View Full Version : Breastfeeding

kitty galore
09-09-2009, 15:49
Hi Jul-Aug-Sept mummies - we were chatting in the Aug thread and there seems to be a very common subject that comes up again and again - breastfeeding - the highs and the lows, the whens, the whys, the hows etc etc etc. So we thought we might start a thread specifically for that, just so the general chats won't be completely bogged down about b/feeding.

So here it is...

Courtney83
09-09-2009, 16:02

I'm not breastfeeding but I thought I'd pop in and show my support!! Goodluck girls!!

kitty galore
10-09-2009, 11:32
Question - I have found Finn to 'muck around' on my boob when we are about to feed - i.e not attached properly and even though he is hungry, he just mucks around (that is the best way i can describe it).....I wonder if my boobs are too 'full', so then he doesn't attach on properly? maybe I will try and express off a bit first. Normally the first morning feed, I wouldn't even attempt to feed him without having a hot shower first and expressing off a bit in the shower, but maybe I need to do a bit of an express for the other feeds if I feel extra 'full'? Its not every feed, just random ones...

Any suggestions?

sim081005
10-09-2009, 11:37
Mason does the same & it drives me nuts!!! He does this stupid half on the boob, lick & then off. Milk goes everywhere and whatever top I am wearing ends up soaked.

I put it down to the fact that he is so hungry & can't wait. Male thing.

I have a question. What are you all storing your milk in when you freeze it?

beccalou
10-09-2009, 13:18
angel does this also and I find that often its because she has wind. I took her off yesterday and gave her a burp and she did a big one and we hadnt even started feeding! I then put her back on and she started feeding properly.

Am storing ebm in avent containers they all interchange so I just thaw out and put teat on container if that makes sense. Am storing in the freezer atm just started expressing this week as am going to try to give angel one ebm bottle every other day.
They reckon to start doing this by four weeks otherwise they may not take the bottle.

EDIOH
10-09-2009, 13:46
Isabelle does it also. I reckon its to do with wind, as if i give her a burp and put her back on she then eats properly.

I express if Isabelle goes too long without a feed overnight and use the avent storing cups. have a bout four in the freezer for emergencies.

daisy4300
10-09-2009, 15:35
I reckon that it could be wind too, another thing to be mindful of is oral thrush. Sometimes when they get this they can get quite fussy. Also being full as you said, express a bit first because it can be hard for them to attach when its quite full.

TripleTime
10-09-2009, 15:37
I dont BF but my girls do the same, they get so excited its not funny. I often spend 10 minutes with each of them to calm them down before i can feed them.

beccalou
10-09-2009, 15:44
Back again got interrupted by my two princesses waking up.

Yeah so try burping but I also agree if your breasts are too full it is harder so keep up with expressing in the morning.

So I am going to try to give angel a bottle every couple of days. I tried to do this with em but she was probably 4 1/2 months and wouldnt have a bar of it so was tied down to her and would like to have a bit more flexibility this time round especially with two.

I meant avent storing cups sim (thanks MrsElle)

Daisy how did you know you had thrush?

kitty galore
10-09-2009, 16:23
Thanks ladies - it had not even occured to me that it might be wind :o but now when I think back - it probably is!!

Sim - you described it perfectly - half on, bit of a lick, then off and then the milk spray EVERYWHERE!!:)

Yes, I use the avent system as well, am very happy with it....

EDIOH
10-09-2009, 16:38
what bottle do you use ladies?? any preferences?? I have avent, tommee tippee, pigeon and some no brand ones. (yes i know im a bottle -aholic!!!!)

But havent tried any of them yet.

beccalou
10-09-2009, 17:14
Im like you MrsElle havent tried any yet but will give the avent ones a go as this is what I have from DD1.

For you mummies giving ebm how much are you giving for a feed?

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
11-09-2009, 02:42
MrsElle- I bought the TT 'Closer to nature' ones as apparently they r less likely to cause nipple confusion? A doesn't like bottles that much though, usually takes her a while and lots of strange looks from her before she'll suck properly.

Bec- I wonder the same thing? A will drink up to 100mls, sometimes less. Not sure if that's normal or what the average is?

How is everyone finding BFing? I've surprised myself and love it. Had a horrible time feeding DS and stopped after 9 days so over the moon!
Great idea for a thread BTW!

Spinny
11-09-2009, 07:20
I have the same problem with Maddison, I think she is so excited to have a drink she keeps moving her head from side to side and takes about 10 attempts to latch on properly. Seems to happen after she has had a long sleep, she probably is starving. She also seems to push her head away so we have a bit of a fight to get her on, then other times she goes straight on, can be frustrating.

beccalou
11-09-2009, 09:45
okay so my big issue atm is my little Angel will not open her mouth properly to latch on. As soon as she smells boobie she starts sucking the air:rolleyes: so its this big struggle to get her to open her mouth wide enough. So she starts getting frustrated and I start getting frustrated.
Any ideas? My mums friend is a LC so I might get her out to have a look. She also said Angel might need mouth exercises. Anyone heard of these?

daisy4300
11-09-2009, 10:24
Daisy how did you know you had thrush?

I've had it before. The symptoms can be itchy, red, sore nipples, let downs are generally excruatiating and you may even find you have a white coating on your nipples. The let downs are what give it away for me plus feeding is like feeding through glass. It's nasty! Nothing nice about it and it takes up to 2 wks to clear it. I really hope none of you girls experience it.

EDIOH
11-09-2009, 12:08
I takes just under 100ml. but then ive only given it to her once so who knows. I freeze in 100ml batches.

Preshy2008
11-09-2009, 12:59
Hi Girls- great thread!

I finished BFing a week ago, not without trying EVERYTHING frst! A big thumbs up to all of you doing it!!

okay so my big issue atm is my little Angel will not open her mouth properly to latch on. As soon as she smells boobie she starts sucking the air:rolleyes: so its this big struggle to get her to open her mouth wide enough. So she starts getting frustrated and I start getting frustrated.
Any ideas? My mums friend is a LC so I might get her out to have a look. She also said Angel might need mouth exercises. Anyone heard of these?

At the BFing clinic, they told me to tap on Mr Ls chin and draw a moustache on his upper lip with your finger tips, this encourages them to open thier mouht, do these excersizes every day and opening the mouth will just happen..

I hope that helps..

Preshy xxx

Spinny
11-09-2009, 13:12
Preshy2008 - thanks for the tip I have that problem with Maddison, she just won't open her mouth enough OR her tongue goes to the top of her mouth.

sim081005
11-09-2009, 13:23
I have trush on my nipples at the moment & Daisy you described it to a T. It is very painful but once I got creams/antibiotics it started to get better within 24 hours

Has anyone used the storage bags? I found some on ebay & want to know if they are any good

EDIOH
11-09-2009, 14:58
Oh also, the mchn said to freese EBM in 20ml segments to make it easier for top ups in case bubs wants more than usual. she said covered ice cube containers are great.

daisy4300
11-09-2009, 15:55
I have trush on my nipples at the moment & Daisy you described it to a T. It is very painful but once I got creams/antibiotics it started to get better within 24 hours

Oh darl I feel your pain. The antibiotics would get rid of it so much quicker. If you just use the cream like I did it takes longer. Glad to hear it's on the mend. xx

Butterflyqld
11-09-2009, 16:27
Oh also, the mchn said to freese EBM in 20ml segments to make it easier for top ups in case bubs wants more than usual. she said covered ice cube containers are great.

Hi Everyone.

I haven't started to express yet, but last time I expressed and froze it in the pop out tupperware ice cube containers.

This is my second time breastfeeding and the first I had to change my breast pads regularly because they were full. However this time I hardly leak.

Joshua is gaining weight so I have milk. The midwife discovered he has tongue tie so we are getting it cut soon. This will hopfully help with his wind problem.

kitty galore
11-09-2009, 21:02
Thanks MrsElle and Nic236 about the EBM amount guide - I feed Finn about 100mls too, so it is good to know I am fairly well on track.

Thrush - Daisy, Sim - I think Finn and I have it! My nipples have been AGONY, and look white after a feed. Finn has has a white coating on his lips (I thought it was milk:confused:). But the giveaway for me was that his nappies have been whiffy - yeasty smelling.
And my let down has been incredibly painful. DH bought some cream of some sort for us this morning, I put it on my nipples and Finn's mouth after a feed..? Hope that is all we are supposed to do. But already I have noticed that his nappies don't smell as much.

Nic236 - I am enjoying b/feeding very much - I couldn't manage with my DD - had absolutely NO idea what to, the m/w at the hospy (public) I was in were just downright rude, got annoyed with me very quickly. This time with Finn, I was determined, if it was the last damn thing I was going to do! The m/w's at the hospy I was at this time (private) were brilliant. took their time, didn't get frustrated with me coz I was so un-co! Can't help but boast about it, I feel such a sense of achievement!

Spinny
12-09-2009, 08:37
myprincessamelie - congratulations on achieving b/f I remember my first few days in the hospital and the PAIN. Maddison is 4 weeks and we have our good and bad days, it is defiantly getting better - I can usually get her on in the middle of the night in the dark but then other days it takes us ages....one thing all of us need to remember is that bubs and us are all just learning to work together and everything gets better with practice!

AFM - I want to start to express and I have a Avent manual pump but I'm too scared to do it. I'm worried it's going to hurt - does it feel like when the baby is attached, the pump is sitting out ready to be sterilised but I have been putting it off as I'm worried it's going to squash my boobies....am I being silly?

Californication
12-09-2009, 10:19
Fantastic thread idea Nicole. I'll be on here heaps as we are having BF issues. And BIG congrats on BF! Wish I was so lucky :)

Seems my nipples are too big (and MW said one is very fibrous) and W's mouth is too small to take it all in. He's also not putting his tongue forward enough, but no tongue-tie, so hoping we can "teach" him that.

We tried everything under the sun in hospital, had 6 MW's with different techniques and we had a couple of successful feeds, but then did a big dive backwards and couldn't get him to latch on at all and had to resort to finger feeds.

The other problem is the lack of enough milk - I was essentially starving him. He's currently drinking 70mls 3 hourly, and I am only making between 30-40mls :eek:. Only found out as we weighed him before a feed and after and there was no change at all.

So I am now expressing and topping up with formula. I'm on tablets to increase my milk supply, so hopefully once we get that up, I will be able to go back to BF. I'm hoping that in a week or so when he's gained more weight and has more energy, we can try again. All the sucking for not much gain was tiring him out WAAAYY too much.

Beccalou - if you find out about those exercises, let me know. They sound like what we need too.

Preshy2008 - thanks for the tip. Will try it out.

Spinny - I don't know if a manual pump feels different from an electric one, but expressing doesn't hurt in my experience. It's certainly not as pleasurable as BF, but it doesn't hurt. Hubby laughs at me when I express. We've hired a double electric one as I am having to express 3 hourly for 30 mins, so a manual wasn't going to cut it for me! We've cut slits in an old bra to put the cone bit through so I don't have to sit here holding the cups on and can use my hands while pumping. I do look funny, I must admit!

Well that's another pumping session done for me, so I'm going back to bed for another couple of hours sleep. This 3 hourly thing is killing me! Sleep in 2 hour blocks just isn't enough. Hoping tomorrow when we get W weighed we can go to 4 hourly. We've been increasing the mls and he's coping, so if we can stretch it out a bit, that will be much better for mummy and daddy's sleeping time!

sim081005
12-09-2009, 10:23
Thanks MrsElle and Nic236 about the EBM amount guide - I feed Finn about 100mls too, so it is good to know I am fairly well on track.

Thrush - Daisy, Sim - I think Finn and I have it! My nipples have been AGONY, and look white after a feed. Finn has has a white coating on his lips (I thought it was milk:confused:). But the giveaway for me was that his nappies have been whiffy - yeasty smelling.
And my let down has been incredibly painful. DH bought some cream of some sort for us this morning, I put it on my nipples and Finn's mouth after a feed..? Hope that is all we are supposed to do. But already I have noticed that his nappies don't smell as much.

Nic236 - I am enjoying b/feeding very much - I couldn't manage with my DD - had absolutely NO idea what to, the m/w at the hospy (public) I was in were just downright rude, got annoyed with me very quickly. This time with Finn, I was determined, if it was the last damn thing I was going to do! The m/w's at the hospy I was at this time (private) were brilliant. took their time, didn't get frustrated with me coz I was so un-co! Can't help but boast about it, I feel such a sense of achievement!
Not sure if this will help but this is what I used to get rid of the thrush all round.

Daktarin to go on my nipples. Do not need to wash off before feeding
Nilstat drops for bubs after a feed 4 times a day
Inner Health plus for me to help prevent it coming back
No brand anti fungal cream for his bum

Not sure if Finn has thrush on his bum but Mason's was like little red dots a bit like the pimples on his face. It cleared up out of Mason's mouth in 24 hours (I still do one treatment of drops a day to make certain) and my nipples have cleared up completely now

I baked the cookies. Bit of a disaster as I have never baked cookies before but I have cookies for giants. hehe All I can say is they sure as hell work. Not only has my supply increased but the quality is amazing. I didn't have an issue with supply but was more concerned that my quality wasn't as good as it could be. From the start of the feed the milk is a deep creamy colour & my supply is increased enough that Mason drains both boobs & sleeps for 5 to 7 hours at a time at night & they taste really yummy

Spinny
12-09-2009, 12:21
Oh sim081005 I just cracked up laughing reading your post regarding "cookies for giants" I really should try these as my little one will not sleep for more than 2.5 maybe 3 hrs at a time, she is 4 weeks old and has put on nearly 1 kg since leaving hospital so I think my supply is fine but maybe it needs a bit of a boost.

kitty galore
12-09-2009, 12:36
Spinny - I have an avent manual pump - I was also using a hired electric pump too, but that has to go back today, so manual it is!
Definitely it feels different to bubs sucking - and the manual pumps it takes a bit for you to find your 'pumping rhythm' if that makes sense. I guess because you are manually trying to mimic bubs sucking motion. The electric ones do it all for you! In saying that, the manual pump gets the milk out quicker (for me anyway). I think I produce a good amount of milk though; generally I can get 100+ mls from one boob within about 10 - 15 mins.

Sim - I am using the Nilstat for Finn, and I was using that on my nipples after a feed. I will get some inner health plus too.
I agree about the cookies improving quality (and quantity for me!!) milk definitely seems richer, doesn't it! But I am getting worried about eating too many cookies - so I am going to put the yeast and linseed in my morning smoothie instead...well, that is when I get time to actually consume anything before lunchtime!!:)

Spinny
12-09-2009, 14:48
ClareN & myprincessamelie - thanks for letting me know about expressing. I've just put the pump into the steriliser and will express after my shower tomorrow morning.

EDIOH
12-09-2009, 16:52
Clare - Isabelle has put on plenty of weight but feeds every three hourly all day every day. every so often i am rewarded with a slightly longer strech but other wise its 2 hour blocks of sleep for me too.

How do you ladies reheat your EBM??

Also anyone co sleeps or breastfeed while lying down?? Any tips and tricks much appretiated.

Californication
12-09-2009, 17:25
Spinny - happy to have helped. Good luck with it!

Mrs Elle - Sorry to hear you are on the dreaded 3 hour cycle as well. This morning W woke after 2 hours, but it was at 10am so that was fine! Happy to feed him really as need him to gain :)

The midwives at the hospital told me to just put the EBM in hot water, so I just boil the kettle and it takes about 2 minutes to heat cold from the fridge. They told me to never put EBM in the microwave as it curdles.

Pumping away again. I feel like a dairy! I went and found the recipe for the cookies and sent hubby to get the bits we didn't have, so will try to make them tomorrow to hopefully kick my production up a notch! On some tablets to do the same, but not sure how long they will take to work, so willing to give anything a go - especially if they are as yummy as Nicole says!!

Whitey78
13-09-2009, 14:32
Hi girls - great thread!

I am starting to worry about not producing enough milk. Supply in the morning is great and DS swallows every suck or two on both sides but as we get into the day the poor fella has to do more and more sucking to get his reward. He also has an unsettled period in the evening and I suspect it is because he isn't getting enough to eat.

SO I have the recipe for the cookies and will go and buy some choc chips tomorrow and get baking, those of you trying the yeast and linseed meal on your cereal - how much do you use?
I'm also wondering about expressing to have a store for when I need to top up. If I express will that take away more of my supply for the day?
I get the whole supply/demand thing but I'm worried it might take a bit of time for things to even out.

kitty galore
13-09-2009, 15:43
I'm also wondering about expressing to have a store for when I need to top up. If I express will that take away more of my supply for the day?
I get the whole supply/demand thing but I'm worried it might take a bit of time for things to even out.

I think if you xps as well, it should actually improve/increase your supply....I think?! I know that is the case for me - Finn is on around 4 hourly feeds, so at the 2 hour mark I will do an express. I usually have around 2x 100ml lots in the fridge, once I go past that, I will freeze the rest.
I have noticed on days that I can't be bothered to do an xps, my supply is definitely lower, and I have to work that bit harder when I do get around to doing an xps....

daisymama
13-09-2009, 20:51
Hello Everyone,

First time in this thread, I have just had a read through.....it is great.

I am a September mummy, my DD Ruby is 10 days old, and as a first time Mummy I am getting my head around bf-ing. We have both taken to it really well, but I did have a few questions:

DD feeds for around 10-15 minutes at a time. Ideally I would like to extend this, as I have read they should feed for longer, however, my boobs feel quite empty at the end?? (She is a good sucker, and I can hear her big gulps of milk - she feeds so fast that she stops every now and then and is puffed) Also her weight gain has been great, was above birth weight at 6 days old - so I am guessing she is getting enough??

Also, at the moment, our feeds are 2-3 hours apart, with the rare 4-5 hour gap. Is this normal, and when can I expect this pattern to change?

SO I have the recipe for the cookies and will go and buy some choc chips tomorrow and get baking, those of you trying the yeast and linseed meal on your cereal - how much do you use?

Pardon my ignorance :), but what are these cookies I have seen talked about a few times in here?

I hope everyone is getting lots of sleep tonight!!!

Kylie

EDIOH
14-09-2009, 13:20
Daisy - For a 10 day old that is great. As long as she has good weight gain and 6-8 very wet nappies a day then you are doinf just fine (this is what the MCHN told me anyways.)

And 2-3 hourly is pretty standard.

Sounds like your doing a great job.

sim081005
14-09-2009, 14:16
cookies receipe

Housepoet's Famous Lactation Boosting Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip & Flaxseed cookies

Housepoet's Famous Lactation Boosting Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip & Flaxseed cookies �
Ingredients :

* 1 cup butter or marg
* 1 cup sugar
* 1 cup brown sugar
* 4 tablespoons water
* 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal*
* 2 large eggs
* 1 teaspoon vanilla
* 2 cups flour
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 3 cups oats, thick cut if you can get them
* 1 cup or more chocolate chips
* 2 tablespoons of brewers yeast* (be generous)

Directions:

Preheat oven at 375 degrees F. Mix together 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal and water, set aside for 3-5 minutes. Cream (beat well) margarine and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, mix well. Stir flaxseed mixture and add with vanilla to the margarine mix. Beat until blended. Sift together dry ingredients, except oats and chips. Add to margarine mixture. Stir in oats then chips. Scoop or drop onto baking sheet, preferably lined with parchment or silpat. The dough is a little crumbly, so it helps to use a scoop.

Bake 8-12 minutes, depending on size of cookies.

Serves: 6 dozen cookies

Preparation time: 15 minutes

*can be found at any local health food store.
*NOTE* IT MUST BE BREWERS YEAST, NO SUBSTITUTIONS.

I made these for a friend who's having supply issues and they were so flippin' good. You can feel yourself lactating as you nibble on them. ;) If you don't like chocolate, who doesn't like chocolate tho, you can substitute for carob chips, raisins, butterscotch chips, whatever.

Butterflyqld
14-09-2009, 14:38
Sim: Do the cookies affect the likelyhood of thrush (because of the yeast). Joshua has had thrush on his tongue and was using Nilstat. I am not sure if it has completely cleared but he has been taking it for a week. It is definately much better than it was.

myprincessamelie: I agree that expressing does increase your supply. I haven't had a chance to xps yet, because Joshua is always on my boobs.

daisymama: Super work with bf.

Joshua is still really windy and will only sleep on top of me. Joshua has got tongue tie and some of the symptoms are bloating and wind, not being satisfied after drinking (this is why he may be feeding all the time. He is getting it cut next Wednesday so hope this helps him. He is gaining weight in 5 days 300g, but like I said he is constantly feeding. Hope this changes so I can get some housework done.

sim081005
14-09-2009, 15:57
Sim: Do the cookies affect the likelyhood of thrush (because of the yeast). Joshua has had thrush on his tongue and was using Nilstat. I am not sure if it has completely cleared but he has been taking it for a week. It is definately much better than it was.

myprincessamelie: I agree that expressing does increase your supply. I haven't had a chance to xps yet, because Joshua is always on my boobs.

daisymama: Super work with bf.

Joshua is still really windy and will only sleep on top of me. Joshua has got tongue tie and some of the symptoms are bloating and wind, not being satisfied after drinking (this is why he may be feeding all the time. He is getting it cut next Wednesday so hope this helps him. He is gaining weight in 5 days 300g, but like I said he is constantly feeding. Hope this changes so I can get some housework done.
Not sure if this will cause thrush but Mason & I had it pretty bad & I haven't gotten it back nor has Mason so I am going to say no

flis
14-09-2009, 18:29

First time in this thread too - hope you don't mind...

Wondering if anyone can help me - I am trying to feed my 10 wk old darling EBM from a bottle and she just screams and screams... Any suggestions? I have been able to give her one bottle during the day but just tried again tonight and she screamed so much and actually vomited i think from the stress... :crying: so sad...

I am feeding 3 hrly and would love her to take a bottle occasionally so i can go out for more than 2 hrs without her (ie to get my hair coloured!)...

I am using Medela bottles - I have a couple of others but havent tried them yet..

Thanks Flis xx

EDIOH
14-09-2009, 22:04
Flis, my MCHN told me when you first try bottle try to get your partner to give it to her and if she is still fussing walk out of the room.

Something to do with your smell. Have you tried something with a wider tit?? like a avent or tommee tippee closer to nature??

Good luck and let us know how you go.

for those expressing to give the occasional bottle - when do you express and how often??

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
15-09-2009, 03:17
Flis- We use to Tomee Tippee 'Closer to nature' ones and although A plays with them with her tongue for a while and pulls faces she usually works out after a while that there is milk in them. Sometimes she won't take them from DH though and just wants to play with him and laugh and giggle and I have to feed her.

flis
15-09-2009, 07:27
thanks girls. will try a diff type of bottle and get DH to try with her... she ended up sleeping from 7.30 till 4 obviously exhausted from her screaming... so so sad.

Flis

KiahsMum
15-09-2009, 22:53
Flis - The only teat Sarah will take is a pidgeon peristaltic and it was highly recommended by a number of mums who, like me, had issues getting bub to take a bottle. Also the midwife who came to help with feeding said when you put the bottle in their mouth have your index finger lying flat on their cheek as it gives them the impression of the breast being there. It worked for us as Sarah wouldn't take a bottle until she showed us that with the pidgeon teat.

Good luck!

Square777
19-09-2009, 11:31
i haven't read through the whole thread but thought i'd mention a couple of things.

Z sometimes dances around my nipple, i think usually its wind so try and burp him first.

For the thrush, get daktarin gel over the counter at chemist and put on your nipples regularly, and can get nilstat drops for bubbys mouth.

I've got avent manual pump, someone asks if it hurts. Not at all! You might feel a bit of pressure on your nipple like its being sucked on but it really shouldn't hurt. The only time I imagine it would is if you already have cracked nipples etc.

I read somewhere as a guide that babies have an ounce/week of age.

So I think its about 30 mls...and Z pretty much goes by this, at 4-5 weeks he would take about 120mls.
Now at 7 weeks, if we give him a bottle he drinks the best part of 180mls! He usually looks pretty full after so if it were from teh boob i'm not sure he'd take as much, but i guess the bottle is easy and he is a piggy!

i use the avent bottels and/or storage system cups for freezing. Find them very convenient as they attach directly to the pump, and the teats attach directly.

also another thing is with the avent you can get really slow flow teats for newborns which is all i've used so far.

Does anyone find they can express lots off one boob and not the other?

I can feed Z off the left side and still express heaps off of it, where as teh right side, even if he hasn' had feed from it still can't express that much.

How much do you girls manage to express? I do it in the mornings after first feed when i can feel tehm full, usually get at least 180mls, enough for the storage cup.

JimJamsMum
22-09-2009, 17:51
Hi All, great thread.

When expressing I work on babies needing 150mL per kg of body weight a day. So if bub weighs 6kg and has 6 feeds a day he needs 150mL per feed which is what I express and store for him.

The best way I have found to express is to do it at the same time as I am feeding DS. Bub on one side, pump on the other. I always do it first thing in the morning after bub hasn't fed for a while. This morning I expressed 125mL from one side while DS had the other side. Then he had more from the side I expressed from while I got another 40mL from the other side. I have one boob that has more milk than the other so I always express from that side and only express until the flow slows down so I leave some for bub. By the time the next feed comes around the supply has replenished.

Californication
25-09-2009, 20:43
:wave: all,

I was going to post this at lunchtime!!

I'm just wondering if anyone else is having "weird boob syndrome"?

Normally when I express, I get between 70-90mls combined. Well at the 2am feed, I got nothing from the left and a whopping 5mls from the right!

Then at the 7am feed, I got 150mls combined!

I don't know what was going on at the 2am feed and why I had nothing. Has anyone else experienced this??

They should have re-filled, as the last feed of the night was 10pm. So they had 4 hours to recover.

Then today, I pump and 2 hours later my nipples are all tingly. I haven't pumped early, but wonder if I would have milk if I did. I should give it a go, but I'm finding pumping 6-7 times a day enough without adding another one in!

My conclusion? Boobs are weird :)

JimJamsMum
26-09-2009, 06:06
ClareN it is possible that you did have milk at 2am but you couldn't get a let down because you were tired/in a rush/feeling anxious about something etc etc.

When I was expressing at work for DS1 my boobs were absolutely chockers and I couldn't get anything out of them because I couldn't get a let down. I think I was suffering performance anxiety :laughing: I'd get home and get 250mL out of them in about 10 minutes:eek:

As you know boobs work on supply and demand so it's possible that if bub doesn't usually have a 2am feed that's why the supply wasn't there.

Square777
29-09-2009, 19:38
Just a quickie
Do you find if you sleep on your tummy your milk doesn't come in as well overnight?

MiracleMum21
01-10-2009, 15:32
Just a quickie
Do you find if you sleep on your tummy your milk doesn't come in as well overnight?

No, I just find that ive leaked all over the bed from the pressure put on my breasts.
I cant sleep in any position where my boobs touch anything, by the same token, i cant lay on my back either, as gravity pulling the sides of my boobs down makes me leak too.

JimJamsMum
01-10-2009, 20:05
Just a quickie

I don't sleep on my tummy but it makes sense that it could affect milk production because it could have the same affect as binding your breasts which is what they do to inhibit milk production.

Square777
01-10-2009, 20:44
I don't sleep on my tummy but it makes sense that it could affect milk production because it could have the same affect as binding your breasts which is what they do to inhibit milk production.

yeah i had similar thoughts...
I laso just reckon my production fluctuates, ie last ngiht even though i fed a couple of times i woke in a big puddle but haven't done that for few weeks... :p

mini_me
02-10-2009, 22:19
what bottle do you use ladies?? any preferences?? I have avent, tommee tippee, pigeon and some no brand ones. (yes i know im a bottle -aholic!!!!)

But havent tried any of them yet.

Im an avent lover, i do have some breastflow bottles left over, but they dont sell them in australia anymore so i just found out.

Im still co breast and formula feeding with attachment and not EBM. Feeling really awesome that Blakes still attaching. Eventhough this is my 3rd child this is currently my longest "to breast" feeding.

But now hes personality is coming out im not allowed to look at him when hes on the breast :laughing: otherwise he smiles, coos generally funniest little critter :rolleyes: ill try and take a clip of it tomorrow. We're still co sleeping but with this hot weather coming in not for much longer, i have a plastic sheet down under a towel and sleep topless - i have this thing that when one boob is completely empty its doesnt hold form therefore doesnt stay put (within bra). I find im producing heaps of bm during the night rather than day time & able to feed him with one side.

I agree with the other suggestions about fussy bubbas not attaching, either little windy, breast is too full to attach onto nipple properly, the other thing i was thinking about cos i have very fast let down that bubs could be getting cranky with forceful let down (gulping) when breasts are really full. This could also be the same problem for many bottle users with teats being too fast in flowing milk. Blake uses 0+ avent teats the lowest possible in retail market and its still too fast for him at 9 weeks. In the past few days ive just worked out i now have a 2nd let down :o

tummy fairy
03-10-2009, 13:47
Hi everyone. I am a September mummy and I hope you don't mind me crashing this thread.

My intro to BF has been hit and miss so far. DD was a 2 wks early (6 1/2 pounds) and had juandice, so she was incredibly sleepy and very difficult to feed. To top it off I have flattish nipples and couldn't/still can't get her to attach.

I've persisted with it and have been using nipple shields which she can attach to. The downside is having to express because the nipple shields stop the boob from getting stimulated apparently, and the hassle of washing the express stuff and shields.

I would love to ditch the shields. Has anyone had any experience with a similar situation? I'm hoping that when she is a bit bigger she'll just be able to suck better and I can give the shields the flick.

sim081005
03-10-2009, 15:08
As for sleeping on my tummy, I do it all the time & I have HEAPS of supply. I like to sleep on tummy as well due to the fact that I can have my breast pads under them without the use of a bra. I just love the feeling of no bra

kitty galore
03-10-2009, 15:23
Hi everyone. I am a September mummy and I hope you don't mind me crashing this thread.

My intro to BF has been hit and miss so far. DD was a 2 wks early (6 1/2 pounds) and had juandice, so she was incredibly sleepy and very difficult to feed. To top it off I have flattish nipples and couldn't/still can't get her to attach.

I've persisted with it and have been using nipple shields which she can attach to. The downside is having to express because the nipple shields stop the boob from getting stimulated apparently, and the hassle of washing the express stuff and shields.

I would love to ditch the shields. Has anyone had any experience with a similar situation? I'm hoping that when she is a bit bigger she'll just be able to suck better and I can give the shields the flick.

Hi and congrats TummyFairy - love your bubs name btw!
you aren't crashing at all - this is for anyone to join in and have their say!

I can't help you on the flattish nipples, other than can you manually stimulate them before a feed? Or could you do a tiny express to get the nipples going and then put bubs on?

I express at least once or twice a day, and it is such a pain to clean up - never ending washing in the sink!

I would suggest you contact the ABA... I was emailing with someone from there when I was struggling a bit with BFing, and they were so helpful. Check on their website - I actually had a consultant offer to come over to my house to see how I was feeding. You can see on the website if there are any consultants in your area, or nearby.
So i guess I haven't helped that much!! Hopefully the ABA can offer you some advice!

Nicole

kitty galore
03-10-2009, 15:26
As for sleeping on my tummy, I do it all the time & I have HEAPS of supply. I like to sleep on tummy as well due to the fact that I can have my breast pads under them without the use of a bra. I just love the feeling of no bra

Sim!! I am so jealous of you for no bra!!!
Don't you move during the night though?
I have my pads in my bras and will wake up with one pad up on my shoulder and the other around my back or somewhere weird like that!! Maybe I should just ditch the lot and say bugger it! If I leak, I leak! Not as if the pads are staying where they should be anyway!

sim081005
03-10-2009, 15:50
Sim!! I am so jealous of you for no bra!!!
Don't you move during the night though?
I have my pads in my bras and will wake up with one pad up on my shoulder and the other around my back or somewhere weird like that!! Maybe I should just ditch the lot and say bugger it! If I leak, I leak! Not as if the pads are staying where they should be anyway!
Yes I do move but I thought bugger it as I am so over the bra thing & the pads don't move with my boobs so if I go onto my side & my boob moves to the side, the pad stays in the middle or the pad gets full & overflow happens.

I sleep on a beach towel folded over with a cloth nappy on top. That seems to hold it all. Being a H cup, I am willing to do anything to get the bra off

Excitednewbie
03-10-2009, 16:56
Hi everyone! I'm from the september thread. C was born by caesar on 31 August. I've had so many problems with bf!! I'm just getting over my secound bout of mastitis. C doesn't attach properly because he has a short tongue (apparently inherited from me!!) so he couldn't stick it out far enough. He has now started to be able to stick it out enough but I think he now needs to learn that he needs to stick it out to feed. I'm seeing an LC on Tuesday. My MCHN told me to stick my finger in his mouth before each feed and touch it towards the back where the nipple is meant to end up to teach him thats whats meant to happen. I haven't tried it yet though. I'll see what the LC says on Tues, otherwise I will call the ABA. Despite being in pain every feed, I'm determined to perservere!! I'm sure after 4 weeks of this, I'm past the worst of it. In the first 2 weeks I was doing a mix of bf, expressing and formula feeding due to painful nipples. Talk about no sleep!! I had a mild case of breast refusal one day but now C is quite happy whether he is on breast or bottle. To get him over the breast refusal, I waited until he was hungry and when he refused it I laid him skin to skin on my chest for ages and then tried again. He took to one breast but still refused the other so I put him on the refused breast first at the next feed and he took to it straight away. I'm glad I perservered and he's back on the breast again though as he isn't half so windy now!!! Now I just need to sort his attachmentout once and for all and I can finally start enjoying breastfeeding more!

Sorry, I do tend to write novels!!!

MrsDribbleDrawers
03-10-2009, 17:23
I'm glad I perservered and he's back on the breast again though as he isn't half so windy now!!! Now I just need to sort his attachmentout once and for all and I can finally start enjoying breastfeeding more!

Sorry, I do tend to write novels!!!

Great to hear things are working out for you, EN!

:wave: I'm a September mummy, too, and have actually had some dramas in the last couple of days - first time ever, and I'm feeding number 3 (and number 2 whenever she can get near it :laughing:)... my bubba has been a bit lazy the last few days, not sucking properly, but pulling the nipple in and out, and has ended up grazing both nipples to the point of some serious pain! We've "strung him out" a bit on feeds today, and he's done much better, sucking properly, and filling himself up instead of grazing every ten minutes then struggling to burp (he's also a refluxer, which makes feeding issues twice as bad!)

Phew, feels better to share that... I didn't realise until I found BH with my second that mums can have feeding issues, and here I am, having issues! :fingerscrossed: it's all sorted itself out, and we can get back into some sort of "routine" and sleep!

Californication
03-10-2009, 18:06
JimJamsMum - 250mL in 10 minutes?? WOW! I'm struggling to get 100mls in 30 minutes!!! I find that my 11amish pump gets the most milk of the day. I can get around the 140-160mls mark then, but at other times of the day it's more like 70-80mls. But have been told that it's normal for the supply to fluctuate like that.

Mini_me - How do you define a fast letdown? I'm still struggling to get W on the breast - he just gets frustrated and cries when I try. I've been timing how long till I get flow with the pump, and sometimes it's about 3 minutes. So after reading your post, I'm wondering if I have the opposite problem and my letdown is too slow? I don't always "squirt" either, sometimes it's more like "seeping" but I don't know if that is normal. Anyone know?? Seeing my LC again on Monday, so will talk to her about it.

Tummy fairy - Crash away :) I don't have any great advice, but just know you are not alone. I can't get W to attach either and am having to pump and feed him EBM with formula top-ups as I also don't have enough milk. The only thing I can say, is that my LC has said that if I persevere, it will most likely happen. She has seen babies at 6 weeks (and some older) that have had major BF issues, suddenly go, "I want BOOBIE" so hopefully our bubs are in that category as I really want to get him on and be able to stop the pumping as am so sick of it, it sometimes hurts and I am sick of the constant washing up too!

soon2b4
03-10-2009, 21:13
just wondering if your tap the chin and trace moustache line at the same time and also do you eat the cookies after bub is born or can you start before.

MiracleMum21
03-10-2009, 21:35
just wondering if your tap the chin and trace moustache line at the same time.

Are you talking about getting them to attatch?
If hes not already rushing me with an open mouth, I just rub my nipple on his mouth, and he gets the hint. :)

soon2b4
03-10-2009, 21:43
Yes when I had my first he had a hyatis hernia so couldn't feed for long when my dd was born we had attachment issues but sorted them out feed her for 3yrs helped when she was only 4p 10oz so she stayed small for a long time so I could geet away with it. When last was born also had attachment issues ended up with mastitis and couldn't deal with the pain so changed to ff. Would love to be able to bf new bub for as long as possible.

tummy fairy
04-10-2009, 09:02
Tummy fairy - Crash away :) I don't have any great advice, but just know you are not alone. I can't get W to attach either and am having to pump and feed him EBM with formula top-ups as I also don't have enough milk. The only thing I can say, is that my LC has said that if I persevere, it will most likely happen. She has seen babies at 6 weeks (and some older) that have had major BF issues, suddenly go, "I want BOOBIE" so hopefully our bubs are in that category as I really want to get him on and be able to stop the pumping as am so sick of it, it sometimes hurts and I am sick of the constant washing up too!

Thanks Clare, I hope it just falls into place! The sound of the pump makes me cringe and I have an awful set of washer lady hands aswell.

I feel like my milk has dropped off the last couple of days. My boobs are definitly not as full, and I'm not getting as much out when I express after each feed.

mini_me
05-10-2009, 21:33
Mini_me - How do you define a fast letdown? I'm still struggling to get W on the breast - he just gets frustrated and cries when I try. I've been timing how long till I get flow with the pump, and sometimes it's about 3 minutes. So after reading your post, I'm wondering if I have the opposite problem and my letdown is too slow? I don't always "squirt" either, sometimes it's more like "seeping" but I don't know if that is normal. Anyone know?? Seeing my LC again on Monday, so will talk to her about it.

Listen to bubs, are they swallowing quickly like gulping, struggling to find a rhythm of breathing and swallowing. If I move the nipple away when bubs let go, its shooting out ...... jet streaming, sometimes 2-3 streams at once, where as bubs prefers it dripping. Hope that makes sense

sim081005
05-10-2009, 22:04
Listen to bubs, are they swallowing quickly like gulping, struggling to find a rhythm of breathing and swallowing. If I move the nipple away when bubs let go, its shooting out ...... jet streaming, sometimes 2-3 streams at once, where as bubs prefers it dripping. Hope that makes sense
Oh that sounds like me. I have one stream go into Mason's eye, another on the arm of the chair & normally another going onto his chin. The poor guy just wants chance to get his breath back.

I have found that if I express the morning feed & 8pm feed it helps as this is when I am at my brim which leads to a massive let down

Californication
06-10-2009, 13:06
Mini-me - maybe we should swap bubs - or boobs! I think W would prefer mine were more like yours :D Last night I pumped at 10pm, which I do every night, and it took 12 minutes for the letdown to come. Ridiculous!

Sim - maybe you need CLR for boobs! :laughing:

tummy fairy
11-10-2009, 17:39
I thought I'd just post my progress. :smiliedance:

No longer using the nipple shields. Baby girl just started latching on and has done it every feed since Friday night. Boy, is my mood better and I can finally enjoy after feed cuddles instead of having to jump on the pump to express.

I think it was definately a case of a preterm baby who was too small and unco for the first few weeks.

Clare, I hope your bubby does the same thing when he's ready. :thumbsup:

Californication
11-10-2009, 17:54
I thought I'd just post my progress. :smiliedance:

No longer using the nipple shields. Baby girl just started latching on and has done it every feed since Friday night. Boy, is my mood better and I can finally enjoy after feed cuddles instead of having to jump on the pump to express.

I think it was definately a case of a preterm baby who was too small and unco for the first few weeks.

Clare, I hope your bubby does the same thing when he's ready. :thumbsup:

That is fantastic news TF! I haven't tried for a few days - last time I did W got SO upset that he was screaming which he never does, and it just put me right off. Seeing him so upset really upset me too. Then we went away for the weekend, so will have to get back into it tomorrow and hope that my little man follows your little girls example!

krispy
26-10-2009, 06:24

I need help!!! :(

Have been unwell with really bad tonsillitis and couldn't eat or drink for 2 days. My supply basically just stopped, and now I can't seem to get it back!

For the last 3 days I have been drinking litres and litres of water, resting, eating super healthy, I even made lactation cookies! Poor little S has been feeding hourly and not sleeping well as he's just not satisfied. Early morning I can get enough, but by mid afternoon I'm struggling, and by evening I'm needing to give him formula :( Saturday evening he took 220mls of formula in about 2 mins flat, and he's only 4 weeks old! Poor little fella must have been starving :(

has anyone got any suggestions as to what I can try to get my supply back up? I'll be devastated if I have to continue with some forumla feeds :(

sim081005
26-10-2009, 08:36

I need help!!! :(

Have been unwell with really bad tonsillitis and couldn't eat or drink for 2 days. My supply basically just stopped, and now I can't seem to get it back!

For the last 3 days I have been drinking litres and litres of water, resting, eating super healthy, I even made lactation cookies! Poor little S has been feeding hourly and not sleeping well as he's just not satisfied. Early morning I can get enough, but by mid afternoon I'm struggling, and by evening I'm needing to give him formula :( Saturday evening he took 220mls of formula in about 2 mins flat, and he's only 4 weeks old! Poor little fella must have been starving :(

has anyone got any suggestions as to what I can try to get my supply back up? I'll be devastated if I have to continue with some forumla feeds :(
Not sure if this will help you but when my supply gets low I eat the cookies & express for 10 minutes after the feeds I am lacking. It took me a few days to get my supply back. Otherwise you can go to your GP & I know there are some tablets you can take or call a lactation consultant

Good luck with it.

Californication
26-10-2009, 10:28
Otherwise you can go to your GP & I know there are some tablets you can take or call a lactation consultant

Sim is right Krispy. Motilium are the tablets. Dose is 3 a day, so get the Dr to give you the 100 pack. Apparently they work better over time, but you may have better luck if you had a goo supply in the first place! It is def possible to relactate.

Another thing to do is look in the main BF (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70) section as someone there will prob be able to help. Or call the ABA.

Good luck!

krispy
27-10-2009, 04:02
Thanks so much girls, will try all your suggestions! :)

RoseKathleen
27-10-2009, 09:02
Hi Krispy :wave:

Darn that you are still not feeling better! Please don't stress, it will be easy to get Sonny off formula and back on the breast, as long as he is feeding from you still. Work on you getting better first.

I have taken Motilium and they seem to work really well - but do take 24 hours to kick in. They are actually anti-nausea tablets and the lactation thing is a side effect! I took them because anti-biotics I was taking was making me sick. 24 hours later I am bursting!

Why don't you try top-up feeds? You say that by night-time you are empty. Try feeding at lunch, then a top up of 80-100mls of formula or however much he will take. Then do that for his afternoon and evening feeds as well. That way you are getting the breast stimulation you need, Sonny is getting at least some breast milk and then the formula will fill him up.

Good luck and get well.

xx,
R

Californication
30-10-2009, 15:54
Krispy - how are you going? If you haven't managed to get back to BF, I have another idea for you. Look on the ABA website and they have Supplemental Nursing Systems. It's a bottle thing with tubes you tape to your nipples, so bubs gets EBM or formula from the tubes, while stimulating your breasts to feed from there as well. Hope that makes sense! I got one off Ebay (there were 2 so if you are interested, look there) as William is still having issues. Hoping this will be the answer we need to be able to give up the expressing and bottle feeds!!!

RoseKathleen - I am on Motilium too, but haven't noticed an increase. What dose are you taking?