View Full Version : Extended breastfeeding

JATS
10-07-2006, 15:30
It's generally accepted that "breast is best" for a baby, and many choose to breastfeed for extended periods, but alot of people seem to feel strange about seeing it when kids hit a certain age.

I certainly wouldn't breastfeed a teenager, but where do you draw the line?

It's a opinion based decision, no right or wrong, I was just curious about the most 'popular' view, hence the poll!

So what do you think? When do you start feeling uncomfortable?

the_queen
10-07-2006, 15:36
So to vote in the poll, you're asking that if I saw a child breastfeeding, what is the age where I would feel it wasn't OK? (Am I explaining myself LOL)

I think the best age to breastfeed to is the age where the child weans themselves.

But what age would make me feel uncomfortable (and again - this is if I saw a child of this age breastfeeding; because my own children can feed as long as they feel they need to :)) I'd say "older".

10-07-2006, 15:39
I chose 12-18 months, closer to 18 months tho I think.

For me personally if possible I would like to braestfeed for 9-12 months. My oldest DD is 12 months and shes so big i just cant imagine bf'ing her!

I have seen ppl bfing 3 and 4 year olds and this certainly does make me feel uncomfortable. I think by 18 months they are more than ready for a cup regardless of developmental stage.

JATS
10-07-2006, 15:41
So to vote in the poll, you're asking that if I saw a child breastfeeding, what is the age where I would feel it wasn't OK? (Am I explaining myself LOL)

Yep, that's what I'm asking :D

10-07-2006, 15:42
I chose 5 years old, not that it would make me uncomfortable to see a child breastfed at this age but I do think that the child is at school at that age (pre school or prep) and it could cause problems for the child ie teasing etc.

the_queen
10-07-2006, 15:42
Yep, that's what I'm asking :D

Cool, I voted correctly then :D

10-07-2006, 15:44
Just a question to the ppl that voted that babies 12 months and younger makes you uncomfortable being breastfed, can I ask what makes you uncomfortable?

Lunar
I voted 12-18 months, but that would be as comfrotable as I would be breastfeeding my own children. I think yes definitly when the child weans themselves, but I would feel uncomfortable seeing a 4yr old being bf... but it is ultimatley a personal thing.

EskimoMumma
Im not a breastfeeder, but i chose 18-2years.

10-07-2006, 15:49
I voted older as I believe in self weaning and I can't draw the line.
Personally I struggled to feed my first for a year and my second til 18 mths
I would like to manage to 5 years but that is up to the child!

10-07-2006, 15:55
I chose before 12 months but I think that either when the child weans themselves or by their 1st birthday... Whichever comes first...

This may be different but when should a baby be weaned off a bottle?

the_queen
10-07-2006, 15:56
This may be different but when should a baby be weaned off a bottle?

good point Kymmy - it'd be interesting to have another poll to see where people draw the line with kids having a bottle!

Lunar
10-07-2006, 15:57
I agree there queenie and kymmy.

10-07-2006, 15:58
good point Kymmy - it'd be interesting to have another poll to see where people draw the line with kids having a bottle!

I would still vote the same answer, once again as I see it could cause teasing from peers in pre school/prep having a child still bottlefed or breastfed.

10-07-2006, 16:05
I would like to be breastfeeding until 12 months.... I'm working from 6 months so some feeds may be supplemented.. if I can't express or if the boobs stop working or something (still have to really work out how I'm going to do this.)
Until 6 months I'd like to be exclusively breast feeding (with expressed bottles for Chris to have a go & for me to have a break! :))

To be brutally honest, the reason why I would continue feeding when I'm at work is because the cost of formula is rediculas so I'd like to cut that cost as much as possible! So why not breastfeed when I can until she's only cows milk? :)

T Bear
10-07-2006, 16:08
Well, I voted 3 years, as I was BF until I was 3 years and there's nothing wrong with me (well, that may be dabatable but nothing related to extended BF). I don't know how long I plan to BF for, but after 12 months it would probably only be morning and night time (as I will probably be back at work, atleast part time), so not many people are likely to see it anyway. By the time I was 3 I was only having 1 feed a day to go to bed so I don't think there's anything wrong with it, it doesn't affect anyone else and it's a lovely bonding thing for mother and child.

10-07-2006, 16:09
IMO before 12 months

10-07-2006, 16:14
I chose 18 months - 2 years as thats how I'd like to go for with DS, but if he wants to keep going, thats cool too.

I'd wean by the age of 4 though.

I couldn't imagine giving up breast by choice before 12 months, as you would need to supplement with formula. Seems silly!

10-07-2006, 16:18
I guess i couldn't imagine anything worse than having a child with chompers and still breast feeding. :barf:

V8
For me personally i don't expect to BF much longer than 12 months. Josh is still BF, but was being comp fed at 4 months due to not gaining enough weight. Now he is on 3 meals a day, probably 3 bottles and 3-4 breastfeeds. He only gets 150ml of formula each feed. If he were down to 1-2 feeds a day by 12 months though, like a morning and night feed i'd probably keep doing that until he weans himself. I would also like to be pregnant again soon and might wean him if i can't fall pregnant quickly. If i were to see someone breastfeeding a child that is over 2 years old i'd probably think it were a bit old.

JATS
Just making sure ppl know the idea of the poll;

It isn't when YOU would wean, it's what age you think it is wrong to continue BFing after!

10-07-2006, 16:20
I'm all for bf as long as MJ needs it. Though i think that by around age 4 kids are generally ready to be weaned if they havent already. My DH is of the opinion that its time to stop when they when they will remember it being done iykwim.

aardvark
10-07-2006, 16:28
I fed both my older children until they didn't want it anymore. They were both over 3.

I'm intending to feed DS (now 5 months) for at least the same length of time, longer if he wants it.

The World Health Organisation strongly recommends breastfeeding until at least 2 years of age.

Kassiasmum
10-07-2006, 16:28
I'm with Oscarsmum on this one, around 5 years, also for the school/pre/prep thingy. Just as an aside, drinking from a cup has nothing to do with being b'f, my dd is 29 months, still b/f and drinks milk, water etc from a cup. My breastmilk is not her only form of milk, she also has drinks of milk during the day, so they can do both.

10-07-2006, 16:31
I chose 18months-2yrs thats the longest id be comfortable feeding my bub for i dont know if id think it is weird if i saw someone else bf'ing older than 2 though because its not my decision.

Tam-I-Am
10-07-2006, 16:35
I chose 18months-2yrs thats the longest id be comfortable feeding my bub for i dont know if id think it is weird if i saw someone else bf'ing older than 2 though because its not my decision.

^^^ What she said.

10-07-2006, 17:12
I guess i couldn't imagine anything worse than having a child with chompers and still breast feeding.

To bf the baby has the tongue covering the teeth so in theory it shouldn't hurt.

JATS
10-07-2006, 17:15
I can vouch for that Kymmy, Tom is 1yr old and has 6 teeth, and BFs without a problem :D

10-07-2006, 17:17
I can vouch for that Kymmy, Tom is 1yr old and has 6 teeth, and BFs without a problem :D

Yep, same here. Just got 2 more teeth so 8 teeth, & no pain unless MJ is being difficult.

Areca
10-07-2006, 17:25
I said 18mo-2years as that is as long as I would want yo bf for but I don't think it's gross or wrong to bf past that age, that's just my comfort level.
Before having DD I would've said 6 months....who knows why, I was naive.

Miaow
10-07-2006, 17:33
Before having DD I would've said 6 months....who knows why, I was naive.

I was the same actually I thought maybe 6 months - EJs 8 months now and Im still feeding her but I don't think I'll go much part 12 months though then again when that time comes you never know :)

munchkin05
10-07-2006, 17:43
i always said if i could breast feed i would stop at 6mths

i also said that as soon as a child can ask for it they are to old to have it

well let this be said ben is 13 mths still breast fed and if you say to him do you want boob he will climb up and laydown ready for me to take it out

i want him to self wean
but i guess i will step in once he is 2
i dont really mind i guess the older the child the less they feed anyways
so even after 2 if he wanted a night booby and morning boob i would be ok with that i think

10-07-2006, 19:16
I voted for 12 - 18 months, but it all depends on the child really!

Some children are still babies at 2 years, but then Ive met other 1 year olds who are up walking around, talking, etc....

Each person is entitled to feed their child as long or short as they want I think..... :) Personally I do feel that over 2 is a bit weird....but each person has their own comfort zone...!!!

Sheer Bliss
10-07-2006, 19:38
I put 3 (or thereabouts), but I think it depends alot on HOW the child is being breastfed that would make me uncomfortable about it. When i was on a tourist bus on holidays a 2yo (guessing at age) was playing/walking in the aisle, then walke over to his mum, lifted her shirt and had a feed for a minute (she had no bra on too) or so, then went back to playing. He did the same thing about 10mins later. That made me feel uncomfortable, but if she had picked him up & fed him in a laying position I wouldn't have minded it at all - not sure if that makes a lot of sense or not. lol

zoemacaroni
10-07-2006, 19:41
I said between 12-18mths, although I only breastfeed my eldest DD until 4 mths, and that was with a lot of persistance, but I am still breastfeeding my 9 1/2mth old aiming to wean around 12 mths... if she lets me!!! haha!

lukaelmo
10-07-2006, 20:01
I guess i couldn't imagine anything worse than having a child with chompers and still breast feeding. :barf:

Teehee, the dude has SIX chompers and I am still feeding him :laughing: .

He rarely bites, perhaps 3 times in a year.

But I have seen him really chomp down on his sippy cup :eek: .

kadownie
10-07-2006, 20:09
I haven't voted because I don't really know. I'm still breastfeeding my twins- and they are 22 months- and no sign of it slowing up. I'm not really sure how I would parent them without it to be honest.

Before I had babies I would have said 2-3 but now seeing the benefits of breastfeeding first hand and especially full term breastfeeding, I'm not sure what I think or when I will wean. I think about it often, as there are times that I would really like to have my body back- but the advantages for me far outweigh those moments. I guess maybe a 5 or 6 yr old might make me feel a bit uncomfy- but I can see how it would be hard for a child/mother (cause it is a relationship) to finish breastfeeding.

meme
10-07-2006, 20:11
It isn't when YOU would wean, it's what age you think it is wrong to continue BFing after!

oops i voted wrong then, because i don't think someone breastfeeding an older child is 'wrong' as it's totally their personal choice.
i voted for 4yrs as i would feel a little uncomfy seeing a child older than this, i think it is the school/prep age thing.
i have seen 4yr olds breastfeed and it was not wrong, only something that is not often seen.

i am personally happy feeding until around 2yrs, although this may be my last baby so she could get longer....:rolleyes: (or she could happily wean earlier, but i'll be encouraging her until 2 for the health benefits.)

WeThree
10-07-2006, 20:42

Its funny, for me personally I have more issues with an older toddler/child having a bottle than bf, there just seems to be no benefit to giving a bottle to an older child, other than making life easier for mum, or trying to baby the child. I think anything over the age of 5 is getting too old to be bf, but like some have pointed out to me before :rolleyes: it certainly isnt a magic number or anything and as for a bottle, well DS, (who self weaned off the breast at 9 mths:( ) has just turned 3 and he still has one at night or when he is tired :o BUT it is a sippy cup teat, not a normal one, and he is almost over it, thank goodness.

Goosie22
10-07-2006, 22:00
I believe Breastfeeding is very important, I put a lot of value on the Breastfeeding Relationship and as such I dont think you can put a number on the years it is appropriate to continue. I know women who continue to feed past the "social acceptable ages" be that 4 years or 12 months. Anyone who has Breastfeed a child will know you dont just wake up one morning and say "well thats that your too old now" its a stupid notion, they just do it for as long as they need to.

I read this comment so often on this forum "each to their own" Why not have that attitude to Breastfeeding instead of trying to narrow down the exact age when its "wrong".

As Aadvard pointed out earlier THE WHO recommend exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months then continued on to 2years or more. This is recommended for OPTIMAL health and development not to gross anyone out, everyone says they want the best for their babies?????

WeThree
10-07-2006, 22:13
Goosie, I knew this thread would bring you out of the woodwork :D

Goosie22
10-07-2006, 22:18
Well I do love a little chat on Breastfeeding:o .

JATS
10-07-2006, 22:26
I agree completly Goosie, it was another forum that provoked this thread, a fierce debate about the social acceptability of extended BFing.

Some are grossed out by a 5 yr old BFing, others see it as a beautiful maternal act.

I just wondered what the popular view here was, there's obviously no real deadline, only opinions.:thumbsup:

WeThree
10-07-2006, 22:38
I know you do Goosie, nothing wrong with that :D
i think you must have one of those bat phones that MD says I have, only yours rings when ever there is any posts about BF or co sleeping on bubhub:p

Goosie22
10-07-2006, 22:43
:laughing: I could have a BOOB phone.

WeThree
10-07-2006, 22:52
lmao!!! Yes that would be much more appropriate :yes:

Elijahsmama
11-07-2006, 09:11
I think i would be uncomfortable seeing a 2yr plus BF. I planned to BF up to 12mths but now that DS is almost 11mths i am thinking i'll continue to 18mth/2yrs as he only has one morning and night so its not a big deal for me. I think after 2 they should be getting all their nutrients from veges, meat, etc so it would just be a comfort thing.

faery
11-07-2006, 09:58
i voted for four, as i don't think i'd want to be feeding jarrah past that. unless i had another bub to feed and the boobies were out anyway.

i'm not really bothered by people extended feeding. if i have learned anything with this bubba its that their needs are so individual you just have to go with the flow.

11-07-2006, 11:51
I don't know if ppl generally bf in public after a year.
I know with my second son I was only feeding him at night between 12 - 18mths.
I have seen once a 2-3 year old child being bf at the sc
I just thought it would be awkward.
The opinions here are interesting.
It makes me want to bf my child at 5 to annoy!:laughing:
My 3 year old says its for babies though.

Goosie22
11-07-2006, 12:08
I breastfed my oldest in public when he was 3, once a lady who I didnt know decided to do her civil duty and comment. I have not seen someone turn that shade of purple since:no: .

Its the old rule dont approach welping box when the female dog is feeding her pupps.

11-07-2006, 12:46
I bf MJ whenever, where-ever & she is 14months. Who am I to deny my child nutrition when she is hungry/thirsty/upset etc.

I have no problem seeing a mother bf in public. I know a lady who bf her 4yo. There's nothing more beautiful than a mother nursing her child at any age.

jarrahsmumma
11-07-2006, 13:38
I am not uncomfortable seeing a child of any age breastfeeding in public. I think it is the most wonderful thing a woman can do for her child.

those who think it is un-natural or would gross you out. Keep walking. if you cant say anything nice dont say anything at all.... remember:D it is not your body or your baby so therefore not your business.

AM
11-07-2006, 18:23
I'm letting my two selfwean, so any age really, it is their choice!

*Chels*
11-07-2006, 21:03
Really it doesnt bother me how old babies are,where they are fed etc.More power to ya if you do BF!!
I voted up to 2 years,coz thats how long I will feed Riley til,unless he self weans first.
Hes 9 months now,and still feeds ALOT,So I cant imagine it easying up.Like someone previously said,I cant imagine parenting without it.Its great for food and comfort!!(and to get him to sleep:rolleyes: )
I think there has to be a cutoff for breastfeeding,i mean seriously why would you BF your 8 year old??

Goosie22
11-07-2006, 21:17
i mean seriously why would you BF your 8 year old??

What if your child was intellectually impaired (with an intellectual age of 2+), has a chronic illness which makes digesting normal food impossible and instead of inflicting surgery on that child so artificial protien shakes can be poored into its stomach through a tube for nutrition you continue to provide Breastmilk to your handicaped baby (because that is what they remain untill they die)

Funkychicken
11-07-2006, 21:21
I have read that in China, many children are sent to school with a flask of their mother's breast milk. Not sure if they are still breastfed at home or not though.:)

the_queen
11-07-2006, 22:09
I have read that in China, many children are sent to school with a flask of their mother's breast milk. Not sure if they are still breastfed at home or not though.:)

That's a great idea! Free, nutritious, yummy (well, I think mine is yummy :D) What a way to combat childhood obesity!!

Ana Gram
11-07-2006, 22:20
I don't think there is a right age or a wrong age. That is up to the mother and child.
Although once the child is old enough to clearly ask for some milk to go with their cookies, that might be a time to think about stopping.

*Chels*
11-07-2006, 22:22
What if your child was intellectually impaired (with an intellectual age of 2+), has a chronic illness which makes digesting normal food impossible and instead of inflicting surgery on that child so artificial protien shakes can be poored into its stomach through a tube for nutrition you continue to provide Breastmilk to your handicaped baby (because that is what they remain untill they die)

I see your point there,but what-are you going to feed them til they die?(what if that age is 40?)
surely breast milk loses it nutritional value after an extended time?

Tam-I-Am
12-07-2006, 00:02
Hmmm, I wouldn't think so - not for as long as the mother's diet remains nutritious, and she's healthy - then her milk would have nutritional merit. Afterall, we drink cow's milk and that has nutritional merit, even though its made for baby cows, not baby humans. So if you were drinking milk made for humans, wouldn't that be even better?

I know of one family where the mum (no longer breastfeeding) still expresses milk for her family's breakfast/coffee/tea etc. Her husband drinks it too. some might think that's kookee. I kinda see the sense, not that I think I'd have the time or patience to do it. But why drink somehting meant for another species, when something designed for your own is available?

Totally off topic, sorry! :D

FinnsMama
12-07-2006, 05:55
Oops I voted before reading the question fully - I voted for 5 years because that's when I think I'll want to stop bf if DS hasn't already self-weaned, but of course who knows? He's only 4 months old now.

As for what age I think other mums should stop bf, well that's up to them and their bub. I admit the first time I saw a 4 yr old bf I wasn't uncomfortable as such, but fascinated, curious, and it did seem a little weird... but since then I've seen a couple of mums feeding 3/4 yr olds and now I think it's perfectly natural and beautiful.

Why do people get offended seeing a mum bf a child of any age? People don't seem to get offended by mothers feeding their children McDonalds, or letting them eat junk food, softdrinks etc... I would never approach a mother feeding her 2 year old a chocolate bar and tell her how disgusting that is. And yet ppl think they have the right to do this with bf???? When it's soooooo good for children???? we live in a very strange, mixed up society.

xkwzit
12-07-2006, 13:30
I know of one family where the mum (no longer breastfeeding) still expresses milk for her family's breakfast/coffee/tea etc. Her husband drinks it too. some might think that's kookee. I kinda see the sense, not that I think I'd have the time or patience to do it. But why drink somehting meant for another species, when something designed for your own is available?

Totally off topic, sorry! :D

OK - now I do think that's a bit odd. Mmm honey, can you make me a breast milk latte? :D Nope, can't wrap my head around it - but whatever consenting adults do with their own breast milk is up to them I guess (as long as you can get good foam on your latte :laughing: ).

the_queen
12-07-2006, 13:34
I totally see your point, X, and this is not a comment on you, but on society in general: It's funny that we see human breastmilk as "weird" for human consumption, isn't it? Yet we drink cow's breastmilk on a daily basis.
I think if I could be bothered expressing that much :p then yeah I'd put a jug of EBM in the fridge for family consumption.

Goosie22
12-07-2006, 16:32
Thats a good point Queen.

Lunar
12-07-2006, 16:37
Why do people get offended seeing a mum bf a child of any age? People don't seem to get offended by mothers feeding their children McDonalds, or letting them eat junk food, softdrinks etc... I would never approach a mother feeding her 2 year old a chocolate bar and tell her how disgusting that is. And yet ppl think they have the right to do this with bf???? When it's soooooo good for children???? we live in a very strange, mixed up society.

I actually DO get offended (as such) by ppl feeding thier toddlers Maccas and chocolate and junk! i think THAT is wrong and very weird! JMO. I think I would rather see a 3/4 yr old being breast fed than one sitting down to a cheesburger, coke and a chocolate bar anyday.

12-07-2006, 16:38
DF has tried my breastmilk and isn't grossed out by it... I'd need to be permanently attached to a pump though for enough to satisfy my milkshake cravings. maybe I could just jump and down like a lunatic instead! :laughing: :p

Sherrie
28-07-2006, 14:43
It varies but in my opinion a child should be... No actually my child will be weaned by the time he is two years old... I believe from then on they are old enough to drink from a cup.

DSS was weaned from a bottle at two and did brilliantly!!

So your saying a breastfed baby should be weaned by 12 months and bottlefed by 2 years?

Foxymoron
28-07-2006, 14:55
:laughing: I must be sooooo out of touch! I don't know anyone in my circle of friends who has had a babe wean before 2 1/2 or 3. Maybe because it's the 'norm' for me, I wouldn't be offended by anyone breastfeeding their older toddler/preschooler. I do recall my pre baby days though and I was horrified to see a woman feeding her toddler on the train.... now I wouldn't batter an eyelid... I'm more likely to be the one with the boobie out for a feed, and I consider myself fairly conservative :o

Sherrie
28-07-2006, 14:59

EXACTLY!

Except I go a bit further then that as I think alot of the processed junk we feed our kids from the supermarket falls in that category even dare I say it most breads! :eek:

28-07-2006, 15:37
- Afterall, we drink cow's milk and that has nutritional merit, even though its made for baby cows, not baby humans. So if you were drinking milk made for humans, wouldn't that be even better?

But why drink somehting meant for another species, when something designed for your own is available?

I always thought this too.
People drink cows milk as if its better than bm made for humans.

Foxymoron
28-07-2006, 18:13
That's a great point, why do people get offended when they see a mum feeding their child the best thing for them? Says a lot about society :confused: I'm offended by the cr#p they try to pass off as food ( especially bread- a staple food for many children) these days.

Sara's Boys
30-07-2006, 07:23
I wouldn't be offended if some one else chooses to feed 2years + but thats my personal choice. I think that it makes people feel like you may still be "babying your child". I found that out of my group of friends that have kids in scholl the ones that weened around 2-2 1/2 years were quite independent and the 3 that were still being fed at scholl were not coping with separation from mum and 2 out of those 3 were weened because other kids were making fun calling them baby and other cruel things. I don't think any one should feel unconfortable with their choices. One of my friend who is still bf her 4 year old, admits that she is bfing for her own reasons, she said she cannot say it's for the milk, because he aint getting much anymore. But she feels like she cannot let go, and she is finding it hard to wean before he is in school.

I think we just get used to our own societies "way" and if we lived in a 3rd world country where food is hard to come by, then no one would bat an eyelid. But because we live in a society where many choose not BF at all and there is too much food!! people aren't used to seeing it happen.

I also think every child is different, some florish withne extended BF and some become too attatched to mum and have issues socialising.

For me personally it comes down to time, I, for the record, had to ween at 6 months because my milk stopped coming, I didn't beat myself up, and I will try to get this bub to 12 months atleast, but then I want a third and I dont want to share my boobs with 3 kids just too demanding for me. One at a time.

Pippi Longstocking
30-07-2006, 08:10
I didn't vote because even if I was grossed out by a mum feeding her child at a certain age, it would be my issue and I would try to work through it. I certainly can't put a time frame on it and I don't feel that it is my place to judge how long a mother breastfeeds her baby for. Personally, I'll feed my my baby until she doesn't want it anymore. So far, we're nine months in and she's certainly not showing any signs of letting up. :smiliedance:

And yep, I too find it bizarre that breastmilk gorsses people out yet they can happily feed their kids cows breastmilk. Cows breastmilk comes from a big hairy faeces-covered cow's udder, not a sterile plastic bottle from woolies ;) .

the_queen
30-07-2006, 08:33
Oh Norah. :barf: No more cows milk for us anymore, that is a wonderful visual, thank you SO much :laughing:

I was really hanging out for some rice bubbles too......

Pippi Longstocking
30-07-2006, 09:01
Ooops, sorry Queenie! :o
Milk comes from the milk factory, honest! *shifty eyes* It is made with flour and water and stuff *nods convincingly*

the_queen
30-07-2006, 09:08
hmmm flour'n'water you say?? :detective: Well that's much better, ok off to have rice bubbles now :laughing:

Goosie22
30-07-2006, 10:55
Cows breastmilk comes from a big hairy faeces-covered cow's udder, not a sterile plastic bottle from woolies ;) .

They should use that image in their next "other species add":laughing: