View Full Version : Tummy sleeping
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 21:00
DD2 has just spent to last 15min grunting & groaning off & on. Had been patting her back to sleep. In the end i picked her up & she calmed down after getting herself worked up.
When i put her back down she rolled towards her belly. She has a rolled towel around her as if she's in a nest (NICU habit).
She cant roll any where yet due to her neck.
Would she be right to sleep towards her tummy if i wedged the towel between her & the mattress?
She's a hard one to get to sleep due to being in so much pain 24/7.
17-09-2009, 21:13
I am probably going to get shot for it but if it were me I would do it .....
Some babies naturally prefer to sleep on their tummies but also with her pain its probably much easier on her iykwim ...
That being said can you have a chat with her Paed or maybe even your g.p if they know enough iykwim & see what they say in regards to her tummy sleeping.
FiveInTheBed
17-09-2009, 21:17
either a towel or you can get foam sleep positioners.
I would just make sure her little arms and hands are able to come free.
Your little ones seem strong enough to be sleeping on their sides or towards their tummy...you'll probably be in there often enough to check on them anyway!!
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 21:28
If it means a quiet house ill do anything!!!
We have a pead appointment next week (finely). When ever she can get pressure off her neck, she's a lot happier. To the point that i carry her round like a teddy with her back against my front.
I made sure her arms were up near her head as id she was going to push off which she does really well.
They are extreamly strong for their age, corrected or not.
Skittles
17-09-2009, 21:31
Go for it hun. if it helps release her pain and lets her sleep then its work it. Although i would look into the foam thingys instead of a towel.
LibranTwin
17-09-2009, 21:33
I reckon I would give it a go, my DD always preferred sleeping on her side or tummy. But check with your paed!!
Gabriel and Julian are both tummy sleepers and have been since birth.
WHatever helps them sleep!!!
Flow with it, don't make it hard for yourself. you don't have that luxury being a mummy of multiples. :hugs:
FiveInTheBed
17-09-2009, 21:36
good luck with the appt. I'm sure she'll be a completely new happier little girl when you can something sorted.
Mine slept on their sides from really young (like the first week home...I know - bad mum!!) ...I always had them with their bottom arm under and out in front of them iykwim..so that if they rolled, they rolled onto their back.
(check out recent album of 'belly & bubs' on FB)got a pic of them asleep in my bed!
does she naturally put her head to the side anyway?
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 21:50
does she naturally put her head to the side anyway?
Yes, has a massive flat spot on the left side of her head which is also the small side of her H.
She'll be a much happier girl when its all said & done.
Im sitting on the floor beside her cot. One paranoid mummy who is a tummy sleeper from way back when.
SammiAnn
17-09-2009, 21:57
Hi :wave:,
All mine have been tummy sleepers. DS loves to be carried how you described as a 'teddy bear'. I'm sure people think I'm treating him like a sack of spuds the way he has to lean out over my arm!
As others have said, if it works, go for it. And be sure to ask your paed.
Sweet dreams :bee:.
Sam :flowerz:
Celeste77
17-09-2009, 21:58
My DS has slept on his tummy since he was 2weeks old!
I know they are not supposed to but he would just cry constantly on his back. I checked with a few midwives and they told me that as long as he had some head control he would be fine. I was worried at first but he is now 7 months and still sleeps on his tummy.
If you are really worried you can buy those angelcare monitors that monitor breathing and movement.
maisymum
17-09-2009, 22:06
I know how uneasy you feel about it all 3 of our kiddies were side sleepers and then we had 4th bubba......she had to wear a hip brace for 8 weeks and the only way she would sleep was on her tummy....i talked to the Paed about it and he said not to stress.......DD is out of the brace now and still sleeping on her belly........you've gotta do what works sometimes.......best of luck with it.....MM xx
Little-Pink-Hen
17-09-2009, 22:10
My MW told me if I had a tummy sleeper to let them fall asleep on you on their tummy then transfer them over to bed
I let dd sleep on her tummy all the time during the day when I have a more of an eye on her and she is always on her side too by herself
Like everyone said I'd check with her paed and use the towles until u can get a sleep positioner
:-)
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 22:14
She put her self on her back, now i can get up off a hard floor & go back to the lounge.
No doubt we'll go through all of this again tomorrow night.
Def going to talk to their pead on wednesday.
I vowed i would never have a monitor in this house after having them in NICU for 7 weeks. I jump at every little noise they make.
DS sleeps on his tummy too. I couldn't quite work out from your post if she is able to roll or not. Can she keep her head up? I put DS on his back until he could do these things and then we went to sleep school and they settled him on his tummy which made all the difference. Generally speaking babies DO settle better and sleep better on their tummies but also, it does increase the risk of SIDS. If you're worried about it, I'd go out and buy a special monitor that tracks breathing so you sleep well and have peace of mind. Some risks just aren't worth taking.
elleandsam
17-09-2009, 22:27
DD sleeps on her tummy, she won't sleep any other way. And after 7 weeks of trying everything and getting no where, dh and I have given in. We have a tummy sleeper.
sandy cheeks
17-09-2009, 22:27
Those pesky scn/nicu nurses did the same thing to my dd and made her a tummy/side sleeper :p
I used the towel till I got a air flow pos thing was fantastic for the first 6 months I got some sleep.
DD also had a fav side and had/has a flat spot it's corrected it self heaps since she's been up and about and the pead said it should be fine and she's lucky she's a girl she can have long hair no one will know lol.
You are doing such a amazing job I dont know how you manage I did the scn/nicu thing with one baby and it was so stressful and hard to handle I dont know how you do it with 3 :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:
Hope you get a good night
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 22:28
She can hold her head up to a point but gets tired quickly. Although she was holding her head up extreamly well & for ages today at the doctors.
She cant roll.
sandy cheeks
17-09-2009, 22:32
I know what you mean about the moniter everyone told me to get one but I think it would have sent me to the looney bin all the beeping same as in hosp :eek:
I got though to the other side without one lol I was told that unless bub's has apnears they were unnessary that was from a nicu nurse she said store bought ones arnt as good as the hosp ones because they arnt attached to bubs :confused: as well.
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 22:36
Those pesky scn/nicu nurses did the same thing to my dd and made her a tummy/side sleeper :p
I reckon, they turned J-Man into a side sleeper too. He drove the night nurses nuts :laughing:
The NICU train was great fun. If we didnt ride it, we wouldnt have our kiddies today.
TripleTime
17-09-2009, 22:45
I reckon, they turned J-Man into a side sleeper too. He drove the night nurses nuts :laughing:
The NICU train was great fun. If we didnt ride it, we wouldnt have our kiddies today.