View Full Version : stinky poos and fluffy pants
The sooper nanny
29-09-2009, 19:18
hi there
Im new to the world of formula feeding as Ive just given up breast feeding due to ongoing supply issues and my bubba refusing the breast. Ive topped up with formula from day one, tried s26 regular which didnt agree with katelyn.
I then tried nann ha gold which for a while was great. However for the past few weeks kt has been doing green stinky (eyewatering) poos and popping off heaps. It started just after a course of antibiotics. Today took the cake, we had screaming did the most stinky gaggable poo that went right up her back and is farting every couple of minutes. (in Ikea mind you) :goodvibes:
So ive decided to try s26 Lactose free as a comparison (im a little intolerant myself)
Anyway so heres my questions.
Is this a normal thing when transitioning from breast to bottle?
Would probiotics help?
And has anyone had good results from S26 lactose free? They had a karricare soy formula but it was 33 bucks!!!:eek:
oh and could a tiny amount of farex cause this reaction?
Sorry for all the questions but its really hard to know if shes intolerant of getting sick.... thanks :thumbsup:
BabelFish
29-09-2009, 19:30
We used Nan as well to help with constipation - we used the `easy to digest' one which has far fewer problems I believe with the green poos (which I've heard about before with Nan). At the moment, though, due to a recent bout of gastro she is on S26 Lactose-free, which is fantastic. We put her back on the Nan and her really bad poos started again almost immediately. I'm not sure now whether we put her back on it too early, whether we didn't wean her back on slowly enough, or whether she is now actually lactose intolerant.
But I would think that a bit of transitional nastiness is probably normal from breast to bottle. DD had formula from the start (one bottle a day) and the rest of the time it was breast due to similar issues to yours (and a WHOLE lot more) and so we didn't really have the transition, as such.
Probiotics might help but I'd see with the S26 first. As for the Farex - jeepers, I've no idea. Although I do know that rice can clog them up.
I'd try eliminating one thing at a time and see what works.
The sooper nanny
29-09-2009, 19:46
thanks for the prompt reply...its interesting that youve had a similar experience with the nann. Ill be interested to see how she goes. Really helps to have another perspective and people with similar stories..... so thanks
Mummy2R&K
29-09-2009, 20:03
oh my DD's poos absolutely reeked on Nan HA and even her breath was putrid. I think they put tooooooooo much fish oil in that one.
I decided to stick what I knew was best from DS and put her on Heinz like he was on and while they still stink no where near as bad.
Will go off the gold once she's on solids :thumbsup:
TripleTime
29-09-2009, 20:17
Both my DD's are on S26 LF, its the only formula we dont have problems with them. DD1 is also LI. DS started on Karicare HA today, havent had a nappy for him yet. Im interested to see if will change.
NonnyMouse
29-09-2009, 20:30
Can I ask what the abtibiotics were for? I know swallowing mucus from a chest infection can give you horrid smelly poo, and AB's canalso alter gut flora causing poo to stink. I wondered if that could be a possibility, especially since it coincided with the AB's.
The sooper nanny
29-09-2009, 20:59
its intersting coz i too thought kts breath stunk.... actually she just generally stinks atm :laughing:
she had abs for cellulitis under her armpit. Im wondering if it wiped out her gut flora but i cant be sure, so i thought id try the other formula first and then if that doesnt work ill try some probiotics.
she does smell rather fishy :barf: my MIL was gagging today when she popped off it was that bad!!! The poor people at IKEA.....
sad thing is... I JUST opened a new tin of nann..... doh!
NonnyMouse
29-09-2009, 21:02
Probiotics would be perhaps cheaper and easier than swapping formula, especially if you've already changed it before - bubs might not be happy with the flavour changing if she has a sensitive tummy at the moment.
The sooper nanny
29-09-2009, 21:21
nonny, shes already gulped 2 bottles of it. And trust me, probiotics aint cheap!! Funilly enough, nann is the most expensive formula around perth atm. I ll see what happens, she seems a lot happier tonight.
Thanks everyone for your help :hugs:
BabelFish
29-09-2009, 21:46
Whereabouts in Perth are you? At our local pharmacy Nan HA Gold is $19.95. It's awesome.
The sooper nanny
29-09-2009, 21:52
gee that is cheap... i normally go to big w its 23 bucks. Coles sell it for 28.99!! Im in subi. Which chemist is that? It really pays to shop around with formula.... katelyns gone to sleep in her big cot, so lets see how she sleeps tonight. :fingerscrossed: no more fishy poos
The sooper nanny
30-09-2009, 11:33
I think weve isolated the problem.... its teeth!!
Theyve been moving for a while but she woke with flushed cheeks, dribbling... and did another gross poo.
but, we are running on adrenaline atm, after being awake from 3-5, so were off to the park to enjoy this glorious, sunny weather. I cancelled my shift this arvo, so I feel alot better :thumbsup: