View Full Version : Our Little Bubbas! (July 06)
Mother Duck
06-07-2006, 12:05
OK - decided to just get this thing going.
CONGRATULATIONS all the new ma's and pa's and of course the multi-grava's!
We have travelled the last nine months or so together (those from due July 06 thread) - so here I raise my glass to parenthood and looking out for each other in the next however long!
Lots of Love
Jessie
rachdent
07-07-2006, 13:40
Hey gals and babies
I haven't had mine but thought I'd just give Jessie some company in here as it seems a lot of you new mums are VERY, VERY busy....
Looking forward to hearing each other's stories and offering advice when asked.
Mother Duck
07-07-2006, 14:18
Tis nice and reassuring to see you in here with me rach!
I'm looking forward to your tips on breastfeeding! I'll start with a Q'n for you. I have heard that if you express early stages milk it is no good to freeze for use later as the milk changes with various ages of bub.
I don't overly trust the source of this info so tell me what you think.
And a tip from me that has worked super well with a new baby - water only for changing bottoms, just cotton balls and plain old water. No products - works so well in avoiding nappy rash.
Hope to see you new mummas in here soon.
Jayney and Lollie especially as you guys must be exhausted - this is for you ....:kiss: ......:)
TinyStar
07-07-2006, 14:31
Hi guys, Jessie you are thinking of expressing already! you are organised!
I just have a "new mum" observation.:
why is it a cruel joke that just after giving birth you get to have a nice long pee after 9 months, and that is the most painful thing on the face of the planet?
How long does this pain thing last for? I was promised a pain free vaginal recovery! lol
Mother Duck
08-07-2006, 11:07
Hi there Tiny Star - welcome to the post bubbas spot!
Hi guys, Jessie you are thinking of expressing already! you are organised!
Indeed - I am very organised, my house is a debarkle but thats because it isn't organised, not me!
How long does this pain thing last for? I was promised a pain free vaginal recovery! lol
Geez luvvie - painfree eh? - who promised you that? It doesn't last long.
How are the afterpains? Often worse with a second bub - has anyone shown you to massage your uterus as you feed? Helps bring it back to 'normal' - just use the ball of your palm (iykwim) and push downwards over the uterus, push firmly though.
Not sure if anyone knows and I am not sure who the breastfeeding guri was (was it you Rachael?) but I can only get one of the twins to latch onto the right breast and not the left whereas the other one will take it from either side but cause one is taking it from the right the other only gets to feed from the left.
The problem is the little one has trouble latching I think due to a little mouth. Maybe I should just continue what I am doing until they get a little bigger.
Thanks to Jessie for the link (you are so thoughtful :kiss: ) My brain is like pikles at the moment and I don't even know what day it is anymore. I guess thats what two hours sleep (if that does to you)
This breastfeeding is so much harder than I thought. A feed for the boys takes me one hour with burping and thats another hard task. I definitely need help to do this
Mother Duck
08-07-2006, 11:55
:hugs: Hello gorgeous girl!
Welcome back - pickles for brains or not we love your company either way ;)
Yep Rachdent is the 'guri' ;) on breastfeeding, although she is too modest to say so. I am sure she will pop in to give you some info later. I am actually about to email her something so I will let her know.
Meanwhile, just some info for you Jayney that might help. It often takes me up to an hour to feed just one bubba so don't worry about it taking so long. And don't expect that you could do this without the help. The best thing is for you to just focus on feeding them and don't worry about anything else.
Three things for you to remember (the first of which is a special nag just for you!)
1 - drink HEAPS of fluid while you are feeding them, have a jug next to you and just think to yourself 'what comes out must go in' - plus eat some almonds if you can (great to keep milk nice and creamy!)
2 - You are doing a brilliant job to feed twins, no matter how hard it is just remember you are doing really well to feed them for however long you can.
3 - It will end! One day you will get some sleep and the worst (sorry better to say 'hardest') part is for the first three months. That's only 12 weeks Jayney, count em out and just think of how fast the first trimester went!
We are all here for you every step of the way
Extra hugs for you Jayney my love :hugs:
thanks Jess, you always make me feel better about things. Gee I missed everyone on the thread and the support.
TinyStar
08-07-2006, 19:11
Yes well the pain thing is over for the mo', just after I posted yesterday a had a visit from my lovely community midwife, who gave me some tips on getting in some pain free peeing. (loads of fluids and ural).
I now have set "events" where I must drink a glass of water, when I pee and when I feed and when I eat.
Jayney you are a legend just for attempting to breastfeed twins, each feed they get is good for them, and it is even harder getting into a feeding routine after having a c/section. Hang in there, your little one will soon figure out what he has to do.
The afterpains did not last long, I had a retained placenta so ended up with sintocin IV after the birth to try and deliver it, so think that actualy took care of most of the uterine shrinkage.
Will go now and spend some time with Mr Star poor thing has been neglected of late.
rachdent
10-07-2006, 09:22
Hiya mummies
Golly I'm soooooooooooo over this pregnancy thing and can't be bothered saying that again, so I haven't posted in the other thread this morning. But wanted to check in and help you guys (if I can) with the breastfeeding).
Jayney - I say keep going how you're going!!! If one babe only wants to feed on one breast, then let them (as you say the other is happy on either). LEt the one that is struggling feed as much as possible (know it's exhausting in the early days) as that will help build up your supply in that breast - if he's not as strong, he may need longer to build supply. Hope that helps!! In a few weeks, when he seems better you can try to swap them!
Jessie - good on ya for expressing!! I couldn't be bothered in the first few weeks. I've checked back in my manuscript and I've included nothing about not expressing (and storing) in the first few weeks. You can freeze all breastmilk for up to three months (although I'd recommend using it earlier) and freezing I think does lose a little of the quality but it's still good stuff. I'd say as long as your baby isn't going to be getting only expressed milk, then there's no reason not to start storing it. Hope that makes sense. I'm in a bit of a wierd way this morning - headache, sore breasts and generally just fed up!
Speak soon ladies,
RACH!
Thanks Rachael,
I have also done a bit of expressing but are having trouble with the express machine I purchased - I bought a medala mini electric and I seem to be able to express better with the hand. Used a ameda in the hospital and it was excellent.
Having trouble hiring one of these though
I
rachdent
10-07-2006, 16:26
I found the best breast pump (after wasting money on a Nuk electric) was definately the Aventi Isis Manual Hand Pump - muchly recommend it!
mini munchkin
10-07-2006, 17:06
hello my wonderful ladies!!
sorry no caps this post am feeding bub and not yet a master at typing with one hand!!!
jayney, just wanted to say your amazing! keep going gal :D :hugs: to u.
still working on finding time to write birth plan.... will get to it i promise!
mmm, my dinner is ready! (am so lucky to be married to a chef) talk soon. mwa xx
TinyStar
10-07-2006, 18:11
Hi gals,
Jayney I bought the medela mini electric too, and have found it not very good. (I thought it was just me) It cost HEAPS so seems a waste to buy another.
My milk has come in, and post baby blues hit. So I've been blubbing away for much of the day.
Managed to get out of the house (best cure for the blues is getting sunshine and some physical activity) and bumped into my middie at the shops, had a rundown of the birth outside woolies (Noice, hope no-one was eavesdropping lol)
Sigh, the muscles around my scar are hurting, the things no-one tells you about a VBAC............
Hiya girls
I'm having a few probs with feeding and have 2 cracked nipples... I think I was a bit over confident having done it before and didn't check positiioning that well, plus bubs has a tiny mouth and keeps trying to nipple feed! My middy has told me to express for 2 days and has lent me a hand pump, today hubby got the electric attachment which is hired at $16 a week. I've never gone into expressing much before but it seems to be helping to heal my nipples. I'm just a bit sad I'm not feeding myself as I miss the closeness and I'm a bit worried we'll have problems trying to go back and whether it's the right thing :confused: I'm thinking of going to see the lactaction consultant on Thursday so we'll see how we go.
Hmmm, gotta go pump my boobies now... mooo!!!
Take care and congratulations all you new mummies!
Mother Duck
10-07-2006, 20:36
MMascore and Bessie - Hi there!!
Bessie - have you tried lanolin on the nipples? My boy also has a weird attachment which 'smarts' on the nipples a bit. Also I find just expressing out a teeny bit and letting it dry on the nipple works really well.
As for the breast pumps, definately the Avent works best for me too. If you are not too fussy you can pick them up very reasonably on ebay.
Rachdent - I so felt the same in the pg, just got so fed up with constantly complaining about all the various ailments!
On to another subject altogether, and you all know how I love to totter on the TMI side of things! It is amazing how different I feel about 'intimacy' with DH this time round, I feel ready already (not that I will yet in case I do any damage with the cervix poss still a little open) but I remember really clearly it was a long time before I could after DD - I felt so frightened, almost like 'the first time' - strange how relaxed I feel that way this time
Anyway - T'rah for now
Lots of Love
Jess
Oooo I'm stepping in without Nugget!
Jessie - The intimacy thing worries me. Chris and I have ALWAYS enjoyed a rather good sex life, including throughout this entire pregnancy, (although lately he's been losing it! :eek:) I've read through bubhub people being scared and not wanting to have sex for ages after the first child. I -hope- I'm not like that.. and I'm sure Chris hopes so too!!
Is it something that I'll eventually just have to 'get over' and do it.. like riding a bike, we're all scared after we haven't been on one for a while but we have to bite the bullet..
Mother Duck
11-07-2006, 08:14
.. like riding a bike..
hmmm - like riding a bike eh? ;)
sorry no caps - bubba feeding
seekrit you are with nugget - she is just all snuggly inside instead of out!
yeah it can feel really weird - but just see how you feel and then pm us for support. i remember dh was so amazing about it all - made me feel very loved and special - in ways while it was scary for me it was also quite beautiful!
Gotta go to Gympie ad then to sunnie coast airport so i better wriggle!
And nice to have you in here seek!
TinyStar
11-07-2006, 09:09
Jessie I love your TMI talk, dont be shy! I am still of mixed feelings in this depertment. I think because it is less than a week and having a different method of birth is also an issue. I am mainly nervous about falling pg again as I seem to be able to do it without much hassle!
I am not really nervous as such, but I am still healing and my body is sore and uncomfortable so I'm not ready yet. Give me a few weeks.
Anyway must go
mini munchkin
11-07-2006, 10:29
bessie, hope everything works out with ur breast feeding. i got grazed nipples which r starting to settle down. like jess said, expressing a little milk and then leaving to air dry helps heaps, as has the lanolin.
am still too sore to think about doing the wild thing, but am not turned off like i was during pregnancy. thank heavens or i think dh would have died!!
a ?? for u all... when i feed luci, sometimes she throws up what seems like the whole feed:eek: she didn't lose any weight in hosp.. gained 100g in fact... but didn't seem to be throwing up as much then. at first i thought it was my flow was too much too fast so am making sure i feed her reclining... but it doesn't seem to be helping much... any ideas?? do u think shes getting enough to eat??
have a good day xxx
Angel'sCandy
11-07-2006, 10:29
good morning lovely mummies :wave: how are we all and our bubbas going?
Jayney, you are the most admirable person i know. i can't imagine how hard it must be for you, but you're a strong person and you can do this. we are all here for you if you need us :hugs: to you.
well, my little bubba is sleeping at the moment. she's quite a good little sleeper, we get about 6 hrs sleep a night so i can't complain. i still haven't done my birth story yet but i will get round to it one day :rolleyes:
well, hope you are all well, i am gonna try to get a better close up piccy to put on. another thing i'll do one day :laughing:
Hiya girls, DH is off for some lansinoh as my sample is nearly run out. I've been piling it high and it seems to be healing them up :fingerscrossed: I'm off to the hospy on Thursday to see the lactation consultant. In a way it's been nice to start expressing so soon as I never succeeded with it before, but I just don't want it to turn into a vicious cycle and then find she doesn't want the breast.
RE intimacy, it was better after my DS than before, although I have no idea why? Perhaps it was after discovering a new bond between us or maybe such an empowering birth experience?
This time round I'm going to leave it longer. I had an internal tear and have been told to wait 6 weeks and because I can't see it, I'm a bit unsure about checking it. Well, it's early days yet anyhow. I'm so glad my perineum is alright though, it was bad last time and it's lovely being able to sit here on a hard chair as I type!
Some mates have taken my 2 kids out today so I am feeling very :) It's lovely to have the bubs out now, I feel like I can stay up and watch my fav programmes without falling asleep and can bend over and do more stuff! Here's to getting back to normal, although it'll take a few months won't it!
Hope yous are all remembering your pelvic floor exercises, I keep forgetting but they're worth it!
BTW Does anyone have a really dodgy looking tum like mine, its sorta separated down the middle :thumbsdown: gotta check what exercises the physio said to do.
11-07-2006, 12:01
hello new mummies! so lovely reading that ur all enjoying ur lil bundles of love, cant wait to step in here with mine.
jessi, had to comment on ur tmi, its a subject that all discuss, with DD1 i was an absolute shocker and Dh had to wait 8mths :eek: i know terrible isnt it, but she was a stargazer, and it hurt really bad, but also for me it was a mind game as well, DD2 well much shorter than the first but was still 3.5mths, once again mainly a mind thing. My DH is great bout it (thank goodness) so we'll see what happens with this one.
MMascore? quest bout lucia not getting enuff? believe it or not, she sounds like she is, even though she is chucking it up, they like to get really greedy, my girls did too.
Bessie, good on ur mates for taking out ur other littlies, so u can have one on one time with your newbie.
Jayney: just hafta say ur doing a great job B/F 2 littlies, its so difficult at first with one, (taking a trip down mem lane ) with DD1 she used to feed every 2hrs, and i found that very demanding.
TS how is mr P going? hope all is well
adykel: how is ur lil Miss Angelina?
now if ive missed anyone im sozzies, brain in lala land, as we know its still pregs too. am starting to get real nervous bout being induced tomorrow. so hopefully i will be joining u in here in a couple of days!
Mother Duck
11-07-2006, 20:31
oohh ahhh - SO GOOD to have y'all in here!
Mmascore - get a teaspoon of water and throw it on the floor, then look at how much it looks like it is. Often when they chuck it seems like it is much more than it actually is, I'll wager she is getting all she needs!
Gotta go - sorry in a hurry tonight
Love J
TinyStar
12-07-2006, 06:08
aaaawwwww My little man is an angel. Just thought I'd share that.
My dad reckons he is just like me when I was little. Apparently he and my mum used to go out for dinner and shove me in a basket under the table.:laughing:
rachdent
12-07-2006, 09:40
Hey mmscore
Just wanted to say I LOVE the photo on your avator! There's something about dads and their babies...
mini munchkin
12-07-2006, 15:05
hehehehe :D thanks rach!! he's completely besotted :)
thanks for the help jess and maria re luci chucking! the tea spoon of water thing helped heaps.
12-07-2006, 15:40
Hi all!! :wave: Well firstly i want to say a huge congrats to you all for having beautiful healthy bubs!! :smiliedance: Secondly i cant believe ive finally made it in here with you all. I seriously thought i wasnt going to be having her anytime soon. So how have you all been? Hows your new bubs treating you? Little Alethea's an angel shes such a pleasure to have. She hardly ever crys, just like Jayden used to be. It might have to do with the fact that she has a bit of jaundice too. Anyway i havent got much else to report except im loving being a mum the 2nd time around to a beautiful girl! I hope you are all feeling well and your bubs arent keeping you up to late at night! :fingerscrossed: ;)
Just checking in to see how you are all doing. We finally have the breast feeding sorted :smiliedance: as my cracked nipples are healed up (thanks to dollops of lansinoh and a bit of time resting them and using the pump). So we are happy bunnies!
Take care x
Hi everyone, sorry to crash. Thought I would join you guys seeing as my twins are here now. Just a quickie in regards to the medela breast pump mini. I bought one on Sunday just gone, used it 3 - 4 times per day and today thre blasted thing stopped. According to medela it is for OCCASIONAL USE ONLY not for usage over twice per day. Thought I would pre-warn anyone who buys this machine that no refunds will be given to those who do not abide by the instructions. Instructions? Where? Nothing on the bloody box - who gives a toss about hte instructions? YOu can't exactly read the instructions until you get home!! :mad: They have recommended the backpack one for me. It has the same motor as the symphony (ones they use in hospital) but just smaller and compact in a handy bag so you can express (up to 12 times per day :D ) anywhere and everywhere. Its about $500 but better than forking out $240 for the blasted thing to go Kuput and get no refund from it!!!
Just thought I would let you guys know my little adventure with the medela mini. Gosh the machine was only 3 days old for crying out loud....:mad:
RE Breastfeeding - trying my hardest but one of my twins has trouble latching which is a bit of a bummer. Am now getting close to 80 mls (sometimes more sometimes less) out of each breast when I express. Am very proud of myself....:thumbsup:
TinyStar
12-07-2006, 19:36
Hey lollie i have a spare medela mini, its a useless piece o cr*p, might get another 3 days out of it.:laughing:
Love your avator pic btw very cute.
My little guy is doing well, he is a good feeder but had a fussy day, choking on his milk. Should settle down once the supply does.
Not really much to report, I can feel all my muscles snapping back, and getting hormonal, sniff sniff.
Oh yes, and DH is now talking about number 3,:eek: bit soon luvvy, lol.
Mother Duck
13-07-2006, 14:11
hello all
Hope you are all doing well
Hi Lollie!!!! Your avatar is rather gorgeous! Re feeding, I think Jayney was having a similar trouble with one of hers - read back from our earlier comments to her coz they apply to you too. Keep it up - as per an earlier comment, any feeds you can give them is WONDERFUL!!
Tiny Star - at least they took you with them, mine used to leave me (crying) in a basket on the table and just go out anyway!!! Gawd bless em!
Other stuff - my brother and sil have been here for two nights, just left, they are over from the uk for a fleeting visit, it was so great to see them! My house is a debarkle again now though!
Mickayla is settling down nicely, a bit better each day - was certainly an interesting integration!
Anyway as good as they are better go - my kidlets need some attention!
Bye for now
Love J
13-07-2006, 14:22
Hi everyone, hows your new bubs going? Well ive been discharged today from the early discharge program, so all is well. The only thing thats a bit of a worry is that little alethea's jaundice isnt going away. The nurse used this machine to read the jaundice levels and they are still the same and in fact gone up a bit! :eek: She took some blood to be sent off and ill get the results some time this afternoon. She said that if they have gone too high then i have to go back to hospital to put her under the lamps! :( To me she seemed to have been getting better, but according to the machine she's got worse. Oh well ill just have to wait for the results. Apart from that all is going well. She is feeding a lot better today than she was two days ago. Jayden absolutely loves having a little bubby around. He keeps rubbing her and giving her kisses as he walks past her, so cute!! :D Anyway ill have to go and wait for this phone call and ill let you girls know how it went. Im hoping its ok. :fingerscrossed:
Mother Duck
13-07-2006, 14:28
no caps again sorry - liitle man feeding -
j's ma - don't stress about the jaundice - have 'they' explained what it is to you? bubs needs extra red blood cells when in the womb to produce oxygen - when born they don't need them anymore so the body sends the excess cells to the surface where they breakdown - in an older person yellow = very ill (kidneys??) - in a babe no worries, all good! anyway hope this helps - love j
Popping in to say hi. Had 4 hours of disjointed sleep last night so feel slightly human.
I thought it was just me but the mini electric is **** doesn't do sh_t! Cost me $99 bucks and Lollie your right no instructions. Things I might hire one but liked the ameda but cannot seem to find anyone who has them.
Intimacy - yep I really feel up to a good old role in the hay but not sure if I know what to do anymore. They say to wait 6 weeks though? Hubby would certainly be up to it. Its been a long long time. We are so sleep deprived that we are not getting on the best. Mind you hubby started work this week and is getting much more than I am. Women certainly are a different bread.
Still confused about breast feeding. Seem to be getting my little fella latching on better (never sure if they are but figure if it doesn't hurt and they have jaw movements then their on). Still feel expressing is a waste of time as if they jump on then I figure you might as well feed them but never know if they get enough.. Would appeciate peoples thoughts on this as I find it all too time consuming.
Congrats to people who have had bubbas. Kind of out of the loop and in a different world right now
love
Jayney:)
Gees sorry about all the typos,
13-07-2006, 15:05
Ive just got the results in and her levels have gone up since last blood test. :( The nurse told me that they were on border line danger zone. She said that they are going to test her again tomorrow and if they are still the same or got worse then i have to go in! :(
I hope it all goes well Naomi.
13-07-2006, 15:28
Me too! :fingerscrossed:
TinyStar
13-07-2006, 18:31
oh big :hugs: Naomi, thats no good. I was worried about Mr P too as he was a bit yellow.
The middies seem to think it's not much of a drama you just go in, they lie under the lights, and get heaps of fluids. I was told to keep feeding heaps and to put bubs naked in the sun. (put them next to a window with the heater on).
Jayney who says wait 6 weeks? If your stiches are ok and you feel up to it, there should not be a problem. (hint if you put a pillow or towel over your scar area it will feel more supported) I certainly didn't wait 6 weeks after my c/s. Do you have a community nurse checking up on you? Maybe ask them.
If bubba is not asking for more food for a few hours (2-3) then I guess they are getting enough?????? I was always bad at expressing, so I dont really know volumes.
hiya janey
i was just thinking that counting wet nappies is a better way of keeping track of how much they're having, especially coz u cant guess how much breast fed bubs are taking.
i find expressing a bit of a mixed bag... although you get the relief from engorgement and can share feeding with you dh, it can mess up your balance of supply and it can be a right pain to sit there on the pump. however, im no twin expert!
good luck though :hugs:
sozzy about no caps and stuff, have a bub in arms x
Thanks for the tips ladies.
Mother Duck
14-07-2006, 11:04
Jayney - if the bubbas have dilute wee they are getting enough, ie when you change their nappies you should be able to see. If there is darker wee then they are needing a bit more. It is amazing how much milk you are actually producing!
And apparently it only takes about half an hour to 'refill' those boobies!
J's ma - I hope bubba is OK - tell me more, what is the danger about, as I posted earlier I didn't realise that they can be in danger from jaundice - scuse my ignorance! :o Tell me more
Hope you are all well - Love J
All the best for the test results Jaydensmum :fingerscrossed:
LMAO in regards to the breast pump. Oi before I forget Jayney I think you are referring to the BP they use in hospitals? If you like I would try the medela symphony. You can hire from the amcal stores. Not sure what the price is but amcal have given me one until stock for the other pump comes in and its better than the one I used in hospital. It really feels like its an actual baby suckling.
Can you tell me how am I to count urine nappies? lol my baby girl has only had a few (and I mean I can count on one hand - not kidding ya) the amount of pi$$y nappies she's had. The rest have been dirty oh runny and smelly :barf: . I kid you not, this girl must take after her daddy.
Well am going to go and have a few minutes afternoon rest before they wake again. I couldn't ask for a better helper though. Corey is so keen to help me out and he absolutely adores them. Here I was thinking I was going to have trouble but he seems to be really excited to have them here. Ok going.....
(Ps happy baby gazing to all)
mini munchkin
14-07-2006, 16:40
another question for you all...
can i eat goats cheese and brie and all that yuummy stuff that was out of bounds for the last 9/10 mnths???
naomi hope all is well with your test results.
Was wondering the same thing mmascore?
mini munchkin
14-07-2006, 19:18
ooohhh jayney....your little men are beautiful!!!!!!!!!:D you must be so proud:yelclap: aren't they just the best to photograph!
hows the feeding going?? xxx
Angel'sCandy
14-07-2006, 20:03
:wave: everyone.
CONGRATS hereigoagain and welcome Angelina. did you choose a middle name?
well i had a bad night tonight, i can't stop crying and i feel like i'm not going to be able to cope. does anyone else feel like this? :crying:
Angelina is going good. i can't complain too much, we get about 6 hrs sleep at night (not altogether), but it's the lack of sleep that i find hard to get used to. :o well, must go lotsa love to you all and hope all mummas and bubbas are doing well. :kiss:
TinyStar
14-07-2006, 20:06
Yes you can eat all the yummy stuff you have missed out on!!!!!!
Listeria can pass through the placenta but not breast milk, (or so I've heard please correct me if I am wrong)
Funny thing is I pass by the sushi bar every day at the shops, and I still have not bothered to by a sashimi tray..:confused: waiting for summer and DH will take us all to the fish markets.
Big :hugs: adykel, it's all those hormones making you feel down. I've got it too, I start blubbing at the silliest things. If it's the middle of the night and you need to talk to someone Tresillian should be able to help, (I'd chat with you but if you woke me up I'd start crying too lol)
Nice pics everyone.
Angel'sCandy
14-07-2006, 20:11
just wanted to quickly say that everyone's bubbas are absolutely gorgeous :hugs:
mini munchkin
15-07-2006, 10:47
TS and Kel, am feeling a bit similar... Luci is a wonderful bub and am getting enough sleep... my prob is i have MIL staying here to 'help out' we didn't want her to come up but DH has a very strained relationship with her... AND she only really cares about herself.. so she does as she pleases any way!!!:banghead: (thanks 4 the vent!) any how... she's making me feel really inadequete... like I'm not good enough, even though I know I'm going really well (part thanks 2 a good bub)..... I think it has to do with how much she fusses over Lucia and calls her princess (not sure why tht bothers me..??) wants to pick her up all the time and sometimes holds her for soooooo long, when i should be holding her or she should be in bed....argh... she's just really getting on my nerves!
:hugs: to you all....my thoughts are with you. xx
mini munchkin
15-07-2006, 13:03
just wanted to let you know I've done my birth story! it's a bit long, but hope you enjoy!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=488365#post488365
rachdent
15-07-2006, 14:41
Ahh MILs don't ya just love em!! A couple of my friends have brilliant ones but well... let's not go there! Sending you :hugs: When is she packing her bags again?
mini munchkin
15-07-2006, 17:32
Rach, your fantastic! Thanks for making me laugh!! She's leaving on Monday! Luci has a ped appoint Monday arvo... might tell MIL it's earlier than it really is!!!??
Have a good night xxx
15-07-2006, 18:42
Hi all, i dont know much about jaundice to answer your question jessie, sorry. With the results they asked us to come into the hospital yesterday and they sent away for another blood test. It came back that its going down but really slowly. The day that i posted the results, it was high, in fact 336 and the danger part where they put them under the lamps is 340!!!! :eek: Yesterday it went down to 298. We have to go back to the hospital tomorrow to see if its going down or up again. She hasnt been feeding real well and i have to actually wake her for her feeds. She has been sleeping all day today and she is still very yellow. Im hoping that her little body gets rid of it soon. :fingerscrossed: Apart from that its good that the results went down, but i just hope that they keep doing it.
I hope everything is going ok with you all and your new bubs. Hows motherhood treating you all? Its such a pleasure looking into your bubs eyes and seeing that this beautiful little baby is something that you created with your DH. Its something real special!! :D
Mother Duck
15-07-2006, 19:52
while i am not jealous of the missed sleep - i mustadmit i am jealous of your twins! so very special you ladies - they are just gorgeous!
i agree about the photos - they are amazing! love yours mmas, just beams 'motherhood' in all its glory
tinystar - when i drove down to the coast to get my brother on tues i went so out of my way to find a japanese restaurant - house special thank you very much!!
as for us - all doing well but have been busy busy
Kel - yes that is exactly how i felt after mikki - not so much this time round but :hugs: thinking of you with much love!!!
TinyStar
15-07-2006, 20:54
Ah Jess, you mentioned a Japanese restaurant....you made me think of JuJu's a way cool (not really) karaoke bar in Kings Cross in Sydney. The food is pretty good, the wine is REALLY cheap, and the karaoke is hilarious. Lordy I'd just love to have a night out with all you girls there!
My little man is such a good angel, he is so portable! We went out all day to try and find a house to rent, he slept the whole time. No problem. He feeds well, even DH noticed that, and he gets rid of his wind, (bit like his dad lol) by himself.
I'm getting over my blubbing, it started with a midwife asking me if my family was complete, I said yes and started crying. A week later I have accepted the fact that yes my family is complete, and no I dont want another child, my poor uterus has had about as much as it can handle methinks. So I have started to look to the future, making plans to visit my GP and talk contraception.
I was thinking mirena, but not sure that stuffing anything in my uterus is a really crash hot idea, I had so much trouble after having Estella. Thats how I ended up here! hmmmmm any ideas guys?
:hugs: to everyone and all your beautiful bubbas.
Mother Duck
15-07-2006, 21:03
My little man is such a good angel, he is so portable! We went out all day to try and find a house to rent, he slept the whole time. No problem. He feeds well, even DH noticed that, and he gets rid of his wind, (bit like his dad lol) by himself.
mine too -except for exactly now - but that's coz he's hungry - gotta go !
16-07-2006, 16:39
:wave: everyone.
[COLOR="Magenta"]CONGRATS hereigoagain and welcome Angelina. did you choose a middle name?
yes we finally decided on one, Angelina Monique!
16-07-2006, 16:47
hiya lovely mummas! its been great reading up on all the posts! well trying to and hold lil lina at the same time.
jayney and lollie, u guys are great with breastfeeding twins.
all the lil bubs are so gorgeous, i havent even had a chance to load the photos of my cam yet, so will hafta wait a bit longer.
as for jaundice, my lil Lina looks quite yellow today, my eldest had high biliruben results, she went under the lamps, am wondering if Lina will have to, she will have her heel ***** test tomorrow.
Im soooooooooo in love with her, and my girls, they are our absolute angels, perfect in every form.
ive also been a bit blubbery, spec not seeing my girls whilst i was in hosp, until i had Lina, very traumatic for me as ive never left them (sniff) even my eldest was very sad for me to be in hospital "all by myself"
anyhow lovies, will post more mebe tomorrow, now i need to eat and sleep whilst i can. and i will eventually post my birth story. one day.....as we all say:p
Someone mentioned 6 hours sleep. OMG I would love 6 hours sleep. Some nights I get none and others I might average between 2 to 4 hours sleep.
Also someone mentioned about food not going into breast milk. I had a pasta the other night and my hubby put a chilli in out of the garden and I only had a small amount as I was concerned and one of my boys cried all night, so no more chilli or curries for me.
I am enjoying a glass of wine after breastfeeding at night.
Good talking to you all and nice to see your posts again hereigoagain.
Jayney
Hiya girls
We went for our first walk today, to the lake, with the big kids on their bikes and bubs with DH in a sling. It is so nice not to be pg, I don't think I could ever do it again!
It was lovely to get out but now I'm feeling a bit sore :rolleyes: Hmmm better get a bath soon!
BTW I just remembered about the wet nappy counting thing... probably too late now, but the midwife reckoned you can tell if dirty nappies are wet too as you can rip them, then the wee makes the inside bit yellow. Now I bet you will just love ripping your nappies open to check! :p
Mother Duck
17-07-2006, 14:51
I am enjoying a glass of wine after breastfeeding at night.
good for you! - me too ;)
i ate something with saurkraut in it - and oh my......a good 24hrs later! Poor bubs
hang in there J - one night they will sleep through (and then you will be awake anyway with a wet finger under their nose to check they are still breathing!)
:kiss:
Hey all you lucky mumma's with their bubba's already!
Just to let you know I just got an sms from Rachdent..... her little bundle, Lachlan Campbell, was born by c-sect at 10.50 this morning.... weighing in at 3.84kg and 49cm long!!
17-07-2006, 16:42
hi mummies. i cant believe its already been 3 days since i had angelina. its amazing how the final stages of pregnancy goes soooooo slow, then you have ur bootiful bundle, and it goes too fast. dh and i were talking last nite bout how qkly our girls have grown, we are still stumped that our eldest is going to be 7 next month:eek: and our middle one (sounds cute) is going to be 3 soon (sniff) they growing to qk.
i must also say that i thoroughly enjoyed my glass of wine last night, it certainly was a treat for me as i didnt drink any in my pregnancy (didnt want to tempt fate).
anyhow lovelies, have a good night.
BTW I just remembered about the wet nappy counting thing... probably too late now, but the midwife reckoned you can tell if dirty nappies are wet too as you can rip them, then the wee makes the inside bit yellow. Now I bet you will just love ripping your nappies open to check! :p
:eek: ROTFLMAO haha not bloody likely lmao
Jayney having twins frst time around I wouldn't wish upon anyone. I find I am coping more with the twins than I did with Corey (and there was only 1 of him) but I think that is mainly due to the fact that I had the experience of dealing with a baby 24/7, so I knew what I was getting into *shrugs*. If you need a chat anytime email me - lollieangell@biglue.net.au Sometimes it just helps to have an ear.
I too also had the postnatal blues - lasted for a few days but feeling a lot better now. Thank goodness! All I have to say is don't be afraid to ask for help if you feel it getting too much. Postnatal blues do only last a short amount of time after birth but it can escalade into PND. None of us are supermum :hugs:
Btw yep things do go through breast milk. If anyones having problems seek advice from a lactation consultant or a trained midwife as to guide you with what foods you should be avoiding. Everyone is different and I'm one of those people (and according to statistics around 75% of BFers are) who HAVE to watch what they eat.
CONGRATULATIONS to Rachdent.
Me - I got 250 mls out of my breasts this morning. Ethan is attaching a lot better (whoo for me) but we're still doing express feeds of a night time. Easier to know that they're getting enough during the night and I don't have to muck around with attaching issues (which means less stressing out). Also Troy can help me out which is a godsend. I swear I dunno what I would do without him he's been great!
I had a nurse come around today (8 days after discharge) and she weighed the twins. Ok when I left hospital Ethan weighed around 2.7 kgs and little miss weighed 2.5 kilos. Today Shaiyan is 6lbs 2ozs (2.78 kilos) and Ethan is 6lbs 6ozs (2.87 kgs). Ethan isn't pass his birth weight yet but he has put on 170 grams since discharge (8 days ago) so they're only a little concerned.
Hmmm I think that's it from me! Congrats to those who have had babies, and sending rest vibes to those who are already experiencing the sleepless nights!
Ta for now
Lollie
TinyStar
18-07-2006, 06:59
what a lovely post lollie, very supportive.
I didnt post yesterday and maybe for a few days.............
I just feel like Patrick has been here forever, it's nearly 2 weeks now. I have no issues with him at all, he is such an angel.
I only have one little "recovery" issue which I am going to my GP to get sorted. I dont know about you guys but here after the birth the hospy just doesn't want to know you, and there is only so much the middies can help you with. Apart from that I feel totally normal, it's a bit strange really!
Keep up all the good feeding, and new baby vibes!
Thanks Lollie for the post and thanks for your email address. I have my Mum here to help and I really don't know how I would do it without her. Hubby helps but he works so he is not here through the day
The nurse came out to our house yesterday and weighed the boys. They were 3 weeks yesterday and have put on approx 300grams since they were born. Last week one had put on 60g and the other 90g and they were concerned but the last week they have certainly made up for it. They are still in 0000 but not long to go until they go into 3 zeros.
Had approx 5 hours of disjointed sleep and I feel alive today:yelclap:
I have trouble burping one of my boys. How old do they need to be before you don't have to burp anymore
Love
Jayney
18-07-2006, 11:41
hi mummies how are we all feeling? well for some reason today im feeling sorer than i did after giving birth. its a real weird feeling downstairs too hard to describe though. i finally did my birth story but forgot to paste the link:o
but its called The induction!
Mother Duck
18-07-2006, 11:47
I have trouble burping one of my boys. How old do they need to be before you don't have to burp anymore
here is a couple of methods to try -
1: sit bubba on your knee with one hand on the back of the head and one on the chin thus supporting head well - bubba should be upright - from there slowly 'roll' bubba in large circles (like one of those weighted at the bottom toys that roll around but stay upright) - frst one direction the t'other - the rolling should be gentle and slow but make good circles - this will work in the same way as a centrifuge, that is to say brings the bubbles of air to the surface in a burp (if this description doesn't make sense let me know)
2: place a flat hand in the small of bubba back and encourage the spine to curve in at the base - again just gentle but firm
hope it helps the first is great!!
Tiny Star - not enough info there my friend - we want to know what the issue is that you are having!! ;) hope you are OK :hugs:
Hi Lollie - sounds like good advice from you about the twins - you guru you!
t'rah all - love J
Mother Duck
18-07-2006, 11:49
....here's a scary thought - Jacob is one month old today! (4wks that is)
Already!!!!
Thanks Jess for the tips. :wave:
18-07-2006, 18:15
Hi everyone, hows motherhood treating you all? Well i just got out of hospital with Alethea today. She was in hospital for 2 days because she stopped drinking and became a bit dehydrated. Anyway im glad to be home with my family. Ever since we left hospital we've been going in and out from there. Hopefully i wont have to go in there for a while. Alethea is now doing really well and is finally going white. She's still a bit yellow but not anywhere near as yellow as last week. Well i have to go now bub is screaming. I hope everythings going ok with you and your bubs.
18-07-2006, 20:48
hiya mummas, just had to come in to let you all know that seekrit had nugget earlier this evening. and nugget has extra bits! yes its a boy. welcome codey!:smiliedance:
Mother Duck
18-07-2006, 21:19
Well knock me over with a feather! I would have sworn yours was a girl variety Seek - welcome to motherhood, I have a feeling you will be a wizz!
Lots of Love Jess
PS thanks hereigo for letting us know
Jayney - let us know how you get on with the burping thing
Love
Jayney
I'd like to know this, my little pickle is soo windy! I can't remember how long I burped the last one and the first one had colic, which is altogether much worse :confused:
I'm feeling sore downstairs too, I think I did too much today. Better go, pickle is hungry!
TinyStar
19-07-2006, 00:37
Well then Welcome Cobey!!!!!!
Congratulations nikki.:smiliedance:
Thanks for the burping tips jess, after being such a good boy Mr P has really needed those tips today!
Yeah well I'll share my TMI issue which I was gonna keep to myself, but only cos I want to vent!!!!!!!!
I've been getting funny pain in my scar, sorta like period pain but feelin git through the scar like when I was in labour. I had nearly finished bleeding (my discharge was spotty and yellow) after this pain started it went back to red, and the volume increased.
ANYWAY told my middie, who just groaned and said it sounded like some "bits" possibly of placenta had been left behind. (considering how the placenta came out I consider this to be quite likely)
ANYWAY middie was meant to come and help sort this out, but she is sick, so I went to my gp hoping to get somewhere.
the answer.......it's only been 2 weeks..........:banghead:
well excuse me for listening to MY body, and thinking that I may know if something is wrong. Think I'll be going elsewhere for my 6 week checkup, just hope I dont have to put up with this until then.
No sleep last night. Feel like s---!
Still have trouble burping. My little one has the reddest bum and I am concerned. He does a lot of bum burps. My bubbas seem to just spew all the time.
Any tips for getting peed on by little boys. It happens everytime I change a nappy
Have the sorest boob and feel very chilled all in my back and front and are waking up wet at night then are freezing.
I am off to the doctor at lunch if it doesn't clash with feeding.
Feel a bit down today.
Congrats Seekrit and family
just thought I'd say hi :wave:
my gorgeous lil boy was born on the 4th July. will be nice to have people to chat to who have bubba's around the same age :)
TinyStar
19-07-2006, 12:52
awww Big :hugs: Jayney, the only "tip" i have for changing boys is, make the room nice n warm. (it's the cold air that sends them off) and feed first change second. (I think they pee while they eat) oh and warm up the bum wipes (or use cotton balls in WARM water) before wiping. Seems to be working for me so far.
Welcome on board Myztik!
Welcome Myztik and huge congrats to Seekrit!!! Hope you are doing well and getting used to having a bubby boy!
As for changing boys, I remember having the new nappy ready to catch any flying wees, you can kinda hold their legs and the new one over their willy as you wipe their bum... they tend to grow out of it really quick so hopefully it will get better :fingerscrossed: I find girls harder as runny poo and get between the labia and you have to clean around there without getting it further up, boys are easier in the long run.
Sudocreme is the best cream for bottys though, they have the trial packs in the bounty bags and slather it on after every change.
I hate burping, it must be worse with twins, someone should invent an automated baby burping machine coz when you've fed them you just want to go back to :sleeping:
mini munchkin
19-07-2006, 13:58
Wonderful news for our seekrit!!!:) Must have been a big surprise!!
Welcome Myztik!! Your littlest one has the same b'day as mine!!!
Jayney:hugs: to you. My little one needs lotsa burping too... another good one is sitting them up..slightly leaning forward with one hand around their neck at the front, and then slight pats and big circle rubs on the back...definately could do with an automated system!!
As for weeing everywhere at change time... definately has something to do with the cold. I find that I undress her lower half down to just the nappy and then I set myself up (Getting the wipes and cotton wool and new nappy, and of course keeping one hand on her all the time!:)) that way she has a bit of time to adapt to the cold before I take that nappy off and the next one is ready to go!
TinyStar, The GP sounds a bit heartless... I hope everything's ok. :fingerscrossed: Your middie will be better soon.
I have to admit that I've been looking forward to my middie visit this Thurs as no one has looked at me since they stitched me up..... two of the stitches have disolved and I think everything is going ok... am still having slightly bloodly discharge (TMI) can't wait for it to turn brown and then white!!!
Starting to not be soooo sore down there... although I ran to Medicare yesterday and felt the side effects after!!!
MIL has finally gone, but is still calling at least once a day... just to see how we are... Don't worry lovelies I haven't answered any of her calls... I just hear her leaving msgs on the answering machine!! GRRRRRRR.. I wish she'd fall off the face of the earth.
Ok.. so much to do and bub wont be asleep for long... (dishes, thank you notes... and heaps of other things that I can't remember!! oh no!)
Thinking of you all, xxx
19-07-2006, 14:16
Hi everyone!! A huge congrats goes to seekrit and her hubby on the arrival of their little man!! Well done Nikki!! :thumbsup:
Im sorry to hear that your having a rough time Jayney, you poor thing! Have you got much support from friends and family? Im sure you'll need it having two little bubs. Hopefully they'll settle down for you soon. :fingerscrossed:
With my little miss, her jaundice is getting better. Shes still a bit yellow but not as much as last week. It seems she now has conjunctivitis!!! :eek: She woke up this morning with a weepy eye and i just shrugged it off as sticky eye but then i had a closer look and its a green colour!! :eek: Its been weeping all day. Its just one thing after another! Im not sure how she got it but im thinking probably from the hospital. Anyway least its easily treated.
mini munchkin
19-07-2006, 14:44
Hey Naomi,
Lucia has a gunky eye too... she got it in the last day of our hospy stay. They told me to bath it with saline. Her eye itself isn't red though.. and the ped wasn't concerned by it.... so I will just keep doing what I'm doing until the middie comes on Thurs...
:fingerscrossed: Your little miss gets over it quickly!!
19-07-2006, 16:00
hiya ladies, welcome myz.
couple of tips for conjunctivitus or weepy eyes, squirt some breast milk a couple times a day. works a treat!
cant help with the boy q's soz, i only have girls.:o
feeling very very sore downstairs atm, feels as if somebody has cut me, then thrown metho on the cut:eek:
Angelina has been a good burper i hafta say, but boy oh boy i forgot how painful the first week of b/f was. dang!
i cant believe that she will be a week old on friday. time flies wheb they out
my lil man woke up with a yukky heat/sweat rash on his forehead this morning and over the course of the day his right eye has gotten all sticky so good to know about the breastmilk.. I washed it with saline (left overs from hospital, his umbilical cord got slightly infected so he was on antibiotics and had to clean it constantly..) the 2nd day in hospital I had to start giving him eye drops coz his left eye was swollen and gunky due to his hectic arrival style lol..
sorry am rambling :o
Malakai manages to pee on me at least every second nappy and I definately agree that its because of the cold.. as soon as I touch him with a wipe he starts.. I found having evrything ready, including a spare cloth nappy to cover his bits with til he's finished, and keeping himas warm as possible during the change helps.
as for nappy rash, bubs has just gotten over it.. I prefer Canesten cream.. works really fast..
speak of the devil, his lordship is awake
TinyStar
20-07-2006, 02:40
Hi again guys, have just finished my middle of the night feed. I'd rather stay awake for an extra few minutes and be sure Mr P is asleep than have him grumble just as I've gone back to bed.......
I'm being philosophical about the whole recovery thing:rolleyes: I guess I'm lucky to have a lovely healthy bubba, and I'm back to nearly normal. It will sort itself out over time. (which I think was what my GP meant, she just had a pretty roundabout way if saying it).
Anyway I think Patrick is alseep, so will go back to bed :sleeping:
Mother Duck
20-07-2006, 12:58
no caps again sorry!
welcome myztik - great to have you and yours along
sticky eye - its not the same as conjunc. which is why you only ned saline - and yep awesome tip about the breastmilk (majic stuff that it is)
jayney - get to a gp (in your spare time!) and check that you don't have mastitis
tiny star - that sounds very ordinary - go to another doc - risky stuff that left over placenta (septicimia - spell???:o )
as for me - feeling a bit ordinary as i have mastitis :( after a rather swift kick in the boob by girlkins! :shame:
by for now - love us
Went to my GP and yep I have mastitis - feel really ordinary and are now on antibiotics. Felt really upset as I am worried that I may not be able to continue breastfeeding and I would hate to lose that bond with my boys. Have high temps and feel terrible.
Does anyone have tips for latching your bubba on. I am still having trouble with my little fella.
Has anyone thought about doing the wild thing yet? Sorry if this is TMI
mini munchkin
20-07-2006, 14:49
:wave:howdy!
Jess and Jayney, sorry to hear you have mastitis. Hope your both feeling better soon:hugs:
Saw my community nurse today. She also said to use breast milk on Luci's eye, so will try that next feed!
Am starting to feel more alive now that MIL has gone. I didn't realise how draining it was having her.
Jayney.. don't know if this helps with attachment... but I've found I have to flip Luci's top lip out each time she attaches, she gets her mouth open wide and her tounge down and out, just can't seem to get the top lip right without my help and boy does it hurt if I forget!! Call the Australian Breastfeeding ***. and speak to or even organise a time to see a counsellor (if poss, I think they might even come to you) I found them really helpful. Also if my boobs are really full she has a much harder time latching on. :fingerscrossed: it gets better for you soon.
As for sex.. would love too... however I still have two stitches that haven't disolved from my tear and can't handle the thought while I still have my browny discharge. DH is hanging out for it that's for sure!!
Am off to have a sleep!!
Love to you all!!! Mich
P.S. Got a msg from Rach123 last night. She had a little boy Finley on 16th. I put all the details in a post on the 'My little bubba part 2' thread!! Mum and Bub are doing well!
20-07-2006, 15:25
Jayney - with attachment you're probably having troubles cause of your mastitis. If you are really full try expressing a bit before you try to get him on. It relieves a bit of pressure so the nipple isnt so hard. Also try teasing him with the nipple by rubbing it from his nose down to his mouth. Generally the bub will open their mouth really wide when you tease them first. Another thing too try bf in different positions to see which one is more comfortable for you and bub. Sometimes its just because you and bub are uncomfortable which makes it hard to attach. I hope this helps you a bit. Mmascore gave a great point though, to ring the Australian Breastfeeding association. They have great ideas of how to bf right and they are very understanding.
With getting back into the action of things, i really havent had the time to even think about it. I know DH is really having troubles with waiting though!! :laughing: I was lucky enough to have not got torn or even grazed, im just really physically and emotionally exhausted. Being in and out of hospital tends to do that to you. :rolleyes:
Alethea is doing excellent today. Her feeding is getting better and better. She's actually waking every 3 - 4 hrs for a feed now, which she wasnt doing before. Her yucky eye is looking a lot better today, thank goodness. The poor thing has had one thing after another. Im hoping it all settles down soon and we go back to some normality! :fingerscrossed: Anyway i havent got much to complain about today, except for my splitting headache. Ive had a migraine for the past 4 days that i just cant shake. I dont know why ive got it but its driving me up the wall. Im hoping it'll just go away soon. Well i hope everyone's going ok with their bubs. Give them a big cuddle from me!! :hugs:
20-07-2006, 16:13
Hiya ladies,
sorry i havnt been on for a while have been very busy with little Sasha had a few attatching problems at first but now all is ok and he is feeding no probs.He is such a good baby the first night home he slept for 7 hrs and had a huge feed at 5.30 in the morning when my milk came in.He has been very awake and alert this morn all day yesterday he slept and was feeding every four hours.My little fella was born blonde hair blue eyes very different to my daughter who had brown hair brown eyes the funny thing is both me and his father has brown eyes but both df parents have blue eyes so my little fella has the recessive gene.Will have to catch up and read all the posts as i havnt had time.Hope every1 is doing well :hugs: jaclyn
TinyStar
20-07-2006, 16:23
Big hugs to all you girls with Mastitis and feeding problems.
Thansk Jess for your concern, I contacted my #2 midwife who steered me in the right direction with what to look out for re: retained placenta, uterine infection, scar issues etc etc etc. I have been told I am doing too much and need to rest more too, nothing surprising there....
Hmmm the wild thing. I was driving down the road a few days ago and for some reason had an urge that it was a nice idea, but I'm in the same boat as you mich. I can still feel some stitches, and my graze is still red, and of course my lovely discharge issue:rolleyes: So dh (and I) will have to wait. I'd like at least one scar from childbirth to be pristine!
Mother Duck
20-07-2006, 20:24
Hello everyone - just a quick hi from me before I hit the sack.
Yeah Jayney this mastitis thing is most ordinary! At least we are doing it together :hugs: It doesn't mean that you will have to give up feeding them. Don't be discouraged, the antibiotics will clear it up for you no probs. If you are feeling extra exhausted at the moment, its just a part of the whole mastitis thing, as well as your lack of sleep! Hang in there - you are edging closer and closer to that majic three months when 'stuff' just gets easier!
As for the attachment - I got the lactation consultant to come in and show me in hospital coz I had trouble with M - she showed me to lay him along my arm with the main support of the hand being between his shoulders and just a couple of fingers on his head. aim the nipple at the nose and as has been said, tease him a bit with the nipple, then when he opens up you simultaneously push a good portion of nipple into the mouth and push the shoulders forward (not the head)
ABA will have people in your area that can come and have a squiz - they will soon fix any worries you are having.
Tiny Star - good to hear, hope you are OK - and yep no surprise that you are doing too much!!
As for the wild thing, I am certainly getting the inclination, but just not quite ready - and especially not with this mastitis thing going on
Night all - take care X O X
20-07-2006, 20:34
hi ladies!
sorry to hear jess and jayney that you have mastitis, painful it is, im hoping to avoid it this time round.
i took Angelina to the drs today for her 5-10day check up, and all is ok, cept she has lost quite a bit more weight, and also has a mild dose (we thinks) of jaundice. so i had to take her to the clinic today to get her heel pricked again so we can check her billirubin levels. so we need to go back to the doctors on sat for the results so :fingerscrossed: all is well.
aside from that she is feeding (should say gutsing) really well, she managed to sleep for 4hrs last nite, which was great for me.
as for the wild thing :no: :no: :no: cant even think about it. lols poor hubby is gonna hafta wait a fair while.
Angel'sCandy
21-07-2006, 11:03
:wave: all you lovely mummas, how are we all today? sorry i haven't been on for a wile, i'm still adjusting but it sems to be getting a bit easier, plus my mum and dad are here now so that has been a big help in my coping skills. :thumbsup:
Congrats Seekrit, i bet it was a big surprise for you :p i hope you're both doing really well.
congrats to Rach123 too, hugs to you both.
welcome to Myztik, congrats on your little bundle of joy.
Jayney, :hugs: to you. i'm always thinking of you, i really feel for you and i hope you start to feel better. if you need to talk or ramble or cry you can PM me anytime and i'll try to help as best i can. lotsa love to you.
my little girl is going well. she's 3 wks today and is now at least drinking between 100-125mls. she's sleeps at least 3 hrs between feeds, ususally longer so i can't really complain!!!!
well, lotsa love to everyone, i'm gonna try to put an updated avatar on and also check out the old forum. xxoo
21-07-2006, 12:49
How are mums and bubs?Me and bubs is good,but my boobs are a bit sore at the moment they are so full with milk i think bubs is trying to build my milk up as sometimes he is feeding every hour,How long does is take for your milk to settle down?I was that full i had to express after he had fed and got a full bottle(about 150ml out)and then gave him the boob but they still managed to fill back up an hour later:eek: .I am lucky with the bed subject i didnt tear so i can bed when the bleeding stops.I have absolutely no pain down there compared to last time its a bit weird.What has everyone done about contraception i think i am going to get the mirena?
TinyStar
21-07-2006, 14:21
Hi there all,
Jaclyn it took about a week for my milk to settle down. Extra expressing will increase your supply, I had to fight the urge to express, not hard as I bought the worlds worst pump, so think that helps milk to settle:confused:
Anyway question, is everyone "one boob" feeding or do you offer both at each feed?
Had the ECN come round today, Mr P is already 3.99kg and has grown 4 cm in 2 weeks!!!! I am glad he is getting bigger so I can put him in "infant" size nappies, those newborn ones just dont hold very much wee:rolleyes:
I put up Patricks little swing too, I shouldn't have bothered with the automatic swing as Estella seems to like giving him a push in it. Very cute! It's nice to be able to have him sitting up with everyone and participating in family life.
mini munchkin
21-07-2006, 16:14
hi! sorry no caps am feeding again!!
jaclyn, my boobs took about a week to settle...although she is feeding every hr or so at the moment so they may be unsettled again!! like tinystar said... try not to express.
tinystar... have been one boob feeding unless she finishes with one and is still hungry, the she gets both...she doesnt empty the 2nd...so i put her on that side for her next feed.
am feeling pretty good. my mum is great, she pops round almost every day, but she always rings first and always leaves before i want her to. i go thru moments of wondering if i'm a 'bad' mumma for silly things like watching tv while i feed her instead of looking at her the whole time which i know is silly... i think it was something mil said.....last night she was feeding almost every hr...so she slept with me for part of the night which made me feel guilty and bad coz risk of sids....but when i think clearly all is good!!! DH is fantastic, such a wonderful help and Luci is such a good baby. i hope everyone else is doing well. talk soon xo
Hey girls! My turn to join in here for real!!!
Just a quick post, I'm sure you've all read the news about my little Nugget growing a penis in the last minute and popping out as a boy :)
His name is Cobey Clarence, he's just beautiful. Born on Tuesday after a really quick labour.
Gas was my FRIEND! LOL (the epidural nearly was... but he wanted out TOO QUICK!)
I am sooooooooooo tired! I'll post some pictures up later. :)
Off to have a nap. :D
mini munchkin
21-07-2006, 17:13
Yay for Seekrit!!:smiliedance: Cant wait to see the pics when your not so tired!! Rest well xxx
Mother Duck
21-07-2006, 18:52
hi seek - your not allowed to be away again - i missed you too much!
tiny star - two boobs here and still wants more!
gotta go - working his lungs IYKWIM!
:eek:
Righto Jessie! Next time I'll have a home birth and stay on here the whole time! :p :hugs: Missed you guys a lot!!
Whew! How tired am I! I have a few questions being the latest Mummy if you don't mind..
Breastfeeding.
Cobey takes boobie from the Left pretty well, from the right he doesn't like so much (in fact attachment is a hard process on the right side unless he's SUPER awake and SUPER hungry!). Advice I've been given includes..
Offer it first.
Use football hold (has the most success)
Lie down (Haven't tried yet)
Offer left first and as soon as I feel 'let down' swiftly move him across to attach football hold to the right. (I don't know if I've felt 'let down')
Nipple Shield (Will try next)
At the moment I try for AGES he gets on, comes off, gets on, comes off, isn't interested.. so I feed him on the left after about 20 minutes of this and then this morning I expressed from my right since it was sore and yucky.
Is there any added advice to the above? :) Anything would be helpful!
Also, what's the general consensus on Dummies? He LOVES to have a suck and sometimes just cries because he wants a cuddle but will be content as well with a finger in his mouth.
When should I offer him one as a settling aide? (I guess when he won't settle, right?)
:smiliedance: Fun fun fun!
Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 10:12
Hi Seekrit
Re the attachment thing - Don't waste anytime - call a lactation consultant to come and have a look - phone the ABA - that's what they are there for my love!
Funny you should mention dummies as I was just thinking about this earlier this morning
There are huge variations in opinion about dummies ranging from old school through to shove it in etc
So take all the info then do what YOU want
Some bubs are just great suckers - they LOVE it - if they are not sucking they will cry - solutions are - thumbs and fingers, mummies boosie, dummie, cry :(
Too much boobie will cause excess breakdown of sugars, a byproduct of which is too much gas (SALIERI IF YOU SEE THIS PLEASE EXPLAIN BETTER THAN I CAN!)
Anyway the point is - too much boobie = too much wind, NASTY CYCLE!!
Fingers are thumbs are not often weaned away
I'm not afraid to say it - "the dummy is my friend!"
He loves it, she loved it!
I just use it only when really needed and let them cry a bit here and there. Plus at a certain age (when they understand better and when their digestion is working better) I only give it to them for sleeps.
Mickayla still uses hers but only for sleeping, I think I will wean her around 2yo
Hope this helps - Love J
mini munchkin
22-07-2006, 11:12
Hiya!!
Seek, I'm with Jessie.. call the ABA. I was fortunate enough to have 2 fantastic middies whilst in hosp and one of them got me watching another video from the ABA, wonderful help. AND what a lovely photo:)
Dummies... Luci loved sucking her hands in my belly... she still does it a bit now. I have tried her with a dummy and will keep trying. She doesn't refuse it, just isn't sure what to make of it. Am lucky enough not to really need it as she's so content but will still keep trying!
Jess, question for you. How do you know when to swap sides when feeding? Like I mentioned, Luci usually only feeds from one side, but sometimes I find my boobie feels drained (after 20mins or so) and she's still sucking away, so I swap her over then. Is she getting that really good 'hind milk' if I swap her??
Must away, still have things to do while she's sleeping. :hugs: to everyone
I've been offering both sides when i feed, otherwise he just wakes up again after 10minutes wanting more.. my first son was a 'hungry baby' and it appears that bubs is taking after his big brother in that regard lol..
Bubs still has the heat rash on his head.. should I be putting anything on it or just leaving it alone?
I thought evreything would just come back seeing as this is my second child but it's been so long I seem to have forgotten alot of things.
Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 12:20
hi mmas - as usual no caps - feeding again!
i am alot more relaxed about feeding this time - esp since hearing that it only takes about half an hr for the milk to build up again - after about 20 mins i'd say she has had plenty of hind milk and swap then - as they get older they get more effic. at drinking so 20 min should be plenty - you can also tell that the drinking is more relaxed and less gusto - remember that after another 20 min on oppos. side you can always use the third boob! (back to first one that is ;) )
you should be gently massaging the boobie to get any 'lumps' out - just massage anywhere you feel lumps towards the nipple and bubs will express it all out from there - once your boob is near empty (so to speak) there won't be any lumps and it will feel loose and squishy. this massaging will stop mastitis (i got mine from a swift kick in the boob by toddler)
seekrit - the let down feels sort of like the nipple does when it gets a sudden chill and goes hard - that is to say tingly and ticklish - i am only just getting let down now - didn't have it in the first week or two
Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 12:23
Bubs still has the heat rash on his head.. should I be putting anything on it or just leaving it alone?
I thought evreything would just come back seeing as this is my second child but it's been so long I seem to have forgotten alot of things.
different bubba - and nope i don't think it ALL comes flooding back anyway - some stuff does, not all though!
i just leave his - i wash him in a warm bath - no products - fairly often and though it comes up at the time from the warmth it settles really nicely later - same with the 'pimples' - they will go when they are ready!
mini munchkin
22-07-2006, 12:42
hey jess... am feeding too... thanks for that help, much appreciated. am sure there was something else i wanted to pick your brain about but cant remember now!! talk soon xxx
Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 12:53
hey jess... am feeding too... thanks for that help, much appreciated. am sure there was something else i wanted to pick your brain about but cant remember now!! talk soon xxx
don't pick too hard - it could fall out! :yes:
22-07-2006, 14:14
:wave: everyone
am feeling so exhausted today i just got back from hospital as i was having problems with my heart yesterday.was pretty scary i kept going into tachycardia(fast heart rate) so had to have some meds and was in observation in Critical Care overnight.I really missed my boy my mum & partner looked after him while i was in hospital and i expressed for him and is back on boobie no problems.I am so grateful this time because he is such a good baby and always content unless hungry or needs his nappy changed.
Onto the subject of no of boobs most of the time Sasha has 3 sides Is this too much??He seems to be building up my milk i think this is the case.my boobs seemed to have settled down now they are not so full and hard he is also latching on alot better.
anyway must go Ciao for now;)
TinyStar
22-07-2006, 14:18
Hi there all!
ditto to everything Jessie said in her first post after seekrit's.
Seek if you are worried about nipple/dummy confusion...the way i read it is if the dummie (or teat) is bigger than your nipple bubba might take a preference to it and not feed so well. I just bought the smallest dummy I could find. (the pigeon for 0-5 months, it is very realistically shaped like a small nipple)
Was quite funny as i picked it out with my mum, she went through the rack at babies galore going, nope my nipple doesn't look like that, yep that ones good.....
OK for those of you playing the "kim's mysterious scar pain and discharge" game.. the winner is.....drum roll please........RETAINED PRODUCTS. they unretained themselves last night onto the hallway floor on my way from the laundry to the bathroom..sorry TMI. Quite a fair sized chunk too I might add, dont know how the silly OB missed it. Feel much better now, cant wait to tell my middie that she was right and my doc was wrong. She will be well chuffed.
anyway on that note i shall go, ciao bellas.
22-07-2006, 14:31
hiyas all. well just got back from taking Angelina to the doctors, her billirubin results were up to 352 :eek: which is not good, if she goes any higher we will both be admitted to the hosp. so i had to take her to get her heel pricked again, and the doc just phd me to say the results were down to 302 which is still considerably high, but hopefully they will keep dropping. i had thought she was looking a lil bit better, but the jaundice has moved all down her lil body now.:gloomy:
b/f- i normally offer both sides in a feed, she will feed for 10-15mins on lefty, then i burp her, then goes to righty for the same time, if she does want more i just keep alternating. during the day she feeds really well, but at night, she is so sleepy, im aware the jaundice makes this happen, but also its worrying as my other dd's never ever slept as long as this one does, she slept nearly 5hrs the other night.
welcome "home" nik, glad to see you posting agin.
ts - am glad to hear that your "lil problem" is now fixed. yay
jess : when u give ur lil tips and wot nots, it takes me down memory lane, and i say to my self " i remember that" lols
well ladies, off to lala land now for me.
tc and xxooxx
Oh sides? he only wants one side a feed!! I can't get him interested in the second side.. is this okay? I've been alternating sides and after making that post about my boobs, he fed quite well from the right..
Oooooo my husband just whacked a little bubby in my arms.. I think he heard me talking about boobs and decided it was time for some himself!
:smiliedance: we're on rightie!!! :smiliedance:
Well I am a milking machine. You should c when they are both on.
Missed your humour Seekrit.
I am not a big believer in dummies yet however my Mum informed me I had mine for ages and we both sat down on the steps and she cut the top off so I couldn't have it anymore and then we both cried.
I also heard nipple shields are not good but it boils down to personal choice.
The paedatrician at the hospy said you shouldn't really worry about the time they are on the boob - its how well they suck and whether its nutritive sucking. He also said that ideally 4 minutes is all they need but I reckon my boys would starve on this as one goes for about 25 minutes and the other about 15 minutes.
Has anyone heard from Diamonds?
We don't use products in the bath water (too harsh on newborns) but rub them with sorbaline after a bath.
Thanks to everyone for the support on the thread - it has been most helpful and sorry if I haven't acknowledged certain posts.
Just a quick post, I'm sure you've all read the news about my little Nugget growing a penis in the last minute and popping out as a girl
Don't know how to do the quote thing yet but got a laugh out of your post Seekrit. I hope your bubba popped out as a boy with a penis
:eek: Jayney!!! as we can see... baby brain still present
Mother Duck
22-07-2006, 17:23
I am not a big believer in dummies yet however my Mum informed me I had mine for ages and we both sat down on the steps and she cut the top off so I couldn't have it anymore and then we both cried.
Awww - that is so gorgeous! I like your mum ;)
Mum 2 S&S - doesn't sound like too much to me - the more the better - he will be putting great weight on
HereIgo - hope I haven't been giving too much info :o just tell me to pull my head in! Hope Angel (that's so cute a name so don't mind me shortening it!) anyway really hope she is OK
Tiny Star - LOVE the description! Pleased you feel better X O X
gotta go
Love J
Ooh something else that's interesting, btw, My dates said that Cobey was due on the 11th... the first ultrasound and the second one, however, both claimed he was due on the 19th.
When he came out - on the 18th - he had dry and peeling hands - a sign that he was over-cooked in the womb-oven! So it seems my original dates were correct! As a result he also has a rash called... *thinks* Erythema Toxicum (go google) on him, I've been told it'll go away no issues and I'm just to wash him with sorbolene cream and maybe use some baby oil in the bath as well.
When he woke up before he wouldn't go to sleep for about 2 hours :eek: wouldn't feed from the leftie at all (so guess who's hurting) and it took a bath, a straight-jacket wrap and a walk before he settled in.. now I don't know if I should wake him at 8 for a feed or see if he wakes himself.
*sigh* so many things until we can all get a routine going!!!
Also.. my stitches hurt :( they were fine in the hospital so I attribute it to being on my feet more now that I'm home.
I worry about stuff like it's not going to heal and stuff. I should have a salt bath or something but.. I guess I find it a bit gross.. like having a bath with your period.
How long until the stitches dissolve or fall out? Anyone know?
TinyStar
22-07-2006, 19:52
hhmmmm Stictches, I thought 10 days to 2 weeks, but last time I checked I could still feel them. I'm gonna have my first bath in 17 days:smiliedance: and boy am I excited. I was too scared of getting an infection, thats why I never had one since the birth.
Here's a big "new mum" hug for everyone:hugs: Take it easy.
22-07-2006, 20:05
HereIgo - hope I haven't been giving too much info :o just tell me to pull my head in! Hope Angel (that's so cute a name so don't mind me shortening it!) anyway really hope she is OK
lol nah, u can keep it out. :p dont mind the shortening as she is our lil angel, although we've taken to calling her Lina. sigh im so in love with my girlies!
GO PINK IN THIS HOUSE:laughing:
Dropping by here to join in the fun!!!
I'm loving this (my family feels so different). For some reason, tears were streaming down my face when hubby and Mr 2 took us home. Think it was because we felt like so much more of a family (and I missed my boys).
I won't reply to posts at the moment, as I've got so much to catch up on, but hope to do so a bit more in days to come.
Just on the remembering thing, I'm not sure if I've got a bad memory or if it's how it was, but my little princess seems to be completely different to my little prince...she's sleeping better, feeding worse (needs lots of help to attach, but feeding well when attached), and settling better. (Better touch wood now)
Anyway, will definitely be back more often now, so hi to all and catch up soon.:wave:
lol nah, u can keep it out. :p dont mind the shortening as she is our lil angel, although we've taken to calling her Lina. sigh im so in love with my girlies!
GO PINK IN THIS HOUSE:laughing:
My dad already got upset with me because I called him Cobes. :rolleyes:
23-07-2006, 09:50
lol nik, its so easy to adapt at the nic names!
well what a night last night was, my lil lina decided she wanted to feed every hour and a half. which i didnt mind in the least (well my boobs did:p ) but it made me happy to know that she was getting plenty of milk to help get rid of the jaundice.
so we had a great night of feeding, milk express train here i am :p now she is sleeping blissfully so mummy can finally have something to eat.
I should note some more things.
I've found he'll attach a lot easier when I express for a few pumps to make my boobs less hard (thanks to my dad's wife for that tid-bit!)
Last night he woke up at about 3 for a feed, and then wouldn't go to sleep for AGES we changed his poo-bum before the feed, then thought maybe he'd wet his nappy and won't settle so we changed it to find it filled with more poo. Then he squirted poo while we were trying to change that one. And before he settled again, he filled his nappy AGAIN! :eek:
This morning it was less poop, less of a forest green colour and more of the mustardy colour.
I'm now trying to work out what I ate last night to give him such poop! (and an upset tummy!)
23-07-2006, 10:12
I'm now trying to work out what I ate last night to give him such poop! (and an upset tummy!)
lol babies do like to poop and also need to poop alot, normal is about 6-8 poops a day!
23-07-2006, 10:13
lol yay im exicted, i managed to change my avatar, even though it said to me that it didnt manage to upload. pft. bit scary me looking though!
Mother Duck
23-07-2006, 13:27
hereigo - i love your new avatar!
seekrit - no worries about the poop - good bf poop will be mustardish colour, often quite runny'ish' and stringy looking - all good - sounds like the changeover due to your milk well and truly being 'in'! Well done :)
as hig said - often they poop heaps - but also they can go for up to ten days or more with no poop when bf - so don't worry if that happens!
Mother Duck
23-07-2006, 13:28
Have missed you!
Great to have you back - and loved your post - very apt description!
rachdent
23-07-2006, 13:39
Hiya ladies
Well, I came home yesterday and had a moment to post in the 'Due dates' thread but not in here. so today, I'm doing this one first.
Lachlan is adorable... although I found I didn't feel the same instant love as last time. For about two days I cared for him but found it all a bit surreal having two babies, then on day three all those hormones kicked in and I took one look at him and felt so very much in love.:smiliedance: He's a good sleeper and a reasonably good eater at the moment, although I'm more engorged this time (TMI?) and so he sometimes finds it a little hard to attach.
Pegasus and Seekrit - congras and great to be new mummies (again) in here with you. I know exactly how you felt Pegasus - I too was in tears as Hubby pulled out the hospital car park with my whole little family in the car. I missed my boys SO MUCH!! Cried a lot yesterday too but am feeling a bit better now. The crying was more to do with missing Hamish and feeling that our relationship is somehow changed now!!! SIlly me.
Anyway I'm off for a nap as both my boys (little ones are sleeping). Catch ya all soon,
RACH!
Oh lordy, I need to grow some mummy-balls I think. :/
I don't think my man had finished feeding (hadn't gone to the second side yet) and we had visitors who wanted to hold him and as a result i think it threw his feeds and his sleep and everything (yeah.. as much of a routine as a 5 day old HAS) he was literally sleeping 4 hours most of the time until just now.. and now he was fussing every 1 - 1.5 hours, feeding and dropping to sleep on one boob.. He's in his bassinet now.. kinda awake but kinda asleep.. not making any noise... I wish I stole him back and said "no no, he needs my boobie!"
My house has some sembelance of cleanlisness at the moment which will be good as tomorrow I'll try to nap as much as possible instead of rushing around to do things due to visitors.
I'm sooo tired now :sleeping: I might go and catch some sleep before Mr Man decides to fuss again.
Mother Duck
23-07-2006, 15:25
...Here is a good subject!
And well worth discussing, especially for the first timers.
Breastfeeding in public - how do you feel about it?
You will get all sorts of places and people ranging from the 'by-gone' era old fellas who will readily tell you off in public to the breastfeeding friendly places with stickers plastered all over the walls!
Hmmm - will be interested to hear your responses - :yes:
I breastfed in church today and would be very surprised if anyone noticed, I was at the back. I have breastfed all over the place with my other two, and I'm very discreet, no wobbly bit showing :eek: I wouldn't want to make anyone ill!
The hardest place was on the plane, I had someone sat next to me and was flying alone with a bub, I apologised but she was very sweet about it despite bub's slurpy noises... I was so stuck though, bubs wouldn't take a bottle and no way was I feeding in a smelly toilet, plus the other passengers would have really piled up outside!
BTW Sitz (thighs and hips submerged, 2x daily) baths are very good for healing, try adding 4 or 5 drops of pure lavendar essential oil, which has healing and antispetic properties.
I am not comfortable breastfeeding in public. Don;'t know how I will do it with two! I felt uncomfortable feeding in front of my family but I need help and don't know how I will do it on my own
I am stressing about my 6 weekly appointment with the ob and paedatrician in a week or so as I am worried it might be between feeds. Don't know what I will l do here and the same with their needles at 2 months.
I'm quite comfy popping out my boobie in front of friends and family at home.. I'm not sure how I'll go in public... I'm a bit anxious but hey.. if my baby gotta eat - my baby will eat!!!!
In a "Sitz Bath" what do you put in the water? what sort of salts and stuff?
Thankfully the little man has been passed out now for 3.5 hours..... soooo glad about that.
mini munchkin
23-07-2006, 17:39
hi have just feed little one to sleep and am enjoying a little cuddle, so sorry no caps!!
don't pick too hard - it could fall out! :yes: Jessie, hope i didnt offend you....i really love your advice and ideas.
Seekrit... dont know whether this helps, but your little man may be more unsettled and wanting to feed more often to increase your milk supply. not just because of the visitors. (could just be that too though) Luci was sleeping for 4 hours at first... and still does sometimes depending on whats happening with my milk etc.
as for bf in public... i havent feed out and about much yet, havent been out much as its sooooo cold. i did feed at church last week... i need to this wk but she was fast asleep:eek: i thought feeding in front of my dad would be the most uncomfortable... but now that she attaches fairly well and quickly im feeling much more comfy.
jayney, i know others have said this before... but i really think your a champ bf your little men. i hope everything gets easier and more comfy for you. :hugs:
hi to rach and pegasus!!! great to have you here:)
bessie that bath sounds fantastic!!! will def give it a try!
TMI following... still have 2 of my 4 stitches is that ok?? also im itchy down there, is it just coz im healing ?? or should i go and see my gp?
mmm dinners ready!!
ciao bellas
Mother Duck
23-07-2006, 18:23
Jessie, hope i didnt offend you....i really love your advice and ideas.
Not in the slightest! And thank you :o
Funny - hearing your responses to the breastfeeding thing - sounds like more than one of us has done the breastfeeding in church thing!
Although I sit right at the front! It doesn't phase me in the slightest to feed in public - but I use a special piece of material (picked especially for the bubba and then sewn in on the hems etc - very pretty and subtle) I tuck it into my bra at the top and then around into my bra behind my back - this holds it there and then - whoila complete (nearly) privacy
23-07-2006, 20:44
nice topic jess!:thumbsup:
for me, in public i ALWAYS feed in the mothers room, i like my privacy, and i dont like the thought of ppl commenting on my boobies ! lol :o to those who have no problems with it good on you i say, if bubs need feeding, why should we hold off?
but still, even amongst the males in my family eg fathers bros and wot nots, i cant feed in front of them, self consciousness (sp?) i spose.
we have another appt at the drs tomorrow, to see how Lina is doing, im thinking shes looking a little less yellow today, i mainly noticed it in her eyes, which is a good sign, she has also been feeding more today, since last night she has been a real glutton, so hopefully she is gaining weight also. i still cant get over the fact that she is my littlest one, and losing more than 10% of her birth weight within the first week was quite scary for me (and emotional :crying: ) so im hoping that we are crossing that bridge, its very hard as my other girls were quite big and just thrived on the boobie, and in a way ive felt like ive been failing this little one. all these hormones. :gloomy:
rachdent
23-07-2006, 21:05
Hey there girls
Finally both my little men asleep!! Nah, first whole day at home and everything has been fairly peachy - even took Ham and Lachlan out to Macca's so Ham could experience his first Sundae after being such a good boy and eating ALL his dinner. Hamish is adorable with Lachlan and now won't go to sleep without Lachlan in his bassinet at the side of his cot! But this will cause problems if Lachlan is awake or wanting to feed when Hamish is going down.... :fingerscrossed:
As for breastfeeding in public - I'm fairly, completely unfazed by it now, although I haven't done it with Lachlan yet! WIth Ham I was embarrassed feeding in front of DH's friends but not men I didn't know at first (wierd) but that didn't last. I feed in front of all of them now, although most times they go into another room of their own accord.
Seekrit - Mmscore is right about the feeding to increase milk supply. If I'm right you must be on Day five about now. Usually most babies (somewhere between night two and four) feed almost every hour or continuously to encourage the milk to come in. Even when the milks just in, there can be a feeding frenzy for a while. I know a fair few people who have given up at this pioint (although you don't sound the type) as they thought it would be like that always - not the case. Happened with Lachlan Wednesday night but I was cool about it as I knew it would probably only be a night!!:smiliedance:
Anyway not much else to say. Am having photos of Lachlan done tomorrow by the same lady that took Hamish's newborn photos and then am heading back to Koji. DH went today as he's on Ambo callout tonight and I CAN'T wait to see him again!!!
thanks for those pieces of expertise!
My latest issue is that he is no doubt windy :( He curls up his knees and other times arches his back and cries horribly for a while sometimes :crying: makes mummy sad indeed.
veve was just telling me about bicycle pumping his legs, bouncing on a physio ball with him, tummy time etc.. hopefully something works.
I have a visit from a home middie from the hospie tomorrow.. mainly to do the heel ***** and stuff. Maybe she'll give me some wind advice as well.. my poor mite.
Also, you know how they tell you to watch out for clots? well... what sort of clots are the watch-out ones? I had one this evening but it wasn't HUGE about 2 or 3 cm long I'd say.. hmm.. made me wonder. If I wasn't seeing the middie tomorrow I would probably see the doctor about it.. being paranoid and all.
:sleeping: bed time.
23-07-2006, 22:59
Hi Seekrit with the clots dont worry too much about them unless you get quite a few i have had about 5 since having Sasha and they have been about 5cm.I told my midwife about them and they said not to worry.
TinyStar
24-07-2006, 02:49
Seekrit some clots are normal, you mainly need to start letting your middie or gp know if you are experiencing any cramping or pain and are feeling very tired (in a sick sort of way not a new mum not getting enough sleep way) and if you are feeling dizzy, feverish or nauseous.
TMI but the retained product that i passed was the length of my middle finger and about 2 finger widths in diameter, that is the sort of clot you might want to look out for!:eek:
Mr P now asleep gonna go :sleeping:
aah I see. Not that bad then!
Cobey C slept well last night... woke up twice once at 2 and then at 6. :D mind you, with his 6am wake up we fed and then without warning while we were burp/snuggling his projectile-vomitted all over me... (I think he's in a race with another baby to see how many changes of clothes he can go through in one day... I should warn him that I'm running out of blue and neutral so the next step is pink! :eek:
He's sleeping well now after that vommie.. poor mite.
cool thanks for your help :)
No sleep last night - I don't seem to see the sunlight anymore. Had a very grizly boy last night. Funny they sleep through the day and are awake through the night.
Seekrit - I am getting peed on and vomited on all the time. The peeing is the main one to look out for as you are never really ready for that.
MMascore - thanks for your comments. The itchyness would definitely be healing.
My boys are four weeks today and I am still passing big clots. I get a fright each time but some days I don't bleed at all. I figure its my uterus still contracting down and still cleaning itself out. I thought I wouldn't have much loss after a C-section but it doesn't seem to be the case.
Hi to everyone else - going to try and nap.
Mother Duck
24-07-2006, 10:13
Hi guys Wow so much happening - how delightful!
HereIGA - hope little Angel is doing OK, it is so scary when they lose weight like that.
Seekrit - sounds very hard, I remember oh SO clearly a little baby girl who used to do that - she was constantly in so much pain - I hated it.
Just a word of warning: look out for the following comment
"Oh, what have you been eating", - OR anything starting with "What are you...."
Very important everyone to ignore this - it has nothing to do with you and while (as Lollie said) there are some foods that obviously aggrivate, some babies just get wind, colic, and/or reflux and there is very little you can do about it. The last thing you need in such a terrible and stressful situation as a sick bubba is to be paying out on yourself.
So practice saying "Hmm, I'll have to think about it..." All the while just ignore them and their what are you comments
Sorry to be so obviously passionate about this BUT it really **its me when interferring old or young biddies don't stop to think about what they are saying!!!
Humph - I think I feel better now :o
Had more to say but um ah - hogging the thread space, Again!
Lol, there will always be someone out there who knows better! DD had colic, it was very difficult as she was always :barf: We used Infacol, you give it prior to feed and it's supposed to help the wind bubbles group together and come up. What I shouldn't say is that bub hated the stuff :o although we tried it and it was yum.
DH has gone back to work today and school goes back tomorrow. He did my shopping at the weekend so in theory I don't need to go out, but I might try and take the kids out.... all 3 on my own for the first time... well, I might leave it :confused: It is chucking it down with rain here. I think I might just work on gettting the dinner ready for when DH comes home, I haven't done that for about a month!
Mother Duck
24-07-2006, 10:32
It is chucking it down with rain here.
I'm very jealous - I wish it would chuck down here - we had a half a glass of tipple from the skies late yesterday and now all gone again :(
One day the drought will break
Bessie - me too - poor DH is looking very thin and is much better at cooking lately! As for the house :o
We saw the midwife today! I'm healing fine she says.. my stitches look really good, my tummy feels fine.. the clots I passed are nothign to worry about, only if they're hard and much bigger should I worry.
Mr Moo probably doesn't have wind, says she, as babies his age don't really get bad wind and he's probably just trying to tell me something else. Who knows? He's been sleeping in his bouncer all morning and latched fine for his lunch.. (I read that sleeping them on an angle is good for wind, and so he day sleeps in his bouncer) time will tell I guess?
He's also doing great! He's actually over his birth weight already :laughing: porker like his mummy. I asked when I should get him on the treadmill. :p He suffered through his poor widdle heel pr!ck just fine, had a bit of a sooky but didn't really get too phased.
I'm amazed by the power of boobie juice! He has a gunky eye, so I was told just to squirt some boobie juice into his eye.. (the midwife laughed at me as I got it all over his face and barely any on his eye.) and the same goes with his snuffly nose.. no need for a de-booger-iser.. just spray some boobie juice up there!
A friend of mine tells me for uses boob juice for her own zits! :eek:
Can I ask... (I ask a lot yeah?) when will my flow steady itself? at the moment it goes EVERYWHERE when we feed (I mean EVERYWHERE!) and sometimes just squirts out without any pressure.. like I have sprinkler boobs. I have to go out on Wednesday and I"m a bit nervous to do so as I don't want milk all over the place :(
Seekrit if I do a single feed I have to put a hand towel over the other bood otherwise it will leak all over bubba and wet his clothes then I have to change him.
Bessie where is Joondalup? Never heard of this place before.
Jessie - love reading your posts.
mini munchkin
24-07-2006, 15:53
Seek, you crack me up!! :D:D When does the flow steady?.. I wish our boobies had a on and off tap!!! Gotta love my breast pads!
24-07-2006, 16:58
hi ladies no caps as lina is feeding, went for another check up at the drs today, she is starting to gain a lil bit more weight, which is a bonus. still no where near her birth weight though but we are getting there. im proud to say i didn t blub today, i was a mess on sat, but held myself together 2day. so i need to take her bak in 1 wk to see how she going, but i need to weigh her every 2nd day.:fingerscrossed:
as for boobie milk seekrit, well welcome to the "express"lane. lols its amazing how much milk there is, i know with myself i always say that daisy the cow has no competition when im around:p as mmascore said yay for breastpads! i think that they great now too as they have the lil sticky bit to stick to ur bra, woohoo.
am having a lil bit trouble with dd2 atm, who is being really jealous, which is understandable, but poor dd1 is being bitten by her. sigh. hopefully the jealousy phase will go fast.
burpie time:D
How long do you ladies burp for? I don't always get a burp up but my little one does terrible bum burps which I think is really hurting him. I am worried about this
TinyStar
24-07-2006, 19:22
I was googling for "piles" today and ya know what came up in the sponsored links? A geotech company :rolleyes: does this mean that the people who work there are all completely anal? :laughing:
Anyway for those of you who may be wondering here is a link for some relevant info
http://www.pilesadvice.co.uk/en/article.asp?chco_id=8&chse_id=31
rachdent
24-07-2006, 21:30
Hey there gals
Breastfeeding brain so can't remember any of what I wanted to reply to in your posts! Finally got home to Koji today and it's great!! Hamish wass really tired but he's still being really good with Lachlan, so I'm stoked! HereIgoagain - good luck with DD2, it is really difficult working out how to make sure everyone feels loved!
Seekrit - don't make me laugh, it hurts my caeser too much!!!
By the way, should probably write this in a birth story but who knows when I'll get round to writing that - just wanted to say that second time round my caeser was far more relaxed and enjoyable! The only problem is that I can't lift DS and this stresses us both out!
As for the leaking - I think mine died down after a dcouple of months last time. But the best thing to do is do what Jayney said and when at all possible let the 'other' breast hang free and use a towel to mop up!!! It helps things not to get all trapped - sorry, can't eexplain properly tonight - too knackered. ..
My SIL suggested catching the milk in a cup or a glad-bag or something so there wasn't so much mess.. LOL I laughed at the picture of me walking around with zip-lock bags hung around my nipples. LOL... that said I'm taking a few glad bags into the bedroom tonight for the night feeding frenzy.
My little man wanted lots of feeds today after his heel ***** (which was 2 hours since his last feed and he only drank from one boob, normally he goes 4 hours between feeds (I have to wake him) and empties at least 1.5 boobs).. hopefully I filled him up just before bed so he does his 4 hour stints that he did last night!
I can't believe the noticable change in my boobs after each feed. And if I forget what boob needs to be started on I can press them and work out which one hurts more.
Hmm, in "My Little Bubba" all I could talk about was CM and Poop.. now it's all about boobie. But hey, if we're talking about Haemarroids I can talk about those too! Apparently my stitches go up and say hello to a little one.. noice. I think I'll call him Roy.
I think I talk too much. Anyone agree?
Aargghh - this thread is worse than the other one for me to keep up with.
Actually the problem is probably that I'm spending less time on the puter at the moment while trying to figure out my new routine that allows optimum sleep!!!
In reply to a couple of things (back from pages back, I've been a bit slow in the catch up).
Firstly - as Jessie says - ignore all said about the "What have you been eating?" comments. My hubby was the worst for this with our son and boy did that mother guilt start!
Secondly - with regards to names and nicknames, I find myself having difficulty referring to my little girl by name still (she's still bubba, bubble, etc). I guess it hasn't completely sunk in that she's here. My dad didn't like her name spelling as he said she'd have a hard time having to spell it everytime someone was filling out a form etc. I figure there are so many spellings for Kayleigh that no matter how I spelt it she'll have the same difficulty.
Mr 2 is going through some adaption at the moment with the most significant being that I'm not picking him up I think (I'm with you on the whole impact of the second c/section thing rachdent). I had my first day home alone with the two of them and we survived, but I know I get distracted by my son when I'm feeding and / or putting my daughter to sleep, so our routine has been a bit haywire today with bubba not sleeping as long, and being fed more often (perhaps me thinking feeding her will settle her when really she's overtired).
Kayleigh seems to really need all my attention when feeding to keep a good attachment and check her suck, so I think she'll be the same as Aiden where I only usually fed him in parent rooms when out - mainly to cut distractions.
Anyway, I've rabbitted on enough here, but good to keep hearing all of your stories.
Seekrit - nah, you don't talk too much - just probably bring up the topics some of the rest of us are thinking about, but you get there first!! Oh, and the boobs definitely settle down. I fed my son for 16months and didn't wear pads all that time, infact, I stopped wearing maternity bras when ever I went out and knew a feed wasn't due (I much prefer feeling well supported). This time round, however, I am wearing bras to bed with pads, as I hated having milk wet spots on my tops and sheets. I've also found my breasts aren't getting sore.
25-07-2006, 08:14
My SIL suggested catching the milk in a cup or a glad-bag or something so there wasn't so much mess.. LOL I laughed at the picture of me walking around with zip-lock bags hung around my nipples. LOL... that said I'm taking a few glad bags into the bedroom tonight for the night feeding frenzy.
Hmm, in "My Little Bubba" all I could talk about was CM and Poop.. now it's all about boobie. But hey, if we're talking about Haemarroids I can talk about those too! Apparently my stitches go up and say hello to a little one.. noice. I think I'll call him Roy.
I think I talk too much. Anyone agree?
:laughing: Roy? lmao! sorry you nearly made me spit my coffee when i read that! as for the glad bags? lol new daytime wear perhaps?
Oh Seekrit I missed you. You made me laugh again
:hugs: Pleasure Jayney. :)
I had a call from the bank, I forgot to make a payment... it was due on the 18th. :laughing: when I told him why I couldn't get to the bank (complete with authentic baby grunts in the background) he laughed and said it was one of the better excuses he'd had.
I've been told to make sure I wake Cobes every 4 hours for a feed (I also demand feed him if he's up before the 4 hours, my baby doesn't have a watch yet) but to let him sleep all night if he wants...
Last night *I* woke up at 2 (after a 10pm feed) and sat for an hour, watching his bassinet waiting for him to get up before I eventually walked over and woke him myself LOL I couldn't sleep because I kept thinking that he was starving, or that I'd fall asleep JUST as he woke up. tsk. He's happily sleeping now tho', he woke up for a cuddle not too long ago and is back down again.
Can I ask, how long do i have to do the wake-to-feed thing?
My baby is a whole week old today!
MoonstoneMumma
25-07-2006, 12:07
Hey all, i have moved over here now yay!!!! here is the link to my birth story - very long, but so was the labour!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=512481#post512481
i have to do the 4 hour wake for fee to seekrit as he is a bit jaundice. But only for the next 24 hours and then demand feeding! Yay! Best news ever. Just thoguht i would jump on quick and say hi to everyone. Have a good day.
25-07-2006, 12:08
atm i have to feed Angelina every 1 - 2hrs as she likes to sleep thru her feeds, and im trying to "flush" this jaundice out of her. its hard at night as i have to set my alarm, so i dont sleep thru, but i also know what u mean, when u wake up and just watch them!
isnt it amazing how slow the end of pregnancy is, then u have ur lil bubs and it just flies? sigh!:kiss:
rachdent
25-07-2006, 13:07
Hey gals
Yeah - hubby just bought pressie home from his work!! I love this part about having babies...
This thread cracks me up - Seekrit you have already been told! Us girls with caesers can't handle the laughter. No funny business for at least another couple of weeks.
Shea - have been thinking a lot about you so can't wait to read your story. Will get to that asap!
My little man is really good but gets really bad hiccups between the 2am ish feed and five! It's hell as he just needs to be held up. Any ideas?? Jayney I don't know how you do it with twins! You deserve a medal.
Anyway, off to nap...
Mother Duck
25-07-2006, 13:29
I was googling for "piles" today and ya know what came up in the sponsored links? A geotech company :rolleyes: does this mean that the people who work there are all completely anal? :laughing: ]
ROFLOL!!!!! - Oh TS - are they taking resumes???
Anyway for those of you who may be wondering here is a link for some relevant info
http://www.pilesadvice.co.uk/en/article.asp?chco_id=8&chse_id=31
So strange that you post this and thank you so much - here I am the one to always say there is never TMI and here my DH asked me last night - have you asked your friends on bub hub (first time he has said that without meaning to tease me!) - yesterday I was in so much pain from them in made me feel like I was going to be sick.
Will have a look at that site - ta very much
Other stuff - hmmm need to remember
Rachdent - good to see that we graduate from 'placenta brain' to 'bf brain' whoohoo!
Seekrit - now I can't get the picture out of my head - you waltzing around with glad bags on each nipple! Mmm - there's a look
HIGA - How is little Angels jaundice going - what are her levels now?
Jayney thanks so much for the compliment - I super appreciate it! Funny how sensitive you can get at times like this (post preg) and I was feeling that I :ecomcity: way too much! As for the burping thing - I perservere for a LONG time to get a burp or two up - with M it went to 'bottom wind' which really hurt her too but with him it is more likely he will bring up milk with his burp next time
Gotta go (again) the window of opp swiftly closes!
Just wanted to add another invaluable snippet (groundrule)
IF THERE ARE NO CAPS IN MY POST - T"OTHER HAND IS BUSY DOIN' STUFF!!!!
Hmmm - that could be misread by some! Lucky VEVE is not our mod....or is she?! :D
TinyStar
25-07-2006, 15:02
Yeah well Jess, I wouldn't bother trying to get a job with THAT company, I tried to get work experience with them when I was at uni, (they are in my home town) but the geotech manager was really rude, just said no. What a pain in the bum :laughing: (sorry about the bad jokes)
I must say I thought I had busted my stitches and nearly started to cry.
Today my children just will not sleep at the same time, my place is a mess, my parents are coming for dinner and I'd just love to crawl into bed...yawn.
MoonstoneMumma
25-07-2006, 19:31
For the first time ever, Connor settled himself to sleep!!!! :smiliedance: we fed him and then gave him a bath and then put him to bed. Only a couple of little whinges and that was it!!!
We are normaly having soooo much trouble trying to get him to sleep. And we do all of the checking nappy, burping, rewrapping, refeeding, hand on chest and everything - it normaly takes us between and hour and an hour and a half to settle him. :( I mean if we hold him we can normaly cuddle him to sleep, but then when we move him to the bed he starts crying. I think i am at the baby blues stage where it just all seems too impossible. Every time i see the monitor light up my chest tightens.
How do you guys get your bubbas to sleep? And when you put them down to sleep do they cry a little bit? How long should i leave him to cry for?
25-07-2006, 19:38
HIGA - How is little Angels jaundice going - what are her levels now?
linas last blood test was on sat, the levels dropped to 302, which is a huge drop. she doesnt need to be tested again, only if shes not gaining enuff. so i need to take her every day to the child health clinic to be weighed, and we need to go back to the docs next tues.
man my ninnies (as i always refer them to when feeding) are killing me big time. too many feeds! but i gotta do wat i got do to "fatten" my lil girl up
speaking of which, she is now awake :D
Mother Duck
25-07-2006, 21:31
Every time i see the monitor light up my chest tightens.
How do you guys get your bubbas to sleep? And when you put them down to sleep do they cry a little bit? How long should i leave him to cry for?
Don't worry - the best news is that it isn't impossible - it is all heading for pure fun and joy - its just this first 'bit' that is the hardest.
Now I may be a little old school here - but also being the second time around - there is no harm in letting bubba cry for a while. Sometimes Jakey has to cry for a good few minutes before I can get to him. Its not that I chose to do that, its just that is how it is with a toddler too. And you know what - he is actually less prone to crying - he lets me know what he wants no worries, but doesn't do the full on cry every time you put him down.
I'm getting off track because really it isn't about the individual baby - they are all different personality wise and circumstances (ie siblings)
I guess my point is - when you are a first time ma it isn't a bad idea to imagine you have a 'toddler' there and just wait for a minute or two before going to bubba - I don't mean leave em there for ages - just for enough time that you can imagine it would take to tend to a toddler issue.
If you have done all the feeding, changing, wrapping things, bubba will be just fine for a minute or two and the chances are next time won't cry so quickly - remember they are much smarter than you might imagine!
Sorry :ecomcity: AGAIN! :o Just wish I knew this stuff first time round!
I just know that my kid will eventually be trouble. He doesn't cry at all when I put him down if he's not asleep. If he really can't get to sleep he might start but 9/10 he just closes his little eyes and off to la la land... he's also still sleeping really well. Someone tell me that this all stops because people say "Is he a good baby" and I say "Well, at the moment he is." and they say it's wonderful that he only wakes every 4 hours at night.... but... surely that's because he's a wee bubba and wee bubba's don't know to do anything buy sleep.
We have his first doctors appointment today! :eek: I'm a bit worried.. I have to put him in the car seat and take him out, TWICE! All by myself! And then go to the doctors and worry about kids sniffing on him, and then worry if he's warm, or hot, or cold.... and then if he's going to wake early and demand a feed when my sprinkler-tits haven't settled down.
tsk! what to do!?!
calm down Nikki.... calm down.
Malakai is the same, he will fall asleep easy as pie if I'm holding him but as soon as I try put him in his cot he starts to cry within 5minutes.. I think it's because of the temperature difference from the loungeroom and his bedroom.. need a little heater to warm his room up before I move him..
I agree that its not so bad to let them cry for a minute or two as long as they arent getting distressed.. I also cant always get to bubs straight away due to doing things for my elder son and bubba seems to realise now that I will come it just takes a minute sometimes..
his rash has finally started to settle down now and after finally managing to get some breast milk in his eye and not all over his face his sticky eye has cleared up hugely!
We're back! The only thing taken from my well packed nappy bag was his red baby health book. He didn't wake much while the doctor wiggled his hips and weighed him and stuff AND he's sitting pretty on the 50th percentile for weight/height. Clever boy.
Just told to keep squirting milk in his eye, and also to massage his tear ducts to clear the gunk so he doesn't get conjunctivitus.
OH as SOON as I got to the waiting room some little kid started spewing.. I went into panicky new mum mode and sat furtherest from the other kids and made sure his face was pointing the other way.
He's still not awake so I put him in his BIG COT for the first time to have a bit of a snooze until he does wake.
Did I mention anything about his rash? Myztik reminded me of it. Although he was born the day before our due date, the midwives have said he was actually late - which would be correct if we went by my original due date of the 11th (the 19th was due to the first AND second ultrasound) because he had wrinkly peeling hands and a rash that was common in over-baked bubbas! His rash is all but gone now, still some peely skin but we have sorbolene baths to help that. :)
I found out that my local CHN is also a lactation consultant! WOO!! So we have an appointment for next week! Although the boobs are fine and feeding well, it's handy to know if I do have any problems between now and then. :)
MoonstoneMumma
26-07-2006, 09:47
Good to hear everythign went well at the drs Nikki. I think my dates were off as well, being 11 days over i would expect him to have really peely skin - but only his little feet are a bit peely.
Just thought i would let everyone know what a greta night i had with him last night!! :smiliedance: We bathed him after his 7pm feed and put him straight to bed - no crying, he feel asleep himself!! Then he woke himself up just after 10pm, so i fed him and put him to bed - no crying!! The same for the 2am feed. The 5.30am feed however he went to bed without his dummie (didn't want it) but he moaned and made loud noises until i could stuff the dummy in his mouth at 7am when he yawned! Hehehehe. And now this morning seems to be going well too :fingerscrossed: but i probably just jinxed myself.
My stiches are really starting to hurt - they dont come out until tomorrow. Still doing the panadol thing every 4 hours because of it.
Thats about it for me, going to call and book to get his photos done at this great place in Penrith - really cheap and fantastic shots. The package we are wanting to do is 4 poses, and you get 12 photos of your choice and to get individaul prints are really cheap too!! All that for $225. Any Syd gals want the info give me a buzz.
Have a good day all :wave:
mini munchkin
26-07-2006, 10:41
mmm, interesting this sleeping, settling thing. luci is great...i think. she usually falls asleep after her feeds.. and if i hold her for a few mins and make sure shes really out to it then she'll go into her hammock no probs.. sometimes she'll wake when i put her in her hammock and be quite happy. if shes crying i always let her have a small cry as i read its very good for her lungs, about as long as it takes to finish on the toilet..finish putting a wash load on etc.
my biggest hard time is at night....she feeds and i almost always fall asleep....so she's usually sleeping with me from her 1 or 2 am feed till her 3 or 4 am feed...and sometimes from her 3 or 4 am feed till her 7 or 8 am feed. this really worries me. i really want her to sleep in her hammock. any ideas??
ok.. she sick of me typing.... this is her 'spend time with mummy time' talk later. xxx
26-07-2006, 11:46
my biggest hard time is at night....she feeds and i almost always fall asleep....so she's usually sleeping with me from her 1 or 2 am feed till her 3 or 4 am feed...and sometimes from her 3 or 4 am feed till her 7 or 8 am feed. this really worries me. i really want her to sleep in her hammock. any ideas??
ok.. she sick of me typing.... this is her 'spend time with mummy time' talk later. xxx
this has happened to me with all of my girls.:o its so hard during the middle of the night, spec to get up and down to put them back in their beds. ive tried feeding for a bit longer on these occasions (with 1 & 2) but failed miserably. with Lina though, i have to feed her every couple of hrs, so cant compare her just yet. my dr suggest co-feeds, which is last feed before bed, b/f then next feed make the dh get up to give formula. i did this with dd2 from when she was 4mths, as she was ALWAYS hungry. but only gave her 2 "bottles" a day with the rest being b/f.
TinyStar
26-07-2006, 12:52
I force myself to get out of bed to feed Paddy, as the first time I fell asleep feeding him I woke up to a very empty boob and a baby who had just puked up his entire feed into my bed :barf: yukko!!
Never had that prob with Estella, sometimes the only way she would sleep was to fall asleep on my boob in my bed.
Glad all was well at the docs, I hate going too and always sit away from everyone else.
Did you ever buy a sling Seekrit? I can nearly guarantee that a baby will sleep a very very long time in one of those, so if I was worried about Mr P waking up I'd just put him in a sling for whatever trip I was contemplating.
hi girls
I had my 2nd trip out today, to a craft group. Bubs was grabbed by the older ladies, which I didn't mind... but I'm a bit miffed by one of them. I wasn't wearing a particularly low cut top, just a v neck from target, but one of them (in her 80s) insisted that I cover up my boobs or I'll get lumps :confused: wtf! Anyway, being polite as always I just ignored it as much as possible but that was hard coz she said it a few times. Hmmmm.... it wasn't cold either, I mean, I'm a Pom and day time Perth is positively summery compared to what I'm used to, ah well :o BTW she suggested putting a nappy over my hardly-there clevage, yeah, like I'm gonna walk around with a huggies between me boobs!
Has anyone else had any annoying tell-your-gran-how-to-suck-eggs advice lately? :D
Oooh Chocolate. Don't eat chocolate, he'll get pimples. :rolleyes:
And it was "criminal" of me to put my finger in his mouth to suck when I was trying to escape my neighbour's house when he was having a cry because he was hungry.
my baby can hold his head up a wee bit when he's on tummy time! *proud mum grin* he had it up for a good while too as he kicked around.
OH His cot.. had ANTS IN IT! :eek: I have never EATEN in that room. I have never done anything in that room and especially not in his cot.. and yet... I go in to check if he was awake and there were ants on the cot and ON HIM. I felt awful... my poor baby. I don't know what to do now.. sometimes they mill around on my bed (I have no idea where these ants are from or why they like the beds?) but never have I seen them in his cot.
I think I may make a thread about this....... and ways to stop it occurring.
I haven't bought a sling yet Star, but I'm thinking of getting one soon as I feel bad, even when he's sleeping, to put him down and walk away for some computer time or something, I'd much prefer to keep cuddling him. :p
26-07-2006, 16:24
Hi everyone! Well my little girl is refusing to sleep at night!! :eek: She sleeps most of the day and parties hard all night long! Everytime i put my head down on the pillow she automatically wakes up. I went to the clinic yesterday for the time and the nurse told me that shes lost a lot of weight! She was 3820g at birth and she weighed yesterday 3505g!! :eek: They think that its my milk supply and i now have to be like a cow and take some drug to bring on more. They also think thats why she is unsettled at night cause she's not getting enough milk at the end of the day cause im sooo tired! :yes: Anyway apart from her weight problem everything else is just wonderful. I absolutely love being a mum to her and having the extra person in our house, its just so lovely. I hope all of you girls are doing fine with your little ones! :D
Another night without sleep. I feel like jumping over a cliff. THe boys cried real hard all night and no one in my house got sleep. I am so over it and don't think I am a good Mum.
Dummies - what brand does everyone recommend?
Formula - what brand does everyone recommend?
Expressing - do you have to express when you you give formula.
Seekrit - the boys have only been in the car once and that was the trip home from hospy. I am not game yet and at the moment between 3 hourly feeds I have no time as I like to try and rest. They have their doc and paeditrician appointment on Monday and I am scared that it will clash with a feed.
Sleep deprivation is so bad.
mini munchkin
26-07-2006, 17:49
Oh Jayney, you poor darlin. Lack of sleep is the worst thing. I hope you manage to catch a few hrs throughout the day. And YOU are the BEST Mum, your two little men dont want anyone else, I'm 100% sure of that!
Where's Seekrit to make you laugh???
As for dummies, I have the pigeon ones, but I think they're too big for her mouth coz when I put it all the way in she gags. Am thinking of trying another brand...
No idea with formula or expressing... am sure one of our wonderful mummies will know.
Anyway, all my thoughts are with you:kiss::hugs:
Who was it that was saying their bubba was overcooked and peeling??... Lucia was 'overbaked' as well (even though she came 2 days before her due date!!) and peeled EVERYWHERE.... just thought I'd let you know that olive oil works wonders. I just rub it all over her after her bath!!
Mmmm, I am hogging the space again with my :ecomcity:!! Am so glad you guys love me warts and all!!
Hoping all is well with everyones bubs and that the thinnies are gaining weight!!
Talk soon... xxxx
Hi Jayney,
Your the best mum for your little men and I'm sure they love their mummy.
Sleep deprivation is one of the worst things for a person and its no wonder your feeling miserable.
I found when I had DD that what actually helped especially when I wasn't getting out of the house to do what I considered normal things (eg grocery shopping, work etc) was to just go for a walk. Put the boys in the pram and head outside..even if you only walk around local streets for 10 or 20 minutes (depending on your stamina). They boys will love it and you'll be amazed at how much it can help just to get some fresh air.
It can be a vicious cycle of no sleep and feeds.
Expressing: You should express when you give formula only if you want to maintain your milk supply for that missed breast feed or if your too full. Otherwise if its going to be a regular formula feed then try just expressing to relieve any discomfort so you dont' get over full but don't express a whole feed or you'll just produce more.
Good Luck, and I can't wait to meet my little one soon and join you all in this thread.
TinyStar
26-07-2006, 20:13
oh Big :hugs: Jayney, you're doing such a great job for your little men!
Dummies: I like pigeon, (I thought they were small mmascore? maybe Luci would just prefer a different shape?) But my local hospy uses Happy Baby.
Formula: check out the bottle feeding forum for more feedback, each baby is different and you may need to try a few brands. I tried Heinz Nurture as most people dont have any problems with it and it is cheaper. (this is the regular one as the gold had not come out when I started Estella on formula)
Expressing: totally up to you I guess.
I have to agree with TLCC about going for walks, it saved my sanity. I can understand that it would be hard with 2, although you get the added bonus of the babies sleeping while you walk so feeding is not necessary.
26-07-2006, 20:16
Another night without sleep. I feel like jumping over a cliff. THe boys cried real hard all night and no one in my house got sleep. I am so over it and don't think I am a good Mum.
Dummies - what brand does everyone recommend?
Formula - what brand does everyone recommend?
Expressing - do you have to express when you you give formula.
Seekrit - the boys have only been in the car once and that was the trip home from hospy. I am not game yet and at the moment between 3 hourly feeds I have no time as I like to try and rest. They have their doc and paeditrician appointment on Monday and I am scared that it will clash with a feed.
Sleep deprivation is so bad.
jayney, dont think that ur not a good mum. i know it can be real hard, when there is so little sleep, and bubs just cry and want feeds ( i dont know how u manage with two, but pe proud) i struggle with one and yes im finding it difficult even with Angelina who is my third. chin up darl, it will get easier. as for dummies, i use the nuk brands, the one with the funny sort of shape, as ive found that this fits properly in my girls mouth, and can latch on quite well too.
as for formula try the S26 gold for newbies. i got to the stage with DD2 that it felt like she wasnt getting enuff, and co-fed her, started with one bottle a day, after feeding from breast, she was much more satisfied. i went to weigh angelina today and brought some more bottles and teats, as i think i will be doing the same this time round, even though my milk is great, its like shes starving, belly always rumbling and wot not.
so hang in there, if you need anything you can pm me, we not that far from eachother! :hugs:
mini munchkin
26-07-2006, 21:17
Hey:wave:
Yeah TinyStar, I thought the pigeon were really small too, I think they're just a little long for her. Will try a different brand and will let you know!!;)
Jayney, I meant to mention walking in my post before. My community nurse suggested it as supposedly helps create and release endorphins which helps prevent PND. I just think you're doing such a great job, like hereigoagain said one is hard enough!
I'd best go and get some rest while (and if) I can- Luci's just had a feed and is now down stairs with her daddy watching NCIS!!
Nighty, nite all:kiss:
MoonstoneMumma
27-07-2006, 06:25
Morning Mummies!
Another great night, because now i know what i was doing wrong!! Just before i left hosp i was tlaking to a middie about my boobs being so hard and she said that when i breastfeed to only use the one side each feed. So i did this when i got home and this is when he started to be unsettled. Speaking to MIL last night and telling her what was happening and she said that the one breast thing was a load of **** - he was not settling because he was still hungry due to draining the one boob dry.
So, last night was good and he settled really well, so lets see how he goes today. We might even venture outside for a walk!
Oh, and it's Connor's 1 week brithday!! :bday:
Sometimes Cobey will only want one boob, but he does a GREAT deal of sucking from that one.. last night he only took one and it's dry as.. and he was out to it, slept through a nappy change, the offer of the other boob and being wrapped.. he's still asleep now... and good GOD is my other boob hurting.
Going out tonight... I'm going to take a whole towel to drape over my abdomen for a feed, it's so embarressing but I could break the drought with the amount the pours out.
ALSO I bought these hideously big maternity pads from Aldi.. they're gross, anyway, last night I stuffed one in a crop-top bra and slept dry all night :D :smiliedance:
TinyStar
27-07-2006, 08:57
Happy 1 week birthday Connor, you will be surprised at how fast those little milestone will just fly by.............
Had a similar prob with Mr P, he would settle but was only going 2.5 hours between feeds sometimes, adding the "extra" boob certainly helps!
Sigh, I can feel my life changing again, as pregnancy and childbirth are just distant memories I am moving into a new phase. Last night I gave away all my maternity clothes. A nice lady from the "due in december" thread came and picked them up. All I have left is a pair of jeans and a skirt I am still wearing.
DH is a happy boy that he has his wife back.
He will be a happier boy when I join up at my local gym, and he may even get his "lovely" (read size 12) wife back. Can't do that until Mr P is 12 weeks as they wont take him in the creche before then.
Sigh it's all making me a little sad and nostalgic!
Morning ladies. Thanks for the support had a bit of sleep last night so I feel a bit more human. If I get 4 hours disjointed a night I seem to survive.
Propped the back of the cot up just slightly last night so the mattress is on a slight angle and this seemed to have helped settle the boys.
HereiIgo- will have to meet up for a hot chocolate when things settle down a bit.
I have the avent dummies but haven't tried them yet. Has anyone else tried them?
Seekrit - I am having trouble with leaky boobs but sometimes I cannot stand wearing a bra to bed. Am glad you got use for the pads.
Not really expressing but I am meant to be going to a wedding in a few weeks and I dont think I will go but was thinking about expressing.
mini munchkin
27-07-2006, 10:27
morning! nothing really for me to say... just wanted to pop in!!
hey shea, congrats on connor's 1 week bday! funny our due dates were only 3 days apart yet luci was 3 weeks last tuesday!
ah! small things small minds:) well she's asleep in my arms am going to put her into her hammock:wave:
how long do your wee bubbas stay awake?
Wee Man is a week and a bit old and until the other day just woke, fed, pooped, slept. Now he's awake for a bit longer and I don't know what ot do with him! Today he was awake for at least 1.5 hours before he eventually went to sleep and I had no idea what to do.. We went for a walk to the neighbours house to return some containers (they cooked some meals for me, bless 'em) had some tummy time, changed the nappy, rocked in the chair, paced the floors (He was quiet the whole time, just... awake) and eventually he went to sleep when I bounced on the physio ball with him... then he woke up after a minute or two so I put him to my boobie and he was straight asleep again.. now he's passed out in his bassinet.
What else can I do with him when he's soooooooooo tiny? Of course he's not interested in toys, I'm not feeling agile enough to go for a neighbourhood walk yet (that's next weeks mission when my stitches have supposedly healed!!) and I don't know what else to do.
My stitches are feeling different now so I assume they're on the way to being healed and gone! Thank goodness! Hopefully my boobs will settle down and I'll feel more like being out and about and less like being a hermit!
Malakai will stay awake for upto 2hrs during the day now.. I lay him on his mat and he seems happy looking at the dangly things, if he wants to be held we sit and I read stories to him and my 4yr old, bubs stares at the colourful pictures.. umm if the weather permits we go outside and look at things inthe garden
27-07-2006, 11:37
hi ladies
Jayney: sounds good to get together for hot choc although ive gone off chocolate:eek: atm, i'll just have a coffee :D glad to hear that u managed to string some hours of sleep together.
as for being a hermit nikki, i wish i could be one too! its been hard having to go out every single day and twice a day at that, to drop the older ones off to school and kindy, but thats the way it goes for us, as family close to us all have to go to work. i just didnt picture how difficult it would be to organise 3 kids in the morning, with trying to get their hair done whilst feeding lina, yikes. crazy household here.
has anyone else noticed how much their washing has increased? it seems to me that im washing every day (which i am & not just one load) yikes, i used to manage doing it only 3 days a week before. oh well we gotta do wat we gotta do.
well yesterday was the first time that i ventured into the shops with all three girls by myself. not to be repeated in a while let me tell you. my eldest was constantly asking for food ( yes it was afternoon tea time) and my middle one, was just jumping around like there was no tomorrow, and taking things off the shelves. and then just before it was my turn to get Lina weighed and wot not, she awakes screaming, yes she had a big pain in her belly, soon relieved by patting her back. but oh my lordy what an experience. i can pretty much guarentee that next week i will drop the other 2 off at grandmas first. :p
Mmascore - do you put your baby in a hammock? What sort is it.
Hereigoagain - we are washing babies stuff everyday -
Seekrit - my boys are in the cot together and they just lay there for ages wide awake and alert looking around. I have some mobiles on the cot and they like to look at them As long as they are not crying with wind I am happy. Don't have too much time to myself so I make the most of it when things are quiet in the household
I usually do a load every day coz my 4yr old is a grot :laughing: but now I'm doing one of our clothes plus at least one of just bubbies stuff every day.. he's throwing up after every feed so he goes through alot of clothes and bunnie rugs
Mother Duck
27-07-2006, 13:57
hi all
washing - omg yes!!!! load after load after load - summer will be better for this i think
formula - we used and were very happy with S26 (keep the tins - there are a few threads on ideas of what to do with them floating around) -
Just a warning - once you make the decision to substitute feed your milk will diminish a little - not as much if you can express but still it will - mind you that isn't the end of the world, a little bit of breatmilk a day is still just as good for immunity etc and you need some sleep to function!
dummies - we use happy baby - not the same shape as the nipple but that is my pref as it isn't the nipple and I still want him to prefer the nipple!
On a super personal note - DH and I were 'rather close' last night, and it was just beautiful. I was open about my fears etc and he was really loving etc
I have some things that just stick as memories, bringing back awesome joy each time I think of them - when I first held DH's hand at the alter, the birth of both of my babies, and BOTH times we made love post bubba for the first time
Anyway just thought - who better to share this with than you guys :hugs:
As for the Granny thing and unwanted advice - Refer to earlier post!!!!!
Good on your for being patient with her.....huggies btw the breasts.....ROFLOL!
Mother Duck
27-07-2006, 14:00
oh and ...
further to the formula thing ...
...there is a thing called Blessed Thistle that you can get from the health shop - a good idea to help keep your supply up if you are substituting
Check out the other threads, there will be heaps of stuff on there (seen as you have plenty of time to spare!)
27-07-2006, 14:06
Hi everyone. Well last night was the first night that she stayed in her bassinett!! :smiliedance: I gave her some EBM in a bottle and also put her on the breast to feed her right up so she would of slept and it worked. I gave that to her at 1030pm. She woke for her feed at 2am and then went straight back to sleep in her bassinett. She didnt do that before, normally when i put her back in there she would just wake up and cry until i pick her up. At 5am she refused to go back in the bassinett but i was happy that she slept for as long as she did. I feel that my milk supply is getting better, i feel more fuller. So the tablets that im taking for it must be doing the trick.
I was just wondering how are you girls going with the weight loss? Im so shocked by mine. Ive lost 15kgs since birth(almost 3wks ago now) and i only put on 7kgs with her. So that means that ive lost a further 8kgs!! :eek: :smiliedance: I dont know how it just fell off, its pretty amazing. Everyones commenting on it, they keep saying that i look the best that i have ever done. In the begining i thought it was just them being nice cause ive had a baby but i can actually see the results myself. Ive even lost the baby weight that i put on with Jayden that i just couldnt shake before. Who would of thought that having a baby would help me lose weight!! Anyway enough about me going on and on about weight loss! :ecomcity: Hows everyone going in here? Is your bubs getting used to being in this crazy world? Well i hope that all of you and your bubs are going ok and ill talk to you soon.
Well I found out why he was being unsettled today (He was crying like he was in pain whenever I'd try to put him to my boob :( which made me sad mummy) it was right before another attempted feed when he did the most explosive poop which went half up his back.
Noice.
But then he fed fine and promptly fell asleep!
Oh while feeding he sneezed (he sneezes a lot... anyone else?) and blew a massive milk snot bubble. I couldn't find my camera tho' but I laughed soooo hard, poor bub.
We're still not using a dummy because he is settling fine to bed. I thought about it today as the only way to get him to stop being so in pain sounding was to stick my pinky in his mouth.
I'm doing a load of HIS CLOTHES only every 2 or 3 days! And because I'm a hermit I'm not making more clothes for myself. If I wasn't so hermit-like I'd report differently due to leakage and wanting to change clothes - but while I'm around the house I mooch in what I've got, milk stains and stinks and all.
Malakai sneezes heaps too!! generally first thing in the morning he'll sneeze maybe 4-5times in a row.. its the cutest sound and he gets this big frown and looks all worried :laughing:
I picked up a Happy Baby dummie whilst at the shop the other day, I never used one with Zac and hadnt planned on it with Kai but he seems to like using me as a dummy.. I've only given it to him twice (last night and this morning) and he's drifted off to sleep both times.. I want to get one of the orthopeidic Nuk ones though.. they're slightly smaller and better for when teeth start to come (not that that'll be for a while lol).. plus I like the colour combo's :o
as for weight loss.. I have no idea what I weigh now, really need to get new scales lol.. I was tiny before I fell pregnant (45kgs and size 6) but put on roughly 20kgs and went up to a size 12... I can squeeze into my old jeans again but would probably do better with a size 8... once the stupid weather clears up I plan to do alot of walking again (I did after Zac was born and lost all the weight quite quickly).. good exercise, nice for the boys to get out and about and I find it relaxing for some weird reason.
rachdent
27-07-2006, 15:44
Hey gals
Well, I’m getting really annoyed as I wanna come on and chat with you lot, but as soon as I read it all, someone needs me so I never have time to reply!!!
Jayney – YOU ARE SO NOT A BAD MUM!!! I don’t know how you manage but you are! Mms is right – you’re beautiful boys wouldn’t want anyone else. REmember, we are all finding things tough and you are doing it twice as hard. As for dummies – I used Happy Baby with Hamish. It’s what the hospitals usually recommend and they’re best for breastfeeding (despite loads others saying that they’re shaped like nipples)! They’re also cheap – but many people find that babies only like a certain dummy. I was lucky mine liked the cheap one. So far I’m not using a dummy with Lachlan… but we’ll see.
Jayden’s mum – babies are supposed to lose ten percent of their birth weight and that is less than ten percent. Although I suppose they should also start putting it back on relatively soon. I understand the tired thing and wonder if my breastmilk is not as good at night (think this could be a myth though) as my littlun also sleeps quite restlessly during the night but is an angel during the day…
Mmscore – I have almost fallen asleep a couple of times feeding Lachlan and did it quite often with Hamish. Try not too stress too much about it, it;’s highly unlikely disaster will come of it,
Seekrit – Myzkit’s baby entertaining ideas are great! I’m already using Lachlan’s baby gym (dangly things) when he’s awake and it’s NEVER too early to start reading!!!! Babies love looking at piccie books.
HIGA – don’t mention the washing!!!
Weeing question – I was fine passing urine in hospy when they were asking all the time but now I’, home It’s sore when I do number 1s! C?ould I have an infection???
Lachlan has a horrid cold and it is heartbreaking. Thank God for Fess Little Noses and what I call the snot-pullerouter – if anyone has coldy bubs – this product /(from pharmacy) is fantastic.
As for weight I lost aboutr nine kilos with Lachlan and have about nine to go but am workinh through all the chocolate //I was given in hospital first 0 with hubby’s help of course!!!
it could be an infection or it could just be something you've eaten/drunk has made your urine slightly more acidic which will make any cuts/tears/grazes sting.. have you tried using Ural or those citrivecent drinks?? they gave me them after ds1 in the hospital and they worked great.. noone mentioned them this time whilst in hospy, it was weird
27-07-2006, 16:13
havnt been on for a while so had a few pages to catch up on havnt really been busy but have been venturing out a bit.Sasha has been really good despite having a cold poor bub has a bad cough as well:( .lasrt night he slept 6 1/2 hrs straight from 11pm to 5.30am then had boobie and slept for another 4 hrs then boobie again and then another 3 hrs.Hes been awake for about 2.5hrs now and has just drifted of to sleep.
Jayney-YOU are a great mother i really dont know how you do it i find it hard enough with a toddler and a bub i dont know how id go with 2 bubs.:hugs: to you hope you can catch up on your sleep.I have used the avent dummies on Sasha and he latches on to it ok but sometimes he spits it out so i have to put it back in his mouth.He dosnt really take it that often i only use it when i need to do something and hes a bit unsettled.
As for weight for me i weighed myself about day seven and had gone from 78kg down to 69kg my pre baby weight was 65kg.So about 9 kgs so far am yet to weigh myself again hopefully have lost a bit more:fingerscrossed:
Can i ask how long post partum bleeding lasts.With dd it lasted 6 weeks but this time it has been 12 days and im only spotting now so looks like will be clearing up soon:confused: .Is it usually shorter second times round?
Has anyones toddler been real naughty lately my dd has been really naughty i have been trying really hard to include her in everything and even spend one on one time with her but she still behaves this way.
Hope everyones bubbas are doing good Ciao ladies
Rachdent - did you have a cathetar (don't even know how to spell this at the moment) I feel a bit funny weeing still due to this.
Happy Baby dummies - where do you get them from?
Weight - Hmm well I put on 19kg then lost 10 with the birth then have lost about another 5 so 5 or so to go but I am still wearing maternity jeans but my normal tops. I am getting comments on it that I look good especially after having twins.
Fingers crossed:fingerscrossed: for a good sleep tonight - well a couple of hours at least.
What age do you have to continue burping????
Jessie - my hubby is just wanting so much attention. I am a bit afraid to go there as any spare time for me I want to try and sleep.
Bleeding well mine has been coming and going - some days nothing and other days clots
27-07-2006, 16:58
:wave: hiyas wow, wat a lot to read thru. okies a few replies here
jaclyn: re ur toddler, it sounds like she is going thru the jealousy stage, now that its no longer daddy mummy and her. i had this when i had my 2nd child, and it lasted for few weeks, unfortunately for me now its harder as i have both girls jealous, but they do eventually learn to accept their lil baby bro or sis.
jessie: its amazing how we go on our trips down memory lane isnt it? its amazing how you think back to when u start dating, and then marry and then kids etc etc. but happy reminisence (sp?) love, enjoy it i do. as for any loving with dh, only hugs and kisses for now and for a while, still cant contemplate the thought.
my earlier post bout dummies, it came to my mind that the brand was tommee tippee. still got a pregnant brain i think.
nikki: dontcha just love the projectile poo! :laughing: i was changing Linas bum today after a poo, and laughed heaps because she weed everywhere! and i thought it was lil boys shooters to be wary of, hers went up like a water fountain :laughing:
on that note, i think i shall feed my girls, adios for now mummas
my 4yr old has driven me crazy the last 2 days :shame: I try and share time between them as best as I can but he's making it really hard when he's deliberatly noisy just as I get bubs to sleep :banghead: I've tried explaining to him today that if he lets bubbby sleep then I get to play with him for longer but its not sinking in... also its really trying coz he totally ignores me all day, pushes his luck majorly but as soon as df gets home from work he's an angel :mad:
27-07-2006, 17:24
I feel like im going crazy the amount of times i tell my dd to do something cause she does totally the opposite.She is getting into everything she takes advantage because i cant get up and take her away from what she is getting into when im feeding its so frustrating:banghead: .
thats exactly like ds1.. soon as I pick bub up for a feed he wants a sandwich or something or he'll decide to run around all crazy like and do things he knows darn well he's not allowed to... actually he does the same thing when the phone rings too.. for the first 2.5wks I was thinking how lucky I was coz he'd been such a good boy since we got home from hospital but now I guess the novelty has worn off :devil6:
27-07-2006, 17:57
:laughing: yup my dd was pretty good for a couple of days kissing and hugging Sasha then the novelty wore off if only she couldve stayed like that lol oh well wishful thinking...
TinyStar
27-07-2006, 18:14
Why hello there, so many posts.........
Glad to hear you are doing well Jessie;) Sounds like a very special moment.
Dh got all weepy to taking a trip down memory lane, now that we have decided our family is complete he reckons he feels old. It was just yesterday we met, we look back at photos and think "oh we were so young and in love" (I was 19 and DH 31) and now we are old, married with children, never go anywhere and I think in DH's mind have nothing to look forward to.
My dd has found a new scream to really upset me, I have been reading up on gentle discipline, to help me deal.
I did not weigh myself before the birth (too scared) at one stage I was 89kg, pre baby I was 77, pre 1st baby i was 74, pre wedding i was 65 :gloomy:
oh lordy! I just weighed myself and I am 86 kg!!!!!!:crying:
on that note i shall go
mini munchkin
27-07-2006, 20:26
Just a quickie... she's grizzly in Daddy's arms!!
Nikki, :laughing:you crack me up!!! The joys of figuring out what's wrong.. and of course wonderfully funny things like snot bubbles:D
Jessie, just wanted to say how lovely your post made me feel.
Washing....a load of her clothes every two days, plus ours twice a week and then extras when she chucks everywhere!!
Jayney, yeah Luci sleeps in a hammock. We were given it by Jonathon's aunt who used it for her last child. The web address is www.babyhammocks.com if you want to take a look.
Will talk again soon, :hugs: and :kiss: to all
Hi girls, gosh its hard to keep up with all the posts! sorry no caps coz were cuddling...
we went shopping yesterday, i blew lots of money :( but figure i need some clothes to boost my confidence. i havent weighed myself but im back in my jeans, and all my tops look revealing now i have big boobs, so i thought id best buy some more!
eliana decided she wanted a feed so i made it to the parents room, it got packed with mummies and we all had a chin wag :ecomcity: i feel so baby brainey though, if i try and have a conversation when im bf i forget what im saying and feel really stoopid.
i'm not sure ill keep the weight off now coz ds bought home a pack of freddos for their fundraiser and now there are about 50 of them on my shelf. maybe i will give them to dh to sell at work but he'll probably want to eat them all.
congrats jessie on being the first wild thinger :yelclap: I just wish id feel better enough for that but am not healed up enough yet!
good news, bub is sleeping better. i raised her bassinet so that she sleeps on an incline and she is bringing up the wind better!
and even better news, i so love not being pg. as i only go to the loo once a night now... it was 6 or 7 times before!! yeah, here's to starting to feel normal again!
re dummies. i've never used them, i worried about them interferring with bf and by the time i tried them both kids rejected them any how. must admit i prefer seeing bubbies mouths rather than the plastic. plus i've never mixed fed, although i probably would if i had twins! id rather just have breastmilk for the first 4 months as we have a family history of allergies. with my other 2 kis we introduced some solids at 4 months, but now they say 6 months! not sure if i can bf exclusively for 6 months though, i will fade away! might have to rethink that one.
take care and enjoy your bubbies, they will never be this little again... my dd will be 9 this month, it feels like only yesterday she was a bub.
rachdent
28-07-2006, 12:01
Hey gals
Well granny is entertaining DS so I decided to make the most of it and come on here. On the subject of toddlers - mine has been brilliant so far, but I guess it's still early days. He very rarely gets annoyed when I'm spending time with Lachlan and as soon as Lachlan cries, he tells me 'Lachlan needs milk!' I'm never going to be allowed to neglect him - not that I would!!!
Also on that 'Sibling Rivalry' front, I have a request for you guys (mostly those with more than one bub)! I'm writing an article for a national publication on introducing a toddler/young child to a new baby. I'd love for any of you in this situation to email/pm me the things that you decided to do to make this transition smoother. Also please tell me any funny stories you had! I will acknowledge first names in the article, so if you want me to change yours, just let me know! Please help - my deadline for this and a few others is end of August and to be honest, I have no idea how I'm gonna find the time to do them...
Tiny star/Bessie especially - I'm also writing an article on VBAC and would love your experiences as I wasn't able to VBAC. I want to know why you wanted to VBAC, the support/opposition you came across, and how your experience was on the day and post birth. Also anything else you'd like to add. Not sure how I'm gonna approach this article now as I was supposed to be doing a personal experience thingy but I guess I'll work that out soon enough.
On the baby front, our child health nurse came for a home visit yesterday and Lachlan has put on 200g in since we left hospie five days ago!!:smiliedance:
anyway my DS1 is wanting to make something so gotta dash.
Rach I sent a pm about what we did to prepare my 4yr old for the new baby. let me know if you want more detail or anything. hope it helps and good luck with the articles :fingerscrossed:
sethsmum79
28-07-2006, 14:10
Hi all, just thought i'd pop by and say hello as I've been watching from the sidelines for far too long now and missing out on all the fun :(
Just with the sibling rivalry etc., my son totally adores his baby sister and is really gentle with her - no problems there. The only thing that he is doing is really acting up at bed time and refusing to stay in his bed! He knows the baby is up, so his logic tells him he should be allowed to stay up too.
Bed time for him every night seems to be a stuggle and always results in tears (him, and me on the verge!). I know he would settle better if I sat on his bed with him or something like that, but DH works at night and I can't be off looking after the baby, and getting DS to sleep at the same time! Any tips on how I can get him going to bed again?
28-07-2006, 14:29
Hi girls, well last night Alethea slept even better, YAY!! :smiliedance: She slept from 11.30pm to 4.30am this morning, it was the best sleep that ive had since a couple of months ago. Shes feeding really well now and my milk has increased. Theres not much else to say at the moment. She has a yucky eye, she keeps having tears coming from it all the time. I think its a blocked tear duct and it annoys her. How do you get rid of that? Well i hope all is well in your homes! Talk to you soon. :D
PS. Ive finally put a photo of Alethea on here for you all. I dont know if it turned out ok, im hoping it has!! :yes: :fingerscrossed:
Malakai's eye is the same.. I've been doing the breastmilk thing and that clears it up for a little while but it keeps coming back..
Sethsmum - when my 4yr old started acting up at bedtime we made a star chart and every night he went to bed without any tantrums etc he got a star, 10stars and he gets to choose a toy.. worked really well for us so maybe you could try that..
mini munchkin
28-07-2006, 16:23
Hi seth's mum!!
Luci's eye is the same.. am still cleaning it with breast milk and saline... am kinda relieved to hear that Luci isn't the only one.. was getting worried that I'm doing something wrong..am off to get her bath ready for when she wakes up!! :wave:
p.s. naomi, great pic well done:)
Cobey has a gunky eye as well, boob-juice and massaging from the corner of the eye, down beside the nose seem to be helping. :)
We went out and about today and I am well and truely stuffed! We went to a playgroup with Veve at toytown LOL like he had heaps of fun! He ate, and then slept. Good to know he can sleep through the noise of screaming children. He was a bit unsettled this afternoon and after filling a few nappies he eventually settled on the boob... yeah, this could get tiresome... thinking of the dummy...........
I'm also thinking of expressing soon (did I already mention this?) I just don't know when/how to start.
28-07-2006, 17:03
:hugs: to all the mamas with the bubbas with gunky eyes. keep up with the breast milk on them though. i bathe angelinas eyes 2wice a day, just with a cotton ball and warm water, wiping from the nose to the side.
she has been alot more alert today, and is starting to find her voice! makes some lil noises (aside from the wind ones), and i know shes gaining weight, as she is now starting to get more of a chin :D
how was the venture of playgroup nik? looking forward to it when cobeys older?
had a wonderful day today with my 2 youngest, dd2 was especially helpful, playing the "big" sister part, seeing that dd1 wasnt around. and yay i didnt have to drive out in the rain, as my mil dropped and picked up dd1 from school. yay so i stayed in my jammies all day! we all even slept at the same time for 2hrs which was fantastic. and im proud to say i didnt do any housework today!
I cant believe that Angelina is 2 weeks old today!
rachdent
28-07-2006, 21:35
Hiya everyone
Just wanted to say thanks heaps to all of you who've replied to my request for info for my articles - now i have no excuse (save a baby and a toddler) to get off my lazy butt and write them...
I was going to say something else but can't for the life of me remember what I was going to say:banghead:
My little men are now both asleep and I really should head off to bed but I've just washed my hair and need to dry it first. Needless to say that seems like too much effort... now I'm just babbling.
Sorry ladies
How long do you bubbas go between feeds? How long do you LET them go? (and how old are they?)
Also, we had a feed mid-morning and the wee man threw up was seemed to be the entire amount he drank, he wasn't in pain as he did it, just went - :barf: - and threw it up. then we fed again, and he did the same, he wasn't interested in a third try, he drifted off to sleep (I think he exhausts himself on the boobie) I was sooo worried that he wouldn't get enough to eat. He hasn't squarked for more yet so we'll see how he goes eh?
29-07-2006, 07:58
nikki i wouldnt worry to much bout the :barf: hes probably just being a lil piggy and overindulging! my girls did/do it all the time, or if hes not burping, between sides, its gonna come up when he does burp.
as for how often i feed, well its between 1.5 - 2hrs or if she sleeps longer i leave it no longer than 3. it seems to be doing the trick, she is so much more alert now! but i also admit im a "demand" feeder.
heres a bit of TMI - i think ive got piles:eek: :gloomy: very very sore! any remedies? :o never had these in my life.
moonblossom
29-07-2006, 08:50
Hey guys my first post on this post :) Hey Seekrit, with the :barf: problem my little boy did it yesterday and its very common. All mind did it and even tho it is frustrating and we worry they are not getting enough milk, they are.
I've been finding it interesting how on some forums mum's who have had emergency ceasar's etc find it hard to get over, I'm afraid I'm also in that catagory. Everyday my resentment for the hospital that I gave birth is building, I know I should go in and talk to the midwife about it, but I know I won't get the answers I'm looking for.
Yes, people tell me just be happy Alexander is here, safe and healthy, BUT he deserved a better start than he did. I don't care what happened to my body, but he deserved to come into the world being held, cuddled and loved. Instead he was ventalated, had needles and drips jabbed into him and feed tube shoved into his tummy. ALL BECAUSE OF neglagence (sp?)
His beginning should of been of peace and love, not violence and this is what I'm finding hard to get over, if anyone has any advice please feel free to advise.
I'm amazed hes such a fantastic baby now after his horrid beginning, we shower him with love to make up for his first few days, I hope he knows how much he is loved and adored, gezz tearing up just typing this.
Sorry a bit of a vent.
anyone heard from diamonds?
TinyStar
29-07-2006, 10:00
Hi there all, just a quickie.
Maria last week I posted a link for piles, i think it was http://www.pilesadvice.co.uk
MB I know how you feel I was very angry about my emergency c/sec, mainly I was angry that the midwife left me alone and wouldn't believe that I was in active labour when I was already in transition.
That and no-one picking up the breech, I would have had a go at vb if I had been in the right mindset, but after the stress of what I had been through c/sec was the only option for me.
MoonstoneMumma
29-07-2006, 10:10
I'm with you MB - i know that if i had not have listened to the midwives and did exactly what i wanted to do i would have been awake to see my baby boy enter the world - and i also woudl have got to share the experince with my husband. I had a midwife come out and see me and she could clearly see that i was still upset by the birth (or lack there of i guess) and she also suggested i talk to the staff at the birthing centre to find out why it happened. But i feel as if all they would do is make more excuses which would leave me more upset.
In regards to the :barf: Connor is such a piggie!! I will feed him until he almost falls asleep and then change him (we have to change him afterwards as he ALWAYS poops during a feed!!). While i am changing him he whinges and makes the sucky face as if he is still hungry! I think that if he wasn't getting enough food then he would be telling me!
Little Piggie starting to wake, off to feed yet again ( feels like all i do is breadtfeed!) Bye for now
rachdent
29-07-2006, 13:13
Morning lovely ladies
MB and SHea - I'm with ya on the emergency caeser thing! My friend also had one recently after 12 hours of labour and she's still not over it. I think we'd all be find if we were sure they were necessary for baby (and mother's) safety but the sad fact is many times they are not. I'm sure I could have VBACed this baby if I'd had a more supportive medical team and although I'm not dwelling on it that much, it'll always be something I wonder about. I'm pretty sure this is it for me baby wise and so I know I'll never experience a VB - saying that I think if I did go for number three I'd be too scared to try a VBAC after two caesers. What a wimp I am!!
Seekrit - your little man sounds like mine. He spends about half an hour after feeds hiccupping and puking! But he's gaining weight well and doing the right number of nappies, so I'm not worried.
Question about umbilical cord stub - at what age did your baby's fall off? I can't remember with Hamish but Lachlan has a huge outtie and the cord stump is still attached. It's getting a bit bloody and I'm hoping this means it's ready to drop, not anything more serious.
That's it for me for now...
29-07-2006, 15:14
Hi all! :wave:
Seekrit - like everyone else is saying i wouldnt worry too much about him :barf:. Some babies gulp their food too fast and end up bringing some of it. Its completely normal.
With the umblical stump it fell off Alethea on day 7. I cant remember with Jayden. The nurses will tell you if theres something wrong with it. Im sure its ok, i think it falls off at different times for everyone. It'll fall off when its ready. :D
Alethea's good, shes feeding well and slept really good last night. I feel like c*** ive got a cold and just want to sleep but i cant! Also Jayden has become this little monster over the last few days. Im not sure if its cause his jealous of Alethea or because of his teeth. He has a molar tooth coming through! :eek: Anyway apart from that Alethea's great! I hope everythings going ok for you all.
Cobey's cordstump fell off around day.... 6 or 7 I think. :)
Lets move from my boobie posts to something a bit below the belt.. How's our post-partum bleeding?
And is mine normal. It's sorta... slow and brown for a few days, then suddenly it'll quicken up and be bright read. I'm 11 days post-partum and beginning to worry as I get asked if it's slowed down and I say yes, but the next day it's back :/
I also have a gland up behind my ear, my MIL succeeded in making me a bit more paranoid by telling me that she remembers that after she had Chris she had a gland up and, low and behold, one morning went to the loo and some 'retained product' came out.
We've had a big day, been out and about, so I'm going to have a nip-nap now :D
Hopefully the small boy will sleep for a longer stretch than what he has for the day, for some reason he's decided he only wants one boob at a time and as a result sleeps for half as long, his last feed was a biggie tho' and he's back asleep in his big boy bed as it's a good temp in his room at the moment. :)
ooo I love him :D
MoonstoneMumma
29-07-2006, 15:43
Connor's cord still hasn't fallen off and he is 9 days old. Looks like it is about to, but it still looks all red underneath. MIL is a midwife and says it looks ok though.
My bleeding is like your seekrit - except without the gland. It could just be because you are a bit run down.
How long does your baby stake awake for after a feed? Connor (still go to call him chompy!) will eat until he makes himself sick, and then change his nappy and hten when we put him to bed he is still awake for about half an hour. I felt bad for leaving him just lying there so i read to him for a while.
well he's sooking again, so i'm off for now.
Good to hear that your bleeding is kinda like mine Shea :)
Cobes is starting to stay awake an hour or so after a day time feed.. unless I really try hard to settle him to sleep.. or if we go in the car (out like a light :sleeping:)
ALSO I checked my weight... I was 75kg pre-pregnant. 93kg last time I looked while pregnant.... stepped on the scales when I got home and I was 83kg.... then this morning I was 80kg! :smiliedance: Go Breastfeeding!!!
Only 5kg until I'm at my prepreg weight! And I'm going to start walking next week (coz I can!) so hopefully I'll get right down below it! My goal weight before getting pregnant was 60kg.... I hope I can do it!! (I'm a shorty, 60kg is my 'ideal weight)
Way to go on the weight loss Nikki!! I jumped on the scales yesterday and was 80kg, with 65 pre preggo.... hoping I can drop it like you!!
Thought I'd start lurking in here seeing as its getting soooo quiet in the waiting game thread.... :laughing:
Hopefully this bubba pokes her head out soon.... due date tomoz!!
29-07-2006, 16:40
ALSO I checked my weight... I was 75kg pre-pregnant. 93kg last time I looked while pregnant.... stepped on the scales when I got home and I was 83kg.... then this morning I was 80kg! :smiliedance: Go Breastfeeding!!!
only 5kg until I'm at my prepreg weight! And I'm going to start walking next week (coz I can!) so hopefully I'll get right down below it! My goal weight before getting pregnant was 60kg.... I hope I can do it!! (I'm a shorty, 60kg is my 'ideal weight)
good job nikki. i have no idea wot i weigh, will weigh myself at the drs next tues when i take lina for her checkup. although i "know" ive lost a fair bit as i can fit in to my jeans YAY! but i also have a long way to go. pre pregnancy i was 90kg, then when i got the :barf: m/s i went down to 77kg, then last so im thinking im prolly round the 80 - 85kg mark. dang! that sounds blah to me. yes i want to get down to 60kg too! but i can only walk on the days when its just lina and me, as i cant see my toddler walking, and DH doesnt get home till its dark. me thinks in the next couple of weeks i should start looking at the best treadmills! :D im really wanting to lose all this weight as little Lina is our last one. GO FIGURE!:p
I was 79kg just before birth and are now 64. Only 5 or so to go but my shape has changed. Still wearing my maternity jeans - all my others don't fit.
Seekrit my bleeding was the same - I figure the clotty stuff came from the top of my uterus as it shrinks
With the cord - my boys fell off about a week but while it was on they said to dab it with a cotton bud then dry it with a cotton bud. If it smells or is pusey then it might be a concern.
I find the boys indicate they are still hungry after a feed but it mostly wind.
Finally had an intimate moment with my hubby after several months (trying for a daughter JUST KIDDING) and guess what someone knocked on the door. talk about timing.
MoonstoneMumma
29-07-2006, 20:05
Not sure what i was pre-preg, but i have now lost 12kg!! Yay me!! I also hope to get to 60 - 70kg mark as i am short as well.
An hour hey Nikki? See i worry that i might be keeping him up too long and then he'll get cranky and not settle properly. Even though he is settling better we are going to take him to settling classes this wed or the next. It's free so i reckon why not.
Hopefuly tonight will be a better night - he was waking up every 2 and a half hours last night and during the day today. He has had nine feeds so far and atleast one more to come - little piggy!
Well i'm off to bed to get some shut eye before next feed. Have a good night all. :wave:
29-07-2006, 20:12
Finally had an intimate moment with my hubby after several months (trying for a daughter JUST KIDDING) and guess what someone knocked on the door. talk about timing.
:eek: u poor thing jayney! definitely bad timing! that happened with dd2, although she was nearly 4mths old before i could do anything :o and lo n behold it was my MIL visiting.
as for the cord stump, Linas dropped off on day 7, still a lil bit stuck on it till day 13 though!
as for the bleeding, sheesh i though that i was finished the other day, but then that night came back with a vengence. has anyone still got a crampy sort of feeling across the undie line?:confused:
rachdent
29-07-2006, 21:02
Hey ladies
Thanks for all the info on the cord stump - Lachlan is 12 days today and it looks on the verge of falling off but I'm still slightly worried. He has a really HUGE outtie and I mean huge! The midwives said to ask the paeds at six week check-up... but i think it's just cosmetic. Poor little man.
My post-partum bleeding was pretty light after a couple of days and I think it's stopped now - haven't had anything for about four/five days. I think everyone is different but if I remember rightly I bled for about three weeks after Hamish.
Just a curious question for those who've had caesers - does the intimate moments you're talking about actually involve doing the deed?!! TMI?? It's just that i know DH would be delighted to get intimate before my six week check-up but I think I'd be far too paranoid.
Weight... weight... weight - I wanna be 65 kilos again too. Seems many of us have the same sort of body shape. I weight about 76 now (at least I did last Sunday) - am hoping all the chocolate people gave me in hospie hasn't made it rocket again. I'm gonna start serious walking soon but may have the same problem as HIGA with th etoddler.
Lachlan had his first shower with me tonight, though DH and I were paranoid the water was too hot so it wasn't a very long one.
Just wanted tos ay thanks to those of you who've PMed or emailed me with info for my articles - anyone else with ideas, please PM or email.
Have a great Sunday gals...
rachdent
29-07-2006, 21:14
Seekrit - my little man is doing the same! Feeding only on one breast, zonking out and then waking again soon for another feed. Little piggies.
On the bleeding - I thought I'd finished and was looking forward to perhaps even an "intimate moment" on the weekend. (Getting in for number 3 before hubby gets me to get my implant again at 6week check up - just kidding - that's for you Jayney).
Anyway - it's back so intimate moment may take slightly different form than planned. (Sorry - TMI thread)
On the weight - prepregnancy, I was 51.5 (I'm a shorty), last weight before going into hospital was about 67, yesterday's weight was 57.5, so I'm feeling pretty good. Last pregnancy - I definitely spread out more sideways and this one definitely more frontwards. I'm thinking that this way it seems easier to get prepregnancy shape more quickly. Hmm...lets compare those boys - v- girls theories...
Oh and rach - on the what your intimate moments might involve - I know last time that "the deed" was done about 3weeks post bubby. I get the impression that he's eager to check out again if this is the case (I'm 2weeks at the moment).
On the feeding issues - my Kayleigh seems to be going on average about 4hourly, but can sometimes go 5 or 6 hours with one feed at 3hours. I'm touching wood atm as that is way different to my son. Apart from last night when I ended up with a couple of feeds this morning at 2 - 2.5 hour intervals and her a bit unsettled.
Touch wood with a good feed now (just got up) she'll sleep well tonight. I'm a bit blessed at the moment, so I'll shut up or I'll just sound sappy!:p
oh my god.
He slept from 11pm - 5am :thumbsup:
Then he threw up one whole boobie full about half an hour ago. (maybe not quite a whole boobie.. but geesh!) so I topped him up, didn't burp him as aggressivly and put him back to bed using a side-sleeper as I'm PARANOID that he'll choke if he spews.
lol i just went to check on him and he was wide awake! lol so no caps, having a cuddle.
my husband is very eager to get intimate... I'm not even 2 weeks yet!! i keep telling him he has to wait for 6 weeks.. :shame:
i don't think cobes liked being on his side. 2 minutes having a cradle cuddle and he's asleep!
i just realised that i colour co-ordinated him well last night. a purple singlet and yellow pjs, wrapped up in a yellow wrap with a purple one on top of that one. (we double wrap, saves tucking in)
30-07-2006, 07:46
lordy! all these men are hopping to be intimate :p its now been 14days since having Angelina, and i still cant even contemplate the thought of doing "it" i believe mine is a mental thing as with previous kiddies couldnt do it for ages. poor dh is really understanding and yes i do feel sorry for him, but i just cant!
well i let Lina sleep for 3.5hrs last night, before i woke her for another feed. lil blossie looked so content, with her lips puckered. awwwwwwww am so in love with her. (sigh! hereigoagain :p :ecomcity: )
MoonstoneMumma
30-07-2006, 08:10
Morning mummies
Connor has had a spewing morning already poor love! The stuff he is bring up looks like curdled milk - so not sure if it is new or old stuff??
He slept pretty well last night, woke up at 8pm, then 12am, then 4am and then 8am. So night time is getting good (touch wood). During the day though he can wake sometimes every 2 hours - but i think i prefer it that way.
On the intimate moments thing - i think i am more looking forward to it then him. Still a bit bleedy so want to wait a bit longer. Going to the dr tomorrow so will ask about the mini pill then.
More parents coming round today to get photos and hold the baby. So off to clean the house. Have a good day all.
Rachdent - Yep the intimate moment involves the deed. Nearly five weeks now and yes had a c-section and everything was okay. Seem to be healing really nicely. Sorry if TMI but had to take it slow. How is your breastfeeding book going? Did you actually have the bubba full on in the shower and did you let the water hit bubbas face
Pegasus - got a giggle out of your post.
Can you ladies let me know how you highlight a quote?
Gotta fly bubbas are bellowing
Oh does anyone know when you can expect a period?
TinyStar
30-07-2006, 11:02
Every time I come on to post someone wants attention, either DH, DD or DS, or my mum rings.....then by the time I get to post I hav forgotten what I wanted to say.
Anyway this is for the cranky emergency ceasar ladies: Yes I've been there, done that. Not really want you want to hear huh? I went and saw a counsellor, it was free through the CHN. She was so lovely. I get to get out all my anger and just talk to someone who didn't have any opinion, or didn't want to start a "my birth was more traumatic than your birth" competition, she just listened. She also said she could help me make a formal complaint. She said that even if you dont get a reply it's a good way of working through the isues you are dealing with, you dont even have to send it just writing it and discussing the events can be cathartic. I never bothered cos like you I knew I wouldn't get the answer I wanted. Incidently my middie apologised to me on a number of occassions, (in the ambulance, in recovery, when she saw me in my home...) but I still have never really forgiven her, I'm just not angry and upset about it any more.
The best thing I did but to get over it (and this sounds immature and silly) I went out for a dinner and drinks with a couple of childless girlire friends, got trashed and told them all about it. (great form of contraception for them BTW) Then I went home got initmate and fell pregnant again :laughing:
ok what else?
My friend had a baby girl on friday, very sweet little thing that still doesn't have a name:confused: Now is it just me or do you guys find this odd? I thinks it's normal to not choose a name when you are pregnant just because you want something unique that the baby picks itself. But to not give a child a name for a few days???????? They just hate other people making suggestions, they want to wait until they get home and pick it by themselves. Why not name it when it was born before the visitors turn up.
anyway gotta go, DH wants attention.
rachdent
30-07-2006, 11:12
Morning
HereIgoagain - I'm with ya, sex is outta the question at the moment!!! A mental thing too I think.
Jayney - while you're still breastfeeding exclusively your period probably won't return. If I remember rightly from my research, breastfeeding is only useful as a contraceptive while your breastfeeding exclusively and baby is feeding four hourly or less. My period came back at ten months last time and I was then probably breastfeeding three times during the day and once at night (or early morning really). Hope that helps! The book is still with a publisher, so at the moment it's just a waiting game... thanks for asking.
On the weight issue - just wondering what people are eating at the moment! I'm not sure whether I'm loosing as I don't have scales at home (will check when in Perth again, early September) but I'm eating fairly normally with a daily indulgence of choccy - not too much, but I need something to keep me awake.
Anyway Hamish is demanding attention, somust dash.
Love lots,
RACH!
30-07-2006, 14:36
On the weight issue - just wondering what people are eating at the moment! I'm not sure whether I'm loosing as I don't have scales at home (will check when in Perth again, early September) but I'm eating fairly normally with a daily indulgence of choccy - not too much, but I need something to keep me awake.
eating fairly normal? ahem, ahem ahem (something stuck in me throat!) lols. ive been really sort of ok, but been having a lil bit more than usual as im starving. im thinking its to do with the demands im doing with feeds.:o also cant get enuff of caramel. although im strict with this one for me, as if i overindulge on it, i wont be losing any weight!
You know, I'd like to give sex a go... but I don't know the state of my stitches, I'm bleeding still, and I kinda want to wait the 6 weeks because apparently it 'snaps back' IYKWIM :laughing: TMI NIKKI! T-M-I!
I'm soooo tired, we went SHOPPING today as chris' ex-boss gave us $100 to spend on Cobey.. so we bought a baby monitor (I was going bonkers checking on him with every noise I heard.. or rather didn't) some nappies for my boobs LOL and some clothes from the pumpkin patch sale :D
I wanted to get him a sun-hat for when we go walkies tomorrow (I'll even take my baby bjorn out for it!) but I couldn't find one. i have a cap here that was Chris' when he was little but I wanted more of a bucket hat or something wide-brimmed. ah well, I'll just keep him covered.
We also fed in the parents room! :eek: ol' sprinkler boobies didn't make a grand appearence, thank god, I've worked out - as we can see in a thread in the breastfeeding section - that I have an overactive letdown which causes the boy to get too much foremilk really quickly, hence the green bits in his poop (I'm not letting him get as much hindmilk you see), the fussing around (sprinklers on, too much too quick) and apparently the up-chucking of an early morning feed (when I've gone the longest without feeding him and my let down is HEAPS) so yeah. I'll be feeding him from the one side at a time now.. try and see how that goes for us :)