View Full Version : *vent* leave my baby alone

iMischa
13-09-2009, 22:33
it was a mistake to have posted this..

thank you to the ppl who have actually shown me support.

and thank you to the ppl who have made unecessary assumptions and/or 'just deal with it' attitudes..you have shown me that this is certainly not the place to come to when i'm needing to find some comfort.

shockinamillion
13-09-2009, 22:46
Hugs MW, I get similar comments about Serylity in comparison to Sawyer, and equally annoying ones about how small Sawyer is :rolleyes: compared to her!!

Every bub is different and he is healthy, and SOOOOO cute (I was checking out your piccies before). Just comment on THEIR body size and see how they like it!

girly
13-09-2009, 22:53
I know it must be hard but, Some woman have it worse. Think your self lucky you are having actually good comments.

A lady in my playgroup is sick and tired of everyone mentioning her daughters cross-eyes. I feel sorry for her. A little girl said out loud "Mum can she even see" Seriously, try to just take them as a positive...Don't hide your son away, he is perfect.

iMischa
13-09-2009, 22:58
true shira, ppl do have it worse, but knowing that still doesnt make it any easier in the moment when ppl glare at him like he is a sideshow freak

ManekiNeko
13-09-2009, 22:58
I'm so sorry I have done this sometimes but never intentionally meaning to hurt someone. You definately have made me think before I say anything though. I haven't just gone up to strangers and said it though only if I was talking to the person and their child was either small or bigger just because I am intrigued. I know its not because of anything just how the baby grows so I would never dare saying a parent overfed/underfed or the baby was smething to gawk at. I won't say this in the future now i relaise how hurtful and annoying it can be. :hugs::hugs::hugs:

*Need~More~Coffee~Please*
13-09-2009, 23:11
my friend had these same comments to her about her ds.......he was 15 kgs at 11months .......
my was quiet small for his age...so u can imagin the comments when we are out together at the shops and say they are both the same age:laughing:

hope u can feel better about the comments soon ......(id give a bit of cheek back to the ppl making the comments :P )

Jaspat24
13-09-2009, 23:16
MW: you are so very lucky to have a healthy happy baby boy, even if he is chubby! My DS is underweight and is now steady on 3rd%. He wsa 8p11oz at birth and at 5 months weighs 6kg. I'm overweight too (by about 30kg).
Just think, once your DS starts moving around more he'll need all the extra chubbiness to keep him going! I know its hard to block others comments but thats all they are, mindless comments. just think about a perfect comeback line and use that every time someone comments!

moozle
13-09-2009, 23:23
I really don't understand why people feel the need to comment! Everyone has something to say. Congrats to you and your beautiful, healthy baby. If it's really getting to you, maybe you could pre-empt them and say now before you ask, he's 3 months and yes he's a big boy and no I'm not feeding him too much :p

sunflowermummy
13-09-2009, 23:33
As mothers, we cant win when it comes to our children..Most people say things unintentionally and dont mean to hurt us, but sadly it does :(

I am a mum of twins, DS 6 lb 6oz and DD 4lb 10oz respective at birth, so you can imagine the amount of comments I got! Yes DS was a big bub, especially for 4 weeks early and DD tiny...its quite easy to point out the obvious isnt it???

I have had people argue with me that my children are not twins cause they dont look the same?!?!?!?!?

Dont let it get to you....I am sure your have a very happy and healthy little boy on your hands!!

sockstealingpoltergeist
13-09-2009, 23:41
My DD was a chubby baby, I would just say "That's the way they are supposed to be, it's natures way of taking care of them in case they get sick.:yes:"

My DS was allways a bit skinny, so I had a lot of comments about that too.

zephani
14-09-2009, 07:13
:hugs::hugs::hugs: I totally understand honey! My DD is 7 months and is 10.3kg. She was 2 weeks late and born 9.5 pound. I have had so many comments like yours. Especially when we started solids at 4 months. But she is a happy, healthy baby and her size hasn't prevented her from going to swimming lessons, GymbaROO, rolling over, learning to sit up etc and isn't that the important thing. In fact when we had our blue book check a few weeks ago the CHN said she was developmentally like a 9 month old.

And I agree with the being sick thing. A friend of mine was only saying yesterday how her DD had been really sick and the weight had been falling off her and she looked anorexic whereas her DS who is a big baby like my Miss K dealt with the illness so much better.

Take care and I hope your LO continues to go from strength to strength :yes::yes:

Pixilocks
14-09-2009, 07:28
Your baby is absolutely perfect just the way he is. Like others have said, it is MUCH better to have more weight on them than not enough... My little girl isn't that big, but shes 6 months old and 8 kilos (shes the length of a 71/2 month old) but when she had bronchilolitis she lost over a kilo, and she looked like a tiny little bird, its taking her so long to get better because she didn't have those reserves that the bigger babies have!

I have realised though that I may have freaked my cousin out... her baby was born 6 weeks after mine, and mines a boofa! When I saw her baby the other day I was commenting how little she looked, meaning because I was so used to seeing my boofa, not that she looked little for her age or that she looked unhealthy or anything. but she was like 'really? is she really little?' and I said ' no no, she just seems little because I'm used to looking at boofhead' I'm worried she might have taken it the wrong way?

Bubmum
14-09-2009, 07:32
i think im probably feeling extra judgement because im overweight myself...its like with every glare i get i wonder if they are thinking 'oh well she cant control herself and look what shes doing to her baby!'
Hon...You need to give yourself some leeway. You are the Mummy of a 3 month old, and no one would be expecting you to be as svelte as a greyhound. Babies change our bodies forever (some woman, well no, I guess, and others work really hard to be super skinny..). Whenever I see a Mummy with some padding, I think .. Well at least they are with their baby, and not at a gym all the time.
As far as your lil man goes...my nephew was a whopper too, and when he was 6 months old people would do double takes everywhere we went. It passes, but people think babies are public property. My DD is mixed race, and gets some comments about "What she has in her". :rolleyes:

JosieJo
14-09-2009, 07:37
I would choose to take those comments as a compliment :-) Chubby babies are beautiful, and indicate great health and a healthy appetite (not to say small babies don't have that, but chubbyness is a visible sign that all is great!). So unless you are pureeing up Maccas for your bubs bottle, I would smile and say "Thanks! He's doing great isn't he!". And I am sure other Mums aren't looking in disgust, probably looking at how cute he is :-)

Sheer Bliss
14-09-2009, 07:40
:hugs::hugs:

Hugs MW, I get similar comments about Serylity in comparison to Sawyer, and equally annoying ones about how small Sawyer is :rolleyes: compared to her!!

Every bub is different and he is healthy, and SOOOOO cute (I was checking out your piccies before). Just comment on THEIR body size and see how they like it!

I was going to say almost the exact same thing....only Eli is a good kg bigger than Lexi. And because they were prem, she looks tiny for her actual age - she is just going to be petite i think! In the meantime if Eli is anything like his big brother (and it looks that way) he is gonna be a chunker!

Areca
14-09-2009, 07:40
Well I comment on the size of a baby, especially if they're born at 5 or 6 lb because I have had 9 and 10lb babies myself so I'll comment because I just can't imagine having a baby that size myself. It doesn't mean I'm thinking anything bad, same as when a friend of mine's DS weighed more than my 18 month old when he was 6 months old. I just thought it was amazing!
If I was making small talk with someone in the shopping centre and their baby was bigger than average I probably would comment on the baby being big for their size. I wouldn't be so rude as to ask what he was eating or anything like that but for me it's nothing more than small chit chat.
My GP and I often comment on the size differences between our girls and we have a laugh about it. I've never felt offended by the fact that people comment on how little DD1 was for her age when she was younger, or now, how skinny she is. She is skinny. she doesn't have a single bit of fat on her. She's not even 4 and she has a 6 pack!

So whilst the people asking you if you overfeed him are rude try not to take offence to those who are commenting on how big he is for a three month old. They probably aren't thinking anything bad at all and are merely making small talk.
Don't let these comments offend you because of your weight. I am one of those mum's that come from the greyhound breed, and I go to the gym too so I could let thoughts like what bubmum has get to me but I know I'm a great mum and my kids don't miss out on anything because I do go to the gym so it just doesn't bother me. I certainly don't think that people are comparing DD1 and me and assuming that we don't eat. You just need to find some confidence in yourself :hugs:

~Bec~
14-09-2009, 07:41
Welcome to my world. :hugs:
My 2yo is 20kg.
I'm paranoid people think I feed him on junk food when that's definitely not the case.
DF and I have decided he's been on a growth spurt since conception.

little bean
14-09-2009, 08:22
They're just joking around.. don't worry about it.

My DD was very chubby at that age and once she started running around, it all dropped off. Enjoy your beautiful cuddly bubba - at one point, my bub had about 8 rolls on each leg and 4 on each arm :laughing:

elleandsam
14-09-2009, 08:38
I have the opposite issue, dd is on the smaller side and I constantly have people asking me "are you feeding her!" it really irratates me.

talia11
14-09-2009, 08:38
Oh I hear ya...my baby is 10 weeks old almost and pretty chubby - alot of people do the same and the funny thing is like you said, how they seem horrified about it!! It is a real pain but what can you do - there are always gonna be people with an opinion....:no:

iamLilysmummy
14-09-2009, 08:47
aww hun.. thats awful...

i love chubby bubbies.. i didnt get one i got a chicken leg girl..

i wouldnt make a comment besides how cute his lil rolls would be.. hehe

just give em the look back..

chubby is healthy and im sure ur feeding him wat ur ment to..

just try to ingnore it.. i no it would be hard to..

chin up!! xx

delirium
14-09-2009, 09:06
i love chubby bubbies.. i didnt get one i got a chicken leg girl..

:laughing: I got chicken leg bubbas too, infact they are still skinny and slight like their father.

I know it's hard OP, but ignore it. I've found most people aren't meaning to be rude, they just say what they are thinking without any tact.

Two To Be Three
14-09-2009, 09:07
i have the same problem as you

Catlin was 9.5 when she was born and she looked tiny till she was about three months old as she looked like a 6 month old, but now is is worse as ahe is 18 months old and she is the hight of a 3 year old and she weighs 22kg
here is a pic of here and you will see what i mean http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk95/missgeff/101_0088.jpg and this one is of here when she was 6 months old http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk95/missgeff/101_0279.jpg

i have her on all the right foods but i can be lazy some days and just get here like a tin of spagetti or something like that or chips lol, so i know how you feel

SophOlivia
14-09-2009, 09:17
My DD#2 has always been a big girl - even from birth. I too get comments ALL THE TIME! but I think because she's #2 I'm not so sensitive about it anymore. DD#2 was on the percentile scale for a grand total of 2 weeks before she hit 110 or something and has only just returned into 97th a month ago at her 12 month check up. You'll be surprised how their bodies change as they grow taller - DD #1 was also a little buddha and now at 6YO she's a tall bean pole.

Whenever someone comments these days I just tell them I love a chubby bub - I know she's super healthy and getting everything she needs! (and I would then like to add, "Now bugger off!!!" but would never actually say it! :rolleyes:)

It's funny, my GF has had three TINY babies who have all struggled to gain weight - people always commented to her on their size and it used to really upset her because people said her kids looked sickly....:no: I think I'd rather the chubby comments, than the too skinny comments...then again, it'd be nice if people just kept it to themselves....! :p

2boyoboys
14-09-2009, 09:19
Sorry i dont have time to read this whole thread, but u are not alone. My DS2 is 11kg at 6 months. The gasps, and jokes are starting to get hurt full. one woman said to me 'r u feeding him protein powder instead of formula' and one doc asked if i was over feeding him. the most hurtfull thing someone has said was, 'he looks like a bobble head baby cos his head is so big'

I try to laugh it off, by saying something like, i know he is big, im the one who carries him! or have u seen his father, i would be worried if he was small.

but to most people i just say, yeah he is big, but he is the most adorable, precious, happy, cruzy bub.

So long as he is happy, feeding well, and developing propperly, i would try not to worry about it. It is easy for me to say that, but weather ur child is tall, short, has no teeth, all his teeth, no hair, long hair, and everything else in between, people will always compare children to what they know. I think people also forget how quickly babies grow. xoxoxox
I hope u find a way to get through this, cos im sure ur bub is adorable, and there is a lot more to him than his size- big hugs xoxoxo

talia11
14-09-2009, 09:20
awww what a cutie Catlin'sMumma!

Here is mine :

http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u68/taliawells/Picture182.jpg

she weighs a kilo more than a baby at mum's group who is two days older than her!!

lou333
14-09-2009, 09:25
MW I think Ollie looks the picture of health from your photos not long ago - he is just adorable :yes: I love a few fat rolls.

I remember some strangers saying to me with DD1 "wow, what a BUDDA your baby is! Is she the same age as our boy? Noooooooo!" I'm sure they were just jealous.

NonnyMouse
14-09-2009, 09:43
i think im probably feeling extra judgement because im overweight myself...its like with every glare i get i wonder if they are thinking 'oh well she cant control herself and look what shes doing to her baby!'I think the above comment is spot on. Your own feelings about weight are perhaps putting a very negative *spin* on what other people are saying or thinking, even if that's not their intention. People will always look at babies, will always comment on babies in some way whether it be comments about size, hair colour, development etc etc etc... and 9 times out of 10 if they are commenting to your face then it's probably just an observation rather than a judgement. People who have been around smaller babies will be more likely to comment on his size, just as people with bigger babies used to comment on how small my DD was.

I've had random people in the mall stop me and comment on how long DS is, how skinny he is in comparison, and even ask me where his socks are (his feet are frequently purple even when warm).

In fact some weird lady stopped me yesterday and from her tone of voice and expression I was expecting she was going to make some really negative comment, but what she actually said was that it was illegal to eat small children! LOL In her own funny way she was commenting on the fact that I'd been carrying DS and playfully nibbling on his hands.

Sometimes you just have to put your own insecurities aside and take comments on face value. Most people out there (who don't know you) couldn't care less about you and your baby, they're just making socially inept conversation.

iMischa
14-09-2009, 09:44
thanks everyone, it feels comforting to know that its not just me surrounded by ppl who dont think b4 they speak...

cailtinsmum and tahlia your daughters are just beautiful.

here is Ollie

Pixilocks
14-09-2009, 09:52
He is absolutely divine. I'm not saying it to be kind only, he really is!

I don't know what people are on about - he is simply gorgeous! what a perfectly sweet little boy!

Jamaica
14-09-2009, 10:19
I think there is nothing worse than a skinny baby, it just doesnt look right IMO. My bub is really chubby & has Michelin man like thighs :) Last month she was hospitalised with pnemonia and the Dr said if it wasnt for her extra weight she would have had to stay in hospital a lot longer & would probably have been a lot worse off.

When people comment on her size I just smile, Im proud shes the size she is & considering my eldest daughter weighed the same at 2 as she does at 6 (shes a bean pole lol) I dont think it means your childs destined to be fat.

NonnyMouse
14-09-2009, 10:23
I think there is nothing worse than a skinny baby, it just doesnt look right IMO.

Gee, thanks. ;)

angel_cakesau
14-09-2009, 10:27
i dont think he looks big at all i think he is so goregous i want him haha

Boobycino
14-09-2009, 10:27
I get this too, Jasper is a BIG boy. I get asked frequently how big was he when he was born, what are you feeding him etc. Also get a bit of :eek: to him being breast fed, but I get nice comments like "you must have super milk"

I used to take offense, but my son is perfectly proportional, he's 97% for height and weight, so he's just perfect. Even if he wasn't, he's perfect perfect healthy boy.

When I'd get defensive people usually go "oh I just mean he's healthy etc" which I believe is genuine, I dont think people are telling me hes over weight.

On Saturday I was out with a friend and about a 18 month-2 year old boy came up to us and I said to Jasper "look its a big boy!" and I was focused on the two boys but my friend said afterwards the mum looked really offended. I meant, OLDER boy, he was a chubby bubby, but same proportions as my own son, so I wasn't judging, it didn't occur to me, it was that Jasper is 10 months old and loves older children.

So maybe sometimes we take comments out of context?

Oh, I'm the worst at gushing "OH, isn't he/she tiny" because I just do when I see tiny babies and mummas of smaller bubs get all defensive....I didn't mean they're underweight, I just think tiny babies are adorable. So I'm slowly learning not to say anything, its safer that way!

14-09-2009, 10:28
When Hayley was a baby she was small and thin and I'd get heaps of people asking me IF I feed her. :rolleyes:

delirium
14-09-2009, 10:35
I think there is nothing worse than a skinny baby, it just doesnt look right IMO.

Hmmm, ok, that's kind of mean. My DH is 6'3 and thin, my children are the same. They are well fed and happy they just have lean genes. Just as someone like the OP is offended by those that make rude comments about her big boy, people with slender children cop it too :thumbsdown:

ICanDream
14-09-2009, 11:27
I think it works both ways.

To the OP I'm sorry people have commented on your baby and I'm sure he is fine and gorgeous.

I have the other issue, my 3y.o is tall and slim and to be honest some of the unintentional comments in here have been just as offensive to me as what people were to you.

Comments like there is nothing worse than a skinny baby, they mustn't be healthy or have a healthy appetite is actually just as "off" to parents with slimmer children than the "chubby bubby" comments to parents with what is thought to be bigger children.

You cop it at both ends of the spectrum but making one group feel better by having a dig at the other isn't right either.

Jakois
14-09-2009, 11:42
Your DS is a gorgeous little bubba:).

I have had two chubba bubbas and one who was always skinny, so I have heard it all:laughing:.

I really wouldnt let the comments get to you.

14-09-2009, 12:37

Well, sorry I popped out a skinny baby. I do feed my kids, don't worry.

iMischa
14-09-2009, 13:04
oh dear... i appreciate ppl trying to make me feel better, but saying negative things about any baby is just not the right thing to do.

my first son was born 8p14 and stayed big until about 2..hes now almost 5 and a tall string bean like his father.. no one said too much about his size tho..i guess thats why its taken me back a bit this time around..

maybe we oughta close the thread perhaps before anymore ppl's feelings get hurt.

ICanDream
14-09-2009, 13:17
It's ok Mischa, I don't think anyone is too upset, I guess just trying to highlight that it goes both ways, as you were understandably upset us skinny minny parents with a skinny minny kids can be too - it's ok, I think weight be it in kids or adults can just touch an emotion for us all.

Boobycino
14-09-2009, 13:24
Oh no, even the good threads go bad...

There is a bit of a constant filter you need to run through your head when commenting on anything, particularly bubbas and children, but its so hard to get it 'right'. I'm probably one of the worst offenders of foot-in-mouth disease :rolleyes:

SuperGranny
14-09-2009, 13:32
hello, we are all just human, we all sometimes speak before we think, and it happens in real life as well as on the sheltered world of bub hub. The only advice is just to not take any comment to heart, if the comment gives you joy accept it, if the comment gives you sorrow, discard it. Marie.

SassyMummy
14-09-2009, 13:35
I think it's one of those things you just have to suck up and deal with... because people aren't going to stop.

I don't think people say these things to be nasty either. Sometimes they might, but majority of the time, it's just something that flies out of their mouths. People like to comment on babies, and a lot of the time don't realise that commenting on its appearance might upset the mother. They forget that we worry about everything.

I say "WOW! She's so little!" about babies all the time. I think about it later and wonder if I may have upset the parents. I don't say it to be mean, or imply that the baby must be starving to death or whatever... I say it because it's the first thing I notice. It's not a negative response either... it's just something I notice - it's neutral. It's also compared to my daughter, who was a big fat chubby bubba. It's also compared to her now - it's hard to remember her being a little newborn... so all babies seem so tiny to me!

Try to keep that in mind. People probably aren't trying to make you feel bad... they're just commenting. It probably isn't a negative in their opinion.

My daughter was big too... so I know how it is. She's still big now - people always think she's older than 4.

ICanDream
14-09-2009, 13:36
I'm probably one of the worst offenders of foot-in-mouth disease :rolleyes:

I have my moments too - I blame 3 yrs of sleep deprivation and now pregnancy brain on top of it :laughing:

UmmInayah
14-09-2009, 13:41
I hope i don't get attacked for this.

Things that don't appear "normal" will always be looked upon, not necessarily in a bad way.

I know this is a very poor comparison, but I wear a scraf as part of my religion. The area I live in, there a few of us so I don't get nearly the same amount of stares as I did say 5 years ago.

Now, if I go to the northside of brisbane, it's a totally different story. People STARE. I feel like they give me dirty looks, but I just smile at them and they smile back. It's mostly about being ill-informed or not informed.. or just out of curiosity.

Anyway, I dont believe it is "normal" for a child to be "obese" not saying your child is, but from the comments made, I am making an assumption. You are probably already aware of your child's health, and may feel he is okay.. but I would get him assessed by a professional just to be on the safe side.

Sorry the looks etc are upsetting you.

Jamaica
14-09-2009, 14:20
I didnt mean to offend anyone! I just LOVE chubby babies.

Also I would never think that because a baby is chubby or skinny it has anything to do with their food intake as I know babies that are on the same diets & are completely different sizes.

Boobycino
14-09-2009, 14:28
Things that don't appear "normal" will always be looked upon, not necessarily in a bad way.

:iagree:

The word normal never sits right when talking about bubs, so I understand the quotation marks.

But yeah, totally agree. A look or a comment, I think are a reaction, not a thought out attack. And I think more often than not it doesn't have negative intentions or meaning behind it, just observation or curiosity.

elleandsam
14-09-2009, 14:39
It's not so much the "she's tiny" comments that get me, I know she's small! She is a beautiful delicate elegant little baby who eats like a champion! But it's the "is she eating?" or "are you not feeding her?" comments that get to me. My daughter is not tiny because she doesn't eat! I mean i've always been underweight myself and I just scrape past 5 foot and 50 kilos. She's tiny just like her mummy. And we're both massive eaters.

lochiebearsmum
14-09-2009, 15:02
i had a comment from a lady at the pool the other day ask how old lochie is i said 2 and a half... she said my god hes huge... i said really i think hes perfect.... it really annoys me as there are enough negative body images about...at lochies age he is old enough to understand these comments,,, people used to always say when they picked him up wow your heavy ive also taught him to say nope im perfect and he does everytime....

Two To Be Three
14-09-2009, 15:20
i don't know if anyone will agree with me here or not but

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS AN AVERAGE CHILD

Boobycino
14-09-2009, 15:55
i don't know if anyone will agree with me here or not but

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS AN AVERAGE CHILD

:iagree:

tootiredtosleep
14-09-2009, 16:22
Last time I saw a GP for DD2 he said she was 'big'. i was rather put out, cause i think she is perfect! People say horrible stuff without thinking.
DD2 has just come out of plaster for DDH and we were told by the specialist to cover her legs while we were out so no-one asked how we broke her legs!

iMischa
14-09-2009, 17:24
re; getting him assessed... he has seen many drs due to him being quite ill the last 6 weeks, not related to his weight and not 1 dr has mentioned his weight, he isnt obese either as his length also matches his weight percentile. he in general is just big. but thank u for the concerns of his health.

i dont feel i should suck it up and deal with negativity thrown at me because its apparently ok for strangers to voice their opinions at me because i do have a baby, no one would put up with strangers telling them they are huge or what do u eat!? so why should mothers accept it just because they are talking about a baby??

some of the comments can b innocent enough but some arent and its those that have upset me the most, cant help how i feel.

*babygirl*
14-09-2009, 17:38
what really gets me about this is that some babies ARE chubby... they just are!! DD wasnt a small newby but she wasnt HUGE... then she got chubby... but the thing is at 3 months they cant exactly be OBESE... everyone is so image conscious they have to comment on a tiny baby's weight? grow up seriously!

TripleTime
14-09-2009, 17:44
I had the same problems due to my 3 being tiny for their age & people not understanging they are prems.

I fixed it with putting a sun cover over the pram, gives off a nice F off vibe that i love. Than if people ask if they can look we say no their sick, they arent but people dont know that.

Sheer Bliss
14-09-2009, 19:28
I had the same problems due to my 3 being tiny for their age & people not understanging they are prems.

I fixed it with putting a sun cover over the pram, gives off a nice F off vibe that i love. Than if people ask if they can look we say no their sick, they arent but people dont know that.

I don't unzip the sun shade on the valco now - it's a permanent fixture! Although DH lifted if up today while we were out....NOW he understands why shopping takes so long with them, people just stopping dead in front of him and then touching them, and commenting.....sun shades are GREAT!!

I have seen pics of your bubba mischa and he is simply a stunner, and about as perfect as they get! :thumbsup:

UmmInayah
14-09-2009, 19:40
I feel that if you're so worried about what other people think.. there is some underlying reason you feel this way. It hasn't just got to do with the comments, you know what I mean? Like if you KNEW it was okay, and you KNEW it was the right thing to do, and you KNEW you were the best mother you could be etc.. why would you care if anyone comments on your parenting etc?

gotmilk
14-09-2009, 19:41
Mischa, your boy is adorable! People do not think sometimes when they make a comment:)
I was asked if my bub was a premmi and cos I was so worried about her weight such question would make me cry:o but that's because she was not eating all that well and it was a big deal to me...
So do not let it to upset you and there is nothing to be upset about - he is just gorgeous and healthy and it can not be any better:)

iMischa
14-09-2009, 20:02
I feel that if you're so worried about what other people think.. there is some underlying reason you feel this way. It hasn't just got to do with the comments, you know what I mean? Like if you KNEW it was okay, and you KNEW it was the right thing to do, and you KNEW you were the best mother you could be etc.. why would you care if anyone comments on your parenting etc?

so..because i feel upset over this... it means that im not being a good mother?

you might be the kind of person that doesnt mind ppl looking at your child and making negative comments and/or assumptions, but i am not...i dont really see how this could = what u are saying.

im not quite sure what you mean when you say
"Like if you KNEW it was okay, and you KNEW it was the right thing to do,"

knew what was ok? what was the right thing to do??

Benji
14-09-2009, 20:11
I had the same comments with my chubby bubba. Now that he's an active boy, he's slimmed right down.

NonnyMouse
14-09-2009, 20:41
I may be wrong, but I think was Umminaya was saying is that when you are confident in your parenting, then what other people think doesn't matter at all.

UmmInayah
14-09-2009, 20:45
so..because i feel upset over this... it means that im not being a good mother?

you might be the kind of person that doesnt mind ppl looking at your child and making negative comments and/or assumptions, but i am not...i dont really see how this could = what u are saying.

im not quite sure what you mean when you say
"Like if you KNEW it was okay, and you KNEW it was the right thing to do,"

knew what was ok? what was the right thing to do??

I'm not saying that at all. How would I know what type of mother you are? I'm sure ou are a very passionate mother who cares very much about her child's wellbeing. Especially as you come on bubhub and ask for advice!

What I am just trying to say is exactly what Anonnymouse said. Why does it matter what others think if you're confident in your parenting? (I used parenting as an example, as I really don't know what category weight "fits under")