View Full Version : Eating out...
We went to Sizzler for dinner tonight and I think it's the best place to take kids to eat. There is such a good range of foods for them to try, everything from the healthy fruit and salads to not so healthy desserts. They can make heaps of noise and no one really cares and the best part is I don't have to clean up all the spagetti she dropped on the floor :D :laughing:
What other restraunts do you guys like to take the kids to?
Mumshmum
09-07-2006, 20:51
Hi JulieK
Have you been to the Everton Park Hotel? The food isn't fantastic, but the playground is fantastic for when your little one gets a bit bigger.
rynosmum
09-07-2006, 21:12
We go to a range of different places with Ry because it teaches him so many different ways to act, manners etc. We've had him in a 5 star restaurant right down to casual brekkies.
Our fave for him through is a big buffet breakfast where he can have a lot of everything :D
The downside to Sizzler - tables are so close together Bug can launch food at people when Im not looking.
We figure anywhere that suppplies highchairs for use is OK for bubs. We don't go out that often, but one of our favs is Cavs Steakhouse on the Gold Coast....I know, I'm just all class....:laughing:
We have a fantastic little Italian restaurant just down the road. They love us bringing the kids down and pop over with complimentary, freshly cooked, wafer thin potato chips within 2 minutes of us sitting down. Our youngest has loved garlic bread since babyhood and they can try a few different tastes. But its mainly so they can get used to going out for a meal, having to wait for it to be cooked and sitting quietly talking, colouring or drawing until we are all finished. I love it.
We have only just started to be brave enough to go to restaurants but I think Sizzler is a good choice for kids. We head anywhere that is family friendly. The Texas Steakhouse Place at Aspley is another good one. Most places are pretty good. I prefer somewhere that has something other than fried foods for the kids however.
My secret weapon at restaurants is slime. I bought some for the kids at spotlight and it is a greatest thing to keep them entertained while waiting for food. Doesn't make a mess and the wait staff are always amused by it:laughing:
Hogsbreath is a good place to take the kids, they love the novelty of the unusual decor and Monday and Tuesdays, kids eat free (well the one near our place anyway) even on other nights the kids meals are still really good value $8.50 for a kids meal, and that includes ice cream with topping and a drink.
YAY Sizzlers! Ive been taking my kids there since DS1 was in my tummy(had my very first young mummies meet there, it was awesome!).
I also love a place called Nero's. It's italian, very affordable and the tablecloths are butchers paper, u get a bucket of crayon and the kids and scribble away while u wait for ur meal!!!
cmd'smum
09-07-2006, 22:30
Hi Startlet,
I notice you live in Perth. I do to and am in Bedford and have a sizzler across the road, which we go to sometimes. Nero's sounds like a cool place, I don't know where it is though? Can you please give me details?
Ta!
2 Cherubs
09-07-2006, 22:36
We take James to all the restaurants we go to...He is only 9months so he isnt much of a problem yet...
Most of the restaurants we go to a quite casual and child friendly!
But Our Fav restaurant is Pizza Bella Roma in Fremantle.. Yumm
Hi Startlet,
I notice you live in Perth. I do to and am in Bedford and have a sizzler across the road, which we go to sometimes. Nero's sounds like a cool place, I don't know where it is though? Can you please give me details?
Ta!
I'm in Gosnells, there is a Neros just on Albany Highway down here.
One in Belmont on Great Eastern Highway and one in Mandurah!
http://www.neros.com.au
Bubble*Crazy
09-07-2006, 22:46
We don't have anything good like that here (Sizzlers, Nero's etc) ... and we live in a city with over 40000 ppl plus the outlying areas!!! :thumbsdown:
We have taken DD to a restaurant here & they're great with kids - supply a colouring/puzzle sheet, crayons etc.
~Emmylou~
10-07-2006, 09:05
Another good option for toddlers is yum cha (Sunday lunch especially when it's really busy).
Everyone is noisy and messy and there is no waiting for food since they keep wheeling it past on trolleys.
Toddlers fit right in :laughing:
The downside to Sizzler - tables are so close together Bug can launch food at people when Im not looking.
A-HA! So YOU'RE the mummies who's kids I had to clean up after back in my college days! Sizzler was one of my first jobs and I did love working there. Unfortunately they've now closed the Tassie stores and hubby and I wish they'd bring it back, due to the lack of family restuarants around here!
We take the kids to subway sometimes for lunch and I'm really surprised, but they manage these rolls, that are half the size of their heads, with no dramas! Yesterday, Chelsea & Nicola even managed to have grated carrot in their cheese and ham roll! Well, baby steps I guess!
A nice place we take the kids to from time to time is a restaurant on the Hobart waterfront called Blue Skies. To look at it, you'd never dream of taking your kids within 10m of the front door! But inside there are family sized booths, and they bring butchers paper for table cloths and crayons. Shane & I have been known to nut out some finances on it from time to time also! :D They have a kids menu which has some yummy food on it, and it doubles as colouring on the opposite side for the kids.
Lillynix
10-07-2006, 10:34
This is just a response for Annabanana - I too live in Hobart and also work in hospitality, if I could make a recomendation on a place to take your kiddies for a meal if you haven't been there already, is the Moonah Cafe` Bar Bistro, I used to work there as a waitress/bar attendant and loved it when families would come in, they too have butchers paper on the tables complete with textas etc so the kiddies can draw and colour to their hearts content, the dining area is also very seperate from the bar, so there's no hassles there. They do a great kids meal deal which includes a free softdrink and all the staff are very lovely! I no longer work there because of my pregnancy. Another place I worked that was good for kiddies is the Maypole Hotel in NewTown. They have a family friendly public bar, so after you've had a meal in their bistro you can wander off into the bar (which is usually pretty quiet, I must say) listen to the entertainment, watch the big screens have a drink and know you can take your kiddies in there too :)
Not sure if you'd be interested or not, just thought i'd let you know that these places are good with families :)
Edit - Both of these places are also Pokie free! Moonah has TASkeno and that's it and well when I was working at the Maypole they had no form of gambling.
WOW! Thanks heaps Dragonfly!
They sound great and I'll definately check those places out!
Sometimes we have an early dinner if we pick DH up from work and they're only 10 mins from Hobart (we're in Lauderdale but that doesn't bother us).
Oh, and I just thought of another place - La Porchetta in North Hobart, always busy, noisy and messy! And they all welcome our kids!
Thanks again! I'll let you know when we try them!