View Full Version : What To Give Birth In

SIM6
09-07-2006, 16:52
It's time for me to start thinking about my things for hospital, and the biggest question ,What to give birth in? Any help?:idea:

sim

~Emmylou~
09-07-2006, 17:00
I went to Best and Less and bought two great big t-shirts for $5 each and I wore one of those.
When the baby is born they will put it up on your chest so whatever you're wearing might get a bit bloody - so with the cheap comfy tshirt it didn't matter.

Or you can just wear nothing :laughing: I found it a bit chilly in the hospital at 5am for that though ;)

Pixie
09-07-2006, 17:01
wow I never thought about it, I just wanted to be naked lol

Spewiesmum
09-07-2006, 17:05
Hospital gown - I acted like I hadn't thought about it ("oh, okay, a hospital gown will be fine") but I really didn't want blood all over something of mine. I changed into my own gown afterwards and didn't have to worry about washing or throwing anything out.

Taddy
09-07-2006, 17:11
I actually wore one of DF shirts as he didn't wear it anymore and it was comfortable. My sister actually done my washing while I was in hospital. ;)

*Chels*
09-07-2006, 17:12
i brought a huge tshirt too.i didnt wanna be naked:eek: so to keep some dignity i wore it.altho during labour it rode up and my bum was on show:laughing:
trust me,when youre in labour,you wont care what youre wearing!!

Jamily
09-07-2006, 17:16

me too - glad you said that! :laughing:

Then again I was in water which was lovely and warm but I guess it could get chilly like Emmylou said.....

Manxie
09-07-2006, 17:16
Diamonds:D :D

09-07-2006, 17:25
I just wore a nightie hitched up. But I sped to the hospital in the wee hours, and at 8cm dilated, you don't care what you wear!

Just before going to the hosp. me and DF fought about finding a pair of pants to wear so emergency didn't see my bottom :rolleyes:

Melo
09-07-2006, 17:28
I was naked too, clothes restricted me and I was in and out of the shower!

Cupcake
09-07-2006, 17:47
I also had a big shirt PJ thingy.
I swore black & blue I would not be nude,I also wanted to wear my undies :eek: as you all know the undies thing is impossible :laughing:
Anyway after about 14-16 hrs into labour that nightie went flying across the room & everyone that walked into that room was greeted by a nude me & I could not give a hoot as long as they had DRUGS!!!!:D

Areca
09-07-2006, 17:57
I was naked as soon as they stopped monitoring the contractions...so 15 minutes and they put DD on a naked me. Skin to skin contact is awesome after giving birth and DD rooted around and found her own way to the breast.
I spent most of my labour in the bath but when I got out my midwife covered me with a sheet. I moved around so much it was at the end of the bed in no time and when DBF tried to re-cover me I yelled at him.
You really don't care!

Blessed Mum
09-07-2006, 18:00
I was naked both times:)

m_jelly
09-07-2006, 18:12
Um, dumb question. Can I keep my glasses on?
I get freaked out not being able to see more than 1 foot in front of my face.

Leeny
09-07-2006, 18:28

Ofcourse! They're not gunna make you take off your glasses, as long as your comfortable, leave anything you want on!

KiLLaKaZ
09-07-2006, 19:28
as soon as i got into the birth suite, the midwife pointed in the direction of the bathroom & said take your clothes off & hop under the shower! i was quite embarrassed, but knew it was something i needed to do (the shower being the most comfortable place). so, i did bring an old nighty to wear (was gunna chuck it out after), but didn't need it!

just remember if u plan on breastfeeding to bring something to wear while in hospital that is easy to breastfeed in! ;) i had a zip-down pj top & now have bought heaps of zip down tops (easier than buttons) to wear ;)

draught
09-07-2006, 19:32

With DD1 I wore them for the whole 36 hours - even the last 4 hours or so when I had my eyes shut - the midwives kept asking if I wanted to take them off but I kept saying that I wanted to be able to see what was happening.
With DD2 I took them off as I was very active and they were in the way - then I had to yell at DH to find them so I could see my baby properly once she was born!

I had a very large old t-shirt I wore both times and will wear again this time as I found I got cold - but it was short enough that the important bottom bits were easily accessibly - and it washed up fine both times!

talon
09-07-2006, 20:13
another dumb question - do you wear nothing in the shower or something else like swimsuit/bikini bottoms?

Starlet
09-07-2006, 20:23
I wore a nightie both times, but ended up in hosp gowns, friggin waters kept gushing out and making a mess lol.

I would have gone naked if I had a shower, but I wasn't allowed to as I was induced and had to have fetal monitoring.

09-07-2006, 20:33
I either wore a hosp gown or absolutly nothing, once you're in active labour your dignity goes out the window so why would you care what you looked like and who saw you. Thats honestly how i felt anyway.. oh and theres a bonus to wearing a hosp gown or nothing, you don't need to wash it :laughing:

meme
09-07-2006, 20:34
i wore nothing in the shower but reminded partner to pack his boardies so he could hop in with me.

you really do not care while you are in labour and sometimes you need to be examined and then the baby has to come out, so no togs are usually needed...

i wanted to have skin on skin contact with my baby straight after birth too so i used a hospital gown , but backwards so it would be open at the front for cuddling and feeding.

Rosa
09-07-2006, 20:40
With first dd I wore an old brunch coat (it's likea nightie that buttons up the front.) it was perfect I had 5 people present at the birth so wanted some coverage at stages. For lulu I was naked from the time I got to the birth suite,I was in and out of the pool, I had the same coat with me (which my mum had diligently cleaned till all stains were gone) but couldn't have cared less about clothes. I wore my glasses the whole time too.

FourAngelKisses
09-07-2006, 21:09
I wore my birthday suit all 3 times. Started off in a hospital gown but it got in the way so I tore it off, lol.

SuperWoman
09-07-2006, 23:13
I just wore a t-shirt because I was sweating so much but ripped it off once bubs was born for skin to skin contact!:D

10-07-2006, 10:30
I was naked for the most part giving birth 3x.
Modesty went out the window for me.
It was frustrating though when the midwife was suggesting I put a tee on!
I was pushing my second child out and was not interested in getting dressed at that stage.

shed
10-07-2006, 10:37
I had an extremely vivid dream of having a natural birth with no drugs, no stitches and no complications and I was wearing a navy blue nightie.

So I am currently looking for this nightie everywhere! Superstitious old trout that I am.

~Danni~
10-07-2006, 10:37
I kept all my clothes on till 8 cm dialated (my first internal was then) the middies are pretty swift at swiping your trackies:laughing:

once bubba was born she was placed onto my nuddie chest, but I gave birth in an old shirt:rolleyes:

M O P
10-07-2006, 10:46
I rocked up in trackies and a jumper. I can't really remember- it was only 3 weeks ago!- but I soon ended up on the toilet and in the shower naked then chucked a gown on so it was open at the front. It was fine.

wattle
10-07-2006, 14:05
I had a massive orange tshirt on - I looked like a big traffic light :laughing:

At one stage I sent dh off to find some scissors though, because it was annoying me around my neck. Goodness knows where he found them, but he came back really quickly and chopped a big V right down the front.

I took it off soon after to get in the shower.

I was induced and had the drip too, so it was a little awkward tring to get it over me then the drip stand etc. Obviously I didn't bother putting it on again after that. I don't think I even realised I was naked.

I might find a big old shirt for this delivery, but hopefully I'll be in water most of the time.:fingerscrossed:

elissas
10-07-2006, 14:22

Me too. I spent almost the whole labour in the bath. But even if I hadn't, I just figured nude was the way to go. The fewer distractions the better.

BlessedWithBlue
10-07-2006, 16:57
With my first I laboured in my own big comfy hello kitty nightie but needed an emergency c/section so i had to change into a hospital gown. With my second i went straight for the hospital gown lol, didn't wanna have to bother getting changed if i needed another c/sect (which i didn't). The lovely hospital gown got a bit of blood on it anyway from when they put ds on me after he was born so i'm glad i didn't wear my own night gown.

LittleBoysRock
11-07-2006, 18:28
I gave birth in a hospital gown....not very attarctive but I was glad I didnt have to take it home and wash it. Giving birth is a messy business!!

11-07-2006, 18:30
I gave birth in my nightie! Luckily there were no stains on it and im going to give birth in it again for my second bub :smiliedance:

11-07-2006, 18:32
I have a nightie which I'd like to give birth in.. it's pretty cute LOL I know that won't matter when there's birth goopy all over it.

I'm thinking of also popping my sarong in my labour bag as well..... just in case I feel like it.

spring
11-07-2006, 19:18
:idea: Just a suggestion but when I was packing my hospital bag I bought a pack of those pants that are like nappies for adult with no bladder control I think they are called control briefs or somthing. They are heaps more comfy than pads because they cant squish up & leak out the sides so I wore them when my waters broke & then while the bleeding was heavy:thumbsup:

I was naked in the birthing suite.

JessandKirra
11-07-2006, 19:59
I thought I was going to do it starkers. But I ended up in a serong tied around my waist and a singlet. I even wore underwear for most of it to keep the ginourmous pad in that was catching my water....

Did you know that after your water breaks it keeps leaking like a dripping tap..? no body told me that!!!!

Any hoo...I ended up with clothes on but I think if I didnt have a ceaser I would have stripped down to just a singlet.

FourAngelKisses
11-07-2006, 20:05
Did you know that after your water breaks it keeps leaking like a dripping tap..? no body told me that!!!!

I always thought they broke in a gush and then dripped. But with DS1, they dripped and never gushed. With DD, they gushed when her head came out and with DS2, they broke in the bath and I never noticed, lol.

Sara's Boys
11-07-2006, 21:41
I ended up in a hospital gown ( flattering...not)-but not really what you are thinking about in labour. I was really glad too, because I didn't have to worry about getting my good nighties washed. And boy oh boy, they do get messy!
Oh and no one is looking at you thinking, wow that nightie looks great on you. So think convenience and comfort!:o

Reidymac
12-07-2006, 00:29
Doc Martins :o :laughing:

The midwife asked if I wanted to push…?
I asked if I could take my jeans off first…? :o
DS arrived 7 minutes after we walked into the hospital, would have been sooner had I not been doing the worlds strongest pelvic floor clench and struggling to get jeans off over 10 hole Doc boots. :laughing:

Wear whatever is comfortable to you and take some warm socks.

Mylittleboy
12-07-2006, 00:37
I can't even remember what I wore while in labour or giving birth :confused: isn't that terrible?? It was only nearly 7 months ago.