, hand foot and mouth disease etc, etc. My GP told me that most kids go through it and it is just their very immature immune systems.

Not your fault though! The GP can prescribe a liquid medicine which will help the symptoms, but I can't remember the name of it, sorry. GEt well soon Charli.

We have a busy day today - off to playgroup this morning, then a playdate this afternoon. Better get myself showered and dressed I guess.

Have a great day ladies and babies.

mummyJ
06-10-2009, 08:47
Solsen - not your punishment at all!! Just a reality of childcare. They will get sick, but it will also build up their immunity! DS was never sick til this year when he started preschool just one day a week. He has had coughs and ear infections a fair bit this year!!! Leila has been sicker than DS ever was at this age because she catches it all off him. At least I *hope* she will build up a good immunity this way!

PB - I never intended to do attachment parenting, but ended up doing it more and more as it really seemed to hit the nail on the head of DD's needs. DS was such a routine boy and thrived on it. DD is extra clingy and has mega seperation anxiety. She loves the ergo, hates the pram. I didn't intend on co-sleeping either, and she only does part of the night. We put her in her bed to sleep at night, then when she wakes at 4am or so. Then she sleeps til 8am. It's also hard because she doesn't seem to want to eat food, so lots of pressure on my boozies!! She really needs to eat though because I dont think my milk supply will follow suit anymore!!

QC - was it you that got an iPhone???? We got them last week too!!! They are sooooo good!!! Love them!!!
To anyone interested, can I HIGHLY recommend the $59 cap with Optus. The iPhone is free on it. It includes unlimited MMS and SMS (DH and I love sending heaps of photos and voice messages to each other of the kids / to the kids / to each other!), HEAPS of included calls and 700MB of data a month free. Well worth it if you spend in that proximity. DH never did - he was always a $29 capper before, but we cancelled our home phone, so aren't really paying anymore!!

Lateralus
07-10-2009, 08:54
Hi Ladies - just a quickie to say g'day! BIG hugs to GBAGM, Solsen & anyone else who has had a rough trot in the last little while. Hope all the bubs are recovering from their illnesses & misadventures! Don't blame yourselves - a other people have said - Bubs get sick and bubs take tumbles - it's all part of being a baby!

AFU we are still in Sydney and have had a fantastic time catching up with friends and family. DH is driving home today and Zoe & I are staying on 'till monday then flying home. My MIL is almost hysterical at the thought of us taking Zoe back up north - I think she is going to miss the little pickle!

Better run - will hopefully get back online again soon :wave:

mummyJ
07-10-2009, 14:08
Gee we have become quiet in here!!

KJ - great to hearyou're enjoying Sydney. If you're anywhere around the North Ryde area, let me know and we could catch up for a coffee or something. Sooooo much better flying than driving!! It was sooooo worth it when we went on holidays to Coffs.

I spoke with my mum today. I was saying how I've been really frustrated because Leila won't eat and how I feel so pressured because I can't express and she still feeds heaps, don't wanna do formula blah blah blah...
She told me that I was like pretty much exclusively breastfed til I was TWO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
She said she tried me a couple of times on food, but I got a mixed up tummy, so that's what she did!!!
Which is exactly what's happening with Leila. She seems to poo every 2 hours at the moment when I try to feed her food...There's no way in the world I'm exclusively breastfeeding her forever though!!!! arrrrrgggggggggg!!

Any tips crew????

quitecontrary
07-10-2009, 14:33
Kate I was wondering if you were still in Sydney - sounds like you are having a great old time! I bet your whole family - in-laws etc - are going to miss all of you dreadfully. How nice to be able to show off your beautiful girl in person!
MummyJ oh, what a dilemma you have with Miss L. I don't have any real tips except to keep on trying. My dd wasn't too interested til after 7 months, she didn't complain but she wasn't fussed either way. I didn't start T at all til he was 6 months old, and now he's much more interested in the concept. His poos have changed from about twice a week to nearly every nappy - thank goodness the consistency has changed too, it would be too much to cope with otherwise! Isn't it funny what Mums drop into the conversation - so Leila is a chip off the old block when it comes to feeding eh?
All's well here. We went down to my parents place this morning - they've been away too. It was good to see them again. The kids love going down there - its just one big mutual admiration society!

quitecontrary
07-10-2009, 15:47
Oh, I just had to tell you - I think Toby is learning to speak to the Kalahari Bushmen, he has been (tongue) clicking away for the last few days! It is so funny to listen to him babbling and clicking away in his cot!

BoyCrazy
08-10-2009, 19:12
hey feb mummas!

how is everyone? hope bubs are being kind to their mummies!

thanks for the well wishes for jasper, hes heaps better now, and no more fevers or rash. got me pretty worried!

i have entered him in the bonds baby comp..if you would please please please vote for him it would be sooo appreciated!

http://www.bonds.com.au/bumpsandbaby/pages/BabySearch/09/ViewEntry.aspx?id=7713

shall be back after ive got my eldest to bed, and will catch up on personals! :wave:

parentingrocks
09-10-2009, 09:14
BoyCrazy - thats a lovely pis of Jasper her is such a cutie! What would you win?

QC - Very funny about tobys tounge clicking, very talented!

MummyJ- I unfortumately don't have much advice for you. Sounds like a case of like mother like daughter, but still don't give up on it. Charli went through a stage of not wanting solids so initially I just did fingerfoods and then eventually also changed to offering solids first. I found she is such a milk lover that she would still drink just as much of the bottle/(used to be)boob after the food, but would not eat solids if she had already had milk. have you tried offering solids first at meal times?

Kate - Glad to hear your having a ball in Sydney. I haven;t been there since I was little it would be awesome to visit again. I think the weather has been good for you too which is nice.

AFU Charli still has Croup. Poor bugga can't catch a break. Starting from 6 months she had her first two teeth break through.. then tonsilitis.. now Croup. I BF for almost 6 months, I thought that was supposed to build a strong immune system?!?!?! I suppose thats what she gets for being so social amoungst other babies. Ah well, she will get over this then hopefully we can have a good run with no illness for a while :fingerscrossed:
She fell asleep on me this morning at about 9.30am, had about 1/2an hour of sleep then woke up from coughing so I popped her in her cot to continue her sleep but the poor thing can't seem to get herself back to sleep now. I shoudl never have let her fall asleep on me, it really throws her routine because she never sleeps long. I know I should always put her in her cot but sometimes I just miss having a snuggle on the couch together like when they are newborns! I miss those days...
She is now singing in her cot which is lovely but I wish she would go to sleep and catch up on her zzz's.
We are supposed to be visiting a friend at lunchtime but I am thinking of cancelling because she is so miserable. I feel terrible to do that but I just in one of those moods where I don't wanna leave the house. :o

quitecontrary
09-10-2009, 14:45
Solsen sorry to hear that Charli is still crook, hope she gets better soon!
Toby is fine, so close to crawling and so funny to watch! He has a severe case of the incidental chucks today, so I must remember to give him less to eat. I am sure that is all it is, as he is fine apart from the little vomits. He is yodelling away in his cot in an unhappy manner so I suppose I should leave this.
Oh, I decided yesterday to stop wrapping him and take up Solsens bed making regime and it seems to be going well, though it is taking T a bit longer to self settle. So many changes for a little fella!

BoyCrazy
09-10-2009, 14:52
solsen, thankyou for your lovely comment about mr J! the winner is the face of bonds winter baby next year..id love to winm tho there are something like 9000 babies entered already!!! Hope miss C gets better real fast :hugs:

parentingrocks
09-10-2009, 15:07
Thanks BC - Charli is finally asleep in her cot now so I am wasting my only free mins on here, silly me. I should be preparing dinner but AHH WELL!:p Wow I hope Jasper wins that would be awesome seeing his little butt on TV and in mags, how cute!

QC - glad to hear you're trying my bed making trick, I hope it works. I also used sleeping bags with the arms pulled in on themselves as my first step off wrapping, worked well for Charli.

AFU I better go make my yummy yummy potato salad cos we are off next door tonight to have a bbq and watch a movie (this is the night I was asking all you about the other day) but don't stress I am not risking it, we are taking Charli and I will just cuddle her to sleep and when the movie is over bring her back here and straight to bed.

Hope everyone has a great weekend

A'sMummy
09-10-2009, 20:44
Good Evening Ladies! I have been slack in posting :o
Mummyj- Good luck with the solids, maybe Miss L will start to like them more soon. I have noticed Anya has moments where she wont eat any solids and then a couple of days later she is loving them again.
BC- I agree, Jasper is a lil cutie! Good luck with the bonds baby competition!! Wouldn't it be amazing if he won? We would have a celebrity Feb 09 baby!! :yelclap:
Solsen- I hope you have a good night at your neighbours tonight! Hopefully Charli had a lovely cuddle sleep for you!
QC- Good luck with the un-wrapping! and I hope his little chucks stop for you soon.

AFU- Anya is crawling, but not in the conventional way, she is on her elbows hehe so funny to watch! I am so surprise how fast she has been getting around FOWARDS today as yesterday it was pretty much only BACKWARDS! I think she will figure out its much easier on her hands than her elbows soon ;)
And our other big news is that Anya slept through the night last night WOOHOO hopefully we are making some progress!! Normally its atleast two wake ups which is getting so draining when I have to be up for work in the morning :sleeping:

Anyway, better be off. Hope you're all well!!:flowerz:

ardora
10-10-2009, 09:37
Hello!

Well, G is now crawling faster and better but still comando which is quite funny to see. He has more apetite for solids and is quite fuzzy with his morning milk... thinking of weaning him of that BF and stick only with the night one :confused:

And, he was back waking up once for a couple of nights and then, last night, he had the worst night since he was born! he woke up every hour!!! so I am trying to fiure out whether is teething or the crawling-effect... I have read that when they start crawling their sleeping patterns go all over the place, is that correct? for how long? :sleeping:

Sorry, I am too sleepy for personals, but I hope that everyone is well or getting better.

And one more complaint.... Where is the summery weather??!!!

Have a great day! :goodvibes:

ardora
11-10-2009, 10:15
Well, I don't post much, but I seem to kill conversation :o...

Anyway, G had a much better night... I think he was hungry!! yesterday I fed him a bottle after the BF and he was back to sleeping all night (only one re-settling with the dummy). It seems that my BF is drying up... oh well! we have made it for almost 8 months and I guess it was a question of time with only a couple of BF per day.

He is loving his books at the moment, in fact his trying to eat one as I type...

Well, I hope you are having a great weekend :goodvibes:

zephani
11-10-2009, 14:56
Solsen I'm sorry to hear about Charli's croup. It is no way your fault for taking her to childcare. I suffered the same thing my first year of teaching. I caught every bug and virus the kids got. It must of built up my immunity though cause I don't get as sick now. How is she going now?

Adora I want an iPhone too! DH got one a few weeks ago for work. He emails me pictures of Miss K everyday that I am at work. I just don't think I can justify getting one right now. I still have 6 months left in my contract so I'd have to pay like $300 to get out of it.

MJ The Optus plan is what I *will* get when I get an iPhone.

Unfortunately I don't have any advice on the food situation but to say keep trying and :hugs::hugs:

A'sMum Congrats on the crawling and the sleeping through! Isn't it nice to get a full nights sleep.

AFU We are slowly getting better. I think I'm probably 80% better except for the fact that I feel like I could sleep for a month and still wake up tired. I guess the fact that I had food poisoning and the fluey thing is the reason that I am still tired.

DH has been really sick as well. He has all the symptoms of, but not swine flu. We've both been on medicine, throat gargles, lozenges, cough syrup and nurofen. The one good thing is that Miss K hasn't had any of it.

My first week of holidays is over and I've basically just survived them. Unfortunately we weren't able to go to Newcastle and meet GBAGM :no: Hopefully we can organise it for another time. I'm hoping we can get out and about this week.

I went to a Tupperware party this morning so that was a good start. I bought Miss K one of those shape balls that you have to work out which block goes in which hole. I can't believe they are still around. I remember people having them when I was a child.

We still have no teeth here. I'm starting to doubt if we will ever get teeth. Those of you with older kidlets what was the latest you got your first tooth :confused:

Miss K is rolling around the floor like a champion and is *so* close to crawling but still not crawling if you know what I mean.

Our anniversary weekend away was good but tiring and unfortunately that was when DH got sick. We still have some money left over so once we are better we are going to go out for a nice meal to celebrate.

Anyway sorry I've been a reader and not a poster for the last week. I will try to be back more often this week. Hope everyone had a great weekend.

sweetseven
11-10-2009, 15:04
My little one is getting up onto her knees now, so proper crawling is not far off.

Z *smiles* I bought my toddler one of those shape balls a few months back. She loves it. I hope Miss K has lots of fun also.

A Summery weather? Do you mean the rain we've had today? Whilst showers are common in summer, I don't think that is what you are talking about.

quitecontrary
11-10-2009, 19:30
Hello!
All is well here, we are two days down on the 3 Day Potty Training program with G and so far so good! So, for a change we have had a weekend basically at home!
Toby is going great guns, you should've heard him bellowing about his food at dinner tonight - along the lines of (translated by his mummy!) Hey, hurry up, whats a boy got to do to get good service around here, isn't there anything else to give me, yes I know I'm loud but so is my sister! He is so close to crawling and has started trying to launch himself off up on his toes. Oh yes, and he wants an iPhone too - I know what to do to get him to come my way, just film him on the phone!!

Seacretsquirrel
11-10-2009, 20:36
Hey Ladies Well I am back in the sweaty sticky mess I call home. I am finally nearly unpacked -(there are still a lot of xmas pressies to go away:D) and cleaned up - DH bestie house sat till he went to tassie for a wedding and left all the windows open so I came home to a bit of a dust bowl - better than the mould I came home to last time though:yes:.

Riley is fully hands and knees crawling he mastered the stairs at mums but will get out of practice here as we have none. We were contemplatiing a big bed for him sooner rather than later (Zahlia was in one at 13 months) cause he is pulling him self up and will no doubt be climbing before long (we figure it is better to fall from a foot high out of a bed than 3 feet of the top of the cot) but I am worried about him climbing over the low rails ATM so we are putting it off till he actually looks like climbing out (hopefully not after it is too late).
Those of you still BFing how many feeds are your bubs having a day cause R is really not interested during the day but has gone back to waking a few times a night (though he just got his first tooth plus he has a chest infection and the 2nd tooth is nearly in too) and we are back to feeding to sleep a lot of the time too - I am working on that one though.
Whoever said crawling disturbs their sleep may be onto something (might explain the above too)
Zeph Z got her teeth at the earlies bit of the average span (if that makes sense) and R seems to be middle of the road but I still had no teeth at 12 months (then cross cut and got lots at once) so K is by no means slow in that department (and as you know by now lack of teeth doesn't impede their eating solids- those gums are pretty efficient) - oh and my 2 have one of those balls too:yelclap: R love to chase it and Z has finally got the hang of getting them all in there and can get them out too.

Solsen - poor you with the croup I agree with every one it is just one of those things not your fault at all hope she is on the mend.

Ardora R is a book fan too (not as much as Z though she ate them too). Love the comando crawling R still does a bit of this too it is a combo but as we have tiles he does the arms then a push off with one foot (a bit like a skater) it is a crack up.

QC well done with the 3 day TT hope is continues to go well Go miss G. It is much easier with only 1 in nappies (does the 3 day do the nights at the same time???) Go T with the demanding food isn't it funny how demanding they get (I guess we wouldn't get a good tip if were were waiters:rolleyes:)
Anyhoo I must be of dinner beckons now that the kids are down sorry of the long :ecomcity:.....
I'll be back to regularly boring you all with the ins and outs of my day soon (DH is off again next week) so I'll be back to needing you all as my adult company:o

gonnabeaGR8mum
12-10-2009, 14:27
mummy J we go through phases with Eli refusing solids/breastfeeds/baths etc. at the moment she's eating like a sumo in a rice eating competition, but almost point blank refusing breastfeeds during the day :no:

adora, my sleep nurse refused to put us on a sleep program whilst Eli was learning to crawl as she said her sleep would be all messed up for a couple fo weeks anyway and we'd have to start again after that. (now 5 weeks later and her sleep is still awful so i'm not so sure about that now). Elianna loves her books too, but i'm not sure how much more slobber they can take before they fall apart lol

solsen, i hope charli feels better soon, poor bubba (and poor mummy)- at least you won't have to go through all the illnesses again when she starts school.

glad to hear you are feeling better zeph, and i'm doubly glad that miss K managed to avoid all the germs. it turned out that the weather was so bad on Thursday that we didn't meet at the park anyway so it probably worked out for the best. we have been talking about having a weekend BBQ so that our partners can all meet, i will keep you informed

SS - Eli is not very keen on BF during the day any more, i try to make sure she has 4 feeds throughout the day but its a constant battle of screaming, back arching, pinching and bitting and i'm not really sure how much she gets (and then she has 3 proper ones over night :hair:)

QC Eli did the toe crawling thing with her right leg for 5 weeks, whilst crawling on her left knee. she only jsut started crawling on both knees on saturday, but now we've moved onto pulling up on absolutely everything...she's growing up far too fast!

AFU
Elianna has her 6th tooth breaking through and has been a real trial the past few weeks. I feel like i'm just going through the motions of life , walking around like a zombie, its not doing much for my relationship with DH either :( i guess its not forever but sometimes i just want to sit down and cry/tantrum with her. i'm going to see if i can get a referral from our nurse to tressillian, does anyone know how much it costs? sorry for the whinge...i know it probably sounds like i don't like her very much, its not that, i REALLY love her to bits, it just breaks my heart that she's so very unhappy a the moment and i'm so tired from trying to help her out :rolleyes: i feel like Dory from Nemo "just keep swimming, just keep swimming..."

Lateralus
12-10-2009, 16:58
Just a quickie - we're home safely from sydney and happily defrosting! Will post more personals tomorrow... GBAGM we payed zilch for our week at the tricillian clinic! I know some of them ask for a small contribution towards your board and food - but we weren't asked to pay anything! :hugs: to you - I know how soul destroying lack of sleep can be! There is a light at the end of the tunnel... Just hang in there! :hugs:

Seacretsquirrel
12-10-2009, 20:47
GBAGM - R is so unsettled too and we are doing the 3 feeds over night too (10.30 2 am and then 4or 5 am :sleeping:) He is doing the same back arching crankiness and is only settling in my arms (although we had 3 sleeps with patting to sleep today which was better) I was putting it down to the crawling and teeth.

A great book option for your little ones to chew on are the tiny books that come in a set of 4-6 they are only about 20cms square and are perfect for little hands (less chance of damage from whopping them selves in the face too) youcan get them for under $10 - in fact target had some for $5 the other week and I got some littlest pet shop ones for a GF at QBD for 2.99
Zahlia chewed the heck out of her spot ones (I think 2 survived for Riley to chew and even they were prechewed so I got him his own)

Any way I am off to bed to read I think night night:sleeping:

sweetseven
14-10-2009, 00:03
I'm amazed at how smart this little bub is. When her father is holding her, she says, "Dada" and "Daddy". Heading in my direction, it is a very clear "Mum". Then her sister, MissB takes her, and lo and behold she says " Bah" and "Bub".

Also, she's been enjoying blowing raspberries on my breasts and tummy and then giggling, for a few weeks now, much to the surprize and delight of my eldest. I also have no idea where she got the concept from as I haven't seen anyone do it to or around her.

KJ Good to hear you are home safe and sound, and a nice bonus that your sleep clinic didn't cost you. I wish you many settled nights and lots of love and smiles in the mornings.

Lateralus
14-10-2009, 08:00
Morning ladies... I hope everyone is having a great week so far! We are settling back into the swing of things after being away for two weeks. We had a great time in Sydney - catching up with friends and family and witnessing two of our friends getting married. Zoe managed pretty well on the drive down (two 6 hour days in the car seat) but I decided to fly back with her because she started teething while we were in Sydney and we were not sure that she'd tolerate sitting in the car seat for extended amounts of time quite as well. She did really well on the flight too - I fed her on the way up and the way down and her ears didn't seem to bother her at all.

What else is news? Oh - we have 2 teeth :yelclap: She is now sitting up for long periods of time and she has taken a few 'proper' crawling 'steps' - but seems to be pretty happy getting around commando style!

Food wise - she was really funny when we were in Sydney and would not tolerate anything unless it was totally pureed consistency. She is taking slightly lumpier stuff now we are back home, but she gags & vomits if stuff is too chunky. Does anyone else find this? I have also been trying her on some finger foods but she seems to get the food stuck up in her palate and gags &/or vomits... I guess it's just a matter of giving her time to work out how to swallow food properly?! :confused: She will only take fruit and veges and point blank refuses any meat or dairy. Again - I guess this is something that will change with time.

Someone mentioned that their Bub wasn't feeding much during the day (I think it was GBAGM). Zo has days when she does this. Won't feed at all during the day but then wants to be fed every 2-4 hours overnight. I have been a bit more lenient with her because we have been away and she's been sleeping in strange surroundings plus teething - but am going to get a bit stricter now we are back home. She did well last night - fed at 7pm then not again 'till 1:30am - and then 6:15. I am happy with one feed overnight if that's what she wants. I feel guilty when she is obviously uncomfortable with teething and she wants the boob. I feel too guilty denying her that comfort and closeness. I keep thinking how I would feel if I had pain somewhere and asked DH for a hug and he just told me to go to sleep without giving me a bit of a cuddle... :rolleyes:

Off to swimming this morning... Then lunch with a friend. Am going to speak to my boss this arvo and test the waters re getting a bit of unpaid leave tacked onto the end of my maternity leave - wish me luck! :wave:

zephani
14-10-2009, 14:52
GBAGM SIX teeth! Wow! Do you think that Eli can give Miss K some advice on getting teeth?

I'm sorry things have been so tough for your lately. :hugs::hugs:

A weekend meet with partners sounds great. The only definite weekend that we are booked is November 21st as we are going to a wedding.

SS Welcome back! Glad you had a good trip! Miss K is loving her books too. Her favourite one at the moment is a touchy feeling one with a picture of a chicken on it. She loves feeling the different textures.

S7 They are fascinating at this age aren't they. Miss K has started with definite 'ca' and 'ga' sounds. Sometimes you can look at her and just know she is thinking about the world and everything in it.

KJ Welcome back! I'm glad you had a good time in Sydney. Next time you are there we'll have to organise a Sydney Feb Thread meet.

Congrats on the teeth! Miss K never ate pureed food so I don't know what to recommend with the food issue. All I can say is :hugs: and persist with it. Good luck with getting back into a routine. Don't feel guilty about keeping her to one feed overnight. Remember what you went through to get to here.

Good luck with your boss! Let us know what they say.

AFU Miss K has turned into a CRANKY BABY! She has developed a Jekyll and Hyde personality. Half the time is she cute and investigating everything including edging her way off the lounge until she falls on the floor. The other half of the time she is sitting there screaming about nothing for everyone to listen.

sweetseven
15-10-2009, 12:40
Z Our bubs lack of teeth may be a blessing in disguise. I've been told by many different people that bubs that get teeth late keep them much later also, giving the child longer to develop good oral hygene to look after their adult teeth. It's only been anecdotal stories, but seems plausable.

My Miss6 waited until she was 1yr1day before getting any teeth, then six came at once, and a month later she had a mouthful of them. She hasn't lost any yet, so I'm waiting to see if she matches what people have been saying.

I was even told yesterday that someone thought late teeth were stronger teeth and less prone to cavities. She also mentioned a child that had received his first teeth at 1yr2day and still had some baby teeth at 14yr. I'm not sure what to make of that story, but 'tis food for thought. (My Miss6 hasn't had any cavities whereas her older sisters all have.)

ardora
17-10-2009, 09:27
hello and happy sunny saturday!! about time we had a bit of nice weather in a weekend (sydney is gorgeous this morning!)

this thread is going SLOW... even for me!!

no teeth here either! but definite signs of teething have been on and off for the last couple of months... they will show up at some point! S7 I think you are right, children's first teeth have a limited duration; thus, aparently, the later they get them the later they will loose them... at this rate G will keep them until he is 25!! :D

we are back to really nice sleep through nights, thankfully it was only a few unsettled nights after he started crawling and now we is again doing his normal 10 to 11 hours of sleep :smiliedance:

KJ- G is also going well with his solids and he also passed a phase when he only wanted smooth purees! we started with lumpy mashed food in the beginning and at some point started to refuse lumps and wanted only smooth purees... now he is back at eating lumpy food. It is odd isn't it? I have no idea why :detective:

SS thanks for the tip on books! G has a really cute wooden one that he got as a present and he absolutely loves to munch on it.

GBAG8M- how is it going? I think that you need to get some help so you can have a rest. But also, maybe you could get into the same program as KJ and get someone to help you at no extra cost... :hugs: I hope everything gets better soon!

I need to go!! :goodvibes: to everyone and sorry for lack of detailed personals!!

BoyCrazy
18-10-2009, 07:35
just a short one from me..

where is everyone? so quiet lately in here!

today is my eldest's 4th birthday, i cant believe it, the time has gone so fast, this time 4 yrs ago i was holding my little man in my arms and he was just over a hour old :bee: now he is a big boy riding on his new bike!

and guess what Jasper got for Bayli's birthday?? his 8th tooth!! (:eek: yes you read that correctly, his 8th!!!- 6 on top and 2 on bottom)

he is still being a tad lazy with his crawling tho! :laughing:

hope everyone is enjoying the weekend :sunshine:

zephani
18-10-2009, 07:48
Adora I'm with you...Miss K will still have her baby teeth at 25 as well. Can you imagine them getting married and still having their baby teeth in the photos :laughing:

BC We're here! 8th tooth!! Do you think Jazzy can share some with Miss K? We are very lazy with crawling too. She has lots of tummy time and can get her legs and bum in the right position. She even gets the bum wiggling going but we've had no crawling yet. In fact she's often happy enough just to roll all over the floor to get what she wants.

AFU We are taking Miss K to the ECN on Wednesday. She is constipated again :no: This is the sixth time in eight months and it feels like she has been constipated all her life. Our Dr just keeps on saying it is constipation and suggests a different laxative. I've had enough and don't think it is good enough. I hoping the ECN can suggest something or refer us to a paed.

DH bought Miss K a bike trailer for his push bike on Friday. She looks so cute in it. There are pics up on FB. Now we just have to find a helmet small enough for her. It's funny we've never had trouble finding something small enough for her before. It always been problems finding something *big* enough for her.

We are going for a picnic in the park with my sister and her family today. If it is a nice day one of my neice is going to take Miss K paddling in the water.

We are off to Optus today to get me an iPhone. I've convinced DH that it is in our best interests to break my current contract and get me an iPhone. Yay!

My holidays finish today and its back to work tomorrow. Yuck! On the positive it is only 9 weeks till holidays and I get 6 weeks off next time.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend.

quitecontrary
18-10-2009, 09:03
Hello!
Yes, it has been quiet around here lately!
BC Happy Birthday to Bayli!! How lovely to have a big 4 year old boy!!
Zeph have fun with your new phone! Hope it doesn't drive you as loopy as mine did for the first few day!!
Ardora good to see you here again too!
We are fine! Its been good to have a busy weekend again after last weeks toilet training lock-in for Miss G. Yesterday we went shopping for some new tshirts for me (exciting huh? but much needed) and came out of the shop with them, and a stack of clothes for dh!! Ah well, he needs them! Then we went to Sydney Park for a little picnic and a play in the (highly recommended) playground there. Last night our best man was having a party so we all went - needless to say it was an early night for us and an extremely late one for our children! It was fun to get out amongst it again, even with the kids in tow. Oh yeah, and on Friday night we all went into the Night Markets in Hyde Park for dinner with my 4 year old niece in tow as well! So, yes - its been a busy weekend. Nothing much planned for today!
Hope this finds you all well!!

Lateralus
18-10-2009, 09:47
Hi everyone - is has been SO quiet in here... Popped my head in a few times and all I saw were the tumbleweeds rolling past :laughing:

BC happybirthday to Bayli - it's such a spin out how quickly they grow huh? I still can't believe that Zo is 8 months old today... I am sure 4 years will creep up on me just as quickly!

Zeph we got a helmet for Zoe from our local bike store... It's got an adjustable crown within the helmet so it will fit her for a while. Let me know if you have difficulty finding one for Miss K and we can sort something out & I can post one down to you! ALSO - have fun with your iphone! I got one yesterday!! DH got one a few weeks ago and has managed to iron out all the problems so I had no trouble setting mine up at all! I guess it helps that DH is a bit nerdy when it comes to computery stuff :geek:

QC It sounds like you have had a lovely weekend - getting out and about & doing normal grown up stuff!

Adora glad G is treating you to some good nights sleep!

AFU Zo had a total shocker yesterday. She was SO clingy - but didn't want to be picked up. She just wanted me to sit on the floor with her within reaching distance and would absolutely howl if I got up to do anything. I really, really, really, really hope this is a short lived thing and not the start of some long running separation anxiety saga - it did my head in for just one day! She was also really unsettled overnight... Woke up at 2am and cried until 4:30... She is starting to get the $hits if I don't feed her to sleep. I am trying really hard not to - but after 2 & 1/2 hours of grizzling I just did whatever it took to get her to sleep so DH & I could get some sleep too. :hair: I suspect that maybe she is getting some more teeth - so hopefully she'll settle down once they are through.

I am off to the doctors tomorrow to get myself checked out as I am still having quite a lot of pain when we are DTD. Surely after 8 months things should have settled down?! Poor DH has been so patient - but I think the time has come to get 'it' looked at. (sorry if this is TMI... anyone else having dramas in that department?).

I posted off my application to extend my maternity leave on Friday... Hoping to hear something in the next few weeks. DH has just applied for the fire brigade which is exciting. It's the part time brigade in town so he'd be on-call 3 days a week... Will make trying to fit my shifts and his other work in a bit of a challenge, but it is something he has wanted to do for so long - so we will make it work!

sweetseven
18-10-2009, 10:11
Well my lil miss' nighttime sleep has gotten worse not better. She's back to midnight to going to bed, but now she gets up at 4:30am also. After a feed and a change, she'll quite happily sleep to around 11am. Now if I can just manage to move the whole cycle back five hours, it would be perfect. :hair:

And she is able to get herself into a sitting position (from prone) now, and as a result seems to have lost all interest in crawling.

Seacretsquirrel
18-10-2009, 11:07
Morning ladies, I too have been checking in here but finding not much happening I suppose if we all posted when we did this we'd get back into the swing but oh well.

Sweet Seven and KJ - I here you with the grumbly bubs R is just sooooo clingy atm he had a whole day of not wanting a bar of me (no BF or anything) to wanting to be held and fed all day for the past 2 days we went to the AH clinic but the Dr said that he was fine and not to underestimate the power of cuddles :hair: so we went to our regular GP (who is a pead) and he checked his ears and throat and yep another ear infection and he is wheezy too (will be keeping an eye on that one as we have a family history of asthma) but after a day of antibiotics he is a bit chirpier (well is sitting on the floor on his own for a second anyway) he was up every few hours for a feed last night so my boobs are killing me I think he has nearly sucked them inside out:laughing:

He finally has a tooth and another one more on the way and is still crawling like a champ and can get from crawling or lying to a sitting postion too.
BC :party: Happy Birthday to Bayli The years have just flown Z will be 3 in Dec and I wonder where that time has gone.

ANyway Z is demanding I come do puzzles with her so I better go.:D

quitecontrary
18-10-2009, 14:33
Hello again!
I have two resting children and a MIA dh - he's in the house somewhere! I think he's actually in our room and that's why T is chattering away in there instead of going to sleep. Poor old Genevieve has developed a cough-cough-cough-vomit routine today which is a delight. We all went down to the Bay for lunch and realised almost straight away how crook she really is. Thank goodness she is sleeping. I hope T doesnt get whatever it is that ails her.
SS sorry to hear that R is crook, hope he's on the mend now you've seen your actual Doc.
KJ glad to hear you've put in the application to extend your mat leave. I hope your dh gets a position with the Fireys!
S7 my heart goes out to you with your dd's sleeping hours. I would be dying a slow and painful death if I was keeping those hours with T.
He has been feeding a lot overnight lately too. So dull, but they're not babies forever.

gonnabeaGR8mum
19-10-2009, 12:25
:smiliedance: Elianna slept 7:30pm to 4:30am and then settled (WITHOUT a feed) til 6:30 had a feed and terrorised her daddy out of bed then slept again til 8:00 :eek:- and i reckon she wouldn't have woken up at 4:30 if my DH hadn't decided he HAD to check on her at 4:00am and ran into her door making a gawd awful noise :rolleyes:

fingers are now crossed that it wasn't a once off and we will get a repeat performance tonight:fingerscrossed:

thanks for all the well wishes and advice from all you lovely ladies :goodvibes:

we've had a lovely weekend, on saturday we hitched up our new bike carrier thingy to the car and headed off to the lake (we used to jsut fold down the seats and put the bikes in the back but can't do that now with a baby seat so haven't been able to go for a ride). i went for a 10km ride around te lake while DH fed Eli her lunch and played with her in the park. it was soooo nice to feel the wind in my face again, i hadn't realised just how much i was missing riding til then. then we went to BIL house for a BBQ tea then home. had a very very unsettled night with Eli on sat night, had around 4 hours sleep all up and got up around 5am when she refused to go back to sleep again.

had a lazy day yesterday snoozing on the lounge in front of the gilmore girls while DH looked after Eli and then off to church then home and in bed by 9:30- it was great!:D

then this morning we had babies and toddlers music class at the conservatorium of music. my nurse put my name down for it- they sent a hire car to pick me up and bring me home- such a difference from having to lugg everything on and off a bus. Eli had a ball singing and playing instruments and exploring the room and it was nice to meet some other mums. all in all a lovely morning out.

QC i hope miss G is feeling better today, poor little mite

zeph and sweetseven my nurse was sayign the same thing about teeth, apparently it has been shown again and again that babies whoe get their teeth later will keep them for longer and thus have less dental problems than the earlier bubs whose adult teeth have to try and cram into a smaller mouth. not much consolation for an exhausted mummy of a teething bub who is yet to actually cut a tooth, but there it is =D

KJ i hope you get your extension approved and you find out very soon. i couldn't imagine going back to uni any time soon, i feel Elianna still very much needs me at home at the moment. oh and re. pain while DTD- i have been having a similar issue, and i've jsut kept putting it down to dryness and other hormonal changes due to breastfeeding, so have been abstaining more often than not, poor DH, maybe i should go and see my dr about it too.

SS i hope Riley feels better soon and yay for mobility!

sorry for the lack of personals.
i hope everyone else is doing well. best wishes to the birthday boys (recently and those coming up) and i hope all teh sick bubbas feel better soon

sweetseven
19-10-2009, 12:45
BC Happy (belated) birthday to Mr4; I hope he enjoyed all the attention.

My DD6 is due for her 3rd birthday this Saturday (so one week later).

KJ Fingers crossed for approving your maternity leave extension.

sweetseven
20-10-2009, 08:02
GR8 Cheers for Elianna sleeping through. :yelclap: I hope she repeated it last night also. Any chance she can have some words to my bub? I fell asleep lastnight because I was so tired, and awoke an hour later to find Miss10 looking after bub so I could sleep. I had to send her straight to bed so she could get some sleep for school, and bub came to bed with me.

Seacretsquirrel
20-10-2009, 08:07
Riley did the 6pm till 9-30 (feed) till 2.30 am (feed) till 4 am (i ignored him for a bit and he went back to sleep) till 6am up!
so marginally better than getting up at 4 am as well:rolleyes:
oh well I suppose it can't last forever... can it?
Sweet seven how sweet are your girls even if it was a school night :)
hope you are all doing ok:hugs:

sweetseven
20-10-2009, 11:41
Oh, and I wanted to mention, even though it seems she has only just started proper crawling (hands and knees) she is now crawling on hands and feet, and seems to be confused as to why she cannot just stand up.

When someone lifts her into a standing position (and holds her), she is so happy and excited, waving her arms about so no chance of any sort of balance whatsoever.

For some time, she has been pulling herself into a standing position with furniture, but again will seem confused that she is then limited to holding onto the furniture and not able to get any further.

I am thinking this little bub thinks she should be able to walk.

quitecontrary
20-10-2009, 14:06
S7 sounds like you might have an early walker on your hands! T does the hands and feet routine occasionally too, but he is still dragging himself around commando style most of the time.
SS just tell that Riley that he needs his beauty sleep! Lord, I hate the 2am 4am 6am game that goes on here sometimes.
Toby has decided that he doesn't need the 4am feed the last couple of mornings, and the 2am one is not a usual, so he has been sleeping til 9.30-ish, getting a dream feed then going til whatever time it is that G decides to come and join us. Yay for a bit more sleep for me! With tt-ing G I haven't had the strength to stop feeding T overnight - which doesn't make much sense really.
Anyway, both of them are napping right now so I suppose I should put some more washing out on the line.

natski
21-10-2009, 19:56

Just popping my head in quickly to say 'HI' :wave:...I haven't been on here in ages, haven't read through any posts so I apologise for not knowing what you've all been up to and how you and bubs are.

Have been busy with some new design jobs (great after nothing at all) and trying to sort out my children's illustrations, kids been sick also, and Olivia has had a few sleeping issues so I've been a bit pre-occupied with life lately!!!

Anyway, hope you are all well and bubs are growing lovely and behaving for you lovely mums.

sweetseven
22-10-2009, 22:50
Welcome back natski. I saw your handle and immediately thought that we hadn't heard from you in awhile. Good to hear you are keeping busy with work, and I hope your little ones illnesses are mild and brief.

My lil bub is definately trying more with standing. She'll just use one hand to balance herself, and frequently let go (then grab back again almost immediately).

As for food, I'm not using the blender as much any more, just mashing and cutting with the spoon. Unfortunately this is having the side effect that sometimes she sends it back, and tonight it was all over Miss13. She jumped in the shower straight away but was complaining that she felt like it didn't come off.

Lateralus
23-10-2009, 07:43
Morning ladies... Hope everyone has had a great week!
:wave: Natski & welcome back! Hope your business is going great guns! I still have your email with your catalogue... I have just been a bit slack in getting round to ordering anything :o
SweetSeven Miss Zo seems to gag and vomit if her food is too chunky too! I know that their strong gag reflex is there for a reason - but it can be difficult to appreciate that when you end up wearing their recycled meal :laughing:

Hope those of you who were being treated to some more decent nights sleep (GBAGM, QC & SeaS) are continuing to have good nights! Oh, and of course I hope those who weren't having the best nights (sweetseven) are on the improve.

AFU after a few shocking nights, Zoe seems to have settled into a much more reasonable routine. Although she is still a bit difficult to settle in the evening, she usually sleeps from around 7:30 'till midnight, has a feed, then sleeps from then until around 6am.

We are off camping for 2 nights with some of the other families from Mum's group - so I am hoping this doesn't throw out her sleeping too much :fingerscrossed:

Oh - before I forget - All Brisbane mummies - I am proposing a get together on Wednesday 9th December - maybe lunch or morning tea or something like that.. DH is working up in Brissy that day and as long as he isn't on call the next day, we were thinking of getting an apartment for the night in Brissy. If we don't end up staying up there, I think I will still head up for the day anyway so would love to catch up with anyone who is free. This might be the last chance to catch up with MM before she heads back home to Auckland...!!

Seacretsquirrel
23-10-2009, 08:10
Morning Ladies

I am hearing you with the recycled meals though I was putting it down to R being so active he has been shocking since he started crawling (I sooo owe my parents a carpet clean:barf:) he also has a dendency to play in it or crawl through it if I am not fast enough luckily miss Z is really on the ball with it and yells "quick mum Riley spewed" - she actually told me she needed a tissue yesterday I gave her one thinking she needed to blow her nose only to turn around to see her cleaning up a riley deposit!:laughing:

Well our good nights sleep was short lived 2 nights of 10 till 5.30 -6.30 ish he was up at 10, 1.30 and 5am today though it may have been the result of me turning on the light to see if it was a gecko I stood on at 10.30 which meant he really woke rather than having a dream feed. (oh and it wasn't a gecko... I don't think *shudders*)
Off to meet some BH mums today which should be good it will be good to meet some new faces and for Z to have a run around with some different kids.
Kate hope you have a great camping trip - hmm might have to go when DH is back again at the beginning of Nov.
Anyeay I better go I need to make a shopping list and get organised for our morning out. I am also organising our cyclone kit ATM too which is fun and has raised some questions about he best thing to do, and what to have as food (DD and I don't like beans hmm 2 min noodles me thinks.)
Have a lovely day all and a great weekend!

quitecontrary
23-10-2009, 13:16
Hello!
Little bit of chat going on here again - yay!
Well, I have to say today has been "mixed". Toby was demanding a feed at 3 (boring but I wasn't up to letting him cry it out) then I couldn't get back to sleep properly. This morning I was all tired but happy as I'd gone to dh's art gallery opening last night, and so many people were telling me what a great collaborator he is (does the technical web stuff for interactive digital art works). He had to go back to the gallery so I said I'd drop him, we were just getting ready to head out the door with the kids (of course) and I discovered my iphone was on the blink, so he found out what needed to happen (re synching) and did it, but I lost all my photos from the last few weeks. Nothing too tragic really but I was so upset, crying and driving the car isn't a good combination. Ran late for my class at the gym so had a swim and a steam (lord, thats something else) whilst the kids were in the creche - then my eldest niece and nephew came over for the day. I lost it entirely with my (big) sister which isn't a good thing. We were having a I'm much more tired than you competition (she is a nurse and homeschools) - very childish and horrible really. Anyway, the two big kids are watching Hook and my two are in bed. Thank god for bubhub and the internet.
I think I am going to stop saying Yes to minding my nieces and nephew during the day. I am also very seriously contemplating getting a mothers help a couple of days a week so I can get a few more things done without the kids in tow necessarily.
Talk about a pity party - now I need to shake myself and give myself a good talking to I think!
Sorry about the lack of personals.
Hope everyone is fine!

zephani
24-10-2009, 07:08
Hello lovely ladies :wave: What a week! I have to admit that I've been a reader and not a poster this week but work has made me feel like its been a month not just one week.

GBAGB Congrats on the 10km bike ride! I can only manage around the block at the moment and even then I have a really sore butt!

Music class sounds like great fun. Especially with a car picking you up. What a great nurse!

S7 I agree it sounds like you have an early walker on your hands!

Natski Welcome back!

Kate Hope you have a great camping trip and that it doesn't affect ZoJo's sleeping too much.
Thanks for the offer of helping us get a helmet. That was very sweet of you. We managed to get one this week.

Have you heard anything about your leave? How'd you got at the Dr's?

SS Z sounds very cute asking for a tissue to cleaning up Riley. How was your BH meet?

QC I'm sorry that you lost your photos off your iPhone :no: I got an iPhone last Sunday and to say that I love it is an understatement!

I'm sorry to hear about your argument with your sister. You sound like you need some time out and if getting some help will help you get things done I think you should do it! My neice comes over once a month and does a 'job' for us and it helps me greatly! It might be folding some washing or washing my car or vaccuuming etc We've made an arrangement with her. DH and I are getting tickets to see Taylor Swift in concert in February. If she does one job a month for the next four months we will buy her a ticket and she can come with us.

AFU I think Miss K is going to crawl any day now. She made her first two forward motions when we were at GymbaROO on Thursday. I was so excited.

She is very vocal at the moment. We have mum, dad, car, ga, nana and lots of baby babbling.

I bought a bike on Wednesday and we've started taking Miss K riding in the bike trailer DH bought. The first day we went riding she was very apprehensive but my sister suggested putting one of the toys off her pram in it and she seems fine now. We finally got a bike helmet from a store on eBay. It is taking her a little while to get used to it but I'm sure it will happen. I ended up buying a different seat for my bike as DH told me subtley that because of my butt size I might need a big seat. Although I have to admit my butt is less sore today.

We took Miss K to the ECN on Wednesday concerning her constipation issues and she made us an appointment with a paed for next Thursday. Finally about four different laxatives, 6 bouts of constipation and countless appointments with our GP something might be done :fingerscrossed:

Sorry about the :ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity: Hope everyone has a great weekend.

Lateralus
24-10-2009, 09:13
Morning all.. Just a quick one.. Had a disasterous start to the camping trip with a 3 hour screaming session (compliments of Zoe). She only managed to fall asleep once I got her in the car and drove to Byron (about a 50km round trip). I don't know where she gets the energy! I feel so bad for the famy we are sharing the cabin with.. Not relaxing for them at all :( fingers crossed she will do better tonight.. DH left to go to work this morning and not sure how I will go handling a 3 hour screaming session on my own.. Contemplating going home eArly. Our friends say they don't mind but no one wants to have their weekend ruined listening to a baby screaming for that long. Sorry for the dump.. Just feeling a bit disappointed that it's all a bit pear shaped.

quitecontrary
25-10-2009, 21:06
Oh Kate, I hope Zo settled down for you over the camping expedition. Being in a new environment can just set kids off. When we were up in Cairns in June G screamed every single time we got into the (hire) car, basically because she had no idea where we were going - not fun at all.
Zeph - yay to getting a new bike, and a new seat! I hope the paed has some new solutions for you re: the constipation of Miss K. My 4 year old niece has had chronic constipation since she went on to formula at about 6 months - not fun, doesn't help her disposition any.
Well, things calmed down for me dramatically - thank goodness. Still haven't spoken to my big sis but I have no desire to, funny that. We had a lovely weekend which started on Friday evening, we picked up dh from work and had dinner at a pub in Coogee! Both the kids behaved well! T was much happier in the high chair. When I went to get it G freaked out that we were going to put her in it, which was funny. Yesterday was a lazy around the house kind-of day, and today we went out for a drive in the rain down to the National Park. Toby is still wanting to launch himself into the World of Crawling, dragging himself around the place in the meanwhilst. He is so wanting to get outside, its hilarious - when I leave him in the lounge and go outside you can guarantee he'll be waiting at the screen door on return!

Lateralus
27-10-2009, 08:30
Good morning girls... Geeze it's been quiet in here over the last few day.... where is everyone?

Sorry about my little dummy spit over the weekend... I had a 'not coping' moment when Zo was cracking it.. I don't know how on earth I used to take the 8 hour screaming sessions she used to throw at us.. 3 hours did my head in on Friday night!! But I am pleased to say that she was perfectly behaved for the rest of our time away. AND to top it off, she had a 13 hour sleep last night with only 2 quick feeds :D AND she's gone back to bed now for some more now!!

In other news... She has decided that commando crawling is so 'last week' and we now have some proper hands and knees action :smiliedance: It's exciting but also a little bitter sweet because it marks the start of a new stage in her life - she's no longer a little baby but is launching head first towards toddlerhood! I have to say though, this is my favorite age so far... She is so inquisitive and learning at such a rapid rate... It's effing awesome to watch! :goodvibes:

HAHA QC I understand when you talk about Toby pining at the screen door! I have found Zo sussing out the cat flap a few times when I have popped outside and left her inside... I don't think it'll be long before she makes a break for freedom!

Zeph hope the paed can shed some light on the cause of poor Miss K's constipation. Hope you manage to get an appointment quickly! It's fun getting out and about on the bike isn't it? DH and I used to ride ALL the time before Zo came along. We also have a bike trailer but Zo isn't so keen on wearing her helmet and screams blue bloody murder when we put it on her... We might try your idea of some divisional therapy with the pram toys!

quitecontrary
27-10-2009, 10:00
Hello again!
Kate - Glad to hear that the weekend picked up once Zo decided it was okay to be there. I reckon she is just scared of The New - be it a location, or indeed a bike helmet. Not knowing what is going to happen next must be harder for some little ones to cope with. When she is a little bigger she'll probably love being a backseat driver on a baby bike seat thing. We have one of those for G, and will get one for T for my bike once he's a bit bigger.
Poor old Toby has another awful cough. He is back in bed and has been asleep for over 2 hours so far. I will have to make a Dr's appt for him for tomorrow some time - we won't be able to get there today even if there was an appt available.
Dh has taken G for her preschool play day this morning, and I actually got to have a good long soak in the tub whilst T has been sleeping. G had such fun there yesterday, I'm sure she'll be having a ball today as well. We are meant to be going to fairy ballet later, but I will see how the kidlets are - my little sis will bring G home afterwards if I do take her down there. I don't want to have to keep Toby out today.
I think the lad is stirring.
Hope all is well with all of you!
Poor of

sweetseven
27-10-2009, 13:42
*surprize moment*

I was serving some yoghurt (that I had intended to have myself) and bub watching me said very clearly yoghurt. Amazed, I fed it to her and she greedily gobbled it down. (Whereas recently she has been uninterested in yoghurt which is why I had stopped offerring it to her.) Also, recently, pretty much the only think she has been saying is Daddy, with the occasional Mum, hello, or Baah...bub (an attempt at her sister MissB's name).

Lateralus
30-10-2009, 20:55
SS :smiliedance: what a clever wee one asking for yoghurt... they are so much more clued on than we give them credit for sometimes eh?!

Goodness it's been quiet in here again... hope this means everyone's been out doing exciting stuff! Anyone got anything exciting planned for the weekend? We have a halloween party tomorrow (one of Zo's little friends) and a 1st birthday party on Sunday!!

Poor Miss Zoe had a bad temperature earlier this week - up to 39.8.. She had no other symptoms other than the temp.. It was pretty worrying but after 3 days the fevers settled and she is back to normal now :yes:

Lateralus
31-10-2009, 08:14
Morning all - *warning - vent ahead*

ok - so we have been having problems getting Zoe to sleep again recently - she has started 'insisting' on being either fed or patted to sleep, which in turn means she is waking up every 2-3 hour overnight ( which is killing me) and expecting the same treatment rather than just self settling which she had learnt to do when we were up at the sleep clinic.

I am all for trying some controlled comforting to see if we can get her back into a good sleep routine. Now anyone who has done this knows that it does initially involve some crying... It's bound to because Bub isn't getting what he or she normally does and protests this fact. I am getting the $hits because DH is not sticking to 'the plan' and keeps patting her to sleep which is totally counter productive. If she cries for longer than a few minutes he starts huffing and tutting and making me feel like I am being a bad mum for letting her cry. I am not letting her cry for longer than 10 minutes at a time, and if she is sounding really distressed I go in straight away... I am just not sure how we can meet half way on this.. With CC it's really all or none. I am wondering if it would be underhanded of me to do it when he goes away for a week for work in 2 weeks time? :confused:

Lateralus
31-10-2009, 16:27
hellloooooooo??

where's everyone gone??

quitecontrary
31-10-2009, 21:04
Hey there Katie! I'm here!! I don't think its underhanded at all to get things under control when your dh is away. It sounds like you need to get back into the hardline routine with Miss Z again. You've had your trip down to Sydney and your weekend away, and now you are back home. Time to get things back to the way you want them with your little Miss.
In our house its always been clear that Dh would always be the Good Cop, and I would be the Bad Cop. Even before kids came along I knew this would be the case.
A few nights of her getting back into the better routine is so much better than her waking around the clock.
Aarrggh. On that subject, poor old Toby is about to be read the riot act too. He has been doing random waking, not every two hours but bad enough overnight. When being fed doesn't seem to make any difference to what time he wakes up next I think its time to close the 24 hour bf buffet service. He's taken up this god awful crying routine that just sounds so bad, so I think it might be torture for us to listen to him, but I think it has to be done.
Just as a matter of interest - who else still has their little one in their room? For all his noise I can't imagine him not being in with us.
On to other things. This afternoon we went to a Halloween Party at my little sis's place, just cousins and one of their neighbourhood families. It was lovely - we went as south sea pirates ie me and dh and T, and G went as a summer fairy! Such fun!

Lateralus
01-11-2009, 09:15
Good luck with it QC. Today is day #1 of CC here... After a $hitty night, I have decided to start ASAP rather than waiting 'till DH is away for the week next week. He is away tonight, so hopefully we'll get the worst of it out of the way today... When we were up at the sleep clinic it only took Zo a couple of nights to get the hang of the new 'rules' :laughing: so hopefully we'll have similar luck this time too. So far, so good. She settled for her nap after 5 minutes of grizzling. :yelclap:

sweetseven
01-11-2009, 09:18
:hugs: Goodluck with the :sleeping:

quitecontrary
02-11-2009, 09:17
Hello again!
Its another beautiful day here! I am contemplating getting the kids ready and heading down to the park before long. G is watching ABC kids and T is back in his cot but I think he's finished napping (thanks to G).
Well, Toby has basically slept through the last two nights. I have been giving him a dream feed before I go to bed (as per the usual) and he has stirred but with a pat and the dummy he's gone back to sleep. I feel great! He's having his first feed sometime around 6/7 which is fine by me - especially as he'll go back to sleep til Cyclone G hits our bedroom!! In fact G has calmed down too in the mornings it seems and was up at 7 this morning which is a lie-in for us these days!!
Oh yes, and our new Friend is coming today - ie my useful person!! One of dh's colleagues has a 19 year old who doesn't want to work but is happy to help with kids - so its a win-win, I get some help and she gets out of her mother's hair a couple of afternoons a week. Fingers crossed she likes me and the kids!!

gonnabeaGR8mum
03-11-2009, 06:18
i have decided to make a concerted effort to post in here more regularly ;) so here goes nothing

I'm sorry to hear Zoe was unwell last week Kate- Glad it didn't bother her too much though. How is the sleep re-training going?

QC - how are you going with the closing of the 24hr buffet service? the arrangement with the friend sounds good. some days i would love to have someone to jsut carry Elianna around after me :laughing: and i'm sure it will be great for G to have someone to play with her too.

s7 - your baby girl is amazing with her speaking, we're only just now begining to get sounds like "mum-mum" "dad-dad" "bub-bub" and "there :confused:"

i have a bit of a dilema at the moment. We have jsut about got Elianna sorted into a proper night-time routine, she wakes from her last nap of the day around 5/5:30 has dinner around 5:45/6 then a play with daddy til 6:45/7 then bath, boob, bed where she will sleep through til about 5:30 (and i re-settle her til 6:45 which is the earliest i will feed her in an attempt to get her to learn to sleep-in that little bit longer). i feel like we have really made progress and i'm happy with how it is going. Only thing is tomorrow night we have to go out to a conference dinner for DH's work and we'll need to leave here around 6 ish. Now Elianna refuses to take a bottle at all and can smell out formula in her sippy cup at 100 paces. i have been trying to express (which she used to take out of a sippy cup quite happily) but i guess my body is just too efficient and i'm not getting any out so i'm stuck with not knowing how to feed her before bed when i'll be 50km away.

my only thought at the moment is to move her whole routine forward an hour tomorrow so that she is going to bed just before 6, do you think this will ruin the routine we've got going at the moment? does anyone have any other ideas?

Lateralus
03-11-2009, 10:48
Hey GBAGM new November thread is here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=299138) (just in case you think no one is answering you!) :hugs:

It's always a tough call when you need to change bubs routine to fit in with some other commitment... I guess if she won't take a feed from any other means, you might have to feed her before you go and settle her a little earlier that night - and hope it doesn't throw out her routine totally... Could she have a feed before you go & then not go to bed for a while after that, or does she feed to sleep?